Site hosted by Build your free website today!

2002 Street Stock Nats

After completing only one lap #66 Bob Heffer had mechanical problems which sidelined him for the remainder of the race. Bob was the 2001 champion, and once again qualified on the pole for the feature race. Mechanical problems were not just a problem for the 66, as several of the fast, front running cars experienced difficulties. Early leader #1 Mike Dionne suffered a flat tire while running second. #82 Tony dies also had a flat tire, while leading. After running as high as third place #59 Rick Galuschuck also encountered tire problems late in the race. Running in second position, #17 Corey Schmidt broke a hub, and was forced to retire. On lap 45, while racing in the fifth position, #21 Nathan Kupczynski suffered an engine failure.
The eventual race winner, #24 Les Hillacre, drove a smooth, consistently fast race, avoiding trouble, as did the third place finisher, #80 Clint white. The second place car, #16 Dwight Brost, rode around for the first half the race, and then ran a strong second half, passing for second on lap forty eight. By simply finishing on the lead lap #51 Devon Brown assured himself of a fourth place finish, as there were only four cars that finished all fifty laps. Brown credits his crew, Ryan and Travis Davis and Beth Thomson, for getting a tire changed, after being involved in a multiple car incident, which caused the only caution period of the race. #22 Chris Douglas also ran a strong race, getting lapped very late in the race, on lap 46, but still beating 4 cars finishing on the same lap, for the fifth position.
The Wheatbelt Stockcar Racing Assoc. would like to thank all their sponsors through the year, all of the race day workers, as well as all the participants, and especially our fans. Thank you for braving the weather to enjoy our sport.

2002 Street Stock Nationals results

1st  started 5th                      #24 Les Hillacre  Saskatoon 
2nd  7th                                 #16 Dwight Brost  Kindersly
3rd  6th                                 #80 Clint Whyte  Rosetown
4th  8th                                  #51 Devon Brown  Herschel
5th  13th                               #22 Chris Douglas  Kindersly
6th  17th                               #69 Robyn Driesdale Saskatoon
7th  14th                               #95 John Barbour  Swift Current
8th  9th                                 #37 Mark Shaver  Brock
9th  20th                                #18 Brian Southgate Saskatoon
10th  19th                              #47  Bill Decker  Rosetown
11th  12th                              #59 Rick Galuschuck Swan River
12th  15th                              #21 Nathan Kupczynski Kindersly
13th  2nd                                #1 Mike Dionne  Kindersly
14th  3rd                                #82 Tony Dies  Netherhill
15th  18th                              #44 Clint Dies  Netherhill
16th  16th                              #46 Kent Werk  Saskatoon
17th  10th                              #6 Joe LaRochelle Warman
18th  11th                              #30 Laurie Robbie  Rosetown
19th  21st                              #86 Brian Johnson  Saskatoon
20th  4th                                #17 Corey Schmidt Kindersly
21st  22nd                              #98J Jason Hellfrick Weyburn
22nd  1st                                #66 Bob Heffer  Swift Current
DNS #K9 Scott Stephanson Elfros
DNS #28 Greg Brooks  Kindersly
DNS #K92 Caryl Stephanson Elfros

Lap leaders - #66 lap 1
  #1 laps 2-4
  #82 laps 5-16
  #24  laps 17-42, 48-50
  #80 laps 43-47

Cautions - 1