Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Edentates (Xenarthrans)

Please choose an animal from the list below:

Order Xenarthra (a.k.a Edentata)

Xenarthrans, also known as edentates, comprise a small group of some of the more unusual mammals. They are, for the most part, insectivores and herbivores, and are either terrestrial or arboreal in nature. They are found in the warmer climates of South America and North America, being found in Mexico and southern US in North America. Edentates usually lack incisors or canines, and of those that have them their molars lack enamel. Their teeth are held in by a single root each. Edentates have small brains. Anatomically, they have between 5-9 cervical vertebrae, whereas most other mammals have 7. Today, there are 29 species in 4 families; according to the fossil record there were at one time 12 families comprised of animals such as glyptodonts and giant ground sloths. The present-day families are:

Dasypodidae (armadillos) 20 spp
Myrmecophagidae (anteaters) 4 spp
Bradypodidae (3-toed sloths) 3 spp
Megalonychidae (2-toed sloths) 2 spp