Dust Springfield

Dusty in Memphis - Atlantic 1969

Tracks: 1. Just A Little Lovin' / 2. So Much Love / 3. Son Of A Preacher Man / 4. I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore / 5. Don't Forget About Me / 6. Breakfast In Bed / 7. Just One Smile / 8. The Windmills Of Your Mind / 9. In The Land Of Make Believe / 10. No Easy Way Down / 11. I Can't Make It Alone / 12. What Do You Do When Love Dies* / 13. Willie & Laura Mae Jones * / 14. That Old Sweet Roll* / 15. Cherished* / 16. Goodbye* / 17. Make It With You* / 18. Love Shine Down* / 19. Live Here With You* / 20. Natchez Trace* / 21. All The King's Horses* / 22. I'll Be Faithful* / 23. Have A Good Life Baby* / 24. You've Got A Friend* / 25. I Found My Way*


Buying this album under the impression of "Son of a Preacher Man" may lead to slight disappointment. The other ten tracks may at first seem pretty mainstream pop with their heavily ( in some cases ) orchestred arrangements.

Give the album a second chance and soon more tracks will stand out. "Breakfast in Bed" was the second song that really appealed to me; great song and vocals and in fact the arrangement isn't really that different from "Preacher Man"

Songwriting team Jerry Goffin and Carole King supplied 4 of the eleven tracks, and apart from "So Much Love" they all stand out; especially the closing track "I Can't Make it Alone".

Other favourites are Randy Newman's Just One Smile" and the opener "Just a Little Lovin". The album really deserves its status a classic!

Back to Band pages