Thursday Night Hikes: Linwood/Lower Crocus Hill Hike Architecture/House History Notes, Part 2 (Linwood West)


Observations on Architectural Styles and House Histories, Part 2 (Linwood West)

Linwood/Lower Crocus Hill Hike (Linwood West)

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

St. Paul, Minnesota

Webpage Creation: February 15, 2002

Specific Structures.

The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

975 West Osceola Avenue: Frank Seifert and Rosa Seifert House; Built in 1914; Prairie School in style; Charles Alfred Hausler and Percy Dwight Bentley, architects. The house is a three bay, two story, 2897 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, one bathroom, two half-bathroom, Flemish bond brick, stucco, and plaster veneer and trim structure with a hipped roof. The madonry and frame house has one chimney and a detached garage. It has a projecting open porch on the eastern end and a projecting enclosed sun porch on the west end. It also has stained and leaded glass windows. There is a sleeping porch on the second story. In the 1950's, 18 inches of the eaves on the house were removed to treat rot. The 1979-1982 St. Paul/Ramsey County architectural survey fieldworker comments that the house is the best sited Hausler-Bentley house in the county. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Frank Seifert resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Frank Seifert (1869- ,) a proprietor of a billiard room and head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Rose F. Seifert (1868- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, a daughter, Irene Seifert (1896- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was unmarried, a son, Urban Seifert (1899- ,) who was born in Minnesota, was a clerk in a billiard hall, and was unmarried, a daughter, Marcella Seifert (1901- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was unmarried, a son, Cletus Seifert (1903- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was unmarried, a son, Frank J. Seifert (1907- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was unmarried, and a grand-niece, Dolores Henry (1915- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents both born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Frank Seifert resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence B. Michel, the president-treasurer of the Union Brass & Metal Company, and his wife, Alice Michel, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Clarence B. Michel (1894- ,) a manufacturer of plumbing supplies and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Minnesota, his wife, Alice Michel (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father born in Minnesota and a mother born in Germany, his son, Theodore Michel (1920- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Charles Michel (1922- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Cresance Michel (1925- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his son, James Michel (1927- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and Elida Hanson (1911- ,) a household servant who was born in North Dakota to a father born in Minnesota and to a a mother born in Germany, all resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Lawrence Henderson, who attended the school from 1934 until 1936, resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that John L. Morrissey resided at this address from 1959 to 1975. Frank Seifert was employed in cigars and billiards and Church of Latter Day Saints genealogical records indicate that he married Rosa Pfeifer in St. Paul in 1894. Theodore Michel founded the Union Brass Faucet Company in 1891. Clarence Michel founded the Michel Sales Agency, a plumbing supply sales and marketing business, in 1932, in the basement of his home. In 1948, Chuck Michel, Clarence Michel's son, purchased the company and, in 1959, moved the company into a 40,000 sq. ft. facility at 1400 Selby Avenue. The Selby facility brought the company into the distribution business, supplementing the sales and marketing services. In 1982, Chuck Michel's sons, Tom Michel, Chip Michel, and Kelly Michel purchased the Company. In 2001, Chip Michel and Kelly Michel divided the business and, in 2005, Michel Sales, owned by Kelly Michel and serving professional installers, distributors, and engineers of the PHCC and R/HVAC industries, moved to a new facility in the Phalen Corridor. In 1954, the Union Brass & Metal Company produced the industrial film Spigots Without Spatter! Making modern aerated faucets. The Union Brass & Metal Manufacturing Company had a large factory at the corner of Lawson Avenue and Mackubin Street that employed 160 at its height, but was razed in 2005 to make way for a church. The Union Brass Manufacturing Company is now located in Eagan, Minnesota. Henry J. Michel, the President of the Union Brass and Metal Manufacturing Company, was Boreas Rex XV during the 1951 St. Paul Winter Carnival. Rosa F. Seifert ( -1928) and Frank Seifert ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. Clarence B. Michel (1893-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hemsch, and died in Ramsey County. Alice O. Michel (1894-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Epple, and died in Ramsey County. Charles J. Michel (1922-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ochs, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Elida Marcella Hanson (1919-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Pennington County, Minnesota. Douglas B. Fink and Ruthena Fink owned the house in 1982 and are the current owners of record of the house. [See note on Hausler.]

974 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 1810 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. F. Schurger and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wilbur E. Matters, a special agent employed by the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Bertha H. Matters, resided at this address. The Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, was chartered in 1845, was headed by Frederick Frelinghuysen (1848-1924,) was domiciled in New Jersey, and was licensed to operate in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The company offered life, health, and annuity products available to the individual, group, and business sectors. With the collapse of the commercial real estate market in the late 1980's and early 1990's, the company became insolvent. An order of rehabilitation was issued in mid-1991, a liquidation order was issued in 1993, and the prior insurance policies were assumed by AIG SunAmerica Life Assurance Company, Integrity Life Insurance Company, Hartford Life and Annuity Insurance Company, ING Life Insurance and Annuity Company, and Swiss Re Life & Health America, Inc. Wilbur E. Matters ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. Bertha H. Matters (1885-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Neff, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $160,000. The current owners of record of the property are Arthur J. Eddleston and Katherine D. Eddleston.

969 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1920. The structure is a two story, 2080 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William R. Olsen, the credit manager employed by Finch, Van Slyck & McConville, and his wife, Florence C. Olsen, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Ricard A. Ahl, a member of the Class of 1955, resided at this address. Margaret E. Faricy previously resided at this address. Constantine Joseph McConville ( -1918) was initially employed by William H. Van Slyke, became Van Slyke's partner in Finch, Van Slyck & McConville in 1888, and became president of the company in 1910 upon the death of George R. Finch. The Finch, Van Slyck & McConville Dry Goods Company Building was located at 366 Wacouta Street. In 1930, Edwin B. McConville, the secretary-treasurer of Finch Van Slyck & McConville, George C. Finch II was a vice president of Finch, Van Slyck & McConville, and Roscoe H. Finch was the third vice president of Finch, Van Slyck & McConville. Finch, Van Slyck & McConville grew out of the wholesale dry goods firm of Finch, Van Slyck, Young & Company. Florence C. Olsen ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Margaret Lucille Faricy (1906-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gannon, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $245,000. The current owner of record of the property is Glenn J. Leary.

968 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1011 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame bungalow. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. T. Bollinger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nelson W. Burtis, the district manager for the Carnation Company and assistant sales manager for the Northfield Milk Products Company, and his wife, Dora A. Burtis resided at this address. Nelson W. Burtis (1884-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Warwick, and died in Ramsey County. Dora A. Burtis (1889-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Koempel, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Irving W. Gibis.

965 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1917. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1617 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1910 federal census indicates that Edward O. Wergedahl (1876- ,) a lawyer in private practice, his wife, Wilhelmian L. Wergedahl (1884- ,) his daughter, Ruth H. Wergedahl (1908- ,) and his daughter, Katherine A Wergedahl (1909- ,) resided at 881 Dayton Avenue. The 1920 federal census indicates that Edward O. Wergedahl (1876- ,) a lawyer, bank trust officer, and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Norway, his wife, Wilhelmina B. Wergedahl (1885- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Baden, Germany, and a mother who was born in Mecklinburgger, Germany, his daughter, Ruth H. Wergedahl (1909- ,) who was born in Minnesota, another daughter, Katherine A. Wergedahl ( 1910- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and another daughter, Beatrice J. Wergedahl (1914- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward O. Wergedahl, a lawyer who officed at 360 Robert Street, his wife, Wilhelmina Wergedahl, and Ruth H. Wergedahl, a student, all resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Edward O. Wergedahl (1876- ,) a lawyer in general practice and the head of household, his wife, Wilhellmina B. Wergedahl (1885- ,) his daughter, Ruth H. Wergedahl (1909- ,) another daughter, Katherine A. Wergedahl (1910- ,) and another daughter, Beatrice J. Wergedahl( 1914- ,) all resided at this address. Edward O. Wergedahl (1875- ,) the son of O. B. Wergedahl and Martha Oppegaard Wergedahl, was born in St. Paul, was educated in grade and high schools of St. Paul, graduated from the University of Minnesota law school in 1899, was a lawyer, served for three years in Company "C" of the First Infantry of the Minnesota National Guard, was the deputy clerk of the district court of Ramsey County from 1900 until 1904, received a master's degree in law from the University of Minnesota law school in 1903, practiced law alone from 1903 until 1904, was a Republican, was an unsuccessful candidate for the Minnesota House of Representatives (District 34) in 1904, was employed in the legal department of the St. Paul City Railway Company after 1905, was the president of the University of Minnesota Law Alumni Association in 1910, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a charter member and the vice pres of the Roosevelt Republican Club, was a member of the St. Paul Tents of Maccabbee, was the secretary of the Ramsey County Bar Association, resided at 225 Arundel Street in 1907, resided at 976 Osceola Avenue in 1916, officed at the Dispatch Building in 1907, officed at the Pioneer Building in 1916, and officed at 360 Robert Street in 1930. In 1918, Mrs. Edward Wegedahl was the assistant secretary of the St. Paul Branch of the American Association of University Women in 1913 and in 1918. Edward O. Wergedahl (1875-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Oppegaard, and died in Ramsey County. Wilhelmina Beyer Wergedahl ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Sarah L. Shapely Melting and Steven D. Shapely.

962 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 2174 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Alb Olkon resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stanhope E. Blunt, a sales engineer for Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Jane F. Blunt, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Jean Champagne and Mark Seaberg. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

961 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 2184 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Laura May Sorenson resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Laura M. Sorenson, the widow of James Sorenson, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $429,000. The current owners of record of the property are Douglas S. Wolff and Sara E. Wolff. Sara Wolff is a registered lobbyist for the Family Tree Clinic. Douglas Wolff, a self employed dentist, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

958 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1830 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Holl resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter C. Holl, a cashier employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Rose Holl, resided at this address. Walter C. Holl (1873-1957) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Allen G. Mangnuson and Kathryn J. Mangnuson. [See note on the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

957 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1919. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1356 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Orville S. Haarman, a dentist with an office at 488 Wabasha Street, and his wife, Etta Haarman, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $126,500 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owners of record of the property are Fred R. Hagstrom and Sandra Spadaccini. Fred Hagstrom, a printmaker, received a bachelor degree from Hamline University, an M.F.A. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, studied at the University of Chicago, and studied under S. W. Hayter at Atelier 17 in Paris, France, and teaches printmaking, drawing, art and narrative, and artist's books at Carlton College, Northfield, Minnesota.

954 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 1616 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Fisher and Mrs. M. A. Crawford all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Fisher, vice president of the Scheffer & Rossum Company, resided at this address and that Margaret A. Crawford, the widow of Hugh Crawford, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Marion F. Fisher, the widow of John Fisher and a stenographer employed by Scheffer & Rossum Company, resided at this address. J. W. Gaver was the president of the Scheffer & Rossum Company in 1917. The Scheffer & Rossum Company was a wholesale saddlery, leather goods, and hardware business that was in business from 1879 until at least 1950. In 1891, the firm manufactured saddlery hardware, leather goods, horse collars, fly nets, sweat pads, and boot and shoe uppers. In 1902, in Scheffer v. Justus, 88 NW 759 (1902,) the conviction and imprisonment of Albert Scheffer, an agent of Scheffer & Rossum, was upheld for a violation of a state law (Laws of Minnesota 1895, Chapter 174) prohibiting employer blacklisting and coercing of employees. Water damage following a 1904 tornado that hit downtown St. Paul caused considerable damage to the Scheffer & Rossum Company inventory. The Scheffer & Rossum Company sponsored a baseball team in the St. Paul mercantile baseball league in 1904. The Scheffer & Rossum Company was one of 14 manufacturers during World War I of USGI M1916 holsters for M1911 and M1911A1 pistols. In 1917, the Scheffer & Rossum Company was a signatory of an agreement with the U. S. Government that established a National Harness and Saddlery Adjustment Commission to settle labor disputes in participating manufacturing firms. In 1920, the Scheffer & Rossum Company marketed, in the Popular Scinece magazine, the Jim Dandy Tire Repair Plant as a means for individuals who wished be self-employed to enter into a small business with modest capital requirements. The Weyerhauser-Denkman Building/Goff & Howard Building/Scheffer & Rossum Building was located at 255-261 East Kellogg Boulevard. Steve Tushaus, a member of the St. Paul Central High School Class of 1987, resided at this address in 1997. John Fisher ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. Marion Fisher ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Marion E. Fisher (1921-1994) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lee, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Paul E. Tushaus and Robin R. Tushaus.

953 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 1753 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that C. Roy Sharwood resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are John H. Dolan and Mary K. Dolan.

948 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1618 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Jas Marzolf resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Maggie Hauenstein, the widow of Fred W. Hauenstein, resided at this address. Maggie Hauenstein (1867-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Marguerite C. Besaw.

945 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1917. The structure is a one story, 1654 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adolph J. Veigel, the Commissioner of Banks, Banking Division in the Minnesota Department of Commerce, and his wife, Mary Veigel, resided at this address. The Department of Banking was carved out of the Public Examiner's Office in 1909 (Laws of Minnesota 1909, Chapter 201) and was created to execute the laws relating to state banks, savings banks, trust companies, building and loan associations, and other financial corporations chartered under the laws of Minnesota, with a superintendent of banks who was appointed by the governor for a term of three years, a deputy superintendent, and eight bank examiners. Adolph J. Veigel (1872- ) was appointed the superintendent of banks in 1925, the seventh person to hold the position, and was the Commissioner of Banking through 1931, when he was replaced by John N. Peyton. The department was succeeded in 1925 by the Banking Division of the Department of Commerce (Laws of Minnesota 1925, Chapter 426.) The Department of Commerce was created to consolidate the work of the Banking Department, Insurance Department, Fire Marshall’s Office, and the Commissioner of Securities, administered by a Commerce Commission of three members, the Commissioner of Insurance, the Commissioner of Banking, and the Commissioner of Securities. Each commissioner was appointed by the Governor for a six year term until commissioner's terms became coterminous with the governor's in the early 1970's. The current owners of record of the property are C. F. Steinmaus and Paula A. Steinmaus.

942 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2330 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. In 1918, Hilda S. Larson and her son, Arthur Roubert Larson, a World War I veteran, resided at this address according to the records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13077.) The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13077) indicate that Arthur Roubert Larson (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in Company F of the 54th Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 5 3/4" tall, was a bank teller at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was employed in banking by the Merchants Trust & Savings Bank after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Hilda S. Larson, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Garfield W. Brown, the State Fire Marshal and the Commissioner of Insurance, and his wife, Mayme Brown, resided at this address. Garfield William Brown (1881-1967,) was a Glencoe, Minnesota, lawyer from 1906 to 1920, was the State Public Examiner from 1921 to 1925, the ninth person to hold the position, and was the Commissioner of Insurance and the State Fire Marshal from 1928 to 1935, the 15th person to hold the position. Garfield W. Brown (1881-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Halliday, and died in Hennepin County. Mayme M. Brown ( -1945) died in Carlton County, Minnesota. Mayme M. Brown (1907-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kurtti, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $119,500. The current owners of record of the property are Jennifer H. McCafferty and Michael J. McCafferty.

941 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 1706 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Robertson resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Phillip J. Veigel (1872- ,) a cashier employed by a bank and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Luxembourg and a mother who was born in Alsace-Lorraine, and his wife, Mary A. Veigel (1875- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Ireland and a mother who were born in Wisconsin, a daughter, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Oliver A. Steel, a department manager employed by G. Sommers & Company, and his wife, Rose Steel, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that O. A. Steel (1885- ,) a manager employed by a general merchandise store and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Sweden and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his wife, Rose Steel (1891- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in French Canada and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his father-in-law, (1849- ,) who was born in French Canada to parents who were born in French Canada, and a lodger, Estelle Dombrowsky (1911- ,) a stenographer employed by a dental supply business who was born in Pennsylvania to parents who were born in the United States, all resided at this address. Oliver A. Steel (1884-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Erickson, and died in Ramsey County. Rose M. Steel (1890-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lemotte, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $180,000. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee of Catherine C. Reid. [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

936 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 2136 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Catherine Collopy, the widow of Thomas Collopy, resided at this address and that Lillian K. Collopy, a clerk employed by the State Department of Labor, and Rose L. Collopy, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lillian K. Collopy, an auditor for the Industrial Commission of Minnesota, resided at this address. The federal census indicates that Lillian K. Collopy (1892- ,) an auditor employed by an industrial company and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Illinois, her sister, Rose Collopy (1893- ,) a clerk employed by a railroad, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Illinois, her nephew, Thomas Bauers (1913- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in North Dakota and a mother who was born in Minnesota, and her other nephew, William Bauers (1914- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in North Dakota and a mother who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. In 1901, Thomas Collopy was authorized by the St. Paul City Council to erect a set of hay, coal, and wood scales on the corner of Margaret Street and Bock Street. The Minnesota Labor Statistics Bureau was established in 1887 (Laws of Minnesota 1887, Chapter 115) to collect and report to the governor and the legislature statistics regarding the general condition of labor and working people in the state, was subsumed under the Labor Bureau (Laws of Minnesota 1893, Chapter 6,) which administered and enforced laws pertaining to labor, became the Labor, Industry, and Commerce Bureau from 1907 to 1913, was renamed the Labor and Industries Department from 1913 to 1925, and then became the Labor and Industry Department. The department assumed the duties of the Arbitration Board and the Minimum Wage Commission in 1921, establishing the Division of Mediation and Arbitration and the Division of Women and Children (Laws of Minnesota 1921, Chapters 81 and 84,) and assumed the duties of the Board of Boiler Inspectors, establishing the Division of Standards in 1925 (Laws of Minnesota 1925, Chapter 426, Article 12, Section 2.) From 1887 to 1921, the agency was administered by a Labor Commisssioner, from 1921 to 1967, the agency was administered by an Industrial Commission, and since 1967, the agency has been administered by a Commissioner of Labor and Industry. In 1930, the members of the Industrial Commission were F. A. Duxbury, Henry McColl, and James D. Williams. Lillian K. Collopy (1886-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Geary, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $120,500 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owners of record of the property are Kevin M. Stefonek and Robert A. Van Dulles. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

935 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 2534 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William H. Penrose, a buyer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, E. Grace Penrose, resided at this address. Elizabeth Grace Penrose ( -1932) and William Henry Penrose ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $375,000. The current owners of record of the property are French E. Hickman III and Kristin E. Hickman. Kristin E. Hickman, with a B.S in Business Administration from Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, and a J. D. from the Northwestern University School of Law, is an Associate Professor of Law at the University of Minnesota Law School in the areas of tax law, administrative law, and statutory interpretation. Kristin Hickman was the parliamentarian of the University of Minnesota Faculty Senate for the 2006-2007 school year. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

932 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a one story, 1512 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. D. Blanchard resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rudolph C. Schneider, a letter carrier, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert O. Christensen, a salesman for the First Securities Corporation, and his wife, Clara Christensen, resided at this address. Rudolph C. Schneider (1889-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Runke, and died in Ramsey County. Albert Olai Christensen ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. Clara J. Christensen (1892-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Alma Schneider and Richard R. Schneider.

931 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 1296 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Darwin B. Myers, a chauffeur employed by George H. Prince, and his wife, Karen Myers, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Darwin B. Myers (1892- ,) a chauffeur employed by a private family and the head of household, who was born in Kansas to a father who was born in Iowa and to a mother who was born in New York, and his wife, Keren Myers (1882- ,) who was born in Elverum, Norway, to parents who were born in Elverum, Norway, resided at this address. Darwin B. Myers (1891-1969) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Sherburne County, Minnesota. Karen S. Myers (1882-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $117,900. The current owner of record of the property is Robert A. Kost. In 2003, Rob Kost was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address.

928 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1310 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ann Du Bord and her daughter resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alice M. Du Bord, a teller at the American National Bank, and Ann Du Bord, the widow of Joseph O. Du Bord, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James W. Powles, a teacher employed by Humboldt High School, and his wife, Edith M. Powles, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that James W. Powles (1885- ,) a teacher employed by a high school and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to to a father who was born in London, England, and a mother who was born in England, his wife, Edith M. Powles (1892- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Pennsylvania and a mother who was born in Wisconsin, and his daughter, Marjorie J. Powles (1919- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. In 1906, James W. Powles, Elizabeth (Mrs. William) Powles, and William Powles all resided at 693 Otsego Street. In 1909, James W. Powles was an electrical engineering student at the University of Minnesota. James W. Powles ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. Edith Powles (1891-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bantly, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Marjorie J. Powles ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is William K. Shramko. William K. Shramko, with Mark W. Jennion of Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, and Gerald J. Maciona of Mounds View, Minnesota, was awarded patent US 7,139,949 B1 in 2003, assigned to the Unisys Corporation, for a test apparatus to facilitate building and testing complex computer products with contract manufacturers without proprietary information.

927 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1596 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob Pfiffner, a salesman employed by Foley Grocery Company, and his wife, Alice Pfiffner, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Jacob Pfiffner (1882- ,) a salesman employed by a retail grocer business and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Switzerland, his wife, Alice Pfiffner (1893- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Minnesota and a mother who was born in Missouri, his son, John Pfiffner (1914- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Alice Pfiffner (1918- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his father-in-law, Louis Guion (1858- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Missouri, his mother-in-law, and Alice Guion (1857- ,) who was born in Missouri to parents who were born in Missouri, all resided at this address. Alice O. Guion (1886-1962,) a daughter of Louis B. Guion (1858-1931) and Alice Eichelberger (1857-1947) and granddaughter of Adolphus Spangler Eichelberger and Josephine Guyton/Guion, married Jacob Pfiffner (1882-1961) and the couple had a son, Harry Louis Guion. In 1879, Louis Guion was a horseman employed by Trout Brook Number 4 and boarded at 92 Twelfth Street, the same address where Joseph Guion, a deputy sheriff, resided and where Joseph M. Guion, an engineer, Vincent Guion, a painter, and Zeno Guion, a lather, all boarded. Jacob Pfiffner (1882-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hammerle, and died in Ramsey County. Alice O. Pfiffner (1886-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eichelberger, and died in Ramsey County. John Robert Pfiffner ( -1938) died in Washington County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Judith L. Fletcher.

923 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1921. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1818 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Phillip Rodenberg, a tax accountant employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Helen Rodenberg, resided at this address. In 2006, Rob Kost was a member of the board of directors of the Summit Hill Association and resided at this address. Philip Rodenberg ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Helen Annette Rodenberg (1884-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Caye, and died in Brown County, Minnesota. The previous owner of record of the property was Thomas J. Mahaney and the current owner of record of the property is Connie L. Koski. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

920 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1383 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a tuck-under/basement garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Williams resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2359) indicate that George Irish Springer (1892- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Musician Second Class, promoted to Yeoman First Class in the United States Navy, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5 3/4" tall, weighed 128 lbs., was an assistant manager of the employment department employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Charlotte Florence Springer, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph Claffy, a manager employed by the Winston, Harper, Fisher Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Claffy, the operator of a cigar stand at the lobby of 24 East Fourth Street, and his wife, Mary F. Claffy, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24810) indicate that Thomas W. Fredericks (1891- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Private in the 25th Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a salesman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was employed by the Northwestern Electrical Equipment Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his sister, Mrs. George Springer, at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Joseph Claffy (1858- ,) a cigar and tobacco salesman and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in Ireland, and his wife, Mary F. Claffy (1855- ,) who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, resided at this address. The Winston, Harper, Fisher Company was a Minneapolis wholesale grocery firm and Joseph L. Harper was a partner of the firm. The Winston, Harper, Fisher Company grew in 1903 out of the H. G. Harrison Company, after Hugh G. Harrison separated in 1879 from the Newell & Harrison Company and after several subsequent reorganizations. Winston, Harper, Fisher Company was headed by F. G. Winston, a Minneapolis railroad contractor, J. L. Harper, a merchandiser, and E. J. Fisher, a financier. In 1916, Harrison's grandson, Perry Harrison, joined Winston, Harper, Fisher as vice-president and co-owner. In 1926, George R. Newell Company and Winston, Harper, Fisher Company merged and incorporated to form Winston & Newell Company, with Perry Harrison and L. B. Newell, Winston's son-in-law, as principal shareholders. Winston & Newell became one of the first wholesale distributors in the nation to join the new Independent Grocers Alliance (IGA.) In 1942, Winston & Newell Company ended its affiliation with IGA and formed its own voluntary association that introduced the Super Valu name and that operated independently from the wholesale business. In 1954, the Winston & Newell Company changed its name to Super Valu Stores Inc. in order to clarify the connection between itself and the voluntary association. Beginning in the 1950's, Super Valu began to grow by acquiring other voluntary associations, including purchasing Joannes Brothers of Green Bay, Wisconsin, in 1955, purchasing the Eavey Company in the Ohio Valley, acquiring the J. M. Jones Company of Champaign-Urbana, Illinois, and the Food Marketing Corporation of Fort Wayne, Indiana, in 1963, by acquiring the Chastain-Roberts Company and the McDonald Glass Grocery Company, Inc., of Anniston, Alabama, in 1964, and by acquiring the Lewis Grocer Company of Indianola, Mississippi in 1965. In the 1980's, Super Valu acquired Cub Foods, a discount grocery store operation. Joseph Claffy ( -1932) and Meyer H. Ravits ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. Ralph B. Henry (1879-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $250,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Brooks A. Butler and Sandra J. Butler, who reside at 454 Burlington Road. The 1930 city directory indicates that Myron H. Ravits and Ralph B. Henry resided at the former nearby 918 Osceola Avenue. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Chauncey W. Griggs III, a member of the Class of 1955, resided at the former nearby _?_ Osceola Avenue.

917 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1921. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1245 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard T. McAlpine, the secretary-treasurer of the F. E. Berry Cattle Company, and his wife, Helen F. McAlpine, resided at this address. Helen Field McAlpine (1896-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Henry, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Colleen A. Haney.

916 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 2900 square foot, 14 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The previous owner of record of the property was Claudia V. Campbell and the current owners of record of the property are Raymond Clay Ahrens and Susanna D. Ahrens, who reside at 1497 Fulham Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Meyer D. Friedman, a painter, his wife, Bessie E. Friedman, and Paul A. Eldredge, the secretary for the Hilex Company, and his wife, Ida Eldredge, resided at the former nearby 914 Osceola Avenue. In 1927, Hi-Lex Corporation began making household bleach. The name "Hi-Lex" was registered in 1934. The Hilex Company was located in St. Paul. Hi-lex was a manufacturer of private label household cleaning and automotive care products, as well as the regional brand "Hi-lex" bleach, which is a market leader in the North Central and Rocky Mountain areas of the United States. In 1999, the Hi-lex Company was acquired by KIK International, a packager of private label retail household bleach. Myer D. Friedman ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. Bessie Friedman (1890-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Levine, and died in Ramsey County. Paul A. Eldredge ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. Ida A. Eldredge (1893-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lafontaine, and died in Ramsey County. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward E. Conner (1871-1925,) the husband of Vinnie H. Conner, who was born in Iowa to parents born in Ireland and in the United States and who died of acute dilation of the heart, resided at the nearby former __?__ Osceola Avenue in 1925. Edward E. Conner ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. The Conner burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Edward E. Conner (1871-1925,) Vinnie H. Conner (1875-1965,) and Margaret Conner (1900-1918.)

912 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 2900 square foot, 14 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The previous owners of record of the property were Helen M. Runholt and Susan Runholt and the current owner of record of the property is Susan Runholt. Susan Runholt Ltd., a fundraising organization, is also located at this address. Susan Runholt, a self-employed consultant, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Susan Runholt also was the author of the young-adult story The Mystery of the Third Lucretia in 2005 and entered the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger competition, where the book won a special citation in 2006.

911 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1926. The structure is a two story, 1988 square foot, right room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter F. Stone, a general agent employed by the Aetna Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Josie M. Stone, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $124,900. The current owners of record of the property are Patrick J. Seeb and Tracey A. Seeb. Patrick Seeb is the Executive Director of the Saint Paul Riverfront Corporation and is responsible for the overall management of the corporation. The Saint Paul Riverfront Corporation is a private nonprofit corporation that promotes the implementation of the Saint Paul on the Mississippi Development Framework, the city's vision and redevelopment agenda for its downtown, is governed by a board of directors, and is funded by Twin Cities foundations and corporations. [See note on the Aetna Life Insurance Company for 529 Portland Avenue.]

909 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1923. The structure is a two story, 2738 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leonard E. Daubney, a buyer for Swift & Company, and his wife, May Daubney, resided at this address. Leonard E. Daubney ( -1952) died in Dakota County. Mae W. Daubney (1884-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clancy, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Laurie Casserly Coleman and Norman B. Coleman, Jr. Laurie Coleman (1956- ,) the daughter of Bob Casserly and Lois Casserly, was born in Eden Prairie, Minnesota, is a model and her career has included dancing, with the Minnesota Dance Theater, the Boston Ballet, the New York City Ballet, and the Harkness Repertory Theater, and acting, with a part in "The Vagina Monologues" in the Twin Cities and roles in the TV movie "Homeland Security" in 2004 and in the miniseries "Kingpin" in 2003, "3 Days of Rain" in 2002, "The First of May" in 1999, and a television movie "A Chance of Snow" in 1998. She maintains an apartment in Los Angeles. In 2008, Laurie Coleman was the inventor of the "Blo & Go," a hands-free hair drying device, and was also employed by Minneapolis-based Hays Companies, which offers clients advice on risk management, commercial insurance, and employee benefits. Lois Casserly was one of the early leaders of the antiabortion movement in Minnesota. Norman Bertram Coleman, Jr., (1949- ) is the senior U. S. Senator from Minnesota, having been elected over Walter F. Mondale in 2002, following the airplane crash death of the late Senator Paul Wellstone. In 2003, Senator Norman B. Coleman, Jr., was made a Mason at Sight by the Minnesota Grand Master (Ancient Landmark Lodge #5.) Born in New York, Norman Bertram Coleman was student body president and a student activist deeply involved in the anti-war and civil rights movements at Hofstra University, graduating in 1971, went to the University of Iowa Law School, graduating in 1976, worked for 17 years in the office of the Minnesota Attorney General, served as mayor of St. Paul twice, initially as a Democrat, from 1994 to 2002, and unsuccessfully ran for Governor of Minnesota as a Republican, losing to Jesse Ventura/James Janos, in 2000. The Colemans are the parents of four children, Adam Coleman (1983-1983,) Jacob Coleman (1987- ,) Sara Coleman (1990-,) and Grace Coleman (1992-1992.) [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

904 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1820 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Berchem resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Hubert C. Berchem, a manager at the St. Paul Cement Works, located at 34 East Fourth Street, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hubert/Herbert C. Berchem, manager of the St. Paul Cement Works, and his wife, Georgia P. Berchem, resided at this address. Established in 1896, the Saint Paul Cement Works was located at the corner of Lafond Street and Chatsworth Street in Saint Paul, with a sand and gravel pit and storage yards that covered ten acres. In addition to providing cement for sidewalks, the company manufactured tiles, birdbaths, cemetery vases, burial vaults and stone mantels. The St. Paul Cement Terminal Dock is located at milepost 837 of the Mississippi River, below Dayton's Bluff. Hubert C. Berchem (1881-1967) died in Ramsey County. Georgie M. Berchem (1883-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dars, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Jennifer L. Feigal. Jennifer L. Feigal was a financial supporter of the University of Minnesota School of Social Work in 2005. Jennifer Feigal is a psychotherapist who offices at 311 Ramsey Street. Jennifer Feigal is a member of the Welcoming Congregation Ministry Team and of the Ministry Support Team of Unity Church-Unitarian. Jennifer Feigal was the niece of John Douglas LaBarre (1922-2000) of Goodview, Minnesota.

903 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 1552 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wesley St. Clair, the proprietor of the Crocus Hill Pharmacy, located at 678 Grand Avenue, and his wife, Frances A. St. Clair, resided at this address. Wesley St. Clair ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Marcella A. Connolly and Owen Connolly.

902 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2338 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. P. Mack resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius A. Gerber, a jeweler dealing in diamonds, watches and silverware, and his wife, Ethel H. Gerber, resided at this address. Julius A. Gerber ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $145,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owners of record of the property are Mary C. Nesvig and Laura G. Ross. Mary C. Nesvig, M.D., was a recipient of the Exceptional Community Faculty Teaching Award from the Minnesota Medical Foundation of the University of Minnesota in 2007. Dr. Nesvig is a board-certified family practitioner, has been the Medical Director at West Side Community Health Services since 1996, and has been associated with the clinic since 1990, when she completed her residency training at Regions Hospital in St. Paul.

899 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1920. The structure is a two story, 1795 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Evans, the secretary-treasurer for Flax-Li-Num Insulating Company, and his wife, Elisabeth Evans, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $143,500. The current owners of record of the property are James W. Weiss and Maureen S. Weiss. [See note on the Flax-Li-Num Insulating Company for 1379 West Osceola Avenue.]

898 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1886 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Plunkett resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James F. Plunkett, the general attorney for the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Ann Plunkett, resided at this address. Anne M. Plunkett (1883-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Meagher, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $136,500. The current owners of record of the property are Joseph A. Faust and Erin P. Murphy. In 2001, Erin Murphy was appointed to the Ramsey County Capital Improvement Program (CIP) Citizens Advisory Committee. Erin Murphy, the Executive Director of the Minnesota Nurses Association, was a contributor to the John Edwards for President campaign and to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Erin Murphy has a B.S. in nursing from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and a M.A. in organizational leadership from the College of St. Catherine and was elected to the Minnesota House of Representatives from District 64A in 2006, replacing former Representative Matt Entenza, who retired to run for the office of Minnesota Attorney General and subsequently withdrew from that race. Joseph Faust is associated with Hughes & Faust Decorating Company, painters, located at 1958 Princeton Avenue. Erin Murphy and Joseph Faust were financial supporters of the Summit Hill Association in 2007. The 1920 city directory indicates that Nellie Charrette, the widow of Thomas Charrette and a clerk employed by Field Schlick & Company, boarded at the former nearby 897 Osceola Avenue. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the Field-Schlick department store for 19 Kenwood Parkway.]

895 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 2052 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leslie C. Helmes, an automobile dealer located at 794 East Seventh Street, and his wife, Winifred F. Helmes, resided at this address. Winifred T. Helmes (1889-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Erickson, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are John M. Tancabel and Margaret J. Tancabel.

892 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2000 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Linus O'Malley, Miss Margaret O'Malley, and Raymond G. O'Malley all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#9435) indicate that Anna C. Phillips (1883- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Nurse in the U. S. Army, who was born in Northfield, Minnesota, was a student after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James W. Wooster, a manager for the Spool Cotton Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William B. Webster, the president of the St. Paul Laundry, Inc., and his wife, Josephine Webster, resided at this address. In 1934, Richard H. Bancroft, Sr., Pauline Spindler Bancroft, Richard H. Bancroft, Jr., Elizabeth Bancroft, and Polly Bancroft resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Harold Bohn, who attended the school from 1916 until 1918, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Hugo B. Victor, a member of the Class of 1945, resided at this address. Richard Hunter Bancroft, the son of Frank Churchill Bancroft (1875-1940) and Alice Hunter Rhodes Bancroft (1868- ,) married Pauline Griggs Spindler in 1926, and the couple had four children, Richard Hunter Bancroft (1927- ,) Elizabeth Griggs Bancroft (1930- ,) Polly Reid Bancroft (1932- ,) and Mary Churchill Bancroft (1934- .) In 1864, George Clark and William Clark, grandsons of James Clark, a Paisley, Scotland, thread manufacturer, opened a cotton thread mill in Newark, New Jersey and began manufacturing thread in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, selling under the name "Spool Cotton Company" in 1869. The Spool Cotton Company was operated by Coats & Clark. Coats & Clark were consolidated in 1896 but remained as separate operations until it incorporated in 1953 as Coats & Clark, Inc. Prior to 1935, the Coats & Clark companies in the United States sold a wide range of cotton threads and handicraft products, but no wool yarns, with an agreement with Patons & Baldwins, a British manufacturer of knitting yarns, to make yarn in the United States which would be marketed through the Spool Cotton Company. In 1899 and again in 1907, the Spool Cotton Company and British companies associated with it so dominated the thread business that the U. S. Government considered litigation against it under anti-trust laws. The Thread Trust, made up of the Spool Cotton Company, the American Thread Company, J & P Coats Ltd., the Clark Thread Company, the Clark Mile-End Spool Cotton Company, George A. Clark & Brother, J. & P. Coats (Rhode Island) Ltd., James Chadwick & Brother, Ltd., English Sewing Cotton Company, Ltd., and Jonas Brooks & Brothers, Ltd., dissolved under a court decree arising out of U. S. Government litigation. William B. Webster (1896-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Whitman, and died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. Josephine Webster (1901-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of King, and died in Wabasha County, Minnesota. Richard Hunter Bancroft, Sr., (1902-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rhodes, and died in Ramsey County. Pauline S. Bancroft (1905-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Macreed, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $280,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Ann K. Olson Cline. Ann Cline was employed by 3M Pharmaceuticals in 2002 and was a co-author of Bioequivalence of Press-and-Breathe and Breath-Actuated Inhalers of Beclomethasone Dipropinate Extrafine Aerosol.

890 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1923. The structure is a two story, 1624 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Maurice L. Whitaker, a salesman employed by the Anchor Casualty Company, and his wife, Adele Whitaker, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Thomas M. Hauser, a member of the Class of 1959, resided at this address. The Anchor Casualty Company was a surety bond company located in St. Paul. Rolland Vaughn Mothersill (1886-1949,) an associate of the Casualty Actuarial Society, was a 1911 graduate of the University of Michigan, was an employee of the California Insurance Department, was the first Actuary and the Secretary of the Minnesota Compensation Board from 1921 to 1926, was one of the founders of the Anchor Casualty Company, and served successively as Vice-President, Executive Vice-President, President, and Chairman of the Board of the company. Maurice Lyons Whitaker ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Adele Whitaker (1894-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Breen, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $285,000. The current owner of record of the property is Cynthia A. Roesel.

887 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2805 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Willwerscheid resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#8481) indicate that John Frank Willwerscheid (1900- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Seaman Signalman First Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, weighed 140 lbs., was a clerk in an undertaking parlor employed by J. A. Willwerscheid after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Willwerscheid, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John F. Willwerscheid, a stenographer for D. E. Lane, and Marie L. Willwerscheid, a stenographer for the State Board of Health, both boarded at this address and that John A. Willwerscheid resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hart N. Cardozo, vice president for R. N. Cardozo & Brother Inc., and his wife, Marguerite Cardozo, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Hart N. Cardozo (1927- ,) who attended the school from 1941 until 1945, who attended Brown University, who served in the Paratroops during the post-World War II occupation of Germany, resided at this address. John Adam Willwerscheid, the Commissioner of the Saint Paul Fire Department, founded J. A. Willwerscheid Mortuary at Ninth Street and Saint Peter Street in 1886. John A. Willwerscheid played an instrumental part in the modernization of the funeral business when he brought in horseless buggies, motorized hearses, and hired Bernard J. "Ben" Becker, who was Minnesota's first licensed embalmer. Lawrence Willwerscheid entered the family business in 1921 and the two other sons of John A. Willwerscheid, John F. Willwerscheid and Eugene P. Willwerscheid, entered the business after graduating from the University of Minnesota Mortuary Science Department in 1923 and 1925. John F. Willwerscheid (1900-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Metzger, and died in Ramsey County. John A. Willwerscheid ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. Hart N. Cardozo ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $315,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lynn M. Indihar and M. Scott Spencer. In 2003, Lynn Indihar was a Grade 4 class representative on the Capitol Hill School Association Council. Lynn Indihar and M. Scott Spencer were financial supporters of the Ability Building Center in Rochester, Minnesota, in 2004 and 2005 and of the Summit Hill Association in 2007.

886 West Osceola Avenue: George J. Johnson House/John Nelson House; Built in 1883 (1893 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Nels I. Nelson, builder. The house cost $2,450 to build. The 1978 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, house is a two bay, 2 1/2 story, wood frame, clapboard and shingle structure with a hip and gable roof which has one hipped dormer. It also has two oreil windows on the second story. It also has a hipped roof porch with a pediment over one entrance. Its gable projects over a small recessed balcony. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. City directories indicate that residents at this address were George J. Johnson (1895, 1897, and 1902,) A. B. Van Bergen (1904, 1906, 1908, and 1910,) W. M. Stephenson (1912,) and J. J. Patton (1924.) The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Allen B. Van Bergen, a member of the church since 1890, and L. A. (Mrs. A. B.) Van Bergen, a member of the church since 1889, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Patton resided at this address. Lillian A. Van Bergen wass the wife of Allen B. Van Bergen in 1920. George J. Johnson ( -1912,) Allen Bushnell Van Bergen ( -1948,) and John J. Patton ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. The property last sold in 2005 and the sale price was $519,900. The previous owners of record of the property were Richard M. Dimond and Tracy Bellows Dimond and the current owners of record of the property are Gail Dubrow and Lisa Yost.

881 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2588 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Bresler resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Patrick J. Butler, proprietor of the Butler Transfer Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick J. Butler, proprietor of Butler Transfer Company, and his wife, Angela Butler, resided at this address. Patrick J. Butler ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Angela C. Butler (1879-1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Angela Gay Butler ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $185,000. The current owners of record of the property are Denise A. Dejarlais and Robert A. Peterson. Denise A. Dejarlais was a financial supporter of the Jeremiah Program in 2006. Denise Dejarlais was a financial supporter of the Como Zoo Consevatory in 2005. Robert A. Peterson and Denise A. DeJarlais were financial supporters of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in 2003.

880 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922; Bungalow in style; Buechner & Orth, architects. The structure is a one story, 1434 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Lucy M. Barker, the widow of John R. Barker, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Lucy Barker ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ismon, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Eric D. Lampland. Eric Lampland has a degree in computer and electrical engineering from the University of Minnesota, was previously the director of architecture and network engineering at Brilliant Cities, previously was the founder and CTO at SecurePeople Corporation, is the president and owner of Lookout Point Communications, established in 1997, and was appointed as a member of the St. Paul Broadband Committee by the St. Paul City Council in 2006. [See the note for Buechner & Orth.]

876 West Osceola Avenue: D. E. Young House; Built in 1890 (1895 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2630 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. F. Meek, Jr., resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. N. Dohs and Mrs. M. S. Sturges all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles N. Dohs, a partner with George B. Edgerton, George G. Edgerton, and Rix H. de Lambert in the law firm of Edgerton, Dohs & de Lambert, located at 145 North Concord Street in South St. Paul, Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gilbert Henry resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Silas M. Ford, who attended the school from 1922 until 1925, who served in the federal Office of Price Administration during World War II, and who was the president of the Sifo Company located at 353 Rosabel Street, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Silas M. Ford, a member of the Class of 1928, and Byron D. Ford, a member of the Class of 1961, both resided at this address. Silas M. Ford married Josephine Henry in 1932 and the couple had three children, Ardietta Ford (1936- ,) Silas Ford, Jr. (1937- ,) and Byron Ford (1943- .) David Edward Young ( -1925) and Gilbert Henry ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. Benjamin Franklin Meek ( -1928) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Blake S. Davis and Sandra W. Davis. Blake S. Davis is associated with Davis & Lagerman, Inc., a real estate appraisal firm, which is also located at this address.

875 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2643 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Foster Hannaford resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adam J. Holmes resided at this address. Foster Hannaford (1888-1981) was the son of Jule Murat Hannaford and was a 1908 graduate of the Yale University Sheffield School. Alice Steel Ide Hannaford (1888-1975,) the daughter of Mrs. Charles Ide, who was a sculptress who exhibited at the National Academy and who made her debut in 1908, was the wife of Foster Hannaford. Foster Hannaford was interested in airplanes. In 1935, a Northrop Alpha, piloted by R. S. LeRoy, had an accident near St. Clairsville, Ohio. The aircraft was salvaged and the remains were sold in 1938 to Foster Hannaford, Jr., of Minneapolis, who planned to rebuild the aircraft and retained the registration as late as 1948. In 1945, Hannaford also purchased an intact Northrop Alpha NC11Y that had been flown by Charles Lindbergh and he stored both airframes in a barn. In 1971, the aircraft were acquired by the Experimental Aircraft Association, TWA Technical Services Center, Kansas City, Missouri, restored the NC11Y, and it was on display at the National Air and Space Museum in 2003. An aircraft manufactured under license to Jack Rose in 1947 by Blackhawk Aircraft Company was registed, but did not complete the certification process and was sold to Foster Hannaford, along with four incomplete airframes in 1948. Foster Hannaford had a license from Jack Rose to manufacture and sell five Hannaford Rose A-4 Parrakeets per year. In 1950, the Hannaford Aircraft Company completed and sold it's first Hannaford A-4 as an experimental airplane. Sometime between 1948 and the early 1950's, Rose came to believe that Hannaford had violated their agreement and filed an injunction against Hannaford Aircraft, which was settled out of court. By 1955, plans marketed as Hannaford Bee Model D-1, but in fact copies of the Rose Parrakeet plans were sold for $85 by Hannaford Aircraft Company. Foster Hannaford also collected Medieval manuscripts. In 2002, Ogden Hannaford and other heirs of Foster Hannaford of Winnetka, Illinois, gave to the Oberlin College Library a complete medieval manuscript in original bindings, a 15th century missal of German origin that contains a full set of liturgical calendars and extensive hand coloring. There is a Foster Hannaford Recognition Award for distinguished service at the North Shore Country Day School of Winnetka, Illinois. Alice Ide Hannaford was a correspondent with Booker T. Washington. R. Ogden Hannaford was a son of and Priscilla Hannaford Greeley, Taylor Hannaford Churchill, and Charlotte Hannaford Drake were daughters of Foster Hannaford and Alice Ide Hannaford. Mary Eva Gay Hannaford (1916-1999,) the daughter of Edward Elias Gay and Etta Deen Wright Gay, was born in Springdale, Arkansas, was the wife of Foster Hannaford, Jr., and died in Kankakee, Illinois. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $276,000. The current owners of record of the property are Adele O. Brown and Curtis A. Brown. [See note on Foster Hannaford, Jr. for 393 Marshall Avenue West.]

870 West Osceola Avenue: F. C. Rogers House; Built in 1905 (1904 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; W. A. Keller, architect. The structure is a two story, 2410 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, one bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Rogers resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Chase L. Dobner, president of Dobner Brothers Inc., and his wife, Agnes Dobner, resided at this address. In 2006, Todd Wichman was a member of the board of directors of the Summit Hill Association and resided at this address. Frank C. Rogers ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. Chase L. Dobner ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Agnes Vaughn Dobner ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $296,300 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owners of record of the property are Laurel A. Wichman and Todd R. Wichman. Todd Wichman is a landscape architect. Wichman & Associates is also located at this address.

869 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1895 (1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; A. Mashek, architect. The structure is a two story, 2284 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. McCrossen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry E. Speakes, the president of the Speakes Company, dealers in building materials, coal, and coke, and his wife, Anna H. Speakes, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Austin John Baillon (1928- ,) who attended the school from 1944 until 1945, who attended the University of Minnesota, who served as an Able Seaman 2nd Class in the U. S. Coast Guard in 1945, and who pursued the hobbies of hunting, fly fishing, squash racquets, and tennis, resided at this address. Julian A. McCrossen (1854- ,) was son of James McCrossen and Cornelia Jones McCrossen, was born in Waupaca County, Wisconsin, attended public schools in Wisconsin, attended Lawrence University in Appleton, Wisconsin, was engaged in a mercantile business from 1872 until 1891, was engaged in the lumber business in Wausau, Wisconsin, from 1891 until 1894, was engaged in merchandise and lumber in Washington from 1894 until 1898, was engaged in the lumber business in Wausau, Wisconsin, from 1898 until 1902, married Caroline Barr in 1902, dealt in real estate and farm lauds, was engaged in real estate in St. Paul after 1903, was the vice president of the Golden Valley Land & Cattle Company, resided at The Willard in 1907, and officed at the Endicott Building in 1907. Albert J. Mashek ( -1912) died in Ramsey County. Albert J. Mashek (1909-1981) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2007 with a sale price of $715,000. The previous owners of record of the property were William M. Higgins and Julie K. Woodson and the current owners of record of the property are Sarah N. Mervine and Mark E. Schiff.

866 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1898. The structure is a two story, 2738 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Bixby and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. P. Howes and their daughter resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles Perry Howes (1860-1918,) the husband of Isabel M. Howes, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of paralysis agitans, resided at this address in 1918. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Moses C. Kimberly (1846-1923,) the husband of Mary B. Kimberly, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of paresis, resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Cleon Headley, a lawyer with the law firm of Kellogg, Morgan, Chase, Carter & Headley, located at the Merchants National Bank Building, and his wife, Gertrude K. Headley, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Clarke Dailey (1914- ,) who attended the school from 1927 until 1932, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that William B. Geery, Jr., a member of the Class of 1935, and William B. Geery III, a member of the Class of 1964, both resided at this address. William B. Geery (1867-1949) was educated in public schools of Ripon, Wisconsin, was a governor of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis after 1927, and resided at 721 West Lincoln Avenue with his wife, Mabel Geery, in 1930. William B. Geery III was a graduate of Dartmouth College and was on the staff of the Area Health Education Center of the Health Sciences Center at the University of Minnesota in 1974. Cleon Headley ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Gertrude Knight Headley (1892-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Russell, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Shirley W. Pearl. [See note on William B. Geery for 721 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on William Beckwith Geery, Jr., for 721 Lincoln Avenue.]

863 West Osceola Avenue: Charles Trudeau House; Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 2713 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Trudeau resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emily E. Trudeau, the widow of Charles Trudeau, resided at this address. Emily Eisenmenger was the daughter of Lewis Eisenmenger, a meat merchant and grocer, and Ann Marie Hofmann/Hoffmann Eisenmenger, was the granddaughter of Johann Georg Hoffman (1793-1877) and Margareta Kastler Hoffman (1804-1860,) and had at least five siblings, Louis Eisenmenger, Charles Eisenmenger, Anna "Annie" Eisenmenger ( -1969,) Lucy Eisenmenger Schuldt ( -1963,) and Ottilia "Tillie" Eisenmenger. Anna Eisenmenger, with Perrie Jones (1886-1968,) the head librarian for the Saint Paul Central Library from 1937 to 1956, was among the first individuals to establish permanent endowments in St. Paul. The Eisenmenger Market was located at 455 Wabasha Street in 1887 and the Eisenmenger Meat Market was located at 567 University Avenue in 1917. Charles Trudeau ( -1923) and Emily Eisenmenger Trudeau ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $719,000. The previous owner of record of the property was David A. Wildmo and the current owners of record of the property are Carmenza Duque Preus and David A. Preus.

862 West Osceola Avenue: J. M. Dickson House/Charles Trudeau House; Built in 1896 (1894 according to the National Register of Historic Places and 1898 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne/Georgian Revival in style; Charles Bassford, architect. The structure is a two story, 2455 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. F. C. E. Smith, Paul A. Dwyer, John J. Dwyer, Jr., and Miss Doris G. Dwyer all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Daniel Byrne, a student, boarded at this address and that Samuel E. Byrne, a manager employed by Paine, Webber & Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel E. Byrne, resident manager of Paine Webber & Company, and his wife, Minnie Byrne, resided at this address. In 1934, S. E. Byrne, Sr., Mary Sullivan Byrne, Dan Byrne, S. E. Byrne, Jr., Clinton A. Byrne, Len Byrne, John Byrne, and Margaret Byrne all resided at this address. Charles Trudeau ( -1923) and Samuel E. Byrne ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. Mary S. Byrne (1869-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McKenna, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Thomas F. Skovholt. Iztchel Skovholt and David Skovholt reside at this address and are the parents of Daniel Banegas, a French immersion school student in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul. Iztchel Skovholt, a mathematics education major enrolled in the Urban Teacher Program at Metro State University, received a $2,500 Susan Morrison Scholarship in 2007. Iztchel Skovholt is a bilingual Spanish teacher at Cherokee Heights School. David Skovholt was the director of the Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center, an organization that helps promote immigrants' rights, in 2004, was associated with the Florida Immigrant Coalition in 2005, and is Associate Director of the Minnesota Immigrant Freedom Network, a leadership program in civic participation for Latino immigrant students.

859 West Osceola Avenue: George Mott and Edwin Mott House/Mott House; Built in 1882 (1905 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Eclectic in style; Romer & Son, builder. The house was built for $10,000. The 4178 square foot, 16 room, eight bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, stucco structure with a hip roof which has one gabled dormer. It also has flared overhanging eaves and exposed rafters. It also has a two story recessed porch that is supported by colossal columns and has a cast iron balustrade. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The house was built for George C. Mott and Edwin Mott. The house is currently a duplex and has been substantially altered from its original appearance. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Eliza J. Mott, a widow and a member of the church since 1857 and George C. Mott, a member of the church since 1876, resided at this address. City directories indicate that residents at this address were Edwin Mott, G. C. Mott, and Mrs. E. J. Mott (1908, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1916, and 1918,) and Charles Wood and W. H. Wood (1924.) Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Eliza J. Mott (1821-1916,) the widowed mother of Edwin Mott, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of bronchopneumonia, resided at this address in 1916. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Mott, Mrs. E. J. Mott, her daughter, and G. C. Mott all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Wood, William H. Wood, a draftsman employed by the City of St. Paul Department of Public Works, Ignatz Ziegler, and his wife, Lena Ziegler, all resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that F. Whitney Countryman (1920- ,) who attended the school from 1931 until 1932, who attended Carlton College from 1937 until 1938, who attended Yale University in 1939, resided at this address. In 1879, George C. Mott, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, and Frederick C. Mott, a student of H. W. Buchanan, both boarded at 16 Summit Avenue and Eliza J. Mott, the widow of George C. Mott, resided at 16 Summit Avenue. George C. Mott (1861- ,) the son of George C. Mott and Eliza Collamer Mott, was born in St. Paul/New York City, was educated in St. Paul public schools, started his business career in the office of Hughson & Hemenway, insurance agents, in St. Paul, worked for the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company in many capacities for 20 years, moved to Chicago in 1892, was the state agent for the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company in Illinois from 1892 until 1900, returned to St. Paul in 1900, and was an agent and adjuster for the New York Underwriters Agency after 1900, was the vice president of the Minnesota & North Dakota Fire Underwriters Association in 1905, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, No. 59, was a member of the Chicago Athletic Association, officed at the Endicott Building in 1907, and officed at the Merchants National Bank Building in 1922. Edwin Mott was an assistant cashier for the Second National Bank. Romer & Son was a contracting business founded by Frederick J. Romer in 1906. Frederick J. Romer (1840-1906,) the son of Cord Romer and Sophia Spang Romer, was born in Fallingbostel, Providence Hannover, Germany, was educated in the common schools of Hannover, Germany, learned carpentry from 1856 until 1860, worked in European cities for ten years, moved to St. Paul in 1870, was associated with Charles Wilcken and Fred Wilcken, dissolved the partnership in 1871, formed a new partnership with F. J. Wilcken from 1871 until 1886, married Sophia Wilcken in 1874, from 1886 until 1901 was self-employed, formed a partnership with his son in 1901 under the firm name of F. J. Romer & Son, was engaged in the general contracting business, and was a member of the Concordia Singing Society. Frederick H. Romer (1875-1948,) the son of Frederick J. Romer (1840-1906) and Sophia Wilcken Romer (1850-1925,) was born in St. Paul, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St Paul public and manual training schools, was employed by Cass Gilbert and by Reed & Stem, and was married in 1876 in Watertown, New York, to Edythe Amelia Rapp Romer (1876-1936,) was a contractor and builder, was a member of firm of F. J. Romer & Son from 1901 under 1907, incorporated F. J. Romer & Sons in 1907, was a member of the St. Paul Builders Exchange, was a member of the Business Men's League, was a member of the Turnverein, was a Mason,resided at 233 Ramsey Street in 1907, and office at 190 Ramsey Street in 1907. Frederick H. Romer was one of the charter members of the Rotary Club of St. Paul #10, founded in 1910. Frederick H. Romer had three brothers and three sisters, who were Charles H. Romer (1876-1957), Eda Romer (1878-1949), Clara Romer (1880-1884), Hermann T. C. Romer (1885-1890), Ernst F. H. Romer (1889-1939), and Lillian M. Romer (1894-1983.) William H. Wood (1844- )was born in Sandwich, Canada, was the son of William R. Wood and Harriet Marsh Wood, and was an astronomer and engineer who was employed by the Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad in 1885, by the Mexican Central RailRoad 1887-1889, by the Mexican Southern RailRoad from 1889 to 1892, by the Northwestern Coal RailRoad in 1893, and by the U. S. Government in Montana and Wyoming in 1896. William H. Wood married Frances Guiteau Wood in 1874 and the couple had four children, a daughter who became Mrs. E. G. Lee, Mary Wood, Katherine Wood, and William R. Wood, who became the superintendent of the Great Western RailRoad shops. George Clark Mott ( -1928,) Ignatz Ziegler ( -1932,) William Henry Wood ( -1935,) Edwin Mott ( -1938,) and William Robert Wood ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Ruth Anne Depitera and the current owner of record of the property is the trustee for Ruth Anne Teisburg. Ruth Teisburg is an Elementary 1 teacher at the Crossroads Montessori School. [See note for the Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad.]

856 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911; Queen Anne/Victorian in style. The structure is a two story, 2112 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Miss M. F. Eklund resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Carl E. Eklund resided at this address and that Clarence E. Eklund, a student, and that Mildred F. Eklund, a bookkeeper employed by Tubbesing & Nelson, both boarded at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Carl E. Eklund (1858- ,) the head of household who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden, his wife, Anna Eklund (1869- ,) who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden, a daughter, Mildred F. Eklund (1989- ,) a bookkeeper who was born in Montana, and a son, Clarence E. Eklund (1900- ,) who was born in Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Susan E. O'Brien, the widow of Christopher D. O'Brien, resided at this address. In 1934, William J. Dempsey, Katherine Melady Dempsey, Mary E. Dempsey, and Katherine A. Dempsey resided at this address. William J. Dempsey was a graduate of the University of Minnesota. The Dempsey family were members of Minneapolis Club and the St. Paul Athletic Club in 1934. Christopher D. O'Brien ( -1922) died in Ramsey County. Susan E. O'Brien ( -1929) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. William John Dempsey (1879-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kiley, and died in Ramsey County. Katherine M. Dempsey (1900-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Prendergast, and died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $460,000. The current owners of record of the property are Heidi L. Staloch and Mark P. Staloch. Heidi L. Staloch was born in Waukesha, Wisconsin, graduated from Augsburg College in 1993, graduated from the William Mitchell College of Law in 1996, and practices debt collection law with the Gurstel Law Firm. Heidi L. Staloch and Mark P. Staloch are members of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church, have a son, Porter Gray Staloch, and were donors to Bolder Options, a child mentoring organization, in 2002.

853 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1904; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 1745 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 city directory indicates that Louis J. Consigny was a credit manager for Armour & Company who resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul C. Thomas, an attorney at law who officed at the Pioneer Building, and his wife, Ruth V. Thomas, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Denning R. Smith, a member of the Class of 1962, resided at this address. Paul C. Thomas (1892-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Chase, and died in Ramsey County. Ruth V. Thomas (1894-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Parker, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffry W. Peters and Kaye Thompson Peters. Kaye T. Peters, an employee of the St. Paul Public Schools, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

852 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1898. The structure is a two story, 3991 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, four bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles Thomas Jenkins (1831-1911,) the widower father of Herbert L. Jenkins, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of old age, resided at this address in 1911. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Jenkins resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Herbert L. Jenkins (1858-1924,) the husband of Jessie S. Jenkins, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of endocarditis, resided at this address in 1924. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jessie S. Jenkins, the widow of Herbert L. Jenkins, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John Brandt Bacon (1933- ,) who attended the school from 1945 until 1950 and attended the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John R. Low, a member of the Class of 1964, resided at this address. Charles T. Jenkins (1831-1911) and Adaline W. Jenkins (1842-1901) both are buried in Oakland Cemetery. Herbert L. Jenkins ( -1924) and Jessie S. Jenkins ( -1931) both died in Ramsey County. The last recorded sale of the property was in 2003 with a sale price of $693,450. The previous owners of record of the property were Joseph J. Shaffer and Kristina K. Shaffer and the current owners of record of the property are Ronald M. Schwartz and Karen L. Schwartz.

849 West Osceola Avenue: L. M. Powers House; Built in 1904; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2709 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Loren M. Powers (1861- ,) a court reporter and the head of household, who was born in Indiana to parents who were born in New York, his wife, Anna O. Powers (1862- ,) who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Pennsylvania and a mother who was born in Ohio, and his daughter, Maud B. Powers (1884- ,) a music teacher who was born in Iowa, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Theo Holly and Mr. and Mrs. L. M. Powers all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Maud B. Epperson, the widow of Harry W. Epperson, a music teacher, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lawrence Platt, the treasurer of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and his wife, Ruth M. Platt, resided at this address. Loren M. Powers ( -1928) and Lawrence Platt ( -1957) both died in Ramsey County. Ruth E. Platt (1893-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hinley, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $318,000. The current owners of record of the property are Teresa A. Borzcik and Andrew W. Rabins. The 1920 city directory indicates that John G. Brown, a salesman, resided at the former nearby 848 Osceola Avenue West. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

846 West Osceola Avenue: Keith Fahnestock House; Built in 1913 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; O. Holm, architect. The structure is a two story, 2554 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. P. Fahnestock resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Dobner resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Chase L. Dobner, a partner with Harry C. Dobner, a loan company, resided at this address and Dorothy A. Dobner, a student, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eleanor Warner resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Eunice Sobolewski and M. J. Sobolewski.

845 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1908 (1909 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2259 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Nelia McDowell (1867- ,) a head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in New Hampshire, her son, Robert G. McDowell (1887- ,) a sailor in the U. S. Navy who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, her other son, Gordon McDowell (1886- ,) a traveling salesman employed by a clothing store who was born in California, her daughter, Gretchen McDowell (1895- ,) a who was born in Missouri, and her father, Judson Parker (1829- ,) who was born in New Hampshire to parents born in New Hampshire, all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ellen Watt Cavanaugh (1834-1912,) the widowed mother of Mrs. Alfred Jackson, who was born in Scotland to parents born in Scotland and in England and who died of lobar pneumonia, resided at this address in 1912. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Jackson resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary A. Cavanaugh, a stenographer employed by Davis & Lagerman, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alfred Jackson resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alf Jackson, a superintendent employed by the Minnesota Highway Department, and his wife, Elizabeth Jackson, resided at this address. Ellen Watt Cavanaugh (1835-1912,) indicated on her tombstone as having been born at Aberdeen, Scotland, and Mary A. Cavanaugh ( -1928,) indicated on her tombstone as having been born at St. John's, Newfoundland, are buried at Oakland Cemetery. Judson Parker (1829- ) was born near Concord, New Hampshire, moved to Minnesota in 1857, settled in St. Paul, was employed in the U. S. Postal Service from 1858 until 1901, and was a member of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers Association. Alford Jackson (1885-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bax, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth J. Jackson ( -1933,) Elizabeth Jackson ( -1945,) and Alfred Jackson ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. Alfred T. Jackson (1883-1857) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jackson, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Jackson (1880-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Creighton, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Frace Jackson (1902-1995) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dicus, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Ames Jackson (1894-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lesley, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $511,530 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owners of record of the property are Alexis D. Dubois and Christian M. Dubois.

840 West Osceola Avenue: J. C. Michael House; Built in 1898; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3085 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Willson/Wilson Lewis Hall (1877-1904,) the son of Hezekiah Hall, who was born in the United States to parents also born in the United States and who died of organic heart disease, resided at this address in 1904. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Hezekiah Hall (1839-1911,) the husband of Mary J. Hall, who was born in Canada to parents born in the United States and Canada and who died of acute bronchopneumonia, resided at this address in 1911. In 1916, Henry Benbrooke Hall, a photographer, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Hezekiah Hall and H. B. Hall resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry B. Hall resided at this address in 1927. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry B. Hall, a department manager employed by Farwell, Ozmun & Kirk, and his wife, Harriet Hall, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Henry B. Hall, who attended the school from 1935 until 1939, resided at this address. Mary Jane Middlebrook (1846- ) was born in Ballston, New York, married Hezekiah Hall (1839- ) in 1871, and the couple had three children, Esther Amelia Hall (1872-1896,) Henry Benbrooke Hall (1874- ,) and Wilson Lewis Hall (1876-1904.) Henry B. Hall and Harriet Hale Geer Hall were members of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church. Mary Jane Middlebrook Hall died in St. Paul. James Clark Michael (1863- ,) the son of John A. Michael ( -1864,) a school teacher and farmer, and Nancy Hamilton Ormond/Ormonde Michael, was born in Preston County, Virginia, graduated from the West Virginia State University at Morgantown, West Virginia, worked as an agricultural laborer in Illinois from 1882 until 1884, came to Minnesota in 1884, settled in Red Wing, Minnesota, read the law in the law offices of Hoyt & Akers, Red Wing, Minnesota, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1885, was a lawyer, formed the law firm of Hoyt & Michael with F. W. Hoyt, was associate attorney for the Duluth, Red Wing & Southern Railway Company in 1888, moved to St. Paul in 1889, was the assistant corporation attorney for the City of St. Paul from 1891 until 1893, was the city attorney of South St. Paul, Minnesota, from 1893 until 1895 and from 1899 until 1901, with David F. Peebles formed the law firm of Michael & Peebles in 1895, married Jennie M. Crandall in 1900 in Minneapolis, was the corporation attorney of the City of St. Paul from 1903 until 1911, was the special counsel for the South St. Paul Belt RailRoad Company, the Pittsburgh Bridge Company, the St. Paul National Bank, the Cleveland Vapor Light Company, and Edwards, Woods & Company, was a Democrat, was a member of the Commercial Club of St. Paul, was a a member of St. Paul Lodge, No. 59, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was an Episcopalian, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, and was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. James Clark Michael and Jennie M. Crandall Michael had one child, Genevieve Michael. James Clark Michael ( -1946,) Henry Benbrook Hall ( -1951,) and Harriet G. Hall ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Harriet Geer Hall (1897-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hazen, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $305,000. The current owner of record of the property is Catherine R. Gulsvig Wood. [See note for the South St. Paul Belt RailRoad.] [See note for the Duluth, Red Wing & Southern RailRoad.]

839 West Osceola Avenue: F. M. Finch House; Built in 1890; Queen Anne in style; Gilbert and Taylor, architects. The structure is a two story, 3626 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, four half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that James Forrestal (1866- ,) a self-employed dredging contractor and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in English Ireland, his wife, Anne C. G. Forrestal (1867- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in English Ireland, his son, James Forrestal (1891- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Minnea D. Matson (1881- ,) a who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Sweden, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Freeman resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harold C. Freeman, the president of the Freeman Thompson Shoe Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Philip F. McQuillan, a real estate agent, and his wife, Loraine McQuillan, resided at this address. Harold C. Freeman ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Brian G. Belisle and Robin J. Belisle. Mr. and Mrs. Brian G. Belisle were financial supporters of St. Thomas Academy in 2003. Brian G. Belisle and Robin J. Belisle were financial supporters of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in 2005. Brian Belisle has a bachelor of science degree from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, a master's of business administration from the University of Southern California, and a juris doctor degree, with honors, from the University of Southern California Law School, and is a partner and the chair of the Employee Benefits, ESOPs and Tax practice group at Oppenheimer Wolff & Donnelly LLP. Robin J. Averbeck Belisle is a 1970 graduate of Alexander Ramsey High School, graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a teaching degree, married Brian Belisle in 1978, and the couple have four children, Brittany Belisle (1981- ,) Adam Belisle (1983- ,) Alexis Belisle (1985- ,) and Lauren Belisle (1988- .) [See note on Gilbert.] [See note on Taylor.]

835 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1910; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 1872 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Henke resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Donald S. Simpson, a salesman employed by Howard Farwell & Company, and his wife, Myrtle R. Simpson, resided at this address. In 1979, State Senator Nicholas D. Coleman resided at this address. Donald Sarles Simpson ( -1936) died in Hennepin County. Nicholas D. Coleman (1925-1981) was a State Senator from District 65 from 1962 to 1980 and was the Minnesota Senate Majority Leader from 1973 to 1980. Coleman died of leukemia and his body lay in state in the Capitol, one of only a handful of Minnesotans to have been so honored, including Colonel (and former state Attorney General) William Colvill in 1905, Governor John Johnson in 1909, former Governor and U. S. Senator Knute Nelson in 1923, U. S. Senator Thomas Schall in 1935, Governor Floyd B. Olson in 1936, former U. S. Senator Frank B. Kellogg in 1937, State Senator Fay Childs in 1965, former U. S. Senator (and former Vice President) Hubert H. Humphrey in 1978, State Senator B. Robert "Bob" Lewis in 1979, former Governor Harold Stassen in 2001, and former Governor Orville Freeman in 2003. Nicholas D. Coleman graduated from Cretin High School and from the College of St. Thomas with a bachelor's degree in political science and won the "Tommy" award from the University of St. Thomas Alumni Association in 1949. After taking control of the Senate in 1973, Coleman and his Democratic-Farmer-Labor majority caucus sought to pass a long list of pent-up consumer legislation, including bills to increase the minimum wage, create no-fault auto insurance, and break up a wholesale liquor monopoly, but a fellow DFLer, Senator C. R. "Baldy" Hansen (1910-2000,) chairman of the Senate Labor and Commerce Committee from 1973 through 1976, blocked their passage, which sparked a feud between him and Coleman and Coleman invoked a rarely used rule to pull several high-priority DFL bills out of Hansen's committee to keep them alive, which was highly unusual use of that rule by a leader against one of his own committee chairs. In another legislative dust-up, Coleman reportedly broke the glass out of one of the front doors of the Capitol while storming out of the building after Senator Florian Chmielewski (DFL-Sturgeon Lake) succeeded in attaching a bill lifting weight restrictions on garbage trucks to another bill on the Senate floor after Coleman had blocked the measure in three previous attempts. Coleman owned the Coleman Advertising Agency. In 1971, Coleman introduced a bill to enact a moratorium on new construction of nuclear plants in Minnesota until such time as they are determined to be safe. Nicholas Coleman also had tried, and failed, to merge all four of Minnesota's higher education systems (including the University of Minnesota) in the 1970's, commenting that "reorganizing higher education is a lot like rearranging a cemetery, since the effort does not get a lot of internal support." Coleman's first wife was Bridget Finnegan Coleman and the couple had seven children, who are Nicholas J. Coleman, who was a long-time columnist with the St. Paul Pioneer Press and is a current columnist for the Minneapolis Star Tribune, Patrick Coleman, who is the acquisitions librarian for the Minnesota Historical Society and curator of rare books, Maureen Coleman, who died of leukemia at the age of two, Brendan Coleman, who has played keyboards in bands in the U.S. and Europe for years and is currently living in Prague with his Czech wife, Meghan Coleman, who is a chiropractor in Mankato, Minnesota, Chris Coleman, who is the mayor of St. Paul, and Emmett Coleman, who is a lobbyist with Comcast. Deborah Howell (1941- ,) previously the Washington bureau chief for the Newhouse News Service and currently the omudsman for The Washington Post, who was an editor at the St. Paul Pioneer Press in the 1970's, was Coleman's second wife, having become romanticly entangled with Coleman when she was a reporter. The Minnesota Historical Society has a bronze portrait bust of Senator Nicholas D. Coleman that was rendered by Paul Theodore Granlund (1925-2003.) A bust of Coleman is exhibited in the Capitol. The current owners of record of the property are David J. Coleman and Rosalind H. Coleman.

832 West Osceola Avenue: H. S. Haas House; Built in 1909 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2887 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. R. Auerbach resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert H. Parker, a division manager for the General Electric Supply Company, and his wife, Alice Parker, resided at this address. In 1879, Henry S. Haas, a merchant tailor and clothing manufacturer located at 23 East Third Street, resided at 175 Fort Road. Robert Parker ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Alice Parker (1890-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clevenger, and died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $201,900. The current owners of record of the property are Amy K. Dickson and Michael J. Dickson.

829 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1800 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Anderson and her daughter resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George A. Anderson, Helen E. Anderson, and John J. Delehanty, a chief clerk collector employed by the United States Internal Revenue Service, all resided at this address and that Margaret Anderson, the widow of Hector Anderson, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alice Sybilla Wolfsberg (1868-1922,) the wife of Richard C. Wolfsberg, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Switzerland and who died of septic endocarditis, resided at this address in 1922. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Richard C. Wolfsberg resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ellen Foley resided at this address. Laura Billings was a former newspaper columnist for the St. Paul Pioneer Press and her health reporting has appeared in Self, Health, Cooking Light, Parenting, and other periodicals. George A. Anderson (1888-1972) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Ellen Hortence Foley ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Richard Wolfsberg ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $454,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Laura E. Billings and the current owners of record of the property are Hugh P. Johnson and Sarah S. G. Johnson.

826 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922; Prairie School in style. The structure is a two story, 3309 square foot, 14 room, six bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold J. Rothschild, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, his wife, Herma Rothschild, and William E. Shaules resided at this address. Harold L. Rothschild (1890-1977) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Herma Rothschild (1892-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marx, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Maria S. Ceplecha. In 2003 and in 2006, Maria S. Ceplecha was a part time instructor in Modern Languages at Augsburg College. Maria Ceplecha was a financial supporter in 2002 and in 2003 of the Guild Incorporated, a service provider to individuals experiencing a psychiatric or other crisis.

825 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1898; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2674 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Willis Drummond (1853- ,) a manager employed by a land company and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to to a father who was born in Missouri and a mother who was born in Washington, D. C., his wife, Ella C. Drummond (1854- ,) who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Pennsylvania and a mother who was born in Iowa, his son, Noble W. Drummond (1880- ,) who was born in Washington, D. C., and was employed as a private secretary, and his daughter, Kate W. Drummond (1889- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Katherine Brom (1886- ,) a who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Austria/Bohemia, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. R. Hensel and Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Bliss all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Elizabeth Milton resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward M. Selfe, a physiotherapist and the St. Paul City Comptroller, and his wife, Eleanor Selfe, resided at this address and that the second floor was vacant. The current owners of record of the property are Shirley V. Eggers and Paul E. Manly. Daniel T. Kelley, who resided at this address in 2004, a food service worker for HMS Host Services Corp, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

822-824 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1954. The structure is a 2145 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with an attached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $527,500. The current owners of record of the property are Mark A. Berman and Rae Berman.

821 West Osceola Avenue: Bartlett/Forbes House; Built in 1896 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2533 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward Carlson, a bookkeeper, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John V. Delaney, a freight representative for the Pennsylvania RailRoad, and his wife, Julia Delaney, and Arthur Croonquist, a cigarmaker employed by the Worch Cigar Company, and his wife, Abbey Croonquist, resided at this address. The Worch Cigar Company was a Twin City cigar manufacturer from at least 1922 until at least 1933, was operated by Albert Worch, produced La Sebana "Baby" and Cyana cigars, and also utilized a 126 card set of baseball cards printed by the Minneapolis Star and redeemed with cigar bands as a promotion in 1933. The Worch postcard-sized baseball cards used player photographs reportedly supplied by the Minneapolis Star and by the St. Paul Dispatch. The Worch Cigar Company was one of many tobacco companies that used baseball cards as promotions from the 1890's into the 1930's, such as the American Tobacco Company, the Pinkerton Tobacco Company, the Red Man Tobacco Company, Mayo's Cut Plug Tobacco Company, and the Winner Cut Plug Tobacco Company, the Coupon Cigarette Company, the Victory Tobacco Company, the Red Cross Tobacco Company, the People's Tobacco Company of New Orleans, the Liggett & Myers Tobacco Company, the Honest Long Cut Tobacco Company, the Charles Denby Cigar Company, Cia Cigarrera Diaz of Cuba, the Old Put Cigar Company, the Philadelphia Cigar Company, and the Spaulding & Merrick (Plowboy) Tobacco Company. A 1933 Babe Ruth Worch Cigar Premium baseball card recently was auctioned for $732. The Worch Cigar Company was one of a number of parties involved on a bill to foreclose a trust deed in the Champaign County, Illinois, Circuit Chancery Court in 1933. Arthur Croonquist (1875-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Knutson, and died in Ramsey County. Abbie L. Croonquist (1877-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Julie Ann Wallschlaeger O'Brien and Michael Dillon O'Brien. [See note on the Pennsylvania RailRoad for 1297 St. Clair Avenue.]

820 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1904 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2482 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Iver Carrington and Louise A. Carrington, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1890. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Harold Hamilton Lovell (1892-1909,) the son of William Lovell, who was born in St. Paul to parents born in the United States and who died of poliomyelitis, resided at this address in 1909. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick W. Foote, an attorney with the law firm of Foote, Hinrichs & Swensen, located at the Minnesota Building, his wife, Emilie B. Foote, Emily Foote, a student at the Nichols Expert School, and Justine Foote, a musician, resided at this address. Anna Whitall Carrington (1887-1890) was the daughter of Iver Carrington and Louise A. Carrington and died of convulsions. Frederick W. Foote (1872- ) married Emilie Batlo, who was a singer and a dancer, and the couple lived in Red Wing, Minnesota, for a period. Harold H. Lovell ( -1909) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $227,000. The current owners of record of the property are Collin C. Rust and Pamela W. Scott. Collin Rust and Pamela Scott were financial supporters of the Friends School of Minnesota in 2003, of the Washburn Child Guidance Center in 2003, and of the Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library in 2007. Collin Rust is a supporter of presidential candidate John Edwards in One Corps. Collin Rust was the Pledge Drive 2006 Co-Chair for Unity Church-Unitarian. Pam Scott was a member of the Pittsford-Sutherland, New York, High School Class of 1974, is an attorney with the National Labor Relations Board, married Collin Rust in 1986, moved to St. Paul in 1996, and the couple have two children, Nick Rust (1989-) and Keenan Rust (1995- .)

817 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 3154 square foot, 13 room, seven bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1910 city directory indicates that Mary A. Converse, widow of Albert B. Converse, boarded at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that Arthur W. Burch (1874- ,) a self-employed wholesale and retail merchant and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, his wife, Alberta C. Burch (1882 - ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Missouri, his son, Donald C. G. Burch (1908- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his mother-in-law, Mary A. Converse (1854- ,) a who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in England and a mother who was born in the United States, a servant, Mabel Swanson (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Sweden, and another servant, Zelma Swanson (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Sweden. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Burch and Mrs. M. A. Converse all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Arthur W. Burch resided at this address and that Mary A. Converse, the widow of Alb B. Converse, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur N. Burch, manufacturers agent, and his wife, Alberta Burch, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Donald G. Burch (1909- ,) who attended the school from 1920 until 1924, a 1932 graduate of the University of Minnesota, and an employee of the Northern States Power Company, resided at this address. Mary Ann Converse (1887-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lotzer, and died in Red Lake County, Minnesota. Arthur W. Burch (1872-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Alberta C. Burch (1872-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Greenough, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Madelene M. Sachs and William J. Weisert and the current owner of record of the property is William J. Weisert.

813 West Osceola Avenue: G. R. Foley House; Built in 1899 (1895 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne/Victorian in style. The 2425 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, coursed ashlar limestone foundation, wood frame, clapboard and shingle structure with an intersecting hip and gable roof structure which has one hip dormer and one gable dormer. It has two chimneys. The house has a narrow polygonal three story tower with a polygonal tower with a finial. It also has two stained glass transom windows. The house also has an open porch with Tuscan columns and a two story bay window on the East side. The house is indicated to be one of the most intact Victorian houses on the block, although the 1979-1982 St. Paul/Ramsey County architectural survey fieldworker described the house as being basically box-like. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that George R. Foley resided at this address from 1893 to 1904. City directories indicate that residents at this address were George Foley (1895, 1897, and 1902,) J. B. Foley (1904,) W. J. Towle (1906, 1908, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1916 and 1918,) and C. J. Nimis (1924.) The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Towle resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Achilles O. Foley resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Achilles O. Foley (1885- ,) a railroad contractor and the head of household, who was born in North Dakota to a father who was born in English Canada and to a mother who was born in French Canada, his wife, Ada Foley (1889- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in France, his daughter, Octivia Foley (1910- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, George R. Foley (1914- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Ada E. Foley (1916- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl T. Nimis, the proprietor of Nimis & Nimis, electrical contractors located at 228 West Fifth Street, his wife, Bertha Nimis, Isabel Nimis, a teacher, and Paul W. Nimis, a tire repairer employed by Goodrich Silvertown Inc., all resided at this address. William J. Towle ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. William Joseph Towle (1900-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Foley, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. George Richard Foley ( -1924,) Bertha E. Nimis ( -1952,) and Carl T. Nimis ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Paul W. Nimis (1909-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of , and died in Ramsey County. The Mango Tree Company is currently located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is William E. Steinman.

812 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1904; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2028 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Murray and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry J. Murray, a director employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Alice Murray, resided at this address. Harry J. Murray ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Alice D. Murray (1882-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Straub, and died in Ramsey County. Alice Williams Murray (1873-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Moroney, and died in Ramsey County. Alice W. Murray (1902-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Williams, and died in Ramsey County. Alice M. Murray (1909-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Edmunds, and died in Ramsey County. Alice E. Murray (1913-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Esslinger, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Janice Duschane Smith.

807 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1884; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1381 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Eugene Bryan(1876- ,) a self-employed attorney-at-law and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to parents who were born in Ohio, his wife, Eugenia Bryan (1881- ,) who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Virginia and a mother who was born in Ohio, his son, Raymond G. Bryan (1893- ,) who was born in Iowa, and his daughter, Pauline Bryan (1900- ,) a who was born in Iowa, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Bryan resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Eugene Bryan, a lawyer who officed at the Hackney Building, resided at this address and that Pauline G. Bryan, a stenographer at the Hackney Land Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry C. Palmer, the president of the St. Paul Structural Steel Company, and his wife, Elizabeth Palmer, resided at this address. Eugene Bryan ( -1929) died in Sherburne County. Elizabeth Paine Palmer ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Louise C. Wolfgram and Richard G. Wolfgram.

806 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2792 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Albritton resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elmer S. Albriton, the second vice president of the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, and Harold M. Brott, a computer employed by Charles Weinhagen & Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl C. Chatterton, a physician and surgeon in the partnership Chatterton & von der Weyer, with William H. von der Weyer, located at the Lowry Medical Arts Building, and his wife, Laura Chatterton, resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Carl C. Chatterton (1887- ,) a surgeon selfemployed in general practice and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Illinois, his wife, Laura Chatterton (1888- ,) who was born in Missouri to parents who were born in Scotland, his daughter, Laura A. Chatterton (1919- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his son, William A. Chatterton (1923- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Rose Faleide (1900- ,) who was born in North Dakota to a father who was born in Norway and a mother who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that William A. Chatterton, who attended the school from 1933 until 1937, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Richard E. Klein, a member of the Class of 1936, resided at this address. Carl C. Chatterton (1885- ) was born in Peterson, Iowa, the son of Dr. Allen Chatterton, a family practitioner, attended the Northwestern University medical school, initially trained in obstetrics, applied for an internship position with the City & County Hospital (City of St. Paul and Ramsey County,) was accepted for the internship by the hospital's medical director, Dr. Arthur Ancker, in 1910, spent the second internship year working with Dr. Arthur Gillette (1863-1921) in the wards of the crippled children's hospital, joined Dr. Gillette's private medical office in 1912 and became a partner in his private practice, replaced Dr. Gillette as an orthopedic surgeon at the City & County Hospital in 1914 when Dr. Gillette had a falling out with Dr. Ancker, was an orthopedic surgeon at the State Hospital for Indigent Crippled and Deformed Children (Gillette Childrens Hospital,) operated by the State Board of Control, when it was co-located with the City & County Hospital and after it moved to Lake Phalen in 1914, became the associate surgeon-in-chief for Gillette Childrens Hospital in 1918, replaced Gr. Gillette as surgeon-in-chief/chief of staff upon Dr. Gillette's death, and continued in that position at Gillette Childrens Hospital until 1955. Dr. Chatterton performed the first spine fusion surgery at Gillette Hospital in 1915, but spine fusion surgery had dismal success until 1947, when Dr. John Howard Moe (1905- ) began to concentrate on the procedure. In 1942, Carl C. Chatterton M.D., with Paul R. Lipscomb, authored the article "Osteochondritis Juvenilis of the Acetabulum" in Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery. In 1949, Carl C. Chatterton M.D., with Frank Shaleen Babb M.D. and Ralph K. Ghormley M.D., authored the article "Congenital Coxa Vara" in Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery. Gillette Hospital was established by Laws of Minnesota 1897, Chapter 289, and was initially administered by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota. The hospital became known as the Gillette State Hospital for Crippled Children (Laws 1925 Chapter 61,) then became known as the Gillette Children’s Hospital as a result of the diversity of cases being admitted (Laws 1971 Chapter 92,) and moved from Phalen Park to the St. Paul-Ramsey Medical Center (now Regions Hospital) in 1977. Carl Clayton Chatterton (1885-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Barber, and died in Ramsey County. William H. von der Weyer ( -1949) died in Washington County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $264,000. The current owners of record of the property are Jayne Barnard McCoy and Patrick D. McCoy. < a href="https://www.angelfire.com/mn/thursdaynighthikes/irvine_arch2.html"> [See note for Ancker Hospital for 265 Nugent Street.] [See note on Dr. Arthur Jay Gillette for 1149 Summit Avenue.]

803 West Osceola Avenue: Alfred J. Krank House; Built in 1906; Tudor Revival/Mildly Tudor Revival in style; Augustus F. Gauger, architect, and Krapp & Holm, builder. The house was built for $20,000. The 3711 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, stone and random ashlar structure with an intersecting gable slate roof. It has one chimney. It also has a two story three sided bay window on the west side of the house. It has rockfaced stone sills and an entrance on the east side of the house. It has a flat open porch. The property is on the Register of National Historic Places as a part of the Historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alfred J. Krank resided at this address in 1893. The 1920 federal census indicates that Alfred J. Krank (1867- ,) a cutlery manufacturing and merchant and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Emma M. Krank (1869- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Germany, his daughter, Virginia M. Krank (1875- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Erma M. Krank (1878- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Walter R. Krank (1901- ,) all resided at this address. The 1910, 1912, 1914, 1916, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that A. J. Krank resided at this address. In 1916, Alfred J. Krank was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Krank and their daughters resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Emma Krank resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma Krank, the widow of Alfred J. Krank, and Erma Krank, a clerk, resided at this address. Alfred J. Krank (1866-1928,) the son of Frank William Krank and Susan Sausen Krank, was born in New Ulm, Minnesota, came to St. Paul in 1877, was educated in the common schools of St. Paul and of St. Louis, Missouri, was variously employed in St. Paul until 1879, apprenticed for the cutlery firm of Christian Franke and Herman Schnell (Franke & Schnell,) then became a foreman in the cutlery firm in 1881, purchased an interest in the cutlery firm in 1882, married Emma Hundt in 1896, took over the cutlery firm in 1903 and renamed it "Alfred J. Krank, Inc.," expanded the firm to include retail and wholesale barber and beauty shop furniture and supplies, and later manufactured cosmetics, creams, and shampoos, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was the treasurer of the St. Paul Turnverein after 1900, resided at the former nearby 893 Osceola Avenue in 1907, and officed at 142 East Sixth Street in 1907. In 1920, Alfred J. Krank, Inc. had 220 employees and moved to the St. Paul Midway area in the mid-1920's. Alfred J. Krank was killed in an automobile-trolley car accident near Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota. The Krank burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Walter A. Krank (1900-1984,) Alfred J. Krank (1866-1928,) Jerome H. Krank (1933-2004,) Mildred J. Krank (1901-1987,) Emma M. Krank (1870-1960,) Alfred J. Krank (1928-1955,) Virginia K. Heger (1894-1975,) William F. Heger (1891-1963,) Alfred J. Krank (1892-1892,) and Susan Krank (1838-1907.) William F. Heger resided at 928 Fairmount Avenue in 1930. In 1879, Christian Franke, a partner with Herman Schnell in Franke & Schnell, cutlers and grinders located at 52 East Third Street, resided at 64 Hudson Avenue. Emma Margaret Krank (1870-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuects, and died in Ramsey County. Walter A. Krank (1900-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hunt, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Alfred J. Krank ( -1928) died in Hennepin County. Alfred J. Krank (1928-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gauer, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Mildred J. Krank (1901-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zimmer, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Virginia Krank Heger (1894-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hundt, and died in Ramsey County. William F. Heger (1891-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Taufman, and died in Ramsey County. Lancer Catering is now located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Glenn P. Baron and Kathryn M. Holum. Glenn Baron, Manager of Lancer Management, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Kathryn Holum (1966- ) is the secretary of the Congregation Council of Central Lutheran Church of Minneapolis, has been active in the church as a member of the Evangelism Committee, the Cross-Board Evangelism Initiative, the Senior Pastor Call Committee, the Congregational Mission Task Force and as a First grade Sunday School teacher. Kathryn Holum is married to Glenn Baron and the couple has two girls, Marlee Baron and Julia Baron. Glenn Baron and Kathryn Holum own a hospitality company with catering and food service contracts at a number of public venues in the Twin Cities. Glenn Baron and Kathryn Holum are both runners. [See note on Augustus F. Gauger.]

799 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1913; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2834 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. H. Herrmann resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Max H. Herrmann and Eleanor Herrmann, an assistant, resided at this address. Max H. Herrmann ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Herrmann ( -1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Erd, and died in McLeod County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $220,000. The current owners of record of the property are Catherine W. White and Mark M. White.

796 West Osceola Avenue: H. E. Erty House; Built in 1891 (1910 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; Charles Bassford, architect. The structure is a two story, 2691 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Ertz and Mrs. Louis Carufel all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry A. Ertz, a partner with Frank C. Hoffman in the wholesale produce firm of the H. A. Ertz Company, resided at this address and that Janette L. Ertz, a stenographer, Louis A. Ertz, a helper employed by the Waldorf Paper Products Company, and M. Corine Ertz, a stenographer employed by the National Tent & Awning Manufacturers association, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Perry A. Swenson, a principal in Perry A. Swenson & Hakanson, general contractors at the Builders Exchange Building, and his wife, Agnes Swenson, resided at this address. Perry Adrian Swenson (1883-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Agnes Helene Swenson (1894-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hanson, and died in Ramsey County. Agnes Gabriella Swenson (1889-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Claussen, and died in Ramsey County. Agnes C. Swenson (1900-1985) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wolsted, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $382,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Ann Peddle Meitz and David W. Meitz. David Meitz is a graduate of Illinois-Urbana and DePaul Universities, earned a doctorate in polymer physical chemistry and rheology at Carnegie-Mellon University, develops retroreflective signage systems as a Division Scientist in 3M's Traffic Control Materials Division, and is an adjunct faculty member at St. Thomas University. David W. Meitz, with Eugene H. Carlson, James C. Coderre, Christopher L. Harvey, James E. Lasch, and Colleen C. Nagel, associated with the 3M Innovative Properties Company, were awarded U. S. patent #20060134259 for a method of making retroreflective sheeting and slot die apparatus. Mr. and Mrs. David Meitz were financial supporters of Second Harvest Heartland in 2003 and 2004.

793 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1922; Prairie School in style. The structure is a two story, 2756 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that George Bannon resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Albert J. Dickinson resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert J. Dickinson, the passenger traffic manager for the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Elizabeth Dickinson, resided at this address. George Bannon (1843-1914,) the son of Joseph Bannon and Ann Fitzpatrick Bannon, was born in Abbeyleix, Queens County, Ireland, was raised on an Irish farm, was educated in parochial schools, apprenticed to a dry goods house in 1859, married K. M. Warren of Dublin, Ireland, in Boston, Massachusetts, emigrated to the United States in 1882, was a pioneer operator, with Michael K. Stack, of a "five and dime" notions store in Indianapolis, Indiana, in 1883, came to St. Paul in 1886, established the Bannon & Company, proprietors of the People's Department Store, with his brother, William Bannon, in 1886, officed at 72-8O East Seventh Street in 1907, was an Episcopalian, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, and pursued the hobbies of hunting, fishing, and athletics. The estate of George Bannon paid $993.22 in estate taxes to the State of Minnesota in 1914. George Bannon and K. M. W. Bannon were the parents of seven children, William Richard Bannon, Lillian Bannon, Bella Bannon (Mrs. Frank) Rowland, Addie Bannon (Mrs. George A.) Bigler, Lena Bannon, Emily Bannon, and George Bannon. In 1898, Bannon & Company, general dealers, was located 72-74 East Seventh Street. William Bannon ( -1936) resided at 1009 Summit Avenue in 1901 and died in Ramsey County. Albert Justin Dickinson (1875-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Barnum, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Newman Gilmore Dickinson ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $450,000. The current owners of record of the property are Jessie E. King and Michael J. King. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

792 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1897; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2554 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Wade and Miss Elizabeth Hood all resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that John Wade (1858- ,) the chief clerk employed by the U. S. Engineer's Office and the head of household, who was born in England to parents who were born in England, his wife, Margeret Wade (1862- ,) who was born in Canada to parents who were born in Scotland, his son, George H. Wade (1900- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his sister-in-law, Elizabeth Hood (1855- ,) who was born in Canada, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Markham, a lawyer who officed at the Merchant Bank Building, Rachel C. Markham, resided at this address. John Parsons Wade, the son of James F. Wade and Clara Lyon Wade, the grandson of Benjamin F. Wade and Caroline M. Rosecrans Wade and of Robert B. Lyon and Clarissa Kellogg Lyon, and great grandson of Amos Kellog and Paulina Dean Kellogg, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfather James Wade, a Sergeant in the 37th Massachusetts Foot, and great great grandfather Walter Dean, a Captain of the Tenth Massachusetts Troops, during the Revolutionary War. John Wade ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. John Coleridge Wade (1878-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Patteson, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret Wade ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Hood ( -1951) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $193,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the property are David M. Thompson and Jody E. Thompson.

789 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1912; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2911 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Friend resided at this address. The 1919 History of the Field Artillery Central Officers Training School indicates that John W. Condon resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James L. Barry, associated with the Battle Cattle Company, live stock brokers officing at the Exchange Building, roomed at this address and that Roy W. Cheesman, an architect employed by Toltz, King & Day, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alan G. Cary, associated with Alan G. Cary & Company, and his wife, Bonnie B. Cary, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Herbert R. Galloway (1910- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1921 until 1928, who attended Yale University and the University of Minnesota, who pursued the hobbies of boats and motors, and who was employed by Brown & Bigelow, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Herbert R. Galloway, who attended the school from 1921 until 1928, who was employed by Brown & Bigelow, and who was the president of the Minnesota Plastics Corporation,resided at this address. Herbert R. Galloway married Janice Thompson at Forest City, Iowa, in 1936 and had two children, Victoria Ann Galloway (1937- ) and Richard B. Galloway (1940- .) Alan G. Cary (1911-1968) had a mother with a maiden name of Blakeley and died in Ramsey County. Bonnie B. Cary (1885-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wampler, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are James J. Fennell and Jane Fennell. James J. Fennell is the Midwest Regional Executive Director of the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America, a non-profit organization dedicated to finding the cure for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis that was founded in 1967. James J. Fennell was a financial supporter of the United Hospital Foundation in 2002 and of the Association of Fundraising Professionals Foundation for Philanthropy in 2006.

788 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1890; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3600 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Knute H. Beckjord (1837-1909,) the husband of Nellie L. Beckjord, who was born in Norway to parents also born in Norway and who died of apoplexy, resided at this address in 1909. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Stuart resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Dan E. Foley, the manager of the Minnehaha Pale Distributors, located at Prior Avenue and St. Anthony Avenue, and Edward S. Foley, an advertising agent employed by the South St. Paul Reporter both resided at this address and that Victor R. Foley, a salesman employed by G. R. Kinney Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that H. Thomas Quinlan and Lucille Quinlan, the assistant director of the State Board of Control, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John Quinlan, who attended the school from 1916 until 1921 and who was employed by Quinlan & DeCourcy at 40 Dale Street, resided at this address. John Quinlan married Hazel Willis in Chicago in 1938. H. Thomas Quinlan (1857-1938,) the son of D. Quinlan and Katharine Galvin Quinlan, was born in McHenry County, Illinois, was educated in the public schools of McHenry County, Illinois, was educated in the public schools of Chicago, attended the Chicago High School from 1871 until 1872, was a shipping clerk employed by S. P. Sladden & Company of Chicago until 1874, was a traveling salesman for S. P. Sladden & Company until 1878, was a member of Quinlan Brothers of Chicago, handling grocery merchandise especially California dried and canned fruits to wholesale trade, until 1884, was a broker, was the NorthWestern representative of the J. B. Inderrieden Company from 1884 until 1906, was a stockholder in J. B. Inderrieden Company, married Mary L. Breen in 1887, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Knights of Columbus, resided at 542 Ashland Avenue in 1907, and officed at 258 East Third Street in 1907. H. Thomas Quinlan and Mary L. Breen Quinlan were the parents of one child, Howard J.Quinlan. H. Thomas Quinlan ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Nellie L. Beckjord ( -1930) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $250,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kathleen A. Wilson. In 2003, Kathleen Wilson was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address. Kathleen Wilson, a museum executive with the Science Museum of Minnesota, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. [See note on the Minnesota State Board of Control for 559 Bellows Street.]

787 West Osceola Avenue: John A. Swain House; Built in 1904 (1888 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Victorian in style; George Laurent, architect, and John Barnes, builder. The house was built for $5,000. The house is a two bay, 2 1/2 story, wood frame and clapboard, intersecting hip and gable roof structure. It has a two story bay window and a porch with Tuscan columns. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. John A. Swain was a clerk for Moon & Company, a wholesale grocer. The 1895, 1897, 1902, 1904, 1906, 1908, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1916, and 1918 city directories indicate that J. A. Swain resided at this address and the 1924 city directory indicates that J. A. Burns resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. J. A. Swain, her daughter, and C. C. Swain all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anton Amborn resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Burns, a lawyer with Kerr, Nelson, Burma, & Mohan located at the Pioneer Building, and his wife, Genevieve G. Burns, resided at this address. John Arthur Burns (1882- ) was born in Danville, Wisconsin, was the son of Michael Burns and Sarah Mullen Burns, moved to St. Paul in 1901, graduated from the St. Paul College of Law in 1904, received an Master of Legal Letters from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1905, was the city attorney for West St. Paul from 1905 to 1906, and was the assistant city attorney for St. Paul in 1909. John L. Barnes was born in Ohio in 1867 and died in 1936. The Law Offices of Gordon J. Apple, P.C., are currently located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Gordon J. Apple and Susan A. Thornton. Gordon Apple has a health law practice and is a frequent speaker on HIPAA and other health law topics at professional and corporate meetings. Susan Thornton is the Assistant Director of the Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources.

784 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1910; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2615 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. A. Stewart resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Matthew A. Stewart (1860- ,) the president of a general merchandise store and the head of household, who was born in Canada to parents who were born in Scotland, and his wife, Anna Stewart (1866- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Norway, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Matthew A. Stewart and his wife, Emma Stewart, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Herbert W. Busher, a member of the Class of 1951, resided at this address. Matthew A. Stewart ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Emma J. Stewart ( -1933) and Emma Marie Stewart ( -1939) both died in Hennepin County. The last sale of the property occurred in 1998 and the sale price was $364,000. The current owners of record of the property are Mark W. Conrad and Sarah M. McKenzie.

780 West Osceola Avenue: C. E. Gall House; Built in 1907; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2412 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 city directory indicates that George A. Roberts was a special agent for the Detroit Fire & Marine Insurance Company, officed at the Pioneer Press Building, and resided at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that George A. Roberts (1860- ,) an agent employed by an insurance company and the head of household, who was born in England to parents who were born in England, his wife, Ellena Roberts (1865- ,) who was born in England to parents who were born in England, his daughter, Eva Roberts ( 1888- ,) a who was born in England , his daughter, Ada Roberts (1891- ,) a who was born in England , his daughter, Hazel Roberts (1893- ,) a who was born in England , and a servant, Minnie Cleven (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Norway, all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George A. Roberts resided at this address in 1916. The 1918 city directory indicates that G. A. Roberts and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Roberts, an insurance agent who officed at the Merchants Bank Building, resided at this address. Charles Emil Gall (1867-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George A. Roberts ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Penelope D. Scott.

775 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1941; Colonial Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2284 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Harrison Parry Dilworth III ( -1932,) who attended the school from 1945 until 1950, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $590,000. The current owners of record of the property are Candace A. Gislason and Scott H. Gislason.

770 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1893 (1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2610 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that John M. Reilly resided at this address from 1904 to 1914. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Maurice Reilly (1879-1907,) who was born in St. Paul to parents born in the United States and who died of pneumonia, and Florence Reilly, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1907. The 1910 federal census indicates that Florence Reilly (1881- ,) the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Wisconsin and a mother who was born in Luxemburg, her daughter, Phyllis Reilly (1904- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, her son, Charles Reilly (1906- ,) who was born in Minnesota, her son, John Reilly (1907- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Frances Petrick (1894- ,) who was born in Bohemia to parents born in Bohemia, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. C. Kimberly and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roger E. Reilly, the president of the John Martin Lumber Company, and his wife, Mary K. Reilly, resided at this address. In 1879, John Martin, Philip Reilly, and C. E. Brown were the partners in John Martin & Company, lumber manufacturers and and dealers located at 78 West Seventh Street. Philip Reilly (1843-1897) was born in Marshall County, West Virginia, settled in St. Paul in 1865, was the president of the John Martin Lumber Company, was the vice president of the St. Paul National Bank, and committed suicide in St. Paul. John Reilly (1879-1907) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Florence Catherine Reilly ( -1918) died in Hennepin County. Roger E. Reilly (1889-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Taylor, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Alberta Reilly (1872-1962) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Mary A. Reilly (1898-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Smith, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Lucille Reilly (1894-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Flahaven, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Ann Reilly (1887-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Driscoll, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $440,000. The current owner of record of the property is John J. Reinartz.

768 West Osceola Avenue: J. B. Johnson House/Frank E. Hitchcox House; Built in 1888 (1902 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival/Tudor Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect, and P. A. Anderberg, builder. The house was built for $5,000. The house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, limestone foundation, half-timbered, woodframe and clapboard structure with an intersecting hip and gable roof. It has one chimney. It also has a two story, three sided, bay window and an open porch with Tuscan columns. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. City directories indicate that residents at this address were J. B. Johnston (1906 and 1908), F. E. Hitchcox (1910, 1912, 1914, 1916 and 1918), and F. P. Fellows (1924.) The 1910 federal census indicates that Frank Hitchcox (1858- ,) an agent employed by an insurance company and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, his wife, Ellen Hitchcox (1861- ,) who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in New York, his daughter, Mary Hitchcox (1896- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his father-in-law, Joseph Holly (- ,) who was born in New York to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Vermont, his brother-in-law, Frederick Friend (1860- ,) a clerk for a law book printer who was born in Maine to a father who was born in Maine and a mother who was born in Massachussets, and his sister-in-law, Mattie J. Friend, who was born in Ohio to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Ohio, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Hitchcox resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred P. Fellows, vice president of the Capital Trust & Savings Bank, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter E. Kunze, an assistant trust officer employed by the Merchants Trust Company, and his wife, Caroline F. Kunze, resided at this address. Frank E. Hitchcox was the assistant manager of the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York and originally lived in White Bear Lake, Minnesota. Louis Lockwood (circa 1865-1907) was born in England and died in Ramsey County. Peter A. Anderberg ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Frank Everett Hitchcox ( -1951) died in Hennepin County. Fred P. Fellows ( -1951) died in Pine County. Walter E. Kunze (1891-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ott, and died in Ramsey County. Caroline F. Kunze (1893-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Unger, and died in Lyon County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Max C. Ramsey III and Rose S. Ramsey. In 1998 and 2001, Max C. Ramsey III was an attorney with the law firm of Rider, Bennett, Egan & Arundel, in 2006, was a financial supporter of the Courage Center, and, in 2007, was a member of District 4 of the Minnesota State Bar Association. Max Ramsey is a member of the board of trustees of the Campfire Girls, Minnesota Council. [See note on Lockwood.]

767 Osceola Avenue: C. L. Caldwell House; Built in 1889 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Joseph Trenter, architect. The structure is a two story, 2706 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Murray and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William J. Murray, the president of the Northern Cooperage Company, and his wife, Stella Murray, resided at this address. Chester Lawrence Caldwell (1863- ,) the son of William Wallace Caldwell and Maria Caldwell, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, attended St. John's College and the U. S. Naval Academy, served in the U. S. Navy, resigned from the U. S. Navy, married Lillian C. Grant of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in 1885, moved to St. Paul in 1886, was engaged in the construction of the Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad, later was employed by the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba RailRoad, was a teacher of mechanical drawing and applied mechanics at the St. Paul Mechanic Arts High School from 1888 until 1903, graduated from the St. Paul College of Law, practiced law in St. Paul, resided at 301 Dayton Avenue in 1907, officed at the Germania Life Insurance Building in 1907, entered military service in 1917, and was the secretary, and later the president, in 1932, of the Minnesota State Bar Association. William J. Murray ( -1933,) Chester L. Caldwell ( -1935,) and Joseph J. Trenter ( -1942) all died in Ramsey County. Stella Murray (1904-1970) was born in Minnesota and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $275,000. The current owner of record of the property is John C. Kopchik. John C. Kopchik was Vice President of JJF Group and was Vice President for Mergers & Acquisitions of Churchill Industries, Inc. in 1999 and was president of Providence Capital, LLC, in 2003. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edith E. Clifford, a nurse, boarded at the former nearby 766 Linwood Place. [See note for the Northern Cooperage Company for 35 Irvine Park.] [See note for the Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba RailRoad.]

762 West Osceola Avenue: C. D. Risser House; Built in 1895 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Classical Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2019 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that C. Daniel Risser resided at this address in 1908. The 1910 federal census indicates that William Lowe (1880- ,) a manager employed by a millinery company and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Iowa and a mother who was born in Wisconsin, his wife, Eleanore Lowe (1886- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Iowa and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his son, William Lowe, Jr.(1908- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Bertha Stolph (1888- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Germany and a mother who was born in Luxemburg, all resided at this address. The 1917 Catalogue of Delta Upsilon indicates that Fred Page Fellows, Secretary with the Capital Trust Company, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. P. Fellows resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John B. Baird, a freight traffic manager employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. Fred Page Fellows was a member of the Class of 1903 at the University of Michigan. The 1930 city directory indicates that John B. Baird resided at this address. Everett Risser ( -1908) was the son of C. Daniel Risser. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Jack F. Sjoholm, a member of the Class of 1963, resided at this address. C. Daniel Risser (1864-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hubner, and died in Ramsey County. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The current owners of record of the property are Rita S. Hanle and Robert V. Hanle. In 2001, Robert V. Hanle, previously director of development for the Smithsonian Institution, returned to in St. Paul, Minnesota, to join Grenzebach Glier & Associates, Inc., as senior vice-president and managing consultant. From 1989 to 1997, Robert Hanle was a Vice President and Director of Development at the University of Minnesota after stints at Paine Webber, Inc., Metropolitan State University, and Elizabethtown College. Robert V. Hanle has a B.A. in Religion and Philosophy from Elizabethtown College, an A.M. in Higher Education and Statistics from the University of Pennsylvania, and a Ph.D. in the History of Higher Education from the University of Pennsylvania and has served on the Board of Directors for the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota. Rita Hanle is the School Coordinator for the J. J. Hill Montessori Magnet School in Independent School District No. 625 (St. Paul) and is a financial supporter of the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

761 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1904; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3034 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, two half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William H. Mingaye resided at this address in 1887 and in 1920. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Mingaye, R. H. Mingaye, Trevor Mingaye, and the Misses Davies all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick E. B. Foley, a physician and partner with Philip F. Donohue in Foley & Donohue, his wife, Elizabeth D. Foley, and Louis Basco, a helper, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Dr. Frederick Eugene Basil Foley (1891- ,) who was born in St. Cloud, Minnesota, who attended the school from 1903 until 1906, who was a 1913 graduate of Yale University, who was a 1918 graduate of the Johns Hopkins University Medical School, who was a urologist officing at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Dr. Frederick E. B. Foley, who attended the school from 1903 until 1906, and that Philip L. Foley, who attended the school from 1915 until 1917 and who attended St. Thomas College, both resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John Brandtjen II, a member of the Class of 1945, resided at this address. Frederick Eugene Basil Foley married Elizabeth Dearth in St. Paul in 1914 and the couple had two children, Jessie-Anne Foley (1915- ) and Elizabeth Foley (1917- .) Frederic E. B. Foley (1891-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Craig, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Doran Foley (1890-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Doran, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Marilyn Murray. [See note on Frederick E. B. Foley for 761 West Osceola Avenue.]

758 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1887; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3524 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Samuel H. Dyer and Josephine T. (Mrs. S. H.) Dyer, members of the church since 1890, resided at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that Samuel Dyer (1845- ,) a musical instrument merchant and the head of household, who was born in England to parents who were born in England, his wife, Josephine Dyer (1846- ,) who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, and a servant, Alice Olin (1892- ,) a who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Sweden, all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Josephine Tyler Dyer (1841-1913,) the wife of Samuel H. Dyer, who was born in New York to parents who were born in the United States and who died of an intracopular fracture of the femur and a fracture of the humorous, resided at this address in 1913. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Samuel H. Dyer (1842-1915,) the widower father of Horace Dyer, who was born in England to parents also born in England and who died of bronchopneumonia, resided at this address in 1915. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Russell L. Moore resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis C. Roller and his wife, Frances Roller, resided at this address. Samuril H. Dyer ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Anna Kieselbach and Thomas P. Kieslebach.

757 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1914; Georgian Revival in style. Unit 1 is a 2786 square foot, nine room, two bedroom, three bathroom, brick condominium which was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $310,000, which was previously owned by Susan B. Buzenberg and William E. Buzenberg, and which is currently owned by A. W. Clapp III and Sharon Clapp. Unit 2 is a 3531 square foot, eight room, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick condominium, with a detached two car garage, which was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $290,000, and which is currently owned by Suzanne K. Swan and James Tracy. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Dolke and Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Boynton all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Leuthold, who officed at 360 Robert Street, his wife, Aurelia W. Leuthold, and William L. Goodkind, the vice president of Schunemans & Mannheimers department store, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John H. Myers (1909- ,) who attended the school from 1921 until 1926 and who attended Carlton College, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Lawrence V. Dunn (1914- ,) who attended the school from 1925 until 1930, and Winslow W. Dunn, Jr. (1915- ,) who attended the school from 1926 until 1930, and who married Susan J. Burns, both resided at this address. The Goodkind burial plot at Mount Zion Cemetery in Maplewood, Minnesota, includes Tillie Goodkind (1862-1915,) William L. Goodkind (1859-1935,) Benjamin L. Goodkind (1855-1919,) Louis Goodkind (1825-1904,) and Mina Goodkind (1836-1914.) William Louis Goodkind ( -1935) and John Leuthold ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. Aurelia Wharry Leuthold (1884-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Griffin, and died in Ramsey County. William E. Buzenberg is a former vice president for News and Information at National Public Radio, where he spent 19 years, was the Senior Director of News and Information for Minnesota Public Radio and the Executive Producer for American RadioWorks, and recently became the executive director of the Center for Public Integrity in Washington, D. C. Buzenberg was presented in 1997 with the Edward R. Murrow Award, the highest honor in public radio. Buzenberg was a journalism graduate of Kansas State University, served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in rural Bolivia from 1968 to 1970, then was city editor of the Colorado Springs Sun newspaper, was a 1976-1977 Journalism Fellow at the University of Michigan, studied in Bologna, Italy, at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies from 1977 to 1978, and was a 1997 fellow at the Institute of Politics at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. James D. Tracy has been a professor of History at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities since 1966, is the editor, with Marguerite Ragnow, of Religion and the Early Modern State: Views from China, Russia, and the West, published in London by the Cambridge University Press in 2005, and is the author of Erasmus: the Growth of a Mind published in 1972, The Politics of Erasmus: a Pacifist Intellectual and his Political Milieu published in 1978, A Financial Revolution in the Habsburg Netherlands: "Renten" and "Renteniers" in the County of Holland, 1506-1565 published in 1985, and Holland under Habsburg Rule: the Formation of a Body Politic published in 1990. James D. Tracy, a professor of History at the University of Minnesota, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

752 West Osceola Avenue: F. A. Nienhauser House; Built in 1899 (1905 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect. The structure is a two story, 2701 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Fred Nienhauser (1861- ,) a cashier employed by a bank and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Louise Nienhauser (1861- ,) who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in Germany, his son, Carl Nienhauser (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Ralph Nienhauser ( 1891- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Carolyne Nienhauser (1895- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Nienhauser, their daughter, and R. P. Nienhauser all resided at this address. Ralph P. Nienhauser was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2184) indicate that Ralph Phillip Nienhauser (1891- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Second Lieutenant in the Air Service, Flying Cadet Signal Corps, Enlisted Reserve Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, enlisted in Chicago since it was the closest Air Service enlistment branch in 1917, was unemployed at induction, was a self employed salesman after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Fred A. Nienhauser and Louise F. Nienhauser, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Francis D. Butler, a lawyer with Doherty, Rumble, Bunn & Butler, and his wife, Alida Butler, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that David Butler, who attended the school from 1941 until 1942 and from 1943 until 1946 and who attended Princeton University, and that Francis D. Butler (1899- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1913 until 1915, who graduated from Princeton University in 1919, who was a Private in the C. A. C. during World War I, who was a Colonel in the A. A. F. during World War II, and was a lawyer who officed at the First National Bank Building, both resided at this address. Francis D. Butler married Alida Bigelow in St. Paul in 1924 and the couple had three children, Allison Butler (1925- ,) Alida Butler (1927- ,) and David Butler (1930- .) In 1879, F. Albert Nienhauser, a clerk employed by the First National Bank of St. Paul, resided at 62 Stillwater Street. F. Albert Nienhauser married Louise F. Diether in 1883 in St. Paul. In 1913, F. A. Nienhauser was the cashier employed by the First National Bank of St. Paul. The Nienhauser Company was a photography company that operated in the early 1900's. Frederick Albert Nienhauser ( -1927) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Mary R. Gilbertson and Rolf E. Gilbertson. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles P. Nienhauser ( -1913,) F. Albert Nienhauser, Julius B. Nienhauser ( -1914,) and Caroline N. Wolterstorff all resided at the nearby former 753 West Osceole Avenue in 1889. [See note on Lockwood.]

745 West Osceola Avenue: H. B. Hinckley House/Nathaniel B. Hinckley House; Built in 1902 (1891 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. The structure is a two story, 3500 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The house was built for $8,000. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Nathaniel B. Hinckley resided at this address in 1888. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. B. Hinckley resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that N. B. Hinckley, who officed at the Endicott Building, and his wife, Isabella M. Hinckley, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Richard Hunter Bancroft, Jr., who attended the school from 1941 until 1945, who attended the University of Minnesota, and who served as a Private First Class in the U. S. Marine Corps from 1945 until 1946, resided at this address. Nathaniel B. Hinckley ( -1936) and Isabella Mack Hinckley ( -1936) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $682,500. The current owners of record of the property are Laura Nista and Maurizio Nista. [See note on Johnston.]

744 West Osceola Avenue: E. L. Patterson House/Eugene L. Patterson House; Built in 1912; Tudor Revival in style; Thomas Holyoke, architect; Joseph Morin, builder. The house was built for $20,000. The house is a four bay, 2 1/2 story, sandstone foundation, stone and random ashlar structure with a red ceramic tile intersecting gable roof which has two gabled dormers. It has one chimney. It utilizes simple bargeboards with a pendant. The house also has a stone garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Eugene L. Patterson was vice president of the Patterson Company, a land and mortgage dealer, and was the original owner and resident of the house. The 1914, 1916, and 1918 city directories indicate that E. L. Patterson resided at this address, the 1920 city directory indicates that Shreve M. Archer, vice president of the Orville W. Hert Company, Inc., and Charles A. Bettingen, the vice president and treasurer of the Western Supply Company, both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that S. M. Archer resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Patterson and their daughter resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Shreve Archer, a vice president of Orville W. Hart Company, Inc., resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Karl W. Elsinger resided at this address from 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that Karl W. Elsinger resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John Elsinger (1931- ,) who attended the school from 1941 until 1948 and who attended Colgate University, and Joseph W. Elsinger (1923- ,) who attended the school from 1935 until 1942, who attended Ripon College, who graduated from Yale University in 1947, who was employed as a securities salesman by Kalman & Company, who participated in the Community Chest fund drive, participated in the Red Cross fund drive, who participated in the Cancer Society fund drive, and who pursued the hobbies of hunting and golf, both resided at this address. Shreve Archer was president of the Archer, Daniels, Midland Company, which manufactured linseed oil and paint. George A. Archer (1850-1932) founded the company with John W. Daniels (1858-1931) in 1902. In 1923, Archer-Daniels Linseed Company and the Midlands Linseed Products Company, two of the leading firms in the industry, joined to form a new company, the Archer Daniels Midland Company. Midlands Linseed Products Company, originally incorporated in 1902 at Minneapolis, had expanded very successfully by acquiring mills at Chicago, Toledo, Ohio, and Edgewater, New Jersey. Its plants at Minneapolis and Edgewater, New Jersey, adjoined those of Archer-Daniels. In 1965, Shreve M. Archer invited Dwayne O. Andreas (1918- ) and his brother, Lowell Andreas, to come in and run the company. The Andreases energetically lopped off unprofitable activities and expanded soybean crushing capacity. Shreve M. Archer, Sr., (1888-1947) became the president of the company in 1924 and served as Chairman of the Board of Directors from 1932 to 1947. Shreve M. Archer, Jr. (1922-2004), was born in St. Paul, attended the Phillips-Exeter Academy in Exeter, New Hampshire, and Princeton University in Princeton, New Jersey, served three years in the Air Force as a flying instructor, joined the Archer, Daniels, Midland Company in 1945 as a grain merchandiser, was named a member of the Board of Directors in 1948, retired from the Board of Directors in 1998 and was named Director Emeritus. Shreve Archer was the second owner of a 1932 Duesenberg J Judkins Fixed-Top Coupe, Chassis #2162–Engine #J-137, one of two Judkins Fixed-Top Coupes Built, purchasing it from Joseph P. Wright, President of Continental Diamond Fiber Company. The Archer, Daniels, Midland Company is a world leader in agricultural processing, is one of the world's largest processors of soybeans, corn, wheat and cocoa, is a leader in the production of soy meal and oil, ethanol, corn sweeteners and flour, and produces value-added food and feed ingredients. In 2003, Archer, Daniels, Midland Company had over 26,000 employees, more than 270 processing plants, and net sales of $30.7 billion. Shreve Archer and Doris Archer purchased 990 Summit Avenue in 1927. Joseph O. Morin ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $450,000. The current owner of record of the property is Mary T. Zehring. In 2003, Richard Zehring and Mary Zehring were contributors to the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address. Mary T. Zehring is a realtor associated with Coldwell Banker Burnet. Mary T. Zehring was a 2002 financial supporter of Gloria Dei Lutheran Church. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Frederick C. Mann and Carrie A. (Mrs. F. C.) Mann, members of the church since 1892, resided at the nearby former 737 Osceola Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Sargent resided at the former nearby 737 Osceola Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred G. Doherty, an assistant general counsel employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and Fred G. Dorety, an assistant general counsel employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, both resided at the former nearby 737 Osceola Avenue. [See note on Holyoke.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

736 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1892 (1917 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3267 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Achille Michaud resided at this address from 1917 to 1935. The 1920 city directory indicates that Parmelia Brokaw, the widow of Norton C. Brokaw, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Achille Michaud, the president of Michaud Brothers Inc., retail grocers, and his wife, Mary E. Michaud, resided at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Achille Michaud resided at 84 Robie Street West. Charles Michaud and Achille Michaud operated a grocery store under the firm name of Michaud Brothers and were located at the corner of Seventh Street and Wabasha Avenue. In 1892, Achille Michaud was the administrator of the estate of Edward Langevin ( -1890) and was sued, along with Eleanora Langevin, Emma Flanagan, and Mary E. Michaud, by the Germania Bank for the repayment of a note taken on behalf of the estate, after the time when claims against the estate could be filed, and the Minnesota Supreme Court in Germania Bank v. Achille Michaud, 62 Minn. 459 (1895,) found that there was no consideration to support a contract that would allow for recovery on the note against the estate or the administrator personally, but reserved judgment on recovery against the other defendants. Edward Langevin (1827-1890) was born in Quebec, Canada, moved to St. Paul in either 1849 or 1852, engaged in mercantile business, married Eleonore Bernier Quesnel in 1860, was a grocer located between Third Street and Fourth Street in 1879, invested in real estate in Biloxi, Mississippi, then engaged in the real estate business in West St. Paul, Minnesota, and died leaving an estate estimated at $5 million. Eleonore Bernier Quesnel Langevin, the daughter of Joseph Bernier (1808- ) and Angele Theroux Bernier (1811- ,) was first married to Edouard Quesnel of Centerville, Minnesota, then married Edward Langevin, and subsequently married Zotique Quesnel at St. Louis, King of France, Catholic Church in St. Paul in 1893. Achille Michaud ( -1935) and Mary Eudora Michaud ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Joan H. Mishek and Mark G. Mishek. In 2003, Mark Mishek was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Harold Harris resided at the former nearby 731 Osceola Avenue in 1907. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Harold Harris resided at this address in 1907. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Harold Russell Harris, a student, resided at the former nearby 731 Osceola Avenue. In 1916, Harold Harris was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at the former nearby 731 Osceola Avenue. The 1917 Catalogue of Delta Upsilon indicates that Gilbert Erskine Harris, a student at the University of Minnesota, resided at the nearby former 731 Osceola Avenue. Former World War I veterans Gilbert E. Harris (1894- ,) a Captain, and Harold R. Harris (1892- ,) a Second Lieutenant, resided at the nearby former 731 Osceola Avenue in 1919. In 1898, Michaud Brothers, grocers, was located at the corner of West Seventh Street and Wabasha Street. Harold Harris (1857- ,) the son of Gilbert Harris and Anna Gunderson Harris, was born in Pierce County, Wisconsin, was raised on a farm, received his education at country schools, graduated from the State Normal School at River Falls, Wisconsin, in 1882, taught several terms at a country school after graduation from the normal school, graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1886, graduated from the Law School of the University of Wisconsin in 1889, taught several terms at a country school after graduation from University in 1886, was the principal of the Unity, Wisconsin, High School for two years, read the law during that period, was admitted to the practice of law in 1889, was a lawyer, was engaged in practice of real estate law for 16 years in St. Paul, married Jennie Salter at West Bend, Wisconsin, in 1890, was the secretary of the Park Region Land Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Park Region Land Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Blue Grass Land Company, was the vice president of the Polk County Land & Improvement Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Polk County Land & Improvement Company, was the secretary of the Truant Gold & Silver Company, Helena, Montana, was a member of the board of directors of the Truant Gold & Silver Company, was a member of the firm of E. E. Sutton & Company, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a Democrat, was a Unitarian, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the International Order of Foresters, was the secretary and treasurer of the Minnesota Game Breeders and Protective Society in 1915, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association in 1916, was an elected member of the executive council of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1922, was a member of the Odd Fellows, was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, engaged in the hobbies of hunting and fishing, and officed at the German-American National Bank Building in 1907.

728 West Osceola Avenue: C. A. Eckman House Built in 1892 (1891 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Victorian in style; Walter Ife, architect, and E. J. Daly, builder. The house was built for $5,000. The house is a two bay, 2 1/2 story, limestone foundation, 2827 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, woodframe, clapboard, and shingle strucuture with an intersecting gable roof. It utilizes an asymmetrical design with a strong vertical emphasis. It also has a wraparound porch. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. C. A. Eckman was from Mankato, Minnesota, and was the original owner. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that A. L. Sibley resided at this address. The 1920 city directory also indicates that Benjamin O. Chapman, a partner with Paul R. Merrill, Walter A. Merrill, and Spencer O. Greer in a wholesale crockery, glassware, lamps, china, holiday goods, and silverware supplier located at 397-411 Sibley Street, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that B. O. Chapman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin O. Chapman, the president-treasurer of Merrill Greer Chapman Company, and his wife, Ethel Chapman, resided at this address. Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., developed proposals for the Benjamin O. Chapman house in 1917 and 1926, but the plans were never executed. There is a Benjamin Ogden Chapman Memorial scholarship at Wheaton College in Illinois. Carl August Eckman ( -1962) was born out of state and died in Hennepin County. Benjamin Ogden Chapman ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Ethel Chapman ( -1951) died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. Walter Ife was born in England and designed the Ellen Gillette House at 1730 Van Buren Avenue. The current owner of record of the property is Sharon Rice Vaughn. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte L. Wiley (1820-1904,) the widowed mother of Mrs. Albert L. Sibley, who was born in the United States to parents also born in the United States and who died of senility, resided at the nearby former 718 West Osceola Avenue in 1904. Albert L. Sibley was the father of Forest Sibley, who resided at the former nearby 718 West Osceola Avenue in 1896.

716 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1888 (1914 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1912 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lincoln E. Penny, a physician who officed in the Hamm Building, and his wife, Elsie Penny, resided at this address. Lincoln E. Penny ( -1932) and Elsie Penny ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $339,900. The current owners of record of the property are Diana M. Drake and Peter M. Lloyd. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Forest Sibley ( -1896,) who died of pneumonia, resided at the former nearby 718 West Osceola Avenue in 1896. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Samuel A. Wiley (1821-1897,) who died of stomach cancer, and Charlotte L. Wiley, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 718 West Osceola Avenue in 1897. Albert L. Sibley was the father of Forest Sibley. Samuel A. Wiley (1818-1897) is buried in Oakland Cemetery.

712 West Osceola Avenue: Lettau/Michaud House Built in 1888 and altered in the 1930's; Queen Anne/Victorian in style; Mould & McNicol, original architects, Ellerbe Architects, alteration architect, and William Lettau, original builder. The house was built for $8,000. The house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, brick and shingle structure with an intersecting hip gable roof which has three gabled dormers. The house has two chimneys. The house also has a complex roofline and has a projecting gable end on top of a two story rectangular projecting bay. The alteration included the removal of the original front porch and the addition of a bay window. The house is now a duplex. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. William Lettau was the original owner of the house. The Michaud family were Lowertown wholesale grocers. The duplex was still owned and occupied by the Michaud family in 1979-1982 period. City directories indicate that residents at this address were John McCulloch (1895 and 1897,) N. B. Jungeblut or H. B. Jungblut (1897,) H. C. Dodge and Elwood F. Paxson (1902,) B. A. Ledy (1904 and 1906,) and F. A. Maas (1910, 1912, and 1914.) The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Abundius, Larry E. Jasperson, a scaler employed by the North West Hardwood Company, and his wife, Lilly Jasperson, all resided at this address. B. A. Ledy was born in Hamburg, Germany, came to the United States in 1892 and to St. Paul in 1894, began in the insurance business, incorporated the Minnesota Mutual Casualty Company, and became its president, and became the secretary of the St. Paul Auto Club. In 1912, the Ledy family resided at this address. World War I veteran Jay H. Ledy (1894- ,) a Private, resided at 1953 Dayton in 1919. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Albert B. Driscoll (1888- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1926 until 1932, who graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1937, who was the president of the University of Minnesota Flying Club, who was the president of the Minnesota Student Branch, Institute of Aeronautical Sciences, Minnesota Society of Aeronautical Engineers, and who married Sally O'Brien in 1938, resided at this address. Jay Ledy married Elise Meyer and the couple had two sons, Jay F. H. Ledy and Herbert Ledy. In 1879, William Lettau, a carpenter employed by Thomas Fitzpatrick, boarded at 103 Canada Street. Thomas Fitzpatrick (1833-1907,) the son of James Fitzpatrick, was born in Dublin, Ireland, emigrated to the United States with his parents in 1839, was educated in a Pennsylvania high school, resided in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for ten years, then resided in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and worked as a carpenter from 1848 until 1856, moved to Dubuque, Iowa, in 1856, was engaged in the building contracting business from 1856 until 1858, married Bridget Costello in Dubuque, Iowa, in 1857, moved to Minnesota in 1858, resided in St. Paul, was engaged in the building contracting business with Mark Fitzpatrick, first as Thomas Fitzpatrick & Son, and then as the Fitzpatrick Building Company, was a member of the board of trustees of the State Savings Bank, was a member of the board of directors of the Workhouse Board since 1895, was granted authority to construct a steam heating tunnel for the Endicott Building underneath Sixth Street between Wabasha Street and Cedar Street by the St. Paul City Council in 1902 (Ordinance 2321,) was a Republican, was a Roman Catholic, resided at 293 Dayton Avenue in 1907, and officed at 15-17 Ninth Street in 1907. Thomas Fitzpatrick and Bridget Costello Fitzpatrick were the parents of four children, Mark Fitzpatrick, John Fitzpatrick, Thomas C. Fitzpatrick, and Elizabeth Fitzpatrick. The Fitzpatrick Building Company became financially embarrassed in 1908. Jay F. Ledy (1894-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Meyer, and died in Ramsey County. Herbert Ledy (1896-1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Frank Maas ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Robert M. Morse. [See note on Franklin Ellerbe.]

708 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1836 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rudolph J. Schneider (1861-1917,) the husband of Emmilie Schneider, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Austria and who died of a gastric ulcer, resided at this address in 1917. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#18551) indicate that Rudolph Charles Schneider (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Quartermaster Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 11" tall, was a letter carrier at induction, was issued one bronze Victory button, was a letter carrier employed by the U. S. Post Office, Commercial Station, after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Alwine E. Schneider, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Amelia B. Schneider, the widow of Rudolph Schneider, resided at this address and that Martha E. Schneider, a stenographer at Finch, Van Slyke & McConnville, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph C. Schneider, a letter carrier at the Commercial Post Office, and his wife, Alwine Schneider, resided at this address. Rudolph Schneider ( -1918) died in Ramsey County. Rudolph C. Schneider (1889-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Runke, and died in Ramsey County. Amelia Schneider (1887-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mueller, and died in Ramsey County. Alwine Schneider (1891-1976) had a mother with a maiden name of Mueller and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $224,000. The current owner of record of the property is Martha E. Sheppard. The 1920 city directory indicates that Milton G. Brown, a student, boarded at the former nearby . The 1930 city directory indicates that William H. Wolters resided at the former nearby 701 Osceola Avenue. William H. Wolters ( -1941) died in Ramsey County.

700 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1890 (1910 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1914 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alphonsa Liedl, a travel salesman, and his wife, Maude T. Liedl, resided at this address. Maude Liedl (1883-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Holt, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Anthony A. Ackerman and Patricia A. Ackerman.

697 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1911 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne/Victorian in style. The house is a two bay, 2 1/2 story, wood frame and asbestos shingle structure with a truncated hip pedimented gable roof. It also has a limestone foundation. The gable has a rounded arched attic window. It also has an enclosed pedimented porch and a second floor, three sided, projecting bay window. It also has leaded glass. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that J. L. Whitaker resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John T. Whitaker, a salesman employed by the St. Paul Home Appliance Company, his wife, Nellie Whitaker, John W. Whitaker, a fruit broker, and his wife, Irene Whitaker, all resided at this address. John L. Whitaker ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $187,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owners of record of the property are Richard H. Olson and Wendy J. Olson.

691 West Osceola Avenue: Charles Straus House; Built in 1901 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne/Victorian in style; E. B. Bergholtz, architect, and E. N. Dodge, builder. The house was built for $5,000. The house is a three bay, 2 1/2 story, wood frame and asbestos shingle structure with an intersecting hip and gable roof which has one pedimented dormer. It has a complex roofline. It also has stained and leaded glass, has a rounded west side, and has a two story, three sided, bay window on the east side of the house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. It was built as investment property for Charles Straus, who was a member of Robinson, Straus & Company, millinery importers, and who lived at 671 West Osceola Avenue. The 1910 city directory indicates that Francis E. Moore, associated with J. B. Hoxsie & Company, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Cyrus T. Johnston (1888-1920,) the husband of Alice Johnston, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in the United States and who died of septic endocarditis, resided at this address in 1920. The 1924 city directory indicates that A. L. Janes resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex L. Janes, assistant general counsel for the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Nancy W. Janes, resided at this address. In 1915 and 1916, A. L. Janes was counsel with E. C. Lindley and M. L. Countryman unsuccessfully representing the railroad in Great Northern Railway Company v. Otos, 239 U.S. 349 (1915,) a personal injury case where a trainman was injured due to a defective box car coupler and was awarded damages, and in Great Northern Railway Company v. Knapp, 240 U.S. 464 (1916,) a personal injury case where a station agent was injured from a negligently protected pump mechanism and was awarded damages. Also in 1916, A. L. Janes was counsel with M. L. Countryman in successfully representing the railroad in Great Northern Railway Company v. Capital Trust Company, 242 U.S. 144 (1916,) a personal injury case where a trainman ultimately was killed after being run over by a train car and where the question was whether the trainman lived for any period and whether pain and suffering damages apply. When Minnesota Governor Elmer Benson and his Farmer Labor Association allies who controlled the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1937 pursued an income tax increase and a wealth tax to reduce property taxes, big business leaders Charles Fowler, from Northern States Power, William K. Montague, representing the Steel Trust, Aleck Janes, from the Great Northern RailRoad, and Aaron Youngquist, representing Minnesota Power & Light, descended on the capital to aid their Senate allies in blocking the proposed legislation during the regular session. Cyrus Thurston Johnston ( -1920) and Ernest B. Bergholtz ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Alice B./K./M. Johnston (1907-1982) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Niland, and died in Ramsey County. Alexander L. Janes (1880-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Chase, and died in Ramsey County. Nancy Wood Janes (1881-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Guiteau, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are W. Brooks Donald and Karen L. Mackenzie. William Brooks Donald, M.D., M.P.H., a pediatrician and a member of the Maternal and Child Health Advisory Task Force of the Minnesota Department of Health, was a member of the Minnesota Infant Mental Health Services Feasibility Study in 2004. W. Brooks Donald, MD, MPH, Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, HealthPartners Medical Group & Clinics, is the Co-Director of the Psychiatric Challenges for Today’s Youth Conference in 2007. Karen MacKenzie, M.D., is the medical director of North Suburban Family Physicians, a primary care group in 2005. W. Brooks Donald and Karen MacKenzie were financial supporters in 2002 of the Children's Defense Fund Minnesota. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

685 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1882 (1920 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Tudor Revival/Baronial in style. The house is a 2 1/2 story, stone and random rubble, half-timbered structure, with an intersecting hip and gable steeply pitched variegated slate roof which has five dormers (three small rounded arch dormers, one segmented arched wall dormer, and one shed wall dormer.) The house has an asymmetrical design. It has two chimneys and a two story projecting entrance bay on the east side of the house. It has recessed doors with an open porch. It also has irregular window placement. The house sits on an irregularly shaped corner lot. The 1979-1982 architectural survey field worker described the house as being a huge rambling house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District.

683 West Osceola Avenue: Beebe/Gotzian House; Built in 1900 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; __?__ Wallingford, architect. The structure is a two story, 3375 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1891 city directory indicates that I. H. Bronson Beebe was an agent for Interstate Dispatch and resided at 695 Oakland Avenue and that Carrie L. Beebe was a student and boarded at 695 Oakland Avenue. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. H. B. Beebe, their daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. P. H. Gotzian all resided at this address. The 1894 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. I. H. B. Beebe and their daughter all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Conradine S. Sanborn (1883-1927,) the wife of Bruce W. Sanborn, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of cancer of the breast, resided at this address in 1926. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bruce W. Sanborn, a lawyer and a partner with William G. Graves, Charles J. Andre, and J. Neil Morton in the law firm of Sanborn, Graves & Andre, with offices at the Endicott Building, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Bruce W. Sanborn, Jr. (1918-1995,) who attended the school from 1929 until 1932 and who attended the University of Minnesota and the University of Minnesota Law School, resided at this address. Around 1942, Maud Mood Weyerhaeuser married Bruce Walter Sanborn and the couple lived at 808 Summit until their deaths. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Conradine S. Sanborn (1883-1927,) the wife of Bruce W. Sanborn, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of cancer of the breast, resided at 683 West Osceola Avenue in 1926. Bruce Sanborn was the son of Federal Judge Walter Henry Sanborn (1845-1928) and Emily Frances Bruce Sanborn (1854-1934.) Conradine Schurmeier was the daughter of Theo. L. Schurmeier, and the couple were married in 1913 in Felixstowe, Suffolk, England, attended by Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Ames and by the Misses Ames, honeymooned in Italy, and had four children, Conridine Sanborn, Hildegard Sanborn, Bruce W. Sanborn, Jr. (1918-1995,) and Theodore S. Sanborn (1921-1990.) Bruce Walter Sanborn, Jr. (1918-1995,) with a B.S.L. from the Saint Paul College of Law, was a 1948 graduate of the University of San Francisco. Walter Henry Sanborn, the son of Henry F. Sanborn and Eunice Davis Sanborn, the grandson of Frederick Sanborn and Lucy Sargent Sanborn and of Rufus Davis, and the great grandson of Josiah Sanborn and Anna Locke Sanborn, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfathers Benjamin Sargent, a Corporal in the New Hampshire Militia, and Thomas Davis, a Private in the Massachusetts Militia, and great great grandfather Eliphalet Sandborn, a Private in the New Hampshire Continental Troops, during the Revolutionary War. Walter Henry Sanborn (1845-1928) was born in Epsom, Merrimack County, New Hampshire, received bachelor and masters degrees from Dartmouth College, was a High school teacher and principal in Milford, New Hampshire from 1867 to 1870, was in the private practice of law in St. Paul from 1871 to 1892, was a St. Paul alderman from 1878 to 1880 and from 1885 to 1892, was appointed by Benjamin Harrison a judge of U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in 1892, became its presiding judge, wrote over 1,200 opinions, died of La Grippe, and is buried in Oakland Cemetery. Bruce W. Sanborn unsuccessfully represented a Minnesota investor against an insolvent Nebraska insurance company in Lion Bonding & Surety Company v. Karatz, 262 U.S. 77 (1923) and in a subsequent petition in the same matter in Lion Bonding & Surety Company v. Karatz, 262 U.S. 640 (1923.) Theo. L. Schurmeier was associated with the wholesale drygoods firm of Lindeke, Warner & Schurmeier. Bruce Walter Sanborn (1882-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bruce, and died in Ramsey County. Conradine Schurmeier Sanborn ( -1927,) William Grant Graves ( -1939,) and Charles J. Andre ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Joseph Neil Morton (1902-1993) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Morrison, and died in Ramsey County. Maud Mood Weyerhaeuser Sanborn (1876-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olin, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary E. Probst. The Irish American Cultural Institute is also located at this address. Mary Halvorson is a director of the Cook County Coalition Of Lake Associations, representing the Clearwater Lake Property Owners' Association, who lists this address as an alternate summertime address. Mary E. Probst received a bachelors degree from Lawrence University in 1976 and a law degree from the University of Chicago Law School in 1979, is a shareholder with the Minneapolis law firm of Leonard, Street & Dienard, and is the president and a board member of The Schubert Club and a board member of Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that George C. Brandt, a student, resided at the former nearby 680 Osceola Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Brandt, a dentist who officed at the Lowry Building, resided at the former nearby 680 Osceola Avenue and that Samuel E. Byrne, Jr., a student, boarded at the nearby former 682 Osceola Avenue.

596 West Osceola Avenue: The property is a tax exempt parcel.

558 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1139 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is Michael A. Willey. The 1920 city directory indicates that Thomas Baker, a craneman, boarded at the former nearby 500 South Osceola Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Francis J. Bastian, a clerk employed by E. J. Wall, Mrs. Theresa Bastian, an operator employed by B. W. Harris Manufacturing Company, and Stella Stone all resided at the former nearby 469 South Osceola Avenue. Theresa M. Bastian (1903-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Charnewski, and died in Ramsey County. Stella Stone ( -1933) died in Stearns County, Minnesota.

461 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a one story, 1109 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record are Paul W. Lemke and Shirley C. Lemke, trustees, who reside at 455 Osceola Avenue South.

456 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2080 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The structure was on the city vacant house list in 2007. The current owner of record is Marian D. Tessmer, trustee.

455 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1926. The structure is a one story, 1529 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Paul W. Lemke and Shirley C. Lemke, trustees.

447 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1895. The structure is a two story, 2304 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sidedhouse, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $80,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owner of record of the property is Jaunae M. Brooks.

443 West Osceola Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2332 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is James F. Trenter.

Sources:

Courtiney Brazel, The Craftsman's Legacy, 1984.

Internet Sources:

http://www.mnhs.org/library/collections/manuscripts/business.html

Thursday Night Hike Links:

Linwood/Lower Crocus Hill Hike

Linwood/Lower Crocus Hill Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1 (Linwood East)

Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last modified on July 28, 2011.