UEFA Champions League
UEFA Europa League
Country Rankings
Access List
15-18 Cycle Changes
Coefficient System
Erdinç Sivritepe

2015-2018 CYCLE


Defending UEFA Europa League Winner:
Defending UEFA Champions League Winner has a berth at Group Stage for the next year!s competition. However, the defending Winners may also qualify to the Group Stage from their domesctic leagues. They use one of these two berths and one berth is usually filled by a club from the 13th country<.
For 2015-2018 Cyle, the defending UEL Winners are accepted to UCL and will basically use this unused berth, if possible.
Starting Rounds of defending UCL and UEL Winners

	UCL	UEL	If the defending UCL Winner

	GS	GS	qualifies to Group Stage via domestic league
	GS	PO-L	qualifies to PO Round of League Route
	GS	PO-L	qualifies to R3 of League Route - team from Country ranked 5th at this round goes to R3
	GS	PO-C	qualifies to R3,R2,R1 of Champions Route - Access klist will be rebalanced accordingly

	GS	PO-L	doesn't qualify via domestic league of countries ranked 1 to 12 - teams from countries
			ranked 4th and 5th goes to QR3
	GS	PO-C	doesn't qualify via domestic leagues of countries ranked 13 to 54 - team from countries
 			ranked 14th and 15th start from QR2 and countries ranked from 42th to 48th start from QR1

Max Number of Clubs From A Country at UCL:
Top three countries from the UEFA Country Ranking have 4 berths via their domestic leagues. If the defending UCL Winner is from one of these countries and doesn't qualify via domestic league the max number of clubs at UCL for that country was becoming 5.
For 2015-2018 Cycle is fixed at 5. If both defending UCL and UEL Winners are from one of the top three countries, the number of eligible clubs becomes 6. In that case the club qualified to UCL via domestic league finishing the league at 4th position will not play at UCL, but will go to UEL. That may need changes at UEL.

The seeding at Group Stage:
Previously 32 clubs were seeded according to their club coefficients at UEFA Rankings. Top 8 clubs going to Pot 1, next 8 going to Pot 2, and so on.
A change is made for 2015-2018 Cycle.
Pot 1 is consisted of defending UCL Winner and the champions of top 7 countries. If the defending UCL winner is one of these champions, then the champion of the 8th country goes to Pot 1.
24 others clubs are placed the old way, that is according to their coefficients. After thşs change Real Madrid will go to Pot 2 even though they have the biggest coefficient ration in Europe this year.


Qualifying from the Domestic Cups:
Domestic Cup Winners are their countries first club at UEL. since dissolving of the UEFA Cup Winners Cup. Previously if the cup winner has already qualified to UCL, then the cup finalist was getting a berth to UEL and was seeded according to their coefficient ratio.
For the 2015-2018 Cycle, the cup finalists don't get a berth anymore. If the cup winner has already qualified to UCL, then all of the berths are will be used by the clubs from domestic league.

Starting at Group Stage
Previously one club from the top 6 nations were starting at Group Stage of the competition.
For 2015-2018 Cycle, 16 clubs will start from the Group stage - two clubs from top 4 countries and one club from countries ranked 5th to 12th.

Max Number of Clubs From A Country at UEL:
The max number of clubs from any country is limited to 3 at UEL for 2015-2018 Cycle.
Previously, the countries ranked 7th to 9th had 4 berth at UEL. This number is reduced to 3 now.

The defending UEL Winner
The defending UEL Winner doesn't have a bert as Title Holder at Group Stage anymore. They will play at UCL instead.