Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Byrd, Penney Named Big Ten Medal of Honor Recipients

MADISON, Wis. - Wisconsin seniors Erin Byrd and Kirk Penney were named the UW’s 2003 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients, the league announced Thursday. The Medal of Honor, the league’s oldest award, is given annually to a student in the graduating class of each university that demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. In 1982, the Medal of Honor was expanded toinclude a senior woman athlete from each institution.

Penney, who also won the inaugural Outstanding Sportsmanship Award from the Big Ten, ended his career as the sixth-leading scorer and winningest player in school history. A two-time first-team All-Big Ten performer, he led Wisconsin to consecutive Big Ten titles and the “Sweet 16” of the 2003 NCAA Tournament. An all-region selection by the NABC, Basketball News, and the USBWA, Penney was an honorable mention Associated Press All-American as a senior. He is a landscape architecture major who was an academic All-Big Ten choice in 2002.



Penney, Clack Named Inaugural Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

MADISON, Wis. - University of Wisconsin seniors Kirk Penney and Tara Clack have been named the UW’s recipients of the inaugural Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards, the conference has announced. In all, 255 Big Ten student-athletes were recognized. One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by the institution. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were selected.

The Sportsmanship Award winners were chosen based on a criterion of sportsmanship and community service. The winners are student-athletes who observe the rules and intent of their sports’ rules at all times. The individuals must be fair and respectful to their opponent, and in addition, be enthusiastic about the game, enjoy playing it, and win or lose, do their absolute best at all times. The recipients shall also be active on their campus communities.

“For more than 107 years, the Big Ten Conference has remained committed to promoting a healthy intercollegiate athletic environment built on a foundation of fair play. Today's award winners carry on a proud tradition of good sportsmanship that is one of the cornerstones of Big Ten athletics,” said Commissioner James E. Delany.

Penney was a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection this year and led Wisconsin to its second consecutive Big Ten title. A native of Auckland, New Zealand, Penney was named “Most Personable Player in the Big Ten” by a player poll conducted by The Champaign News-Gazette in 2001-02.