The Livadia Palace-Museum is making the final preparations which will mark the 100th anniversary of the former palace of Tsar Nicholas II in the Crimea on 27 September.
In an effort to catch up with other museums, Livadia has recently adopted modern technologies to assist visitors, including musical accompaniment of exhibitions and radio guides in several languages.“In the near future, visitors can expect to see significant changes in the palace” says Svetlana Moskalenko, Director of Livadia Palace-Museum. For instance, this Fall, a new gallery of portraits of the Russian emperors will open. Palace-Museum officials say they are preparing a “festive program” for the upcoming celebrations marking the 100th anniversary of the palace, which will be celebrated on September 27th and is expected to include visits from members of the Russian Imperial House as well as descendants of the Romanov dynasty.
According to the museum administration, Livadia is seeing a steady growth in the number of visitors. To date, the museum receives 1,500 visitors daily, according to the website of the Ministry of Resorts and Tourism of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea.
The Great Livadia Palace, built in 1911 was the former summer residence of the last Russian emperor Nicholas II. The palace is also known that the February 4-11, 1945 in his Grand (White) Hall passed the Crimean (Yalta) Conference of Heads of Governments of three of the Allies - the Soviet Union, the United States and Britain, which adopted the Declaration on Liberated Europe, the decision to establish United Nations and other documents. From 1945 to 1953 the palace was the summer residence of Joseph Stalin. Since 1974, the palace has been open to the public as a museum.
© Royal Russia. 8 August, 2011