Thursday Night Hikes: St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill Architecture Notes, Part 2

Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill Architecture Notes, Part 2


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 2

St. Albans/Lower Crocus Hill

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: November 20, 2002

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

910 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1989 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Wilfred Kearton resided at this address. The McGraw Transit Directory in 1920 indicates that Wilfred Kearton was a signal engineer employed by the Minnesota RailRoad & Warehouse Commission. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wilford/Wilfred Kearton, a signal engineer employed by the Minnesota RailRoad & Warehouse Commission, his wife, Isabelle Kearton, and Roy L. Kearton, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, all resided at this address. Wilfred Kearton and Thomas Kearton also served as signal engineers for the Northern Pacific RailRoad. Isabella Kearton ( -1932) and Wilford Kearton ( -1944) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Susan M. Haigh and Gregg E. Johnson. Susan M. Haigh has a bachelor's degree from Macalester College and a law degree from William Mitchell College of Law, is the Executive Director of Twin Cities Habitat For Humanity, previously was the District 4 Ramsey County Commissioner, representing the neighborhoods of Macalester-Groveland, Summit Hill, St. Anthony Park, Summit-University, Merriam Park, Lexington-Hamline, Snelling-Hamline, Newell Park, Desnoyer Park, Mount Airy, and parts of the West Seventh/Fort Road neighborhood, previously served on the Ramsey/Washington County Resource Recovery Project Board, on the Metropolitan Solid Waste Management Coordinating Board, and on the Minnesota Landmarks Board of Directors, serves on the Macalester College Board of Trustees, serves on the Friends of the St. Paul Library Board, previously served on the St. Paul Riverfront Corporation Board of Directors, previously served on the Metropolitan Light Rail Transit Joint Powers Board, and previously served on the St. Paul/Ramsey County Children's Initiative Board of Directors. Sue Haigh is also the "under 14" girls coordinator for the Blackhawks Youth Soccer Club. [See note on the Minnesota Railroad & Warehouse Commission for 1321 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad for 432 Summit Avenue.]

911 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1901 (1916 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Prairie School in style. The structure is a two story, 2113 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. T. L. Birnberg resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Tobias L. Birnberg, a physician who officed at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. T. L. Birnberg resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Tobias L. Birnberg, a physician specializing in the diseases of children, who officed at the Lowry Medical Arts Building, 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Delia Birnberg, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Paul Gleeson and Paula W. Gleeson. Prairiefire Fibers & Resources is currently located at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. M. Birnberg resided at the former nearby 915 Fairmount Avenue.

916 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 3335 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Myron McMillan resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Myron McMillan and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Myron McMillan, the secretary-treasurer-general manager of the J. T. McMillan Company, his wife, Elsa McMillan, and Myron McMillan, Jr., all resided at this address. In 1934, Myron McMillan, Sr., Elizabeth House McMillan, Lasell McMillan, Elizabeth McMillan, Myron McMillan, Jr., Mary McMillan, and William McMillan all resided at this address. Lasell McMillan was a graduate of the University of Minnesota. The property was last sold for $279,900 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owner of record of the property is Mary E. Pickard. [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

917 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2330 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, three half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Dr. Ansel M. Birnberg resided at this address from 1916 to 1939. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ansel M. Birnberg, a dentist with an office at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. M. Birnberg resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ansel M. Birnberg, a dentist and a partner with Michael J. Cobler in the dental partnership Birnberg & Cobler, located at the Lowry Medical Arts Building, and his wife, Mamie Birnberg, resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Samuel Lipschultz resided at this address from 1940 to 1963. Samuel Lipschultz was a lawyer. Samuel Lipschultz (1913-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Chudacoff, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary M. Poston. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. R. Galt and Mrs. F. L. Galt all resided at the former nearby 921 Fairmount Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Wright resided at the former nearby 921 Fairmount Avenue.

922 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 2486 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry W. Allstrom, vice president and actuary for the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Edith K. Allstrom, and Marjory Allstrom, a stenographer of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church, resided at this address. Henry W. Allstrom (1880-1969) was an actuary and a Fellow in the Society of Actuaries who was born in Red Bank, New Jersey, was in the insurance business with the Northern Insurance Company of New York, the Manhattan Life Insurance Company, and the New York Life Insurance Company, was an actuary for and a director of the Occidental Life Insurance Company from 1906 to 1911, became an actuary for Northwestern National Life Insurance Company in 1911, and then became an actuary, trustee, and vice-president of the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company during his employment with that company from 1918 to 1950. Allstrom was involved in the development of reinsurance agreements among life insurance companies. Henry Allstrom and his wife, Edith K. Allstrom ( -1969,) had two children, Marjorie K. Allstrom and H. Willard Allstrom. Henry W. Allstrom (1880-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Beyer, and died in Ramsey County. Edith K. Allstrom (1882-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $310,001. The current owner of record of the property is Ernest Heyward. The Kydd Group, Convention Consultants & Management, Marketing & Sales Consulting, Party & Event Planning, also is located at this address. [See note on the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company for 1730 Portland Avenue.]

921-923 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 3656 square foot, eight bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. L. B. Newman, her daughter, and L. J. Newman all resided at this address. World War I veterans Lewis J. Newman and Maurice M. Newman both resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward A. Cooper, a clerk employed by Wondra Brothers, and Harry A. Cooper, a clerk, both resided at 921 Fairmount Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin J. Hurley, secretary and attorney with Dunn & Stringer Inc., and his wife, Josephine P. Hurley, resided at this address. Lewis B. Newman ( -1908) died in Ramsey County. Martin J. Hurley (1884-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Egan, and died in Ramsey County. Josephine Hurley (1888-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cronin, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is John Exner, who resides at 921 Fairmount Avenue.

928 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 2480 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. F. Schmitt resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Allstrom resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. Heger, a special agent employed by the Provident Mutual Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Virginia Heger, resided at this address. The Provident Mutual Life and Trust Company of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was founded in 1865, with Samuel R. Shipley, its first president, and Rowland Parry, its first actuary. By 1875, Provident Mutual Life continued to prosper and expanded throughout New England and the Mid-Atlantic states. The Provident Mutual Life Insurance Company was a domiciled mutual life insurance company of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, converted to a stock life insurance company in 2001, and was then acquired in 2002 by Nationwide Financial Services, Inc., a Delaware domiciled corporation. William F. Heger (1891-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Taufmann, and died in Ramsey County. Virginia Krank Heger (1894-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hundt, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $183,000. The current owners of record of the property are Marci M. Franzen and Richard J. Franzen. [See note for H. W. Allstrom for 922 Fairmont Avenue.]

929 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1918. The structure is a two story, 1658 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. L. C. Quast resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis C. Quast, a dentist with an office at 488 Wabasha Street, and his wife, Aurora Quast, resided at this address. Louis C. Quast (1887-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Strunk, and died in Waseca County, Minnesota. Louis Clement Quast (1911-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sterner, and died in McLeod County, Minnesota. Aurora Neumann Quast (1886-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rosskopf, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Emily L. Fields and Robert B. Lea, who reside at 931 Fairmount Avenue.

931 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1988 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Cherry Farmer and Mrs. P. N. Stocker both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert C. Peterson resided at this address. Priscilla N. Stocker (1870-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Douglas, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $317,500 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owners of record of the property are Emily L. Fields and Robert B. Lea.

932 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2416 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. G. O. Orr and O. J. Orr all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. G. O. Orr and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George O./C. Orr, a dentist who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Bessie G. Orr, resided at this address. George O. Orr ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Gale Orr (1868-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Dawn E. Georgieff and Michael K. Georgieff. Michael Georgieff is a member of the Minnesota Off-Road Cyclists organization.

935 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 1747 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. William Ginsberg resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Ginsberg, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $325,000. The current owner of record of the property is Ryan T. Sieloff. Ryan Sieloff is a retail manager for Coastal Seafoods.

<p> 936 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 2020 square foot, five bedroom, bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Healy resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. J. Lacy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Orlando J. Lacy, a vice-president of the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Helen E. Lacy, resided at this address. Marcus J. Healey ( -1928) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Martin J. Healey (1901-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Quinn, and died in Wabasha County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Jeanette L. Zaczkowski and Leon M. Zaczkowski. Leon M. Zaczkowski (1953- ,) Director of Project Management for Xcel Energy Inc., participated in the 1999 Grandma's Marathon in Duluth, Minnesota, in the 2004 Life Time Fitness Triathlon in Minneapolis, in the 2006 Trail Mix Race Minnesota 50K in Bloomington, Minnesota, and in the 2007 Trail Mix Race Minnesota 50K in Bloomington, Minnesota. [See note on the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company for 1730 Portland Avenue.]

941 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1920. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2343 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry C. Soucheray, treasurer of the St. Paul Abstract Company, and his wife, Anna C. Soucheray, resided at this address. Henry C. Soucheray was the president of the Minnesota Land Title Association in 1922 and 1923. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Soucheray resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that D. Brooks Henderson, Jr., resided at this address from 1940 to 1981. In the 1930's, Brooks Henderson was a leading local radio newscaster in the Twin Cities as KSTP's "Phillips 66 Reporter." Brooks Henderson and Walter Ridder were the heads of a St. Paul Jaycees "Stop Careless Talk" campaign during World War II. In 1944, Brooks Henderson provided a report on the reaction of the Twin Cities to D-Day that was broadcast nationally on the evening of the June 6 D-Day invasion of Nazi Europe as part of an NBC Round-Up of reactions around the country. Brooks Henderson also was a personality on KSTP's Sunset Valley Barn Dance musical variety program from 1940 until the 1950's. Ellen Birdseye Wheaton (1816-1858,) the wife of Charles Augustus Wheaton (1809-1882,) was the aunt of Brooks Henderson of St. Paul. Charles Augustus Wheaton was a major figure in the central New York state abolitionist movement and Underground Railroad, moved to Northfield, Minnesota, and, with Charles M. Goodsell, gave the land that became the Carleton College campus. In 1934, Brooks Henderson and Annabel Wheaton Henderson (1870-1946) resided at 846 Lincoln Avenue. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Brooks Henderson III, a member of the Class of 1958, resided at this address. The Minnesota Land Title Association was formed in 1908 as a professional association to secure the integrity of land titles throughout the state. The organization grew out of the interest of abstracters from around the state to form an association to ensure the survival of their businesses after the introduction of the "Torrens" system of land registration in Minnesota in 1901 and to "standardize" the compilation and preparation of abstracts. The real estate Bar mistakenly thought at the time that the Torrens system would eventually eliminate the usefulness of abstracts of title. The first Minnesota Land Title Association constitution was written in 1911. The initial planning meetings were attended by William H. Pryor of Duluth, Mr. Woodhull of the Merrill Abstract Company of Minneapolis, W. S. Jenkins of the Real Estate Title Insurance Company of Minneapolis, L. R. Moyer of Montevideo, Minnesota, H. C. Soucheray of St. Paul, R. B. Daniel of Marshall, Minnesota, H. Andree of Long Prairie, Minnesota, Joe Mushel of Foley, Minnesota, C. C. Strander of Crookston, Minnesota, Joseph Winczewski of Winona, Minnesota, L. G. Roesner of Winona, Minnesota, and A. G. Trommald of Brainerd, Minnesota. The Minnesota Land Title Association held its first annual meeting in 1911. In 1929, the American Title Association adopted its first standardized title insurance policy. Villa Collyers McDowell, of Olivia, Minnesota, was elected the first woman president of the Minnesota Land Title Association in 1932. The business of title insurance proliferated after World War II and many abstract companies became title agencies during and after the 1950's, when title insurance underwriters expanded to a national scope of operations. Minnesota's first abstracter's license law was enacted in 1957. The federal Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act ("RESPA") in 1974, an attempt to prevent abusive practices such as kickbacks and unearned fees and to provide information to consumers before closing by way of disclosures and other advance information, changed the land title business. Members of the Minnesota Land Title Association are abstractors, title insurance agents, closing agents, title insurance underwriters, and attorneys. Henry C. Soucheray ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. D. Brooks Henderson (1908-1991) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wheaton, and died in Ramsey County. David Brooks Henderson (1940-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $304,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lisa P. Chen and Gregory L. Bluem. Reverend Roy D. Phillips, a former lead minister at Unity Church-Unitarian, St. Paul, for 28 years, resided at this address. Roy D. Phillips was the author of Transforming Liberal Congregations for the New Millennium, published in St. Paul by Unity Church-Unitarian in 1996. Roy Phillips was the Interim Minister of two Florida UUA congregations in transition in 2001, was a member of the Board of Starr King School for the Ministry in 2001, and was a member of the editorial advisory Board of the on-line UU journal, The Journal of Liberal Religion, published by Meadville Lombard Theological School in 2001. [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.] [See note on KSTP Radio for 194 Summit Avenue.]

942 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1722 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. R. Poppe resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Forest R. Poppe, a lawyer who officed at the Merchants Bank Building, and his wife, Martha D. Poppe, resided at this address. Forest Poppe ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Martha D. Poppe (1887-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Drawe, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Kathleen M. Liedl.

945 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 1728 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin Feldstein, a contractor with the Ramsey Building Corporation, and his wife, Ida Feldstein, resided at this address. Ben Feldstein (1884-1977) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kaminsky, and died in Ramsey County. Ida Feldstein (1885-1958) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee for Martha Richardson.

946 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2790 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Girvin resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Wright, a salesman employed by Ernest Bjorklund & Company, and his wife, Grace Wright, resided at this address. James Henry Girvin ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. John A. Wright ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. Grace H. Wright (1888-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hills, and died in Ramsey County. Ernest Israel Bjorklund (1885-1978) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Donald F. Eldred and Marilou Eldred. Marilou Eldred is a member of the St. Mary's College Twin Cities Alumnae Club. Simon Lifpitz and Jennie Lifpitz resided at the nearby former 947 Fairmount Avenue in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Podlasky resided at the former nearby 947 Fairmount Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Joseph Lifpitz (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Wagoner assigned to Mobile Hospital No. 11, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a moving picture operator and manager at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a salesman employed by the Times Square Auto Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Simon Lifpitz, at the nearby 947 Fairmount Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Nippolt resided at the former nearby 947 Fairmount Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Julia K. Nippolt (1853-1925,) the widowed mother of Edward C. Nippolt, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Germany and who died of acute cardiac dilatation, resided at the nearby former 947 Fairmount Avenue in 1925. Julia Katherine Nippolt ( -1925) and Edward C. Nippolt ( -1944) both died in Ramsey County. Goal Line Marketing Group, LLC, cultivating and expanding corporate sponsorships, is listed as being located at 947 Fairmount Avenue.

949 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2844 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Lucker resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William A. Lucker, a phonograph dealer, and his wife, Carolyn Lucker, resided at this address. William Alfred Lucker (1884-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brinkman, and died in Ramsey County. Carolyn P. Lucker ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is April Christensen, who resides in Minneapolis.

950 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 1920 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran John A. Nagle (1898- ,) a Petty Officer, resided at this address in 1919. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. M. T. Nagle resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred H. Mork, a partner with A. Amos McCree and Guy Chase in McCree & Company, a general contractor, and his wife, Helen Mork, resided at this address. In 1950, Fred H. Mork owned residential property in St. Paul covered by a fire insurance policy that included explosions and, after a minor boiler explosion that put the heating system out of commission during a cold weather spell during an absence from the property, successfully sued for coverage in Fred H. Mork v. Eureka-Security Fire & Marine Insurance Company. Michael T. Nagle (1868-1955) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Fred Herman Mork (1896-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Ramsey County. Helen Ann Mork (1896-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Galvin, and died in Ramsey County. Andrew Amos McCree (1883-1957) was born outside Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Swan, and died in Hennepin County. Guy Chase ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Paula M. Quinn and Thomas Quinn.

951 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1924. The structure is a 1516 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Morris Baker, associated with Independent Auto Supply, and his wife, Bessie Baker, resided at this address. Morris Baker (1886-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Bessie Baker (1891-1981) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $167,000. The current owners of record of the property are Joy Norquist and Ronald T. Wawrzon. Ronald Wawrzon is the Office Manager of the Shield Technologies Corporation, manufacturers of envelop protective covers.

954 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 1846 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. T. Brown and Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Brown all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James G. Willner, a buyer, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Willner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel Peilen and his wife, Mathilda Peilen, resided at this address. Information provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints indicates that Samuel M. Peilen (1866-1939) was born in Lithuania. Samuel M. Peilen ( -1939) and Mathilda Peilen ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Patricia L. Selbitschka and Ronald J. Selbitschka. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. S. Moore and their daughter all resided at the former nearby 956 Fairmount Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. B. St. Pierre resided at the former nearby 956 Fairmount Avenue. Louis St. Pierre (1898-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wolf, and died in Ramsey County. James S. Moore ( -1931) and Leon St. Pierre ( -1942) both died in Ramsey County.

957 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1608 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Schmitz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose E. Schmitz, the widow of Andrew J. Schmitz, resided at this address. Andrew Joseph Schmitz ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Rose E. Schmitz (1878-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nickols, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are the trustees for Ariel W. Dickerson and G. Kent Dickerson.

958 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1733 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#32497) indicate that James M. Moore (1899- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in the U. S. S. M. A. Cadet Flying Squadron, who was born in New York City, New York, moved to Minnesota in 1907, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a student at induction, was a student after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, James S. Moore, at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that James Miller Moore (1899- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Aviation Section of the Signal Reserve Corps, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. D. Dysinger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stephen D. Dysinger, secretary of Holm & Olson, Inc., Steven H. Dysinger, a bookkeeper at Holm & Olson, Inc., and his wife, Viola M. Dysinger, resided at this address. Stephan Douglas Dysinger (1861-1931) was the secretary of Holm & Olson, Inc., a St. Paul florist, from 1908 through 1931. James Miller Moore was a graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School in 1922 and was an incorporator of the St. Paul Gyro Club in 1924. Stephen D. Dysinger ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Thomas H. Lindner and Kathryn A. Rehwaldt. Thomas H. Lindner received a bachelors degree in Journalism in 1978 from the University of Minnesota and is the News Director for KARE-TV. Kathryn Rehwaldt was an alumna of Barnard College, Class of 1974. Tom Lindner & Kathryn Rehwaldt were financial supporters of the Madeline Island (Wisconsin) Wilderness Preserve in 2004 and 2006.

961 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 3327 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. I. Brown resided at this address. Edwin Brown was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. E. Willard and Daniel Willard all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John M. Stoughton (1850-1925,) the married father of George M. Stoughton, who was born in Wisconsin to parents born in the United States and who died of a fracture of the scapula and chest, resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that Daniel E. Willard, an agricultural agent employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, his wife, Emily D. Willard, Daniel E. Willard, Jr., a law student employed by the law firm of Oppenheimer, Dickson, Hodgson, Brown & Donnelly, and Clara M. Turner, a teacher at the Summit School, all resided at this address. In 1896, George M. Stoughton, the son of John M. Stoughton, a traveling salesman for Guiterman Brothers and a resident of 65 East Twelfth Street, was badly injured by a runaway horse while cycling to Como Park. In 1905, John M. Stoughton was a member of the United Brotherhood of Paper Makers of America of the American Federation of Labor in 1905. John M. Stoughton (1850- ,) the son of Guy Stoughton (1801- ) and Clarinda Stebbins Stoughton (1818- ,) married Mary Mansfield. Daniel Everett Willard (1862-1947,) the son of Clinton Dewitt Willard and Lavinia Lanphear Willard, was born in Nile, New York, graduated from Alfred College in 1888, was a professor of natural sciences at the Mayville, North Dakota, Normal School, from 1895 until 1903, married Mary Emily Davis in Nebraska City, Nebraska, was professor of geology at the State Agricultural College at Fargo, North Dakota, from 1903 until 1910, was a geologist employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad after 1910, resided in St. Paul, was the author of The Story of the Prairies, or The Landscape Geology of North Dakota, published in 1907 by the Ihling Brothers & Everard Company of Kalamazoo, Michigan, was the author of The Story of the North Star State, published in 1922 by the Webb Publishing Company, a St. Paul publisher, was the author of Montana, The Geologic Story, published in 1935 by The Science Press Printing Company of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and died in Nebraska City, Nebraska. Willard received his bachelors (1888) and masters (1890) degrees from Alfred College, New York, did graduate work at the University of Chicago (1893-1895,) served as the principal of the Albion, Dane County, Wisconsin, Academy (1888-1892,) was the North Dakota State Geologist, served as a member of the United States Geological Survey (1902-1905,) was the development and agricultural specialist for the Northern Pacific RailRoad (1910-1920) and the Great Northern RailRoad (1920-1924,) and was a director of the Agricultural College Survey of North Dakota. Edwin E. Brown (1885-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gregersen, and died in Ramsey County. Edwin C. Brown (1899-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Swenson, and died in Ramsey County. Edwin W. Brown (1896-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dvorak, and died in Ramsey County. John Morton Stoughton ( -1925,) Clara Miller Turner ( -1930,) and Georgie M. Stoughton ( -1942) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $179,000 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owners of record of the property are Margaret M. Gast and Barbara E. Lackner. Margaret M. Gast, Attorney at Law, is currently located at this address. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

964 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2117 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Schnier resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Fulton resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alf M. Fulton, the manager of works for the Northern Malleable Iron Company, and his wife, Louise Fulton, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Donald B. Fulton, a member of the Class of 1941, resided at this address. John Louis Schnier (1879-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Beckenhardt, and died in Ramsey County. Alfred M. Fulton ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is James M. Miller. [See note on the Northern Malleable Iron Company for 943 Euclid Street.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

965 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 2627 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Conrad J. Ertz resided at this address in 1907. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Ertz resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Marion Ertz, the widow of Conrad J. Ertz, resided at this address and that Norman J. Ertz, an employee of the McAnulty Improvement & Investment Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dennis J. McMahon, vice president of Minnesota Oil & Development Company, and his wife, Julia L. McMahon, resided at this address. In 1934, Ernest A. Countryman and Louise Whitney Countryman resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that James E. Camp, who attended the school from 1921 until 1922, resided at this address. Conrad J. Ertz (1866- ,) the son of Mathias Ertz and Barbara Ertz, was born in Carver County, Minnesota, received a collegiate education, at Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, was a resident of St. Paul after 1883, was a wholesale produce and fruits merchant, was in wholesale produce and fruit business after 1888, married Marian Longueville, the daughter of Nicholas Longueville (1835- ) and Anna Strutz Longueville (1841- ,) at Caledonia, Minnesota, in 1891, was a Roman Catholic, successfully sued the Minneapolis Produce Exchange in 1900 over alleged conspiracy to injure his business through unfair business practices in Conrad J. Ertz v. Produce Exchange of Minneapolis, 79 Minn. 140, was in the grain commission business with Jameson & Hevener in 1901, was a member of the St. Paul Produce Exchange, was a member of the St. Paul Board of Trade, and officed at 30-34 East Third Street in 1907. Conrad J. Ertz and Marian Longueville Ertz were the parents of Stella Ertz, Norman Ertz, and Conrad J. Ertz, Jr. Conrad J. Ertz, Jr., defeated Tom Rishworth for the title of the Most Inept Bowler at the U.S_ Jaycees Central States Conference in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, in 1941. Ernest A. Countryman was a World War I veteran who resided at 1840 Selby Avenue in 1919. Conrad J. Ertz ( -1917) died in Ramsey County. Dennis Judson McMahon ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Earl M. Smith. [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.] [See note on Thomas Rishworth for 42 South St. Albans Street.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

968 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1393 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Olof Holm and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Samuel Chern, a partner with Hyman Chern and Meyer Sherman in the St. Paul Fur & Hide Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Althen and Mrs. Katherine Althen all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Schroeder, the secretary of the St. Paul Board of Trade, his wife, Elizabeth D. Schroeder, William F. Althen, a buyer for A. Schoch Grocery Company, and his wife, Lillian W. Althen, all resided at this address. Louis W. Schroeder (1867- ,) the son of Henry H. Schroeder (1834-1904) and Sophia Schroeder (1830- ,) was born in St. Paul, attended the German parochial and the public schools of St. Paul, attended the Faddis Business College in St. Paul, married Elizabeth P. Weber, the daughter of Anna Weber, in 1892, was a merchant and manufacturer, manufactured and dealt in upholstered furniture, mattresses and kindred commodities at 315 Rice Street in St. Paul after 1892, was a Republican, was a member of the North Central Commercial Club, was a member of the Junior Pioneers, was a Lutheran, was a member of the board of trustees of the English Lutheran Church of the Redeemer in St Paul, resided at 353 West Central Avenue in 1907, and officed at 16 East Sixth Street in 1907. Louis W. Schroeder and Elizabeth P. Weber Schroeder were the parents of seven children, Louis Charles William Schroeder, Carl Henry Schroeder, Anna Louisa Schroeder, William Emil Schroeder, Albert Julius Schroeder, Dorothy Elsie Schroeder, and Alice Eleanore Schroeder. Louis Schroeder (1893-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weber, and died in Ramsey County. Louis W. Schroeder ( -1953) and William Althen ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth D. Schroeder (1889-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuhlmann, and died in Ramsey County. Lillian S. Althen (1881-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tappert, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $250,000. The current owners of record of the property are Bonnie Sweeney and Thomas Sweeney. [See note for Olof/Olaf Holm for 558 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on A. Schoch Grocery for 1576 West Osceola Avenue.]

969 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 2210 square foot, six bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that James Kelly, his daughters, and A. T. Kelly all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. O. L. Harper resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Orrol L. Harper, an osteopath, resided at this address. Anthony T. Kelly ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Susan M. Munson and Emmanuel T. Regala. Emmanuel Regala is the son of Emilio Regala, Jr., and Letty Tolentino, married Susan Monson, and the couple have two children, Marie Regala and Alex Regala. Manny Munson-Regala, associated with United Health Care in 2007, was a member of the board of directors of SteppingStone Theatre in 2007. Manny Munson-Regala was appointed Deputy Commissioner for the Market Assurance Division at the Minnesota Department of Commerce in 2008 and previously was a Claim Attorney for State Farm Fire & Casualty, was Corporate Counsel and Asst. Vice President of Government Affairs for the St. Paul Companies, and was Director of Legal, Regulatory and Government Affairs at the United Health Group.

972 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1505 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Kohl resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Brink resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hugo A. Brink, a field supervisor, and his wife, Olivia Brink, resided at this address. John C. Kohl (1887-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jordan, and died in Ramsey County. Hugo Ansgarius Brink (1885-1972) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Nancy A. Parlin.

973 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1843 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Cary resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alan G. Cary, a salesman employed by Robinson Cary & Son Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. J. Hoy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert G. Dillon, assistant manager of the Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Doris Dillon, resided at this address. Agustus Gordon Cary ( -1916) died in Ramsey County. Robert G. Dillon (1896-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McMahon, and died in Ramsey County. Doris Dwyer Dillon (1897-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Smith, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $331,000. The current owners of record of the property are Grant D. Fairbairn and Kara K. Smith. Grant D. Fairbairn is a graduate of University of Wisconsin in 2000 and of Georgetown University Law Center in 2003, is a senior associate in the Intellectual Property and Commercial Litigation Groups at the Fredrikson & Byron law firm, and is a board member of the Minnesota Sinfonia and is associated with the Volunteer Lawyers Network.

975 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 3629 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Cody resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Delia Cody, a domestic, and Anna Dolan, a clerk employed by J. T. McMillan Company, both boarded at this address and that John Cody resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Cody resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Cody and his wife, Della Cody, resided at this address. Della Cody ( -1930,) John Cody ( -1932,) and John Francis Cody ( -1942) all died in Ramsey County. John M. Cody (1878-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John J. Cody (1887-1980) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tobin, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Elaine M. Benson Moosbrugger and Grant A. Moosbrugger. In 1976, Grant Moosbrugger authored the paper "Meaning of the Word Chicano" in Mexican-American History Project Papers. Elaine M. Benson Moosbrugger was a financial supporter of the Minnesota Humanities Commission in 2004. Elaine Benson-Moosbrugger was the lead individual in securities law litigation over an investment in a Costa Rican resort and an unsuccessful appellant before the Minnesota Court of Appeals in Elaine Benson-Moosbrugger, et al. vs. Robert P. Day, et al. C3-02-34 (2002.) [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

976 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 2704 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma Nelson, the widow of Gustav Nelson and president of the Standard Stone Company, Arthur W. Carlsten, a manager, Carrie Carlsten, the widow of Halvor A. Carlsten, Harold Carlsten, a bookkeeper, and Myrtle Carlsten, a student, all resided at this address and that the Standard Stone Company was located at this address. Arthur W. Carlsten ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. Arthur W. Carlsten (1895-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $217,000. The current owners of record of the property are Deborah H. Mande and Louis R. Mande. In 2000, Louis R. Mande was an Assistant Hennepin County Attorney. Louis R. Mande was a financial supporter of the Law School at Temple University in 2004.

988 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914; Augustus F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 2527 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. D. Bumgardner resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Sidney D. Bumgardner, a partner with Louis A. Bumgardner and Hugh K. Bumgardner in the L. A. Bumgardner Company, railroad contractors located at the Central Bank Building, both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. D. Bumgardner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Sidney/Stanley D. Bumgardner, associated with L. A. Bumgardner & Company, railroad and highway contractors, and his wife, Lydia Bumgardner, resided at this address. Louis A. Bumgardner was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1922. Sidney D. Bumgardner was the inventer of an identification clip for photographic films in 1917 and was the holder of U. S. Patent (#1,284,582.) Magnus E. Stange, of St. Paul, assigned one-third of his interest in U. S. Patent (#1,086,336) for improvements in dumping cars in 1913. Sidney D. Bumgardner (1889-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McMenemy, and died in Ramsey County. Louis A. Bumgardner (1858-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cooley, and died in Ramsey County. Hugh K. Bumgardner (1891-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McMenemy, and died in Ramsey County. Lysia L. Bumgardner (1890-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dahl, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $190,000. The current owners of record of the property are Michael E. Florey and Catherine A. Gnatek. Michael E. Florey is a principal in the law firm of Fish & Richardson PC, PA, of Minneapolis. Catherine Gnatek, unemployed, contributed to the Barack Obama for President campaign in 2007-2008. Michael E. Florey and Catherine A. Gnatek were financial supporters of the Breck School as parents of a student in 2007. [See note on Augustus F. Gauger.] [See note on the Dale & Bumgardner Company RailRoad.]

990 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 2190 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Regan and W. A. Regan all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Murray and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Francis H. Murray and his wife, Lillian Murray, resided at this address. Francis Henry Murray (1873-1963) was a land colonization agent for the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Sault Ste. Marie (Soo Line) RailRoad and other railroad companies and was involved in various Catholic colonization projects in northern Minnesota and Wisconsin during the period 1910 to 1912. The Catholic Colonization Company of St. Paul was sponsored by the Soo Line RailRoad. William James Regan ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. Lillian D. Murray (1895-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $271,500 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Alexandra B. Klass and Stephen K. Warch. Alexandra B. Klass is a 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, is a 1992 graduate of the Law School at the University of Wisconsin, was a law clerk to the Hon. Barbara B. Crabb, Chief District Judge, United States District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, was a Special Assistant Minneapolis City Attorney, was a partner at Dorsey & Whitney LLP, was an Associate Professor of Law at William Mitchell College of Law, and is an Associate Professor of Law at the University of Minnesota Law School. Stephen K. Warch ( -1966) was born New Haven, Connecticut, is a 1988 graduate of Grinnell College, is a 1991 graduate of the Law School at the University of Wisconsin, was an Assistant Minnesota Attorney General and Manager of the Commerce and Charities Divisions of the Minnesota Attorney General's Office, is a shareholder in the law firm of Halleland, Lewis, Nilan & Johnson, is Program Chair for the Minnesota State Bar Association's Health Law Section, and teaches as an Adjunct Professor of Law at William Mitchell College of Law. [See note on the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad.] [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.]

993 Fairmount Avenue: Isaac H. Price Residence; Built in 1887. The structure is a two story, 2116 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Isaac H. Price resided at this address from 1890 to 1900. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Price and their daughters all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ethelbert Fremont Geer (1858-1916,) the husband of Helen Hazen Geer, who was born in Connecticut to parents born in the United States and who died of cerebral embolism, resided at this address in 1916. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Everett Kinne Geer, a 1915 graduate of the University of Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. E. F. Geer resided at this address. Everett K. Geer, Paul H. Geer, and Prentice Selden Geer all were World War I veterans who resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. V. T. Kolb resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles E. Sandeen resided at this address. Ethelbert Fremont Geer was a doctor, married Helen Hazen, and the couple had eight children, Helen Fremont Geer (Mrs. Harry Charles) Melby, Elihu Hazen Geer (1887-1888,) Ethelberta Evans Geer (Mrs. Henry Longstreet) Taylor, Paul Hazen Geer, Everett Kinne Geer (1893-1950,) Prentice Selden Geer, Harriet Hale Geer (Mrs. Henry Benbrook) Hall, and Editha Lynde Geer (1904- .) Ethelbert Fremont Geer (1858-1916) was born in Hartford, Connecticut, graduated from the University of Vermont, College of Medicine, in 1884, settled in St. Paul in 1884, was a physician, married Helen Rebecca Hazen (1863- ,) was a prominent member of the Ramsey County Medical Society, and died in St. Paul. Prentice S. Geer (1894-1965) was a Corporal with the 67th Company, Fifth Regiment (U.S. Marine Corps,) Second Division, of the American Expeditionary Force during World War I and won the Distinguished Service Cross and the Navy Cross for extraordinary heroism in action at Chateau-Thierry, France, on June 6, 1918, when isolated and under enemy counterattack, he courageously charged the enemy with a bayonet and, with the assistance of his comrades, captured a machine-gun crew and repulsed the enemy attack. Prentice Geer was promoted to the rank of Colonel, served during World War II with the Third Marines, Reinforced, Third Marine Division, was promoted a Brigadier General, and was buried in San Diego, California. In 1924, Everett K. Geer was a participant in a symposium in Rochester, Minnesota, on artificial pneumo-thorax sponsored by the American Association of Thoracic Surgery. Everett K. Geer (1892/1893-1950) was born in St. Paul, married Olive B. Lewis, graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1918, was the author of the article "Tuberculosis Among Nurses" in the Archives of Internal Medicine, Vol. 49, No. 1 (1932,) was an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Minnesota in 1935, and died in an airplane crash in St. Paul. Dr. Henry Longstreet Taylor (1857-1932) was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, the son of David H. Taylor and Laura Carroll Taylor, graduated from Haverford College, received a medical degree from the College of Ohio/University of Cincinnati in 1882, studied for two years with Dr. Robert Koch in Berlin, Germany, and for two years in Prague, returned to Cincinnati, Ohio, moved to Ashland, North Carolina, relocated in 1893 to St. Paul, created a foundation to fight tuberculosis, became secretary of the Ramsey County Medical Society in 1894, was appointed the head of a special commission to study the establishment of a sanatorium, was president of the Minnesota Public Health Association from 1924 to 1927, was the president of the National Tuberculosis Association in 1928, and was president of the Ramsey County Public Health Association in 1929. Isaac H. Price ( -1912) and Ethelhert Fremont Geer ( -1916) both died in Ramsey County. Paul H. Geer (1890-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hagen, and died in Ramsey County. Harriet Geer Hall (1897-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hazen, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $305,000. The current owners of record of the property are the trustees for Harold R. Bailey and Laura J. Bailey. [See note on H. Longstreet Taylor (1912-1983) for 748 West Linwood Avenue.]

997 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 3032 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Helen B. Michaud, the widow of Edward Michaud, resided at this address. Helen Beatrice Michaud (1913-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mock, and died in Ramsey County. Edward A. Michaud ( -1925) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Linda M. Nelson.

1000 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1364 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. A. L. Flinn and Alice H. Flinn resided at this address in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Flinn and their daughter all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Charles A. Flinn (1897 - ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 6' 1/4 " tall, was a student at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Verdun sector, and was a student after the completion of service, resided at this address with his father, A. L. Flinn. The 1920 city directory indicates that Allan L. Flinn, the chief rate expert employed by the State RailRoad & Warehouse Commission, resided at this address and Charles A. Flinn, a student, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Flinn resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Allan L. Flinn, a rate expert employed by the State Railroad & Warehouse Commission, and his wife, Alice Flinn, resided at this address. Allan L. Flinn ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Alice J. Flinn (1868-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Briggs, and died in Ramsey County. Charles A. Flinn (1897-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hammond, and died in Cottonwood County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $162,500. The current owners of record of the property are Cynthia Grundmeier and Daniel D. Grundmeier. [See note on the Minnesota Railroad & Warehouse Commission for 1321 West Osceola Avenue.]

1003 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 3032 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin F. Gass, a mining contractor, and his wife, Alice Gass, resided at this address. Alice Gass ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $155,250. The current owners of record of the property are Ann Kirby McGill and David L. McGill. Ann K. Kirby McGill is the Assistant to the Director of the Office of State Relations at the University of Minnesota and is an alumna of the Minnesota Education Policy Fellowship Program.

1004 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1453 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. T. Straeter resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. C. H. Gerber resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bernhardt C. H. Gerber, the vice-president of the Modern Business Institute, Inc., and his wife, Bertha J. Gerber, resided at this address. In 1924, Otto Straeter resided at 1865 Portland Avenue. Otto T. Straeter (1884-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Bernhardt C. H. Gerber (1872-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bundy, and died in Kandiyohi County. Bertha Gerber ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are David C. McManus and Kathleen M. McManus.

1008 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1584 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. W. Aberle resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that David W. Aberle resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. W. Aberle resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bronson West, an advertising executive employed by the Greve Advertising Agency, and his wife, Marjorie B. West, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Bronson West (1889- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1909 until 1910, who graduated from Harvard University in 1912, who served at Fort Snelling during World War I, who was a member of Company H of the 15th Battalion of the Minnesota Home Guard in 1918, who was the military instructor at Cretin High School, who was a Major in the 206th Infantry, who was a horseback polo referee, and who was employed in advertising at the Foot-Schulze Building, resided at this address. Bronson West was the son of John B. West, the founder of the West Publishing Company. Bronson West married Marjorie C. Bemis (1892- ,) the daughter of Edward Putman Bemis (1861- ) and Mattie O Graves, in St. Paul in 1912 and the couple had two children, Ann West (1913- ) and Peggy West (1922- .) John Briggs West (1852-1922,) the son of William C. West, a bookkeeper, and Louisa P. Briggs West, was born in Roxbury, Massachusetts, was educated in public schools of Roxbury, Massachusetts, and Malden, Massachusetts, was employed in Boston, Massachusetts, from 1867 until 1870, moved with his family to St. Paul in 1870, was employed at a bookstore, quit his bookstore sales job and started his own bookselling business, John B. West & Company, focusing on lawyers, in 1872, was a publisher, organized The West Publishing Company, law book publishers, in 1874, added his brother, Horatio West, as a partner in the business in 1876, retained a local lawyer to help publish The Syllabi in 1876 summarizing Minnesota Supreme Court decisions, extended the coverage of The Syllabi to Wisconsin court decisions and renamed it the North Western Reporter, extended it further in 1879 to cover Supreme Court decisions in Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, and the Dakota Territory, began the American Digest system in 1879, started the Federal Register, containing decisions of the United States circuit and district courts in 1880, started the Pacific Reporter in 1880, added two partners, Jesse Payton Boyle and Charles Ames, in 1882, incorporated The West Publishing Company in 1882, started the Atlantic Reporter in 1885, started the Southern Reporter in 1886, started the South Western Reporter in 1886, started the South Eastern Reporter in 1887, was the president of the West Publishing Company until 1899, sold his interest in the company for $250,000 in 1899, after a rift between family members, to found the Keefe-Davidson Law Book Company, dissolved the Keefe-Davidson Law Book Company in 1912, reconciled with Horatio West, was a member of the board of directors of the American National Bank, moved to Los Angeles, California, in 1913, died in California, and is buried in the family plot at Oakland Cemetery, resided at 91 Crocus Place in 1907, and officed at the corner of Third Street and Wabasha Street in 1907. David Winfield Aberle ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Bronson West ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are John P. Gehan and Sara A. Stedman. John P. Gehan is the director of the Centers for Public Health Education and Outreach at the University of Minnesota and is an author of the article "Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol: Outcomes from a Randomized Community Trial" in the Journal of Studies on Alcohol in 2000. John P. Gehan was a finalist for the position of Executive Director of the Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board in 1998 and lost to Erin Murphy in the 2006 primary for the DFL nomination for Minnesota House of Representatives District 64A. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

1009 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 2870 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Millunchick and Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Wilson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Morris M. Getz, a traveling salesman, and his wife, Rose Getz, Samuel Hoffman, a merchant tailor and proprietor of the Hoffman Clothes of Distinction shop, and his wife, Mary Hoffman, located at 444 St. Peter Street, all resided at this address. Susan Mitchell, a member of the Ramsey County Community Health Services Advisory Committee, previously resided at this address. Abraham W. Millunchick ( -1942,) Morris Getz ( -1944,) and Mary Hoffman ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. Samuel S. Hoffman ( -1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuretsky, and died in Hennepin County. Sam Hoffman (1889-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $405,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owner of record of the property is Square Feet of Minnesota LLC, located in St. Louis Park, Minnesota.

1010 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1714 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin Schroeder and Miss Florence Schroeder all resided at this address. World War I veterans Jno. J. Schroeder and Leon W. Schroeder both resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin Schroeder resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Baldwin Schroeder, a lawyer who officed at the Guardian Building, and his wife, Lillie A. Schroeder, resided at this address. Baldwin Schroeder (1881-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McDonald, and died in Ramsey County. John J. Schroeder (1894-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Walker, and died in Ramsey County. Leon Schroeder ( -1925) died in Hennepin County. Lillie A. Schroeder ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Florence C. Schroeder (1886-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fandel, and died in Hennepin County. Florence D. Schroeder (1899-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schulz, and died in Hennepin County. Florence Dorothy Schroeder (1906-1996) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Davis, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Beverly K. Krieg and Thomas E. Krieg.

1011 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1951 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George Urquhart and their daughter all resided at this address. Kenneth G. Urquhart was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. B. Wallace resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin Levenson, a confectioner with a shop at 259 West University Avenue, and his wife, Esther E. Levenson, resided at this address. George Urquhart (1886- ,) the son of George Urquhart and Margaret Chapman Urquhart, was born in St Louis, Missouri, was educated in the public schools of St. Louis, Missouri, married May L. Alden of St. Cloud, Minnesota, in 1892, was involved in real estate, engaged in the real estate and mortgage loan business in Alexandria, Minnesota, Glenwood, Minnesota, St. Cloud, Minnesota, and Buffalo, Minnesota, until 1902, moved to St. Paul in 1902, established the firm of Urquhart, Richards & Pattinson, real estate agents in St. Paul and in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, established the successor firm Urquhart, Richards & Company, was associated with the Urquhart Land Company, dealers in wholesale land and timber stumpage, in 1905, was a manager of and stockholder in the Wisconsin-Canadian Land Company of Delavan, Wisconsin, resided at 1034 Ashland Avenue in 1907, and officed at the Merchants National Bank Building in 1907. George Kenneth Urquhart ( -1933) and George Urquhart ( -1940) both died in Ramsey County. Robert B. Wallace ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. Benjamin Levenson ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Alice McOlson and Kerry E. McOlson.

1014 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 1508 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Campbell and their daughter resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that David C. Campbell, a detective, resided at this address and that Alice P. Campbell boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Campbell and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Donald C. Campbell and his wife, Mary Campbell, resided at this address. Donald Campbell ( -1951) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Edward D. Dufresne and Shirley Dufresne.

1017 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2002 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Hoffman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred C. Hoffman resided at this address. In 1879, Frederick c. Hoffman, a painter employed by T. Hamm, boarded at his employer's. The current owner of record of the property is Leslie J. Yoder.

1021 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 1672 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. I. Mellenthin resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Rudawsky resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel Rudawsky resided at this address. The 1930 directory also lists Samuel Rudawsky and his wife, Libby Rudawsky, as residents of 1160 Grand Avenue. A. I. Mellenthin was the assistant cashier of the First National Bank of Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, in 1908, and was a Mason in Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, in 1913. Samuel Rudawsky ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Linda J. Lacy and R. Michael Lacy.

1025 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 1498 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. In 1908, Richard P. John was a clerk for the Northern Pacific RailRoad and boarded at 373 North Maple Street. The 1918 city directory indicates that F. E. Baker and his daughters all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank E. Baker (1841-1920,) the widower father of Mrs. H. K. Terry, who was born in New York to parents born in Ireland and who died of broncho-pneumonia, resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard P. John, a bookkeeper employed by the Hamm Brewing Company, and his wife, Margaret John, resided at this address. Henry Kingsbury Terry ( -1917,) Frank E. Baker ( -1920,) Henry Kingsbury Terry ( -1940,) and Richard John ( -1947) all died in Ramsey County. Margaret John (1878-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Smolcka, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $229,900 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are Kent S. Pekel and Tanya Martin Pekel. Kent S. Pekel previously was the Director of Strategic Planning for the St. Paul school district, was the Executive Director of the College Readiness Consortium at the University of Minnesota in 2008, and was a member of the governing board advises the Confucius Institute at the University of Minnesota in 2008. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

1027 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 1464 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank V. Seiler, a salesman employed by the Great Lakes Coal & Dock Company, and his wife, Mary A. Seiler, resided at this address. Frank V. Seiler (1890-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lang, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Ann Seiler ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $145,000. The current owners of record of the property are Joshua J. Thoma and Katherine K. Thoma. [See note for the Great Lakes Coal & Dock Company for 66 Douglas Street.]

1031-1033 Fairmount Avenue: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 2988 square foot, twelve room, two bathroom, stucco duplex, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Kaufman resided at 1033 Fairmount Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that George G. Grant, director of storage and traffic for the Farmers Union Terminal Association, and his wife, Mabel Grant, resided at 1031 Fairmount Avenue. George Gatis Grant ( -1921,) Mabel S. Grant ( -1943,) and Samuel Kaufman ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Lynn M. DiEuliis and Val E. DiEuliis. Val DiEuliis who received a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is an electronics consultant. [See note on Farmer's Union Grain Terminal Association for 987 Wakefield Avenue.]

277-283 Goodrich Avenue: Burbank Rowhouses; Built in 1874 (1869 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italianate in style. The rowhouses were rehabilitated in the 1980's by the West 7th Federation and the Twin City Housing Corporation and are now a cooperative. The structures at 277 Goodrich Avenue, 279 Goodrich Avenue, and 283 Goodrich Avenue each contain two condominium units and are owned by the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street. The porch on the structure is a replica of the original. 277 Goodrich Avenue Unit A is a 900 square foot, four room, one bathroom, frame condominium unit. 277 Goodrich Avenue Unit B is a 832 square foot, four room, one bathroom, frame condominium unit. 279 Goodrich Avenue is a 1732 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, frame condominium unit. 283 Goodrich Avenue Unit A is a 900 square foot, four room, one bathroom, frame condominium unit. 283 Goodrich Avenue Unit B is a 832 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame condominium unit. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha L. Whitney and her daughter resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue. The 1887 and 1889 city directories indicate that Mrs. Bertha L. Whitney and her daughter and Mr. and Mrs. Charles De Lacy all resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha L. Whitney and her daughter both resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha L. Whitney resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that H. C. Meade resided at the former nearby 279 Goodrich Avenue in 1894. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha L. Whitney and Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Doyle all resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. H. M. Ober and Mrs. M. W. Lull both resided at 281 Goodrich Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. H. M. Ober, Mrs. M. W. Lull, and Mr. and Mrs. S. H. Reeves all resided at 281 Goodrich Avenue. The 1889, 1891, 1893, and 1895 city directories indicate that Mrs. H. M. Ober and Mrs. M. W. Lull both resided at 281 Goodrich Avenue. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. E. Dana and their daughter all resided at 283 Goodrich Avenue. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. De Lacy resided at 283 Goodrich Avenue. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. C. Ford resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Wilder Burbank Lull (1825-1914,) the widowed sister of Loretta A. W. Steele, who was born in Vermont to parents born in the United States and who died of myocarditis, resided at 281 Goodrich Avenue in 1914. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Oliver Sandstrom (1830-1915,) the widower father of Mrs. Olive Chickett, who was born in Sweden to parents also born in Sweden and who died of lobar pneumonia, resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue in 1915. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Bertha Louisa Whitney (1858-1923,) the widowed mother of Nina B. Meade, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of influenza, resided at 279 Goodrich Avenue in 1923. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Loretta B. Steele (1842-1925,) the widowed mother of Mrs. M. B. Meade, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of probable abdominal cancer, resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that 279 Goodrich Avenue, 281 Goodrich Avenue, and 283 Goodrich Avenue were vacant. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Vandenburg Burbank resided at this address in 1937. James Crawford Burbank (1822-1879) was born in Ludlow, Vermont, moved to St. Paul in 1850, first engaged in lumbering, was a stagecoach entrepreneur who built these units for his aged parents and his spinster sisters, and ultimately was engaged in insurance, banking and railroad enterprises. James Crawford Burbank also built the limestone villa at 432 Summit Avenue, now known as the Burbank-Livingston-Griggs House. James C. Burbank (1822-1879) and Henry Clay Burbank (1835-1905,) sons of Col. Simeon Burbank (1794 - 1879) and Nancy Wilder Burbank (1801 - 1880,) were brothers who were in the forwarding, storage, and wholesale grocery business in St. Paul and St. Cloud, as J. C. & H. C. Burbank & Company. Henry Clay Burbank (1835-1905) was born in Lewis, Essex County, New York, attended New York common schools, moved to Minnesota in 1853, went into the forwarding, storage, commission, and cartage business in St. Paul as J. C. & H. C. Burbank in 1857, was an agent for the Galena, St. Paul & Minnesota Packet Boat Company, developed a grocery business, J. C. & H. C. Burbank & Company, that continued until 1868, contracted with the Hudson Bay Company to supply its Lower Fort Garry settlement from 1858 until 1863, built and operated the first steam boats on the Red River of the North, moved to St. Cloud, Minnesota, in 1860, was the receiver at the U. S. Land Office in St. Cloud, Minnesota, from 1865 until 1870, engaged in the manufacture and wholesaling of men's clothing in St. Paul from 1875 until 1898, was a Liberal Republican, and was a member of the Minnesota Senate representing Stearns County, Minnesota (District 31,) from 1873 until 1875. James C. Burbank was later involved in Wilder, Burbank & Company, a government express and forwarding business. The Burbank family came to Minnesota from Windsor County, Vermont. James C. Burbank started as a patent medicine salesman, then began a parcel and mail carrying enterprise, then advanced to retail and wholesale merchandising, shipping, then overland passenger hauling, ran the Northwestern Express Co., a St. Paul city omnibus line, and the Minnesota Stage Company, which ran to the Red River country of northwestern Minnesota. In 1861, the Hudson's Bay Company began shipping furs to the world through James C. Burbank in St. Paul, who also became the major hauler of supplies to United States forts in the upper West and was the president of the first St. Paul street railway and of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1865 to his death. James C. Burbank also served in the Minnesota Legislature and as president of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce. Henry Clay Burbank, the son of Simeon Burbank and Nancy Wilder Burbank, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of grandfather Samuel Burbank, a Captain in the Massachusetts Troops during the Revolutionary War. In 1879, the Northwestern Express, Stage & Transportation Company had as its officers Russell Blakeley as president, N. P. Clarke as vice president, and C. W. Carpenter as secretary-treasurer and was located at 58 East Third Street. Andrew Jackson Whitney (1829-1915,) the son of Joel Whitney and Sally Whitney and the grandson of Micah Whitney, married Bertha L. Burbank (1837-1923,) a sister of James Crawford Burbank. Henry Pratt Upham married Evelyn Gertrude Burbank (1844-1927,) a sister of James Crawford Burbank. E. Whitney ( -1866) was the first husband and Dr. L. E. Ober was the second husband of Helen Marian "Nellie" Burbank (1830-1929,) a sister of James Crawford Burbank. James C. Burbank was born in Ludlow, Windsor County, Vermont, married Evelyn Sophia Delano Burbank (1825-1876) in 1845 in Watertown, Jefferson County, New York, and the couple had five children, James Crawford Burbank (1846-1847,) Frederick Burbank (1850-1850,) Ella Burbank (Mrs. J. E.) Leonard (1853- ,) and Lillian Burbank (Mrs. Hamilton) Vose (1856- ,) and Evelyn Burbank (1861- .) Evelyn Sophia Delano was the daughter of Leonard Delano and Mersilvia Piper Delano. Henry Pratt Upham (1837-1909,) the son of Joel Worthington Upham ( -1879) and Seraphine Howe Upham (1804-1839,) was born in Millbury, Massachusetts, was educated in the public schools of Worcester, Massachusetts, was a maker of water wheels, the trade of his father, in Massachusetts, moved to Connecticut, moved to Michigan, then moved to Minnesota in 1857, was a partner of Chauncey W. Griggs, engaged in the lumber and flour-milling businesses, became a bank teller for the Thompson brothers in 1863, married Evelyn Gertrude Burbank, the daughter of the late Colonel Simeon Burbank, in 1868, was a banker, was an organizer with Henry Hastings Sibley of the Bank of St. Paul in 1869, which was merged into the First National Bank in 1873, was president of the First National Bank from 1880 until 1907, and was chairman of the board of directors of the First National Bank from 1907 until 1909 was in the banking business after 1863, served successively as a teller, an assistant cashier and the president of the First National Bank of St. Paul, was the chairman board of the directors of the First National Bank of St. Paul, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society, was a member of the American Antiquarian Society, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the Worcester Club, resided at 476 Summit Avenue in 1907, and officed at the First National Bank in 1907. Henry Pratt Upham was a member of the American Antiquarian Society, the Society of Antiquity of Worcester, Massachusetts, the Mayflower Society, the Society of Colonial Wars, the Sons of the American Revolution, the Minnesota Club, the Masonic Order, the Ramsey County Pioneer Association, and the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, was a director of the St. Paul Public Library, and was a member of the Executive Council and, for 33 years, the treasurer of the Minnesota Historical Society. Henry Pratt Upham was a member of the board of directors of the First National Bank of St. Paul in 1879. Henry Pratt Upham and Evelyn Gertrude Burbank Upham had three children, Gertrude Upham (Mrs. John F.) Harris (1870- ,) Grace Upham (Mrs. Horace E.) Bigelow (1875-1951,) and John P. Upham. The Upham family burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Henry Pratt Upham (1837-1909,) Evelyn Gertrude Upham (1844-1931,) and John Phineas Upham (1877-1934.) Henry Pratt Upham (1837- ,) the son of Joel Worthington Upham and Seraphine Howe Upham, the grandson of Pliny Upham and Catharine Hastings Upham and Dennis Howe and Elizabeth Bigelow Howe, and the great grandson of Nevison Hastings and Experience Wright Hastings, was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great grandfathers Nevison Hastings, a Sergeant in the Massachusetts Militia, and Jonah Howe, a Lieutenant in the Massachusetts Continental Troops, and of great great grandfather Ithamer Wright, a Captain in the Massachusetts Minutemen and a member of the Brookfield, Massachusetts, Committee on Safety, during the Revolutionary War. Joel Emmons Whitney (1822-1886,) the son of Joel Whitney (1787-1852) and Sallie/Sally Dyer/Dyar Whitney (1797-1834,) was born in Phillips, Maine, moved to Plymouth, Maine, worked as a merchant miller from 1838 until 1850, moved to Minnesota in 1850, settling in St. Paul, learned daguerreotype photography from Alexander Hesler in Galena, Illinois, in 1851, operated a photography shop and gallery, Whitney's Daguerrean Gallery, on Third Street in 1851, at the corner of Third Street and Cedar Street from 1851 until 1867, and at 174 Third Street from 1867 until 1871, resided with his sister, Eliza J. Whitney, in 1857, was a partner in the Caldwell, Whitney & Company bank, married Elsie Parish Ayer (1832-1876,) the daughter of Thomas Burnham Ayer and Sybil Chase Ayer, in 1865, invested in St. Paul real estate, including half of Merriam Park, was Minnesota's premier pioneer photographer and one of America's foremost pioneer photographic artists, operated first as a daguerreian and subsequently a wet plate photographer in St. Paul and Minneapolis from 1850 until 1871, was a partner with Charles A. Zimmerman, George C. Nichols, William S. Combs, and B. K. Upton, all resided at 20 Iglehart Street in 1870, retired from the photography and gallery business in 1871 because of poor health, sold his gallery to Charles A. Zimmerman and Otto C. Pasel, moved to Atlanta, Georgia, in 1871, moved to Chattanooga, Tennessee, in 1873, returned to St. Paul in 1880, briefly operated a grocery business on Jackson Street, became deaf, died in St. Paul, and was buried in Oakland Cemetery. Joel Emmons Whitney and Elsie Parish Ayer Whitney were the parents of one child, Joella Elsie Whitney (Mrs. Samuel J.) Joy, born in Atlanta, Georgia, and a member of the Minnesota chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution as a descendant of Micah Whitney (1752-1832,) a private in the Massachusetts line during the American Revolution. Samuel J. Joy (1873- ) and Charles P. Joy, the sons of Charles Joy, a New Hampshire banker and manufacturer, and Jane Moore Joy, moved to Minnesota in 1888, and operated Joy Brothers Motors, the first automobile dealer in St. Paul. Andrew Whitney ( -1915) died in Stearns County. Orval Clark Ford ( -1908,) Daniel Doyle ( -1921,) Bertha Louisa Whitney ( -1923,) Helen Marian Ober ( -1929,) Daniel Doyle ( -1943,) and Henry Meade ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Sydney E. Reeves (1883-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heath, and died in Ramsey County. Keelia Turner, a party to the Minnesota Court of Appeals family law litigation In Re Turner, 653 N.W.2d 458 (2002), resided at Unit A at 277 Goodrich Avenue. [See note on Burbank for 432 Summit Avenue.] [See note for Otto C. Pasel for 343 Maple Street.]

278 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1884. The building is a two story, 1584 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Anna Sandstrom (1850-1914,) the wife of Oliver Sandstrom, who was born in the United States to parents also born in the United States and who died of cerebral apoplexy, resided at this address in 1914. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry C. Loucks and Mrs. Kitty Perry, the widow of Harry Perry, resided at this address. Anna Sandstrom ( -1914) and Oliver Sandstrom ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. Harry C. Loucks (1895-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zwick, and died in Chisago County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Rosabell A. Erdes. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Certified Ice Company Station was located at the former nearby 290 Goodrich Avenue. The Certified Ice Company was operated by Albert C. Faltesek and Leslie A. Faltesek. Al Faltesek ( -1956) and his wife, Winifred "Winnie" Fable Faltesek ( -1971,) the daughter of Christopher C. "Chris" Fable (1854- ) and Catherine McLaughlin Fable, had seven children, five of whom reached adulthood, spent some time in Butte, Montana, then owned the Hudson, Wisconsin, Ice House from 1907 until 1920, and delivered ice that was cut from the St. Croix River to the City of Hudson, Wisconsin, and finally moved to St. Paul, where they ran the Certified Ice Company. Winnie Faltesek died in a Hastings, Minnesota, rest home. Leslie A. Faltesek was a son of Albert C. Faltesek and Winifred Faltesek. Henry Meade ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. Winifred Faltesek (1882-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McLaughlin, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota.

291 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1871. The building is a one story, 1736 square foot, six room, one bathroom, frame house. The 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directory indicates that Miss Mabel L. Willis resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert G. Gutman, a bindery worker employed by the Webb Publishing Company, resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Joseph Gutmann resided at this address in 1937. Mabel L. Willis (1885-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Howard, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Albert G. Gutman ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Joseph Gutmann ( -1920) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street.

293 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1874. The building is a one story, 948 square foot, five room, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Cerny (1848-1910,) the wife of Frank Cerny, who was born in Bohemia to parents also born in Bohemia and who died of a carcinoma, resided at this address in 1910. The 1930 city directory indicates that William D. Courtney, who operated the Franklin Cafe, and his wife, Nettie Courtney, resided at this address. Frank Cerny ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. William D. Courtney (1879-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Casey, and died in Ramsey County. Nettie B. Courtney (1884-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mandel, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Janet A. Peterson and Kenneth R. Peterson.

297 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1879. The building is a two story, 2261 square foot, ten room, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Elizabeth Theobald resided at this address in 1910. The property was last sold for $257,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is James J. Koktavy, who resides at 557 Ottawa Avenue.

301 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The building is a one story, 792 square foot, four room, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George H. Parker (1840-1894,) who died of stomach cancer, and Jennie Parker, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1894. Jennie Parker ( -1913) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Clodetta I. Pratt. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Merrill and Mrs. H. K. Davy all resided at the former nearby 303 Goodrich Avenue.

305 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a three story, 7370 square foot, church building. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Goodrich Avenue Presbyterian Church was located at this address from 1886 to 1972, that the Bethlehem Presbyterian Church was located at this address in 1890, and that the Apostolic Faith Temple was located at this address in 1976. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Goodrich Avenue Presbyterian Church was located at this address. The Goodrich Avenue Presbyterian Church was organized in 1884 and, in 1910, had a membership of 219 and the Reverend D. D. Mitchell was its pastor. The Apostolic Faith Temple Church is located at this address. The current pastor is Suffragan Bishop and District Elder A. Z. Jones, Sr., and the current youth president is Minister Anthony Harris. A. Z. Jones, Jr., is the director of the Fathers Program at Catholic Charities' Seton Services in St. Paul. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee for the Faith Apostolic Temple. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Picha resided at the former nearby 304 Goodrich Avenue in 1890. Mary Picha (1874-1890) was the daughter of John Picha and died of perityphlitis. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John F. Picha (1839-1893,) Bohemian by heritage who died of menegitis, resided at the former nearby 304 Goodrich Avenue in 1893. John F. Picha ( -1914) died in Ramsey County. The Picha burial plot of Oakland Cemetery contains the graves of John Picha (1847-1920,) Mary Jana Picha (1845-1923,) Clara Ruth Picha (1877-1924,) Mary Boland Picha (1875-1955,) Harry W. Picha (1879-1961,) Louis John Picha (1874-1928,) Mary Picha Goodman (1872-1955,) Arthur Page Goodman (1871-1942,) and Emily Dorothy Goodman (1908-1915.) In 1917, Arthur Page Goodman registered a copyright for "Our Old Subscriber's Club" in Farm, Stock and Home.

318 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The building is a two story, 1760 square foot, eight room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. Moore resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Aida Morales and Daniel Morales.

319 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1999. The building is a 1587 square foot, seven room, two bathroom, split entry aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Neng Vang and Yang Xiong.

320 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1871. The building is a one story, 728 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is Roger A. Egge.

322 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The building is a two story, 864 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street.

324 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The building is a two story, 864 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. C. White resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street.

325 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1989. The building is a two story, 1248 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street.

326 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is divided into two condominium units and the current owner of record is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street. Unit A is a 736 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium unit. Unit B is a 816 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium unit. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Farrell resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that William J. Coleman, a manager employed by Cooks Taxi Cab & Transfer Company, resided at this address.

327 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1989. The building is a two story, 1432 square foot, six room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street.

330 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1870. The structure is divided into two condominium units and the current owner of record is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street. Unit A is a 972 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium unit. Unit B is a 639 square foot, four room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium unit. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Bryant resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Auguste L. Riemann (1829-1913,) the widowed mother of Minnie Zurick, who was born in Germany to parents who were also born in Germany and who died of chronic bronchial asthma, resided at this address in 1913. The Riemann burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Auguste L. Riemann (1840-1913,) Rev. Gustave A. Riemann (1840-1907,) Alma V. Gerberding (1871-1906,) Anna Luck Bulau (1897-1913,) Annie Zuick Riemann Rothermal (1861-1938,) Selma Riemann Bulau (1887-1934,) and Albert G. Bulau (1861-1942.)

332 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1870. The structure was divided into two condominium units and the current owner of record is the Goodrich Project Limited Partnership, located at 182 North Milton Street. Unit A is a 1042 square foot, five room, one bathroom, stucco condominium unit. Unit B is a 802 square foot, four room, one bathroom, stucco condominium unit. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jane M. Bryant, her daughters, and J. O. Bryant all resided at this address.

333 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1914. The building is a one story, 1248 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The current owners of record of the property are Manuel Mauricio and Maria S. Mauricio.

336 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1883. The building is a one story, 594 square foot, five room, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Corbett resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Roy J. Hillstrom.

337 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1884. The building is a two story, 2736 square foot, 12 room, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record of the property are Delmar A. O. Lofstrom and Donna M. Lofstrom. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. Bliss resided at the former nearby 339 Goodrich Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Philip T. Galloway (1835-1916,) the widowed mother of Frank Galloway, who was born in Canada and who died of chronic endocarditis, resided at the nearby former 339 Goodrich Avenue in 1916. The 1920 city directory indicates that Margaret Barfuss, the widow of Edward Barfuss, resided at the former nearby .

341 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1881. The building is a 1 1/2 story, 1394 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $60,500. The current owner of record of the property is Mark T. Higgins.

345 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1922. The building is a one story, 1143 square foot, seven room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $148,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kristi J. Iverson.

346 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The building is a one story, 1730 square foot, nine room, two bathroom, frame bungalow. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George Eaton resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George Eaton and Elizabeth Eaton (1826-1890) resided at this address in 1890. In 1879, George Eaton, an expressman, resided at the corner of Isabel Street and Mendota Street. George Eaton ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. Elizabeth Eaton died of a cerebral hemorrage. The property was last sold for $65,000 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owner of record of the property is William M. Cox.

347 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The building is a one story, 1085 square foot, four room, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $168,000. The current owner of record of the property is Wanda Jo Olson.

350 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1883. The building is a two story, 2476 square foot, 11 room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna E. Sweeney resided at this address. Anna Sweeney ( -1927) died in Hennepin County. Anna Sweeney (1888-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goth, and died in Hennepin County. The property was declared a nuisance property by the St. Paul City Council in 1996. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $25,000. The current owners of record of the property are Dawn R. Tanner and Todd L. Tanner. Coffee Quilts, a company that makes quilts out of the bags in which coffee beans were shipped, is operated by Dawn Tanner and is currently located at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#17664) indicate that Ray C. Thayer (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company I of the 138th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 3 1/4" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the St. Mihiel Offensive, Argonne-Meuse, North Sector Wesserling, Voges, Geredmer, Wesserling, and Hilsenfirst, was a driver employed by McQuaid after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his aunt, Mrs. Frank Jelinik, at the nearby former 351 Goodhue Street. [See note on the Meuse-Argonne Offensive/Argonne Front for 366 St. Clair Avenue.]

353 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1874. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1462 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Rebecca M. Parker resided at this address in 1887. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rebecca M. Parker resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rebecca M. Parker (1827-1904,) the widowed mother of Charles Parker, who was born in the United States to parents also born in the United States and who died of arterio sclerosis, resided at this address in 1904. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Laura P. Congdon, the widow of Albert S. Congdon, resided at this address. Laura Prescott Congdon ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $60,000. The current owner of record of the property is Steven F. Hockstein.

354 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1816 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edwin W. Arvidson, a reporter employed by the Dispatch and Pioneer Press resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Shanda and John Vomela/Vomila, a pressman employed by Brown & Bigelow, and his wife, Helen Vomela, all resided at this address. John "Jack" Vomela (1909-2003,) grew up in St. Paul, was initially a printer for Brown & Bigelow, started Vomela Specialty Company, a St. Paul printing company that made Christmas tags with glitter and later developed a process to put stripes on automobiles, in 1947, sold the company in 1980, and died in St. Paul. Frank Shanda ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $42,500 and that sale occurred in 1993. The current owner of record of the property is Sundiata L. Menelik, who resides in Eagan, Minnesota.

357 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1626 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1902 city directory indicates that Reverend D. D. Mitchell resided at this address. Irving R. Kuester was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Francis Showers, a barber, and his wife, Tillie Showers, resided at this address. Reverend D. D. Mitchell was the pastor of the Goodrich Avenue Presbyterian Church in 1910 and resided at 275 Harrison Avenue in 1910. Irving Kuester ( -1930) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Stanley G. Sticha and Tillie A. Sticha.

358 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 1419 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Clarence Cheatham (1894- ,) a Private, resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. LaBair resided at this address. John J. LaBair (1892-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $119,000. The current owner of record of the property is Eric J. Hudson.

360 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1971. The structure is a 1144 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Hudak resided at this address. John Hudak ( -1943) and John Hudak ( -1949) both died in Hennepin County. John Hudak (1887-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Margaret L. Nicholas.

362 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1208 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. World War I veteran Edgar B. Lang resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter P. Fearing resided at this address. Walter Fearing (1876-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fahey, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $107,000. The current owners of record of the property are Karen K. Hasse and Theodore B. Hasse. [See note for Edgar B. Lang for 262 Goodrich Avenue.]

363 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 2260 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Parker resided at this address. World War I veteran Charles G. Parker resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles B. Parker resided at this address. Charles B. Parker ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Charles G. Parker (1896-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schurick, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are David Lee Simmons and Mary Kathryn Simmons, who reside in Gilbert, Arizona.

370 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1940. The structure is a 880 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick rambler, with a one car brick detached garage and with a two car detached garage. The property was last sold for $46,500 and that sale occurred in 1992. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $141,000. The current owners of record of the property are Fermin Espinoza and Martha Espinoza.

371 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a one story, 1130 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John T. Brennen resided at the corner of Western Avenue and Goodrich Avenue. Frank Povolny (1900- ,) a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bibiana B. Povolny resided at this address. Frank J. Povolny (1900-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kolars, and died in Ramsey County. Bibiana B. Povolny (1869-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $80,900. The current owners of record of the property are Alexander James Rensan Kimball and In Fin Tuan. In Fin Tuan is the Public Relations Director for the Great American History Theatre in St. Paul.

373 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 2172 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ernest J. Therian/Therien, a chef employed by Ancker Hospital, and his wife, Margaret Therian, resided at this address. Ernest Therien ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $237,510. The current owners of record of the property are Mark Flynn Nantell and Timothy J. Nantell, who reside in Minneapolis. < a href="http://www.angelfire.com/mn/thursdaynighthikes/irvine_arch2.html"> [See note for Anker Hospital for 265 Nugent Street.]

386-388 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1778 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nicholas Stemper, his wife, Carrie Stemper, a midwife, and Hildegard C. Stemper, a nurse, all resided at 386 Goodrich Avenue. The 1930 federal census indicates that Nicholas Stemper (1867- ,) retired/unemployed and the head of household, who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Belgium and a mother who was born in Prussia/Germany, his wife, Carrie Stemper (1866- ,) who was born in Iowa to a father who was born in Alsace-Lorraine and a mother who was born in Germany, and his daughter, Hildegard Stemper (1896- ,) a graduate nurse who was born in Iowa, all resided at this address and that Joseph N. Stemper (1898- ,) a self-employed dentist in general practice and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Iowa, his wife, Gertrude W. Stemper (1900- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Westphalia/Germany and a mother who was born in Wisconsin, his son, Herbert J. Stemper (1927- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Helen M. Stemper (1928- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. Philomena "Minnie" Catherine Stemper (Mrs. Thomas Francis) Kennedy (1890-1967,) Elmer Stemper, Joseph Stemper, and Hilda Stemper were the children of Nicholas Stemper (1867-1955) and Caroline "Carrie" Claus Stemper (1866- .) Thomas Kennedy, the son of John Daniel Kennedy and Bridget A. Glynn (1860-1919,) married Philomena "Minnie" Catherine Stemper, the daughter of Nicholas Stemper and Caroline "Carrie" Claus from Dubuque, Iowa, in 1913. Nicholas Stemper ( -1955) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $130,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kenneth G. Johnson, who resides at 309 Harrison Avenue.

387 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a one story, 1434 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Edward R. Picha and Robert S. Picha were World War I veterans who both resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stephen J. Picha resided at this address. Ol' Picha was a Bohemian bartender from the late 1800's. Edward Robert Picha (1896-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kolar, and died in Douglas County, Minnesota. Robert S. Picha (1894-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kolar, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $76,500 and that sale occurred in 1994. The current owners of record of the property are Camille C. Hart and Lawrence E. Hart, Jr.

390 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1047 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl Pence resided at this address. The 1930 federal census indicates that Carl Pence (1900- ,) a baker employed by a hospital and the head of household, who was born in Illinois to parents who were born in Illinois, his wife, Adeline E. Pence (1904- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Wisconsin, his son, Charles J. Pence (1926- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Dorothy M. Pence (1928- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. Carl Pence (1899-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nelson, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $35,000. The current owner of record of the property is Edward P. Jirak.

391 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a one story, 1258 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edgar A. Durfey, a packager for Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and his wife, Mayme Durfey, resided at this address. Edgar A. Durfey ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Loraine Hosley and Patrick E. Hosley. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

396 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1224 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Victor W. Wick, a metal worker, and his wife, Emma Wick, resided at this address. Victor W. Wick ( -1930) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Nara C. Siv.

398 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1224 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph Culnane, a machinist employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad, and Joseph I. Culnane, a machinist, both resided at this address and Mamie V. Culnane, a supervisor employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Cooper resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $121,500. The current owners of record of the property are Bryan S. Desma and Matthew R. King. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.] [See the note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.]

399 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 1414 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John W. Bakula, a bookbinder, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Bakula resided at this address. John W. Bakula was a secretary of the International Typographical Union of North America from St. Paul in 1905. John Bakula and Minnie __?__ Bakula were the parents of Helen A. Bakula Crowell (Mrs. Carl) Johnson (1914-2007,) a retired sales clerk for Dayton Schuneman for 25 years, Fred Bakula, Tom Bakula, and Marie Bakula (Mrs. __?__) Spurr. John W. Bakula (1877-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wondra, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Robert R. Fischer and Therese D. Fischer.

400 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1870. The structure is a two story, 1600 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Benjamin A. Schramm resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bruno L. Schramm, a laborer employed by the Oakland Cemetery, and his wife, Augusta Schramm, resided at this address. Bruno L. Schramm married Augusta L. Broeckert in 1890. Benjamin A. Schramm (1893-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brochet, and died in Ramsey County. Bruno L. Schramm ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Hong Nguyen and Willi Vo.

401 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a 780 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Lucia C. Wiley (1886-1896,) who died of septic peritonitis, resided at this address in 1896. C. H. Wiley was the father of Lucia C. Wiley. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin P. Paulson resided at this address. Benjamin Paulson ( -1954) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Audrey D. Halbert Le and Earl Halbert Le.

405 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 1504 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles C. Hobrough and Fred Fuchs both resided at this address. Charles Hobrough (1865- ,) the son of George A. Hobrough ( -1909) and his wife, Mary Pitts Hobrough, were the parents of Fanny/Fannie Hobrough Best. Charles C. Hobrough ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Fred Theodore Fuchs (1910-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Daudt, and died in Wadena County, Minnesota. Fred Walter Fuchs (1934-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wallraff, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Sotheary Doung.

407 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a 904 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Jas. J. Murray resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arch Gilbert resided at this address. The 1920 Knights of Columbus In Peace and War indicates that James J. Murray was a member of the Knights of Columbus in the St. Paul Council No. 397 and was a U. S. military veteran of World War I. James Jo Murray ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Archie Gilbert ( -1920) and Archibald Gilbert ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. Archie Gilbert (1897-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bernstein, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Yvonne F. Soto.

410 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a one story, 1047 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Anna Walla (1843-1916,) the widowed mother of Emily Walla, who was born in Bohemia to parents also born in Bohemia and who died of old age, resided at this address in 1916. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rose Walla, a clerk, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anton S. Burianek, a barber employed by Louis Wolf, and his wife, Antoinette Burianek, resided at this address. Anthony Burianek (1881-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Reyleck, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary L. Cummings.

412 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1860 (1856 according to Donald Empson). The structure is a 801 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Anton Walla (1831-1894), of Bohemian extraction who died of phthisis, and Annie Walla, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1894. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rose Walla, a clerk, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred O. King resided at this address. Anton Walla (1832-1894,) the son of Franz Walla (1806- ) and Anna Lunmpowsky Walla (1810- ,) married Anna Heitman in 1855. In 1882, Anton Walla, a tailor in St. Paul, had his tailoring goods sold at auction in 1882. Anna Walla ( -1916) died in Ramsey County. Fred Otto King (1909-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of King, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Goodrich Partners, located in Burnsville, Minnesota.

413 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a one story, 836 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Eric A. Bergstrom, a conductor for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Virginia Bergstrom, resided at this address. Eric A. Bergstrom (1891-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Virginia Mary Bergstrom ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary Jean Cutting. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

414 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1978. The structure is a 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Brian T. Billstrom and Patricia L. Banks. Patricia Banks is the treasurer of the 65th Senate District DFL Party. Brian Billstrom is an employee of Macalester College. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wolfgang F. Panuska resided at the former nearby 416 Goodrich Avenue. Wolfgang Panuska ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Wolfgang F. Panuska (1891-1969) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. [See note for the fifth entry after the entry for 1605 Summit Avenue for information on Macalester College.]

417 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Kovarik resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Kovarik, an instructor employed by the Progressive Music School, his wife, Mary Kovarik, and John Kovarik, a clerk, all resided at this address. Frank J. Kovarik ( -1944) and Mary Kovarik ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $58,000. The current owner of record of the property is Robert J. Vanyo, Jr.

418 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is a 442 square foot, one bedroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Kuetosky, a laborer employed by the St. Paul City Department of Parks, his wife, Bridgette Kuetosky, Josephine Kuetosky, a clerk, and Mary Kuetosky, a machine operator, all resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Alexander Orcutt.

420 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 666 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Kjellberg, a laborer, and his wife, Eva Kjellberg, resided at this address. William Kjellberg ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Eva Kjellberg ( -1945) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $185,000. The current owner of record of the property is Francis Scott Sutherland.

421 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1840 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that James F. Cecka, manager of the United Light Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William R. Kohler, a department manager employed by the Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company, and his wife, Mary P. Kohler, resided at this address. William R. Kohler (1894-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Mary P. Kohler (1897-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Havel, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $160,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Randall D. Eaton. Sara Diedrich, a voice and piano teacher and a Minnesota Music Teachers Association member, currently resides at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Stephen Campion, a foreman, resided at the former nearby 423 Goodrich Avenue. [See note on Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company for 1553 St. Clair Avenue.]

424 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1301 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jacob M. Novotny and Frank Pittman resided at this address. Jacob M. Novotny ( -1949) and Frank J. Pittman ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. Frank Anthony Pittman (1896-1974) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Dennis R. Johnson.

425 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Agnes M. Smith, a clerk employed by Finch, Van Slyck & McConville, resided at this address. Agnes M. Smith ( -1948) and Agnes Moir Smith ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. Agnes M. Smith (1862-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Parmelle, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $139,425. The current owners of record of the property are Rachel A. Malchow Lloyd and Thomas Lloyd. Rachel Malchow Lloyd is associated with the Minnesota Council of Teachers of English. [See note on Finch, Van Slyck & McConnville for 969 West Osceola Avenue.]

428 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1161 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Eva Peterson resided at this address in 1918. World War I veterans Gonerd W. Peterson and Gunnar Peterson both resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13734) indicate that Gonerd Peterson (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company C of the 604th Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, red hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 11 1/4" tall, was an electrical storekeeper at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was an electrical storekeeper employed by the St. Paul Electric Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Eva Peterson, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eva Peterson resided at this address. The St. Paul Electric Company was located at 145-147 East Fifth Street in the 1920's. Gonerd W. William Peterson (-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Gunnar Peterson ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. Gunnar Peterson (1889-1965) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Christopher D. Labonne and Julie A. Labonne. [See note for the St. Paul Electric Company for 524 Orleans Street.] [See note on the Meuse-Argonne Offensive/Argonne Front for 366 St. Clair Avenue.]

429 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1978. The structure is a story, 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Westercamp, the widow of George Westercamp, and Henry F. Mohr, a driver employed by Farrell & Clark, and his wife, Sarah Mohr, all resided at this address. Mary Westercamp ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. Henry F. Mohr ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. Sarah L. Mohr ( -1931) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Geraldine R. Svoboda and Richard E. Svoboda, Sr.

432 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1895. The structure is a two story, 1664 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Swan Lindquist, a derrick operator employed by the William H. Ulmer Company, and his wife, Hannah Lindquist, and Percy W. Teeters, a loader employed by the International Harvester Company, and his wife, Myrtle Teeters, all resided at this address. The 1983 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Saint Paul Second Ward, directory indicates that Duane Jensen resided at this address. William H. Ulmer was a contractor. The International Harvester Company was formed in 1902 as the result of the merger, brokered by the J. P. Morgan banking firm, of the McCormick Harvesting Machine Company (established in 1847 by Cyrus McCormick (1809-1884,) the Deering Harvester Company (founded by Elijah H. Gammon and William Deering in 1870,) the Plano Manufacturing Company (founded by C. W. Marsh and W. W. Marsh in 1860,) the Milwaukee Harvester Company (founded by Gustavus Stone and Charles H. Parker in 1862,) and the Warder, Bushnell & Glessner Company (initially founded as Warder, Brokaw & Child and renamed when Asa Bushnell joined the firm in the late 1860's.) The U.S. government filed an antitrust action against the International Harvester Company in 1912, and the suit dragged on until a consent decree was signed in 1918. One of the terms of the agreement called for the International Harvester Company to have only one dealer in each town, meaning that the prior dual sales operations of the McCormick and Deering lines of equipment would no longer be maintained. The International Harvester Agricultural Division was by far the biggest and best known International Harvester Company subsidiary, producing the Mogul and Titan brands of tractors, introducing the Farmall tractor in 1924, manufacturing five million tractors as of 1974, and also marketing balers, cultivators, combines, combine heads, corn shellers, cotton pickers, manure spreaders, hay rakes, crop dusters, disk harrows, elevators, feed grinders, hammer mills, hay conditioners, milking machines, planters, mills, discs, plows and other miscellaneous equipment items. International Harvester Company also made light trucks from 1907 to 1975, produced heavy duty trucks, and manufactured school bus chasses. A 1979 strike by the United Auto Workers Union and cash flow problems led to financial problems in the early 1980's, resulting the sale of the Agricultural Division to Tenneco in 1984 and the truck and engine divisions becoming the Navistar International Corporation in 1986. Swan Lindquist (1872-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Hannah Lindquist ( -1939) died in Hennepin County. Percy Wayne Teeters (1899-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hayes, and died in Ramsey County. Myrtle C. Teeters (1908-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are James R. McDonald and Laurence L. Schultz.

433 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1952 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Arthur F. O'Brien and Emmett F. O'Brien both were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ella Madson/Madsen, the widow of Anton Madson and a clerk employed by Mrs. A. M. McDermott, and Mrs. Alice Nash both resided at this address. Arthur F. O'Brien (1896-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Keefe, and died in Ramsey County. Emmett E. O'Brien (1896-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Keefe, and died in Ramsey County. Anton Madsen ( -1929) died in Hennepin County. Ella N. Madsen (1880-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nelson, and died in Hennepin County. Alice A. Nash (1881-1967) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Riley, and died in Hennepin County. Alice Earleen Nash (1938-1986) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Scott, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Dennis R. Johnson.

434 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1904. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1563 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Lundgren, his wife, Louisa Lundgren, John W. Lundgren, a painter, and his wife, Marie O. Lundgren, all resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Boris Gendel and Tatyana Gendel.

437 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1250 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached one car garage. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $58,500. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Plumb, his wife, Lucy Plumb, Frank W. Plumb, a manager employed by the Blue & White Cab Association, his wife, Josephine Plumb, and Joseph A. Plumb, a bellman employed by the St. Paul Hotel, all resided at this address. In 1908, Lucius Pond Ordway secured ownership of the Windsor Hotel site, a 1878 hotel that had become used as an arcade and theatre, with the intentions of constructing a new luxury hotel. St. Paul's "Million-Dollar Hotel" was opened with much enthusiasm and ceremony in 1910. The hotel featured a grand ballroom, fine dining room, roof garden, and guestrooms with their own scenic view. In 1950, the hotel and the city began to suffer as highways allowed people and businesses to relocate in the suburbs and the hotel became in need of maintenance and repair, and its appeal began to diminish. In 1982, the Saint Paul business community realized the importance of the hotel once again and the 254 room hotel was redesigned, restored, and completed. In the 1980's, the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, now the Traveler's Insurance Company, was a major investor in the St. Paul Hotel restoration. John A. Plumb ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. Joseph A. Plumb (1901-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fratangela, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Charles T. Chartraw. [See note on Lucius Pond Ordway for 400 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.]

445 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1955. The structure is a one story, 979 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $75,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the property are Scott D. Appel and Kimberly K. Miron.

446 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a one story, 1374 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph J. Shonoha resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Mary J. Schussler and William A. Schussler.

450 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1865. The structure is a two story, 1152 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Augusta Anderson, a seamstress, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin J. Ryan, a foreman employed by the St. Paul City Water Department, and his wife, Nellie Ryan, resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Mrs. Rita A. Brezniak resided at this address from 1973. Martin J. Ryan ( -1927) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Jodi Brezniak and Scott David Brezniak.

454 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 2001. The structure is a two story, 1496 square foot, six room, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Frahs, a carpenter, and his wife, Anna Frahs, resided at this address. William E. Frahs (1905-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Picha, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Matthew S. Schussler.

460 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1566 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Vrana, a jeweler with a shop at 389 Michigan Street, his wife, Philomena Vrana, Frank Prevec, a laborer, and his wife, Mary Prevec, all resided at this address. Thomas Vrana ( -1938) and Filomena Vrana ( -1940) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Matthew S. Schussler, who resides at 454 Goodrich Avenue.

464 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1225 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Libuse Pesek (1886-1915,) the wife of Thomas Pesek, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and Bohemia and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1915. The 1920 city directory indicates that Bert Kadlec boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas A. Pesek, a foreman employed by Webb Publishing Company, his wife, Julia Pesek, Leo Carskaden, a driver, and his wife, Marion Carskaden, all resided at this address. Libuse Pesek ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. Thomas Albert Pesek (1879-1963) died in Koochiching County, Minnesota. Julia Elizabeth Pesek (1885-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Pearson, and died in Koochiching County, Minnesota. Leo W. Carskaden (1904-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McLane, and died in Ramsey County. Marion A. Carskaden (1905-1993) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Klima, and died in Scott County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $73,500. The current owner of record of the property is Shanie B. Berry. [See the note for Webb Publishing for 291 Goodrich Avenue.]

468 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1926. The structure is a one story, 922 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph E. Hogan, a dispatcher employed by Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Nannie Hogan, resided at this address. Joseph Earl Hogan ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. Nan A. Hogan (1892-1968) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $48,500 and that sale occurred in 1995. The current owner of record of the property is Dawne M. Stamberg. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

470 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1895. The structure is a two story, 1569 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert T./F. Smith, a painter, and his wife, Christin Smith, resided at this address. The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Ralph Olson resided at this address. Albert F. Smith ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Phillip G. Kasinskas, who resides in Baldwin, Wisconsin. In 1885, John Q. Adams resided at the former nearby 570 Goodrich Avenue. In 1890, Theodore L. Schurmeier resided at the nearby former 529 Goodrich Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Francis Lauder, Sr., resided at the former nearby 479 Goodrich Avenue in 1900. The 1903 city directory indicates that Leo F. Schilla, a clerk at Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, boarded at the former nearby 474 Goodrich Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#4028) indicate that Frank J. Underleiter (1896- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a bugler in the 30th Artillery C. A. C., who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, was a chauffeur at induction, was unemployed the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 480 Goodrich Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2737) indicate that Joseph Zeleny (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Sergeant in 18 Bri. Inf. Repl. T. T., who was born in Austria, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a metal worker employed by the St. Paul Roofing Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Anna Zeleny, at the nearby former 487 Goodrich Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9083) indicate that Frank John Zeleny (1897- ,) a 1915 enlistee and a Yeoman First Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in Austria, moved to Minnesota in 1906, had brown eyes, black hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Frank Zeleny, at the nearby former 487 Goodrich Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Thomas Whalen, the father of a premature infant who died in 1925, who was born in the United States, resided at the nearby former 479 Goodrich Avenue in 1925. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Josephine Schilla resided at the former nearby 474 Goodrich Avenue in 1927. Frank Underleiter was the father of Frank J. Underleiter. Frank Zeleny received a degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1898. Frank Zeleny (1876- ) was born in Hutchinson, Minnesota, attended the University of Minnesota from 1894 until 1898, graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering, was a special apprentice with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad from 1898 until 1902, was the assistant to the superintendent of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad shops in Aurora, Illinois, from 1902 until 1912, and was the engineer of tests with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad in Aurora, Illinois, after 1912. Frank Lauder ( -1933) and Thomas Whalen ( -1942) both died in Ramsey County. Joseph S. Zeleny (1898-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dvorak, and died in Ramsey County. Anna Zeleny (1872-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Svobodny, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Sylvester Zeleny and Sylvia Smisek Zeleny were the parents of Joseph H. Zeleny (1927-2009,) a medical doctor. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See the note for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad.] [See note on John Quincy Adams for 3 Crocus Hill.]

585 Goodrich Avenue: Georgian Revival in style. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. In 1888, Alvin R. Bushnell resided at the former nearby 594 Goodrich Avenue. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Charles A. Moore resided at the former nearby 589 Goodrich Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Moore and their daughter all resided at the former nearby 589 Goodrich Avenue. In 1896, A. R. Bushnell was the counsel for the Natural Premium Mutual Life Insurance Company of Wisconsin in Madison, Wisconsin. In 1897, A. R. Bushnell was the counsel representing the unsuccessful appellants in Hooe v. Jamieson, 166 U.S. 395 (1897.) In 1902, A. R. Bushnell was the secretary of the Wisconsin Life Insurance Company in Madison, Wisconsin. In 1907, A. R. Bushnell was the vice-president, treasurer, counsel, and chairman of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Life Insurance Company of Madison, Wisconsin. Charles A. Moore, the son of Alphus/Alpheus Moore (1802-1826) and Mary Richardson Moore and the grandson of Caleb Moore (1768- ) and Achsah Whitney Moore (1775- ,) was born in Massachusetts, moved to St. Paul in 1865, married May Goodhue in 1870, operated a mill in Hastings, Minnesota, with Stephen Gardner, returned to St. Paul in 1876, was a lumberman, established a lumber and real estate business in 1876, was a Mason, was a member of the Minnesota branch of the Sons of the American Revolution, and officed at the Manhattan Building in 1907. Charles A. Moore (1890-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Patrow, and died in Wabasha County, Minnesota.

601 Goodrich Avenue: E. A. Cammack House; Built in 1891 (1888 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Millard & Joy, architects. The structure is a two story, 4474 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1891 city directory indicates that Edward A. Cammack resided at 526 Laurel. The 1892 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Cammack resided at this address. The 1894 and 1896 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Cammack and Miss Lulu Palmer all resided at this address. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Cammack, Mrs. J. M. Root, and Miss Lulu Palmer all resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Edward Arthur Cammack and Gertrude A. Cammack, students, both resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Gertrude Elsie Cammack, a 1912 graduate of the University of Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1917 Catalogue of Delta Upsilon indicates that Edward Arthur Cammack, employed in the creamery business by Crescent Creamery Company, and Howard Eugene Cammack, a student at the University of Minnesota, both resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. E. A. Cammack, her daughter, and E. A. Cammack all resided at this address. World War I veterans E. Arthur Cammack and Howard E. Cammack both resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that E. Arthur Cammack, the treasurer of the Crescent Creamery Company, Gertrude E. Cammack, an agent employed by the Ramsey County Child Welfare Board, Howard E. Cammack, the secretary of the Crescent Creamery Company, and Margaret L. Cammack, a student, all boarded at this address and that Susan A. Cammack, the widow of Edward A. Cammack, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Susan A. Cammack, the widow of Edward A. Cammack, and Gertrude E. Cammack, the executive secretary of the Ramsey County Child Welfare Board, both resided at this address. Edward A. Cammack (1855- ,) the son of John Cammack and Sarah Moody Cammack, was born in Chicago, Illinois, was educated in the Chicago public schools, was employed by a wholesale jewelry house, Hoyt & Company, in Chicago, Illinois, during the great Chicago Fire of 1871, was employed by a wholesale grocery from 1871 until 1873, was employed in several Illinois country stores from 1873 until 1876, was employed in the dairy and creamery business in Iowa from 1876 until 1878, came to Minnesota in 1878, settled in Rochester, Minnesota, was a partner in Marvin & Cammack in Rochester, Minnesota, moved to St. Paul in 1881, married Susan Anne Hinchliff in 1887, was the president and general manager of the Crescent Creamery Company after 1888, was a Republican, was a Congregationalist, was a member of the St. Paul Jobbers' Union, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Produce Exchange, was a member of the St. Paul Board of Trade, and officed at 80-90 East Third Street. In 1924, Edward A. Cammack (1891- ) and Ann Cammack (1892- ) sailed from Cherbourg, France, on the America and entered through Ellis Island, New York. Gertrude E. Cammack, a minor next friend, with Rose Wigley, spouse, filed a Spanish-American War pension application for Charles J. Wigley, a veteran of the 13th Minnesota Infantry Regiment, Company E. E. A. Cammack, C. E. Marvin, and the Crescent Creamery Company of St. Paul erected the Zumbrota Creamery in 1884 and operated it until 1902, when the Crescent Creamery Company was sold to R. E. Lund. In 1931, the Cammack brothers, who operated the Crescent Creamery, had William Henry Kemps (1878-1964) start an ice cream plant, Beverly Dairies, Ltd., in Los Angeles, California, with William Henry Kemps as president, and eventually the chairman of the Board and with William Worth Kemps, son of William Henry Kemps, later joining the company and running it until 1957, when the company was sold to the Bressler brothers. In 1961, the Crescent Creamery of St. Paul, the Kemps Ice Cream Company of Minneapolis, and the Dolly Madison Dairies of Wisconsin merged to create Marigold Foods, Inc. Susan A. Cammack ( -1942,) Lulu M. Palmer ( -1945,) Edward Arthur Cammack ( -1946,) and Howard Eugen Cammack ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Gertrude E. Cammack (1889-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hinchliff, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $369,000. The current owners of record of the property are Scott S. Willman and Joyce Stumpf Willman. [See note for Crescent Creamery Company for 343 Michigan Street.] [See note on Denslow W. Millard.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

607 Goodrich Avenue: M. D. Munn House; Built in 1892 (1896 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Shingle in style; J. W. Stevens, architect. The structure is a two story, 4961 square foot, nine bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1891 city directory indicates that Marcus D. Munn, a lawyer with Munn & Boyeson, resided at this address. The 1894, 1896, and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. M. D. Munn resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. Y. Locke, their daughter, and Mrs. W. D. Lucas all resided at this address. World War I veteran Jno. L. Locke resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that John L. Locke resided at this address. In 1934, John L. Locke and Virginia Mott Locke resided at this address. Marcus D. Munn (1858- ,) the son of Charles E. Munn and Elizabeth Clark Munn, was born in Southington, Connecticut, graduated from Yale University in 1881, was an instructor at Yale University from 1881 until 1882, graduated from the Yale University Law School in 1883, was admitted to the practice of law in Connecticut in 1883, moved to St. Paul in 1883, was a law partner of John E. Gilman from 1883 until 1885, was an assistant Ramsey County attorney from 1885 until 1889, married Gertrude Alling of New Haven, Connecticut, in 1887, established the law firm of Munn & Thygeson in 1890, was in private practice, unsuccessfully represented the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company before the U. S. Supreme Court in a personal injury case, Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company v. Lowell, 151 U. S. 209 (1894,) successfully represented a South Dakota resident against another South Dakota resident before the U. S. Supreme Court in a case over the ownership of land that once had been allotted to a member of the Sisseton and Whapeton indian tribe, Monson v. Simonson, 231 U.S. 341 (1913,) was a member of the board of directors of the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul City Railway Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Duluth-Superior Traction Company in 1906, was special counsel for the Minneapolis, Sault Ste. Marie & Atlantic RailRoad, was special counsel for the Canadian Pacific RailRoad, was special counsel for the Duluth, South Shore & Atlantic RailRoad, was counsel for the Milk Producers' Association before the Minnesota Commission of Public Safety in 1917, was a Mason, was a member of the board of directors of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Yale Club of New York, was a member of the University Club of New York, was a professor of constitutional law at the St. Paul College of Law, exhibited Jersey cattle at the Minnesota State Fair in 1910, was the president of the National Dairy Council in 1922, was the president of the American Jersey Cattle Club in 1926, officed at the Dispatch Building in 1907, and officed at the Pioneer Building in 1920. M. D. Munn was the senior partner, with Alf E. Boyeson and Nels Marcus Thygeson, in the law firm Munn, Boyesen, & Thygeson. Marcus D. Munn, a corporation attorney for a railroad, the president of the American Jersey Cattle Association, and a promoter of the Washington County Fair, was a summer resident of Forest Lake, Minnesota, where he owned a 640 acre experimental farm that had been previously owned by Governor William R. Merriam and on which he raised Jersey cattle and race horses. In 1903, M. D. Munn was the general counsel for the St. Paul Street Railway and was a judge for a collegiate debate between the University of Wisconsin and the University of Iowa on the relative merits of protection and free trade under existing conditions. Marcus D. Munn and Gertrude Alling Munn were the parents of three children. Alf E. Boyeson (1857- ) was born in Krystiania, Norway, emigrated to the United States in 1870, attended Urbana University in Urbana, Ohio, studied law in Chicago with his brother, I. K. Boyeson, read the Minneapolis law office of Shaw, Levi & Cray, practiced law in Minneapolis in 1880, practiced law in Fargo, Dakota Territory, from 1881 to 1887, married Florence Knapp of Racine, Wisconsin, in 1883, moved to St. Paul in 1887, partnered with M. D. Munn and N. M. Thygeson in 1890, then partnered with P. J. McLaughlin in 1897, was a member of the Civil Service Reform Association of St. Paul, and was a Grover Cleveland Democrat. Nels Marcus Thygeson ( -1917) was born in western Wisconsin, graduated from the University of Wisconsin, was a lawyer in the firm of Munn, Boyeson, & Thygeson and later became the general counsel for the Twin City Rapid Transit Company with offices in Minneapolis. Sylvie Grace Thompson (1868-1975,) the wife of Nels Marcus Thygeson and a daughter of James Conklin Thompson, a son of a Presbyterian minister and a lawyer, and Mary Ellen Baker Thompson, was born in Forreston, Illinois, moved to St. Paul in 1886, was a teacher and then a stenographer at the law firm of Seymour Dwight Thompson, her uncle, prior to marriage, was an atheist, married N. M. Thygeson in 1891, and the couple had four children, Ruth Adelaide Thygeson (Mrs. Dwight Emerson) Shepardson (1895-1940,) a medical doctor, Elling Thygeson (1898- ,) an engineer, Phillips Baker Thygeson (1903-2002,) an ophthalmologist, and Mary Thygeson (Mrs. Dwight Emerson) Shepardson (1906-1997,) a Ph.D. in Anthropology (University of California-Berkeley) and a nationally recognized expert in Navajo studies. Sylvie Grace Thompson Thygeson was active in the birth control movement, was active in the suffrage movement, was a member of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU,) was a member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP,) traveled to the Soviet Union in 1929, and was an officer of the Woman's Welfare League. The officers and directors, in 1915-1916, of the Woman's Welfare League, located at the Studio Building, Fourth Street and Market Street, were Mrs. C. P. Noyes, President, Mrs. N. M. Thygeson, First Vice-President, Mrs. H. A. Tomlinson, Second Vice-President, Mrs. I. L. Rypins, Third Vice-President, Miss Cornelia Lusk, Treasurer, Mrs. J. C. Holman, Recording Secretary, Mrs. John M. Guise, Corresponding Secretary, Miss Anna E. R. Furness, Auditor, Mrs. Louis Benepe, Director, Mrs. Grace M. Keller, Director, Mrs. J. 0. Sulvester, Director, Mrs. H. T. Quinlan, Director, and Mrs. M. O. Graves, Director. Frank Y. Locke ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. John Lucas Locke (1896-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lucas, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Dorothy J. Homs and James P. Richardson. [See note on J. W. Stevens.] [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad/Milwaukee Road.] [See note for the St. Paul City Railway Company.] [See note for the Duluth, South Shore & Atlantic RailRoad.] [See note for the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.] [See note for the Duluth, South Shore & Atlantic RailRoad.] [See note for the Duluth-Superior Traction Company.] [See note for the Canadian Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Charles Phelps Noyes for 335 Bates Avenue.] [See note on Rabbi Isaac L. Rypins for 165 Western Avenue North.]

613 Goodrich Avenue: Charles J. A. Morris House; Built in 1890 (1895 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Shingle in style; Wilcox & Johnston, architects. The structure is a two story, 3304 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles J. A. Morris resided at this address from 1889 to 1923. The 1891 city directory indicates that Charles J. A. Morris, with McMullen & Morris, contractors, resided at this address. The 1892, 1894, 1896, and 1902 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. A. Morris resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Sarah R. (Mrs. C. J. A.) Morris, a member of the church since 1880, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles J. A. Morris (1850-1918,) the husband of Sarah Morris, who was born in New York to parents born in Ireland and who died of uraemia, resided at this address in 1918. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. A. Morris and Dr. and Mrs. H. M. Lufkin all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sarah R. Morris (1846-1923,) the widowed sister of Mrs. L. M. Sherwood, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of pernicious anaemia, resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emil E. Nelson, assistant traffic manager employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Florence Z. Nelson, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Henry M. Smith, a member of the Class of 1938, resided at this address. E. E. Nelson (1878- ,) the stenographer to general passenger agent, the rate clerk, the assistant chief clerk, the chief clerk, the assistant general passenger agent, and the assistant passenger traffic manager for the Northern Pacific RailRoad and promoted in 1928 to the position of the Passenger Traffic Manager for the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address in 1930. In 1934, Emil E. Nelson and Florence Zimmerson Nelson resided at this address and were members of the Minikahda Country Club, the Somerset Club, the St. Paul Athletic Club, and the Women's City Club of St. Paul. Harry McCurdy Lufkin (1860-1924,) the son of Charles Dexter Lufkin (1828-1863) and Lucia Russell Smith Lufkin, was born in Shelbyville, Illinois, graduated from the University of Michigan medical school in 1883, afterward studied in New York and in Europe, settled in St. Paul in 1887, married Edith Louise Hall, the daughter of General Hamilton Warren Hall (1837-1911) and Anna Matilda Martin Hall (1836-1922,) in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1889, was a professor in the homoeopathic medical college of the University of Minnesota from 1889 until 1908, officed at the Germania Life Building in 1912, was a member of the medical staff of St. Luke's Hospital and St. Joseph's Hospital, and died in St. Paul. Edith Louise Hall Lufkin graduated from Wellesley College in 1888 and became a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1922. Hamilton McCurdy Lufkin (1891-1956,) the son of Harry McCurdy Lufkin (1860-1924) and Edith Louise Hall Lufkin (1866-1957,) a 1914 graduate of Cornell University, a civil engineer, married Leila Browning Markham, the daughter of James Edwin Markham, in 1917, the couple had two children, Hamilton Warren Lufkin (1917- ) and James Markham Lufkin (1919- ,) initially resided at 572 Pleasant Avenue, and later married Mary Casselman (1905- .) Charles Dexter Lufkin III (1902-1979,) an internal medicine doctor, Nathaniel Hall Lufkin (1898-1973,) a pathologist, Anne Virginia Lufkin (Mrs. Howard Charles) High, Jr. (1912-2005,) an anesthesiologist, Bernardine "Bing" Lufkin (1896-1988,) a Smith College graduate and the editor of a medical journal, and Edith "Edie" Harriet Lufkin (1906-1911) also were children of Harry McCurdy Lufkin and Edith Louise Hall Lufkin. Charles Dexter Lufkin III founded the first hospital in Northfield, Minnesota, in the 1930's. Charles Dexter Lufkin (1863-1940) organized First National Bank of Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii, in 1901, organized the Lahaina, Hawaii, National Bank in 1906, and organized First National Bank of Paia, Hawaii, in 1913. Charles J. A. Morris was secretary of the Civil Engineers Society of St. Paul in 1885, was president of the Civil Engineers Society of St. Paul in 1886, was a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers in 1889, and became a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1921. Mrs. Charles J. A. Morris was the first vice president of the Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Minnesota. Charles J. Morris ( -1918) died in Ramsey County. Emil E. Nelson ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. Florence Z. Nelson (1887-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Defeil, and died in Ramsey County. Hamilton McCurdy Lufkin (1891-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hall, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Lynn G. Lindsay and Melissa P. Lindsay. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William G. Jones and Samantha B. Jones (1830-1897,) who died of dropsy, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 614 Goodrich Avenue in 1897. William G. Jones ( -1909) died in Ramsey County. [See note for James E. Markham for 903 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note for Harry Macurdy Lufkin for 617 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.] [See note on William H. Willcox.] [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

617-619 Goodrich Avenue: H. M. Lufkin House; Built in 1888 (1898 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style, __?__ Steven, architect. The structure is a two story, 4442 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1902 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. M. Lufkin resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dr. Harry M. Lufkin resided at this address in 1904. The 1909 University of Minnesota Bulletin indicates that Harry M. Lufkin, a professor of practice, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Edith Lufkin, the widow of Harry M. Lufkin, resided at this address. In 1934, Alice Stokes Johnston, the widow of Cyrus Thurston Johnston, Mary Johnston, Cyrus Johnston, and Bucky Johnston all resided at this address. Harry McCurdy/Macurdy Lufkin (1860-1924,) the son of Charles Dexter Lufkin and Lucia Russell Smith Lufkin, was born in Shelbyville, Illinois, was educated at the State Normal University of Normal, Illinois, graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School with a homeopathic medical degree in 1883, studied at the Hahnemann Medical College in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, received a medical degree from the University of New York, studied medicine in European hospitals, moved to St. Paul in 1887, was a physician, was a professor at the Homeopathic Medical School of the University of Minnesota from 1889 to 1908, married Edith Louise Hall in 1889 in Boston, Massachusetts, was a member of the medical staff of St. Luke's Hospital in St. Paul and St. Joseph's Hospital in St. Paul, was the attending gynecologist at the City & County Hospital, was a member of the State Board of Medical Examiners from 1890 until 1897, was a professor of the diseases of children at the University of Minnesota Medical School from 1897 until 1904, was a professor of physical diagnosis and clinical medicine at the University of Minnesota Medical School from 1897 until 1904, officed at the Germania Life Building, and died of heart disease and nephritis in St. Paul. Edith Louise Hall Lufkin was an 1888 graduate of Wellesley College and was a member of the Mayflower Society. Mrs. Harry M. Lufkin was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1922. Harry M. Lufkin and Edith Hall Lufkin were the parents of six children, Hamilton Mccurdy Lufkin (1891-1956,) a civil engineer, Bernadine "Bing" Lufkin (1896-1988,) a Smith College graduate and editor of a medical journal, Nathaniel Hall Lufkin (1898-1973,) a pathologist, Charles Dexter Lufkin (1902-1979,) an internal medicine doctor, Edith Harriet Lufkin (1906-1911,) and Anne Virginia Lufkin (Mrs. Howard) High (1912-2005,) an anesthesiologist. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Cyrus T. Johnston (1888-1920,) the husband of Alice Johnston, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of septic endocarditis, resided at 691 West Osceola Avenue in 1920. Cyrus Thurston Johnston ( -1920) and Dr. Harry M. Lufkin ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. Edith Hall Lufkin (1866-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Martin, and died in Hennepin County. Alice Amelia Johnston (1888-1976) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Alice M. Johnston (1892-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dykin, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Carl E. Ohm and Peggy A. Reichert. Carl Ohm was a Transportation Planning Analyst for the Metropolitan Council in 2001. Peggy A. Reichert is the author of Growth Management in the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area: the Development Framework Planning Process, published in Saint Paul by the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area in 1976. Peggy Reichert was the Director of Land Use and Access Management of the Office of Investment Management of the Minnesota Department of Transportation in 2002. [See note on Clarence H. Johnston, Sr.] [See note for Harry M. Lufkin for 613 Goodrich Avenue.]

620-622 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1870 (1902 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3915 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a attached two car garage and a detached one car garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Forbes and Mrs. J. D. Cudworth all resided at 622 Goodrich Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that George C. Dittman, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and Georgina Dittman, a social worker, both resided at this address. John Andrew Forbes ( -1929,) John Alexander Forbes ( -1946,) and Georgeana Dittman ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Anita J. Ratwick and Paul C. Ratwick. Anita Ratwick is a member of the Diversity Steering Committee of the American Association of Teachers of German. Minnesota New Visions: Languages for Life, a group of language teachers and an outgrowth of the national New Visions in Action process, is also currently located at this address.

621-623 Goodrich Avenue: E. J. Megrath House; Built in 1902 (1899 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3956 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Edward J. Megroth resided at 623 Goodrich Avenue from 1896 to 1912. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Magrath, T. W. Magrath, and F. A. Magrath all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Melady resided at 623 Goodrich Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary P. Melady, the widow of John P. Melady and the president of the Melady Paper Company, and Mary E. Melady, a student, both resided at this address. Among other items, the Melady Paper Company manufactured paper-lace doilies, underlines, and finger bowl inserts. John P. Melady (1869- ) was born in Faribault, Minnesota. Mary Melady (1907- ) married Richard McCauley and they lived in St. Paul. John P. Melady ( -1922) died in Ramsey County. Mary P. Melady (1872-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Newell, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Elizabeth McCauley (1907-1997) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Prendergast, and died in Ramsey County. Richard F. McCauley (1905-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fitzgerald, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Catherine M. Steinstra.

626 Goodrich Avenue: Built in 1892; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3346 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Frank J. Ottis resided at this address from 1906 to 1914 and that F. Scott Fitzgerald resided at this address in 1922. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Harry Lawrence Donahower resided at this address. The Twelfth General Catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Henry Lawrence Donahower, a member of the Mu Chapter, an 1896 Law School graduate of the University of Minnesota, a manufacturer who officed at 252 East Fourth Street, a member of the University Club, a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, and a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, resided at this address in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Dunahower resided at this address. F. Scott Fitzgerald resided at this residence with his wife, Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald, and his daughter, Scottie (Frances Scott) Fitzgerald, in 1921 and 1922. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sarah Kalman, the widow of Arnold Kalman, and Celia Kalman, a stenographer, both resided at this address. In 1934, Sarah Greve Kalman, the widow of Arnold Kalman, and Cecelia Kalman both resided at this address. The 1991 St. Paul's on-the-Hill Episcopal Church directory indicates that George Muschamp, Molly Muschamp, John Muschamp, and Margo Muschamp resided at this address. Harry Lawrence Donahower (1875- ,) the son of Frederick A. Donahower and Ellen Magner/Mayner Donahower, was born in St. Peter, Minnesota, was educated in the St. Peter, Minnesota, public schools, was a 1896 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was a member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity, was a member of the Kappa Beta Phi fraternity, was a member of the Theta Nu Epsilon fraternity, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1896, was employed by the legal department of the Northern Pacific RailRoad from 1896 until 1907, was unmarried in 1907, became the president, treasurer, and part owner of the F. G. Leslie Company in 1907, was associated with the Leslie-Donahower Paper Company, married Bessie Isbell (1877- ,) the daughter of Nelson G. Isbell and Julia Gregory Isbell, in 1908 at La Porte, Indiana, was a wholesale dealer in paper, was a Republican, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a member of the University Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, resided at the Marlborough Hotel in 1907, and officed at 252 East Fourth Street in 1916. George Muschamp was a student of Theatre Arts professor Charles Nolte (1923- ) at the University of Minnesota while working on his doctorate. Dr. George Muschamp, a professional actor and director, a theatre arts associate professor at Gettysburg College, Pennsylvania, and the Artistic Director of the Gettysburg Theatre Festival, and Molly Muschamp were the parents of John Whitney Muschamp (1974- ,) who received a doctoral degree in Psychology from Florida State University in 2007. Arnold Kalman was the president and treasurer of the Tarbox Syndicate. Sarah Kalman and Cecelia Kalman were relatives of Xandra Kalman, a personal friend of F. Scott Fitzgerald. Arnold Kalman ( -1917,) Francis J. Ottis ( -1935,) and Sarah W. Kalman ( -1937) all died in Ramsey County. Harry L. Donahower (1874-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Magner, and died in Ramsey County. Cecelia Kalman (1870-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gieve, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $429,000. The current owners of record of the property are Marianne C. Jurjaj and Michael N. Jurjayj. [See note on Fitzgerald for 599 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Arnold Kalman for 251 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 18 Kenwood Parkway.]

627 Goodrich Avenue: Mrs. Marshall Cathcart House; Built in 1892; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2575 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alexander H. Cathcart (1819-1899,) who died of vraemia, and Rebecca M. Cathcart, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1899. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mrs. L. H. Maxfield, Mrs. A. H. Cathcart, and Cathcart Maxfield resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Malcolm McGuckin, Mrs. L. H. Maxfield and her daughter, and Mrs. A. H. Cathcart all resided at this address. Malcolm L. McGuickin was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rebecca M. Cathcart (1830-1925,) the widowed mother of A. H. Cathcart, who was born in Missouri to parents born in the United States and who died of arteriosclerosis, resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Adelaide C. Maxfield, the widow of Louis H. Maxfield, and Eleanor Maxfield, a stenographer, resided at this address. In 1934, Adelaide Cathcart Maxfield, the widow of Louis H. Maxfield, and Eleanor Maxfield resided at this address. Rebecca Marshall Cathcart, the sister of William Rush Marshall, resided at St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1849, and was the author of Memories of Christ Church, St. Paul, Minnesota in 1917. Lewis Henry Maxfield (1883-1921,) the grandson of Alexander H. Cathcart, who resided at 631 Goodhue Avenue, was involved in a naval cruise around the world (1907-1909), in naval duty in the Caribbean and South America (1910-1912,) served in World War I as a dirigible pilot (1917-1920,) and was involved in the development of the ZR-2 dirigible in England (1920-1921,) resulting in his death in the unsuccessful trial flight of the ZR-2. Adelaide C. Maxfield and Eleanor Maxfield were members of the Women's City Club of St. Paul in 1934. Alexander H. Cathcart was a correspondent with William Pitt Murray (1827-1910,) a St. Paul lawyer, a territorial and state legislator, a member of the St. Paul city council (1861-1879,) and the city attorney (1876-1889.) Alexander Henry Cathcart (1820-1899) was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, apprenticed in the retail dry goods business in 1831, moved to Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 1841, moved to St. Paul in 1851, was a St. Paul merchant in the dry goods business in partnership with his brother, John Wilson Cathcart ( -1864,) was a charter member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, was elected a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1856, served on the executive council of the Minnesota Historical Society from 1864 until 1870, from 1882 until 1885, and from 1888 until 1897, was the treasurer of the St. Paul Board of Trade in 1859, and died in St. Paul. Louis H. Maxfield (1852-1892,) the son of Thomas W. Maxfield ( -1864,) was born in Ohio, moved to Minnesota in 1865, was raised by his older brother, James T. Maxfield, attended St. Paul public schools, was employed by the Briedet Stove Works, became a commission merchant as a partner of __?__ Clifford in the firm Clifford & Maxfield, reorganized the company as Maxfield & Company, and then again as Maxfield & Seabury, wholesale grocers, married Adelaide Cathcart in 1876, was the president of the Ice Palace Association of St. Paul, was a Mason, was a Democrat, was an Episcopalian, and died in St. Paul. The British airship R-38/U.S. Navy ZR-2 dirigible balloon collapsed and exploded near Hull, England, killing 62, including 17 Americans. The airship built 1918-1921 at Cardington, Bedfordshire, England, by the Short Brothers and was designed as a North Sea scouting ship, with high speed, high altitude capability to escape from fighter aircraft, and long duration. The committee of inquiry that investigated the disaster concluded that no allowance had been made for aerodynamic stresses in the design of the airship and, although no loads had been placed on the structure during testing beyond those in its expected normal use, that the effects of the manoeuvres made had weakened its hull, resulting in the crash. The addition of a mast mooring modification on one end, the addition of counterbalancing ballast on the other end, and the weight savings in its design weakened the hull of the craft longitudinally. William Pibb Murray ( -1910,) Rebecca Marshall Cathcart (1830-1925,) Adelaide Cathcart Maxfield ( -1938,) and Alexander H. Cathcart ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Maxfield (1879-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cathcart, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Eunice F. Weisensel and Peter R. Weisensel.

631 Goodrich Avenue: Alex Cathcart House; Built in 1884 (1896 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3485 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1902 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Cathcart resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Alexander Cathcart resided at this address in 1907. In 1916, Alexander H. Cathcart and James A. Cathcart, both 1915 graduates of Williams College and both members of the Zeta Chapter of the Zeta Psi fraternity, both resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Alex Cathcart and J. A. Cathcart all resided at this address. James A. Cathcart was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert Beyer, an engineer employed by the Merchant Bank Building, and Alex Cathcart, a partner with Alex H. Cathcart and A. Cathcart Maxfield in the real estate firm of Cathcart & Maxfield, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex Cathcart, president of Cathcart & Maxfield, Inc., involved in real estate, loans, property management, and insurance, resided at this address. In 1934, Alexander H. Cathcart and Mabel Adams Cathcart resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Charles S. Stryker, a member of the Class of 1948, resided at this address. Alexander Henry Cathcart (1820-1899) was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, was an apprentice in a retail dry goods business in 1831, moved to Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 1841, moved to New York City in the 1840's, moved to St. Paul in 1850, was a St. Paul merchant in the dry goods business, was a charter member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, was elected a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1856, was a member of the executive committee of the Minnesota Historical Society from 1864 until 1870, from 1882 until 1885, and from 1888 until 1897, was a member of Christ Church Episcopal Church, and died in St. Paul. In 1873, Alexander Cathcart, with Henry H. Sibley and William Dawson, was a member of the lay board managing the Church Hospital and Orphans' Home, a predecessor of St. Luke's Hospital, which was a predecessor of United Hospital. Alexander H. Cathcart was a Canadian who came to St. Paul in 1851, married Rebecca Marshall, and owned one of the first brick buildings in St. Paul, where he and his brother kept a mercantile business. William Rainey Marshall (1825-1896,) Alexander Cathcart's brother-in-law, had also come to St. Paul in 1851, where he was a merchant and newspaper proprietor. In 1897, in Ordinance 1905, the St. Paul City Common Council permitted Alexander Cathcart to string two electrical lines from the Germania Bank building across Fifth Street to provide electrical power to several office buildings. Alexander Cathcart (1865- ,) the son of Alexander H. Cathcart and Rebecca Marshall Cathcart, was born at St. Paul, was educated at The Shattuck School, Faribault, Minnesota, was involved in real estate, began in the real estate business at St. Paul in 1886, married Mabel W. Adams, the daughter of James E. Adams and Kate Hayward Adams, at Cleveland, Ohio, in 1890, was a senior partner with his former uncle, William R. Marshall, in the firm of Cathcart, Price & Company, was a member of the St. Paul Real Estate Exchange, was a member of the St. Paul Town and Country Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, officed at the National German American Bank Building in 1907. Marshall was elected Minnesota governor in 1866 and served a pair of two year terms. After his time in office, Marshall returned to the St. Croix Valley and built a home on Stagecoach Trail. In 1857, the village of St. Mary, Minnesota, was laid out by St. Paul investors Alexander Cathcart and William R. Marshall on land that was owned by Thomas Coleman and John Cathcart and was intended as a prospective industrial town. These men were drawn to the area by the early success of sawmills in Lakeland, Minnesota, and Afton, Minnesota. The development of the St. Mary's Point, Minnesota, area has had a long history. According to W. H. C. Folsom, James A. Carr surveyed the point in 1855 and Thomas W. Coleman platted St. Mary Village, Minnesota, there, across the mouth of Bolles Creek from Afton, Minnesota. Joseph R. Brown apparently bought the land so that his half-sister, Lydia Ann Carli, and her husband, Paul Carli ( -1846,) who had been one of the first settlers in the Stillwater area, could open a farm. Brown hired Jake Fisher and Joseph Hall to build a two-story frame house on the point. Although older settlers referred to this place as Brown's Farm, Brown never lived there or operated it and it was operated by Paul Carli until his death from drowning near Catfish Bar (Afton, Minnesota) while retreiving a hunted duck, leaving his wife with five youngsters and the farm to care for. When Lydia Carli moved back to Stillwater, Minnesota, in 1846, J. R. Brown sold the western part of the farm to Lemuel Bolles, a New Yorker, who built the first flouring mill in the valley on the creek over the winter of 1845-1846. Early settlers also thought Brown owned land north of the creek as late as 1849. In 1848, land sales in the valley began and speculators also began to buy. The first recorded land transaction in St. Croix County, Wisconsin Territory, dates back to 1844. In 1846, Gaspare Bruce sold his claim on the point to Henry Sibley, who was the agent for the American Fur Company at Mendota, Minnesota. Bruce was an old voyageur and an employee of Sibley's who had retired to the Afton, Minnesota, area. French-Canadian families lived in the area from 1837. In 1844, Sibley sold the claim to Joseph R. Brown, founder of Dacotah (now Stillwater,) Minnesota. Joseph Renshaw Brown (1805-1870,) the son of Samuel Brown (1785-1828) and Emily Renshaw Brown ( -1806,) was born in Hartford County, Maryland, came to Minnesota in 1819, was discharged from the U. S. Army in 1828, left Minnesota for Wisconsin and Illinois between 1828 and 1830, moved to the St. Croix River Valley in 1830, set up a trading post and farm at Oliver's Grove/Hastings, Minnesota, was a trader with the Dakota Indians, was the area's first Justice of the Peace, was a major in the Wisconsin militia, was in active military service during the 1862 Dakota Uprising, was the territorial printer, owned and published the Minnesota Pioneer, owned and published the Henderson Democrat, was the secretary of the Territorial Council from 1849 until 1851, persuaded the Dakota Indians to make the treaty that opened up southern Minnesota to settlement in 1851, was a member of the Territorial Council from 1854 until 1855, was a member of the Territorial House of Representatives in 1857, was a member of the Democratic Constitutional Convention in 1857, was Henry Sibley's campaign manager during the 1858 campaign for governor, was the Sioux Indian Agent in 1858, invented a "steam wagon" that was capable of pulling a train of freight wagons over the trackless prairies, and died in New York City. Paul Carli (1805-1846) was born in Italy, married Lydia Ann Brown, the sister of Joseph R. Brown, in 1834, settled in Afton, Minnesota, in 1841, and drowned in Lake St. Croix on the St. Croix River. Lydia Ann Brown Carli (1818-1905) was born near Lancaster, Pennsylvania, married Paul Carli in 1834, was the first European-American woman in the St. Croix River Valley when she moved to Afton, Minnesota, in 1841, after being widowed married her former brother-in-law, Dr. Christopher Carli, in 1847, was the mother of 12 children, and died in Stillwater, Minnesota. Dr. Christopher Carli (1811-1887,) the son of an Italian merchant, was born in Frankfort-on-the-Main, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1832, moved to Minnesota in 1841, was an initial settler, with Joseph R. Brown, of Stillwater, Minnesota, esatblished the first bank in Stillwater, Minnesota, married Lydia Ann Brown Carli in 1847, established the first pharmacy in Stillwater, Minnesota, and died in Stillwater, Minnesota. Alexander Cathcart (1865- ,) the son of Alexander H. Cathcart and Rebecca Marshall Cathcart, was born in St. Paul, was educated at the Shattuck Military School at Faribault, Minnesota, was engaged in the real estate business with former Governor William Rainey Marshall, his uncle, in 1886, married Mabel Adams in 1890, headed Cathcart, Price & Company, a real estate and property management firm, in 1907, resided at this address in 1907, and officed at 115 East Fourth Street in 1907. Lewis Henry Maxfield was Alexander H. Cathcart's grandson and resided at 627 Goodrich Avenue. Robert Beyer ( -1928,) James A. Cathcart ( -1929,) Alexander Cathcart ( -1930,) Mabel Adams Cathcart ( -1944,) and Alexander H. Cathcart ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $580,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owners of record of the property are Janel A. Cox and Ted D. Cox. Janel A. Cox, M.D., is a radiation oncologist. [See note for Lewis Henry Maxfield and the U. S. Navy ZR-2 dirigible for 627 Goodrich Avenue.] [See the note for the St. Paul Academy.]

634 Goodrich Avenue: D. S. Bryant House; Built in 1890; Shingle in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. The structure is a two story, 3850 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The homeowner recently reported that he was contacted by an architect who believes that the house was designed by Cass Gilbert. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that James S. Bryant resided at this address from 1891 to 1941. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James S. Bryant resided at this address in 1893 and in 1898. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James S. Bryant resided at this address in 1893. The 1902 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. S. Bryant resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rachel Ashley, a cleaner employed by the Monroe School, Crawford S. Bryant, a salesman, and James S. Bryant all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James S. Bryant, a stock broker, and his wife, Edith C. Bryant, resided at this address. In 1905, James S. Bryant was one of the vestrymen of the Church of St. John the Evangelist Episcopal Church, located on the corner of Portland Avenue and Kent Street, organized in 1881, and incorporated in 1882. Edith Lucille Bryant (1898-1898) was the infant daughter of James S. Bryant. James Spencer Bryant ( -1939) died in Hennepin County. Edith Crawford Bryant ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $265,000. The current owners of record of the property are J. Eric Dunn and Lori A. Ricke. [See note on Cass Gilbert.]

Hike Architectural Notes, Part 1

Hike Architectural Notes, Part 3

Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this web page.

This web page was last modified on August 4, 2011.