Moonsorrow was formed in autumn 1995 by cousins Henri and Ville Sorvali who desired to expand their musical expression onto a more profound level. They had already played together in some projects, most often unsuccesfully but still gaining precious experience, and they actually had no idea that this one would become something more permanent and such unique.
After several months writing songs and trying to find a suitable way of expression for their paganistic concept, Moonsorrow recorded their first demo "Thorns Of Ice", which however in the last hand didn't quite fulfill these young men's expectations. The releasing of this demo was thus cancelled silently.
The official debut of Moonsorrow was realized in winter 1997 from two new songs which Henri had already arranged to their final. Both recording and mixing were done in a day, and considering the used time the result was surprisingly good. The tape entitled as "Metsä" was immediately released on their underground label Meat Hook Productions and slowly yet firmly started to collect positive feedback, of course not forgetting the few totally bottom-rated reviews. Right after "Metsä" Moonsorrow also recorded a two-song promotape that was supposed to mark the direction of their musical development. The amount of experimentalism though, especially with the vocals, wasn't in total control and so the release of this recording was cancelled again, as a total disaster.
Material started to gather for the next release of Moonsorrow, and everything was completed in early 1998, but the recording sessions seemed to be doomed from the beginning. The half-ready master tape was destroyed two times, and at times some inevitable equipment had disappeared. Only almost a year delayed the 40-minute demo "Tämä Ikuinen Talvi" was captured on tape permanently. Most of the feedback the tape received was positive, and among all the other consequences it gained the band a record deal with a promising Swedish label called Plasmatica Records. During the promotion period Moonsorrow also introduced a drummer, Baron Tarwonen.
The awaited full-length recording was finished in February 2000, showing itself to be more original, epic and coherent, constantly growing the part of influences drawn from folk music. The result will hopefully be out in spring, carrying the title "Suden Uni".
Henri Urponpoika Sorvali - guitars, keyboards, accordion, mouthharp, clean vocals
Ville Seponpoika Sorvali - bass, vocals
Baron Tarwonen - drums, 12-string, backing vocals


"Metsä" demo
1. Jo Pimeys Saa / 2. Fimbulvetr Frost / 3. Hvergelmir / 4. Elivagar (Pakanavedet)

"Tämä Ikuinen Talvi" demo
1. Taistelu Pohjolasta
osa I - Luo Veljien / osa II - Punaisen Lumen Valtakunta / osa III - Jäisten Järvien Kimalteessa
2. Vihreällä Valtaistuimella
3. Talvi
4. Luopion Veri
5. Kuun Suru

Debut CD 2001 "SUDEN UNI"

Tracks :
1. Ukkosenjumalan Poika
2. Köyliönjärven Jäällä (Pakanavedet II)
3. Kuin Ikuinen
4. Tuulen Koti, Aaltojen Koti
5. Pakanajuhla
6. 1065: Aika
7. Suden Uni

110 SEK - SWEDEN / 16 $ - EUROPA / 20 $ - WORLD