Site hosted by Build your free website today!



I am a 53 year old retired Major from the Canadian Air Force with 24 years of service.  I am 6 feet tall, brown/grey hair, and weigh 120 pounds.

I have had tours of duty across Canada and a couple of European postings.  I have 2 children; a daughter who is a married registered nurse in Ottawa, Ontario  and a son who is married and is employed as a Electronic Engineer at an aerospace firm in Peterborough Ontario. I also have 3 grandchildren. Seven years ago I was diagnosed with the neurological disease, Olivo Ponto Cerebellar Ataxia (OPCA-SCA3).  I am still able to get around using a wheelchair, however, the disease is progressing.

I learned conclusively that I have OPCA after about 2 months of testing at National Defence Medical Centre in Ottawa, Ont.  The clincher came with the results of my MRI tests.  However, I was aware for the last 8 years that symptoms were beginning to manifest themselves.  My grandmother (deceased), my mother (died at age 75), my maternal uncle (died at age 54) and a brother (died at age 49) all had OPCA although they were diagnosed with MS and Parkinson's.  Currently 1 of my 2 younger brothers have tested positive and are showing early signs.  My greatest hope at this point is that I have not passed the gene on to my children, neither of whom wish to be tested.

I also have glaucoma which has caused loss of sight in my right eye.  So that makes me a half blind cripple.

I used to enjoy playing hockey & baseball, fishing & camping etc. but have had to curtail most physical activity.  Since my last couple of jobs in the Forces involved computer programming and systems development, I am fortunate to have some knowledge of information technology and continue my computer related interests.

I live in Trenton, Ont which is on the northeastern shore of Lake Ontario, about 180 kms east of Toronto. Have a cat "Johnnie",  as well as several wild birds, squirrels and other critters that we feed regularly.

I graduated from St. Clair College from a Business Administration program in 1971, and since have taken several courses mainly in the areas of; logistics, transportation, movements, information technology and operational planning & analysis.

As I find myself with plenty of time on my hands and not a lot to occupy it, I would be happy to talk to you on any topic.   Please ask me anything you wish.