Adventures In Mythandar

  • Magic

  • By concentrating for a single game turn (post), a priest can sense the presence and alignment of magic Power within his/her own Power Level area of effect. Likewise, the priest is able to sense the area of effect of a source of Power by entering it.

  • Rituals require a number of game turns (posts in the chatroom) to perform equal to Power Level - a Ritual of Sanctuary of Power Level 4 would take 4 turns to take effect. Only one ritual may be performed at a time.

  • The use of a sacred relic increases all of the C's priestly abilities to the Power Level of the object or by 1 (if the relic's PL is lower than the priest's).

  • Touching a sacred relic of opposing alignment inflicts physical damage of Power Level dice, rolled and determined on the COMBAT RESULTS TABLE. The victim applies his/her own Power to the dice roll.

  • The specific result of an act of martyrdom will have to be determined by the game moderator (or DM) or agreed upon by the Players involved. Such an event should be amazing, extroardinary, even wondrous, but not necessarily world-shaking in its repercussions (good RPers know the difference). Room Admin reserves the right to overide or negate any Act of the Gods in Mythandar.


Religious rituals enable the priest to draw upon divine Power and perform miracles. Each ritual is a prescribed ceremony, consisting of prayer and, sometimes, the use of sacred relics to attract the attention of a deity and ask his or her favor for purposes that correspond with the god's alignment and will. Priests learn the rites of their faith during years of training as supplicants and acolytes, cloistered in monastaries or temples at the feet of higher level priests. Without this training, and the dedication and faith required, the gods will not grant their favor.

Tenets of the Faith
Tenets are the combined traditions and requirements of a faith - the commandments, prohibitions and holy observances that are important to the deity. Priests are assumed to be learned in all aspects of their faith, able to perform ceremonies, minister to and advise followers in religious and ethical matters.

Sense Power
Priests are able to sense the presence of magical Power and determine the ethical alignment of the source - good or evil. The source may be an active ritual or spell, an artifact, relic or a magical creature. Basically, any being that actively uses magic in the cause of an ethical alignment, or that is endowed with good or evil Power, can be detected as such. The priest may not be able to sense the ethics of ordinary people, but he or she can sense if a person is using magic for good or evil purposes.

There are Nine Rituals, which all priests - regardless of Power Level or rank - may perform. Each ritual has a specific purpose and effects. As with spells, the effects of rituals conform to the rules of Magic, as detailed in the POWER TABLE.
     Most rituals have an inverse, or opposite, version which represents the negative (evil) aspect of divine power. Only evil priests may use an inverse ritual without ill-effects to themselves. Performing a ritual that is antithetical to the priest's faith is a dire sin, resulting in the loss of all priestly powers.
     In order to perform a ritual, the priest must be in possession of a sacred symbol of his or her faith, and must be free to pray and gesture. If the priest is interfered with during the process (as in physically or magically attacked), the ritual is interrupted.

Good                                                  Evil

Atonement                    Condemnation
Blessing                                      Curse
Exorcism                           Possession
Healing                                     Affliction
Illumination                    Obscurement
Purification                           Corruption
Sanctuary                          Desecration

Over the ages, objects of divine Power, sacred to the gods, have come into the possession of their worshippers. As priceless relics, they are kept closely guarded in temples and shrines and used as the focus of religious ceremonies and religious pilgrimages. Some are given into the custody of champions to bolster their Power against enemies of the faith. Many have been lost over time and become the subject of great quests.

Sacred relics vary in Power. The priest who possesses one gains bonuses to their personal Power, as well as any other special benefits a relic may have. Individuals of an opposing ethic or alignment suffer ill-effects when they touch a relic or enter its area of effect.

The ultimate demonstration of piety and devotion is to sacrifice one's self for the faith. For the priest, such an act brings the attention of his or her deity in an unmistakable display of divine Power. Regardless of the priest's level or rank, the most dire need will be fulfilled. The massive destruction of an overwhelming enemy, the restoration of a dead or dying comrade, a miraculously improbable turn of events that saves the day - virtually anything is possible, as long as the result benefits the deity ... For the priest, his or her time in this world is done (the character is irrevocably removed from play). However, his or her reward in the afterlife is guaranteed.

  • The Nine Rituals
  • Sacred Relics