Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Rulings

It's been a while since I've touched this area of the site. But yes, this is the new updated area for the Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game rulings. To get it known first, yes I AM an official judge for the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG and am able to give rulings on certain cards. Let's hit the ground running with a few questions that appeared on the judge test and some other questions:

What would happen if I activate Call of the Haunted to bring back Jinzo and my opponent chains with Mystical Space Typhoon?
This is tricky to most players, but in this case, Jinzo does NOT return to the field. Since the activation of cards in a chain resolve in reverse order (meaning last card activated goes first), Call of the Haunted does not get the chance to bring back the monster from the graveyard, since it was destroyed. Now, if these cards were activated in reverse order, with MST first and Call of the Haunted second, Jinzo would come to the field first.

What would happen if Dark Ruler Ha Des and Dark Necrofear were on the field and they attack Sinister Serpent and Spirit Reaper?
Dark Ruler Ha Des's effect is that any Fiend type monster on your side of the field destroying a monster on your opponent's side of the field negates the effect of a monster. Because Spirit Reaper cannot be destroyed in battle, it is unaffected by Dark Ruler's effect. However, because Sinister Serpent would be destroyed, it does NOT come back to the player's hand during Standby Phase.

Can I use Big Burn to stop the Summoning of Chaos Emperor Dragon or Black Luster Soldier?
(Note: This is Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning involved for all of you who are wondering)
No, you cannot. Big Burn cannot be chained to the Summoning of either monster, since removing the monsters are a cost of their summoning and not a part of the effect.

Would Skill Drain be negated by Jinzo?
Not if Skill Drain was active before Jinzo hits the field. However, since we established that you cannot chain to the summoning of a monster, you can't activate Skill Drain when Jinzo is being summoned. You can do so before it is Summoned, but that's all.

Since cards in a chain activate with last card first, can I use Mystical Space Typhoon to stop Magic Cylinder and Bottomless Trap Hole?Despite what many say, you can't. I know a lot of people are saying "But you can use it to stop Imperial Order!", but hear me out. You can't "negate" Magic Cylinder or Bottomless Trap Hole with MST because they are destroyed after activation anyways. It's the same as if you used it against Raigeki, Trap Hole, and many other one-time use cards. The reason you can use it to stop most cards are because of the magic words "As long as this card remains face-up on the field." Even though Swords or Revealing Light doesn't have these words, it falls under the face-up rule.

Can I use Skill Drain with cards like Armor Exe and The Unfriendly Amazon?
That's a weird ruling that hasn't made it to the U.S. yet. According to Konami, who produces the Yu-Gi-Oh game in Japan, you can't because the cost of a card (e.g. Tributing a monster, Life Point payment, etc.) does not count towards a card effect. But that ruling is only half true here in America. While Jinzo is on the field, you still have to pay for Trap Cards like Mirror Wall and Imperial Order, as their Life Point payment is not an effect, but a cost to keep them out. But for cards like Skill Drain, it stops all monster effects, INCLUDING cost effects. It's weird, and I don't quite agree with it, but according to Upper Deck, it's legit. So yes, you can have The Unfriendly Amazon and Armor Exe out with Skill Drain and not have to pay anything for it. But for how long that remains in effect is beyond me....

If you have any questions or inquiries about the Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG, feel free to email me at Be sure to have the subject of your email be "Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG" and follow the guidelines:

1) I will not answer any questions about how to use Egyptian God Cards.
2) I do not sell or trade cards online, so don't ask.
3) Any vulgar or rude emails will be deleted.
4) Don't ask about what cards are limited. That's why there's a Forbidden and Limited List on this site.
5) If you heard any rumors about more cards other than the ten cards being banned in America, they're false. More on the point, don't complain to me about the banned cards. They're banned in Japan, NOT AMERICA.

More info at Official Yu-Gi-Oh! Site