Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Steps of kalari  

What is kalari 
Ways to getin 

Other sites

THE STAGES IN KALARIPAYATTU:- Kalari payattu is divided into 4 stages.  They are meipayattu or maithari (body), kolthari(sticks), angathari(metal weapons), verumkai (without weapon or empty hand).  If one desires to become a teacher (Gurunathan) of  Kalaripayattu, further 3 more stages have  to be completed viz. Chiktsavidhikal (treatment) , manthrathantra (rememberane of  God etc), marmagnanam (knowledge of Marmas or pressure points). The student who excells  himself in the 7 qualities will be normaly selected for the training of Guru.