Site hosted by Build your free website today!

The Crew

STS 51-L crewmembers are Mission specialist Ellison S. Onizuka, Teacher in Space Participant Sharon Christa McAuliffe, Payload Specialist Greg Jarvis and Mission specialist Judy Resnik. Pilot Mike Smith, Commander Dick Scobee, and Mission specialist Ron McNair.

The Artwork

Members of the STS 51-L crew designed this patch which will represent their mission. The Challenger is depicted launching from Florida with a backdrop of Halley's comet against the U.S. flag. Surnames of the crewmembers encircle the scene, with the payload specialists being recognized below. Surname of the first teacher in space, Sharon Christa McAuliffe, is followed by a symbolic apple.