Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Please choose an animal from the list below:

Family Mustelidae


North American River Otter
Southeastern River Otter sbssp.
Southwestern River Otter sbssp.
Sea Otter
Southern Sea Otter sbssp.
Northern Sea Otter sbssp.
Russian Sea Otter sbssp.
European Otter
Giant Otter

Family Felidae


Bengal Tiger sbssp.
Siberian Tiger sbssp.

Family Odobenidae



Order Carnivora

The order Carnivora is made up of 250 species of mammals in 8 families. The main distinction between other mammals and carnivores is their eating habits: carnivores are strictly meat-eaters. Although insectivores also feed on meat, they are classed separately because of their appearance, and no carnivores eat only insects. Many carnivores do feed on plants, but this is not their staple diet.

Carnivores are typically large in size, from the size of a house cat to a Kodiak bear. They all have furry or hairy coats that usually thicken in the winter. Many are nocturnal. The teeth are well developed and include molars and sharp canines ideal for the shredding of meat. The sense of smell is very acute, as is the sense of sight in most species. Pack hunting is mostly consistent with the canines, felines, and hyaenas. All carnivores have strong claws and chest muscles and prominent canines. The 8 families are:

Canidae (dogs, jackals, fox, wolves)
Felidae (cats, lions, tigers)
Hyaenidae (hyaenas, aardwolves)
Mustelidae (otters, weasels, badgers)
Procyonidae (raccoons, pandas, lesser pandas)
Ursidae (bears)
Viverridae (civets, genets)
Odobenidae (walrus)
Phocidae (true, earless, or hair seals)
Otariidae (eared seals, sea lions)
Herpestidae (mongooses)
Mephitidae (skunks-previously part of Mustelidae)