Site hosted by Build your free website today!

All the Weyrs of Pern

All the Weyrs of Pern
First paperback edition cover
First paperback edition cover
Author Anne McCaffrey
Country United States
Language English
Series Dragonriders of Pern
Genre(s) Science fiction
Publisher Bantam Books
Released 19 September 1991
Media Type Print (Hardback & Paperback)
Pages 369 pp (first edition, hardback)
ISBN ISBN 0-593-02224-6 (first edition, hardback)
Preceded by Renegades of Pern
Followed by The Dolphins of Pern

All the Weyrs of Pern is a novel in Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern series. It features a computer called AIVAS (Artificial Intelligence Voice Address System) which lead Pern in an attempt to destroy Thread forever. During this time, Pern regained much technology that was lost to the colonists in early attempts to survive Threadfall. Among this was the knowledge of electricity, surgery, printing, and a few other useful tools, which led to the creation of new Crafthalls, notably the Print Hall. The knowledge of this technology and its origins was transmitted by Aivas (the Pernese changed the initials into a name) to the Pernese. Aivas itself had been programmed to speak with a masculine-analogue, inquisitive, somewhat humorous personality, which gave the impression of a lighthearted counselor.

Eventually, the Red Star is thrown into a more distant orbit, dooming the coming Threadfall to be the last of its kind to fall on Pern. Masterharper Robinton is killed mysteriously when visiting AIVAS; at the same moment, Aivas also dies. Those who perceived the sentient, intelligent computer as an "Abomination" take this as fuel for their prejudice, claiming that Robinton killed Aivas while trying to discover what evil it was plotting, only to die himself before passing that knowledge on. This claim, and its proponents, cause trouble in "The Skies of Pern".

The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey

Dragonflight | Dragonquest | The White Dragon
Dragonsong | Dragonsinger | Dragondrums
Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern | Nerilka's Story | Dragonsdawn | Renegades of Pern | All The Weyrs of Pern| The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall | The Dolphins of Pern | Dragonseye |
The Masterharper of Pern | The Skies of Pern
Dragon's Kin | Dragonsblood | Dragon's Fire