Site hosted by Build your free website today!

St. Francois County Raceway

Welcome to the Official Web Site of the St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Mo.

The St. Francois County Raceway inducted two new members to its "Wall of Fame" Saturday night (Aug.28) as Bill Greif (left) and brother Bob were both honored. Accepting the award for Bob Greif was his widow, "The old lady with the wart on her nose." Both men were instrumental in the formation of the raceway when it originated as Empire Speedway in 1970.

"The St. Francois County Raceway is the best small track facility in the St. Louis area," according to the St. Louis Auto Racing Fan Club (1998)

On Sat., Jan. 30, 1999, St. Francois County Raceway promoters Larry Minkel and Gary Montgomery received the "Bob Mueller Award" during the St. Louis Auto Racing Fan Club's Banquet of Champions. "They poured a lot of love, sweat and money into the facility...Their obvious committment to racing brought the fans back through the gates and spearheaded a burst of racing activity in the Farmington/Fredericktown area."

Click for Farmington, Missouri Forecast
FARMINGTON, MO -- Timmy Montgomery and younger brother Joey Montgomery, both of Fredericktown, Mo., battled in the sprint feature Saturday night at the St. Francois County Raceway for the top spot and experience won out as Tim held on for yet another feature win. Shawn King of Cape Girardeau finished third in the race with Rod Crabdree of Desloge fourth and Dean Adams Jr. of Potosi fifth. With only one week remaining in the points race of the sprint class, Timmy Montgomery has long since had the 1999 track championship sewed up, however the battle for numerous other top spots are still up for grabs. Tim Montgomery has 958 points, he is followed by Adams Jr. (766), Crabdree (762), Joey Montgomery (748), King (704), Robbie Standridge (636), Lee Dunn (628), Jeff Davis (608), Tommy Worley Jr. (550), Steve Short (484), Keith Burch (444), Alex Shanks (438), Bob Thoman (432), Ronnie Standridge (404), Pat Lysell (402), Terry Babb (366), Paul Patterson (362), Todd Rowland (342), David O’Donaly (256), and Joe Hauck (248). King was the winner of the trophy dash on Saturday with Tim Montgomery second and Joey Montgomery third. Mike Pearson was the “B” main winner. Heat race wins went to Short, Joey Montgomery and Lysell. In the Hobby Stock feature, Kenny Harris of Desloge was the winner with Randy Forster taking second, Dean Motsinger third and John Bohn fourth.
Like the sprints, the Hobby Stock class track championship for 1999 is completely locked up. John Bohn of Farmington is the track champion with 1,016 points going into the final night of points racing. He is followed by Harris (902), Rocky Stevens (894), Billy Ames (724), Forster (714), Leo Kiefer (674), Chris Boyd (666), Billy Mayberry (586), Jeremy Greenwalt (568), Kenny Kennedy (540), Jim Bell (506), Pete Koenig (418), Dean Motsinger (396), Steve Smith (390), Jack Halbert (378), Brian Garner (332), Karl Francis (318), Mike Crader (294), Bruce Pulley (286) and Chuck Adams (274). Forster was the winner of the trophy dash on Saturday with Harris second. Bohn won the “B” main with heat wins going to Kennedy, Forster and Harris.
In the Sportsmen class the track championship will be up for grabs during the final week, but Charlie Savage took a giant step toward the title by winning the feature Saturday night. Billy “The Kid” Smith has a shot at the title also, but his sixth place finish in the feature Saturday dropped him eight points behind Savage (942-934). Ronnie Bader was third in the feature with Henry Nash fourth and Rodney Pense fifth. Pense is third in points with 920, he is followed by Nash (886), Phillips (856), Mike Abney (812), Bader (804), Tommy Worley Sr. (720), Jeff Asher (634), Billy Beard (548), Joe Kopp (522), Brad Long (458), Tim Phares (420), Kent Bailey (270) and Kary Buckley (244). Savage also won the trophy dash on Saturday with heat wins going to Brad Long and Bader.
In the Modified class, Jeff Parmer was the feature winner as he held off Joe Giesler for the win. Larry Hull was third with Tony Palmer fourth and Keith Buckley fifth. Parmer’s win puts some major heat on Hull going into the final week as Hull’s lead has been trimmed to only 10 points (978-968). They are followed by Jeff Masson (734), Sonny Schollmeyer (626), Brent Thompson (614), Jason Keith (588), Mike Crader (494), Bob Waterhouse (462), Alan Miles (306), Tom Harris (272), Chris Boyd (226), Joe Weber (214) and Joe Giesler (214). Keith won the trophy dash on Saturday and the first heat race with Hull winning the second heat.
A special non-wing sprint show has been set for Saturday, Oct. 2 to go along with a special Hobby Stock class show. Only those two classes of cars will compete that night with a free concert by the band Canyon in the main grandstand area immediately following. Adult ticket prices that weekend in the main grandstand will only be $5. Saturday (for the final night of points competition) the gates will open at 4 p.m., with time trials at 6 and racing at 7:30.

Here Sportsmen driver Billy "The Kid" Smith gives a fellow driver a lift through turn 2. Billy was the feature winner of the class Saturday night. (Photo by Fred Harl)

Joey Montgomery driving a familiar #32 sprint

Joey Montgomery of Fredericktown has made giant strides in his career as a sprint driver this season. Here Joey takes a wild ride through turns 1 & 2. (photo by Fred Harl)

Savage on the raceway

Charlie Savage has won his fair share of races this season at the St. Francois County Raceway.

The biggest show of the season, the Queen's Royale, will be held on Friday, Oct. 8 and Saturday, Oct. 9. DON'T MISS OUT!!! Plus there will be a non-wing show at the raceway on Saturday, Oct. 2.

Don't forget to visit our GUEST BOOK area to let us know what you think about our web page. We would also like to hear any comments you may have about the St. Francois County Raceway.

For information about the 1999 racing season, contact Larry Minkel at (573) 756-1734 or Jeff Mills at (573) 431-0301 or
From St. Louis: Take I-55 south to the U.S. 67 South exit. Continue south on Highway 67, the raceway is located between the Park Hills/Leadington exit and the first Farmington exit.
From Cape Girardeau: Take I-55 North to Highway 32 (Ste. Genevieve exit). Travel west on Highway 32 toward Farmington (22 miles). Once you reach Farmington, stay on Highway 32 through Farmington. You will travel through 4 stoplights until you exit the city and Highway 32 merges with Highway 67 going North. The raceway is located at the St. Francois County Fairgrounds, just two miles from the Farmington city limits on Highway 67 (if you go to the Leadington/Park Hills exit you've gone TOO FAR!!)

Sign My Guestbook Guestbook by GuestWorld View My Guestbook

NEW! Parkland BMX Bicycle Track webpage
Best Sprint Car Race Site
DRIVER'S SEAT publication web site
Mineral Area Sports Weekly
Big River Sand Drags in Bonne Terre, MO
Malden Speedway

Weekly SFCR Web Poll
Should the Modified class return for the year 2000 season?

Current Results

Here's the remaining schedule for the 1999 season at the St. Francois County Raceway.
September 25 - End of regular season
October 2 - Non-wing show & Special Hobby Stock show
October 8 & 9 - Queen's Royale
Admission prices: Grandstand $10, Pits $15
For ticket information phone (573) 756-9248

Site last updated 9/20/99

Created by Jeff Mills
Copyright 1998.