Site hosted by Build your free website today!

London Transport
Country Area Routes 410–419

South of the Thames

Last updated 14-07-06.

Route 410 was a very long established route running daily between Reigate (Red Cross) and Bromley North Station via Redhill, Nutfield, Bletchingley, Godstone, Oxted, Limpsfield Common, Westerham, Biggin Hill, Leaves Green, Keston and Bromley Common.

A more detailed history of route 410 can be found in Kenneth Warren’s book, The Motorbus in London Country (Ian Allan, 1984; ISBN 0 7110 1360 8).



Route 412 ran between Dorking North Station and Sutton (The Volunteer—not the Sutton in Greater London) via Westcott, Wotton, Parkhurst Corner and Holmbury St. Mary, where for much of the life of the route, the sole bus was outstationed, a practice often used in rural areas.

Route 413 ran in the ’60s from Brasted or Sundridge Hospital via Ide Hill, Bayleys Hill, Cross Keys, Sevenoaks and Riverhead to Chipstead or Shoreham Village. As with so many country routes, it gradually got shorter and shorter over the years and has now disappeared, leaving some of the villages unserved.



Route 414 was a major trunk route running between West Croydon (Bus Station) and Horsham Station via South Croydon, Purley, Coulsdon, Hooley, Merstham, Redhill, Reigate, Buckland, Betchworth, Brockham Lane, Dorking, North Holmwood, South Holmwood, Capel, Kingsfold and Warnham.

A more detailed history of route 414 can be found in Kenneth Warren’s book, The Motorbus in London Country (Ian Allan, 1984; ISBN 0 7110 1360 8).

This is a highly unusual “E” plate with two place names mentioned. There would only have been at most a couple of stops with such plates, and this one probably came from a stop in Reigate. Many plates in this area were annotated in this way (possibly to prevent confusion on Reigate’s one way system).

Route 416 ran daily in the ’60s from Esher (High Street) to Boxhill (Greenacres) via Oxshott, Leatherhead, Headley Court and Pebblecombe. On Mondays to Saturdays part of the service diverted at Pebblecombe via Walton-on-the-Hill to Tadworth Station.



Route 417 ran on Mondays to Saturdays between Windsor (Bus Station) and Langley Village via Slough, with a couple of journeys extended to Colnbrook (Sutton Lane). Some journeys also ran between Windsor and Old Windsor Hospital on Wednesdays and Sundays.

Route 418 ran daily between Kingston (Bus Station) and Bookham Station via Surbiton, Berrylands, Tolworth, Ewell, West Ewell, Epsom, Ashtead, Leatherhead, Great Bookham and Little Bookham. The route still runs today as part of the London Buses’ network between Kingston and Epsom.

The “SPECIAL JOURNEYS ONLY” plate will have come from a stop not served by the main service, and thus will be particularly rare.

← →
Click on any of the tiles below to go to images of the “E” plates and the route descriptions for that number series.