The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists provides certification in four primary disciplines of radiologic technology:
  • Radiography
  • Nuclear Medicine Technology
  • Radiation Therapy
  • Sonography (effective July 1, 2005)

In addition there are post-primary, or advanced certification examinations offered by the ARRT including:

  • Cardiovascular-Interventional Technology
  • Mammography
  • Computed Tomography
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  • Quality Management
  • Sonography (Note: Both a primary and post primary track)
  • Bone Densitometry
  • Vascular Sonography
  • Cardiac-Interventional Technology
  • Vascular-Interventional Technology
  • Breast Sonography
  • Radiologist Assistant (available September 2005)

Candidates for post-primary certification must be registered by ARRT in the appropriate Primary supporting discipline to be eligible. In addition there are several related certifying organizations with specialty certifications in particular areas. These include:

  • Medical Dosimetry by the American Dosimetrist Certification Board (MDCB)
  • Ultrasound specialties by the American Registry of Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (ARDMS)
  • Nuclear Medicine by the Nuclear Medicine Technologist Certification Board (NMTCB)

Each of these certifying agencies/organizations has a web site on the internet. In addition, there are professional associations for individuals practicing the various specialties, including the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, Society of Nuclear Medicine, Health Physics Society, American Society of Physicists in Medicine, Society for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers, The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine, Association of Educators in Radiological Sciences, Clinical Magnetic Resonance Society, American Association of Medical Dosimetrists, Society of Interventional Radiology, and the American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology as just a few examples.

In addition to the specilizations described above the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has a mammography program, established under the federal Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) of 1994 that addresses a narrow area of interest. It specifically pertains to mammography, but encompasses the qualifications of technologists, physicians, and physicists in addition to equipment surveys using a national standard. No technologist may perform unsupervised mammography, and no physician may interpret a mammogram, unless they meet the standards which require a state license or national registration for full scope imaging in addition to the basic registration or license to practice a healthcare specialty. This includes continuing education and continuing experience requirements. Without meeting the specialized requirements no physician, however fully licensed or distinguished he/she might be, and no technologist, however many advanced certifications he/she might hold may legally engage in their respective mammography activities.