Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: St. Paul West Side Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 1

St. Paul West Side Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: September 30, 2003

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles and the residents of specific structures located along the hike:

5 George Street West: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 1702 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, brick house, with an attached one car garage. Theo. W. Algren was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Aug H. Algren, chief clerk of the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, Elmer F. Algren, a student, George C. Algren, a bookkeeper employed by the South St. Paul House Exchange, Hazel C. Algren, a hat maker, Herbert A. Algren, and Theo W. Algren, an auditor, all boarded at this address and Gust Algren, a foreman employed by the Minnesota Transfer RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Mortenson, a switchman employed by the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad, and his wife, Margaret Mortenson, resided at this address. Theodore W. Algren (1889-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Chilman, and died in Ramsey County. John A. Mortenson (1884-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Orstad, and died in Yellow Medicine County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $152,900. The current owner of record of the property is Brian Tuminelly. The 1930 city directory indicates that John P. Simones resided at the former nearby 4 George Street West. August "Herb" Algren ( -1972) worked for 53 years for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, was chief clerk in the mechanical division of the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, resided at 672 Delaware, West St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1972, and died of a heart ailment in St. Luke's Hospital in St. Paul. John Peter Simones (1895-1975) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway for 882 West Linwood Avenue.] [See note for Minnesota Transfer RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad for 475 Ohio Street.]

6 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1631 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Esther M. Colestock, the widow of Earim M. Colestock, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles H. Ball, a watchman, and his wife, Mary Ball, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $120,000. The current owner of record of the rental property is Carl Defrang, who resides in East Bethel, Minnesota.

9 George Street West: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 1753 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, brick house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob Hanson, a laborer employed by the Belvidere Cast Stone Company, and his wife, Mary Hanson, resided at this address. Jacob Hanson ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $62,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owner of record of the property is Mark A. Steere.

10 George Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1560 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Monzel, a bricklayer, his wife, Mary Monzel, Chester R. Monzel, a bricklayer, Constance Monzel, a clerk, Frank Monzel, Jr., a clerk employed by Griggs Cooper & Company, Joseph Monzel, a bricklayer, Leona Monzel, a hairdresser, and Marcella Monzel, a bookkeeper employed by Friedmann Brothers, all resided at this address. Frank Monzel (1867-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Frank J. Monzel (1899-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schmitt, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $40,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lech Antoni Pawlowski and Elizabieta Kondratowicz. [See the note for the Griggs, Cooper & Company for 901 Euclid Street.]

14 George Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 1248 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Alice Bigue, a clerk employed by Mannheimer Brothers, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Irving Gravel, a clerk employed by the White Eagle Oil Corporation, his wife, Lydia Gravel, and William Kokosky resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $169,900. The current owners of record of the property are Charles D. Beardshear and Laurie A. Beardshear. [See note for the Mannheimer Brothers for 270 West Seventh Street.]

15 George Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1440 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mark W. Woodruff, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Public Works Department, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mark W. Woodruff, a chief clerk employed by the St. Paul Public Works Department, and his wife, Florence Woodruff, resided at this address. Mark W. Woodruff ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Bartold S. Ledesma and Dara R. Ledesma.

19 George Street West: Built in 1946. The structure is a one story, 1184 square foot, five room, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold for $49,450 and that sale occurred in 1992. The current owner of record of the property is Lars G. Myran.

22 George Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a one story, 1223 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mary Schaal, a waiter employed by the Ryan Hotel, resided at this address. Mary A. Schaal (1888-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Haas, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $56,000. The current owners of record of the property are David F. Moga and Jennifer S. McMaster.

25 George Street West: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2556 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph F. Gebke, a salesman, his wife, Katherine Gebke, and John Bertsche, a helper employed by the Hancock-Nelson Merchandising Company, and his wife, Loretta Bertsche, all resided at this address. Joseph Francis Gebke ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Delbert F. Moore and Marion Moore.

29 George Street West: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 1884 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Neumayer, a salesman employed by the North West Fuel Company, and his wife, Marie Neumayer, resided at this address. John J. Neumayer (1887-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lerach, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are David J. Diaz and Sarah L. Diaz. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anton J. Kurz, a shoe rebuilder, and his wife, Elizabeth Kurz, resided at the former nearby 33 George Street West. Anton J. Kurz (1895-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kirchner, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the NorthWestern Fuel Company for 1322 West Osceola Avenue.]

39 George Street West: Built in 1937. The structure is a one story, 800 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Frank M. Gomez and Gloria M. Gomez.

45 George Street West: Built in 1940. The structure is a one story, 876 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Rodney M. Rolfzen and Peggy C. Rolfzen.

46 George Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1085 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bernard J. McLellan, a barber, and his wife, Addie McLellan, resided at this address. John Leonard McLellan, a Seaman First Class in the United States Navy, the nephew of Rose Klein, was a World War II casualty and resided at this address in the early 1940's. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $153,000. The current owners of record of the property are Eloisa Aguilar Lozada and Violeta Aguilar.

52 George Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1192 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Munion, a flanger employed by the Great Northern Shops, and his wife, Florence Munion, resided at this address. Francis J. Munion (1891-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McCoy, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Jose Vega.

59 George Street West: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 5250 square foot, apartment house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Louis F. Deters, a partner with James M. Enkel, a real estate agency located at the Exchange Bank, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Philomene Jasmin and Mrs. Leonora Randall, the widow of Lloyd Randall and a clerk employed by W. T. Grant Company, both resided at this address. W. T. Grant was a United States-based chain of mass-merchandise stores founded by William Thomas Grant that operated from 1906 until 1976. In 1906, the first "W. T. Grant Co. 25 Cent Store" opened in Lynn, Massachusetts. It grew to almost $100 million per year in sales by 1936. The chain's demise in 1975 was in part due to a failure to adapt to changing times, but was probably considerably accelerated by management's refusal, until it was too late, to eliminate the shareholder dividend Even after the company began to lose money, funds were borrowed to pay the quarterly dividend until this became impossible. The company filed the then-second biggest bankruptcy in U. S. history. In 1976, Irwin Jacobs, with the backing of Carl Pohlad, purchased the W. T. Grant consumer accounts receivable account totaling $276.3 million for $44 million and five percent of first post-bankruptcy year's sales. Philomene A. Jasmin (1896-1970) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Louis E. Kanavati and Ellen M. Kanavati, who reside at West St. Paul, Minnesota. The 1900 federal census indicates that Cornelius McMonigal (1873- ,) a shipper of furnishing goods and the head of household, who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland, his wife, Winnifred McMonigal (1873- ,) who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland, his son, Edward J. McMonigal (1896- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Mary A. McMonigal (1898- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Johnie McMonigal (1899- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and that Ellen McCoy (1817- ,) a widow and the head of household, who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland, and her son, Louis McCoy (1873- ,) a teamster who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Ireland, both resided at the nearby former 62 George Street West. The 1920 city directory indicates that Dr. Philip B. Broderson, a dentist who officed at 123 Winifred Street, resided at the former nearby 61 George Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that John S. Grun, a telegrapher, and his wife, Loretta Grun, resided at the former nearby 61 George Street West. Edward J. McMonigal and John P. McMonigal were World War I veterans who resided at 271 Stevens Street in 1919. John Severin Grun (1888-1960) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

63 George Street West: Dairy Queen; Built in 1963. The structure is a one story, 1640 square foot, drive-in restaurant. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. E. Wehrle resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Janice D. Plaisted, who resides in White Bear Lake, Minnesota.

65 George Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 6970 square foot, retail building. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank H. Beaudoin, a billiard hall proprietor at this address, also resided at this address and that George W. Beaudoin, a mechanic employed by Schilling, Metzger & Casselton, and Marjorie L. Casselton, a clerk employed by G. Sommers & Company, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Kubes, a grocer, was located at this address and David Mucha, a shoe rebuilder, his wife, Alexandria Mucha, Anton J. Ries, a foreman employed by the Union Rendering Company, and his wife, Nettie Ries, all resided at this address. Joseph John Kubes (1896-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nosek, and died in Ramsey County. David Mucha (1879-1966) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Anthony "Tony J." Ries ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $159,900. The previous owner of record of the property was Speten Properties, Inc., of White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is 65 West George LLC, located at 161 Marie Ave East.

69 George Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 1680 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, frame house. Adrian C. Van Ryn and Anna C. Van Ryn resided at this address in 1918 and were the parents of Albert Cornelius Van Ryn. World War I veterans Alb. Van Ryn and Edwin H. Raymaker resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#3414) indicate that Albert Cornelius Van Ryn (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Seaman in the United States Navy, who was born in Glenwood City, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1902, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8 1/4" tall, was a yardman employed by the South St. Paul Union Stockyards after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at with his mother, Anna C. Van Ryn, this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adrian C. Van Ryn, a stockman employed by Finch, Van Slyck & McConville, his wife, Anna Van Ryk, and Willard Van Ryk, a proofreader, all resided at this address. Albert C. "The St. Paul Cowboy" Van Ryn (1899-1974,) aka "Al Van Ryn" or "Al Van Ryan," was born in St. Paul, resided in St. Paul, was an orthodox stance welterweight boxer, won 31 fights (17 by knockout,) lost 13 fights (five by knockout,) had five drawn fights, fought from 1923 until 1930, worked at the South St. Paul Stockyards by day, was a crude, rugged fighter who relied on his frquent height advantage rather than boxing skills to prevail, eventually developed a good left hook, was managed early in his career by St. Paul manager/trainer/promoter Johnny Salvator, as well as Jack Hurley, and then later by just Hurley, was in the top rung of ranked welterweights for a brief time, moved from St. Paul to Lamberton, Minnesota, later moved to Tracy, Minnesota, was a sales manager for the Central Livestock Company, and suffered deteriorating health in the 1960's from dementia pugilistica. Edwin H. Raymaker (1888-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Adrian Van Ryn ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $189,900 and that sale occurred in 2004. The previous owner of record of the property was Fadel G. Sakkal and the current owners of record of the property are Christian Andrade and Susana Bravo. [See note for St. Paul Union Stockyards for 537 Ohio Street.] [See note for Finch, Van Slyck & McConville for 969 West Osceola Avenue.]

71 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1536 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward W. Conredy, abarber employed by David Gam, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert H. Parker, a foreman employed by the St. Paul Union Depot, his wife, Fae Parker, and Mrs. Mary Nagel, the widow of John Nagel, all resided at this address. Albert Henry Parker ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Mary G. Nagel ( -1954) and Mary Lorraine Nagel ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $122,400 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is John Gage of Farmington, Minnesota. The 1900 federal census indicates that Carl Loges (1845- ,) a cabinetmaker and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, who emigrated to the United States in 1882, and who was naturalized in 1896, and his wife, Dora Loges (1856- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1882, both resided at the nearby former 72 George Street West. [See note on the St. Paul Union Depot Company for 165 Western Avenue North, the Albion Hotel/Angus Hotel.]

73 George Street West: Built in 1903. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1530 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, frame house. The 1894 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. W. J. Hurd resided at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. F. Gilkison resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nicholas E. Wehrle, the chief accountant employed by the State Board of Control, and his wife, Frances Wehrle, resided at this address. Nicholas E. Wehrle (1888-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kruetz, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are James L. Patrin and Eileen M. Patrin. The 1900 federal census indicates that Joseph Bueckner (1864- ,) a fur nailer and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, who emigrated to the United States in 1882, and who was naturalized in 1896, his wife, Wilhelmina Bueckner (1864- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1886, his stepson, George Beilke (1884- ,) a printer's apprentice who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his stepdaughter, Hermance Beilke (1885- ,) a cap trimmer who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his stepdaughter, Anna Beilke (1888- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, and his daughter, Elsie Bueckner (1896- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, all resided at the former nearby 74 George Street West. The 1920 city directory indicates that Leonard J. Diedrich, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, resided at the former nearby 74 George Street West. [See note on the Minnesota State Board of Control for 559 Bellows Street.] [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

76 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1238 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Morgan, a pipeman with St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 1, and his wife, Alice Morgan, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002. George Alexander Morgan (1894-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $176,500. The previous owners of record of the property were Gloria E. Londono and Angela M. Achury and the current owner of record of the property is Gloria E. Londono.

78 George Street West: The property is a vacant commercial lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary De Beau, Bernadette De Beau, a telephone operator, Edward De Beau, a helper, and Leo De Beau, a laborer, all resided at this address. The current owner of record of the rental property is Tammi Theresa Lang, who resides at 485 Winona Street East.

81 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a one story, 1277 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Adams, an operator employed by the Northern Cooperage Company, and his wife, Isabelle Adams, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $42,000. The current owners of record of the property are Nhia Thao and Kia Yang. [See note for the Northern Cooperage Company for 35 Irvine Park.]

82 George Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 728 square foot, five room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Latchford resided at this address. William Latchford ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $64,900 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owner of record of the property is Robert D. Sherry.

84 George Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 952 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard Cacek, a mixer employed by the National Lead Company, and his wife, Emily Cacek, resided at this address. Richard Cacek ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $145,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Daniel G. Flint and Vicki G. Flint of Maplewood, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Courtney D. Brown, who resides in Cottage Grove, Minnesota.

88 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1190 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank Clemens, a soldier, Marie Clemens, a waiter, and Fred J. Eigenmann, a stenographer employed by the Netherlands American Mortgage Bank, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Minnie Eigenmann, a maid employed by Ancker Hospital, Fred Eigenmann, and Viola Eigenmann, a stenographer, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $54,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Sheilagh N. Burns and the current owner of record of the property is James S. Hogan. [See note for Anker Hospital for 265 Nugent Street.]

89 George Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1134 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran R. H. Hardke resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rosa Englehardt, a machine operator, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clifford Crinen, a laborer, and his wife, Sarah R. Crinen, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $171,000 and that sale occurred in 2005. The previous owner of record of the property was Georgiana C. Castellano and the current owners of record of the property are Maria Delourdes Alarcon Saenz and Maria Deseurdes Alargo.

94 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1422 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Carl A. Diedrich, a yardman employed by T. J. Hurley & Company, Robert E. Diedrich, a salesman employed by T. J. Hurley & Company, and William Diedrich, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, all boarded at this address and that Leonard L. Diedrich resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dorothy Hardwick, a stenographer, Frank Hardwick, a foreman employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Ida Hardwick, all resided at this address. Frank Hardwick ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Rafael Macias. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.] [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

104 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1242 square foot, five room, one bathroom, asbestos bungalow, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry Beilke resided at this address in 1888. The 1930 city directory indicates that William S. Pirkl resided at this address. William Stephen Pirkl (1903-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lagermaier, and died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $92,900. The current owner of record of the property is Jorge Rosas Sanchez.

110 George Street West: Built in 1941. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1386 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, frame house, with an attached one car garage. The current owner of record of the property is Linda L. McKnight. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 111 George Street West was vacant.

115 George Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 746 square foot, five room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Marion J. Crotty, a yardman employed by the st. Paul Union Stockyards Company, and his wife, Lillian Crotty, resided at this address. Marion Crotty ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are George C. Zafke, Sr., and Susan J. Zafke. [See note for St. Paul Union Stockyards for 537 Ohio Street.]

118 George Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1952 square foot, eleven room, two bathroom, frame house. The 1900 federal census indicates that Michael Larsen (1850- ,) a laundry proprietor and the head of household, who was born in Norway to parents who were born in Norway, his wife, Bergette Larsen (1848- ,) who was born in Norway to parents who were born in Norway, his adopted son, Albert Hervin (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Norway, a boarder, Sigrid Klippe (1882- ,) a laundry starcher who was born in Norway to parents who were born in Norway, a boarder, Martin Dalin (1882- ,) a laundry washer who was born in Norway to parents who were born in Norway, and a boarder, Theodore Antonie Munson (1877- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Norway, all resided at this address. World War I veteran Arthur A. Peterman resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Michael Larson (1850-1930) resided at this address in 1930. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $199,000. The current owners of record of the property are Keith Maahs and Sarah Necklen, who reside in Anoka, Minnesota.

122 George Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1560 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Kisch, a packer employed by McKibbin Driscoll & Dorsey, a furs, hats, and leather dealer, his wife, Theresa Kisch, George P. Kisch, a grocer with a store located at 581 Stryker Avenue, Joseph Kisch, the assistant district manager employed by the Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and Louis F. Kisch, a clerk employed by Gordon & Ferguson, all resided at this address. Peter Kisch ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Peter Louis Kisch (1908-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Becker, and died in Ramsey County. Peter P. Kisch (1898-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Preiner, and died in Ramsey County. Peter J. Kisch (1893-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Leadens, and died in Hennepin County. The previous owners of record of the property were Earl J. Caflisch and Marie M. Caflisch and the current owner of record of the property is Marie M. Caflisch. Marie Caflisch is a member of St. Matthew's Parish and contributed an honorarium to the East Side Learning Center in 2007. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

124 George Street West: Built in 1878. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1429 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. C. Lutz resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Philip T. Galloway and Mary A. Galloway (1846-1893,) who died of paralysis, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1893. The 1900 federal census indicates that Andrew Bergum (1865- ,) an express teamster and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Norway, his wife, Adeline Bergum (1873- ,) who was born in Massachusetts to a father who was born in Massachusetts and a mother who was born in Canada, his son, Henry A. Bergum (1893- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Albert O. Bergum (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Melvin R. Bergum (1896- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Roy F. Bergum (1899- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adlarde Le Blanc, a carpenter, and his wife, Samilla Le Blanc, resided at this address. Phillip Galloway ( -1917) and Peter C. Lutz ( -1924) both died in Ramsey County. Adelard LeBlanc (1885-1978) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $63,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Gerald C. Bren and Karen L. Bren and the current owners of record of the property are Christa G. Bren and Matthew A. Giambrone.

129 George Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2511 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The property was last sold for $114,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Christelle M. Lee and Alice M. Lee. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. C. Lutz resided at the former structure at the nearby corner of Bidwell Street and George Street West and that Mr. and Mrs. J. Webber and their daughter resided at the former nearby 131 George Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herman H. Lorenz, a clerk employed by the Cherokee Heights Hardware Company, and his wife, Martha Lorenz, resided at the former nearby 131 George Street West. Herman August Lorenz (1887-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

134 George Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1554 square foot, six room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John A. Cochrane, assistant to a vice president of the Great Northern RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Cochrane resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert A. Hohenstein, proprietor of a meat market located at 425 South Robert Street, and his wife, Marie Hohenstein, resided at this address. John A. Cochrane ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. Robert A. Hohenstein ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Michael J. Fischer.

137 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1506 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Augusta Boettcher, the widow of Charles Boettcher, and William F. Boettcher, a clerk employed by Guttmann Brothers, wholesale grocers and butchers, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. Boettcher, a shipping clerk, and his wife, Myrtle Boettcher, resided at this address. William F. Boettcher ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $142,500 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Carol M. Olson.

138 George Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a one story, 844 square foot, six room, one bathroom, asbestos bungalow. James Staberg (1890- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15116) indicate that James Staberg (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Detachment #4 A. S. A. P., who was born in Lakeland, Minnesota, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, was issued one bronze Victory button, was a selfemployed insurance and real estate agent after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Georgia C. Staberg, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Seidl, a cutter employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Stella Seidl, resided at this address. John Henry Seidl ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $48,900. The current owners of record of the property are Georgia J. Peterson and Charles L. Peterson. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

143 George Street West: Built in 1905. The structure is a one story, 1344 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with an attached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Augustus H. Hornsby resided at this address in 1904. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Hornsby resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herbert F. Larson, a plumber employed by Albert J. Lorch, and his wife, Mae Larson, resided at this address. Kate Kearby (1881-1935,) the daughter of Woodson Clingman Kearby (1851-1927) and Parma Elizabeth Lemons Kearby (1857-1939,) married Augustus Hornsby in 1916 and the couple were the parents of Lyn Nell Hornsby, John Hornsby, and Parma Elizabeth Hornsby. Augustus H. Hornsby ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. Herbert Frank Larson (1905-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Swanson, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $97,000. The current owners of record of the property are Miguel Gomez Lopez and Lourdes Gomez.

148 George Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a three story, 7056 square foot, apartment building. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. P. Kuckler resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Margaret Dahl, a teacher at the Drew School, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Geraldine F. Sailor ( -1921,) the unmarried daughter of Vern Sailor, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of scarlet fever, resided at this address in 1921. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Charles O. Isaacson, a foreman employed by the Daily News Publishing Company, and his wife, Anna O. Isaacson (Apartment #2,) Sherd T. Baldwin, an observer employed by the U. S. Weather Bureau, and his wife, Hazel Baldwin (Apartment #3,) Arch S. Johnson, a salesman employed by the St. Paul Produce Company, and his wife, Mary Johnson (Apartment #4,) Carl G. Peterson, an observor employed by the U. S. Weather Bureau, and his wife, Bernice Peterson (Apartment #5,) and Mac A. Emerson, the officer in charge of the Airport Weather Bureau, and his wife, Marie Emerson (Apartment #6.) In 1930, Apartment #1 was vacant. Charles O. Isaacson ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Clarence D. Lindeke.

149 George Street West: Built in 1941. The structure is a one story, 1310 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $152,000. The current owner of record of the property is Jeff R. Olsen. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11553) indicate that Edward Francis Wettengel (1892- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a S. F. Second Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7" tall, served on the U. S. S. Richmond and the U. S. S. Bridgeport, was a steamfitter employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Marie Wettengel, at the nearby former 152 George Street West. The U. S. S. Richmond was a wooden steam sloop of war that was launched in 1860 from the Norfolk Navy Yard, was engaged in Southern blockade, Mississippi River, and Mobile Bay action during the Civil War, was decommissioned in 1865, was refitted with new engines in 1866, was recommissioned in 1869, was again decommissioned in 1871, was again recommissioned in 1872, was decommissioned in 1877, was recommissioned in 1878 and was the flagship of the Asiatic Fleet until decommissioned in 1884, was recommissioned in 1887 and sailed the North Atlantic, then the South Atlantic, was a training ship in Newport, Rhode Island, from 1890 to 1893, was a receiving ship at Philadelphia from 1893 until 1900, was moored at League Island until ordered to Norfolk, Virginia, in 1903, where it served as an auxiliary to the receiving ship U. S. S. Franklin until 1919, when it was struck from the Navy list and sold to Joseph Hyman & Sons, of Philadelphia, for breaking up. The U. S. S. Bridgeport was originally the German passenger ship S.S. Breslau, was built at Vegesack, Germany, in 1901, was seized during World War I, and was used as a transport, was in reserve after 1924, was turned over to the War Shipping Administration for use as a freighter in 1942 and 1943, was converted at Jacksonville, Florida, for use as the U.S. Army hospital ship Larkspur between September, 1944, and February, 1945, was decommissioned as a hospital ship in 1946, was then renamed U. S. S. Bridgeport and was modified for use as a military dependents' transport, was laid up in the Maritime Commission Reserve Fleet in 1947, and was scrapped in 1948.

154 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1204 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that H. B. Lenz resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lafayette J. Allie, a clerk employed by J. G. Anderson, resided at this address and that and that Marie J. Allie, a clerk, and Vernon R. Allie, a laborer, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $129,900. The previous owner of record of the property was Alvaro Cortes and the current owners of record of the property are Beatrix Cortes-Ruiz and Esmeralda Cortes-Ruiz.

155 George Street West: Built in 1897. The structure is a two story, 1560 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert B. Fleming, a broker, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Victor Sundquist resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that Oscar Sjoberg, an air brake fitter employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Mary Sjoberg, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffery A. Smock and Joan Smock. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

161 George Street West: Built in 1896. The structure is a one story, 1541 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Dufour, a watchman employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, resided at this address and that John V. Dufour, a creditman employed by the Northern States Power Company, and William Duffy both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Defour, a foreman, and his wife, Josephine C. Defour, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $109,900 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are Christine Aguirre and Juan J. Aguirre. [See note for the American Hoist and Derrick Company for 2010 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad and Jay Cooke for 432 Summit Avenue.]

162 George Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 5724 square foot, apartment house. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Frank Haskell resided at this address in 1907. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16041) indicate that Thomas Walter Wheeler (1900- ,) a 1918 underage enlistee and a Fireman Third Class in the Volunteer Naval Reserve Force, who was born in St. Paul, was a chauffeur employed by the Minneapolis Daily Star after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Sarah Wheeler, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#22580) indicate that Lawrence Ray Brack (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company 4 of the First Candidate Brigade I. C. D. T. S., who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' tall, was a fireman at induction, was a city fireman employed at the St. Paul Fire Department Engine Company #15 after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Beth E. Brack, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lawrence R. Brack, a pipeman employed by St. Paul Fire Department Engine Company #15, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert Lawrence Brack (1921-1923,) the son of Lawrence R. Brack, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of pulmonary odema, resided at this address in 1923. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Lawrence R. Brack resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that James W. Briggs, a caller employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, his wife, Emma Briggs, and Mrs. Minnie M. Uschmann, the widow of William Uschmann and a seamstress employed by the National Art Suppply, all resided at this address. The Brack burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Robert L. Brack (1920-1923,) Roy L. Brack (1901-1973,) Ruth C. Brack (1900-1987,) and Lawrence Roy Brack (1896-1973.) Frank Haskell (1878-1946,) the son of Franklin L. Haskell ( -1896,) a proofreader for the St. Paul Globe, and Adele Rehaume/Raymond Haskell, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1897, was a corporal in Company E of the 13th Minnesota Infantry in the Philippines during the Spanish-American War, participated in the battle of Manila in 1898 and the battles of Santa Maria and the Mariquina Road in 1899, was a member of General Lawton's scouts, attended the University of Minnesota, was the deputy clerk of the Ramsey County District Court from 1900 until 1903, graduated from the St. Paul College of Law in 1903, was the secretary of the campaign committee in 1904, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 35) from 1905 until 1907, was a member of the Haskell & Scannell law firm, married Eva Wright, the daughter of A. P. Wright, a Ramsey County Commissioner, in 1908, was a member of the Camp Carleton Military Society of the Army of Philippines, was a member of the Gopher Club, was a member of the Tribe Redmen, was a member of the Roosevelt Club, was a member of the Lincoln Club, officed at the Globe Building in 1907, officed at the Pioneer Building in 1912, and resided at 782 Winnebago Street in 1912. Frank Haskell and Eva Wright Haskell were the parents of two children, Evelyn L. Haskell (1910- ) and Franklin Haskell. James William Briggs ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was W LLC of St. Paul and the current owner of record of the property is the George Street Partners, located in West St. Paul, Minnesota. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad for 472 Ohio Street.]

163 George Street West: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 1722 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with an attached one car garage. George Peter Pepin (1890- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Paul A. Allie, a sealer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius C. Reeck, a salesman employed by Crescent Creamery Company, his wife, Vernie Reeck, William R. Neubauer, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Katherine Neubauer, resided at this address. Julius Carl Reeck ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $209,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Deborah M. Wanna and the current owner of record of the property is Maria S. Fonseca. [See note for Crescent Creamery Company for 343 Michigan Street.] [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

166 George Street West: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 11974 square foot apartment house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sophia Petersen (1856-1916,) the widowed mother of George Petersen, who was born in Denmark to parents born in Denmark and who died of chronic nephritis, resided at this address in 1916. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12870) indicate that Claus N. Falde, a World War I veteran, and his wife, Sylvia V. Falde, resided at this address in 1918. Oscar William Luft was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15202) indicate that Walfred L. Hawkinson (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant First Class in the Third Company, Discharge Detachment, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 11" tall, was an electrician at induction, was a self employed electrician after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Bessie Hawkinson, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15371) indicate that William M. Warren (1892- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 318th Repair and Salvage Company of the Tank Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 4 1/2" tall, was a teamster at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was an order clerk employed by the J. B. Cherry Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Martha Warren, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24016) indicate that George Lewis (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company B of the 55th Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 1/2" tall, was a steamfitter at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a steamfitter employed by the Northern States Power Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his sister, Grace Lewis, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John W. Anderson, a stationary engineer, Clarence R. Ball, a brakeman, Arthur G. Boileau, a clerk employed by C. Gotzian & Company, Alb J. Brasey, a machinist, Margaret Brennan, the widow of Patrick Brennan, and Andrew Ericksen all resided at this address and that Alice Ackerman, a clerk, Mayme Brennan, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, William A. Chalupsky, a clerk employed by G. Sommers & Company, Adolph Erhart, a clerk employed by Friedmann Brothers, and Einar Erickson, a bookkeeper employed by Butler Brothers, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were James Martin, a chauffeur, and his wife, Irene Martin (Apartment #1,) Michael Piermantar, a sausagemaker employed by the Minnesota Sausage Company, and his wife, Evelyn Piermantar (Apartment #2,) John Schoenberger, a press feeder employed by the Bruce Publishing Company, and his wife, Mabel Schoenberger (Apartment #3,) and Mrs. Bertha Hauer (Apartment #4.) Apartments #5 and #6 were vacant in 1930. John M. Schoenberger (1904-1988) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are W LLC of St. Paul and Quetico Property Management Inc. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.] [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

171 George Street West: Built in 1948. The structure is a one story, 1414 square foot, six room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a basement garage. The current owner of record of the property is Marilynn J. Gomez.

174 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1253 square foot, seven bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Bertha M. St. Pierre (1894-1920,) the widowed daughter of Henry Ledger, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Canada and who died of pulmonary consumption, resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick Kindgren, a salesman employed by the Purity Baking Company, and his wife, Anna Kindgren, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $160,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Elisio Cortes and the current owners of record of the property are Erin M. Bernier and Jeffrey B. Hankinson.

177 George Street West: Built in 1948. The structure is a one story, 925 square foot, five room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $75,000. The current owner of record of the property is Elroy O. Vangstad. The nearby former 178 George Street West was vacant according to the 1930 city directory.

180 George Street West: Built in 1907. The structure is a three story, 3192 square foot, 12 room, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Emily DeMeules, a clerk, and Mary DeMeules, the widow of Adolph DeMeules, both boarded at this address and Ernest A. DeMeules, a bookkeeper employed by the Stock Yards National Bank, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roy L. Brack, a salesman employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Ruth Brack, resided at this address. Roy Lawrence Brack (1901-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Larson, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002 and in 2003. The current owner of record of the rental property is Patrick M. Tilton, who resides at 1256 Hartford Avenue. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

183 George Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1620 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward J. McMonigal, the traffic manager employed by the Twin City Brick Company, and his wife, Margaret McMonigal, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Florence A. Bandholz. [See note for the Twin City Brick Company for 797 Goodrich Avenue.]

184 George Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 3536 square foot, 12 room, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emelie Walz and Selma Walz, a forewoman employed by the Capitol Suspender Company, both resided at this address. Emelie Walz was the widow of August Walz. August Walz ( -1914) died in Ramsey County. Emilie Otilie Walz ( -1947) died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $97,000. The previous owner of record of the property was David L. Morford and the current owners of record of the property are Rebecca M. Austin and David L. Morford. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas McGowan, a grain weigher employed by the State of Minnesota, and his wife, Josephine McGowan, resided at the former nearby 186 George Street West.

189 George Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1752 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Christina Albert, the widow of Joseph Albert, resided at this address and that Henry J. Albert, a chauffeur, and Ruth E. Albert, a packer, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank A. Torpey, a clerk employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Maude Torpey, resided at this address. Frank A. Torpey ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $214,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Jerome J. Lardani and Judith Lardani and the current owner of record of the property is Kia Vang. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad for 472 Ohio Street.]

190 George Street West: Built in 1914. The structure is a one story, 2130 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick bungalow, with a detached garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#30847) indicate that Paul Kirchhoff (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Company I of the 357th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was a farmer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Billus-en-Hoye Sector, the St. Mihiel Offensive, the Purenelle Sector, and the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was a self-employed printer after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Lillie Kirchhoff, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul H. Kirchhoff, a printer employed by Brown & Bigelow, and his wife, Lillian C. Kirchhoff, resided at this address. Paul Henry Kirchhoff (1893-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Botel, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $82,000 and that sale occurred in 1994. The previous owners of record of the property were Abel Pineiro and Catherine G. Pineiro and the current owners of record of the property are Denise L. Dunbar-Perkins and Herbert A. Perkins.

194 George Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1091 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward F. Ott, a bookkeeper, and his wife, Bertha E. Ott, resided at this address. Edward F. Ott ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Karl J. Lasch and Georgette Lasch.

200 George Street West: Built in 1939. The structure is a one story, 1391 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a basement garage. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $150,000. The current owner of record of the property is Debra A. Schlekewy.

201 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 2384 square foot, ten room, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rental duplex/condominium, with a basement garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Reding resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John E. Reding, a partner with Charles E. Newmaster in Reding & Newmaster, clothes cleaners, and his wife, Mary Reding, resided at this address. John E. Reding ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $254,500. The current owners of record of one unit are Patrick M. Tilton and Louis R. Tilton, who reside at 1256 Hartford Avenue, and the current owner of record of the other unit is Scot L. Sorum, who resides in Roseville, Minnesota.

205 George Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1728 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. World War I veteran Lorenz C. Leitner resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16535) indicate that Lawrence C. Leitner (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Battery C, 51st Artillery, C. A. C., who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was an advertising man at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Bois de Grand bombardment, was an advertising man employed by Armour & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. O. F. Leitner, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert W. Becker, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Eva Becker, resided at this address. Albert W. Becker (1908-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hohman, and died in Ramsey County. Albert William Becker (1903-1991) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Friemuth, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Gretchen M. Williams. [See note on the Chicago & Great Western Railway for 42 Isabel Street West.]

206 George Street West: Built in 1937. The structure is a one story, 1432 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a basement garage. The current owner of record of the property is Robert A. Reiter. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto F. Leitner, a salesman, and his wife, Margaret Leitner, resided at the former nearby 207 George Street West. Otto Frank Leitner ( -1933) died in Ramsey County.

211 George Street West: Hmong Community United Methodist Church/Former St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church; Built in 1920 and 1923. The first structure is a two story, 22826 square foot, church. The second structure is a two story, 2796 square foot, church building. The 1930 city directory indicates that the St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church was located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is the Hmong Community United Methodist Church, located at 215 George Street West. In 1976, the first Hmong set foot on the Minnesota soil. Church World Service was one of the four voluntary agencies in the Twin Cities that helped find sponsors for Indochinese refugees who wanted to resettle in Minnesota from Southeast Asia. In 1980, Church World Service had its first contact with Pastor Jonah Xu Yang (Nhia Xu Yang.) Pastor Yang was served as a colonel in the U.S. secret army in Laos and also had gone through pastoral training in Lao capital, Vientiane, before the Vietnam conflict began. Through the Minnesota Annual Conference and Church World Service, Pastor Yang became the first Hmong pastor to become licensed in the United Methodist Church, founded the Hmong ministry in St. Paul, and began his ministry with 37 people in five families. By 1981, the congregation grew to 160 people and the church was officially charged as a local church, making it the first Hmong United Methodist Church. The congregation initially worshipped in the Hmong language at the Wesley United Methodist Church for three years, growing to over 600 members, and purchased its own church building in 1985. The congregation shares its church building with the Sharon Hispanic SDA Church.

214 George Street West: C. L. Haas House; Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 5198 square foot, 13 room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Larry Millett indicates that the large house is impressive, although it is not very coherent in design, and has pleasant bows of the porch and of the attic window in the gable. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Haas and M. P. Ryan resided at this address. The 1894, 1896, and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Haas and M. P. Ryan resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that C. L. Haas resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that David E. Cullen, the proprietor of the Northwestern Cattle Company, a live stock brokerage located at the Exchange Building, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Haas resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles L. Haas, the president of the Haas Commission Company, and his wife, Alice M. Haas, resided at this address. Charles L. Haas (1849- ) was born in Pennsylvania, come to Minnesota with his parents in 1854, engaged in the live stock business and in banking, was associated with the South St. Paul, Minnesota, Livestock Exchange, was register of deeds for Ramsey County from 1891 until 1895, was the first donor to St. Paul's informally established Como Zoo when he donated a deer to Como Park, served on the St. Paul Police Commission in 1900, was president of the St. Paul City Board of Police in 1904, and was the owner in 1912 of property near Star Prairie, Wisconsin, that contained some Indian burial mounds. Charles L. Haas ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Charlotte Garbrecht. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. John Hall, the pastor of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church, and his wife, Ada M. Hall, resided at the former nearby 221 George Street West and that Otto L. Sitzman resided at the former nearby 228 George Street West.

215 George Street West: Hmong Community United Methodist Church. Built in 1920 (Building #1) and in 1923 (Building #2.) Building #1 is two stories and 22,826 square foot. Building #2 is two stories and 2,796 square feet. The current owner of record of the property is the Hmong Community United Methodist Church. The 1920 city directory indicates that A. Lincoln Briggs, a foreman, resided at the former nearby 226 George Street West.

230 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 3125 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Richard J. Curran, a salesman employed by the Pioneer Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William S. Wright, the chief draftsman employed by Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Elizabeth M. Wright, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $83,945. The current owner of record of the property is Diana Bly Gale. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

234 George Street West: Built in 1917. The structure is a one story, 1758 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12774) indicate that Emmett Kuschke (1897- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Ballorat Sector, Champagne-Nerue, Aisne-Marne, St. Mihiel, the Meuse, and the Argonne Forest, was a steamfitter employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Johanna Kuschke, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph J. Moshofsky, a buyer employed by the Adam Decker Hardware Company, and his wife, Louise Moshofsky, resided at this address. Joseph Julius Moshofsky ( -1944) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $89,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Barbara J. Farley and the current owner of record of the property is Barbara J. Carre, who resides in Lagaude, France.

240 George Street West: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 1920 square foot, seven bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Julie Hansen, the widow of Ole S. Hansen, Charles P. Sandtrock, a salesman employed by the Roe-James Glass Company, and his wife, Mathilda Sandtrock, resided at this address. Charles P. Sandtrock (1894-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lindemann, and died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $222,500. The current owners of record of the property are Santiago L. Fernandez Gimenez and Laurie A. Sovell.

241 George Street West: Samuel Diering/Dearing House; Built in 1885 (1886 according to the 1983 Ramsey County Architectural Survey;) Victorian in style; Augustus Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 4602 square foot, 17 room, three bathroom, brick house, with an attached one car garage. The building has nine fireplaces. It originally had a wrap-around porch. The original single family structure was subsequently divided into units. Samuel Diering was a dairyman and a real estate speculator. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing, Mr. and Mrs. William E. Shuttle, and Mrs. Emma J. Wilson all resided at this address. Donald Alfveby and Katie Alfveby owned the building in 1981. Sam Dearing (1834- ) was born in Conway, New Hampshire, moved to Minnesota in 1865, initially settled in Hennepin County, subsequently moved to West St. Paul, Dakota County, Minnesota, operated a model farm and ran a dairy, resided in Ramsey County in 1895, was a Democrat, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 26) from 1891 until 1893, and sold portions of his farm as city lots as the city expanded. Reportedly, the cost of this house bankrupted Dearing and, when he was unable to sell it outright or dispose of it by the sale of lottery tickets, the house was auctioned and converted into apartments. The current owners of record of the property are Scott D. Kramer and Wendy E. Nemitz and the immediate prior owner of record was the trustee for Kathryn W. Alfveby. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Maggie A. Smith resided at the former nearby 242 George Street West in 1898 and that the burial plot she owned was resold to the Oakland Cemetery Association in 1915.

244 George Street West: Built in 1917. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1318 square foot, seven bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Hurley resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph J. Hurley, associated with J. J. Hurley & Son, and his wife, Emma Hurley, resided at this address. Joseph J. Hurley ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $233,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Anthony G. Kaczor and the current owners of record of the property are Albert C. Gage, Jr., and Judith M. Gage.

245 George Street West: Built in 1950. The structure is a one story, 910 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $54,900. The current owners of record of the property are Richard F. Frank and Betty J. Frank.

247 George Street West: Built in 1936. The structure is a one story, 1486 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing and Mr. and Mrs. William E. Shuttle all resided at the corner of Charlton Street and George Street West. The property was last sold for $207,775 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Thomas F. Fitch and Jennifer N. Fitch.

251 George Street West: Built in 2002. The structure is a two story, 3096 square foot, 14 room, four bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1890 and 1892 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing and Mr. and Mrs. William E. Schutte resided at this address. The 1894 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing resided at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing, Fannie Amery, D. B. Merrill, and Miss Annie Pickard resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Dearing and D. B. Merrill resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. Dearing and Mrs. M. A. Schutte resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry OConnor resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry O'Connor, a salesman, and Harold H. Eckert, a supplyman employed by the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad, both resided at this address and that Margaret Eckert, the widow of Lawrence Eckert, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry O'Connor and their daughter resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry O'Connor, a real estate agent, and his wife, Ellen O'Connor, resided at this address. William Schutte ( -1918) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $385,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owner of record of the property is the Neighborhood Development Alliance Inc. of St. Paul and the current owner of record of the property is Loreto Villegas Ramirez.

252 George Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1646 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Hildred resided at this address. William Waller was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that George A. Carpender, a machinist employed by Collis Products Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Carpender, a draftsman employed by Collis Products Company, and his wife, Olive Carpender, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $80,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Phillip B. Platt and Virginia A McBride. [See note on the Collis Products Company for 1068 St. Clair Avenue.]

255 George Street West: Patrick O'Brien and Fanny O'Brien House; Built in 1908 (1890 according to George Rea; 1895 according to the 1983 Ramsey County Architectural Survey;) Gothic/Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3174 square foot, eight room, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The house had five fireplaces, parallel gas and oil heating systems, leaded glass windows, turned spindles on the porch, sliding doors for the parlor, a library, and a stone rain water cistern. The structure was originally built by the Rea family. The 1892 and 1894 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Patrick O'Brien and W. P. Confarr all resided at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Patrick O'Brien resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Patrick O'Brien and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Frances Marie Pansy O'Brien, a 1902 graduate, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Charles J. O'Brien, a student, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Patrick O'Brien and their daughters all resided at this address. John C. O'Brien was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Frances O'Brien, the widow of Patrick O'Brien, and Helen O'Brien, the principal employed by Sibley School in West St. Paul, Minnesota, both resided at this address. Rosie Lehman owned the property in 1981. Patrick O'Brien was an Irish immigrant who was a fixture in St. Paul in the 1860's and 1870's and who became an assistant St. Paul postmaster. Fannie Higgins O'Brien worked as a dressmaker in Hudson, Wisconsin in her youth and only agreed to marry Patrick O'Brien after a nine year courtship. The O'Brien family originally lived in Irvine Park, but reportedly moved to the West Side when a neighbor's bantam chickens invaded their vegetable gardens. In 1879, Patrick O'Brien, an assistant postmaster, resided at 39 McBoal Street. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $380,000. The previous owner of record of the property was the Neighborhood Development Alliance Inc. of St. Paul and the current owner of record of the property is Joseph Zar. The Neighborhood Development Alliance, Inc. (NeDA) is a nonprofit community development corporation that was founded in 1989 and is based on St. Paul's West Side. NeDA conducts homebuyer education workshops a year both in Spanish and in English, builds and rehabs single-family homes and duplexes for sale on St. Paul's West Side, and participates in a variety of city and state home rehab low-interest loan programs. Karen Reid is the NeDA Executive Director.

256 George Street West: Built in 1961. The structure is a one story, 1280 square foot, five room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $180,100. The current owner of record of the property is Jorge Luis Silva.

261 George Street West: Built in 1928. The structure is a one story, 1679 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a basement garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William S. Cuff, a physician with an office at 428 South Wabasha Street, and his wife, Edna A. Cuff, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Katherine T. Moos and Valerie J. Arganbright. Valerie Arganbright is the On-air Fundraising and Promotion Manager for Public Radio International, which is associated with Minnesota Public Radio, and represented Minnesota Public Radio on the Minnesota Emergency Alert System Team in 2001. Kate Moos is the editor and producer of "Speaking of Faith," a one-hour public radio show produced by Minnesota Public Radio and distributed nationally by Public Radio International, is a veteran of public broadcasting, with 13 years experience in public radio news as an Minnesota Public Radio News award-winning reporter and in managing editor positions she filled from 1982-1995 at Minnesota Public Radio, holds a Masters of Fine Arts from the Bennington Writing Seminars in Vermont, and is a poet.

264 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 893 square foot, five room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Grogan, an electroplater employed by the John Beissel Company, and his wife, Helen Beissel, resided at this address. William F. Grogan ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $119,900. The current owners of record of the property are Juan Najera and Mary H. Najera.

272 George Street West: Built in 1888. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1604 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Frederick D. O'Rourke (1892- ,) a draftee who was a Private in Company K of the 40th Infantry, who was born at this address, who was a fireman at induction, who had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 6' 1" tall, and was a fireman after discharge, resided at this address. Emmett O'Rourke, the father of Frederick D. O'Rourke, also resided at this address. Mary O'Rourke was the mother of Frederick D. O'Rourke. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emmett/Emmet H. O'Rourke and his wife, Mary O'Rourke, resided at this address. Emmett O'Rourke (1896-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fischer, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005. The property was last sold for $140,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owner of record of the property is Reyna Monterroso Padilla.

273 George Street West: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 834 square foot, six room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided bungalow. World War I veteran Fred D. O'Rourke resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ira Hacklander, a yardman employed by the United Packaging Company, and his wife, Esther Hacklander, resided at this address. Ira Robert Hacklander (1885-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gartzke, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $95,700. The current owners of record of the property are Angela Columb and Josh Columb.

274 George Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1989 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anna Fischer, the widow of Andr. Fischer, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Keller, a marble worker, and his wife, Anna Keller, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $91,500. The current owners of record of the property are Patrick A. Jones and Coleen M. Clish. Coleen Clish was associated with the Minnesota Chapter of the Special Libraries Association in 2005.

279 George Street West: Built in 1926. The structure is a one story, 1348 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Gabriel, a proprietor of a meat market at 285 George Street West, and his wife, Sophie Gabriel, resided at this address. Joseph Gabriel ( -1938,) Joseph J. Gabriel ( -1947,) and Joseph Gabriel ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $117,059. The current owners of record of the property are Angel Montano and Yeisa Martinez. Angel Montano and Yeisa Saenz Martinez are the parents of Alexandra Montano, Gyssell Montano, and Sofia Montano, French immersion school students in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

285 George Street West: Built in 1904; Additional structure built in 1979. The 1904 structure is a two story, 3744 square foot, commercial building. The 1979 structure is a two story, 1152 square foot, commercial building. Morgan E. Anderson (1892- ), a Sergeant, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Erler L. Erlandson, a clerk employed by the Golden Rule, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Joseph Gabriel meat market was located at this address and that Paul Gabriel, a meat cutter employed by Joseph Gabriel, and his wife, Elsie C. Gabriel, resided at this address. Paul W. Gabriel ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Paul Gabriel (1889-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2003. The previous owner of record of the property was Sharon A. East, who resided at 541 Ohio Street and the current owner of record of the property is Specialty Properties LLC, located at 541 Ohio Street.

296 George Street West: Built in 1955. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a basement garage. The current owner of record of the property is Dale E. Klooz and the current owners of record of the property are Dale E. Klooz and Suzanne M. Klooz.

301 George Street West: Built in 1895. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1078 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 federal census indicates that Peter J. Solheid (1886- ,) a clerk employed by a wholesale hardware firm and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Germany and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his wife, Anna M. Solheid (1888- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Poland, his son, Raymond P. Solheid (1910- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Gilbert P. Solheid (1912- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Cecelia B. Solheid (1917- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Deloris M. Solheid (1919- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter J. Solheid, a painter employed by Marius Nielsen, his wife, Ann Solheid, and Gilbert Solheid, a shipping clerk employed by B & G Products Company, all resided at this address. Peter J. Solheid (1886-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kurtz, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $92,500. The current owners of record of the property are Benjamin Murillo and Maria Murillo.

305 George Street West: Built in 1927. The structure is a two story, 2184 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house, with an attached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Oscar Adams, a meat cutter employed by the Otto W. Rohland Company, and his wife, Ella L. Adams, resided at this address. Oscar Leroy Adams ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Michael A. Simerson, who resides in Bloomington, Minnesota.

306 George Street West: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 988 square foot, five room, one bathroom, brick house, with an attached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alice B. Barry, a bookkeeper, George P. Barry, a messenger employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and William J. Barry, a teamster, all boarded at this address and that Patrick F. Barry, a laborer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick F. Barry and his wife, Mary Barry, resided at this address. Patrick F. Barry ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $71,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owners of record of the property are Scott Lillehaug and Amy Lillehaug. The 1930 city directory indicates that William P. Ryan resided at the former nearby 307 George Street West. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

310 George Street West: The property is a vacant lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that James M. Sweeney, a buyer employed by Abr Slimmer, and his wife, Mabel Sweeney, resided at this address. James M. Sweeney ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Koe Yang, who resides at 861 White Bear Avenue.

311 George Street West: Built in 1926. The structure is a one story, 1123 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $153,400. The current owner of record of the property is Zadee M. Belcher. Zadee M. Belcher was a financial supporter of the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota in 2006. Deborah Arndell and Zadee Belcher were members of the Hampden Park Co-op, 928 Raymond Avenue, in 1999. Zadee Belcher was a Benjamin E. Mays Public School Site Council member in 2007.

312 George Street West: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 2764 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, frame house. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. N. Goss resided at this address. The 1894, 1896 and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Sorenson resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Emma Smith (1841-1901,) a widow of Danish extraction who died of apoplexy, resided at this address in 1901. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Kane resided at this address. Judd A. White was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that William J. Coulter, the treasurer of the Gordon Shoe Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richmond J. Gardner, a clerk employed by the Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and his wife, Lena Gardner, resided at this address. Michael Nathaniel Goss (1859-1921) was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, was orphaned as an infant, moved to Minnesota in 1877, was a brakeman for the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba Railway, became a conductor employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, was then a conductor employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, married Jessie Snow at Wheatland, North Dakota, was engaged in the drug business in North Dakota, was the manager of of the Blackwood Bottling Company in 1888, was a Ramsey County deputy sheriff under Sheriff Chapel in 1893, was the St. Paul police chief, appointed by Frank B. Doran, in 1896, and served until 1900, was a Mason, was a member of the Elks Club, was a Knight of Pythias, was a charter member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and was an officer in Division No. 40 of the Order of Railway Conductors. Annual police salaries in 1895 were $3,500 for the chief, $1,400 for the captains, $1,200 for the lieutenants, $1,460 for the mounted lieutenants, $1,000 for the sergeants, $1,260 for the mounted sergeants, $900 for the patrolmen, $1,160 for the mounted patrolmen, and $600 for the police matrons. Between 1880 and 1900, St. Paul's population grew from 41,000 to 163,000. Michael N. Goss ( -1921) died in Ramsey County. James Smith was the stepson of Emma Smith. Richmond James Gardner (1873-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vincent, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Brian H. Miller of 197 Prescott Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph A. Dinzi, a brewmaster employed by the Yoerg Brewing Company, resided at the former nearby 314 George Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joy R. Peterson, a salesman, and his wife, Mollie Peterson, resided at the former nearby 314 George Street West. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

315 George Street West: Built in 1922. The structure is a one story, 1490 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ellen Warren, the widow of James Warren, Erny C. Pfleger, a station manager employed by the Phillips Petroleum Company, and his wife, Mary H. Pfleger, all resided at this address. Ellen Warren ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. Erny Carl Pfleger (1899-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kelstrom, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $104,900. The current owner of record of the property is Lynn M. Johnston. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Sorenson resided at the former nearby 316 George Street West.

323 George Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1111 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Edward McMann resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Samuel P. Spates (1849- ,) an assistant superintendent employed by the city sanitation department and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Kentucky, and his cousin, Lois A. Hancock (1850- ,) a who was born in Illinois to a father who was born in the United States and a mother who was born in New York, both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Brogmus resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward J. Nelson, a train auditor employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Anna S. Nelson, resided at this address. Julius H. Brogmus (1893-1963) was the son of Asmus Brogmus (1849-1936,) originally of the village of Munkebrarup, Flensburg Township, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, and Eliese Christine Moeller (1860-1933), was the founder, president, and chairman of the board of the Minnesota State Bank, was a member of the Pioneer Club of the Minnesota State Bankers Association, was a member of the Elks Lodge #33, was a member of the West St. Paul Kiwanis Club, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Club, was a member of the Osman Temple, the Masons, and was a member of the Optimist Club. Julius H. Brogmus and Myrtle Brogmus had four children, Ruth Brogmus, Dorothy Brogmus, Dyer J. Brogmus, and James Brogmus. Julius H. Brogmus and Myrtle Laura Lee Christians Brogmus (1896-1973) were married in 1917 and both died in Ramsey County. Myrtle Laura Christians was the daughter of Otto Henry Christians (1872-1956) and Bertha Elisabetha Huebner Christians (1876-1904). Dyer J. Brogmus succeeded Julius Brogmus as president of the Minnesota State Bank and his family included three children, Brian Brogmus, Jeff Brogmus, and Mary Brogmus. Samuel P. Spates was a former student of Hamline University when it was located at Red Wing, Minnesota, and was a lumber dealer who resided at 715 Marshall Street in 1907. The current owners of record of the property are W. A. Weigenant and Clara Weigenant. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph E. Johnson, a salesman, and his wife, Myrel Johnson, resided at the former nearby 324 George Street West. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

326 George Street West: Former Leroy Apartments; Built in 1907. The structure is a three story, 7000 square foot, apartment building. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Sorenson resided at this address. World War I veteran Leroy A. Sorenson (1890- ), a Sergeant, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lincoln A. Briggs, a foreman, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Sorenson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Thomas M. Kennealy, the assistant market master employed by the City Market, and his wife, Julia Kennealy (Apartment #1,) Hiram B. Snyder, engineer employed by the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Anne Snyder (Apartment #2,) Alf N. Sorenson, a salesman employed by the Merrill Grear Chapman Company, and his wife, Ingrgrid Sorenson (Apartment #3,) and Harold J. Marvin, a department manager, and his wife, Dorothy Marvin (Apartment #4.) Thomas M. Kennealy ( -1932,) Hiram B. Snyder ( -1934,) and Alfred N. Sorenson ( -1938) all died in Ramsey County. Harold J. Marvin (1901-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kampa, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Keith J. Pederson, who resides at 882 Payne Avenue. [See note for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

327 George Street West: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1519 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Orwin Weeks resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 federal census indicates that Willard W. Ruliffson (1868- ,) a clerk employed by a wholesale merchandise firm and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in New York, and his wife, Emma Ruliffson (1869- ,) who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden, resided at this address and that Martha L. Roe (1853- ,) a widow and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Iowa and a mother who was born in Indiana, her son-in-law, William C. Getty (1884- ,) a machinist's helper employed in a machine shop who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in the United States and a mother who was born in Denmark, her daughter, Mary E. Weeks (1883- ,) who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Iowa, and her granddaughter, Dorothy L. Getty (1906- ,) who was born in Minnesota, also all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ida Cotter, the widow of James Cotter, John E. Buckley, a deputy probation officer, and his wife, Pauline Buckley, all resided at this address. John E. Buckley ( -1938) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is John D. MacDonald. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George Sherriff ( -1923) resided at the former nearby 326 George Street West in 1910. The 1920 city directory indicates that James Cotter, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, resided at the former nearby 328 George Street West. George Sherriff (1843-1923,) the son of John and Anne Kennedy Sherriff, was born in Chatham, Ontario, Canada, was educated in the graded and grammar schools of Canada from 1850 until 1858, was a manufacturer of carriages from 1863 until 1870, emigrated to the United States in 1870, moved to Minnesota in 1870, was a railway official, was engaged in construction work on the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad, married Victoria A. __?__ in 1876, was employed by the Northern Pacific Railway Company in 1871, was subsequently employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad as a station agent, a clerk, apaymaster, a cashier in the local treasurer's office, a cashier in the chief clerk auditor's office, was appointed the assistant auditor of traffic receipts in 1890, was appointed the auditor of passenger receipts in 1906, resided at 352 Pleasant Avenue in 1907, officed at the Northern Pacific Railway Building in 1907, and died in Ramsey County. George Sherriff was an auditor of passenger receipts for the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1910. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

335 George Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2574 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. O'Brien resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Thomas R. Jones (1873- ,) a manager employed by a traffic department and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Wales, his wife, Ellenior Jones (1874- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Wales, and his son, Owen H. Jones (1898- ,) who was born in Illinois, all resided at this address and that Thomas H. Petherbridge (1891- ,) a cattle buyer and the head of household, who was born in Illinois to a father who was born in Illinois and a mother who was born in Germany, his wife, Esther M. Petherbridge (1892- ,) who was born in Illinois to parents who were born in Sweden, and his daughter, Helen F. Petherbridge (1915- ,) who was born in Illinois, also all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin L. Bell, a telephone operator, and his wife, Mollie Bell, resided at this address. Edwin Lee Bell ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $204,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Jerry G. Harper and Carol L. Feiring. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. R. Jones resided at the former nearby 337 George Street West. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elmer B. Cato, a salesman, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred Greer, an assembler employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Nellie Greer, resided at the former nearby 337 George Street West. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

339 George Street West: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 1521 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Jens Anderson (1863-1916,) the husband of Julia Anderson, who was born in Norway to parents born in Norway and who died of chronic myocarditis, resided at this address in 1916. The 1920 city directory indicates that Julia Anderson, the widow of Jens Anderson, boarded at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Julia Anderson (1874- ,) a widow and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Norway, resided at this address and that Christian A. Trygstad (1884- ,) an insurance agent and the head of household, who was born in South Dakota to parents who were born in Norway, his wife, Margaret Trygstad (1884- ,) who was born in South Dakota to a father who was born in Canada and a mother who was born in Ohio, his daughter, Edith C. Trygstad (1915- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Elizabeth J. Trygstad (1916- ,) who was born in Minnesota, also all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Sommers, a trucker employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, his wife, Julia Sommers, and Mrs. Mayme Van Wombeke, a cook, all resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Steven P. Ekeberg and Elaine Ekeberg. [See note for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

340 George Street West: Built in 1950. The structure is a two story, 5354 square foot, apartment building. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $155,000. The current owner of record of the property is Overla Properties III LLC of Richfield, Minnesota.

349 George Street West: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 1914 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Hans Madson resided at this address. Allen Barton and his wife, Esther Barton, resided at this address in 1918 according to the records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12930.) World War I veteran Harold E. Moser (1894- ,) a Second Lieutenant, resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12930) indicate that Allen Barton (1886- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant First Class in Company A of the 118th Engineers, who was born in Two Harbors, Minnesota, had gray eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was an accountant at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a traveling auditor employed by the Soo Line RailRoad after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Esther Barton, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Allen Barton, a travel auditor, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Hans Madsen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hans Madson, an agent employed by the Aetna Life Insurance Company, his wife, Hattie Madson, Lester A. Roloff, an apprentice employed by the Anderson & Hedwall Company, and his wife, Olga E. Roloff, all resided at this address. Harold Erwin Moser (1894-1971) died in Rice County. Lester Arthur Roloff (1907-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hitz, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Shoua Mouanouvu and Mai Xiong Moua and the current owner of record of the property is Mai Xiong Moua. [See note for the Soo Line RailRoad.]

350 George Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1389 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. A. Johnson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Heffernan, Florence K. Heffernan, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and Thomas J. Heffernan, a trucker employed by the Chicago, Minneapolis, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, all resided at this address. John Heffernan ( -1937) and John Heffernan ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. John P. Heffernan (1903-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rong, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $111,000. The current owners of record of the property are Craig A. Armstrong and Diane P. Armstrong. [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for the Chicago, Minneapolis, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.]

356 George Street West: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1288 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Warren H. Bovee, a clerk, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Reberk resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adam E. Reberk, a buyer employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, his wife, Anna Reberk, and Edwin O. Reberk, an apprentice employed by the Great Northern Shops, all resided at this address. Adam Edwin Reberk ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $65,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owner of record of the property is Stacey A. Ringness. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

357 George Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1036 square foot, six room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. K. Coles resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. A. Turpen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stephen A. Turpen, a vet employed by the U. S. Bureau of Animal Industry, and his wife, Iva Turpen, resided at this address. Stephen A. Turpen ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Frank E. Tunison III.

1 George Street East: Riverview Branch Public Library; Built in 1916 (1917 according to the Library) and remodeled in 1989; Charles A. Hausler, original architect, and Cameron & Company, original builder. The structure is a two story, 9028 square foot, library. The current owner of record of the property is the City of St. Paul. The Riverview Branch Library specializes in collecting materials for all ages written in Spanish and has Spanish-speaking staff. The library has 27,567 books and materials in its collection. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places and has been designated a local heritage preservation site. [See note for Charles A. Hausler for 1058 West St. Clair Avenue.]

2 George Street East: Rau-Stronge House/Strong House/Ossian R. Strong House; Built in 1884; Italianate/Stick/Eastlake/Second Empire in style. The structure is a two story, 3351 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Larry Millett reports that the walls of this house are two feet thick, are covered with stucco, and feature brush-hammared quoins in the corners. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. Adam Rau resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Adam Rau and Mr. and Mrs. O. R. Strong all resided at this address. The 1890, 1892, 1894, 1896 and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. O. R. Strong resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ossian R. Strong and Elizabeth S. Strong (1861-1894,) of German extraction who died of consumption, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1894. The 1900 federal census indicates that O. R. Strong (1851- ,) a check clerk and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, his daughter, Florence Strong ( - ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Ruth G. Strong ( - ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Gertrude Strong ( - ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, and his mother, Johanna S. Rau (1824- ,) who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany, all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Johanna Sophia Rau (1823-1906,) the widowed mother-in-law of Ossian R. Strong, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of a cerebral hemorrhage, resided at this address in 1906. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Florence Strong and Ruth Strong, students, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Julius A. Strong (1827-1913,) the husband of Caroline M. Strong, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of pleurisy-bronchopneumonia, resided at this address in 1913. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ruth G. Strong and Gertrude Strong, a clerk employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, both resided at this address. The property was purchased by stone cutter Adam Rau in 1867. In 1884, Rau began constructing the limestone Second Empire house and the neighboring barn, which was completed in 1886. In 1888, Rau sold the property to Ossian Strong for $8,000. Adam Rau ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. According to Larry Millett, in 1886, Adam Rau sold this house to Ossian R. Strong and that Strong worked for one of the large Lowertown St. Paul wholesalers. Adam Rau was a stone cutter and dealer in 1880-1881. Five members of the Rau family worked in the stone business, all living on the West Side, including Nicholas Rau, who was the foreman in Adam Rau's stoneyard. Sauter & Rau was another stone cutting firm in 1880-1881. In 1881, O. R. Strong was a member, with William Bulandi, H. H. Fuller, E. A. Hemenway, J. L. Holman, A. Jobst, J. Minea, George R. Morton, D. McNeill, E. T. Somers, and James Starkey, of the board of directors of the West St. Paul Building Association, Number 1. Osslian R. Strong ( -1922) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $55,500. The current owners of record of the property are Steven E. Peterson and Collette L. Peterson. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places (1975) and has been designated a local heritage preservation site. The 1900 federal census indicates that Julius S. Strong (1827- ,) a farm laborer and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in Connecticut, and his wife, Miranda Strong (1825- ,) who was born in New York to parents who were born in New Hampshire, resided at the nearby former 6 George Street East. [See note for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

21 George Street East: Built in 1947. The structure is a one story, 804 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with two detached garages. The previous owner of record of the property was Robert G. Murray and the current owners of record of the property are Aaron R. Lindgren and Larissa M. Loden.

24 George Street East: Built in 1985. The structure is a two story, 1456 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Marshall L. Brown and Valerie K. Brown.

26 George Street East: Built in 1985. The structure is a two story, 1456 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Richard B. Oni and Tracy L. Oni, who reside in White Bear Lake, Minnesota.

28 George Street East: Built in 1985. The structure is a two story, 1456 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are the trustees of Eugene T. Hughes and Claudia A. Hughes of Shoreview, Minnesota.

33 George Street East: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 4632 square foot, retail building. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roy B. McLeran, a grocer, his wife, Ida McLeran, and Mrs. Bessie Clarke, the widow of Harry Clarke, all resided at this address. The previous owners of record of the property were Mark K. Hulsey and Nancy L. Hulsey, who resided at 806 Holly Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is the Ramsey County 33 George Street E. Land Trust, located at 161 Marie Avenue East.

;

35 George Street East: Built in 1951. The structure is a one story, 1080 square foot, fiveroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with an attached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Mary T. Elizondo.

38 George Street East: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1900 federal census indicates that W. G. Vatke (1869- ,) a foreman employed by a pickle works and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Theresa Vatke (1871- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, and his daughter, Martha Vatke (1897- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank T. Enright, a clerk employed by W. H. Schmelzel Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Adam Schleicher, a cooper employed by the Northern Cooperage Company, his wife, Louise Schleicher, Adam Schleicher, Jr., a laborer employed by Swift & Company, Clemens Schleicher, a laborer, and Louis Schleicher, all resided at this address. Adam Schleicher (1890-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Meyer, and died in Hennepin County. William G. Vatke married Theresa/Theresia Bowers in St. Paul in 1894. Adam Schleicher (1910-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vogel, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $37,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Ernesto F. Lopez, who resided at 44 George Street East, and the current owners of record of the property are Jaime D. Lopez Baeza and Manuel Lopez Rodriguez. [See note for the Northern Cooperage Company for 35 Irvine Park.] [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

44 George Street East: Built in 2004. The structure is a one story, 984 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John B. Ellingson, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter H. Casura, a switchman employed by the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad, and his wife, Pearl Casura, resided at this address. Walter Richard Casura (1897-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Breuer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $2,000. The current owner of record of the property is Ernesto F. Lopez. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad.]

49 George Street East: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1590 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with two detached garages, one a one car garage and one a multiple car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Barbara M. Benedict and Neil R. Benedict.

50 George Street East: Built in 1907. The structure is a one story, 1500 square foot, nine room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry Domnosky, a machinist employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry A. Domnosky resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2003, in 2004, in 2005, and in 2007. Henry A. Domnosky (1874-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Preus, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $225,000. The previous owner of record of the nonhomesteaded property was Arnold Krohn and the current owner of record of the nonhomesteaded property is Chad Theimer, who resides in Eden Prairie, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that John P. Klein, a clerk employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Elizabeth Klein, resided at the former nearby 54 George Street East. John P. Klein (1878-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John Peter Klein (1881-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note for the American Hoist and Derrick Company for 2010 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

56 George Street East: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2343 square foot, eleven room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Maurice F. Hurley, a salesman employed by Bruber, Rude & Johnson, and his wife, Cecile Hurley, resided at this address. Maurice Francis Hurley (1890-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sweeney, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the rental property are Craig D. Deuth and Janet E. Deuth, who reside in Forest Lake, Minnesota.

59 George Street East: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1268 square foot, six room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Carrie Drake, the widow of Fred Dake, resided at the rear of this address and that Emma Drake, a stenographer employed by R. B. Whitacre & Company, boarded at the rear of this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John G. Portz, a squadman with Squad 1 of the St. Paul Fire Department, and his wife, Maude Portz, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $82,300 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Ezequiel Trejo and Isabel Trejo. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 59 1/2 George Street East was vacant.

60 George Street East: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2067 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 federal census indicates that Theodore Wolff (1857- ,) a storekeeper and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, who emigrated to the United States in 1882, and was naturalized, his wife, Margaret Wolfe (1890- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1882, his daughter, Norma Wolfe (1890- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Gretchen Wolfe (1892- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Martha Wolfe (1894- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Martha Wolff, a student, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Louisa Pirkl, the widow of Wenzel J. Pirkl, resided at this address. The property was on the city vacant house list in 2007. The current owner of record of the property is S. Michael Widzins.

61 George Street East: Built in 1926. The structure is a two story, 1248 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herbert E. Richter, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, and his wife, Harriet Richter, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $157,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Ezequiel Trejo and Isabel Trejo and the current owners of record of the property are Andres Ortega Barrios and Mariela Giron Ramirez. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

65 George Street East: Anton W. Mortenson House; Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2317 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, brick house. The 1887 and 1890 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Mortenson and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Mortenson and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1894 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Mortenson and their daughters and Mr. and Mrs. A. O. Wilson resided at this address. The 1896 and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Mortenson and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Willard P. Fales, a foreman employed by the Northwestern Stamp Works, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Berres, an architect, his wife, Isabel B. Berres, and Albert C. Erickson, a barber with a shop located at 29 West Dearborn Street, and his wife, Lenelia Erickson, all resided at this address. Frank James Berres (1905-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tabaka, and died in Ramsey County. Albert C. Erickson ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Aaron N. Petersen and M. J. Petersen.

66 George Street East: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2749 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry W. Meyer (1846-1896,) who died of liver cancer, and Caroline Meyer, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1896. The 1900 federal census indicates that Francis M. Schwartz (1870- ,) a decorator and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Margaret Schwartz (1875- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Ireland and a mother who was born in New York, his daughter, Mary Schwartz (1898- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Frank Schwartz (1900- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline C. Rometsch, the widow of Fred Rometsch, Fred Rometsch, a laborer, Eugene N. Lynch, a parts manager employed by Burch-Wilson Inc., and his wife, Esther Lynch, all resided at this address. Caroline Meyer ( -1916) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Caroline L. Rometsch (1876-1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Carlton County, Minnesota. Eugene N. Lynch (1889-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $76,000. The current owners of record of the property are Renato L. Acesor and Teresita Y. Acesor.

69 George Street East: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2680 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Littfin, a watchman employed by Tilden Produce Company, and his wife, Helen Littfin, resided at this address. Joseph Littfin ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $45,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owner of record of the property is Andrew A. McCue, who resides at 103 King Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that 71 George Street East was vacant.

72 George Street East: Built in 1895. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1470 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1900 federal census indicates that Margaret Burke (1841- ,) the head of household, who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland and who emigrated to the United States in 1875, her son, William Burke (1871- ,) a health inspector who was born in Illinois to parents who were born in Ireland, her son, Joseph I. Burke (1876- ,) a printer who was born in Illinois to parents who were born in Ireland, and her son, Charles S. Burke (1880- ,) a baker who was born in Illinois to parents who were born in Ireland, all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elizabeth Callahan, a teacher at the Douglas School, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roy A. Hammel and his wife, May Hammel, resided at this address. Roy A. Hammel (1889-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Niquette, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary Ann Rasmussen.

75 George Street East: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2680 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lyle Cunningham, a clerk employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Ethelmae Cunningham, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $49,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Shirley Beaty and Beth Beaty and the current owner of record of the property is Beth Beaty. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that John Karl Endress, an 1899 Medical School graduate and a physician and surgeon, resided at the former nearby 77 George Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry Oakley resided at the former nearby 77 George Street East. John Karl Endress (1859-1942) died at the West Side General Hospital of lymphatic leukemia. [See note on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad.]

78 George Street East: Built in 1964. The structure is a one story, 1370 square foot, five room, one bathroom, brick house, with a basement garage. The current owners of record of the property are Israel Molina and Colleen K. Molina.

81-83 George Street East: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2620 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, frame duplex. The 1920 city directory indicates that Arthur W. Epperly resided at 81 George Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Arthur W. Epperly resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gerhard P. Thomas, a cooper employed by the J. T. McMillan Company, and his wife, Eva Thomas, resided at this address. In 1879, Arthur Epperly was a clerk and boarded at the corner of Exchange Street and Chestnut Street. Gerhard Thomas ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $70,000. The current owner of record of the property is Myrna Beltran. [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

82 George Street East: Built in 1921. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1128 square foot, six room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward G. Blaschka, a mechanic employed at the Great Northern Shops, and his wife, Anne Blaschka, resided at this address. Edward G. Blaschka (1898-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mueller, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $63,500. The current owner of record of the rental property is James M. Waters, who resides in Bloomington, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that John C. Kelly, a buyer, and his wife, Rose Kelly, resided at the former nearby 83 George Street East. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

87 George Street East: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2632 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#21565) indicate that Francis Axel Wedoff (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Wagoner in Company A in the A. A. M. G. Battalion, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5 6 3/8" tall, was an assistant payroll clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was an assistant payroll clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad Aud. Disbr. after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Eileen Wedoff, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick J. O'Neill, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, and his wife, Florence O'Neill, resided at this address. Patrick John O'Neill ( -1951) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the rental property is Baker Ford Properties, located at 873 Goodrich Avenue. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

88 George Street East: Built in 1957. The structure is a one story, 840 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $155,000. The current owners of record of the property are Abraham Sandoval Rivera and Elizabeth A. Rivera. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Theodore A. Lienau (1859-1906,) who was born in St. Paul, had parents born in Germany, and died of cancer of the stomach, and Anna E. Lienau, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 89 George Street East in 1906. Theo H. Lienau (1859-1906) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Anna Louise Lienau (1877-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brandli, and died in Hennepin County. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24637) indicate that Mrs. F. E. Jones, the mother of World War I veteran Carl R. Jones, resided at the nearby former 89 George Street East in 1917. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred D. Wright resided at the former nearby 89 George Street East.

98 George Street East: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1612 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Cyril Bujger, a clerk employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Cyril Bujger, his wife, Anna Bujger, and Charles Bujger, a finisher employed by the Minnesota Furniture Company, all resided at this address. Cyril Bujger ( -1939) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The property was on the city vacant house list in 2007. The previous owner of record of the property was Frank Mauricio and the current owners of record of the property are Andrea Lee Mauricio and Frank Mauricio. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

99 George Street East: Built in 1929. The structure is a two story, 2652 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rudolph F. Vollmer (1881-1901,) who was born in St. Paul to parents born in Germany and who died of a hepatic abscess, resided at this address in 1901. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Julia Vollmer (1843-1911,) the wife of Rudolph Vollmer, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of carcinoma of the liver, resided at this address in 1911. World War I veterans Carl F. Bielenberg and Walter R. Bielenberg (1895- ), a Corporal, resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13836) indicate that Walter Rudolph Bielenberg (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Battery A of the 137th Field Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, had grey eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 6' 1" tall, was a record and statistical clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a status clerk employed by the Land Department of the Northern Pacific RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Helena W. Bielenberg, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14929) indicate that Carl Frederick Bielenburg (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 169th Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' 1 1/2" tall, was a salesman at induction, was a salesman employed by the Adam Decker Hardware Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. C. Bielenburg, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles Bielenberg resided at this address and that Karl F. Bielenberg, a salesman employed by Adam Decker Hardware Company, and Walter R. Bielenberg, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Bielenberg, a realtor, his wife, Helen Bielenberg, and George M. Wirtz, a salesman, and his wife, Irma J. Wirtz, all resided at this address. Rudolph Vollmer was the father of Rudolph F. Vollmer. Charles Bielenberg (1869-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George M. Wirtz ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Russell D. Clagett and Barbara L. Clagett and the current owners of record of the property are Eman Yuossefs and Nesseem N. Khalil. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Adam Decker Hardware Company for 1439 St. Clair Avenue.]

100 George Street East: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2340 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, frame house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles D. Jones and Mrs. Ellen Bradley all resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles D. Jones, Mrs. Ellen Bradley, and Richard Bradley all resided at this address. The 1892, 1894, and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Richard Bradley resided at this address. The 1900 federal census indicates that William Knopp (1860- ,) a clerk employed by a machine firm and the head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Edith H. Knopp (1864- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1880, his son, Harold Knopp (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Willie Knopp (1889- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Margurita Knopp (1893- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his son, Lewis Knopp (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Isabel Knopp (1897- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his son, Bernard Knopp (1898- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his mother, Mathilda Flemming (1840- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1880, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence P. Thomssen, a buyer employed by the Cudahy Packing Company, and his wife, Christine Thomssen, resided at this address. Clarence P. Thomssen (1896-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schlieman, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is John T. Peltzer. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sarah W. Conant (1823-1903,) a widow and the mother of William B. Conant, who was born in New York to parents also born in New York and who died of senility, resided at the former nearby 106 George Street East in 1903. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William B. Conant (1857-1920,) the husband of Agnes Conant, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of bladder cancer, resided at the nearby former 106 George Street East in 1920. William B. Conant ( -1920) died in Ramsey County.

107 George Street East: Built in 1968. The structure is a one story, 1058 square foot, four room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a basement garage. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $59,900. The current owner of record of the property is James W. Van Pelt.

111 George Street East: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1926 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph H. Masek, a lawyer and a partner with Abe I. Levy in the law firm of Masek & Levy, and his wife, Lena Masek, resided at this address. Joseph Henry Masek (1879-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Slipka, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Gerald W. Schillinger and Doris M. Schillinger.

117 George Street East: Built in 1964. The structure is a one story, 1087 square foot, five room, one bathroom, brick house, with a basement garage. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $117,150. The current owners of record of the property are Stephen R. Wilson and Lynne Marie Wilson.

125 George Street East: Built in 1922. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1185 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that O. Andrew Tonerud resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are John Mike and Betty L. Mike. The 1930 city directory indicates that Christ C. Jorgenson resided at the former nearby 128 George Street East.

130 George Street East: Built in 1966. The structure is a three story, 21116 square foot, apartment building. Garcia Ramirez resided at this address in 2001. The current owner of record of the rental property is R. D. and J. Realty LLC, located at 2193 Scheffer Avenue.

131 George Street East: Built in 1922. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1025 square foot, five room, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Webber and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles J. Sersen, the vice president-treasurer of the Gopher Stamp & Die Company, and his wife, Ida Sersen, resided at this address. Charles Joseph Sersen (1880-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kubat, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $135,500 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Christopher D. Bjork.

146 George Street East: Built in 1868. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 805 square foot, five room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert A. Hager, a motorman employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Ernestine Hager, resided at this address. Robert R. Hager ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are John Koniszczuk and Henryka Koniszczuk. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

147 George Street East: Built in 1916. The structure is a one story, 1293 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rollin A. Page, a conductor, and his wife, Daysie Page, resided at this address. Rollin Albert Page (1888-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dillon, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $63,500. The current owner of record of the property is Hilario Reynoso. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gustav/Gustaf A. Drews, a baker employed by Jacobsen's Bakery, and his wife, Eleanore Drews, resided at the former nearby 148 George Street East. Gustaf A. Drews (1885-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Andrews, and died in Ramsey County.

151 George Street East: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1289 square foot, six room, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ella Baker, the widow of William Baker, resided at this address and that Jerome W. Baker, a clerk employed by Swift & Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Reubin/Reuben A. Frautschi, associated with J. J. Frautschi & Sons, and his wife, Anna Frautschi, resided at this address. Reuben A. Frautschi (1883-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Buhler, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $101,250. The current owners of record of the property are Ramon Vallejo and Laura Y. Vallejo. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

152 George Street East: Built in 1976. The structure is a one story, 1040 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ferd Beil, a blacksmith located at this address, resided at 98 East Dearborn Street. The current owner of record of the property is John J. Garcia. In 1897, a basement ice box fire occurred at a two story frame structure located at the former nearby 168 George Street East for which A. Stolpestad was the agent. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert Devereaux, a laborer employed by Ward Manufacturing Company Inc., boarded at the former nearby 170 George Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bernard Just, engaged in the hardware business at 108 George Street East, his wife, Salome Just, William J. Bartell, a watchman employed by Griggs, Cooper & Company, and his wife, Leona Bartell, all resided at the former nearby 168 1/2 George Street East and that William H. Berger, his wife, Pearl Berger, and Mrs. Anna Himmelwright all resided at the former nearby 171 George Street East. William Bartell ( -1933,) Bernard Just ( -1934,) William H. Berger ( -1935,) and Anna Himmelwright ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Bernard J. Just (1895-1965) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See the note for the Griggs, Cooper & Company for 901 Euclid Street.]

553 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1984. The structure is a two story, 1456 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold for $153,398 and that sale occurred in 2005. The current owner of record of the property is Tina R. Mendez. World War I veterans Matthew Baker, Mathew Becker, Nick Becker, and Nikolas Baker all resided at the former nearby 540 Gorman Avenue in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#5381) indicate that Nick M. Becker (1894- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in Groupe A Repair Unite #303, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 1/2" tall, was a engine repairer and saddlemaker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Catherin Becker, at the nearby former 540 Gorman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#21001) indicate that Matthew M. Baker (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company A of the 55th Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had light blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8 1/2" tall, was a boat builder at induction, was a boat builder employed by F. W. Dingle after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. N. M. Baker, at the nearby former 540 Gorman Avenue.

555 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1984. The structure is a two story, 1456 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold for $137,900 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Yolanda M. Holman.

557 Gorman Avenue: The structure was built in 1984 and is a two story, 1456 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage that was last sold for $62,000 in a sale that occurred in 1997, with the current owner of record of the property Raul Lluberes.

577 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 844 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Susan Stettner, the widow of George Stettner, Henry Stettner, a fireman, John P. Stettner, a groundsman employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, and Katherine Stettner, a maid employed by the West Side General Hospital, all resided at this address. Mrs. Susie Stettner ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $153,900 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owner of record of the property is Jeffrey P. Bauer. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.]

580 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 936 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, bungalow. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emil E. Kroschel, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Union Depot, and his wife, Julia Kroschel, resided at this address. Emil Edward Kroschel ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $42,000 and that sale occurred in 1995. The current owner of record of the property is Patricia H. Cordero. [See note for the St. Paul Union Depot Company.]

581 Gorman Avenue: The property is currently a vacant lot. The 1900 federal census indicates that John Schnos (1836- ,) a carpenter and the head of household, who was born in Bavaria, Germany to parents who were born in Bavaria, Germany, who emigrated to the United States in 1852, and who was naturalized, his wife, Flora/Florentine Schnos (1837- ,) who was born in Prussia, Germany, to parents who were born in Prussia, Germany, his son, John F. Schnos (1872- ,) a car accountant who was born in Minnesota, his son, Herman Schnos (1875- ,) a telegraph operator who was born in Minnesota, and his son, George Schnos (1879- ,) a fur cutter employed in a coat store who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Bauer and Magdalena Bauer resided at this address. Peter Bauer (1885-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kyser, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the St. Paul Believers Fellowship, located at 580 Humboldt Avenue. Kim Harrington and Rebecca Harrington are the pastors for St. Paul Believers Fellowship, which was founded in 1989 and located at its current address since 2004.

590 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1035 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Catherne Cochran, the widow of Charles Cochran, resided at this address and that Margaret Cochran, the widow of Charles Cochran, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Brill, the widow of John Brill, Arthur A. Brown, a carrier employed by the Daily News Publishing Company, and his wife, Anna Brown, all resided at this address. Arthur Brown ( -1939) and Anna Brill ( -1943) both died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Anthony J. Schwartz and Bryan Litzau and the current owner of record of the property is Bryan Litzau. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Emanuel Evangelical Lutheran School was located at the former nearby 598 Gorman Avenue.

599 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1955. The structure is a one story, 2784 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Deborah M. Luna and Donald J. Luna.

619 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1954. The structure is a one story, 996 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $60,000 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owner of record of the property is Erasto A. Perez.

622 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1942. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1583 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a basement garage. World War I veteran George E. Tischler resided at the former nearby 698 Gorman Avenue in 1919. The property was last sold for $193,500 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Luiz A. Ortiz and Patricia Forestal Ortiz. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert Heyder (1867-1916,) the widower step-father of Mrs. Harry R. Lodge, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of valvular heart disease, resided at the nearby former 683 Gorman Avenue in 1916. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 630 Gorman Avenue was vacant, that Aug Boettcher, a foreman employed by the Northern Cooperage Company, and his wife, Bertha Boettcher, resided at the former nearby 664 Gorman Avenue, that the Munich & Wahler florist shop was located at and Mrs. Barbara Munich, the widow of George Munich and the partner with Charles W. Wahler in Munich & Wahler, florists, resided at the former nearby 666 Gorman Avenue, that Charles Zuanmiller and Edward C. Reetz, a carman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Anna Reetz, all resided at the former nearby 683 Gorman Avenue, that Henry H. Hannover, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Annie Hannover, Otto V. Geiger, a clerk employed by C. E. Geiger, and his wife, Gusta Geiger, all resided at the former nearby 691 Gorman Avenue, that Gerald C. La Bounta, an employee of the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, his wife, Aurelia La Bounta, and George Tischler, a stampmaker employed by the St. Paul Stamp Works, all resided at the former nearby 698 Gorman Avenue, that Reinhart B. Tischler, a reporter employed by Bradstreet Company, and his wife, Mary Tischler, resided at the former nearby 706 Gorman Avenue, that William A. Blenhoff, William E. Lavin, and his wife, Mary Lavin, all resided at the former nearby 707 Avenue, that Mrs. Ludmilla Nothhelfer, the widow of Anthony Nothhelfer, Lawrence Janecek, an automobile electrician employed by the Battery Service Company, and his wife, Gertrude Janecek, all resided at the former nearby 723 Gorman Avenue, and that Fred Burch, a laborer employed by the St. Paul Milk Company, his wife, Mary Burch, and Fred Burch, Jr., a clerk, all resided at the former nearby 733 Gorman Avenue. In 1879, Anthony Nothhelfer, Jr., a cigar manufacturer located at the corner of Fort Road and Duke Street, boarded on Stewart Avenue near Cascade Street and Anthony Nothhelfer, Sr., a laborer, resided on Stewart Avenue near Western Avenue. August Boettcher ( -1931,) George Joseph Tischler ( -1933,) William Lavin ( -1934,) and Ludmilla Nothhelfer ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. Edward C. Reetz (1890-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grosskreutz, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Otto V. Geiger (1898-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County. Gerald Charles La Bounta ( -1951) died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. George Tischler (1893-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hein, and died in Ramsey County. [See note for the Northern Cooperage Company for 35 Irvine Park.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway.] [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.] < [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.] [See note for the St. Paul Milk Company for 234 Ryan Avenue.]

747 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1998. The structure is a one story, 1284 square foot, five room, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with an attached garage. The property was last sold for $105,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Robert S. Trusty and Peggy I. Wilson. The 1920 city directory indicates that James M. Cochrane, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 749 Gorman Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James M. Cochrane (1850-1922,) the husband of Eleanore H. Cochrane, who was born in Ireland to parents born in Ireland and who died of a carcinoma, resided at the nearby former 749 Gorman Avenue in 1922. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gustave Rothi, a laborer, and his wife, Dolida Rothi, resided at the former nearby 749 Gorman Avenue. Gustave Rothi ( -1939) died in Hennepin County.

755 Gorman Avenue: The property is a vacant residential lot. The property was last sold for $194,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owners of record of the property are Inocente Martinez Ramirez and Albina Martinez.

756 Gorman Avenue: Built in 2002. The structure is a 977 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house, with an attached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Cherry R. Williams.

773 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 1624 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Joyce E. Franz.

780 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1888. The structure is a two story, 2032 square foot, eight room, two bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leo Puchleitner, a porter employed by Schunemans & Mannheimers, his wife, Emily Puchleitner, Joseph Dukarm, a laborer, and his wife, Anna Dukarm, all resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Andrew S. Putnam and Lisa Philipson Putnam. [See note for the Mannheimer Brothers for 270 West Seventh Street.]

874 Gorman Avenue: Built in 1951. The structure is a one story, 734 square foot, four room, two bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $65,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the nonhomesteaded property are Jeanette T. Johnson and Richard E. Johnson, who reside at 88 Belvidere Street. World War I veteran Walter R. Berg resided at the former nearby 953 Gorman Avenue and World War I veterans Edwin L. Kastner and Jos. J. Kastner both resided at the former nearby 983 Gorman Avenue in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Abr A. Ablan, a salesman, and his wife, Nancy Ablan, resided at the former nearby 886 Gorman Avenue, that Nelson G. Hambly, a clerk, his wife, Anna Hambly, and Daniel Hambly, a chauffeur employed by Manthe & Miller, all resided at the former nearby 887 Gorman Avenue, that Habeeb S. Malauf and his wife, Nellie Malauf, resided at the former nearby 891 Gorman Avenue, and that Algot E. Kron, a laborer, and his wife, Margaret E. Kron, resided at the former nearby 895 Gorman Avenue. Habeeb Malauf ( -1933) and Abraham Ablan ( -1951) both died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Nelson G. Hambly (1883-1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Algot E. Kron (1902-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dahlin, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota.

356 Hall Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 1584 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank M. Curran, a sugar manufacturer who officed at 289 Cedar Street and a manufacturer's agent who officed at the Endicott Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. M. Curran resided at this address. In 1930, Frank M. Curran was the proprietor of the Mining Auger & Tool Works and resided at the Frederic Hotel. Frank M. Curran ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Robert J. Bejblik and Mary E. Bejblik.

362 Hall Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 1832 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Loren Tyler (1826-1904,) the husband of Mary Tyler, who was born in the United States and who died of senile decay, resided at this address in 1904. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry Dlouhy (1854-1918,) the widowered father of Hattie A. Degman, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of carcinoma of the mouth, resided at this address in 1918. Matthew Giefer and Kathrine Giefer resided at this address in 1918. The 1918 city directory indicates that Miss A. E. Reed, Mrs. Wellington Pennington, and her daughter all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11809) indicate that Joseph Frank Giefer (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in the Headquarters Company of the 161st Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had light brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a clerk employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Kathrine Giefer, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mathew Giefer and his wife, Catherine Giefer, resided at this address. Mathew Giefer ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $79,000 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owners of record of the property are Alexander G. Biehn and Laurie J. Biehn. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

366 Hall Avenue: Built in 1947. The structure is a two story, 1888 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $180,000. The current owners of record of the property are Stephen J. Jordan and Andrea L. Jordan.

369 Hall Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 1950 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Dreves, their daughter, A. P. Dreves, and C. A. Dreves all resided at this address. Alb. P. Dreves was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Albert P. Dreves, the secretary of the H. A. Dreves Company, merchandise brokers located at the Brokerage Building, Carl A. Dreves, the vice president of the H. A. Dreves Company, and Louise M. Dreves, a teacher at the Garfield School, all boarded at this address and that Henry A. Dreves, the president of the H. A. Dreves Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. P. Dreves, C. A. Dreves, Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Dreves and their daughter, and Miss L. M. Dreves all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry A. Dreves, president-treasurer of the H. A. Dreves Company, a food broker officed at the Brokerage Building, his wife, Marie Dreves, Albert P. Dreves, secretary of the H. A. Dreves Company, Carl A. Dreves, vice president of the H. A. Dreves Company, and Louise Dreves, a teacher, all resided at this address. Carl Dreves was a retired St. Paul businessman and his wife, Margaret Dreves, was a high school mathematics teacher in St. Paul and an active supporter of the Saint Paul Area Council of Churches. The Margaret Dreves Scholarship at the Saint Paul Area Council of Churches was set up in 1954 by Carl Dreves in memory of his first wife. Carl A. Dreves (1886-1975) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Margaret M. Dreves (1898-1951), Henry A. Dreves ( -1936), Katharine D. Dreves (1890-1970), and Louise M. Dreves ( -1935) all died in Ramsey County. Carl A. Dreves was a 1911 graduate of a predecessor to the William Mitchell College of Law and his second wife, Katherine Dreves, established a scholarship in his memory at Mitchell in 1978. Carl Dreves and Margaret Dreves established a scholarship fund at Macalester College in 1963, as did Carl A. Dreves and Katharine D. Dreves in 1965. Katherine Densford Dreves established a scholarship fund at the School of Nursing at the University of Minnesota. The Minnesota Nurses Association Foundation was established in 1981 to honor the memory of Katharine Densford Dreves. Katharine Jane Densford Dreves graduated in 1914 from Oxford College for Women and Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, completed a masters degree at the University of Chicago, began teaching history at a high school, studied nursing at the University of Cincinnati School of Nursing and Health, taught at the University of Cincinnati from 1922 until 1925 as Instructor of Tuberculosis Nursing and Public Health Nursing, was Assistant Dean of the Illinois Training School for Nurses and Assistant Director of Nursing Service at Cook County Hospital, was a visiting professor at the University of Florida, was recruited to be the third director of the University of Minnesota School of Nursing in 1930, was the president of the American Nurses Association from 1944 to 1948, led efforts to integrate the American Nurses Association in the late 1940's, participated in the First National Conference on Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization through the United Nations as vice-president of the International Council of Nurses, married Carl Dreves, a St. Paul businessman, in 1959, after her retirement from the University of Minnesota, and was the president of Minnesota Nurses Association, the Minnesota League for Nursing, and Sigma Theta Tau. The current owners of record of the property are Russell L. Settevig and Sandra H. Settevig. Russell Settevig is associated with the Minnesota Chapter of the Society for the Preservation & Encouragement of Barbershop Quartet Singing in America.

370 Hall Avenue: Built in 1951. The structure is a one story, 1451 square foot, six room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1894, 1896, and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Shaw resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Shaw and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Mabel E. Shaw, a 1900 graduate, resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Willis Ross Shaw resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Willis Ross Shaw (1843-1909,) the husband of Maggie Shaw, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of stomach cancer, resided at this address in 1909. The 1930 city directory indicates that Moses G. Toby, the secretary-treasurer of the Quick Service Battery Company, his wife, Victoria Toby, and Nizera Toby, the widow of George M. Toby, all resided at this address. Willis Ross Shaw (1853-1909,) the son of George S. Shaw (1824- ) and Mary Ross Shaw, was born in Boston, Massachusetts, was educated in the common schools of Boston, Massachusetts, and Iowa, was initially employed as a carpenter, contractor, and builder in Davenport, Iowa, from 1870 until 1871, married Margaret Bell of Green County, Pennsylvania, in 1876, was engaged in the retail lumber business in Stewart, Iowa, under the firm name of Gray & Shaw from 1877 until 1880, purchased the interest of his partner and continued in business alone from 1880 until 1886, moved to St. Paul in 1886, purchased property on 368 State Street with William Burns and established the W. R. Shaw Lumber Company, a wholesale and retail lumber yard, operated the W. R. Shaw Lumber Company as a sole proprietor in South St Paul, Minnesota, in 1903, was a member of the board of directors of the South St. Paul, Minnesota, Bank, was a stockholder in the Cloquet Lumber Company of Cloquet, Minnesota, was a Republican, was a Mason, was a Congregationalist, and officed in South St Paul, Minnesota, in 1907. After Willis Ross Shaw's death, Margaret Bell Shaw, a 1900 graduate of the University of Minnesota, operated the lumber yard with two of the Shaw children, Louis F. Shaw and Maybell/Mabel Shaw (Mrs. George T.) Withy. The other Shaw children were George W. Shaw ( -1911,) Sarah Shaw (Mrs. Z. H.) Hutchinson, and Alice D. Shaw (Mrs. Earle H.) Ingalls. In 1914, the W. R. Shaw Lumber Company moved to 133 North Concord Street in South Saint Paul, Minnesota. Louis Shaw operated the company from 1925 until 1953 and purchased the Martin Lumber Company, 217 Como Avenue, and the G. C. Jefferson Lumber Company in West St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1929. In 1953, Maybell Shaw Withy purchased the Company. George Shaw Withy operated the lumber company from 1953 until 1983 and Yvonne Withy, Ann Wald, and G. Todd Withy owned the lumber company after 1983. Mose G. Toby (1893-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Munyer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $176,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Robert John Whitcomb Fossum and Rachel A. Whitcomb Fossum. Robert J. Fossum was a graduate of Gustavus Adolphus College in 1998 and attended graduate school at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, studying geography, in 1999.

373 Hall Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1644 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $75,000. The previous owner of record of the rental property was Sean Moriarty, who resided at 376 Hall Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Eugene William Bobick. Eugene William Bobick was a member of the Henry Sibley High School Class Of 1991.

376 Hall Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1644 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Kellogg resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Rudolph resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Rudolph and E. G. Palmer all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wolf Saba, a grocer with a store at 170 South Wabasha Street, and his wife, Mary Saba, resided at this address. Wolf Saba ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $270,000. The current owner of record of the property is Sean Moriarty and the current owner of record of the property is Jennifer Moriarty.

377 Hall Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 1824 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Nellie M. Pender, a student, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Pender, a watchman employed by the Seeger Refrigerator Company, and his wife, Allen Pender, resided at this address. Michael M. Pender ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Paul Storms and Sally Storms. [See note on John A. Seeger, the Seeger-Gallarch Refrigerator Company, and the Whirpool Corporation for 655-657 East Fifth Street.]

384 Hall Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1708 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Falde (1859-1913,) the husband of Thorina A. Falde, who was born in Iowa to parents born in Norway and who died of acute cardiac dilatation, resided at this address in 1913. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12870) indicate that Mrs. T. A. Falde, the mother of World War I veteran Claus N. Falde, resided at this address in 1918. The 1920 city directory indicates that Aadel M. Falde, a teacher at Trinity Lutheran Parochial School, and Torina A. Falde, the widow of John Falde, both resided at this address and Bertha B. Falde, a stenographer employed by M. Burg & Sons, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Morson, a motorman of the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Ida Morson, resided at this address. Michael Morson ( -1934) and Andrea Thorina Falde ( -1935) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $79,900. The current owners of record of the property are Elizabeth A. Dickinson and Christopher Childs. The Green Party of Saint Paul endorsed Elizabeth Dickinson, a graduate of the the University of Cambridge, England (BA,) and Lesley College, Massachusetts (MA,) co-founder of the "Clean Energy Now" coalition and co-chair of the Environment Committee of the West Side Citizens' Organization, the City's District 3 Planning Council, a member of the St. Paul Bill of Rights Defense Committee, a writer, and an actor, as its candidate for the St. Paul City Council seat in Ward 2 in 2003. Elizabeth A. Dickinson, a lobbyist for Healthy Legacy, is located at this address. Christopher Childs is an author and essayist and is the former national spokesperson for Greenpeace. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold J. Kohler resided at the former nearby 385 Hall Avenue. Harold John Kohler (1897-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clarksen, and died in Ramsey County. Harold John Kohler (1919-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tower, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

387 Hall Avenue: Built in 1923. The structure is a two story, 2246 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that George H. Lathrop, a demonstrator employed by the Minnesota By-Product Coke Company, and his wife, Hannah Lathrop, resided at this address. George Herbert Lathrop (1894-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Blantly, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $106,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owner of record of the property is Ronald J. Stevens. [See note for the Minnesota By-Product Coke Company for 1910 Portland Avenue.]

395 Hall Avenue: Michael J. Bell House; Built in 1890. The structure is a three story, 6184 square foot, apartment building. The 1892 and 1894 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Bell resided at this address. The 1898 and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. L. J. Heberle resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Knut Akerberg, a sculptor working at 193 South Wabasha Street, roomed at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. R. Murname and J. E. Murname all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert I. Flynn, a dentist who officed at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. E. Jasmin resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Anna Marvin, a mender employed by the Elk Laundry Company (Apartment #1,) William Petschauer, a helper employed by the Great Northern Shops, and his wife, Edna Petschauer (Apartment #3,) and Mrs. Grace Kendall, the widow of William C. Hall and an attendant employed by the Sperry Hutchinson Company (Apartment #4.) Apartment #2 was vacant in 1930. Knut Akerberg was a student of Adolf von Hildebrand, who completed a number of sculptural commissions for the Wittelsbach court. Knut Akerberg sculpted, in 1906 and 1907, the tomb of Princess Mathilde of Saxony and Bavaria (1777-1906,) the third daughter of Queen Mary IV and III and the wife of Prince Ludwig of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, which lies in the center aisle immediately in front of the high altar of Peterskirche, the Filialkirche St. Peter und Paul, in the hamlet of Rieden, Bavaria. The tomb is made of red marble and is in the form of a medieval bed-tomb, with a marble figure of Mathilde lying asleep on a low bed and the pillow at her head supported by two putti and with an inscription on the rear side of the pillow facing the altar. Louis Heberle ( -1929) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Annie M. Marvin ( -1932) and Grace Bingham Kendall ( -1933) both died in Ramsey County. William Andrew Petschauer (1899-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stebins, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Daniel B. Lager and Barbara J. Lager.

398 Hall Avenue: Built in 1958. The structure is a one story, 1338 square foot, six room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are William A. Neid and Rosemary H. Neid.

402 Hall Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 2010 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1892, 1894, 1896, and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Watson resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Dwight H. Watson and Mrs. Harriet C. Watson all resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Agnes M. Watson, a member of the church since 1899, Clara (Mrs. D. H.) Watson, a member of the church since 1891, and Harriet C. Watson, a widow and a member of the church since 1874, all resided at this address. Charles P. Ridge was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Harriet Chapman Watson (1822-1912,) the widowed mother of Dwight H. Watson, who was born in Connecticut to parents born in the United States and who died of chronic interstilial nephritis, resided at this address in 1912. The 1920 city directory indicates that Irwin S. Coons, a sergeant in the U. S. Marine Corps, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence E. Ridge, a barber with a shop at 26 1/2 East Fourth Street, and his wife, Margaret Ridge, resided at this address. Dwight H. Watson was a buyer of proprietaries at Noyes Brothers & Cutler for 45 years and retired in 1920. Harriet Chapman Watson ( -1912) and Dwight H. Watson ( -1922) both died in Ramsey County. Clarence E. Ridge (1890-1959) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $92,500. The current owners of record of the property are Mark S. Thomas and John C. Neess. John C. Neess (1925-2007) was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, attended Milwaukee, Wisconsin, public schools, received a doctorate in aquatic ecology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1949, taught in the Zoology Department at University of Wisconsin-Madison, also taught courses at Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory and at Swarthmore College, retired, served on the National Academy of Sciences' committee, "Energy and the Fate of Ecosystems," during the Carter adminstration, was active in the National Association of Gay and Lesbian Elected Officials, moved to St. Paul in 1993 with his partner, Mark S. Thomas, helped to found the Rancocas Conservancy, a watershed-based land trust in the Pine Barrens of South Jersey, served on the staff of the Gay and Lesbian Community Action Council, Accountability Minnesota, and served on the boards of Quatrefoil Library and West Side Safe Neighborhood Council.

409 Hall Avenue: Built in either 1898 or 1886. The structure is a two story, 1976 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George F. Dix resided at this address in 1897. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry C. Smith, a postal carrier employed at the Industrial Post Office Station, and his wife, Catherine Smith, resided at this address. Lorraine Busch and Ed Busch owned the property in 1981. Harry C. Smith (1884-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $74,900. The current owners of record of the property are Douglas A. Geiger, Jr., and Connie J. Geiger.

412 Hall Avenue: Built in 1946. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2202 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Keith V. Besaw.

434 Hall Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 2240 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Schneemann resided at this address. Alfred J. Schneeman (1895- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9194) indicate that Alfred Schneeman (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in the Ninth Company of the First Prov. Trng Reg., 161st Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was an entertainer at induction, was a self-employed lyceum entertainer after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mary Rose Scheeman, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Charles Schneemann, her daughter, and Lambert Schneemann all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose Schneeman, the widow of Charles Schneeman, Raymond Schneeman, a manager, and Alf J. Schneeman, an entertainer, all resided at this address. Charles Schneeman (1858-1920) was born in Germany, married Rose Mary Minea (1868-1940,) and the couple had five children, Alfred J. Schneeman (1895-1935,) Dorothy J. Schneeman (1897-1956,) Raymond J. Schneeman (1899-1968,), Lambert Schneeman (1901-1960,) and Lucy Schneeman Skinner (1905-1986.) Rose Mary Minea was the daughter of Joseph Minea (1842-1900) and Julia Keller Minea (1847-1872.) Joseph Minea (1832- ) was born in Indiana, moved to Minnesota in 1856, was a blacksmith and a wagon maker in 1858, became the partner in business of Michael Eaton in 1867, married Julia Keller (1847-1872) of St. Paul and then married Louisa Harmon (1850- ) of St. Cloud, bought out Eaton and entered into a partnership with his brother in the business in 1871, was a West St. Paul city supervisor in 1874, was a partner with William Mooney in a wagon making and blacksmith shop located at Owatonna Road and Isabel Street in 1879, and became a sole proprietor of the business in 1881. In 1879, Joseph Minea represented St. Paul's Sixth Ward on the city's board of alderman, was a partner with William Mooney in Minea & Mooney, a wagon making and blacksmithing firm located at the corner of Owatonna Road and Isabel Street, and resided on Isabel Street between Hall Avenue and Gale Street. Joseph Minea had ten siblings, Angeline "Anna" Minea (Mrs. August) Jobst (1841-1913,) Catherine "Katie" Minea (1844-1909,) Peter Minea (1845-1931,) Margaret "Maggie" Minea (Mrs. John) Brettner (1847-1942,) John Minea (1849-1916,) Henry Minea (1850-1927,) Elizabeth "Lizzie" Minea (1852-1927,) Jacob "Jake" Minea (1855-1919,) Bernard "Ben" Minea (1857-1938,) and Barbara Minea (Mrs. Albert) Zschocke (1859-1933.) Joseph Minea had seven children, two by Julia Keller Minea, Rose Mary Minea (Mrs. Charles) Schneeman (1868-1940) and Olivia J. Minea (1870-1955,) and five by Louisa Harmon Minea, Katherine "Katie" Minea (1876-1965,) Edward A. Minea (1880-1949,) Henry J. Minea (1884-1965,) Josephine Minea (1876- ,) and Ralph B. Minea (1891- .) In 1895, Joseph Minea was the president of the West Side Bank of St. Paul, which was established in 1886. Lambert Schneeman married Edith R. Fritz (1904-1984) in 1929 and the couple had one child, John L. Schneeman (1929-1992). William Mooney ( -1945) and William M. Mooney ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. William Mooney ( -1923) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are John A. Delvecchio and Anne L. Delvecchio.

440 Hall Avenue: Built in 1932. The structure is a one story, 1123 square foot, six room, two bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $76,500. The previous owners of record of the property were Heidi K. Goar and David W. Godfrey and the current owner of record of the property is Heidi Karon Goar. Heidi Goar was born in Duluth, Minnesota, received a graduate degree in sociology in the early 1990's, taught at Inver Hills Community College for 15 years, moved from St. Paul to New York, New York, in 2008, is pursuing a career as an actor, and has acted in 18 films.

443 Hall Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1174 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. John F. Pickhartz (1891- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob J. Neubrand, a checker employed by the St. Paul Union Stockyards Company, his wife, Bessie Neubrand, a stripper employed by Worch Cigar Company, and Edward Neubrand, a clerk employed by John W. Anderson, all resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Craig M. Lengsfeld and Renee L. Lengsfeld. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Olin B. Lewis resided at the former nearby 444 Hall Avenue in 1900. Olin Bailey Lewis (1861-1936) was a correspondent with Henry Burleigh Wenzell (1853-1936,) the Minnesota Supreme Court reporter, in 1895. Olin Bailey Lewis ( -1936) and John F. "Jay" Pickhartz ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. Jacob J. Neubrand (1885-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note for St. Paul Union Stockyards for 537 Ohio Street.]

446 Hall Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2892 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1898 and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Miner resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Rev. H. J. Minea and E. A. Minea both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James A. Posey, a building contractor, and his wife, Mary Posey, resided at this address. Joseph A. Miner (1912-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Salera, and died in Ramsey County. James Augustus Posey ( -1945) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Lloyd Robert Kottke, Jr., and Kathryn Kottke. Lloyd R. Kottke was the husband of Kathryn R. Berda. Lloyd Robert Kottke graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1954.

449 Hall Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1124 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a basement garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ralph Richardson, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Stella Richardson, resided at this address. Swift & Company was founded by Gustavus Swift (1839-1903,) who was born in Sagamore, Massachusetts, worked in his brother, Noble Swift's, butcher shop in 1853, opened his own butcher shop in 1859 in Eastham, Massachusetts, began meat processing in Chicago, began assembly line carcass disassembly, introduced refrigerator rail cars in 1881, incorporated Swift & Company in 1885 with his brother, Edwin Swift, and developed products utilizing cattle parts previously considered waste. Ralph Robert Richardson ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $69,900 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owner of record of the property is Juana Morales.

465 Hall Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1679 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. J. Sullwood and their daughter resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis J. Sullwold, a manager employed by the Hamm Brewing Company, and his wife, Annetta Sullwold, resided at this address. Louis J. Sullwold ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $107,900. The current owners of record of the property are Glen A. Fiebich and Christina L. Fiebich. Glen Fiebich is a member of the Minnesota Boat Club and is a member of the eight rower skulls. Glen Fiebich was educated as a graphic artist and is a specialist in multimedia technology with Fiebich Consulting. Christina Fiebich completed her doctoral courses and exams in Strategic Communications with a minor in political psychology at the University of Minnesota in 2000 and is a freelance consultant specializing in strategic communication campaigns, interactive media, and research with Fiebich Consulting.

469 Hall Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1152 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $164,900. The current owners of record of the property are Frank W. Schreiber and Robin L. Schreiber.

472 Hall Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1820 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a basement garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred W. Bryant resided at this address. Fred Webber Bryant (1893-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Todd, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004 and in 2005. The property was last sold for $239,000 and that sale occurred in 2005. The previous owner of record of the property was the Office of the Regional Counsel of the United States Department of Veteran Affairs and the current owner of record of the rental property is Charles W. Belcher, who resides at 1069 Argyle Street. Charles W. Belcher is a realtor with Realty Executives Associates, located at 1043 Grand Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank W. Belde, a bookkeeper employed by Joseph Ullmann Inc., resided at the former nearby 481 Hall Avenue, that Julia C. Dewan, a cashier employed by the Authier Company, a ladies wearing apparel, coat, corset, and millinery retailer, boarded at the former nearby 480 Hall Avenue, that Charles A. Ellsworth, a driver, and Jennie Ellsworth, the widow of Charles A. Ellsworth and a maid at Clarendon Hotel, both boarded at the former nearby 482 Hall Avenue, that Mary A. Fahey, the widow of Thomas Fahey, resided at the former 480 Hall Avenue, and that Thomas M. Fahey, a bookkeeper employed by the Lee Livestock Commission Company, boarded at the nearby former 480 Hall Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma Ohmann, Frank Ohmann, a driver, Frederick Ohmann, a driver, and his wife, Mary Ohmann, all resided at the former nearby 473 Hall Avenue, that Nicholas Winkel, a boilermaker employed by the St. Paul Barge & Terminal RailRoad, his wife, Anna Winkel, Herbert C. Winkel, a machinist employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Liby Winkel, all resided at the former nearby 474 Hall Avenue, that George Arthen, a plasterer, resided at the former nearby 480 Hall Avenue, and that Charles A. Ellsworth, a driver employed by the St. Paul Department of Public Works, resided at the former nearby 482 Hall Avenue. Emma Ohmann (1860-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kulenkamp, and died in Ramsey County. Nicholas Winkel ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Herbert C. Winkel (1900-1970) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. [See note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad for 351 St. Clair Avenue.]

490 Hall Avenue: St. Matthew's Parish Center. The Reverend Stephen J. Adrian is the pastor of St. Matthew's Parish. The church was established as a German parish in the 1880's. Martin Bruggemann, a brewer and a non-Catholic, made large donations towards the construction of the parish, where his wife was a member. The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra has performed at St. Matthew's Church.

491 Hall Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2940 square foot, thirteen room, three bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Hall, a buttermaker employed by the Crescent Creamery Company, and his wife, Helen Hall, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Olimpia Kanavati and Louis Kanavati, who reside in West St. Paul. Louis E. Kanavati holds elementary school principal, secondary school principal, and district superintendent licenses from the State of Minnesota Department of Education and is the Area B Superintendent in the Saint Paul Public Schools, Independent School District #625. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward J. Regan resided at the former nearby 493 Hall Avenue. [See note for Crescent Creamery Company for 343 Michigan Street.]

499 Hall Avenue: The property is a tax exempt vacant lot owned by the Church of St. Matthew. Ludwig Kottke and Augusta Kottke resided at this address in 1918. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11793) indicate that Louis G. Kottke (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Aero Service, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 8 3/4" tall, was a chauffeur/butcher at induction, was a chauffeur employed by Herman Ebert after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Ludwig Kottke, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ludvig Kottke resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that St. Matthew's Convent was located at the former nearby 500 Hall Avenue and that St. Matthew's German Catholic Church was located at the former nearby 506 Hall Avenue.

507 Hall Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 6588 square foot, commercial building. The 1918 city directory indicates that Rev. P. M. Jung resided at this address. World War I veteran Andr. B. Rivers resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Rev. P. M. Jung, Rev. R. A. Neudecker, and Rev. George Kaufmann all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. Francis Schaefer resided at this address. Rev. Francis Schaefer was the author of the biographical sketch of Archbishop Joseph Cretin contained in the Catholic Encyclopedia in 1913. The Right Reverend Peter M. Jung ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. Francis J. Schaefer ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the Church of St. Matthew. [See note on Bishop Joseph Cretin for 225 Summit Avenue.]

527 Hall Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2041 square foot, eight room, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Chaput, an attendant employed by the Hamm Ice Company, Eugene Chaput, a janitor, and his wife, Louise Chaput, also a seamstress employed by the St. Paul Tent & Awning Company, all resided at this address. Eugene J. Chaput (1906-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mc Aleer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $245,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Edward E. Hansen, who resided at 892 Ottawa Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Chanprasith Phouthavongsay. Chanprasith Phouthavongsay was the subject of a mortgage foreclosure in Dakota County, Minnesota, in 2009. Chanprasith Phouthavongsay and Rattana Phouthavongsay, husband and wife, were the subject of a mortgage foreclosure in Anoka County, Minnesota, in 2010.

535 Hall Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 3554 square foot, retail building. The current owners of record of the property are the trustees of Joseph J. Leonard and Steven D. Mark, located in White Bear Lake, Minnesota.

543 Hall Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1848 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John J. Verstraete, a partner with Charles A. Fischer in Verstraete & Fischer, grocers, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Verstraete, a grocer with a store located at 567 Hall Street, and his wife, Florence Verstraete, resided at this address. John J. Verstraete (1892-1983) had a mother with a maiden name of Wolten and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $69,388. The current owner of record of the rental property is Charles K. Peterson. The 1900 federal census indicates that Henry Webber (1858- ,) a clerk employed by a dry goods store and the head of household, who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in Switzerland, his wife, Jessie Webber (1856- ,) who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in Ohio, his daughter, Emma Weber (1887- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, his son, David Weber (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his son, Harold Weber (1893- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Donald Weber (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at the nearby former 545 Hall Avenue.

547 Hall Avenue: Built in 1888. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1465 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles A. Fischer, a partner with John J. Verstraete of 543 Hall Avenue in Verstraete & Fischer, grocers, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Fischer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles A. Fischer, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Union Stockyards Company, and his wife, Elizabeth Fischer, resided at this address. Charles A. Fischer (1886-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lang, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $95,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Susan E. Whitt and Eric A. Whitt. [See note for St. Paul Union Stockyards for 537 Ohio Street.]

548 Hall Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1501 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph L. Sever and his wife, Mary Sever, resided at this address. Rudolph L. Sever ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are David E. Johnson and Marjorie J. Johnson. The 1900 federal census indicates that Henry Voges (1862- ,) an umbrella maker and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated in 1888, his wife, Mary Voges (1859- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated in 1888, his daughter, Minnie Voges (1883- ,) a who was born in Germany, his daughter, Frida Voges (1887- ,) a who was born in Germany, and his daughter, Fredericka Voges (1889- ,) a who was born in Germany, all resided at this address.

556 Hall Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a one story, 967 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame bungalow, with an detached garage. The 1900 federal census indicates that John Moehn (1851- ,) an egg candler and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, and his son, Benn Moehn (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota, both resided at this address. The property was most recently sold in 1997 and the sale price was $72,000. The current owner of record of the property is Elana Manole.

557 Hall Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1762 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with an detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Bonita Clairmont and James M. Clairmont. James Clairmont is a Board Member at the Make A Wish Foundation of Minnesota and is the President of the Clairmont Financial Group, LLC.

560 Hall Avenue: Built in 1883. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 2100 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Hanna W. Falck, the widow of Axel Falck, resided at this address and Alice M. Falck, a music teacher, Carl Falck, an insurance agent, and Walter R. Falck, an inspector, all boarded at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Rafael Fuentes and Raquel Fuentes, who reside at 133 Congress Street East.

566 Hall Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2074 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided duplex, with an detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Ruthelle W. West, who resides at 916 Hague Avenue. Ruthelle West held an elementary education teacher's license from the State of Minnesota from 1989 until 1994. Ruthelle West was a stepchild of Rev. Edward "Eddie" David Chappelle (1895-1978,) an African Methodist Episcopal Church minister.

570 Hall Avenue: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 2760 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Volkmeier resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Sviatoslav Mirza, who resides at 572 Hall Avenue. Sviatoslav Mirza was a Parish Council Trustee at St. Catherine's Ukrainian Orthodox Church in Arden Hills, Minnesota, in 2005 and was an organizer of the Minnesota Chapter of the Children of Chornobyl Relief Fund. Sviatoslav Mirza is currently the president of the parish council of St. Katherine Ukrainian Orthodox Church. Sviatoslav Mirza was a 2006 inductee into the United States Adult Soccer Association.

488 Humboldt Avenue/Former 488 Goff Avenue: Built in 1928. The structure is a four story, 11369 square foot, funeral home. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Devlin-Tosney Funeral Home was located at this address. John J. Devlin was a partner with Henry M. Devlin and Thomas W. Tosney in the Devlin-Tosney Funeral Home, located at this address. The funeral home has been local family owned and operated since 1911, first as the Devlin-Tosney Funeral Home, then the Devlin Funeral Home, and later, the Devlin-Bradshaw-Hauge Funeral Home. Jim and Jayne Bradshaw have owned a set of funeral homes since 1972. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Devlin and his wife, Margaret Devlin, resided at 163 Robie Street West. The current owner of record of the property is the Bradshaw Group, Inc., located at 1078 Rice Street.

497 Humboldt Avenue/Former 497 Goff Avenue: St. Matthew's School. Built in 1956. The structure is a two story, 20874 square foot, church school. The current owner of record of the property is Stephen J. Adrian, who resides at 10 Winifred Avenue West. Rev. Stephen J. Adrian is the pastor of St. Matthew's Catholic Church, has served for over 35 years in inner city ministry, has a particular interest in the creation of the encyclical, "Pacem in Terris", and its legacy upon the Catholic Church's mission in the modern world, and joined one-quarter of the priests of the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis in 2003 in signing a letter to Bishop Wilton Gregory, then the president of the U. S. Bishops Association, that called for a discussion of optional celibacy for Roman Catholic priests. Beth Behnke is the Director of Education and Formation for the school.

500 Humboldt Avenue/Former 500 Goff Avenue: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 1694 square foot, eight room, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ida Ohmann, Edna Ohmann, a clerk employed by the Marquette Manufacturing Company, and Laura E. Ohmann, a student at Nichols Expert School, all resided at this address. Ida Anna Ohmann (1890-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Krech, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Jean C. Froehle. Jean Froehle (1935- ) was a 1949 graduate of the St. Matthew Parish School. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that August Wichert and Olga Wichert, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 501 Goff Avenue/Humboldt Avenue in 1900. Olga Wichert ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Marquette Manufacturing Company for 456 Ohio Street.]

508-512-516 Humboldt Avenue/Former 508-512-516 Goff Avenue: The ten acre facility is a seven unit nursing home complex, with one unit built in 1960, two built in 1962, one built in 1965, one built in 1967, one built in 1975, and one built in 1980. The structures range from one story to five stories and range from 1320 square feet to 117,257 square feet. The 1991 St. Paul's on-the-Hill Episcopal Church directory indicates that Margaret Stanchfield resided at 514 Humboldt Avenue. The current owner of record of the property is the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation. The Rarig Campus contains 120 federal Housing and Urban Development-subsidized apartments located at 516 Humboldt Avenue and 82 affordable fixed-rate apartments at 508-510 Humboldt Avenue and provides affordable, service-enriched housing for older adults and younger disabled persons. The Rarig Campus also houses a long-term elder care facility operated by HealthEast and a senior health clinic operated by the University of Minnesota. Jane Bicker is the Housing Manager.

513 Humboldt Avenue/Former 513 Goff Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1744 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, asbestos-sided duplex, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred B. Desch, a clerk employed by the law firm of Davis, Severance & Morgan, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ernest Hadlich, a furrier, his wife, Margaret Hadlich, Felix E. Neveu, a laborer employed by the Villaume Box & Lumber Company, and his wife, Victoria Neveu, all resided at this address. Ernest Hadlich (1874-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lerchner, and died in Ramsey County. Ernest Hadlich (1904-1990) had a mother with a maiden name of Giese and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $62,001. The current owners of record of the property are Anthony M. Luna and Denise D. Luna. Anthony M. Luna (1954- ) was born in St. Paul, fathered a daughter, Tania Maria Luna (1977- ,) and owns Luna Maintenance, a commercial business maintenance company, with Denise D. Luna. Denise Diane Winge (1957- ) was born in 1954, was a substitute K-12 teacher for Independent School District No. 197 in 1962, met Anthony M. Luna in 1968, and the couple had two children, Tracy Margaret Winge (1974- ) and Mark Gregory Winge (1977-1977.) Denise Diane Winge was the twin of Dennis Dean Winge. [See note on Eugene Villaume and the Villaume Box & Lumber Company for 123 Isabel Street West.] [See note on Cordenio A. Severance for 710 West Linwood Avenue.]

519 Humboldt Avenue/Former 519 Goff Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 2782 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Martin J. Jay resided at this address in 1919 and World War I veteran Francis A. Wedoff resided at 5 Tilton Street in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Francis J. Beaurline, a painter, resided at this address and that Gertrude T. Fandel, a clerk by the Minnehaha Dry Cleaning & Dyeing Company, and Peter Fandel, a clerk employed by Field Schlick & Company, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Francis A. Wedoff, a chief clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Eileen Wedoff, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2003. Francis Axel Wedoff (1895-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are David J. Diaz and Sarah Lee Diaz. The 1920 city directory indicates that Andr B. Desch, a clerk employed by the Booth Fisheries Company, Conrad Desch, a clerk employed by the Merchants National Bank, and Myra Desch, a stenographer employed by the Merchants Trust & Savings Bank, all boarded at the former nearby 521 Humboldt Avenue and that Hanna Desch, the widow of Oscar Desch, resided at the former nearby 521 Humboldt Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Oscar Desch, a foreman employed by the Railway Express Agency, and his wife, Jeanette Desch, resided at the former nearby 521 Humboldt Avenue. Oscar B. Desch (1890-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wilson, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the Railway Express Agency for 248 Banfil Street.] [See note on the Field, Schlick & Company for 670 Goodrich Avenue.]

525 Humboldt Avenue/Former 525 Goff Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1279 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter H. Furth, a mapper employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, and his wife, Mary D. Furth, resided at this address. Peter H. Furth ( -1951) died in Brown County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $116,900. The current owner of record of the property is Julie A. Stariha. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.]


Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

Information also was used from Murphy, Patricia A., Historic Sites Survey of Saint Paul and Ramsey County, 1980-1983, Ramsey County Historical Society and the Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Commission, 1983.

Last Modified: August 10, 2011.