A New Oregon Law
21 WAYS TO RUIN
YOUR WHOLE DAY
AND THE NEXT
DAY, AND THE
AND THE NEXT WEEK
NEXT MONTH, NEXT YEAR
THE YEAR AFTER,
AND SO ON, ETC.
_ If you are 15 or older
or almost 15 READ ON
What is Measure 11?
Measure 11 is a new Oregon law that began on April 1, 1995. This law says:
. . .If you are 15 or older, and
. . .If you are convicted of any of 21 crimes in Oregon
You Must Go To Prison For A Long Time!
Why Does Oregon Have This Law?
Many people in Oregon voted to make Measure 11 a law because:
THEY ARE . . .
. . . Tired of crime . . . Tired of ANYONE (including kids) getting away with crime
THEY WANT TO . . .
. . . Feel safe
. . . Be safe from violent crimes
. . . Put in prison ANYONE (including kids) who commit certain crimes
Who Are You Talking About . . . Murderers?
Yes . . . Murder is one of the crimes that will send a 15 year old to prison BUT . . . . . . There are 20 more crimes that will send someone 15 or older to prison. Some of these crimes are done every day.
These are examples of Measure 11 Crimes:
CONVICTION OF A CRIME MEANS BIG TIME!
ROBBERY II: You alone or with a friend want someone's wallet. You either pretend to have a weapon or threaten to beat up the owner of the wallet. A conviction for Robbery II means that you and your friend go to prison for 5 years and 10 months.
ASSAULT II: You and a friend get into a fight with another person. Your friend punches the other person in the nose. The nose is broken. A conviction for Assault II means that you and your friend go to prison for 5 years and 10 months.
SEXUAL ABUSE I: You are on a date. Your date tells you to stop. You forcibly remove her clothes and fondle her breasts. A conviction for Sexual Abuse I means that you go to prison for 6 years and 3 months.
KIDNAPPING II: You hear that someone is messing with your friend. You forcibly remove them from their house to beat them up. A conviction for Kidnapping II means that you go to prison for 5 years and 10 months.
MANSLAUGHTER I: You are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. You cause and accident and someone dies. A conviction for Manslaughter I means that you go to prison for 10 years.
HERE IS A LIST OF ALL THE MEASURE 11 CRIMES ANDHOW LONG YOU WILL STAY IN PRISON IF YOU ARE FOUND GUILTY.
Robbery II - 5 yrs, 10 months
Robbery I - 7 yrs, 6 months
Sexual Abuse I - 6 yrs, 3 months
Unlawful Sexual Penetration II - 6 yrs, 3 months
Unlawful Sexual Penetration I - 8 yrs, 4 months
Sodomy II - 6 yrs, 3 months
Sodomy I -8 yrs, 4 months
Rape II - 6 yrs, 3 months
Rape I - 8 yrs, 4 months
Kidnapping II - 5 yrs, 10 months
Kidnapping I - 7 yrs, 6 months
Assault II - 5 yrs, 10 months
Assault I - 7 yrs, 6 months
Manslaughter II -6 yrs, 3 months
Manslaughter I - 10 yrs, 4 months
Conspiracy to Commit Murder - 7 yrs. 5 months
Attempted Murder - 7 yrs, 5 months
Murder - 25 yrs
Conspiracy to Commit Aggravated Murder - 10 yrs
Attempted Aggravated Murder - 10 yrs
Aggravated Murder - 30 to life
NO PROBATION! NO PAROLE!
NO EARLY RELEASE!
IF I'M WITH SOMEONE AND THEY DO ONE OF THESE CRIMES, I WON'T GET IN TROUBLE . . . RIGHT?
WRONG! If you help that person in any way like:
. . . Telling them to commit that crime . . . Helping them plan the crime . . . Being a lookout
You Go To Prison Too! INSTEAD:
. . . Try to talk them out of it, if that won't work . . . Leave right away . . . Try to get help to stop the crime
WON'T THE JUDGE GIVE ME A BREAK IF I'VE NEVER BEEN IN TROUBLE BEFORE?
NO! This law says the judge MUST send ANYONE, male or female, to prison who is 15 or older and convicted of a Measure 11 Crime.
WHY DOES MEASURE 11 PICK ON KIDS?
Measure 11 doesn't pick on kids. It says that young people and adults can no longer get away with these offenses. Young people often hurt each other. Measure 11 was adopted not to pick on young people, but to protect them.
LIKE IT OR NOT . . . IT'S THE LAW!