Site hosted by Build your free website today!

About the St. Clair Shores Waterfront Environmental Committee

St. Clair Shores, Michigan - The Waterfront Environmental Committee commits it's resources, time and energy toward making our community a better place in which to live. Specifically, our goals are directed toward promoting better water quality, a cleaner Lake St. Clair and greater public awareness concerning our waterfront stewardship. Listed in this website are current projects, past achievements and our future plans. Please note that schools, residents, businesses and local government are our partners and we work with them and for them on all of our activities. This committee is made up of all volunteers and was formed in February of 1996 by the Mayor and City Council.

Core Members:
From left to right
Dave Rubello - Currently working for the C&G Newspapers
Mark Balon - Civil engineer for a local firm
Cecilia Nowakowski - Operations Manager at a property management firm
Mark Hodorek - Currently working with the Macomb County Health Department
Kathy Nixon - Retired from Grosse Pointe school system
Erich Eggert - Currently a student at WSU seeking a degree in business
Erin Stahl - Currently working with Stahls' Inc.
Peter Rubino - St. Clair Shores Councilmember
Peter McInnes - Retired from Chrysler Corporation
Joe St. John - Retired federal government working part time with the MDNR
Stephen Kiluk - Pharmacist at St. John Macomb Hospital
Ben D'Angelo - Retired science teacher at Lake Shore High School
Kevin Hertel - Currently a State Representative for St. Clair Shores
Christian deRon - Currently working with IBM

Core Members not in above photo:
Gail Ashburn - Teacher at South Lake High School
Nicole Rakozy - Teacher at Lakeview High School
Sarah Schultz - Substitute teacher in St. Clair Shores school district
Lucas Stinson - Student at South Lake High School
Caprice Gaca-Wasko - Nurse for local nursing home
Chris Vitale - St. Clair Shores Councilman & Committee liaison
Jill Wrubel - Advanced Aquatics Dive Shop

Resource Members:
Bryan Babcock, Director, Department of Public Works
Margi Armstrong - Representative, Clean Water Action
Brent Avery - Retired Plant Manager, Chapaton Retention Basin
Christopher Bunch - Six Rivers Regional Land Conservancy
Lillian Claycomb - Chairperson, Beautification Commission
Joe Claycomb - Chairperson, Water Resources and Advisory Commission
Jacy Garrison - Oakland County Water Resource Commission Office
Tom Cleaver - President, We Are Here Foundation
Lillian Dean - Coordinator, Healthy Lawns & Gardens
Jerry DeMaire - Clinton River Watershed RAP Committee
Annette DeMaria - Environmental Consulting Technology, Inc.
Henry Bowman - Director, St. Clair Shores Parks and Recreation
Jacy Garrison, Environmental Planner, Oakland County
Terry Gibb - Macomb County MSU Extension Agent, Natural Resources
Jim Goodfellow - Eagle Pointe Homeowners Association
Andy Hartz - Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Chris Johnston - Lake St. Clair Community Organizer, Clean Water Action
Peggy Kennard - Past Member, Macomb County Water Quality Board
Ken Kmieske - Past Commander, Jefferson Yacht Club
Luanne Laemmerman - Macomb County Environmental Prosecutor
Dave Lavender - Principal, Jefferson Middle School
Doug Martz - Former Chairperson, Macomb County Water Quality Board
Barb Matthews - Macomb County Public Works Education Office
Bryan Mazey - Lac Ste. Clair Kiwanis Club
Terry McFadden - MDNR Wildlife Biologist for Lake St. Clair
Pastor Mike Molloy - New Life Christian Church
Sarah Roberts - Former State Representative for St. Clair Shores
Steve Stewart - Southeast Michigan Sea Grant Agent
Mike Thomas - MDNR Retired Fisheries Biologist for Lake St. Clair
Anne Vaara - Executive Director, Clinton River Watershed Council
Kip Walby - Mayor, City of St. Clair Shores
Gary White - Director, Environmental Health for Macomb County

For information on how YOU can be part of the Waterfront Environmental Committee, call the St. Clair Shores City Clerk's office at (586) 447-3303.

If you need to contact us by mail our address is:
St. Clair Shores Waterfront Environmental Committee
27600 Jefferson Circle Drive
St. Clair Shores, Michigan 48081

Website &
Facsimile: (586) 443-4850

Back to Home Page

Back to Home Page