Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Chapter 7 - Diagnosis of Infectious Disease

  1. Clinical Stages of Infectious Disease
    1. Acute Disease
    1. Incubation Period
    1. Prodromal Period
    1. Acute Period
    1. Convalescent
    1. Chronic Disease
    1. Latent Disease
  1. Laboratory Diagnosis
    1. Specimens
    1. Specimen Selection
    1. Specimen Timing
    1. Specimen Collection
    1. Specimen Handling
  1. Functions of the Laboratory

*Establish/confirm etiology by isolating and

identifying the infectious agent.

*Perform anti-microbial susceptibility tests

*Conduct serological tests to determine a patient's

specific antibody response.