Site hosted by Build your free website today!
The Cecilian Singers of Barbados


The choir, named after St. Cecilia, patron saint of musicians, gave its first full-length concert at the Ursuline Convent Hall in December 1971.

Our founder, Doris Provençal, traced the origins of the Cecilians back to 1970 when she was asked to provide a group of carol singers for a Christmas programme at St. Mary's Anglican Church, Bridgetown. The collection of talent thus assembled, which included a number of past students as well as her children Carole and Michael, inspired her to organise a permanent choir.

The Cecilian Singers have provided musical entertainment of the highest quality - classical, sacred and secular works. Their concerts in company with the Samaroo Jets Steel Orchestra of Trinidad & Tobago have been unforgettable.

Audiences have also been greatly thrilled by their rhythmical, hip-swinging rendition of West Indian folk Songs. For many years, the choir performed at the Holetown Festival, which commemorates the landing of the first English settlers in Barbados. Dressed in costumes of the 17th century, the choir performed madrigals and motets of that period by candlelight.

In July 1989, the choir participated in the Llangollen International Music Festival in Eisteddfod, Wales. Such was the quality of their distinctive performances that it was awarded 5th place in the folk songs category and 7th in the category of classical for mixed choirs. Theirs was a remarkable achievement, the smallest choir among forty-two of international repute and
first-timers to boot!

The Singers have travelled throughout Canada, the U.S.A., the Caribbean and West Germany. At present, the Cecilian Singers is a 24-voice group with most of its members being past or present pupils of Doris Provençal.

Listen to the choir (Real Audio)
The Present Choir

Amanda Fields, Allison Forde, Sharon Highland, Beverley Neblett-Lashley, Rosemary Lynch, Yolande Matthews, Karen Phillips.

Tasha Austin, Barbara Chase, Arianne Franklyn, Shelley-Ann Husbands, Janfotha Mascoll, Edith Moise.

Jefferson Alleyne, Stanton Jordan, Anthony Kirton, Andrew Lokey, Patrick Maxwell.

Stanley Alleyne, Norton Brewster, Ronald Bruce, Ricardo Niles, Stephen Rollins, Stephen White.