Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Desert Storm



On the morning of August 2, 1990 the military units of the Iraqi Republican Guard invaded the tiny country of Kuwait and seized control of that country. This invasion triggered a United States response, Operation DESERT SHIELD. The purpose of Operation DESERT SHIELD was to deter any invasion of Kuwait's oil rich neighbor, Saudi Arabia. By November 29, 1990, U.N.Security Council Resolution 678 was issued. This resolution gave Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein until January 15, 1991 to removed his forces from Kuwait or a U.S.-led coalition would be authorized to drive them out.

Early in the morning of January 17, Baghdad time, Operation Desert Storm began as the U.S.-led coalition launched air attacks against Iraqi targets.  On February 24, coalition ground forces begin their attack.  On February 27, Kuwait City was declared liberated, and with allied forces having driven well into Iraq, President Bush and his advisers decided to halt the war.  A cease-fire took effect at 8:00 the following morning.

The Allied coalition consisted of 34 countries, including Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Honduras, Italy, Kuwait, Morocco, The Netherlands, Niger, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Korea, Spain, Syria, Turkey, The United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.



Desert Shield & Desert Storm patches from The Aviation Patch Pages, Flag graphics by


DPD Enterprises

Middletown, OH


The author is a member of

The HTML Writers Guild

copyright 2003 DPD Enterprises