Update on Agate Pavilion Restoration Topic: Tsarskoye Selo
Two unique rooms, - the Agate Room and the Library, are now open to visitors following their restoration at the Tsarskoe Selo 18th century memorial estate near St. Petersburg.
The Agate rooms are the only rooms of Empress Catherine the Great at Tsarskoe Selo that have retained their original decoration to this day. They are unique in terms of design and unparalleled anywhere in the world.
The restoration of the Agate Room got under way earlier this year. Restoration was simultaneously under way in the Library, which now looks the way it did in the 18th century. Restoration on other rooms in the Agate Pavilion will continue through 2013.
Tsarina's Porcelain Cat Returns to Alexander Palace Topic: Alexander Palace
A porcelain cat that was once belonged to the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna has returned to the Alexander Palace.
The object was presented to the Empress as a Christmas gift in 1903, however, it disappeared after the 1917 Revolution. It was recently purchased at an auction in Moscow by the Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve.
The colour-glazed, almost life-size figure was produced in 1903, along with 3 other similar works by the St. Petersburg Imperial Porcelain Manufactory. They were sculpted by Ivan Zotov to the design of August Heinrich Timus, the manufacturers sculpture workshop manager who created a series of animal figures in the early 1900s.
The cat will once again join the growing porcelain collection of the Alexander Palace.
Monument to Emperor Alexander III in Irkutsk Topic: Alexander III
A monument to Emperor Alexander III was erected in the Siberian city of Irkutsk marking the end of construction on the Trans-Siberian Railroad. This monument was originally unveiled on 30 August, 1908. The sides of the monument were decorated with bronze sculptural portraits of historic figures who left their mark on the history of Siberia, as well as the tsar's edict on the construction of the Trans-Siberian, the coat of arms of Siberia and Irkutsk. In 1920, the statue was removed from its pedestal by the Bolsheviks. In 2003, the statue was reinstated marking the centenary of the historic rail line that connected the vast Russian empire.
The Romanovs as Charitable Philanthropists Topic: Romanov
A unique photographic exhibition, Charity Under the Auspices of the Romanov Dynasty opened last week in Moscow.
The exhibit includes more than 100 photographs that show members of the Russian Imperial family involved and working with various charities for the benefit of the people.
Among the most actively involved were the Empresses Maria Alexandrovna, Maria Feodorovna and Alexandra Feodorovna, as well as Grand Duchesses Olga Alexandrovna and Elizabeth Feodorovna.
Many members of the Russian Imperial family built and founded charities, orphanages, almshouses, at their own expense and became active patrons of these institutions. As the ruling dynasty, many felt a moral obligation to reach out to those less fortunate.
The photographs depict the Romanovs at charity functions, including bazaars and concerts; working at clinics, hospitals, hospital trains, hospitals and orphanages. Many portraits are also featured, including members of the Russian Imperial family, doctors, medical staff, honourary trustees, hospital and hospice employees, teachers, etc.
The exhibition runs until 22 December, 2011 at the Moscow School No. 1573.
Livadia Palace-Museum Publishes New Books Topic: Livadia
The Livadia Palace-Museum have published two new books as part of their ongoing celebrations marking the 100th anniversary of the famous residence of Tsar Nicholas II in the Crimea.
The first book, The Romanovs in Livadia: At Home With the Family of Nicholas II, 1911-1914, provides a photographic history of the last Russian tsar and his family during their stays at Livadia, while the second, Livadia in Watercolours, offers a beautiful collection of watercolours of the palace, its interiors and surrounding park by a variety of Russian artists. Both are richly illustrated with text in Russian.