Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Frank Sinatra: The Clan at the Villa Venice (with Dean and Sammy)

Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Sammy Davis, Jr.

Disc 1
01. When You're Smiling/ The Lady is a Tramp (parody) [Dean]
02. monologue [Dean]
03. I Left My Heart in San Fransisco [Dean]
04. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter [Dean]  
05. Volare/ On an Evening in Roma [Dean]
06. Goody Goody [Frank]
07. Chicago [Frank]
08. When You're Lover Has Gone [Frank]
09. monologue [Frank]
10. Please Be Kind [Frank]
11. You're Nobody Till Somebody Loves You [Frank]
12. What Kind of Fool Am I [Sammy]
13. Out of This World [Sammy]
14. She's Funny That Way [Sammy]
15. Hey There [Sammy]

Disc 2
01. Impersonations [Frank, Dean & Sammy]
02. comedy [Frank, Dean & Sammy]
03. I Can't Give You Anything but Love [Dean]
04. Too Marvelous for Words [Frank] 
05. Pennies From Heaven [Dean] 
06. A Foggy Day [Frank] 
07. banter [Frank, Dean & Sammy]
08. Embraceble You [Dean]
09. The Lady is a Tramp [Frank]
10. Where or When [Dean] 
11. Impressions [Frank, Dean & Sammy]
12. Birth of the Blues [Frank, Dean & Sammy]
13. Nancy [Frank]
14. Me and My Shadow [Frank and Sammy]
15. Sam's Song [Dean and Sammy]
16. band and guest introductions/ Birth of the Blues (Reprise) [Frank, Dean & Sammy] 

12.02.62 Villa Venice, Northbrook IL

Bruce Eder, All Music Guide: "If this were a legitimate release, this set of two CDs, 
featuring Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis Jr., would have been one of Sinatra's 
top sellers. This bootleg is based on an apparently authorized recording, all of 
it professionally edited and assembled. It never saw the light of day, possibly because 
there wasn't quite enough of Sinatra, or there was too much joking around and not 
enough music, or, equally likely, because the Villa Venice was a nightclub owned by 
Sam Giancana, and Sinatra was already having enough trouble in the press by 1963 for
his alleged mob ties. In any event, this is one of the best informal concert documents 
that Sinatra left behind, even if he shares a lot of the spotlight with Martin and Davis, 
a fact that makes this the ultimate "Rat Pack" audio document, with a priceless mix of 
music and comedy. Disc One begins with Dean Martin's opening of the show, doing his 
freewheeling drunk act, followed by a genuinely funny comedy monologue, before favoring 
the audience with several straightforward songs. Sinatra follows with five numbers; he's in 
good voice and even better form, and very funny in his comedy monologue as well. Disc One 
concludes with Davis' spot, in which he sings and does a considerable amount of comedy 
"heckled" by Sinatra; this continues on Disc Two, which opens with Davis' impressions and a 
20-minute comedy sequence by the three of them, bouncing insults (and what, today, would 
seem to be some racially insensitive cracks by Sinatra). The rest is all music, with Davis,
Martin and/or Sinatra doing pleasing impromptu renditions of standards. Martin provides 
comic heckling during Sinatra's set and vice versa, but it all holds together. And Sinatra's
version of "Nancy," done in response to an audience request, is one the best performances of
anything that he ever recorded."