Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Dante's Divine Comedy

This page is devoted to Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy: Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso.

It contains a map of Hell, my drawing of Hell, a better map of Hell, a map of Purgatory, and a map of Heaven; information and outlines, and selected stories.

The Comedy iteself:

Written by Dante Alighieri in 1306 - 21. The time setting when the book begins is in 1300, so he uses his knowledge of the present to "predict" events.

It is divided into 3 sections: Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso. Each one of these sections is divided into 33 cantos (except Inferno, which has 34 cantos), which are written in tercets (groups of 3 lines). The number 3 in Dante's time was significant because it was considered holy--since the Father (God), Son (Jesus), and Holy Ghost comprise the Trinity.

Dante Pilgrim and Dante Poet shall henceforth refer to Dante as the main character in the Comedia and the author, respectively.

Circle 1
Circle 2
Circle 3
Circle 4
Circle 5
Circle 6
Circle 7
Circle 8
Circle 9

quick summary:
Dante Pilgrim has not been a good boy. His dead love Beatrice asks the Virgin Mary to help him see the error of his ways. Mary accepts and Dante is sent on a three-day trip through Hell, and on up Mount Purgatory on the other side of the world, and finally to Heaven in the sky. He is spiritually lost at the beginning of the story, so he needs guides to help him along the path. His first guide, through Hell and Purgatory is Virgil (author of the Aeneid). They encounter many interesting sinners on the way. Dante learns to hate sin. His second guide is Beatrice, the woman he adored while she lived. His final guide is Saint Bernard (namesake of the loyal dog), who takes him to see God.


What part of Hell will you get sent to today?
Dante discussion--tell someone who cares
Dante's picture
What's a contrapasso?
My favorite story from Hell: Count Ugolino and the Tower of Hunger
My second favorite Hell story: Minos and the Minotaur
Characters in the Inferno
What characters are in each circle + summary
Pictures from the cantos
Complete summary and characters
Search for characters or read entire cantos
Seven Deadly sins, aka Gilligan's Hell