Pimm's No. 1
Subject: IS Pimm's No. 1 Kosher without Hashgacha?
Date: Tue, 24 Dec 2002 13:28:54 -0500
Pimm's No. 1 is Not Certified Kosher, But some Orthodox Rabbis authorized this item to be served in Kosher Restaurants. If you dine out, and care about Kashrus, just watch what are you drinking.

WebTender.com - "Pimm's No. 1 is a gin-based liquor made in England from dry gin, liqueur, fruit juices and spices. It was created in 1859 by the English oyster bar owner James Pimm. The recipe is still a secret, and only six persons know exactly how it is made.

Pimm's No. 1 have a dark, golden-brown color, a medium body and a taste of citrus fruits and spice. It is either served on the rocks or used in cocktails".


Unless the Rabbis who approved this item are among those Six People,
I can't understand base on what the "dry gin, liqueur, fruit juices and spices, considered Kosher.

The Gin May Be Ok... But what about the other Ingredients?
See further info at www.mk.ca/kosherguide/alcohol - Liqueurs and cordials may contain wine,
glycerin, cream or flavors as well as other non-Kosher ingredients and require reliable Kosher certification.
ou.org/kosher/primer - Liqueurs, even though not possessing a wine base, nevertheless require supervision
because of the flavorings used in these products.
kashrut.com/articles/liquor2 - Juices in general require a hechsher. Ready-to-drink juices are made in factories that
produce a wide range of products, mostly with hot production. There are issues of dairy and non-kosher keilim.
The Halachic Bottom Line (kashrut.com) (at the bottom of the page)
Can a processed food like soda, cookies or potato chips be non-Kosher? (OU)