Thursday Night Hikes: Lake of the Isles Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1.5


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 1.5

Lake of the Isles Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: April 10, 2003

General.

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

2002 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4542 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling. The 1900 federal census indicates that Stewart J. Mirror (1864- ,) an auditor and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Kentucky, his wife, Agnes H. Mirror (1869- ,) who was born in English Canada to parents who were born in Scotland and who emigrated in 1890, his son, Reed McK. Mirror (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Augusta Kohn (1878- ,) a who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Holland and who emigrated in 1894, all resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that George Foster Blossom resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that George F. Blossom, a manager employed by the George Christian C. Company, resided at this address and George W. Blossom, a student, boarded at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that George W. Blossom, a student, resided at this address. In 1918, Herman O. Frank and Phoebe Duryea Frank resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10305) indicate that Harry O. Frank (1892- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in Company A of the First Battalion of the 55th Engineers, who was born in Webster, South Dakota, moved to Minnesota in 1901, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 5 1/2" tall, was a student at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Herman O. Frank, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herman O. Frank resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Stanley K. Platt, a member of the Class of 1925, resided at this address. George Foster Blossom (1861- ,) the son of William E. Blossom, was born at Oswego, New York, was educated in public schools of Oswego, New York, moved to Minnesota in 1881, entered employment by Christian Brothers & Company, merchant millers, married Alice Williams at Minneapolis in 1884, was employed by its 1894 successor, George C. Christian & Company, was the manager of George C. Christian & Company, was the treasurer of the Kenwood Ice Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Metropolitan National Bank of Minneapolis, was the vice president of the Miller's Club, was a charter member of the Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, was a Mason, was a member of the Dramatic Club in 1901, was a member of the Minikahda Club in 1901, and officed at the Chamber of Commerce Building in 1907. Stanley K. Platt ( -1997) was an instructor in economics with the University of Minnesota in 1947, was a member of the committee on the local consent requirements for State law of the Citizen's League in 1964, was the vice-chairman of the Board of Directors of the World Affairs Center of the University of Minnesota in 1966, was a signers of the 1971 Minnesota Declaration of World Citizenship, was a member of the Plymouth Congregational Church, was a letter writer to the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists in 1984, and was a Rotarian in 1996. Martha Rugh Platt (1907-2008) was born in Clarion, Pennsylvania, was educated at Oberlin College, studied social work at the University of Chicago, worked at United Charities in Chicago, Illinois, and at the famous Hull House, founded by Jane Addams, in Chicago, Illinois, during the Great Depression, married Stanley Platt in 1933, moved with him to Minneapolis, resided at this address in 1945, was a member of the World Federalist Association and its successor, Citizens for Global Solutions, was a member of the League of Women Voters since 1936, was a member of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, was a member of the Women Against Military Madness, was a member of the United Nations Association, was a member of Minneapolis People to People, was a member of Minnesotans to End the War in Vietnam, was a member of Minnesotans for Peace in Central America, was a member of the Minnesota International Center, was a member of Middle East Peace Now, was a member of the US-China People's Friendship Association, was a member of Clergy and Laity Concerned, and was a member of the Citizens' League, was a member of the National Abortion Rights Action League, was a member of Planned Parenthood, was a member of the White Neighborhood House, and was a member of PRIDE. Stanley K. Platt and Martha Rugh Platt raised four children, Vincent Platt, Louise Platt, Douglas Platt, and Kenneth Platt. The property is currently owned by Martha R. Platt and the current taxpayers of record are Martha R. Platt and Douglas R. Platt. [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.]

2011 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Park Board Kiosk; The property is a kiosk surrounded by vacant land that is currently owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board.

2012 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Lake of the Isles English Lutheran Church Rectory. Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3314 square foot, four bedroom, five bathroom, 10 room, parsonage/rectory, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex D. Robertson resided at this address.

2020 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Lake of the Isles English Lutheran Church. Built in 1925. Hewitt & Brown, architects. The structure is a 21664 square foot church. Mark Ditmondso is the pastor of the church. The church is associated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The church organ was manufactured by Jaeckel Inc., of Duluth, Minnesota. Daniel J. Jaeckel, an accomplished organist, composer and historian of liturgical music who also has a background in mathematics, engineering and architecture, is the primary organ designer for the firm and employs a staff of between six and nine craftspeople working on a single organ at a time. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Lake of the Isles Church was located at this address.

2100 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1945. The structure is a one story, 2897 square foot, two bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. In 1986, Verna Sieff sold the property to D. C. Ramsay and M. C. Ramsay for $250,000 and in 2002, Dean C. Mathews III, sold the property to its current owner, David J. Saggau, for $900,000. David J. Saggau is a lawyer, is a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association, was vice president and general counsel of Great River Energy, was promoted as president of Great River Energy in 2005, is a member of the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation board of trustees, and is a financial supporter of the Digital Information Resource Center/Eric Sevareid Library at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication (SJMC) at the University of Minnesota. Dean C. Mathews III currently resides at 1220 Mount Curve Avenue in Minneapolis. The 1930 city directory indicates that William I. Gray resided at the former nearby 2102 West Lake of the Isles Parkway.

2110 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1926; Colonial in style. The structure is a two story, 3900 (3028 according to Minneapolis City tax records) square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement, a European-style garden, a sunroom, and a four season porch. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert Driscoll resided at this address. In 2003, S. Scott Nicholas sold the property to Steven N. Heller for $1,300,000. The property is currently owned by Steven N. Heller and Joan Heller. The property was recently offered for sale for $1,595,000. S. Scott Nicholas is a medical doctor with Eisenstadt Allergy & Asthma. Steven N. Heller, Ph.D., is a Vice President of General Mills, Inc.

2116 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1931. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3750 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. In 1932, Harry Bullis, an alumnus of the University of Wisconsin, resided at this address. Joseph E. Murphy, Jr., a 1952 alumnus of Princeton University, a member of the board of Macalester College, and the author of To the Poles by Ski and Dogsled, published by Crossgar Press, and of Adventure Beyond the Clouds, published by Dillon Press, is the current owner of record of this property. His wife, Diana E. Murphy, is a judge on the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals and is the Chair of the United States Sentencing Commission. Previously, until 1994, Judge Murphy was the Chief Judge for the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota, after having served as Hennepin County municipal judge from 1976 to 1978 and as a judge for the Minnesota District Court from 1978 to 1980. Judge Diana E. Murphy also is a director of the University of Minnesota Foundation, of the University of St. Thomas, and of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges. Crossgar Press, owned by Joseph E. Murphy, is located at this address. [See note for the fifth entry after the entry for 1605 Summit Avenue for information on Macalester College.]

2120 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1902 (1901 according to Lanegran.) The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2450 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Horace B. Hudson, the manager of the Hudson Publishing Company, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Donald K. Hudson and Dorothy Rose Hudson, students, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#8366) indicate that Donald Kirkland Hudson (1890- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in the Third Battery of the Provisional Training Regiment, who was born in Minneapolis, was 5' 10" tall, was a life insurance agent employed by the Equitable Life Assurance Society after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Horace B. Hudson, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wyman A. Miller resided at this address. The Hudson Map Company was founded in 1892 by Horace Bushnell Hudson (1861-1920,) who wanted to develop his own cartographic capabilities and started his own map company making a small handbook of Minneapolis that highlighted things to do and see in the metro area for visitors and people new to the area. Horace Bushnell Hudson was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, moved to Minnesota, settled in Minneapolis, was a reporter and editor for the Minneapolis Tribune from 1885 until 1893, was a reporter and editorial writer for the Minneapolis Journal from 1894 until 1900, and died in Minneapolis. Horace B. Hudson was the author of Minneapolis, metropolis of the golden Northwest, published in 1895 by the Commercial Club of Minneapolis, of A Half-Century of Minneapolis, published in 1908 by the Hudson Map Company, of Hudson's dictionary of Minneapolis and vicinity; a handbook for strangers and residents, published in 1909 by the Hudson Publishing Company, of Minneapolis, metropolis of the golden Northwest, published by the Commercial Club of Minneapolis, and of The new Minneapolis charter in a nutshell: its more important features; how its adoption will change the form of government in Minneapolis, published by Hall, Black & Company. Charles L. Hall, a cartographer from Kansas City, Missouri, moved to Minneapolis, started drawing maps for the Hudson Map Company, then purchased the company from Horace B. Hudson with his partner, Walter Eng. Horace Hudson ( -1920) died in Hennepin County. In 1937, Donald K. Hudson donated a collection of photographs of Minneapolis citizens to the Minnesota Historical Society. The property is currently owned by Richard A. Peterson and the taxpayer of record is Elaine B. Peterson.

2124 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2610 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Frederick Watson Reed resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that Fred W. Reed, a lawyer who officed at the Andrus Building, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Charles S. Demarest, a student in the Department of Electrical Engineering, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred W. Reed resided at this address. John Williams once resided at this address. Frederick Watson Reed (1853- ,) the son of Benjamin Franklin Reed and Susan Dewey Reed, was born in Fowler, Ohio, moved to Iowa as a boy with his family, graduated from Iona College in Grinnell, Iowa, in 1879, was a school teacher, was the principal of schools in Montana from 1879 until 1881, was in business in Montana from 1882 until 1884, read the law in the law offices of Shaw, Levi & Gray from 1885 until 1886, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1886, was a lawyer, practiced law in Minneapolis after 1886, was a Republican, married Selina Brown, the daughter of Charles E. Brown, a lawyer, in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1891, was the vice president of the Minnesota Eye, Ear, Nose & Throat Infirmary in 1901, was the author of What price freedom, and other essays, published in Boston, Massachusetts, by B. Humphries, Inc., in 1942, was a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Six O'clock Club, was a member of the Bryn Mawr Club, engaged in the hobbies of golf and tennis, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. Selina Brown Reed was the author of the paper "Mothers' Pensions in Theory and in Legislation" presented to the Minnesota Academy of Social Sciences and of the paper "Research Work in the Minneapolis Juvenile Court" published by the American Review of Reviews in 1913. Selina Brown Reed ( -1933) was a librarian on the staff of the Minneapolis Public Library and was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1921. John M. Dolan is the current owner of record of and John M. Dolan and Rosemarie Dolan are the current taxpayers of record for the property. John M. Dolan received a Ph. D. degree in Philosophy from Stanford University, is a professor in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Minnesota teaching the Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, and Medical Ethics, is Co-Chair of the Program in Human Rights and Medicine in the Human Rights Center of the University of Minnesota Medical School, was on the faculty of the 16th World Conference on Love, Life and the Family in 1997, sponsored by Human Life International, and is the author of Inference and Imagination. Rosemarie Dolan designed the cover and produced the final text of A Gentle Approach: Interacting with a Person Who is Semi-Conscious or Presumed Comatose, published by the Program in Human Rights and Medicine at the University of Minnesota in 1994.

2130 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 3722 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Simmons resided at this address. In 1989, Donn Mosser and Alice Mosser sold the property to Paul Magers and Kathryn Magers for $870,000, and, in 2000, Paul Magers and Kathryn Magers sold the property to Matthew O. Fitzmaurice for $1,600,000. In 2001, Matthew O. Fitzmaurice was promoted from the position of the Chief Investment Officer at Amerindo Investment Advisors Inc. to the position of Chief Executive Officer. Amerindo Investment Advisors Inc. is a money management firm specializing in emerging technology and biotechnology investments. Matthew O. Fitzmaurice has been a financial supporter of the Walker Art Center and is a member of the board of the Walker Art Center. Tammy Cowen, of the Referees Society of the Minnesota Rugby Union, resides at the Carriage House located at this address. Matthew Fitzmaurice, an investment advisor associated with Talaria Partners in 2004, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Lisa Bargas Fitzmaurice, a homemaker, was a contributor to the Joseph Lieberman for President campaign and to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2204 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2980 square foot, six bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Alfred A. Beltz, a grain merchant located at the Corn Exchange Building, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Pauline G. Beltz resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2008 by Philip W. Bamford to Linnea A. Pajor for $1,300,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Philip W. Bamford and the previous taxpayers of record were Philip W. Bamford and Leann P. Bamford and the current owner and taxpayer of record is Linnea A. Pajor. Philip W. Bamford was a 1979 alumnus of Blake High School and is a realtor. LeAnn P. Bamford and Philip W. Bamford were the mortgagors of property at 1532 35th Street East that was sold in foreclosure Sheriff's sale in 2008.

2212 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 7506 square foot, six bedroom, eight bathroom, 16 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that George V. Thomson resided at this address. The estate of A. C. Kavli sold the property to E. A. Hyatt in 1986 for $325,000, E. A. Hyatt sold the property to R. O. Naegele, Jr., and E. F. Naegele in 1987 for $815,000, D. D. Opperman and J. R. Nelson purchased the property in 1994 from R. O. Naegele and E. F. Naegele for $1,300,000, and Julie R. Nelson sold the property to Brent Florine in 2004 for $3,600,000. Brent Florine is the current owner of record and Brent Florine and Lauren Florine are the current taxpayers of record for this property. Dwight Opperman was the Chairman of the Board of the West Company, a law book publisher, prior to its sale to the Thompson Group, a Canadian company, and his son, Vance Opperman, was the president of the West Company. The Opperman family members owned a very large share of West Publishing. Julie R. Nelson is the executive director of The Dwight D. Opperman Foundation, is a member of the Augsburg College Board of Regents, is a member of the PACER Center Advisory Board, and serves on the Board of the Minnesota Orchestra. Ms. Nelson is a 1983 Augsburg graduate. Brent Florine is an orthodontist and the staff Oral Surgeon at Oral Surgery Care in Eagan, Minnesota. Brent Florine attended the University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts, the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, the Louisiana State University and Charity Hospital in New Orleans, and the University of Minnesota Hospital and Clinics for his dental and oral and maxillofacial surgery training and is certified by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. Brent Florine and Lauren Florine unsuccessfully appealed to the Minnesota Court of Appeals (C6-96-1250) an adverse ruling in their challenge against the City of Eagan in permitting the construction of a three story commercial building with 300 feet of a residential building.

2218 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Emery Mapes House; Built in 1915 and restored in 1986; Italianate-style villa; Louis Johnson, restoration architect. The structure is a 2.2 story, 8279 square foot, four/five bedroom, eight/seven bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling. The house was built for Emery Mapes, a founder of the Cream of Wheat cereal company. The house includes a billiard room, conservatory, and a library with mahogany bookcases built by the master craftsman John Miller. The floors are hardwood throughout except marble in the bathrooms. There is an oversized brick fireplace in the kitchen and fireplaces in the living room, the library and the master suite. Louis Johnson is a Minneapolis architect. The house has 100 feet of lakeshore frontage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Lydia E. Mapes resided at this address. In 1979, the consulate for the Republic of Cloumbia was located at this address. Emery Mapes ( -1921) died in Hennepin County. Cream of Wheat came out of Grand Forks, North Dakota, in the depression year of 1893, in a small flour mill, The Diamond Milling Company, developed by head miller Thomas S. Amidon, who discovered that wheat middlings made a tasty porridge. George Bull and his partners, George Clifford and Emery Mapes, operated the Diamond Flour Mill in Grand Forks, in the late 1880's. Demand for the cereal outstripped supply from the North Dakota mill and in 1897, the company moved to a larger plant in Minneapolis. In 1997, Frazier Eales and Heidi Eales, the current owners of the property, purchased it from Shirley J. Hutton, the former national sales director for Mary Kay Cosmetics, for $1,395,000. Frazier Eales is a medical doctor and a graduate of the University of Minnesota Medical School who specializes in thoraic surgery. Dr. Eales was recently selected to serve on the Allina Health System board. Dr. Eales is former Chief of Staff at Abbott Northwestern Hospital and is a marathon and bike trip veteran.

2224 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, 6450 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank W. Mapes resided at this address. The current owner of record is Morrey L. Salkin and the current taxpayers for the property are Morrey L. Salkin and Marlene Salkin. Morrey L. Salkin is one of the founders of the Minneapolis Chaine des Rotisseurs, which is a private, not-for-profit society committed to promoting the culinary and hospitality arts and enology.

2232 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1910; Tudor in style. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 6214 (4892 according to Minneapolis property tax records) square foot, five (four according to Minneapolis property tax records) bedroom, five (four according to Minneapolis property tax records) bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#17896) indicate that Carlos F. Wheaton (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class at Base Hospital #26, who was born in Minneapolis, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 6' 1/2" tall, was a student at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Fred E. Wheaton, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin G. Staude resided at this address. Edwin Gustave Staude (1876- ) was born in North Dakota, came to Minneapolis as a mechanical draftsman, and rose to become one of Minnesota’s leading manufacturers. He already had two patents related to mowing machines before 1905. He earned a total of 143 U.S. patents in many diverse fields including envelope-making machinery, automotive equipment, phonographs, garage door openers, and power amplification systems. Through his drafting customers, he became aware of packaging problems of the burgeoning Minnesota milling industry, leading to patents related to packaging and package making machines. In 1905, he incorporated E. G. Staude Mfg. Co. to build the machinery that he invented. In 1915, he began manufacturing tractors, leading to inventions relating to brakes, clutches, transmissions, engines, and associated automotive equipment. He continued inventing improved packaging and package machinery, which was made in Minnesota and was used all over the earth. The E. G. Staude Manufacturing Company made a shell carton machine (U.S. Patent 730,410, June 9, 1903) for the Heywood Manufacturing Company, Minneapolis, Minnesota, which was designed to make two-pound folding cartons for Quaker Oats. Staude later built and patented similar and improved machines for the Cream of Wheat Company, Minneapolis, the Ralston Purina Company, St. Louis, Missouri, the Shredded Wheat Company, Niagara Falls, New York, the Larkin Company, Buffalo, New York, Fels and Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the Post Cereal Company, Battle Creek, Michigan, and the W. K. Kellogg Toasted Corn Flake Company, Battle Creek, Michigan. By 1909, the shell carton machine had been improved so that it would cut and crease "wet" printed stock from a web, strip the waste, and deliver two hundred box blanks per minute. Staude also manufactured the Staude MAK-A-TRACTOR kit. His business was sold and moved out of Minnesota in the 1950's. He was inducted into the Minnesota Inventors Hall of Fame in 1991. E. G. Staude authored the Condensed life history of Edwin Gustave Staude, published in Los Angeles in 1959. The property was sold four times since 1990, in 1991, from the J. Saraceno Estate to S. P. and D. B. Greenberg for $635,000, in 1997, from S. P. Greenberg and D. B. Greenberg to Richard P. Chenard and Susan E. Chenard for $1,215,000, in 1999, from Richard P. Chenard and Susan E. Chenard to Warren Bielke for $2.1 million, and, in 2004, from Warren Bielke to Doron Tavlin for $1,953,000. The current owner of record is Doron Tavlin and the current taxpayers of record are Doron Tavlin and Marie Tavlin. The property was offered for sale for $2,195,000 in 2004. Warren Bielke is a 1969 Moorhead State Univesity business administration graduate, the former CEO of InStent, a medical product firm that was purchased by Medtronic, Inc., in 1996, and the president and CEO of Advanced Bio-Surfaces of Minnetonka, which is developing a complex polymer that can replace human cartilage. Marie Tavlin is a minature Jack Russell terrier fancier.

2240 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1926. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4246 square foot, six bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Stricker resided at this address. In 1965, Mrs. Morrow Peyton resided at this address and was involved in mental retardation programs. Elmslie and Purcell designed a residence for George W. Stricker in 1908, with alterations in 1910 and 1915. An art-glass panel for a bay window, designed by William Gray Purcell and E. L. Sharretts and inspired by a Curtice "June Bug" biplane, from the Stricker house is on exhibit at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Stricker was a very prosperous wholesale hardware man. Betty Eastman (Mrs. Morrow) Peyton had an Art Degree from Skidmore College, New York, joined the Junior League in 1946, was the Junior League president from 1955 until 1957, was involved with the Minneapolis Children's Theater, and was a needlepoint designer and teacher. Morrow Peyton ( -2000) was an alumnus of Phillips Exeter Academy, Class of 1935. Frank Wilkinson and France Wilkinson sold the property to David Lubars and Cindy Lubars in 1998 for $925,000, and David Lubars sold the property to Peter A. Brew in 2005 for $1,730,000. The current owner is Peter A. Brew. David Lubars is President and Executive Creative Director for Fallon Minneapolis, an advertising agency. Peter Brew is a Research and Development Lead Engineer at Seagate Technology.

2250 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1926. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 6339 square foot, five bedroom, seven bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick J. Hopkins resided at this address. The property was sold three times during the 1990's, in 1991, from J. A. Rollwagen and B. J. Rollwagen to David C. Duxbury for $1,425,000, in 1997, from David C. Duxbury and K. Duxbury to J. A. Rollwagen and B. J. Rollwagen for $1,550,000, and in 1999, from J. A. Rollwagen and B. J. Rollwagen to its current owner, Bradbury H. Anderson and J. R. Anderson, for $1,900,000. Bradbury H. Anderson (1949- ) is Vice Chairman of the board and CEO of Best Buy Company, Inc., and is Chairman of the Consumer Electronics Retailers Coalition. Anderson has a bachelor's degree from the University of Denver, has been an employee of Best Buy for 32 years, starting as a sales associate, and received $3.2 million in compensation from Best Buy for 2005. Bradbury H. Anderson, the C.E.O. of the Best Buy Company, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004. Janet Anderson, a retiree, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

2256 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1918. The structure is a two story, 2929 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Steven G. Palmer resided at this address. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, in 1995 from B. A. Anderson and M. S. Anderson to R. A. Reneberg and M. D. Reneberg for a purchase price of $695,000 and in 1999 from R. A. Reneberg and M. D. Reneberg to its current owners, Richard B. Davenport and A. Davenport, for a purchase price of $776,000. Richard B. Davenport is an assistant vice president for Cargill-Alliant, LLC.

2262 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 5331 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles C. Massie resided at this address. In 1896, Charles C. Massie was the secretary of the Northrup, King & Company, with Jesse Northrup as president and Preston King as treasurer. Charles C. Massie became president of Northrup, King & Company in 1914, after the death of Preston King and the retirement of J. E. Northrup, with Lyndon M. King as vice president. Charles C. Massie ( -1947) died in Hennepin County. During the 1990's, the property was sold three times, in 1990 from Roby C. Thompson and Jane Thompson to M. Pulido and D. Walker for $760,000, in 1999 from M. Pulido and D. Walker to C. W. Edwards and C. J. Edwards for $875,000, and in 1999 from E. C. Webb and C. J. Webb to its current owners, Robert L. Ryan and Sharon G. Ryan, for $1,500,000. Mark Pulido was President and CEO of McKessonHBOC of San Francisco, California, but resigned in 1999 following the discovery of accounting discrepancies, and then was CEO of BenefitPoint, Inc., an internet-based employee benefits service provider. Robert L. Ryan is Chief Financial Officer of Medtronic, Inc. Sharon Ryan is a Community Volunteer for Penumbra Theatre. Robert L. Ryan, a financial executive with Medtronic, Inc, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

2270 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1927. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3811 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Struthers resided at this address. In 1997, W. W. Chorske and G. O. Chorske sold the property to its current owners, Cyrille E. Decosse and Paula W. Decosse, for a purchase price of $775,000. William W. Chorske retired as Chairman of LifeRate Systems in 1997 after previously serving as President of Medtronic Europe and Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Medtronic, Inc. Tom Chorske (1966- ,) the son of William W. Chorske, played left wing for three years for the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers Men's Hockey team, 1985-1987 and 1988-1989, with 51 goals and 50 assists in 124 games, one year for the U. S. Olympic Hockey team, 1987-1988, and 12 years in the National Hockey League, 1989-2000, with the Montreal Canadiens, the New Jersey Devils, the Ottawa Senators, the New York Islanders, the Washington Capitals, the Calgary Flames, and the Pittsburgh Penguins, with 146 goals and 122 assists in 596 games. Tom Chorske was on the 1995 Stanley Cup champions New Jersey Devils and now is a Senior Account Executive for Merrill Corporation in St. Paul. Cy DeCosse Incorporated was founded in 1969 and originally served as a creative shop for the food industry specializing in the use of full-color photography. In 1988, Cy DeCosse Incorporated partnered with Black & Decker and developed the Black & Decker Home Improvement Library. In 1994, Cowles Enthusiast Media Company acquired Cy DeCosse and renamed it Cowles Creative Publishing. Cy DeCosse is a 1952 graduate of the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Cy DeCosse is a brother of the late Jerome J. DeCosse, M.D., a surgeon and expert on colorectal cancer. Paula DeCosse founded CONNECT/US-RUSSIA (formerly CONNECT/US-USSR), a private nonprofit organization, in 1984, with Susan Hartman. Paula W. DeCosse, a retiree, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign, to the John Kerry for President campaign, and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Cyrille E. Decosse, a self-employed photographer, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2280 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Dr. Louis A. Nippert House; Built in 1922; Frederick Mann of McEnary & Krafft, architect. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 5518 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling. Edgar F. Zelle and Lillian Nippert Zelle and their children, Mary Susan Zelle and Louis Nippert Zelle, resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edgar F. Zelle resided at this address. Louis N. Zelle (1925-2003) was the former chairman of the Jefferson Transportation Company, was one of the founders the Center Arts Council in 1952, the predecessor to the Minnesota Opera Company, was a board member of the Walker Art Center from the mid-1950's through the mid-1970's and its president from 1964 to 1966, and also was a founder of the Guthrie Theater, and served as its board president from 1971 to 1975. Charlie Zelle, son of Louis Zelle, is the current president of the Guthrie Theatre. H. Harvard Arnason, Pierce Butler III, John Cowles, Jr., Roger Kennedy, Otto Silha, Philip von Blon, and Frank Whiting also were founders of the Guthrie Theatre. In 2001, Jonathan S. Bishop sold the property to Maria Kenworthy Interiors, Inc., for $1,200,000. The current owners and taxpayers of record are Brad F. England and Diane England. Brad England holds a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Minnesota and a Master of Business Administration degree from the Northwestern University J. L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management and is a managing director and head of Capital Markets for Piper Jaffray, actively manages the Piper Jaffray Equity Capital Markets, Debt Capital Markets, and Convertible Securities businesses. [See note on Dr. Louis Albert Nippert for 1040 St. Clair Avenue.]

2284 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1929. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4084 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl O. Wold resided at this address. In 1983, R. I. Anderson sold the property to William W. George for $451,250. William W. George was Chief Executive Officer of Medtronic, Inc. from 1991 to 2001 and its Chairman of the Board from 1996 until his retirement in 2002. George joined Medtronic in 1989 as President and Chief Operating Officer. George is currently a Professor of Management Practice at the Harvard Business School and was formerly Professor of Leadership and Governance at the International Institute for Management Development from 2002 until 2003, was Visiting Professor of Technology Management at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne from 2002 until 2003 and was an Executive-in-Residence at the Yale School of Management in 2003. George is on the boards of Goldman Sachs, Target Corporation, and Novartis AG, is the Chairman of the Global Center for Leadership and Business Ethics, and is a member of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Ann P. George, a retiree, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Penny George, a self employed psychologist, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign in 2004.

2288 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2220 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob Jacobsen resided at this address. Jon K. Wilbrecht is the current owner of the property. Jon Wilbrecht is President of Wilbrecht Electronics. Wilbrecht Electronics specializes in precision micro-subassembly services and welding of dissimilar metals. In 1997, Linda Elizabeth Wilbrecht, a graduate of the University of Minnesota, received a National Science Foundation graduate fellowship award in neuroscience to attend Rockefeller University in New York. In 1956, Alice Weesner, an alumna of the University of Wisconsin, resided at the former nearby 2295 West Lake of the Isles Boulevard.

2296 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1910; Swiss Tudor/Tudor Revival Villa in style. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4920 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The portico has carved verge boards. The current owners of the property indicates that it is one of 14 homes on the "architecturally significant list" of homes on the lake and that they are the second owners of the house in almost 100 years. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harvey R. Weesner resided at this address. Thomas Scott Mitchell and D. G. Mitchell purchased the property from the Donald Wessner Estate in 1999 for $1,400,000. Sheila M. Mitchell indicates that Thomas Scott Mitchell and Doreen G. Mitchell have divorced and that Doreen G. Mitchell never resided at this address. T. Scott Mitchell is a graduate of Dartmouth College and is the CEO of Mackay Envelope. Sheila M. Mitchell is the Vice President of Minnesota Lending Company, involved in home loans, owns Siren Security Services, manages the Minnesota Harvest Orchard, and serves on the board of Jones Harrison Residence, a local non-profit assisted living home located on Cedar Lake. T. Scott Mitchell and Sheila M. Mitchell have a combined family of eight children and indicate that they are both runners who enjoy the lake.

2308 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1929. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3903 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Nicoley H. Schildrup resided at this address. Sandra J. Hale was the previous owner of this property. The current owner of record of the property is Peter H. O'Connor and the taxpayers of record are Peter H. Connor and Carol A. Connor. The property was last sold in 2006 by Sandra J. Hale to Peter H. Connor for $2,125,000. Sandra J. Hale is the president of Enterprise Management, Int'l, was the former Commissioner of Administration of the State of Minnesota, was an Associate Professor at the Metropolitan State University, was the President and Chair of the Guthrie Theater Board of Trustees, was the Chair of the Minnesota State Arts Board, and served on the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals Judicial Nominating Commission and on the National Council for the Arts.

2322 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1.7 story, 3441 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gust F. Olson resided at this address. The current owner and taxpayer of record is Katharine L. Kelly. In recent years, the property was sold three times, in 1994 from L. Chandler and G. Findell to J. A. Barker and S. K. Barker for $620,000, in 1999 from J. A. Barker and S. K. Barker to John A. Rollwagen and Beverly J. Rollwagen for $1,280,000, and in 2005 by John A. Rollwagen to Katharine L. Kelly for $2,160,000. John A. Rollwagen was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Cray Research, Inc., was Deputy Secretary of Commerce for Science and Technology in the Clinton Administration, was Chairman of Plasma and Material Technologies of Chatsworth, CA., is the Chairman of PartnerRE, of Pembroke, Bermuda, a multi-line reinsurance company, and has been a member of the board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis. John A. Rollwagen, a self-employed investor, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2330 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1930. The structure is a two story, 4958 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Erie D. Luce resided at this address. Stephen P. O'Neil is the current owner and taxpayer of record. In 1984, R. W. and N. N. Hatch sold the property to M. T. Murray for $420,000, in 1997, E. R. Cameron and J. Cameron sold the property to Alexander J. Gibbons and R. I. Gibbons for a purchase price of $750,000, in 2005, A. J. and R. I. Gibbons sold the property to Weichert Relocat Resources Inc. for $2,100,000, and also in 2005, Weichert Relocat Resources Inc. sold the property to Steven O'Neil for $2,100,000. Alex Gibbons was the chief information officer for Pillsbury just before it was purchased by General Mills. In early 2005,the Netherlands-based Ahold appointed Alex Gibbons as Chief Information Officer, responsible for the company’s IT operations in the U. S. and Europe.

2336 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: The structure is a rental property associated with 2340 West Lake of the Isles Parkway. The current owner of record of the property is Richard P. Thompson, who resides at 2340 West Lake of the Isles Parkway.

2340 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 5379 square foot, six bedroom, five bathroom, 17 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur E. Appleyard resided at this address. The British Columbia and Alberta Power Company’s president, Arthur E. Appleyard of Minneapolis, organized Montreal investors and they bought out BC&A’s American owners and, preparing to generate power, applied for a Dominion charter for a dam and power generation operation on the Bull River in the Kootenay region of British Columbia. This charter was granted in 1922 and the East Kootenay Power Company came into being under Appleyard’s presidency. The current owner of record of the property is Richard P. Thompson, who resides at this address.

2350 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Allyn K. Ford House; Built in 1929 (1928 according to Lanegran); C. W. Bazier, architect. The structure is a 2.2 story, 5838 square foot, six bedroom, five bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The house is a virtual twin of the Lindsay-Weyerhauser house at 294 Summit Avenue in St. Paul. The 1930 city directory indicates that Allyn K. Ford resided at this address. Allyn Kellogg Ford (1878-1964) made a fortune in old-growth National Forest logging. Allyn K. Ford married Emily Brazer. Allyn Ford started Roseburg Forest Products in 1937, midway through the Great Depression, with 25 employees, a lot full of salvaged milling equipment and a tiny one-room office that he hardly ever used and he was the mill superintendent, the head salesman, a sometimes-logger, and, when needed, the logging camp's cook and waiter. Allyn K. Ford assembled a historical manuscript collection of more than 1500 letters, cards, and documents of noted politicians, authors, colonial and Revolutionary War figures, soldiers, explorers, scientists, educators, business leaders, clergymen, and others prominent in cultural and public affairs from 1472 and 1970. and donated it to the Minnesota Historical Society. Mr. and Mrs. Allyn K. Ford were members of the Friends of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in the early 20th Century. Allyn K. Ford was the author of Home laundry hints: A book of laundry information for housewives, laundresses, students in domestic science, and all others interested in the best laundry work in 1913 and of Mrs. Stewart's home laundry book: A book of laundry information for housewives, laundresses, students in domestic science, and all others interested in good washing in 1924. Allyn K. Ford, Jr., the grandson of Allyn K. Ford, Sr., a graduate of Yale University in 1964 and of the Stanford University in 1966 with an M.B.A., and the president and CEO of Roseburg Forest Products, used his forest products fortune to establish Umpqua Bank, a NASDAQ-listed regional banking firm. Roseburg Forest Products is the largest purchaser of federal (USFS & BLM) timber sale logging contracts in Oregon and Washington, most of which are old-growth forest timber sales. The current owner of record is William R. McLaughlin. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, in 1996 from Cyril P. Pesek to Joseph H. Kozloff and Janice H. Kozloff for $975,000 and in 1999 from Joseph H. Kozloff and Janice H. Kozloff to William R. McLaughlin and Martha McLaughlin for $2,700,000. William R. McLaughlin is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Select Comfort Corporation and is a member of the board of Minnesota Public Radio. McLaughlin joined Select Comfort Corporation in 2000 after previously serving as an executive with PepsiCo and with Pillsbury. Bill McLaughlin and Martha McLaughlin also are active in the Dartmouth Club of the Midwest. Martha McLaughlin is a 1981 graduate of the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth University.

2358 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1920. The structure is a two story, 4405 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin J. McCarthy resided at this address. Agate Lake Properties, LLC, is located at this address. John N. Allen is the current owner and taxpayer of record of this property. In 1987, T. H. Johnson, Jr., and H. F. Johnson sold the property to John N. Allen for $394,800. John N. Allen is employed by Industrial Equities LLP of Eagan, Minnesota, and is a member of the Minnesota Commercial Association of Realtors.

2364 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Arthur D. Hirschfelder House; Built in 1916; Frederick Mann, architect. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3726 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur D. Hirschfelder resided at this address. Dr. Arthur Douglass Hirschfelder (1879-1942) was born in San Francisco, California, earned his B.S. from the University of California in 1897, continued his education at the Pasteur Institute in Paris (1898-1899,) Heidelberg University (1899,) Johns Hopkins University, where he earned his M.D. in 1903, and the University of Berlin (1906,) was an assistant in medicine at Cooper Medical College (1904-1905) and an instructor and associate in medicine at Johns Hopkins University (1905-1913,) joined the faculty at the University of Minnesota in 1913, was a professor and the head of the newly created Department of Pharmacology, part of the Medical School, with research focused on the diseases of the heart and the use of chemotherapy, and died in Minneapolis. Dr. Arthur D. Hirschfelder was succeeded as the chair of the Department of Pharmacology by Dr. Raymond Nicholas Bieter (1900-1990) in 1942 and by Dr. Frederick Earl Shideman (1915-1988) in 1962. Arthur D. Hirschfelder nominated Charles R. Harington, Victor Heiser, and Sir Leonard C. Rogers for the Nobel Prise in 1931 for the synthesis of thyroxin and the proof of its chemical structure and for the treatment and cure of leprosy by means of derivatives of chaulmoogra oil. Joseph Oakland Hirschfelder, the son of Arthur D. Hirschfelder, was an Emeritus Professor and the Director of the Theoretical Chemistry Institute at the University at Wisconsin-Madison and retired in 1981. Dr. Arthur Douglass Hirschfelder (1879-1942) was born in San Francisco, California, earned his B.S. from the University of California in 1897, continued his education at the Pasteur Institute in Paris (1898-1899), Heidelberg University (1899), Johns Hopkins University, where he earned his M.D. in 1903, and the University of Berlin (1906,) was an assistant in medicine at Cooper Medical College (1904-1905) and an instructor and associate in medicine at Johns Hopkins University (1905-1913,) joined the faculty at the University of Minnesota in 1913. was a professor and the head of the newly created Department of Pharmacology, part of the Medical School, with research focused on the diseases of the heart and the use of chemotherapy, and died in Minneapolis. Dr. Arthur D. Hirschfelder was succeeded as the chair of the Department of Pharmacology by Dr. Raymond Nicholas Bieter (1900-1990) in 1942 and by Dr. Frederick Earl Shideman (1915-1988) in 1962. Arthur D. Hirschfelder nominated Charles R Harington, Victor Heiser, and Sir Leonard C. Rogers for the Nobel Prise in 1931 for the synthesis of thyroxin and the proof of its chemical structure and for the treatment and cure of leprosy by means of derivatives of chaulmoogra oil. Joseph Oakland Hirschfelder, the son of Arthur D. Hirschfelder, was an Emeritus Professor and the Director of the Theoretical Chemistry Institute at the University at Wisconsin-Madison and retired in 1981. The current owner of record is Mary Griesedieck and the current taxpayers of record are J. K. Sperling and M. Griesedieck. In 2003, Mary Griesedieck was a contributor to the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, with a sale in 1991 from John Sinks and Tuulikki Sinks to Charles Schmid and Judy Schmid for $535,000 and with a sale in 1998 from Charles Schmid and Judy Schmid to Jac K. Sperling and Mary Griesedieck for $860,000. Jac Sperling (1949- ) is Vice Chairman of Minnesota Sports & Entertainment, the parent company of the Minnesota Wild hockey team, founded Grit Rock Ventures, LLC, an investment company focused on sports and entertainmentbusinesses, in 2004, is the Vice Chair of the Board of Directors for the Capital City Partnership, and is the chair of the Minneapolis Regional Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. Sperling has bachelor and law degress from the University of Virginia and is a veteran sports attorney with the Denver office of the Washington D.C. law firm of Hogan & Hartson who played a major role in launching the Colorado Rockies baseball franchise in the early 1990's. Mary Griesedieck is the wife of Jac Sperling and the couple have two children, Jay Sperling and Teale Sperling. Mary Griesedieck is a financial supporter of the Voyageur Outward Bound School in 2001, of Chrysalis in 2003, of the Jeremiah Program in 2003, of the Franklin Community Library in 2004, of the Youth Farm and Market organization in 2004, of the Minnesota Sinfonia in 2004, and of Cornerstone in 2004. Mary Griesedieck, a self-employed ESL Teacher, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2366 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1928. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4133 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The current owner of record is Michael J. Wethington and the curren taxpayers of record are Michael J. Wethington and Wendy Wethington. Michael J. Wethington and Wendy Wethington purchased the property in 1996 from Medora Woods for $590,000. Michael J. Wethington was president of Synet Service Corporation, which was an e-Infrastructure Management consulting and integration firm that was founded in 1990. Predictive Systems, Inc., a network infrastructure consulting firm, acquired Synet Service Corporation in 2000 and Wethington is currently a senior vice president with Predictive Systems. Wendy Wethington, a homemaker, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2368 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 3828 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement and a tuckunder garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gerald R. Martin resided at this address. In 1992, F. L. Skillern and M. E. Skillern sold the property to Omar E. Boyd III for $475,000 and, in 2008, W. E. Kirchner and M. G. Bratholdt sold the property to Hubert B. Joly for $2,850,000. Michael G. Bratholdt was the previous owner of record of the property and W. E. Kirchner and M. G. Bratholdt were the previous taxpayers of record and Hubert B. Joly is the current owner and taxpayer of record of the property. Michael Bratholdt was a financial supporter of the Minnesota Aids Project in 2004. Hubert Joly was named president and CEO of the Carlson Companies in 2008.

2370 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1926; Colonial in style. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4425 (3714 according to Minneapolis City property tax records) square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. It also has a large eat-in kitchen with center island & breakfast nook, a mezzanine level library, a sun room and a large amusement room. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold H. Tearse resided at this address. Harold H. Tearse was the general chairman of the Community Fund Campaign in Minneapolis in 1940. Harold H. Tearse, Jr., married Cynthia Gamble (1928-2004) in 1950 and the couple had a son and a daughter, Harold H. Tearse III and Dr. Robin T. (Mrs. Robert J.) Kellogg. Harold H. Tearse, Jr., was a resident of Wayzata, Minnesota, in 2004. Cynthia Gamble Tearse was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, attended Northrop Collegiate School in Minneapolis and Pine Manor Junior College in Boston, Massachusetts, was involved in many charitable organizations, including the Minneapolis Symphony Ball, St. Barnabas Hospital, the Carbon County Historical Society, the Carbon County Arts Guild, and numerous civic activities in Red Lodge, Montana, and died in Red Lodge, Montana. On four occasions during the last 15 years, the property was sold, with the first sale occurring in 1991 from Henry Birks Jewelers to Tyler C. Tingley and Marcia M. Tingley for $525,000, with the second sale occurring in 1997 from Tyler C. Tingley and Marcia M. Tingley to H. Arneson and L. Deiuliis for $675,000, with the third sale occurring in 1999 from H. Arneson and L. Deiuliis to Charles B. Baubonis and M. C. Baubonis for $815,000, and the fourth sale occurring in 2002 from Charles B. Baubonis and M. C. Baubonis to John M. Hussian for $1,245,000. The property was offered for sale for $1,295,000 recently. John M. Hussian is the owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property.

2374 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1916; Arts & Crafts foursquare in style. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3408 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alvin C. Gluck resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Gary M. Aulik and the taxpayers of record are Gary Aulik and Laura Aulik. In 2004, Ervin A. Walvatne and V. R. Walvatne sold the property to Gary Aulik. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2006, approved a request from Billy Smith, on behalf of Gary Aulik, for a variance to reduce the required front yard setback along West Lake of the Isles Parkway from the setback established by the adjacent residential structures to 26 feet to allow for the construction of an addition on the west side of an existing single-family dwelling and a variance to allow a deck in the required front yard for the property. Ervin Walvatne was a graduate of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Minnesota and founded Walvatne Industrial Services. The property was recently offered for sale at $1,495,000. Gary Aulik is a builder with Aulik & Associates.

2380 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1959. The structure is a one story, 1740 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, split level single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. In 1985, H. Z. Mendow and J. S. Mendow sold the property to Harlan T. Jacobs for $195,000. Harlan T. Jacobs is the current owner of record and Harlan T. Jacobs and Linda Jacobs are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Harlan T. Jacobs is the president of Genesis Business Centers, Ltd., in Columbia Heights, Minnesota, a "for profit" business incubator that was founded in 1983. Previously, Jacobs was the CFO for FilmTec Corporation and was a delegate to the White House Conference on Small Business in 1995 and a delegate to the Congressional Small Business Conference in 2000. Harlan Theodore Jacobs, with Mark Lynn Jenson of Princeton, Minnesota, Jody Jon Klaassen of Minneapolis, and Jenn-Feng Yan of Maple Grove, Minnesota, invented a battery-operated wireless comiunication apparatus and method in 2001 and filed an application with the World Intellectual Property Organization.

Peavey Fountain/151st Field Artillery Horse Monument: The fountain was installed as a monument to the horses of the 151st Field Artillery from World War I. The 151st Field Artillery Regiment was originally organized in 1864 as the First Regiment of the Minnesota Heavy Artillery, was reorganized after the Civil War, became the First Battalion Field Artillery in 1893, was redesignated the First Field Artillery in 1900, was expanded to six batteries in 1903, served on the Mexican Border from 1916 to 1917, and then was drafted into Federal Service and subsequently was redesignated as the 151st Field Artillery. National Guard units from 26 states and Washington D.C. provided units for one large division known as the Rainbow Division. The 151st Field Artillery served in World War I and earned Battle Streamers for Lorraine, Champagne, Champagne-Marne, Aisne-Marne, St. Mihiel, and Meuse Argonne. Colonel George E. Leach commanded the 151st Field Artillery. The 151st Field Artillery returned to the United States and was demobilized in 1919. Major General George Emerson Leach (1876-1955) was born in Cedar Rapids, Linn County, Iowa, was the son of William B. Leach (1834-1903) and Mary H. Hammond Leach (1845- ,) moved to Minneapolis in 1884, graduated from the Minneapolis Central High School, attended the University of Minnesota, was a grain elevator inspector in Minnesota and the Dakotas for the Norwich Union Fire Insurance Company, was an insurance agent, was a banker and land speculator in South Dakota, married Ella Pearl Van Vorous in 1902, was initially commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the Field Artillery in 1905 as a member of the Minnesota National Guard, operated a riding stable after 1908, and saw military duty on the United States–Mexico border in 1916 and 1917. He commanded 151st Field Artillery, 42d Division, from August 5, 1917, to July 14, 1918, and received the Distinguished Service Cross, Distinguished Service Medal, and Purple Heart. Leach formed the Minneapolis Police Band in 1917, was re-appointed the commander of the 151st Field Artillery in 1921, was the superintendent of insurance agencies in Minneapolis for the Fire & Marine Insurance Company, was Mayor of Minneapolis from 1921 to 1929 and again from 1937 to 1941, was a Republican, was a 32nd degree Mason, was a member of Zuhrah Temple of the Mystic Shrine, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, the Lafayette Club, the Automobile Club and the Reserve Officers Club, divorced his first wife in 1923, married a USO dancer and physical education instructor he had met while in France in 1924, almost was bankrupted by the 1929 stock market crash, was Chief of the National Guard Bureau from 1931 to 1935, commanded the 59th Field Artillery Brigade, 34th Division, until 1940, died in Minneapolis, and is buried at the Fort Snelling, Minnesota, Cemetery (Section DS, Grave 65N.) Leach's house was burned down the day following the election, as had been threatened by the local Ku Klux Klan when Leach announced as a candidate. By one estimate, there were as many as 10 active Ku Klux Klan chapters in Minneapolis in 1923. There is a George E. Leach training range at Fort Ripley, Minnesota. In 1920, Colonel George E. Leach and Colonel William Preston Screws, World War I commander of the 167th Regiment, created from the Alabama National Guard, donated to the Alabama Department of Archives and History a Confederate States of America flag captured either by Leach's father, Captain William B. Leach, Adjutant of the First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, or by Captain George W. Leach, on the staff of the Third Brigade, Second Division, Second Army Corps, at Fredericksburg, Virginia. George E. Leach, along with Charles G. Davis, Frank W. Brunskill, the Minneapolis Tribune, the Minneapolis Journal, Melvin C. Passolt, the Jewish Race, and the members of the Grand Jury of Hennepin County impaneled in November, 1927, were the subjects of the alleged defamation by the Minneapolis Saturday Press that was enjoined from further publication under Laws of Minnesota 1925, Chapter 285, and that was deemed unconstitutional by the United States Supreme Court in the landmark First Amendment case of Near v. Minnesota ex rel. Olson, County Attorney, 283 U.S. 697 (1931,) with Associate Justice Pierce Butler, a Minnesotan, dissenting. George Leach served as mayor during a period of popularity of the Ku Klux Klan in Minnesota and he was a target for their ire and that of the Citizens' Alliance, the Committee of Thirteen, and the American Protective League because of his opposition to the installation of a large electropower dam across the Mississippi River in an attempt to entice the Ford Motor Company from building an assembly plant in St. Paul, his appointment of a Roman Catholic as his secretary, his having once dined with the Knights of Columbus, his prohibition of Minneapolis police officers from joining the Klan, and his investigation of Klan activities at the University of Minnesota. The Klan even ran two Klansmen, first Roy Miner and then former State Senator William Campbell, as candidates for mayor against Leach in the 1920's. George Emerson Leach, the son of William Benton Leach and Mary Hammond Leach, the grandson of James Leach and Tryphenia Benton Leach and of Amariah Hammond and Anna Cook Hammond, and the great grandson of William Leach and Molly Crombie Leach, was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of being the great grandson of William Leach, an Ensign in the New Hampshire Militia and in the Massachusetts Line, and of Jonathan Cook, a Corporal in the New York Troops and by virtue of being the great grandson of Hugh Crombie, a Private in the New Hampshire Troops, during the American Revolution.

2388 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1922; Liebenberg, Kaplan, & Martin, architects. The structure is a two story, 5090 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The house also has an imitation thatched roof. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mervyn H. Amsden resided at this address. Jan Thompson resides at this address. John H. Sandbo is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property. Jan Thompson resides at this address. John H. Sandbo is the owner of record of the property. John Sandbo is a previous WCAL Radio Station Board chair. WCAL was the public radio service of St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota, was recently purchased by Minnesota Public Radio, and had its classical music format converted to an alternative music format under the name of "The Current." Jean Thomson is the wife of John Sandbo. Jacob (Jack) Liebenberg was a Minneapolis architect. Liebenberg & Kaplan were architects for the Uptown Theater, the Varsity Theater, and the Suburban World Theater, all in Minneapolis, and for the 1937 redesign of the Fargo Theater in Fargo, North Dakota. Jacob Liebenberg was the architect for the Temple Israel synagogue in Minneapolis in 1928. [See note on Liebenberg for 1923 Summit Avenue.]

2396 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1927. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3454 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement and a tuck-under garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles I. Fuller resided at this address. John G. Rudd, Jr., is the current owner of record and John G. Rudd, Jr., and Maureen Rudd are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Maureen Rudd and John G. Rudd, Jr., purchased the property from the Patricia King Estate in 1997 for $525,000. J. Gordon Rudd, an attorney with Zimmerman Read, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2400 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3508 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma G. McDonald resided at this address. In 1997, J. D. Wirtschafter and C. L. Wirtschafter sold the property to Paul H. Ravich and Jeanne Ravich for a purchase price of $605,000 and in 2004, Paul H. Ravich sold the property to Eric R. Roberts for $1,650,000. The current owner of record is Eric R. Roberts and the current taxpayers of record are Eric R. Roberts and Laura Davis. Jonathan D. Wirtschafter, M.D., is a Professor of Ophthalmology and Neurosurgery at the University of Minnesota. Paul Ravich practices real estate, business and finance law in the law firm of Ravich, Meyer, Kirkman, McGrath & Nauman, P. A. Paul Ravich's bachelor and law degrees are from the University of Minnesota and he previously was a partner in the firm of Rosen, Ravich, Summers & Holmes (1966-1973), was a partner in the firm of Stacker and Ravich (1973-1985), and was a partner in the firm of Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi (1985-1991). Jeanne Ravich, a retiree, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2406 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1927. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3435 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence E. Hill resided at this address. Clarence E. Hill (1887-1982) was a graduate of the University of Minnesota, entered banking in 1909, helped establish the Minneapolis State Bank, later known as the Minneapolis National Bank, was the chairman of the board of Northwestern National Bank of Minneapolis, retired in 1951, and was a former State Department consultant. As a State Department consultant, he was a specialist on West Germany, Italy, Turkey and Iran in the 1950's. For 25 years, he served as Belgian consul for Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota, and he was knighted by Belgium with the Order of the Crown for his service. Clarence Hill married May Boyd Hill and the couple had a son, a daughter, and four grandchildren. In 1984, B. F. and A. J. Stock sold the property to Melvin C. Shannon for $330,000 and in 1998, Sarya Dougherty Rekas purchased the property from A. L. Shannon and Michael E. Shannon for a purchase price of $715,000. Michael E. Shannon was the chairman of the Minnesota Orchestral Association (MOA) in 1997. Michael E. Shannon joined the board of directors of Apogee Enterprises, Inc., in 1998, after prior service with Ecolab, Inc., Republic Steel Corporation, and Gulf Oil Corporation. The current owner of record is Sarah Dougherty Rekas and the current taxpayers of record of the property are Michael B. Rekas and Sarah D. Rekas.

2412 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3393 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The 1917 Catalogue of Delta Upsilon indicates that Russell Henry Stafford, a clergyman with the Morningside and Open Doors Congregational Churches, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry F. Marsh resided at this address. Russell Henry Stafford was the author of Finding God, published in New York by The Macmillan Company in 1923, Christian Humanism, published in Chicago by Willett, Clark & Colby in 1928, The minister and the modern temper, published in 1928, Paradoxes of the Kingdom, an Interpretation of the Beatitudes, published in Boston by The Forth Hill Press and Samuel Usher in 1929, Religion Meets the Modern Mind, published in New York by Round Table Press, Inc., in 1934, A Religion for Democracy, published in New York by The Abingdon Press in 1938, We Would See Jesus An Essay in Interpretation, published in 1947, and We Would See Jesus, published in Boston by the Pilgrim Press in 1947. Russell Henry Stafford was the ministers of the Old South Church in Boston, Massachusetts, from 1927 until 1945. Russell Henry Stafford, D. D., was the President Emeritus of the Hartford Seminary Foundation and was a member of the Massachusetts Society of Mayflower Descendants. Kenneth E. Hjelm is the owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property. Kenneth E. Hjelm is the Director of International Business Development for 3M.

2416 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1920. The structure is a 2.2 story, 4279 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that William S. Jenkins resided at this address. The property has been sold twice in the last dozen years, first in 1992, when Vivian M. Leith sold it to Terence M. Graunke for $550,000, and then in 2000, when John M. Steele sold it to 78th Street Properties for $650,000. The current owner of record is Henry Cousineau III and the current taxpayers of record are Kristi Cousineau and Henry Cousineau III. Henry Cousineau is the former founder and president of Novus Marketing, Inc.

2424 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1930; Tudor/European Villa in style; Carl A. Gage, architect. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 8280 (5856 according to Minneapolis city property tax records) square foot, five (four according to Minneapolis city property tax records) bedroom, seven (six according to Minneapolis city property tax records) bathroom, 16 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that James R. Stewart resided at this address. The property was sold twice during the past five years, with a sale in 1998 from Gary Holmes and Mary Holmes to Theodore Deikel for a purchase price of $1,700,000 and in 2001 from Theodore Deikel to Stephen N. Oesterle for a purchase price of $3,312,000. The property was recently offered for sale for $3,795,000. Theodore Deikel is a principal, with Thomas J. Petters, in FAC Acquisitions, LLC., which purchased much of the assets of the former Fingerhut Division from Federated Department Stores Inc. Deikel was the former CEO of Fingerhut prior to its sale to Federated. Stephen P. Oesterle is the current owner of record and Stephen P. Oesterle and Adrienne Oesterle are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Stephen Oesterle, M. D., is a senior vice president for medicine and technology at Medtronics Inc. Oesterle has a bachelors degree from Harvard University and a medical degree from Yale University, completed a residency in internal medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, was a Fellow in Cardiology at Stanford University, oversaw the development of the Stanford Cardiac Device Laboratory, and founded a medical device development lab at Massachusetts General Hospital. Carl A. Gage (1881- ) also was the architect for "West Winds," a 15-room Tudor-style home built between 1928-1930 by William E. Goodfellow on the west shore of Lake Calhoun that, since 1976, has housed the Bakken Library and Museum. James V. Vanderbilt and Carl A. Gage were partners in an architectural firm in 1925-1926.

2442 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1952. The structure is a one story, 1713 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, split-level single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. Crispin E. See previously was the owner of record of the property. Stephen P. Oesterle is the current owner of record and Stephen P. Oesterle and Adrienne Oesterle, who reside at 2424 West Lake of the Isles Parkway, are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Crispin E. See, M.D., is a neurologist at the Minneapolis Clinic of Neurology. Dr. See graduated from medical school at the Far Eastern University, Manila, the Philipines, in 1970, served an internship and residency at Deaconess Hospital in 1972, and served a residency at the University of Minnesota, in 1975.

2450 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1951. The structure is a 1.7 story, 2479 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. George F. Rickey is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property.

2500 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1918; Georgian in style. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3436 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement and a tuck-under garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Minnie F. Morse resided at this address. In 1987, J. McElhaney and J. McElhaney sold the property to J. M. Shapiro for $568,000 and in 2004,Jeffrey M. Shapiro sold the property to Benjamin J. Graves for $1,394,640. The property was recently offered for sale for $1,695,000. Jeffrey M. Shapiro and Nanci Shapiro previously were the owners of the property. Benjamin J. Graves and Lindsay Graves are the current owners of record of the property. Benjamin J. Graves is a vice president of operations for Graves Hospitality and is associated with the Le Méridien Minneapolis Hotel. Jeffrey M. Shapiro, a retiree who resided at this address in 2004, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2504 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2236 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1909 city directory indicates that Willoughby M. Babcock, a lawyer who officed at 610 Temple Court, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Willoughby M. Babcock resided at this address. Willoughby Babcock (1832-1864) was a lawyer in Owego, New York and served in the Union Army during the Civil War. Willoughby Maynard Babcock, Sr. (1864-1925,) was a student at Yale College from 1885 to 1887, moved to Minneapolis in 1889, was a lawyer, and was the secretary of the Draymen's Protective Association of Minneapolis from 1899 to 1920. Willoughby Maynard Babcock, Jr. (1893-1967,) held various positions on the Minnesota Historical Society's staff from 1918 to 1960. Grace Hinshaw (1895- ,) one of ten children of and the fifth daughter of Americus Fernando Hinshaw (1854-1943) and Charity Shouse Hinshaw (1865-1943,) married Willoughby M. Babcock. Willoughby Maynard Babcock, Jr., (1893-1967) edited Selections from the letters and diaries of Brevet-Brigadier General Willoughby Babcock of the Seventy-fifth New York Volunteers: a study of camp life in the Union armies during the Civil War, published by The University of the State of New York in 1922. In 1924, Willoughby M. Babcock, Jr., was the author of the article "Major Lawrence Taliaferro, Indian Agent" for the Journal of American History. In 1930, Willoughby M. Babcock reviewed The Story of the Red Man, by Flora Warren Seymour and Tales of the North American Indians by Stith Thompson for the Journal of American History. In 1938, Willoughby M. Babcock read the paper "The Romance of the Fur Trade" before the Thunder Bay Historical Society. Willoughby M. Babcock was a contributor to the Society of American Archaeology. Willoughby M. Babcock was the author of the article "A Vanished Dream: Nininger" in the Gopher Historian in 1958 and of the article "Gateway to the Northwest: St. Paul and the Nobles Expedition of 1859" in Minnesota History in 1957. Willoughby M. Babcock also was the author of A great Minnesota pioneer: Henry Hastings Sibley - pioneer, fur trader, congressman, territorial governor of Minnesota, Indian fighter in 1934 and of Father Galtier and the beginnings of St. Paul in 1938. Willoughby M. Babcock was a curator for the Minnesota Historical Society in 1936. Willoughby Babcock, of Scott, New York, graduated from the New York Central College in McGrawville, New York, in 1857, studied law at Albany Law School, enlisted as First Lieutenant of Co. H, Third New York Regiment, fought at the Battle of Great Bethel, Virginia, resigned to accept a Captaincy in the 64th New York Regiment, and resigned from 64th New York Regiment to accept promotion to Major of 75th New York Regiment in 1861, served as Provost Marshal and Military Governor of Pensacola, Florida, and was commissioned as Lt. Colonel of 75th New York Infantry in 1862, fought in the Battle of Fort Bisland, Louisiana, and in Battle of Port Hudson, Louisiana, was wounded, was ordered to New Orleans as Provost Judge, was relieved of command and court-marshaled for criticism of General Banks in a private letter that was inadvertently published in 1863, reentered the Army, was appointed Chief of Staff for General A. L. Lee, served in New Orleans as Chief of Staff for Generals Arnold and Davidson and as Superintendent of the Cavalry Bureau, rejoined the 75th New York Infantry, fought and was fatally wounded at the Battle of Winchester, Virginia, and was posthumously brevetted Colonel and Brigadier General by the Congress in 1864. Willoughby’s two brothers were also killed during the Civil War, Willis Babcock, 1st Lieutenant of Co. G, 64th New York Volunteer Infantry, was killed on July 2, 1863 in the Wheatfield at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, and Lucius Babcock, Sergeant of Co. B, Ninth Minnesota Infantry, who was captured during the battle of Brice’s Cross Roads, Tennessee, and died as a prisoner of war at Andersonville in 1864. Willoughby Maynard Babcock ( -1925) died in Hennepin County. Willoughby M. Babcock (1894-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Atwater, and died in Hennepin County. Leonard Christianson, in 1988, purchased the property from J. P. and E. S. McEnaney for $350,000. Kate W. Christianson is the taxpayer of record and Lynn A. Christianson is the current property owner of record. Lynn A. Christianson and Kate W. Christianson were financial supporters of the Center for Victims of Torture in 2003. Lynn A. Christianson, MD, is an anesthesiologist at the Minneapolis Children's Medical Center, the Gillette Children's Hospital, and the Children's West Ambulatory Surgery Center.

2508 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3156 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold F. Marston resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is John J. Ursu and the current taxpayers of record are John J. Ursu and Mary W. Ursu. John J. Ursu is the Senior Vice President for Legal Affairs at 3M-Office of the General Counsel. Mary Ursu, Ph.D., L.P., is the Past Chair of the Psychoanalytic Coalition of Minnesota and is a member of its board. John Ursu, a retiree, was a contributor to the Wesley Clark for President campaign, to the John Edwards for President campaign, to the John Kerry for President campaign, and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Mary Ursu, a self-employed psychologist, was a contributor to the Wesley Clark for President campaign and to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2512 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 3425 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Dudley C. Frise resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Lewis Remele, Jr., and Lewis Remele, Jr., and Constance Remele are the current taxpayers of record for the property. Lewis Remele was the attorney representing the Minnesota Partnership for Action Against Tobacco in 2003 litigation with the Minnesota Attorney General and was appointed by federal judge Michael J. Davis as Special Master to administer the Baycol Products Settlement and Mediation Program. Connie Remele is a member of the board for the Blake School and is a member of the board for the Minnesota Center for Book Arts. Lewis Remele and Connie Remele are also financial supporters of Graywolf Press. Constance Remele was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Lewis A. Remele, Jr., an attorney with Bassford Remele, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2516 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1929. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3348 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles A. Gould resided at this address. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, first in 1996, from R. J. Weisberg and L. E. Weisberg to J. W. Yabuki and C. Madden for $425,000, and then in 1999, from J. W. Yabuki and C. Madden to S. J. Prem and T. L. Owens for $750,000. S. J. Prem and T. L. Owens are the current owners of record and the current taxpayers of record. Jeff Yabuki is H&R Block's chief operating officer. In 2004, PetSmart appointed Jeff Yabuki, CIO of H&R Block, to its board of directors.

2520 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Louis Harvey Joss House; Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 2016 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Louis H. Joss resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Louis Harvey Joss (1880- ,) the son of Reverend Augustus Adolf Joss, D. D., a former Episcopal Church preacher, and Mary Powell Joss, was born in Northfield, Minnesota, graduated from the Little Falls, Minnesota, High School, in 1899, was a 1906 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was a member of the Pillsbury-Dunwoody Freshman and Sophomore Debating Team for the University of Minnesota, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1907, was a lawyer, was a member of the Joss & Ohman law firm, married Kate Townsend Bennett, the daughter of William K. Bennett, a member of the law firm of Koon, Whelan & Bennett, and Kate Prescott Bennett, was a senior member of the law firm of Joss, Ohman, Fryberger & Parker of Minneapolis in 1923, was the secretary of the Traub & Mantz Mortgage Corporation of Minneapolis, handling farm loans, was a director of the Brownton State Bank, Brownton, Min­nesota, was a Republican, was an Episcopalian, was a Mason, was a Shriner, was a member of the Golden Valley Golf Club, officed at 311 Nicollet Avenue in 1916, and officed at the Northwestern National Bank Build­ing in 1923. The Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission approved an application for demolition of an historic resource at this address in 2007. The current owner of the property is William M. Pohlad and the current taxpayers of record are William M. Pohlad and Michelle Pohlad, who are located at 60 S. 6th Street.

2528 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1922; Neoclassical Revival or Derivative in style; Ernest Kennedy, architect. Before burning in a fire in 2005, the structure is a two story, 5128 square foot, four bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. According to the Mpls.St.Paul Magazine, the house's first occupant was Axel Lillehei, a Norwegian–born dentist and an uncle of C. Walton Lillehei, the legendary U of M heart surgeon. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry L. Carpenter resided at this address. In 1973, Emmanuel and Ophelia Balcos purchased this property. Axel Olai Larson Lillehei (1876-1959) was the son of Lars Lillehei and Ingeborg Lillehei. Ophelia G. Balcos was the previous taxpayer of record for the property and Emmanuel G. Balcos was the previous owner of record for the property. In 2006, Emmanuel G. Balcos sold the property to William M. Pohlad for $1,630,000. The current owner of the property is William M. Pohlad and the current taxpayers of record are William M. Pohlad and Michelle M. Grabanski Pohlad, who are located at 60 S. 6th Street. Ophelia G. Balcos is a past president of the Minnesota Medical Association Alliance, a humanitarian, non-profit volunteer organization composed of spouses of physicians, resident physicians and medical students. Emmanuel G. Balcos, M.D., is a Clinical Professor of Colon and Rectal Surgery, at the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery, Department of Surgery, University of Minnesota Medical School.

2530 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 5090 square foot, four bedroom, six bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank L. Carey resided at this address. In 1985, the A. T. Goy, Jr., Trust sold the property to M. A. Appleman and M. K. Appleman for $300,000. Michael A. Appleman, M.A., L.P., is a psychologist. Appleman received bachelors, masters, and doctorate degrees from the University of Minnesota. The Minnesota Board of Psychology revoked Appleman's psychology license in 2002 and that revocation was upheld by the Minnesota Court of Appeals. Michael Appleman, PHD, practices at the University Avenue Psychology Center, 600 University Avenue SE.

2540 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1926. The structure is a two story, 2972 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Zenith E. Cline resided at this address. Sylvia Seelert-Brennan is the current owner of the property.

2544 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: John William Smith House; Built in 1916; Arts and Crafts Prairie School in style; Joe Metzler and Steve Buetow, kitchen and dining space renovation architects. The structure is a two story, 2869 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that John William Smith resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Guy R. Fletcher resided at this address. John William Smith was a 1904 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was a member of the Law Literary Society at the University of Minnesota, was the treasurer of the Northern Welding Company, was the president of the Vulcan Process Company, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a 32nd degree Mason, was a Shriner with the Zurah Shrine, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, and officed at 2429 University Avenue SouthEast in 1916. The Northern Welding Company was a manufacturer of welding equipment and supplies. The Vulcan Process Company was a supplier of pure compressed electrolytic oxygen and a dealer in oxy-acetylene welding supplies. E. B. Teeple was the president of the Vulcan Process Company before 1913. Arrangements for the construction of a plant for the Northern Welding Company at Great Falls, Montana, were finalized in 1913. L. E. Jordan became the partner of E. B. Teeple in the Vulcan Process Company when it was incorporated in 1913 and became the general manager of the Vulcan Process Company in 1915 when E. B. Teeple retired in 1915. The Vulcan Process Company was sold to the Northern Welding Company in 1916. The Air Reduction Company of New York City, New York, purchased the Minneapolis plant of the Northern Welding Company, the Duluth, Minnesota, branch of the Northern Welding Company, the Duluth Gas Company, and the interests of the Vulcan Process Company in 1917. In 1990, Karen Ryan and Daniel Ryan sold the property to its current owners, Malcolm T. Liepke and Michelle N. Liepke, for $440,000. Malcolm T. "Skip" Liepke (1953- ) is an artist who was was born and raised in Minneapolis and who studied at the Art Center in Pasadena, California. Basically self taught, Liepke feels that his greatest education came from museums, studying the color, composition and technique of the great masters. Since 1979, Liepke has become a well-respected name in both the fine art and illustrative fields. Liepke's work has appeared on the covers of Time, Newsweek, Forbes, Fortune, and Sports Illustrated. Liepke also has become a master in the field of lithography. There is an article on the Liepke kitchen/dining area renovation

2552 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1948. The structure is a two story, 2574 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The previous owner of record was Beverly Smerling, while Jill Kushner of Weston, Massachusetts, was also listed as a taxpayer. The rental property is currently owned by Malcolm T. Liepke, who resides at 2544 West Lake of the Isles Parkway. Beverly Smerling is a member of the board of the S. S. Fisher Foundation, Inc., which funds religious and other programs, and lists this address as its mailing address. In 2003, the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission approved a demolition request for this address.

2554 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3610 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward B. Murphy resided at this address. The current owners of the property, Bruce A. Birkeland and Diane J. Birkeland, purchased the property from the Robert Hartzell Estate for $415,000 in 1998. Bruce A. Birkeland and Diane J. Birkeland operate a Coldwell Banker Burnet real estate agency in Minneapolis. Diane J. Birkeland is a member of the board of WATCH, an organization intended to make the justice system more effective and responsive in handling cases of violence, particularly against women and children, and to create a more informed and involved public.

2560 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1927. The structure is a two story, 2960 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Sunberg resided at this address. Kenneth B. Cram is the current owner of record and Kenneth B. Cram and Janis T. Cram are the current taxpayers of record of this property. Kenneth Cram, M.D., is associated with Minneapolis Radiology Associates Ltd. Janis Cram was a financial supporter of Books For Africa in 2002 and of WATCH in 2003. Janis Cram was the chair of the Blake Upper School Parents Committee in 2004.

2566 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1911. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3516 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur Brin resided at this address. In 1930, Arthur Brin (1880-1947) was the chairman of the campaign of an umbrella organization that would later be known as the Minneapolis Jewish Federation for a broad array of Jewish causes, including local institutions as the Talmud Torah, the Emanuel Cohen Center and the Jewish Family Welfare Association, several national Jewish health and social service agencies, and a group of international organizations aiding Jewish settlers in Palestine. The campaign raised $40,000 of its target of $65,000 in 1930. In 1909, Arthur Brin was a salesman for Pittsburg Plate Glass and lived at 1709 10th Avenue South, and was involved in organizing the 1909 ball of Minneapolis lodge, No. 271, International Order of B’Nai Brith. Arthur Brin was involved in the Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota in the 1930’s. Arthur Brin was active in the Brin Glass Company, the Associated Jewish Charities of Minneapolis, the Community Chest and Council of Hennepin County, the Council of Jewish Federation and Welfare Fund, the Jewish Family Service, and the Minneapolis Council of Social Agencies. Arthur Brin was married to Fanny Fligelman Brin (1884-1961) and the couple had a son, Howard Baer Brin (1919-1988.) Fanny Brin was an observer at the founding conference of the United Nations in San Francisco in 1945, was the president from1932 to1937 of the National Council of Jewish Women, and was involved with the National Committee on the Cause and Cure of War. Fanny Fligelman Brin was born in Romania, emigrated to Minneapolis, and graduated Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Minnesota. Howard Baer Brin graduated with honors from Harvard University in 1941 and his honors thesis was "The Development of Labor Status." There is a Howard B. Brin Jewish Arts Endowment, a designated fund of the Jewish Community Foundation of the Minneapolis Jewish Federation. The Howard B. Brin Jewish Arts Endowment Fund was established in 1991 by Mr. Brin's family as a living memorial to his lifelong commitment to the arts as a powerful force in modern Jewish life. The Brin family, along with experts in the Jewish arts, select the grant winners. Howard B. Brin was an amateur musician and oversaw the design and establishment of the cultural arts wing of the Jewish Community Center of Greater Minneapolis, served as cultural arts chairman and established the endowment drive for the Center, and was one of its presidents. Howard B. Brin was the author of “The Mystery of the Inscription on Hasmonean Coins” and “The Mystery Solved: A New Definition of HVR ha Yehudim” in the Society for Ancient Numismatics Magazine in 1980, of the Catalog of Judaea Capta Coinage, published in 1986 by the Emmett Publishing Company, and of A new interpretation of H?vr haYehudim. The current owner of record of the property is Roger Conhaim and the current taxpayers of the property are Roger Conhaim and Wallys Conhaim. Roger Conhaim is a development consultant with Conhaim Associates. Wallys Conhaim is a partner in Conhaim Associates, Inc., and is a Minneapolis-based strategic planner and futurist. Wallys Conhaim is also a board member of the Minnesota Independent Scholars' Forum. Wallys Conhaim and Roger Conhaim were financial supporters of Jewish Community Action in 2004. Roger Conhaim was a financial supporter of the Jeremiah Program in 2003 and of the Friends of the Minneapolis Public Library in 2004. Piper Resources is located at this address. Piper Resources is a partnership of two pioneers in online research and services, who are Dr. Dana Noonan, Piper Resources Partner and Webmaster, and Wallys W. Conhaim, Piper Resources Managing Partner. Dr. Dana Noonan has an academic background in geography, urban studies and information science and Wallys W. Conhaim is a strategic planner and futurist.

2572 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3033 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Chester A. Weston resided at this address. Chester Weston was a local glass artisan and completed the plans of Jacob J. Liebenberg, an architect, for the Adath Jeshurun Synagogue and the stained glass windows for the sanctuary and foyer at 3400 Dupont Avenue South. Weston had studied with Tiffany and also designed windows for the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine in New York City, now a National Historic Landmark. In 1994, P. K. Richey and S. W. Richey sold the property to William M. Pohlad for $475,000. William M. Pohlad is a member of the Board of Trustees of Gonzaga University, which is a private, four-year comprehensive university in the State of Washington that is owned and operated by the Society of Jesus (Jesuits,) and is a member of the board of the Guthrie Theatre. Pohlad is also a member of the executive board of the Minnesota Twins, with Carl R. Pohlad, James O. Pohlad, Robert C. Pohlad, T. Geron (Jerry) Bell, and Howard Fox, and is Executive Vice President of the Pohlad Companies. William M. Pohlad, the owner of River Road Entertainment, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. River Road Entertainment was founded in 1987 as River Road Productions in order to produce independent feature films from its Midwest base. River Road Entertainment, in the 1990's, produced documentaries on the rock star Prince, baseball great Kirby Puckett, and Irish theater director Joe Dowling, broadcast specials with the Fugees, the Beijing Opera and Bobby McFerrin, and music videos for Run DMC, Wyclef Jean, and Alexander O’Neal, and began producing a seven channel network of in-flight entertainment programming for Northwest Airlines in 1998. William M. Pohlad was the director and writer of the film "Old Explorers" in 1990 and was a producer or executive producer of the films "Chicago 10" in 2007, "Into the Wild" in 2007, "Fur: An Imaginary Portrait of Diane Arbus" in 2006, "A Prairie Home Companion" in 2006, "Brokeback Mountain in 2005, and "Old Explorers" in 1990. Michelle Marie Grabanski Pohlad, a homemaker, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004, the Amy Klobuchar for Senate campaign in 2006, and the Ford Bell for U. S. Senate campaign in 2006. Axel A. Lillehei, a dentist who officed at the Donaldson Building, resided at the nearby former 2630 West Lake of the Isles Parkway according to the 1909 city directory.

2650 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: The property is a vacant lot owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board.

2700 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3134 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jay R. Martin resided at this address. The BMO Partnership sold the property to Robert H. Scott and Barbara C. Scott, its current owners, in 1997 for $560,000. Robert H. Scott and Barbara C. Scott reside in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

2700 1/2 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: The current owner of record of the property is Robert H. Scott and the current taxpayers of record is Robert H. Scott and Barbara Scott, who reside in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It was also sold in 1997 with 2700 West Lake of the Isles Parkway by the BMO Partnership to Robert H. Scott and Barbara C. Scott.

2706 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1911; Andrew Porth, renovation architect. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 5811 (5868 according to Minneapolis property tax records) square foot, six (five according to Minneapolis property tax records) bedroom, five (six according to Minneapolis property tax records) bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement and a tuck-under garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that James DeVoy resided at this address. Patrick J. Denzer and Lisa Denzer previously owned the property, purchasing it in 2001 from Elizabeth M. Winston for $1,725,000. The current owner and taxpayer of record is Patrick J. Denzer. The property was recently offered for sale for $1,900,000. Patrick J. Denzer is president and chief operating officer of John B. Collins Associates Inc., a reinsurance intermediary brokerage firm. The house was completely renovated in 2001.

2728 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1955. The structure is a two story, 3851 square foot, four bedroom, 2 1/2 bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The property was sold twice in the last 15 years, first in 1989, from Beverly Chalfen to John C. Noble for $1,000,000, and then in 1994, from John C. Noble and L. K. Noble to its current owners, Gary C. Fink and JoAnn M. Fink, for $1,100,000. Gary C. Fink is a consultant with Clark/Bardes Consulting-Healthcare Group. Fink began his career with Prudential Insurance Company, then formed HealthCare Compensation Strategies (subsequently MCG/HealthCare), which merged with Clark Bardes Inc. in 1999. Joann Fink, a homemaker, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2740 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1917; Georgian Revival in style; Carl A. Gage, architect. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 6300 square foot (8,854 square foot according to real estate listing,) eight bedroom, six bathroom, two half-bathroom, 17 room, brick and stucco single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement, six fireplaces, and a carriage house. The 1930 city directory indicates that William L. Harvey resided at this address. William L. Harvey (1873-1932/1939) was born in Illinois, married Eleanora Holub (1883- ,) and the couple had five children. William L. Harvey lived in New Prague, Minnesota, in 1920 and lived in Minneapolis in 1930. William L. Harvey became president of International Milling Company in 1930, upon the death of his business partner, Francis Atherton Bean, Sr. (1840-1930.) In 1891, Francis Atherton Bean, Sr., leased a New Prague, Minnesota, mill, the New Prague Flouring Mill, and built it into the International Milling Company with William L. Harvey. Francis Atherton Bean, Jr. (1910-1998,) became vice president of the the International Milling Company in 1930. Throughout the remaining first half of the twentieth century, International Milling Company continued to expand operations within both the United States and Canada by acquiring or building additional mills in New York, Texas, Minnesota, Michigan, Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri, Alberta, Ontario, and Quebec. To augment its manufacturing operations, the company added docks, terminal elevators, and warehouses to its assets. Beginning in 1951, the company diversified its trade lines through the purchase of the Eagle Roller Mill Company of New Ulm, Minnesota, manufacturers of rye flours and the Supersweet animal formula feeds. By the early 1960’s, the company had mills manufacturing feed products in Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, and Wisconsin. In 1964, the corporation first offered common stock to the public. In 1970, the company renamed itself International Multifoods Corporation and, in August of 1971, began listing its stock on the New York Stock Exchange. In 1995, A. E. and M. Kadue sold the property to Todd D. Peterson and Jodi D. Peterson for $1,225,000. Todd Douglas Peterson, founder and president of Spring House Capital LLC, a private equity and venture capital firm, is a member of the Harvard Business School Chapter of the Harvard Club of Minnesota. Todd D. Peterson (1962- ) has been a director of The Sportsman's Guide, Inc., since 2001, is the Managing Director of Spring House Capital, L.L.C., a private investment firm, was the President of Chippewa Springs Ltd., a producer and seller of bottled water, from 1992 to 1997, was a Vice President in Corporate Finance at U.S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray from 1987 to 1992, and started his career at Control Data Corporation. Todd D. Peterson donated to the Mark Kennedy for U. S. Congress campaign in 2003. Jodi D. Peterson of Spring House Capital LLC was a member of the board of directors of the Center of the American Experiment. Arnold E. Kadue (1915-2006) was born in New Britain, Connecticut, won a scholarship to Yale University, where he earned a degree in engineering, was a munitions factory worker during World War II, married Marjorie Moore of Louisville, Mississippi, was employed by General Mills, which brought him to Minneapolis in 1948, and ran Precision Associates Inc., the rubber-molding factory, for 48 years before retiring in 2002. The Harvard Club of Minnesota exists to build the community of Harvard's University-wide alumni in Minnesota, to assist Harvard applicants and students from Minnesota, and to promote the good will of the University locally. The Center of the American Experiment is a nonpartisan, tax-exempt, public policy and educational institution, founded in 1990, that brings conservative and free market ideas to bear on the hardest problems facing Minnesota and the nation. It publishes original research, writes commentaries, commissions studies, presents public programs that feature both local and national experts, hosts legislative roundtables, and delivers presentations to students and civic organizations. The property is currently listed for sale with an asking price of $4,500,000.00.

2754 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1929. The structure is a two story, 5548 square foot, four bedroom, five bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Perlee resided at this address. Gary C. Fink and JoAnn M. Fink sold the property in 1989 to R. M. Cowles for $1,375,000 and Marguerite A. Cowles sold the property in 2005 to Richard E. Kuntz for $2,750,000. The property has been offered for sale since May, 2007, with an asking price of $2,750,000. Marguerite A. Cowles & Russell M. Cowles II were previously the owners of record of the property. The current owner of record is Richard E. Kuntz and the current taxpayers of record are Richard Kuntz and Karen Kuntz. Dr. Richard Kuntz Senior Vice President And President Of Neurological Businesses for Medtronic, Inc., joining the company in 2005 from the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, where he served as an interventional cardiologist and chief of the Division of Clinical Biometrics and from the Harvard Clinical Research Institute, a university-based contract research organization that has coordinated National Institutes of Health and industry clinical trials with the Food and Drug Administration, where he served as the chief scientific officer. Marguerite Cowles and Russell Cowles were financial supporters of Graywolf Press, the Minnesota Historical Society, the Franconia Sculpture Park, and the Minnesota Zoo. Russell Cowles was associated with Sherburne, Wedleigh & Tuma, Ltd., and was a financial supporter of the Second Harvest Foodbank.

2764 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1951. The structure is a 1.2 story, 6611 (4673 according to Minneapolis property tax records) square foot, five bedroom, six (two according to Minneapolis property tax records) bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement and a tuck-under garage. It also has flowing gardens, a pool, and a patio. The property was sold twice in the past seven years, first in 1996 from W. R. Soth and R. Soth to D. C. Duxbury and K. Duxbury for $825,000, and then in 2001 from D. C. and K. Duxbury to Stephen R. Sefton for $1,835,500. The property was recently offered for sale for $1,995,000. Stephen R. Sefton is the current owner of record of the property and Stephen R. Sefton and Claudia Sefton are the current taxpayers of the property. Stephen R. Sefton is President of Equity Research, Inc. and is a member of the CommonBond Communities. Claudia Sefton is a financial supporter of the Jeremiah Program.

2774 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4868 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that John P. Devaney resided at this address. John Patrick Devaney (1882-1941) was born at Lake Mills, Iowa, was a son of Patrick Devaney and Ellen La Valle Devaney, was twice the managing editor of the "Minnesota Daily," was twice the business manager of the "Minnesota Magazine," was the University debating champion, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1905, was a lawyer in Minneapolis, became Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court in 1934, was the president of the National Lawyers Guild in 1937, and died in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. In 1905, John P. Devaney was an officer of the Mu Sigma Chapter of Phi Gamma Delta at the University of Minnesota and a John P. Devaney scholarship cup was established by the fraternity in 1922. John Patrick Devaney, Jr., graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1941. Sales of the property occurred twice during the 1990's, first, in 1992, when W. R. McGrann and J. C. McGrann sold it to L. C. Toralballa and B. E. Toralballa for $843,000, and, second, in 1995, when L. C. Toralballa and B. E. Toralballa sold it to T. R. Shadick and P. C. Shadick for $617,500, and most recently in 2008, when Thomas R. Shadick sold it to Lance M. Silverman for $2,850,000. Thomas R. Shadick and Patrine Shadick previously were the owners of the property and the current owner of record of the property is Lance M. Silverman and the current taxpayers of record for the property are Lance M. Silverman and Anne E. Silverman. In 2004, Tom Shadick, who had owned and operated importer and distributor Wusthof-Trident Cutlery in Minneapolis since 1975, retired and sold his firm to the Wusthof parent company. Wusthof is headquartered in Solingen, Germany, and its Chief Executive Officer is Wolfgang Wusthof. Tom Shadick also is active in the Black Sheep Club. Leopoldo C. Toralballa was a member of the board of directors of Fingerhut Companies Inc. in 1994. Lance M. Silverman is an orthopaedic surgeon.

2806 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 2685 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that George M. Haywood resided at this address. In 1995, R. G. Gilbert and S. L. Gilbert sold the property to Laura M. Stone for $488,000 and, in 1999, Laura M. Stone sold the property to its current owner and taxpayer of record, Bradley Peterson, for $525,000.

2810 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2988 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 14 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, first in 1990, when the Forster-Hughes Corporation sold it to Kent Schulze for $535,000 and then, in 1996, K. R. and S. R. Schulze sold the property to its current owner and taxpayer of record, Tom Gegax, for $550,000. Tom Gegax is co-founder and Chairman Emeritus of Tires Plus Stores, CEO of Tom Gegax Keynotes Plus, and author of Winning in the Game of Life, Self Coaching Secrets for Success. Thomas L. Gegax, speaker and author with Tom Gegax Enterprise, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2816 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1890 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Carl P. Halvorson, travel agent, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl P. Halverson resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Robert R. Corrick and the current taxpayers of record of the property are Robert R. Corrick and Beth R. Parkhill. Robert R. Corrick has an M.B.A. from the University of Minnesota Graduate School of Business, is a vice president of Parkhill Marketing, Inc., is a board member of the Cedar Isles-Dean Neighborhood Association, is on the executive committee of the Voyageurs Region National Park Association, and was president of the Midtown Greenway Coalition in 2003. Beth Parkhill and Robert Corrick were underwriters of the 2001 Fringe Festival. In 2004, Robert Corrick was a registered lobbyist for Rand Corp Financial Services. Robert Corrick was the Cedar Isles Dean Neighborhood Association Land Use and Development Committee Co-Chair in 2000. Beth Parkhill is associated with Parkhill Marketing, Inc., and is a board member of Intermedia Arts. Beth Parkhill, a self employed marketing consultant, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Beth Parkhill (left) is the board president and cofounder (with Yuri Arajs) of the recently closed Outsiders and Others, a non-profit corporation and art gallery that existed to assist non-traditional and disadvantaged artists to show their work and express themselves through art.

2820 West Lake of the Isles Parkway: Built in 1957. The structure is a one story, 1256 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, six room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The current owner and taxpayer of the property is Chris G. Effrem. Chris G. Effrem is a master carver, now retired, who trained in Athens, Greece, in the classical tradition, and who started the Wood Carvers Store and School. Chris Effrem, Will Bondhus, and Conway Tweedy ( -2006) were three remaining original members of the Minnesota Woodcarvers Association, formed in 1964. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward M. Turnquist resided at the former nearby 3837 West Lake of the Isles Parkway.

Summit Avenue Hikes - Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last updated on August 3, 2011.

;