2006 Kentucky Middle School State Tournament

Hosted by Kentucky Basketball Academy
Lexington, Kentucky
February 24-26, 2006

Copyright 2006 Ron Harrison

The Kentucky Middle School State Tournament (Boys) hosted by the Kentucky Basketball Academy has been in existence since 2002 and is already rich in tradition.

Middle School State Toumament History

Most Points, Game (Individual)
Austin Blair, Rose Hill vs. Boyle Co., 2003 34 pts
Chase Overstreet, Bate vs. Paducah St. Mary, 2003 34 pts
Aaron Dunaway, Second Street vs. Scott Middle, 2002 33 pts
John Perkins, Wayne County vs. Menifee County, 2003 32 pts
John Perkins, Wayne County vs. Middlesboro, 2003 31 pts
Brandon Bland, Scott Middle vs. St. Pius, 2002 30 pts
Tate Cox, June Buchanan vs. Madison, 2005 30 pts
Jacob Bryant, Dorton vs. Elliott County, 2004 28 pts
Matt Chambless, Gray vs. Pineville, 2004 28 pts
Jacob Bryant, Dorton vs. June Buchanan, 2004 28 pts
Oakley Watkins, Elkhorn vs. Crawford, 2005 28 pts
Brett Sutton, St. Pius vs. Scott Middle, 2002 27 pts
Kaelin Ammons, Elkhorn vs. Georgetown, 2003 27 pts
Nick Shannon, North Laurel vs. Bardstown, 2004 27 pts
Jordan Hammons, South Laurel vs. Rose Hill, 2003 26 pts
Nick Hudson, Leestown vs. Woodford Co., 2005 26 pts
Tyler Barber, LTMS vs. Bate, 2005 26 pts
Logan Bryant, Dorton vs. Jackson Street 2005 26 pts
Eric Mosley, Jackson Street vs. Dorton, 2005 26 pts
Most Points, Tournament
Daniel Harmon, 2005 Virgie 100 pts
Jordan Hammonds, 2003 South Laurel 99 pts
Jacob Bryant, 2004 Dorton 98 pts
John Perkins, 2003 Wayne County 96 pts
Travis Smith, 2004 Sebastian 91 pts
Keyshawn Simpson, 2005 Madison 90 pts
Austin Blair, 2003 Rose Hill 88 pts
Clark Stepp, 2004 June Buchanan 87 pts
Jamie McCarty, 2003 Johnson Co. 84 pts
Kaelin Ammons, 2003 Elkhorn 81 pts
Most Points, Game (Team)
88 Scott Co. vs. North Laurel, 2002
84 Rose Hill vs. Boyle Co., 2003
77 Mason Co. vs. Lynn Camp, 2005
76 Sebastian vs. Rose Hill, 2004
76 Scott Co. vs. Monticello, 2004
75 East Carter vs. Grant Co., 2003
75 Leestown vs. Bardstown, 2005
75 Leestown vs. Woodford Co., 2005
Championship Game Scores
2002 Lexington Catholic 47, Highlands 33
2003 Rose Hill 43, South Laurel 41 (2OT)
2004 Sebastian 47, Highlands 41
2005 Virgie 35, Jackson Street (Louisville) 33
Longest Games
4 OT Highlands vs. Georgetown , 2004
2 OT Rose Hill vs. South Laurel, 2003


Middle School State Tournament Results

1st Lexington Catholic All-Tournament Team
2nd Highlands MVP Dexter Davidson, Lexington Catholic
3rd Owensboro Catholic Aaron Dunaway, Second Street
3rd St. Pius Brandon Bland, Scott Middle (Ft. Knox)
Jake Wells, Burns
Brett Sutton, St. Pius
Andrew Howard, Owensboro Catholic
Jay Ivey, Owensboro Catholic
Jeff Vories, Highlands
Tanner Johnson, Highlands
Justin Burke, Lexington Catholic
Russell Allen, Lexington Catholic
1st Rose Hill All-Tournament Team
2nd South Laurel MVP Matt Thomas, Rose Hill
3rd Henderson South John Perkins, Wayne County
3rd Virgie Chase Overstreet, Bate Middle
Antoinne Lightfoot, Henderson South
Daniel Harmon, Virgie Middle
Rodney Haddix, Lexington Catholic
Tyler Foster, Scott County
Ty Proffitt, South Laurel
Jordan Hammonds, South Laurel
Alex Barker, Rose Hill
Austin Blair, Rose Hill
1st Sebastian All-Tournament Team
2nd Highlands MVP Travis Smith, Sebastian
3rd Georgetown Ryan Young, Lincoln County
3rd June Buchanan Matt Chambless, Gray
Ty Perkins, Wayne County
Clark Stepp, June Buchanan
Jacob Bryant, Dorton
Tyler Portwood, Georgetown
Jonathan Mackey, Georgetown
Nick Simpson, Highlands
Drew Simons, Highlands
Justin Hollan, Sebastian
1st Virgie All-Tournament Team
2nd Jackson Street (Louisville) MVP Daniel Harmon, Virgie
3rd Richmond Madison Ashley Hatfield, Virgie
3rd Lexington Leestown Taylor Newsome, Virgie
Eric Mosley, Jackson Street
Ridge Wilson, Jackson Street
Keyshawn Simpson, Richmond Madison
Isaiah Kavanaugh, Richmond Madison
Vincent Sanford, Lexington Leestown
Marquis Clay, Lexington Leestown
Logan Bryant, Dorton
Stuart Stamper, Carr Creek
Terrance Breckenridge, Mason Co.
Travis Johnston, Grayson Co.
Tate Cox, June Buchanan
Andrew Brown, Ockerman

This Year's Teams
Teams scheduled to perform for the 2006 championship as of February 21st (please check www.playkba.com for changes to the schedule) are:  Bryan Station, Corbin, Southern, Virgie, Morton, Boyle County, Elkhorn, Middlesboro, East Jessamine, Tates Creek, Georgetown, King, Clark Moore, Winburn, Harrison County, Anderson County, Farnsley, Whitley County, Meyzeek, Turkey Foot, Meece, St. Joseph, Highlands, Hindman, East Carter, Lincoln County, Betsy Layne, Gray, McCreary, Russell County, Sebastian, Caldwell County, R. G. Eversole, Mason County, Dorton, Cumberland County, Graves County, June Buchanan, Henderson South, Robinson, Moss, Pikeville, Johnson County, Muhlenberg South, Jessie Clark, South Laurel, Pineville, Bath County, LCA, North Laurel, Clinton County, A. B. Combs, Scott County,Whitesburg, Ockerman, and Adams.

*Friday Schedule of Games   *Saturday and Sunday Bracket

*Info provided on KBA website www.playkba.com.  For specific questions, please contact the KBA at 859-219-9272.

Ron Harrison’s reports on this and other basketball events appear on http://www.kyprephoops.com.