Sixpence None The Richer

The Best of - Word Records 2004

Tracks: 1. Loser Like Me / 2. Us / 3. Too Far Gone / 4. Ground You Shook / 5. Kiss Me / 6. Breathe Your Name / 7. Melody of You / 8. Dancing Queen / 9. Don't Dream It's Over / 10. There She Goes / 11. I Need Love / 12. I Just Wasn't Made for These Times / 13. Breathe / 14. Brighten My Heart / 15. Angeltread / 16. Within a Room Somewhere / 17. Trust (Reprise) / 18. Kiss Me [Japanese Version )


Six Pence None the Richer only recorded four regular albums before they disbanded around 2004. This compilation covers their whole career and features all their biggest hits as well as rarities and previously unreleased tracks.

From their commercial breakthrough third album the two great singles "Kiss Me" and "There She Goes Again" are logical choices, but also a few of the strongest album-tracks also would have been nice inclusions.

It's almost the same with their equally strong final album, where the two hit-singles "Breathe Your Name" and the outstanding cover of Neil Finn's "Don't Dream it's Over" are featured along with the fine acoustic album track "Melody of You". A few tracks come from hard to find soundtracks etc. and among these their cover of Brian Wilson's "I Just Wasn't Made for These Times" stand out. Compared to the Beach Boys' own Pet Sounds version, which I always found sounded slightly unfinished, this new version is by far the strongest.

Also "The Ground You Shook" and "I Need Love" are great non-album tracks that any fan of the band would like to have. I'm not familiar with their first two albums, but judged from the tracks included here from the second album "This Beautiful Mess" they seems to have had a harder approach on their early records.

A fine compilation, though I would have preferred the Japanese version of "Kiss Me" exchanged with one or two of their fine album tracks.

Back to Band pages