Thursday Night Hikes: St. Paul West Side Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 1

St. Paul West Side Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: September 30, 2003

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles and the residents of specific structures located along the hike:

7 Congress Street West: Built in 1915. The structure is a one story, 886 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles D. King, a salesman, and his wife, Frances A. King, resided at this address. Charles Dwight King ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $50,000. The current owners of record of the property are James C. Cullington and Margaret R. Cullington.

15 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 970 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anna Boedingheimer, a machine operator employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, Inc., and John F. Fenlon, a department manager employed by the Elite Laundry Company, both boarded at this address and that Daniel A. Cassidy, an engineer employed by West Publishing Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred W. Tucker, a salesman employed by the Northern States Power Company, and Henry/Harry W. Tucker, a porter employed at the Northern Pacific Railway Building, both resided at this address. Henry W. Tucker ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Patrick K. Rasmussen and Robyn L. Rasmussen. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Lulu Davis, the widow of George Davis, resided at the former nearby 17 Congress Street West. Lulu L. Davis ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey Inc. for 136 Western Avenue North.] [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

20 Congress Street West: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2109 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with two detached garages. The 1895 city directory indicates that Willis F. Pease was a clerk with the Northern Pacific RailRoad and resided at this address and that Frank H. Pease was a clerk with the Northern Pacific RailRoad and boarded at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Pease resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Newell resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Milne resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lee D. Beamer, a clerk, Edward E. Beamer, Claude J. Longendyke, a salesman employed by the Cherry-Burrell Corporation, and his wife, Vera Longendyke, all resided at this address. William W. Newell ( -1906) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Webb, and died in Nobles County, Minnesota. Lee De Vere Beamer ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Claude James Longendyke (1888-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Carley, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $68,500. The current owner of record of the property is Tara M. O'Brien.

23 Congress Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1531 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arnold L. Waldt, a manager employed by Mrs. A. D. Waldt, and Anna Waldt, the widow of Arthur E. Waldt (1861-1930) and a rug manufacturer with a shop located at 285 West Seventh Street, both resided at this address. Arnold L. Waldt (1893-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lenhard, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Roberta Casey and Steve Conery.

24 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2650 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, frame house. The 1895 city directory indicates that Louis H. Naumann, a deputy clerk for the District Court, and Orrison S. Boston, a grocer at 20 Isabel Street East, both resided at this address and that Mable Boston, a clerk at West Publishing Company, and Nettie Boston, a clerk at West Publishing Company, both boarded at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Naumann and Mr. and Mrs. O. S. Boston resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. S. Boston and Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Keller all resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. S. Boston resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Orison S. Boston, a clerk with the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address and that Walter J. Boston, a rodman with the Northern Pacific RailRoad, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Guethert, a weaver employed by the Twin City Iron & Wire Company, and his wife, Charlotta Guethert, Mrs. Elna Norman, the widow of Einar Norman, Dyra Norman, Irma L. Norman, a timekeeper employed by McGill-Warner Company, Joseph W. Mills, a driver employed by Jameson-Hevener Company, and his wife, Clara Mills, all resided at this address. Lawrence Naumann (1917-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Naumann, and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Orrison S. Boston ( -1912) died in Ramsey County. Mabel Adelia Boston ( -1945) died in Faribault County, Minnesota. Elna S. Norman (1883-1974) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Joseph W. Mills ( -1939) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $225,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Linda J. Alter, who resides at 1550 Hague Avenue. Linda J. Alter is a realtor. In 1903, James Posey was a clerk employed by the American Grass Twine Company/Crex Carpet Company of New York, New York and resided at the nearby former 25 Congress Street West. [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

28 Congress Street West: The property is a vacant lot. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Heimbach resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Edward J. Heimbach ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Linda J. Alter, who resides at 1550 Hague Avenue. Linda J. Alter is a realtor.

30 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1762 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Ollie Thompson was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15556) indicate that Carl Robert Lehman (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Wagoner in the Headquarters Company of the Fifth Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had dark brown eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 3" tall, was a sheet metal worker at induction, was a sheet metal worker employed by Joseph Haag Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. F. Lehman, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Hilger, a laborer employed by the St. Paul Department of Public Works, and his wife, Eva Hilger, resided at this address. Peter Hilger ( -1937) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Peter John Hilger ( -1953) died in Stearns County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Peter J. Paszkiewicz and Michael L. Savolt. Peter J. Paszkiewicz is an Enrolled Agent, a person licensed by the federal Internal Revenue Service who is able to serve as a representative of a taxpayer before the federal tax agency, with a business at 1718 Clinton Avenue in Minneapolis. Michael Savolt is the president of Tax Management Services, Inc., a financial planning and accounting firm in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

35 Congress Street West: Built in 1934. The structure is a two story, 1712 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $77,000. The current owners of record of the property are Holly Schultz and John Wills.

46 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 720 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Delphine McBride, a fitter employed by the Golden Rule department store, and Perry McBride, a clerk employed by North West Fuel Company, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $62,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kathleen M. Lasley. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.] [See note on the NorthWestern Fuel Company for 1322 West Osceola Avenue.]

50 Congress Street West: Built in 1976. The structure is a one story, 976 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The current owner of record of the property is the St. Paul Public Housing Agency. [See note on the St. Paul Public Housing Agency for 325 Laurel Avenue.]

56 Congress Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1156 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frieda Guldan (1864-1918,) the wife of Joseph Guldan, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who died of cerebral hemorrhage, resided at this address in 1918. The 1930 city directory indicates that William P. Morris, a salesman, and his wife, Katherine Morris, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $58,000. The current owners of record of the property are Mee Ja S. Moore and Michael R. Moore.

62 Congress Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 6240 square foot, condominium building. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Estella Strong (1875-1911,) the wife of Fred Strong, who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in the United States and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1911. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Matilda McElroy (1846-1913,) the widowed mother of John H. McElroy, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of carcinoma of the breast, resided at this address in 1913. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Steube and Henry H. Olson all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Irene C. Contors, a stenographer employed by J. A. Heberlein, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Steube and their daughter and Mr. and Mrs. O. J. Wicht all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were George J. Miller, a barber, and his wife, Elsie A. Miller (Apartment #1,) Alon Warren (Apartment #2,) Reinhold Steube, a machinist, and his wife, Frieda Steube (Apartment #3,) and Fred B. Warner (Apartment #4.) Reinholt/Reinhold Carl Steube and Freida Koegler Steube were the parents of Florence Teresa Steube (1902- ), who married Raymond Despard, and Reinholt W. Steube, M.D. (1904-1989,) also known as Ronald Steube, who was married to Helen Steube, and the couple had a son, Richard Ronald Steube (1935-1997), who lived in Fond du Lac and Appleton, Wisconsin. Richard Ronald Steube married Ruth Joan Rehbein and the couple had a son, Ronald Scott Steube. Reinhold Steube ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. George J. Miller (1904-1991) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schlavin, and died in Ramsey County. Alon L. Warren (1898-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lake, and died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Jerry J. Thoreson, who resides in West St. Paul, Minnesota.

68 Congress Street West: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1582 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1892 and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. L. M. Bevans resided at this address. The 1895 city directory indicates that Lowell M. Bevans was a foreman for the Minnesota Type Foundry and resided at this address and that Alice E. Bevans, a clerk, and Theodore Bevans, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, both boarded at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. M. Bevens resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. M. Bevens and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Augusta E. Bevans, the widow of Lowell M. Bevans, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Carroll, a salesman, and his wife, Grace Carroll, resided at this address. Alice Marie Bevans (1902-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kirby, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Patricia A. Meyer. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

69 Congress Street West: Built in 1903. The structure is a two story, 3265 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with an attached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Moosbrugger resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Moosbrugger and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert G. Moosbrugger, the secretary of the Villaume Box & Lumber Company, and his wife, Rose E. Moosbrugger, resided at this address. Albert G. Moosbrugger ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $235,000. The current owners of record of the property are Michele B. Bassett and Bart C. Richardson. [See note on Eugene Villaume and the Villaume Box & Lumber Company for 123 Isabel Street West.]

74 Congress Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 2320 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Andres resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herman J. Andres, the superintendent of E. Sundkvist & Company, and his wife, Agatha E. Andres, and Fred C. Gautschi, a foreman employed by the Golden Rule department store, and his wife, Freda Gautschi, all resided at this address. Herman J. Andres (1883-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bost, and died in Ramsey County. Frederick C. Gautschi (1885-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hunzicker, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Linda M. Smith and Thomas C. Smith. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

76 Congress Street West: Built in 1893. The structure is a one story, 842 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Clyde Duncanson, a helper, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Kimball, a yardman employed by the St. Paul Union Stockyards Company, and his wife, Florence Kimball, resided at this address. Louis Kimball (1906-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of French, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005. The property was last sold for $170,000 and that sale occurred in 2006. The previous owners of record of the property were Diana M. Lopez and Jose P. Lopez and the current owner of record of the property is Ellen Parker.

79 Congress Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 2648 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#33495) indicate that James Michael Sweeney (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company I of the 61st Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was a cattle salesman at induction, was a cattle salesman employed by the National Cattle Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Mable Sweeney, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Theophilus L. Robey, a foreman employed by the Villaume Box & Lumber Company, his wife, Jessie Robey, Esperance Robey, a teacher, and Ole T. Larson, a cooper employed by Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Lena Larson, all resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are John W. Dee and Patricia J. Dee. [See note on Eugene Villaume and the Villaume Box & Lumber Company for 123 Isabel Street West.] [See note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.]

81 Congress Street West: Built in 1887. The structure is a one story, 816 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph McMorrow, a steamfitter employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Minnie McMorrow, resided at this address. The previous owner of record of the property was Jesse J. Norring and the current owners of record of the property are Jesse James Norring and Kerri Ann Norring. Jesse Norring was born in Pine City, Minnesota, attended the Pine City, Minnesota, public schools, and is employed by Straight Line Flooring in Stillwater, Minnesota. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

84 Congress Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 2420 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Moshofsky resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Imig and Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Beck all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter E. Stenger, a carpenter, and Lucretia Schroer, a teacher at the Mechanic Arts High School, both resided at this address. Peter E. Stenger ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Dorothy Spohach and the current owner of record of the property is Valerie Ann Castor.

85 Congress Street West: Built in 1888. The structure is a two story, 1756 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John William Boxell and Mary Shaw Boxell (1826-1895,) who died of gastroenteritis, resided at this address in 1895. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Richard Henry Boxell resided at this address in 1902. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Richard Henry Boxell (1851-1914,) the husband of Nellie Montague Boxell, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of angina pectoris, resided at this address in 1914. John T. Montague, the father of Frank M. Montague, resided at this address in 1917. World War I veteran John Montague resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Nellie Boxell, the widow of Richard Boxell, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nellie Boxell, the widow of Richard H. Boxell and a dressmaker, Edward J. Ryan, a salesman employed by the Northwestern Commission Company, and his wife, Catherine Ryan, all resided at this address. Richard Henry Boxell, the son of John William Boxell and Mary Shaw Boxell and the grandson of William Boxell and Sarah Neel Malone Boxell, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfather William Neel of the Virginia Continental Line during the Revolutionary War. John William Boxell (1824-1899,) the son of William Boxell ( -1853) and Sarah Malone Boxell ( -1871,) was born in Richhill Township, Muskingum County, Ohio, graduated from the McIntyre Academy of Zanesville, Ohio, was a Lieutenant of the Ohio State Militia, was the author of Scientific knowledge: Being an Epitome of Mathematics & Astronony, published by Parke & Bennett in Zanesville, Ohio, in 1846, married Mary Shaw (1824-1895,) the daughter of James Shaw and Jane Abell Shaw, in 1848 in Zanesville, Ohio, moved to Minnesota in 1854, farmed and raised fruit in Afton, Washington County, Minnesota, organized a school at which he taught for 30 years, founded the St. Croix Valley Academy, served in Company D of the Third Minnesota Regiment during the American Civil War, was a member of the Minnesota Horticultural Society, was a regular exhibitor at the Minnesota State Fair, was initially a Whig and then was a Republican, moved to St. Paul in 1885, was a member of the Knights Templar, was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution, contributed to the Northwest Magazine, and was buried in Oakland Cemetery. John William Boxell and Mary Shaw Boxell were the parents of 11 children, William Abell Boxell M. D. (1849-1902,) Richard Henry Boxell (1851-1914,) Robert Joseph Boxell (1853-1914,) James Shaw Boxell (1855-1927,) Sarah Boxell (Mrs. Samuel Link) Hess (1857-1931,) John Malone Boxell (1858-1908,) Jane Boxell (Mrs. Peter William) Van Gorder (1860-1893,) Edward Carty Boxell M.D. (1863-1952,) Charles Ambrose Boxell (1866-1936,) Elizabeth Boxell (1869-1869,) and Mary Boxell (1869-1869.) Richard Henry Boxell was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, moved with his parents to Afton, Minnesota, graduated from the St. Croix Valley Academy, married Nellie Montague of Elma, Iowa, in 1895, and was employed by the U. S. Postal Service. Edward Carty Boxell (1863- ,) the son of John William Boxell and Mary Shaw Boxell, was born in Afton, Minnesota, was educated in the Afton, Minnesota, common schools, graduated from the St. Croix Valley Academy, Afton, Minnesota, attended the Duluth, Minnesota, Yale School, read the law in the offices of Cushman Davis for one year, graduated from the medical department of Hamline University, graduated from the Minneapolis College of Physicians and Surgeons, graduated from the Minnesota College of Pharmacy, was a health officer in Buffalo, Minnesota, from 1892 until 1893, practiced medicine and pharmacy in St. Paul Park, Minnesota, from 1893 until 1897, practiced medicine and pharmacy in St. Paul after 1897, married Mary E. Hess (1876- ,) the daughter of Samuel Hess, in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1902, resided at 408 Carroll Street in 1907, officed at 337 Wabasha Street in 1907, was a Republican, was an honorary member of the Anthological Society of London, England, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the National Geographical Society of Washington, D. C., was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Medical Society, and was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Society. Nelle Jones Boxell (1886-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cofer, and died in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota. Edward Joseph Ryan ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Terry Lee Forss and James B. Lotzer and the current owner of record of the property is Wingspan Life Resources, located in Little Canada, Minnesota.

86-88 Congress Street West: Southward Double House; Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 3290 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10387) indicate that Victor Frederick McGrorty (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in Company L of the 54th Pioneer Infantry, who was born in Minneapolis, had gray eyes, light brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse Argonne, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Marie McGrorty, at 88 West Congress Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary E. Burns, the widow of William Burns, boarded at this address and that Alb W. Crocker, a copy reader employed by the Dispatch and Pioneer Press, boarded at 88 West Congress Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Burns, the widow of William Burns, resided at 86 Congress Street West and that 88 Congress Street West was vacant. William H. Burns (1840-1899) was born in New York, served in the Ninth New York Regiment during the Civil War, settled in St. Paul in 1886, was engaged in the lumber business, and died in St. Paul. William M. Burns (1877- ,) the son of P. Burns and Sarah E. McCrossin Burns, was born in Waverley, Iowa, was educated in Iowa public schools, was employed by the Great Northern Pacific RailRoad from 1894 until 1897, was employed by Forman, Ford & Company, a paint and glass company in Minneapolis, from 1897 until 1900, was the manager of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company in St. Paul after 1900, married Gertrude A. Starbird in 1903, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the U. C. T., was a member of the Knights of Columbus, and served in the Minnesota National Guard for three years. The company that would become Forman, Ford & Company was established by W. E. Steele, J. W. Birdwell, and Theo, Ford in 1883 as a glass jobbing company, replaced J. W. Birdwell with F. B. Forman in 1884, was renamed Steele, Forman & Ford, had Theo. Ford ( -1885) replaced by his brother, F. D. Ford, in 1885, had W. E. Steele sell his interest in the company to Frank W. Forman in 1886, changed its name to Forman, Ford & Company, began manufacturing leaded stained glass and beveled plate glass in 1887. In 1892, F. D. Ford sold his interest in the company to F. B. Forman and Frank W. Forman. A. K. Clerihew was the traffic manager of the Forman, Ford & Company in 1904. Lee A. Potter, Jr., was associated with Forman-Ford & Company in 1951 and that Albert T. Thoreen was associated with Forman, Ford & Company in 1954. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $195,000. The current owners of record of the property are Julie M. Duckstad and Jason M. Ross. Julie M. Duckstad received a bachelor's degree from Colorado College in 1993, received a law degree from William Mitchell College of Law in 1997, and practices real estate law with the law firm of Lindquist & Vennum. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on A. E. Clerihew for 2305 Park Avenue South.] [See note on the Knights of Columbus for 1943 Summit Avenue.]

89 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1218 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred W. Stoll, a repairman employed by Howard Furwell & Company, his wife, Dorothy Stoll, Frederick A. Stoll, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and Helmuth R. Stoll, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, all resided at this address. Fred W. Stoll (1861-1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is James F. Stoll. [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

93 Congress Street West: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 1104 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1895 city directory indicates that Emil Greget was the manager of the Ramsey County Abstract Company and resided at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. Greget resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lanty F. Walsh, an engineer employed by the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad, and his wife, Cecelia Walsh, resided at this address. Lanty Francis Walsh (1896-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ryan, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $56,000. The current owners of record of the property are Antonia Martinez and Luis Martinez. [See note for the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad.]

94 Congress Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1620 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank A. Benz, an engineer employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at this address and that Frank E. Benz, a student, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Christina Pfeiffer, Florence Pfeiffer, a clerk, Joseph Pfeiffer, a clerk, and Leo Pfeiffer, a printer, all resided at this address. Christina Marie Pfeiffer ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $240,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The previous owners of record of the property were Madeline Escareno and Rogelio Escareno and the current owners of record of the property are Amanda D. Holly and Cameron Holly. The 1902 Central Presbyterian Church directory indicates that Wesley M. Mason and Mabel Mason resided at the nearby former 98 Congress Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Posl, a painter, and his wife, Theresa Posl, resided at the former nearby 98 Congress Street West. John Posl ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. [See note for the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad.]

99 Congress Street West: Built in 1923. The structure is a two story, 2404 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Neher, the widow of Frederick Neher, Arthur Neher, Frances Neher, a clerk employed by Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, Clarence W. Gray, secretary of the Gray Milling Company, and his wife, Helen Gray, all resided at this address. Anna Neher (1867-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Neudus, and died in Ramsey County. Clarence W. Gray (1904-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Walker, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Carol Ann Anderson and Richard O. Anderson. [See note on the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company for 1730 Portland Avenue.]

104 Congress Street West: Built in 1888. The structure is a one story, 1037 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur L. Spitz, a foreman employed by the Soo Line RailRoad, his wife, Mary Spitz, Arthur P. Spitz, a trucker, and Florence Spitz, a clerk, all resided at this address. Arthur L. Spitz ( -1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Stearns County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $149,700. The previous owners of record of the property were Debra Barr and Richard Joseph Barr and the current owner of record of the property is Rebecca L. Nilsen. [See note for the Soo Line RailRoad.]

106 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 810 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Schabert, the widow of William Schabert and a seamstress employed by Martin Geisen, Mildred Schabert, a clerk employed by Webb Publishing Company, and Myron Schabert, a clerk, all resided at this address. Mary Schabert ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $90,000. The current owner of record of the property is Graciela Mendez.

109 Congress Street West: Built in 1887. The structure is a two story, 2134 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur R. Mattil, a clerk employed by the Railway Express Agency, Clara B. Mattil, a stenographer employed by W. F. & R. W. Moritz, Henry Mattil, a watchman employed by the Model Laundry Company, his wife, Katherine Mattil, and Herman Mattil, an engineer, resided at this address. Henry Mattil ( -1939) and Henry W. Mattil ( -1948) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Chia V. Yang and Pang Xiong.

110 Congress Street West: Built in 1899. The structure is a one story, 814 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Aug E. Yahnke, a driver employed by Cochran-Sargent Company, and his wife, Jessie Yahnke, resided at this address. Augusta Yahnke ( -1948) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Mario L. Gaona. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George W. Stenger resided at the former nearby 111 Congress Street West.

114 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a one story, 770 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $145,000. The previous owner of record of the property was William A. Ries and the current owners of record of the property are Aaron M. Johnson and Alyson M. Johnson. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raynie J. Durand, a salesman employed by Tilden Produce Company, and his wife, Nellie Durand, resided at the former nearby 118 Congress Street West. Raynie Joseph Durand ( -1951) died in Ramsey County.

120 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 728 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas O'Connell resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Adelaide Baum, the widow of Nicholas Baum, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Adelaide Vatke, the widow of Nicholas Vatke, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $41,500 and that sale occurred in 1995. The current owner of record of the property is Adelia B. Evenson.

121 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1442 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1895 city directory indicates that Elmer E. McDonald, associated with McDonald & Barnard, resided at this address. The 1896, 1898, and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. E. McDonald resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank P. Fleming, a pipeman for St. Paul Fire Department Engine Company 16, resided at this address and that Elizabeth C. W. Cahill, a waiter employed by Field Schlick & Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank P. Fleming, a truckman employed by the H & L Company, and his wife, Josephine Fleming, resided at this address. Elmer E. McDonald (1861- ) was born in Star Prairie/New Richmond, Wisconsin, graduated from the University of Wisconsin Law School in 1883, settled in St. Paul in 1884, was a partner, with Frank Spies, Charles A. Forbes and Albert Allen, in an attempt to obtain the St. Paul street railway system through a special city ordinance, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 26) in 1897, moved to Bemidji, Minnesota, was a lawyer, and was county attorney of Beltrami County, Minnesota from 1905 until 1906. Elmer Elsworth McDonald ( -1924) died in Beltrami County, Minnesota. Frank P. Fleming (1884-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brady, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 1998, with a sale price of $56,000. The current owners of record of the property are Angel Gonzalez Guerrero and Mirtha Guerrero. [See note on the Field-Schlick department store for 19 Kenwood Parkway.]

124 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1006 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. George Roy and Marry Roy, the parents of World War I veteran Eugene Peter Roy, resided at this address in 1918 according to the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#28273.) World War I veteran Eugene Roy (1893- ), a Corporal, resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#28273) indicate that Eugene Peter Roy (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Fourth Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a medium dark complexion, was 5' 7 1/4" tall, was a St. Paul Fire Department fireman at induction, was a city fireman employed by the City of St. Paul after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Marry Roy, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel Sargent resided at this address. Eugene Peter Roy ( -1939) and Eugene Louis Roy ( -1948) both died in Ramsey County. Samuel Phillips Sargent ( -1939) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Agustin Salas and Maria Teresa Villalobos.

126 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1496 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius Fuchs, Sr., a furrier employed by Gordon & Ferguson, his wife, Frances Fuchs, and Julius Fuchs, Jr., a member of the U. S. Army, all resided at this address. Julius Fuchs (1881-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eisch, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Deano Nitti.

131 Congress Street West: George Stenger House; Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 2340 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Stenger and their daughter and George J. Stenger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Stenger, an insurance and steamship agent officing at the Essex Building, and his wife, Leonie Stenger, resided at this address. George W. Stenger ( -1940) and George J. Stenger ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. George Joseph Stenger (1917-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Neuschwander, and died in Ramsey County. In a 1993 sale, the property last sold for $100,500. The current owners of record of the property are John A. Desharnais and Judith L. Desharnais.

134 Congress Street West: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2964 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Samuel J. T. Bergh, a clerk, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elizabeth MacKay, the widow of Christopher Mackay, resided at this address. Elizabeth MacKay ( -1942) died in Pipestone County, Minnesota. The previous owners of record of the property were Carol J. Munkwitz and Donald J. Munkwitz and the current owner of record of the property is Virginia Hansen.

136 Congress Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1498 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Theodore C. Cheska resided at this address in 1907. World War I veteran Frank H. Kuettel resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin Kuettel and his wife, Ida Kuettel, resided at this address. Martin Kuettel ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Martin Frederick Kuettel (1893-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Koegler, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The last sale of the property was in 1996 and the sale price was $67,000. The current owner of record of the property is Lori Dahlhoff.

137 Congress Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 975 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that John Henry Wittmaack resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas L. Darsie, a foreman employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Elvera Darsie, resided at this address. John Henry Wittmaack was a member of the Class of 1901 at the University of Minnesota Law School, was a deputy collector of customs, and married Mathilda Tschiffley. John Henry Wittmaack and Mathilda Tschiffley Wittmaack were the parents of two children, Clara Adele Wittmaack (Mrs. John) Rousselle (1912-2005) and H. Fred Wittmaack. Thomas Leirmont Darsie (1884-1980) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marama, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $145,900. The property was previously owned by Richard Ramsey and the current owner of record of the property is Yasmar Company LLC, located at 1620 Mahtomedi Avenue. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

143 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1658 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Peter Leitner and Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Leitner all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Peter Leitner and Clara Leitner (1851-1892,) of German heritage who died of tuberculosis, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1892. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Leitner and Mrs. D. Apitz all resided at this address. The 1898 and 1900 city directories indicate that J. P. Leitner resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Doris Apitz (1825-1907,) the widowed mother-in-law of John P. Leitner, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of an intestinal obstruction and old age, resided at this address in 1907 and that Bertha Maylone (1907-1907,) the daughter of Samuel V. Maylone, who was born in St. Paul to parents born in the United States and who died of acute gastro enteritis, also resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Peter Leitner (1841-1909,) the widower father of Mrs. Samuel V. Maylone, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of pulmonary endema, resided at this address in 1909. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Samuel V. Maylone (,) the father of an infant daugher who died of marasmus, was born in the United States and resided at this address in 1915. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Bertha May Malone (1917-1918,) the daughter of Samuel Maylone, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States, resided at this address in 1918. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Hauck, a cutter, and his wife, Ottilie Hauck, resided at this address. In 1879, J. P. Leitner was the R. W. G. Secretary of the United Ancient Order of Druids, Grand Grove of Minnesota. John Peter Leitner ( -1909) died in Ramsey County. D. Apitz (1825-1907) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. John Hauck ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $149,000. The property was previously owned by Herman Capital Corporation of Wayzata, Minnesota, a franchisee of HomeVestors of America, Inc., and the current owner of record of the property is Michelle Stage.

144 Congress Street West: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1522 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Duncan Ferguson, the superintendent for construction employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, resided at this address and that James D. Ferguson, a foreman employed by Swift & Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Duncan Ferguson and his wife, Lotta Ferguson, resided at this address. Duncan Ferguson ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The property is currently owned by Kent H. Martner and Monica M. Martner. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

145 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 660 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Aug C. Gralow, the assistant secretary of Stiefel Products Inc., and his wife, Eva Gralow, resided at this address. August C. Gralow (1882-1962) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $9,819 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owners of record of the property are Charles E. Sparks and Sharon I. Sparks.

146 Congress Street West: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2216 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Barron, a boilermaker employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Laura Barron, resided at this address. Charles Abraham Barron (1888-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Coon, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $70,201. The current owner of record of the property is Anne L. Larson. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

147 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a one story, 928 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12870) indicate that Claus N. Falde (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in the 366th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 2 1/2" tall, was a stenographer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Villers, St. Mihiel, and the Argonne Forest, was a cooper employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Sylvia V. Falde, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Witte, a millwright employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Lena Witte, resided at this address. William H. Witte ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. William T. Witte (1876-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brass, and died in Ramsey County. William F. Witte (1902-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bubolz, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $66,000. The current owners of record of the property are Bonnie D. Olsen Kramer and Peter Kramer. The 1930 city directory indicates that Neil S./B. Johnson, a clerk employed by C. A. Pearson, Inc., and his wife, Dorothy Johnson, resided at the former nearby 148 Congress Street West. Neil Johnson ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

151 Congress Street West: Built in 1923. The structure is a one story, 1171 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leslie Ginsberg, a salesman employed by Abr Slimmer, and his wife, Rose Ginsberg, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Joe Parkes.

152 Congress Street West: Built in 1923. The structure is a one story, 952 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emil Shanda, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, resided at this address. Emil Shanda (1888-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vavruska, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $65,500 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owners of record of the property are Herbert L. Piper and Anne C. Piper. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

158 Congress Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1242 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Peter resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius J. Peter, a salesman employed by the Crane Company, and his wife, Ida Peter, resided at this address. Julius J. Peter ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $145,000. The current owners of record of the property are Wayne P. Hessler and Angela E. Hessler. [See note on the Crane Company for 936 Goodrich Avenue.]

159 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1440 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick Ruchie, a painter employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Velia Ruchie, resided at this address. Patrick M. Ruchie (1897-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rossa, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Patricia A. Elling. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

161 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1194 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. A. Yates resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anna Conroy, the widow of William Conroy and a cook, resided at this address and that Irene C. Conroy, a cashier employed by the Golden Rule, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Hagney, an assistant pressman employed by the Daily News Publishing Company, Lawrence Hagney, a pressman employed by the Daily News Publishing Company, and his wife, Helen Hagney, all resided at this address. Lawrence T. Hagney ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $76,900. The current owners of record of the property are Paul A. Zamarripa and Paula R. Zamarripa. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

164 Congress Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2410 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Agnes M. Carroll, a nurse, and Kathleen G. Carroll, a teacher at the Van Buren School, both boarded at this address and that Johanna M. Carroll, the widow of John Carroll, and John Carroll, a coremaker employed by the South Park Foundry & Machine Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl A. Marzolf, a marketing specialist employed by the U. S. Department of Agriculture, his wife, Edna Marzolf, Carl Darche, and his wife, Louise Darche, all resided at this address. The South Park Foundry & Machine Company was located on Concord between Central and Waterous and had as officers A. J. Brawley, president, and Robert Wellisch, secretary and treasurer. Carl A. Marzolf ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Thomas R. Jackson and Lisa A. Swan.

167 Congress Street West: Built in 1926. The structure is a one story, 864 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anthony C. Moosbrugger and his wife, Josephine Moosbrugger, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Lawrence R. Zimmerman, who resides at 171 Congress Street West.

168 Congress Street West: Built in 1953. The structure is a one story, 820 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that B. N. Wilenchek resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $61,500. The current owner of record of the property is Lois A. Auger.

171 Congress Street West: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 1158 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Zimmerman, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Margie Zimmerman, resided at this address. Frank S. Zimmerman (1910-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ledford, and died in Ramsey County. Frank Zimmerman (1882-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Lawrence R. Zimmerman. [See note on the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

174 Congress Street West: Hubbard House; Built in 1879. The structure is a two story, 2124 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. In 1897, a roof, first floor, and basement fire caused by lightning occurred at 2 1/2 story frame building located at this address which was occupied by A. B. Longaker and for which Knappe & Hartsinck were agents. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#31743) indicate that Wilfred L. Roileau (1888- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company C, 343 Battalion, Motor Tansportation, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was an automobile driver at induction, was issued a bronze Victory button, was a paper ruler employed by the Pioneer Printing Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Napoleon Boileau, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Napoleon Boileau, a carpenter employed by the Villaume Box & Lumber Company, resided at this address and that Wilfred L. Boileau, a ruler employed by the Pioneer Company, roomed at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Ullrich resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Napoleon Boileau, his wife, Alzina Boileau, Arthur O. Boileau, an auditor employed by L. D. Coddon & Brothers, his wife, Julia Boileau, and Wilfred A. Boileau, a ruler, all resided at this address. Napoleon Boileau ( -1932) and Arthur G. Boileau ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $151,500. The previous owner of record of the property was Shelley L. Woods and the current owner of record of the rental property is George Latimer, Jr., who resides at 422 Stryker Avenue. [See note on Eugene Villaume and the Villaume Box & Lumber Company for 123 Isabel Street West.]

177 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1449 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Edward P. Truhlar (1892- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Frances Truhlar, the widow of Phillip Truhlar, Dorothy Truhlar, a clerk employed by the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, Edward P. Truhlar, a helper employed by the Great Northern Shops, Libby Truhlar, a stenographer employed by the Adam Decker Hardware Company, Martha Truhlar, a bookkeeper employed by the Michaud Brothers, Molly Truhlar, and Verona J. Truhlar, a stenographer employed by J. D. Swan, all resided at this address. Edward Phillip Truhlar ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. Frances Truhlar (1870-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Svoboda, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $73,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owner of record of the property is Julia E. Farnham.

178 Congress Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1288 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with an attached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Earl J. Gramling, a yardman employed by the Central Co-operative Association, his wife, Helen Gramling, Peter Gramling, an engineer employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and Verden Gramling, an auto mechanic, resided at this address. Earl J. Gramling (1898-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Patient, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the rental property is Tyra J. Cerny, who resides in Eagan, Minnesota. [See note on the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

183 Congress Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 1783 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry Alexander Lindberg (1891-1902,) who was born in Denmark of Danish parents, who was unmarried, and who died of typhoid fever, and Christina Lindberg resided at this address in 1902. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Marius Christensen and Mariane Christensen (1856-1906,) the wife of Marius Christensen, who was born in Denmark of Danish parents, and who died of dilation of the heart, resided at this address in 1906. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edmund A. Brick, a storekeeper employed by the Great Northern Shops, resided at this address and that Gladys M. Brick, a stenographer employed by the Chicago House Wrecking Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Christina J. Brick, the widow of Edmund Brick, resided at this address. Christina Lindberg was the mother of Henry Alexander Lindberg. Marius Christensen ( -1911) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Charles G. Maples and Delores Maples. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

186 Congress Street West: Built in 1903. The structure is a two story, 1848 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Waschenberger resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Waschenberger and Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Walters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John B. Waschenberger, the secretary of the H. M. Smyth Printing Company, his wife, Ottilie Waschenberger, Frank A. Walters, a partner with George H. Werner in Walters & Werner, manufacturing jewelers located at the Ryan Building, and his wife, Florence Walters, all resided at this address. John B. Waschenberger ( -1935) and Frank A. Walters ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $155,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owners of record of the property are Stephen J. Ryan and Katherine R. Glaros Ryan.

187 Congress Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1961 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Jacob C. Classen, a grocer with a store located at 556 Cedar Street, resided at this address and that Jacob C. Classen, Jr., a foreman, Leone Classen, an auditor employed by Schuneman & Evans, and Mary D. Classen, a clerk employed by Jacob Classen, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob Classen, his wife, Mathilda Classen, Edward Coffey, a driver employed by T. V. McCue Transfer & Storage, his wife, Mathilda Coffey, and Mrs. Abbie Piper all resided at this address. Abbie Ann Piper ( -1932) and Jacob C. Classen ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Edward F. Coffey (1897-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Linster, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $127,000. The current owners of record of the property are Carlos Mariani and Maritza Mariani. Carlos Mariani-Rosa is a multiple term member of the Minnesota House of Representatives and is the executive director of the Minnesota Minority Education Partnership, Inc., 2211 Riverside Avenue South, in Minneapolis, a collaboration of higher education institutions and communities of color that works to achieve quality education for all students. Carlos Mariani is the son of immigrants from Puerto Rico, was a West Side Chicago youth organizer, has a history degree from Macalester College (1979) and a law degree from the University of Minnesota, was a paralegal at the St. Paul Neighborhood Justice Center, became a community organizer with Ramsey Action Programs, and has worked for the Minnesota Council of Churches as the director of Hispanic Ministry. Maritza Mariani is the Housing Program Manager and oversees homeowner rehab loan programs for the Neighborhood Development Alliance, Inc. (NeDA.) Carlos Mariani-Rosa also was a delegate to Democratic National Convention from Minnesota in 2000. Carlos Mariani and Maritza Mariani have three children.

188 Congress Street West: Built in 1916. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1146 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nicholas Zelzer, a draftsman, and his wife, Marie Zelzer, resided at this address. Nicholas Zelzer ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $51,001. The current owners of record of the property are Daniel E. Bergthold and Elia E. Bergthold.

189 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1318 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Jerry, the widow of Michael Jerry, Albert Jerry, Genevieve Jerry, and James Jerry, a laborer, all resided at this address. Mary Jerry (1884-1965) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Guadalupe Paul Herrera.

193 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1572 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph De Valerio, a chipper employed by American Hoist & Derrick Company, his wife, Lena De Valerio, Anna De Valerio, a helper employed by Purity Baking Company, Carl De Valerio, a painter employed by William J. Haas Manufacturing Company, Dominick De Valerio, a laborer, and Patrick De Valerio, a machinist employed by American Hoist & Derrick Company, all resided at this address. The property was last sold for $90,500 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Cecilia A. Lonetree. [See note on the Purity Baking Company for 938 Wakefield Avenue.] [See note for the American Hoist and Derrick Company for 2010 Summit Avenue.]

194 Congress Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1656 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Zelzer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph G. Zelzer, an architect employed by C. H. Johnston, and his wife, Martha Zelzer, resided at this address. Rudolph G. Zelzer (1889-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kreutz, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $191,900. The previous owners of record of the property were Heather L. Bachtle and James P. Bachtle and the current owners of record of the property are Gina R. Monroe and Jonathan M. Sherwood.

197 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2240 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1892, 1896, 1898, and 1900 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. F. A. Xanten resided at this address. According to the West St. Paul Times, in 1904, Dr. Xanten attended to Thomas Walsh of 162 Custer Street and an employee of the Booth Packing Company, who died from a self-administered overdose of strychnine. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank A. Xanten and Anna Xanten, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1905. The 1930 city directory indicates that James C. Phillips, a superintendent, and his wife, Agnes B. Phillips, resided at this address. Frank A. Xanten (1854-1905) was born in Germany and died in Ramsey County. Anna B. Xanten (1858-1905) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Frank A. Xanten (1854-1905,) Anna Miller Xanten (1858-1905,) and Edna Xanten (1879-1881) were ultimately all buried in the Oak Ridge Cemetery at Muscatine County, Iowa. James C. Phillips ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are M. Zamarripa III and Rita E. Zamaripa.

200 Congress Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1347 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Matilda Warlich and C. F. Warlich both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Warlich and Mrs. Matilda Warlich all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl F. Warlich, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, and his wife, Denzil Warlich, resided at this address. Carl F. "Frederick" Warlich (1883-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ischer, and died in Ramsey County. Matilda Warlich ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $198,500. The previous owners of record of the property were Virginia J. Burke and Paul A. Burke and the current owners of record of the property are John M. Gavin and Michelle C. Rivero. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13496) indicate that Raymond O. Der Rusha (1893- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Private First Class in Company D of the 39th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 7 3/4" tall, was a policeman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Ruisi-Marne Offensive, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Isadore DeRusha at the nearby former 201 West Congress Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#31885) indicate that Frank I. De Rusha (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company E of the Provisional Ordnance Detachment, who was born in St. Paul, had dark brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a laborer at induction, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Isadore De Rusha, at the nearby former Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edmund De Rusha, Isadore D. De Rusha, a foreman employed by the American District Telegraph Company, located at the Met Building, Octave De Rusha, and all resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street West and that Alvin Drusha, an electrician, and Isadore Drusha, an electrician, both boarded at the former nearby 201 Congress Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Isadore De Rusha and Frank De Rusha both resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street West. Isadore De Rusha ( -1950) and Frank DeRusha ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

203 Congress Street West: Built in 1946. The structure is a one story, 1145 square foot, two bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $209,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owner of record of the property is Alexander O. Gordon.

204 Congress Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 1390 square foot, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John P. Bagnasacco, a foreman employed by the Minnesota Macaroni Company, resided at this address and that Frank A. Bagnasacco, an elevator operator, and Victor J. Bagnasacco, a machine operator, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Bagnasacco, an operator employed by the Minnesota Macaroni Company, Mary K. Bagnasacco, the widow of John Bagnasacco, and Victor J. Bagnasacco, a foreman employed by the Minnesota Macaroni Company, all resided at this address. Frank A. Bagnasacco ( -1953) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $143,500. The current owner of record of the property is Luis E. Ortega. [See the note for the Minnesota Macaroni Company for 175 Isabel Street West.]

212 Congress Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 1543 square foot, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. World War I veterans James J. Quirk and William M. Quirk resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#25938) indicate that William Martin Quirk (1893- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Sergeant in Ambulance Company #1 Minnesota, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a salesman at induction, was issued three silver chevrons, was an assistant buyer employed by Lampert Lumber Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Mary E. Quirk, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Aug W. Lau, his wife, Wilhelmina Lau, Mrs. Katherina Clemens, Mary V. Clemens, a press operator employed by Meyer Engraving Company, and Walter F. Clemens, the service manager employed by North West Cadillac La Salle Corporation, all resided at this address. August W. Lau ( -1933) and Katherine Clemens ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $59,900. The current owners of record of the property are Jennifer L. Taylor and John M. Taylor.

213 Congress Street West: Built in 2002. The structure is a two story, 1392 square foot, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Michael A. Cohen and Colleen A. Kelly.

216 Congress Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1818 square foot, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Danner resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Herbert W. J. Danner, superintendent of the Twin City Iron & Wire Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Danner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herman F. Gralow, his wife, Ida Gralow, John W. Morgan, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Eldora Morgan, all resided at this address. The property was last sold for $231,900 and that sale occurred in 2004. The previous owners of record of the property were Brent D. Kostka and Cristin S. Cannon and the current owner of record of the property is Craig R. Borck. [See note for Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

217 Congress Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1246 square foot, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry A. Franssen, a switchboard operator, and his wife, Helen Franssen, resided at this address. Henry A. Franssen (1890-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Smeets, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $71,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the property are Rafael Baez and Maria M. Baez.

222 Congress Street West: Built in 1905. The structure is a one story, 1106 square foot, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Bohrere and J. H. Bohrer all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew Swedall, a metal worker employed by the Joesting & Schilling Company, and his wife, Hattie Swedall, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Marion K. Borgan.

223 Congress Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a one story, 1842 square foot, two bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward A. Bohrer, a manager employed by the St. Paul Sanitation Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Bohrer and J. H. Bohrer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward A. Bohrer, a manager employed by the St. Paul Sanitation Company, his wife, Pearl Bohrer, Arthur A. Bohrer, a brakeman, Edward Bohrer, Jacob H. Bohrer, an office worker, and Kress Bohrer, all resided at this address. Edward A. Bohrer ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Ronald J. Bathrick and Pamela L. Bathrick and the current owners of record of the property are Gary Wayne Duncan and Pamela Louise Duncan.

224 Congress Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1203 square foot, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. C. E. Merritt resided at this address. The 1895 city directory indicates that William N. Boss, a foreman employed by Yerxa Brothers & Co., resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Tuchelt resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Paul R. Carlton, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Tuchelt resided at 504 Winslow Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otis O. Larson, a mechanic employed by Finch Nelson Motor Company, and his wife, Ruth Larson, resided at this address. Frederick William Tuchelt ( -1933) and Freada Tuchelt ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Richard E. Leyde and Donna Mae Leyde. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14643) indicate that Arthur A. Bohrer (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in the 64th Company of the Transportation Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 5 1/2" tall, was a railroad brakeman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, employed as a railroad brakeman by the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Jacob H. Bohrer, at the nearby former 229 Congress Street West. The 1920 city directory indicates that Arthur A. Bohrer, a flagman, and William Bohrer, a collector employed by the St. Paul Sanitation Company, both boarded at the former nearby 229 Congress Street West and that Jacob H. Bohrer, who officed at 207 Court Block, resided at the former nearby 229 Congress Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that George H. Williams, a spotter employed by Reding & Newmaster, his wife, Bertha Williams, Lloyd B. Yorks, an assistant purchasing agent employed by Armour & Company, and Lillian Yorks, the widow of Malcolm Yorks, resided at the former nearby 229 Congress Street West. George H. Williams ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. Lloyd B. Yorks (1898-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roney, and died in Hennepin County. [See note for Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad.] [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

230 Congress Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 934 square foot, one bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Cleon C. Brown, a foreman, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Helena B. Heller, the widow of Louis Heller, resided at this address. Helena Heller ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Wayne Schmidt and Patricia A. Schmidt.

233 Congress Street West: Built in 1908. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1269 square foot, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick Kuettner, a clerk employed at the Commercial Post Office, his wife, Anna Kuettner, and George F. Kuettner, a salesman employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, all resided at this address. Frederich Kuettner (1874-1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are John W. Elwell and Maureen Elwell Peltier. John Elwell and Maureen Elwell Peltier are the parents of Helena Elwell and Joseph Elwell, French immersion school students in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

234 Congress Street West: Built in 1890. The structure is a one story, 694 square foot, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Schadegg, an inspector employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, his wife, Anna Schadegg, and Edward Schadegg, a helper, all resided at this address. George A. Schadegg ( -1953) died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. The property was last sold for $140,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Geoffrey P. Kroll. [See note for Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

235 Congress Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1256 square foot, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Mr. and Mrs. Conrad Knaus, the parents of William Knaus, a World War I veteran, resided at this address in 1918. William Knaus was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#30845) indicate that William Knaus (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Battery B of the 333rd H. F. Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, blond hair, and a muddy complexion, was 6' 1" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a clerk employed by the St. Paul Dispatch after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Conrad Knaus, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Conrad Knaus and William Knaus, a collector employed by the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, resided at this address. William Knaus (1894-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Conrad Knaus ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Theodora A. Buchite, who resides in Crosslake, Minnesota.

238 Congress Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 694 square foot, one bathroom, asbestos-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Meyers resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Jannett, associated with Gopher Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Helen Jannett, resided at this address. Frank Jannett (1891-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jenneta, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were James E. Allie and Gloria J. Allie and the current owners of record of the property are Nora A. Allie and William H. Langfield.

240 Congress Street West: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 1313 square foot, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur Bowen, a salesman, and his wife, Thelma Bowen, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $140,000. The current owners of record of the property are Christian Mcguire and Laura M. Mcguire.

245 Congress Street West: Built in 1927. The structure is a two story, 1440 square foot, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Jerome Samuel Denardo Graf and Gina Marie Denardo Graf.

247 Congress Street West: Built in 1921. The structure is a one story, 878 square foot, one bathroom, frame bungalow. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $89,000. The current owners of record of the property are Michael D. Hilmo and Danielle C. Hilmo.

252 Congress Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 1516 square foot, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. S. Tracy resided at this address. World War I veteran Walter C. Tracy resided at this address in 1919. Marcel Guibert (1893- ), a Corporal, was a World War I veteran who resided at 641 Cedar Street in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12825) indicate that George S. Tracy (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Medical Department, who was born in St. Paul, had gray eyes, light hair, and a medium complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was a lineotype operator at induction, was discharged with a certificate of disability, was a lineotype operator employed by the Perkins Tracy Printing Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, A. S. Tracy, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10784) indicate that Walter Clarence Tracy (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Landsman for Electrician (Radio) in the U. S. Naval Reserve Force, who was born in St. Paul, was a wireless operator employed by Strachan Shipping Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, A. S. Tracy, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Andr Devitt, a helper employed by American Hoist & Derrick Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Marcel Guibert, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Marcell Guibert, Jr., a gardener employed by the Irving School, and his wife, Anna Guibert, resided at this address. In 1919, the annual Minnesota State fire marshal's report indicates that a residence owned by Marcel Guibert, 145 College Avenue, was condemned. In 1922, according to Patterson's American Education Directory, Marcel Guibert was a gardening supervisor employed by the St. Paul public schools. Marcel Guibert ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Marcel Guibert (1892-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lebron, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are John A. Heitzinger and Diane Heitzinger. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George E. Foote resided at the former nearby 280 1/2 Congress Street West in 1890. The 1920 city directory indicates that Andr Brestrup, a helper employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, roomed at the former nearby 377 West Congress Street. George E. Foote ( -1933) died in Ramsey County.

11 Congress Street East: The property was on the city vacant house list in 2007. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Anna Rowland resided at the former nearby 41 Congress Street East in 1912. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. G. F. Stone resided at the former nearby 41 Congress Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred W. Bahrke, a machine operator, and George W. Coughlin, a creditman employed by the St. Paul White Lead & Oil Company, both resided at the former nearby 39 Congress Street East, that Alb. F. Bahrke, an apprentice, Charles W. Bahrke, a helper, and Lillian T. Bahrke, a bookkeeper employed by the Empire Furniture Company, all boarded at the former nearby 39 Congress Street, that Ella Carroll, a stenographer employed by the St. Paul Retail Grocers Association, and George H. Carroll, an appraiser employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, both boarded at the former nearby 43 Congress Street East, and that The Congress Apartments was located at the nearby former 43 Congress Street East.

59 Congress Street East: Iglesia Ni Cristo/Church of Christ; Built in 1915. The structure is a one story, 6400 square foot, church. The current owner of record of the property is Iglesia Ni Cristo Church of Christ, located in Daly City, California.

77 Congress Street East: Distinctive Cleaning; Built in 1924. The structure is a one story, 520 square foot, office building. The current owner of record of the property is Jennifer R. Mendel, who is located in Edina, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Heinsch, a filling station operator at the former nearby 79 Congress Street East, and his wife, Elsie A. Heinsch, resided at 51 West Delos Street. Edward Heinsch ( -1936) died in Ramsey County.

111 Congress Street East: Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1008 square foot, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Grafton W. Harlow (1873-1892,) who died of phthisis, resided at this address in 1892. In 1897, Jos. Soule was a stoker employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 6, and resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herman Gierch and Elizabeth Wartha resided at this address. Elizabeth Wartha ( -1951) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Grafton W. Harlow was the son of George W. Harlow. In 1883, George W. Harlow resided on Susan Street. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $67,000. The current owner of record of the property is Christine E. Schwinn. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Robert N. Hare resided at the former nearby 117 Congress Street East. The 1903 city directory indicates that Lena Abeln resided at the former nearby 114 Congress Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward E. Dowd, a trucker employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 117 East Congress Street, that Helen Dowd, a clerk employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and Marie M. Dowd, a stenographer employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, both boarded at the former nearby 117 East Congress Street, and that Samuel Fisher, a travel agent, resided at the former nearby 114 Colorado Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward E. Dowd, a stower employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Delia Dowd, resided at the former nearby 117 Congress Street East and that Mrs. Celia Diamond, David Diamond, a clerk employed by H. I. Shapiro, Jacob Diamond, a checker employed by Swift & Company, Joseph Diamond, an electrician, Morris Diamond, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and Samuel Diamond, a driver employed by McClain & Hedman Company, all resided at the former nearby 118 Congress Street East. Celia Diamond ( -1941) and Edward Dowd ( -1943) both died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

121 Congress Street East: Norman Apartments; Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, one bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Louis Du Pre, a laborer, and Mrs. Marie Du Pre, a cashier employed by the Sorenson Shoe Sotres, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Ms. Margaret Norman, the widow of Anthony Norman, Margarte M. Norman, a stenographer employed by Walsh, Jackson, Walsh & Yackel, Ronald G. Chapman, a checker employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, his wife, Ruth M. Chapman, John M. Wegan/Wegen, a painter employed by the Marquette Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Gertrude Wegan. Margaret Norman (1867-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fahey, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $170,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Agustin Mejia and Mayra Mejia and the current owner of record of the property is Sandra N. Burciaga. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry A. Dreves resided at the former nearby 118 East Colorado Street East in 1899. Herbert F. Dreves was the son of Henry A. Dreves. [See note for Henry A. Dreves for 118 Colorado Street East.]

125 Congress Street East: New Beginning Tabernacle/Church of God in Christ (COGIC)/Former Riverview Peoples Congregational Church; Built in 1895. The structure is a one story, 5237 square foot, church. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Riverview Peoples Congregational Church was located at this address. Elder Charles H. Branch is pastor of the church. Elder Charles Harrison Mason (1866- ) was the founder and organizer of the Church of God in Christ, was trained at the Mt. Gale Missionary Baptist Church, in Preston, Arkansas, and established the organization's initial church in Lexington, Mississippi, in 1897. The church was reorganized when Elder C. P. Jones was chosen as General Overseer and the headquarters moved to Memphis, Tennessee, around 1907. The membership of the Church of God in Christ was an estimated eight million in 1997. The current owner of record is the New Beginning Tabernacle, Church of God in Christ, located in Rosemount, Minnesota. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles G. Alexander and Ira W. Cunningham, a foreman employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, both resided at the former nearby 128 1/2 East Congress Street, that the former Clinton Flats was located at 128-138 Congress Street East, and that Mrs. Jeanette Desch, a packer employed by the Foley Brothers Grocery Company, Oscar Desch, a clerk employed by the American RailWay Express, and Aime J. Dion, a driver employed by the Hartman-Wilde Transfer Company, all resided at the former nearby 128 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that George M. Hardee, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Elizabeth Hardee, resided at the former nearby 128 Congress Street East and that William Krasky, a laborer, and his wife, Elsie Krasky, resided at the former nearby 128 1/2 Congress Street East. George Hardee ( -1933) and Mrs. William Elsie Krasky ( -1933) died in Ramsey County.

129 Congress Street East: Built in 1892. The structure is a two story, 1776 square foot, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Julian C. Bryant and J. Schroll resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Julian C. Bryant resided at this address. The 1892, 1894, and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Bryant resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Bryant and Miss Lillian Burlingame resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Bryant resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni publication indicates that Julian C. Bryant, an 1878 graduate and the principal of Madison School in St. Paul resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Aaron A. Adelman, a salesman, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Abr Orbuch, engaged in the poultry business, his wife, Sarah Orbuch, William Rice, and his wife, Lucile Rice, all resided at this address. Julian Clarence Bryant ( -1914) died in Ramsey County. Abe Orbuch (1898-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Elbum, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Margaret Romo. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William A. O'Neill (1839-1899,) of Irish extraction who died of a constriction of the esophogus, and Sarah J. O'Neill, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 130 1/2 Congress Street East in 1899. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Kober resided at the former nearby 132 Congress Street East. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13418) indicate that Herbert H. Quehl (1898- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company 24 of the 161st Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 6' 1" tall, was a cattle salesman at induction, was a cattleman employed by the McKissick Alcorn Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided at the nearby former 130 East Congress Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Glenn E. Alexander, Charles E. Barrett, a laborer, and Joseph Cohen, a clerk, all resided at the former nearby 130 East Congress Street and that Gust Blomquist, a salesman, resided at 132 1/2 Congress Street East. Sarah O'Neill ( -1914) died in Ramsey County.

133 Congress Street East: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1768 square foot, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. In 1907, Percy Downing Godfrey resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Percy Downing Godfrey resided at this address in 1907. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Rothstein, a clerk employed by Maurice Rothstein, his wife, Lillian Rothstein, a clerk employed by Maurice Rothstein, Alex Rothstein, a nailer employed by Gordon & Ferguson, David Rothstein, a tinner employed by Armour & Company, Doris Rothstein, a typist employed by Armour & Company, John Rothstein, Jr., a clerk, Louis Rothstein, a foreman employed by Armour & Company, his wife, Ida Rothstein, and Maurice Rothstein, a grocer, all resided at this address. Percy Downing Godfrey (1871- ,) the son of Jacob Talent Godfrey and Nettie H. Downing Godfrey, was born in Hampton, New Hampshire, graduated from the Hampton, New Hampshire, Academy in 1887, moved to Minnesota in 1887, clerked for Judge A. C. Hickman and in the law office of Otis & Otis in 1887, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1892, married Minnie Rebecca Lawton (1872-1944,) the daughter of Jonathan Lawton (1841-1928) and Elizabeth Anthony Brayton Lawton (1830- ) and a pioneer in the teaching of lip reading, in 1892, was admitted to the practice of law in 1892, initially formed a partnership with Arthur G. Otis as Otis & Godfrey, then was a member of the law firm of Godfrey & Molander, was a Republican, was a commissioner of the U. S. Court of Claims, was a member of the St. Paul Board of Park Commissioners, was the secretary of the 1892 Ramsey County Republican Convention, was a Congregationalist, was a member of the board of trustees of the St. Paul Chapter of the Knights of Pythias, was a colonel in the Uniform Rank of the Knights of Pythias, was the chief justice of the Grand Tribunal of Minnesota, Knights of Pythias, was a Knight Templar, was the treasurer of the Shekinah Lodge of Masons, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Mystic Shrine, was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the St. Paul Lincoln Club, was a member of the St. Paul Republican Club, was a member of the St. Paul Roosevelt Club, was a member of the St. Paul West Side Club, and officed at the New York Life Building. Percy Downing Godfrey and Minnie Rebecca Lawton Godfrey were the parents of Otis Hickman Godfrey (1893- ) and Percy Downing Godfrey, Jr. (1899- .) John Rothstein ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Rafael Fuentes and Raquel Fuentes. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Pratt (1813-1893,) of English heritage who died of senility, resided at the former nearby 132 Congress Street East in 1893. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Willard L. Smith (1863-1894,) of German extraction who died of typhoid fever, and Isolda Smith, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 132 Congress Street East in 1894. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William S. Kindle resided at the former nearby 132 Congress Street East in 1902. The 1920 city directory indicates that Richard Boettcher, an engineer employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 134 Congress Street East, that Anna Byron, a clerk employed by Mannheimer Brothers, Grace Byron, employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and Mary C. Byron, a clerk employed by Mannheimer Brothers, all boarded at the nearby former 134 1/2 Congress Street East, that Joseph J. Byron, a chauffeur employed by the Drake Marble & Tile Company, and Mary E. Byron, the widow of Timothy Byron, both resided at the nearby former 134 1/2 Congress Street East, that Fannie Degan, the widow of David Degan, boarded at the former nearby 136 Congress Street East, that Wust A. Degan, a superintendent, resided at the former nearby 136 Congress Street East, that Theophile Dion, a car distributor employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 136 Congress Street East, that Edith Downie, the widow of William Downie, boarded at the former nearby 136 Congress Street East and that William E. Downie, a cigar maker, resided at the former nearby 136 Congress Street East. William S. Kindle ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Isalde Smith ( -1918) died in Ramsey County. [See 455 Banfil Avenue for a note on Percy Downing Godfrey.] [See note on Otis Hickman Godfrey for 455 Banfil Street.] [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.] [See note on the Drake Marble Company for 1384 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago & Great Western Railway for 42 Isabel Street West.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note for the Mannheimer Brothers for 270 West Seventh Street.]

137 Congress Street East: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1397 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose Gallagher and J. W. Gallagher both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Isadore Gantman, a tailor with a shop located at 324 Robert Street, his wife, Tillie Gantman, and Francis Angell, a laborer employed by the National Leather Company, all resided at this address. Isadore Gantman (1896-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zidel, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $58,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are Leticia Fuentes and Joe Silva.

139 Congress Street East: Built in 1974. The structure is a one story, 970 square foot, four room, one bathroom, frame house. The 1885, 1887, 1890, and 1892 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Theo A. Lienau resided at this address. The 1894, 1896, and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. T. A. Lienau resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Theodore A. Lienau resided at this address in 1899. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. A. Lienau and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis B. Rosas, a stonemason, and his wife, Adella Rosas, resided at this address. Theodore Alexander Lienau (1858-1906) was born in St. Paul, the son of Charles H. Lienau (1835-1906,) of Monckhagen, Holstein, Germany, and Mathilde Speck Lienau (1836-1903,) of Arkebek, Holstein, Germany, and had 10 siblings, Oscar Lafayette Lienau (1860- ,) Carl Ludwig Lienau (1862-1865,) Lilie Blanch Lienau (1863- ,) Anita Ludovica Lienau (1866- ,) Luella Mathidle Lienau (1867- ,) Carl Walter Lienau (1870-1921,) Walter Reimer Lienau (1871-1943,) Herbert Horace Lienau (1874-1944,) Fredreick Clarence Lienau (1875-1883,) and Richard Robert Lienau (1877-1879.) Charles H. Lienau (1835-1906) was born in Monckhagen, Holstein, Germany, graduated from the Schwartau High School in Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1854, initially worked in Wisconsin lumber camps, married Mathilde Speck (1836-1903) in 1856, moved to St. Paul in 1857, was initially employed by and then became the proprietor of a grocery store at Seven Corners, became the partner of Philip Rohr and published the German language Weekly Volksblatt for six years, the Daily Volksblatt for two years, and the Daily Volkszeitung for 20 years, was a city alderman in 1862, was City Comptroller in 1863, was a delegate to the 1864 National Democratic Convention at Chicago, which nominated General George B. McClellan for president, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (Districts 1 and 27) from 1867 to 1872 and from 1885 until 1887, was a probate court judge in 1873, was a member of the Minnesota State Senate representing Carver County and Ramsey County (Districts 26 and 33) from 1874 to 1879 and from 1891 until 1895, was the president of the St. Paul Board of Education in 1879, was Recorder of Deeds for Ramsey County from 1882 to 1883, relocated to Watertown, Carver County, Minnesota, then retired to his orange ranch in Redlands, California, and died at the house of his son, John Lienau, in San Francisco, California. In 1876, Charles H. Lienau was a member of a special Minnesota State Senate committee on textbooks. Amelia L. Lienau was the daughter of Theodore A. Lienau. Charles H. Lienau married Mathilde Speck and the couple had 11 children, Herbert Horace Lienau (1874-1944,) Theodore Alexander Lienau (1858-1906,) Oscar Lafayette Lienau (1860- ,) Carl Ludwig Lienau (1862-1865,) Lilie Blanch Lienau (1863- ,) Anita Ludovica Lienau (1866- ,) Luella Mathidle Lienau (1867- ,) Carl Walter Lienau (1870-1921,) Walter Reimer Lienau (1871-1943,) Fredreick Clarence Lienau (1875-1883,) and Richard Robert Lienau (1877-1879.) In 1879, Charles H. Lieneau/Lienau, the secretary and treasurer of Die Volkszeitung, located at 100 East Third Street, resided at the East end of Delos Street, and that Oscar Lienau, a feeder employed by Die Volkszeitung, and Theodore A. Lienau, a clerk employed by Die Volkszeitung, both boarded with Charles H. Lienau. In 1901, Theo. Lienau was the secretary of the Minnesota Mutual Casualty Company, located at the Endicott Building in St. Paul, with the other corporate officers being B. A. Ledy, president, A. D. Duevel, vice president, and F. C. Neumeier, treasurer. In 1904, Theo. A. Lienau was the secretary of the Minnesota Mutual Casualty Company of St. Paul. Louis Bernard Rosas (1895-1993) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Millan, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $48,500. The current owners of record of the property are Lori Hurley and Mark Hurley, who reside in North St. Paul, Minnesota. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Theo A. Lienau resided at the former nearby 139 Congress Street East and that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Schuman resided at the former nearby 142 Congress Street East. In 1897, Roger McGowan was a hose cart driver employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 6, and resided at the former nearby 140 Congress Street East. The 1903 city directory indicates that William J. Dressen, an engineer for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, and William P. Dressen, a fireman for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, both roomed at the former nearby 140 Congress Street East. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Charles S. Schurman resided at the former 142 Congress Street East in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Schurman resided at the former nearby 142 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Howard J. Hafiz (1926-1926,) the infant son of James Hafiz, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Syria and who died of complications of measles, resided at the nearby former 142 East Congress Street in 1926. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Zamansky and Mrs. Mary Robbins both resided at the former nearby 140 Congress Street East and that James G. Hafiz, a salesman employed by the Twin City Motor Company, and his wife, Isabel Hafiz, resided at the former nearby 142 Congress Street East. Charles S. Schurman (1857/1858-1934,) the son of John B. Schurman and Sarah Ann Hyde Schurman, was born on Prince Edward Island, Canada, was educated in district schools, came to Minnesota in 1882, married Maggie M. Warren in 1879, was a newspaper employee, was employed by the St. Paul Pioneer Press book dept from 1882 until 1885, was a manager employed by the Withy Printing Company from 1885 until 1887, was the assistant superintendent of the St. Paul Pioneer Press Company from 1888 until 1889, was the editor and proprietor of the West St Paul Times after 1890, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing County (26th District) from 1899 until 1903, was in an election contest initiated against Anthony Yoerg, Jr., in 1903, was a member of Lincoln Republican Club, was a Mason, was a Knight Templar, and officed at 175 South Wabasha Street in 1907. William Dressen (1851-1905) was born in Holland and died in Ramsey County. Louis Zamansky (1894-1977) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olshansky, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company for 1730 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway.] [See note for Charles S. Schurman for 178 Robie Street East.]

143 Congress Street East: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 2504 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob C. Miller, a laborer employed by Armour & Company, and his wife, Sophie Miller, resided at this address. Jacob C. Miller (1896-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hamann, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Christie J. Borgan and Diane M. Vasquez. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. D. Shanley resided at the former nearby 149 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Johnson and Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Bobon all resided at the former nearby 150 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. Carl Teipel resided at the former nearby 155 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Dumke resided at the former nearby 157 Congress Street East, that Rev. G. H. Gamble resided at the former nearby 158 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Bell resided at the former nearby 159 Congress Street East, that Dr. and Mrs. J. B. Darling resided at the former nearby 161 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Graves resided at the former nearby 162 Congress Street East, that Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Heintzelman resided at the former nearby 164 Congress Street East, and that Mr. and Mrs. P. A. Hinkle and E. F. Gray all resided at the former nearby 166 Congress Street East. In 1896, Beatrice Schroeckenstein (1862-1896) and Dominick F. Schroeckenstein resided at the nearby former 157 Congress Street East. In 1897, B. E. Wainwright (1864- ,) a second truckman employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Hook and Ladder Company No. 5, resided at the former nearby 156 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Caleb S. Thompson resided at the former nearby 159 Congress Street East in 1900. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Gladys M. Grayum and Harry C. Grayum resided at the former nearby 160 Congress Street East in 1906. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Josie M. Fullington, a widow and a member of the church since 1894, resided at the nearby former 150 East Congress Street. In 1907, Louis N. Bryant resided at the nearby former 150 Congress Street East and Harry C. Grayum resided at 160 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Christina Sherwood (1862-1913,) the wife of William B. Sherwood, who was born in Norway to parents also born in Norway and who died of valvular heart disease, resided at the nearby former 161 Congress Street East in 1913. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9477) indicate that Richard Fossum (1893- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in Company D of the Second Minnesota Infantry, who was born in Zumbrota, Minnesota, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 11" tall, was a laborer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a laborer employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 166 East Congress Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Israel Applebaum, a baker, resided at the nearby former 158 Congress Street East, that Phil Applebaum, a cutter, and Sarah Applebaum, a packer, both boarded at the nearby former 158 Congress Street East, that Abraham Abdelia, a peddler, resided at the former nearby 165 East Congress Street, that Alb A. Abdelia, a bookkeeper employed by Finch, Van Slyke & McConville, Frank Abdelia, a nailer, Mary Abdelia, a stripper, Michael Abdelia, a checker, and Rose Abdelia, a machine operator, all boarded at the former nearby 165 East Congress Street, that Louis Blatt, a confectioner located at the former nearby 168 Congress Street East, and William Blatt, a paperhanger, both resided at the former nearby 168 Congress Street East, that Nelmer C. Christopherson, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at the nearby former 157 East Congress Street, that John S. Cole, a driver employed by the St. Paul Transfer & Storage Company, resided at the former nearby 164 Congress Street East, and that Isadore Feldman, a peddler, resided at the former nearby 156 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph M. Kostner, a driver employed by the Ryan Transfer & Storage Company, resided at the former nearby 145 Congress Street East, that Maurice Portnoy, a laborer employed by the Greenberg Iron & Metal Company, his wife, Anna Portnoy, Hyman Riveszkey, a cap maker, and his wife, Selma Riveszkey, all resided at the former nearby 148 Congress Street East, that Samuel Weinerman, a cap maker, his wife, Esther Weinerman, and Ernest Siegl all resided at the former nearby 150 Congress Street East, that David Braiman, an operator employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, his wife, Ida Braiman, and Rabbi Israel Taple, a teacher at the St. Paul Hebrew Institute, his wife, Etta/Yetta Taple, and Louis J. Taple, a clerk employed by the U. S. Mail Order Company, all resided at the former nearby 152 Congress Street East, that Morris Siegel, the proprietor of the Riverside Carpet Cleaning & Rug Manufacturing Company, his wife, Anna Siegel, both resided at the former nearby 154 Congress Street East, that Isadore Feldman, a peddler, his wife, Bessie Feldman, and George H. Metzger, a cleaner employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Sophie Metzger, all resided at the former nearby 156 Congress Street East, that Israel Applebaum, Hyman Schmeckler, a peddler, and his wife, Clara Schmeckler, all resided at the former nearby 158 Congress Street East, that Orville W. Killian, a painter, his wife, Orville W. Killian, Joseph J. O'Brien, a plasterer, and his wife, Mary O'Brien, all resided at the former nearby 160 Congress Street East, that Raymond Morrison, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Marietta Morrison, and Mrs. Lillian Bacon, the widow of Andrew Bacon and a cook employed by the Owens Tea Shop, all resided at the former nearby 162 Congress Street East, that Charles C. Eberspacher, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Marie Eberspacher, both resided at the former nearby 164 Congress Street East, that Leo D. Trevino, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Charlotte Trevino, Peter Van Drusant/Drusart, a laborer, and his wife, Marie Van Drusant, all resided at the former nearby 166 Congress Street East, that Samuel H. Cohen resided at the former nearby 168 Congress Street East, that Benjamin F. Landis, a cook employed by Armour & Company, and his wife, Bridget Landis, both resided at the former nearby 169 Congress Street East, that the Roosevelt Junior High School was located at 170 Congress Street East, and that Aleck Spector, a janitor employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Ida Spector, and Joseph Spector, a driver employed by the Singer Candy Company, all resided at the former nearby 145 Congress Street East. Louis N. Bryant (1840- ,) the son of John N. Bryant and Jane Webber Bryant, was born in Lockport, New York, was educated in the common schools of the Province of Ontario, Canada, attended the University of Woodstock, Ontario, Canada, was a private in Company F of the 42nd Wisconsin Volunteer Regiment during the American Civil War, married Mary J. Gardner in 1865, taught school for five years in Webster County, Iowa, was a justice of the peace in Clay County, Nebraska, for 14 years, moved to Minnesota in 1886, initially resided in South St. Paul, Minnesota, engaged in the real estate business in South St. Paul, Minnesota, from 1886 until 1890, moved to St. Paul, entered the life and fire insurance business, represented the New England Mutual Life Insurance Company, held various public offices in Nebraska, Iowa, and Minnesota, officed at the Pioneer Press Building in 1907, was a member of the Acker Post of the Grand Army of the Republic, was a Mason, and was a member of the International Order of Foresters. Harry C. Grayum (1864- ,) the son of Henry Grayum and Mary E. Day Grayum, was born in Gallipolis, Ohio, was educated in grade schools of Gallipolis, Ohio, and a private school in Evergreen, Ohio, was initially employed in railroad work in 1882, moved to St. Paul in 1890, married Ida M. Mample in 1892, was employed by the Edison Electric Light & Power Company from 1890 until 1905, was the St. Paul representative and manufacturer's agent of H. W. Johns-Manville Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, after 1905, was the president of Local #7 of the National Association Stationary Engineers in 1921, was a Mason, and officed at 360 Jackson Street in 1907. Harry Charles Grayum ( -1941,) Joseph Michael Kostner ( -1944,) Benjamin F. Landis ( -1952,) Raymond Albert Morrison ( -1952,) and Joseph John O'Brien ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. Herbert W. Thompson was the son of Caleb S. Thompson. Caleb Thompson (1879-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lemke, and died in Wright County, Minnesota. Samuel Weinerman ( -1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. David Braiman (1889-1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Morris Siegel (1894-1977) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Isadore Feldman (1890-1978) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. George Henry Metzger (1884-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kaber, and died in Ramsey County. Israel Applebaum ( -1937) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Orville W. Killian (1889-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mueller, and died in Hennepin County. Lillian H. Bacon (1894-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Koenig, and died in Ramsey County. Charles C. Eberspacher (1899-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Leopold D. Trevino (1890-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Villarreal, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Samuel H. Cohen (1890-1966) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Alex Spector (1878-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway for 882 West Linwood Avenue.] [See note on the McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey Inc. for 136 Western Avenue North.] [See the note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad for 965 Euclid Street.] [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

175 Congress Street East: Built in 1966. The property consists of 22 two story, apartment buildings, with four buildings having 4282 square foot each, six buildings having 5152 square foot each, and 12 buildings having 6218 square foot each. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Christenson resided at this address. Lloyd A. Nolan (1895- ), a Corporal, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#22945) indicate that Lloyd A. Nolan (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Company K of the 35th Infantry, who was born in South st. Paul, Minnesota, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 6" tall, was a stenographer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Haute Alsace, was a clerk employed by Jonas G. Hillger in Payette, Idaho, after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, A. J. Nolan, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew I. Grosberg, a cleaner employed by the Paramount Theatre, and his wife, Margaret Grosberg, resided at this address. Lloyd A. Nolan and his brother, John Michael Nolan (1897- ,) were the sons of Andrew Nolan (1866- ), of Ballycallan, Kilkenny, Ireland, and Ida Brunell Nolan (1867- ), of Minnesota, and were the grandsons of John Nolan and Bridget Burke Nolan. John Christenson ( -1925) and Andrew Grosberg ( -1935) both died in Ramsey County. The property is owned by the St. Paul Public Housing Agency. The St. Paul Public Housing Agency has been an independent governmental unit since 1977, with its historical roots in the Housing and Redevelopment Authority of the City of Saint Paul (HRA,) a unit of the City of Saint Paul that was established by the Minnesota State Legislature in 1947, with a goal was to remove slums and construct low income housing in Saint Paul. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Doran and G. A. Doran all resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street East and that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Rubischung resided at the former nearby 220 Congress Street East. In 1897, C. E. Wright (1849- ,) a Captain employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Hook and Ladder Company No. 5, resided at the nearby former 204 Congress street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Florence Anna Exley (1885-1905,) the daughter of George A. Exley, who was born in St. Paul to parents born in the United States and who died of tubercular meningitis, resided at the former nearby 217 Congress Street East in 1905. In 1907, Frank B. Doran resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street East. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Frank B. Doran resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street East in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Electa Gilbert Doran (1835-1909,) the wife of Frank Beecher Doran, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of cancer, resided at the nearby former 201 Congress Street East in 1909. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank Beecher Doran (1840-1914,) the widower father of George A. Doran, who was born in Illinois to parents born in the United States and who died of acute pericarditis, resided at the nearby former 201 Congress Street East in 1914. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. E. E. Wright resided at the former nearby 204 Congress Street East. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#18073) indicate that Cecil P. Carlson (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 163rd Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had light blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a bookbinder at induction, was a bookbinder employed by West Publishing Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Clara Carlson, at the nearby former 201 Congress Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Eva Adams, a machine operator, boarded at the former nearby 204 East Congress Street, that Benjamin Cook, a teamster, resided at the former nearby 215 Congress Street East, that Michael Doyle, a stereotyper employed by West Publishing Company, resided at the former nearby 214 Congress Street East, that John Felton, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at 190 Congress Street East, that Alf E. Fisher, a telephone inspector, and Margaret M. Foley, the widow of Michael Foley, both resided at the nearby former 183 East Congress Street, that Charles W. Fisher, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, boarded at the nearby former 183 Congress Street East, that Michael J. Flaherty, a laborer, and Thomas J. Flaherty, an iron worker, both boarded at the former nearby 213 Congress Street East, and that John J. Foley, an iron worker, and Mary M. Foley, a hairdresser, both boarded at the nearby former 213 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jennie Mael, a janitor employed by Davidson Company, resided at the former nearby 175 1/2 Congress Street East, that John W. Sorenson, a painter employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Olga Sorenson, resided at the former nearby 177 Congress Street East, that the former nearby 179 Congress Street East was vacant, that Mrs. J. Lillian Littlefield, the widow of John A. Littlefield, resided at the former nearby 181 Congress Street East, that Frank G. Holeman, a laborer employed by Armour & Company, and his wife, Minnie Holeman, resided at the former nearby 183 Congress Street East, that Charles V. Dufour, a laborer, and his wife, Anne Dufour, resided at the former nearby 185 Congress Street East, that Nevin A. Simons, a musician, and his wife, Marjorie Simons, resided at the former nearby 190 Congress Street East, that Morris Chase, a driver, and his wife, Vita Chase, resided at the former nearby 195 Congress Street East, that Erwin L. Birch, a cook, his wife, Helen Birch, Max Novich, a presser employed by Richman Brothers Company, and his wife, Bertha Novich, all resided at the former nearby 197 Congress Street East, that Joseph Jarzynska, a laborer, his wife, Lena Jarzynska, and James Rosenthal all resided at the former nearby 201 Congress Street East, that Mrs. Ellen E. Wright, the widow of Charles E. Wright, and Cecil F. Brisson, a clerk employed by the Northern Jobbing Company, and his wife, Vera Brisson, resided at the former nearby 204 Congress Street East, that Mrs. Helen Morgan, the widow of William J. Morgan, resided at the former nearby 211 Congress Street East, that Meyer H. Goldenberg, a salesman employed by the St. Paul Milk Company, and his wife, Minnie Goldenberg, resided at the former nearby 213 Congress Street East, that Michael Beter, a machinist, and his wife, Mary Beter, resided at the former nearby 214 Congress Street East, that Mrs. Mary C. Roarke, the widow of Arthur J. Roarke, resided at the former nearby 215 Congress Street East, that Isaac Goldenberg, a peddler, and his wife, Jenny Goldenberg, resided at the former nearby 217 Congress Street East, that Louis Katzovitz, a peddler, his wife, Fanny Katzovitz, and Louis K. Shields all resided at the former nearby 218 Congress Street East, that Eugene E. Hardin, a salesman, and his wife, Helen L. Hardin, resided at the former nearby 219 Congress Street East, that Daniel Green and his wife, Jeanette Green, resided at the former nearby 220 Congress Street East, that Almon J. Hanson, a laborer employed by the St. Paul Union Stockyards Company, and his wife, Myrtle C. Hanson, resided at the former nearby 221 Congress Street East, that Aug H. Dalaska, a clerk, resided at the former nearby 204 Congress Street East, that Elsie M. Dalaska, a clerk, boarded at the former nearby 204 Congress Street East, and that Adeline Dupre, a helper, boarded at the former nearby 175 1/2 Congress Street East, that Leon F. Du Pre, a machine operator employed by the Villaume Box & Lumber Company, resided at the former nearby 175 1/2 Congress Street East, and that Melva G. Fisher, a clerk, boarded at the nearby former 183 Congress Street East. The 1987 St. Agnes Catholic Church directory indicates that Kia Thao and Foua Thao resided at the former nearby 218 Congress Street East, Apartment #A. The 1880 federal census records indicate that Frank Beecher Doran (1839- ,) a farmer in Nunda, McHenry County, Illinois, born in Illinois to parents who were born in Vermont, was the head of a household that included his wife, Electa Doran (1845- ,) a housekeeper who was born in New York and whose parents also were born in New York, a son, George Doran (1868- ,) who was a student, another son, James Doran (1871- ,) who was a student, and Erasmus Donsk (1860- ,) a farm laborer who was born in Denmark whose parents were also born in Denmark. Frank Beecher Doran (1839-1914,) of Irish descent, the son of Solomon B. Doran and Mercy Wilson Doran, was born in Lisbon, Kendall County, Illinois, was educated in the public schools of Aurora, Illinois, attended the Clark Seminary in Aurora, Illinois, was employed by a railroad, taught school, served with either the 52nd Illinois Regiment or the 95th Illinois Regiment during the American Civil War, was discharged on account of disability, but was captured by Confederate forces while attempting to reach his brother who was ill in the Union Army in the South, was a civilian prisoner of war at Libby prison and escaped from there by feigning small-pox, by burning his body with coals and by having been thrown onto the pile of the dead awaiting burial, also was a prisoner of war at Mobile, Alabama, at Jackson, Mississippi, and at the Castle Thunder Prison in Richmond, Virginia, in 1863, married Electa M. Gilbert (1835-1909) at Woodstock, Illinois, in 1865, engaged in farming and stock raising in Illinois until 1881, moved to St. Paul in 1881, was a Universalist, was employed in the coal and fuel business, was an officer of the Acker Post No. 21 of the Grand Army of the Republic in 1890, was a member of the St. Paul Assembly from 1892 until 1894, was mayor of St. Paul from 1896 until 1898 as a Republican, was the president of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce in 1902, officed at 73 West Fourth Street, and died in St. Paul. The Oakland Cemetery burial plot for Florence Exley includes three additional graves, Louisa E. Exley (1809-1891,) Louisa E. Hoyt (1836-1874,) and Agnes M. Dalton (1859-1879.) The Doran burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Frank B. Doran (1839-1914,) a veteran of Company I of the 52nd Illinois Regiment during the Civil War, his wife, Electa M. Doran (1844-1909,) Charles B. Doran (1880-1929,) Louise B. Stevens (1837-1918,) Ella S. Doran (1869-1925,) and George A. Doran (1867-1938.) Charles Edgar Wright (1840- ) was born in New York, New York, moved to St. Paul in 1860, became a member of the St. Paul Fire Department in 1885, and was a captain with the St. Paul Fire Department in 1888. Mrs. John Lillian Littlefield ( -1923,) Daniel Green ( -1941,) and John W. Sorenson ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. Charles Dufour (1882-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Behr, and died in Ramsey County. Morris Chase (1906-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Frank, and died in Ramsey County. James Rosenthal (1902-1973) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Cecil Frederick Brisson (1907-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lynch, and died in Ramsey County. Helen Morgan (1892-1984) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lang, and died in Hennepin County. Meyer H. Goldenberg ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. Mary C. Roarke (1888-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hogan, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Louis King Shields (1905-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of King, and died in Ramsey County. Almon J. Hanson ( -1953) died in Dakota County. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Eugene Villaume and the Villaume Box & Lumber Company for 123 Isabel Street West.]

222 Congress Street East: Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The previous owners of record of the property were Peter Salas and Rachel C. Salas and the current owner of record of the property is Peter Salas. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Price and R. L. Robbins all resided at the former nearby 224 Congress Street East and that Mr. and Mrs. Peter Gould resided at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Benjamin S. Harmon resided at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East in 1890. The 1891 R. L. Polk & Company city directory indicates that James McCabe, a fireman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, boarded at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Elam A. Somers (1829-1897,) who died of a valvular insufficiency, resided at the former nearby 223 Congress Street East in 1897. Edmund Somers was the brother of Elam A. Somers. The 1902, 1907, and 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directories indicate that Dr. Charles E. Merritt, a deacon in 1902 and a district chairman in 1907, and Sarah Merritt both resided at the nearby former 224 Congress Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Amy E. Boobar, a copy holder employed by West Publishing Company, boarded at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East and that Charles F. Eiden, a brakeman employed by the Soo Line, resided at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles F. Leyde (1868-1926,) the husband of Aagot Leyde, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of chronic myocarditis, resided at the nearby former 223 Congress Street East in 1926. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Aagot Leyde, the widow of Charles J. Leyde, a domestic, Helen L. Leyde, a biller employed by Schunemans & Mannheimers, and Jane Leyde, a clerk employed by E. A. Brown Company, resided at the former nearby 223 Congress Street East, that Harry Edelstein, a peddler, and his wife, Minnie Edelstein, resided at the former nearby 224 Congress Street East, that Charles F. Elden resided at the former nearby 225 Congress Street East, that Joseph Hirsch, a tailor with a shop located at 2296 West Como Avenue, and his wife, Rose Hirsch, resided at the former nearby 223 Congress Street East, that George J. Krey, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and Lucille E. Krey, a stenographer employed by the Northern Produce Company, resided at the former nearby 223 Congress Street East, and that George Keller, a carpenter, and John W. Traver, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Mabel Travers, resided at the former nearby 223 Congress Street East. The Leyde burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Charles F. Leyde (1867-1926,) Aagot Leyde (1889-1960,) Jennie L. Turner (1865-1907,) Mary Jane Leyde (1832-1875,) Frederick A. Leyde (1829-1907,) Charles C. Dodge (1886-1936,) and Charles F. Leyde, Jr. (1916-1944.) Edmund Somers (1822-1904) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Sarah Merritt ( -1931,) Joseph Hirsch ( -1943,) Benjamin Enos Harmon ( -1943,) and Harry Edelstein ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. Aagot Leyde (1889-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Hennepin County. Harry Hillel Edelstein (1874-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George John Krey (1879-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gerauk, and died in Ramsey County. John W. Traver (1898-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Carter, and died in Ramsey County.

230 Congress Street East: Built in 1977. The structure is a one story, 1092 square foot, six room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Bee Flaherty, a hair dresser employed at the Emporium, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Meyer Simos resided at this address. Meyer Simos ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Guadelupe Lopez. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles F. Alstatt, the president and manager of the Western Machinery Manufacturing Company, resided at the former nearby 235 Congress Street East and that Roscoe L. Conklin, a bricklayer, and Roscoe Conkling, a bricklayer, both resided at the former nearby 231 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin Sitzhoff, a leather worker, his wife, Mary Sitzhoff, and Ben Hagen resided at the former nearby 231 Congress Street East and that Charles F. Alstatt and Barbara A. Alstatt, a commercial artist, resided at the former nearby 235 Congress Street East. Ben Hagen ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. Ben M. Hagen (1883-1972) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County.

236 Congress Street East: Built in 1970. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $50,000. The current owner of record of the property is Gerardo Narvaez. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edna M. Anhalt, a clerk employed by F. D. Williams Coal Company, Lila G. Anhalt, a clerk employed by Kiwus & Schroeckenstein, Raymond Anhalt, a helper, and Roy B. Anhalt, a clerk employed by John Hager, all boarded at the former nearby 245 Congress Street East, that Fred Anhalt, a barber, resided at the former nearby 245 Congress Street East, and that Morris Chase, a partner with Samuel Cohen in the grocery business Cohen & Chase, and Samuel Cohen, his partner, both resided at the former nearby 242 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Isadore Riback resided at the former nearby 239 Congress Street East, that Christian F. Lewerenz and his wife, Hannah Lewerenz, resided at the former nearby 241 Congress Street East, that Samuel Spiegler, a grocer with a store at 469 Anita Street, his wife, Anna Spiegler, Harry Spiegler, a clerk employed by Samuel Spiegler, and his wife, Lillian Spiegler, all resided at the former nearby 242 Congress Street East, that Frederick Anhalt and his wife, Minnie Anhalt, resided at the former nearby 243 Congress Street East, and that Lawrence Ruddy resided at the former nearby 245 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dorothea Wilhelmy (1834-1903,) a widow and mother of William Wilhelmy, who was born in Germany of parents also born in Germany and who died of chronic pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at the former nearby 241 Congress Street East in 1903. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Eileen F. Watkins (1920-1925,) the unmarried daughter of Owen W. Watkins, who was born in Illinois to parents born in the United States and who died of laryngeal obstruction, resided at the nearby former 241 Congress Street East in 1925. William Wilhelmy ( -1921) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Isadore Riback (1880-1973) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Christian F. Lewerenz ( -1936) and Fred Anhalt ( -1942) both died in Ramsey County.

246 Congress Street East: Built in 1971. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1896, 1898, and 1900 city directories indicate that Rev. W. H. Zuber resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Marie Lehman and Frank Lehman resided at this address in 1901. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry P. Schoenmeier, a janitor employed at the McColl Building, his wife, Mary Schoenmeier, and William J. Mohrland, an elevator operator employed by the St. Paul Arcade, and his wife, Emily Mohrland, resided at this address. Marie Johanna Lehman (1861-1901,) of German extraction, died of peritonitis. Frank Lehman ( -1914) died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. William J. Mohrland ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Angel Centeno and Estella Centeno. The 1920 city directory indicates that Bernice Fontaine, the widow of Harry Fontaine and a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, boarded at the former nearby 248 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Peredo, a janitor employed by Armour & Company, and his wife, Consuelo Peredo, resided at the former nearby 247 Congress Street East and that Oscar O. Stiefel, a laborer employed by Stiefel Products, Inc., and his wife, Grace Stiefel, resided at the former nearby 247 Congress Street East. Oscar O. Stiefel ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.] [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

250 Congress Street East: Built in 1972. The structure is a one story, 1008 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $48,000 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owner of record of the property is Rosa Gonzaletz Perez. The 1920 city directory indicates that James H. Clark, a millwright, boarded at the former nearby 251 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that the nearby former 251 Congress Street East and the nearby former 255 Congress Street East were vacant.

256 Congress Street East: Built in 1916. The structure is a one story, 1104 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Morris Burstein, a driver, and his wife, Esther Burstein, resided at this address. Morris Burstein (1901-1976) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The previous owner of record of the property was Stanley A. Mohrbacher and the current owners of record of the property are Mary L. Mohrbacher and Stanley A. Mohrbacher. The 1930 city directory indicates that 257 Congress Street East was vacant.

258 Congress Street East: Built in 1971. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. James N. Wilgus resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Earl Hummell, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Esther Hummell, and Edward Hummell, a laborer, resided at this address. Earl Ernest Hummel (1889-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wagner, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Sonia D. Torres. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jennie Halloway, Charles Halloway, a helper employed by Marquette Manufacturing Company, Peter Theodoris, a barber with a shop located at 446 Broadway Street, and his wife, Hilda Theodoris, all resided at the former nearby 261 Congress Street East/261 Concord Street East. Jennie Halloway ( -1954) died in Ramsey County.

262 Congress Street East: Built in 1971. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. J. Arnold resided at this address. The 1898 and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Barwise resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Barwise and their daughter resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Doris M. Barwise, a stenographer employed by the South St. Paul Stock Exchange, and James W. Barwise, a bookkeeper employed by Simon Brothers, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Alice Reiswig, Stanley G. Stalmer, a painter employed by Brown Sheet Metal & Steel Company, and his wife, Catherine Stalmer, all resided at this address. James W. Barwise ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. Alice Reiswig (1896-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Supuss, and died in Ramsey County. Stanley George Stalmer (1908-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dembrowski, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Geraldine M. Dow and the current owners of record of the property are Anthony Dow and Geraldine Dow. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Lucas resided at the former nearby 265 Congress Street East. Moritz Kafka, St. Paul's first Jewish policeman and a sextant (shamos) at the Mount Zion Synagogue from 1874 to 1881, resided at the nearby former 268 Congress Street East before 1917. In 1879, Moritz Kafka, a peddler, resided at the former 35 Exchange Street. As Shamos, Kafka was responsible for the care of the Mount Zion Temple, keeping the heat on, collecting contributions, and carrying out the directives of the congregation president. The 1920 city directory indicates that Peter L. Anderson, a tailor, resided at the former nearby 270 Congress Street East, that Florence Clark, a clerk, boarded at the former nearby 271 East Congress Street, that Marcus Clark, a fireman, resided at the former nearby 271 Congress Street East, that James Fitzpatrick, a tower man, and John W. Fitzpatrick, a rouiter employed by the Buckbee-Mears Company, both resided at the former nearby 268 Congress Street East, and that Raymond Fitzpatrick, an apprentice employed by the Buckbee-Mears Company, boarded at the former nearby 268 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Marley Hoge resided at the former nearby 265 Congress Street East, that Louis Geller, a peddler, his wife, Bertha Geller, Eli Gordon, and his wife, Jenny Gordon, resided at the former nearby 268 Congress Street East, that Metri Wizer, a salesman, his wife, Mae Wizer, Mathilda Wizer, a clerk employed by Yale Johnson, and Sophie Wizer, a cashier employed by A. Schoch Grocery Company, resided at the former nearby 269 Congress Street East, that Mrs. Alice Bertrand, the widow of Joseph J. Bertrand, Alice Bertrand, a stenographer employed by Showcarder Inc., Roy Volk, a laborer, and his wife, Marie Volk, all resided at the former nearby 270 Congress Street East, and that Morris Rosenbloom/Rosenblum, a peddler, and his wife, Ida Rosenbloom, resided at the former nearby 265 Congress Street East. Metri Wizer ( -1931,) Morris Rosenblum ( -1952,) and Louis Geller ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Eli M. Gordon ( -1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Riva, and died in Ramsey County. Alice A. Bertrand (1901-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fitzpatrick, and died in Ramsey County. Roy Volk (1918-1992) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of LeMar, and died in Hennepin County. Morris Rosenblum (1886-1970) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

272 Congress Street East: Built in 1977. The structure is a one story, 960 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $189,900. The previous owner of record of the property was Joseph J. Straus and the current owners of record of the property are Antonio Dominguez Vivar and Maria Dolores Vergara Sanchez. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William H. Barnes, Jr., the father of a deceased infant daughter who was born in the United States, resided at the nearby former 274 Congress Street East in 1911. The 1930 city directory indicates that Marquis D. Javner, a janitor employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, his wife, Dora Javner, Mrs. Dorothy Javner, a helper employed by the Golden Rule department store, and Dwaine Javner, a laborer employed by Armour & Company, resided at the former nearby 274 Congress Street East and that Louis Wynacht, a painter, and his wife, Gertrude Wynacht, resided at the former nearby 276 Congress Street East. William H. Barnes ( -1934) and Louis Wynacht ( -1935) both died in Ramsey County. Marquis D. Javner (1882-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Maug, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota.

280 Congress Street East: Built in 1972. The structure is a one story, 982 square foot, four room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Smith resided at this address. The 1892 city directory indicates that D. C. Smith resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James M. Watters, a laborer, and his wife, Sarah Watters, resided at this address. James M. Watters ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $62,500. The current owners of record of the property are Heriberto Lopez Sagche and Lilian Hernandez. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James Ross (1834-1892,) of English heritage who died of a spine fracture, and Eliza Ross, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 281 Congress Street East in 1892. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Phil S. Johnson resided at the former nearby 278 Congress Street East in 1896. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alfred Milton (1856-1899,) of English extraction who died of typhoid fever, and Anna Milton, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 281 Congress Street East in 1899. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Eliza Milton Ross (1833-1903,) a widow and the mother of Thomas Milton, who was born in England to parents also born in England and who died of apoplexy, resided at 281 Congress Street East in 1903. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elmer S. Anderson, a salesman employed by B. E. Santer, resided at the former nearby 284 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jack Lutwiniak, a peddler, his wife, Mary Lutwiniak, and Nathan Weinstein, a driver, and his wife, Dora Weinstein, resided at the former nearby 281 Congress Street East and that Bernard Woebkenberg, a sausage maker employed by the St. Paul Sausage Company, and his wife, Rose Woebkenberg, resided at the former nearby 284 Congress Street East. Anna Milton ( -1910) died in Ramsey County. Nathan Weinstein (1900-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bernstein, and died in Hennepin County. Nathan Weinstein (1908-1985) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weinstein, and died in Hennepin County.

286 Congress Street East: Built in 1976. The structure is a 1801 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward A. Jorgenson, a helper employed by Gopher Stamp & Die Company, and his wife, Cherry Jorgenson, resided at this address. Edward Anthony Jorgenson ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Rem Ramsey Inc., of Edina, Minnesota. Rem Ramsey Inc. is a private healthcare company providing a broad continuum of housing and services that provides residential services to adults with develpmental disabilities. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Bauer resided at the former nearby 291 Congress Street East and that Mr. and Mrs. Edward B. Summers resided at the former nearby 298 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Carrie Brandt resided at the former nearby 316 East Congress Street in 1900. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Peter Evans (1853-1905,) the husband of Marie Evans, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of a carcinoma, resided at the former nearby 298 Congress Street East in 1904. Mrs. Frank G. Hatcher was the sister of Carrie Brandt. The 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directory indicates that James Cochrane and Eleanor H. Cochrane resided at the nearby former 297 Congress Street East. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Fred G. Lau (1894- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Corporal in Battery C of the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in Stillwater, Minnesota, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a medium complexion, was 5' 2 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Champagne-Marne offensive, St. Mihiel, Meusse and the Argonne, was a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad General Office after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at 289 Congress Street East. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Robert K. Varley (1899- ,) a 1917 drafttee and a Private in Company C, Second Battalion, 163rd Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a train baggage man employed by the Soo line RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, J. Varley, at the nearby 298 Congress Street East. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Jesse A. Herrick (1885-1920,) the single son of Henry Herrick, who was born in South Dakota to parents born in the United States and who died of wood alcohol poisoning, resided at the nearby former 318 Congress Street East in 1920. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry Abrams, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 330 East Congress Street, that William H. Barnes, a carpenter, resided at the former nearby 301 Congress Street East, that Chris J. Behr, a police officer, resided at the former nearby 309 Congress Street East, that Phil Blozer, a janitor, resided at the nearby former 312 Congress Street East, that Elizabeth Bremer, a machine operator employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, Inc., and Elsie Bremer, a cashier employed by the Emporium, both boarded at the former nearby 338 Congress Street East, and that Arthur H. Deeg, a painter employed by Anton Mattson, resided at the former nearby 328 Congress Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob Goldstein and Minnie Goldstein resided at the former nearby 287 Congress Street East, that John Thomas, a lamp man, and his wife, Anne Thomas, resided at the former nearby 289 Congress Street East, that William Goulet, a barnman employed by the Crescent Creamery Company, his wife, Minnie Goulet, Vernon W. Goulet, an electrotyper employed by the Webb Publishing Company, Gordon C. Goulet, an accountant employed by the Byers-Prestholdt motor Company, John L. Marcotte, a janitor, and his wife, Myra B. Marcotte, resided at the former nearby 293 Congress Street East, that Walter Bwuznik, a laborer employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, his wife, Alfreda Bwuznik, Arthur P. Gagnier, a tire repairer employed by the Auto Tire Company of St. Paul, and his wife, Georgia Gagnier, resided at the former nearby 294 Congress Street East, that Ernest F. Weinkauf, a laborer, and his wife, Mamie Weinkauf, resided at the former nearby 297 Congress Street East, that John M. Varley, a laborer, his wife, Mary Varley, and John M. Varley, Jr., a houseman employed by the Railway Express Agency, all resided at the former nearby 298 Congress Street East, that John Otley, a laborer, and his wife, Rosie Otley, resided at the former nearby 301 Congress Street East, that Frederick D. Milla, Mrs. Barbara Van Dusartz, the widow of Ernest Van Dusartz, Arthur Van Dusartz, a salesman, Edward J. Van Dusartz, a carpenter, and Rose Van Dusartz, a meat cutter employed by Swift & Company, all resided at the former nearby 306 Congress Street East, that John L. Bartlett, a trucker employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Mamie Bartlett, resided at the former nearby 308 Congress Street East, that Norbert J. Hurley, a driver employed by the National Laundry Company, and his wife, Violet M. Hurley, resided at the former nearby 309 Congress Street East, that Slive J. Hodge, a helper employed by the Marquette Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Helen Hodge, resided at the former nearby 312 Congress Street East, that Florida H. Herrick, the widow of Henry Herrick, resided at the former nearby 318 Congress Street East, that John Lysdahl, a machinist employed by the Speedometer Service & Accessories Company, and his wife, Alice Lysdahl, Michael Parness, a laborer, and his wife, Sarah Parness, resided at the former nearby 328 Congress Street East, that Hyman Blizinsky and his wife, Rose Blizinsky, resided at the former nearby 330 Congress Street East, that William J. Mohrland, an elevator operator employed by the St. Paul Arcade Company, his wife, Emily Mohrland, and Roger A. Hart, a foreman employed by the L. C. Smith & Corona Typewriters, Inc., and his wife, Hester Hart, resided at the former nearby 334 Congress Street East, and that Edward J. Kanthack, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Helen Kanthack, resided at the former nearby 338 Congress Street East. James Cochrane ( -1922,) Slibe Hodge ( -1936,) Michael Parness ( -1936,) Jacob Goldstein ( -1937,) Carrie Brandt ( -1941,) John Marvin Varley ( -1942,) William Mohrland ( -1943,) John Otley ( -1944,) Eleanor Cochrane ( -1950,) and Edward Kanthack ( -1956) all died in Ramsey County. Marie Evans ( -1930) died in Hennepin County. William Goulet (1875-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Collier, and died in Ramsey County. John L. "Jean" Marcotte (1894-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Arthur P. Gagnier (1903-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gens, and died in Ramsey County. Ernest F. Weinkauf (1904-1975) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John M. Varley (1899-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Klima, and died in Ramsey County. John Leonard Bartlett (1888-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dull, and died in Ramsey County. Roger A. Hart (1898-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goyer, and died in Ramsey County. Lizzie Lau was the mother of Fred G. Lau.

5 Delos Street West: Built in 1902. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1562 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that David J. Letourneau, a lather, and his wife, Vanda Letourneau, resided at this address. David J. Letourneau (1886-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lutz, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Dimitria T. Phill Kotsonas and Marc A. Kotsonas.

9 Delos Street West: Built in 1905. The structure is a multifamily apartment building. The building is a four unit apartment house that was built as railroad worker housing. The building is brick and has wood built-ins. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Robert Brown resided at this address in 1910. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. B. Blehert and Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Blum all resided at this address. World War I veterans Clyde E. Seekins (1891- ), a Private, and Irving L. Seekins, Jr., (1895- ), a Seaman, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alex C. Brown, a student, boarded at this address and that John R. Brown, an engineer employed by the Brown, Blodgett & Sperry Company, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte H. Brown (1871-1921,) the wife of John R. Brown, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of liver cancer, resided at this address in 1921. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Albert J. Vierling, an inspector employed by the U. S. Bureau of Agriculture, and his wife, Mary Vierling (Apartment #1,) Joseph Giefer, an installer, and his wife, Mina Giefer (Apartment #2,) Joseph H. Ball, a reporter employed by the St. Paul Dispatch, and his wife, Elizabeth Ball (Apartment #3,) and Leonard Voyer, a laborer employed by the St. Paul City Department of Public Works, and his wife, Wilhelmina Voyer (Apartment #4.) Clyde Edward Seekins, Sr., and Geneva Elizabeth McCarthy Seekins resided in St. Paul and in South St. Paul, Minnesota. Clyde E. Seekins, Jr. (1923-2002) was the son of Clyde Edward Seekins, Sr., and Geneva Elizabeth McCarthy Seekins, was baptized and confirmed at the Presbyterian Church in South St. Paul, graduated from South St. Paul High school in 1942, enlisted in the United States Navy during World War II, where he served as an Electrician Mate Second Class, on the U.S.S. Torsk, U.S.S. Sea Leopard, U.S.S. Porpoise, and the submarine U.S.S. S-11, was a Minnesota State Patrol Officer from 1952 to 1983, worked for Bell Telephone in Caledonia, Minnesota, for the Houston County, Minnesota, Sheriff's Office, for the Mississippi River Boat Patrol, and as a contracted private investigator, and was married twice, first to Dolores Alencich Seekins-Link and then to Charmion Strand-Sinclair. The owner of the building in 1981 was Kathleen Mott. Joseph F. Giefer (1895-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weber, and died in Ramsey County. Leonard Voyer ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 for $101,500. The current owners of record of the property are Charles D. Borden and Richelle Schenfeld.

10 Delos Street West: Built in 1923. The structure is a one story, 1008 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph Kubesh resided at this address. The previous owners of record of the property were Jay C. Rusthoven and Karen J. Rusthoven, who resided at 1954 Iglehart Avenue, and the current owners of record of the property are Mary A. McCormack and John R. Purdy.

11 Delos Street West: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1246 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1879 city directory indicates that Willard Fales and Willard A. Fales, a bookkeeper employed by Mayo & Clark, both resided at the corner of Hall Street and Delos Street. The 1885, 1887, 1890, 1892, 1894, and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Willard A. Fales resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James Tuttle (1824-1909,) the husband of Alvira A. Tuttle, who was born in Connecticut to parents born in the United States and who died of lobar pneumonia and senility, resided at this address in 1909. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alvira A. Tuttle (1825-1912,) the widowed mother of Romeo J. Tuttle, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of senility, resided at this address in 1912. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Knott, a fenceworker, resided at this address. Willard Allen Fales (1859-1914) was born in New York, was married to Martha Ann Prescott (1864-1935,) and died in St. Paul. The couple had four children, Willard Prescott Fales (1883- ,) Edward Brooks Fales, Jessie May Fales, and Shirley Winifred Fales. Willard P. Fales married Melrose DuFresne and their children were Jessie Lorraine Fales (Mrs. Edward) Wharton and Dorothy Jane Fales (Mrs. Durward) Jackson (1914-1960.) Edward Brooks Fales (1885-1941) married Olga Shulze. Jessie May Fales (1887-1953) married Henry Martin and their child was Edward Brooks Martin (1924- .) Shirley Winifred Fales (1893-1920) married Alfred Nystrom and their children were Winifred Nystrom (husband: Harley) Roth and Audrey Nystrom Mueller (1916- .) Martha Prescott Fales was a daughter of Charles Abbott Prescott (1828-1898) and Martha Ann Sargent (1827-1878) and her siblings were Augustus S. Prescott, Cora Prescott (Mrs. Henry) Martin, Morgan C. Prescott (1857-1944,) Nathan Prescott, Eugene Prescott (1849-1850,) Charles Albert Prescott (1849-1849,) Ella Sophia Prescott (Mrs. Grenville) Fales (1852-1917,) and Julia Prescott (1870- .) Henry Martin (1865- ,) the son of George Martin and Martha Martin, was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was educated in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was engaged in the tanning business with his father from 1879 until 1884, moved to St. Paul in 1884, married Cora J. Prescott in 1887, was engaged in the insurance business after 1884, was the manager of the Germania Fire Insurance Company, resided at 760 Riverview Avenue in 1907, and officed at the Manhattan Building in 1907. The 1879 city directory indicates that Grenville Fales, a cashier employed by the St. Paul Pioneer Press, resided at the corner of Hall Street and Delos Street. James Tuttle ( -1909,) Alvina A. Tuttle ( -1912,) and Joseph Knott ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. Joseph Knott (1894-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Garske, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $97,000. The current owner of record of the property is John F. Hick.

14 Delos Street West: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 1584 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Lloyd Stuhlman, a manager employed by John C. Stuhlman, and his wife, Florence Stuhlman, resided at this address. John Lloyd Stuhlman (1894-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schonick, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Paula J. Sanchez and Thomas M. Sanchez.

19 Delos Street West: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1354 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Edward L. Fales and Miss Maggie M. Fales resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Edward L. Fales resided at this address. The 1892 and 1894 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Edward L. Fales resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Willard Fales (1809-1897,) a widower who died from hemiplegia, resided at this address in 1897. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Minnie C. Phipps and Daisy A. Phipps resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Minnie C. Phipps, the widow of George Phipps, and Daisy A. Phipps, a clerk, resided at this address. Edward Lippett Fales (1858-1935) was the author of The Drummer Boy; a Story of the War published in St. Paul by Fales & Johns in 1873, The Suliote's Oath, or, Long-haired Leonidas published in St. Paul by the Fales Brothers in 1875, Underneath the Mistletoe, and Other Poems published in Minneapolis by the author in 1881, Songs and Song-legends of Dahkotah Land published in St. Paul by Highland Publishing Company in 1882, Songs and Song Legends published in St. Paul by the author in 1887, and Pillars of the Temple published in St. Paul in 1891. Eugene A. Fales was the son of Willard Fales. Eugene Dotten Fales ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. In 1901, Eugene Dotten Fales (1876- ,) son of Grenville Fales and Ellen Sophia Prescott Fales, married Lillian Magdalene Wegel/Wagle Griffin Fales (1876-1956,) who had been previously married, and the couple had five sons in addition to the daughter, Vera Griffin (1897-1915,) that Lillian Fales brought from her first marriage, Prescott Eugene Fales (1901-1973,) Eugene John Fales (1904- ,) Allan Davis Fales (1905-1974,) Wesley Arthur Fales (1910-2003,) and an unnamed baby boy Fales ( - .) Prescott Eugene Fales first married Vance Minter Fales and then married Myrtle Fales. Eugene John Fales married Elizabeth Kelley Fales. Elizabeth Boutell Fales ( -1940) died in Lyon County, Minnesota. Allan Davis Fales married Helen Pelletier Fales and died in Minnesota. Helen B. Fales (1908-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rabideau, and died in Ramsey County. Wesley Arthur Fales married Gladys Johnson Fales (1939-2000,) the daughter of John William Johnson (1884-1945) and Anna Elizabeth Lundgren Johnson (1884-1978,) both immigrants from Sweden, and the couple had five children, Wesley Arthur Fales II (1940- ,) Candace Elizabeth Fales (1944- ,) Pamela Kay Fales (1947- ,) Cheryl Jean Fales (1951- ,) and Jeffrey John Fales (1960-1960.) Wesley Arthur Fales II married Judy Diane Cronen Fales in 1961. Candace Elizabeth Fales married Gerald Lee Rowlette in 1963. Cheryl Jean Fales married Thomas Steven Steinmetz in 1977. Pamela Kay Fales first married __?__ Kuhnley in 1968 and then married __?__ Schultheis in 1988. Margaret Fales ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $105,400. The current owners of record of the property are Sandy M. Lehman and Marie I. Saraga.

25 Delos Street West: Built in 1880. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2009 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1885, 1890, 1892, and 1894 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Grenville Fales resided at this address. The 1896, 1898, and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. Fales resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Meier resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ralph E. Boyle, an inspector employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, and his wife, Marcy Boyle, resided at this address. Ellen/Ella Sophia Prescott (1852-1917,) the daughter of Charles Abbott Prescott (1828-1898) and Martha Ann Sargent (1827-1878,) granddaughter of John Prescott of Massachusetts, and half-sister of Martha Ann Prescott, who was the wife of Willard Allen Fales, married Grenville Fales, a brother of Willard Allen Fales, who resided at 11 Delos Street West. Ella S. Fales ( -1917) and Willard A. Fales ( -1914) both died in Ramsey County. Ralph E. Boyle (1888-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eden, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $107,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Christine N. Bryant and Douglas E. Bryant and the current owner of record of the property is Christine N. Bryant.

38 Delos Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1214 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1887, 1890, 1892, 1894, and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. Sherin resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Samuel Sherin resided at this address in 1893. The 1920 city directory indicates that Amelia Barnett, the widow of Robert Barnett, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Pauline Giossi, Edward Giossi, a painter, Mabel Giossi, a dishwasher, and Vernon Giossi all resided at this address. Pauline Giossi (1874-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fischer, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $195,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Edward F. Luna and Joelee Luna and the current owner of record of the property is Carlos Flores.

42 Delos Street West: Built in 1887. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1155 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. N. Carlton resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. C. Reichardt resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward G. Carlson, a foreman employed by Swift & Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard Cacek resided at this address while another 1930 city directory indicates that Richard Cacek, a mixer employed by the National Lead Company, and his wife, Emily Cacek, resided at 84 West George Street. Richard Cacek ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $115,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Jose Marquez Baeza and Juan Marquez Montejano.

44 Delos Street West: Built in 1879. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1335 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1890 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. Kaiser resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph D. Furey, a laborer employed by the St. Paul Department of Public Works, his wife, Irma Furey, Adolph W. Markus, and Frank Polk resided at this address. Joseph D. Furey (1900-1981) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Adolph William Markus (1908-1984) was born in Minnesota and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Frank E. Polk (1896-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hansy, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. The previous owner of record of the property was Carl Pettersen and the current owners of record of the property are Joseph Felt and Jacqueline Zent.

46 Delos Street West: Grady Flats; Built in 1889; Emil Strassburger, architect. The structure is a two story, 1684 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The building utilizes a roofline that is broken with bulky dormers and short chimmneys. The 1894 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Ladd resided at this address. The 1898 and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Schriber resided at this address. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Schriber resided at 243 Winifred Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph A. Gardner, a foreman employed by the P. N. Peterson Granite Company, and his wife, Lois Gardner, resided at this address. Frederick H. Schriber ( -1923) died in Ramsey County. Joseph A. Gardner (1881-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Louise C. Wolfgramm and Richard G. Wolfgramm, who reside at 807 Osceola Avenue.

48 Delos Street West: Grady Flats; Built in 1889; Emil Strassburger, architect. The structure is a two story, 1566 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The building utilizes a roofline that is broken with bulky dormers and short chimmneys. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Wardell resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Martin resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Edward J. Heimbach, a clerk with the Ramsey County Auditor's office, resided at this address and that Edward M. Heimbach, a deputy collector with the federal Internal Revenue Service, boarded at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Louis O. Fontaine, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clara Pieper, a clerk employed by Millcrest Chocolate Shop, and James Pieper, a bookkeeper employed by the First National Bank, resided at this address. Henry Martin ( -1930,) John G. Wardell ( -1935,) Edward J. Heimbach ( -1936,) and Edward M. Heimbach ( -1941) all died in Ramsey County. Clara C. Pieper (1888-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jensen, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Zoe Sylvia St. Mane. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad for 432 Summit Avenue.]

50 Delos Street West: Grady Flats; Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1566 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1894 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Heath resided at this address. The 1896 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Heath and Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Nichols resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Randall resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ruth E. Ackerman, an operator employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, Harriet Ackerman, a packer, Elmer H. Ackerman, a trucker employed by Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Mayme Ackerman, resided at this address. Edward M. Randall ( -1917) died in Ramsey County. George W. Heath ( -1942) and Ruth Ackerman ( -1949) died in Hennepin County. Elmer H. Ackerman (1885-1967) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gunnarson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $181,000. The current owner of record of the property is Zachary L. Nayman.

51 Delos Street West: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1490 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Heinsch, an operator of a filling station at 79 Congress Street East, and his wife, Elsie A. Heinsch, resided at this address. Edward Heinsch ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $255,000. The current owner of record of the property is Karl S. Myhre and the current owners of record of the property are Derek D. Johnson and Rebecca E. Ryan.

52 Delos Street West: Grady Flats/Delos Rowhouses; Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1684 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house. The 1894, 1896, and 1898 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Cullen resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Frank Pierson resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frances H. Bednorz, a nurse, boarded at this address. The building was vacant in 1930 and from 1970 to 1980. Peter Hames was the owner of the property in 1981. Peter Hames grew up in St. Paul, attended St. Thomas Academy and the University of Minnesota, was a U.S. Marine Corps veteran, began working for the city of St. Paul in 1973, when Larry Cohen was mayor, and became Mayor George Latimer's Director of Finance. After two years of employment by San Jose, California, and by Tracy, California, Peter Hames returned to Minnesota as Director of Finance in Brooklyn Park, where he reportedly had only one argument with the then mayor, Jesse Ventura, about license plate tabs for Ventura's Porsche. In 1994, Hames returned to St. Paul, working as finance director, director of innovations, housing information coordinator, deputy chief of staff, and director of technology for Mayor Norm Coleman and then stayed on with Mayor Randy Kelly. In 2002, Hames took a job as the assistant county manager in Ohio's Hamilton County (Cincinnati.) The current owner of record of the property is Ella J. Thayer. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. J. Bigue, their daughters, and A. E. Bigue all resided at the former nearby 54 Delos Street West. The 1920 city directory indicates that Blanche S. Bigue, a teacher at Humboldt High School, boarded at the former nearby 54 West Delos Street and that Phil J. Bigue, an assistant custodian employed at the Post Office Building, resided at the former nearby 54 West Delos Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary A. Bigue, the widow of Phillip Bigue, Blanche S. Bigue, a teacher, and Maude E. Bigue, resided at the former nearby 54 Delos Street West.

56 Delos Street West: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2324 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Bernice E. Nelson.

61 Delos Street West: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 8784 square foot, apartment house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Orrison S. Boston (1848-1912,) who was born in Maine to parents who were born in the United States and who died of nephritis, resided at this address in 1912. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles H. Ahlborn, a bookkeeper, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Alborn resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were John Osterfield/Osterfeld, a painter employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Margaret Osterfeld (Apartment #1,) L. A. Parent, a piano tuner, and his wife, Georgia Parent (Apartment #2,) Louis Swanson, a janitor employed by the Oppenheim Building, and his wife, Jennie Swanson (Apartment #3,) and Charles A. Hendrickson, an attendant employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Mary Hendrickson (Apartment #4.) Charles A. Hendrickson ( -1939) and Louis A. Parent ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $104,500 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owner of record of the property is Margaret M. Schmidt, who resides in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota.

64 Delos Street West: Edward Heimbach and Elizabeth Heimbach House and Carriage House/Edward J. Heimbach and Elizabeth Bruggeman Heimbach House; Built in 1890 (1885 according to Murphy and Joe Hoover;) High Victorian/Victorian/Italianate/Eastlake in style. The structure is a two story, 2556 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The house has an octagonal tower and dome and also has a carriage house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Heimbach, Albert Coleman, and J. H. Garlough all resided at this address. The 1890, 1892, 1894, and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Heimbach resided at this address. The 1898 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Heimbach and G. B. Parsons all resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Geissel resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Clark resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Pierce J. Clark, a clerk, resided at this address. Edward J. Heimbach, the son of a a West Side German immigrant brick mason, was a boot and shoe retailer. Elizabeth Bruggeman/Brueggemann Heimbach was the daughter of brewer Martin Bruggeman/Brueggemann. Bruggeman/Brueggemann's Brewery relocated from the West Seventh Street area to the West Side in 1871 and 1872. Martin Bruggeman/Brueggemann was an active brewer until 1897. Frank Aiple purchased the Bruggeman/Brueggemann Brewery of St. Paul in 1897. Charles E. Geissel (1878-1921) was the husband of Catherine Hyland Geissel. Before 1904, Charles Geissel was employed by A. T. Hall, and in 1904, Charles Geissel purchased the interest of __?__ Kraft in Hall & Kraft in a St. Paul West Side pharmacy. Charles Geissel was a druggist and part owner of the Hall & Geissel Drugstore who died after accidentally falling down a flight of stairs and was buried. When his insurance company refused to pay his life insurance because they claimed he fell because he was a drug user, his widow had the body was exhumed, had the required tests done, the insurance company's claims were proved false, and the insurance company had to pay the insurance benefit. Charles Geissel's body then was reburied in the Highland Cemetery in Lakeville, Minnesota. Catharine Geissel (1876-1964) was born in Minnesota, the daughter of Frank Hyland (1829-1896) and Mary Fahey Hyland (1830-1880), had seven siblings, and died in Ramsey County. Charles Geissel ( -1918,) Charles E. Geissel ( -1921,) and Edward J. Heimbach ( -1936) all died in Ramsey County. Pierce Joseph Clark (1906-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Pierce, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Rejendra V. Auradkar.

80 Delos Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1110 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter Spangenberg, a captain with St. Paul Fire Department Hook & Ladder Company Number 5, and his wife, Bessie M. Spangenberg, resided at this address. Walter A. Spangenberg ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Bernetta A. Romero and Seferino C. Romero.

109 Delos Street West: Built in 1907. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1320 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum-vinyl-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry J. Meyer (1852-1915,) the husband of Louisa H. Meyer, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1915. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leon J. Hanley, a boilermaker employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Frances Hanley, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Leonard A. Yanez and Marjorie C. Yanez. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

115 Delos Street West: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 1492 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leonard J. Diedrich, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service, and his wife, Laura Diedrich, resided at this address. Leonard J. Diedrich (1881-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eppel, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The previous owner of record of the property was Janet L. Vasterling and the current owners of record of the property are Nicholas J. Arganbright and Leslie N. McGuire. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

119 Delos Street West: Built in 1955. The structure is a one story, 1240 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Aurora M. Hernandez and Raymond L. Hernandez.

120 Delos Street West: Built in 1915. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1432 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that R. J. King resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. J. King resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Lang, a molder employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, and his wife, Susie M. Lang, resided at this address. Peter Lang ( -1913) and Peter Lang ( -1919) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are James M. Connolly and Colleen Ann Sorg. [See note for the American Hoist and Derrick Company for 2010 Summit Avenue.]

125-127 Delos Street West: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 3618 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. P. O'Connor resided at 127 Delos Street West. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Lewis resided at 125 Delos Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred E. Johanning, a bookkeeper employed by the Ryan Tranfer & Storage Company, and his wife, Margaret Johanning, resided at 125 Delos Street West. The 1930 city directory also indicates that Jeremiah P. O'Connor, a physician who officed at 488 Wabasha Avenue and at 458 South Robert Street, and his wife, Emma O'Connor, resided at 127 Delos Street West. Fred Johanning (1890-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Drechsler, and died in Ramsey County. Charles O. "Chuck" Lentz, an attorney with the law firm of Robins, Kaplan, Miller, & Ciresi, resided at 127 Delos Street West in 2004 and was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. The current owners of record of the property are Charles O. Lentz and Barbara A. Rose.

126 Delos Street West: Built in 1915. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1985 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob E. Jenny, a telegraph operator employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Emma C. Jenny, resided at this address. Jacob Earl Jenny (1888-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Convey, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $79,900. The current owners of record of the property are Donald W. Johnson, III, and Nara L. Topp. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

136 Delos Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1224 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Martin resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Martin resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur G. Martin, a teller employed by the First National Bank, and his wife, Bertha Martin, resided at this address. Arthur George Martin ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Judith M. Jones.

140 Delos Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1416 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Jno Marti resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that John Marti resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Marti, the chief inspector employed by the St. Paul City Health Department, resided at this address. John Marti (1870- ) was the husband of Caroline J. Miller Marti (1876-before 1920) and the couple had two daughters, Laura B. Marti (1913 - ) and Caroline Marti (1917- .) Caroline J. Miller Marti was a daughter of Theodore H. Miller, a carpenter & saloon keeper, (1841- ) and Lucy S. Keller Miller (1844- ) and a granddaughter of Anton Muller/Anthony Miller (1810-1870) and Maria G. Muller/Mary G. Miller (1817-1880). The 1920 federal census indicates that John Marti was a chief inspector for the St. Paul Bureau of Health and that Amelia P. Miller (1878-1965), the sister of the late Caroline J. Miller Marti and who was not employed, resided with her brother-in-law and his daughters at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that John Marti was the chief clerk for the St. Paul City Health Department, that Amelia P. Miller, an office manager for a law book firm, resided with her brother-in-law and his daughters at this address and that Amelia P. Keller (1844- ), a housekeeper for a private facility, also resided with the Marti family. John Marti was born in Minnesota, his father was born in Switzerland, and his mother was born in Germany. John Marti (1869-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Buchauser, and died in Ramsey County. Amelia P. Miller and the late Caroline J. Miller Marti were both born in Minnesota and their father was born in Germany and their mother was born in Illinois. Amelia P. Keller was born in Ohio and both of her parents were born in Germany. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $75,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Catherine A. Abtsand the current owner of record of the property is Scott D. McCutcheon.

144 Delos Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1370 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Keep resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter J. Meisel, a chauffeur with the St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 21, and his wife, Selma Meisel, resided at this address. Walter Jacob Meisel (1892-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mueller, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Julie M. Jensen and Lawrence J. Shelley. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Carruthers resided at the former nearby 145 Delos Street West in 1890. John Carruthers ( -1934) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The Carruthers burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of John Carruthers (1855-1934,) Emmeline Carruthers (1854-1919,) Ruth Ethel Carruthers ( - ,) and Willie Carruthers ( - .)

148 Delos Street West: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2596 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Longendyke resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Longendyke and their daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Eurastus Longendyke, the superintendent for the Crescent Creamery Company, and his wife, Celia Longendyke, resided at this address. Erastus Longendyke ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Lorilyn M. Curley. [See note on the Crescent Creamery Company for 601 Goodrich Avenue.]

154 Delos Street West: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1432 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Jacob Rihner (1869-1910,) the husband of Anna Rihner, who was born in Switzerland to parents also born in Switzerland and who died of diabetes, resided at this address in 1910. The 1930 city directory indicates that James F. Flavin, a captain employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 21, and his wife, Amelia M. Flavin, resided at this address. James F. Flavin (1876-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $150,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Shane G. Raddatz and the current owner of record of the property is David A. Titus.

156 Delos Street West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1184 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that George Emil Honsa (1893- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Infantry Section, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence E. Anderson, a carpenter employed by Armour & Company, and his wife, Theresa Anderson, resided at this address. George Honsa (1893-1980,) the son of John Honsa and Mary __?__ Honsa, was born in St. Paul, married Irene O'Meara (1897-1976,) the daughter of Martin O'Meara (1860-1926) and Ellen "Nellie" McMahon O'Meara (1876-1960,) and died in St. Paul. Irene O'Meara was born in Green Isle, Minnesota, and died in St. Paul. The current owners of record of the property are Peter H. Kramer and Bonnie D. Olsen Kramer. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mathew Barbeau, a driver, resided at the former nearby 158 Delos Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emerig Endress, a janitor employed by United Packaging Company, and his wife, Rose Endress, resided at the former nearby 158 Delos Street West. Emerig S. Endress (1885-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

164 Delos Street West: Built in 1950. The structure is a one story, 1255 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Shari L. Burt.

168 Delos Street West: Built in 1925. The structure is a one story, 1443 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Theresa H. Steiner, the widow of Joseph Steiner, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $105,000. The current owners of record of the property are Andrew E. Belmares and Katherine S. Wubben.

174 Delos Street West: Steiner House; Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 2576 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Theresa Steiner and J. M. Steiner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James A. Hechtl, a salesman employed by the Crance Company, and his wife, Louise Hechtl, resided at this address. James A. Hechtl ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Kay L. Kruse and Richard G. Kruse. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Geo Michel resided at the former nearby 175 Delos Street West. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#7597) indicate that Adolph G. Michel (1894- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Corporal in Company C of the 39th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, was a farmer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a farmer employed by John Hartle, Owatonna, Minnesota, after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. George Michel, at the nearby former 175 West Delos Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11489) indicate that Mrs. A. M. Spicer, the mother of World War I veteran Clifford M. Spicer, resided at the nearby former 63 Delos Street East in 1917. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16365) indicate that Carlos O. Cooley (1880- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a First Lieutenant in the 49th Infantry, who was born in Clear Lake, Iowa, moved to Minnesota in 1890, was an employee of the V. O. D. Motor Car Company at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a clerk employed by the Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Dora Coley, at the nearby former 61 Delos Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Walter G. Adams, a salesman, resided at the former nearby 63 East Delos Street, that Emmett Carter, a fireman employed by the Chicago & Great Western RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 61 East Delos Street, and that Pearl Ellsworth, a waiter, boarded at the former nearby 61 Delos Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company No. 6 and Hook and Ladder Company No. 5, were located at the former nearby 124 Delos Street East. In 1972-1973, Francisco J. Ramirez, a Freshman at Macalester College, resided at the nearby former 71 Delos Street East. In 1879, George Michel, a carpenter employed by John Seeger, resided at 123 Rice Street. [See note on the Chicago & Great Western Railway for 42 Isabel Street West.]

129 Delos Street East: Built in 1982. The structure is a 1294 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum-vinyl-side split level house, with a detached garage. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $170,000. The current owner of record of the property is Sarah J. Flores. The 1920 city directory indicates that William C. Bush, a butcher, resided at the former nearby 57 East Delos Street, that Ellen Byrne, the widow of William H. Byrne, and Nellie Byrne, the widow of William H. Byrne, both resided at the former nearby 83 Delos Street East, and that Gertrude H. Byrne, a stenographer employed by Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, boarded at the former nearby 83 Delos Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hymen Edelman, a lawyer, Maurice Edelman, secretary of the Hebrew Institute, his wife, Mollie Edelman, Ralph Edelman, a pressfeeder, Samuel Edelman, a special agent employed by the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Company, and Sarah Edelman, a saleswoman employed by the Macy Company, all resided at the former nearby 130 Delos Street East. [See note on the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company for 1730 Portland Avenue.]

131 Delos Street East: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1150 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Edna S. Solis.

135 Delos Street East: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1595 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert Hutton resided at this address in 1904. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward M. Hutton (1891-1904,) who was born in the United States to parents who were also born in the United States, who died of apoplexy, and who was the son of Robert Hutton, who resided at this address in 1904. The 1930 city directory indicates that David Saad, a helper, his wife, Minnie Saad, George Skaff, a driver employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Magdalyne Skaff, all resided at this address. Edward Hutton was the son of Robert Hutton. David E. Saad (1894-1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. George J. Skaff (1903-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Maloof, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $58,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The previous owner of record of the property was Maria Delcarmin Gomez and the current owners of record of the property are David Gomez and Maria Delcarmin Gomez. The 1920 city directory indicates that James Brandt, a switchman, resided at the nearby former 136 East Delos Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that James Brandt, a switchman for the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal RailRoad, and his wife, Mary Brandt, resided at the former nearby 136 Delos Street East and that David Smith, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, his wife, Anna Smith, Alexius Haffely, a towerman, and his wife, Mary Haffely, all resided at the former nearby 137 Delos Street East. Roy Schmidt, a Seaman Second Class in the USNR, the son of Davis Schmidt, was a World War II casualty and resided at the former nearby 137 East Delos Street in the early 1940's. James L. Brandt (1867-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Langdon, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Brandt ( -1938) and Mary Brandt ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. Mary Brandt (1881-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Koehler, and died in Ramsey County. Alexious Haffely ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

138 Delos Street East: Built in 1972. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $85,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Youa Zoo Moua and Mee Yang and the current owner of record of the property is Youa Zoo Moua, who resides in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry F. Deiters (1844-1912,) the husband of Louisa Deiters, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of La Grippe, resided at the nearby former 139 Delos Street East in 1912. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anthony Breault, a stereotr employed by the Daily News, resided at the former nearby 139 East Delos Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph F. McCormick, a floorman employed by Griggs Cooper & Company, his wife, Mary A. McCormick, John J. McGue, a laundryman employed by Armour & Company, his wife, May McGue, and Catherine McGue, a supervisor employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, all resided at the former nearby 139 Delos Street East. Henry F. Dieters ( -1912) and John J. McGue ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.] [See the note for the Griggs, Cooper & Company for 901 Euclid Street.] [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

140 Delos Street East: Built in 1972. The structure is a one story, 976 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John E. Breault, a carpenter, and Marcella E. Breault, a clerk, both boarded at this address and that Leo Breault, a carpenter, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Paul, a peddler, his wife, Lena Paul, and Joseph Paul, a salesman, all resided at this address. Louis Paul ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Louis Paul (1872-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Louis Paul (1907-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Siegert, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Paul ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $69,900 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owner of record of the property is Margarita S. Godina. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Brandt resided at the former nearby 141 Delos Street East.

142 Delos Street East: Built in 1977. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $85,000. The current owners of record of the property are Yang Pao Moua and Chia Vue. The 1885 city directory indicates that William R. Spengler resided at the former nearby 146 Delos Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leo L. Friedl, a beef killer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Helen Friedl, resided at the former nearby 145 Delos Street East. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

149 Delos Street East: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2072 square foot, seven bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The current owners of record of the property are Carol Klindworth and Roderick Klindworth.

152 Delos Street East: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Jesus Rueda and Juanita Rueda.

153 Delos Street East: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 2263 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one story garage. World War I veterans Harry LaValle and Harry F. LaVelle both resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16315) indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Lavalle, the parents of World War I veteran Harry La Valle, resided at this address in 1917. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Hedwig Heitzinger, the widow of Joseph Heitzinger, and Richard Aside, a laborer, and his wife, Mary Aside, all resided at this address. Hedwig Heitzinger (1871-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jefehke, and died in Ramsey County. Richard Aside ( -1954) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Marchell L. Johnson and William R. Johnson. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anna M. Anderson, the widow of Matthew Anderson, and Fred E. Brandt, a teacher, both resided at the former nearby 154 Delos Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward A. Steckmeyer, a mechanic employed by Finch-Nelson Motor Company, and his wife, Alma Steckmeyer, resided at the former nearby 154 Delos Street East. Edward A. Steckmeyer ( -1966) died in Hennepin County.

158 Delos Street East: Built in 1970. The structure is a one story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $190,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The previous owners of record of the property were Hue Thao and Khou Yang and the current owner of record of the property is Javier M. Alvarado.

164 Delos Street East: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is Iglesia Ni Cristo Church of Christ, located in Daly City, California. Iglesia ni Cristo (Filipino/Tagalog for "Church of Christ,") was founded in the Philippines in 1914 and claims to be the reestablishment, by means of God's last messenger, the self-proclaimed prophet Felix Y. Manalo (1886-1963,) of the first century Church of Christ that fell by way of apostasy. Erano G. Manalo (1925- ,) a son of Felix Y. Manalo and Manalo's second wife, Honorata De Guzman, was the executive minister of the church. The Iglesia ni Cristo's headquarters is in Manila's capital district, Quezon City and includes a large cathedral, a college, the New Era University, and a hospital, the New Era Hospital.


Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

Information also was used from Murphy, Patricia A., Historic Sites Survey of Saint Paul and Ramsey County, 1980-1983, Ramsey County Historical Society and the Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Commission, 1983.

Last Modified: July 15, 2011.