The Seaview Golf Club dates back to 1914 when Philadelphia
millionaire Clarence H. Geist spent $250,000 to build it. The original course,
the Bay Course, was designed by Hugh Wilson and opened in 1915. The following
year famed golf course architect Donald Ross completed the course by adding the
In 1929 an additional nine holes were added and expanded to 18
holes in 1957 to become the Pines Course, offering members and visiting golfers
an opportunity to experience two beautiful golf courses, one featuring fantastic
sea views and the other a challenging more wooded venue.
The Seaview Golf Club hosted the 1942 PGA Championship when Sam
Snead Defeated Jim Trunesa 2-1 in match play to claim his first major
championship. The Bay Course also was the host venue for the LPGA ShopRite LPGA
Classic for 8 years.
Dr. John T. Whiting, the author and photographer of "The Search for the 50 Most
Beautiful Golf Holes in New Jersey" visited the Bay Course before dawn on
October 11th to photograph the
Bay Course at Sunrise with Atlantic City in the background
at the dawn of the day. The photos below are from that
Seaview Spa & Golf Resort
Stephen Havrilla, Golf Director, John Whiting, Buffy Whiting, Mike Tidwell,
The Seaview Resort and Clubhouse
The Clubhouse is filled with golf history memorabilia...
...and history capturing golf prints.
Tidwell, Director Sales/Marketing, John Whiting, Buffy Whiting, GM Hans