Site hosted by Build your free website today!
Events and Track Plans
Quad Results and Race Reports
Results and Race Reports
Dredgers MXC, Round 1 of the 2001 Welsh MX Championship.

The opening round of the 2001 Welsh MX Championship took place at the all weather Dale Airfield track, despite rider numbers being were well down on average, there was some good racing.

Top of the entries in the Expert class was a solid performance from Dylan Stephens. He followed Daniel James home in the opening moto after working his way through following a first corner pile up. James had been under pressure early on from holeshot hero Anthony James, but James lost the front of the Honda in a corner which left the Gary Plant KTM make a clean break for the win. Stephens made the second moto his own after a holeshot start with Kip Herring eventually passing Anthony James for second place when James made another mistake in the bends. Herring took the final moto with Stephens chasing him down and Daniel James leading consistant Deryl Owen home in third. Liffon Howells gave a good account of himself in his debutant Senior class moto, a third and two excellent wins gave the young KTM rider first overall with Geriant Goodridge also riding well for second overall. Keith Hebbron put in a good overall ride to claim first in the junior class, two-third places and a second were just enough to give victory over another of the clubs young riders, Ben Smith. It was the battle of the older, 4-stroke powered rider that dominated the best of the action in the class though. Graham Jones managed to claim third despite the odd spin on his 400 cc Yamaha, with Picket, Spink and James all being thereabouts in pursuit.

John Rees finished top of the Novice class, with third, fourth and second places it was again a case of consistency in the class where any number of riders can take a win. Martyn Henton made the top spot in the youth 125cc class a bit more of a convincing win with opening and closing race wins, following Luke Sallam home in the second moto.

The days best performance came from Carl Jones in the big wheel 85cc class. Combined with the small wheels, the almost full line up produced great racing with Jones a dominant force taking all three race wins. Michael Jukes and Dominic Foreman produced a great battle for second spot, Foreman took early leads but Jukes took the runner up spot in each moto. Aron Agios took one race win and two second finishes to wrap up the small wheel class, Daniel Griffiths managed the opening moto win with Alistair Jenkins also getting a win in some very close racing. Mitchell Evans was another rider on top form, two superb wins with a second place behind Rhodri Howells gave the KTM rider a well-deserved top spot in the 65 cc class. Rhys Walker took a clean sweep on the shortened auto track. Walker took the three race wins with Eynon and Thomas following home in each moto.

A depleted quad line up produced a good result for the Harden Brothers, Paul Harden taking two 'B' class wins but it was just not quiet good enough to oust Dan Evans from the number one spot.


1 Dylan Stevens, 2 Daniel James, 3 Deryl Owen, 4 Anthony James, 5 Ian Parry, 6 Daffyd Evans,

1 Liffon Howells, 2 Geriant Goodridge, 3 Lee Tucker, 4 Nicky Evans, 5 Colin Spink, 6 Kevin Hughes,

1 Keith Hebbron, 2 Ben Smith, 3 Graham Jones, 4 Andrew Pickett, Stuart Spink, 6 Steve James,

1 John Rees, 2 Lee Rayner, 3 Dai Williams, 4 Wayne Joce, 5 Steven Price, 6 Wesley Lewis,

125 Youth
1 Martyn Henton, Andrew Gillett, 3 Lewis Bryant, 4 Luke Sallam, 5 Luke Dummitt, 6 David Lane,

1 Carl Jones, 2 Michael Jukes, 3 Dominic Foreman, 4 Phil Newman, 5 Ian Davies, 6 Shane Williams,

1 Aron Agios, 2 Daniel Griffiths, 3 Alisdair Jenkins, 4 Phil Newman, 5 Ian Davies, 6 Shane Williams,

1 Mithchell Evans, 2 Rhodri Howells, 3 Tyler Durbin, 4 Preston Lidique, 5 Scott Thomas, 6 Leon Jones,

1 Rhys walker, 2 Jordan Eynon, 3 Aled Thomas, 4 Adam John-Morris, 5 Rhys Llewellyn, 6 Conor Walkley,

Adult 'A' Quad
1 Simon Hammersley, 2 Kieth Harden,

'B' Quads
1 Daniel Evans, 2 Paul Harden, 3 Lee Oram, 4 Johnaton Williams, 5 Chris Jones, 6 Justin Parry,

1 Marco Lewis, 2 Ricky Rhoderick, 3 Lee Hasdell, 4 Daniel Lewis,

1 David James, 2 Louise Shaw, 3 Steffan Glowaki, 4 Miles Shaw, 5 Rhys Davies, 6 Jamie Meed,

Report by
Simon Evans

Fat Boy Humour Page
Original page design by Lynn Delabertouche - Website Co-ordinator Alan Marsh