Divine Comedy

Victory for the Common muse - Parlophone 2006 - Sony 1997

Tracks: 1. To Die A Virgin / 2. Mother Dear / 3. Diva Lady / 4. A Lady Of A Certain Age / 5. The Light Of Day / 6. Threesome / 7. Party Fears Two / 8. Arthur C. Clarke's Mysterious World / 9. The Plough / 10. Count Grassi's Passage Over Piedmont / 11. Snowball In Negative


"Victory for the Comic Muse" was the sequel to "Absent Friends ", where Neil Hannon worked with a full orchestra after having dissolved the original Divine Comedy. The album comes as a logical and natural musical extension of its predecessor, and Hannon's songwriting is still top notch.

The classics on this album are his tribute to an elderly lady "Lady of a Certain Age", the easy and catchy "Arthur C. Clarke" and the beautiful love song "The Light and Day". Furthermore, the album's three fine and catchy opening numbers ensures that you stay with the album. "Diva Lady" was a minor hit, and "To Die a Virgin" (Classic DC) was also issued as a single. On "Mother Dear" Hannon musically comes close to country and it works fine.

As usual you don't go wrong if you choose Divine Comedy as your company.

Back to Band pages