Thursday Night Hikes: St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill Architecture Notes, Part 3

Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill Architecture Notes, Part 3


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 3

St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: November 20, 2001

568 Grand Avenue: Built in 1908 (1912 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style; Peter J. Linhoff, architect, Lindstrom & Anderson, builder. The structure is a two story, 2498 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Philip T. Glidden (1869-1918,) the husband of Elizabeth Glidden, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of pernicious anemia, resided at this address in 1918. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. T. Glidden resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Murphy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Murphy, a salesman, and his wife, Grace Murphy, resided at this address. Philip T. Glidden ( -1918,) Grace Murphy ( -1936,) and Grace Murphy ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. John A. Murphy (1903-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Castet, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $222,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Janet P. Bisbee and George G. Slade. [See note on Linhoff for 361 Summit Avenue.]

569-571 Grand Avenue: Built in 1903; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3830 square foot, 16 room, ten bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eliza Mackenzie resided at 569 Grand Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Ryan, Mrs. M. A. McCarron, and the Misses Kohl all resided at 571 Grand Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Linda Duncan resided at 569 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. S. Stary resided at 569 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick S. Stary and his wife, Josephine Stary, resided at 569 Grand Avenue and that William M. Winibigler resided at 571 Grand Avenue. Eliza Ann Mackenzie ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. Mary A. McCarron ( -1937,) Frederick S. Stary ( -1940,) and Josephine Stary ( -1943) all died in Ramsey County. Mary A. McCarron (1891-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Herman, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $127,000. The current owners of record of the property are Kent M. Peterson and Paula M. Peterson, who reside at 1043 Grand Avenue.

575-577 Grand Avenue: Built in 1905 (1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3511 square foot, ten bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1909 University of Minnesota Bulletin indicates that Alfred E. Comstock, M.Sc., M.D., a professor of surgery, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Heydemann and their daughter resided at 575 Grand Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. De Laney resided at 577 Grand Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward J. Delaney, a salesman, resided at 577 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Jones resided at 575 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Maude M. Jones resided at 575 Grand Avenue and that Mary J. Belina and Bessie Brennan, a nurse, resided at 577 Grand Avenue. In 1972-1973, Americo Bianchi, a Senior at Macalester College, Anne E. Unger, a Junior at Macalester College, and Devi Wiseman, a Senior at Macalester College, all resided at 575 Grand Avenue. Alfred E. Comstock, M. Sc., M. D. (1872-1930,) married Minnesota Berkey (1884- ,) the daughter of Peter Berkey (1822-1909,) officed at the New York Life Building in 1903, was a Professor of Regional Surgery at the College of Homeopathic Medicine and Surgery at the University of Minnesota, and was the secretary of the state board of medical qualification in 1916. Peter Berkey was born in Johnstown, Somerset County, Pennsylvania, came to Minnesota in 1853, settled in St. Paul, engaged in various business enterprises, St. Paul City alderman from 1859 to 1862, from 1864 until 1865, and from 1868 until 1871, was a member of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners from 1863 until 1875, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 23) from 1871 until 1873, and was the president of the St. Paul National Bank from 1882 until 1892. Edward J. DeLaney ( -1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Desery, and died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $128,500. The current owners of record of the property are Kent M. Peterson and Paula M. Peterson, who reside at 1043 Grand Avenue. [See note on Alfred Erwin Comstock for 639 Fairmount Avenue.]

576-578 Grand Avenue: Oakdale Apartments; Built in 1876. The structure is a two story, 12110 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. I. Carman resided at 576 Grand Avenue and that Mrs. Clara Siqveland, her daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Calph all resided at 578 Grand Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6611) indicate that Floyd Milo Andrews (1891- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in the 352nd Infantry, who was born in Coggon, Iowa, moved to Minnesota in 1900, was a student at induction, was an assistant manager employed by the Thiel Detective Service Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Kathryn L. Andrews, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Paul I. Carman, a physician who officed with Charles L. Carman at the Pittsburgh Building, resided at 576 Grand Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mathilda Larson resided at Apartment "A" at this address in 1922. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. P. I. Carman and W. A. Gibbons all resided at 576 Grand Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Glominski and Mr. and Mrs. John McCurdy resided at 578 Grand Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Ina White resided at 578 Grand Avenue in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Herbert L. Lefkowitz, a writer employed by the St. Paul Dispatch, Mrs. Regina Lefkovitz, the widow of Joseph Lefkowitz, and Jeanette Lefkovitz, a music teacher (Apartment #A,) Thomas W. Scott, a veterinary surgeon, and his wife, Marguerite Scott (Apartment #B,) William D. McGuire, a salesman, and his wife, Lillian H. McGuire (Apartment #C,) and Josephine Halverson, a department manager (Apartment #D.) Charles Lowry Carman ( -1929,) John V. McCurdy ( -1929,) Josephine Alma Halverson ( -1934,) Floyd Milo Andrews ( -1935,) Mathilda Larson ( -1936,) and Clara Siqveland ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Clara Siqveland (1881-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bloom, and died in Ramsey County. Edward J. Calph (1880-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Floyd Milo Andrews (1923-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Erickson, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Craig R. Miller and Robert J. Miller.

580 Grand Avenue: Built in 1965. The structure is a two story, 3630 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was last sold for $140,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Lorri Steffen and Paul Zenner, who reside at 585 Portland Avenue. Lorri Steffen was the secretary of the Cretin-Derham Hall Band Parents, Inc., in 1998-1999.

581 Grand Avenue: Lyndhurst Apartments; Built in 1919 (1913 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a brick condominium building which is currently owned by Norman A. Mastbaum, who resides at 856 Fairmount Avenue. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit R-1 is a 658 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-2 is a 696 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-3 is a 658 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-4 is a 696 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-5 is a 1405 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-6 is a 696 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Unit R-7 is a 658 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit. Units G-1, G-2, G-3, and G-4 are each 206 square foot condominium units. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Louis Becker, Mrs. Amelia Stern, Mrs. H. S. Bryan, and Mrs. J. W. Thompson all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Hall and their daughter, Miss Faith P. Hall, Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Nienstedt, Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Raymond, Miss Katherine Wood, and Dr. H. G. Wood. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mrs. Mary Irish (Apartment #A,) Herman J. Nienstedt and Margareta Nienstedt, a nurse (Apartment #B,) William Schroeder, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Blanche Scroeder (Apartment #C,) and Louis A. Raymond (Apartment #D.) Mary J. Irish ( -1934,) Herman Joseph Nienstedt ( -1935,) Louis Raymond ( -1936,) Margareta L. Nienstedt ( -1947,) and Louis Francis Becker ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Katherine Wood ( -1930) and Katherine Wood ( -1939) both died in Hennepin County. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

584 Grand Avenue: Built in 1880 (1889 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a three story, 1404 square foot, welfare/charitable facility. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that George Carney Rogers resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that D. S. Hueller, Mrs. Adolphine Hueller, and her daughter all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Adolphine Hueller (1849-1919,) the widowed mother of Benno B. Hueller, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of endocarditis, resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Christ Jorgensen, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Emma Jorgenson, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. George Carney Rogers graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1900, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was a lawyer, and officed at the Commerce Building in 1916. Adolphine Hueller ( -1919,) Emma Jorgenson ( -1939,) Emma Jorgenson ( -1941,) and David S. Hueller ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Christ Stenus/Strenus Jorgensen (1909-1996) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Womens Advocates. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

585 Grand Avenue: William E. Suckow House; Built in 1910; Colonial Revival in style; Robert Sinclair, architect. The structure is a two story, 1738 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert Schroeder, a partner in the firm of Morgan & Schroeder, and his wife, Sidonie Schroeder, resided at this address. Robert Henry Schroeder ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $435,000. The current owner of record of the property is Headwaters Real Estate LLC, located at 181 Woodlawn Avenue.

587 Grand Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 13860 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Gay resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. D. Smith resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. K. Cole resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry K. Cole, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Edward Dobson (Apartment #11,) Hilda Josephson, a dressmaker, and Josephine Josephson, a dressmaker (Apartment #12,) Frederick W. Manley, a clerk employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Juanita Manley (Apartment #101,) Mrs. Carrie L. McNaughton, the widow of John McNaughton (Apartment #102,) Eleanor Mitchell, a counselor employed by the U. S. Employment Service, Junior Division (Apartment #103,) John M. Bruer (Apartment #104,) Ottilie Milshusen, a stenographer (Apartment #105,) Frank L. Wetzel, a machine operator employed by the Minnesota By-product Coke Company, and his wife, Mary Wetzel (Apartment #106,) Alonzo R. Knox (Apartment #201,) Pearl B. Turnquist, a teacher at the Marshall Junior High School (Apartment #202,) Mrs. Louise Jacobson, a manager employed by the Dotty-Dunn Store (Apartment #203,) Mrs. Tillaire Green, the widow of Benjamin A. Green (Apartment #204,) Einer F. Jensen, a helper employed by Gibbs & Nelson (Apartment #205,) and Philip/Phillip Gilbert, a lawyer who officed at the Guardian Building, and his wife, Alcetta T. Gilbert (Apartment #206.) Philip Gilbert (1860- ,) the son of Colonel Henry C. Gilbert ( -1864,) a lawyer and the commander of the 19th Michigan Infantry during the American Civil War, and Harriet Champion Gilbert, was born in Coldwater, Michigan, graduated from the Coldwater, Michigan, high school, graduated from the University of Michigan Law School in 1885, moved to St. Paul in 1886, was a partner with E. H. Morphy in the law firm of Morphy & Gilbert from 1886 until 1892, married Aliss Alcetta Tinkham in Anoka, Minnesota, in 1889, was a partner with E. H. Morphy, Frank H. Ewing, and Arthur W. Ewing in the law firm of Morphy, Ewing, Gilbert & Ewing, then was a partner in the law firm of Morphy, Ewing & Gilbert until 1899, practiced law alone from 1899 until 1902, formed the law firm of Gilbert & Greenman in 1902, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, was the chairman of the school board of White Bear Lake, Minnesota, was the president of the library board of White Bear Lake, Minnesota, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, was a member of the Loyal Legion, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the Commercial Law League of America, officed at the Manhattan Building in 1900, resided in White Bear Lake, Minnesota, in 1907, and officed at the National German American Bank Building in 1907. E. H. Morphy was born and educated in Ontario, Canada, became a barrister in Canada in 1880, resided in Winnepeg, Manitoba, Canada, from 1881 until 1886, moved to Minnesota in 1886, and was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1886. Frank H. Ewing was born and educated in New York, was admitted to the practice of law in New York in 1879, settled in Stillwater, Minnesota, in 1881, practiced law with J. N. Searles until 1887, moved to St. Paul, and then joined his brother, A. W. Ewing, in a law partnership. Arthur W. Ewing (1866- ) was born in Chautauqua County, New York, graduated from Ellington Academy, Ellington, New York, in 1883, studied the law in office of J. V. C. Karnes, Kansas City, Missouri, from 1886 until 1890, was admitted to the practice of law in Missouri in 1888/1890, was a lawyer, moved to St. Paul in 1890, and joined the law firm of Ewing & Ewing with his brother, Frank H. Ewing, became a partner in the law firm of Morphy, Ewing, Gilbert & Ewing in 1892, retired from the partnership in 1896, moved to Dawson, Minnesota, in 1896, engaged in the solo practice of law alone 1896, married Anne G. Grande at Dawson, Minnesota, in 1902, was the president and treasurer of the Town & Country Telephone Company in 1912, was the secretary of the Riverside Improvement Company, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a Mason, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, resided in Dawson, Minnesota, in 1907, and resided at Madison, Minnesota in 1915. In 1918, the Town & Country Telephone Company purchased all of the telephone equipment of the Canby, Minnesota, Telephone Company. In 1921, the Town & Country Telephone Company served Dawson, Minnesota, Canby, Minnesota, Porter, Minnesota, and St. Leo, Minnesota. Wade H. Gay ( -1936) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Mary F. Wetzel ( -1935) and Harry Kerr Cole ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Hilda Elizabeth Josephson (1882-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wallander, and died in Ramsey County. Josephine W. Josephson (1895-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bocheck, and died in Hennepin County. Frederick W. Manley (1892-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Adams, and died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Mitchell (1878-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Whittesey, and died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Hilda Mitchell (1896-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bang, and died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Catherine Mitchell (1906-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dewies, and died in Ramsey County. Alonzo Ralph Knox ( -1953) died in Scott County, Minnesota. Pearl B. Turnquist (1890-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Ramsey County. Louise Jacobson ( -1937) and Louise Jacobson ( -1944) both died in Hennepin County. Louise Jacobson (1899-1995) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is 587 Grand LLC, located at 208 Western Avenue North. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. F. Little resided at the former nearby 589 Grand Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. John Marshall resided at the former nearby 588 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rollin E. Moffatt, a motorman employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Minnie Moffatt, resided at the former nearby 588 Grand Avenue. Rollin E. Moffatt ( -1946) and Minnie E. Moffatt ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. Minnie Moffatt (1879-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schaler, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [For more information on the H. Koppers Company/Minnesota By-product Coke Company, see 1910 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] < href="http://www.angelfire.com/mn/thursdaynighthikes/summiteast3.html"> [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

592 Grand Avenue: Queen Anne in style; Reed & Stem, architects. The property is a tax exempt property. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Broughton resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Charles Lysring Sommers resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Grubbs resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss M. C. Egerton and W. C. Egerton both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Evanson and Josephine Evanson, who was engaged in the lodgings business, resided at this address. Walter Stewart Grubbs ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. Walter C. Egerton ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. Edward H. Evanson (1863-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olson, and died in Ramsey County. [See Note for Charles L. Sommers at 9 South St. Albans Street]

595 Grand Avenue: Milton Lightner and Drake Lightner House; Built in 1884 (1915 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style; John Peterson, architect. The structure is a two story, 3660 square foot, eight bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. C. Lightner and Mr. and Mrs. Drake Lightner all resided at this address. Drake Lightner and Milton C. Lightner were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Worrell Clarkson, Jr., and Mr. and Mrs. Worrell Clarkson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Townsend, Jr., and Douglas H. Wright, the president of Wright-DeCoster Inc., and his wife, Anita Wright, all resided at this address. In 1934, Dr. William Davis and Sarah Holyoke Davis resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Worrell Clarkson, Jr. (1894- ,) who was born in Duluth, Minnesota, who attended the school from 1907 until 1912, who graduated from Yale University in 1918, who was a captain in the 337th Field Artillery of the American Expeditionary Force during World War I, and who was the president of the Clarkson Coal Company, resided in Dellwood, White Bear Lake, Minnesota. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Timothy B. Blodgett, a member of the Class of 1947, resided at this address. In 1915, Drake Lightner married Eleanor Jackson (1893- ,) the daughter of John Norris Jackson and Alice M. Dean Jackson, and the couple had five daughters. Alice M. Dean Jackson was the daughter of William Blake Dean (1838-1922) and Mary Katherine Nichols Dean (1841-1920.) Franklin Drake Lightner was a 1909 graduate of Yale University, resided at this address in 1912, was an assistant sales manager for Gordon & Ferguson in 1912 after starting out as a stock clerk in the hat department, and was a member in 1912 of the Town and Country Club, the University Club, the White Bear Yacht Club, and the Minnesota Boat Club. Drake Lightner was ranked by the Western Golf Association in 1913 and again, in 1915, with other St. Paul golfers Harold P. Bend, A. D. S. Johnston, Dudley M. Mudge, James Thompson, and F. E. Mahler. Milton C. Lightner was a lawyer and was a partner with William H. Lightner and Mark H. Gehan in the law firm of Lightner & Gehan and was a member of the Minnesota Legislature from 1921 to 1954 (House 1921-1930; Senate 1931-1954.) Milton Charles Lightner graduated from St. Paul Academy in 1905, from Yale University in 1909, and from the Harvard University Law School in 1912, was a clerk in the law firm of Lightner &amp; Young in 1912, resided at 318 Summit Avenue in 1912, was a member in 1912 of the Town and Country Club, the St. Paul Curling Club, the White Bear Yacht Club, and the St. Paul German Club, and served in the U. S. Navy during World War I. Milton C. Lightner resided at 506 Summit Avenue from 1919 to 1967. Worrell Clarkson (1894- ) was a personal friend of F. Scott Fitzgerald, was a Captain during World War I, owned an exclusive estate on White Bear Lake, 94 Dellwood Avenue, Dellwood, Minnesota, owned Clarkson Farms in nearby Withrow, Minnesota, which included a large horse racing track, and was the Commodore of the White Bear Yacht Club in 1912. In 1917, Worrell Clarkson, Charles W. Gardner of Minneapolis, and John L. Erdall of Minneapolis incorporated in Delaware the Clarkson Coal Mining Company. In 1930, Clarkson resided at 19 Kenwood Parkway. The Great Lakes ore boat George R. Fink, built in 1923, was initially named the Worrell Clarkson. In 1934, Douglas H. Wright, Anita Van Kleeck Wright, Nancy Wright, Margaret Wright, and Roxanna Wright resided at 587 Summit Avenue. Wright De Coster Inc., founded with Donald Williamson DeCoster, Sr., was a radio manufacturer and became the Wright Radio Manufacturing Company, including the dry battery Wright De Coster model VI radio, in 1925. The company also manufactured the Wright-DeCoster Inc. Multi-Test Speaker, which was designed for the 1930's radio test bench. Worrell Clarkson, Jr., married Katherine M. Abbott of Duluth, Minnesota, in 1921, and the couple had two children, Nancy Clarkson (1922- ,) and Worrell Clarkson (1927- .) Drake Lightner (1887-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Drake, and died in Ramsey County. Drake Jackson Lightner (1926-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jackson, and died in Ramsey County. Milton C. Lightner (1886-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Drake, and died in Ramsey County. Worrell Clarkson ( -1953) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Mary Catherine Dean ( -1920,) William B. Dean ( -1922,) John Townsend ( -1930,) John N. Jackson ( -1945,) and Alice Dean Jackson ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Douglas H. Wright (1881-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Irvine, and died in Ramsey County. Anita Wright (1895-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gorman, and died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Jackson Lightner (1893-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dean, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Christ's Household of Faith, Inc., located at 355 Marshall Avenue. [See note on Milton C. Lightner for 506 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 18 Kenwood Parkway.] [See note for Donald DeCoster for 890 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note for John Norris Jackson for 501 Grand Hill.] [See note for Christ's Household of Faith for 355 Marshall Avenue.]

596 Grand Avenue: Built in 1879; Shingle in style; Hodgson & Stem, architects. The structure is a two story, 3204 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, frame house. The 1902 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. Thomas McDavitt resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that H. E. (Mrs. T.) McDavitt, a member of the church since 1893, Esther E. McDavitt, a member of the church since 1899, and Sarah Caroline McDavitt, a member of the church since 1905, all resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Thomas McDavitt resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. Thomas McDavitt and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas McDavitt resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Harriet E. McDavitt, the widow of Thomas McDavitt, resided at this address. In 1934, Esther McDavitt Smith, the widow of Charles Eastwick Smith, Jr., Charles Eastwick Smith III, Esther E. Smith, and Mary G. Smith all resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Charles E. Smith III (1910- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1921 until 1929, who attended Yale University, who did graduate work at the University of Pennsylvania Medical School and at the University of Minnesota Medical School, and who is employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, resided at this address. Thomas McDavitt (1857- ,) the son of Virgil McDavitt and Caroline McGinnis McDavitt, was born in St. Louis, Missouri, graduated from the Chicago Medical College in 1879, married Hattie Easton in 1884, practiced general medicine and surgery in Winona, Minnesota, until 1890, undertook special work in Paris, France, Vienna, Austria, and Berlin, Germany, before entering special work in St. Paul in 1891, was an oculist and aurist, was the secretary of the Minnesota State Medical Association in 1904, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of several other medical societies, and officed at the Lowry Building in 1907. Dr. Thomas McDavitt was a member of the board of the American Medical Association in 1914-1915. In 1921, Dr. Thomas McDavitt was the chairman of the Executive Committee of the Minnesota Section of the Clinical Congress of the American College of Surgeons. In 1922, Dr. Thomas McDavitt was a member of the Committee to Report on Common Examining Board of the Minnesota State Medical Association. Charles Eastwick "Carl" Smith, Jr., was the son of Dr. Charles Eastwick Smith and Eliza Stewart Mann (1859- ) and the grandson of Dr. Franklin B. Smith and Mary Guest Smith of Philadelphia. Charles Eastwick Smith, Jr., (1882/1883-1921) was born in St. Paul, went to elementary school in St. Paul, attended the Siglar School in New York, attended the Taft School of Watertown, Connecticut, graduated from Yale University in 1904, attended the University of Minnesota Medical School, graduated from the Pennsylvania Medical University in 1908, was an intern at St. Joseph's Hospital, married Esther Mcdavitt in 1909, was the secretary-treasurer of the Ramsey County Medical Society from 1912 until 1917, was the managing editor of the St. Paul Medical Journal, was engaged in public health work after 1914, was assistant St. Paul city physician, was the assistant executive secretary of the Minnesota State Board of Health, was the executive secretary of the Minnesota State Board of Health after 1919, and had one sibling, Mary Guest Smith (1881- .) Charles Eastwick Smith, Jr., and Esther Mcdavitt Smith were the parents of three children, Charles Eastwick Smith III, Esther Smith, and Mary Smith. Other Twin City doctors who served prominent roles in national or regional medical organizations in 1914-1915 were Dr. Eugene Hubbell, Vice-President of the American Association of Orifical Surgeons; Frank C. Todd, Second Vice-President of the American Medical Association; Horace Newhart, First Vice-President of the American Academy of Medicine; Henry W. Cook, President of the American Association of Medical Examiners; J. P. Sedgwick, Treasurer of the American Association of Medical Milk Commissioners; T. G. Lee, Vice-President of the Association of American Anatomists; J. H. Rishmiller, Secretary-Treasurer of the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie Railway Surgical Association; and Arthur T. Mann, Secretary-Treasurer of the Western Surgical and Gynecological Association. Frank Todd, M.D., the head of the Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat Department, established, in 1912, a two-year graduate program at the University of Minnesota medical school with one year of ophthalmology, one year of otolaryngology, and an optional third year that resulted in a Doctor of Science degree. Frank Burch, M.D., an eye surgeon, was named in 1918 the Head of Ophthalmology/Otolaryngology at the medical school of the University of Minnesota and, in 1930, turned otolaryngology at the University of Minnesota over to Horace Newhart, M.D., who advocated the use of hearing aids, who advocated regular hearing exams for schoolchildren, which was a unique program copied by many other states, and who founded the Minneapolis Hearing Society. Esther McDavitt Smith was a graduate of the University of Minnesota. The Smith family were members of the Women's City Club of St. Paul in 1934. Arthur Teall Mann (1866-) was born in New York City, graduated with a bachelor's degree from the University of Minnesota in 1888, graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1896, has practiced medicine in Minneapolis since 1899, was a surgeon, was an instructor and professor of clinical surgery at University of Minnesota since 1903, was the author of "Two Cases of Poisoning by Potassium Iodid" in the Northwestern Lancet in 1901, "Rapid Healing in Septic Cases: Including the Use of Idoform-Wax in Bone Cases" in the New York and Philadelphia Medical Journal in 1905, of "The Manufacture and use of Tin Splints, With Some Special Appliances" in the Journal of the American Medical Association in 1905, and of "The Free Transplantation of Fascia Lata in the Repair of Ventral and Inguinal Herniae With Cases" in the Annals of Surgery in 1914, was secretary of the Western Surgical and Gynecological Association in 1916 and president in 1920, and successfully defended against a malpractice suit in Aimee F. Smith v. Arthur T. Mann, 184 Minn. 485, 239 NW 223 (1931.) Horace Newhart (1872-1945) was born in New Ulm, Minnesota, graduated from Dartmouth College in 1895, graduated from the Medical School of the University of Michigan in 1898, was a physician, and practiced in Minneapolis, officing at the Donaldson Building. Horace Newhart visited the sanitarium at Battle Creek, Michigan, in 1912, was an instructor in Otology at the University of Minnesota in 1914, was the president of the Minnesota chapter of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Oto-Laryngology in 1922, was the president of the American Federation of Organizations for the Hard of Hearing in 1929, was elected as a member of the American Public Health Association in 1930, was president of the American Otological Society in 1931, and was chairman of the Committee of Deafness Prevention and Amelioration of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology in 1934. Horace Newhart also apparently had an interest in occultism and parapsychology, providing to Frederick Bligh Bond (1864–1945,) an English architect, ordained bishop in the Old Catholic Church of America, and psychical researcher, in 1930 his copies of the photographs of sediment-derived apparitions produced by Vermont medium Mrs. Albert Blanchard ( -1873.) Thomas McDavitt ( -1926,) Charles E. Smith ( -1928,) and Harriet McDavitt ( -1932) all died in Ramsey County. Horace Newhart ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is David Allen Graf, who resides at 1424 Knollwood Lane. [See note on Stem for 929 Summit Avenue.]

598 Grand Avenue: Built in 1916; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a multifamily apartment building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Pease, Miss Laura Hand, and Miss Mary Hanchett resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Pease resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roy L. Snow, a carpenter employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Eva B. Snow, resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Charles R. Pease resided at this address in 1907. Charles R. Pease (1855- ,) the son of Warren W. Pease and Elizabeth E. Russell Pease, was born in Fairfield, Maine, was educated in the common schools of North Anson, Maine, was educated in a business college in Augusta, Maine, was a traveling salesman employed by the Chase Brothers Nursery in Rochester, Minnesota, from 1874 until 1875, was self-employed from 1875 until 1879, was a merchant tailor, established a merchant tailoring business St Paul after 1879, married Delia M. Hilton in 1882, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and officed at 380 Robert Street. Charles R. Pease ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Laura Hand ( -1944) died in Rice County, Minnesota. Roy L. Snow (1887-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Eva B. Snow (1891-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Beard, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Caryl L. Kruchowski, who resides at 377 Ramsey Street. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

599 Grand Avenue: Built in 1880 (1901 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3322 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. In 1916, Nathaniel P. Langford was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. P. Langford resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. P. Langford and N. P. Langford, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nathaniel P. Langford, a partner with Peter W. Fahey in Langford & Fahey, general agents for the Northwestern National Life Insurance company, his wife, Theodora H. Langford, and Allen Langford, a student, resided at this address. In 1934, Nathaniel Pitt Langford, Theodosia Cary Langford, Alan Langford, and Theodore Langford resided at this address. The Langford family were members of the Minikahda Country Club, the St. Paul Athletic Club, the Town & Country Club, the White Bear Yacht Club, and the Womens Club of St. Paul in 1934. Nathaniel Pitt Langford, Jr. (1872-1940,) the son of Augustine Gallett Langford (1835-1885) and Elizabeth Bell Robertson (1849-1931,) was born at Black Hawk, Gilpin County, Colorado, married Theodosia H. Cary (1882-1950) in Saint Paul in 1900, and the couple had five children, Nathaniel Pitt Langford III (1901-1988,) Cary Langford (1903-1989,) Elizabeth Robertson Langford (1906-1978,) Alan Langford (1909-1991,) and Theodore Hunt Langford (1916-2003.) Nathaniel Pitt Langford III married Mildred Louise Milton in 1927, died in Ramsey County, and is buried at Acacia Park Cemetery, Mendota Heights, Dakota County, Minnesota. Cary Langford married Norma Marie Nash (1902-1997) in 1927. Elizabeth Robertson Langford married Willis David Cuddeback (1906-1973) in 1927 and married Benjamin Franklin Deming (1894-1979) in 1975. Alan Langford married Maxine Mary Freeman (1916-1994) and died in San Diego County, California. Theodore Hunt Langford died in Hammond, Saint Croix County, Wisconsin. Nathaniel Pitt Langford (1901-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cary, and died in Ramsey County. Theodosia H. Langford ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $145,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owners of record of the property are James S. Lynden and John S. Lynden. [See the note on Nathaniel Pitt Langford for 306 South Exchange Street.]

600 Grand Avenue: C. E. Hughes House; Built in 1896 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italianate in style; A. F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 5418 square foot, multifamily apartment building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Hughes and G. R. Hughes all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Hughes and George R. Hughes all resided at this address. In 1888, Mrs. C. E. Hughes resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Stone and A. W. Gould resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. M. Cady resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Francis M. Cady, a manager employed by Van Kannel Revolving Door Company, located at the Ryan Building, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter Prince resided at this address. Robert Cameron Stone, the son of Robert Stone and Margaret Townsend Peck Stone, grandson of Nathan Peck and Mary Ann Townsend Peck, and the great grandson of Nathan Peck and Mehitable Tibbats Peck, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great great grandfather Samuel Peck, a Captain in the First Connecticut Troops during the Revolutionary War. In 1888, Theophilus Van Kannel (1841-1919) of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, invented and patented the revolving door for use in high-rise buildings, where regular doors are hard to open because there is a slight vacuum caused by air flowing upwards through stairwells, elevator shafts, and chimneys. Van Kannel was apparently motivated in his invention by a longstanding dislike of the chivalrous expectation that males open doors for females and only enter a building or room second. It initially was marketed as a "storm door" and as helping to avoid the entrance of "noxious effluvia" and "baleful miasmas." In 1889, the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia awarded the "John Scott Legacy Medal" to Van Kannel. In 1900, the Van Kannel Revolving Door Company purchased the Atchison Revolving Door Company of Atchison, Kansas, with its "Curved Wing Door." The Van Kannel Revolving Door Company was purchased in 1907 by the International Steel Company, the parent company of International Revolving Door Company, and moved all manufacturing to Evansville, Indiana. Francis M. Cady ( -1921,) Charles E. Hughes ( -1936,) and Albert William Gould ( -1940) all died in Ramsey County. Walter L. Prince ( -1933) died in Washington County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Mackdusky Holding LLC, located in Roseville, Minnesota. [See the note for Gauger for 295 Summit Avenue.]

603 Grand Avenue: Built in 1911 (1901 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 1964 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Elizabeth R. Langford resided at this address in 1886. The 1918 city directory indicates that C. W. Remele, R. F. Varney, and Mrs. A. G. Langford all resided at this address. World War I veterans William R. Langford and Charles W. Remele resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#33351) indicate that Augustine Gallet Langford (1899- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Corporal in the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 3/4" tall, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, William R. Langford and H. S. Langford, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. G. Langford resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elizabeth R. Langford, the widow of Augustine Langford, resided at this address. A. G. Langford (1834-1885) was born in Utica, New York, moved to St. Paul, resided in St. Paul for seven years, moved to Colorado to pursue mining and died in Denver, Colorado. Augustine Langford, the younger brother of Nathaniel P. Langford, married Elizabeth Robertson, the daughter of Colonel Daniel A. Robertson and Julia A. Bell Robertson and the granddaughter of Robert Bell and Charlotte Blanchard Bell, and was the secretary of the Golden, Boulder, & Caribou Mining Company, incorporated in 1877. Helen Sargent Langford was the wife of William R. Langford, a member of the Class of 1920 at the University of Minnesota, an engineering student, and a member of the Seventh Regiment, 90th Company, U. S. Marine Corps, in Quantanamo, Cuba, in 1919. William Robertson Langford (1875-1941,) the son of Augustine Gallett Langford (1835- ) and Elizabeth Bell Robertson Langford (1849- ,) was a manager employed by a clothing manufacturer, married Helen Sargent (1875- ) in 1896, and the couple had two children, William R. Langford, Jr. (1897- ) and Augustine G. Langford (1898- .) Daniel A. Robertson (1813-1895) was born either in Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada, or Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was admitted to the practice of law in New York in 1839, was the editor of the Cincinnatti Enquirer, was the editor of the Mount Vernon Banner in Ohio, was a member of the Ohio Constitutional Convention, was in the United States Marshals Service for the District of Ohio in 1850, moved to Minnesota in 1850, established the Minnesota Democrat, was Ramsey County Sheriff for two terms, was a colonel in the Minnesota militia, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives from 1859 until 1860, was the mayor of St. Paul in 1860, founded the Minnesota State Horticultural Society, organized the first chapter of the Grange in Minnesota, and died in St. Paul. The Robertson burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Daniel Alexander Robertson (1812-1895,) Julia A. Robertson (1826-1913,) Daniel Alexander Robertson (1850-1852,) Victor Robertson (1859-1936,) Cora Louise Robertson (1859-1919,) and William G. Robertson (1846-1900.) Elizabeth R. Langford ( -1931) and William R. Langford ( -1941) both died in Ramsey County. Russell F. Varney ( -1950) died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Camille Dire. [See note on Daniel Alexander Robertson for 294-296 Laurel Avenue.]

607 Grand Avenue: William Langford and Elizabeth Langford House; Built in 1901; Colonial Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect. The structure is a two story, 3785 square foot, commercial building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Langford and W. R. Langford, Jr., all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William R. Langford, the secretary-treasurer of the Northern Cooperage Company, and his wife, Helen S. Langford, resided at this address. Elizabeth R. Langford ( -1931,) William R. Langford ( -1941,) and Helen S. Langford ( -1944) all died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is EMK Holding Company LLC, located at 500 Grand Hill. [See note for William R. Langford for 603 Grand Avenue.] [See note on Lockwood for 1118 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the Northern Cooperage Company for 35 Irvine Park.]

608 Grand Avenue: Built in 1898; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2561 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that William W. Broughton resided at this address in 1907. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicated that Malcolm Emory Nichols resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. N. Ferdon resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Peter J. Clancy, a real eatate broker who officed at the Pioneer Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eliza McKenzie resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elizabeth C. McKenzie, a Christian Science practitioner, resided at this address. William W. Broughton (1858-1941) was a railway official, was a ticket agent for the Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific Railway at Springfield, Illinois, in 1875, was a clerk employed by the Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific Railway at Bluffs, Illinois, and at Springfield, Illinois, from 1876 until 1881, was an agent employed by the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad at East Minneapolis, Minnesota, from 1881 until 1883, was an agent employed by the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad at East Minneapolis, Minnesota from 1883 until 1885, was a general agent employed by the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad at Minneapolis from 1885 until 1890, was the assistant general freight agent employed by the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1890 until 1893, was the general freight agent employed by the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1893 until 1900, was the assistant general freight agent employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad at St. Paul from 1900 until 1902, was the traffic manager employed by the Eastern Railway of Minnesota in 1902, was the general freight agent employed by the Eastern Division of the Great Northern RailRoad and by the Montana Central Railway from 1903 until 1905, was the general traffic manager employed by the Great Northern RailRoad after 1905, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club Office, and officed at the North West corner of Third Street and Broadway Street. Malcolm Emory Nichols (1864-1947,) the son of John David Nichols (1834-1909) and Sally "Sarah" Stevens Nichols (1836-1870,) was born in Salem, Henry County, Iowa, married Lillian Hatstat (1863-1891,) the daughter of John Murray Hatstat and Abigail Augusta Smith Hatstat, in St. Paul in 1887, sold guitars and taught guitar playing in 1888, taught shorthand and typewriting in 1888, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1900, operated the Expert School of Shorthand in 1901, was the owner of the Nichols Expert Business School, was an official reporter for the U. S. Army, was the president of the Capitol City Commercial College in 1916, 1920, and 1922, was the principal of the Nichols School in 1920 and 1922, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the St. Paul Automobile Club, officed at the Grand Opera Block in 1888, and officed at 23 East Sixth Street in 1916. Peter Clancy ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth McKenzie ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $115,000. The current owners of record of the property are Kevin W. Hennessy and Mary J. Hennessy. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis W. Hurd, proprietor of a fruits store that was located at the former nearby 611 Grand Avenue, and that Minnie Glancy, operator of a beauty parlor located at the former nearby 613 Grand Avenue, also resided at the former nearby 613 Grand Avenue. [See note on the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Eastern Railway of Minnesota.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

614 Grand Avenue: Molloy Apartments; Built in 1910 (1904 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Renaissance Revival in style. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1-AE is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Laura E. Michelson and Thomas F. Michelson. Unit 1-BW is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1998 at a sale price of $149,500, which is currently owned by David M. Burns and Linda L. Maier. Unit 2-CE is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold for $133,000 in a sale that occurred in 1993, and which is currently owned by James J. Wilkin. Unit 2-DW is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $97,000, and which is currently owned by Amy Sperling. Unit 3-EE is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1996 at a sale price of $113,000, and which is currently owned by Michael J. Mischke. Unit 3-FW is a 2250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and which is currently owned by Theodore D. Dooley and Kristi A. Holmquist. In 1907, James Potter Elmer resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Cal E. Stone, Mrs. L. S. Duff, Mr. and Mrs. M. D. Munn and their daughters, Mrs. C. F. How and her daughter, and Miss A. D. Platt all resided at this address. Stanley W. Stone was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11046) indicate that Stanley W. Stone (1899- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in Battery B of the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in Minneapolis, had gray eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 11" tall, was a student at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Alsace Lorraine, Champagne, Chateau Thierry, St. Mihiel, and the Argonne Forest, was gassed at St. Mihiel on September 17, 1918, was awarded one silver victory button, was a student at the University of Minnesota-Farm Campus after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, C. E. Stone, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George C. Dittman, an oculist who officed at the Lowry Building, roomed at this address and that Louise Duff, the widow of William F. Duff, resided at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Richmond Ames Ware (1896- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Field Artillery Section, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Bazille, Mrs. E. W. Bazille, Mrs. N. H. Clapp, Jr., Dr. D. C. Dittman, Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Johnson, Mrs. F. J. Leacey, and Dr. and Mrs. F. H. Orton. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Christ B. Peterson, a janitor, and his wife, Lydia Peterson, Mrs. Lulu E. Clapp, the widow of Newell H. Clapp (Apartment #B,) Thomas H. Garrett, a customers man employed by Harris Upham & Company, a stock brokerage, and his wife, Carnellus Garrett (Apartment #C,) Mrs. Margaret J. Leacey, the widow of Frederick J. Leacey, and Margaret Leacey, a clerk (Apartment #E,) and Minnie Glancy, a beauty parlor operator (Apartment #F,) with Apartments #A and #D vacant. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John T. Garrett (1921- ,) who attended the school from 1930 until 1933, who attended the University of Minnesota, who attended Carlton College, who attended the University of Minnesota Law School, and who served as a Sergeant in the 304th Service Group during World War II, resided at this address. In 1900, Edmund W. Bazille was a Ramsey county probate court judge. Edmund W. Bazille (1855- ) was born in St. Paul, was admitted to the practice of law, was the deputy clerk of the Ramsey County district court from 1883 until 1887, then was the abstract clerk for Ramsey County, then became a probate court judge for Ramsey County in 1898. In 1913, Carver's Cave, below Dayton's Bluff, fitted with a door in 1887 as security for a railroad tool storage location and subsequently altered by various expansions of the rail lines at the base of the bluff, was reopened and Edmund W. Bazille, a member of a childhood "expedition" into the cave, was in attendance. Edmund W. Bazille was a member of the Junior Pioneers of Ramsey County in 1904 and was reputedly the source of the idea of building, in 1908, the St. Paul Auditorium by a $420,000 public subscription. In 1913, E. W. Bazille was a member of the committee of the Minnesota Automobile Association and the Automobile Club of Minneapolis for an American Automobile Association National reliability tour from the Twin Cities to Glacier National Park. Edmund W. Bazille was the probate court judge presiding over the intestate $10 million estate of James J. Hill in 1916. Edmund W. Bazille was a son of Charles Bazille (1812- ) and Annie/Anna Jane Perry Bazille, the daughter of Abraham Perry/Perret. Charles Bazille (1812-1878) was born in Montreal, Canada, moved to Prairie du Chien, Michigan Territory, was a carpenter, moved to St. Paul in 1844 with Louis Robert, reputedly constructed the first frame house in St. Paul, a combination living quarters and warehouse for Louis Robert, constructed a grist and sawmill for William Dugas at the Falls on Phelan's Creek, was a Roman Catholic, married Annie Jane Perry, the daughter of Abraham Perry, a Selkirk Colony refugee, and Mary Ann Perry, at Mendota, Michigan Territory, in 1845, donated the land for the first state capitol building, a portion of a farm which he had purchased earlier from Louis Larrivier (1794- ,) served on the St. Paul city council from 1852 until 1854, and operated a brick business near Lake Como. E. W. Bazille inherited the brick company and operated it in the 1870's and 1880's. Edmund W. Bazille was born in St. Paul, studied the law under W. D. Cornish, was admitted to the practice of law, was the deputy clerk of the Ramsey County district court from 1883 until 1887, was chief clerk of the Ramsey County Abstract Office from 1887 until 1891, was elected the Ramsey County Abstract Clerk in 1893, was elected a Ramsey County probate court judge in 1898, and was a member of the Odd Fellows, the Woodmen, the Independent Order of Foresters, the Knights of Columbus, the Junior Pioneers, the Union Francaise, the Commercial Club of St. Paul, the St. Paul Rod & Gun Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. Edmund W. Bazille married Clare M. Gravel and the couple had one son, C. Arthur Bazille. Edmund W. Bazille's siblings were William Bazille, Ramsay County abstract clerk from 1900 to 1928, and Celina Bazille (Mrs. Alfred) Dansereau (1851-1940,) a member of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers. Marie Desmarais (1841- ) was a domestic servant in the household of Charles Bazille and Annie Bazille. Charles Bazille and Louis Robert were partners in platted an addition to the City of St. Paul. In 1920, Edmund W. Bazille resided at 608 West Lincoln Avenue. Richmond Ames Ware, the son of William R. Ware, married Katherine Louise Walsh ( -1955,) the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Richard J. Walsh of New York, New York, and the granddaughter of Patrick J. Towle, in 1914. Richmond Ames Ware traveled from Cherbourg, France, on the Imperator and landed at Ellis Island, New York, New York, in 1914. Richmond Ames Ware was a Captain in the U. S. Army, was an executive in the Log Cabin Syrup Company in Minneapolis and then in the successor General Foods Corporation, previously resided at St. Paul, Minnesota and Bronxville, New York, and resided at Charlottesville, Virginia, in 1955. Fred J. Leacey ( -1917,) Louisa Bell Shipley Duff ( -1921,) Edmund W. Bazille ( -1922,) and Angie D. Platt ( -1935) all died in Ramsey County. Lydia A. Peterson (1890-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gluebke, and died in Ramsey County. Lydia H. Peterson (1884-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Thomas H. Garrett (1891-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret Middleton Leacey (1879-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Masterman, and died in Ramsey County. The 1930 city directory indicates that John C. Teel, a baker, and his wife, Rachel Teel, resided at the former nearby 615 Grand Avenue, that a Piggly Wiggly Stores, Inc., grocery store was located at the former nearby 617 Grand Avenue, and that the Grandendale Pharmacy was located at the former nearby 619 Grand Avenue. John C. Teel ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Rachel May Teel (1877-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note for James Potter Elmer for 586 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on Patrick J. Towle for 730 Goodrich Avenue.]

622-624 Grand Avenue: Dale Apartments; Built in 1884 (1919 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The structure is a three story, 20208 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. R. V. Pratt and Mr. and Mrs. Mark Burroughs all resided at 622 Grand Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harriet A. Converse, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, Edward C. Davis, a general agent employed by the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, and Robert H. De La Hunt, a clerk employed at the Great Northern shops, all boarded at 622 Grand Avenue and that Thomas H. Cundy, a clerk employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, Mrs. Margaret De La Hunt, the widow of William De La Hunt and a supervisor employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, Harry S. Dowe, Jr., a clerk, Walter G. Ducklow, an engineer, and Frank Ensminger, a travel agent, all resided at 622 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Miss Frances Ellison, Mr. and Mrs. William Hanney, Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Hunt, Mrs. A. A. Penman, Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Perkins, and Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Webb. The 1930 city directory indicates that the William C. Behrens grocery was located at this address and that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Fred Brown, a clerk employed by Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Mabel H. Brown (Apartment #103,) Ragna M. Otterson, a teacher at the Cleveland Junior High School, (Apartment #104,) Harry J. O'Connor, a salesman employed by Hubert W. White, Inc. (Apartment #105,) Ruth Turnquist, a clerk employed by The Emporium (Apartment #106,) Charles E. Daniels, an insurance agent, and his wife, Nora Daniels (Apartment #107,) Mrs. Ida Ellison, the widow of Sherman J. Ellison and an employee of a circulating library, and Clarence R. Hidy, a salesman employed by Haskins Brothers & Company, a soap manufacturer (Apartment #201,) La Mae F. Hackett, a teacher (Apartment #202,) John E. Manning and his wife, Mary A. Manning (Apartment #203,) Allen P. McCullough, a salesman, and his wife, Louise McCullough (Apartment #204,) Mrs. Grace M. Stewart (Apartment #205,) Mrs. Helen M. Saliger, a stenographer employed by Great Northern Iron Ore Properties (Apartment #206,) Raymond E. Goodemote, the chief clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad (Apartment #207,) Edward J. Gordon, the advertising manager employed by the Dairy Record Publishing Company, and his wife, Irene Gordon (Apartment #301,) Marguerite E. Boyle, a teacher at the Roosevelt Junior High School (Apartment #304,) Helen Byron, an investigator for the Mothers Aid Department of Ramsey County (Apartment #306,) and Mrs. Louise Salyer (Apartment #307,) with Apartments #101, #102, #108, #206, #302, #303, #306, and #308 vacant. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Sherman Ellison, who attended the school from 1909 until 1910, who was a Private First Class with the 357th Infantry in the American Expeditionary Force during Warld War I and was wounded in action, resided at this address. Howard W. Perkins (1901-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Taylor, and died in Hennepin County. Harry H. Webb (1895-1982) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hurt, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. William C. Behrens ( -1935,) Ida Lebold Ellison ( -1942,) Mabel H. Brown ( -1946,) and Mary A. Manning ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. Ruth E. Turnquist (1905-1986) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bergquist, and died in Ramsey County. Charles Daniels ( -1942,) Allen P. McCullough ( -1944,) Sherman J. Ellison ( -1948,) and Louise M. McCullough ( -1952) all died in Hennepin County. Grace Stewart (1901-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Clay County, Minnesota. Edward J. Gordon (1900-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Layde, and died in Ramsey County. Irene D. Gordon (1879-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Searles, and died in Ramsey County. Irene M. Gordon (1898-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Shurs, and died in Ramsey County. Marguaret Boyle (1908-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McNeely, and died in Wright County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is William J. Skally, who resides at 624 Grand Avenue. William J. Skally, a tax consultant with the Skally Tax Service, was an alumnus of Cretin High School, Class of 1960, and established a scholarship at the school. William Skally was a financial supporter of the organization America Coming Together in 2004. Chad Skally was a member of the Summit Hill Association Board in 2004 and 2005. Chad William Skally was born in Saint Paul, went to Northern Arizona University, received a degree in Forestry with minors in Geographic Information Systems and Computer Science, received a Masters in Forestry from the University of Minnesota, worked for the Minnesota Forest Resources Council, works in the family business of managing and maintaining apartments in Saint Paul, is a part time tax consultant, and is a photographer. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad for 432 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.] [See note on the Great Northern Iron Ore Properties for 683 Goodrich Avenue.]

623-625 Grand Avenue: The Ivy League Condominiums/Former Harvard Apartments; Built in 1905; Classical Revival in style. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Joan M. Ida and Scott T. Ida. Unit 2 is a 1187 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, last sold for $235,000 in a sale that occurred in 2003, and which is currently owned by David Southwell and Justin Southwell. Unit 3 is a 616 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $40,000, and which is currently owned by Roxanne R. Fladwell. Unit 4 is a 805 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Mark T. Joyce. Unit 5 is a 1803 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick condominium unit, last sold for $140,000 in a sale that occurred in 1998, and which is currently owned by Garry W. Russell. Unit 6 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Gayle M. Petty. Unit 7 is a 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1998 at a sale price of $86,000, and which is currently owned by Jeffery J. Kumrie, who resides in Cottage Grove, Minnesota. Unit 8 is a 1803 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick condominium unit, last sold for $91,000 in a sale that occurred in 1993, and which is currently owned by Harold H. Geerdes and Marjorie J. Rapp. Unit 9 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $150,000, and which is currently owned by Kate M. Hildebrant. Unit 10 is a 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Dawn L. Tomisak. Unit A is a 877 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1999 at a sale price of $80,200 which is currently owned by Anne K. Utyro. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Horace E. Emerson resided at this address in 1878 and that Emma C. Emerson resided at this address in 1891. In 1907, George Wortham Griffin resided at 625 Grand Avenue and Cornelius J. Gutgesell resided at 623 Grand Avenue. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that George Wortham Griffin resided at 625 Grand Avenue and that Cornelius J. Gutgesell resided at 623 Grand Avenue in 1907. In 1916, William H. Oppenheimer was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that William Henry Oppenheimer resided at 623 Grand Avenue and that Thomas Jones Jarman resided at 625 Grand Avenue. The Twelfth General Catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Harvey Chandler Carr, a member of the Mu Chapter, a 1902 graduate in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota, and a salesman employed by the Wells-Dickey Company in 1917, resided at this address in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at 623 Grand Avenue were Elmer Coffey, Mrs. H. E. Emerson, Miss J. B. Kittridge, Mr. and Mrs. B. N. Oppenheimer, Mrs. Charles Wells, W. L. Pierce, R. C. Twining, Mrs. I. A. Oppenheimer, and W. H. Oppenheimer and that the residents at 625 Grand Avenue were W. H. Carr and daughter, H. C. Carr, Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Banister and their daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. T. J. Jarman. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#19784) indicate that Reginald R. Banister (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Repair Unit 310 of the Motor Transport Corps, who was born in Sibley, Iowa, moved to Minnesota 1898, had light brown eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 10 1/2" tall, was a salesman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, F. J. Banister, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harvey C. Carr, a clerk, boarded at 625 Grand Avenue and that Josephine M. Carr, a dancing teacher, and William H. Carr, a deputy sheriff, both resided at 625 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at 623 Grand Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. D. E. Harman, Mrs. Aug. Oppenheimer, Mr. and Mrs. B. B. Oppenheimer, Mrs. Ida Oppenheimer, H. O. Sargent, and J. A. Wessel and that the residents of the apartment building located at 625 Grand Avenue were W. H. Carr, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. T. J. Jarman, and Mrs. C. L. Wells. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Francis L. Breen, a barber located at 178 North Snelling Avenue, and his wife, Stacia Breen (Apartment #1,) James D. Clemmy, a tester at the St. Paul Hydraulic Hoist Company, and his wife, Ellener Clemmy (Apartment #2,) Mrs. Alice Rowley (Apartment #3,) George H. Bryant, associated with Bryant Press, and his wife, Mary A. Bryant (Apartment #5,) and Herman O. Zuppke and his wife, Mabel Zuppke (Apartment #6,) with Apartment #4 vacant. In 1972-1973, Beth Bergman, a Senior at Macalester College, Carole Hirsch, a Senior at Macalester College, and Joseph Schwartz, a Senior at Macalester College, all resided at 625 Grand Avenue. In 1891, August Oppenheimer & Company was a St. Paul millinery merchant. George Wortham Griffin (1865- ,) the son of George Washington Griffin and Eleanor Hazeltine Bailey Griffin, was born in Madison, Rockingham County, North Carolina, was educated at the Brownsville, Tennessee, College from 1874 until 1878, attended the SouthWest Baptist University, Jackson, Tennessee, from 1879 until 1881, was a news and book dealer, was the traveling representative and circulation manager of the Nashville, Tennessee, Daily World from 1882 until 1885, was the assistant sergeant-at-arms of the Tennessee House of Representatives from 1883 until 1884, was in the book and stationery business at Union City, Tennessee, from 1885 until 1887, was the sergeant-at-arms of the Tennessee Senate from 1885 until 1886, was the assistant clerk or secretary of the Tennessee Senate from 1887 until 1888, was employed as a traveling salesman by the Willis Stationery Company of Memphis, Tennessee, from 1887 until 1889, was employed as the traveling representative by the Western Paper Bag Company of Batavia, Illinois, from 1889 until 1892, was employed as the Minnesota and Dakota representative or manager by the Samuel Cupples Wooden Ware Company of St. Louis, Missouri, after 1892, married Mary Alice Davis in St. Paul in 1905, was a member of the Minnesota Club, and was a member of the Commercial Club of St. Paul, and officed at 242 East Third Street in 1907. Cornelius J. Gutgesell (1857- ,) the son of Frank Gutgesell ( -1893) and Ellen/Ella Martha Washington Gutgesell ( -1906,) educated in the La Crosse, Wisconsin, public schools, attended the La Crosse, Wisconsin, business college, was employed in manufacturing by his father in 1875, was employed as a clerk by Sweet, Dempster & Company, a wholesaler of caps, hats and furs in Chicago from 1876 until 1882, moved to Minneapolis in 1883, was the secretary and a member of the board of directors of the Plymouth Clothing Company from 1883 until 1900, married Amy Stimson at Minneapolis, in 1885, was the secretary of the Plymouth Clothing Company, was employed as the manager of Browning, King & Company in Minneapolis from 1900 until 1904, was a ladies' clothing manufacturer, was a manufacturer of women's cloaks, suits and furs after 1904, established the Outer Garment Shop for Women in St. Paul in 1905, was a Republican, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a Mason, was a Shriner, was a member of St. John's Episcopal Church, was a member of the Episcopal Diocesan Church Club, engaged in the hobbies of reading, music and outdoor diversions, and officed at 114 East Sixth Street in 1907. C. J. Gutgesell married Amy A. Stimson of Chicago in 1885 and the couple had two daughters, Edith Gutgesell and Hazel Gutgesell. In 1909, Cornelius J. Gutgesell, a buyer employed by John W. Thomas & Company, resided at 20 West Grant Street and Edith A. Gutgesell, a student, boarded at 20 West Grant Street. In 1910, Mrs. C. J. Gutgesell was a judge for the Women's Department at the Minnesota State Fair. George W. Griffin resided at the nearby former 579 Summit Avenue in 1930. Thomas Jones Jarman was a 1901 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was an attorney with the firm of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Club, and officed at the NorthWest corner of Second Street and Jackson Street in 1916. Horace E. Emerson ( -1913,) Emma C. Emerson ( -1923,) David E. Harman ( -1927,) Ida N. Oppenheimer ( -1931,) Stacia Breen ( -1931,) Mary Ann Bryant ( -1932,) William Hart Carr ( -1933,) Herman O. Zuppke ( -1938,) Francis L. Breen ( -1943,) Mary A. Bryant ( -1948,) Thomas J. Jarman ( -1949,) Frederick J. Banister ( -1949,) Joseph A. Wessel ( -1952,) and George W. Griffin ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. William H. Oppenheimer (1883-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Newton, and died in Ramsey County. Will H. Carr ( -1918) and Josephine M. Carr ( -1947) both died in Hennepin County. Harvey C. Carr (1880-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cardell, and died in Hennepin County. Reginald R. Banister ( -1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rieger, and died in Hennepin County. C. Louise Wells (1894-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wakefield, and died in Ramsey County. James Deuar Clemmy (1869-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Golden, and died in Ramsey County. Ellener Clemmy (1869-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hall, and died in Ramsey County. Alice M. Rowley (1911-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kelly, and died in Ramsey County. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Wilde resided at the former nearby 626 Grand Avenue. [See note on William H. Oppenheimer for 766 West Linwood Avenue.]

627 Grand Avenue: The Ivy League Condominiums/Former Yale Apartments; Built in 1919 (1905 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $180,000 in a sale that occurred in 2003, and which is currently owned by Molly Stepnick and Scott Synold. Unit 2 is a 1187 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Kimberley K. Johnson. Unit 3 is a 616 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $42,347 in a sale that occurred in 1997, and which is currently owned by Kelly J. Fischer. Unit 4 is a 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $58,000, and which is currently owned by Edward M. Johnson. Unit 5 is a 1187 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $118,000 in a sale that occurred in 1999, and which is currently owned by Gina L. Ceola. Unit 6 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $140,000 in a sale that occurred in 2000, and which is currently owned by Marilyn Dunbar. Unit 7 is a 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Maire E. McMahon. Unit 8 is a 616 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1996 at a sale price of $42,000, and which is currently owned by James R. Coxon. Unit 9 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $129,900 in a sale that occurred in 1999, and which is currently owned by Laurie A. Johnson. Unit 10 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $206,400, and which is currently owned by Jessica Dru Wiltz. Unit 11 is a 805 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $154,000 in a sale that occurred in 2001, and which is currently owned by Grant N. Whitney and Stepanie R. Whitney. Unit 12 is a 805 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, with the last sale of this property in 1999 at a sale price of $100,000, and which is currently owned by Brian A. Gudio. Unit A is a 1000 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $173,000 in a sale that occurred in 2003, and which is currently owned by Scott C. Snyder. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Samuel Benjamin Plechner resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Gust Hirschman, their daughters, Mr. and Mrs. L. T. Lefebvre, their daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. John Rogers, Jr., and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry Arnowitz, a clerk employed by Armour & Company, and Helen Cook, a clerk employed by The Golden Rule, both boarded at this address and that Abraham Cook resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. J. Calph resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Edward J. Calph, a veteran of the U. S. Bureau of Army Intelligence, and his wife, Bessie Calph (Apartment #1,) Mrs. Mary A. Metcalf, the widow of Albert Metcalf and a clerk at the St. Paul Athletic Club (Apartment #2,) Harry F. Fisher, the president-treasurer of Herzog Iron Works, located at 312 Cypress (Apartment #3,) George W. Godfroy, an inspector, and his wife, Carrie Godfroy (Apartment #4,) Margaret Horrigan (Apartment #5,) and T. Frank McGuire, a salesman employed by First Securities Corporation, Nicholas Keresztes, a janitor employed by the Harvard Apartments, and his wife, Anna Keresztes (Apartment #6.) Samuel Benjamin Plechner (1865-1912,) the son of Benjamin H. Plechner and B. B. Plechner, was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey, was educated in public schools of St. Paul, was a railroad official, was employed in the purchasing department of the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad from 1881 until 1889, was employed in the general superintendent's office from 1889 until 1891, was the chief clerk in purchasing department of the Great Northern RailRoad from 1891 until 1905, was the assistant purchasing agent Great Northern RailRoad from 1903 until 1905, was the purchasing agent Great Northern RailRoad after 1905, later resided at 152 South Avon Street, officed at the Great Northern Railway general offices, and died with Howard James (1862-1912,) the Great Northern RailRoad purchasing director, in an automobile crash near the North Oaks, Minnesota, country home of James J. Hill. Benjamin H. Plechner (1834- ) was an American Civil War veteran, enlisted in the Sixth New York Engineers Regiment in 1861, was a master of the Union Lodge No. 19 of the GAR in New Brunswick, New York, in 1867, moved to Minnesota with his brother, Abram Plechner, settled in St. Paul, was in the clothing and furnishing goods business at the corner of Main Street and Chestnut Street, was a former Mount Zion Temple trustee, was a former president of the Mount Zion Temple congregation, attended the UAHC convention in 1878, was a member of the Acker GAR Post in 1888, was the president of the Minnesota Lodge of B'nai B'rith, and worked with Rabbi Judah Weschler to bring the Mount Zion Temple congregation into the Reform Movement. B. B. Plechner was the treasurer of the Hebrew Ladies Benevolent Society in 1907. Herzog Iron Works was an iron and brass foundry and electroplating business in existence from at least 1900. Before 1900, there was a Gillette-Herzog Iron Works of Minneapolis. The Herzog Iron Works, around 1900, manufactured railings, grilles, porte cocheres, elevator cabs and enclosures, cast iron stairways and railings, and jail and prison cells. The Herzog Iron Works Inc. was the assignee of a patent for an abrasive cut-off machine invented by Leo L. Vadnais in 1946 and a patent on door construction invented by John J. Kuettel in 1947. The Crex Carpet Company later occupied the Herzog Iron Works factory. The 1890 Herzog Iron Manufacturing Company building near St. Anthony Falls in Minneapolis eventually became the American Bridge Company or Metal Matic plant. Gustav Hirschman ( -1938) died in Hennepin County. John Rogers ( -1918,) Albert J. Metcalf ( -1919,) John Rogers ( -1926,) Abraham Cook ( -1927,) George Godfroy ( -1933) Louis T. Lefebvre ( -1934,) Nicholas Keresztes ( -1934,) Caroline Godfroy ( -1937,) Margaret Horrigan ( -1949,) and T. Frank McGuire ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Helen Althea Cook (1906-1966) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Edward J. Calph (1880-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth G. Calph (1892-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Caye, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Alice Metcalf (1886-1968) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on Lockwood for 1118 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

628 Grand Avenue: Dale Apartments; Built in 1919; Ry Caanderser, architect. The structure is a three story, 20208 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that William D. McGuire (1890- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class attached to the 680th Aero Squadron, born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was a store keeper and clerical worker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including in Meuse-Argonne, was employed as an automobile dealer at 204 West Sixth Street upon the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert J. Breckinridge, an examiner employed by the Interstate Commerce Commission, F. Forde Canning, Arthur W. Davis, a foreman employed by the Dispatch and Pioneer Press, Walter E. Dexter, a solicitor, Johanna A. Dodge, the widow of Ossian E. Dodge, and Jane A. Fifield, the widow of Zacheus B. Fifield, all resided at this address and that Edna Clarke, a forewoman employed by the Broderick Company, Mildred Coburn, a teacher at the Summit School, Bert H. Fabrick, a watchmaker employed by the Bullard Brothers Company, Edith Fifield, a teacher at the Baker School, and Grace A. Fifield, an assistant employed by the St. Paul Public Library, all boarded at this address. The 1921 Carlton College Alumni Directory indicates that Margaret Cooper, a member of the Class of 1911 who graduated with a bachelor's degree, a recipient of a master's degree from Columbia University, and an elementary supervisor of the Summit School for Girls, resided at this address and maintained a home at Mankato, Minnesota. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Beadle, Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Perkins, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Sleeper, Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Levin, Mr. and Mrs. T. J. Lewis, and F. W. St. Hill and his daughter. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Manzinoya Sisters Restaurant was located at Apartment #A and that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Thomas B. Smith, an attendant employed by Carl J. Coleman, and his wife, Pearl Smith (Apartment #B,) John Leslie Canner, a computer for the Northern Pacific RailRoad (Apartment #101,) Mrs. Bessie D. Miller, the widow of Frank E. Miller (Apartment #102,) Earl W. Swenson, a dentist (Apartment #104,) Mrs. Ellen Delaney, the widow of Charles Delaney (Apartment #105,) Harry O. Walden, a foreman employed by the Holt Motor Company, and his wife, La Verne Walden (Apartment #106,) Paul A. Lonergan, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad (Apartment #107,) Arnold J. Berglund, a bookkeeper (Apartment #108,) Harry A. Yutz, a baker employed by C. Holtz & Company, and his wife, Alice I. Yutz (Apartment #201,) Frank F. Gidestam, a florist employed by Holm & Olson Inc., and Thyra Gidestam, a seamstress employed by F. J. Egan (Apartment #204,) William P. Schmokee, a construction supervisor employed by the U. S. Engineers Office (Apartment #205,) Mrs. Marie Olson, the widow of Alf M. Olson (Apartment #206,) R. L. Gench, a physician (Apartment #301,) Clarence W. Herbert, a salesman, and his wife, Elsie Herbert (Apartment #303,) E. Lydia Rosander (Apartment #305,) and Dorothy J. Field, a clerk (Apartment #306,) with Apartments #103, #202, #203, #207 #208, #302, #304, #307, and #308 vacant. In 1933, preparing to pull-off the kidnappings of William Hamm and Edward Bremer, Jr., Fred Barker, of the "Ma" Barker gang, and his girlfriend, Paula "Fat-Witted" Harmon, the widow of the late bank robber Charles "Charlie" Harmon, rented Apartment #103 at this address under the names of Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Bergstrom, and the apartment served as the gang's headquarters for the Bremer kidnapping at South Lexington Parkway and Goodrich Avenue. William D. McGuire was the son of J. J. McGuire, who resided at 769 Marshall Avenue in 1917 and in 1919. The Broderick Company was a boiler manufacturer and some of its boilers powered steam engine tractors from the early 20th Century, including the early Galesburg, Illinois, Avery steam tractors. Carl Joseph Coleman ( -1938) and Harold E. Perkins ( -1952) died in Hennepin County. Ellen T. Delaney ( -1929,) Pearl F. Smith ( -1934,) Frank J. Egan ( -1934,) T. J. Lewis ( -1946,) Pearl M. Smith ( -1946,) and Julian H. Sleeper ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Rose E. Manzinoya (1888-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kearns, and died in Ramsey County. Pearl May Smith ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bullard, and died in Ramsey County. Pearl M. Smith (1901-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wallace, and died in Ramsey County. John Leslie Canner (1905-1997) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hummel, and died in Hennepin County. Bessie D. Miller (1876-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gunn, and died in Ramsey County. Paul A. Lonergan (1889-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McGrath, and died in Ramsey County. Arnold J. Berglund (1909-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wicker, and died in Chippewa County, Minnesota. Harry A. Yutz (1901-1973) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Elsie Emily Herbert (1910-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grytdahl, and died in Ramsey County. William Hamm (1893-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Scheffer, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Halverson Blaiser Group, located in Bloomington, Minnesota. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Halleck Paige Fahnestock resided at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Godfrey, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. G. S. Greening, and Mr. and Mrs. Henry Rudawsky all resided at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Della Calihan, a stenographer employed by C. W. F. Smith & Company, and Eloise L. Calihan, the secretary and treasurer of the Bemidji Townsite & Improvement Company, both boarded at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue, that James G. Calihan, an assistant claim agent employed by the St. Paul City Railway Company resided at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue, and that Helen Callihan, a clerk employed by the Wallblom Furniture & Carpet Company, located at 394-408 Jackson Street, boarded at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Godfrey, their daughter, and Miss Vera Godfrey all resided at the former nearby 629 Grand Avenue. Halleck Paige Fahnestock (1861- ,) the son of Edward G. Fahnestock and Louise Tate Fahnestock, was born at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, was educated at the Pennsylvania College and Preparatory School in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, studied at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy from 1881 until 1883, moved to South Dakota in 1893, was in the drug business at Watertown, South Dakota, from 1884 until 1890, was employed by the Sioux Banking Company in Watertown, South Dakota, from 1890 until 1893, married Carrie D. Stevens at Watertown, South Dakota, in 1891, was engaged in the fuel business, traveled for the Youghiogheny & Lehigh Coal Company from 1883 until 1900, was the St. Paul manager for the Youghiogheny & Lehigh Coal Company from 1900 until 1902, was the manager for the Northwestern Fuel Company after 1902, was a Republican, was an English Lutheran, was a member of the Theta Chapter of the Sigma Chi Fraternity, was a Mason, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Amateur Athletic Club, and officed at 346-348 Robert Street in 1907. Edward George Fahnestock (1829-1907,) the son of Samuel Fahnestock (1796- ) and Susan E. Baugher Fahnestock (1795- ,) was born in Gettysburg/York Springs, Adams County, Pennsylvania, graduated from the College of Pennsylvania in 1847, graduated from the Medical School of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1850, married Maria Louisa Tate (1835-1916,) the daughter of John Tate and Hannah Tate, in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, in 1856, enlisted in the Second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry Regiment, Company E, in 1861, re-enlisted in 1862 as a Lieutenant Colonel in the 165th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry Regiment, enlisted for the third time in 1863 with the rank of Major as the Paymaster of Volunteers in St. Louis, Missouri, served in the American Civil War, resigned in 1864, moved to Watertown, Coddington County, South Dakota, as a Sioux Indian agent in 1881, resided in South Dakota for several years, settled in Minneapolis in 1894, was the assistant secretary of the Retail Lumbermen's Insurance Association, organized and was the secretary of the Northwest Lumberman's Insurance Association, retired in 1906, and died in Minneapolis. Edward George Fahnestock and Maria Louisa Tate Fahnestock were the parents of Carrie Louise Fahnestock (1857- ,) John Charles Fahnestock (1858-1859,) Julia Tate Fahnestock (1860-1862,) Halleck Paige Fahnestock (1861- ,) Edward George Fahnestock (1863- ,) and Lillie Baugher Fahnestock (1865- .) In 1895, Tams Bixby, A. C. Clausen, Harris A. Richardson and Dr. Harry Hutchinson of St. Paul and W. J. Hilligoss, Albert Kaiser, and Lewis John, of Fosston bought 93 acres of land on Lake Bemidji, Minnesota, in order to establish a townsite, and in 1896, the seven organized the Bemidji Townsite & Improvement Company and Bixby and Clausen filed the plat of the Village of Bemidji at the Ramsey County Courthouse and the Village of Bemidji was incorporated. In 1922, Tams Bixby was the president of the Bemidji Townsite & Improvement Company. Tams Bixby (1855-1922) was born in Staunton, Virginia, the son of Bradford W. Bixby and Susan J. Clarke Bixby, moved to Stillwater, Minnesota, in 1857, moved to Red Wing, Minnesota in 1862, was a storekeeper, a news agent, a baker, a hotelkeeper, and a publisher, was the first secretary of the Young Men's Christian Association in the Northwest, was the editor and publisher of the Red Wing Sun, was the editor of the North Star, was the editor for a time of the Grange Advance, and formed the Red Wing Republican, was the Chairman of the Republican State Central Committee, was that of Secretary of the State Railroad & Warehouse Commission, was private secretary to Governor William R. Merriam, to Governor Knute Nelson, and to Governor David M. Clough, and was a member of the Commission to the Five Civilized Tribes in the Indian Territory (Oklahoma) from 1897 until 1907. Albert Christian Clausen (1849- ) was born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, was educated in the public schools of Charlestown, Massachusetts, graduated from the Charlestown, Massachusetts, High School in 1869, moved to Minnesota in 1872, married Margaret H. Munro at Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1873, settled in St. Paul in 1873, was employed by the freight and passenger departments of the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad at Minneapolis from 1873 until 1874, was employed in the grain business from 1875 until 1901, was the editor and half owner of the Benson, Minnesota, Times from 1875 until 1878, assisted in the organization of Minnesota grain department in 1885, was the first chief deputy grain inspector at Minneapolis from 1885 until 1889, was the chief State grain inspector from 1889-1899, and was the secretary of the Railroad & Warehouse Commission after 1901, was a Republican, was a Mason, was a member of the Blue Lodge, was a member of the Masonic Veterans' Association, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, had as a hobby outdoor athletic sports, officed at the Minnesota State Capitol in 1907, and resided at 1900 Rondo Street in 1907. Charles Wallblom (1842- ,) the son of Peter Olson and Annie Helena Ecklund Wallblom, was born in Sweden, was educated in the public schools of Sweden, learned the trade of carriage-making, moved to Minnesota in 1852, moved to St. Paul in 1867, was employed in the sash and door factory of Corliss, Chatman & Drake from 1867 until 1886, married Matilda Swenson in 1870, engaged in the furniture business as the Wallblom & Horsell Furniture & Carpet Company from 1887 until 1894, then engaged in the furniture business as the Wallblom Furniture & Carpet Company, was the Chair of the Swedish Old Sellers Association, was the president of the Bethesda Benevolent Society, was the chair of the Englebrodt Benevolent Society, was the chair and treasurer of the proposed Minnehaha College, a Swedish college, was the treasurer of the Minneapolis Vekoblad, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 25) from 1893 until 1895, resided at 1089 Jessie Street in 1907, and officed at 400-410 Jackson Street in 1907. Henry Rudawsky ( -1927) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. Helen E. Calihan ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. [See note for Charlie Harmon for 572 West Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on Ossian Euclid Dodge for 294 Winifred Street East.] [See note on John L. Merriam and William Rush Merriam for 4 Crocus Hill.] [See note on Senator Knute Nelson for 2507 Lake Place.] [See note on David Marston Clough for 651 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See the note for the Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA) for 277 Harrison Avenue.] [See note on the Minnesota Railroad & Warehouse Commission for 1321 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on Halleck P. Fahnestock for 846 West Osceola Avenue.]

635-637 Grand Avenue: Built in 1905; Classical Revival in style. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is an 1187 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $200,000 in a sale that occurred in 2002, and which is currently owned by Teresa L. McIntyre and Stephen P. Sanders. Unit 2 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, and which is currently owned by Marci A. Porter and Matthew J. Porter. Unit 3 is an 805 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $165,000 in a sale that occurred in 2003, and which is currently owned by Matthew C. Dettinger. Unit 4 is a 616 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $143,150, and which is currently owned by Trevor Sannes. Unit 5 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $149,900 in a sale that occurred in 2002, and which is currently owned by Brian B. Hayward and Margaret T. Hayward. Unit 6 is an 1803 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $110,000 in a sale that occurred in 1995, and which is currently owned by Maryjo Harrington. Unit 7 is an 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $56,000, and which is currently owned by Sheila D. Wells. Unit 8 is a 998 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Cheryl L. Johnson. Unit 9 is an 1803 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick condominium unit, which last sold for $255,000 in a sale that occurred in 2003, and which is currently owned by Damon J. Contreras. Unit 10 is an 805 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit, which was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $122,000, and which is currently owned by Karen L. Rorie. Unit A is a 1000 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit which is currently owned by Gretchen Marshall. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Adolph Hirschman resided at 637 Grand Avenue in 1907. In 1916, Luther S. Cushing was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at 635 Grand Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Cutting, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Creelman, Mr. and Mrs. J. T. McCann, Mrs. M. C. Thayer, Wilfred McCann, and Miss E. D. Wilson and that the residents at 637 Grand Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. G. L. Gottschammer, Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Clasen, Mrs. H. L. Parsons, and her daughter. World War I veteran Wilfred McCann resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Luther S. Cushing, a partner with Walter J. Driscoll, John W. G. Dunn, Roy A. Balsley in Cushing, Dunn & Driscoll, a general insurance agency located at the Capital Bank Building, and also a partner with Walter J. Driscoll in Cushing & Driscoll, involved in real estate, general insurance, mortgage loans, and property management located at the Capital Bank Building, and Henry H. Edgerton, an assistant engineer employed by the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, all resided at 635 Grand Avenue and that Benjamin Braunstein and Leah Braunstein, a clerk employed by McClain & Hedman Company, an office furniture and stationery office supplies company, both boarded at 637 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at 635 Grand Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. L. S. Cushing, Miss Dorothy W. Hutchinson, Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Hutchinson, and their daughter and that the residents of the apartment building located at 637 Grand Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. R. A. Balsley and Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Hildreth. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Alex H. Brucker, an insurance agent (Apartment #1,) Clarence S. Nienaber, the proprietor of C. S. Nienaber Company, a business broker and real estate company, and his wife, Mildred Nienaber (Apartment #2,) George W. Nelson, a solicitor employed by Keis-Gaffney & Company, and his wife, Mayme Nelson (Apartment #3,) Mrs. Alma M. Gottschamer and Mrs. Gertrude Gottschamer (Apartment #4,) Mrs. Mary Randall (Apartment #5,) and Mrs. Emma F. Parsons, the widow of Howard L. Parsons (Apartment #6.) In 2006, Steve Sanders was a member of the board of directors of the Summit Hill Association and resided at this address and was a member of the Summit Hill Association Board in 2004 and 2005. The Dunn burial plot at Oakland Cemetery included the graves of John W. G. Dunn, Jr.(1903-1975,) John Warner Grigg Dunn (1869-1941,) Alice Monfort Dunn (1872-1954,) and Montfort Dunn (1907-2004.) Adolph Hirschman (1852- ,) the son of Philip Hirschman, a cigar manufacturer, and Mary Caspari Hirschman, was born in Pomerania, Germany, received his education in the public schools of Prussia, Germany, moved to Savannah, Georgia, in 1876, married Rosa Cohn of New York City, New York, in 1876, was engaged in Savannah, Georgia, as a traveling salesman for a wholesale grocery house until 1882, moved to St. Paul, established the firm of A. Hirschman & Company with his son, Benjamin M. Hirschman (1877- ,) engaged in the wholesale liquor business, has an interest in the Canisteo Iron Mines in St. Louis County, Minnesota, was a 32nd degree Mason, was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Sons of Hermann, was a member of the Elks Club, was a member of the St. Paul Auto Club, was a member of the St. Paul Association of Commerce, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was the vice president of the Mount Zion Synagogue, and had his office and warehouse at 162 East Third Street and at 290-294 Jackson Street. John Warner Grigg Dunn (1869-1941) was born in Pennsylvania, came to Minnesota in the early 1890's, was a sportsman, authored numerous articles on outdoor life, was interested in horticulture and maintained extensive gardens in his homes in St. Paul and his home, "Pine Needles", at Marine on St. Croix, Minnesota, married Alice Monfort in 1902 and the couple had three sons, John Warner Grigg Dunn, Jr., Montfort (baptized Monfort) Dunn, and James Taylor Dunn. Alice Monfort (1872-1954,) the daughter of Charles Monfort and Alice Taylor Monfort, was born in St. Paul, married John Warner Grigg Dunn in 1902, and died in Ramsey County. John Warner Grigg "Jack" Dunn, Jr. (1903-1975) was born in St. Paul, graduated from Stanford University in 1929, served in the Merchant Marines, traveled extensively in Europe from 1931 to 1933, operated a travel magazine, Globe, from 1937 until 1941 with his two brothers, served in the U.S. Naval Intelligence during World War II, resumed his travels in Mexico and other Latin American countries, authored a number of travel guides to those countries, wrote newspaper articles on foreign countries, and lived a part of each year in Mexico. Montfort Dunn (1907- ) was born in St. Paul, graduated from Yale University in 1930, studied art in Paris under Amedee-Julien Ozenfant and Louis Marcoussi during the early 1930's, returned to St. Paul to become art director of Globe magazine, and served as gallery director for the St. Paul Gallery and School of Art and the University Gallery in Minneapolis in the 1940's and 1950's. Charles Junius Monfort (1841/1842-1904) was born in Colchester, New York, came to Minnesota in the early 1860's, was clerk to the paymaster, Department of Dakota, during the American Civil War, operated a grocery business from 1867 to 1880, married Alice Taylor (1851-1885) in 1871, was the proprietor of the Windsor hotel in St. Paul after 1880, was a director and the vice president of the board governing the St. Paul Workhouse, located in Como Park, in 1883, and died in St. Paul. Charles Junius Monfort and Alice Taylor Monfort were the parents of two children, Alice Monfort (1872-1954) and James Goodrich Monfort (1875-1879.) The Windsor hotel was the predecessor to the current St. Paul Hotel. Alice Taylor Monfort (1851- ) was the daughter of James Wickes Taylor ( -1893) and Chloe Langford Taylor. James Wickes Taylor (1819-1893,) the son of James Taylor, was born in Eddytown, Starkey Township, Yates County, New York, graduated from Hamilton College in 1838, was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, studied law with his father at Penn Yan, New York, was admitted to the practice of law in New York, was admitted to the practice of law in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1844, joined the law firm of Salmon B. Chase and Flamen Ball, married Chloe Sweeting Langford (1821- ) in Utica, New York, in 1845, established the Cincinnati Morning Signal in 1846, authored The Victim of Intrigue; A Tale of Burr's Conspiracy published in Cincinnati, Ohio, by Robinson & Jones in 1847, moved to Sandusky, Ohio, became the editor of the Sandusky Daily Mirror in 1849, was a member of the Second Ohio State Constitutional Convention from 1850 until 1851, was the Ohio State Librarian from 1852 until 1856, authored History of the State of Ohio, First Period, 1650-1787 published in Cincinnati, Ohio, by Derby in 1854, moved to St. Paul in 1856, authored the Manual of the Ohio School System in 1857, practiced law in St. Paul, was the secretary of the Minnesota & Pacific RailRoad Company in 1859, was secretary for William H. Nobles' expedition to the British Columbia gold fields in 1859, was an unsuccessful Democratic candidate for Congress from Minnesota in 1860, was a U. S. Treasury special agent from 1859 until 1869, authored Relations Between the United States and Northwest British America in 1862, was a representative of the St. Paul Board of Trade and of the Northern Pacific RailRoad at commercial conventions in Eastern cities, was the publicist for the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad and for the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad in 1869, was the U. S. Counsel at Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada from 1870 until 1893, was a journalist, published reports, pamphlets, and addresses, died in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and was buried in Utica, New York. James Wickes Taylor and Chloe Sweeting Langford Taylor were the parents of five children, Mary Taylor (Mrs. Charles L.) Alden, Helen Taylor ( -1850,) Alice Taylor (Mrs. Charles J.) Monfort, Harriet Taylor, and Elizabeth Taylor (1853-1932.) William H. Nobles (1816-1876) was born in Genesee County, New York, moved to St. Croix Falls, Wisconsin Territory, in 1841, then moved to Willow River/Hudson, Wisconsin Territory, moved to Stillwater, Minnesota, in 1843, came to St. Paul in 1848, was a machinist, opened a wagon maker's shop and turned out the first wagon ever made in Minnesota, moved to Shasta County, California, in 1849, returned to Minnesota in 1852, was a representative in the Minnesota Territorial Legislature representing Ramsey County and Dakota County (Districts 2 and 6) from 1854 until 1857, laid out a wagon road from Fort Ridgely, Minnesota, to the Pacific Ocean, discovered one of the best passes to the Rocky Mountains, was the namesake for Nobles County, Minnesota, was Lieutenant Colonel of the 79th New York Regiment during the American Civil War, was a Cotton Collector for the U. S. government in the South during the American Civil War, was a U. S. Revenue officer during the American Civil War, was a Master of Transportation of troops during the American Civil War, moved to the Waukesha Springs, Wisconsin, in 1865, then moved to Hot Springs, Colorado, then returned to St. Paul, and died in a St. Paul hospital. Erick J. Clasen ( -1923,) Benjamin Braunstein ( -1927,) Luther Stearns Cushing ( -1937,) Emma F. Parsons ( -1939,) Alex H. S. Brucker ( -1944,) John T. McCann ( -1945,) Mayme G. Nelson ( -1948,) George W. Nelson ( -1949,) Alma Maud Gottschamer ( -1951,) and Mary Elizabeth Randall ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Hilda L. Parsons (1877-1967) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rushworth, and died in Ramsey County. Clarence S. Nienaber (1892-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Landry, and died in Ramsey County. Mildred L. Nienaber (1902-1984) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George W. Nelson ( -1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George Willmar Nelson (1909-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Paulson, and died in Ramsey County. Mayme Nelson (1887-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schiltgen, and died in Ramsey County. Mary M. Randall (1885-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brislin, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Randall (1881-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Collins, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Minnesota & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.]

636 Grand Avenue: Dale Apartments; Built in 1919. The structure is a three story, 20208 square foot, apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Wilbert T. Love (1888- ,) an enlistee and a Sergeant in the Quartermaster Corps, who was born in Kansas City, Missouri, moved to Minnesota in 1915, was a salesman upon induction, had grey eyes, dark brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 11", was a heavy chemical salesman employed by C. B. Lyon & Brothers, and with his wife, Dorothy Barton Love, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#3562) indicate that Lowell V. Calvert (1889- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Sergeant in the Headquarters Company of the 36th Ca. Co. Signal Corps, who was born in Marshalltown, Iowa, moved to Minnesota in 1910, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 10 1/4" tall, was a theatrical manager at induction, was the managing director of the New Garrick Theatre, was employed by the T. C. Amusement Trust Estate after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#3809) indicate that Claud/Claude D. Miller (1892- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Sergeant in the 271st Aero Squadron, who was born in Fair Plain, Missouri, moved to Minnesota in 1906, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a medium fair complexion, was 5' 6"; tall, was a salesman at induction, was a cattle salesman employed by P. Vittum & Company of South St. Paul, Minnesota, after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Edith Miller, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24396) indicate that Eugene Gordon Henry (1896- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Second Lieutenant in the U. S. Marines, who was born in Perham, Minnesota, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' tall, was a student at induction, was a student at the Nichols Expert Business School after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Grace M. Bell, a teacher at Johnson High School, boarded at this address and that Charles S. Boyles, an assistant buyer employed by G. Sommers & Company, Adolph Buechner, a brakeman, Lowell V. Calvert, a director of the New Garrick Theatre, Charles Clausen, an engineer employed by the Dale Apartments, and Emma C. Emerson, the widow of Horace E. Emerson, all resided at this address. James M. Love, of Kansas City, Missouri, was the father of Wilbert T. Love. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mrs. Alice Bushnell, Mr. and Mrs. H. O. Dahl, Mrs. H. E. Emerson, Miss J. B. Kittredge, and Mr. and Mrs. James McCarthy. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ida Ellison's circulating library was located at Apartment #A and that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Thomas B. Smith, an attendant employed by Carl J. Coleman, and his wife, Pearl Smith (Apartment #101,) Jossie W. Anderson, the manager of the Dale Apartments (Apartment #102,) Esther Beyer, a clerk (Apartment #103,) Esther M. Mracheck, an assistant employed by Foley & Donohue (Apartment #104,) A. Harland Colvin, an agent for the Prudential Insurance Company, and his wife, Emma Colvin (Apartment #106,) Mrs. Gineva/Geneva S. Banks, a saleswoman employed by E. Sundkvist & Company (Apartment #108,) Lula R. Converse, the principal of the Gorman School (Apartment #203,) Mary W. Dodge, assistant art supervisor at the Irving School (Apartment #204,) Lina Truckenbrodt, a teacher at the Cleveland Junior High School (Apartment #205,) Thomas E. Sullivan (Apartment #206,) Grace N. Elliott, a teacher at the Central High School (Apartment #207,) Mrs. Elizabeth McCarthy (Apartment #208,) William L. Pratt, a physician, and his wife, Alice Pratt, and Lee A. Horton, a clerk (Apartment #303,) Clifford Tallakson, a grinder employed by the Walman Optical Company, and his wife, Anna Tallakson, a beauty operator employed by Husch Brothers (Apartment #305,) Maxwell Sholes, his wife, Alyce Sholes, and Anna H. Guthormson, a teacher (Apartment #306,) and Laura A. Haggard, a teacher at Murray High School (Apartment #307,) with Apartments #105, #107, #201, #202, #301, #302, #304, and #308 vacant. Mrs. David Patient of Minneapolis was the mother of Lowell V. Calvert. The New Garrick Theatre, at 34 Sixth Street West, began as the the Grand Opera House in 1890, was rebuilt after a fire in 1912 destroyed a portion of the building, then reopened as a burlesque house, was remodeled again in 1914, became the Strand Theatre, then was renamed as the Garrick Theatre in 1920, was a first-run film house through the early 1940's, was showing B-grade double-and-triple features by 1945, closed in 1950, and was replaced by a parking lot. Alice Bushnell ( -1930,) Grace N. Elliott ( -1932,) Dorothy B. Love ( -1940,) Ida Lebold Ellison ( -1942,) Charles Clausen ( -1945,) Charles S. Boyles ( -1946,) and Wilbert T. Love ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Claude D. Miller (1887-1976) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Edith Mary Miller ( -1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Switzer, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Eugene Gordon Henry (1896-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Halliday, and died in Ramsey County. Adolph Buechner ( -1937) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Thomas E. Sullivan ( -1934) and Carl Joseph Coleman ( -1938) both died in Hennepin County. Emma Colvin (1889-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Paetke, and died in Hennepin County. Thomas Evyland Sullivan (1899-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dunnigan, and died in Hennepin County. Elizabeth Ann McCarthy (1905-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Meissner, and died in Ramsey County. William L. Pratt (1889-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mulnix, and died in Hennepin County. Alice Adrian Pratt (1874-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Perkins, and died in Hennepin County. Alice E. Pratt (1901-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Adams, and died in Hennepin County. Laura A. Haggard (1868-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Avery, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Richard T. Curtin, located in Bloomington, Minnesota. Richard T. Curtin was the president of the Minnesota MultiFamily Housing Association in 1978. The American Jewish Year Book for 1907 indicates that Mrs. M. Conheim, the treasurer of the Jewish Relief Society, resided at the nearby former 637 Grand Avenue. [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

639-641 Grand Avenue: Grand Four Condominium; Built in 1886. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 1688 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame condominium unit which was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $349,900, and which is currently owned by Susann J. Ocko. Unit 2 is a 1612 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame condominium unit which was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $423,000, and which is currently owned by Kathryn L. Boyne. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Ivan Saxon resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George H. Canavan, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, his wife, Harriet E. Canavan, and Mrs. Hannah Schiern, the widow of Marcus Schiern, resided at 639 Grand Avenue and that Mrs. Anna Moskovitch, the widow of David Moskovitch, resided at 641 Grand Avenue. Marci Schiern ( -1909,) George Canavan ( -1938,) and Hannah Schiern ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

640-644 Grand Avenue: St. Paul Plumbing & Heating; Built in 1927; Keiffer Brothers, architects. The structure is a one story, 9411 square foot, commercial building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that 640 Grand Avenue was vacant, that Mrs. Amy Warden, a dressmaker, was located at 642 Grand Avenue, and that the St. Paul Plumbing & Heating Company was located at 644 Grand Avenue. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the St. Paul Plumbing & Heating Company was located at 640 Grand Avenue from 1948, that Learn Me Inc. was located at 642 Grand Avenue from 1974, and that Grand Cleaners was located at 644 Grand Avenue from 1948. The current owner of record of the property is Milnor Realty Company, located at 11 Hilltop Lane.

641 Grand Avenue: Built in 1886. The structure is a condominium building. Unit 1 is a 1752 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame condominium unit which was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $332,500, and which is currently owned by Charles E. Morgan and Marilyn N. Morgan. Unit 2 is a 1612 square foot, six room, two bathroom, frame condominium unit with a detached one car garage, which was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $423,000, and which is currently owned by Amy Bjorklund and Eugene Kaganovsky. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sophia Simon and her daughter and J. G. Simon resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. N. Moss resided at this address. Joseph G. Simon ( -1930) died in Ramsey County.

643-645 Grand Avenue: Built in 1899. The structure is a two story, 2748 square foot, eleven room, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Algot Anderson resided at 645 Grand Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Algot Anderson and their daughter all resided at 645 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Algot J. Anderson resided at 645 Grand Avenue. Algot Anderson was a photographer who was located at 225 East Seventh in 1894 and employed Carl Otto Erikson, who was located at 231 East Seventh in 1895 and from 1903 until 1904, who was located at 189 East Seventh in 1905, who was located at 195 East Seventh in 1908, 1911, 1915, and 1917, who was located at 408 Wabasha Avenue in 1920, 1925, and 1926, and who was located at Brown's Photo Studio, 101 East Sixth Avenue, in 1926. Algot Anderson helped build the Bay Lake Camp, a church camp in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. Algot Anderson ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $175,000. The current owner of record of the property is Michael L. Cowley, who resides in Minneapolis. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Spooner and Mrs. H. N. Harris all resided at the former nearby 648 Grand Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George W. Keen resided at the former nearby 647 Grand Avenue in 1909. Donald Keen was the son of George W. Keen. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. K. Harrison resided at the former nearby 648 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Earl B. Netteburg, a driver employed by the Twin City Motor Bus Company, and his wife, Jeanette L. Netteburg, resided at the former nearby 647 Grand Avenue. Howard W. Spooner ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. Donald William Keen ( -1918) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Harry K. Harrison ( -1943,) Jeanette Lucille Netteburg ( -1946,) and Harry Kimball Keen ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. Earl Benjamin Netteburg (1899-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olson, and died in Ramsey County. [See note for Twin City Motor Bus Company for 266 Banfil Street.]

649 Grand Avenue: Built in 1899 (1904 and 1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The property contains two commercial/retail buildings. The 1904 building is two story, 5989 square foot, retail structure. The 1908 building is a two story, 2160 square foot, retail structure. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Charles Edgar Hasson resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Cooper and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ada E. Eva, the widow of Fred Eva, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Newport, a stenographer employed by the Minnesota Building & Loan Association, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Charles Edgar Hasson (1851- ,) the son of James Hasson and Mary Fosdick Hasson, was born at Mt. Carmel, Indiana, was educated in public schools of Indianapolis, Indiana, married Alice Ohr at Indianapolis, Indiana, in 1873, was initially employed in the hat and clothing business, at Indianapolis, Indiana, moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1876, was employed as a business manager, became the vice president and the general manager Mabley Carew Company, came to St. Paul in 1898, was the general manager of Browning, King & Company, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the Retailers' Association, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Commercial Club, engaged in the hobby of driving, resided at 687 Portland Avenue in 1914, and officed at Seventh Street and Robert Street in 1907. Alice H. Hasson (Mrs. Paul B.) Magnuson was a daughter of Charles Edgar Hasson and Alice Ohr Hasson. Charles Briggs Cooper ( -1920) died in Ramsey County. Margaret Newport (1895-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Mara, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the Tab Grand Partners LLC.

650 Grand Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 14334 square foot, commercial building. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Crocus Hill Garage was located at this address from 1939 to 1951. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Malone was the owner of a tire repair shop that was located at this address. John Franklin Malone (1896-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Melcher, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Frattalone I LLC, located in Arden Hills, Minnesota.

653 Grand Avenue: John B. West House; Built in 1900; Colonial Revival in style; Clarence H. Johnston, architect. The structure is a two story, 3520 square foot, building and is now a commercial structure. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William C. West, their daughter, and J. B. West all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Andr Gibson and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John B. Smith, a switchman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Ellen Smith, resided at this address. Andrew Gibson ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Sara C. Chambers. In 1879, I. V. D. Heard, a lawyer who officed at 41 East Third Street, resided near the corner of Dale Street and Grand Avenue. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. V. D. Heard resided at the former nearby 655 Grand Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. V. D. Heard resided at the former nearby 655 Grand Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Ramaley and their daughters all resided at the former nearby 654 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that the restaurant operated by Mrs. Nannie C. Bemis was located at the former nearby 656 Grand Avenue. Isaac V. D. Heard (1834-1913) was born in Goshen, New York, moved to St. Paul in 1851 or 1852, studied law and was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was the St. Paul City Attorney in 1856 and from 1865 until 1867, was the Ramsey County Attorney from 1857 until 1863, served in a cavalry unit in 1862, was aide de camp to General Henry H. Sibley in 1862, was judge advocate in the trial of 303 Dakota following the 1862 Dakota Uprising, was a Minnesota State Senator in 1871, became a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1889, returned to New York due to ill health in 1894, and died in Goshen, New York. In 1860, Isaac Heard, the Ramsey County Attorney and the prosecuting attorney in the trial of Ann Bilansky for the murder of her husband, appealed to Governor Alexander Ramsey for a stay of execution because he became convinced that her trial was unfair, but Governor Ramsey was swayed by press and public pressure and did not stop her execution. In 1862, Isaac V. D. Heard, a member of McPhail's Mounted Rangers, was the recorder in the military tribunal trials of Ta-ham-pu-hida, a Sioux Indian, O-ta-kle, or Godfrey, a colored man connected with the a Sioux tribe of Indians, Te-he-hdo-ne-cha, a Sioux Indian, We-chank-wash-to-do-pee, a Sioux Indian, Tazoo, alias Ptan-doo-to, a Sioux Indian, Ta-ham-pu-hida, a Sioux Indian, and Na-pay-shne, a Sioux Indian, following the 1862 Dakota Uprising. Also in 1862, I. V. D. Heard was a member of the St. Paul City Home Guard, which replaced the police force that was disbanded when the city was short of revenue. In 1865, I. V. D. Heard authored History of the Sioux War and Massacres of 1862 and 1863, published in New York by Harper & Brothers. In 1868, I. V. D. Heard married Augusta Hale in Christ Church at St. Paul. In 1870, Isaac Heard was one of the three defense lawyers for Edward McGovern and Tom Stokley, who were accused in the stabbing murder in Duluth, Minnesota, of George Northrup. I. V. D. Heard was a member of Minnesota State Senate from the 23rd District in 1872. In 1887, I. V. D. Heard, a pioneer lawyer in St. Paul, presented the paper "The Pioneer Priest and the Early History of Minnesota" at a banquet held for James Cardinal Gibbons (1834-1921.) In 1888, I. V. D. Heard represented the Western Union Telegraph Company successfully in part in the telegraph fraud cases before the Minnesota Supreme Court of McCord v. Western Union Telegraph Company 39 N.W. 315 and St. Paul Roller Mill Company 39 N. W. 318 (1888.) I. V. D. Heard served as the Ramsey County Attorney in 1859 and also served as a judge of the probate court for Ramsey County. Anne Edvards/Mary Ann Edvards Wright Bilansky (1820-1860) came to Minnesota from North Carolina in 1858, settled in St. Paul, married Stanislaus Bilansky in 1858, poisoned her sick husband with a liberal dose of arsenic in 1859, after apparently carrying on a torrid affair with her nephew, John Walker, a carpenter, who assisted her when she escaped from jail and hid near Lake Como. Bilansky was the first European-American and the only woman hanged for a criminal offense in Minnesota. Bilansky was convicted based entirely on questionable testimony from the Ramsey County coroner and on circumstantial evidence. Out of the six tests for arsenic poisoning available in 1860 and out of the five tests actually used, only one, the reduction test, was presented in testimony as a result consistent with arsenic, while two others failed to produce a positive result for arsenic and two proved unreliable. According to Stew Thornley, Ann Bilansky is buried in an unmarked grave in Calvary Cemetery. The earliest female hanging in America is reported to be Jane Champion in 1632 in Virginia. Nannie Cooper Bemis ( -1939) and Florence Wood Ramaley ( -1949) both died in Ramsey County. [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

657 Grand Avenue: Kirkland Apartments/McDermott Apartments; Built in 1905; Colonial Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect. The structure is a three story, 16048 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Daniel Craig and Victoria (Mrs. Daniel) Craig, members of the church since 1904, resided at this address. In 1907, Daniel Craig resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Jennings, Dr. and Mrs. C. C. Chatterton, Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Cleland, Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Ellison and their daughter, S. J. Ellison, Jr., and Mr. and Mrs. G. T. Williams. Sherman J. Ellison, John D. Moen, and Vere M. Moen were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Carl C. Chatterton, a partner with Arthur J. Gillette in Gillette & Chatterton, physicians and surgeons, officed at the Moore Building, Alex M. Cleland, a passenger traffic manager employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and Sherman J. Ellison, a vice president of the Luse Land & Development Company, all resided at this address and that Frances Ellison and Sherman J. Ellison, Jr., a solicitor, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Miss A. L. LeCount, Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Ellison, Miss Mary E. Doyle, Miss Mary A. Ryan, P. J. Ryan, and Mr. and Mrs. G. T. Williams. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were John J. Ryder, a proofreader for the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, and his wife, Wilhelmine Ryder (Apartment #A,) Ambrose R. Erhard, a naprapath (a person who is engaged in the treatment of contractures, muscle spasms, inflammation, scar tissue formation, adhesions, lesions, laxity, hypotonicity, rigidity, structural imbalance, bruising, contusions, muscular atrophy, and the partial separation of connective tissue fibers,) and his wife, Mary T. Erhard (Apartment #B,) Etta Murphy, a teacher at the Hill School (Apartment #C,) Mrs. Maggie Napier, the widow of G. Dudley Napier (Apartment #D,) Mrs. Lulu Blake, the widow of Frank Blake (Apartment #E,) and Catherine M. Merrill, a stenographer (Apartment #F.) The 1930 federal census indicates that John J. Ryder (1864- ,) employed as a proofreader by a newspaper and head of household, born in Kentucky to parents both born in the Irish Free State, his wife, Wilhelmina Giese Ryder, (1868- ,) born in Minnesota to a father born in Germany and a mother born in France, his daughter, Mary Ryder Erhard (1893- ,) born in Minnesota, divorced, his granddaughter, Mary R. Erhard (1916- ,) born in Nebraska, his granddaughter, Della Dorothy Erhard (1918- ,) born in Nebraska, and a roomer, Anna A. Johnston (1880- ,) married, a secretary, born in Ohio to parents both born in Ireland, all resided at this address. In 1930, in the next apartment in the building, resided Ambrose R. Erhard, a naprapath at a doctor's office. In 1972-1973, Bob Lewis, a Junior at Macalester College resided at this address. Daniel Craig (1850- ,) the son of Andrew Craig and Margaret Guthrie Craig, was born in Scotland, was educated in the public schools in Scotland, emigrated to the United States in 1873, moved to New York in 1873, was engaged in the dry goods business from 1873 until 1890, moved to st. Paul in 1890, has been member Western Supply Company since 1890, became the vice president and secretary of the Western Supply Company in 1902, married Victoria Hoyt in Kansas City, Missouri, in 1902, was in the plumbing supply business in 1907, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, engaged in the hobby of automobiling, officed at Sibley Street and Fifth Street in 1906, and officed at 348-350 Wacouta Street in 1907. Ambrose Robert Erhard married Mary Roberta Ryder (1891-1981,) and the couple had two daughters, Mary R. Erhard (1916- ,) and Della Dorothy Erhard (1918- .) In 1910, Ambrose R. Erhard, unmarried, a salesman, was a lodger in Omaha, Nebraska. In 1924, Carl Clayton Chatterton resided at 1536 West Osceola Avenue. Alexander McIntosh Cleland (1862- ,) the son of John S. Cleland and Agnes McIntosh Cleland, was born in Alliance, Ohio, was a railroad official, was employed by the Cleveland & Pittsburgh RailRoad from 1878 until 1881, was employed by the Pennsylvania Company of Chicago from 1881 until 1886, was employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad from 1886 until 1889, married Helen E. Goff in 1887, was in the mercantile business from 1889 until 1891, was employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad after 1891, was the general baggage agent for the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1901, was the assistant general passenger and ticket agent for the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1902, was the general passenger agent for the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1907, was the author of Yellowstone National Park, America's Only Geyser Land in 1914, and was a member of the Minnesota Club. Mary Ryder Erhard died in San Mateo, California. William James Jennings ( -1941) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. William Joseph Jennings (1886-1970) was born in Minnesota and died in Itasca County, Minnesota. Carl Clayton Chatterton (1885-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Barber, and died in Ramsey County. Catherine Merrill ( -1936,) Sherman J. Ellison ( -1948,) and William John Jennings ( -1951) all died in Hennepin County. Vere Montrose Moen ( -1944) died in Pipestone County, Minnesota. Arthur J. Gillette ( -1921,) George Dudley Napier ( -1927,) Frank Blake ( -1931,) Mary A. Ryan ( -1939,) Wilhelmina Ryder ( -1941,) Patrick J. Ryan ( -1942,) and Mary Ellen Doyle ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Addah Lou LeCount (1878-1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John Jay Ryder (1884-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Browne, and died in Ramsey County. Maggie Wallace Napier (1868-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McKeon, and died in Ramsey County. Lula E. Blake (1899-1993) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Morehouse, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is William J. Skally, who resides at 624 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas J. Gehan, a dentist, and Jane V. Ruth, a dancing studio operator, were located at the former nearby 658 Grand Avenue, that the residents of the apartment building formerly located at the nearby former 658 Grand Avenue were Mrs. Margaret Kalman (Apartment #A,) Mrs. Nannie C. Bemis, a restaurant operator (Apartment #B,) Anna Vilander (Apartment #C,) and Edward J. Donohue, an auto mechanic who was employed by John F. Malone (Apartment #E,) with Apartment #D vacant, and that Kronick's Dry Cleaners were located at the former nearby 660 Grand Avenue. Thomas Gehan (1897-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Connell, and died in Ramsey County. Nannie Cooper Bemis ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Edward J. Donohue (1900-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Phelan, and died in Ramsey County. John Franklin Malone (1896-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Melcher, and died in Hennepin County. [See note on Lockwood.] [See note on Dr. Carl C. Chatterton for 806 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on Dr. Arthur Jay Gillette for 1149 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad.]

661 Grand Avenue: Warren Apartments; Built in 1886 (1905 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Renaissance Revival in style. The structure is a three story, 16048 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Warren Apartments were located at this address from 1905. The 1915 Woman's Who's who of America, compiled by John William Leonard and published by The American Commonwealth Company of New York, indicates that Julia Hess resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Fleissner, Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Bolt and their daughter, Sylvan E. Hess, Mrs. Etka Hess and her daughter, Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Moen, David Strauss and his daughter, Leonard Strauss, Aaron Herz, and Mrs. Helen Conhaim. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph J. Fleissner, a clerk, and David E. Conhaim, a travel agent, both resided at this address and that Morris Conhaim, a travel agent, and Helen Conhaim, the widow of Joseph Conhaim, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mrs. Helen Conhaim, Miss C. E. Crowe, Miss Julia Hess, S. E. Hess, Mr. and Mrs. R. L. Henly, Mr. and Mrs. F. W. McGlinch, David Strauss, and Leonard Strauss. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Joseph M. Clarkin, a houseman employed by the Railway Express Agency, and his wife, Alice Clarkin (Apartment #1,) Henry H. Orme, the president of the Washington Foundry, and his wife, Julia M. Orme (Apartment #2,) Mrs. Helen Conhaim, the widow of Joseph Conhaim (Apartment #3,) Ann Powers (Apartment #4,) Mrs. Elsie Stocking, the widow of Theo C. Stocking and a clerk employed by the George W. Wooley Company (Apartment #5,) and Mrs. Winifred Redman, the widow of John Redman (Apartment #6.) In 1972-1973, Lesa von Munkwitz, a Senior at Macalester College, and Jeff Smith, a student at Macalester College, both resided at this address. Julia Hess, born in Kansas City, Missouri, the daughter of Emanuel Leo Hess and Etka Bernstein Hess, was educated in private schools in Louisiana, public schools in St. Paul, and University extension courses, was employed as a librarian, was a member of the Council of Jewish Women, was a member of the Twin City Library Club, was a member of the Newsboy's Club, and was a member of the Minnesota State Federation of the Federation of Women's Clubs. Emanuel Leo Hess (1845-1906/1907,) the son of David Hess and Emilie Stern Hess, was born in Meerholz, Hesse-Cassel, Germany, was educated at Professor Milot's Eclectic School, Gelnhausen, Germany, was educated at the Hanau Gymnasium, was educated at the Marburg University, pursued rabbinical studies under Rabbi Sondheim at Geluhausen, Germany, pursued rabbinical studies under Rabbi Felstein and Rabbi Grevenau, Hanau, Germany, pursued rabbinical studies under Rabbi Hirsch, Rabbi Stein, and Rabbi Dessau at Frankfurt-on-the-Main, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1863, was a Jewish rabbi of the Reform tradition, married Etka Bernstein (1847-1921) in 1867, moved to Baltimore, Maryland, where he engaged in newspaper work, taught school at Baltimore, Maryland, and at St. Louis, Missouri, until 1870, engaged in church work in Kansas City, Missouri, until 1876 and in Shreveport, Louisiana, from 1876 until 1888, engaged in church work in St. Paul at the Mount Zion Hebrew Congregation from 1888 until 1899, resigned on account of poor health, died in St. Paul, was a member of B'nai B'rith, was a member of the Free Sons of Israel, was a member of the Masonic fraternity, was a member of the United Foresters, was a member of the Knights of Honor, and was the first rabbi to be buried in the Mount Zion Cemetery. Emanuel L. Hess and Etka Bernstein Hess had four children, Alfred E. Hess (1868-1933,) Julia Hess (1874-1931,) Arnold Hess (1876-1895,) and Sylvan E. Hess (1883-1968.) The Henry Orme Iron and Brass Foundry was located at 626 Armstrong Avenue in the West Seventh Street area. The Molders Union, one of the earliest unions in St. Paul, organized workers at the Henry Orme Iron and Brass Foundry in the 19th century. Lesa von Munkwitz attended Brookfield Central High School, Brookfield, Wisconsin, from 1965 to 1969. Lesa von Munkwitz-Smith was a user services specialist with the University of Minnesota in Academic and Distributed Computing Services and joined the staff of Information Technology Services as public workstation coordinator at the University of Connecticut Libraries in 1998. Joseph Fleissner ( -1922,) John Wesley Redman ( -1925,) Morris Conhaim ( -1926,) David Strauss ( -1927,) Theodore C. Stocking ( -1927,) David E. Conhaim ( -1931,) Julia Hess ( -1931,) Ralph L. Henly ( -1932,) George W. Wooley ( -1934,) Helen Conhaim ( -1935,) Gregory Bolt ( -1936,) Aaron Herz ( -1936,) Joseph Fleissner ( -1938,) Joseph M. Clarkin ( -1945,) and Catherine E. Crowe ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Etta E. Hess (1895-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Hennepin County. Leonard Strauss (1867-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Keiser, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Frank W. McGlinch (1884-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Withum, and died in Ramsey County. Alice M. Clarkin (1902-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nugent, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Henry Herbert Orme ( -1947) and Julia May Orme ( -1951) both died in Chisago County, Minnesota. Anna Powers ( -1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Winifred Redman (1876-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Selleck, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Mary A. Yackley and Roger J. Yackley. Roger Yackley is the son of Harold Yackley (1903-1967) and Gladys Muelean Halstenson Yackley (1909- .) Roger Yackley is associated with Rogers Masonry. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Sutch, a janitor, resided at the former nearby 661 1/2 Grand Avenue and that "Six Sixty Two Grand" women's wear store was located at the former nearby 662 Grand Avenue. [See note for the Railway Express Agency for 248 Banfil Street.]

664 Grand Avenue: Former Ramaley Hall; Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 18395 square foot, commercial building. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Ramaley Hall was located at this address from 1904 to 1962. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Crocus Hill Post Office station and Ramaley Hall were located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is 664 666 Grand LLC, located at 616 Lincoln Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that F. W. Ramaley & Company, caterers and fancy bakers, was located at the former nearby 666 Grand Avenue. Florence Wood Ramaley ( -1949) died in Ramsey County.

669 Grand Avenue: Craft Apartments/Maryland Apartments; Built in 1905; Renaissance Revival in style. The structure is a three story, 16048 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Harry Dranger resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Cooke, Mrs. Catherine Cooke, Mr. and Mrs. Harry Pollak, Charles Mayer, Mrs. Emma Mayer and her daughters, Mr. and Mrs. G. N. Michaud, Mrs. Katherine Spangenberg and her daughter, and A. L. Spangenberg. Julian S. Loeb (1893- ,) a Captain, and William L. O'Neil were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that William R. Cook and William R. Coope, a clerk employed by Lindeke Warner & Sons, Inc., both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mrs. Elizabeth A. Johnson, Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Love, Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Pollak, and Mr. and Mrs. F. O. Pulling. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Mrs. Mary Coyne, the widow of Michael Coyne (Apartment #1,) Katherine C. Mayer, a clerk employed by the O'Donnell Shoe Corporation (Apartment #2,) Henry M. Gilmor, a steward, and his wife, Ada Gilmor (Apartment #3,) Hans M. Clemmensen, a boilermaker, and his wife, Nora Clemmensen (Apartment #4,) John Andrews, a newspaperman, and his wife, Mary Andrews (Apartment #5,) and Edward H. Payte, an electrician (Apartment #6.) Harry Dranger (1866- ,) the son of John Dranger, was born London, Ontario, graduated from Earlham College in Richmond, Indiana, graduated from Archibald's Business College in Minneapolis, was a dry goods merchant and banker, was a member of firm of Clement, Dranger & Company, wholesale importers of laces and embroideries, lace curtains and dry goods specialties, after 1900, was the president of the First National Bank of Braham, Minnesota, was the president of the First State Bank of Eagle Bend, Minnesota, was the president of the Garfield State Bank of Garfield, Minnesota, was the president of the Goldfield Constitution Gold Mining Company of Goldfield, Nevada, was the vice president of the Farmer's Implement Company of Eagle Bend, Minnesota, was a member of the board of directors of the Braham Land & Improvement Company of Braham, Minnesota, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, engaged in the hobby of travel, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and officed at 371-373 Sibley Street. Charles Mayer (1861-1902) was born in Prussia, came to St. Paul in 1881, became a member of the St. Paul police force in 1885, was a policeman, and was killed by the burglars whom he tried to arrest in St. Paul. Officer Charles Mayer was shot and killed while investigating a burglary at the intersection of University Avenue and Farrington Avenue when he surprised three burglars who were attempting to break into a butcher shop and was shot in the groin with a .44 caliber handgun. The Independent Order of Odd Fellows began in 18th Century England, started in United States and Canada in 1819, when Thomas Wildey and four members of the Order from England instituted Washington Lodge No. 1, is composed of men, women, and youth who believe in a supreme being, the creator and preserver of the universe, and have a belief in friendship, love and truth as basic guidelines. The organization is a mutual benefit corporation in the United States. In 1851, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows became the first national fraternity to accept both men and women when it formed the Daughters of Rebekah under the leadership of Schuyler Colfax, Vice President of the United States (1869–1873.) Michael J. Coyne ( -1911,) Catherine Cooke ( -1917,) Katherine Spangenberg ( -1920,) Charles A. Mayer ( -1921,) Emma Mayer ( -1921,) William Richard Cooke ( -1927,) Gustave Michaud ( -1933,) Katherine C. Mayer ( -1933,) Harry Pollak ( -1935,) Frederick O. Pulling ( -1938,) Mary Coyne ( -1939,) Edward Payte ( -1941,) Charles S. Mayer ( -1945,) Arthur L. Spangenberg ( -1947,) Wilbert T. Love ( -1951,) and Charles R. Mayer ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Henry Neely Gilmor ( -1953) died in Hennepin County. William O'Neil ( -1921) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. William Ransom Cook (1883-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Corns, and died in Ramsey County. Hans Marenus Clemmensen (1876-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Steele County, Minnesota. Nora Clemmensen (1884-1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Tab Grand Venture LLC, located at 1382 Payne Avenue. [See note on Albert W. Lindeke and Lindeke, Warner & Schurmeier for 345 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the O'Donnell Shoe Company for 185 Richmond Street.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] [See note on Knights of Pythias for 2225 East Lake of the Isles Parkway.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

670-672 Grand Avenue: Built in 1942 (1894, 1895, and 1970 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The property contains three commercial buildings. The 1894 building is a one story, 8540 square foot, retail structure. The 1895 building is a one story, 1600 square foot, retail structure. The 1970 building is a one story, 600 square foot, retail structure. These structures are listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that George K. Grissom, a barber, was located at 670 Grand Avenue and that Isadore Schneider, a shoe rebuilder who resided in Minneapolis, and Harold F. Durocher, a clothes cleaner, were located at 672 Grand Avenue. George Grissom ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Harold Durocher (1897-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bazille, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Georges Realty LLC, located in Roseville, Minnesota.

475 Grand Hill/Former 475 Grand Avenue: A. G. Rice House; Built in 1886; Shingle in style; Charles T. Mould, architect. The structure is a two story, 3538 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1887, 1900, and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Rice resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Rice, their daughter, and A. W. Rice all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#25380) indicate that Arthur Ward Rice (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in Battery C, Second Regiment, F.A.R.D., who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' 4" tall, was a bookkeeper at induction, was a clerk employed by Finch, Van Slyke & McConville after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Arthur G. Rice and Kate B. Rice, at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Arthur G. Rice resided at this address in 1921. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Katherine L. Rice resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur G. Rice resided at this address. Arthur George Rice (1852- ,) the son of George M. Rice and Jane Burr Rice, was born in La Porte, La Porte County, Indiana, married Kate Barber Ward, and the couple were the parents of Agnes Emma Rice (1884- ,) Katherine Lucy Rice (1895- ,) and Arthur Ward Rice (1897- .) Arthur Ward Rice married Katherine A. Sullivan (1899-1967,) the daughter of Cyrus Sullivan, in 1919 and the couple had four children. Arthur George Rice and Arthur Ward Rice both relocated to Eugene, Oregon. Arthur G. Rice ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that James C. Otis, Jr., a member of the Class of 1930, and James D. Otis, a member of the Class of 1961, both resided at this address. Arthur W. Rice ( -1927) died in Itasca County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $343,000. The current owners of record of the property are John Cowles III and Page Knudsen Cowles. Page Cowles, a retiree, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. John Cowles, an executive with the Unity Avenue Association, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004 and was a contributor to the John Edwards for President campaign in 2008. Page Knudsen Cowles was born in Seattle, Washington, received her B.A. from Yale University and her M.B.A. from Harvard University, was an investment professional in the financial services industry during the 1980's, was a founder of the Ruminator Books Press, an independent trade book publishing company, served on the boards of the Children's Theater Company, Planned Parenthood Minnesota/South Dakota, and Graywolf Press, is a trustee of St. Paul Academy and Summit School, serves on the board of the Unity Avenue Foundation, is a director of Lawrence Creek, LLC, a private investment company, serves on the national board of the Trust for Public Land, chairs The Conservation Campaign, TPL's national lobbying affiliate, and serves as chair of the TPL Minnesota Advisory Board.

480 Grand Hill/Former 480 Grand Avenue: F. E. Weyerhaeuser House; Built in 1892 (1909 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style; William Channing Whitney, architect. The structure is a two story, 10706 square foot, 16 bedroom, five bathroom, two half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Washington M. Stees resided at this address from 1883 to 1897 and that Fayette D. Kendrick resided at this address from 1898 to 1949. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. George O. Lawton resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Harris Richardson and Dr. and Mrs. F. D. Kendrick all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Weyerhaeuser resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Weyerhaeuser resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that F. E. Weyerhaeuser, the vice president of the First National Bank of St. Paul and the secretary-treasurer of the F. Weyerhaeuser Company, and his wife, Harriet D. Weyerhaeuser, resided at this address. Washington M. Stees fought the Daniels House hotel fire in 1852, was an original member of the St. Paul Pioneer Hook and Ladder Company No. 1 in 1854, and was the chief engineer for the St. Paul Fire Department after 1854. Washington Stees was paid $100 for furnishing chairs to the State of Minnesota in 1858-1859 by virtue of Minnesota General Laws 1860, Chapter XXVII, Section 1, and $15 for repairing furniture in the Capitol by virtue of Minnesota General Laws 1860, Chapter XLV, Section 1. In 1887, Washington Stees was involved in litigation over a 158 acre parcel on Lake Phalen, Minnesota, with Talmadge A. Lambert, the apparent son of David Lambert, where the land titles of previous owners, including David Lambert, who was believed to have died without issue, were muddled. Harris Richardson (1858- ,) the son of Edwin B. Richardson and Mary Elizabeth Tenney Richardson, was born in Lowell, Wisconsin, attended high school in Janesville, Wisconsin, attended the preparatory department of Beloit College, Beloit, Wisconsin, graduated from Yale College in 1871, married Mary K. Fairchild at Danbury, Connecticut, in 1882, graduated from the law department of the University of Wisconsin in 1883, moved to Minnesota, was admitted to the practice of law, was a lawyer, practiced in St. Paul in 1883, formed a law partnership with Col. Charles D. Kerr from 1885 until 1887, practiced alone in 1888, practiced with James E. Markham in 1889, practiced with William P. Warner, Charles G. Lawrence and Cornelius Fauntleroy in the firm of Warner, Richardson & Lawrence from 1890 until 1900, was a member of the relief committee appointed by Governor Knute Nelson in the aftermath of the 1894 Hinckley, Minnesota/Rush City, Minnesota/Pine City, Minnesota/Pokegema, Minnesota, forest fires, practiced with Harold C Kerr after 1900, was the lawyer for the Minnesota State Medical Society in 1902, unsuccessfully represented the milling company in Crescent Milling Company v. H. N. Strait Manufacturing Company, 249 U.S. 586 (1919,) was a member of the board of trustees of the State Savings Bank, platted and named Northhome (originally "North Home,") Minnesota, was a member of the Republican Party County Central Committee, was a member of the Republican Party State Central Committee, was a member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, resided at The Ashland in 1907, and officed at the National German American Bank Building in 1907. In 1894, Harris Richardson was in Hinckley, Minnesota, after the great forest fire passed through town, and telegraphed Governor Knute Nelson to send more supplies to the town. Harris Richardson (1858-1939) was a lawyer and addressed the assembled bench and bar in the Minnesota Supreme Court chambers in 1905 on the occasion of a tribute to the late Associate Justice Greenleaf Clark (1835-1904.) Harris Richardson, with Chester L. Caldwell, unsuccessfully represented a guarantor on two notes given to a grain elevator in Midland National Bank of Minneapolis v. Security Elevator Company et al., 161 Minn. 30 (1924.) Harris Richardson successfully sought an injunction to prevent the construction of dormitories in Minneapolis for the University of Minnesota. Fayette Dwight Kendrick (1856-1949,) of Flint, Michigan, graduated from the Homoeopathic Medical College of the University of Michigan in 1881 and was a businessman and homoeopathic physician in St. Paul and in Bismarck, North Dakota. Fayette D. Kendrick's business activities included horse breeding (1894-1896) and sheep raising (1896-1900) in North Dakota, the Arizona Mineral Developing Company in Phoenix, Arizona, and the Swiss Bell Gold Mining Milling Company in Prescott, Arizona (1896-1900,) Indiana real estate (1900-1901,) the Fayette Mercantile Company in Fayette, North Dakota (1900-1901,) and the Minnesota Brick Company and the Minnesota Ceramic Company in St. Paul (1903-1907.) The Fayette Post Office, Dunn County, North Dakota, was named in 1899 for Fayette D. Kendrick, who was the partner of Frank A. Little, the husband of the first postmaster, Isabelle French Little (1858- .) Fayette was the second post office in Dunn County and was the oldest sod post office in the United States. Fayette D. Kendrick also was an investor in the Iowa-Wisconsin Bridge Company, a Delaware corporation, and unsuccessfully intervened in First Trust & Savings Bank v. Iowa-Wisconsin Bridge Company, 98 F.2d 416, litigation in 1933 over a trust deed tendered by the bridge company to secure a bond issue. Sarah Stees Kendrick (1877-1930) was the wife of Fayette D. Kendrick. Frederick Edward Weyerhaeuser (1872-1945,) one of four sons of Frederick Weyerhaeuser, was born in Rock Island, Illinois, attended Phillips Andover Academy, graduated from Yale University in 1896, became a member of Skull & Bones in 1896, became the president of the Southern Lumber Company of Warren, Arkansas, in 1900, entered into his father's St. Paul office in 1903, married Harriette Louise Davies, instituted an auditing system within the Weyerhaeuser companies, developed the Weyerhaeuser Sales Company, which centralized the wholesale sales operations of the Weyerhaeuser companies, was the treasurer of the Weyerhaeuser Timber Company until 1934, was the president of the Weyerhaeuser Timber Company until 1945, was a director of the Edward Hines Lumber Company, was a director of the Boise Payette Lumber Company, was a director of the Northwest Paper Company, was a director of the Virginia & Rainy Lake Lumber Company, was a director of the Great Northern RailRoad, was a director of the Merchants National Bank, was a director of the First National Bank of St. Paul, was a director of the Illinois Bank & Trust Company, and was a director of the Continental Illinois Bank & Trust Company of Chicago. In 1905, Frederick E. Weyerhaeuser spearheaded an effort on behalf of Gifford Pinchot, an eventual governor of Pennsylvania and eventual federal Department of Interior official, to fund an endowed chair of applied forestry and practical lumbering at Yale University. David Lambert (1819-1849) was born in Connecticut, graduated from Trinity College at Hartford, Connecticut, studied law, moved to Little Rock, Arkansas, moved to Wisconsin, became the editor of the Wisconsin Enquirer in 1843, sold the paper to his brother, Henry Lambert, came to Minnesota, settled in St. Paul in 1848, participated in meetings leading to the formation of the Minnesota Territory, was an unsuccessful candidate for Councilor in 1849, and drowned in the Mississippi River when, suffering a nervous bout, he jumped from the roof of a steamboat during a trip back from Galena, Illinois. Frederick Weyerhaeuser (1906-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Davis, and died in Ramsey County. Henry Augustus Lambert (1817-1870,) the son of H. B. Lambert and Alletta E. Lambert (1790- ,) was born in Baltimore, Maryland, studied law in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, purchased the Wisconsin Enquirer from David Lambert in 1848, moved to Minnesota in 1849, settled in St. Paul, engaged in the mercantile and real estate businesses, was a collector for Franklin Steele, was associated in his law practice with David Graham, Jr., J. Prescott Hall, Simeon Draper, and James Bowen, was a partner with Charles R. Conway and George C. Nichols, in a general land agency, Lambert, Conway & Nichols, was an incorporator of Oakland Cemetery, was elected a warden of Christ Church Episcopalian Church and served on the building committee in 1850, was a Whig, was a justice of the peace, was the St. Paul City Recorder in 1851, was the first probate court judge in Ramsey County, from 1849 until 1853, and died in St. Paul. Henry A. Lambert and his wife, Mary S. Lambert/J. A. Lambert (1820- ,) had seven children, Alex J. Lambert (1843- ,) George M. Lambert (1840- ,) Emma L. Lambert (1847- ,) Mary A. Lambert, Florence M. Lambert, Grace E. Lambert, and Henry A. Lambert (1854- .) Chester L. Caldwell ( -1935,) Harris Richardson ( -1939,) and Frederick E. Weyerhaeuser ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. Frederick King Weyerhaeuser (1895-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Ramsey County. Harriet D. Weyerhaeuser (1876-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Knute Nelson ( -1923) died in Polk County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Alvina W. O'Brien and Thomond R. O'Brien. The Alice M. O'Brien Foundation, of which Thomond R. O'Brien is president, supports the arts, medical research, and human services, and currently is located at this address. Thomond O'Brien, a retiree, contributed to the Rudy Giuliani for President campaign in 2007-2008. [See note on C. D. Kerr for 184 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on James Edwin Markham for 642 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on Charles Gray Lawrence for 616 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on Cornelius Hite Fauntleroy for 616 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.] [See note on Knute Nelson for 2507 Lake Place.] [See note on Governor Knute Nelson for the Knute Nelson Memorial/Across from 75 Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Boulevard.]

483 Grand Hill/Former 483 Grand Avenue: John N. Jackson House; Built in 1907 (1911 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style; A. Dahlman, builder. The structure is a two story, 4993 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, two half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The house has three chimneys. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Jackson resided at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Archibald Blake Jackson (1898- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Infantry Section, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Jackson and A. B. Jackson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John N. Jackson, a vice-president of Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Alice D. Jackson, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Archibald B. Jackson, a member of the Class of 1918, resided at this address. Archibald Blake Jackson graduated from Princeton University in 1922. In 1955, Archibald Jackson was the vice chair of the board of trustees of Macalester College. In 1957, Archibald B. Jackson was the president of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company and was a member of the board of the Western Life Insurance Company of Helena, Montana. In 1969, Archibald B. Jackson was the chairman of the board of directors of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company. Archibald B. Jackson was the president of St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1948 until 1963 and was the chairman of the board of directors of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1963 until 1973. Archibald Jackson and Margaret Jackson donated 28 acres of land near Stillwater, Minnesota, that became the former Jackson Wildlife Management Area to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources in 1974, specified that the parcel be preserved as a wildlife sanctuary, and was auctioned off to a private party in October, 2010, for $190,000. A. B. Jackson (1850- ) was born in Brooklyn, New York, graduated from the Columbia University Law School, was admitted to the practice of law in New York, was a special counsel in the Kansas Pacific RailRoad foreclosure in 1878, moved to Minneapolis in 1880, and was a successful business lawyer. Aron Dahlman was a cement dealer in 1909. Aron Dahlman resided at 1200 Portland Avenue from 1914 until at least 1930. Aron Dahlman ( -1935,) John N. Jackson ( -1945,) Adah B. Jackson ( -1951,) and Alice Dean Jackson ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Residential Recreation LLC, located in Maple Grove, Minnesota. The property was for sale in 2004 for $1,195,000. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. M. Stees and their daughter resided at the former nearby 488 Grand Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. F. D. Kendrick resided at the former nearby 488 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. D. Kendrick resided at the former nearby 488 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fayette D. Kendrick resided at the former nearby 488 Grand Avenue, before this portion of the street was renamed Grand Hill. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Fayette D. Kendrick for 480 Grand Hill.]

489 Grand Hill/Former 489 Grand Avenue: Carl T. Schuneman House; Built in 1925; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 6398 square foot, nine bedroom, six bathroom, one half-bathroom, stone house, with a detached garage. The house has steeply pitched gable dormers, two semi-hexagonal two story bays on the front facade of the building, and exterior stonework. The main floor reportedly was designed to include an area for vocal performances by Carl Schuneman's daughter. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1900 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. L. T. Lawton, L. H. Lawton, Dr. J. R. Lawton, and Miss F. A. Mackey resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. L. T. Lawton, L. H. Lawton, and Dr. J. R. Lawton resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that John Reynolds Lawton, an 1898 Dental School graduate, resided at this address. The 1903 Delta Upsilon Decennial Catalogue indicates that Harry Comegys Lawton (1881- ,) the son of Louis T. Lawton and Anna Hoxie Lawton, who was born in Rutland, Vermont, who graduated from Mechanic Arts High School, and who was a student at the University of Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1909 University of Minnesota Catalogue indicates that Harry C. Lawton, D.D.S., an instructor in prosthetic dentistry and dental anatomy, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Dr. Harry C. Lawton, a faculty member, resided at this address and officed at Millard Hall. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. R. Lawton and Mrs. L. T. Lawton all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl T. Schuneman, the president of the Schuneman Bayliss & Company, investment bankers and investment counselors, and his wife, Helen J. Schuneman, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Carl Trueworthy Schuneman (1886- ,) who was born in Kansas City, Missouri, who attended the school from 1900 until 1904, who graduated from Yale University in 1908, who was a Frist Lieutenant in the Ordnance Department during World War I, who was Assistant Secretary of the Treasury from 1926 until 1929, who was secretary of Schunemans & Mannheimers, and who pursued the hobby of farming, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Norman W. Harris III, a member of the Class of 1962, resided at this address. Harry C. Lawton (1880- ) was born in Rutland, Vermont, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, was a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity, was an associate professor of prosthetic dentistry, orthodontia and dental metallurgy at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, was the inventor of the orthodontia articular forming device, was a member of the St. Paul Dental Society, was a member of the Minnesota State Dental Society, was a member of the National Dental Association, and was a member of the American Institute of Dental Teachers. In 1917, Harry C. Lawton was a dentist who officed at the Lowry Building and who resided at 1064 Lombard Avenue. Harry C. Lawton was promoted to an associate professor at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry in 1946. Helen Fuller married Harry C. Lawton in St. Paul in 1912. The 1907 Delta Phi Catalogue indicates that Carl Trueworthy Schuneman (1886- ) was born in Kansas City, Missouri, graduated from the St. Paul Academy, and was associated with Schuneman & Evans. In 1906, Carl Trueworthy Schuneman, Class of 1907 at Harvard University, of St. Paul, was a member, with Hubert Coffing Williams, Class of 1906, of Lakeville, Connecticut, William Daniels Harris, Class of 1906, of Minneapolis, and Stanley Pickett Rockwell, Class of 1907, of Enfield, Connecticut, of the Harvard University Four-Oar Crew as stroke, at 20 years of age, weight 173 pounds, and at 6' 2". In 1926, Carl T. Schuneman, St. Paul lawyer and department store manager, was the Second Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury in charge of directing government building programs. Carl Trueworthy Schuneman first married Helen Judah in Chicago in 1915 and the couple had three children, Kate H. Schuneman (1917- ,) Carl T. Schuneman, Jr. (1921- ,) and Noble Brandon Schuneman (1924- ,) and, after her death, married Katherine B. Strong in New York in 1938. The Janet and Carl Schuneman Wildlife Preserve is a 100 acre wetland located north of White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and was rehabilitated by the Jaques Chapter of the Izaak Walton League of America, Minnesota Division, in 2005. Florence Anne Mackey (1898-1991) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Markley, and died in Beltrami County, Minnesota. Carl T. Schuneman (1886-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Trueworthy, and died in Ramsey County. Carl Trueworthy Schuneman (1921-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Judah, and died in Ramsey County. Helen J. Schuneman ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The Institute of Vocal Artistry is currently located at this address. Elizabeth Mannion is the founder/director of and an instructor with the Institute of Vocal Artistry. The Institute of Vocal Artistry formerly was the University of California Santa Barbara Summer Vocal Institute. The Institute of Vocal Artistry is a bel canto training center emphasizing delle Sedie techniques. Elizabeth Mannion, a Mezzo Soprano, is a distinguished Professor Emerita at the University of California Santa Barbara, is a former professor at Indiana University, Florida State University, Bowling Green State University, and the University of Texas at Austin, has been a guest artist and teacher at Aspen and Interlochen, is a vocal clinician, and has been a master class presenter and adjudicator throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States. Prominent American soprano Jessye Norman studied with Elizabeth Mannion and Pierre Bernac at the University of Michigan in the 1960's. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $505,000. The current owner of record of the property is Elizabeth B. Mannion.

500 Grand Hill: Built in 1956. The structure is a seven unit condominium building which is currently owned by Robert W. Kritta, who resides in Stillwater, Minnesota. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 2019 square foot, six room, two bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit 2 is a 2019 square foot, six room, two bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit 3 is a 2019 square foot, six room, two bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit 4 is a 2019 square foot, six room, two bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit 5 is a 1085 square foot, four room, one bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit A is a 525 square foot, three room, one bathroom, block condominium unit. Unit B is a 622 square foot, three room, one bathroom, block condominium unit. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that William H. Sweeney, a student during the period 1901-1915, resided at this address. Robert Kritta is associated with the Minnesota Friends of the Orphans.

501 Grand Hill/Former 501 Grand Avenue: C. W. Ames House; Built in 1892 (1886 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Shingle in style; J. N. Tilton, architect. The structure is a two story, 8204 square foot, ten bedroom, six bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1887, 1900, and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Ames resided at this address. Theodore Ames also resided at this address in the early 1900's. In 1916, Charles Wilberforce Ames was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Ames and their daughters, C. Leslie Ames, and Theo Ames all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles W. Ames, the president of West Publishing Company, resided at this address and that Elizabeth Ames and Theo G. Ames both boarded at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Theodore Gordon Ames (1898- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Aviation Section of the Signal Reserve Corps, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. C. W. Ames resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Norris D. Jackson, a deputy manager employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Betty Jackson, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Norris D. Jackson, a member of the Class of 1913, resided at this address. Charles W. Ames was the general manager of West Publishing Company in 1910 and resided at 415 Summit Avenue. Charles Wilberforce Ames (1855-1921,) the son of Charles Gordon Ames, a minister, and Sarah Jane Daniels Ames (1826-1861,) was born in Minneapolis, attended the Boys Academy, Albany, New York, from 1863 until 1865, was educated at Albany Academy in Albany, New York, and public schools at Santa Cruz, California, from 1866 until 1869, attended the Minneapolis High School from 1871 until 1872, graduated from Cornell University in 1878, was an apprentice printer at the San Jose Mercury, San Jose, California, then returned to Minnesota where he worked as a railroad surveyor, was a civil engineer employed by the Fergus Falls, Black Hills & Pacific RailRoad in 1872, was a civil engineer employed by the Pennsylvania RailRoad in 1873, was a civil engineer employed by the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad/St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad in 1874, was a civil engineer on the geological survey of Pennsylvania from 1877 until 1878, assisted his father in editing and publishing the Christian Register in Boston from 1879 until 1880, became associated with the George H. Ellis Publishing Company in Boston in 1880, and returned to St. Paul and, with Peyton Boyle, Arthur Bradley, Homer P. Clark, Samuel Hill, William Strong, Horatio West, and John West, purchased an interest in the West Publishing Company, a publisher of law books in 1882, married Mary Lesley in 1883, became vice president and general manager of West Publishing in 1903, resided at this address in 1907, was the principal founder and the president of the St. Paul Institute of Arts and Sciences in 1908, was a member of the board of the First National Bank of St. Paul, was a member of the board of the North West Trust Company, was a member of the board of the American Unitarian Association of Boston, Massachusetts, was a member of the board of the Amherst H. Wilder Charitable Corporation, was a member of the board of the American Law Book Company, was a member of the board of trustees of Unity Unitarian Church, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the Century Club of New York, was a member of the City Club of New York, was the secretary of the Informal Club, and was a member of the St. Paul Library Board in 1900. Charles W. Ames participated in the founding of the St. Paul Institute, the Loomis School, St. Paul Academy, and the Informal Club. Charles Gordon Ames (1828- ) was born in Dorchester, Massachusetts, moved to Minnesota in 1851 as a Baptist Church missionary, became a Unitarian, was a clergyman, resided at St. Anthony, Minnesota, until 1859, and moved to Boston. The Loomis School was operated by Annie Loomis and Elizabeth Loomis and later became the St. Paul Academy and Summit School. In 1883, Charles Ames married Mary Lesley, the daughter of Joseph Peter Lesley and Susan Lyman Lesley, and the couple had six children, Charles Lesley Ames, Margaret Ames, Catharine Ames, Alice Ames, Elizabeth Ames, and Theodore Gordon Ames. Mary Lesley Ames became active in many social welfare projects concerning women and children. In 1915, the St. Paul Branch of the Fatherless Children of France was founded, and it and the American Fund for French Wounded were headquartered in the Ames house. Charles W. Ames, his daughters Elizabeth Ames, Alice Ames, and Margaret Ames, and his son, Theodore Ames, all worked in France with the American Fund for French Wounded. During World War II, Elizabeth Ames Jackson and Margaret Ames Wright contributed money and clothes to the people of France and England through the American Friends of France and the British War Relief Society, Inc., organizations headquartered in the Ames home. The Ames family also were involved in the Piney Woods Country Life School, the North Star Athletic Club, Typothetae, an organization of printers, the Minnesota Commission of Public Safety, the St. Paul Anti-Tuberculosis Committee, the Service Men's Center of St. Paul, and Unity Unitarian Church. In 1919, Charles W. Ames owned the Diamond Ranche Inc., in Wyoming, with Warren Delano and Charles O. Erbaugh. Charles W. Ames opposed the National Nonpartisan League, believing it to be a "nefarious conspiracy against the welfare and the unity of the American people." Charles W. Ames was a director of the Northern Blau Gas Company, a light oils and tar business, and was a partner, with T. G. Winter, his brother-in-law, in the Winter & Ames Company, a Minneapolis grain company. Mary Lesley Ames (1853- ) was born in Philadelphia, was the assistant librarian of the American Philosophical Society from 1873 until 1883, married Charles W. Ames in 1883, moved to St. Paul, and was the author of Life and Letters of Peter and Susan Lesley. Charles Lesley Ames, between 1947 and 1949, wrote a memoir describing his childhood, education, military service before and during World War I, his association with the West Publishing Company, and his travels in India. Charles W. Ames' son, Theodore Ames, and his daughter, Elizabeth "Betty" Ames, were good friends of F. Scott Fitzgerald. From 1910 until 1913, Theodore Ames was a member of the North Star Athletic Club, which included boys from the Crocus Hill area. Betty Ames married another Fitzgerald friend and fellow Princetonian, Norris Dean Jackson. The yard of this house was featured in a F. Scott Fitzgerald story, "The Scandal Detectives." The father of Norris Dean Jackson was John Norris Jackson and his grandmother was Mrs. Frederick Driscoll. Norris Dean Jackson was a labor negotiator and, later, was an executive with Northwest Airlines, Inc. Joseph Lesley and Susan Lyman Lesley corresponded with Ralph Waldo Emerson between 1850 and 1879. Susan L. Lesley assisted Nina Moore Tiffany in editing the book Letters of James Murray, Loyalist. The American Fund for French Wounded was a national organization that sent medical supplies, volunteer help, and money to French civilians and military personnel. The Fatherless Children of France organization was dedicated to the relief of French soldiers' children. Charles W. Ames and Mary Lesley Ames provided monetary support for 30 children through the organization. Charles W. Ames was appointed a member of and served on the Minnesota Commission of Public Safety in 1917, but Ames resigned from the Commission after a dispute involving arbitration during the strike against the Twin City Rapid Transit Company. Ames was later appointed a special investigator for the Commission. Theodore Gordon Ames (1898- ) was born in St. Paul, graduated with a bachelor's degree from Harvard University in 1920, graduated with a mechanical engineering degree from Harvard University in 1922, attended the University of Minnesota Architectural School in 1923, was a Second Lieutenant and a pilot in the Aviation Section of the U. S. Signal Corps from 1917 until 1918, graduated with a master's degree from the Harvard University Architectural School in 1936, was an architectural draughtsman from 1936 until 1942, was a Lieutenant Colonel in the U. S. Army Air Corps from 1942 until 1946, was an associate in the architectural firm of Griswold & Gulick from 1939 until 1942, was a partner in the architectural firm of Putnam, Griswold, Wylde & Ames, then was a partner in the architectural firm of Somes, Griswold, Boyden, Wylde & Ames, then was a partner in the architectural firm of Griswold, Boyden, Wylde & Ames, moved to Massachusetts, was a member of the American Institute of Architects, married Barbara "Bee" Holt, the daughter of Henry Holt and Pauline Babcock Holt (Mrs. Elwyn W.) Poor, in York Harbor, Maine, in 1927, and was the couple were the parents of four children. Charles W. Ames ( -1921,) Annie J. Loomis ( -1927,) Mary Leslie Ames ( -1929,) and John N. Jackson ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. Charles Lesley Ames (1884-1969) had a mother with a maiden name of Lesley and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Homer Pierce Clark (1868-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clark, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret A. Wright (1885-1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Ames Jackson (1894-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lesley, and died in Ramsey County. Arthur Bradley (1874-1904) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Arthur Bradley ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. Norris Dean Jackson (1895-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dean, and died in Ramsey County. Nina Moore Tiffany (1852-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Green, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth M. Loomis (1903-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Houran, and died in Ramsey County. The punk-laced alternative rock band "Effervescent" was located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Edward F. Fox and Erin L. Fox. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad.] [See note for the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

502 Grand Hill/Former 502 Grand Avenue: Built in 1894; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. The structure is a two story, 4409 square foot, eight bedroom, three bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Peter C. Stohr resided at this address from 1899 to 1904. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. P. C. Stohr resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. N. Myers resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wallace H. Cole and Franz Lange, an inspection manager employed by the Golden Rule department store, and his wife, Frieda Lange, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that F. Crunden Cole, who attended the school from 1933 until 1938, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Wallace H. Cole, Jr. (1925- ,) who attended the school from 1935 until 1939, who attended Williams College, who graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1950, who served in the 218th F. A. Group in the Philippines during World War II, and pursued the hobbies of hydroplane racing and weekend flying, resided at this address. Peter Charles Stohr (1859- ) was born in New York City, New York, was a General Eastern Agent for the Minnesota & Northwestern Railroad Company in 1887, married Julia A. Collins (1862- ,) the daughter of Jasper P. Collins and Mary A. Collins, in Toledo, Ohio, in 1890, was an officer for the Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City Railway in 1891, settled in St. Paul in 1894, and was the general freight agent for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad. In 1891, P. C. Stohr was a general freight agent for the Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City RailRoad and was located in Chicago, Illinois. In 1900, Peter C. Stohr developed the Stohr Arcade, a train station designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, on the Chicago Elevated. In 1905, P. C. Stohr was one of the prominent Portland, Oregon, residents who took the initial passenger train connecting Celilo, Oregon, and Big Eddy, Oregon, in the Cascades. Peter C. Stohr (1859-1912) was the assistant traffic director of the Harriman rail lines from 1905 to 1912, after beginning work as an office boy with the Rock Island RailRoad, and resided at 1367 North State Street in Chicago in 1912. Julia A. Collins (1862- ) was born in Toledo, Ohio, the daughter of Jasper P. Collins and Mary A. Collins, was the wife of Peter C. Stohr, whom she married in 1890, and resided in St. Paul, Chicago, Maplewood, New Jersey, and Lowell, Maine. Julia B. Stohr (Mrs. Robert) Roe (1895-1979,) the daughter of Peter C. Stohr and Julia A. Collins Stohr, was born in St. Paul, studied with Simon and Méénard in Paris, studied at the ASL in New York City with Henri and Bellows, lived at 41 Central Park West, New York City, New York, in 1914, settled on the Monterey Peninsula of California in 1915, was a member of the faculty of the Carmel Arts & Crafts Club in 1916, studied under Armin Hansen, was active in the local art scene as a teacher and portrait painter, married Robert Roe before 1925, and died in Trenton, New Jersey. The Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City RailRoad Company was a corporation that was created and organized under the laws of the State of Iowa. In 1887, the Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City RailRoad Company acquired all of the property of the Minnesota & Northwestern RailRoad Company. The Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City RailRoad was completed to St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1889, and to Kansas City, Missouri, in 1890. In 1892, the railroad was reorganized under the name of Chicago Great Western RailRoad, and it was popularly called "The Maple Leaf Route." A. B. Stickney had an interest in the Minnesota & Northwestern RailRoad, the Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City RailRoad, and the Chicago Great Western RailRoad. In 1968, the Chicago Great Western RailRoad merged with the Chicago Northwestern Railway. Wallace H. Cole (1888-1973) was an orthopedic surgeon. Wallace H. Cole was born in Fort Custer, Montana, was educated in St. Paul and at the University of Minnesota, was head of the department of surgery at the University of Minnesota, and was the chief surgeon at the Shriner's Hospital in St. Paul for 30 years. In 1925, Wallace H. Cole was the author of the article "Primary Tumors Of The Patella" published in The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery. Wallace H. Cole was elected vice-president of the American Orthopaedic Association in 1940. Wallace H. Cole, along with Dr. John F. Pohl and Dr. Miland Knapp, functioned as mediators for Sister Kenny in translating her opaque terminology about the treatment of crippled children into acceptable medical journal language. Cole succeeded Arthur Gillette, from 1897 to 1921, and Emile Geist, from 1921 to 1933, as the head of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Minnesota Medical School. Miland Austin Knapp D. D. S., a former instructor in orthodontia at the University of Minnesota Dental School and a former professor of orthodontia at the Northwestern University Dental School, authored Orthodontia Practically Treated, Minneapolis, Harrison & Smith Company, 1904. Peter C. Stohr (1859-1912,) the assistant traffic director of the Harriman rail lines, died in Chicago. Alpheus B. Stickney ( -1916) Paul Nixin Myers ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. Frieda M. Lange (1911-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gerber, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. John Florian Pohl (1903-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hartz, and died in Hennepin County. Miland Austin Knapp ( -1953) died in Cook County, Minnesota. The house was for sale in 2004 for $1,250,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lynda J. Burton and Thomas T. Feeney. Lyn Burton is associated with Unity Unitarian Church. Lynn Burton, a mortgage finance resource with Development Connection, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. [See note on the Rock Island RailRoad/the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad for 571 Bellows Street.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway for 882 West Linwood Avenue.] [See note on Johnston for 476 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Dr. Arthur Jay Gillette for 1149 Summit Avenue.]

506 Grand Hill/Former 506 Grand Avenue: James Douglas Armstrong House; Built in 1890; Cass Gilbert, architect. The structure is a two story, 4548 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, brick house, with a one car tuck-under garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that James D. Armstrong resided at this address from 1896 to 1931. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Armstrong resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that James Douglas Armstrong resided at this address. In 1916, James D. Armstrong was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Armstrong and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James D. Armstrong, the vice president and trust officer with the Merchants Trust & Savings Bank, resided at this address. The 1922 Who's Who in Finance and Banking indicates that James Douglas Armstrong resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Armstrong and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James D. Armstrong resided at this address. James Douglas Armstrong (1866- ,) the son of George W. Armstrong, the last Minnesota territorial treasurer and the first Minnesota state treasurer, and Jane Caroline Coleman Armstrong, was born in St. Paul, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1885, attended the University of Minnesota for 1 1/2 years, graduated with a law degree from the University of Michigan in 1889, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1889, was the assistant general solicitor of the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1890 until 1894, married Mary E. Brinkerhoff in Englewood, New Jersey, in 1894, was the general solicitor of the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1894 until 1901, was the general attorney for the Great Northern RailRoad from 1907 until 1912, was the counsel for the Great Northern Iron Ore Properties from 1912 until 1914, was a partner in the law firm of Hadley & Armstrong, was the attorney for the St. Paul Union Depot Company, was the vice president of the Merchants Trust and Savings Bank in 1915, was a member of the board of directors of the Merchants National Bank, was a member of the board of directors of the Merchants Trust and Savings Bank, was a partner in the law firm of Armstrong & Begg from 1902 until 1903, was a director of the South St. Paul Gas Company, was the president of the Ramsey County Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the St. Paul City Charter Commission, was a lecturer and instructor at the St. Paul College of Law, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the University Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Club, engaged in the hobbies of golf and gardening, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. James Douglas Armstrong and Mary E. Brinkerhoff Armstrong were the parents of five children, James B. Armstrong, Margaret Armstrong, Elbert B. Armstrong, William B. Armstrong, and John B. Armstrong. James Douglas Armstrong ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $849,900. The current owners of record of the property are Kenneth H. Bayliss III and Penny R. Heaberlin. Kenneth H. Bayliss III is a shareholder in the law firm of Quinlivan & Hughes, P.A., practicing primarily in the area of insurance defense law, including vehicle liability, premises liability, construction accident liability, and government liability. Kenneth H. Bayliss III has a bachelors degree from St. Olaf College and a law degree from the University of Minnesota Law School. Penny R. Heaberlin (1958- ) is a partner with the law firm Maslon Edelman Borman & Brand, LLP. Penny R. Heaberlin was born in Des Moines, Iowa, received bachelors, MBA and law degrees from Drake University, was admitted to the Iowa bar in 1993 and to the Minnesota bar in 1995, is a Certified Public Accountant in Iowa, and practices in Financial Institutions Law, Bankruptcy, Creditors Rights, and Commercial Law. [See note for James Douglas Armstrong for 235 Chestnut Street/223-229 Eagle Parkway.] [See note on John Milton Armstrong and George Washington Armstrong for 223-229 Eagle Parkway.] [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad.] [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul Union Depot Company.] [See note on the Great Northern Iron Ore Properties and Lewis D. Newman for 683 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.]

511 Grand Hill/Former 511 Grand Avenue: Peyton Boyle/H. D. West House; Built in 1895 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The structure is a two story, 3874 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Thomas W. Teasdale resided at this address from 1898 to 1905. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Peyton Boyle resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. K. Punnett resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Teasdale and Miss Ruby Teasdale resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Teasdale resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. M. Ford resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Wright resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Cushing F. Wright, an author, and his wife, Margaret Wright, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that John C. Wright (1919- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1930 until 1938 and wh attended Williams College, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Theodore D. Wright, a member of the Class of 1941, resided at this address. In 1882, with Charles W. Ames and Peyton Boyle, John B. West and his brother, Horatio West, incorporated the West Publishing Company. Horatio Davis West, the son of William Carter West and Louisa Phoebe Briggs West and the grandson of John Briggs and Ruth Jones Briggs, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfather Stephen Jones, a Sergeant in the Massachusetts Militia, during the Revolutionary War. Thomas W. Teasdale ( -1920) died in Hennepin County. Silas Morris Ford ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Cushing F. Wright (1880-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Irvine, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are the trustees of John C. Wright II and Joanne B. Wright. [See note on Peyton Boyle for 11 Summit Court.]

513 Grand Hill/Former 513 Grand Avenue: W. J. Dyer House; Built in 1892 (1889 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3383 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dyer and Mrs. M. R. Wilcox all resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dyer resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dyer and Mrs. L. D. Griggs all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that William J. Dyer, president of W. J. Dyer & Brother, a retailer of pianos, organs, and musical merchandise, resided at this address. In 1922, Franklin H. Griggs, Jr., a National Guard Second Lieutenant in Company A of the First Battalion of the Sixth Infantry, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dyer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert H. Johnston, a lawyer and a vice-president of W. J. Dyer & Brother, and his wife, Louise D. Johnston, resided at this address. In 1892, Robert Hoit Johnston of Chicago, Class of 1892, submitted the dissertation "Emancipation of Thought" to Williams College and also won second place in German. Robert Hoit Johnston received an LLB from Northwestern University in 1894. William John Dyer was a music dealer who was in business in Boston in 1855 until 1868, established a music house in Mankato, Minnesota, in 1869 or in Faribault, Minnesota, in 1870, moved his business to St. Paul in 1872 as W. H. Dyer & Brother, opened a second business, with his brother, Charles E. Dyer, in Minneapolis in 1875, produced trade cards in 1890, was the largest music house West of Chicago, operated a five story building on Wset Fifth Street in 1915, and was in business until 1941. In 1901, Mr. and Mrs. William J. Dyer, a music importer and dealer, went on a European trip, stopped in Torquay, England, and while there, retrieved the Great Seal of the State of Minnesota from Peter A. Bergsma, a Dutch merchant who did business in St. Paul for a period of time and found the brass seal in the ruins of the second State capitol building when it burned in 1881. William J. Dyer was one of St. Paul's first organists in 1870, was the president of W. J. Dyer & Company, musical instruments and merchandise, in 1902, and was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1922. In 1925, Franklin H. Griggs, Jr., associated with the piano department of W. J. Dyer & Brother, married Doris Stover of Minneapolis. Doris Stover was a graduate of the University of Minnesota and was a member of the Delta Delta Delta sorority. William J. Dyer ( -1925) and Robert Hoit Johnston ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. Louise D. Johnston (1889-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wadleigh, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee of Nancy D. Martin.

514 Grand Hill/Former 514 Grand Avenue: William J. Dean House; Built in 1892 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. The structure is a two story, 3756 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a tuck-under two car garage and a two car detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William J. Dean resided at this address from 1895 to 1907. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dean resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that William J. Dean resided at this address. In 1916, Sydney B. Dean was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The Twelfth General Catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Sydney Butler Dean, a member of the Beta Chapter, and a merchant who officed at the corner of Eighth Street and Sibley Street, resided at this address in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. B. Dean resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. T. F. Richards resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter J. Kennedy, a dentist who officed at the Bremer Arcade, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Walter J. Kennedy (1891- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1906 until 1908, who graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1914, who was a Captain in the 337th Field Artillery in the American Expeditionary Force in France during World War I, who was employed by Kennedy Brothers Arms Company at the corner of Fifth Street and Minnesota Street, and who engaged in the hobbies of fishing, shooting, and skiing, resided at this address. Walter J. Kennedy married Elisabeth Dean in St. Paul in 1921 and the couple had three children, Walter Kennedy (1922- ,) John Kennedy (1924- ,) and Roger Kennedy (1926- .) In 1908, Sydney B. Dean was the secretary of the St. Paul Tuberculosis Camp, with James H. Skinner as its chairman and Dr. H. L. Taylor as its medical director. In 1916, Sydney B. Dean was the president of the National Association of Automobile Accessory Jobbers. In 1917, Sydney B. Dean became a member of the Minnesota Historical Society. William J. Dean ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Walter J. Kennedy (1891-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoeveler, and died in Ramsey County. Walter J. Kennedy (1897-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Twohy, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Christine W. Donovan and Patrick J. Donovan, who reside in Minneapolis. In 2003, Patrick Donovan, a contributor to the Randy Kelly for Mayor campaign, resided at this address. Patrick J. Donovan, a banker with Bremer Financial, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Ives and S. E. Ives all resided at the former nearby 519 Grand Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Stutz resided at the former nearby 519 Grand Avenue. Frederick G. Stutz ( -1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.] [See note on William B. Dean, William J. Dean, and the Dean family for 353 Summit Avenue.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

520 Grand Hill/Former 520 Grand Avenue: Howard N. Elmer Residence/Clark House; Built in 1902 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style; Gilbert & Taylor, architects. The structure is a two story, 3718 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Howard N. Elmer resided at this address from 1890 to 1893. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Jackson resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that John N. Jackson, a member of the church since 1886, and Alice D. (Mrs. J. N.) Jackson, a member of the church since 1884, resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that John Norris Jackson resided at this address in 1907. In 1916, George P. Metcalf was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. P. Metcalf resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William L. West and his wife, Fredericka West, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that William L. West (1909- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1920 until 1928, who graduated from Harvard University in 1932, who graduated from the Harvard University Business School in 1935, who was the treasurer of the Automatic Control Company, a water level control manufacturer, and who pursued aviation as a hobby, resided at this address. Howard N. Elmer was a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers in 1889. George P. Metcalf (1834- ) was born in New York, came to St. Paul in 1854, was employed by Charles H. Parker in his bank, then was employed by Forbes & Kittson until 1856, then was employed as a confidential secretary by Simeon P. Folsom, returned to New York in 1857, married Emily Dwight, engaged in the dry goods business, returned to St. Paul in 1880, and was a bookkeeper. George P. Metcalf was a 1898 graduate of Harvard University, was a lawyer, was a partner in a law firm with Morton Barrows and Arthur A. Stewart at 606 Capitol Bank Building in 1920, and represented Bothwell and others, the receivers of the Employers' Mutual Insurance & Service Company, a Maryland corporation, in Bothwell v. Buckbee-Mears Company, 275 U.S. 274 (1927.) In 1930, John N. Jackson was a vice-president of Gordon & Ferguson. John Norris Jackson (1865- ,) the son of John Wesley Jackson ( -1870) and Lucy Norris Jackson, was a merchant, was born at New York City, New York, was educated in the public schools of New York City, New York, attended Dr. Chapin's School for Boys, New York City, New York, attended the Hopkins Grammar School, New Haven, Connecticut, married Alice Meeker Dean at St. Paul, in 1888, began his business career as an office boy in the employ of the St. Paul National Bank in 1883, became a note teller employed by the Merchant's National Bank in 1885, was employed by the Chicago, Burlington & Northern Railway in 1887, became the general agent of the Chicago, Burlington & Northern Railway, resigned to become the advertising manager for the Pioneer Press in 1892, was a partner in the firm of Lampher, Skinner & Company, jobbers in hats and caps after 1902, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Town & Country Club, and officed at 174-184 East Fourth Street. Lucy Norris Jackson later married Richard Kelley Styles ( -1882) as her second husband and later married Frederick Driscoll, manager of the St. Paul Pioneer Press, who resided at 266 Summit Avenue, as her third husband. Lucy Norris Jackson was active in the Red Cross in 1918. John Norris Jackson and Alice M. Dean Jackson were the parents of Norris Dean Jackson, a labor negotiator and, later, an executive with Northwest Airlines, Inc. Norris Dean Jackson (1895-1990) was a member of the class of 1913 of the Summit School and St. Paul Academy and a member of the class of 1917 of Princeton University. At Princeton, Norris Jackson was a member of Ivy Club and was active in the Senior Council and Class Day Committee. Norris Dean Jackson married Elizabeth Ames (1894-1990,) a daughter of Charles Wilberforce Ames (1855-1921) and Mary Lesley Ames (1853-1929.) In World War I, Norris Jackson was a Second Lieutenant and a pilot in the Army Air Force, then joined Gordon & Ferguson Inc., where he built a reputation for labor negotiations, was named to the new Department of Labor Conciliation by Minnesota Governor Harold Stasson in 1938, was director of labor relations for Northwest Orient Airlines, retiring after 14 years, served as a special assistant to the president of Macalester College for three years, retired in 1959, but remained active in the Community Chest, served on the Board of Trustees of the Summit School, assisted in the planning for the Minnesota Zoo, and died from injuries sustained in a fall. Elizabeth Ames Jackson was a member of the committee that operated the Service Men's Center in St. Paul from 1942 to 1943. Northwest Orient Airlines was founded in 1916 by Colonel Lewis Brittin, under the name "Northwest Airways," flying mail for the U.S. Post Office Department. Northwest began flying passengers in 1927. In 1928, the airline started its first international route with service to Winnipeg, Canada. In 1933, Northwest was designated to fly the Northern Transcontinental Route from New York City to Seattle, Washington. The airline adopted the name "Northwest Airlines" in 1934 after the Air Mail Scandal. During World War II, Northwest flew military equipment and personnel from the continental United States to Alaska and began painting their aircraft tails red as a visual aid. John N. Jackson ( -1945,) Frederice West ( -1949,) and Alice Dean Jackson ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. William L. West (1896-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Maurer, and died in Hennepin County. Norris Dean Jackson (1895-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dean, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Ames Jackson (1894-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lesley, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $433,568. The current owners of record of the property are Virginia A. Kraus and Joseph J. Westwater, Jr. [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Taylor for 365 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Charles Wilberforce Ames and Mary Lesley Ames for 501 Grand Hill.] [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

521 Grand Hill/Former 521 Grand Avenue: J. H. Ames House; Built in 1905 (1891 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; A. F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 4028 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Ames resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Ames and their daughters, H. O. Ames, George Ames, and Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Ames resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Ames and their daughter and H. O. Ames resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Lightner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Helen Lightner, the widow of Frank Lightner, resided at this address. In 1934, Helen Dean Lightner, the widow of Frank W. Lightner, Marcia Lightner, Mary Lightner, and Helen Lightner all resided at this address and were members of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Frank W. Lightner (1870- ) married Helen Dean, the daughter of William Blake Dean and Mary Catherine Nicols Dean. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Frank W. Lightner resided at this address around 1973. John Henry Ames ( -1943) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Frank Waterman Lightner ( -1928,) Henry Olmstead Ames ( -1929,) and George Ames ( -1935) all died in Ramsey County. Helen Dean Lightner (1881-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nichols, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Lightner ( -1943) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Michael S. Gilliland. Kevin Brown, in financial services with the Marquette Financial Companies and a resident at this address, contributed to the Christopher Dodd for President campaign in 2007-2008. Michael S. Gilliland (1950- ,) a partner in the law firm of Malkerson Gilliland Martin LLP, was born in Pipestone, Minnesota, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1972, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1976, graduated from the New York University Law School in 1980, was admitted to the practice of law in 1977 in New York and in 1992 in Minnesota, was the Research Editor of the University of Minnesota Law Review in 1975-1976, and practices business law, acquisitions and divestitures, commercial real estate law, finance law, planned community development law and resort and club law. [See note on Augustus F. Gauger for 295 Summit Avenue.]

530 Grand Hill/Former 530 Grand Avenue: Bigelow/Stevens House; Built in 1885 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Gothic Revival in style; Reed & Stem, architects. The structure is a two story, 4079 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Stevens and Mrs. Harriet Murphy all resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Hancock resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Louise Abel, the widow of Jonathan Abel, and Adelaide G. Murphy both boarded at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that H. E. Stevens and the Misses Armstrong all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Adelaide H. Armstrong boarded at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles H. Bigelow, Sr., resided at this address from 1923. The 1924 city directory indicates that the Misses Armstrong resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles H. Bigelow resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that E. Burt Bigelow, a member of the Class of 1954, resided at the former nearby 532 Grand Avenue. In 1897, Horace E. Stevens was part of a private syndicate to build a Nicaragua Canal with Lyman E. Cooley of Chicago, Edward F. Cragin of Chicago, H. P. Mason of Frankfort, Kentucky, J. N. Jackson of Schennectady, New York, H. B. Hanger of Richmond, Kentucky, Frederick Davis of Chicago, W. O. Winston of Minneapolis, Frederick S. Washburn of Chicago, Arthur McMullen of Cincinnati, Ohio, E. H. Hooker of New York, E. A. Little of Boston, Professor C. G. Wheeler of Chicago, and J. E. Maloney of Brooklyn. Horace Stevens was a co-author, with Stephen A. Douglas Puter (1857- ,) of Looters of the public domain, The Portland Printing House, Portland, Oregon, 1908, an exposure of the fraudulent system of acquiring titles of the public lands of the United States, including the Northern Pacific RailRoad. Adelaide Armstrong was a dancer in the 1911 "Pageant of Minnesota History." C. H. Bigelow, along with Charles Duncan Gilfillan, Frederick Driscoll, Charles Dibble Strong, Daniel David Merrill, William Dawson, William Rush Merriam, John S. Prince, Amherst H. Wilder, and Maurice Auerbach, were incorporators of the St. Paul Boom Company, a firm organized to build and operate a boom on the Mississippi River below the Falls of St. Anthony in Minneapolis, in 1881 and ended operation in 1919. Charles Henry Bigelow (1814-1862) was associated with William Drew Washburn in the water power of the Minneapolis Mill Company. Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911,) the son of Anson Bigelow and Eliza Moores Bigelow, was born in Easton, New York, moved to St. Paul in 1864, was engaged in the lumber business and in insurance, married Alida Wood Lyman (1839-1923) in 1859 at Madison, Ohio, was president of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, was elected an annual member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1899, and was president of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1876 until 1911. Charles Bigelow and Alida Bigelow had six children. In 1879, C. H. Bigelow was the agent for the Northern Insurance Company of New York, headquartered in Watertown, New York, and was located at the Fire & Marine Building. Charles H. Bigelow, Maurice Auerbach, John B. Sanborn, Crawford Livingston and J. F. R. Foss comprised the board of trustees of the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company in 1895, when the company was rechartered under Minnesota law (General Laws 1895, Chapter 175.) Charles H. Bigelow, previously the company's secretary, was elected president of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company in 1876, when James C. Burbank died, guided the company through the insurance price war of 1877 and the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, and was suceeded as president upon his death by Frederic Bigelow, his son. Charles Henry Bigelow, with Daniel Rogers Noyes and Herman Knox Taylor, were elders in the House of Hope Presbyterian Church before 1911. Bigelow Township in Nobles County, Minnesota, was founded in 1872 and was named for Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911.) Frederick R. Bigelow was the son of Charles H. Bigelow and Alida W. Lyman Bigelow. Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911) was born in Easton, New York, moved to St. Paul in 1864, was the secretary of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, and, in 1879, was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company. Mrs. Alida Bigelow (1912-1923) was born in Ohio, resided at 485 Portland Avenue, and died in Ramsey County. The Bigelow extended family included Allison McKibbin Bigelow (1881-1970,) Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911,) Charles Henry Bigelow (1866-1943,) Donald Fairchild Bigelow (1896-1974,) Honor Morrisey Bigelow (1898-1982,) Lawrence Graham "Larry" Bigelow (1925-1996,) and Mary Bigelow McMillan (1919- .) Emma Bigelow was the daughter of Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911) and Alida Wood Lyman Bigelow. F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote a letter to Alida Bigelow in 1919 advising her to read Charles Gilman Norris' Salt. Alida Bigelow was a Smith College friend of Dorothy Scarritt, who visited Alida Bigelow at White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and fell in love with Bigelow's cousin, Joseph Chambers McKibbin (1856-1931.) Donald Fairchild Bigelow was a member of the Princeton University Class of 1920, served six months in the Field Service as part of T.M.U. 133 during World War I, and subsequently was a Second Lieutenant in the U.S. Field Artillery. Donald F. Bigelow was the American Vice Consul at Bucharest, Rumania, in 1922 and married Honor Morrissey, also of St. Paul, at Oxford, England, with Leslie E. Reed, American Consul in London, as best man. Donald F. Bigelow was the U. S. Vice Consul in Paris, France, in 1924, was the U. S. Consul in Paris, France, in 1926, was the U. S. Consul in Tangiers in 1932, was a member of the American Legation, Berne, Switzerland, during World War II, and was the Charge d'Affairs at Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in 1943. In 1926, Countess Catherine Karolyi, wife of Mihaly Karolyi, the onetime president of Hungary, and an alleged Communist, filed a petition in the U. S. Supreme Court for a writ of mandamus to compel Secretary of State Frank Kellogg and Donald F. Bigelow, American Consul at Paris, to issue a visa to her to visit the United States. Donald F. Bigelow also was the First Secretary of the Paris Conference on Reparations in 1946. Robert Clayland Bigelow, a Private in the U. S. Marine Corps Reserve, was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Donald F. Bigelow and was killed in action during World War II. Lawrence Graham Bigelow was awarded the British Empire Medal and the Polish Bronze Cross of Merit with Swords for service in Italy as a member of the American Field Service during World War II. Lawrence Bigelow, an ambulance driver in Italy, then age 18, was ordered to evacuate a wounded Polish commando to a hospital, but in the mountains his ambulance stalled in a snowdrift and he rushed the commando into a farmhouse, watched over him for three days, and when the blizzard grew more furious and their food supply ran out, tore some boards out of the floor, lashed together a sled with some rope, and pulled his patient three miles through the storm to a spot where another ambulance was able to meet him. John McKibben Bigelow was a grandson of Charles Henry Bigelow. James Franklin Rand Foss (1848- ,) the son of James Foss (1823- ) and Frances Jordan Foss (1827- ,) was born in Biddeford, York County, Maine, served in the U. S. Navy during the American Civil War, serving on the U. S. S. Sabine, U. S. S. Niagara, U. S. S. Hartford, and U. S. S. Savannah, attended Bucksport Seminary, occupied several positions as clerk and bookkeeper in Boston, Providence and New York, was a bookkeeper in the Shoe and Leather National Bank in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1873, was bookkeeper in the Market National Bank of Brighton, Massachusetts, in 1875, then was a bookkeeper for the Merchandise National Bank of Boston, Massachusetts, moved to Minnesota in 1883, settled in Minneapolis, organized the Nicollet National Bank in 1884, and was the cashier of the Nicollet National Bank from 1884 until 1888, and then was the president of the Nicollet National Bank from 1888 until 1897. James Franklin Rand Foss married Alvena May Baker, of Auburndale, Massachusetts (1854- ,) in 1877 in Newton, Middlesex, Massachusetts, and the couple had two children, Minnie F. Foss (1878- ) and James F. Foss (1880- .) Joseph McKibbin, the son of William Campbell McKibbin (1868- ,) a dry-goods merchant, a member of the firm of Hampton, Smith & Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and later the proprietor of the Merchants' Hotel in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Jane Denny Brackenridge McKibbin (1890- ) and the grandson of Chambers McKibbin and Jane Bell McKibbin, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfather Jeremiah McKibbin of Hillsborough, Ireland, a Corporal in the Sixth Pennsylvania Line during the Revolutionary War. Joseph McKibbin (1856- ,) the son of William C. McKibbin and Jane D. Brackinridge McKibbin, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was educated in the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, public schools, attended the Western University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, attended Princeton Academy in Princeton, New Jersey, was employed in the offices of Auerbach, Finch, Culbertson & Company from 1877 until 1878, was employed by Gordon & Ferguson from 1879 until 1885, married Annie S. Dorsey ( -1884) in 1880 in Ramsey County, was a trustee of the Central Presbyterian Church in 1884, was the fiscal secretary for Macalester College in 1886, was a merchant and a senior member of the firm of McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, manufacturers and jobbers of hats, gloves, furs and sheep lined coats, was a member of the board of directors of the Second National Bank of St. Paul, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the Informal Club, was a member of the Nushka Club, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a member of the Young Men's Christian Association, was a member of the Jobbers' Union, was a member of the Minnesota State Board of Equalization of Taxes from 1900 until 1904, became a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1916, resided at 83 Virginia Avenue in 1907, and officed at Broadway Street and Sixth Street. Chambers McKibbin was a farmer, financier and politician, a prominent Democrat, an assistant quartermaster at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, under President Andrew Jackson, a postmaster under President James K. Polk, a naval officer under President James Buchanan at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the treasurer of the Mint and U. S. Assistant Treasurer under President Andrew Johnson. Charles Dibble Strong (1808-1890,) the son of John Strong and Elizabeth Furzer Strong, was born in Middle Chinnock, Somersetshire, England, emigrated to Canada in 1819, apprenticed with H. H. Cunningham, a bookbinder, in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, married Frances Wymond Gill (1810- ,) the daughter of Thomas Gill and Mary Hill Gill, in 1828, moved to Boston, Massachusetts, in 1828, was a bookseller, stationer and publisher, specializing in Methodist literature in 1830, published the Zion's Herald, the official Methodist church journal, settled in St. Paul in 1858/1859 in poor health, married Abigail Spurr Jefferson Fitzgibbon, established a large hardware business, Strong, Hackett & Company, was a member of the Order of Odd Fellows, was elected Grand Master of the Minnesota Odd Fellows in 1867, was elected the Grand Patriarch of the St. Paul Odd Fellows Lodge in 1871, was a director and president of the Minnesota Odd Fellows Mutual Benefit Society, was a member of the Jackson Street Methodist Episcopal Church/Central Park Methodist Church, and died in St. Paul. Anne Dorsey McKibbin, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph McKibbin of St. Paul, married Carlo Galli of St. Paul in 1917. Joseph Chambers McKibbin (1893-1931) was born in St. Paul, married Dorothy Anne Scarritt in 1927 in Kansas City, Jackson County, Missouri, and died in St. Paul. Joseph Chambers McKibbin and Dorothy Anne Scarritt McKibbin had a son, Kevin McKibbin (1930-2010.) Daniel R. Noyes ( -1908,) Harriet M. Murphy ( -1912,) Horace E. Stevens ( -1922,) Alida W. Bigelow ( -1923,) Joseph Chambers McKibbin ( -1931,) Charles D. Strong ( -1935,) Charles Henry Bigelow ( -1943,) Frederic R. Bigelow ( -1946,) and Howard E. Stevens ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. William Drew Washburn ( -1912,) James F. R. Foss ( -1920,) and Charles H. Bigelow ( -1936) all died in Hennepin County. Louise Abel ( -1917) died in Scott County, Minnesota. Charles H. Bigelow (1901-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hairchild, and died in Ramsey County. Allison McKibbin Bigelow (1881-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dorsey, and died in Ramsey County. John B. Sanborn (1827-1904) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $795,000. The current owners of record of the property are Anne L. Wharton and Vincent E. Wharton. Vincent Wharton, self identified as unemployed, made campaign contributions to Coleen Rowley for Congress in 2006 and to Mark Dayton for Minnesota 2006 in 2004. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Charles H. Bigelow, II, a member of the Class of 1920, resided at the former nearby 532 Grand Avenue. [See note on Reed and Stem.] [See note on Charles Duncan Gilfillan for 682 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.] [See note on William Rush Merriam for 4 Crocus Hill.] [See note on William Drew Washburn for 2119 Third Avenue South.] [See note on Crawford Livingston for 432 Summit Avenue and for 339 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Maurice Auerbach for 400 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Frank B. Kellogg for 710 West Linwood Avenue.] [See note on the McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey Inc. for 136 Western Avenue North.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 767 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note for Charles Henry Bigelow for 415 Laurel Avenue.] [See the note for Frederick R. Bigelow for 493-495 Portland Avenue.] [See note for the fifth entry after the entry for 1605 Summit Avenue for information on Macalester College.] [See note on John Benjamin Sanborn for 572 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on Daniel Rogers Noyes for 775 Summit Avenue.]

535 Grand Hill/Former 535 Grand Avenue: F. G. Ingersoll House; Built in 1894; Queen Anne in style; Wilcox & Johnston, architect. The structure is a two story, 4617 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Frederick G. Ingersoll resided at this address from 1889 to 1912. In 1897, F. G. Ingersoll resided at this address in a two story frame structure which suffered a fire. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Ingersoll resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Frederick G. Ingersoll, a member of the church since 1875, and John Phelps Ingersoll, a member of the church since 1906, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Warner and their daughter resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. T. Schuneman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jennie Abbott, the widow of Eaton Abbott, resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles H. Bigelow, Jr., resided at this address from 1956 to 1963. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that George A. Mairs, a member of the Class of 1946, resided at this address. Frederick Gerald Ingersoll (1855-1941,) the son of Daniel Wesley Ingersoll (1812-1894) and Harriet Crane Smith Ingersoll (1817-1857,) was born in Irvington, New York, graduated from the Law Department of the University of Michigan in 1878, was a lawyer, engaged in practice of law in St. Paul since 1878, married Mary Katinka Phelps (1859-1948,) the daughter of John Phelps and Wilheminia Paulsackel Phelps, in St. Paul in 1887, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the St. Paul Bar Association, was the president and the attorney of the St. Paul Title & Trust Company, was a member of the board of directors and the attorney of the Second National Bank of St. Paul, was a member of the board of directors and the attorney of the Pioneer Press Printing Company, was the vice president, was a member of the board of directors and the attorney of T. L. Blood & Company, paint manufacturers, was the resident vice president of the American Surety Company of New York, was a Republican, was an alderman of St. Paul's Seventh Ward, was the president of the St. Paul Common Council from 1881 until 1883, was a Presbyterian, was a Mason, was a member of the Zeta Psi fraternity, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Town & Country Club, was a member of the Informal Club, engaged in the hobbies of fishing and golfing, and officed at the N. Y. Life Building in 1907. The couple had two children, Geraldine Ingersoll (1888- ) and John Phelps Ingersoll (1891- .) Geraldine Ingersoll married Horace Thompson (1886- ) and the couple had two daughters, Mary Geraldine Thompson and Deborah Monroe Thompson. In 1879, Mrs. Horace Thompson was the president of the Protestant Orphan Asylum. Truman Ward Ingersoll (1862-1922/1923,) a noted St. Paul photographer, also was a son of Daniel Ingersoll, from Daniel Ingersoll's 1859 marriage to Marian Meigs Ward (1831-1909.) Bessie Cramer Hess Ingersoll (1869-1937) was the wife of Truman Ward Ingersoll. Daniel Wesley Ingersoll (1812-1894) first married Harriet Crane Smith (1817-1857) and the couple had ten children, Julia Smith Ingersoll (1837-1910,) Harriet Ingersoll (1839-1840,) Harriet Ingersoll (1841- ,) Daniel Wesley Ingersoll, Jr. (1843-1869,) Caroline Theda Ingersoll (1845-1858,) Mary Elizabeth "Libbie" Ingersoll (1846-1869,) Henreitta "Etta" Shelton Ingersoll (Mrs. William) Corliss (1849-1870,) Anna Josephine Ingersoll (1852-1940,) George Edmund Ingersoll (1854-1924,) and Frederick Gerard Ingersoll (1855-1941,) and then married Marian Meigs Ward (1831-1909,) and the couple had six children, Truman Ward Ingersoll (1862-1923,) Henry Gilbert Ingersoll (1863- ,) Isabel Dwight Ingersoll (Mrs. Hanford) Lockwood (1864- ,) Marian Ward Ingersoll (Mrs. William) Case (1868- ,) Daniel Winthrop Ingersoll (1870-1935,) and Helen Elise Ingersoll (1872-1873.) Frederick Gerald Ingersoll was an original officer of the Junior Pioneer Association of Ramsey County, founded in 1889, along with Edward C. Starkey, William L. Benson, Peter J. Dreis, Charles W. Spiel, Eugene J. Stilwell, Charles J. Friend, Jr., Henry G. Haas, William O'Gorman, and Edward M. Dahl. In 1879, Peter J. Dreis was the president of the Democrat Printing Company and was a partner with George Mitsch in Dreis & Mitsch, druggists located at 114 St. Peter Street. In 1934, Frederick G. Ingersoll resided at 542 Portland Avenue. Reuben Warner (1831-1905) was born in Farfield County, Connecticut, settled in St. Paul in 1856, opened and operated a commission and auction business with his brother, John M. Warner, until he sold out in 1878, then engaged in the wholesale dry goods business as a partner with Lindeke & Schurmeier, was a member of the board of trustees of the Episcopal Church, Diocese of Minnesota, in 1903, and died in St. Paul. In 1912, Reuben Warner was the superintendent of rental space for the auto show for the Minnesota State Agricultural Society (Minnesota State Fair.) Mr. Dahl's house, built by his father, William Dahl (1827-1858,) in 1858 and formerly located at 136 Thirteenth Street, was declared a historic structure and, when its site was selected for the construction of the Harold Stassen (Minnesota Department of Revenue) building, was moved in 2000 to 508 Jefferson Avenue. Henry G. Haas (1848- ) was born in Indiana County, Pennsylvania, moved to St. Paul in 1858, attended the Sisters' College and the Christian Brothers College, established Haas Brothers, a beef and pork packer, in 1876, married Jennie E. Cramsie in 1876, incorporated Haas Brothers Company in 1895, served four terms on the St. Paul City Council, served three terms as the St. Paul City Council president, resided at 739 St. Peter street in 1907, officed at 457-459 St. Peter Street in 1907, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Junior Pioneers of Ramsey County, and was a member of the Knights of Columbus. William H. O'Gorman ( -1913,) Henry G. Haas ( -1915,) Horace E. Thompson ( -1919,) William O'Gorman ( -1921,) Truman Ward Ingersoll ( -1922,) George Edmund Ingersoll ( -1924,) Reuben Warner ( -1929,) Bessie Hess Ingersoll ( -1937,) Edward M. Dahl ( -1937,) Frederick G. Ingersoll ( -1941) Charles H. Bigelow ( -1943,) and Mary P. Ingersoll ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Anna Ingersoll ( -1922) died in Dodge County, Minnesota. Carl T. Schuneman (1886-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Trueworthy, and died in Ramsey County. Jennie Abbott ( -1942) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. Eugene Jay Stilwell ( -1933) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Carolyn J. Levitt and David G. Levitt. [See note on Frederick G. Ingersoll for 542 Portland Avenue.] [See note Willcox for 813 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on Johnston for 476 Summit Avenue.]

547-549 Grand Hill/Former 547-549 Grand Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 4233 square foot, eight bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. C. Thompson resided at 547 Grand Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Denegre and Mrs. E. S. Simpson and her daughter all resided at 549 Grand Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. T. McCann resided at 547 Grand Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that John T. McCann, a manufacturer's agent who officed at the Ryan Building, and his wife, Lillian McCann, resided at 547 Grand Hill and that Joseph McKibbin, the president of McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, manufacturers of hats, caps, gloves and overcoats, and his wife, Mary D. McKibbin, resided at 549 Grand Hill. J. Asha Sharma, Chair of the Minnesota Asian-Indian Democratic Association (MAIDA), once resided at this address. James D. Denegre ( -1926,) Joseph Chambers McKibbin ( -1931,) and John T. McCann ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. Edward S. Simpson (1884-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Moore, and died in Hennepin County. Lillian M. McCann (1894-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Manteuffel, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Eric Manning Lein and Laurel H. Lein. In 2001 and 2003, Eric Lein and Laurel Lein visited the village of Homorodszentpeter in Transylvania, Romania, mostly Unitarian and a partner with Unity Church-Unitarian. Eric Lein and Laurel Lein were financial supporters of the Wisconsin Historical Society in 2001, of the Madeline Island (Wisconsin) Wilderness Preserve in 2003, of AMICUS in 2004, of Penumbra Theatre in 2006, and of the Friends of the BWCA in 2007. In 2003, Eric Lein had a claim against the City of St. Paul. Eric Lein and Laurel Lein coordinated the Heart to Heart couples enrichment program for Unity Church-Unitarian in 2006. Eric Lein is the owner of Lein Properties, located at 361 Summit Avenue.

555 Grand Hill/Former 555 Grand Avenue: Built in 1894; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3882 square foot, multi-family apartment building, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1900 and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Thad C. Jones resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Thaddeus C. Jones, a member of the church since 1881, Caroline K. (Mrs. T. C.) Jones, a member of the church since 1881, Ninah Jones, a member of the church since 1901, and Thaddeus Crane Jones, Jr., a member of the church since 1906, all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. Dean Gribben resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nancy T. Metter resided at this address. Mindy Keskinen, of Mindy Keskinen Editorial Services, a substantive editor, copyeditor, and proofreader of nonfiction book manuscripts in the areas of American history and culture, especially Midwestern and Western topics, religion and spirituality, and creative nonfiction, currently resides in Apartment 2 at this address. Thaddeus Crane Jones, III, was the captain of the 1947 Princeton University soccer team (2-6-2.) Perry Dean Gribben attended the Hill School, Pottstown, Pennsylvania, was a 1900 graduate of Phillips Academy Andover, was a 1903 graduate of Yale University, and was a World War I veteran who died in service and is memorialized on the Phillips Academy Andover Memorial Bell Tower. Perry Dean Gribben enlisted in the Aviation Section of the Signal Corps Reserve in 1917 as a First Lieutenant, was stationed at Fort Omaha, Nebraska, and, while on the ten day detail in St. Paul, his automobile was hit by a trolley car when his chauffeur was unable to negotiate snow covered street car tracks and he was killed from a skull fracture. Perry Dean Gribben was buried in Oakland Cemetery. Perry Dean Gribben ( -1918) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Cheri A. Wiegand. Cheri Wiegand was a financial supporter of the Humane Society for Companion Animals in 2005.

561 Grand Hill/Former 561 Grand Avenue: Built in 1884; Shingle in style. The structure is a two story, 2308 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, frame house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William R. Dorr resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. N. Smith, J. E. Frisby, and Samuel Frisby resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Motter and Mrs. N. T. Judson all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Motter, Mr. and Mrs. D. E. Young, their daughter, and Miss J. S. Young all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Thompson resided at this address. Samuel Frisby ( -1916,) David Edward Young ( -1925,) and William C. Motter ( -1930) all died in Ramsey County. John Winfred Thompson ( -1947) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Robert A. Peltier.

1 Heather Place (Former 1 Floral Street:) Cass Gilbert House; Built in 1894 (1890 according to the National Register of Historic Places;) Tudor Revival in style; Cass Gilbert and James Knox Taylor, architects. The structure is a two story, 4238 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a one car tuck-under garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Cass Gilbert resided at this address from 1891 to 1899. The 1894 and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Cass Gilbert and Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Gilbert resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Noyes resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Sterling Horner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stirling Horner, an architect employed by C. H. Johnston, resided at this address. Mrs. E. W. Gilbert ( -1897,) the mother of Cass Gilbert, died in Ramsey County of pneumonia. Harry Stirling Horner (1884- ) was born in Madison, Wisconsin, the son of Frank S. Horner (1856- ) and Anna L. Stirling Horner (1858- .) The current owners of record of the property are Allen W. Klein and Harriet Lansing. Allen W. Klein is a Minnesota Administrative Law Judge. Minnesota Court of Appeals judge Harriet Lansing was appointed in 1983 by Governor Rudy Perpich and was elected in 1984, 1990, 1996, and 2002. Judge Lansing is the only remaining original member of the State Court of Appeals. Judge Lansing also chaired the State court panel that did both the 1990 State and congressional redistricting. Previously, Judge Lansing was a judge in the Ramsey County Municipal Court (1978-1983,) the St. Paul City Attorney (1976-1978,) an attorney in private practice (1973-1976,) an assistant St. Paul city attorney (1972-1973,) and the staff counsel for the St. Paul Housing and Redevelopment Authority (1970-1972.) The house is on the National Register of Historic Places. [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Taylor for 365 Summit Avenue.] [See note for C. Reinold Noyes for 239 Summit Avenue.]

5 Heather Place (Former 5 Floral Street:) B. L. Goodkind House; Built in 1910; Tudor Revival/Cotswold Cottage in style; Reed & Stem, architects. The structure is a two story, 1260 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a carriage house and two detached garages. The structure is attached to the house at 7 Heather Place at the hip roof by way of a second-story enclosed walkway. The house shares with 7 Heather Place a circular driveway, a central courtyard and a fountain, with a property line that runs through the center of the fountain and the skyway. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William Goodkind resided at 5 Heather Place from 1910 to 1919, that Benjamin Goodkind resided at 7 Heather Place from 1910 to 1919, and that Thomas L. Daniels resided at 7 Heather Place from 1948 to 1977. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Goodkind resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Warner and Reuben Warner, Jr., all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel M. Mairs and his wife, Mary Mairs, resided at this address. In 1934, Samuel W. Mairs, Mary Goodell Mairs, George Mairs, Robert Mairs, Thomas Mairs, and Mary Mairs resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that George G. Mairs (1914- ,) who attended the school from 1926 until 1932 and who was a 1936 graduate of Yale University, and Robert W. Mairs (1917- ,) who attended the school from 1928 until 1935 and who attended Yale University, both resided at this address. Mary Goodell Mairs was a graduate of Vassar College. The Mairs family were members of the Minnesota Club and the Women's City Club of St. Paul in 1934. The Goodkind brothers owned a large St. Paul department store. Thomas Leonard Daniels was the son of John W. Daniels, one of the founders of Archer Daniels Midland Company, and was the husband of Frances Hancock Daniels. Thomas Leonard Daniels (1892-1978) was a 1914 graduate of Yale University, was a member of Skull and Bones and of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity, was a Major in the U.S. Army from 1917 until 1919, was in the U. S. Diplomatic Service from 1922 until 1929 in Brussels, Rio de Janeiro, and Rome, and was appointed to the War Board Production & War Food Administration from 1942 until 1943. Thomas Leonard Daniels ( -1917,) Reuben Warner ( -1929,) William Louis Goodkind ( -1935,) Mary G. Mairs ( -1942,) and George Alexander Mairs ( -1944) all died in Ramsey County. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $655,000. The current owner of record of the property is Mary M. Donnelly. Stan Donnelly currently resides at this address. Stan Donnelly is the CEO of Donnelly Custom Manufacturing, was appointed to the St. Paul Heritage Preservation Commission by Mayor Norm Coleman in 1999, was a co-chair of a Citizens League/Pioneer Press/Twin City Public Television "The Facts Unfiltered" committee on energy in 2004, and was a financial supporter of the Swift Boat Vets and POWs for Truth "527" organization in 2004. Stan Donnelly, the owner of Donnelly Manufacturing Company, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004. [See note for George Mairs for 1504 Summit Avenue.]

7 Heather Place (Former 7 Floral Street:) W. L. Goodkind House; Built in 1910; Tudor Revival/Cotswold Cottage in style; Reed & Stem, architects, and John Lassila, renovation interior designer. The structure is a two story, 6782 square foot, nine bedroom, five bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The structure is attached to the house at 5 Heather Place at the hip roof by way of a second-story enclosed walkway. The house shares with 5 Heather Place a circular driveway, a central courtyard and a fountain, with a property line that runs through the center of the fountain and the skyway. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William Goodkind resided at 5 Heather Place from 1910 to 1919, that Benjamin Goodkind resided at 7 Heather Place from 1910 to 1919, and that Thomas L. Daniels resided at 7 Heather Place from 1948 to 1977. In 1916, Benjamin Goodkind was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. L. Goodkind, their daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. Harold Goodkind all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James Carey, a gardener, roomed at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. N. Myers resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Walter F. Myers resided at this address in 1924 and that Mrs. Reine H. Myers resided at this address in 1930. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Reine Myers, the widow of Paul N. Myers, resided at this address. In 1934, Reine Humbird Myers, the widow of Paul N. Myers, John Myers, Elizabeth Myers, Paul Myers, Jr., and Genevieve Myers resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that David M. Daniels (1927- , ) who attended the school from 1937 until 1942, who attended Yale University, and who attended the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, studying operatic singing, resided at this address. Benjamin L.Goodkind (1897-1919,) the son of Louis Goodkind, married Adelaide Rau (1869-1949) in 1889 and the couple had a daughter, Edith Goodkind (1893-1988,) who was born in St. Paul. Adelaide “Addie” Rau Goodkind subsequently married Julius Rosenwald (1862-1932,) the chairman of the board of directors of Sears, Roebuck & Company and the philanthropist, in 1930, the couple honeymooned in Egypt, and the couple then resided in Chicago, Illinois. Julius Rosenwald, the son of Samuel Rosenwald (1828-1899) and Augusta Hammerslough Rosenwald (1833-1921,) previously was the husband of Augusta Nusbaum Rosenwald(1868–1929.) Julius Rosenwald was born in Springfield, Sangamon County, Illinois, and died in Highland Park, Lake County, Illinois. Maurice Goodkind, the brother of Benjamin L. Goodkind, was Augusta Rosenwald’s physician. In 1913, Edith Goodkind married Lessing Julius Rosenwald, the son of Julius Rosenwald and his successor as chairman of the board of directors of Sears, Roebuck & Company from 1932 until 1939. Lessing Rosenwald worked with the National Recovery Administration in 1934 and the War Production Board from 1941 until 1943, was opposed to Zionism, was a chess enthusiast, was a philanthropist, was a bibliographer and collector of books and prints, and was estimated to have made donations of more than $35 million (2,600 rare books, 5,000 reference books, 22,000 original prints, and 500 drawings) to the National Gallery and to the Library of Congress. Adelaide Rau Goodkind Rosenwald was born in New York City, New York, and died in Beverly Hills, Los Angeles, California. Lessing Rosenwald (1891-1979) was born in Chicago, Cook County, Illinois, attended Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, from 1909 until 1911, began his career with Sears, Roebuck & Company as a shipping clerk in 1911, moved from Chicago, Illinois, to Philadelphia, Philadelphia, as general manager of the company's first Eastern plant in 1920, assumed control of Sears, Roebuck & Company upon his father's death and became chairman of the board, was the chairman of the board of trustees of the Julius Rosenwald Fund from 1932 until 1948, retired from Sears, Roebuck & Company in 1939, joined the isolationist America First Committee in 1940, soon became disenchanted with the antiSemitic bias and resigned later in 1940, was a member of the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Selective Service Board of Appeals in 1940, founded the American Council for Judaism in 1943, was a financial supporter of the University of Chicago, was a financial supporter of the Museum of Science & Industry, was a financial supporter of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, was a member of the Citizens Committee on Displaced Persons after 1945, and died in Philadelphia, Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania. Edith Goodkind Rosenwald was the president of the Association for Jewish Children, was the president of the Philadelphia Child Guidance Clinic, was a member of the board of the old Philadelphia College of Art, was a member of the board of the Federation of Jewish Agencies, was a member of the board of the Old York Road Women's Committee of the Philadelphia Orchestra, was active in the Vacation Bureau of the Association for Jewish Children, and died in Jenkintown, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. Walter F. Myers, the son of James Myers and Mary S. Wright Myers and the grandson of Peter M. Myers and Mary Van Schoonhoven Myers, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfather Michael Myers, a Sergeant in the Third New York Continental Line who was wounded during the Battle of Johnstown during the Revolutionary War. Duane Hubbs and Martha Hubbs owned the property from 1988 to 2004 and now reside in New Richland, Wisconsin. The Myers family were members of the Somerset Club, the Schubert Club, and the Women's City Club of St. Paul. The Goodkind brothers owned a large St. Paul department store. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Harold Goodkind (1890- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1901 until 1906 and who was vice president of the Henry Rose Stores, Inc., resided with his second wife, Helen Wiener Goodkind, at 983 Park Avenue in New York, New York. There is a Reine H. Myers Memorial Trust, operated by the First Trust Company, which was organized as a charitable organization in 1949 and is located in St. Paul. Thomas Turner, holder of the Reine H. Myers chair, joined the Minnesota Orchestra as principal viola in 1994. Reine Myers, the parent of a Carlton College student, was a member of the Carlton College Founders Court of donors. In 1915, Paul N. Myers, with Michael W. Waldorf (1869-1928,) created the Waldorf Paper Products Company in a merger of three separate cooperating companies, The American Paper Stock Company, suppliers of raw material, the Waldorf Box Board Company, manufacturers of paperboard, and the H. L. Collins Company, converters of cartons and containers. The Hoerner Waldorf Corporation began as the Baker-Collins Company, a small print shop established in 1886 in downtown St. Paul and moving to the Midway District in 1907, the same year that M. W. Waldorf established the Waldorf Box Board Company. Waldorf Paper Products Company merged with Hoerner Boxes, Inc., of Keokuk, Iowa, in 1966 to form the Hoerner Waldorf Corporation. After a proxy fight, in 1977, the Hoerner Waldorf Corporation was sold to Champion International Corporation. In 1985, Eugene Frey (1930- ) engineered a successful leveraged buy-out that led to the establishment of Waldorf Corporation. Frey and his family sold the Waldorf Corporation to Atlanta-based Rock-Tenn Company in 1997. Elizabeth "Zib" Myers Parish (1913-2007) was a daughter of Paul N. Myers and Reine H. Myers, attended the Summit School in St. Paul, Mills College in Oakland, California, and graduated from Connecticut College in New London, Connecticut, in 1936, married John Cook Parish, a senior executive with The St. Paul Companies, in 1936, and was a member of the board of the Salem Foundation, the St. Paul United Way, the St. Paul Children's Hospital, and the Miller Hospital. Paul Nixin Myers ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. Reine Humbird Myers (1880-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stalneker, and died in Ramsey County. John H. Myers (1909-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Humbird, and died in Ramsey County. Paul Noxon Myers (1908-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Humbird, and died in Ramsey County. William Louis Goodkind ( -1935) resided at 757 Osceola Avenue in 1930 and died in Ramsey County. Reine Humbird Myers (1880-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stalneker, and died in Ramsey County. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $1,250,000. The current owners of record of the property are David Duddingston and Clayton Halunen. David Duddingston (1968- ) is a St. Paul business owner and participated in the Grand Old Days 8K race in 2007. Brothers Dan Duddingston and David Duddingston spearheaded a movement to recall Mayor Randy Kelly in 2004 after Kelly, elected as a DFLer, endorsed George W. Bush. Clayton Halunen is a Minneapolis employment attorney. Clayton Halunen, an attorney with Halunen & Associates, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004 and contributed to the Christopher Dodd for President campaign, the John Edwards for President campaign, and the Barack Obama for President campaign in 2007-2008.

8 Heather Place (Former 8 Floral Street:) This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District.

9 Heather Place (Former 9 Floral Street:) Built in 1956. The structure is a 2127 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $207,900. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The current owners of record of the property are Dennis G. Croonquist and Ann L. Mulfort. Dennis G. Croonquist is the Parts & IT Systems Director for Borton Volvo in Minneapolis and was the 2004 Svenskarnas Dag Organization webmaster. Ann Mulfort has been awarded the designation of Master Bridal Consultant from the Association of Bridal Consultants and is co-owner of Dream Weddings in St. Paul. Ann Mulfort also is a member of the Academy of Certified Archivists.

11 Heather Place (Former 11 Floral Street:) Built in 1956. The structure is a 2186 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick rambler, with a detached garage. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that William E. Ward, a member of the Class of 1928, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Kristin M. Cajacob. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Kristin M. Cajacob was a 1983 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, formerly represented the Special Compensation Fund of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry in areas of second injury and supplemental benefits, co-authored the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Desk Book, and is an attorney/shareholder in the law firm of Heacox, Hartman, Koshmrl, Cosgriff & Johnson, P.A.. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Clarence Wells Halbert and Hugh Tyler Halbert both resided at the nearby former 19 Floral Street in 1907 and that Franklin H. Griggs resided at the nearby former 26 Floral Street in 1907. Clarence Wells Halbert (1874- ,) the son of Edwin G. Halbert and Nancy Melvina Tyler Halbert, was born at Binghamton, New York, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1891, graduated with a bachelors degree from Yale College in 1895, graduated with a law degree from the Yale University Law School in 1897, was unmarried in 1907, returned to St. Paul in 1898, was employed by the law office of Davis, Kellogg & Severance, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1898, became a law clerk for the law firm of Hadley & Armstrong, was a lawyer, began a solo practice of law in 1900, joined Hugh T. Halbert in the law firm of Halbert & Halbert in 1903, was a Republican, was a founder of the St. Paul College of Law, was the secretary of the St. Paul College of Law, was an instructor in partnership and agency at the St. Paul College of Law, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota Bar Association, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was the city tennis champion of St. Paul in 1906, and officed at the Dispatch Building in 1907. Franklin Hammond Griggs (1872- ,) the son of George Griggs, a wholesale grocer, and Alice G. Smith Griggs, was born at Faribault, Minnesota, was educated in the public schools of St. Paul, graduated from Williams College in 1893, moved to St. Paul, studied law in the office of Young & Lightner, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School with a bachelor of laws degree, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School with a masters of laws degree in 1895, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was a lawyer, was employed by West Publishing Company as an editorial writer from 1894 until 1898, began the practice of law in 1898 as a partner of the law firm of Hunt, Prendergast & Griggs, was appointed the second assistant corporation counsel of St. Paul in 1898, was the first assistant corporation counsel of St. Paul from 1899 until 1902, married Louise Dyer, the daughter of W. J. Dyer, at St. Paul in 1899, was a law partner of George C. Squires in Squires & Griggs, the successor of Flandrau, Squires & Cutcheon, from 1902 until 1903, was a special assistant to the Minnesota Attorney General from 1903 until 1904, was a special counsel to the Minnesota Public Examiner for an investigation of school lands and railroad earnings, was employed by the State auditor's office, was a partner with Wallace B. Douglas, a retired Minnesota Supreme Court justice, in the law firm of Douglas & Griggs, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. [See note on the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry for 936 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on Franklin H. Griggs for 670 Oakland Avenue.] [See note on Clarence Wells Halbert for 506 Summit Avenue.]

11 Kenwood Parkway (Former 11 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1917; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3760 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Gregg resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Thomas L. Daniels resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Daniels resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Daniels resided at this address. In 1934, John W. Daniels and Amelia Leonard Daniels resided at this address. John W. Daniels (1857- ,) the son of Theo. L. Daniels and Catharine J. O'Ferrall Daniels, was born in Piqua, Ohio, graduated from the Piqua, Ohio, public schools, was married, was a manufacturer, engaged in the linseed oil business after 1879, initially in connection with companies in Piqua, Ohio, was a member of the board of directors of the American Linseed Company, was the manager of the American Linseed Company plant at Buffalo, New York, in 1898, built the plant of the Daniels Linseed Company at Cleveland, Ohio, sold the Cleveland, Ohio, plant to Sherwin-Williams Company in 1902, was the president and a member of the board of directors of the Archer-Daniels Linseed Company in Minneapolis, was a vice president and a member of the board of directors of the Piqua Hosiery Company, and was a member of the board of directors of the Piqua, Ohio, American Bank, was a Republican, was an Episcopalian, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Piqua, Ohio, Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, officed in Minneapolis in 1907, and resided at Dellwood, White Bear Lake, Minnesota in 1907. The Baptismal Window (See Page 74) on the North wall of St. John in the Wilderness Episcopal Church in White Bear Lake, Minnesota, created by an unknown artist and probably was crafted in a studio in Boston or New York, was given in memory of John Daniels and Amelia Daniels in the late 1920's or early 1930's. John W. Daniels was one of the founders, with George A. Archer, of Archer Daniels Midland Company, which initially was a linseed crushing business and became one of the world's largest processors of soybeans, corn, wheat and cocoa. Shreve Archer succeeded John W. Daniels as president of the Archer Daniels Midland Company in 1924. Thomas Leonard Daniels was a son of John W. Daniels, John Hancock Daniels (1921-2006) was a grandson of John W. Daniels, John H. Daniels, Jr., of Minneapolis and Christopher W. Daniels of Denver were great grandsons of John W. Daniels, and Martha M. Daniels of Washington State and Dr. Jane D. Moffett of Sleepy Hollow, New York, were great granddaughters of John W. Daniels. Amelia Daniels (1888-1977) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $910,001. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffery T. Boston and Michelle K. Boston. Jeffery T. Boston is a psychotherapist with an office at 821 Raymond Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George C. Power resided at the former nearby 10 Kenwood Parkway in 1900. Gertrude Louise Power (1886-1900,) who died of pneumonia, was the daughter of George C. Power. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Orme, their daughter, and Miss Nellie Sloan all resided at the former nearby 9 Kenwood Parkway. George C. Power ( -1912) died in Ramsey County. [See the note on Archer Daniels Midland Company and Shreve Archer for 990 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Archer, Daniels, Midland Company for 744 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on George C. Power and Power & Mairs for 1504 Summit Avenue.]

18 Kenwood Parkway (Former 18 Kenwood Terrace:) Eugene Towle House; Built in 1914; English manor in style; Mark Fitzpatrick, architect. The structure is a two story, 4799 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Towle, their daughter, and Mrs. Uri Locke Lamprey all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Towle, their daughter, and Mrs. W. L. Lamprey all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Eugene A./H. Towle and Eugenia Towle resided at this address. In 1934, Eugene A. Towle and Vira Norton Towle resided at this address and were members of the St. Paul Athletic Club, the University Club, the White Bear Yacht Club, and the Women's City Club of St. Paul. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Malcolm Cammack, who attended the school from 1936 until 1939 and whom married Elizabeth Bancroft in 1949, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Richard C. Figge, a member of the Class of 1960, resided at this address. In 2009, the St. Paul City Council approved a request for a sound level variance by Dr. James Kromhout in order to present amplified live music, with limitations, during a wedding party at this address. Uriah "Uri" Locke Lamprey (1842-1906,) a son of and one of 13 offspring of David M. Lamprey (1801-1865) and Sally Stearns Lamprey (1805-1851,) was born in New Hampshire, married, in 1865, Jeanette Robert (1845-1929,) a native of Prairie du Chien, Crawford County, Wisconsin, and a daughter of and one of nine offspring of Louis Robert (1812-1874) and Marie Rose Turpin Robert (1825- ,) moved to St. Paul before 1880, was a lawyer in the law firm of Lamprey & James, was a member of the Board of Game and Fish Commissioners from 1901 until 1906, was considered to be the father of the Minnesota game conservation movement, and died in St. Paul. The Lamprey Pass Wildlife Management Area, first established by Uriah Locke Lamprey in 1881 as a local duck hunting club and managed by the Lamprey Pass Gun Club until the 1970's, was named for Uriah Locke Lamprey. St. Paul grocer Eugene Towle created Log Cabin syrup, which became a huge hit in the early 1900's. Log Cabin syrup originated in 1887 or 1888, and was developed by Minnesota grocer Patrick J. Towle, who blended maple syrup (45 percent) and cane sugar syrup to produce the product and named the syrup in honor of his childhood hero, President Abraham Lincoln, and his childhood in a log cabin. General Foods acquired the Towle brand in 1927 and sold it in the 1980's to Kraft Foods, which sold it in 1997 to Aurora Foods, which was then acquired by Pinnacle Foods Corporation. Log Cabin syrup currently has about two percent maple syrup. The White Bear Yacht Club formed in 1889 to sponsor yacht racing at White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and was one of the founding members of the Inland Lake Yachting Association and hosted the first Inland Lake Yachting Association Championship regatta in 1898. The White Bear Yacht Club is a private athletic and social organization that is dedicated to the promotion of yachting, golf, tennis, swimming and other sports and is situated on the shores of White Bear Lake in Ramsey County. Byrd Hewitt and Kirby Barnum built the first clubhouse as a summer hotel on the site of the present sailor's pavilion and it was rented from him in 1891 and used as a clubhouse until it was purchased by the club and remodeled in 1899. The original building was demolished in 1912 and a stately clubhouse with accommodations for the golfers in the basement was built on the same site, but was destroyed in 1937 by a fire of unknown origin. The third clubhouse was built in 1938 by the firm of Clarence Johnston and was demolished in 1998 and was replaced by a building designed by Yunker-Assmus Architects which opened in 1999. F. Scott Fitzgerald and Zelda Fitzgerald rented rooms at the White Bear Yacht Club in 1922, but were asked to leave after hosting a series of disruptive parties there. The White Bear Yacht Club golf course is ranked third in the state by Golf Digest. Dale A. Johnson is the president and Linda Carroll is the general manager of the White Bear Yacht Club. Locke Lamprey (1842-1906) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Patrick J. Towle ( -1912) and Vera N. Towle ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. Eugenia H. Towle (1894-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lamprey, and died in Ramsey County. Jeanette R. Lamprey ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Dillon McGrath. MSGi is a business and information technology services organization and consulting company that is currently located at this address. [See note on F. Scott Fitzgerald for 599 Summit Avenue.]

19 Kenwood Parkway (Former 19 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1913 (1912 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3590 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Holbert resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Holbert resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Worrell Clarkson, Jr., resided at this address. In 1934, Worrell Clarkson, Jr., resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Charles Stutz (1902- ,) who attended the school from 1919 until 1921, who attended Dartmouth University and the University of Minnesota, and who married Kathleen McDermott in 1937, resided at this address and in New York City. Worrell Clarkson, Jr., (1894- ,) a Captain, was a World War I veteran who resided in Dellwood, Minnesota, in 1919. In 1930, Howard J. Seesel, the president of Field-Schlick Inc., and his wife, Alice Seesel, resided at 705 Summit Avenue. In 1934, Howard J. Seesel, Sr., Alice Seesel, and Howard J. Seesel, Jr., also resided at this address. The Seesel family were members of the Minikahda Country Club, the St. Paul Athletic Club, and the Women's City Club of St. Paul in 1930. In 1977, Robert S. Kroeger, with a bachelor's degree in Physics from the University of Missouri, was a member of the American Scientific Affiliation-Canadian Scientific & Christian Affiliation and resided at this address. James Worrell Clarkson (1870-1953,) the son of James Bayard Clarkson (1838-1911) and Helen Ervinia Worrell/Helen Worrell Clarkson (1839- ,) was born in Middletown/Wilmington, Gloucester County, Delaware, was educated in the Wilmington, Delaware, public schools, moved to Duluth in 1888, engaged in the real estate business in Duluth, Minnesota, from 1889 until 1894, married Sarah Wood Browne (1874- ) at Duluth, Minnesota, in 1893, formed the firm of Clarkson & Company, a coal and real estate business, was chief clerk of the St. Paul branch of the Lehigh Valley Coal Company from 1894 until 1900, was a partner in the firm of Shotwell & Company, brokers, from 1901 until 1903, was self employed in the coal business from 1900 until 1905, incorporated the Clarkson Coal & Dock Company, a wholesale coal company with mines in Ohio and docks in Ashland, Wisconsin, was the president of the Clarkson Coal & Dock Company, was a first lieutenant of Company G, Third Infantry, Minnesota National Guard, in Duluth, Minnesota, later was the captain of Company E, Third Infantry, Minnesota National Guard, in St. Paul, resided at 2024 Iglehart Street in 1906, resided at 703 Fairmont Avenue in 1907, officed at the Pioneer Press Building in 1907, officed at the Merchants' National Bank in 1920, exhibited several horses at the 1920 Minnesota State Fair, had an estate at 94 Dellwood Avenue, Dellwood, Minnesota, in 1931, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the St. Paul Automobile club, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a Mason, was a member of the Knights Templar, and was a member of the Shrine. James Worrell Clarkson and Sarah Wood Browne were the parents of three children, James Worrell Clarkson (1894- ,) Elizabeth Bowne Clarkson (Mrs. Thomas Leslie) Wann II (1896-1956,) and Helena Worrell Clarkson (Mrs. Howard Arkell) Hogan (1900-1970.) Elizabeth Clarkson, the daughter of Worrell Clarkson, was a good friend of F. Scott Fitzgerald. Worrell Clarkson, Jr. attended Yale University from 1913 until 1917. The 588 foot long Lake Superior ore carrier Worrell Clarkson was built in 1923 by the Toledo Shipbuilding Company, Toledo, Ohio, was renamed the Ernest T. Wier in 1936, was renamed the George A. Fink in 1952, and was scrapped in Spain in 1973. Howard James Seesel, Jr. (1920-2004,) graduated from the St. Paul Academy, graduated from Yale University, was a World War II Army ambulance unit combat veteran, joined the Field-Schlick store staff in 1945, served in the Army Reserve until 1950, married Emily Seesel, led Field-Schlick from 1958 to 1979, was a board member for the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, was a development officer for the St. Paul Foundation from 1980 to 1987, was president of Mount Zion Temple in St. Paul, was a trustee of the Minnesota Orchestra, read for the Minnesota Radio Talking Book network for 15 years, and died of prostate cancer. Emily F. Seesel, the daughter of Howard J. Seesel, Jr., graduated from the William Mitchell School of Law in 1976 and was named an outstanding alumna in 1994. John Howard Seesel, a son of Howard J. Seesel, Jr., is a graduate of Harvard University, is a graduate of Boalt Hall School of Law at the University of California at Berkeley, and is an Attorney Advisor to Federal Trade Commission Commissioner Roscoe B. Starek, III. Richard Seesel, a son of Howard J. Seesel, Jr., resided in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 2004. Field-Schlick, an upscale apparel store that prospered during the era of big downtown retailers in St. Paul, was the store which D. W. Ingersoll and T. C. Field opened in 1856 under the name D. W. Ingersoll & Co. H. James Seesel, Jr., was the great grandson of Isidor Rose. Isidor Rose was an immigrant from Germany, initially boarded with Joseph Ullmann and Amelia/Emalia Soloman Ullmann, initially engaged in the liquor business, was one of the eight founders of Mount Zion Temple in 1856 with Joseph Ullmann, Henry Cole, David Lawitz, Elias Lawitz, Jacob Newman, Hirsh Heiman and Julius Mendelsohn, took over Joseph Ullmann's fur business with his brothers, Albert Rose, Isaac Edgar Rose, and Nathan Rose, when the Ullmanns returned to Germany, and was president of Mt. Zion Temple from 1873 to 1874 and from 1881 to 1884. Isidor Rose was the manager of the St. Paul branch of the Joseph Ullmann Fur Company and resided at 220 East Ninth Street in 1900. In 1914, Isidor Rose (1832-1915) lived at 701 Summit Avenue. Sarah Coleman was a grandaughter of Howard J. Seesel, Jr., and was a member of Mount Zion Temple. Leopold Wintner ( -1923,) who was born in Kortvelyek, Hungary, immigrated to the United States in 1863, was the first rabbi of Mount Zion Temple from 1871 to 1873, advocated enfranchising Jewish women in synagogue affairs from 1886, and was an early member of the Central Conference of American Rabbis, founded in 1889. From 1878 until at least 1903, Leopold Wintner was the rabbi of Temple Kahal Kodesh Beth Elohim in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, New York, moved the congregation from Orthodox to Reform, and, in 1900, over his initial objections, his daughter, Helene Wintner, a graduate of Barnard College and the Pratt Art School, became a professional actress, appearing in the leading role of "The Toll Gate Inn," first in Minneapolis and later in New York. In 1903, Leopold Wintner eulogized Roman Catholic Pope Leo XIII as a noble man and one who did more for religion than any other man. In 1906, Leopold Wintner, Ph. D., was the rabbi emeritus of Synagogue Beth Elohim. Isidor Rose ( -1915) and Edward B. Holbert ( -1945) both died in Ramsey County. Worrell Clarkson ( -1953) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Howard J. Seesel (1889-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sarbach, and died in Ramsey County. Alice Rose Seesel (1897-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dittenhofer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $195,000. The current owner of record of the property is Mary Ellen Kendall Froelich. [See note on D. W. Ingersoll, D. W. Ingersoll & Company, Field, Mahler & Company, and the Field, Schlick & Company for 670 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on Daniel Wesley Ingersoll for 535 Grand Hill.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 767 Goodrich Avenue.]

25 Kenwood Parkway (Former 25 Kenwood Terrace:) ; Built in 1921; Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3339 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The previous owner of record of the property was the trustee of Hobart B. Hewett and the current owners of record of the property are Eleanor R. Bisanz and William R. Bisanz. William R. Bisanz, with an M.B.A. from Columbia University, co-founded 44degrees.com, an industrial goods marketplace and ASP, worked in Madrid, Spain for the United States Foreign Service at the U.S. Embassy, and currently is a Vice President at Real Estate Equities.

26 Kenwood Parkway (Former 26 Kenwood Terrace:) Philip McQuillan/Phillip McQuillan House; Built in 1883 (1914 according to The Prairie School Traveler and Larry Millet; 1921 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Prairie School in style; Round & Wager, architects (Ellerbe & Round according to The Prairie School Traveler.) The structure is a two story, 2710 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Philip F. McQuillan resided at this address from 1915 to 1926. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Philip F. McQuillan resided at this address. In the mid-1920's, Philip Francis McQuillan, Jr., resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. F. McQuillan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dennis F. Lyons, the general counsel of the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Anna Lyons, resided at this address. In 1934, Dennis F. Lyons and Anna Gall Lyons resided at this address and were members of the Minikahda Country Club, the St. Paul Athletic Club, and the Women's City Club of St. Paul. In 2004, Gregory Johnson appealed a rear yard setback variance to the St. Paul Board of Zoning Appeals in order to attach the existing garage to the existing house at this address. Philip Francis McQuillan, Jr. (1877-1938,) was the grandson of Mary McQuillan and the son of Philip Francis McQuillan, Sr., and Louisa E. Allen McQuillan, was the youngest child, was born after his father had died, was a student at the St. Paul School of Business in 1898, then worked at the First National Bank, was in business with his brother, Allen McQuillan, in 1908, then worked at the First National Bank, was vice president for F. G. Mumm & Company in 1910, after briefly moving to Seattle, Washington, then resumed a partnership with Allen McQuillan in the real estate business. Philip Francis McQuillan, Jr., married Lorena G. Galbrieth (1885-1953) in 1908 and the couple had one child, David McQuillan (1907-1967). Lorena G. Galbrieth McQuillan was a graduate of the Visitation Convent, worked for Minnesota Savings & Loan after 1938, then moved to Colorado to reside with her son. Dennis F. Lyons unsuccessfully represented the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1922 in U. S. v. Northern Pacific Railway Company, 254 U.S. 251, relating to the application of the 1898 Safety Appliance Act to a Duluth terminal waterfront rail line, successfully represented the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1929 in Ex parte Northern Pacific Railway Company, 280 U.S. 142, an appeal from the dissolution of an injunction under the Interstate Commerce Act in a rate case, successfully represented the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1929 in General Insurance Company Of America v. Northern Pacific Railway Company, 280 U.S. 72, a negligence suit related to a warehouse fire near a rail line, and unsuccessfully represented the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1936 in Northern Pacific Railway Company v. State of Washington, 297 U.S. 403, a corporate state tax case. Phillip McQuillan ( -1925) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $881,500. The current owners of record of the property are Charles E. Torbert and Sara A. Torbert. Sara A. Torbert was a personal representative for the estate of Marie C. Blaisdell of Orange County, Florida, in 2004. [See note for the McQuillan family for 280 Banfil Street.] [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for Olin H. Round for 590 Summit Avenue.]

27 Kenwood Parkway (Former 27 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1890 (1916 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3032 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The Twelfth General Catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Augustus Hoeveler Kennedy resided at this address in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. S. Kennedy, A. H. Kennedy, W. H. Kennedy, and W. J. Kennedy all resided at this address. Aug. H. Kennedy, Walter J. Kennedy, and William H. Kennedy were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#1663) indicate that Augustus Hoeveler Kennedy (1883- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Captain in the Construction Division of the Quartermaster Corps, who was born in St. Paul, was a banker employed by the Capitol Trust & Savings Bank of St. Paul after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Stella H. Kennedy, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9417) indicate that Walter J. Kennedy (1891- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in 337th Field Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, was a sporting goods worker employed by R. S. Kennedy after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. R. S. Kennedy, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. S. Kennedy and A. H. Kennedy all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Augustus H. Kennedy, the vice-president of the First National Bank of St. Paul, his wife, Stella Kennedy, and Mrs. Stella Kennedy, the widow of Roger Kennedy, resided at this address. In 1934, Stella Hoeveler Kennedy, Augustus H. Kennedy, and Eleanor Johnston Kennedy resided at this address. The 1987 St. Agnes Catholic Church directory indicates that Clarke Torri resided at this address. Augustus H. Kennedy was a graduate of the University of Minnesota. Eleanor Johnston Kennedy was the widow of Roger S. Kennedy. The Kennedy family were members of the White Bear Yacht Club, the University Club, and the St. Paul Athletic Club in 1934. The Augustus H. Kennedy Memorial Fund Trust, in St. Paul, funds programs in the area of religion. Mary Eleanor Mitchell (1900- ) married William Hubert Kennedy and the couple had three children, Mary Lamberton Kennedy (1958- ,) Eleanor Mitchell Kennedy (1959- ,) and Elizabeth Hoeveler Kennedy (1960- .) Augustus Hoeveler Kennedy was a member of Mu Chapter of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity in 1917, was a 1907 graduate of the University of Minnesota, was a member of the University Club, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Club, was in real estate, and officed at 93 East Fourth Street in 1917. Augustus Hoeveler Kennedy (1883-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoeveler, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Roger S. Kennedy (1888-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoeveler, and died in Ramsey County. Walter J. Kennedy (1891-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoeveler, and died in Ramsey County. Stella Hoeveler Kennedy ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Eleanor V. Kennedy (1910-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McCucgan, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The property was last sold for $391,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owner of record of the property is Elizabeth M. Lilly. Elizabeth M. Lilly has a bachelor's degree in Economics from Hobart/William Smith College, began her career with Goldman, Sachs in 1985, then worked for Fund American and St. Paul Companies, spent six years as a manager at First Asset Management, co-founded Woodland Partners in 1996, and joined Gabelli Funds in 2002, when Woodland Partners becames a division of Gabelli Asset Management. [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.] [See note on the University Club for 420 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 767 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 18 Kenwood Parkway.] [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company/St. Paul Companies for 297 Bates Avenue.]

30 Kenwood Parkway (Former 30 Kenwood Terrace:) McNeil S. Stringer House; Built in 1885 (1915 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) English Cottage/Period Revival in style; C. H. Johnston, Jr., architect. The structure is a two story, 3104 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. M. S. Stringer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that McNeil S. Stringer, the president-treasurer of Dunn & Stringer, Inc., a real estate firm located at 380 Robert Street, and his wife, Louise W. Stringer, resided at this address. In 1934, McNeil Seymour Stringer, Sr., Louise Warner Stringer, McNeil Seymour Stringer, Jr., Warren Stringer, Jean L. Stringer, and Anne W. Stringer resided at this address. McNeil Seymour Stringer, Sr., and McNeil Seymour Stringer, Jr., were both graduates of Yale University. McNeil Seymour Stringer III attended Yale University from 1963 to 1967. McNeil Seymour Stringer (1885-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Seymour, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $1,135,000 and that sale occurred in 2005. The previous owners of record of the property were Nora Gunneng and Stuart Y. McDougal and the current owners of record of the property are Amy L. Vargo and Paul M. Vargo. Medical Transactions, Inc. is currently located at this address. Medical Transactions, Inc. is a business-to-business e-commerce medical procurement company. Stuart Y. McDougal graduated from Haverford College (B.A.) and the University of Pennsylvania (M.A., Ph.D.,) taught at the University of Michigan, is DeWitt Wallace Professor of English at Macalester College, was the former president of the American Comparative Literature Association, was the author of Made into Movies: From Literature to Film, New York, Holt Rinehart & Winston, 1985, and was the co-editor, with Andrew Horton, of Play It Again Sam: Retakes on Remakes, Berkeley, California, University of California Press, 1998. Paul M. Vargo, M. D., is a gastroenterologist. [See note on Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., and his family for 476 Summit Avenue.]

34 Kenwood Parkway (Former 34 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1925; Jacobethan in style. The structure is a two story, 4538 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold P. Bend resided at this address. In 1934, Harold P. Bend and Margerite Blakely Bend resided at this address. Harold Bend (1870-1974) was born on Staten Island, New York, moved to Saint Paul with his family at age seven, after his father had lost money in a Wall Street crash and came West to start over, helped found the Saint Paul-based sugar brokerage firm of Earl-Bend (later called Bend, Southall-Sleepack) in 1895 and remained with the firm for 70 years, but made his fortune not from the sugar business but as an early investor in the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, when he loaned $5,000 to the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing sometime before World War I and was repaid in stock. Bend gave The Saint Paul Foundation its largest donation ever in a bequest of more than $32 million in 1974. During the course of his long lifetime, Bend's Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company stock split 192 times. There is a Harold P. Bend Scholarship Fund at Carlton College, Northfield, Minnesota. Harold P. Bend (1870-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tomes, and died in Ramsey County. Marguerite Blakely Bend ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. In 2003, an application by Michael Rose of The Rose Group Inc., who resided at this address, for a side yard setback variance was denied by the Board of Zoning Appeals of the City of St. Paul. Davitt Felder, M. D., a general surgeon, resided here in 2005. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $1,290,000. The current owner of record of the property is Larry E. Jodsaas. Larry Jodsaas is the chairman of PolarFab, a semiconductor manufacturer. Larry Jodsaas served in the U. S. Navy and earned his engineering degree from the University of North Dakota, then had a 28-year career with Control Data Corporation before he and Greg Peterson purchased VTC Inc. from Control Data Corporation in 1990. PolarFab originated as the Microcircuits Division of Control Data Corporation in the 1970's and, in 1984, the division was purchased and operated independently as VTC Inc., specializing in the manufacture of high-speed integrated circuits and, in 1990, its owners concentrated the business solely on integrated circuits for the hard disk drive industry and, in 2000, the IC design segment of the company was sold, and it became PolarFab. [See the note for Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing for 682 Fairmount Avenue.]

36 Kenwood Parkway (Former 36 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1889; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3141 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. R. Toltz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Max Toltz, who officed at the Builder's Exchange Building, and his wife, L. Elizabeth Toltz, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Max R. Toltz ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Charlotte S. Johnson and D. Ward Johnson, Jr. Charlotte S. Johnson is a member of the board of trustees of the Otto Bremer Foundation. D. Ward Johnson, Jr., is a Vice President of the Church Finance Section of The Marshall Group, is a member of the board of trustees of the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library, is a trustee of the Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity, is a member of the board of trustees of the Humane Society for Companion Animals, and is a member of the board of trustees of the Twin Cities Public Television. [See note for Max Toltz for 352 North Bates Avenue.]

38 Kenwood Parkway (Former 38 Kenwood Terrace:) George C. Powers House; Built in 1905 (1889 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Mould and McNicol, architects. The structure is a two story, 3816 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. E. Benz resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Paul E. Benz, the vice president of George Benz & Sons, real estate and investments, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ada K. Benz resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Charles R. Gordon, a member of the Class of 1929, and Charles W. Gordon, a member of the Class of 1964, both resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that C. Richards Gordon (1911- ,) who attended the school from 1921 until 1929, who attended Princeton University, who was a Sergeant in the U. S. Marine Corps in the Pacific during World War II, and who was employed by the Minneapolis Star, resided at this address. C. Richards Gordon married Adelaide Washburn in 1945 and the couple had one child, Charles Gordon (1946- .) Paul E. Benz ( -1922) died in Otter Tail County, Minnesota. George T. Benz ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. George Cecil Powers (1888-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peverett, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $515,000. The current owners of record of the property are John W. Benton and Judith Benton. Dr. John W. Benton M.D. is an orthopedic surgeon. Judith Benton was a member of the Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Commission in 1999. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ada Benz resided at the former nearby 39 Kenwood Parkway.

41 Kenwood Parkway (Former 41 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1889 (1909 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Elizabethan in style. The structure is a two story, 3970 square foot, 11 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Orme resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Orme and Miss Beatrice Rohland all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James E. Orme, Sr., the secretary-treasurer of the Washington Foundry, his wife, Aurora Orme, and James E. Orme, Jr., a student, resided at this address. James E. Orme and Henry H. Orme were partners in 1902. The Washington Foundry & Machine Company was located on Washington Avenue in the industrial area next to the Mississippi River near the St. Paul High Bridge. The Washington Foundry was founded in 1888 by Major John Kelliher. John Kelliher (1840-1908) was born in St. John's, New Brunswick, moved with his family to Bridgewater, Plymouth County, Massachusetts, in 1844, completed his education at the Providence, Rhode Island, Commercial College, served in the 20th Massachusetts Regiment during the American Civil War, participated in the battles of Ball's Bluff, Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, Seven Pines, Malvern Hill, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, where he was severely wounded, the Wilderness, Spotsylvania Court House, where he was again severely wounded, and Petersburg, was present at Lee's surrender at Appomattox, moved to St. Paul in 1869 as a recruiting officer, continued to serve in the U. S. Army until 1870, studied law in Boston, Massachusetts, from 1870 until 1872, settled in St. Paul in 1872, married Harriet A. Irving, the daughter of John R. Irvine, in 1873, operated a carriage factory, founded and operated the Washington Foundry, invested in real estate, was a director of the Seven Corners Bank, was a life member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, and died of valvular heart disease. John Kelliher and Harriett A. Irving Kelliher had eight children, Hattie Bell Kelliher, John G. Kelliher, Robert J. Kelliher, Shirley I. Kelliher, Grant Kelliher, Alexander Kelliher, Richard Kelliher (1890-1892,) and __?__ Kelliher. John R. Irvine (1812-1878) was born in Danville/Dansville, New York, was initially a blacksmith and a plasterer, then became a grocer, came to Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, came to St. Paul in 1843 as a trader after spending time in Green Bay, Wisconsin, purchased the balance of the old Edward Phelan claim from Joseph Rondo after coming to St. Paul, sold most of the standing lumber on his land to the steamboats, was a real estate broker, erected the Flat-Iron Block on the corner of Eagle Street and Third Street, married Nancy Galbraith, was a member of the Minnesota Territorial Senate representing Ramsey County (District 21) from 1861 until 1864, and died in Minnesota. John R. Irvine and Nancy Galbraith Irvine were the parents of six daughters. Henry Orme ( -1918) and James E. Orme ( -1941) both died in Ramsey County. Aurora Orme (1871-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Abt, and died in Ramsey County. James "Jim" Edgerton Orme (1910-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bohland, and died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $395,000. The current owners of record of the property are Judith M. McGuigan and Thomas J. McGuigan. Thomas J. McGuigan is associated with the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, Inc., and the National Paper Trade Association. [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.]

42 Kenwood Parkway (Former 42 Kenwood Terrace:) Emil Geist House; Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 3656 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. In 1914 and 1916, Emil Geist was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that George A. Geist, a 1909 graduate of the University of Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Emil Geist and J. M. Geist all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Emil Geist and Mr. and Mrs. John Geist all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George A. Geist, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Margaret Geist, resided at this address. In 1934, Dr. George A. Guest, Margaret Spengler Guest, George A. Guest, Jr., W. J. Guest, Emil J. Guest, and Margaret S. Guest resided at this address. The Guest family were members of the Minikahda Country Club and the White Bear Yacht Club in 1934. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that George A. Geist, who attended the school from 1932 until 1933, and William J. Geist (1916- ,) who attended the school from 1929 until 1935, who attended the University of Minnesota, and who was employed by the Prudential Life Insurance Company, located at the First National Bank Building, both resided at this address. George A. Guest, Sr., was a graduate of the University of Minnesota. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that C. E. Bayless Griggs (1917- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1928 until 1935, who graduated from Yale University in 1939, who was employed by Griggs, Cooper & Company from 1939 until 1942, who was employed by Pan American Airways Ltd. in 1942, who was Airport Commander in the U. S. Army Air Corps from 1942 until 1946, who was the Assistant to the General Manager of Griggs, Cooper & Company from 1946 until 1950, who served as a Captain in the U. S. Army Air Corps in Africa and in the Middle East during World War II, and who pursued the hobbies of golf, fishing and tennis, resided at this address. C. E. Bayless Griggs married Mary Barbara Brown in 1947 and the couple had one son, Lewis Brown Griggs (1948- .) Barbara Brown was a daughter of Mary Barbara Brown and a step-daughter of C. E. Bayless Griggs. Emil Geist (1850- ) was a German-American jeweler who was the author of Emil Geist: Life Story and Incidents, published in Minnesota in 1920. In 1879, Emil Geist was the proprietor of a watch, clocks and jewelry shop located at 57 East Third Street and resided at the corner of Oak Street and Sixth Street. In 1890, Emil Geist wrote to the Minnesota Historical Society suggesting that the society advocate for the creation of a forest preserve for the Lake Itasca basin and the headwaters of the Mississippi River in Minnesota. In 1898, Emil Geist, a jeweler, was located at 66 East Seventh Street. In 1899, 1906, and 1910, the Elgin Watch Company made private label watches for Emil Geist. Emil Sebastian Geist (1878- ,) the son of Emil Geist, a jeweler, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from the Medical School of the University of Minnesota in 1900, studied in Europe until 1903, was a professor at the Medical School of the University of Minnesota, was an orthopedic surgeon at the University Free Dispensary, at St. Barnabas Hospital, at Asbury Hospital, at St. Mary's Hospital, and at the Minneapolis City Hospital, and was a member of the German Orthopedic Society, the American Medical Association, the Hennepin County Medical Society, the Minneapolis Medical Club and the Crow River Valley Medical Society. In 1914, Dr. Emil Geist presented a paper on painful conditions of the foot to the Central States Orthopedic Club and, in 1916, Dr. Emil Geist was the president of the Central States Orthopedic Club. In 1933, Dr. Emil Geist was a member of a committee on the treatment of joint tuberculosis appointed by the American Orthopaedic Association. Dr. Emil Geist married Augusta Ohage and the couple had at least one child, Annamarie "Mia" Geist Mann (1913-2003,) who attended Carleton College, graduated in 1935 from the University of Minnesota, studied at the University of Munich, then trained at Massachusetts General Hospital in the treatment of dyslexic children, married Frederick M. Mann, a university architect, eventually resided in Seattle, initiated the Seattle Street Tree program and the summer monthly Bicycle Sunday program, served on the Municipal Art Commission's Street Beautification Committee, served on Forward Thrust, was a board member of the Lighthouse for the Blind, was a board member of the World Affairs Council, was a board member of the Citizens' Planning Committee, was a board member of Historic Seattle, was a board member of the Street Tree Advisory Board, was a member of the Sunset Club, was a member of the Elizabeth Fischer Orthopedic Guild, and was a member of the Committee of 33. George A. Geist, Sr., (1888- ,) the son of Emil Geist and Anna Erd Geist, was born in St. Paul, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1911, was a member of the Alpha Kappa Kappa fraternity, was a physician and surgeon, married Margaret Spangler in 1914, attended the Clinical Congress of the American College of Surgeons in 1921, and resided at 275 West Sixth Street in 1909. Marie Geist (1853- ) was a cellist, pianist, and music teacher who had John B. Erd as her manager. Joseph Geist ( -1906,) a brother of Emil Geist, was a watchmaker employed by Emil Geist and resided at 57 East Third Street in 1879, had a jewelry store in Duluth which was operated after his death by his brother-in-law, John Erd. John B. Erd (1866- ) rejected an appointment as aide-de-camp to Minnesota Governor A. O. Eberhart in 1911. John B. Erd ( -1914) and Emil Geist (1851-1926) both died in Ramsey County. John M. Geist (1885-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Erd, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret A. Geist (1890-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brooker, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $650,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owners of record of the property are Colleen F. Reitan and David T. Reitan. Mr. and Mrs. David T. Reitan were financial supporters of Saint Thomas Academy in 2004 and 2005. David T. Reitan was a participant in the 2004 and 2005 Chequamegon Fat Tire Festivals. David Reitan is the Golf Course Superintendent for the White Bear Yacht Club in Dellwood, Minnesota. [See note on Adolph Olson Eberhart for 715 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 767 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.]

44 Kenwood Parkway (Former 44 Kenwood Terrace:) Built in 1912 (1915 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2874 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. R. S. Kennedy, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roger S. Kennedy, Jr., a wholesale dry goods dealer located at the Endicott Building, and his wife, Helen J. Kennedy, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Roger S. Kennedy, Jr., who attended the school from 1903 until 1907, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Roger S. Kennedy, Jr., a member of the Class of 1906, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. In 1936, Mrs. Cyrus Thurston Johnston of 599 Summit Avenue married John M. Harrison of Minneapolis at this address, where Mrs. Johnston's brother-in-law and sister, Mr. and Mrs. Roger Sherman Kennedy, resided. Roger S. Kennedy, Jr., was a member of the board of directors of the Minnesota Council on Developmental Disabilities in 1955. Roger S. Kennedy (1888-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoeveler, and died in Ramsey County. Helen Johanna Kennedy (1892-1972) was born in Minnesota and died in Stearns County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are A. David Kelly and Elizabeth W. Kelly. In 2003, David Kelly and Elizabeth Kelly were contributors to the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address. A. David Kelly (1948- ) is a Minneapolis lawyer with Kelly, Hannaford & Battles, P.A. who specializes in employee benefits law, is the vice chair of the board of trustees of The Minnesota Museum of American Art, is a donor to the James J. Hill Library, formerly served as chair of the Voyageurs National Park Association, formerly served as chair of the St. Paul Boys and Girls Club, formerly was a trustee of the Union Gospel Mission and formerly was a trustee of Carleton College. Charles B. Kelly resided at this address in 2003 and was retained by Gephardt For President Inc. [See note for the Kennedy family for 27 Kenwood Parkway.]

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last modified on August 9, 2011.