Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Hawker Sea Fury
The Sea Fury was the British Fleet Air Arm's last piston-engined fighter.  It was a development from the Hawker Tempest, itself a development of the Hawker Typhoon. The Typhoon and Tempest exemplified the wartime trend towards bigger and heavier fighters, and the design of the Fury was centred around the attempt to counteract this trend.

The Fury made its first prototype flight in February 1945, but the first production aircraft - a Mark 10 - did not make its initial flight until September 1946. The earliest Mk 10's had four-bladed props, but those of all later Furies were five-bladed.

The Mark 10 was approved for carrier operations in Spring 1947, and five Fleet Air Arm squadrons were then equipped with the Sea Fury.

The Mark 10 was followed by the Mark 11 fighter-bomber - 615 of these were eventually delivered to the Navy.  It became the Fleet Air Arm's principal single-seat fighter and remained so until the introduction of the Sea Hawk jet fighter in 1953.

Aircraft of the Pacific War - Index Page

Grumman TBF Avenger - shipborne torpedo-bomber

Curtiss SB2C Helldiver - shipborne dive-bomber

The Battle for Leyte Gulf,  23-26 October 1944

The Battle of the Philippine Sea,  19-20 June 1944

The Fast Carrier Task Force

e-mail address -

Please note - this is an unofficial site


 The photograph at the head of this page is reproduced, with thanks, from
'Silvered Wings'  by  Gordon Bain
(Airlife Publishing, UK)