Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 2 Architecture Notes

Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 2 Architecture Notes


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 2

Portland East 2

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

St. Paul, Minnesota

Webpage Creation: September 6, 2006

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

1089 Portland Avenue: Enoch F. Berrisford Residence; Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 4391 square foot, 13 room, nine bedroom, four bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Enoch F. Berrisford ( -1930) resided at this address from 1907 to 1955. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Enoch F. Berrisford resided at this address in 1882. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Berrisford and their daughters resided at this address. In 1916, Enoch F. Berrisford was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1920 federal census indicates that Enoch F. Berrisford (1847- ,) a food manufacturer and the head of household, who was born in England to parents who were born in England, who emigrated to the United States in 1856, and who was naturalized in 1884, his daughter, Ada A. Berrisford (1871- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in England and a mother who was born in New York, his daughter, Katherine M. Berrisford (1873- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in England and a mother who was born in New York, and his daughter, Isabella J. Berrisford (1874- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in England and a mother who was born in New York, all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Berrisford resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Isabelle J. Berrisford resided at this address. Enoch F. Berrisford (1846- ) was born near the town of Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, England, emigrated with his family to the United States in 1856, then moved to Credit River township, Scott County, Minnesota, joined the Sully Expedition against the Dakota in 1864, came to St. Paul in 1866, married Isabella J. Young in 1868, became a partner in the wholesale and retail baking business of his eldest brother, Thomas Berrisford (1840-1894,) continued in business until 1872, when the firm was dissolved, was a volunteer fireman and was foreman of the old Minnehaha Engine Co. No. 2 until 1873, and served on the Board of Education from 1873 to 1876. E. P. Berrisford took the wholesale part of the business and Thomas Berrisford retained the retail department of the department. The brothers again united their business interests in 1884 and were incorporated under the name of The Berrisfords' Baking & Confectionery Company, with E. P. Berrisford as president, and the company carried on a successful business until 1890, when they sold out to the American Biscuit & Manufacturing Company, with E. P. Berrisford was retained as manager until retirement in 1896. In 1879, E. F. Berrisford was the president of the People's Building Society, located at 80 Robert Street. The children of Enoch F. Berrisford and Isabella Y. Berrisford were Ada A. Berrisford, Katherine M. Berrisford, Isabella J. Berrisford, Gertrude F. Berrisford and Emma D. Berrisford Fogarty. In 1889, William Moore acquired Pearson & Sons Bakery, the Josiah Bent Bakery, and six other bakeries and started the New York Biscuit Company. In 1890, Adolphus Green started the American Biscuit & Manufacturing Company after acquiring 40 different bakeries. In 1898, William Moore and Adolphus Green merged their baking operations to form the National Biscuit Company, with Adolphus Green as president. In 1971, Nabisco became the corporate name for the baking company. In 1981, Nabisco merged with Standard Brands and, in 1985, Nabisco Brands merged with R. J. Reynolds. In 1993, Kraft General Foods acquires Nabisco ready-to-eat cold cereals from RJR Nabisco and, in 2000, Philip Morris Companies, Inc. acquired Nabisco and merged it with Kraft Foods, Inc. In 1863, the United States Government sent General H. H. Sibley and General Alfred Sully and their forces to Dakota Territory to retaliate for the murders in the 1862 Dakota Uprising by driving the Indians out of the Dakota Territory, where they had escaped. Brigadier General Alfred Sully had been ordered to work in concert with a Minnesota column led by Brigadier General Henry H. Sibley. General Sibley led a military expedition starting in Minnesota which crossed to the high prairies of the Dakotas. General Sully and his troops began a slow advance up the Missouri River from a camp near Sioux City, Iowa. Alfred Sully (1821-1879) was the son of the portrait painter, Thomas Sully, of Pennsylvania, graduated from West Point in 1841, served in the Plains States during and after the Civil War, was a watercolorist and oil painter, was chief quartermaster of the U.S. troops at Monterey, California, between 1849 to 1853, was stationed at Fort Randall, Dakota Territory, during the Minnesota Dakota War of 1862, married a French-Indian girl of the Yankton Lakota tribe and became the son-in-law of Saswe/François Deloria, was part of U.S. Major General John Pope's 1864 campaign against the Lakota to protect travelers to gold mines in the northern Rockies and settlers pursuing Homestead Act land claims, defeated remnants of the Indian bands that had participated in the Dakota Uprising of 1862 in Minnesota at Whitestone Hill, Dakota Territory, in September, 1863, defeated the Lakota and Tetons at the battle of Kildeer Mountain, Dakota Territory, in July, 1864, and then swept westward to the Yellowstone River before returning to Fort Rice (Bismark,) Dakota Territory. Enoch F. Berrisford ( -1930) and Ada A. Berrisford ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. Katherine Berrisford (1872-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Young, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Ain Dah Yung Shelter, Inc. Ain Dah Yung, a shelter for youth with HIV/AIDS, is located at this address.

1076 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 2410 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Kay resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that John Henry Kay resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Kay resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Young resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Bonbright, in the cash register business, and his wife, Mae Belle Bonbright, resided at this address. John Henry Kay was a 1906 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was a lawyer, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Club, was a member of the St. Paul Automobile Club, was a member of the St. Paul Tennis Club, was a member of the Young Men's Christian Association, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1916. John H. Bonbright ( -1952) died in Hennepin County. Mae Belle D. Bonbright (1895-1972) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 for $241,000. The current owners of record are Shelly R. Rucks and Steven R. Rucks. Shelly Rucks and Steven Rucks were financial supporters of the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library in 2003 and of Courage Center in 2004. [See the note for the Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA) for 277 Harrison Avenue.]

1075 Portland Avenue: Built in 1948. The structure is a one story, 1358 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick bungalow, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Uno Development Inc., located at 1060 Portland Avenue. Matthew J. Mejia, who lives at 1060 Portland Avenue, is associated with Uno Development Inc., real estate developers, which joined the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce in 2006.

1072 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 3065 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Poole resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Poole and their daughter all resided at this address. Arthur B. Poole was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. W. Sterner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto W. Sterner, a physician and a partner with Ernest G. Sterner in the medical practice of Sterner & Sterner, his wife, Hildegaard M. Sterner, E. Russell Sterner, a clerk, Eleanor Sterner, a bookkeeper employed by Bannons Inc., and Otis W. Sterner, a clerk, all resided at this address. Arthur B. Poole was added to the Alumni Wall of Honor at the University of Minnesota in 1960. Bannons Department store was located on East 7th Street in Saint Paul. Otto W. Sterner (1878- ,) the son of John Magnusson (1831- ) and Johanna Magnussson (1837- ,) was born in Smaland, Sweden, began his education in Sweden, emigrated with his family to the United States in 1891, attended the St. Paul Public Schools for one year, was employed as a cash boy in a department store, then was employed as an office boy in a physician's office, graduated from a St. Paul High School in 1899, graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1903, was admitted to the practice of medicine, moved to Cambridge, Minnesota, to practice medicine, was elected Isanti County coroner, was elected mayor of Cambridge, Minnesota, was a member of the Isanti County Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Medical Association, was a member of the American Medical Association, and is a member of the Swedish Lutheran Church. Otto W. Sterner married Hildegarde Johnson, the daughter of Charles G. Johnson, in St. Paul in 1903, and the couple had a son, E. Russell Sterner (1906- .) Ernest G. Sterner (1882- ,) the son of John Magnusson (1831- ) and Johanna Magnussson (1837- ,) was born in Smaland, Sweden, began his education in Sweden, emigrated with his family to the United States in 1891, attended the St. Paul Public Schools, attended the Northwestern University of St. Paul, studied medicine with Dr. Lundholm, entered Hamline University in 1901 and graduated 1906, was admitted to the practice of medicine in 1906, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Medical Association, was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Society, was a member of the Twin City Physicians' Club, was a member of the Brotherhood of Yeomen, and was a member of the surgical staff of Bethesda Hospital. Otto W. Sterner ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Ernest G. Sterner (1881-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Ernest Russell Sterner (1906-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County. Hildegard Marie Sterner (1881-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County. Otis W. Sterner (1913-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johanson, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Daniel R. Reif and Margaret T. Reif. Daniel R. Reif, a 1970 graduate, was a financial supporter of the St. Mary's University of Minnesota in 2003 and in 2004. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel R. Reif were financial supporters of the Courage Center in 2003. Bishop Patrick R. Heffron (1862- ) was the second bishop of Winona, Minnesota, and founded Saint Mary's University of Minnesota in 1912 to provide higher education for young men in southern Minnesota's Diocese of Winona and surrounding areas. In its early years, the university operated as an academy and junior college. In 1925, it became a four-year liberal arts college. Ann Walters, a chemical dependency counselor with Chrysalis/Harriet Tubman and a resident at 1070 Portland Avenue, was a financial supporter of the Hillary Clinton presidential campaign in 2004. [See note for Patrick Richard Heffren for 2450 Park Avenue.]

1071 Portland Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2113 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, two half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that the Misses Dougherty and J. W. Dougherty all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John C. Mullery, the secretary-treasurer of the William O'Brien Land Company, and his wife, Louise M. Mullery, resided at this address. John C. Mullery ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 for $238,000. The current owners of record are Jo Anne Link Zins and Joseph W. Zins. Pianist Jo Anne Link was taught by Martin Marks and Lee Luvisi, has appeared extensively as soloist, duo-pianist, and chamber musician throughout the Midwest and Southwest, has appeared as soloist with the Maple Mount Festival Orchestra, the Jordan Conservatory Orchestra, has toured as a soloist with the University of Arizona Orchestra, was awarded the MTNA National Baldwin Awards-State Division, first and second place in the International Recording Competition of Austin, Texas, and lives in St. Paul with her husband, Dr. Joseph Zins, where they share a studio devoted to the training of around 60 gifted and talented young musicians. An Indiana native, Joseph Zins had his professional debut with the Indianapolis Symphony at age 17, had temporary teaching jobs from Arizona to Texas to Kentucky, came to Minnesota in 1987 for a one-year post at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota, but when no permanent job followed, fought through a decade-long midlife career crisis that dissolved when he and Jo Anne Link committed themselves to a life of private instruction from their home. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Culligan, their daughter, and Miss Julia Cummings all resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Culligan, their daughter, T. H. Culligan, M. J. Culligan, and Miss Julia Cummings all resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. Michael J. Culligan, T. Howard Culligan, and Thomas Culligan all were World War I veterans who resided at the former 1065 Portland Avenue in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Marie Culligan, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, Michael Culligan, a clerk employed by Brooks Brothers, and Thomas H. Culligan, a department manager employed by Charles Weinhagen & Company, all boarded at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue and that Thomas Culligan, a Lieutenant in the U. S. Army, resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Thomas Howard Culligan (1889- ,) a First Lieutenant in the Field Artillery Section, resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Cornelius Guiney resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mary Guiney resided at the former nearby 1065 Portland Avenue. Thomas Howard Culligan was the vice-president of the Culligan Weinhagen Company in 1938. When, after years of the O'Connor system of permitting criminals to have a safe haven in St. Paul, Saint Paulites started to become victims and headlines in the St. Paul Daily News demanded a cleanup of the city and its police department, charging it with corruption, which included police accepting bribes and providing gangsters with tip-offs, substantiated by wiretapped Police Department telephones, there was the suspension or firing of 13 of the 315 members of the Police Department for corrupt activities and Police Chief Michael J. Culligan, the second chief during Mayor Gehan's administration, was forced to resign. Cornelius "Con" Guiney was a delegate, representing Typographical Union Local 30, to the founding meeting of the Saint Paul Trades and Labor Assembly in 1882, owned, printed, published and wrote for the Union Advocate, a private unsubsidized publication that he had acquired within its first year of existence and that had been the Assembly's official organ since 1897, and attended Saint Paul Trades and Labor Assembly monthly meetings in 1902. Cornelius Guiney was accused of being a handy man for John O’Connor, a political boss and St. Paul Mayor. Thomas Howard Culligan ( -1925) and Thomas Howard Culligan ( -1943) both died in Ramsey County. Julia M. Cummings (1873-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Merrick, and died in Fillmore County, Minnesota. Julia C. Cummings (1900-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jerou, and died in Hennepin County. Mary Guiney ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Thomas Howard Culligan ( -1925,) Thomas Howard Culligan ( -1943,) and Michael Culligan ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Cornelius Guiney ( -1936) died in Hennepin County. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.] [See the note for William J. O'Brien for 1034-1038 Summit Avenue.] [See note for Cornelius Guiney for 1522 Portland Avenue.] [See note for the Union Advocate for 1522 Portland Avenue.]

1064 Portland Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2598 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles H. Lindeke, Jr., resided at this address from 1911 to 1918. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Sauk County Democrat, was elected to the Wisconsin Senate in 1852, representing the counties of Sauk, Juneau, Adams and Marquette, later served in the Wisconsin House of Representatives, entered the military and was commissioned Captain of Company F of the Third Wisconsin Cavalry in 1861, later was promoted to Lieutenant Colonel, returned to the practice of law after the American Civil War, then organized and headed the First National Bank of Baraboo, Wisconsin, subsequently bought out the Sauk County Bank, dealt in real estate, and was a vestryman of Trinity Church. Alfred Quinby and Helen Vittum Quinby were the parents of Percita "Percy" Vittum Quinby (Mrs. Arthur) Down ( -2006,) a granddaughter of Sadee A. Keller Vittum. The Percy Vittum Livestock Commission Company was located in South St. Paul, Minnesota. Charles H. Lindeke ( -1923) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The current owners of record are Joan M. Nyberg and Richard H. Nyberg.

1061 Portland Avenue: Built in 1926. The structure is a two story, 1810 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lawrence F. Jaspers, a vice-president of Brown-Jaspers Inc., and his wife, Alma Jaspers, resided at this address. Lawrence F. Jaspers (1902-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heinen, and died in Ramsey County. Alma B. Jaspers (1894-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tresmer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $350,000. The current owner of record is Stephanie Knutson, who resides in Woodbury, Minnesota.

1060 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2090 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Botzet resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry E. Berry, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry E. Berry, a wholesale baker, and his wife, Nellie E. Berry, resided at this address. Henry E. Berry ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Nellie E. Berry (1888-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Keefe, and died in Ramsey County. Nellie E. Berry (1885-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Blaine, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $405,000. The current owners of record are Matthew J. Mejia and Wendy K. Mejia. Matthew J. Mejia served as a representative of the City of St. Paul on the Capitol Area Architectural Planning Board in 1999, served on the Saint Paul Planning Commission from 2001 until 2007, is associated with Uno Development Inc., Real Estate-Developers, located at this address, and is a member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce. Wendy Mejia is a realtor with The Summit Group/RE/MAX Results. Matthew Mejia and Wendy Mejia are both competitive half-marathon/marathon runners.

1057 Portland Avenue: Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 2633 square foot, 11 room, six bedroom, three bathroom, two half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Josephine Gaertner, the widow of Frank Gaertner, resided at this address. Josephine Gaertner (1871-1959) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Josephine Gaertner (1871-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $760,000. The current owners of record are Joseph A. Tracy and Susan Tracy.

1056 Portland Avenue: Built in 1910. The structure is a two story, 1999 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. L. C. Robinson and G. G. Robinson resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Lucy C. Robinson (1840-1924,) the widowed mother of George Robinson, who was born in New Jersey to parents born in the United States and who died of cardiac myocarditis, resided at this address in 1924. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. L. C. Robinson and G. G. Robinson both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George G. Robinson, a bookkeeper employed by Fitch & Company, and his wife, Esther E. Robinson, resided at this address. Lucy Cecelia Robinson ( -1924) and George Gill Robinson ( -1943) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 for $212,000. The current owners of record are Caroline L. P. Portoghese and Stephen P. Portoghese. Caroline Portoghese, OTR/L, has been an occupational therapist for 10 years focusing on seating and positioning and its impact on overall function, health, and patient satisfaction at Fairview Rehabilitation Services in the Seating and Wheeled Mobility Clinic in Minneapolis. Stephen P. Portoghese is a son of Philip S. Portoghese, of North Oaks, Minnesota, who was a member of Scientific Advisory Board of Cephalon, Inc., and was the subject of an insider trading complaint by the the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission in 1997, relating to Myotrophin, a drug Cephalon developed to treat individuals suffering from Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Lou Gehrig's disease, and is a member of the the University of Minnesota Academic Health Center's Academy for Excellence in Health Research. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles Briarley, a cutter, resided at the former nearby 1051 Portland Avenue.

1049 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 3214 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Leacey resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Robert M. Burns resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. R. M. Burns resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert M. Burns, a physician who officed at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. R. M. Burns resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert M. Burns, employed at the Earl Clinic, and his wife, Mary Burns, resided at this address. Robert M. Burns was a 1905 graduate of the University of Minnesota Medical School, was a member of the Phi Rho Sigma fraternity, was a physician and a surgeon, was a member of the Knights of Columbus, was a member of the International Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, was a Yeoman, and officed at the Lowry Building in 1916. Fred J. Leacey ( -1917) died in Ramsey County. Robert M. Burns (1910-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Spillane, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Carolyn J. Marker and John C. Marker. Carolyn Marker, associated with the Skate St. Paul 2006 skating competition, resided at this address in 2006. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. M. Heidenreich resided at the former nearby 1048 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Heidenreich resided at the former nearby 1048 Portland Avenue. Michael Heidenreich ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Michael Heidenreich (1894-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jansen, and died in Ramsey County.

1046 Portland Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 3233 square foot, 12 room, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached two car garage and a detached one car garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Smith resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William L. Strong resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1996 for $207,500. The current owner of record is Harry F. Pihl III. Harry F. Pihl III was a financial supporter of Out Front Minnesota in 2006.

1045 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 3516 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. August Jacke resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Jacke resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas C. Daggett, a partner with Clinton W. Redlund in the law firm of Daggett & Redlund, and his wife, Ursula K. Daggett, resided at this address. Thomas C. Daggett was the head of a committee that campaigned for the re-election of Ramsey County District Court judges Hugo O. Hanft, Carlton F. McNally, Gustavus Loevinger (1881-1957,) and Richard A. Walsh. Thomas C. Daggett was the president of the Minnesota State Bar Association in 1928. August E. Jacke ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. Ursula Daggett ( -1931) and Thomas C. Daggett ( -1940) both died in Ramsey County. Clinton W. Redlund (1903-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nelson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1998 for $305,000. The current owners of record are Karin Knolls Roof and Richard W. Roof. [See note on Hugo O. Hanft for 1044 Portland Avenue.] [See note on Carlton F. McNally for 9 South St. Albans Street.] [See note on Gustavus Loevinger for 1699 Portland Avenue.] [See note on Richard A. Walsh for 1459 Summit Avenue.]

1044 Portland Avenue: Hugo O. Hanft House; Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 1832 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Hon. and Mrs. H. O. Hanft and Miss Clara M. Holly all resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Hugo O. Hanft resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Hon. and Mrs. H. O. Hanft, Oscar Hanft, and Miss C. M. Holly all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the Hon. and Mrs. H. O. Hanft and H. H. Hanft all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hugo O. Hanft, a Second District Court judge, and his wife, Laura H. Hanft, resided at this address. Hugo O. Hanft (1871- ,) the son of Oscar H. Hanft and Anna Engelke Hanft, was born in St. Peter, Minnesota, was educated in the common and high schools of New Ulm, Minnesota, graduated from the German-American Teachers' Seminary, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, served as principal of the Peru, Illinois, High School from 1892-1894, received a bachelor's degree from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1896, received a master's in legal letters degree from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1897, practiced law in St. Paul, was a First Lieutenant and Battalion Adjutant with the Third Battalion of the 13th Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, which served in the Philippines during the Spanish-American War in 1898 and 1899, was an assistant Ramsey County attorney in 1896 and from 1900 until 1906, married Laura Helen/Helene Holly (1875- ,) the daughter of Theodor Holly (1845- ) and Bertha Brennemann Holly (1847- ,) in St. Paul in 1900, was a municipal judge from 1906 until 1915, was a pall bearer at the funeral of Captain Charles Rouleau, a veteran St. Paul police officer in 1914, was a Ramsey County District Court judge between 1915 and 1942, presided over the sensational murder-for-hire trial of Frank Dunn of his separated wife, Alice McQuillan Dunn, in 1917, was a member of the Ramsey County Sportsmen Association in 1923, was a candidate for the Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice in 1924, became the Senior Ramsey County District Court judge in 1930, was a member of the local Selective Service (military draft) board in 1940, was a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, resided at The Buckingham in 1907, resided at The Willard in 1907, and officed at the Ramsey County Court House in 1916. Laura Helen Holly Hanft attended the Illinois State Normal University. Hugo O. Hanft's papers are located at the University of Minnesota Archives. Hugo O. Hanft and Laura Holly Hanft were the parents of Hugo Holly Hanft. Laura H. Hanft ( -1931) and Hugo O. Hanft ( -1949) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 for $349,900. The current owners of record are John Bickford and Debra Desnoyelles.

1037 Portland Avenue: Charles Beard House; Built in 1905; Thomas Holyoke, architect. The structure is a two story, 3298 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles Beard resided at this address from 1907 to 1933. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Beard resided at this address. The 1917 Catalogue of the Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, published by James T. Brown of New York, indicated that William Lovatt Beard, a member of the class of 1920 at the University of Minnesota, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Beard and their daughter all resided at this address. William L. Beard was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#7455) indicate that William L. Beard (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Sergeant and Sharpshooter in the U. S. Marines, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, was a student at induction, served in Cuba, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Charles Beard, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles Beard, the secretary and treasurer of Irvin & Beard Company, resided at this address and that William L. Beard, a student, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Beard and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Beard, the president-treasurer of the Charles Beard Company, wholesale jewelers located at the Ryan Building, and his wife, Helen L. Beard, Charles L. Beard, a salesman, Harriet Beard, a religious worker, and John L. Beard, a salesman for the Charles Beard Company, all resided at this address. William Lovatt Beard, a University of Minnesota student, was a member of the 71st Company of the Seventh Regiment of the U. S. Marine Corps in 1918. John Beard ( -1933,) Helen M. Beard ( -1937,) Charles Beard ( -1938,) Charles Beard ( -1941,) and Helen Lovatt Beard ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $675,000. The current owners of record are John Sjaastad and Lizabeth Sjaastad. John Sjaastad was a Research Associate at the Freeman Center for International Economic Policy at the the Humphrey Institute of the University of Minnesota in 2003. [See note on Thomas Gannett Holyoke.]

1036 Portland Avenue: Built in 1914. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 2152 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. J. Bethke resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Emil F. Betchke, a salesman, and Emil F. Bethke, the secretary of the Holly Realty Company, both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. J. Bethke resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Abr Fineberg, the president of the U. S. Mail Order Company, and his wife, Tillie Fineberg, resided at this address. Abraham H. Fineberg ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $385,000. The current owners of record are Robin L. Collins and Sean J. Edman. Sean J. Edman is a lawyer and a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association for the Second District.

1033 Portland Avenue: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 2244 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Walter J. Sanborn resided at this address from 1905 to 1906. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that William H. Hamilton and Augusta Hamilton, a widow, members of the church since 1893, both resided at this address. The 1914, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Hamilton resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin P. Coonan, a chartered life underwriter and special agent for the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and Gertrude C. Coonan, both resided at this address. The Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was established in 1857, by a transplanted New Yorker, John Johnston. William H. Hamilton ( -1924) and Walter James Sanborn ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. Martin P. Coonan (1886-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hurley, and died in Ramsey County. Gertrude C. Coonan (1894-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cotter, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $375,400. The current owners of record are Leslie Connelly and Michael Connelly. Michael Connelly, the C.E.O of Catholic Healthcare PTNS, was a financial supporter of the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

1032 Portland Avenue: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 6,862 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Frankel, Mrs. A. F. Dawley, Mrs. M. S. Kraker, Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Lewis, Mrs. James Slavin, and her daughters all resided at this address. The 1917 Catalogue of the Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, published by James T. Brown of New York, indicated that John Bradley Crabtree, a member of the class of 1919 of the University of Illinois-Champagne, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Hickey, Mr. and Mrs. W. V. Porter, their daughter, Mrs. M. S. Kraker, Mrs. James Slavin, and her daughters all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#1809) indicate that Francis C. Hubbard (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in Company C, 7th Engineers, who was born in Red Wing, Minnesota, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a student at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was issued a bronze victory button, was an automobile salesman employed by H. H. Hubbard after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, M. A. Hubbard, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss J. A. Donohue, W. H. Donahue, Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Gillen, Mr. and Mrs. E. R. Gorman, Mr. and Mrs. N. D. Graham, and Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Michaels all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Fred A. Leavitt, a salesman employed by Chaes Securities Corp., and his wife, Maye Leavitt (Apartment #1,) Catherine E. Crowe, a dressmaker, and Margaret Wherry, a nurse (Apartment #2,) Julia A. Donahue (Apartment #3,) and Paul F. Keating, a staff officer, and his wife, Rebecca Keating (Apartment #4.) Rebecca Keating ( -1933,) James E. Slavin ( -1940,) Christopher H. Gillen ( -1941,) Eugene R. Gorman ( -1945,) Catherine E. Crowe ( -1946,) James Slavin ( -1948,) Jule B. Frankel ( -1949,) and Julia Ann Donahue ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. Fred A. Leavitt (1883-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Doman, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret Wherry (1875-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hutchinson, and died in Ramsey County. Paul F. Keating (1874-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brickley, and died in Ramsey County. Mae M. Leavitt (1876-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Webster, and died in Ramsey County. Francis Chollar Hubbard (1898-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ayer, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is TPK Properties LLC, located at 1035 West Seventh Street. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Connolly resided at the former nearby 1029 Portland Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. W. R. Connolly resided at the former nearby 1029 Portland Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary K. Connolly, the widow of William R. Connolly, resided at the former nearby 1029 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. W. R. Connolly resided at the former nearby 1029 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary K. Connolly, the widow of William R. Connolly, resided at the former nearby 1029 Portland Avenue. Mary K. Connolly (1878-1972) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

1027 Portland Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 2691 square foot, 12 room, four bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is William A. Waters, who resides in Minneapolis.

1026 Portland Avenue: Edward J. Brennan House; Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 3288 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Mrs. Edward J. Brennan resided at this address from 1909 to 1917. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Ruth Brennan, a student, resided at this address. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. E. J. Brennan and her daughter both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. M. Silverman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry M. Silverman, the president and treasurer of the Peoples Department Store, and his wife, Annette Silverman, resided at this address. Edward J. Brennan ( -1907,) the son of Patrick Brennan and Mary A. Quinn Brennan, was born in Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, attended school at Owatonna, Minnesota, graduated from the Pillsbury Academy, succeeded his father as a railroad contractor, primarily for the Great Northern RailRoad and the Soo Line RailRoad, married Jennie O'Toole, the daughter of William O'Toole and Anna Hennessey O'Toole, in 1887, and resided at this address in 1912. Harry Silverman ( -1952) died in Hennepin County. Annette Silverman ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 for $195,000. The current owners of record are Bruce A. McMahon and Deena McMahon. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note for the Soo Line RailRoad.]

1025 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2297 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William F. Repke resided at this address in 1888. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Repke and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Repke and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that William E. Broadbent, a treasurer of the Cowden Manufacturing Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Broadbent resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Rahilly, a salesman, and his wife, Beatrice Rahilly, resided at this address. William F. Repke ( -1921) and John H. Rahilly ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. Beatrice W. Rahilly (1881-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McCabe, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 for $195,000. The current owners of record are M. Clare Kearns McCarthy and Thomas J. McCarthy.

1022 Portland Avenue: Frederick B. Farmer; Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2378 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Fred Bertrand Farmer resided at this address in 1901. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Frederick B. Farmer resided at this address from 1906 to 1929. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Farmer and Mrs. Nellie Farmer all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Farmer and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred B. Farmer, a representative with the Westinghouse Air Brake Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Farmer and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The property was last sold in 1996 for $234,000. The current owners of record are John H. Tuttle and Nina B. Tuttle.

1021 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2187 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that the Misses O'Keefe resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that M. Nellie O'Keefe, the principal of the Jefferson School, resided at this address. Nellie M. O'Keefe ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 for $172,500. The current owners of record are Kathleen A. Caron and Martin A. Caron. Martin A. Caron, DC, and Matthew R. Caron, DC, operate Caron Chiropractic Clinic, PA, at 490 Snelling Avenue South.

1018 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, _?_ square foot, ten room, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Lorne W. Foley resided at this address from 1913 to 1916. The 1918 city directory indicates that Miss Ellen Foley and Miss Mary Foley both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. H. McCleary and R. E. McCleary all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert H. McCleary, a vice president of the McGill-Warner Company, and his wife, Mabel McCleary, resided at this address. In 1896, Robert H. McCleary, a professional bike racer who resided at 682 East Fourth Street, participated in the two mile handicapped race and the one mile open race during the Deere Weber Bicycle Day at the Minnesota State Fair. In 1913, an Irish Water Spaniel dog owned by Lorne Foley, Edmund's Dan, O'Neil Lornie, won the puppy, novice, American-bred, limited, and open classes at the Minnesota State Fair. The McGill-Warner Company was a printing company that was the successor to Price & McGill, a St. Paul printing company partnership that included Andrew McGill, was formed in 1886, and reorganized in 1891 as Price, McGill & Company. The McGill-Warner Company was located at the corner of Ninth Street and Sibley Street in 1912. Eli S. Warner (1856- ) was born in Rochester, Minnesota, resided in Garden City, Minnesota, from 1856 until 1886, moved to St. Paul in 1886, was engaged in the life insurance business, was the secretary of the Minnesota Railroad & Warehouse Commission, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Blue Earth County (District 10) from 1885 until 1887 and representing Ramsey County (District 27) from 1895 until 1897, was the U. S. Surveyor-General for Minnesota after 1902, and was the treasurer of the McGill-Warner Company. The property was last sold in 2002 for $469,000. The current owners of record are Craig S. Krummen and Jill M. Krummen. Craig S. Krummen graduated from Iowa State University in 1990 and from the University of Iowa College of Law in 1995, joined the law firm of Winthrop & Weinstine in 1995, and is a shareholder in Winthrop & Weinstine practicing in the areas of complex commercial litigation and intellectual property litigation. [For more information on the Andrew R. McGill, see 1169 Portland Avenue.]

1017 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2440 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Regenthal and Miss Emma Gross all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Howard Bixby resided at this address. In 1919, the Report of Minnesota Commission of Public Safety indicates that Howard Bixby resided at this address and was the precinct captain for the 13th Precinct of the Seventh Ward. The 1920 city directory indicates that Howard Bixby, a general agent employed by the State Mutual Life Assurance Company of Worcester, Massachusetts, who officed at the Pioneer Building, resided at this address and that Paul H. Bixby, an agent employed by the State Mutual Life Assurance Company of Worcester, Massachusetts, and Willard W. Bixby, a student, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Howard Bixby and P. H. Bixby all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph C. Gutenkauf, a yardmaster, and his wife, Bessie Gutenkauf, resided at this address. In 1880, according to the federal census, Eugene Regenthal (1855- ) was a member of the seven person household of Henry Warfield (1830- ,) a tailor, and his wife, Amalia Warfield (1835- ,) a midwife, in St. Paul as an in store bookkeeper who was born in New York of parents both born in Bavaria, with the other household members being Albert Ploetzner (1853- ,) a bookbinder from New York, Thomas W. Moore (1850- ,) an in store clerk from Pennsylvania, Theodore Wall (1853- ,) an in-store clerk from Ohio, and William T. Kirk (1858- ,) an in-store clerk from Vermont. The 1910 federal census indicates that Eugene E. Regenthal (1882- ,) a liquor store clerk who was born in Minnesota of a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, and his wife, Martha J./Martha Julia "Patsy" Miller Regenthal (1885- ,) born in Minnesota of parents born in Germany, resided in St. Paul and had no children. Eugene Regenthal ( -1922) and Howard Bixby ( -1929) died in Ramsey County. Paul H. Bixby (1900-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kirker, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Jerome Cromer Poire and Michele Cromer Poire. Michele Cromer-Poire, a co-owner of the former Odegard Books in St. Paul, and Carol Erdahl, a former school librarian, are co-owners of the Red Balloon Bookstore, an independent children's bookseller. Michele Cromer-Poire was the Vice-Chair in 2007 of the Board of Directors of Lex-Ham Community Arts.

1012 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2896 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Roy W. Clark resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Roy W. Clark, an assistant to the president of the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. K. Jennings resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herbert K. Jennings, an advertising man, and his wife, Bessie Jennings, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Jack Rhodes (1919- ,) who attended the school from 1931 until 1932, and William Rhodes, Jr. (1917- ,) who attended the school from 1930 until 1932, both resided at this address. Bessie M. Jennings ( -1935,) Roy W. Clark ( -1948,) and Herbert K. Jennings ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 for $247,000. The current owners of record are Louis H. Turner and Rodden H. Turner. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

1011 Portland Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 2046 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Freeman P. Strong and Maxwell P. Gray resided at 410 Eichenwald Street in 1879 and subsequently moved to this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. T. Cook resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. W. Gray resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that David W. Gray and his wife, Emma M. F. Gray, resided at this address. Freeman P. Strong was a partner in the Strong-Hackett Hardware Company and married Luella Maria Bostwick of Toledo, Ohio, the daughter of Oscar Alonzo Bostwick (1830- ,) of Bostwick, Braun & Company, and Maria Louisa Bostwick. Frank Bostwick, brother-in-law of Freeman P. Strong, also was in the hardware business in St. Paul. Freeman P. Strong (1847- ,) the son of Charles Dibble Strong (1808-1890) and Abigail Spurr Jefferson Strong, was born in Boston, Massachusetts, moved to St. Paul with his parents in the 1850's, married Luella Maria Bostwick (1858-1892,) the daughter of Oscar Alonzo Bostwick and Maria Louisa Wilcox Bostwick, was associated with the Strong-Hackett Hardware Company for 17 years, was the president of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company from 1890 until 1897, was a member of the Minnesota Club, and was a Republican. Freeman Poole Strong and Luella Maria Bostwick Strong were the parents of Mrs. P. M. Brett and of Warren Bostwick Strong, who received a bachelor's degree from Harvard University in 1910, received a master's degree from Harvard University in 1912, married Katherine Shirley Bryant in 1915, was an office building manager and manufacturer's agent, and resided at 425 Portland Avenue in 1917. Freeman P. Strong was an incorporator, with Charles D. Strong, Charles W. Hackett, Horace B. Gates and Theodore G. Walther, of the Strong-Hackett Hardware Company in 1884. The C. W. Hackett Hardware Company was a St. Paul hardware company in 1891 and 1892 and apparently was an outgrowth of the Strong-Hackett Hardware Company. David Wesley Gray ( -1931) and Emma Margaret Perry Gray ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Elona Street Stewart and H. David Stewart. Elona Street-Stewart was elected in 2001 to the Saint Paul School Board of Education and is its chair, becoming the first American Indian (Delaware and Nanticoke tribes) to serve on an urban school board in Minnesota, is an elder and member of Dayton Avenue Presbyterian Church, and has been employed since 1992 as program staff for Racial Ethnic Ministries and Community Empowerment in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, and Montana for the Synod of Lakes and Prairies, Presbyterian Church USA. Elona Street-Stewart was an Upward Bound student from Philadelphia, received her bachelor's degree in anthropology from Occidental College, and moved to Minnesota in 1985. H. David Stewart is a minister and is the pastor of the Dayton Avenue Presbyterian Church, having served there since 1985, when he assumed the position previously held by Rev. Tyrone Burkett from 1972 to 1984. [See note on the C. W. Hackett Hardware Company and the Strong-Hackett Hardware Company for 814 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

1009 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2288 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. J. T. Cook resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Nolan resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Nolan and Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Wilson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Minnie Lou Nolan, the widow of Ernest H. Nolan, resided at this address. Ernest H. Nolan ( -1925) and Mrs. Minnie L. Nolan ( -1948) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $375,000. The previous owner of record was Myra J. Karlen and the current owners of record are Tom Karlen and Emily Karlen. Emily K. Karlen and Thomas G. Karlen previously resided at 885 West Linwood Avenue. Emily Karlen is a physical therapist with the Institute for Athletic Medicine.

1008 Portland Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2098 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Cline resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that J. Harry Lewis resided at this address in 1922. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raymond G. O'Malley, a lawyer and a partner with Linus O'Malley and Frank T. O'Malley in the law firm of O'Malley & O'Malley, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Harry Lewis, their daughter, and J. Harry Lewis, Jr., all resided at 1005 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Harry Lewis, Sr., the president of the Associated Home Builders, his wife, Mary K. Lewis, and J. Harry Lewis, Jr., a special agent employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, all resided at 1621 Portland Avenue. J. Harry Lewis (1864- ,) the son of Jabez S. Lewis and Elizabeth Anthony Lewis, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was educated in the public schools of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, until 1876, was employed as a printer until 1884, was a journalist, published the Secret Society Herald of Philadelphia until 1888, was the foreman of the Kansas City Star from 1888 until 1893, was the lessee, manager and advertising writer for the Gillis Opera House in Kansas City, Missouri, from 1893 until 1894, was employed as as advertising writer from 1894 until 1896, edited the Midland Mechanic until about 1896, was the advertising manager of the Kansas City World from 1896 until 1899, was an incorporator of the Daily News Publishing Company, was the vice president and manager of the Daily News and the Rural Weekly, was the editor of the Osman Crescent in 1912, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Business League, was a member of the board of directors and first vice president of the Auditorium Committee, was a member of the Young Men's Christian Association Committee, resided at 596 Marshall Avenue in 1907, and officed at 92 East Fourth Street in 1907. In 1909, when the U. S. S. Minnesota was presented with a customary silver service on behalf of the state, J. Harry Lewis of St. Paul also presented Commander William S. Sims, the U. S. Navy representative, with a gold cigarette case. Minnesota was also represented at the ceremony in New York by O. Cullen Calhoun, Homer Clark, Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Elmer, Theodore W. Griggs, Miss Abbie Livingston, Mrs. Crawford Livingston, Miss Mary Livingston, Mrs. L. P. Ordway, Miss Bonnie Ransom, Mrs. Albert Schaller, Rose Marie Schaller, and Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Stem. In 1920, J. Harry Lewis was one of two contact people for the sale of the A History of the Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, the official history of the Mystic Shrine. In 1925, J. Harry Lewis was the secretary of the board of the 60 bed Twin Cities Masonic Hospital. The U. S. S. Minnesota (BB-22) was a 16,000 ton, 456.3 foot long, Connecticut-class battleship and the second ship of the United States Navy named in honor of the state, was launched in 1905, was on a voyage around the world as part of the cruise of the "Great White Fleet" in 1909, was seriously damaged when it hit a submarine-laid mine in the mid-Atlantic seaboard in 1918, was repaired and rejoined the fleet in 1919, was used as a training vessel until 1921, was then decommissioned, and was sold for scrap in 1924. C. W. Cline (1869-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Studebaker, and died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. J. Harry Lewis ( -1937,) Linus O'Malley ( -1938,) and Raymond G. O'Malley ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. J. Harry Lewis (1893-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Knollin, and died in Ramsey County. Frank T. O'Malley (1885-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Connor, and died in McLeod County, Minnesota. The current owners of record are C. H. Eggenberger and Joan A. Eggenberger. [See the note for the Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA) for 277 Harrison Avenue.] [See note on Homer Pierce Clark for 534 Summit Avenue] [See note on James P. Elmer for 586 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on Crawford Livingston for 432 Summit Avenue and for 339 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Lucius Pond Ordway for 400 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Allen H. Stem.]

1005 Portland Avenue: Richard M. Neely House; Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2492 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. indicates that Richard M. Neely resided at this address in 1907. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Smart and Miss Ada de Lottinville all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. R. Harwick, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Palmer, Mrs. O. C. Snyder, and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Harry Lewis, their daughter, and J. Harry Lewis, Jr., all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. V. P. Renz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Valentine Renz, a salesman, and his wife, Therese Renz, resided at this address. In 1906, Valentine Renz, a former employee of the St. Paul Pioneer Press job office, partnered with James Coombs, purchased the German job shop, then closed by a strike, and began to run the print shop as a union shop. J. Harry Lewis ( -1937) and Valentine P. Renz ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. Richard M. Neely (1868- ,) the son of Charles Neely and Annie H. Neely, was born in Cedar Falls, Iowa, was educated in the public schools of Cedar Falls, Iowa, was educated in the public schools of Leavenworth, Kansas, was educated at the Shattuck Military Academy, Faribault, Minnesota, was engaged in the insurance business in Leavenworth, Kansas, in 1888, was appointed a general agent of the Fidelity & Casualty Company of New York for the State of Kansas in 1889, with an office at Kansas City, Missouri, was appointed the general agent for Minnesota, with an office at St. Paul, for the Standard Life & Accident Insurance Company of Detroit, Michigan, in 1890, was appointed a general agent for the Employers Liability Assurance Corporation in 1896 under firm name of Packer, Neely & Company, dissolved the firm in 1902, was a member of the firm of Neely & Lewis, general agents of the Employers Liability Assurance Corporation Ltd of London, England, organized in 1902, was engaged in employers liability, personal accident, surety bonds and steam boiler insurances, also represents Neely & Neely, organized 1893, and officed at the Manhattan Building in 1907. J. Harry Lewis (1893-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Knollin, and died in Ramsey County. Theresa Renz (1868-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weber, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1991 for $128,800. The current owners of record are Christine Anning and Timothy J. O'Brien. In 2005, Christine Anning and Timothy O’Brien appealed a decision of the St. Paul Heritage Preservation Commission conditionally approving a permit application to construct a two and one-half story rear addition at 1009 Portland Avenue. Chris Anning is the Age Group Coordinator for the Under Age 17 boys soccer program for the St. Paul Blackhawks Soccer organization. [See note for J. Harry Lewis for 1008 Portland Avenue.]

1004 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2698 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. P. A. Rockwell resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss Dorothea King resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel S. King, the secretary of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company and his wife, Minnie L. King, resided at this address. Samuel S. King also was the secretary of the St. James Episcopal Church in St. Paul in 1897. Samuel Stewart King ( -1938) and Minnie L. King ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Leon E. Kramer and Susan K. Tamislea Kramer. Michael H. Foley resided at the former nearby 1003 Portland Avenue in 1900. The 1900 federal census indicates that indicates that Michael H. Foley (1849- ,) a railroad contractor and the head of household, who was born in Canada to a father who was born in Ireland and a mother who was born in Canada, his son, Edward T. Foley (1887- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Helena Foley (1889- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Rachel Foley (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his neice, Mary "May" Foley (1878- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Canada, his sister, Mary A. Ramsey (1861- ,) who was born in to a father who was born in Ireland and a mother who was born in Canada, a cook, Winifred O'Grady (1869- ,) who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland and emigrated in 1894, a house maid, Olga Bolin (1879- ,) who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden and emigrated in 1896, and a servant, August Anderson (1874- ,) who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden and emigrated in 1894, all resided at the former nearby 1003 Portland Avenue. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on Michael H. Foley for 1205 Summit Avenue.]

1000 Portland Avenue: Built in 1903. The structure is a two story, 3572 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Hoy and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James J. Doland, a clerk employed by the W. J. Hoy Company, boarded at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that James Joseph Doland, a First Lieutenant in the Quartermaster Section and resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William J. Hoy and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Reverend Charles E. Locke, bishop of the St. Paul Area of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and his wife, Mina W. Locke, resided at this address. James Joseph Doland (1890-1960) graduated from the University of Colorado-Boulder with a bachelor's degree in 1914, was a hydrographer with the U. S. Bureau of Reclamation, was an Instructor of Mathematics at the University of Colorado from 1914 until 1916, was employed as an engineer with the W. J. Hoy Company, St. Paul, from 1916 until 1917, married Mary Ellen Hoy in St. Paul in 1917, resided in St. Paul in 1917, enlisted in military service in World War I, was a First Lieutenant in the Construction Division of the War Department from 1918 until 1919, was employed as an engineer with the W. J. Hoy Company from 1919 until 1923, was a Captain in the Army Corps of Engineers Reserve from 1919 until 1935, was employed by the U. S. Bureau of Reclamation from 1923 until 1926, joined the faculty at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1926, earned a master's degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1932, was a consultant to the National Resources Planning Board from 1936 to 1944, was the principal engineer for the United States Engineering Department on several lend-lease bases in 1941, was a consultant for the War Production Board from 1943 until 1944, was the president of the Illinois Union Board, was the author of Hydro Power Engineering in 1954, retired from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1958 with the rank of Professor Emeritus of Hydraulic Engineering. James J. Doland was an author, with Harold Eaton Babbitt, of Water Supply Engineering, published in New York by the McGraw-Hill Book Company in 1929 and republished in 1939. In 1897, Reverend Dr. Charles E. Locke was a minister in Salem, Oregon. In 1901, Reverend Dr. Charles E. Locke, of New York, presided over the funeral service for President William McKinley (1843-1901,) assassinated in Buffalo, New York, by Leon Czolgosz, a Polish anarchist, while visiting the Temple of Music at the Pan-American Exposition. In 1916, Reverend Dr. Charles E. Locke, of Los Angeles, was a candidate for election as bishop or general superintendent in the Methodist Episcopal Church at a general conference of the church at Saratoga, New York. During World War I, as part of anti-German hysteria, Reverend Charles E. Locke allegedly suggested that pacifists were worse than pro-Germans and should be exported to Berlin, according to Peacemaking: Lessons from the Past, Visions for the Future authored by Judith Presler and Sally J. Scholz, and published in Amsterdam, Holland, and Atlanta, Georgia, by Rodopi in 2000. In 1924, Charles E. Locke was transferred to St. Paul by the Methodist World Conference, which met in Springfield, Illinois. In 1914, William J. Hoy was a building contractor. William J. Hoy ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are the trustees of Jan J. Carr and Susan A. Carr. Carr Creatives, a printing/graphic designs production service specializing in educational publishing and marketing and creating recruitment materials, brochures, magazines, postcards, development materials, annual reports, is also located at this address.

999 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a two story, 2276 square foot, ten room, three bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. M. Burns and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Sara Burns, a 1901 graduate of the University of Minnesota, resided at this adddress. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mrs. S. M. Burns and her daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elizabeth Burns, a teacher at the Galtier School, Katherine Burns, a teacher, Maria Burns, a teacher at the Phalen Park School, and Sara Burns, a teacher at Johnson High School, all boarded at this address and that Sarah M. Burns, the widow of Michael Burns, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Sarah Burns, a tutor, resided at this address. Sarah Burns ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $499,900. The current owners of record are Christopher J. Pizinger and Kimberly A. Pizinger. Christopher Pizinger is a 1984 graduate of Hill-Murray High School in Maplewood, Minnesota, and was a financial supporter of the school in 2005. Chris Pizinger is the Chief Executive Officer of MINNCOR Industries, having been appointed to the position in 2004. Chris Pizinger grew up and went to school in Minnesota, holds a B.S. degree in Biology/Natural Science from St. John's University, and an M.B.A. in Finance and Entrepreneurship from the University of Arizona, previously was Chief Operating Officer of Stratyc LLC, a technology and consulting company he co-founded in 1999, and held a series of roles with H. B. Fuller Company, most notably serving as Vice President of Marketing and Corporate Development of EFTEC, a global automotive subsidiary prior to that. Christopher Pizinger and his wife, Kimberly Pizinger, have one son. Hill-Murray is a private, college preparatory Catholic school for grades 7-12 and is one of only 19 Minnesota high schools accredited as a college preparatory school by the North Central Association. Hill-Murray School is the result of a 1971 merger of Archbishop Murray Memorial High School, a girls school founded by the Benedictine Sisters in 1958, and of Hill High School, founded in 1959 and staffed by the Christian Brothers, with the Middle School having been added in 1989. Hill-Murray's current enrollment is 985. The student population is drawn from the Twin Cities, from surrounding suburban areas, and from nearby Wisconsin communities. Correctional industries have long been a part of the Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC), dating back to the mid-1870's, beginning with the production of twine and soon followed by the Minnesota Line of farm machinery. In 1994, the Minnesota Department of Corrections created MINNCOR Industries, a centralized organizational structure of correctional industry operations, which then became the driving force that modernized, streamlined and upgraded these programs and is now operating in eight institutions with 22 diversified product lines, providing products and services to government, nonprofit and business organizations. MINNCOR no longer receives any State subsidy and is now financially self-sufficient.

997 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2698 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Walter S. Bowen and Mary L. (Mrs. W. S.) Bowen, members of the church since 1887, and Mary A. Green, a widow and a member of the church since 1896, all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Bowen and Mrs. M. A. Green all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Landman and Norman Landman all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Teas resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick D. Tilton, an assistant to the general claims agent of the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Emma G. Tilton, resided at this address. Norman H. Landman (1887- ,) a Petty Officer, resided at 855 St. Clair in 1918. Walter S. Bowen ( -1937) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Charles R. Teas ( -1925) and Emma Geraldine Tilton ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Bernadette A. Bellows and John B. Bellows, Jr. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

993 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 1925 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Charles E. Elmquist resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. T. Dietz and Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Elmquist and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Dixson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Charles E. Elmquist (1872- ) was born in Osceola, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1886, initially was engaged in the printing trade, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1896, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1898, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, moved to Rush City, Minnesota, was the Chisago County, Minnesota, attorney from 1900 until 1908, was a member of the Minnesota State RailRoad & Warehouse Commission after 1908 with Ira B. Mills and Charles F. Staples, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Norden Club, and officed at the State Capitol building in 1916. In 1918, Charles Elmquist was the acting president of the National Association of Railway Commissioners. In 1919, Charles E. Elmquist was the president and general solicitor of the National Association of Street Railway and Utilities Commissioners and subsequently became the chairman of the Federal Electric Railways Commission, appointed by President Woodrow Wilson. In 1930, Charles E. Elmquist was a lawyer and a partner with Augustus W. Clapp, Harold J. Richardson, Charles W. Briggs, Grant S. McCartney, and Wayne C. Gilbert in the law firm of Clapp, Richardson, Elmquist, Briggs & McCartney, located at the Merchants National Bank Building. Charles Francis Staples (1856-1934) was born either in St. Paul or in Dakota County, Minnesota, was educated in the Dakota County, Minnesota, district schools and in St. Paul, first married __?__ __?__ ( -1904,) was a farmer and dairyman, was a teacher, was a Republican, was a member of the Board of County Commissioners of Dakota County, held many positions with the City of Mendota, Minnesota, was a chair of the Mendota, Minnesota, school board, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Dakota County (Districts 24 and 30) from 1893 until 1901, was a member of the State Railroad & Warehouse Commission after 1901, was an unsuccessfully nominated for Minnesota Lieutenant Governor in 1896, subsequently married Vera Emily Brown, a professional nurse, in 1908 in St. Paul, was elected second vice president of the National Association of Railway Commissioners in 1908, was Director of Valuation of the federal Interstate Commerce Commission, and officed at the State Capitol in 1907. Julie Dresser, the great great granddaughter of Charles F. Staples, indicates that his middle name was Franklin, that his first wife was Margaret Johnson, the daughter of Eugenio Johnson and Isabella McKelway Johnson, and that Eugenio Johnson named Isabel Street after his wife. Charles Franklin Staples (1856-1932,) the son of Samuel Cole Staples (1831-1911) and Katherine McDonough Staples ( -1862,) was born in Mendota, Dakota County, Minnesota, married Margaret Johnson (1859-1904) in 1878, married Vera Emily Brown (1880-1960) in 1908, died in Washington, D.C., and is buried in Forest Lawn Cemetery, Maplewood, Ramsey County, Minnesota. Charles Franklin Staples and Margaret Johnson Staples were the parents of Elbridge Cole Staples (1880-1954,) Edith Helen Staples (1881- ,) and Alice Mabel Staples (1889-1965.) The current owner of record is Russell C. Desmarais. Dr. Russell C. DesMarais was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, graduated from Boston University with a Bachelor of Science degree in education in 1967, studied from 1967 to 1972 with Michio Kushi at The Kushi Institute in Boston and received extensive training in Classical Oriental Medicine, including macrobiotic nutrition and acupuncture, graduated from Northwestern College of Chiropractic in 1977 and became Board Certified in Acupuncture, continued advanced training in Classical Chinese Medicine with Dr. Jack Worsley in Oxford, England, and later at the Center for Traditional Acupuncture in Baltimore, Maryland, founded the Turtle Island Health Center in St. Paul in 1978, the first integrated alternative natural healing center in the Midwest, completed two three-year postgraduate programs in Nutrition and Internal Disorders at Northwestern College from 1985 through 1988, expanded his training in Traditional Chinese Medicine by studying QiGong (or energy emission healing,) an advanced form of Traditional Chinese Medicine in 1990, was certified as an International QiGong Doctor and Master teacher through the National Science and Research Center for applied QiGong in Benxi, China, in 1995, and also founded Three Rivers Crossing Center for QiGong and International Institute for Oriental Healing in 1995.

992 Portland Avenue: A. H. Roarke House; Built in 1903 (1894 according to the National Register of Historic Places;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2014 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Roake resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Fritz and Miss Sarah Moran all resided at this address. In 1922, the Official National Guard register indicates that Norman Nelson, a Minnesota National Guard First Lieutenant in Company D of the First Battalion of the Sixth Infantry, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Norman Nelson and L. M. Nelson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary A. Donovan, the widow of Timothy L. Donovan, resided at this address. Timothy Donovan ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. Mary Ann Donovan (1871-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Foley, and died in Ramsey County. Norman Nelson (1898-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rovig, and died in Ramsey County. Norman Hamilton Nelson (1897-1989) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Foss, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 for $154,000. The current owners of record are Frankie B. Shackleford and Jole R. Shackleford. Frankie Shackleford is a professor of Norwegian history and Associate Dean at Augsburg College. Jole R. Shackleford is a linguist at the University of Minnesota.

989 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1711 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. Emanuel M. Barna (1893- ,) a Corporal, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Emanuel M. Barna, a clerk employed by the South St. Paul Fair Store, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank T. Watson, a salesman employed by the American Steel & Wire Company, and his wife, Jannette Watson, resided at this address. John Warne Gates (1855-1911) founded the American Steel & Wire Company in 1898, primarily to produce barbed wire, and sold it in 1901 to J.P. Morgan as part of the larger U. S. Steel deal. The American Steel & Wire Company, along with the National Tube Company, the American Tin Plate Company, the American Steel Hoop Company, and the American Sheet Steel Company, all were acquired by U. S. Steel in 1901, when U. S. Steel was formed by the merger of the Carnegie Steel Company and the Federal Steel Company. The American Steel & Wire Company continued as a division of U. S. Steel and was headquartered in Chicago. The Minnesota Steel Company, located in Morgan Park, Duluth, Minnesota, was associated with the American Steel & Wire Company. Jeanette Watson ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 for $349,900. The current owner of record is and the current taxpayers of record are Allen K. Short and Virginia A. Spagnolio, who reside at 987 Portland Avenue. Allen Short is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and Virginia Spagnolio is a graduate of Michigan State University and they are both realtors with ReMax.

988 Portland Avenue: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 1664 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. S. Moore, their daughter, and J. M. Moore all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James S. Moore, an operator employed by the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, and his wife, Louise Moore, resided at this address. James S. Moore ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. Louise Moore ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record are Dorothea M. Martin and James A. Martin.

987 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1711 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#23850) indicate that Emanuel M. Barna (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company 45 of the 20th Engineers, who was born in New York City, New York, moved to Minnesota in 1915, had brown eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a salesman at induction, was a manager employed by the Sample Shoe Store after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Morris Silverman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Abr M. Zeff, a grocer with a store located at 276 North Western Avenue, his wife, Jennie Zeff, David Zeff, a clerk, and Milton Zeff, a clerk, all resided at this address. Morris Silverman ( -1948) died in Hennepin County. Abraham M. Zeff ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Jennie Zeff (1885-1984) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Diskin, and died in Ramsey County. David Zeff (1890-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mottelson, and died in Ramsey County. Milton E. Zeff (1911-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rutzick, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record are Allen K. Short and Virginia A. Spagnolio. Allen K. Short is a 1974 graduate of the Johns Hopkins University, attended Stanford University as a graduate fellow in 1986-87, is a former business journalist, Pulitzer Prize finalist and real estate investment consultant, worked as a financial advisor at Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, and joined Merrill Lynch as a financial advisor in 2009.

983 Portland Avenue: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2340 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Samuel T. Dietz resided at this address from 1916 to 1948. The 1920 city directory indicates that Samuel T. Dietz, proprietor of a drug store located at 205 East Fourth Street, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. T. Dietz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel T. Dietz, a pharmacist, and his wife, Susanna Dietz, resided at this address. Samuel T. Dietz ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. Susanah Dietz (1865-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Harris, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1992 for $149,900. The current owners of record are Rebecca Rose and Michael Lee Schwab.

977 Portland Avenue: Built in 1871. The structure is a frame condominium building. Unit #1 is a one story, 1367 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Rebecca Jo McCarty and Stephen K. McCarty, who reside in Newport, Minnesota. Unit #2 is a one story, 1855 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Sara Krasny. Unit #3 is a one story, 653 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by the Equity Trust Company as trustee for Virginia A. Spagnolio. Unit #4 is a one story, 823 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2005 for $192,000 and that is currently owned by Charles M. Rice, Jr. Unit #5 is a one story, 712 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Bernard C. Ziegler III and Laura K. Ziegler. Unit #6 is a one story, 1850 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Rebecca Jo McCarty and Stephen K. McCarty, who reside in Newport, Minnesota. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that John Ireland resided at this address from 1890 to 1917. The 1900 city directory indicates that the Most Rev. John Ireland, Rev. Richard Cahill, and Rev. Thomas A. Printon resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates the Coadjutor Bishop John Ireland resided at this address in 1907. The 1910 federal census indicates that John Ireland (1839- ,) a Roman Catholic archbishop and the head of household, who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland and who emigrated to the United States in 1860, a boarder, Thomas A. Welch (1885- ,) a Roman Catholic priest who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in New York and a mother who was born in Minnesota, a boarder, Inglebert Webber (1876- ,) who was born in English Canada to parents who were born in English Canada and who emigrated to the United States in 1890, his housekeeper, Anna McDevitt (1862- ,) who was born in Ireland to parents who were born in Ireland, a servant, Lena Priesner (1859- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated in 1870, and a coachman, William Callinan (1883- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Ireland, all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that the Most Rev. John Ireland and Rev. Thomas Welsh resided at this address. In 1916, Archbishop John Ireland was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Most Rev. John Ireland and Rev. Thomas A. Welch both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the St. Luke's Convent was located at this address and that the Sisters of St. Joseph resided at this address. Rev. Thomas A. Printon was the pastor of St. Andrew's Parish, located at Oxford Street and Hatch Street, was organized in 1895 and had a membership of 1,200. John Ireland ( -1918,) Richard Cahill ( -1918,) and Richard Cahill ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Thomas Andrew Printon ( -1924) died in Hennepin County. John Ireland (1838-1918) was the third bishop of and first archbishop of St. Paul, Minnesota (1888-1918,) was the son of Richard Ireland (1805- ,) was born in Burn-church, County Kilkenny, Ireland, emigrated to St. Paul as a child in 1849, was educated at French seminaries, including the the petit seminaire of Meximeux, France, and was ordained in 1861 in St. Paul, served as a chaplain of the Fifth Minnesota Regiment in the American Civil War, resigned from the regiment due to ill health in 1863, was cathedral pastor at St. Paul from 1867 to 1875, organized the first total abstinence society in the state in 1869, was made coadjutor bishop of St. Paul in 1875, became bishop ordinary in 1884, became archbishop of the ecclesiastical province of St. Paul in 1888, founded the University of St. Thomas in 1885, served as director of the National Colonization Association, commissioned the building of the current Cathedral of Saint Paul in 1904, commissioned the construction of the Church of St. Mary, the Immaculate Conception, in Minneapolis in 1906, and was the president of the Minnesota Historical Society. Ireland also refused to accept the credentials of a Greek-Catholic priest, Alexis Toth, in 1889 and attempted to expel all Eastern Catholic clergy, whether married or not, from America, which caused a schism that eventually led thousands of Greek-Catholics to leave the Catholic Church to join the Russian Orthodox Church in 1891. [See note for Virginia A. Spagnolio for 989 Portland Avenue.] [See note for the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondolet for 355 Marshall Avenue.]

976 Portland Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 3236 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. M. Burns and Melvin Starbird all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. D. Goodman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Max Goodman, a dealer in diamonds, watches, and jewelry, and his wife, Henrietta Goodman, resided at this address. Albert D. Goodman ( -1923) and Max Goodman ( -1945) both died in Ramsey County. Henrietta C. Goodman ( -1937) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1996 for $239,000. The current owners of record are Errol C. Joki and Joy P. Joki. Errol Joki is associated with Strategy Sales, Inc.

972 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2619 square foot, ten room, six bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1910 federal census indicates that Samuel B. Diether (1857- ,) a wholesale merchant employed by a grocery and the head of household, who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in Germany, his wife, Anna A. Diether (1858- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, his son, Samuel F. Diether (1880- ,) an overseer employed by a railroad contractor who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Mary L. Diether (1884- ,) a teacher in a private school who was born in Minnesota, and his daughter, Adelaide E. Diether (1888- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. B. Diether and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary L. Diether, a teacher at the Summit School, boarded at this address and that Samuel B. Diether, a buyer employed by Seabury & Company, a wholesale grocery company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicats that Mr. and Mrs. S. B. Diether and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel B. Diether and his wife, Anna Diether, resided at this address. Anna A. Knauft married Samuel B. Diether in St. Paul in 1878. In 1879, Samuel B. Diether, employed by Maxfield & Company, a commission business, resided at 228 East Seventh Street. In 1882, Samuel B. Diether was elected a member of the St. Paul Board of Trade. In 1890, Samuel B. Diether was an assignee of a U. S. patent (#424,752) for an arc lamp invention by Ralph H. Beach. In 1897, Samuel Diether was prosecuted by the St. Paul Board of Health for tearing down notices about diptheria from his house and ignoring the Board's orders after diptheria samples were secured by Board representatives from his property. Anna A. Diether ( -1932) and Samuel B. Diether ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. Anna A. Diether ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. Mary Lou Diether (1883-1976) had a mother with a maiden name of Knauft and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Mary C. Noel.

969 Portland Avenue: Built in 1956. The structure is a one story, 1064 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Gerald W. Handwerk.

965 Portland Avenue: Built in 1956. The structure is a one story, 1064 square foot, five room, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was sold five times in the last 13 years and last sold in 2003 for $260,000. The current owners of record are Anahita I. Kaveh and William Jayson Singer. Anahita Kaveh was a member of the "Tissues of Life Team," a project of the Science Museum of Minnesota.

964 Portland Avenue: Anna Busch House; Built in 1908; Craftsman in style; Peter Linhoff, architect. The structure is a two story, 2850 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. The 1910 federal census indicates that Anna M. Busch (1847- ,) a person of independent means and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1857, her daughter, Margaret M. Busch (1889- ,) a person of independent means who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, and her son, Bernard L. Busch (1891- ,) a person of independent means who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany, all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna M. Busch, her daughter, and Mr. and Mrs. B. L. Busch all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna M. Busch and her daughter both resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anna M. Busch, the widow of Fred Busch, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. M. Busch and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick W. McKasy and his wife, Lucy McKasy, resided at this address. Anna M. Busch ( -1927) died in Ramsey County. Patrick McKasy ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Mary Pat Mckasy and James T. Young.

961 Portland Avenue: Built in 1897. The structure is a two story, 3122 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Hugo Schlenk resided at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that Gustav Willius, Jr. (1874- ,) a mechanical engineer employed by a supplier and the head of household, who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Germany and a mother who was born in Ohio, his wife, Mary P. Willius (1877- ,) who was born in Indiana to a father who was born in Indiana and a mother who was born in Tennessee, his daughter, Helen P. Willius (1906- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a servant, Augusta Mahoney (1878- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1892, all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Gustav Willius, Jr., resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Gust Willius, Jr., resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Gustav Willius, Jr., resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Gustav Willius, Jr., (1873-1924,) the husband of Mary P. Willius, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Germany and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward B. Graves, a lawyer who officed at the New York Building, and his wife, Margaret Graves, resided at this address in 1924. Edward Buttrick Graves (1859- ,) the son of Charles Emmitt/Emmett Graves (1830-1906,) a lawyer, and Sarah Lawrence Buttrick Graves, was born in Rutland, Vermont, was educated at the Hopkins Grammar School, New Haven, Connecticut, graduated from Yale College in 1881, graduated from the Yale College School of Law in 1884, was a lawyer, officed at the New York Life Building in 1907 and in 1912, and resided at 419 Dayton Avenue in 1907. From 1887 until 1898, Edward B. Graves was a law partner of Robert C. Hine, who became a Ramsey County judge. Gustav Willius (1831-1924) and his brother, Ferdinand Willius, were German immigrants who had together founded the National German-American/Germania Bank of St. Paul. Gustav Willius and Emma Klausmeyer Willius, the daughter of William Klausmeyer, a German immigrant and the Director of the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music, were the parents of Fredrick Arthur Willius (1888-1972,) a research cardiologist and the author of numerous essays and numerous books and textbooks in his field. The Gustav Willius mansion at 390 Hoffman Avenue was the original St. John's Hospital in St. Paul. The National German-American Bank of St. Paul was incorporated in 1883/1884. In 1893, the National German-American Bank of St. Paul had Joseph Lockey as its president, had capital of $2 million, but suspended business due a decline in depositors greater than its outstanding agricultural loans, and Daniel W. Lawler was appointed the overseer of the bank's affairs. The People's Bank of St. Paul, the West Side Bank of St. Paul, the First National Bank of Mankato, Minnesota, the Lebanon, Pennsylvania, Trust and Safe Deposit Bank, the Exchange Bank of Colby, Wisconsin, the State Bank of Providence, Rhode Island, the Texas National Bank of San Antonio, Texas, the National Bank of Commerce of Springfield, Missouri, the Baraboo, Wisconsin, Savings Bank, the Citizen's National Bank of Muncie, Indiana, the Louisville, Kentucky, City National Bank, and the Akron, Ohio, Savings Bank all suspended business at the same time as the National German-American Bank of St. Paul. The National German-American Bank of St. Paul did eventually re-open. In 1907, the National German-American Bank of St. Paul had capital of $1 million. Hugo Schlenk (1862-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dec, and died in Carlton County. Hugo Schlenk (1897-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schireman, and died in Carlton County. Gustav Willius ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Edward B. Graves ( -1930) and Margaret B. Graves ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Allan L. Osterud and Drucilla A. Osterud. Dru Osterud is a Social Services Policy Consultant in the Child Development Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Human Services and worked for the Minnesota Department of Children, Families, and Learning in 2001 in child care health and safety policy. Allan Osterud and Dru Osterud were financial supporters of Friends of the Mississippi River in 2005.

960 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 1901 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William N. Carey, the chief engineer for the St. Paul Department of Public Works, and his wife, Mary H. Carey, resided at this address. Mary Carey ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1992 for $135,000. The current owners of record are James A. Heynen and Sarah T. Williams. James A. Heynen is an M.F.A. graduate of the University of Oregon's Program in Creative Writing and is the author of The Man Who Kept Cigars in His Cap, Graywolf Press, St. Paul, 1978, The One-Room Schoolhouse: Stories about the Boys, Alfred A. Knopf, New York, New York, 1993, Cosmos Coyote and William the Nice , Henry Holt & Company, New York, New York, 2000, Boys House, Minnesota Historical Society Press, St. Paul, 2001, You Know What is Right: Stories, Farrar Straus & Giroux, Gordonsville, Virginia, 1985, One Hundred Over 100: Moments with One Hundred North American Centenarians, Western Producer Prairie Books, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, 1990, Henry Holt & Company, New York, New York, 1997, Suitable Church, Poems , Copper Canyon Press, Port Townsend, Washington, 1981, Notes From Custer, Bear Claw Press, Ann Arbor, Michigan, 1976, Standing Naked: New & Selected Poems, Confluence Press, Lewiston, Idaho, 2001, and How the Sow Became a Goddess, Confluence Press, Lewiston, Idaho, 1977. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Henry Clement resided at the former 958 Portland Avenue in 1907. Henry Clement (1869- ,) the son of Florian Clement and Christine Vonwald Clement, was born at Sauk City, Wisconsin, was educated in the public schools of Sauk City, Wisconsin, and at a business college in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was connected for eight years with J. & E. B. Friend, lace importers, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was employed by Goldberg & Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for seven years, married Ida Muller at Wausau, Wisconsin, in 1895, was an auditor for Goldberg & Company in St. Paul in 1900, established the firm of Clement, Dranger & Company, wholesale importers and dealers in laces and embroideries, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Credit Men's Association, was a member of the St. Paul Jobbers Union, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and officed at 371 Sibley Street in 1907.

956 Portland Avenue: A. C. Thomson House; Built in 1901 (1900 according to the National Register of Historic Places;) Colonial Revival in style; Louis Lockwood, architect. The structure is a two story, 2824 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. In 1907, Henry Clement resided at this address. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. S. Sommers resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred H. Bathke, a partner with Sidney J. Pfaff in Pfaff & Bathke, a steel products dealer located at the Pioneer Building, and his wife, Marie Bathke, resided at this address. Helen James, the daughter of Henry Clay James and Frances Haynes James, a Minnesota artist, married Henry S. Sommers. Henry Clement (1869-1948,) was the son of Florian Clement and Christine Vonwald Clement, attended the public schools of Sauk City, Wisconsin, until 1885, attended a business college in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, was employed by the J. & E. B. Friend Lace Importing Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, from 1885 until 1891, was employed by Goldberg & Company, a lace dealer, from 1891 until 1897, married Ida Mueller/Muller in Wausau, Wisconsin, in 1895, moved to St. Paul in 1900, organized Clement, Dranger & Company, a wholesale lace and embroidery dealer and importer, officed at 371-373 Sibley Street in 1907, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a Mason, was a Shriner, was a member of the St. Paul Jobbers Union, was a member of the St. Paul Credit Men's Association, was a member of the St. Paul Athletic Association, was an Episcopalian, moved to St. Petersburg, Florida, in 1941, and died in St. Petersburg, Florida. Henry Clement and Ida Mueller Clement were the parents of three children, __?__ Clement (Mrs. H. W.) Byerly, Harold F. Clement, and Karl G. Clement, an Air Force Colonel. Clement, Dranger & Company was damaged by a 1904 tornado that struck St. Paul, including the High Bridge over the Mississippi River. Clement, Dranger & Company became the Clement-Dranger Wholesale Fancy Dry Goods Company. Henery S. Sommers (1877-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stern, and died in Ramsey County. Sidney J. Pfaff (1887-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mathes, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $645,000. The current owners of record are Jeffrey M. Barnes and Karin L. Barnes. [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.]

955 Portland Avenue: Anna Schlenk House; Built in 1896 (1899 according to the National Register of Historic Places.) The structure is a two story, 3046 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with an attached one car garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Schlenk and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Schlenk and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. A. Schlenk, her daughter, and Hugo Schlenk, Jr., all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Eliza A. Schlenk resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Anna A. Schlenk was the widow of Joseph Schlenk and resided at 761 East Sixth Street and that Hugo Schlenk also resided at that address. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mrs. Anna Schlenk, her daughter, and Hugo Schlenk all resided at 761 East Sixth Street. Eliza A. Schlenk (1860-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hospes, and died in Ramsey County. Anna A. Schlenk ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. Anna Schlenk ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. Hugo Schlenk (1862-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dec, and died in Carlton County, Minnesota. Hugo Schlenk (1897-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schireman, and died in Carlton County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2001 for $425,000. The current owners of record are Dennis W. Hedlund and Colleen Staton. Colleen Staton, the "Tile Saw Goddess" on the "Tile Your World Forum" on the Internet, is associated with Geometric Tile, providing pre-cut, customized tile systems, utilizing two crews that do installations in St. Paul, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Savannah, Charleston, and Greater Atlanta, and with Nine Mile Properties, LLC. Colleen Staton was president of Key Automation Inc., a consulting company based in St. Paul, in 1992, and has been a business developer, a CEO, a patent-winning engineer, and a graphic artist. In 2005, Colleen Staton and Dennis Hedlund purchased residential property located at 308 E. President Street, Savannah, Georgia, from Classical Management LLC for $365,000, as a winter home.

948 Portland Avenue: Henry Clement House and Carriage House; Built in 1907 (1908 according to Larry Millett;) Peter Linhoff, architect. The structure is a two story, 4302 square foot, 11 room, seven bedroom, three bathroom, two half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Clement and the Misses Mueller all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry Clement, vice president and treasurer of Hugo Hirschmann & Company, resided at this address and that Marie E. Clement, a teacher, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Clement, their daughter, and H. F. Clement all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Clement, a real estate agent, and his wife, Ida Clement, resided at this address. Henry Clement ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Ida Clement (1884-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Engel, and died in Brown County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2006 for $980,000. The current owners of record are Kenneth G. Dzugan and Miki E. Dzugan. Ken Dzugan holds a bachelor's degree in physics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, holds an MBA in finance and general management from the University of Minnesota, has pursued doctoral studies in physics and mathematics at the University of Minnesota, was engaged in general management of the planning and development of the St. Paul Energy Park in connection with the City of St. Paul and the St. Paul Port Authority, was engaged in financial management of Spartan Properties, Inc., a small real estate development firm, was engaged in the operation of an independent strategic and financial planning consulting firm, was the founder and chairman of 21 North Main, Inc., in Minneapolis, providing the largest online inventory of used, rare, collector, out-of-print and antiquarian books, and is Vice President and Marketing Strategist for Rapport Online Inc., an Internet marketing firm in Sedona, Arizona. Miki Dzugan holds a bachelor degree in physics and an MBA from the University of Minnesota and is president and principal consultant for Rapport Online Inc.

947 Portland Avenue: Built in 1903. The structure is a two story, 2910 square foot, ten room, six bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank E. Whitman resided at this address in 1910. The 1914, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. E. Whitman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Punderson, Carolyn E. Punderson, a clerk, and Dorothy Punderson, a clerk, all resided at this address. John Whitney Punderson ( -1938,) Frank E. Whitman ( -1941,) and Carolyn Eleanor Punderson ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Barbara J. Burleigh and Malcolm B. Burleigh. Malcolm B. Burleigh is a part discoverer of U. S. patents #7,056,846 B2 and #7,078,454 B2, repellent fluorochemical compositions, that were assigned to 3M Innovative Properties Company.

941 Portland Avenue: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2516 square foot, nine room, six bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. F. Kain resided at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that James C. Michael (1863- ,) the St. Paul City Attorney and the head of household, who was born in Virginia to a father who was born in Virginia and a mother who was born in Pennsylvania, his wife, Jennie C. Michael (1859- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to a father who was born in Rhode Island and a mother who was born in New York, and his daughter, Genevieve Michael (1899- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Michael resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Michael and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the Hon. and Mrs. J. C. Michael resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James C. Michael, a judge in the Second Judicial District, and his wife, Jennie Michael, resided at this address. James C. Michael was the corporation attorney for the City of St. Paul and directed the compilation of the Compiled Ordinances of the City of St. Paul in 1908. The J. C. Michael house is located at 840 West Osceola Avenue. Jennie Candall Michael ( -1941) and James Clark Michael ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is William J. Bond. [See note on James Clark Michael for 840 West Osceola Avenue.]

940 Portland Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 3275 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a one story, 600 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame carriage house that also was built in 1884. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William P. Westfall resided at this address from 1894 to 1951. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. P. Westfall resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that William P. Westfall resided at this address in 1907. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. P. Westfall and W. G. Westfall all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William P. Westfall and W. G. Westfall all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William P. Westfall resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that William P. Westfall, a lawyer who officed at the Guardian Building, his wife, Sophie G. Westfall, Charles A. Puvogel, a chauffeur employed by W. P. Westphall, and his wife, Lillian J. Puvogel, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, all resided at this address. William Plaisted Westfall (1866- ,) the son of James Westfall and Amanda Plaisted Westfall, was born at Geddes, Onondaga County, New York, was educated in the common schools at Geddes, Onondaga County, New York, graduated from Syracuse University in 1888, was a member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity, settled in St. Paul in 1888, read the law at the law office of C. D. O'Brien and Thomas D. O'Brien, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1890, was a lawyer, married Sophia Stanton Gere, the daughter of George Clinton Gere and Adelia Manger Gere, at Syracuse, New York, in 1893, was the Torrens system examiner of titles and legal advisor to the Ramsey County registrar after 1901, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a trustee of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, officed at the Globe Building, and served as a Hamline University trustee from 1922 until 1933, and officed at the Globe Building in 1907. William Plaisted Westfall and Sophia Stanton Gere Westfall were the parents of one child, William Gere Westfall (1896- .) Sophia Stanton Gere Westfall was a member of the Minnesota branch of the Daughters of the American Revolution by virtue of being a descendant of Corporal Nathan Stanton (1749-1835,) a member of the Eighth Connecticut Militia in 1776. The William Gere Westfall Scholarship Fund was established in 1935 by Mr. and Mrs. William P. Westfall. William P. Westfall authored a "History of the Central Park Methodist Episcopal Church" in 1933. The Minnesota Historical Society has a quilt that was made by Mrs. W. P. Westfall and was given to Edith Brill. Edith Brill (1876-1961) took a photograph of F. Scott Fitzgerald as a baby in St. Paul. William G. Westfall ( -1928,) Sophia G. Westfall ( -1945,) and William Plaisted Westfall ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. Charles A. Puvogel (1894-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Obermeyer, and died in Ramsey County. Lillian J. Puvogel (1899-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Poshek, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $516,000. The current owner of records of record are Elizabeth M. Engelking and James E. Engelking, Jr. Jim Engleking, the referee director for the St. Paul Blackhawks Youth Soccer Club, resides at this address. Beth Engelking was a performer at the 2006 Irish Fair on Harriet Island. Betsy Engelking is the Director of Resource Planning and Bidding for Xcel Energy. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for Christopher Dillon O'Brien for 212 McBoal Street.] [See note for Thomas Dillon O'Brien for 633 Lincoln Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

935 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a three story, 4,342 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Nickel and Mrs. Elizabeth Nickel all resided at this address. The 1910 federal census indicates that William Hurley (1862- ,) an employee of a wholesale liquor merchant and the head of household, who was born in Maine to parents who were born in English Ireland, his second wife, Agnes M. Hurley (1882- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in English Ireland, his son, Frank W. Hurley (1895- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Maine and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his son, William Hurley (1897- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Maine and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his son, Vincent J. Hurley (1902- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Maine and a mother who was born in Minnesota, his mother-in-law, Mary McGuire (1838- ,) who was born in English Ireland to parents who were born in English Ireland, and a servant, Selma Koch (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Minnesota and a mother who was born in Germany, all resided at this address. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. William Hurley resided at this address. Frank W. Hurley and William J. Hurley were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1919 History of the Field Artillery Central Officers Training School indicates that Frank W. Hurley resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Hurley and F. W. Hurley all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry Schaffer, a tailor, and his wife, Hattie Schaffer, resided at this address. In 1956, St. Paul Jaycee member William Hurley, as a result of winning the "Our Stake in Better Government" state competition, received an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D. C., and participated in a conference with former President Herbert Hoover. William Hurley and Agnes M. Hurley were married in 1908. Elizabeth Nickel (1899-1990) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John H. Nickel ( -1917,) William Hurley ( -1917,) William Hurley ( -1925,) William Hurley ( -1929,) Harry Schaffer ( -1939,) and William Hurley ( -1943) all died in Ramsey County. William Hurley (1886-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nugent, and died in Ramsey County. Floyd W. Hurley (1893-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Frank William Hurley (1895-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McGuire, and died in Ramsey County. Harry Schaffer (1903-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Silverstein, and died in Ramsey County. Harry Schaffer (1883-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Hattie Schaffer ( -1962) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 for $355,000. The current owner of record is Crocus Hill Properties LLC, located in New Brighton, Minnesota. James Shands, a patent agent, is located at Unit #2 at this address.

934 Portland Avenue: Built in 1886. The structure is a two story, 3244 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Eugene F. Powers resided at this address from 1895 to 1903. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Powers resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Capser resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Capser, their daughter, and L. W. Capser all resided at this address. Leo W. Capser was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry C. Capser, a merchandise broker officing at 379 Jackson Street, resided at this address and that Leo W. Capser boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Capser and L. W. Capser all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry C. Caspar resided at this address. Henry C. Capser appears to have been a descendant of Joseph Capser (1831-1919) of Stearns County, Minnesota, who was a partner with John H. Linneman (1825-1901) in the Sauk Center, Minnesota, general store Linneman & Capser in the mid-1860's. Leo Capser began summering on Madeline Island ("MoningwanekaaningMinis",) Wisconsin, in 1903 and, with Bella Capser, decided to establish a museum and began building one in 1955. In 1958, the Capsers, summer residents of Madeline Island, Wisconsin, opened the Madeline Island Historical Museum, assembled from portions of a surviving American Fur Company building, an old barn, the former La Pointe, Wisconsin, town jail, and the Old Sailor's Home and, in 1968, deeded the property to the Wisconsin Historical Society as a historic site. Mrs. Capser, an artist, organized the collections and designed the exhibits at the museum. In 1991, an endowment established by the Capsers funded the 8,000-square foot Capser Center addition to the original Madeline Island Historical Museum complex. There also is an Isabella and Leo Capser Fund at the Minnesota Historical Society. In 1950, Leo and Isabella Capser resided at Villa Saint Croix on the St. Croix River near Marine on St. Croix, Minnesota. According to History of Upper Mississippi Valley, published in 1881, Joseph Capser was born in Bavaria, Germany, moved to Pennsylvania in 1846, moved to St. Cloud, Stearns County, Minnesota, in 1858, married Mary/Maria Anna Ley (1843-1925,) the daughter of Henry J. Ley of Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, in 1864, and the couple had six children, Henry C. Capser, Josephina J. Capser, Sufronica C. Capser, Albert J. Capser, Edward A. Capser, and George W. Capser. Joseph Capser was a member of the Minnesota State Senate from District 31, Stearns County, from 1875 to 1876. In 1870, Joseph Capser joined with Ferdinand Borgmann, Joseph Ebensteiner, Henry Kalkmann, George Gruber, and Anthony Miller to purchase the site of the Church of St. Paul, a Roman Catholic church, in Sauk Centre, Minnesota, with Joseph Capser paying $300 of the $475 purchase price. Sauk Centre Township, Minnesota, was established in 1858 and Joseph Capser was one of its original residents. The 1870 federal census indicates that the Joseph Capser household in Sauk Centre, Minnesota, included Joseph Capser (1833- ,) Mary A. Capser (1845- ,) Henry Capser (1865- ,) Julia J. A. Capser (1867- ,) and Saphronia Capser (1869- .) Henry C. Capser (1865-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ley, and died in Hennepin County. Leo Woods Capser (1892-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Woods, and died in Ramsey County. Isabella H. Capser (1906-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Durkee, and died in Ramsey County. Albert Joseph Capser ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Nancy A. Tracy.

931 Portland Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 2011 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. C. Ferguson and Mrs. E. G. Ferguson all resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that James Cory Ferguson resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. C. Ferguson and Dr. and Mrs. J. B. Ferguson all resided at this address. James C. Ferguson (1875- ,) a Captain, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6512) indicate that James Cory Ferguson (1875- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in the Medical Reserve Corps, who was born in Fort Totten, Dakota Territory, was a physician at induction, received one bronze victory button, was a self employed physician after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Elsa K. Ferguson, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James B. Ferguson boarded at this address and that James C. Ferguson, a physician who officed at 426 Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. C. Ferguson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick H. Odendahl, a physician who officed at 6 West Fifth street, and his wife, Amanda H. Odendahl, resided at this address. James Cory Ferguson (1875- ,) the son of James B. Ferguson and Grace Cory Ferguson, was born in Fort Totten, Dakota Territory, graduated from the Cooperstown, New York, High School, graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1901, was a physician, spent a year at the City and County Hospital in St. Paul, spent 18 months at St. Joseph's Hospital in St. Paul, entered the private practice of medicine, was a Mason, was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota Medical Association, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and officed at the Moore Building in 1916. James Cory Ferguson was a Lieutenant in the Minnesota National Guard according to the 1905 Journal of the Association of Military Surgeons of the United States. Emma Ferguson ( -1926) and Frederick H. Odendahl ( -1934) both died in Ramsey County. Dr. James Cory Ferguson (1875-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cory, and died in Ramsey County. James C. Ferguson ( -1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Smart, and died in Hennepin County. Amanda Odendahl (1870-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 for $105,000. The current owners of record are Lynnette M. Schmidt and Michael F. Yencho. Mike Yencho (1953- )is a photography instructor at the Hennepin Technical College.

930 Portland Avenue: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 3624 square foot, 13 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Peter S. Wick resided at this address from 1909 to 1944. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. S. Wick and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. S. Wick and Mr. and Mrs. R. V. Hauser all resided at this address. Rupert V. Hauser (1887- ,) a Captain, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. S. Wick resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter S. Wick and his wife, Ella B. Wick, resided at this address. Rupert Van Alstyne Hauser II (1914-1947) was born in St. Paul, married Nancy Upham in 1938, and died in California. Rupert Van Alstyne Hauser II and Nancy Upham were the parents of two children, Rupert Van Alstyne Hauser III (1940- ) and Denise Hauser (1941- .) Peter Sigewick Wick ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. Ella Victoria Evelyn Wick (1899-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is A. Jean Osteraas. In 1969, A. Jean Osteraas was employed in the Research Division of Gould-National Batteries, Inc., and was an author, with Douglas A. Olsen, of an article "Incorporation of Functional Groups onto the Surface of Polyethylene" in Nature. In 1963, Garson P. Shulman and Jean Osteraas were the authors of "Pyrolysis Of 3-Hexenedioic Acid" in the Canadian Journal of Chemistry. Gould-National Batteries, Inc., was the result of a merger of the Gould Storage Battery Corporation of New York and the National Lead Battery Company of St. Paul. In the late 1800's, Charles J. Gould started the Gould Storage Battery Corporation as a small foundry to forge couplers for railroad cars and added the manufacture of batteries for rail cars. The New York Central RailRoad was Gould's biggest customer. The Gould Storage Battery Corporation eventually produced storage batteries for use by trains, electric utilities, subways, elevators, and farms, was a principal supplier of submarine batteries to the United States Navy, and developed a battery for the automotive industry. By 1930, the Gould Storage Battery Corporation had become an established name in the battery industry and was one of the largest manufacturers of industrial batteries in the country. The Electric Manufacturing Company, a distributor of electrical accessories, was purchased by Lytton J. Shields after World War I, became an automotive battery distributorship business, pursued an affordable way to make lead grids and connectors for batteries, went into battery production, and was renamed the National Lead Battery Company. Montgomery Ward became the National Lead Battery Company's first national customer. When the National Lead Battery Company then developed replacement batteries that retailed for $5 to $10 rather than $40 and received national contracts with Goodrich, Goodyear, and Phillips, making it one of the largest producers of replacement batteries. The National Lead Battery Company established plants throughout the country, pursued growth through a series of acquisitions during the 1920's, and changed its name to the National Battery Company. In 1930, in order to gain access to a fiberglass method of insulating battery plates for which the Gould Storage Battery Corporation held the patent, Shields acquired the Gould Storage Battery Corporation for $225,000. The fiberglass separator batteries were perfected for automobiles, and, in 1936, Shields introduced the Kathanode Glass-Klad battery. In the late 1930s, Albert H. Daggett, Shield's successor, expanded the business into the industrial battery market and was a major supplier of batteries for submarines and aircraft during and after World War II. Daggett also acquired other battery manufacturers, doubled the size of the company, and changed its name to Gould-National Batteries, Inc., to capitalize on Gould's past focus in the industrial market. Gould-National Battery struggled during the 1950's and 1960's. In an effort to increase market share, the company began to diversify. In 1958, Gould-National acquired from White Machine Works a group of companies that manufactured parts for internal combustion engines. Gould-National acquired the Wilkening Manufacturing Company, an engine parts manufacturer that developed a patented heat-shaping process for making piston rings and later provided equipment rings for aircraft engines, in 1960. Gould-National entered the air and fuel filter markets with the acquisition of the Cyclone Filter Corporation. The company also branched out of the industrial battery business to develop a presence in the alkaline battery and rechargeable battery markets. In the late 1960's, demand for automotive batteries continued to decrease and earnings at Gould-National continued to fall. Daggett retired and William T. Ylvisaker (1925-2010) became the new chief executive officer, eliminated debt, sold unprofitable businesses, reduced inventories, decentralized division operations and diversified. Gould-National merged with Cleveland-based Clevite Corporation, a precision automotive parts, battery, and electronic systems and components manufacturer and became Gould, Inc. Gould, Inc. also acquired 20 companies, including a maker of heating equipment parts, a smelter and refiner of lead, a maker of electronic controls, a maker of computer output devices, a maker of battery-related equipment, a maker of medical instrumentation, a maker of electronic test and measurement equipment, and a maker of specialized electric motors in order to diversify. In 1976, Gould had 35,000 employees and sales of $1.2 billion, did business throughout the United States, Japan and Europe, had a business mix of 55 percent electric, 30 percent industrial, and 15 percent batteries, and moved into a new corporate headquarters in Rolling Meadows, Illinois, just outside of Chicago. In the late 1970's and early 1980's, Ylvisaker divested Gould's industrial group of businesses and sold the company's battery operations. Money from these sales was used to further strengthen the business as an electronics company and Gould's electronic business were 75 percent of sales. A majority of Gould's upper management left in the late 1970's and early 1980's because of personality conflicts with Ylvisaker. In 1984, David Simpson, president and chief operating officer, resigned and was replaced by James McDonald, a former IBM manufacturing executive, to reorganize the company. During the late 1980's, Gould suffered from excessive spending and failed business ventures. Under McDonald's guidance, Gould reduced employment by more than 9,000 people, cut corporate staff by over 50 percent, sold two corporate aircraft, and sold three corporate apartments. In 1986, Ylvisaker resigned and McDonald took over, divested and reorganized, brought in billions of dollars, paid off or established reserves for almost all its debt, and made itself an attractive company to purchase. In 1988, Nippon Mining Co. Ltd. had become Gould's agent for selling fuses in Japan, then formed a computer marketing alliance with Gould, and then purchased Gould for over $1 billion dollars. McDonald resigned from the position of chairman and CEO and was replaced by C. David Ferguson, a veteran Gould executive. The acquisition of Gould made Nippon Mining into a major electronics companies. Nippon moved Gould's headquarters to Eastlake, Ohio. However, Gould had not made a profit since it was acquired by Nippon Mining, lost $70 million in 1982, was was liquidated in 1993, and a new company, Gould Electronics, Inc., was established as a designer and manufacturer of materials and components for use in the electrical and electronics markets. Exide purchased GNB in 2001. GNB Industrial Power, a Division of Exide Technologies, is the former GNB Industrial Battery Company.

927 Portland Avenue: Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1144 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record are Lorial B. Rathman and Melvin W. Rathman, who reside in Minneapolis. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank T. Watson resided at the former nearby 928 Portland Avenue.

922 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 3665 square foot, 11 room, eight bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Beggs resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Jerry R. Beggs, the proprietor of J. R. Beggs & Company, a wholesale potato dealer, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Beggs resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jerry R. Beggs, associated with J. R. Beggs & Company, a wholesale potato dealer, and his wife, Lou Worth Beggs, resided at this address. Jerry R. Beggs (1868- ,) the son of William R. Beggs and Jane Roseberry Beggs, was born in Portage County, Wisconsin, was educated in the public schools of Plainfield, Minnesota, initially engaged in the potato business in Northfield, Minnesota, moved to St. Paul, married Lulu Worth in 1900, established a potato buying and shipping business, J. R. Beggs & Company, in St. Paul in 1901, officed at the Manhattan Building in 1907, resided at 661 East Fifth Street in 1907, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, and was a Mason. Jerry R. Beggs ( -1946) and Lou Worth Beggs ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Gregory S. Defor and Jeannine S. Defor. The 1900 city directory indicates that Rev. Ernest Dray resided at the former nearby 903 Portland Avenue. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Mrs. Helen Adams Clough, a 1904 graduate of the University of Minnesota, resided at the nearby former 906 Portland Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Clough resided at the former nearby 906 Portland Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. P. W. Moore resided at the nearby former 908 Portland Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles F. Clough, a proprietor of a drug store located at 858 Selby Avenue, resided at the former nearby 906 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Guerin resided at the former nearby 906 Portland Avenue. In the 1890's, the Right Reverend Mahlon N. Gilbert, Bishop Coadjutor of the Episcopal Diocese of Minnesota, was a particular advocate of establishing new missions in St. Paul, and the Emanuel Mission opened in 1893 at the corner of Selby Avenue and Victoria Street under a young Episcopalian vicar, Deacon Ernest Dray. Eventually, the Emanuel Mission became St. Clement's Episcopal Church. Rev. Ernest Dray was ordained in 1894, officiated at a memorial service for Queen Victoria in 1901, was the vice president of the St. Paul City Missions Society in 1905, and was a member of the Episcopalian Ecclesiastical Court in 1905. Rev. Ernest Dray presided over the marriage of Samuel D. Sturgis and Bertha Tracy Bement in 1896 and performed the marriage of Ethel Olive Hause and George Ollie Miles in 1904. [See the note for Mahlon Norris Gilbert for 18 Summit Court.] [See note on General Samuel Davis Sturgis and Samuel D. Sturgis III for 427 Portland Avenue.]

901 Portland Avenue: St. Clement's Memorial Episcopal Church; Built in 1894; Gothic/English country church style; Cass Gilbert, architect. The structure is a two story, 20,732 square foot, church. The parish hall was designed by Clarence Johnston. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that St. Clement's Episcopal Church was located at this address from 1894. The current owner of record is St. Clements Memorial Church. In the 1890's, the Episcopal Diocese of Minnesota focused its church building efforts on growing cities, particularly St. Paul and Minneapolis, and the Right Reverend Mahlon N. Gilbert (1848-1900,) Bishop Coadjutor of Minnesota, was a particular advocate of new missions in St. Paul, especially in the rapidly growing suburbs west of the city. In 1894, Elizabeth Eaton, the widow of the rector of St. Clement's Church in New York City, Reverend Dr. Theodore Eaton ( -1893,) approached Bishop Gilbert with a proposal to fund a new church in Minnesota, to be named St. Clement's Memorial Church, in honor of her husband. The cornerstone was laid on April 17, 1895, and St. Clement's Memorial Church was consecrated on October 6, 1895. Reverend Ernest Dray ( -1938) was the first rector of the church and later was a missionary in Wyoming. Beginning in the 1960's, St. Clement's went through a period of decline and, by the early 1980's, the parish had shrunk to fewer than 300 members. In 1983, St. Clement's called the Reverend Daniel V. Pearson to be its new rector and he was given three years to rejuvenate the congregation or the church would close. Reverend Stephen Lander and Reverend Debbie Brown are the interim rectors of the 600 parishioner church, following the move of Reverend Pearson to St. Stephen's in Edina, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel Hartman resided at the former nearby 906 Portland Avenue, that Benjamin Nemer, a branch manager employed by Leon K. Stein & Company, Celia Nemer, resided at the former nearby 908 Portland Avenue, and that St. Clements Memorial Episcopal Church was located at the former nearby 919 Portland Avenue. Samuel Hartman ( -1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Benjamin Abraham Nemer ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Celia G. Nemer (1893-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gerber, and died in Ramsey County. Celia Nemer (1890-1973) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See the note for Mahlon Norris Gilbert for 18 Summit Court.]

897 Portland Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 1061 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles W. Caron, a foreman with Swift & Company, and his wife, Florence Caron, resided at this address. Charles W. Caron ( -1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vanalls, and died in Hennepin County. Florence Caron (1892-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McCue, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is St. Clement's Episcopal Church. The church indicates that the building is used for youth activities and small meetings. Richard Rasmussen was a World War I veteran who resided at the former 894 Portland Avenue in 1919. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

893 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2172 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. John McKee, Jr., was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edmund T. Burke resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anne M. Burke, Ann Burke, a clerk, Charles W. Burke, a clerk, and John E. Burke, a clerk employed by McMeekin & Quinn, all resided at this address. Anne M. Burke (1883-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Casey, and died in Hennepin County. Ann Marie Burke (1912-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Comsolan, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are C. H. Turner and Rex J. Turner.

889 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. The structure is a one story, 1490 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. P. Schmitz resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Grace Empey, a teacher at the McKinley School, boarded at this address and that Harold J. Empey, an assistant manager employed by the Citizens Service Corporation, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George L. Hanzalick, a chief estimator employed by the Adam Decker Hardware Company, and his wife, Irene Hanzalik, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1994 for $89,900. The current owner of record is the William Mitchell College of Law. [See note for the William Mitchell College of Law for 875 Summit Avenue.]

885 Portland Avenue: Built in 1924. The structure is a one story, 1546 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William L. Alban, an architect located at the Endicott Building, and his wife, Gertrude Alban, resided at this address. William L. Alban (1873-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Gertrude Alban ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Jean M. Ludescher and George E. Rapaich. George E. Rapaich (1953- ) is a defense lawyer who practices in St. Paul, was a financial supporter of the University of Wisconsin-Superior Foundation in 2006, and ran in the 28th Annual Get in Gear 10K Run/Walk in 2005. Jean Ludescher and George Rapaich were financial suppoters of Open Arms in 2006. Jean M. Ludescher, Inc., is located at 1528 Breda Avenue. Jean Ludescher (1958- ) is a faculty member of the College of Veterinary Medicine and ran in the 28th Annual Get in Gear 10K Run/Walk in 2005.

881 Portland Avenue: Built in 1940. The structure is a one story, 1161 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record are Diana R. Wigfield and Thomas M. Wigfield.

877 Portland Avenue: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1724 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. T. Daly, Mrs. Elizabeth Daly, and H. J. Daly all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Keefe and Mrs. A. F. Healey all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Hanify and Mrs. Ross Nelson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William E. Bush resided at this address. Ross Edward Nelson ( -1924,) George T. Daly ( -1935,) and Ross Nelson ( -1952) all died in Hennepin County. Elizabeth Daly ( -1921) and William E. Bush ( -1945) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 for $107,900. The current owners of record are Anna R. Igra and Howard I. Oransky. The 1930 city directory indicates that the St. Luke's Catholic Parochial School was located at the nearby former 878 Portland Avenue. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the St. Luke's Parochial School was located at the nearby former 878-880 Portland Avenue from 1905 to 1951, that Our Lady of Peace School was located at the nearby former 878-880 Portland Avenue from 1952 to 1972, and that William Mitchell College of Law was located at the nearby former 878-880 Portland Avenue from 1977, with the address eventually having been changed to 875 Summit Avenue. [See note for the William Mitchell College of Law for 875 Summit Avenue.]

857 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2420 square foot, 12 room, three bedroom, four bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Clara M. Stalley, the widow of William B. Stalley, resided at this address. William Stalley ( -1928) died in McCleod County, Minnesota. The current owners of record are Frank O. Johnson III and Sandra K. Johnson. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Rick, a salesman employed by Seeler-Farnum, and his wife, Emma Rick, resided at the former nearby 859 Portland Avenue. George F. Rick (1900-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roufs, and died in Ramsey County. Emma M. Rick (1906-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stratman, and died in Ramsey County.

856 Portland Avenue: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Summit Avenue Assemblies of God Church.

853 Portland Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 2019 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Mullen, Lawrence Holton, and his daughters all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Mullen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward J. Mullen, a manager employed by the Railway Express Agency, and his wife, Anna T. Mullen, resided at this address. Lawrence Holton ( -1919) died in Ramsey County. Edward J. Mullen (1875-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mattimore, and died in Ramsey County. Anna Christine Mullen ( -1954) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $455,000. The current owners of record are John V. Politsch and Susan Politsch. [See note for the Railway Express Agency for 248 Banfil Street.]

852 Portland Avenue: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Summit Avenue Assemblies of God Church. [See note for the Summit Avenue Assembly of God Church for 845 Summit Avenue.]

849 Portland Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a two story, 1969 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lionel J. Sweeney, the sales manager employed by the Holt Motor Company, and his wife, Fay E. W. Sweeney, resided at this address. Lionel J. Sweeney (1894-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Moran, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 for $184,000. The current owners of record are Jennifer Lynn Frisch and Timothy Joseph Pramas.

844 Portland Avenue: Built in 1938. The structure is a one story, 1170 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The current owner of record is the Summit Avenue Assemblies of God Church. [See note for the Summit Avenue Assembly of God Church for 845 Summit Avenue.]

841 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2800 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that David F. Vail, a member of the church since 1890, resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that David F. Vail resided at this address in 1907. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Carling, their daughters, and H. J. Carling all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Estella T. Carling, a stenographer employed by the Oregon & Western Colonization Company, Harry J. Carling, the general manager of the Employers Detective Service, with offices at the Oppenheim Building, and Kathleen Carling, a stenographer, all boarded at this address and that Henry Carling, an artist who officed at the Met Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. J. Carling, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Carling, and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Carling, proprietor of the Henry Carling Artist & Art School, a studio located at 319 Robert Street, and his wife, Delia Carling, resided at this address. David F. Vail (1835- ,) the son of James W. Vail and Mary Vail, was born in Tully, New York, was educated in the public schools of New York, was a wagon maker in Port Washington, Wisconsin, before the American Civil War, served as a Second Lieutenant in Company K of the 16th Wisconsin Infantry, the Ozaukee Rifles, during the American Civil War in the Army of the Tennessee, received a gunshot wound in the left thigh, resigned in 1862 on account of wounds received at the battle of Shiloh, was in the hospital at Keokuk, Iowa, returned to Wisconsin and engaged in the banking business at Port Washington, Wisconsin, until 1869, was an insurance adjuster, moved to Chicago, Illinois, and engaged as an adjuster of the Hartford Fire Insurance Company after 1869, was the general adjuster for the Northwest, married Ida Watson in 1901, was the president and a member of the board of directors of the Milnor, North Dakota, National Bank, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States, was a Mason, was a vice president of the Society of the Army of the Tennessee, and officed at the Pioneer Press Building in 1907. Ida A. Vail was the widow of David F. Vail, an American Civil War veteran from Minnesota. The officers of the Oregon & Western Colonization Company were W. P. Davidson, president, R. P. Warner, secretary, and J. G. Barwise, treasurer, and the corporate offices were located at the Pioneer Building. Henry Carling ( -1932,) Harry J. Carling ( -1938,) Delia Carling ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 for $206,900. The current owners of record are Matthew J. Crellin and Joan L. Cochran. [See note on Reuben Warner for 535 Grand Hill.] [See note for the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States (MOLLUS) for 30 Irvine Park.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

840 Portland Avenue: Built in 1937. The structure is a one story, 1167 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The current owners of record are the trustees of Florence M. Johnson and Ward L. Johnson.

834 Portland Avenue: Built in 1936. The structure is a one story, 1217 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold in 1993 for $75,000. The current owner of record is the Summit Avenue Assemblies of God Church. [See note for the Summit Avenue Assembly of God Church for 845 Summit Avenue.]

833 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2736 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William F. Zimmermann resided at this address from 1902 to 1906. The 1914, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Hopkins resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James H. Hopkins and his wife, Jennie Hopkins, resided at this address. William F. Zimmermann ( -1952) died in Stearns County, Minnesota. James H. Hopkins ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. Jennie Hopkins (1881-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1996 for $250,000. The current owner of record is Tracey Lue Strech. Compensation Management Inc. is located at this address.

830 Portland Avenue: Built in 1936. The structure is a one story, 1316 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with a detached one car garage. The current owner of record is Summit Avenue Assemblies of God, located at 845 Summit Avenue. [See note for the Summit Avenue Assembly of God Church for 845 Summit Avenue.]

829 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2642 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Henry Hasenwinkle resided at this address from 1891 to 1892. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Walsh, J. C. Cabanne, and J. R. Cabanne all resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that John Rogers, Jr., resided at this address in 1907. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Meagher resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. A. Durkee, her daughters, and R. E. Gemmell all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Abbott resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clinton S. Abbott, superintendent of the Minnesota By-Product Coke Company, and his wife, Marion H. Abbott, resided at this address. The 1950 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Jonathan P. Abbott (1929- ,) who attended the school from 1940 until 1947, attended the University of Minnesota, served as a Private in the Army in Korea from 1947 until 1948, and married Marguerite Joan Woodward in 1950, resided at this address. In 1919, Clinton S. Abbott, a 1912 Mechanical Engineering graduate of Cornell University, a resident of the University Club, was the assistant superintendent of the By-Product Coke Company, St. Paul. In 1893, Mrs. Henry Hasenwinkle was a member of the Women's Auxiliary Board of the Board of World's Fair Commissioners. in 1901, Henry Hasenwinkle was the Senior Aide-de-Camp for the Minnesota Department of the Grand Army of the Republic. John Cabanne ( -1921) and Clinton S. Abbott ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. In 1895, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Hasenwinkle resided at 838 Osceola Avenue, when Elsie Hasenwinkle, their daughter, married Albert Van Syckle Lloyd of New York City. Marie Barbara Zimmerman Hasenwinkle (1846-1897,) the daughter of Edward Zimmerman and Barbara Shoetelle Zimmerman, was born in Strausburg, France, emigrated to the United States in 1848 with his parents, settled in New York City, then moved to Elizabeth, New Jersey, then moved to Chicago, then moved to St. Paul, then moved to Hudson, Wisconsin, was a member of the Methodist Church, married Henry Hasenwinkle in 1868, was a member of the Women's Educational and Industrial Union of St. Paul, became a member of the Woman's Relief Corps in 1886, and was the National Senior Vice-President of the National Women's Relief Corps, the Auxiliary to the Grand Army of the Republic. Henry Hasenwinkle and Marie Barbara Zimmerman Hasenwinkle were the parents of four children, Elsie Barbara Lloyd Hasenwinkle, Madeline Estella Hasenwinkle, Harry Hasenwinkle, and Ralph Waldo Emerson Hasenwinkle. Henry Hasenwinkle was a traveling salesman for Richards Gordon and Gordon & Ferguson in 1907. John Rogers, Jr. (1860- ,) the son of John Rogers, Sr. (1828- ,) a hotel owner and operator and a butcher, and Delia Carney Rogers, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the parochial and public schools of St. Paul, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1876, was a general insurance agent, engaged in the insurance business with the firm of Miller & Shandrew from 1877 until 1878, was engaged in the insurance business with Weed & Lawrence from 1878 until 1883, entered into the general fire, tornado, liability and accident insurance business for himself after 1883, was officed on Jackson Street in 1884, represented the British American Insurance Company in 1884, married Kittie Carr of Chicago, Illinois, in 1886, was the vice president of the St. Paul Board of Underwriters in 1891, was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul Board of Underwriters in 1893, was one of the organizers of the Junior Pioneers Association, was one of the organizers of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and officed at the Manhattan Building in 1907. John Rogers, Jr., and Kittie Carr Rogers were the parents of seven children, Alex Rogers (1887- ,) Margaret Rogers (1891- ,) Florence Rogers (1893- ,) Anna Louise Rogers (1896- ,) Eveline Rogers (1898- ,) Eugene Legaye Rogers (1900- ,) and Marian Rogers (1902- .) Marion H. Abbott (1892-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Katherine Mary Lund Cohen. Jonathan Michael Rixen, who is listed as having resided at 827 Portland Avenue in 2005, was an applicant for registration to practice before the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Jonathan M. Rixen received his undergraduate degree in chemical engineering from Iowa State University, worked for the Center for Sustainable Environmental Technologies and for Cambrex Charles City, Inc., graduated from William Mitchell College of Law in 2007, is a patent agent registered to practice before the U. S. Patent and Trademark Office, and currently is a law clerk at the Lemaire Patent Law Firm specializing in mechanical, optical and chemical engineering technologies. [See note for the Minnesota By-Product Coke Company for 1910 Portland Avenue.] [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

826 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a one story, 770 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, stone bungalow, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Eric M. Kustritz, who resides at 821 Summit Avenue. In 2000, Eric M. Kustritz of Osceda, Wisconsin, and involved in housing rehabilitation, contributed to the Cathie Hartnett (DFL) for Minnesota Fourth Congressional District primary campaign.

823 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 3333 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Harry T. Morris resided at this address from 1891 to 1893. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Ewing and Miss Anna E. Spates all resided at this address. The 1914, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. N. W. Reay resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Neville W. Reay, the president-general manager of the Daily News Publishing Company, his wife, Edna C. S. Reay, and Robert M. Reay, a reporter employed by the St. Paul Daily News, all resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Edward Scott Reay (1903- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1918 until 1921, and who owned Reay Engraving Company, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Edward S. Reay, a member of the Class of 1924, resided at this address. In 1972-1973, Anne Hill, a Junior at Macalester College resided at this address. Edward Scott Reay married Florence Schmidt in St. Paul in 1928 and the couple had one child, Edward Scott Reay, Jr. (1939- .) Neville W. Reay ( -1933,) Anna Elizabeth Spates ( -1933,) and Frank H. Ewing ( -1934) all died in Ramsey County. Robert M. Reay (1905-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Scott, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Jean Kummerow and John Loban. Jean Kummerow & Associates, a Myers-Briggs Type Indicator® certified continuing education provider, is also located at this address. John Loban is a realtor with the St. Paul-Grand Avenue Office of Edina Realty. In 1994, John Loban was appointed by Mayor Norm Coleman to the St. Paul Neighborhood Sales Tax Board and, in 1998 and again in 2002, was appointed by Mayor Norm Coleman to the Neighborhood Sales Tax Reinvestment (STAR) Program. In 1995, John Loban was appointed to the Board of Directors of Cable Access St. Paul, Inc./St. Paul Neighborhood Network. In 2006, John Loban unsuccessfully ran for election to the Ramsey County Soil & Water Conservation District. < a href="http://www.angelfire.com/mn/thursdaynighthikes/linwoodwest.html"> [See note on the St. Paul Daily News for 1002 West Linwood Avenue.]

819 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 3202 square foot, ten room, six bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that John R. Warner resided at this address from 1891 to 1896. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John F. Kelly and Mrs. Kate Smith all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Mayer Rosenholtz and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Meyer Rosenholtz and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William T. Sharp and his wife, Vera L. Sharp, resided at this address. Kate Bell Smith ( -1924,) Meyer Rosenholtz ( -1930,) John Francis Kelly ( -1932,) and John F. Kelly ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $539,900. The current owners of record are Michael B. Busch and Terri F. H. Busch.

817 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889 (1901 according to the National Register of Historic Places;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2394 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Donnelly resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. August Norden and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Aug Norden resided at this address. Thos. P. Norden was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. M. Goldman, Mr. and Mrs. G. A. Hurd, and Mr. and Mrs. Aug Norden all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Irvin D. Carpenter, an osteopath, his wife, Aetna S. Carpenter, Alex S. Kelliher, a salesman, and his wife, Eleanor M. Kelliher, all resided at this address. Ignatius Loyola Donnelly (1831- ,) the son of Dr. Philip Carroll Donnelly (1800-1840,) a physician and a founder of the Philadelphia College of Medicine, and Catherine Frances Gavin Donnelly (1811-1877,) the daughter of John Gavin, was born in Moyamensing/Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, graduated from the Philadelphia Central High School in 1849, read the law at the office of Benjamin Harris Brewster, was admitted to the practice of law in Pennsylvania in 1852/1853, was initially a Roman Catholic, but subsequently rejected the religion, married Katharine McCaffrey (1833-1894) in 1855, was nominated for membership in the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1855, moved to St. Paul in 1856, founded Nininger, Minnesota, practiced law with Archibald M. Hayes and Oren T. Hayes in the firm of Hayes, Donnelly & Hayes, established the Emigrant Aid Journal to promote settlement in Minnesota, was sequentially a Republican, a Liberal Republican, a Granger, an Independent, a Greenback Party member, an Anti-Monopoly Party member, and a Populist, failed in two attempts running for the Minnesota Senate, practiced law as a member of the law firm of Hayes, Donnelly & Hayes, won election as the Minnesota Lieutenant Governor in 1859, issued a proclamation, as acting governor, calling for volunteers in response to the national call for soldiers issued by President Lincoln at the start of the American Civil War, was re-elected as Minnesota Lieutenant Governor in 1861, served the United States House of Representatives from 1863 until 1869, including prevailing over Colonel William Colvill in 1866, lost a bid for U. S. Senate to Alexander Ramsey in 1869, resided in Nininger, Minnesota, subsequently served in the the Minnesota Senate from 1874 until 1878 and from 1891 until 1894 representing Dakota County, Minnesota (Districts 20 and 24,) and in the Minnesota House of Representatives from 1887 until 1888 and 1897 until 1898 representing Dakota County, Minnesota (Districts 25 and 24,) was nominated for Vice President of the United States by the Populist/People's Party in 1892, married Marion O. Hanson/Marion Woltman (1877-1964,) his stenographer, in 1898, was a national leader in the Farmer's Alliance Movement, was a national leader in the Populist Party, authored the preamble of the People's Party's Omaha Platform in 1892, edited the weekly Anti-Monopolist from 1874 until 1879 and the Populist Representative from 1894 until 1901, authored The Mourner's Vision. A Poem in 1850, Essay on the Sonnets of Shakespeare, Reform of the Indian system, published in Washington by Towers in 1865, Atlantis: The Antediluvian World in 1881/1882, The Destruction of Atlantis: Ragnarok, or the Age of Fire and Gravel in 1883, The Shakespeare myth in 1887, Great Cryptogram: Francis Bacon's Cipher in Shakespeare's Plays published in Chicago by R.S. Peale & Company in 1888, Caesar's Column: a Story of the Twentieth Century in 1889, Dr. Huguet in 1891, Golden Bottle in 1892, Donnelliana, published in Chicago by F. J. Schulte & Company in 1892, The American People's Money, published in Chicago by Laird & Lee in 1895, and The cipher in the plays, and on the tombstone published in London by S. Low, Marston & Company, Limited, in 1900, died in Minneapolis, and was buried at Calvary Cemetery in St. Paul. By critics, Donnelly was known as the "Sage of Nininger," "The Prince of Cranks," or "The Apostle of Discontent." Stanislaus "Stan" J. Donnelly (1860/1861-1918,) the son of Ignatius Donnelly and Katherine McCaffrey Donnelly ( -1894), was born in Nininger, Dakota County, Minnesota, was educated in the Hastings, Minnesota, public schools, St. John's College in Stearns County, Minnesota, and at Georgetown College in Washington, D. C., read the law at the law firm of O'Brien, Eller & O'Brien, was admitted to the practice of law in 1885, was a Roman Catholic, was a clerk for the Judiciary Committee of the Minnesota House in 1887, was a clerk for the Judiciary Committee of the Minnesota Senate in 1891, was the chief clerk for the Minnesota Attorney General for four years, was an assistant Ramsey County attorney for four years, was the attorney for the Minnesota Game and Fish Board of Commissioners for two years, was a partner in the law firm of Cannon (E. J. Cannon) & Donnelly, was a member of the Junior Pioneers, and was a member of the Knights of Columbus. Stanislaus J. Donnelly married Jennie M. O'Brien in 1887 and the couple had five children. Stan J. Donnelly ( -1918) and Alexander S. Kelliher ( -1940) both died in Ramsey County. Eleanor Kelliher (1893-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cloeman, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 for $223,000. The current owners of record are Cathleen K. Brannen and Jonathan H. Brannen.

816 Portland Avenue: Built in 1906. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1511 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that James M. McKissick, a chauffeur, and his wife, Clara M. McKissick, resided at this address. The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Samuel E. Turner, a member of the Class of 1930, resided at this address. Clara McKissick ( -1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Paul J. Schuster and Susan T. Schuster. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. B. Greig resided at the former nearby 815 Portland Avenue. Paul B. Greig (1896-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Taber, and died in Ramsey County.

811 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2174 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dodge resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Victor Manes, a presser employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Goldie Manes, resided at this address. Victor Manes (1898-1990) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Goldie Manes (1901-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schwartz, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Susan A. O'Leary. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. A. Dickman resided at the former nearby 815 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Pogoler, an agent, and his wife, Helen Pogoler, resided at the former nearby 815 Portland Avenue. Gustave A. Dickman ( -1948) and Helen Pogoler ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

809 Portland Avenue: Portland Apartments; Built in 1914 (1893 according to the National Register of Historic Places.) The structure is a two story, 9,002 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The structure is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. H. E. Horwitz, Mr. and Mrs. H. S. Berman, Mrs. G. S. Moore, G. B. Moore, Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Fink, Mr. and Mrs. Morris Horwitz, their daughter, Mrs. J. H. Morrison, and her daughter all resided at this address. Louis Cohen, John H. Roycraft, and John H. Royer (1896- ,) a Private, were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry S. Berman, a partner with Samuel O. Berman in Berman Brothers, a wholesale and retail sporting goods dealer, and Joseph Cohen, a furniture dealer with a store located at 111 Grand Avenue, South St. Paul, Minnesota, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. K. Hardiman, H. C. Bentz, Dr. J. A. Lepak, and Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Waldner all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Samuel I. Gilman, a partner with Roy Gilman in Gilman Brothers, tailors, and his wife, Lena Gilman (Apartment #A,) Emmet J. Keefe, a laborer employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Myrtle Keefe (Apartment #2,) James E. Carroll, assistant superintendent of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad, and his wife, Lina Carroll (Apartment #3,) and Wolf S. Resnick, a proprietor of an auto parts supplier located at 268 Rondo Street, his wife, Anna Resnick, Benjamin W. Resnick, a manager of the Central Auto Parts Company, Louis Resnick, a salesman, and Simon Resnick, an auto mechanic employed by the Central Auto Parts Company (Apartment #4.) Louis Cohen ( -1926,) Henry C. Bentz ( -1931,) and Louis Cohen ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Emmet J. Keefe ( -1951) died in Stearns County, Minnesota. Louis Cohen (1874-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John A. Lepak (1887-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kolczyk, and died in Ramsey County. Emmet J. Keefe (1901-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McKenna, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Wolf S. Resnick ( -1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Henry Waldner ( -1935) died in Renville County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2001 for $413,400. The current owner of record is Donald Driggs, who resides in Wayzata, Minnesota. [See the note for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad.]

805 Portland Avenue: George W. Koehler Residence; Built in 1889 (1893 according to the National Register of Historic Places); Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3055 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Summit Hill Historic District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that George W. Koehler resided at this address from 1895 to 1905. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Koehler resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that L. M. (Mrs. H. W.) Williams, a member of the church since 1888, resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. J. Mumm, Mrs. Henry Downs, and G. E. Downs all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Asahel G. Wedge (1831-1921,) the husband of Mary J. Wedge, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of senility, resided at this address in 1921. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Q. Haas, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Alma C. Paulson, a teacher, and Oliver R. Van Krevelen, an assistant engineer employed by the Ramsey County Engineer, and his wife, Mildred L. Van Krevelen, all resided at this address. In 1930, Bernard Joseph Mumm and Bernard John Mumm, both of 91 North Lexington Avenue, received a United Kingdom patent (325623) for improved sausage casings and subsequently had a patent infringement suit related to that patent, Mumm v. Jacob E. Decker & Sons 86 F.2d 77 (8th Cir. 1936.) George W. Koehler ( -1916) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Bernard Joseph Mumm (1873-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zwart, and died in Ramsey County. Henry Downs ( -1911) died in Hennepin County. Mary J. Wedge ( -1925) and John Quincy Haas ( -1927) both died in Ramsey County. Alma C. Paulson (1886-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Rice County, Minnesota. Oliver R. Van Krevelen (1901-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Carl, and died in Hennepin County. Mildred L. Van Krevelen (1900-1957) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Mark H. Foster and Sarah D. Foster. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Craig and Mrs. E. Harrison all resided at the former nearby 781 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Clayton resided at the former nearby 755 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. S. W. Clark, S. B. Clark, and C. H. Clark all resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue, and that Rev. and Mrs. A. J. D. Haupt, Miss Effie Hargis, and Mrs. Jane A. Clark all resided at the former nearby 747 Portland Avenue. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. M. Temple resided at the former nearby 747 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Nolan and Henry Lindsay all resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Lowell and Mr. and Mrs. G. M. Torrance all resided at the former nearby 753 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. B. G. Yates and their daughter all resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Hopewell Clark resided at the former nearby 775 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Albert Wunderlich resided at the former nearby 781 Portland Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Alexander resided at the former nearby 796 Portland Avenue. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that James P. Allen and Florence E. (Mrs. J. P.) Allen, members of the church since 1886, resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. O'Rourke resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue, that Mrs. Mary A. Appel resided at the former nearby 755 Portland Avenue, that Mrs. A. M. Mayo and her daughter both resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Hopewell Clarke resided at the former nearby 775 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Albert Wunderlich resided at the former nearby 781 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Fosbroke and G. E. Fosbroke all resided at the former nearby 787 Portland Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Spence resided at the former nearby 791 Portland Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Spence resided at the former nearby 791 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Michaud resided at the former nearby 787 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Fuhlbruegge resided at the former nearby 781 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Mark McKendrick and Mrs. Regina McKendrick all resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Liedl and Mr. and Mrs. F. H. O'Rourke all resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. V. M. Johnston resided at the former nearby 747 Portland Avenue. Omer L. Brokaw (1893- ,) a Sergeant, and Paul E. Jennings (1888- ,) a Private, were World War I veterans who resided at the former 749 Portland Avenue in 1919. Ed. J. McKendrick (1899- ,) a Private, and Paul McKendrick (1897- ,) a Radio Operator, were World War I veterans who resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Benjamin M. Daniels, a special agent employed by the Aetna Life Insurance Company, resided at the former nearby 747 Portland Avenue, that Edith M. Douglas, the director of the St. Paul Free Medical Dispensary, roomed at the nearby former 775 Portland Avenue, and that Edwin N. Ferdon, vice president and general manager of Brown & Bigelow, Inc., resided at the nearby former 787 Portland Avenue. The 1921 Carlton College Alumni Directory indicates that Roy E. Hilton, a member of the class of 1901 and the general secretary of the St. Paul Association of Commerce, resided at the former nearby 787 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Spence resided at the former nearby 791 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. R. E. Hilton resided at the former nearby 787 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Wilson resided at the former nearby 775 Portland Avenue, that Mrs. Mark McKendrick resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. D. F. Cook and Mr. and Mrs. F. H. O'Rourke all resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Noah Rosenblum, a teacher, his wife, Mary Rosenblum, Marcus Knox, a laborer employed at the Commercial Post Office Station, and his wife, Esther Knox, resided at the former nearby 747 Portland Avenue, that Francis H. O'Rourke, a salesman, his wife, Mary O'Rourke, Carmi B. Vaughan, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Pauline Vaughan, all resided at the former nearby 749 Portland Avenue, that J. Victor Newlander, his wife, Marcella Newlander, a saleswoman employed by The Emporium department store, and Rudolph Newlander resided at the former nearby 751 Portland Avenue, that the former nearby 753 Portland Avenue and the former nearby 755 Portland Avenue were vacant, that Mrs. Anne McKendrick, the widow of Mark D. McKendrick, Edward J. McKendrick, a salesman employed by Halsey Stuart & Company, James McKendrick, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, Jean McKendrick, a stenographer employed by the Western Adjustment & Inspection Company, and Raymond D. McKendrick, a laborer, all resided at the former nearby 763 Portland Avenue, that John W. Scott, his wife, Margaret M. Scott, and Mrs. Mary A. Beney, the widow of Herbert Beney, all resided at the former nearby 767 Portland Avenue, that Mrs. Dora M. Wilson, the widow of John E. Wilson, Leslie Baker, a foreman at Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Jennie Baker, all resided at the former nearby 775 Portland Avenue, that Mathias H. Rech, a driver, and his wife, Myrtle W. Rech, resided at the former nearby 775 1/2 Portland Avenue, that Garrick Brothers, building contractors, were located at the former nearby 779 Portland Avenue, that Paul T. Johnson, a sexton, and his wife, Katherine Johnson, resided at the former nearby 781 Portland Avenue, that Henry L. Cochran, a salesman, and his wife, Katherine A. Cochran, resided at the former nearby 787 Portland Avenue, and that Edgar V. Floyd resided at the former nearby 791 Portland Avenue. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Samuel G. Dickinson, who attended the school from 1924 until 1928, who attended Cornell University, and who married Edwina Weiss in 1938, resided at this address. Hopewell Clark was the land commissioner for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad and resided at 1027 Summit Avenue in 1913. Hopewell Clarke (1854-1931,) the son of Hopewell Clarke and Mary A. Strebeigh Clarke, was born in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, was educated in the Williamsport, Pennsylvania, public schools, attended Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, Pennsylvania, for one year, acquired an education in civil and mining engineering through special educational courses, was employed in the engineering department of the Pennsylvania RailRoad from 1871 until 1872, moved to Minnesota in 1880, was employed as a civil engineer on railroad work from 1880 until 1883, was a surveyor or land examiner for the Northern Pacific RailRoad from 1883 until 1887, married Rosette Cline, the daughter of Thomas Cline, at Nisbet, Pennsylvania, in 1884, was the chief of the Ivison, Blakeman, Taylor & Company expedition to the headwaters of the Mississippi in 1886, was the chief clerk of the land department of the Northern Pacific RailRoad from 1887 until 1888, was the land commissioner of the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1888 until 1899, was a mining engineer after 1899, was reputed to have been the developer of the iron mines on the Mesabi Range, was a mine owner and operator, operated an assay office and chemical laboratory, owned a large technical and scientific library, was a member of the American Institute of Mining Engineers, was a Mason, was a Knight Templar, was a Shriner, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, officed at 775 Portland Avenue in 1907, resided at 775 Portland Avenue in 1907. In the Lake Itasca basin of Minnesota, the source of the Mississippi River, there are Clarke Creek, named in the Commissioner's report after Hopewell Clarke, Clarke Pool, on Clarke Creek, and Clarke Lake, named by Alfred J. Hill after Hopewell Clarke. Ivison, Blakeman, Taylor & Company was a New York publishing company, originally known as the Ivison Phinney Publishing Company, later known as Ivison, Phinney, Blakeman, & Company, and finally, in 1869, known as Ivison, Blakeman, Taylor & Company. Henry Ivison (1808-1884) was born in Glasgow, Scotland, came to the United States in 1820, was apprenticed to William Williams of Utica, New York, a bookbinder, established the house of H. Ivison & Company in Auburn, New York, moved to New York City in 1846, became associated with Mark H. Newman ( -1853) and after Newman's death, renamed the firm Ivison & Phinney, publishing educational works and school-books, then renamed the firm Ivison, Blakeman, Taylor & Company, in 1866, and finally retired in 1880, succeeded by his son, David B. Ivison. Roy Ebenezer Hilton (1880-1965,) the son of Henry B. Hilton (1839-1899) and Eva H. Conklin Hilton (1855-1932,) was born in Kenyon, Goodhue County, Minnesota, attended the Kenyon, Minnesota, elementary schools, graduated from the Kenyon, Minnesota, High School, graduated from Carlton College, married Phena Alice Manton (1882-1970,) the daughter of J. S. Manton and Phena Manton, in St. Paul in 1902, was the chief clerk of the United States General Land Office at Duluth, Minnesota, in 1901, was the chief clerk of the United States General Land Office at Cass Lake, Minnesota, was the chief clerk of the United States General Land Office at Pierre, South Dakota, was the chief clerk of the United States General Land Office at Miles City, Montana, until 1906, was in the real estate business at Lake Benton, Minnesota, in 1906, moved to St. Paul in 1909, was a realtor, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 42) from 1935 until 1946, was a Mason, officed at the Pioneer Press Building in 1909, officed at 928 East Fifth Street in 1912, and died in St. Paul. Roy E. Hilton and Phena Alice Manton Hilton were the parents of Henry Manton Hilton (1903-1997,) John Hilton, and Judson Hilton. Roy E. Hilton was the 24th great-grandson of William I, King of England, and the 21st great-grandson of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Queen of England. Henry Lindsay ( -1908,) Mark H. McKendrick ( -1916,) Charles Baldwin Fosbroke ( -1917,) Fred Lowell ( -1919,) John William Scott ( -1930,) Hopewell Clarke ( -1931,) J. Victor Newlander ( -1931,) John W. Scott ( -1933,) Noah Rosenblum ( -1937,) Mary O'Rourke ( -1941,) Herbert Mortimer Temple ( -1941,) Mary Alice Beney ( -1943,) Anna McKendrick ( -1952,) and Henry L. Cochran ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Francis "Frank" H. O'Rourke (1898-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McDonald, and died in Ramsey County. Carmi B. Vaughan (1892-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marble, and died in Ramsey County. Leslie C. Baker (1908-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bartholomew, and died in Ramsey County. Mathias H. Rech (1902-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Simmer, and died in Ramsey County. Myrtle W. Rech (1900-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Faldo, and died in Ramsey County. Roy E. Hilton (1880-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Conklin, and died in Ramsey County. James M. McKendrick (1905-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Kandiyohi County, Minnesota. Mary Rosenblum ( -1860) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Esther V. Knox ( -1937) died in Beltrami County, Minnesota. Mary O'Rourke (1879-1967) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McLaughlin, and died in Ramsey County. Mary O'Rourke (1899-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kenny, and died in Ramsey County. Mary O'Rourke (1895-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clancy, and died in Ramsey County. Carmi B. Vaughan (1892-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marble, and died in Ramsey County. Pauline M. Vaughan (1895-1981) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Marcella Newlander (1895-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rose, and died in Ramsey County. Rudolph Newlander ( -1936) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. Margaret M. Scott (1906-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Efta, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Dora Wilson (1897-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hansen, and died in Crow Wing County, Minnesota. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.] [See note on the Aetna Life Insurance Company for 529 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company/3M for 682 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the Pennsylvania RailRoad for 1297 St. Clair Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad.] [See note on Alfred J. Hill for 406 Maria Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.]

746 Portland Avenue: Built in 1905. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1444 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Gary C. Thomas. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. W. C. Ruff resided at the former nearby 727 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. L. May, Jr., resided at the former nearby 725 Portland Avenue, and that Dr. G. W. Borup, Mrs. G. J. Borup, and her daughters all resided at the former nearby 723 Portland Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alice Borup, the Society Editor for the Dispatch and Pioneer Press, Maude Borup, a confectioner with a shop at 20 West Fifth Street, and Sophia C. Borup, the assistant supervisor of kindergarden employed by the Minnesota State Department of Education, all boarded at the former nearby 723 Portland Avenue and that Georgie W. Borup, an osteopath who officed at the Pittsburgh Building, and Laura C. Borup, the widow of Gust J. Borup, both resided at the nearby former 723 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. W. C. Ruff resided at the former nearby 727 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. L. May, Jr., resided at the former nearby 725 Portland Avenue, and that Mrs. L. C. Borup and her daughters all resided at the former nearby 723 Portland Avenue. Dewitt Clinton Ruff (1858- ,) the son of Christoffer Ruff and Emma Ayling Ruff, was born near Woodstock, Ontario, Canada, was educated in the public schools of Sandusky, Ohio, was engaged as a clerk for his father in a furniture business from 1873 until 1878, was admitted as a partner and was a manager in C. Ruff & Company from 1878 until 1884, then was a manager with Ruff, Son & Kugler, when C. Ruff & Company was renamed, until 1890, married Lizzie A. Cooke in 1888, moved to St. Paul, was involved in real estate, and engaged in real estate business from 1891 to date, was a Mason, was a Knight Templar, resided at Bald Eagle Lake, Minnesota, in 1907, and officed at the Globe Building in 1907. Dewitt Clinton Ruff won prizes for collections of nasturtiuns, snapdragons, and salpiglosis at the Minnesota State Fair in 1899, for collections of cut sweet pea, snapdragon, and annual flowers at the Minnesota State Fair in 1906, and for collections of peonies at the Minnesota State Fair in 1919, and Mrs. Dewitt Clinton Ruff won prizes for collections of sweet peppers and other pepper varieties at the Minnesota State Fair in 1907. Laura Coffin Borup ( -1931) and Dewitt Clinton Ruff ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. [See note for Laura C. Borup for 655 Goodrich Avenue.]

721 Portland Avenue: The property is a vacant lot zoned for an apartment building. The 1930 city directory indicates that William M. Edgar, a cleaner employed by A. C. Nier, and his wife, Benedicta Edgar, Edwin I. Walsh, and Henry M. Shadur all resided at this address. William M. Edgar (1892-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Musgrove, and died in Ramsey County. August C. Nier (1875-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Benedicta Edgar (1895-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Danan, and died in Ramsey County. Edwin I. Walsh (1891-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Murray, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Unity Church of St. Paul, located at 732 Holly Avenue. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mrs. L. C. Borup and her daughters resided at the former nearby 723 Portland Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Leister resided at the former nearby 725 Portland Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Burns resided at the former nearby 727 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Isadore/Isadora Abrahamson, a laborer, and his wife, Etta Abrahamson, resided at the former nearby 721 1/2 Portland Avenue, that Samuel Stolurow, proprietor of a clothing store located at 322 1/2 Robert Street, and his wife, Anna Stolurow, resided at the former nearby 723 Portland Avenue, that Henry E. Hayden, a caretaker, and his wife, Lillian A. Hayden, resided at the former nearby 725 Portland Avenue, that Joseph B. Ruettimann and his wife, Catherine Ruettimann, resided at the former nearby 727 Portland Avenue, and that Unity Unitarian Church was located at the former nearby 739 Portland Avenue. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Unity Unitarian Church was located at the nearby former 739 Portland Avenue from 1906, with the address subsequently changed to 732 Holly. Unity Church-Unitarian has an intergenerational congregation of about 1100 adults and 450 children. John Effinger, from Keokuk, Iowa, preached his first sermon in St. Paul in l872 and Unity Church of St. Paul was founded shortly thereafter. Unity Church-Unitarian was founded in 1872, with 50 members and John Effinger as its first minister, and was incorporated in 1873. In 1875, Unity moved into the vacant Universalist Church. Ill health forced John Effinger to resign in 1876 and Sunday services at Unity ceased. William Channing Gannett succeeded John Effinger as minister in 1877. William Channing Gannett, a graduate of Harvard Divinity School, arrived from Boston in 1877 to become the pastor at Unity Church, boarded at 274 Wabasha Street in 1879, and resigned from Unity Church-Unitarian in 1883. The church built its first building in 1882. After Gannett, Samuel McChord Crothers was minister from 1886 to 1894. Samuel McChord Crothers from Brattleboro, Vermont, followed Clay McCauley of St. Paul, the interim successor of William Channing Gannett. Samuel McChord Crothers (1857-1927) was born in Oswego, Illinois, graduated from Wittenberg College in 1873, graduated from Princeton University/College of New Jersey in 1874, graduated from Union Theological Seminary in 1877, was a Presbyterian minister at Eureka, Nevada, Gold Hill, Nevada, and Santa Barbara, California, from 1877 until 1881, studied at the Harvard Divinity School from 1881 until 1882, married Louise M. Bronson in 1882, became a Unitarian minister in 1882, was a Unitarian pastor in Brattleboro, Vermont, from 1882 until 1886, was a Unitarian pastor in St. Paul from 1886 until 1894, was a Unitarian pastor in Cambridge, Massachusetts, from 1894 until 1927, was an author of books and magazine articles in the Atlantic Monthly, including The Understanding Heart (1903,) The Gentle Reader (1903,) The Pardoner's Wallet (1905,) By the Christmas Fire (1908,) Oliver Wendell Holmes, the Autocrat and His Fellow-Boarders (1909,) Among Friends (1910,) Humanly Speaking (1912,) Meditations on Votes for Women, etc. (1914,) The Pleasures of an Absentee Landlord (1916,) The Dame School of Experience (1920,) Ralph Waldo Emerson: How to Know Him (1921,) The Cheerful Giver (1923,) and The Children of Dickens (1925,) and died in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Samuel McChord Crothers' papers are located at the Andover-Harvard Theological Library of the Harvard University Divinity School. William Channing Gannett (1840-1923,) the son of Reverend Ezra Stiles Gannett and Anna Tilden Gannett, was born in Boston, Massachusetts, graduated from Harvard College with a bachelor's degree in 1860, graduated from Harvard College with a master's degree in 1863, was involved in the education of freedmen at Port Royal, South Car­o­li­na after the American Civil War, graduated from the Harvard Divinity School in 1868, was a Unitarian clergyman, Transcendentalist and social reformer, served as a pastor in Mil­wau­kee, Wis­con­sin, from 1868 until 1870, participated in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin, woman suffrage convention in 1869, served as a pastor in East Lex­ing­ton, Mass­a­chu­setts from 1871 until 1872, was a pastor at Unity Church from 1877 until 1883, married Mary Thorn Lewis Gannett (1854-1952,) the daughter of Enoch Lewis, a Philadelphia railroad executive, and Charlotte S. Thorn, both Quakers, in 1887, served as a pastor in Hins­dale, Il­li­nois from 1887 until 1888, was a Unitarian pastor in Rochester, New York, from 1889 until 1908 at the church attended by Susan B. Anthony, participated in the Free Religious Association, participated in the New York State Parliament of Religion, Middle States and Canada Conference, and participated in the Unitarian Temperance Society, edited Unity Hymns and Chorals, was a leader in the wo­men's suf­frage move­ment, founded the Boys Even­ing Home As­so­ci­a­tion jointly with Rochester's Temple Berith Kodesh, was the author of numerous books and pamphlets, including The Thought of God in Hymns and Poems, published in Bos­ton, Mass­a­chu­setts in 1885 and 1894, The House Beautiful in 1897, Of Mak­ing One's Self Beau­ti­ful, in 1899, and A Wick­et Gate of the Bi­ble in 1907, died in Rochester, New York, and was buried in Rochester, New York. The original church building at the current site was built in 1905, designed by architect Thomas Gannett Holyoke (1866-1925,) a church member, and with Richard W. Boynton as minister. Frederick May Eliot succeeded Boynton as minister in 1917. Ames Chapel, dedicated to the memory of Charles W. Ames, was completed in 1923. When Frederick May Eliot left to become President of the American Unitarian Association, Wallace Robbins became minister in 1937. When Wallace Robbins left to become president of Meadville Theological Seminary in 1944, Arthur N. Foote II became the minister. In 1963, a fire gutted the front portion of the church sanctuary. In 1971, when Arthur N. Foote II retired, Roy Phillips became the minister. Gretchen Thompson became co-minister in 1995. After a few years of interim ministers, Rob Eller-Isaacs and Janne Eller-Isaacs became co-ministers in 2000. John Effinger was a leader of the Western Unitarian Conference, which represented the conservative branch of Unitarianism from 1865 until at least 1895. Laura Coffin Borup ( -1931,) Anna Stolurow ( -1937,) Samuel Stolurow ( -1941,) Etta Abrahamson ( -1951,) and Catherine Ruettimann ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Joseph Bennedcit Ruettiman (1894-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Damann, and died in Ramsey County. Lillian Hayden (1893-1969) was born in Minnesota and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Laura C. Borup was the widow of Gustav J. Borup, who was a son of Charles William Wolff Borup (1806-1859,) a native of Denmark, who came to St. Paul in 1848, and established a banking house there in 1854. James J. Hill worked for the wholesale firm of Borup & Champlain during the American Civil War. [See note on Charles W. Ames for 501 Grand Hill.] [See note for Laura C. Borup for 655 Goodrich Avenue.]

719 Portland Avenue: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 4243 square foot, 13 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Albert Schuneman resided at this address. In 1907, Hanns E. Grunow resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Hanns Ernst Edward Grunow resided at this address in 1907. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Grunow and Miss E. C. M. von Tresckow all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. N. Maas, Jr., C. L. Maas, and F. N. Maas all resided at this address. Melvin J. Maas was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#8982) indicate that Melvin J. Maas (1898- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the U. S. Marine Corps , who was born in Duluth, Minnesota, had blue eyes, black hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 6 1/4" tall, was a student at induction, served in the Azores, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Frank N. Maas, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Oliver E. Brady boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert H. Fesenmeyer and his wife, Edith A. Fesenmeyer, resided at this address. Hanns Ernst Edward Grunow (1865- ,) the son of Oscar Grunow and Elsie/Elise Kuehlstein Grunow, was born in Berlin, Germany, graduated from Leibnitz Gymnasium in Berlin, Germany, in 1886, attended the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, graduated from the law department of the University of Berlin in 1889, held a judicial position in a minor court and in the Court of Appeals in Berlin, Germany from 1893 until 1895, married __?__ La Combe at Lausanne, Switzerland in 1894, entered the German foreign office in 1895, became German vice-consul in Samoa in 1897, and later was the acting consul in Samoa, was a member of several Berlin, Germany, tribunals between 1899 and 1903, was acting general consul in Sydney, Australia, in 1900, was in the Foreign Office at Berlin from 1902 until 1903, passed the judge's examination in 1903, was acting general consul at Constantinople, Turkey, between 1903 and 1904, was first Imperial German consul in St. Paul after 1904, was the president of the Deutche Gesellschaft von St. Paul-Minneapolis, was a member of the Minnesota Club, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. Hanns E. Grunow and __?__ La Combe Grunow had two sons, Werner Grunow and Edward Grunow. __?__ La Combe Grunow exhibited embroidery and lace at the Minnesota State Fair in 1906. Frank Maas ( -1936,) Albert Henry Fesenmeyer ( -1940,) and Albert Wesley Schuneman ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Frank Maas ( -1921) died in Sibley County, Minnesota. Frank Maas ( -1943) died in Hennepin County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1997 for $250,000. The current owners of record are Mark D. Putaski and Josephine K. Chung. Mark Putaski received an MBA in Marketing and Quantitative Analysis from the S. C. Johnson Graduate School of Management of Cornell University in 1996, was the Director of Marketing and Advertising of Northwest Airlines from 1996 to 2003, was a Senior Manager of Marketing Effectiveness for Marshall Field's from 2003 to 2005, and is Finance Director, Marketing, Financial Services, R&D for Best Buy. Mark Putaski is Vice Chair of the Burn Survivor and Support Special Interest Group of the American Burn Association and is a member of the St. Paul Curling Club. [See note on the Northwest Airlines for 628 Portland Avenue.]

718 Portland Avenue: Built in 1931. The structure is a multifamily brick condominium building. Unit #A is an 565 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2001 for $89,500 and that is currently owned by Adam J. McPherson. Unit #B is a 783 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Catherine E. White. Unit #C is a 782 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2005 for $162,000 and that is currently owned by Jesse W. Peterfeso. Unit #D is a 855 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Peter Kuehn II. Unit #E is a 1405 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Linda G. Hall. Unit #F is an 818 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Caroline S. Johnson. Unit #G is an 888 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $147,500 and that is currently owned by Benjamin E. Well. Unit #H is a 1047 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Angela Lakin. Unit #I is an 565 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Jean A. Strait. Unit #J is a 792 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Meredith Vogland. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the St. Paul Academy Junior School was located at this address from 1932 to 1968. Adam J. McPherson was the Regional Affairs/Media Relations Director for the Minnesota Golf Association, Inc., in 2003. Catherine E. White, with a bachelor's degree from the College of Saint Benedict, Saint Joseph, Minnesota, 1975 and with a law degree from the Hamline University School of Law, St. Paul, Minnesota, 1987, is employed by the publishing firm Thomson West in Eagan, Minnesota. Jean A. Strait received a bachelor's degree from the University of Pittsburgh in 1987, a master's degree from Moorhead State University in 1991, and a doctorate from the University of Minnesota in 1995 and is an Associate Professor in the Education Department of Hamline University. Meredith Vogland was a Crime Prevention Coordinator for the City of St. Paul in 2003 and was involved in anti-graffiti activities for the St. Paul Police Department in 2005 and 2006.

713 Portland Avenue: Dellman Court Apartments; Built in 1920. The structure is a multifamily brick condominium building. Unit #1 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $135,500 and that is currently owned by Ryan J. Rogers, who resides in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota. Unit #101 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $152,900 and that is currently owned by Jane N. Bowman. Unit #102 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $146,400 and that is currently owned by Lisa M. Lehar. Unit #201 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 1997 for $51,500 and that is currently owned by Kristi K. Burt. Unit #202 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $157,500 and that is currently owned by Jamey E. Ritter. Unit #301 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Juanita M. Janeczko. Unit #302 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 1997 for $52,000 and that is currently owned by Ann M. Dorrain. The 1921 Carlton College Alumni directory indicates that Georgianna Gale (Mrs. W. C.) Henke, an 1886 graduate in piano from the Carlton College School of Music, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Cadwell, Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Chapin, Hon. and Mrs. Oscar Hallam, Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Henke, G. G. Mowart, and Mrs. A. A. Stern all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the De Witt C. Ruff real estate office was located at this address and that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Charles Guetschoff, a janitor, and his wife, Ernestina Guetschoff (Apartment #B,) Harold S. Patterson, a dentist who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Helen D. Patterson (Apartment #1,) Herman W. Orbke (Apartment #2,) William C. Henke, a salesman, and Georgina C. Henke (Apartment #3,) George C. Cannon, a buyer for The Golden Rule department store, and his wife, Queen H. Cannon (Apartment #4,) Ethel S. Graves, a teacher at Humboldt High School (Apartment #5,) and Wallace L. Kelly, a lawyer, and his wife, Marion Kelly (Apartment #6.) George G. Chapin ( -1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sewall, and died in Hennepin County. Charles C. Guetschoff (1867-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Harold Stewart Patterson ( -1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Patterson, and died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. Herman W. Orbke (1905-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ibs, and died in Ramsey County. Oscar Hallam ( -1945,) Dewitt C. Ruff ( -1952,) and William C. Henke ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. William Charles Henke (1887-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gaulke, and died in Ramsey County. Georgina C. Henke (1867-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cowles, and died in Ramsey County. Lisa Lehar graduated from the College of St. Catherine in 1987, was a flight attendant employed by NorthWest Airlines in 1988, has been the owner of Fleur de Lis Photography since 1996, and is a sales associate for Tommy Bahama. Kristi Burt was an employee of the Minnesota Department of Trade and Economic Development in 2000 and was an employee in the Office of the Ombudsman of the Minnesota Department of Human Services in 2004. Jamey Ritter was a volunteer for the Volunteer Lawyers Network in 2005. Ann Dorrain is a self-employed photography retoucher with a studio located at this address and was a volunteer for Commonbond in 2006. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.] [See note on Oscar Hallam for 743 Goodrich Avenue.] [See note on the Northwest Airlines for 628 Portland Avenue.]

711 Portland Avenue: Dellman Court Apartments; Built in 1920. The structure is a multifamily brick condominium building. Unit #103 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2005 for $166,000 and that is currently owned by Kristen E. Kampsula. Unit #104 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 1998 for $53,000 and that is currently owned by Maureen A. Kenney. Unit #203 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that is currently owned by Daniel C. Thomason and Melissa A. Thomason, who reside at 744 Laurel Avenue. Unit #204 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 1998 for $62,725 and that is currently owned by Sharon R. Mayo. Unit #303 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2005 for $170,000 and that is currently owned by Samantha Leigh Grosse. Unit #304 is an 868 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 1991 for $38,500 and that is currently owned by Lisa M. Brienzo. The 1920 city directory indicates that Louis P. Deslauriers, proprietor of the Deslauriers Roofing & Cornice Company, a manufacturer of architectural sheet metal work, located at 268-280 Walnut Street, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. P. Deslauries, Mr. and Mrs. D. S. Spector, and Mrs. J. B. Watson and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Joseph H. Washburn, vice president and secretary of Alfred J. Krank Inc., and his wife, Lola Washburn (Apartment #1,) Alice A. Neely (Apartment #2,) Mrs. Florence L. C. Briggs, a widow (Apartment #3,) Marshall E. Humphrey, an inspector employed by the U. S. Bureau of Agricultural Inspections, and his wife, Katherine Humphrey (Apartment #4,) and Irma N. Tallant, a bookkeeper (Apartment #5,) with Apartment #6 vacant. Florence Lucy Chase Briggs was included in Who's Who Women of 1914. The Deslauriers Roofing & Cornice Company originally was the Lefebvre-Deslauriers Roofing & Cornice Company, organized in 1886. David Steven Spector (1906-1973) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Florence Lucy Chase Briggs ( -1941) and Alice A. Neely ( -1954) both died in Ramsey County. Alfred Jacob Krank ( -1928) died in Hennepin County. Katherine Humphrey ( -1940) died in Hennepin County.

709 Portland Avenue: Dellman Court Apartments; Built in 1920. The structure is a multifamily brick condominium building. Unit #6 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2003 for $138,900 and that is currently owned by Tara Geisen. Unit #105 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2003 for $148,000 and that is currently owned by Karl Reichensperger. Unit #106 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $163,000 and that is currently owned by Julie A. Selmo. Unit #205 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2006 for $167,500 and that is currently owned by Jennifer A. Hasskamp. Unit #206 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2004 for $157,500 and that is currently owned by Tamara J. Bergan. Unit #305 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2005 for $168,900 and that is currently owned by Scott A. Schwantes. Unit #306 is an 851 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit that was last sold in 2001 for $103,060 and that is currently owned by Marilee J. Ives. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Appell, Mr. and Mrs. R. M. Bischoff, Mr. and Mrs. M. D. Herman, Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Peterson, and Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Smart all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Robert H. Ivey, a salesman employed by Owens Motor Sales, and his wife, Edith Ivey (Apartment #1,) Mrs. Jean P. Gribben, the widow of James P. Gribben (Apartment #2,) Henry G. Allen, a salesman (Apartment #3,) Mrs. Mary W. Goodsell (Apartment #4,) David S. H. Brody, a dentist located at 133 West Seventh Street, and his wife, Esther W. Brody (Apartment #5,) and William A. Gordon, the editor of the Dairy Record, and his wife, Pamela Gordon (Apartment #6.) In 1971, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Warthen rented an apartment at this address, and when the owner, Wallace Fritz, failed to make necessary repairs, the subsequent unlawful detainer action became a notable case in landlord-tennant law in Minnesota. The Dairy Record Publishing Company, incorporated in 1904, reincorporated in 1934, and continuing in business until 1967, was a predecessor of the Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council. The Creamery Journal, founded in 1890, was acquired in 1940 by the Dairy Record, founded in 1899, initially owned by the Minnesota State Butter and Cheese Makers' Association, and ultimately published by Dairy Record Publishing Company. The Dairy Record was succeeded by Dairy Foods in 1986. The Dairy Record was a cooperative journal devoted to the interests of cooperative dairying, was a weekly journal devoted to the interests of cooperative dairying in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, South and North Dakota, and was the official organ of the Butter and Cheese Makers Association of Minnesota. The Dairy Record was an 8-by-11-inch journal that apparently struggled initially to sustain weekly publication. Edward K. Slater (1877- ,) was born in Northwood, Iowa, came to Martin County, Minnesota, in 1879, was a newspaper editor, operated a creamery, served in the Spanish American War in 1898 in the 12th Minnesota Regiment, Company D, was an instructor at the dairy school in St. Anthony Park, Minnesota, in 1902, 1903, and 1903, edited the Dairy Record from 1904 until 1905, was a Republican, worked in the state dairy and food department, was deputy commissioner of the state dairy and food department from 1903 until 1905, and then was the State Dairy and Food Commissioner from 1905 until 1909, resided in St. Paul, and was an assistant professor of dairy husbandry at the University of Minnesota after 1909. Willes Barnes Combs (1892-1959,) a faculty member in the Dairy Husbandry Department at the University of Minnesota from 1924 until 1959, was secretary of the Minnesota Dairy Industry Committee from 1939-1959, and contributed numerous articles to the Dairy Record. Henry G. Allen ( -1939) died in Minnesota. William A. Gordon (1892-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Layden, and died in Ramsey County. Robert Elward Warthen (1936-1995) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Haugled, and died in Hennepin County. Edith Stacey Ivey (1889-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Richardson, and died in Ramsey County. Pamela T. Gordon (1900-1981) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Wallace L. Fritz (1910-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sutter, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota.

703 Portland Avenue: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 2176 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Eustace and Miss Helen Eustace all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Horatio P. Bowden and Helen M. Eustace, assistant superintendent of schools, both boarded at this address and that Thomas E. Eustace resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Thomas B. Eustace (1841-1924,) the husband of Maria P. Eustace, who was born in New Yorks to parents born in the United States and who died of cerebral apoplexy, resided at this address in 1924. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Helen M. Eustace resided at this address in 1924. The 1924 city directory indicates that H. P. Bowden, Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Eustace, and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Maria Eustace, the widow of Thomas Eustace, resided at this address. Thomas E. Eustace ( -1924,) Horatio P. Bowden ( -1929,) and Maria P. Eustace ( -1931) all died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Stephen J. Ford and Beth Holmgren.

701 Portland Avenue: Built in 1962. The structure is a two story, 3,840 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The property was last sold in 2000 for $304,800. The current owner of record is Keith P. Collins, who resides in Edina, Minnesota.

691 Portland Avenue: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2551 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Putnam resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. E. Albrecht and Mrs. A. B. Hatch all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. E. Albrecht and their daughter all resided at this address. Ralston Jerrard was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Otto E. Albrecht, the proprietor of E. Albrecht & Son, manufacturers of and wholesale and retail dealers of furs, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. E. Albrecht resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin J. Marrinan, the president of the Marrinan Medical Supply Company, and his wife, Catherine Marrinan, resided at this address. Otto E. Albrecht, the son of Ernst Albrecht ( -1915,) was admitted into partnership in his father's fur business in 1895, under the name of E. Albrecht & Son. The firm, established by Ernst Albrecht in 1855, manufactured high-class furs, and conducts a wholesale, retail and mail order business of large proportions, with a branch in Minneapolis. In 1898, Ernst Albrecht & Sons, furriers, was located at 20 East Seventh Street. O. E. Albrecht became the sole owner of the business in 1915. Otto E. Albrecht was a member of the Rotary Club and pursued the hobby of furniture making. Otto E. Albrecht ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. Ralston Jerrard (1893-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ralston, and died in Ramsey County. Martin J. Marrinan (1896-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Keating, and died in Ramsey County. Catherine Marrinan ( -1940) died in Scott County, Minnesota. Catherine Agnes Marrinan ( -1954) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owners of record are Dennis T. Cornhill and Susan M. Keskinen. In 1983, Dennis Cornhill, employed at the Honeywell Systems and Research Center, Minneapolis, was the author of the paper "A survivable distributed computing system for embedded application programs written in Ada." Dennis Cornhill and Susan Keskinen were financial supporters of Kids Vote St. Paul in 2004 and in 2006. Susan Keskinen and Dennis Cornhill were financial supporters of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in 2007. Susan Keskinen, a daughter of Ervin Keskinen and Lila Keskinen, initially went to the University of Minnesota-Morris, completed a sociology major at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities in 1974, and is a researcher at ASPEN Associates, an organization specializing in educational research. Susan Keskinen and Dennis Cornhill are the parents of two sons, Alex Cornhill (1990- ) and Nick Cornhill (1992- .) There is a Keskinen Family Scholarship at the University of Minnesota-Morris in memory of Lila and Ervin Keskinen, donated by Susan Keskinen and her three siblings.

687 Portland Avenue: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2673 square foot, nine room, six bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Warren resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Hasson amd R. H. Hasson all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. A. Keljik resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edwin B. Daugherty, a physician and surgeon who officed at the Lowry Building, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Charles Edgar Hasson ( -1923) and Roy Hall Hasson ( -1951) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2006 for $515,000. The current owner of record is Thomas B. Copeland. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. B. Parkhurst resided at the former nearby 685 Portland Avenue.

683 Portland Avenue: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 2563 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Dennis resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Hastings resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. O. House resided at this address. Mr. and Mrs. G. O. House resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#1824) indicate that Kenneth P. House (1896- ,) a 1919 draftee and a Mechanic with the 46th Engineers, who was born in Malden Bridge, New York, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 6" tall, was a civil engineer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, received one bronze Victory button, was a salesman employed by Joy Brothers after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, G. O. House, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. F. Koch resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis J. Marah resided at this address. Garrett O. House (1870-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Robinson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 for $430,000. The current owners of record are Kenneth J. Bonneville and Peggy Jo Bonneville. Kenneth J. Bonneville is a 1985 graduate of William Mitchell College of Law, is an adjunct professor at William Mitchell College of Law, and is employed by Wells Fargo. [See note on Joy Brothers Motors for 277 Goodrich Avenue.]

675 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1680 square foot, seven room, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1887 and 1900 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Lains resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Harold G. Lains, a 1901 graduate and an assistant foreman in the mechanical department of the West Publishing Company, resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Searing resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Lains resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. F. Brainerd resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George H. Lains, a salesman, and his wife, Flora L. Lains, resided at this address. Flora Louisa Lains ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Lois M. Casey. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.]

673 Portland Avenue: Built in 1971. The structure is a split-level, 840 square foot, six room, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Futvoye resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Williams, their daughters, and J. M. Williams all resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Henrietta (Mrs. H. K.) Pino, a member of the church since 1897, resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Vergosen resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Vergosen resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles A. Collins, Jr., chief clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Collins resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles A. Collins, Sr., Charles A. Collins, Jr., chief clerk for the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and C. Josephine Collins, computer operator, all resided at this address. In 1896, George C. Futvoye was a member of the Ramsey County grand jury. Charles Augustin Collins (1882-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ryan, and died in Ramsey County. Charles Arthur Collins (1903-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McCormick, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 for $127,000. The current owner of record is Jamey Williams. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

671 Portland Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1334 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. S. Hinkley resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mabel F. Hinkley, the widow of Frank S. Hinkley, resided at this address. Frank S. Hinkley ( -1927) and Mabel F. Hinkley ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Heidi S. Walsh and James P. Walsh, Jr.

670 Portland Avenue: Built in 1891. The structure is a two story, 3233 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Hall resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that A. L. Roth and Mrs. Chris Roth both resided at this address. Alb. F. Roth was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss Catherine Berg, A. L. Roth, and Miss A. E. Roth all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert L. Roth, a solicitor employed by Scott, Burrows & Christie, and his wife, Irene Roth, resided at this address. In 2004, Thomas Robert Milbrath successfully applied for a variance from the City of St. Paul Board of Zoning Appeals for a reduced front yard setback for this address. Albert R. Hall ( -1927) and Albert L. Roth ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Albert R. Hall (1888-1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record Christine Dodge Milbrath and Thomas Robert Milbrath. Christine Milbrath and Thomas Milbrath were financial supporters of the Gillette Children's Foundation in 2004 and 2006. Christine Milbrath, Ed.D., is Vice President of Nursing and Patient Services at Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare.

666 Portland Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1744 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with an attached garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Brown resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. James E. Trask resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Rudolph, a tailor, and his wife, Ellma C. Rudolph, resided at this address. James Elisha Trask (1858- ,) the son of Robert Trask and Zelpha Drew Trask, was born in New Sharon, Maine, graduated from the Coburn Classical Institute, Waterville, Maine, in 1876, graduated with a bachelors degree from Colby College in 1880, graduated with a master's degree from Colby College in 1883, was an instructor at the South Jersey College at Bridgeton, New Jersey, from 1880 until 1887, moved to Minnesota in 1888, settled in St. Paul, was a lawyer, married Harriet F. Feagles, the daughter of Robert S. Feagles, a Presbyterian clergyman, in 1897, was a member of the Zeta Psi fraternity, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the Modern Woodmen, resided at 674 Holly Avenue in 1920, and officed at the National German American Bank Building. James E. Trask, with E. H. Morphy and John J. Clark, successfully represented the bankruptcy receiver of a mercantile business, Evans, Johnson, Sloane Company, against an investor who became the owner of 50 shares of preferred stock in 1902 in Selig v. Hamilton, 234 U.S. 652 (1914.) James Elisha Trask and Harriet F. Feagles Trask were the parents of Allen Trask, Catherine Trask, and James Elisha Trask, Jr. James E. Trask (1903-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Feagles, and died in Hennepin County. John Rudolph (1887-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record Christine Milbrath and Thomas Milbrath, who reside at 670 Portland Avenue.

665 Portland Avenue: Portland Apartments; Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 9,540 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. J. Ritter and C. E. Newsome all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#5294) indicate that Weeford D. Bugge (1883- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Sergeant First Class in Company C of the 34th Engineers, who was born in Dexler, Iowa, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 6" tall, was a manager of the Orpheum Vaudeville Company at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Belle N. Bugge, at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William U. Smith (1864-1920,) the husband of L. Madge Smith, who was born in Missouri to parents born in the United States and who died of a cerebral abcess, resided at this address in 1920. The 1920 city directory indicates that H. Harold Baker, a student, and Beatrice Entrup, a bookkeeper, both boarded at this address and that Margaret B. Baker, the widow of Henry S. Baker and a teacher at the College of Agriculture, Donald W. DeCoster, a clerk employed by Lanpher Skinner & Company, and Anna M. Entrup, the widow of Louis Entrup, all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Eunice Lewis Cox (1877-1923,) the divorced daughter of Cornelius Fockens, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of gastric enteritis and nephritis, resided at this address in 1923. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Wilson, Mr. and Mrs. H. D. Morris, and Mrs. M. M. Martin all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Bernard A. Mulligan, the credit manager employed by the St. Paul House Furnishing Company (Apartment #1,) L. T. Jacobson, a painter employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Margaret Jacobson (Apartment #2,) Bertolin/Bertoline Bodlak, a clerk, and his wife, Emily Bodlak (Apartment #3,) Mark B. Bishop, a conductor employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Rubie Bishop (Apartment #4,) Earle Raymond (Apartment #5,) Mrs. Marjorie Welch, the widow of Edward Welch (Apartment #6,) Louis B. Humfelt, a clerk employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and Myrtle M. Humfelt, a bookkeeper employed by E. S. Powell (Apartment #7,) and William J. Loughman, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service (Apartment #8.) In 2006, Bill Ludwig appealed two variances to the St. Paul Board of Zoning Appeals in order to construct a new stairway into the rear yard currently used for the parking lot of an eight unit building at this address. Mrs. Louis Entrup ( -1917) died from injuries from an automobile accident in Bismarck, North Dakota. Louis Entrup ( -1919) was formerly a druggist, was the representative of the Northern Drug Company of Duluth, Minnesota, resided at this address in 1919, and died of heart trouble in St. Paul. The Orpheum theater opened in 1916 as the Palace theatre, seating 3000. It was built on the site of the old St. Paul Public Library, which had previously burned, and was part of the Finkelstein & Ruben circuit. In 1922, the theatre became the Palace-Orpheum after it became part of the Orpheum vaudeville circuit. In 1925, when vaudeville was dropped in favor of movies only, the name became simply the Orpheum Theatre. In the 1940's, RKO remodeled the Orpheum, including a new lobby, facade and signage and reduced its seating to 1400. In the mid-1950's, Ted Mann purchased the theater from RKO. First run films ended at the Orpheum in 1977. Eventually, the theater showed classic films, but closed permanently in 1984. In 1884, Cornelius Fockens was a Second Lieutenant in Company C of the Second Minnesota Regiment. In 1901, Cornelius Fockens applied for a patent (#676,358) for an improved currycomb. In 1919, Cornelius Fockens donated a hand-spun and hand-woven Dutch pillow slip from 1703 and a quilted Dutch woman's cap from 1900 to the Minnesota Historical Society. Bertolin Bodlak (1895-1974,) the son of John Bodlak (1850-1939,) a Czech-born metalsmith and inventor, and Antonie Junek Bodlak (1858-1926,) married Emma Catherine Trenda (1900-1957,) the daughter of Frank Trenda (1860- ) and Antonia Kalina Trenda (1864-1955,) and they were the parents of David Bertolin Bodlak (1936- .) William U. Smith ( -1920,) Eunice Lewis Cox ( -1923,) Edward Welch ( -1926,) Cornelius Fockens ( -1931,) Myrtle M. Humfelt ( -1941,) and Wilfred Dean Bugge ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Madge L. Smith ( -1936) died in Mower County, Minnesota. Bernard A. Mulligan (1901-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Neil, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret I. Jacobson (1897-1991) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Behnke, and died in Ramsey County. Emily Bodlak (1892-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zastera, and died in Ramsey County. Earle Raymond ( -1948) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Louis B. Humfelt (1901-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Alsappa, and died in Hennepin County. William Jay Loughman (1893-1990) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Templer, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1992 for $136,000. The current owner of record is Linda B. Moore, who resides in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Russell Brooks, a lobbyist for the Coalition Against Bigger Trucks, is located at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Maxwell, a lumber manufacturer and dealer located at 324 Jackson Street, resided at the former nearby 659 Portland Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Gilbert and their daughter resided at the former nearby 659 Portland Avenue. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. V. Dwyer, Thomas Dwyer, and Miss Louise Frank resided at the former nearby 659 Portland Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Clementine Z. Kibbe resided at the nearby former 657 Portland Avenue in 1916. Jesse C. Maxwell (1884-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Towell, and died in Hennepin County. Peter V. Dwyer (1891-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McNeill, and died in Clay County. [See note for Donald DeCoster for 890 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

656 Portland Avenue: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 2042 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1914 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. J. D. Reid resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. C. J. West and C. J. West, Jr., all resided at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Ernest Sigurd Lomen (1888- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Infantry Section, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Kempe resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank A. Kempe, associated with Bacon & Kempe, and his wife, Mamie B. Kempe, resided at this address. Ernest Lomen was the son of Jorgen Lomen and Augusta Erickson Lomen and resided in Baudette, Minnesota, in 1917. John D. Reid ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. Frank A. Kempe ( -1953) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Mamie B. Kempe (1886-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stevens, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Svitlana Pavlov, who resides at 1582 Wilson Avenue. Svitlana Pavlov is a member of the Ukranian Orthodox Church, U.S.A. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mrs. W. P. Stedman resided at the former nearby 653 Portland Avenue. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Morrissey resided at the former nearby 653 Portland Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. George Weitbrecht and Mrs. S. B. Beals all resided at the former 655 Portland Avenue. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. C. Long and her daughters all resided at the former nearby 655 Portland Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Jackson, Mr. and Mrs. S. D. Donnelly, and Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Krahmer all resided at the former nearby 655 Portland Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Herbert L. Armstrong, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, roomed at the former nearby 652 Portland Avenue and that Leslie R. Fellows, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 655 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Ives and Mr. and Mrs. E. D. Jackson all resided at the former nearby 655 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert W. Spangenberg, an inspector employed by L. Eisenmenger Meat Company, his wife, Helen E. Spangenberg, and William Barr, a contractor, resided at the former nearby 659 Portland Avenue and that Frederick Fischer resided at the former nearby 660 Portland Avenue. George Weitbrecht (1849-1916) was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, moved to Minnesota before 1880, and was the principal of Mechanic Arts High School (officially known as the George Weitbrecht Mechanic Arts High School) from 1896 to 1916. Dietrich Lange was the principal of Mechanic Arts High School from 1916 to 1939. A cogwheel was the symbol of the school. In 1895, the Mechanic Arts High School was named the High and Manual Training School. Mechanic Arts High School closed in 1976 and its building was razed after 1986. Mechanic Arts High School drew students from all over the city and was a considerable ethnic mixing pot. Among the students who attended Mechanic Arts High School were ornithologist/field biologist Russell M. Berthel, U. S. Supreme Court Justice Harry Blackmun, St. Paul Board of Education member John Brodrick, disability activist Bruce Casey, African-American union and civil rights leader Anthony B. Cassius, architect Mary Elizabeth Colter, book collector William M. Cummings, mechanical engineer and Minnesota legislator Leslie J. "Les" Edhlund (1911-1993,) Standard Conveyor Company mechanical engineer Ira Smith Eggleston, African-American writer Evelyn Fairbanks, Boy Scout official Gale Frost, Ramsey County District Court Judge Archie Gingold, florist Stanislaus Hampl, 38-year St. Paul Fire Department veteran George S. Jurgensen, physician Donald W. Koza, M.D., dentist and Minnesota legislator Horace C. LaBissoniere (1896- ,) wrestler Ed "Strangler" Lewis, artist Paul Manship, actor E. G. Marshall, barber pole manufacturer William Marvy, St. Paul city council member Frank D. Marzitelli, botanist Matthew Bowie Moore, UCLA plant pathology professor Donald E. Munnecke, Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Martin A. Nelson, parachutist/wing walker/pilot Phoebe Fairgrave Omlie, photographer/author/film maker Gordon Parks, architect Gerhard Peterson, University of Minnesota board of regents member William Peterson, African-American activist Leatrice Inez Dodd Pride, Festival of Nations director Michaeline Janowycz Raymond, plumbing contractor and Minnesota legislator Roy R. Ryan (1909-1986,) 34th Infantry "Red Bull" Division veteran and author Ralph B. Schaps, editor/publisher and Minnesota legislator Ervin H. Schulz (1911- ,) UCLA Professor of Turkish history Stanford J. Shaw, amateur dog sled racer and fast-pitch softball pitcher James E. Sherman, journalist George F. Snell, automobile and aircraft designer William Bushnell Stout, U-Pick strawberry market farmer Martin Swanlund, Twin Cities African American community leader Martin O. "Ollie" Weddington, third generation lumber magnate Frederick King Weyerhaeuser, high school basketball official Frank White, civil rights leader Roy Wilkins, and lawyer and president of the Sacajawea Sufferage Club Essie Williams. Teachers at Mechanic Arts High School included Marlys Henke, Ed Johnson, John T. Lackner, Elmire Moosbrugger, Hans Christopher Reuter, Howard Schultz, and James L. Weber. Johann Dietrich Lange (1863-1940,) the son of Johann Peter and Maria Dorothea Katharina Ahrns Lange, was born in Bonstorf, Hanover, Germany, immigrated with his family to the United States in 1881, settled in Nicollet Township, Nicollet County, Minnesota, taught at the Nicollet, Minnesota, German Lutheran parochial school from 1881-1883, attended the Mankato, Minnesota, Normal School from 1883 until 1886, moved to St. Paul in 1887, taught in St. Paul elementary schools from 1887 until 1889, married Hulda Wilhelmina Freitag in 1888, taught at the St. Paul Central High School from 1889 until 1906, was the supervisor of nature studies for the city public school system from 1897 through 1906, was the principal of the Humboldt High School from 1906 until 1914, graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1909, was St. Paul superintendent of public schools from 1914 until 1916, was principal of St. Paul's George Weitbrecht Mechanic Arts High School from 1916 until 1939, taught nature science at the Fairhope Summer School in Greenwich, Connecticut, in 1922, wrote for the Young People magazine in 1923, 1927, 1930, 1932, and 1933, published articles in the Milwaukee Journal, was director of nature study for the St. Paul public school system from 1939 until 1940, was a pioneer in the Boy Scout movement, was an early Minnesota conservationist, was a member of the League of American Sportsmen, was the first president of the Minnesota Izaak Walton League in 1923, was a member of the Izaak Walton League of America, was a member of the Minnesota Professional Men's Club, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society, was a member of the Audubon Society, was a member of the Wilson Ornithological Club, was the president of the Minnesota Forestry Association, was the author of Handbook of Nature Study (1898,) of Our Native Birds (1899,) of How To Know One Hundred Wild Birds of Minnesota and the Northwest (1904,) of The Silver Island Of The Chippewa (1913,) of In the Great Wild North: A Story of the Hudson Bay Company, published by Lothrop, Lee and Shepard Company in Boston (1915,) of Wahita, the Cree of the Big Swamps, published by Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Company in Boston (1915,) of The Lure of the Mississippi by Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Company in Boston (1917,) of Birds of the Midwest (1922,) of The Sioux Runner, published by Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Company in Boston in 1924, and of On the Fur Trail (1931,) and died of heart disease in St. Paul. James G. W. Morrissey (1895-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goss, and died in Hennepin County. Robert W. Spangenberg (1882-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Justus, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Helen E. Spangenberg (1891-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bucher, and died in Ramsey County. George Weitbrecht ( -1916,) Samuel Beals ( -1918,) and Frederick Fischer ( -1956) all died in Ramsey County. Frederick F. Fischer (1898-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goetz, and died in Ramsey County. Frederick August Albert Fischer (1907-1990) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schroeder, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Frederick Fischer, Jr., (1896-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wherry, and died in Hennepin County. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

651 Portland Avenue (listed as 16 Pacific Street in 1882): Stedman Apartments; Built in 1890. The structure is a three story, 16,332 square foot, multifamily apartment building. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Mrs. Emily A. Stedman, the widow of William P. Stedman, resided at this address from 1882 to 1905. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Lawrence resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Butler, Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Hallstrom, the Misses Rood, and Mr. and Mrs. Carl Weinhagen all resided at this address. Wilbur M. Fagley, Alex S. Kelliher, and Grant Kelliher were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mabel R. Brown, an instructor, roomed at this address, that Harold L. Fagley, a salesman, and Paul G. Fagley, a helper employed by the City & County Hospital, both boarded at this address, and that Irving T. Eastman, a machinist employed by the St. Paul Machine Works, and Alice G. Fagley, the widow of Harry W. Fagley, both resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Harriet I. Kelliher (1850-1921,) the widowed mother of Alex S. Kelliher, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of pulmonary stasis, resided at this address in 1921. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. G. Fagley, Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Hallstrom, A. S. Kelliher, and Miss Florence Rood all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Hallie B. Kelliher (1873-1925,) the unmarried sister of Shirley Kelliher, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of diabetes mellitus, resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Anthony J. Drexl, a baggage man at the St. Paul Hotel, and his wife, Louise Drexl (Apartment #A,) Carl E. Williamson (Apartment #1,) John Imre, a painter, and his wife, Katherine Imre (Apartment #2,) Mrs. Laura B. Hyland, the widow of Thomas Hyland (Apartment #3,) John E. Anderson, a janitor for the Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company, and his wife, Emma C. Anderson (Apartment #4,) Mrs. Kathryn Wilkstrom (Apartment #5,) Edward J. Streng, a conductor employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, his wife, Mina C. Streng, and Grace C. Streng, a typist employed by the American National Bank (Apartment #6,) Mrs. Mary E. Mangan, the widow of John C. Mangan (Apartment #7,) and Frank J. Newton and his wife, Ann K. Newton (Apartment #8,) with Apartment #9 vacant. Anthony J. Drexl (1902-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eckert, and died in Ramsey County. Louise Drexl (1899-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peitsch, and died in Ramsey County. John Mangan ( -1908,) Hattie B. Kelliher ( -1925,) Thomas G. Hyland ( -1926,) Laura B. Hyland ( -1936,) Emma Christina Anderson ( -1937,) Alexander S. Kelliher ( -1940,) Florence Rood ( -1944,) Shirley I. Kelliher ( -1947,) Wilhelmina Streng ( -1947,) Emma C. Anderson ( -1949,) Carl E. Williamson ( -1951,) and Frank J. Newton ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. John Imre (1892-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Emma C. Anderson (1888-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lantz, and died in Ramsey County. Edward J. Streng (1887-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Strohl, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Mary Elizabeth Mangan (1867-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Coffey, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is William and Cheryl Ludwig Family Limited Partnership. [See note on Otto Bremer and the American National Bank for 738 East Fourth Street.]

650 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2408 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Davison and Miss L. E. Withrow all resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Mrs. Elizabeth Davison, a widow, and Jospeh H. Davison, members of the church since 1902, both resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mrs. H. W. Davison, P. N. Davison, and R. E. Gemmell all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that J. K. Jennings and Mrs. Jay Jennings and her daughters all resided at this address. Mr. and Mrs. M. R. Murname, the parents of World War I veteran Robert A. Murname, resided at his address in 1918 according to the records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24159.) Jas. P. Dudley and Mark R. Murnane (1897- ,) a Seaman, were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6372) indicate that Mark Raymond Murname (1897- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Pharmacists Mate 3rd Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, black hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5" tall, weighed 128 lbs., served on the U.S.S. Texas, was a laboratory assistant employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6615) indicate that James Patrick Dudley (1891- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a First Lieutenant in the 350th Infantry, 88th Division, who was born in Faribault, Minnesota, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Haute, Alsace and the Taul Sector, was an insurance agent employed by the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Jessie M. Dudley, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James P. Dudley, an agent employed by the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that G. W. Murname resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Thome, his wife, Helen Thome, and Raymond P. Thome, a driver employed by Cities Service Oil Company, all resided at this address. Lieutenant James P. Dudley was the former commanding officer of Company G, 350th Infantry, 88th Division, which saw service during World War I in France, and donated to the Minnesota Historical Society a collection of original documents relating to the history of his company and covering the entire period of its training at Camp Dodge and of its activities in France. The U.S.S. Texas (BB-35) was a New York-class "dreadnaught" battleship that was launched in 1912, was commissioned in 1914 with Captain Albert W. Grant in command, saw action in Mexican waters following the "Tampico Incident" in 1914, escorted Allied convoys across the Atlantic Ocean during World War I and World War II, shelled Axis-held beaches for the North African campaign and the Normandy landings, provided naval gunfire support during the Battle of Iwo Jima and during the Battle of Okinawa, and was decommissioned in 1948. The Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company was founded in 1851 by a group of prominent Hartford, Connecticut, business, religious and civic leaders as the American Temperance Life Insurance Company, a part-mutual, part-stock company that insured only alcohol abstainers. A sister company, Home Life Insurance Company, was formed in 1860 in Brooklyn, New York. The company changed its name to the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company in 1861 when the temperance movement waned and the company dropped it alcohol abstainer only requirement and became wholly mutual in 1889. Home Life became wholly mutual in 1916. In 1992, Phoenix and Home Life merge into the Phoenix Home Life Mutual Insurance Company. In 2001, Phoenix converts from a mutual to a stock company, The Phoenix Companies, Inc., and the Phoenix Home Life Mutual Insurance Company became a wholly owned subsidiary of The Phoenix Companies. Robert E. Gemmell ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 for $173,500. The current owners of record are Christopher J. Anton and Ramona L. Anton. Mona Anton and Chris Anton are the parents of Ellen Anton, a French immersion school student in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul.

649 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2717 square foot, 13 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John A. Stevenson resided at this address in 1873. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William A. Nichols, a deputy clerk at the Minnesota Supreme Court, resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Leonard resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Stutsman resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Eshelby resided at this address. Daniel J. O'Brien, Gerald C. O'Brien, and Henry J. O'Brien were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#25090) indicate that Daniel J. O'Brien (1887- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in G. H. #5 of the Medical Department, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5 1/4" tall, was a salesman at induction, was a salesman employed by W. G. Gray at 306 East Hennepin Avenue in Minneapolis after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. Jane O'Brien, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Jane O'Brien resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Marie Gray, the widow of William G. Gray, resided at this address. In 1879, William A. Nichols, the deputy clerk of the Minnesota Supreme Court, resided at 22 Genesee Street. The current owner of record is David J. Breckman. David Breckman (1955- ,) of St Paul, ran in the TC 10 Mile in 2005 and in 2007. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. E. Watson, manager at R. G. Dun & Company, a mercantile agency, resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Morton resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Stevenson and their daughter and C. V. Stevenson all resided at the former nearby 645 Portland Avenue. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Stevenson and their daughter and Mrs. Eliza Tattersall all resided at the former nearby 645 Portland Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Brings and Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Weber all resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Brings resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue in 1917. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Stevenson and their daughter all resided at the former nearby 645 Portland Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Brings resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. Francis S. Brings (1896- ,) a Sergeant, was a World War I veteran who resided at the former 647 Portland Avenue in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12003) indicate that Francis S. Brings (1895- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Sergeant in the 313th Mobile Ordnance Repair Shop, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 11 1/4" tall, was a hay and grain buyer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Center Section, Haute Alsace, was a hay and grain commission agent employed by F. J. Brings & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, F. J. Brings, at the nearby former 647 Portland Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Francis S. Brings, secretary to the mayor of St. Paul, boarded at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue, that Frank J. Brings, proprietor of F. J. Brings & Company, resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue, and that Joseph C. Cressy, a manufacturers agent who officed at 260 East Fifth Street, resided at the former nearby 645 Portland Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Brings resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mary B. Abbott and Mrs. Emma V. Abbott, widow of Thomas Abbott, both resided at the former nearby 645 Portland Avenue, that Rollin Todd resided at the former nearby 646 Portland Avenue, and that Frank J. Brings, president of Brings & Company, a feed company, and his wife, Josephine Brings, resided at the former nearby 647 Portland Avenue. Joseph Brings, a German emigrant, was a cooper by trade and his son, Frank J. Brings, established Brings & Company, a feed and seed store, that was located on the corner of Seventh Street and Ramsey (316 West Seventh Street) in St. Paul until the early 1970's. Emma Van Nostrand Abbott ( -1936,) Frank J. Brings ( -1949,) and Josephine Brings ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Rollin Quintin Todd ( -1934) died in Mahnomen County, Minnesota. John Andrew Stevenson ( -1925,) Frank J. Brings ( -1949,) and Josephine Brings ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County.

644 Portland Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 3498 square foot, 18 room, ten bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. T. H. Jacobs resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. S. Hinkley and W. H. Hinkley all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roy Sidwell, an iron worker, and his wife, Anna B. Sidwell, resided at this address. Ray Otto Sidwell (1897-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Frazee, and died in Ramsey County. Ann L. Sidwell (1894-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jasperson, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record is Debra D. Dearborn.

643 Portland Avenue: Built in 1879. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1753 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Nesbett, the owner of Nesbett & Company, house and sign painters at the corner of West Seventh Street and Exchange Street, resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Johnston resided at this address. The 1900 city directory indicates that J. A. Silver resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ella M. Casler resided at this address in 1913. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. B. Ashworth and Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Casler all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. N. L. Ashworth and Mrs. E. M. Casler both resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that William C. Canby, a foreman, roomed at this address, that Augusta Christiansen and Halton F. Christianson, a carpenter employed by the Wood-Craft Company, both boarded at this address, and that Anna C. Christiansen resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Augusta Christiansen, H. F. Christiansen, and H. E. Warren all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Augusta Christiansen (1851-1924,) the widowed mother of Halton F. Christiansen, who was born in Norway to parents born in Norway and who died of oedema, resided at this address in 1924. The 1930 city directory indicates that Holtan/Halton F./P. Christiansen resided at this address. George Bertram Ashworth ( -1916,) Augusta Christiansen ( -1924,) James A. Silver ( -1934,) and Halton Frederick Christiansen ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 for $82,000. The current owners of record are Hilary I. Pray and Howard A. Mayo. Hilary Mayo and Howard Mayo are the parents of Katie Mayo and Maura Mayo, French immersion school students in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul. [See note on William Canby for 735 Lincoln Avenue.]

642 Portland Avenue: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 2539 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Jackson resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Walter D. Burr resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Emma M. Durkee, a nurse, resided at this address and that Gertrude M. Durkee, a chief clerk employed by the State Department of Banking, and Mary A. Durkee, the widow of William C. Durkee, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Marrinan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nora Marrinan, the widow of James Marrinan, resided at this address. Hanora Marrinan ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $449,900. The current owner of record is Jeffrey A. Duffy.

639 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2100 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. C. S. Smith resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Burns, her daughters, and Miss Anna Dugan all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Burns, her daughters, Miss Anna Dugan, J. T. Burns, and R. E. Burns all resided at this address. John T. Burns (1888- ,) a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#29131) indicate that John T. Burns (1888- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Battery D, Second Regiment, F. A. R. D., who was born in St. Paul, had grey eyes, brown hair, and a medium complexion, was 6' 1/2" tall, was a teamster at induction, was issued one bronze Victory button, was a salesman employed by Armour & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his sister, Flora Burns, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elsie B. Burns, a stenographer employed by the Pfister & Vogel Company, Florence M. Burns, a clerk employed by Guiterman Brothers, and Katherine Burns, a stenographer, all boarded at this address and that Robert E. Burns, an auditor, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that the Misses Byrne resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Katherine C. Byrne resided at this address. Margaret Burns ( -1926,) Margaret Burns ( -1928,) and Margaret Burns ( -1947) all died in Ramsey County. Anna C. Dugan ( -1932) and Anna Dugan ( -1948) both died in Hennepin County. John Thurman Burns ( -1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dugan, and died in Ramsey County. John T. Burns (1895-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McNamee, and died in Hennepin County. John T. Burns (1893-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kranik, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2004 for $273,000. The current owner of record is James M. Ryan.

629 Portland Avenue: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 2128 square foot, 10 room, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Searing resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles J. Schwebel, a chef employed by Merrill's Restaurant, and his wife, Bonnie G. Schwebel, resided at this address. Charles J. Schwebel ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Bonnie Schwebel ( -1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kreuser, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 for $375,000. The current owners of record are Margaret Coughtry Ehrhardt and Kenny R. Perkins. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold E. Freligh resided at the former nearby 631 Portland Avenue.

628 Portland Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 1510 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached garage. The 1900 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Welch resided at this address. The 1914 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Dunlap resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George W. Dunlap, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, roomed at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. E. Randleff resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Benjamin B. Foster, a mechanic employed by Northwest Airways Inc., and his wife, Lorayne M. Foster, resided at this address. Northwest Airways, Inc. was established in 1926 when Colonel L. H. Brittin, president of the St. Paul Civic and Commercial Association and an avid aviation supporter, and William A. Kidder, manager of the Curtiss Northwest Airplane Company and operator of the Kidder's Field in St. Paul, met with Henry Ford and others to raise funds. With $300,000 in pledges, Northwest Airways, Inc. was formed and a short time later awarded the Chicago-Twin Cities mail route. In 1928, Northwest Airways introduced the 14-passenger Ford Tri-motor "Tin Goose." In 1933, Northwest Airways stretched its route to Billings, Montana, and continued to operate services to North Dakota, Duluth, Minnesota, Chicago, and areas in Michigan and Wisconsin, including Green Bay and Milwaukee. Conflicts with the fledgling pilots' union, Air Lines Pilot Association, began in 1934 over Northwest's policy of paying pilots a flat monthly rate. In 1935, Croil Hunter became the president of the airline and guided the carrier through most of the Great Depression years, all of the World War 11 years and their immediate aftermath. During World War II, the company set up and operated a military cargo route to Canada, Alaska, and the Aleutian Islands. In 1946, Northwest Airlines was awarded a route to Alaska, and the "Great Circle" route to the Far East. Scheduled service to the Far East began in 1947, with stops in Tokyo, Seoul, Shanghai, and Manila. The company reached the East Coast in the late 1940's, and began the first transcontinental air coach service in 1949. Northwest participated in the Korean Airlift from 1950 to 1953 during the Korean War. Hunter left the airline in 1953 and Harold Harris, a former Pan Am vice president, took over for one year. Then, Donald W. Nyrop began a 22-year tenure in 1954 as the carrier's top officer. A new mix of leadership in 1976 brought a drive to develop Northwest's trans-Atlantic service and M. Joseph Lapensky became president and chief operating officer while Nyrop remained as chairman and chief executive. A holding company, NWA Inc., was created in 1984, with Northwest Airlines as its principal operating subsidiary and Northwest entered into a marketing agreement with Mesaba Aviation Inc., a Minnesota-based regional carrier, under which Mesaba operated as Northwest Orient Airlink. In 1986, with deregulaton of the airline industry, Republic Airlines and Northwest Airlines merged. Republic Airlines was the product of a 1979 merger of regional carriers North Central Airlines and Southern Airways. Steven G. Rothmeier succeeded Nyrop as chairman and chief executive officer and John F. Horn became president and chief operating officer. Awash in cash, virtually debt-free, NWA was too strong a lure for Alfred A. Checchi, and in June 1989 NWA's board of directors agreed to sell to Wings Holdings Inc., an investor group led by Checchi, for $3.65 billion. In 1989, Checchi took over as chairman after Rothmeier left to go into investment banking and Wings Holdings partner Frederic Malek came in as president and the two men took NWA private. John Dasburg, previously executive vice president of finance and administration, replaced Frederick Rentschler, who had succeeded Frederic Malek when Malek assumed the title of vice chairman. In 1991, Northwest merged with the Dutch airline, KLM. In 1992, Minnesota agreed to give the airline $665 million in financing, allowing it to build aircraft maintenance facilities in the state. The package comprised $835 million in loan guarantees, general obligation and revenue bonds, grants and tax breaks. Despite a bankruptcy in 2006, Northwest Airlines remerged as a viable business and is the oldest continuously operated air carrier in the United States. George W. Dunlap ( -1931,) Lorayne M. Foster ( -1948,) and Martin Randleff ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Benjamin B. Foster (1891-1973) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Benjamin B. Foster (1912-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fredenburg, and died in Ramsey County. William Ansom Kidder (1886-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Storey, and died in Hennepin County. Croil Hunter (1894-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schulz, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record are Denis F. Feigenbaum and Valerie J. Garber. Denis F. Feigenbaum and Valerie J. Garber were financial supporters of the Friends of the St. Paul Public Library in 2005. [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

625 Portland Avenue: Built in 1878. The structure is a two story, 2650 square foot, 10 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Daniel K. Ford and their daughter all resided at this address and that Daniel K. Ford was a claims agent with the Northern Pacific RailRoad. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Ford and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1900, 1914, and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. D. K. Ford and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. D. K. Ford and her daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nellie W. Ford, a teacher at the Irving School, resided at this address. Nellie Walton Ford ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $434,000. The current owner of record is Thomas J. Meier. Thomas J. Meier was associated with the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at the University of Minnesota in 2000 and was an author, with L. David Mech, Elizabeth K. Harper, and William J. Paul, of the scientific paper "Assessing Factors That May Predispose Minnesota Farms To Wolf Depredation on Cattle" in the Wildlife Society Bulletin. Thomas J. Meier was an author, with L. David Mech, Layne G. Adams, John. W. Burch, Bruce W. Dale, of The Wolves of Denali, published by the University of Minnesota Press in 1998. Thomas J. Meier was a wolf recovery biologist for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in Kalispell, Montana, in 1998. In 1993, Thomas J. Meier was with the Denali National Park in Alaska. The Church Club residence, on the corner of Portland Avenue and Dale Street, in 1918, included J. H. Bogart, D. D. Clark, Kenneth Fosnes, Fletcher Graves, D. A. McLain, A. H. Lillengren, R. W. Morgan, D. H. Myers, Dr. H. C. Nelson, Dr. C. F. Otto, J. A. Reed, Dr. C. G. Rice, R. W. Schaad, A. R. Stenson, L. C. Stickney, J. A. Stumpf, C. H. Trembly, C. R. Vincent, Dr. Otto Winter, G. S. Wyckoff, and A. F. Zache. The Church Club residence, on the corner of Portland Avenue and Dale Street, in 1924, included J. L. Barry, E. B. Barton, P. D. Bently, M. C. Bundy, K. B. Cline, W. T. Coulter, P. L. Donahower, Fred Ehrman, L. L. Foot, J. F. Gradiner, C. A. Hayes, Jr., E. E. Huse, F. R. Jackson, Dr. Herbert Kenny, J. T. Kenny, Morris Lanpher, R. G. Lyon, R. J. Matthews, W. B. Nickerson, L. J. Salisbury, Rosamond Turner, W. R. Wilkinson, S. H. Wilson, and A. F. Zache. There was a Church Club of the Episcopalian Diocese of Minnesota from 1891 to 1936. Dr. Otto Winter was a 1911 graduate of the medical school of the University of Wisconsin, was a Lieutenant in the medical branch of the Army, was transferred to Fort Snelling from a Southern camp in 1918 to head orthopedic work, and died of pneumonia at the home of his parents in River Falls, Wisconsin, while on a four day leave. Leslie Foot ( -1927) and Edgar Brown Barton ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. Mahlon C. Bundy (1897-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Cook, and died in Ramsey County. William T. Coulter (1899-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Coughlin, and died in Ramsey County. Emil Huse (1896-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Koch, and died in Hennepin County. John T. Kenny (1885-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Skeffington, and died in Ramsey County. Arthur Frank Zache (1885-1977) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Morris Lanpher for 35 Irvine Park.]

Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last updated on July 28, 2011.