Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Please choose an animal from the list below:

Family Giraffidae


Angolan Giraffe sbssp
Kordofan Giraffe sbssp
Masai Giraffe sbssp
Nigerian Giraffe sbssp
Nubian Giraffe sbssp
Reticulated Giraffe sbssp
Rothschild's Giraffe sbssp
Southern Giraffe sbssp
Thornicroft's Giraffe sbssp

Order Artiodactyla

Artiodactyls are ungulates (hoofed animals) and are best defined as even-toed ungulates with either cloven hooves with two toes or spreading feet with four toes. They are composed mainly of ruminants (cud-chewers) and herbivores. They are usually found in groups or herds and range from open grasslands to right in the house. Many artiodactyls have horns or antlers while others have long tusks or canines. There are 210 species in 9 families:

Antilocapridae (pronghorn antelope) 1 spp
Bovidae (cows, gnus, antelope, gazelles, musk ox) 144 spp
Camelidae (Bactrian camels, dromedaries, llamas, alpacas) 6 spp
Moschidae (musk deer) 4 spp
Cervidae (caribou, elk, fallow deer) 43 spp
Giraffidae (giraffe, okapi) 2 spp
Hippopotamidae (hippopotami, pygmy hippopotami) 4 spp
Suidae (pigs, warthogs, wild boars) 16 spp
Tayassuidae (peccaries) 3 spp
Tragulidae (chevrotains) 4 spp