Thursday Night Hikes: Marshall Street/NorthEast Minneapolis Architecture Notes


Observations on Architectural Styles and House Histories

Marshall Street/NorthEast Minneapolis

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

St. Paul, Minnesota

Webpage Creation: March 20, 2002

General.

Prior to European settlement, indigenous people lived along the banks of the Mississippi for 10,000 years. Minneapolis grew up around the Mississippi River and became a city in 1866. The route that is now Marshall Street was one of the earliest trade routes through the area after the territory was opened up for European settlement in 1837. By the mid-1800s, both the Red River Oxcart Trail and the Military Trail paralleled the East Side of the river. One of the earliest settlers in the area, Pierre Bottineau, played a significant role in the development of the area. After selling his land in St. Paul, Bottineau purchased land and built a house on the riverbank above the head of Nicollet Island in 1845. Bottineau spent his life as a hunting and expedition guide, later staking a claim that would become the town of Osseo. The many expeditions that were led by Bottineau facilitated European settlement throughout the state. He continued to call St. Anthony his home until 1854. Marshall Street is now a mixed development of industrial, commercial and residential uses. The area grew rapidly and included the rise of milling, lumber, railroads, breweries and other manufacturing. Its growth also was stimulated by massive European immigration from the latter half of the 19th century well into the 20th. Immigration to this area was fueled by the lure of jobs and the opportunity to become a successful entrepreneur. The outcome was the growth of a strong working class community that kindled the economic growth of Minneapolis. Small businesses, churches and schools sprung up to serve the growing population. Stately riverfront homes were built for the emerging business owners and managers.

A Swedish settlement developed in Northeast Minneapolis near its flour mills, lumber yards, breweries, foundries and railroad repair shops. By the turn-of-the-century, Swedes dominated the area from Broadway to Columbia Park.

Prior to the 1870's, Nicollet Island had seen limited development. An access road to the Hennepin Avenue bridge cut across the southern part of the island in the 1854 and the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad cut across the northern part of the island in 1867. In the 1860's, there were 20 houses on the island, most of them on the northern half. This part of the island also had several limestone quarries and beer storage caves. After William Eastman and John Merriam bought the island in 1865, they offered to sell it to the city for a park, but the park proposal was turned down and they sold residential lots to middle-class citizens, but in the 1870's, they encouraged wealthy citizens to settle on the island. William Eastman brought waterpower to Nicollet Island in 1879 through the use of an overhead cable. Eastman, along with the DeLaittre and King families, built mansions on the island. Eastman also built several townhouses in the middle of the island and sold them to influential people such as J. B. Bassett. By the mid-1880's, about 40 residences had been built on Nicollet Island as well as three four-story masonry townhouses, one with 30 units, one with 20 units, and one with 8 units. In the late nineteenth century, north Nicollet Island became a middle class neighborhood. The Eastman townhouses were divided into apartments. A frame schoolhouse was built at the turn of the century. Joel Bean Bassett (1817-1912,) the son of Daniel Bassett and Abigail Bean Bassett, members of the Society of Friends, was born in Wolfboro/Wolfborough, New Hampshire, was educated in a private school and at the Brewster Academy, worked on a farm until 1838, taught school in New Hampshire, engaged in the lumber business in Maine, came to Minnesota in 1849, settled initially in St. Paul, arrived in St. Anthony in 1850, settled in Minneapolis in 1850, homesteaded the land at the mouth of the current Bassett Creek in 1852, built his first house north of the creek on a small knoll near the mouth, established a farm, and lived there until 1856, when he sold the land north of the creek, subsequently built a new house south of the creek, was the first judge of probate in Hennepin County in 1852, was a Hennepin County Commissioner in 1852, married Amelia/Aurilia/Aurelia B. Carpenter, the daughter of Washington Carpenter, in 1853 at Lincoln, Maine, began in the lumber business in Minnesota in 1855, was the mayor of St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1857, organized the J. B. Bassett Lumber Company in 1859, was the president of the J. B. Bassett Lumber Company until 1895, erected the Columbia flour mill, organized and directed the Mississippi & R. R. Boom Company, was vice president of the Northwestern Consolidated Milling Company, was a member of the 16 member Minnesota Territorial Council, representing Carver County, the former Davis County, and Hennepin County in 1857, was an Indian agent at the Chippewa Agency, Crow Wing, Minnesota, from 1865 until 1869, was aa Minneapolis alderman from 1872 until 1874 and from 1877 until 1878, was the president of the Minneapolis Lumber Association, retired from active business in 1896, oversaw the removal of the Ojibwe bands to the White Earth, Minnesota, Reservation, was a Mason in 1858, was an alderman on the Minneapolis city council from 1872 until 1875, was initially a Quaker, was a member of the First Universalist church of Minneapolis, resided at 3 Grove Street in 1907, officed at the Lumber Exchange Building in 1907, and died in Los Angeles. Amelia B. Carpenter Bassett and Joel B. Bassett had one child, William L. Bassett. Joel B. Bassett resided at the Nimocks/Bassett House, located at 30 Grove Street. A sawmill was built just south of Bassett's Creek in 1856 by Pommeroy, Bates & Company and was operated by J. B. Bassett and his brother-in-law, Joseph Canney. It was the first steam-powered sawmill and first sawmill equipped with a circular saw on the west side. It also contained a muley saw. The mill was damaged by a boiler explosion in 1856 soon after it went into operation and was destroyed by a fire in 1859. Joel B. Bassett, and William L. Bassett, copartners under the name of J. B. Bassett & Co., the Pine River Logging & Improvement Company, and John L. Pillsbury and Charles A. Smith, copartners as C. A. Smith & Company, were found liable in a lawsuit in the nature of trover to recover damages for an alleged wrongful entry upon the Mississippi Band of Chippewa's reservation and the cutting and removing of certain pine timber there that was unsuccessfully appealed to the U. S. Supreme Court in Pine River Logging & Improvement Company v. United States, 186 U.S. 279 (1902.) In 1881, Joel Bean Bassett, with Loren Fletcher (1833-1919,) Charles Morgridge Loring (1833-1922,) William D. Washburn, Sumner W. Farnham, James A. Lovejoy and Otis Arkwright Pray, co-founded the Minnesota Electric Light and Electric Motive Power Company, which later became the Minnesota Brush Electric Company. J. B. Bassett, E. C. Whitney, and Samuel Hill were the president, vice president and treasurer, and secretary respectively of the Mississippi & Rum River Boom Company, located at 4 Lumber Exchange in 1890-1891. Major J. B. Bassett was the Indian agent for the Mississippi Band of Chippewa at the time of their removal to the White Earth, Minnesota, reservation in 1868. After Minneapolis was incorporated in 1856, J. B. Bassett sold his land near Bassett Creek to the city. In 1865, William Eastman and John Merriam acquired Nicollet Island and they sued the St. Anthony Company, which relied on shafts and ropes running from water wheels on the dam to supply power to the mills rather than canals, to force the removal of the east-side mills, claiming that the installations infringed on their water rights. In 1867, the St. Anthony Company and the Nicollet Island owners compromised, the company was allowed flowage, dam and boom privileges on the island's shore, and Eastman and Merriam were allowed to draw enough water to create 200 horse power for use at their own mills. Eastman and Merriam also were permitted to excavate a tunnel under Nicollet and Hennepin Islands for their tailrace and, with two additional partners, began excavating a 6-foot by 6-foot tunnel cut through 2,500 feet of sandstone for the tailrace in 1868. On October 4, 1869, after they had tunneled through 2,000 feet of sandstone, bringing them as far as the toe of Nicollet Island, the tunnel began to leak, the roof of the tunnel sank in, the river broke through the limestone at the upper end of the project, forming a large whirlpool that sucked everything nearby into the tunnel, enlarging the width of the tunnel to 90 feet and increasing its depth to 16.5 feet, Hennepin Island began to sink, and St. Anthony falls were in danger of collapsing. A succession of large rafts of timber were built, were floated over the whirlpool filled with dirt, rocks and other debris, and sunk into the hole. After the loss of several mills and the failure of temporary dams and various attempted plugs, in 1876, the St. Paul District Office of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers became involved and after the failure of several other attempted solutions, Congress appropriated sufficient funds and the Corps began the construction of a cutoff wall or dike, a new apron to protect the edge of the falls, and two dams above the falls. In 1879, more destruction was done to St. Anthony Falls when logging companies ran four and a half million feet of logs down the waterfall, damaging the reconstructed dike and apron. Finally, the apron broke in 1887 when too many logs went through the narrow channel and tore the plank deck and the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers withdrew their involvement from the falls. It was not until 1937 that the Corps made further improvements to St. Anthony Falls. William Eastman was a member of the first Minneapolis Park Board in 1883, which was appointed from the Board of Trade, the Chamber of Commerce, and the City Council, and included Charles Loring, Dorilus Morrison, John S. Pillsbury, Eugene W. Wilson, Samuel H. Chute, John C. Oswald, William Eastman, George Brackett, Judson A. Cross, Daniel Basset, A. C. Austin, and Andrew C. Haugan. John Conrad Oswald (1824-1905) was born in Oberaach Canton, Theirgan, Switzerland, emigrated to the United States in 1847, married Ursula Elizabeth Scheitlin (1824-1893) in New York City, New York, in 1847, initially settled in Western Virginia, moved to Minnesota in 1857, settled in Minneapolis, kept a general store until 1862, acquired the "Bryn Mawr" farm that eventually was included in the boundaries of the city, was a Major in the Minnesota State Militia, was the manufacturer of J. C. Oswald's Native Wines, later engaged in the wholesale liquor business, entered into a partnership with Theophil Basting as J. C. Oswald & Company, was a member of the Minneapolis Parks Commission, was a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, was an incorporator and a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis & Sault Ste. Marie & Atlantic RailRoad, was a Democrat, and was a member of the Minnesota Senate representing Hennepin County (District 30) from 1887 until 1891. John Conrad Oswald and Ursula Elizabeth Scheitlin Oswald were the parents of Matilda Ann Oswald (Mrs. Theophil) Basting, Lisette Sophie Oswald (Mrs. Floyd) Laraway, Bertha Maria Oswald, and Emma Oswald (Mrs. William L.) O'Brien.

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

4 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the City Of Minneapolis Public Works Department, Right Of Way Division.

100 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

137 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Northland Manufacturing Company, a wood specialities firm, was located at this address. Peter Almos, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 133 Island Avenue East according to the 1909 city directory.

149 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

163 Island Avenue East: Pye House; Built in 1900 (late 1870's according to the property's current owner.) The structure is a two story, 1886 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Dexter and Mr. and Mrs. William Akers resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph S. Hardin resided at this address. James Pye was an engineer who helped develop the gradual reduction mill method of grain milling and who helped design one of the "A" Mills. James Pye (1855- ) was the son of William Marsland Pye and Ellen/Ann Dodson Pye, married Clara Almeda Satterlee (1859-1905,) the daughter of William Wilson Satterlee and Sarah Stout Satterlee, and the couple had three children, William Satterlee Pye (1880-1959,) Louise Marie Pye (1885- ,) and Hugh James Pye (1888-.) Clara Almeda Satterlee was born in Ontario, Vernon County, Wisconsin, and was the daughter of William Wilson Satterlee (1837- ) and Sarah Stout (1838- .) William Marsland Pye (1828- ) was the son of James Pye and Mary Masland (1784- ,) was a schoolmaster, first married Ellen Dodson, and the couple had one son, James Pye, and later married Joanna Saunders Edwards of Australia in 1859 and the couple had three children, Hugh Pye (1860- ,) born in Ascot, Victoria, Australia, Emmeline Pye (1861- ,) born in Melbourne, Australia, and Henrietta Pye (1866- ,) born in Melbourne, Australia. In 1909, James Pye was the manager of the Nordyke & Marmon Company and resided at 1811 Colfax Avenue South according to the city directory. William Wilson Satterlee (1837-1893,) the son of Ossian Satterlee (1814-1882)and Susan Washburn Pease (1818-1862,) was born in Laporte, Indiana, was licensed to preach in 1856, married Sarah Stout (1838-1915) in Woodstock, Richland County, Wisconsin, in 1856, was ordained as a Methodist Episcopal minister in 1860, was a minister at Viroqua, Wisconsin, in 1861, moved to Minnesota in 1863, was an agent of the Minnesota Temperance Union from 1873 until 1880, was a professor of scientific temperance and hygienic philosophy at Grant University in Tennessee, and died in Minneapolis. Joseph Hardin ( -1938) and James Pye ( -1939) both died in Hennepin County. William Akers ( -1933) died in Becker County, Minnesota. Charles Dexter ( -1958) died in Ramsey County. In 1891, the Nordyke & Marmon Company was a flour and corn roller mill equipment manufacturer located in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Nordyke & Marmon Company was founded in 1851 as E. & A. H. Nordyke, added Daniel W. Marmon, an orphan raised by an industrialist uncle, in 1865, after his graduation from Earlham College, was renamed the Nordyke, Marmon & Company in 1866, branched out into other machinery in the late 19th century, manufactured the Marmon automobile from 1902 to 1933, sold the milling equipment part of the business to the Allis-Chalmers farm implement company in 1926, and was reorganized as the Marmon Motor Car Company. A Marmon automobile, the "Wasp," won the first Indianapolis 500 race in 1911. After 1933, the Marmon Motor Car Company became the Marmon-Herrington Company and produced trucks and all-wheel drive vehicles, was purchased by the Pritzker family in the 1960's, and now operates under the name "The Marmon Group." William Satterlee Pye, USN, (1880-1959) was an Admiral in the U.S. Navy who served in World Wars I and II, entered the U. S. Naval Academy in 1897, graduated in 1901, was commissioned an Ensign in 1903, served on five battleships and an armored cruiser between 1901 and 1915, was assigned to the staffs of the Naval Academy and Naval War College, captained the new destroyer USS Jacob Jones (DD-61) in 1915, commanded her until early 1917, joined the staff of the Atlantic Fleet's Commander in Chief through the rest of the First World War, served with the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations between 1919 and 1921, was Executive Officer of the battleship USS Pennsylvania in 1922-1923,commanded the minelayer USS Oglala (CM-4), was the head of a U.S. Naval Mission to Peru, commanded the battleship USS Nevada (BB-36) in 1932-1933, served as Chief of Staff to Commander Scouting Force with the rank of Vice Admiral, was Commander Destroyers in both the Scouting Force and Battle Force, was Commander Battleships, Battle Force in 1940, was Commander Battle Force in 1941, was President of the Naval War College from 1942 to 1945, and received the Navy Cross for his service in World War I. Hugh James Pye married Lucille Alice Goodspeed in 1909 in Wagoner, Oklahoma and then married Ann Louise Crosby in 1959. The current owner of record is Barry Clegg. Barry Clegg received a bachelors degree from the University of Minnesota, an M.B.A. from the University of Southern California, and a law degree from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1983, is a Certified Public Accountant, has been an attorney with Rider Bennett since 1983, has served as the firm's managing partner, and is the Chair of the firm's Business Department, practicing in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, Employee Stock Oownership Plans, and closely held businesses. Clegg served as Commissioner on the Minneapolis Commission on Civil Rights from 1986 to 1998, has served as Commissioner on the Minneapolis Charter Commission since 2003, and has served on the Board of Neighborhood Housing Services since 1985.

164 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the City Of Minneapolis Public Works Department, Right Of Way Division.

167 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3561 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, six bathroom, triplex. The 1909 city directory indicates that Marie Suiter, the widow of John Suiter, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas F. Murphy and Hozey Tomberlien resided at this address. The current owner of record is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is Sandra L. Daly. This property is one of many on Nicollet Island that are owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and leased to homeowners with 99 year leases. In 1979, the Metropolitan Council began giving the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board money to buy large chunks of Nicollet Island and in return, the Park Board agreed the land would remain open space. In 1983, the Park Board and the Minneapolis Community Development Agency (MCDA) cut a complex deal balancing competing interests: park lovers, history buffs, island residents and DeLaSalle High School, giving some residents a 99-year lease to rehab historic homes that were located on parkland. The Park Board was required to "make its best efforts" to build an "outdoor neighborhood recreational and athletic facility" on parkland near De LaSalle - in apparent contradiction to the 1979 open space agreement. In 1955, when the city began cleaning up "Skid Row" and dislocating down-and-out residents, some went to the next-cheapest spot, which was Nicollet Island. Residents, including Doris Parks and her donkey, Sheba ( -2002,) coexisted with many commercial and industrial companies such as Minneapolis Cold Storage, Twin City Tile & Marble, and a truck leasing firm. In 1974, consultants Miller Dunwiddy evaluated Nicollet Island's homes, part of the St. Anthony Historic District, and concluded that Nicollet Island was the best collection of preserved unruined Victorian houses anywhere in the city. In 1983, the MCDA sold the deteriorated north-end homes on the island to private owners for $1, via a lottery system, and required the owners to renovate the houses to historic standards. Marie Linden Suiter ( -1916) died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. Doris Parks (1910-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bowers, and died in Hennepin County.

171 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1656 square foot, four room, two bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Bennett resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Joseph J. Allairs, a carpenter, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence Hanson, Gordon Hanson, Herman Hanson, and Thomas A. Mason all resided at this address. The current owner of record is Steven M. Christenson.

175 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1728 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Beatrice K. Anderson, a clerk for the L. S. Donaldson Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Kannan resided at this address. Joseph Kannan ( -1922) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayers of record are Sidney Berg and Lola Berg. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 177 Island Avenue East is vacant.

181-185 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1728 square foot, 11 room, three bedroom, four bathroom, duplex. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Kirk resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Douglas E. Briggs, a student, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Eugene B. Lynch and Eugene M. Briggs both resided at this address. Alva Harry Kirk ( -1928,) Eugene M. Briggs ( -1943,) and Albert H. Kirk ( -1951) all died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2000 by John A. and Mary O'Driscoll to Janet M. Deming for $358,500. The current owner of record is Janet M. Deming. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Johnson resided at the former nearby 181 1/2 Island Avenue East.

183 Island Avenue East: The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Barry resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Emma S. Almos, a tailor, Carrie Almos, a finisher, and Olaf Quam, a laborer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Almos resided at this address. Olaf S. Quam ( -1913) died in Hennepin County. Peter Almos (1892-1970) died in Santa Clara, California. The current owner of record is Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the current taxpayers of record are Ross Sutter and Mary Lofgren. Ross Sutter is a traditional/folk musician who focuses on Northern European music, singing the songs of Sweden, Ireland, England, Scotland, and Germany while accompanying himself on guitar, button accordion, concertina, dulcimer, and Irish goat-skinned drum. Ross Sutter is a graduate of Luther College, moved to the Twin Cities in the mid-1970's, worked at Here, Inc., a dulcimer building shop located in Minneapolis, studied in Scotland with Jean Redpath in 1979, and collected folk songs in Sweden and Ireland in 1989. Olaf S. Quam ( -1913) and Peter Almos ( -1937) both died in Hennepin County.

184 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 990 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, dwelling and the current owner of record is Kandy Heiman and the current taxpayers of record are John Heiman and Kandy Heiman. The 1919 History of the Field Artillery Central Officers Training School indicates that Douglas E. Briggs resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nels Anderson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory also indicates that Austin O. Vieason and Frank Palffy both resided at the former nearby 186 Island Avenue East. Frank Palffy (1908-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Matern, and died in Hennepin County.

187 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1027 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, dwelling unit. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert Robertson resided at this address. The current owner of record of one unit is Michael Fields, who resides at 190 Island Avenue East. The current owner of record of another unit is Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the taxpayers of record are V. W. Harper and S. Daupin. Robert Robertson ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. Robert Robertson (1880-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Edwards, and died in Hennepin County.

188 Island Avenue East: The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#10016) indicate that Alexander Carr (1897- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in Company A of the 160th Infantry, who was born in Aiynshire, Scotland, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5 1/2" tall, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Meuse Argonne, was a creamery worker employed by the Minneapolis Cold Storage Comapny after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Annie Cass, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The current owner of record is Dan Kimmerle and the taxpayers of record are D. Kimmerle and E. Blaz.

189 Island Avenue East: The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Woodward resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Archie Brown resided at this address. Austin M. Woodward (1852- ,) the son of Franklin Wood and Hannah M. Burt Woodward, was born at New Castle, Indiana, attended the University of Minnesota, Class of 1875, conducted a livery business and had a sales stable in Minneapolis from 1872 until 1874, spent 1874 and 1876 abroad, returning to Minneapolis in 1876, opened large planing mill in 1876, had the mill subsequently destroyed by fire, was in the grain commission business, and was a grain merchant and banker in 1902 with Woodward & Company, a grain commission business founded in 1879 that was located at 16 Hennepin Avenue in 1881, with subsidiary offices in Duluth, Minnesota, and Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and later officed at the Corn Exchange Building, was a stockholder and official in a number of banks in smaller towns of the Northwest, was the vice president of the South Side State Bank, was a member of the board of directors of the First National Bank of Minneapolis, was the president of the Grain Receivers Association of the Chamber of Commerce of Minneapolis for several years, was a member of the board of directors of the Chamber of Commerce Minneapolis for four years, married Clara Batchelder (1872-1917) in 1909, member Minneapolis Club, resided at 215 Clifton Avenue in 1907, and officed at the Chamber of Commerce Building in 1907. Clara Batchelder Woodward was born in Faribault, Minnesota, graduated from the University of Colorado in 1892, was a member of the Pi Beta Phi sorority, taught English and was a theatre coach at Graham Hall/Northrop Collegiate Institute, and died in Minneapolis. Herbert S. Woodward, University of Minnesota Class of 1907 and a Minneapolis attorney, was the son of Austin M. Woodward and William M. Woodward, University of Minnesota Class of 1935, was the grandson of Austin M. Woodward. Austin M. Woodward ( -1917) and Archie G. Brown ( -1945) both died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the taxpayers of record are A. Foran and P. Caligiuri.

190 Island Avenue East: The 1930 city directory indicates that Luger Larson resided at this address. The current owner of record one unit is Michael Fields and the current taxpayers of record are M. Fields and E. Groh. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Wawin Coal Company coal yard was located at the former nearby 191 Island Avenue East.

195 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1909 city directory indicates that Arthur F. Alexander, who was a clerk for Roman Alexander, boarded at this address and that Roman Alexander, a church, bank, office and store furniture and interior furnishings retailer located at the former nearby 197-201 Island Avenue East, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John M. Dutcher and Pascal Robiehaud resided at this address. Roman Alexander was a First Ward Minneapolis alderman from 1895 until 1899. Roman Alexander was a union (Amalgamated Woodworkers' International Union) employer in 1900. Roman Alexander ( -1918) and Arthur Alexander ( -1929) both died in Hennepin County. John Marvin Dutcher ( -1954) died in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota.

201 Island Avenue East: The 1930 city directory indicates that the Minneapolis Show Case & Fixture Company was located at 197-201 Island Avenue East. The vacant property is currently owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. George Calladine (1827-1893,) a harness maker, and Margaret MacDonald Calladine (1843-1932) resided at the nearby former 203 Island Avenue East from 1880 until 1909. George Calladine, the son of Samuel Calladine and Elizabeth Hayes Calladine, was born in Hertfordshire, England, spent three years as a saddler in the British Army with the 11th Hussars, went to Australia in 1852, returned to England in 1855, emigrated to the United States in 1856, settled in Franklin Township, Rockford, Wright County, Minnesota, where he owned 240 acres of land, married Caroline Howser in Hennepin County in 1860, served in the Union Army during the American Civil War, was a member of the honor guard for the coffin of Abraham Lincoln in Chicago in 1865, was a partner in business with Alexander MacDonald in Chicago, Illinois, in 1865, returned to Minneapolis in 1866, divorced Caroline Howser Calladine in 1866, married Margaret MacDonald, the daughter of Alexander MacDonald and Caroline Porteous MacDonald ( -1910,) in St. Paul in 1866, was a partner in the harness manufacturing business with __?__ Pavitt before 1870, was a sole entrepreneur in the harness business after 1870, died in Minneapolis, and was buried at Lakewood Cemetery. George Calladine and Margaret MacDonald Calladine were the parents of two children, Caroline Maud Calladine (Mrs. Samuel George) Horsnell (1867-1942) and Elizabeth Margaret Calladine (1869- .) Elizabeth Margaret Calladine was a stenographer employed by the University of Minnesota in 1920. Margaret MacDonald Calladine resided in the 1 1/2 story wood frame house with a single story addition and a single story porch until 1909, when she moved to 3929 Grand Avenue, and the house was razed in 1920.

206 Island Avenue East: Built in 1900. The current owner of record is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

207 Island Avenue East: The property is vacant property. The current owner of record is the Great Northern Railway Company and the current taxpayer of record is the B N & Santa Fe RailRoad Company. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

210 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Twin City Tile & Marble Company was located at the former nearby 219-221 Island Avenue East.

220 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. In 1954, a single story steel truck repair shop was built at this address and in 1957, a Railway Express Agency garage, was located at this address.

224 Island Avenue East: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

2 Island Avenue West: The current owner of record is the Hennepin County Right Of Way Division.

4 Island Avenue West: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Daphne R. Eastman Living Trust.

25 Island Avenue West: De Lasalle High School. The current owner of record is the Diocese of St. Paul.

31 Island Avenue West: The structure is a condominium building. Unit #R31 was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration to Dorothy Sams Siegel for $104,007, in 1986 by J. and D. Siegel to T. L. Novak and J. B. Delebo for $115,000, in 1990 by John Delebo to Marcia Hutson for $103,900, and in 2002 by Marcia L. Hutson to Kimary Sue Knutson for $289,000 and the current owner of record of the unit is Kimary Sue Knutson, who resides at 1222 Douglas Avenue South. Unit #R33 was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration to M. M. and N. A. Stang for $95,661, in 1987 by Mark and Naomi Stang to Barbara Foster for $104,000, in 1995 by the Barbara Foster Estate to Nancy R. Tufford for $115,900, in 2003 by Joel F. Sather to John L. Wirth for $216,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is James D. Buchta. Unit #R35 was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration to A. Sweetser for $102,496, in 1994 by Linda Koutsky to Shirley R. Kerfoot for $110,000, in 1997 by Shirley R. Kerfoot to Larua H. Crosby for $123,500, and in 2001 by Laura H. Crosby to Mark Mangold for $185,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Mark A. Mangold. Unit #R37 was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration I to G. Littlefield for $131,324, and the current owner of record of the unit is L. Ronald Batcheller. Unit #R39 was last sold in 1993 by Nicollet Restoration to Robert T. Fayfield for $105,000 and in 1995 by Robert T. Fayfield to Patricia A. Cummings for $140,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Patricia A Cummings. Unit #R41 was last sold in 1986 by Nicollet Restoration to R. L. Hale for $153,381, and the current owner of record of the unit is Roger L. Hale. Unit #R43 was last sold in 1985 by Nicollet Restoration to B. B. Nelson III for $63,310, and the current owner of record of the unit is Bernard B. Nelson III. Unit #R45 was last sold in 1985 by Nicollet Restoration to S. S. Nichols for $68,506, and the current owner of record of the unit is Heather M. Wallace. Unit #R49 was last sold in 1985 by Nicollet Restoration to P. J. De Vries for $76,064, in 1986 by Penelope Devries to L. Dale for $5,000, in 1993 by Lynne Dale to Edward W. Lanpher for $99,800, in 2002 by Edward Lanpher to Robert M. Danz for $212,000, and in 2005 by Robert M. Danz to Christine Viken for $265,000, the current owner of record of the unit is Christine Viken, and the current taxpayers of record of the unit are Christine Viken and Earl Clausen. Unit #R51 was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration to B. E. Bond for $88,928 and in 2002 by Adrian J. Deboom to Samuel T. Bergman for $265,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Samuel T. Bergman. Christine Viken and her husband, Earl Clausen, are the owners of the Van Dusen Center. Kimary Knutson is a lawyer with the Knutson Law Office, located at 1900 Hennepin Avenue. The 1909 city directory indicates that Katherine Aeschliman boarded at the former nearby 41 Island Avenue West. The 1885 city directory indicates that Colonel and Mrs. W. S. King and Preston King resided at the former nearby 41 Island Avenue West and that Mr. and Mrs. H. Alden Smith resided at the former nearby 45 Island Avenue West. H. Alden Smith (1849-1906) was a Connecticut native who could trace his genealogy to the Mayflower, who moved to Minneapolis in 1860, who worked for a door and sash business Downtown in the 1870's and built the Loring Park mansion, 1403 Harmon Place, a bulky brownstone with odd-shaped rooms and several gas fireplaces, in 1887 for $20,000. Smith died of a heart attack. Smith's daughter, Alice Smith also died early in life, at the age of 33. Smith's wife, Eva Smith, sold the estate for $80,000 to William Davies, who opened a mortuary at the mansion in 1919. The mortuary stayed in business until the 1970's, is now owned by the Minneapolis Community and Technical College, and has been renamed the Wells Family College Center in honor of the Frederick B. Wells family, an important donor. Alden H. Smith ( -1906) was born in Connecticut and died in Hennepin County. [See note for the Van Dusen Center for 1900 LaSalle Avenue.] [See note for William S. King and Preston King for 2400 Stevens Avenue.]

53 Island Avenue West: The structure is a set of rental garage stalls. One unit of the property was last sold in 1990 by John Delebo to Marcia Hutson for $1,100 and the current owner of record of the unit is Kimary Sue Knutson, who resides at 31 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1985 by Nicollet Restoration to S. S. Nichols for $1,084 and the current owner of record of the unit is Heather M. Wallace, who resides at 45 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1995 by the Barbara Estate Foster to Nancy R. Tufford for $1,100 and the current owner of record of the unit is James D. Buchta, who resides at 33 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1995 by Robert T. Fayfield to Patricia A. Cummings for $5,000 and the current owner of record of the unit is Patricia A. Cummings, who resides at 39 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1986 by Nicollet Restoration to R. L. Hale for $6,185 and the current owner of record of the unit is Roger L. Hale, who resides at 41 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1985 by Nicollet Restoration to B. B. Nelson III for $4,490 and the current owner of record of the unit is Bernard B. Nelson III, who resides at 43 Island Avenue West. Another unit of the property was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration to G.Littlefield for $5,382 and the current owner of record of the unit is L. Ronald Batcheller, who resides at 37 Island Avenue West. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ella Hall, E. H. Brooks, H. Gilmore, M. L. Schmid, and W. S. Deyde resided at the former nearby 61 Island Avenue West. Ella Hall ( -1912) died in Hennepin County.

71 Island Avenue West: The 1930 city directory indicates that the DaSota Creamery & Produce Company and the Minneapolis Cold Storage Company was located at 71-89 Island Avenue West. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The Minneapolis Cold Storage Company was founded by the Newell family in 1915 and was the first licensed cold storage facility in the state of Minnesota in 1919. The Minneapolis Cold Storage Company was licensed by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture. The Minneapolis Cold Storage Company eventually became the Minnesota Freezer Warehouse Company, with facilities in Albert Lea, Minnesota, in Austin, Minnesota, and in Worthington, Minnesota. Franklin D. "Duke" Newell and Nona Newell raised five sons in Minneapolis, Franklin Dennis "Denny" Newell III, Thomas Butler Newell, Don Bernard Kilborne Newell, Stephen Lathrop Newell, and John Edward Newell. There is a Franklin D. Newell Memorial Scholarship to honor the founder of the Minnesota Freezer Warehouse Company, Franklin D. “Duke” Newell, Jr. Franklin D. Newell (1884-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kilbourne, and died in Hennepin County. Nona May Butler Newell (1915-1995) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schmechebere, and died in Hennepin County. Edward T. Thompson, a waiter at 311 Washington Avenue, resided at Flat #6 at the nearby 67 Island Avenue West according to the 1909 city directory. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Jason Baker resided at the former nearby 93 Island Avenue West.

95 Island Avenue West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1672 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that David Roos resided at this address. David Roos ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Margaret Lund and the current taxpayers of record are Chris Steller and Margaret Lund.

101 Island Avenue West: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1444 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jasper M. Hilyar resided at this address. Jasper M. Hilyar ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is Jeffrey Siegel, who is located in Apache Junction, Arizona.

103-105 Island Avenue West: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 3244 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, four bathroom, duplex. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. M. Fish resided at 105 Island Avenue West. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Island Garage was located at this address. George Mason Fish ( -1912) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Dorothy A. Sams-Siegel, who resides at 105 Island Avenue West.

106 Island Avenue West: The current owner of the property is the City Of Minneapolis Public Works Right Of Way Division.

107-109 Island Avenue West: The current owner of record of the fourplex is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the current taxpayers of record are Steven Rosenberg for the 107 Island Avenue West Lower Unit, Brien Link for the 107 Island Avenue West Upper Unit, John Eller for the 109 Island Avenue West Lower Unit, and Laura Davis for the 109 Island Avenue West Upper Unit. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Earnshaw resided at 107 Island Avenue West and that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Stewart resided at 109 Island Avenue West. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Mary E. Griswold, a student, resided at 107 Island Avenue West. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Bailey and Harvey R. Hebbe both resided at 107 Island Avenue West and that William Rockun and Fred Jacobson both resided at 109 Island Avenue West. Harvey Ruben Hebbe (1901-1984) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dundey, and died in Hennepin County. Fred Jacobson ( -1944) died in Hennepin County.

111-113 Island Avenue West: The 1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. Lizzie Lent resided at 111 Island Avenue West. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry J. Hill, John Holem, and Frederick James all resided at at 111 Island Avenue West and that Fred Bliss, Fred H. Hall, and Archie James all resided at 113 Island Avenue West. Harry James Hill ( -1943) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Fred H. Hall (1899-1997) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Costello, and died in Saint Louis County, Minnesota. Archie C. James ( -1947) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the fourplex is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the current taxpayers of record are B. Johnson and P. Willcutt for 111 Island Avenue West Lower Unit, Job Stuart for 111 Island Avenue West Upper Unit, Prudence Johnson and Gary Rue for 113 Island Avenue West Lower Unit, and Leslie Ball and Oschen Kaylan for 113 Island Avenue West Upper Unit. Prudence Johnson is a vocalist and Gary Rue is a composer and plays the guitar. Prudence Johnson was a founding member of the jazz ensemble Rio Nido before starting a solo career, did two tours of the Soviet Union with "Women Who Cook" and with "The Good Life," appeared on stage in the Steven Dietz play, Ten November, in The All Night Strut, and in Gershwin the Klezmer , and had a cameo role in Robert Redford's film, A River Runs Through It. Leslie Ball is a native of Duluth, Minnesota, was a National Merit Scholar, holds a Master of Fine Arts degree form New York University, previously toured North and Central America as lead singer and lyricist for "Rue Nouveau," works as a writer, performer, director and producer, is the founder/curator of "BALLS," a weekly midnight cabaret for experimental work, at the Southern Theater, has performed at Carnegie Hall as a back-up singer for Gene Pitney, and starred in two independent films, "The Visionary" and "Beyond Bob." Ochen Kaylen is the former manager of Digital Design at the Walker Art Museum, is the web producer for American Radio Works/Minnesota Public Radio, is a photographer, and is a digital music guru.

115 Island Avenue West: Built in 1991. The structure is a two story, 2225 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Hornby and Alex Olevera resided at this address. John W. Hornby (1888-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Davis, and died in Hennepin County. In 1992, the owners, Donald and Phyllis Kahn planned to rennovate the prior house that was on this site, but the prior house burned down and the Kahns rebuilt it from scratch. The current owner of record is Donald Kahn and the current taxpayers of record are Donald Kahn and Phyllis Kahn. Phyllis Kahn is a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives, serving in her 17th term, and her legislative interests include issues dealing with pension and investment policy, science and technology, information policy, natural resources and women's rights. Phyllis Kahn was born in Brooklyn, New York, has a B.A. in physics from Cornell, a Ph.D. in biophysics from Yale, and a M.P.A. from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard, is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and is the Chair of the AAAS Section on General Interest in Science and Engineering, and is married to Donald Kahn, a professor of mathematics at the University of Minnesota, and the couple has two adult children and three grandchildren. Donald William Kahn received a Ph.D. in Mathematics from Yale University in 1961, has been a member of the faculty of the Institute of Technology at the University of Minnesota since 1964, was the director of Graduate Studies in the mathematics department in 1998, and has research interests in algebraic topology and global analysis. Donald W. Kahn was the author of Topology: An Introduction to the Point-Set and Algebraic Areas, Introduction to Global Analysis, and Groups of homotopy equivalences.

123 Island Avenue West: The 1930 city directory indicates that this property was vacant. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

130 Island Avenue West: The current owner of the property is the City Of Minneapolis Public Works Right Of Way Division.

132 Island Avenue West: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

133 Island Avenue West: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

207 Island Avenue West: The current owner of the property is the City Of Minneapolis Public Works Right Of Way Division.

11 Maple Place: Built in 1900. The current owner of the property is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is the Nicollet Island Pkg Ascn Inc. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 7 Maple Place and 9 Maple Place were vacant.

12 Maple Place: The current owner of the vacant lot is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is Ryan R. O'Neill, who resides in Bloomington, Minnesota.

15-17 Maple Place: The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Briggs, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Moody, and M. F. Hartigan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius Lefor resided at 15 Maple Place and that David Carlson and Manlobe E. Gordon resided at 17 Maple Place. Manlove E. Gordon (1872- ) was born in Minnesota, lived in Litchfield, Meeker County, Minnesota, in 1880, was the son of Samuel V. Gordon and Sarah Gordon. Manlove Edgar Gordon ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. The 1880 federal census indicates that Samuel V. Gordon (1830- ) was born in Indiana, had parents who were born in Ireland, and was employed as a town constable in Litchfield, Minnesota, in 1880 and that Sarah Gordon (1832- ) was born in Indiana and had parents who were born in Virginia and Kentucky. The 1880 federal census indicates that Samuel V. Gordon and Sarah Gordon had four sons, Arnellphus Gordon (1856- ,) who was employed as a miller, Samuel Y. Gordon (1862- ,) who was employed as a teacher, John M. Gordon (1866- ,) who was a student, and Manlove E. Gordon (1872- ,) who was a student. The current owner of the property is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op, located in St. Paul, and the current taxpayers of record for the lower duplex unit at 15 Maple Place are Roger Cummings and Deanna Cummings, the current taxpayers of record for the upper duplex unit at 15 Maple Place is Jane Reisenbeck, the current taxpayers of record for the lower duplex unit at 17 Maple Place are John White and Denise Pollack, and the current taxpayers of record for the upper duplex unit at 17 Maple Place is Myrna Harper.

16 Maple Place: The 1930 city directory indicates that Lawrence H. Helgeson resided at this address. Lawrence H. Helgeson (1893-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Paulson, and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Lawrence H. Helgeson was a railroad employee. The current owner of the vacant lot is the the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

18-20 Maple Place: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1938 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, three bathroom, duplex. The 1930 city directory indicates that William A. Bevee resided at 20 Maple Place. The current owner of record is Thomas B. Case.

21 Maple Place: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1.7 story, 1312 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, duplex. The current owner of record is John Chaffee and the current taxpayers of record are J. Chaffee and J. Richardson.

25-27 Maple Place: The property is a single family residence. The 1930 city directory indicates that Enoch W. Knutson resided at 27 Maple Place. Enoch W. Knutson (1890-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Larson, and died in Douglas County, Minnesota. The current owner of record is D'Nardo Colucci. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna K. Olson resided at the former nearby 28 Maple Place and that 29 Maple Place was vacant.

31-35 Maple Place: The structure is a duplex connected with 163 Island Avenue East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Obert Ramlet and Walter M. Turner resided at this address. Obert Bernard Ramlet ( -1931) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Barry Clegg.

84 Nicollet Street: The current owner of the vacant property is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

91 Nicollet Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1602 square foot, five room, three bedroom, two bathroom, single family house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose Plushow resided at this address. The current owner of the property is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayers of record are Thomas Rose and Mary Rose. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Steel Desoto Ice Cream Company was located at the former nearby 92 Nicollet Street.

93 Nicollet Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1296 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, single family house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles W. Rogers resided at this address. Charles Walter Rogers ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of the property is Janet M. Hively.

97 Nicollet Street: Built in 1996. The structure is a two story, 1690 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, single family house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Anton resided at this address. Thomas Anton (1887-1977) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mansour, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of the property is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is Mary Nadeau.

99 Nicollet Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Olsen resided at this address. Edward Olsen ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of the vacant property is the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op, located in St. Paul.

163 Nicollet Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1.7 story, 1312 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The current owner of the property is John Chaffee and the current taxpayers of record are J. Chaffee and J. Richardson.

167-169 Nicollet Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that Amos E. Knotts resided at 167 Nicollet Street and that John Kaiser resided at 169 Nicollet Street. John B. Kaiser ( -1939,) John H. Kaiser ( -1953,) and John E. Kaiser ( -1953) all died in Hennepin County. John A. Kaiser (1894-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nowitzki, and died in Hennepin County. John Joseph Kaiser (1901-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Woydula, and died in Hennepin County. John C. Kaiser (1883-1962) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of the property for the lower unit at 167 Nicollet Street is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the current taxpayer of record is Ron Welch. The current owner of the property for the upper unit at 167 Nicollet Street is Elizabeth Donahue and the current taxpayer of record is Patrick Scully. The current owner of the property for the lower unit at 169 Nicollet Street and the current taxpayer of record is Louis Gordon. The current owner of the property for the upper unit at 169 Nicollet Street is the Mid-River Residences Co-Op and the current taxpayer of record is Karen Siegel.

171 Nicollet Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that Fritz Mennega resided at this address. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board and the current taxpayer of record is Nicollet Island Pkg Association Inc.

177 Nicollet Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Olson resided at this address. The current owner of record is Robert H. Daly, who resides in Edina, Minnesota.

2-16 Grove Street: The property is a set of condominiums. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were John P. Ford at Unit #2, Howard L. Hamilton and Benedict J. Kafka at Unit #4, Olaus J. Stave at Unit #6, Charles R. Baldwin, William E. Brown, and Mrs. Ethel Patterson at Unit #8, William W. Garland and Julius Petroski at Unit #10, James E. Cook and Frank Rerat at Unit #12, Thomas H. Clark and Howard F. Means at Unit #14, and Walter C. Mueller at Unit #16. Howard L. Hamilton (1897-1984) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Link, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Charles R. Baldwin ( -1931,) James E. Cook ( -1935,) and William Garland ( -1950) all died in Hennepin County. Ethel Lankford Patterson ( -1954) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Frank Rerat (1884-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Thomas H. Clark (1899-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bowers, and died in Hennepin County. Howard F. Means (1899-1980) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Thomas, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Walter C. Mueller (1902-1973) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Klotz, and died in Hennepin County. Unit #2A was last sold in 1984 by Nicollet Restoration I to Cris Stang and Cindy Stang for $241,541 and the current owner of record is Cris A. Stang. The current owner of record of Unit #2B is John J. Kerwin. The current owner of record of Unit #4A is Edna Carey Brazaitis. Unit #4B was last sold in 1997 by M. Knox and L. Vandyne to Gayle J. Appelbaum for $155,500 and the current owner of record is Gayle J. Appelbaum. Unit #6A was last sold in 1992 by F. and D. Stockberger to B. M. Henschel and M. S. Henschel for $135,000 and in 1996 by B. M. and M. S. Henschel to J. H. Keenan and T. O. Keenan for $170,000 and the current owner of record is Joseph H. Keenan and the current taxpayers of record are Joseph H. Keenan and Therese O. Keenan. Unit #6B was last sold in 1983 by Nicollet Restoration I to Virginia Pichner for $160,000, in 1993 by V. K. Pichner Halloran to Michael Ducat for $130,000, and in 2001 by Michael Ducat to Mark A. Carlson for $395,000, and the current owner of record is Mark A. Carlson and the current taxpayers of record are Mark A. Carlson and Nancy A. Carlson. Unit #8A was last sold in 1988 by Mcfee and Mercure to S. K. Martin for $125,000, in 1991 by S. C. Martin and K. M. Martin to D. Soucy and V. Petzko for $152,000, in 1995 by D. Soucy and V. Petzko to Paul J. Mckenzie and V. Mckenzie for $159,900, in 2003 by Paul J. Mckenzie to Michael C. Moore for $439,900, and in 2005 by Michael C. Moore to Erzo G. J. Luttmer for $465,000, and the current owner of record is Erzo G. J. Luttmer. Unit #8B was last sold in 1993 by T. Stroot and M. Hensel to S. C. Aldrich and M. S. Aldrich for $99,000, in 1998 by S. C. Aldrich and M. S. Aldrich to Jane C. Lazynski for $164,000, and in 2001 by Jane C. Lazynski to Jean A. Drumm for $385,000, and the current owner of record is Jean A. Drumm. Unit #10A was last sold in 1983 by Nicollet Restoration to R. Zirba and Bankers Guaranty for $154,000 and the current owner of record is Judith K. May. Unit #10B was last sold in 1986 by L. Korslund and J. Korslund to J. Conner for $65,000, in 1993 by Gina C. Paulucci to Gregory Nelson for $72,000, in 1996 by Gregory Nelson to Shaun D. Obrien for $78,500, in 2000 by Chad W. Brown to Michael S. Reinhart for $155,000, in 2002 by Michael S. Reinhart to Jason J. Dalebroux for $199,400, and in 2004 by Jason J. Dalebroux to Steven Kozak for $217,500, and the current owner of record is Steven Kozak and the current taxpayers of record are Heather Kozak and Steven H. Kozak, who reside in Miami, Florida. Unit #10C was last sold in 1983 by L. M. Colby to D. H. Johnston for $87,000 and in 1995 by Jean B. Anderson to Richard J. Kott for $93,900 and the current owner of record is Richard J. Kott. The current owner of record of Unit #12A is Gary R. Cagle and the taxpayers of record are Gary Cagle and Sally Cagle. Unit #12B was last sold in 1986 by C. Carlock and R. Carlock to Kim M. Cameron for $87,500, in 1987 by Kim M. Cameron to S. Bratnober for $75,000, in 1994 by Sarah Bratnober to Dean S. Carlson for $81,000, and in 1998 by Dean Carlson and Janis Carlson to Todd W. Fritz for $107,500, and the current owner of record is Todd W. Fritz. Unit #12C was last sold in 1989 by Catherine Mackinnon to Frank D. Ariss for $87,000 and the current owner of record is Frank D. Ariss. Unit #14A was last sold in 1983 by Nicollet Restoration to T. J. Dreis for $159,881, in 1988 by Timothy Dreis to Jack D. Palmquist for $145,000, and in 1997 by Jack D. Palmquist to Stephanie D. Gozum for $206,000, and the current owner of record is Stephanie D. Gozum. The current owner of record of Unit #14B is Judith A. Martin. Unit #16A was last sold in 1983 by Nicollet Restoration to John Riley for $160,000, in 1988 by Riley and Rubin to A. Boies for $165,000, and in 1991 by A. Boies and M. Hansen to Timothy J. Kehoe for $165,000, and the current owner of record is Timothy J. Kehoe. Unit #16B was last sold in 1996 by W. Holbrook and J. Holbrook to Douglas Hughes for $176,250, in 1997 by Douglas O. Hughes to Kristen M. Heimerl for $166,500, and in 2002 by Kristen M. Heimerl to Susan A. Mullen for $392,000, and the current owner of record is Susan A. Mullen. The 1930 city directory indicates that DeLaSalle High School was located at the former nearby 17 Grove Street and that Mrs. Mary J. Keiehan resided at the former nearby 18 Grove Street.

20 Grove Street: Built in 1961. The structure is a three story, 12960 square foot, four three bedroom unit, apartment building. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence E. Eastman resided at this address. The 1880 federal census indicates that Clarence E. Eastman (1848- ,) the son of Hasskett D. Eastman and Amelia E. Eastman, was born in New Hampshire, resided in Minnesota in the Hasskett D. Eastman household, and was a manufacturer of electric lights. Hasskett D. Eastman (1818- ) was born in New Hampshire, had parents who were both born in New Hampshire, and was a lumber merchant in Minnesota in 1880 and Amelia E. Pendexter Eastman (1819- ) was born in New Hampshire, had parents who were both born in New Hampshire, and was a housekeeper. The Hasskett D. Eastman household also included Ann M. Eastman (1849- ,) Clarence E. Eastman's wife, who was born in New Hampshire, had parents who were both born in Maine, and was a homemaker, William K. Eastman (1794- ,) Hasskett D. Eastman's father, who was born in New Hampshire, had parents who were both born in New Hampshire, and was a retired paper manufacturer, and Emma Holm (1858- ,) who was born in Sweden, had parents who were both born in Sweden, and was a servant. The current owner of record is Nicollet Restoration Inc. Minneapolis city directories indicate the residents of the former nearby 24 Grove Street were John DeLaittre (1832-1912) of Eastman, Bovey & Company (1880,) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre and their daughter (1885,) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre, their daughter, and Mrs. C. C. Eastman (1887, 1889, 1891, and 1893,) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre, their daughter, and Karl DeLaittre (1895 and 1905,) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre, their daughter, Mrs. C. C. Eastman, and Karl DeLaittre (1897, 1899, and 1903) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre, their daughter, Mrs. C. C. Eastman, and Mr. and Mrs. Karl DeLaittre (1901,) Mr. and Mrs. J. DeLaittre and Mrs. Caroline C. Eastman (1907) and John DeLaittre, president of Farmer's and Mechanic's Savings Bank, president of Bovey, DeLaittre Lumber Company, and secretary/treasurer of the Minneapolis Syndicate (1908.) The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11517) indicate that Joseph P. Heck (1894- ,) a 1913 enlistee and a Sergeant in Company M of the 329th Infantry, who was born in Fairfax, Renville County, Minnesota, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 8 1/2" tall, was a storekeeper at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a car repairer employed by S. P. Hurly after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife at the nearby former 22 Grove Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that William J. Justen resided at the former nearby 22 Grove Street, that John Peterson, managing furnished rooms, resided at the former nearby 23 Grove Street, and that Mrs. Alice Bourget resided at the former nearby 24 Grove Street. The former nearby 24 Grove Street was razed in 1932. William J. Justen (1882-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Adelmann, and died in Hennepin County. Alice Bourget ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. [See note for John De Laittre for 2322 Blaisdell Avenue South.]

23-25 Grove Street: Built in 1958. The structure is a two story, 56775 square foot, school building. From 1885 until 1895, Judge J. P. Rea, a probate court judge and a partner in the law firm of Rea, Hooker & Woolley, and Emma Rea resided at 23 Grove Street and, from 1885 until 1887, Mrs. E. C. Baldwin resided at 25 Grove Street, when the structure was a two story, wood frame, double house. The Minneapolis city directory indicates that the residents of 23 Grove Street were Judge and Mrs. J. P. Rea (1885, 1887, 1889, 1891, 1893, and 1895,) C. H. Nealy, E. A. Gray, and Dr. H. M. Loughridge (1897,) Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Gould and their daughter (1899,) Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Gould and Mrs. J. P. Rea (1901 and 1903,) John Peterson (1930,) and John Von Peterson (1932.) The Minneapolis city directory indicates that the residents of 23 Grove Street were Mrs. E. C. Baldwin and her daughters (1885 and 1887,) Mr. and Mrs. D. A. Secombe (1889 and 1891,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe (1893,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe and D. Willis Secombe (1895 and 1897,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe, D. Willis Secombe, and Frank Secombe (1899,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe, D. Willis Secombe, and Frank Secombe (1901,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe, Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Secombe, and Frank Secombe (1903,) Mrs. C. A. Secombe and F. A. Secombe (1905,) Mrs. D. A. Secombe (1907 and 1909,) Charlotte A. Secombe, the widow of David Secombe, and Willis D. Secombe, a civil engineer (1910,) and Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Secombe and Mrs. D. A. Secombe (1911.) David Adams Secombe and Charlotte Augusta Eastman Secombe were the parents of David Willis Secombe (1860- ) and Frank Adams Secombe (1875- .) In 1941, the prior residence at this address was razed. J. P. Rea served as the captain of the Minneapolis Light Infantry, organized in 1879 and designated as Company A of the Minnesota State Guard in 1882, was the Senior Vice Commander in Chief of the Grand Army of the Republic in 1884, and was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club. The current owner of record is the Diocese Of St Paul and the current taxpayer of record is DeLasalle High School. DeLaSalle High School is the only Catholic high school in the City of Minneapolis. It is named for St. John Baptist de La Salle, who was the founder of the Brothers of the Christian Schools (i. e. the Christian Brothers) religious order. In 1900, Archbishop John Ireland broke ground for the Catholic secondary school. The initial faculty was three teaching Christian Brothers and the initial student body had 50 boys. By 1907, an addition had been added to the original school building, and in 1914, Archbishop Ireland purchased the adjoining King property to provide space for eventual expansion, with enrollment already at 352 boys. The initial school was a commercial school, but became a college preparatory school in 1920. In 1950, the Christian Brothers moved into their new residence facing Grove Street and continue to live in the community on the top two floors of the building. The first floor houses the school's Development, Alumni and Admissions offices. Enrollment at the DeLaSalle High School doubled to over 800 by 1952. Peak enrollment was 1651 boys in 1964. In 1971, the original commercial school building burned to the ground. The area of the original building, on Grove Street and West Island Avenue, is now called Founder's Park, and a statue of St. John Baptist de La Salle stands in this park. Also in 1971, with the closing of the all-girl St. Anthony of Padua High School in northeast Minneapolis, DeLaSalle High School opened its enrollment to girls. By 1975, enrollment at the co-educational DeLaSalle High School had dipped to 475 students. Due to the great efforts of successive chief administrators in the 1970's, Brother Cyril Litecky and Brother Basil Rothweiler, the school launched an annual giving campaign with its loyal base of alumni and friends to help meet the costs of operating the school and to provide financial assistance to those students in need. The school reached a 70-year low of 306 students in 1990-91. A 1955 alumnus, Brother Michael Collins, returned as school president in 1991, and the school has since prospered, with enrollment at over 600 students. Approximately 35 percent of the students are students of color, approximately 35 percent of the students come from single-parent households, and approximately 53 percent of the students receive financial aid based on family financial need. Noted alumni include E. John Abdo (1930,) Jon Andresen (1959,) Robert R. Boeser (1945,) David A. Burkholder (1954,) Brother Michael Collins, FSC (1955,) Russel C. Dalsin (1925,) John E. Derus (1958,) Brother Konrad Diebold, FSC (1955,) Mark Dienhart (1971,) Walter Dziedzic (1946,) Earl A. Emmer (1931,) Dennis J. Farrell (1962,) Brian Faust (1946,) William B. Flaherty (1941,) Timothy M. Fristrom (1973,) Robert A. Gavin, Jr. (1958,) John R. "Jack" Getchman (1956,) Thomas E. Glodek (1954,) Walter M. Hinz (1960,) Albert J. Hofstede (1958,) Mike Karbo (1942,) Timothy J. Keane (1969,) Father Kevin Kenney (1978,) Bishop John F. Kinney (1955,) Marty Knight (1965,) Most Rev. Stephen J. Kocisko (1933,) Brother De Paul Kondrak (1947,) Francis W. Lang (1961,) Rev. Msgr. James M. Lavin (1936,) John Laux (1959,) A. Paul Lehman (1959,) Larry Lejune (1954,) Richard D. Lutz (1942,) Brother Edward Mason, FSC (1940,) Jake McCoy (1959,) Daniel C. McElroy (1966,) Burt McGlynn (1941,) Dennis B. McGrath (1955,) L. T. "Mike" Merrigan (1948,) Thomas J. Mulvaney (1955,) Lawrence J. Pogemiller (1969,) Brother Jerome Rademacher (1954,) Rev. Phillip J. Rask (1964,) Brother Dietrich Reinhart, OSB (1967,) James J. Rice (1943,) Roger Scherer (1954,) Reverend Stanley V. Sledz (1961,) Patrick J. Stockhaus (1978,) David R. Theis (1955,) Robert S. Wetoska (1955,) and Dr. Joseph L. White, Jr. (1950.) Brother Cyril Litecky was the only person to twice serve as chief administrator of DeLaSalle High School and also served as an administrator at Bethlehem University for many years. Basil Rothweiler, FSC, also was the president of St. Mary's University from 1956 to 1963. John DeLaittre resided at the nearby former 24 Grove Street in 1907. [See note for David A. Secombe for 2117 Second Avenue South.] [See note on the Most Rev. John Ireland for 977 Portland Avenue.] [See note for John De Laittre for 2322 Blaisdell Avenue South.]

27 Grove Street: The current owner of record is the Diocese Of St Paul and the current taxpayer of record is De Lasalle High School.

29 Grove Street: Former Eastman House/De Lasalle High School. The structure is a school building. Minneapolis city directories indicate the residents at this address were W. W. Eastman (1880,) Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Eastman (1885, 1889, 1891, 1893, and 1895,) Mr. and Mrs. Fred W. Eastman and Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Eastman (1887,) The current owner of record is the Diocese of St. Paul and the current taxpayer of record is De Lasalle High School. Minneapolis city directories indicate the residents of the former nearby 30 Grove Street were C. A. Nimocks, his daughter, and A. G. Chapin (1885,) Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Bassett and Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett (1887,) Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Bassett, Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett, Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Chadbourn, their daughters, C. N. Chadbourn, and R. W. Chadbourn (1889,) Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett (1891 and 1901,) Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett and J. B. Bassett (1893, 1895, and 1897,) Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett, J. B. Bassett, and Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Thomas (1899,) Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett, J. B. Bassett, and W. A. Nimocks (1903, 1905, 1907, and 1909,) Joel B. Bassett and William L. Bassett, president of L. P. Dolliff & Company (1908,) and William L. Bassett, Ella Bassett, Jay Bassett and Norman Bassett (1910.) Joel Bean Bassett and his son, William Bassett, both resided at the former nearby 30 Grove Street, the Nimocks/Bassett House, which was built for Charles A. Nimocks in 1884 and was razed in 1932. Minneapolis city directories indicate the residents of the former nearby 32-34 Grove Street were John Schlener (1871,) Mrs. Bertha Schlener and John A. Schlener (1885, 1887, and 1891,) Mrs. Bertha Schlener, John A. Schlener and H. E. Schlener (1889,) Mrs. Bertha Schlener and Mr. and Mrs. John A. Schlener (1893, 1895, 1897, 1899, 1901, 1903, 1905, and 1907,) Bertha Schlener, the widow of John A. Schlener, Sr., and John A. Schlener, the president and treasurer of the J. A. Schlener Stationery Company, treasurer of the Minneapolis Stationers Association, treasurer of the Masonic Temple Association, and treasusrer of the Masonic Library Association (1908,) Mrs. Bertha Schlener and Mrs. J. A. Schlener (1909,1911, and 1913,) Mrs. Grace H. Schlener, the widow of J. A. Schlener (1910,) and vacant (1930 and 1932.) Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that John Albert Schlener resided at the nearby former 32 Grove Street in 1907. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 34 Grove Street was vacant. Bertha Sproesser (1831- ) was born in Stuttgart, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1852, married John Schlener in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1852, and moved to Minnesota in 1857. Grace Holbrock married John A. Schlener in 1892. John Albert Schlener (1856- ,) the son of John Adam Schlener ( -1872,) the operator of a bakery and confectionery store, and Bertha Sproesser Schlener, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, moved to St. Anthony, Minnesota, with his family in 1857, attended St. Anthony of Padua parochial school in Minneapolis, attended the select and public schools of St. Anthony until 1868, attended the Barnard & Carson Business College at night after work, was a deputy collector of tolls for a Minneapolis suspension bridge until 1873, was employed as a clerk in the book and stationery store of Wister, Wales & Company in 1872, was a stationer, has been in business as a commercial stationer and office outfitter after 1884, was a partner in the stationery firm of Bean, Wales & Company, then was a partner in the stationery firm of Kirkbride & Whitehall/Whitall, the successor of Bean, Wales & Company, until 1884, then was a self-employed stationer on Nicollet Avenue in 1884, married Grace Holbrook of Lockport, New York, in 1892, was an unsuccessful candidate for Minneapolis mayor in 1900, was a Mason, was a member of the board of directors and the treasurer of the Masonic Temple Association, was the treasurer of the Masonic Library Association, was a Knight Templar, was the president of the National Association of Stationers and Manufacturers, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of Schwaben Verein, was the president of the Minneapolis Stationers Association, was a member of the Minneapolis Board of Education after 1896, was the president of the Minneapolis Board of Education, was a member of the Territorial Pioneers, was a vice president of the People's Bank of Minneapolis, was a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis Business Men's Union, was initially a Lutheran, became a Congregationalist, was a member of the Plymouth Congregational Church, and officed at 516 Nicollet Avenue in 1907. Bertha Sproesser Schlener (1831- ,) was born in Stuttgart, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1852, initially resided in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, married John Adam Schlener in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1853, moved to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1857, was a Lutheran, operated her late husband's bakery and confectionery business after his death, and resided with her son on Nicollet Island in 1899. [See note on Joel Bean Bassett for the prefatory paragraph immediately preceding 4 Island Avenue East.]

6 Eastman Avenue: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Gale and their daughter, Miss Rella J. Barth, J. E. James, and C. H. Washburn resided at the former nearby 1 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. S. E. Allen, Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Lewis, G. W. Grosskopf, and R. F. Armstrong resided at the former nearby 3 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. S. F. Boyd, Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Lewis, and Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Tice resided at the former nearby 5 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Hodgson, W. S. Hodgson, and L. W. Hodgson resided at the former nearby 7 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. John Dunham and Frank Dunham resided at the former nearby 9 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. M. S. Dickerson and their daughter and W. R. Dickerson resided at the former nearby 11 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. McMillan and their daughter, James McMillan, Otto Macroth, and C. E. Braden resided at the former nearby 13 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Fisk and Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Miller resided at the former nearby 15 Eastman Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Miller and their daughter, A. R. Miller, Jr., and George T. Miller resided at the former nearby 17 Eastman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#8485) indicate that Harvey T. White (1884- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Second Class Musician in the Headquarters Company of the First Minnesota Infantry, who was born in River Falls, Wisconsin, had blue eyes, dark hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a musician at induction, was a freight handler employed by Kedney Monehan after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, E. White, at the nearby former 17 Eastman Avenue. Isaac Hodgson (1829-1909,) William C. Lewis ( -1914,) John E. Dunham ( -1925,) Charles Henry Washburn ( -1925,) Charles Edward Braden ( -1927,) Albert R. Miller ( -1928,) Charles E. Lewis ( -1932,) Ed Tice ( -1936,) James B. McMillan ( -1946,) and William Dickerson ( -1953) all died in Hennepin County. The 1909 city directory indicates that Isaac Hodgson died in that year, that John E. Dunham was a conductor who resided at 2616 Central Avenue, that Charles E. Lewis, associated with Charles E. Lewis & Company, involved in grain stocks and provisions, resided at 1423 Harmon Place, and that William B. Dickerson, a seller of shoes, resided at 2687 Lake of the Isles Boulevard.

18 Eastman Avenue: The current owner of record is the Diocese Of St. Paul and the current taxpayer of record is De Lasalle High School. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. Paris Gibson, Theodore Gibson, Dr. J. P. Sweat, and James Jennison all resided at the former nearby 19 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Heffelfinger resided at the former nearby 20 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Miller, John Ward, Miss Nellie Miller, and Franc B. Daniels all resided at the former nearby 21 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Alex Campbell, Jr., and Mrs. Mary Woodburn all resided at the former nearby 22 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Dickey, Mr. and Mrs. T. P. Jumper, and Walter Gage all resided at the former nearby 23 Eastman Avenue, that Dr. and Mrs. A. C. Fairbairn and S. A. Ainsworth all resided at the former nearby 24 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Bassett and Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Bassett all resided at the former nearby 25 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Tice and their daughters resided at the former nearby 26 Eastman Avenue, that Mrs. C. Virginia Brown, William A. Hankins, Robert H. Barclay, W. F. Adams, G. F. Beech, George F. Hubbard, and William H. Donahue all resided at the former nearby 27 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Partridge and T. A. Orr all resided at the former nearby 28 Eastman Avenue, that Mrs. E. R. Holbrook, William R. Holbrook, Miss Susie Clark, Miss Anna L. Millard, and D. W. Clark all resided at the former nearby 29 Eastman Avenue, that William Chatfield and his daughter and Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Chatfield resided at the former nearby 30 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. I. J. Covey, J. W. Perkins, Weed Munro, and Fred Munro all resided at the former nearby 32 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Joel M. Sheetz and Simon Meyers resided at the former nearby 34 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Bogardus resided at the former nearby 36 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. W. D. Rosbache and Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Huser all resided at the former nearby 38 Eastman Avenue, that Prof. and Mrs. C. C. Curtiss and Mrs. P. M. Curtiss all resided at the former nearby 40 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Breck and their daughter, F. P. Breck, Mr. and Mrs. Jesse E. Northrop, and Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Braslan all resided at the former nearby 42 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Gould resided at the former nearby 44 Eastman Avenue, that E. B. West and his daughter resided at the former nearby 46 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. L. S. Verney and Mr. and Mrs. S. T. Conlee all resided at the former nearby 49 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Foss resided at the former nearby 51 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Center, Mrs. P. Hyde, H. F. Adancourt, W. J. Burton, and H. V. Plank all resided at the former nearby 55 Eastman Avenue, that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Christian resided at the former nearby 57 Eastman Avenue, and that Mr. and Mrs. Franklin Goodwin resided at the former nearby 77 Eastman Avenue. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Ralph Waldo Stanford, a 1902 graduate and a lawyer, resided at the former nearby 28 Eastman Avenue and that George W. Meyer, an 1896 graduate and an attorney, resided at the former nearby 49 Eastman Avenue. The 1906 city directory indicates that Henry Tracy, a pressman employed by the Midland Linseed Company, resided at the nearby former 25 Eastman Avenue, that Mrs. Artiemecia Tracy boarded at the former nearby 25 Eastman Avenue, and that James L. McNall, a clerk employed by the North West Consolidated Milling Company, resided at the nearby former 56 Eastman Avenue. The 1909 city directory indicates that Leander Abrahams, a laborer, roomed at the former nearby 25 Eastman Avenue. The 1909 city directory indicates that James Adams, a porter, roomed at the former nearby 33 Eastman Avenue. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma F. Anderson, a waiter, boarded at the former nearby 38 Eastman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11754) indicate that Charles C. Florida (1899- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the Headquarters Company of the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, sandy hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a chauffeur at induction, was a State weigher employed by the State of Minnesota at the Flour Exchange Building after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Emma Roland, at the nearby former 20 Eastman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13627) indicate that William Eidem (1894- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Private in Company C in the 318th Infantry, who was born in Minneapolis, had gray eyes, dark brown hair, and a white complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a steelworker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was an elevator construction worker employed by the Otis Elevator Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 44 Eastman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12386) indicate that James Laughlin, Jr., (1888- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Private in Company 2 of the First Battalion of the 163rd Depot Brigade, who was born in Anthon, Iowa, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a teamster at induction, was discharged as disabled because of luxation of the fifth lumbar vertebra, was a student after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife at the nearby former 46 Eastman Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16829) indicate that John P. Monahan (1899- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Private First Class in Battery D of the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, sandy hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a miller at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Champagne, Aisne-Marne, St. Mihiel, and Meuse-Argonne, was a miller employed by the Washburn Crosby Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, John T. Monahan, at the nearby former 58 Eastman Avenue. Charles Carroll Curtiss (1837- ) was born in Clinton, New York, graduated from the Normal School at Albany, New York, in 1858, came to Minnesota in 1869, moved to Minneapolis in 1874, established a business school in Minneapolis in 1874, established a branch business school in St. Paul in 1879, and was a Mason. Charles C. Curtiss was the penmanship instructor at the Winona, Minnesota, Normal School from 1870 until 1877 and from 1881 until 1883. William H. Donahue (1859-1909) was born in Allen, Michigan, graduated from the University of Michigan Law School in 1881, moved to Minnesota and settled in Minneapolis, was appointed a judge in the Fourth Judicial District, and died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Paris Gibson (1830-1920,) the son of Abel Gibson and Ann Howard Gibson, was born in Brownfield, Oxford County, Maine, attended the common schools of Fryeburg, Maine, attended the Fryeburg Academy, Fryeburg, Maine, graduated from Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, in 1851, engaged in the real estate business, was a member of the Maine House of Representatives in 1854, married Valeria Goodenou Sweat, the daughter of Jesse Sweat and Valeria Sweat, in Brownfield, Maine, in 1858, moved to Minneapolis in 1858, built, with William W. Eastman, the first flour mill in Minneapolis, the Cataract Mill, in 1858, built, with William W. Eastman as the firm Messrs. Eastman, Gibson & Company, the first woolen mill in Minneapolis in 1864, the North Star Woolen Mill, lost his fortune in the Panic of 1873, was a contractor in the construction of a building at the University of Minnesota in 1876, moved to Fort Benton, Montana, in 1879, engaged in sheep raising, coal mining, railroads and water power, was a founder, the first postmaster, and the first mayor of the City of Great Falls, Montana, in 1882 after convincing railroad magnate James J. Hill to invest in a townsite at the falls and extend his railroad through the new city, was a delegate to the Montana State constitutional convention in 1889, was elected to the Montana State Senate in 1890, was a Democrat, was a Unitarian, was a U. S. Senator from Montana from 1901 until 1905, filling the vacancy caused by the resignation of William A. Clark, and died in Great Falls, Montana. In 1913, Ralph Waldo Stanford (1879- ) practiced real estate, insurance and collections law in Willmar, Minnesota, and was a supportive correspondent with Thomas E. Watson (1856-1922) of Thomson, Georgia, a Georgia lawyer, newspaper editor and publisher, politician, and Populist Party vice presidential candidate in 1896, when an indictment of Mr. Watson for sending political criticism deemed to be obscene material through the U. S. postal system was dismissed, and for the purchase of The Life & Times of Andrew Jackson. Ralph W. Standord of Willmar, Minnesota, was the Grand Master of the Masons in the State of Minnesota in 1938. George William Meyer (1860- ,) the son of Frederick Meyer and Minna Meyer, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, obtained no school education in boyhood and youth, lived at Galena, Illinois, from 1864 until 1879, was employed in a chair factory in 1873, moved to Frontenac, Minnesota, learned the stone cutter's trade, was elected the secretary of the Stone Cutters' Union, then attended night schools, graduated from the law department of the University of Minnesota in 1896, moved to Minneapolis in 1881, worked at the stone cutter trade at Minneapolis until 1894, was the national president of the Stone Cutters' Union from 1891 until 1896, was a member of the national executive board of the Stone Cutters' Union from 1887 until 1891, was a lawyer, began active practice of law in Minneapolis 1896, campaigned in several states for William McKinley at the personal request of Hon. Marcus A. Hanna during 1896, was a partner in the law firm of Meyer & Donahue in Minneapolis after 1903, was a 32nd degree Mason, was a member of the Mystic Shrine, was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was the grand warden of the Minnesota Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and officed at the Temple Court. Weed Munro (1853-1907,) the son of John Munro and Eveline Page Munro, was born in Elbridge, New York, graduated from the Munro Collegiate Institute in Elbridge, New York, in 1871, graduated from the University of Rochester in 1875, was a lawyer, practiced law at Syracuse, New York, from 1878 until 1880, came to Minnesota in 1880, practiced law in Minneapolis after 1880, was the receiver of the Bay St. Louis Syndicate in 1893, married Georgie F. De Camp of St. Paul in 1901, was a Democrat, was the president of the Minnesota State Board of Examiners in Law, was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa and Psi Upsilon college fraternities, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a life member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks in Minneapolis, was a Shriner, resided at 1716 Ninth Avenue South in 1901, and died in Minneapolis. There was a Weed Munro Law Scholarship at the University of Minnesota in 1939 funded from a bequest of Mrs. Georgie F. Munro. Franc B. Daniels ( -1926,) John Ward ( -1927,) James Jennison ( -1936,) and Alex Campbell ( -1949) all died in Hennepin County. Nellie M. Miller ( -1928,) Nellie Miller ( -1929,) Nellie E. Miller ( -1930,) and Nellie T. Miller ( -1939) all died in Hennepin County. Alex M. Campbell (1894-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McTavish, and died in Hennepin County.

9 Merriam Street: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that E. B. Crabtree Company, a garage, resided at the former nearby 45 Merriam Street and that the Salvation Army warehouse and garage was located at the nearby former 51-52 Merriam Street.

95 Merriam Street: Nicollet Island Inn. Built in 1900 (1893 according to the Nicollet Island Inn.) The structure is a three story, 40620 square foot, 24 room, hotel. The building was constructed as the Island Sash & Door Company, which continued its operations until 1899 despite a major fire on the island in 1893. After suffering disrepair, the building was rehabilitated by the Salvation Army in 1913, serving as a men's shelter for the next 60 years. In the late 1970's, the building was acquired by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation District. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

15 Wilder Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that the Central Pattern Works and Walz Engineering & Manufacturing Company was located at this address. The property currently is connected to the Nicollet Island Inn. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Murphy Transfer & Storage Company shop was located at the former nearby 11 Wilder Street.

16 Wilder Street: Nicollet Island Park Pavilion. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Kunz Oil Company was located at the former nearby 12-16 Wilder Street and that the St. Anthony Falls Dairy was located at the former nearby 24 Wilder Street.

25 Wilder Street: The property is owned by the City of Minneapolis Public Works Department, Right Of Way Division.

40 Wilder Street: Former Stock Food Co. of America/Former Durkee Atwood Building #2; Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 27200 square foot, park shelter building. In 1898, the J. R. Clark Box Company built a three-story, brick building near the southwest edge of Nicollet Island, which was initially powered by the Island Power overhead cable. In 1905, the Stock Food Company of America took over the building. In 1920, Durkee-Atwood, a manufacturer of oil, grease, and rubber goods, took over the building, which was torn down in 1985. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Durkee-Atwood Company was located at this address. Durkee-Atwood Incorporated was a manufacturer of power transmission products that was acquired by Pirrelli Power Transmission S. P. A. of Italy in 1990, with Lanny I. Kurysh as the chief operating officer for the period prior to the sale of the company, then was sold to Dayco Products of Dayton, Ohio, and Dayco’s power transmission division was acquired by Carlisle Power Transmission Products Inc. in 2001. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wilkin Brothers Boiler & Manufacturing Company was located at the former nearby 47 Wilder Street.

40 Power Street: Nicollet Island Park Pavilion. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The Nicollet Island Pavilion is a 10,000 square-foot building that doubles as both a public picnic shelter and a private rental facility. The park facility offers one of the best views of downtown Minneapolis, of the historic Horseshoe Falls, and of the Stone Arch Bridge. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Minneapolis Kiddie Gym Company, a manufacturer of playground equipment, and the National Carpet & Rug Cleaning Company were located at the former nearby 25 Power Street, that Coffin's Box & Lumber Company was located at the former nearby 31 Power Street, that the Island Millwork Company was located at the former nearby 35 Power Street, and that the Twin City Machine Company was located at the former nearby 39 Power Street.

60 Power Street: Nicollet Island Tea House. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

71 Power Street: The property is owned by the City of Minneapolis Public Works Department, Right Of Way Division.

2 Main Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that a Pure Oil Company gas station was located at this address. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15487) indicate that William S. Zigalla (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company I of the Third Pioneer Infantry, who was born in Russia, moved to Minnesota in 1913, had gray eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 8 1/2" tall, was a laborer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was a laborer after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 11 Main Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Noiseless Folder Company was located at the former nearby 9 Main Street NE, that Oscar S. Balling, a design and engineering firm, the Foley Manufacturing Company, a saw filing company, and the Ringer Do-nut Company, a machine manufacturing company, were located at the former nearby 11 Main Street NE, the C. H. Carlson Manufacturing Company was located at the former nearby 13-15 Main Street NE, that Gabriel J. Sarkis, a billiards company, was located at and Alex Charney, George Jacobs, and Riskaia Rohana all resided at the former nearby 17 Main Street NE, and that the Better Kake Baking Corporation was located at the former nearby 19 Main Street NE. Gabriel Joseph Sarkis ( -1943) died in Hennepin County.

20 Main Street NE: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#12669) indicate that Alec Kowaluk (1891- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Corporal in Company F of the 49th Infantry, who was born in Austria, had brown eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a flour miller at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a nailer after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 25 Main Street NE. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15918) indicate that Joseph B. Weidert (1890- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Corporal in the Student Army Training Corps at the Dunwoody Institute (Minneapolis,) who was born in Luxemberg, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a medium complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a maltster employed by the Minneapolis Malt & Grain Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 25 Main Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that DuNorth Hotel was located at the former nearby 25 Main Street NE. The Minneapolis Malt & Grain Company was organized by Burton F. Hales (1853-1930) in 1910.

110 First Avenue NE: The building is a multiple family rental/condominium building atop a parking ramp. The property was last sold in 2000 by Riverplace Inc to Falls Realty Corp for $10,000,000. The current owner of record is the Falls Realty Corp.

29 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant lot is the City of Minneapolis Department of Community Planning and Economic Development and the taxpayer of record is the Hennepin County Right Of Way Division.

100 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant lot is Northern States Power Company.

101 Main Street NE: The Village at Saint Anthony Falls. The structure contains 12 townhomes. The current owner of record is Housing Partners III-Lofts LLC.

102 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant property is the Great Northern Railway Company and the current taxpayer of record is the BNSF RailRoad. The 1909 city directory indicates that Deeb Abraham, a dry goods retailer, had his business and resided at the former nearby 109 Main Street NE. Deeb Abraham ( -1929) died in Hennepin County. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Hrabczak, a tailor, resided at the former nearby 107 Main Street NE, and that Abraham & Bye, a carriage dealer, resided at the former nearby 311 Main Street NE. [See note on the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad.]

201-203-205-207-209-211-213-215-217 Main Street NE: Site of Former Salisbury & Satterlee Company Complex; Built in 1985. The structure is multiple townhouse style condominiums. Unit #201 is a two story, 1328 square foot, five room, three bedroom, two bathroom, condo unit and was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to G. A. Overlie and M. T. Overlie for $75,800, and the current owner of record of the unit is George A. Overlie and the current taxpayers of record of the unit are George A. Overlie and Margaret Overlie. Unit #203 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Nancy Giguere for $73,750, in 1991 by David Niznik and Nancy Niznik to Paul Vaaleer and Katherine Vaaleer for $95,000, in 1996 by Paul Vaaleer and Katherine Vaaleer to Rachelle L. Roble for $132,500, in 2000 by R. L. Brombach and G. Brombach to Bridgid E. Dowdal for $200,000, and in 2002 by Bridgid E. Dowdal to Rabea J. Zayed for $369,900, and the current owner of record of the unit is Rabea J. Zayed. Unit #205 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Kay E. Olson for $77,219 and in 1993 by Kay E. Olson to Erica K. King for $92,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Erica K. King. Unit #207 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Martin R. Rockne and D. Rockne for $77,500 and in 1996 by Walter K. Warren to Mitchell Richter for $132,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Mitchell Steven Richter. Unit #209 was last sold in 1989 by Cys Building & Remodeling to L. T. Truong and J. G. Truong for $102,500, in 1997 by L. T. Truong and J. G. Truong to Louise O. Pope for $157,500, in 1999 by Louise O. Pope to James K. Swatosh for $180,000, and in 2004 by James K. Swatosh to Clark J. Vander Broek for $355,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Clark J. Vander Broek. Unit #211 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Lucy W. Riabokin for $72,602, and in 2004 by Lucy W. Riabokin to Lori Helman for $334,500, and the current owner of record of the unit is Lori Helman. Unit #213 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Michael P. Rainville for $73,305, in 1993 by Michael P. Rainville to Stephen T. McClellan for $97,500, and in 2001 by Stephen T. McClellan to Julie R. Daulton for $206,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Julie R. Daulton. Unit #215 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to J. J. Waselak and B. H. Waselak for $76,320, in 1988 by J. J. Waselak and B. H. Waselak to K. Klang and K. Rush for $96,964, and the current owners of record of the unit are K. J. Klang and K. L. Rush. Unit #217 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Marsha Rosenberger for $77,445, in 1995 by Marsha Rosenberger to John D. Lassman for $116,000, in 2000 by John D. Lassman to Elizabeth J. Fallon for $215,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Elizabeth J. Fallon. Unit #219 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Rachael M. Scherer for $77,485, in 1992 by R. Scherer and S. Imholte to John A. Zitur for $107,500, and the current owner of record of the unit is John A. Zitur. Unit #221 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Steven W. Davis for $110,000, in 1990 by Steven W. Davis to Kathleen I. Doran for $103,500, in 1999 by K.D. Henderson and T. C. Henderson to M. E. Connoy and R. J. Connoy for $210,000, and the current owner of record of the unit is Michael E. Connoy and the current taxpayers of record are Michael E. Connoy and Ramona J. Connoy. The Salisbury & Satterlee Company was a mattress and pillow manufacturer from the early 20th Century. The Salisbury & Satterlee Company building was built in 1885.

202 Main Street NE: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

204 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant property is the Great Northern Railway Company and the current taxpayer of record is the BNSF RailRoad. [See note on the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad.]

100-102-104-106-108 Third Avenue NE: Unit #100 was built in 1986, the unit is a two story, 1720 square foot, six room, four bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, the unit was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Jonathan A. Balk for $108,969, and the owner of Unit #100 is Jonathan A. Balk. Unit #102 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Shirley E. Tuck for $72,145, in 1988 by Shirley Tuck to Mary Hickey for $89,000, in 1995 by Edward O. Lavery to Roberta A. Roth for $101,000, in 1997 by Roberta A. Roth to W. W. and A. S. Tallman for $122,900, in 2002 by Wade W. Tallman to Martin J. Strong for $250,000, and in 2005 by Martin J. Strong to John T. Fruit for $299,000, and is currently owned by John T. Fruit. Unit #104 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to Patrick D. Rainville for $70,870 and in 1993 by P. D. Rainville, Jr. and C. Rainville to Doreen L. Engebretson for $87,500, and is currently owned by Doreen L. Engebretson. Unit #106 was last sold in 1985 by Cys Building & Remodeling to S. Newsom and J. Zemke for $70,717, and the current owners of record of the unit are J. L. Zemke and S. L. Newsom and the current taxpayers of record are J. L. Zemke and S. L. Zemke. Unit #108 was last sold in 1986 by Cys Building & Remodeling to S. Zagers and M. Cooper for $99,396, in 1991 by C. and S. M. Zager to Vaughn B. Rasmussen for $92,677, and in 1993 by Vaughn B. Rasmussen II to J. Phillip Dworsky for $119,000, and is currently owned by J. Phillip Dworksy.

301 Main Street NE: Built in 1982. The structure is a one story, 17895 square foot, community center building. Mrs. Nancy Shadan reisded at this address in 1918. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#21341) indicate that George Shadan (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company D of the 360th Infantry, who was born in Bennyh, Syria, moved to Minnesota in 1912, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was a store clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including St. Mihiel and Meuse-Argonne, was a employed by after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Nancy Shadan, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Reshr, a grocer, and Charles T. McNiff resided at this address. Charles McNiff (1881- ) was born in Minneapolis, was a mixed blood with one-quarter Chippewa heritage, married, and the couple had three children, George D. McNiff (1914- ,) Charles J. McNiff (1918- ,) and Earl H. McNiff (1920- .) Charles Thomas "Charley" McNiff ( -1946) died in Carlton County, Minnesota. The current owner of record is the Ukranian American Community Center.

315 Main Street NE: The property is a parking lot. The current owner of record is the Ukranian American Community Center. Charles Smith, a bartender, boarded at the former nearby 325 Main Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

333 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant lot is the Ukrainian American Community Center Inc.

335 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant lot is the Ukrainian American Community Center Inc.

400 Main Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that the Lender Cut Glass Company was located at this address. The current owner of record of the vacant property is the Hennepin County Right Of Way Division.

401 Main Street NE: Built in 1992. The structure is a two story, 2564 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, house. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#15745) indicate that Harry Stanage Cheney (1880- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a First Lieutenant in the Motor Transport Corps, who was born in Mechanicsburg, Ohio, moved to Minnesota in 1912, was a salesman employed by the B. F. Nelson Manufacturing Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Bertha Iva Cheney, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the B. F. Nelson Manufacturing Company, a roofing materials dealer, was located at this address. Harry S. Cheney was the assistant to the vice president of the Backus-Brooks Lumber Company in 1928. The current owner of record is Peter Pishko and the current taxpayers of record are Peter Pishko and Nadia Pishko.

402 Main Street NE: The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

405 Main Street NE: Built in 1988. The structure is a one story, 1534 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Minneapolis Roofing & Cornice Company was located at this address. The property was last sold in 1998 by Eichinger and Eggers to Mefleh and Berg-Mefleh for $118,270. The current owner of record is Antoine Mefleh and the current taxpayers of record are A. Mefleh and G. H. Berg-Mefleh.

408 Main Street NE: The current owner of record of the vacant property is the Minnesota Department Of Transportation.

416 Main Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that John Douglas, Mrs. Balbina Kowalski, John Lucas, and Louis Moran all resided at this address. John Douglas ( -1931,) John Thomas Lucas ( -1945,) and John W. Lucas ( -1951) all died in Hennepin County. John Lucas (1895-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Engle, and died in Hennepin County. John Lucas (1910-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marteen, and died in Hennepin County. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board.

417 Main Street NE: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1096 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex Jacobs resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1986 by C. V. Daniewicz to M. Hark for $78,000. The current owner of record is Marcellino Y. Hark.

423 Main Street NE: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1221 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, split-level house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Durant and Thomas Miller resided at this address. Joseph Summines Durant ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. Joseph H. Durant ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1986 by R. W. and K. M. Doran to E. F. Hassan and E. Ayoub for $104,100. The current owner of record is Ehsan F. Hassan and the current taxpayers of record are Ehab Ayoub and Ehsan F. Hassan. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#16741) indicate that Lawrence A. Rosso (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Company A of the 329th Battalion of the Tank Corps, who was born in Omaha, Nebraska, moved to Minnesota in 1897, had brown eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 3 1/16" tall, was a tractor mechanic at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a clerk employed by Dom Rosso after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Dom Rosso, at the nearby former 425 Main Street NE.

429 Main Street NE: Built in 1976. The structure is a one story, 1088 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, two bathroom, split-level house. The current owner of record is Robert Jacob.

434 1/2 Main Street NE: The 1909 city directory indicates that John G. Buehler resided at this address. John George Buehler ( -1932) and John G. Buehler ( -1952) both died in Hennepin County. The vacant property is owned by the Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#16105) indicate that Egnatz Miskowiec resided at the former nearby 435 Main Street N.E. in 1918. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#23298) indicate that Mike John Juzefacuk (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company I of the 58th Pioneer Infantry, who was born in Rossoss, Poland, moved to Minnesota in 1914, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a laborer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Muese-Argonne Offensive, was a laborer employed by the Nelson Paper Mill after the completion of service, and was married, resided at the nearby former 439 Main Street.

400 Marshall Street NE: The vacant lot is owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. In 1905, Joseph Klimczak and Joseph Klimczak, Jr., both resided at the nearby former 414 Marshall Street NE. In 1906, Joseph Klimczak and Joseph Klimczak, Jr., both resided at the nearby former 430 Marshall Street NE. Agnes Washa was a cook at the nearby former 77 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. May Fadock, a helper, boarded at the nearby former 97 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frank Mystoysk, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 114 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. George Andro, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 327 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Alex Quash, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 409 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frank H. Skibinski, an artist, resided at the nearby former 409 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Zyk Andrew, a laborer, and Joseph Pietrzak, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 414 Marshall Street NE, Michael Holk, a laborer, and Peter Kolva, a laborer, all boarded at the nearby former 414 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Basil Lukachivitz, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 430 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Michael Burk, a laborer, and Andrew Sorlinski, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 416 Marshall Street NE, Leon Gacie, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 433 Marshall Street NE, and Frank Kanie, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 416 Marshall Street NE, and Joseph Klempka, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 433 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Andrew Ziek, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 414 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Stanley Bolko, a laborer, John Fisher, a fireman employed by McVoy Tub, Pail & Package Company, and John Smith, a tanner, all resided at the nearby former 432 Marshall Street NE and Rosa Baliska, a helper, boarded at the nearby former 432 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Leon Glacek, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 433 Marshall Street NE and John Rapacz, a laborer, and Peter Radzck, a laborer, both boarded at the nearby former 433 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul Nogly, who operated a restaurant, and Joseph Tyszkiewicz resided at the former nearby 425 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 435 Marshall Street NE was vacant. Frank H. Skibinski ( -1931,) Paul Nogly ( -1935,) and Joseph Tyszkiewicz ( -1945) all died in Hennepin County.

437 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1978. The structure is a one story, 1,230 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. John Sataro, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 430 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The property is owned by Shiv N. and Maya Tandon.

500 Marshall Street NE: The vacant lot is owned by the Minnesota Department of Transportation. The 1909 city directory indicates that Frank Jaromin operated a bar at this address while he boarded at 47 Seventh Avenue NE and that Peter Liemba, a laborer, resided at this address.

501 Marshall Street NE: The property is owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. John Zlozen, a truckman for the Wisconsin Central RailRoad, Anthony Boise, a laborer, and Jacob Powlik, a laborer, all resided at the former nearby 503 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Lawrence Sabla, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 507 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Stanislaus Smuda, a laborer, and Stanislaus Zmuda, a helper, both resided at the former nearby 509 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. In 1911, Joseph Klimczak, Jr., resided at the nearby former 509 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Malik and Mrs. Rose Osicka both resided at the former nearby 503 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank D. Stepp and Ole Sveum both resided at the former nearby 507 Marshall Street NE. Joe Malik ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. The 1930 city directory indicates that George W. Betzler and Walter T. Welsh both resided at the former nearby 509 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter J. Sopel and William Wagner both resided at the former nearby 511 Marshall Street NE. Frank Stepp (1877-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grant, and died in Hennepin County. Ole Benard Sveum ( -1950) died in Brown County, Minnesota. George W. Betzler (1898-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Betzler, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Walter Welsh (1865-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Redwood County, Minnesota. Peter Sopel ( -1936) died in Hennepin County.

515 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1974. The structure is a one story, 1,288 square foot, five room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The property is owned by Dwight L. Danner. James M. Danaher, a tinsmith, had his shop at the former nearby 517 Marshall Street NE, and resided at 438 N E Main Street according to the 1909 city directory. Rious Elies, a grocer, had a shop and resided at the former nearby 517 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 517 Marshall Street NE was vacant, that Oscar E. Sundeen and Halle Turn both resided at the former nearby 518 Marshall Street NE, and that Anton Ferris, Michael Hanne, Joseph Jacobs, and John Joseph all resided at the former nearby 519 Marshall Street NE. Oscar E. Sundeen (1879-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jonson, and died in Hennepin County. Joseph Jacobs ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. Joseph F. Jacobs ( -1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Renner, and died in Hennepin County.

521 Marshall Street NE: The property is owned by the City of Minneapolis and is a Public Works Department right of way for 309 Second Avenue South, Unit # 201. The 1909 city directory indicates that Michael Henne, in the dry goods business at this address, also resided at this address and Embark Joseph, a laborer, boarded at this address. In 1909, Anton Ferris, a peddler, and Paul Jacob, a peddler, both resided at this address and Thomas John, a laborer, Alex Jacob, a laborer, Anthony Saba, a laborer, Walter Lahud, a laborer, Frank Sabak, a laborer, George Simon, a laborer, and John Simon, a laborer, all also boarded at this address according to the city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Marie Hedberg, a grocer, and Assid M. Henne both resided at this address. Michael Henne ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. Anthony Edward Saba (1906-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stevens, and died in Hennepin County. George Simon (1885-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Marie Effie Hedberg (1904-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Shikaney, and died in Hennepin County. Assed Michael Henne (1907-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Shikaney, and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Assed Henne (1907-1989) resided at some period of time in Minnesota. Wibley Campbell, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 524 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

601 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1974. The structure is a one story, 1,212 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The property was last sold in 1997 and sold for $128,500. The property is owned by Jay D. Roble. John Berg, a laborer, and Nicholas Berg, a helper, both resided at the nearby former 605 Marshall Street NE and Susanna M. Berg, a sealer, boarded at the nearby former 605 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Flynn & Dietz meat market, a partnership of Terrence M. Flynn and John Dietz, was located at the nearby former 607 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Napoleon P. Baillargeon, an engineer, resided at the nearby former 607 Marshall Street NE and Fred A. Baillargeon, an oiler, and Paul H. Baillargeon, an engineer, both boarded at the nearby former 607 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Elizabeth Jenkins, a cook, boarded at the nearby former 608 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Joseph Tuschhoff, a baker located at the nearby former 609 Marshall Street NE, resided at 124 Seventh Avenue NE according to the 1909 city directory. The Weber Store was located at the former 604 Marshall Street NE in 1910. The 1930 city directory indicates that Spencer W. Larson, a barber, resided at the former nearby 602 Marshall Street NE, that Mrs. Rose Allaire and Henry F. Kieschold resided at the former nearby 604 Marshall Street NE, that the former nearby 605 Marshall Street NE and the former nearby 607 Marshall Street NE were vacant, that John Kolodziej and Peter Ziemba resided at the former nearby 608 Marshall Street NE, that the Maire Paint & Manufacturing Company was located at 609 Marshall Street NE, and that Mrs. Anna J. Sworsky resided at the former nearby 610 Marshall Street NE. John Kolodziej ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. John Kolodziej (1874-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Peter J. Ziemba (1891-1974) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Anna Julie Sworsky ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. In 1911, the Maire Paint Company advertised by issuing postcards with a photograph of Minnehaha Falls.

611 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1,350 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded single family dwelling. The property is currently owned by Mary L. Knauer. Dennis D. Harrington, a janitor at the Emerson School, and Joseph Pribilowic, a varnisher, both resided at the nearby former 612 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Lesneg, a laborer, and Anton Klimmeck, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 613 Marshall Street NE and Stephen Gorka, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 613 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Alexander Zink, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 613 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frank Sachs, a laborer, and Alfred Primeau, a clerk, both resided at the nearby former 614 Marshall Street NE and Victoria Gorkin, a cook, boarded at the nearby former 614 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Rzeszutek, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 615 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Charles Kopac, a bartender, resided at the nearby former 616 Marshall Street NE and John Trueska, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 616 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Roman Rachynsky and Alf Maahs resided at the former nearby 612 Marshall Street NE, that Henry C. Hefner resided at the former nearby 614 Marshall Street NE, that John Duhany resided at the former nearby 615 Marshall Street NE, that George Rapaca resided at the former nearby 616 Marshall Street NE, and that Mrs. Nellie Klimek resided at the former nearby 616 1/2 Marshall Street NE. Alfred E. Maahs (1883-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schieneman, and died in Nicollet County, Minnesota.

617 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1,144 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded split level single family residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that William Galush, a bartender, and John Sonolak, a laborer, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Mirocha resided at this address. The property is currently owned by Rudolph Rechelbacher and Gretl Rechelbacher. Charles Kalpa, a bartender, boarded at the nearby former 616 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Grys, a yardman, John Henclenski, a machinist, and George Rapacz, a saloon keeper at this address, all resided at the nearby former 618 Marshall Street NE and John Heinski, a laborer employed by the Minneapolis Bedding Company, boarded at the nearby former 618 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Arkade Ignotovitz, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 619 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. William R. Whitney, a fireman, resided at the nearby former 616 Marshall Street NE according to the 1890 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur Appleman, a grocer, and John Stoltman resided at the former nearby 618 Marshall Street NE. John J. Stoltman (1884-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County.

623 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1973. The structure is a one story, 1,023 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded split level single family residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that Michael Fudali, a machine operator, and Sebastian Tobias, a laborer, both resided at this address and Anthony Kasprak, a laborer, Ignatz Kaprak, a laborer, Frank Pikala, a helper, Peter Pikala, a laborer, and Frank Stopka, a helper, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Vontor resided at this address. The property is currently owned by Stanley A. Zandlo. Joseph Daheim, a clerk, resided at the former nearby 625 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Boyda and Nicholas Petroski resided at the former nearby 625 Marshall Street NE. Frank J. Boyda (1885-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Glowiak, and died in Hennepin County.

629 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1973. The structure is one story, 1,068 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The property is owned by Jerry and Sharon Bushie. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eliza Deslaviers, Calixe Duhe, and Christ Mattison resided at the former nearby 630 Marshall Street NE and that Mrs. Elizabeth Cody and Henry J. Doll resided at the former nearby 634 Marshall Street NE. Christ Martin Mattison (1903-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bjerken, and died in Red Lake County, Minnesota. Elizabeth M. Cody (1905-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Seivertson, and died in Hennepin County. Elizabeth L. Cody (1907-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bunker, and died in Hennepin County. Elizabeth Cody (1903-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wermerskirchin, and died in Hennepin County. Henry J. Doll ( -1950) died in Hennepin County.

635 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1974. The structure is a split entry, 1,366 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The 1880 Federal census indicates that Edward Vonkustor (1804- ,) a member of the household of Mary Uhlein, resided in Minneapolis. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. Vonkustor resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Minnesota Cleaning & Dyeing Company was located at this address and that Christ O. Johnson and William R. Mulvihill resided at this address. Edward Vonkustor was born in Germany to parents who were also born in Germany and married Frances/Francis Vonkustor (1815-,) who was born to parents who also were born in Germany. Mary Uhlein (1838- ,) a widow, was born in Germany, had parents who were born in Germany, was a housekeeper, and had four children, Margaret Uhlein (1868- ,) a student, Francis Uhlein (1870- ,) a student, Edward Uhlein (1876- ,) and Bertha Uhlein (1878- .) Emanuel Von Kuster ( -1924) died in Hennepin County. Edward E. Uhlein (1875-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Von Kuster, and died in Hennepin County. Christ O. Johnson ( -1950) died in Traverse County, Minnesota. William Mulvihill ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Frank Pecchia. Wesley Baehr, a teamster, boarded at the former nearby 634 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Gustave Holmberg, a driver, boarded at the former nearby 636 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Mrs. Gertrude Laux and Asa J. Sprague, a carpenter, both resided at the former nearby 638 Marshall Street NE and William Laux, a machinist, August Holmberg, a hackman, and Eva M. Sprague, an artist, all boarded at the former nearby 638 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Joseph Primeau, a teamster, resided at the former nearby 640 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leo Julkowski resided at the former nearby 637 Marshall Street NE, that William Wojcik, in the shoe repair business, resided at the former nearby 639 Marshall Street NE, that Mrs. Sophia Miekodau resided at the former nearby 640 Marshall Street NE, and that the former nearby 700 Marshall Street NE was vacant. Leo Julkowski ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. William B. Wojcik (1929-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wojdyla, and died in Hennepin County.

701 Marshall Street NE: The vacant commercial property is owned by Tuttle Inc. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mitchell Zdun, a partner with Paul Worwa and associated with Worwa & Zdun, a saloon, resided at this address and Anton Rood, a tailor employed by Dahlgren & Meyer, boarded at this address. Mikalaj Zdun ( -1920) died in Hennepin County. Paul Liyocki, laborer, and Michael Stanek, a laborer, both resided at the former nearby 704 Marshall Street NE and John Zadlo, a laborer, boarded at the former nearby 704 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Benn Benjamin, a dry goods dealer located at the former nearby 702 Marshall Street NE, resided at 713 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Harold O. Cooperman, a student, resided at the former nearby 706 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Misjuk, a barber, Arthur Linton, Carol J. Olson, Chris Olson, and Peter Repko all resided at the former nearby 702 Marshall Street NE, that Frank Boyda, a meat vendor, resided at the former nearby 704 Marshall Street NE, and that John A. Zyck, who operated a billiard hall, resided at the former nearby 706 Marshall Street NE. Frank J. Boyda (1885-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Glowiak, and died in Hennepin County.

707 Marshall Street NE: The vacant commercial property is owned by Tuttle Inc. The 1909 city directory indicates that Emil Fisher, a salesman, resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Peter Kolody resided at this address. Peter Kolody (1884-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The 1906 city directory indicates that Elizabeth V. McNamara, a teacher, and Margaret McNamara, a student, both boarded at the nearby former 710 Marshall Street and that Thomas McNamara, a polieman, resided at the nearby former 710 Marshall Street. Benn Benjamin, a dry goods dealer located at the former nearby 702 Marshall Street NE, resided at the former nearby 713 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Harrington, a yard clerk, John J. Harrington, a foreman, and Stanley Janos, a laborer, all resided at the former nearby 710 Marshall Street NE and Helen Harrington, a stenographer, boarded at the former nearby 710 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Ellen Fryer, the widow of William Fryer, resided at the former nearby 714 Marshall Street NE and Mabel Fryer, a sealer, and Sarah Fryer, a labeler, both boarded at the former nearby 714 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raymond Griffin resided at the former nearby 710 Marshall Street NE, that Mrs. Mary V. Kozak resided at the former nearby 711 Marshall Street NE, that Joseph Sularz resided at the former nearby 714 Marshall Street NE, and that Peter Masica resided at the former nearby 715 Marshall Street NE. Raymond L. Griffin (1910-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Prochaska, and died in Hennepin County. Mary Kozak ( -1947) died in Hennepin County. Joseph Sularz (1986-1977) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Peter Masica (1888-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Masley, and died in Hennepin County. Peter W. Masica ( -1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Peter Masica ( -1969) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Peter V. Masica (1893-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Purdes, and died in Hennepin County. Peter J. Masica (1913-1998) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Loss, and died in Hennepin County. Ellen Fryer ( -1916) and Ben Benjamin ( -1950) both died in Hennepin County. Mabel C. Fryer (1898-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Van Hook, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Sarah Fryer (1913-1991) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kopmar, and died in Hennepin County. Helen Harrington (1880-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Harrington, and died in Hennepin County. Helen G. Harrington (1900-1977) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Holcher, and died in Hennepin County.

717-729 Marshall Street NE: Elsie's Restaurant/Bowling Center; Built in 1900, 1940, and 1958. The property is a combination of three buildings. The 1900 structure is a two story, 8,776 square foot, commercial structure with two two bedroom apartments. The 1940 structure is a one story, 3,780 square foot, commercial building. The 1958 structure is a one story, 16,565 square foot, commercial building with two apartments. The property is owned by Tuttle Inc. The 1906 city directory indicates that Florian Traczyk, a laborer, and Staislaus Traczyk, a laborer, both boarded at 725 Marshall Street NE. The 1909 city directory indicates that John Thomas was a saloon keeper at 729 Marshall Street NE and who also resided at that address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Darling Curtain Cleaners was located at 717 Marshall Street NE, that Sarah Cohn, a grocer, and Nicholas A. Zeller resided at 719 Marshall Street NE, that Toill S. Krawczyk, a mechanic, and Earl A. Kirchgatter resided at 721 Marshall Street NE, that 723 Marshall Street NE was vacant, and that Julius Herynski, a barber, resided at 725 Marshall Street NE. In 1986, Norman Mastrian purchased a number of stolen furs from Terry Jon Martin at 719 Marshall Street NE. Norman Mastrian was the middleman in the murder for hire by Dick W. C. Anderson of Carol Thompson, the wife of attorney T. Eugene Thompson. Nicholas A. Zeller (1881-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wettle, and died in Winona County, Minnesota. Teofil S. Krawczyk ( -1933) died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Teofil Krawczyk (1885-1973) resided for a time in Pennsylvania. Social Security records indicate that Earl Kirchgatter (1904-1994) resided for a period in Minnesota and died in Tucson, Minnesota. Julius Herynski ( -1953) died in Hennepin County. John Ewald, associated with Luxem & Ewald, a wholesale produce company, resided at the former nearby 715 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Michael Schuak, a cooper, boarded at the former nearby 718 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John E. Bailey, a lineman, resided at the former nearby 720 Marshall Street NE and Alice M. Bailey, a supervisor employed by the North West Telephone Exchange, and Mollie L. Bailey, a clerk employed by the North West Telephone Exchange, both boarded at the former nearby 720 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John H. Smith, asistant superintendent of the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, resided at the former nearby 722 Marshall Street NE and John J. Hohler, a filler, Nicholas Hohler, a helper, Catherine Hobler, a packer, and Anna Smith, a stenographer employed by the North West Dental Laboratory, all boarded at the former nearby 722 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Archibald Benolkin, a baker, and May Benolkin, a cutter, both boarded at the former nearby 722 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Zenon Helebouicz/Hlebowicz operated a barber shop at the former nearby 722 Marshall Street NE and resided at 926 Main Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Joseph Sliwa, a shoemaker, Frank Zieglin, a laborer, Peter Szczech, and Lawrence Tomczyk, a laborer, all resided at the former nearby 728 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anthony Gacek resided at the former nearby 720 Marshall Street NE, that Stanley Kwitak resided at the former nearby 722 Marshall Street NE, and that the former nearby 728 Marshall Street NE was vacant. Anthony Gacek ( -1939) and Stanley Kwitak ( -1940) both died in Hennepin County.

800 Marshall Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha Appleman, a grocer, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Oscar Cooperman, a student, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2000 by Norm and Harrison Frohwein to Wendy J. Bergs for $243,000. The vacant industrial property is owned by Graco Minnesota Inc.

801 Marshall Street NE: Mancino's Town Pump Bar And Cafe; Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 3,840 square foot, commercial establishment. It previously was known as Joe's Town Pump, the N. E. Yacht Club, and the Northeast Yacht Club. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stanley J. Cossen, involved in the soft drink business,resided at this address. The property is owned by Todd Parker. Aaron J. Engal and Simon D. Engal, both associated with Engal Brothers, a clothier, resided at the nearby former 802 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Andrew Budis, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 803 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Susan L. Hickson, the widow of Patrick Hickson, and Albert A. Jackson, a stonegrinder, both resided at the nearby former 808 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frank Bochnsek, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 808 Marshall Street NE and Frank Bohlac, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 808 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Zalucki resided at the former nearby 802 Marshall Street NE, that John W. Dubetz, a shoe seller, resided at the former nearby 804 Marshall Street NE, that the former nearby 805 Marshall Street NE was vacant, that Stanley Czyscon resided at the former nearby 806 Marshall Street NE, and that Al Benz and Leo Skomea resided at the former nearby 808 Marshall Street NE. Joseph Zalucki (1888-1965) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Albert A. Benz (1880-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schoenhutt, and died in Hennepin County. Simon David Engal ( -1911) and Aaron J. Engal ( -1947) both died in Hennepin County.

809 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1923. The structure is a two story, 1,512 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, homesteaded single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Jerome and Peter Roman resided at this address. John E. Jerome ( -1943) died in Aitkin County, Minnesota. Peter Roman ( -1943) and Peter Roman ( -1966) both died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Peter Roman (1881-1966) resided in Minneapolis and in St. Anthony, Minnesota. The property is owned by Daniel L. Polsfuss. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 812 Marshall Street NE was vacant.

813 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,986 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, single family dwelling that was converted into a homesteaded duplex. The 1909 city directory indicates that Leo H. Hass, a yardman employed by the Pittsburgh Coal Company, resided at this address. John A. Kelly, the father of World War I veteran Frederick J. Kelly, resided at this address in 1918. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#17777) indicate that Frederick J. Kelly (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Battery C of the 313th Field Artillery, who was born in Minneapolis, had hazel eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 3" tall, was a bookkeeper at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a bank clerk employed by North West National Bank after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, John A. Kelly, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Wojtas resided at this address. According to Nancy Anderson Unruh, Harold E. Anderson ( -2001,) his wife, Mary M. Viater Anderson ( -1988,) and their children, Nancy Anderson, Richard Anderson, Elaine Anderson, Mary Anderson, and Louise Anderson, resided at this address until sometime in the early 1970's. According to Ms. Unruh, her father was a handyman, did all the renovations to the building, with the exception of the second exit upstairs, and built the back porch and the garage. Harold E. Anderson and Mary M. Viater Anderson sold the property to __?__ Mancino, the owner of Mancino's Town Pump Bar And Cafe in the early 1970's and Mr. Mancino subsequently sold the property to its current owner, Robert G. Blaine. Harold E. Anderson and Mary M. Viater Anderson subsequently resided in Mora, Minnesota, and the Coon Rapids, Minnesota, where they both died. Joseph Wojtas (1887-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Joseph Wojtas (1921-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sandok, and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Joseph Wojtas (1921-1988) resided in Minneapolis and in St. Anthony, Minnesota. The property is owned by Robert G. Blaine. The address is also the location of Studio Z-7 Publishing, of which Jeff R. Lonto is the publisher. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Fuller and Mrs. Alma P. Malchow resided at the former nearby 818 Marshall Street NE. Alma H. Malchow (1891-1977) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Alma Malchow (1891-1977) resided in Minneapolis and in Richfield, Minnesota.

821 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1964. The structure is a three story, 9960 square foot, eight unit apartment house. The building has four one bedroom units and four two bedroom units. The 1909 city directory indicates that Frank Hans, a cooper, and James Quinn, a fireman, both resided at this address and that Edward Barry, a bricklayer, Cornelius F. Barry, a teamster, Margaret Barry, a clerk, William Barry, a teamster, and James E. Barry, a helper, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael E. Murray resided at this address. Frank S. Hans (1881-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. James E. Barry ( -1914,) Edward Barry ( -1926,) and Cornelius F. Barry ( -1942) all died in Hennepin County. Edward Francis Barry (1889-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Marguerite R. Herrmann on behalf of Mary Jane Schaal.

824 Marshall Street NE: The vacant industrial property is owned by Graco Minnesota Inc.

829 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1464 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, single family rental residence. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew Smoka resided at this address. The property is owned by Marguerite R Herrmann on behalf of Mary Jane Schaal.

900 Marshall Street NE: The vacant industrial property is owned by Graco Minnesota Inc.

901-903 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1976. The structure is a one story, 1,920 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded double bungalow. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Semsock resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1996 by Tim Carlson and Lauri Carlson to Boyce M. Mohn for $115,900. The property is owned by Boyce M. Mohn. Edward Long, a machine handler, resided at the nearby former 903 Marshall Street NE and Catherine M. Long, a clerk with L. S. Donaldson & Company, William H. Long, a clerk with the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, and Margaret M. Long, a clerk with The Leader, all boarded at the nearby former 903 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. [See note on the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad.]

909 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1976. The structure is a two story, 1,584 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. Joseph R. La Belle, a teamster, resided at the nearby former 911 Marshall Street NE, Annie L. Barden, a waiter, boarded at the nearby former 911 Marshall Street NE, and Annie L. Bardin, a waiter, roomed at the nearby former 911 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The property is owned by Adel Ebrahim and Saher Mohamed. The 1930 city directory indicates that Cyryl Kolodzly resided at the former nearby 911 Marshall Street NE.

915 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,902 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, single family residence converted into a rental duplex. The 1930 city directory indicates that Minnie Malchow and John Mirocha both resided at this address. The property is owned by Steven Jordan. Peter A. Swanson, a hostler, resided at the nearby former 917 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Alonzo Bohnot, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 918 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex Skrypec and Fred A. Olsen resided at the former nearby 917 Marshall Street NE. Peter August Swanson ( -1926) and Alex Skrypec ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. Frederick Aldro Olsen (1890-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Larson, and died in Hennepin County.

921 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1975. The structure is a one story, 1,736 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The property was last sold in 1989 by M. Murzyn and P. Murzyn to M. A. Ebrahim for $95,000. The property is owned by Ebrahim Mohamed. Mrs. Mary Bates resided at the nearby former 923 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Jaros, Dr. Jacob A. Polzak, and Mrs. Mary Polzak resided at the former nearby 923 Marshall Street NE. John J. Jaros ( -1954) died in Hennepin County. John J. Jaros (1900-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tomniczak, and died in Hennepin County. James A. Polzak ( -1974,) also known as Jacob A. Polzak, died in Hennepin County.

927 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1,469 square foot, ten room, three bedroom, two bathroom, single family residence converted into a duplex. The 1909 city directory indicates that Patrick F. Sullivan, a laborer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas W. Heimbrecht resided at this address. The property is homesteaded and is owned by Victoria M. Cox. Anna Grabow, the widow of John W. Grabow, resided at the nearby former 929 Marshall Street NE and Charles W. Edridge, a plumber, and Charles Snowdon, a laborer, both roomed at the nearby former 929 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John R. Hollander resided at the nearby former 1007 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Stone resided at the former nearby 929 Marshall Street NE and that the J. P. Engstrom Lumber Company was located at 930 Marshall Street NE. John Hollander ( -1917) and John P. Engstrom ( -1939) both died in Hennepin County. Anna Grabow ( -1915) died in Fillmore County.

1011 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1971. The structure is a 40 unit, four story, 40,962 square foot, apartment building. The building includes three efficiency apartments, 21 one bedroom apartments, and 16 two bedroom apartments. The property is owned by Dr. Sheldon C. Siegel and the current taxpayer of record is the 1011 Development Partnership LLP, located at 1500 Lasalle Avenue. John J. Hanzlick, a woodworker, boarded at the nearby former 1007 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Sophia Henkes, the widow of Hubert Henkes, resided at the nearby former 1013 Marshall Street NE and Alma M. Henkes, a folder, and Walter F. Henkes, a clerk employed by the Patterson & Stevenson Company, both boarded at the nearby former 1013 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

1015 Marshall Street NE: The vacant property is owned by Laura Purcell and the current taxpayer of record is Fossland-Olson Inc., located in Coon Rapids, Minnesota. The building on the site was built in 1900. John Gotzak, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 1019 Marshall Street NE and John Holeva, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 1019 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

1029 Marshall Street NE: Scott's 1029 Bar/Former Laura's 1029 Bar/Former Laurie's 1029 Bar; Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 7,760 square foot, retail building. The 1909 city directory indicates that John Garrigan ran a boarding house at this address and that Ferdinand Birkle, a tailor for John Reger, Theodore Guenther, a bottler, Andrew T. Hangen, a nailer, Peter Jaroscak, a bartender, John Johnson, a laborer, John Kelly, a laborer, Frank H. Richards, a scaler, and Henry Tilton, a carpenter, all boarded at this address. It previously was the 1029 Bar and Laura's 1029 Bar. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11374) indicate that Carl Hjalman Larson (1888- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Fireman First Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in La Grange, Illinois, moved to Minnesota in 1913, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7 1/4" tall, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Emma Larson, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert Kania, who ran a boarding house, resided at this address. Theodore Guenther ( -1915,) John T. Garrigan ( -1938,) Peter Jaroscak ( -1939,) Ferdinand Birkle ( -1941,) and John Reger ( -1953) all died in Hennepin County. John Reger (1898-1971) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Fossland-Olson, Inc., located in Coon Rapids, Minnesota, doing business as Scott's 1029 Bar, which had a liquor license from the City of Minneapolis from 2002 through 2006. H. E. Wilcox Motor Car Company was located at the nearby former 1030 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Anton Emerling, a machinist, resided at the nearby former 1030 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The John Wilcox Sash & Door Company was located at the former 1030 Marshall Street NE in 1910. The Wilcox-Bennett Carburetor Company was located at the former 1030 Marshall Street NE in 1918. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Carr-Cullan Company, a mill work firm, was located at the former nearby 1030 Marshall Street NE. Anton W. Emerling ( -1925) died in Hennepin County. [See note for H. E. Wilcox for 2124 Newton Avenue South.]

1100 Marshall Street NE: The vacant industrial property is owned by Graco Minnesota Inc. The 1909 city directory indicates that Albert Bjork, a teamster, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Wilcox, in the millwork business, resided at this address. Nicholas Smith operated a bar at the nearby former 1101 Marshall Street NE, Peter Smith was a bartender at the nearby former 1101 Marshall Street NE, Joseph Cyr, a bottler, and Emma L. Harthun, a waiter, both resided at the nearby former 1101 Marshall Street NE, and Oscar Ahlquist, a laborer, Mathias L. Leuck, a cooper, and Charles Smith, a machinist, all boarded at the nearby former 1101 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Nicholas Smith resided at the nearby former 1103 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Paulina Starckloff, the widow of Herman Starckloff, boarded at the nearby former 1121 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15506) indicate that Gus A. Berny (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in the Tenth Company of the 161st D. B., who was born in La Crosse, Wisconsin, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 5 1/4" tall, was a machinist at induction, was a wood worker employed by the McKay Pail Tub Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 1101 Marshall Street NE. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#19253) indicate that Edmund Andrew Hanson (1890- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 38th Balloon Company A. S., who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 3/4" tall, was a farmer at induction, was a factory employee employed by the Ford Motor Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Nelly Grace Hanson, at the nearby former 1121 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Laura A. Wheeler resided at the former nearby 1101 Marshall Street NE, that the former nearby 1105 Marshall Street NE was vacant, that Mrs. Jane A. Saunders and Albin L. Starleaf resided at the former nearby 1121 Marshall Street NE, and that Mrs. Ida Kimmie resided at the former nearby 1125 Marshall Street NE. Laura A. Wheeler ( -1932,) Ida Kimmie ( -1934,) Joseph Cyr ( -1941,) Jane Saunders ( -1945,) and Joseph A. Cyr ( -1946) all died in Hennepin County. Albert Bjork (1887-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. John Finley Wilcox ( -1918) died in Hennepin County. John F. Wilcox (1906-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sprague, and died in Hennepin County. Joseph Thomas Cyr (1894-1984) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Allard, and died in Hennepin County. Oscar Walfred Ahlquist (1882-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Martin, and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Social Security records indicate that Albin Starleaf (1888-1979) resided in Minnesota for a period of time and died in Saint Petersburg, Pinellas County, Florida. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

1212 Marshall Street: Bottineau Library. The 12,000 sq. ft. Pierre Bottineau Library was once the Grain Belt brewery's Mill Wright Shop and Wagon Shed. It replaces a rented storefront library that was established in 1957. Pierre Bottineau Library was originally the Logan Park branch and was renamed after Pierre Bottineau (1816/1817-1895), a figure prominent in the early settlement of northeast Minneapolis and northwest Minnesota. Pierre Bottineau was the son of a French-Canadian fur trader and an Ojibway mother. Pierre Bottineau either was born in North Dakota in a hunting camp near what became Grand Forks, North Dakota, or was born in the North West Territories of Canada and grew up working on the Red River around Pembina, Dakota Territory, and the English colonies. His father, Charles Joseph Bottineau, Sr./Joseph Bottineau (1776-1824,) was French Protestant and his mother, Martha Ahdik "Clear-Sky" Songab, was a Lake-of-the-Woods Ojibwe. Martha Clear-Sky reportedly lived to an advanced age and died at Pierre Bottineau's home in Osseo, Minnesota, the respected matriarch of a very extended family. Her mother was Ojibwe and her father was a captured Dakota/Sioux warrior. During his life, Pierre Bottineau learned to speak French, Dakota, Ojibwe, Cree, Mandan, Winnebago and English. He apparently made money in all of them. Pierre Bottineau hunted, trapped, voyageured, guided, and then got married in 1836 and moved in from the prairies and settled at Fort Snelling on the Mississippi River. Pierre Bottineau worked for the American Fur Company at Mendota, just across the Minnesota River from the Fort. Bottineau's boss was the man who seems to be in the middle of every critical event of Minnesota's formative years, Henry Hastings Sibley. Bottineau married Jennie/Genevieve Larance/Laurence ( -1851,) the mixed race daughter of John Baptiste Laurence and Louise Montagnaise, in 1836. In 1842, Pierre Bottineau began an operation running Mackinaw transport boats upriver from St. Anthony Falls, Minnesota, the site of Fort Snelling's millworks. When the Minnesota Territory was organized in 1849, Bottineau was appointed Supervisor of Roads for Ramsey County, which at that time included St. Anthony, Minnesota, and then took over the trading post at Elk River, Minnesota. Pierre Bottineau married again in 1852, to Martha Gervais (1837- ,) the daughter of Pierre Louis Gervais and Marie Tremblay, and founded Osseo, Minnesota. Pierre Bottineau was the father of 24 children, 10 by his first wife and 14 by his second wife. During 1863-1864, Bottineau scouted for General Sibley's military expedition into the Dakota Territory and guided Captain Fisk's expedition to Montana. Bottineau eventually moved "out of town" with 119 families from St. Paul and founded Red Lake Falls, Minnesota, east of Grand Forks, North Dakota, in 1876 and it was there that he died. The Bottineau library was funded by $3 million in 2000 Library referendum funds, a $500,000 grant from the Minnesota Historical Society's State Historic Preservation Office, and an additional $110,000 in Neighborhood Revitalization Program (NRP) funding from the Sheridan and St. Anthony West neighborhoods. The remodeled building was designed by RSP Architects, Ltd. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Motor Haulage Company was located at the former nearby 1214 Marshall Street NE.

1215 Marshall Street NE: Partners: Arts and Schools for Students (PASS). Built in 1892. The structure is a two story, 18676 square foot, building. The current owner of record is the City of Minneapolis Department of Community Planning and Economic Development.

1215 Marshall Street NE: Grain Belt Brewery; The brewery complex was built in 1891 and closed on Christmas Day in 1975. It began its life as the Orth Brewery in 1850 at 1228 Marshall Street NE. It was the second brewery started in the Minnesota Territory and was founded by John Orth. In 1870, Anton Zahler built the City Brewery into the bluff at the intersection of Bluff Street and 20th Avenue South. In 1875, August Noerenberg joined Zahler and, in 1880, August's brother, Frederick Noerenberg, became sole owner of the brewery. The Kranzlein and Mueller Brewery was established in the 1860's in the "Brewery Flats" section and was subsequently renamed the Heinrich Brewery, when John G. Koehnlein sold the business to John B. Miller/Mueller and Mueller partnered with Adolph Heinrich in 1874. The Minneapolis Brewery was built by John G. Kranzlein/Koehnlein and J. B. Mueller in 1866. Adolph Heinrich became the sole owner of the Minneapolis Brewery in 1884 and proceeded to rebuild much of the complex. The Noerenberg Brewery was established in 1870. In 1891, Noerenberg joined his City Brewery and his north Minneapolis Germania Brewery with Orth's Brewery and Heinrich's Minneapolis Brewery to form the Minneapolis Brewing and Malting Company. This company built the Grain Belt Brewery in northeast Minneapolis in 1892. The Minneapolis Brewing Company operated under this name until 1967, when it was renamed Grain Belt Breweries, Inc. an homage to the Midwest. The brewery operated successfully at the site, brewing 500,000 barrels annually by 1900. During Prohibition, the Minneapolis Brewing and Malting Company was able to remain open for several years producing "near beer" and soft drinks, but closed from 1927 until the repeal of Prohibition in 1933. The company reached a sales peak in 1957, and through acquisition of an Omaha, Nebraska, brewery, achieved the status of 22nd in national sales. The Minneapolis Brewing Company survived competition, fires, Prohibition, wars, strikes, and changing public tastes, but it couldn't survive the take over mania of the 1970s. Just eight months after acquiring Grain Belt Brewery in 1975, Irwin Jacobs (1941- ,) a vice-president of a bag manufacturer and Minnesota’s most infamous deal-closer, closed it down and sold off its assets, mainly as scrap. Jacobs denied that he had bought the brewery to close it down and use the riverfront land for other purposes, but he was denied permission to demolish the buildings by neighborhood activists led by Jeanette May. The community successfully protested the demolition of the structure, and Jacobs eventually donated the empty shell to the city, which has owned it for nearly 25 years. Its deteriorated state and unusual interior design have made it difficult to attract private investment. The Grain Belt brand survives, however, and is gaining popularity again. Subsequently, it was brewed at the Minnesota Brewing Company brewery in St. Paul until that brewery closed. The label was sold to the Schell Brewing Company in the summer of 2002. In 1963, an "old world garden" and a fountain were built on the corner. Tourists flocked to the 18-foot fountain. Many weddings were held near the fountain, and the park was a community meeting spot. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Minneapolis Brewing Company was located at this address. The 18,676 square foot building has been converted by the Minneapolis Community Development Agency (MCDA) for office/professional/service use. The structure had a 2001 estimated market value of $661,000. The Grain Belt Brewery complex was designated as a local historic district by the Minneapolis City Council in August 1977. New construction in the district and any changes to the exterior of the historic buildings within the district must be reviewed by the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission (HPC). The brewery district was also listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the National Park Service. Julius J. Heinrich (1859- ,) the son of John Heinrich and Minnie Borchert Heinrich, was born in Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1865, settled in Minneapolis, was engaged in the brewery business, was the president of the Phoenix Laundry Company, was a Democrat, was twice a candidate for mayor of Minneapolis, was the Hennepin County register of deeds from 1890 until 1892, was an unsuccessful Democratic People's Party candidate for Minnesota Secretary of State in 1896 and 1898, and was a state oil inspector from 1899 until 1901. Adolph C. Heinrich (1858-1895,) the son of John Heinrich and Minnie Borchert Heinrich, was born in Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, moved to Minneapolis in 1865, was initially associated with his father's meat market, joined his father's brewery enterprise, married Mary E. Mueller, a daughter of John B. Mueller and Rosie Ann Schmidt Mueller, in 1879, was the partner of his father-in-law in a brewery, the Mueller-Heinrich Brewing Company, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, and was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Adolph C. Heinrich and Mary E. Mueller Heinrich had two children, John A. Heinrich, the secretary and treasurer of the Haywood box factory, and George W. Heinrich, the president of the Heinrich Chemical Company. Frederick Noerenberg subsequently moved to Wayzata, Minnesota, and in 1972, his daughter, Lora Noerenberg Hoppe, an avid horticulturalist, willed the property to the Hennepin County/Three Rivers park system, the family home was removed on family wishes, but the estate's original boathouse and barn both still exist. In 1993, the Noerenberg estate's original geometric garden beds were redesigned and, in 1994, a new garden layout with wide brick walkways was finished.

1220-1224 Marshall Street NE: The Grain Belt Brew House. RSP Architects is located at 1224 Marshall Street NE. McMonigal Architects, LLC, is located at 1224 Marshall Street NE. Robert M. Lucius, architect, and Michael James Plautz, architect, are also located at this address. The light industrial structure was extensively remodeled in 1999-2000. The current owner of record is the City of Minneapolis Department of Community Planning and Economic Development and the taxpayer of record is Ryan GB 2000 LLC.

1221 Marshall Street N.E.: Caswell International Corporation; Built in 1951. The structure is a one story, 30000 square foot, building. Caswell International Corporation was founded in 1926 by Col. Arthur D. Caswell who started by building target systems. Since 1926, Caswell has been planning, designing, manufacturing, installing, and maintaining quality shooting range products. Caswell range equipment is in daily use throughout the world by law enforcement, security, private, commercial, military and government agencies. Caswell products range from designs and equipment for a basic outdoor marksmanship facility to the most sophisticated outdoor military complex for advanced infantry and armor training. In 1990, Detroit Armor Corporation was acquired by the Caswell International Corporation. The two companies have installed over 8000 gun ranges around the world and have more than 50 years of experience in the design and building of bullet traps. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Orth, Alfred H. Orth, and Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Bofferding resided at 1228 Marshall Street N.E. John R. Orth ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. In 1857, John Orth (1821- ,) identified by various sources as either a French immigrant or a German immigrant who was born in Rott, Alsace, established the Mississippi Brewery at Marshall Street and 22nd Avenue NE, which operated until 1880, when it burned down. In 1891, John Heinrich formed a partnership with Frederick Noerenberg and John Orth to start the Minneapolis Brewing and Malting Company and the firm built the Grain Belt Brewery in 1892. Alfred H. Orth (1923-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Libbesmeier, and died in Stearns County, Minnesota. Federal census records from 1880 indicate that John Orth (1821- ) was a brewer who was born in Alsace-Lorraine to parents who also were born in Alsace-Lorraine. The John Orth household in 1880 in Minneapolis included Orth's wife, Mary C. Weinel Orth (1830- ,) who was born in Prussia or parents who also were born in Prussia and was a housekeeper, Orth's daughter, Virginia Orth (1859- ,) who was born in Minnesota, Orth's son, Alfred Orth (1861- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was employed as a laborer, Mary Weirs (1861 - ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Prussia and was employed as a servant or housekeeper, and Mary Gilles (1860- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Prussia and to a mother who was born in Nassau and was employed as a housekeeper. 1880 federal census records indicate that Mathias Bofferding (1855- ,) the son of Nicholas Bofferding and Anna Bofferding, was born in Germany, was a bank clerk, and resided in the household of Nicholas Bofferding in Minneapolis. Nicholas Bofferding (1818- ) was born in Germany. Anna Bofferding (1826- ) was born in Germany and was a housekeeper in 1880. The balance of the Nicholas Bofferding household in 1880 was Josephine Bofferding (1864- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota and was employed as a clerk, Phillemene Bofferding (1859- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, Nannie Ratha (1851- ,) who was born in Germany of parents who also were born in Germany, Anna R. Ratha (1871- ,) who was born in Minnesota of parents who also were born in Germany and was a student, Josephine Ratha (1873- ,) who was born in Minnesota of parents who also were born in Germany and was a student, Otto N. Ratha (1874- ,) who was born in Minnesota of parents who also were born in Germany, and John P. Ratha (1876- ,) who was born in Minnesota of parents who also were born in Germany. John Orth (1821-1887) was born in Rott, Alsace, emigrated to the United States in 1849, first located at Erie, Pennsylvania, moved to Minneapolis in 1850, was a brewer, opened Minnesota's second brewery in 1850 at 1228 Marshall Street NE, was a member of the first St. Anthony/Minneapolis city council in 1855 and 1856, produced a 1,000 barrels per year in 1860, moved the John Orth Brewing Company to 1215 Marshall NE in 1880, when it produced almost 7,000 barrels per year, spent summers on an island in Lake Waconia, and died on a railway train between Chicago and Minneapolis. The John Orth Brewing Company was acquired by the Minneapolis Brewing Company in a consolidation of the four largest Minneapolis breweries. Josephine Bofferding (1876-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nuglick, and died in Hennepin County. Nicholas Bofferding (1830- ) was born at Luxembourg, came to Minneapolis in 1856, worked at the carpenter trade in Minneapolis until 1875, and then worked with his brother, John Bofferding. John Bofferding (1826- ) was born in Luxembourg, came to the United States in 1850, settled first at Sauk City, Wisconsin, started on a prospecting trip in 1853 which ended in his settling in Minneapolis in 1856, was a carpenter until 1875, then began a grocery business, married Katrina Frius, of Germany, in 1862, and the couple had three children, __?__ Bofferding, Maggie Bofferding, and William Bofferding.

77 Broadway Street NE: Northeast State Bank. Northeast State Bank is a relative newcomer to the street. The bank dates back to 1947, but its first location was at 13th Avenue and Second Street NE. It moved from that site in 1963. It was one of the first businesses to include extensive landscaping of its parking area, and it is still considered a model for such design.

1300 Marshall Street NE: The Grain Belt Stock House. The current owner of record is the City of Minneapolis Department of Community Planning and Economic Development. A saloon operated by Theodore S. Klears, a resident of 1224 22nd Avenue North, was located at the nearby former 1301 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. A blacksmith, John M. Knealing, who resided at 1922 N E Grand Street, was located at the former nearby 1305 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Theodore S. Klears ( -1921) died in Hennepin County. John M. Knealing (1874-1966) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that John M. Knealing (1874-1966) died in Minneapolis.

1301 Marshall Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that John Kehoe, in the restaurant business, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1998 by D. C. Chose and M. D. Chose to N. Mazhariraves for $180,000. The current owners of record are D. C. Chose and M. D. Chose and the current taxpayer of record is Nosratollah Mazhariraves. Patrick C. Lawrence, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 1306 Marshall Street NE and Della B. Lawrence, a seamstress, Rosetta Lawrence, an apprentice, and Ruth S. Lawrence, a milliner, all boarded at the former nearby 1306 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 1305 Marshall Street NE was a vacant lot and that Patrick C. Lawrence resided at the former nearby 1306 Marshall Street NE. Della Mae Lawrence ( -1922) died in Ramsey County. Ruth M. Lawrence (1899-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Larsen, and died in Hennepin County.

1309 Marshall Street NE: Cat Vehicle/Equipment Repair & Maintenance; Built in 1959. The one floor, 1560 square foot, structure is owned by D. C. and M. D. Chose (Nosratollah Mazhariraves). The 1930 city directory indicates that the Elias Brothers Used Car lot was located at this address. Edward H. Sachs, a sampler with the Chamber of Commerce Sampling Company, and John Sachs both resided at the former nearby 1310 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Joseph Longa, a laborer, boarded at the former nearby 1310 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Ketter resided at the former nearby 1310 Marshall Street NE. Edward Sachs ( -1929,) Edward Sachs ( -1939,) and Mary Ketter ( -1940) all died in Hennepin County. Edward Henry Sachs (1914-1985) was born in Minnesota and died in Wright County.

1312 Marshall Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that Lenzmeier & Friedrich, a hardware business, was located at this address and that Bert E. Ketter resided at this address. The property is a vacant lot that is owned by the Minneapolis Department Of Community Planning and Economic Development. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16767) indicate that Steven Zolenski (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in Company G of the 18th Infantry, who was born in Brodok, Austria, moved to Minnesota in 1899, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a butcher at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Cantiggne, Soissons, and the Argonne Forest, suffered combat gun shot wounds to the left knee, the left shoulder, and the right knee, was a street car conductor employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 1313 Marshall Street NE. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

1314 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot that is owned by the Minneapolis Department Of Community Planning and Economic Development. The 1909 city directory indicates that Joseph Dejarles, a laborer, and Mary E. Knoben, the widow of Mathais J. Knoben, both resided at this address, and that William M. Knoben, a printer, Elizabeth C. Knoben, a stitcher, and Bertha Bernachie, a cook at the Russell Coffee House, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Slenva and Andrew Wincek both resided at this address. Mary E. Knoben ( -1936,) Andrew Wincek ( -1938,) and William M. Knoben ( -1968) all died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that William Knoben (1886-1968) resided in Crystal, Hennepin County, Minnesota, Golden Valley, Hennepin County, Minnesota, Minneapolis, and Robbinsdale, Hennepin County, Minnesota.

1317 Marshall Street NE: Old Science Renovation; Built in 1893. The structure is a one story, 6600 square foot, workshop. Henry H. Sibley and Sarah Pierce Sibley bought the land that Old Science Renovation stands on from the United States in 1858. In 1891, the original portion of the building, the northeast corner, was constructed. This was the same year that the Grain Belt Brewery was built. The original building seemed to be a large woodshed, possibly owned by the Minneapolis Brewing Company. The remainder of the building was built in 1921. In 1921, a car dealership was housed in the building. The building may have been a speakeasy with a secret passageway between it and Dusty's Bar during Prohibition. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Elias Brothers garage was located at this address. Throughout the years, it has housed a car mechanic shop, Marshall Street Electric, a machine shop, and miscellaneous service shops. About 1989, Atomic Props and Effects bought the building from the Ferraro family. They soon out grew the building, and Old Science Renovation, Inc., an antique furniture refinishing and repair company, now owns the one story, 7390 square foot, building. It was last sold in 1988 by L. Ferraro and A. Ferraro to Punch-Pearson Pearson for $112,740. Terry Storhaug and Eeris Fritz are the property taxpayers. Vincent Schuler, a dealer in shoes, had a shop at the nearby former 1318 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Matthew E. Elsen, a reporter, boarded at the nearby former 1318 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Mathew E. Elsen ( -1945) died in Hennepin County.

1319 Marshall Street NE: Dusty's Dagos and Liquors; Built in 1910. The two story, 4140 square foot structure is a retail store building with one two bedroom apartment. The 1909 city directory indicates that Eugene Elsen, a saloon owner, operated a saloon and resided at this address and that Guy E. Tessier, a cooper, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John L. Palmer resided at this address. Eugene Elsen ( -1940) and John L. Palmer ( -1941) both died in Hennepin County. Church of the Latter Day Saints records indicate that Eugene Elsen ( -1940) married Beatrice Boeser. Adolph L. Stabe and others are the current building owners, while Pasquale Stebe is the current property taxpayer. Anna A. Lueck, associated with Lueck & Johnson, resided at the former nearby 1320 Marshall Street NE, Helga J. G. Johnson, associated with Lueck & Johnson, boarded at the former nearby 1320 Marshall Street NE, and the Grain Belt Restaurant, with Lueck & Johnson as proprietors, was located at the former nearby 1320 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

1321 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mrs. Louisa W. A. Froelich resided at this address and Otto W. Froelich, a clerk, John T. McLaughlin, a laborer, and John Stohn, a laborer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alwin M. Thomas resided at this address. Alwin Thomas ( -1939) and Alwin M. "Maximus" Thomas ( -1945) both died in Hennepin County. Pasquale Stebe is the current property taxpayer. Peter J. Freidrich, associated with Kraus & Freidrich, resided at the former nearby 1323 Marshall Street NE and Mathus P. Freidrich, a clerk with Loye Saddlery Company, boarded at the former nearby 1323 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The Henseler & Naused hardware store, a partnership of Frank Henseler and Herman L. Naused, was located at the former nearby 1324 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Minneapolis Auto Salvage Company was located at the former nearby 1324 Marshall Street NE. Herman L. Naused ( -1927) died in Henepin County.

1327 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot. The 1909 city directory indicates that George J. Saunders, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and Margaret Falbisaner, the widow of Fred Falbisaner, and John Konior, a tailor, all resided at this address, that John Grif, a laborer, boarded at this address, and that Caroline Falbisaner, a clerk with Northrup, King & Company, George Falbisaner, Sr., a sausage maker with J. W. Runberg, George Falbisaner, Jr., a clerk, and Vincenz Zmuda, a laborer, all resided at the rear of this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that George Endrisik, a laborer, boarded at the rear of this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Alwin M. Thomas grocery was located at this address. The 1880 federal census records indicate that Ferdi. Falbisaner ( -1833,) a butcher who was born in Baden to parents who were born in Baden, resided in Minneapolis. The Ferdi. Falbisaner household included his wife, Margrethe Falbisaner (1844- ) who was born in Prussia to parents who were also born in Prussia and who was a house keeper, his daughter, Caroline Falbisaner (1872- ,) who was born in Pennsylvania and was a student, his son, George Falbisaner (1865- ,) who was a butcher who was born in Missouri, and his son, Charles Falbisaner (1874 - ,) who was born in Minnesota. Alwin Thomas ( -1939) and Alwin M. "Maximus" Thomas ( -1945) both died in Hennepin County. Caroline Falbisaner ( -1914) and George Falbisaner ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. George J. Falbisaner ( -1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peters, and died in Hennepin County. Vincent Zmuda ( -1934) died in Wabasha County, Minnesota. Marguerite Faslbisaner (1895-1976) was born in Minneapolis, was the daughter of George Falbisaner and Annie Peters Falbisaner, was the wife of Fred B. Pfeifer ( -1967,) and died in Minneapolis. Pasquale Stebe is the property taxpayer. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

1328 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Kulick, Philip Warwa, and John Zembal resided at this address. Joseph Kulick ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record is Wilber H. Schilling and the current taxpayers of record are Trish C. Schilling and Wilber H. Schilling III, who reside at 1332 Marshall St N E. Claus F. Goettsche, a driver, and George Glaser, a bottler, both resided at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE and John F. Goettsche, a bottler, boarded at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Mary Gfroerer, the widow of Henry Gfroerer, resided at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE and Frank J. Gfroerer, a clerk for the Bradstreet Company, and Carl Hoppe, a brewer employed by the Minneapolis Brewing Company, both boarded at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. In 1918, Mathais Ganser and Katherine Ganser, the parents of World War I veteran William M. Ganser, resided at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#30271) indicate that William M. Ganser (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Cook in the 23rd Company of the Transportation Corps, who was born in Minneapolis, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a baker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a baker employed by the Powers Mercantile Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Katherine Ganser, at the nearby former 1331 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles G. Grisdale and Walter G. Grisdale resided at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE. Clauses F. Goettsche ( -1910) and George Lien Glaser ( -1945) both died in Hennepin County. Charles G. Grisdale (1879-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Metcalf, and died in Hennepin County. Francis "Frank" J. Gfroerer (1891-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kraus, and died in Hennepin County.

1332 Marshall Street NE: Hieholzer Building/Artist Studio & private residence; Built in 1891 (1900 according to Hennepin County property tax records). The two story, 4122 square foot, 11 room, one bedroom two bathroom, combination residence and storefront building is labeled "C. Hieholzer." The building was built for $3,400. It is currently owner-occupied and has been so for all but 20 years. From 1891 to 1911, the building was a dry goods store and a dwelling. From 1911 to 1925, it was a dwelling and a movie theater that was first called the "Gem" and then was called the "Liberty," which showed silent movies. From 1925 to 1946, it was an animal hospital (Dr. Dick) and a dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that John S. Dick, Jr., operated an animal hospital at this address. From 1946 to 1996, the building was an animal hospital (Dr. Steele) and a dwelling. Since 1996, the building has been artist studios (book arts and millinery) and a dwelling. The "green tower" in the back of the building was added in 1925 when the back of the structure was turned from a garage into additional animal hospital space. The tower is three stories tall. The first two stories are storage spaces and the top is a gazebo. The 1909 city directory indicates that Alfred Anderson, a grocer, had his grocery store and resided at this address and that John E. Boreen, a clerk for Alfred Anderson, boarded at this address. The 385 seat Gem Theatre opened in 1912, became an African American Theatre operated by Publix, and was later renamed the Liberty Theatre. The theatre closed in the late-1930's and reportedly has since been demolished. Joseph F. Fleckenstein, a cooper, and George Glaser, a bottler, both resided at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Joseph H. Anselman, a brewer with the Gluek Brewing Company, boarded at the former nearby 1331 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Siebert Dick (1917-2000) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Henseler, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. John Siegbert Dick ( -1919) died in Hennepin County. Wilber H. Schilling and Trish C. Schilling are the current owners and property taxpayers.

1400 Marshall Street NE: Phygen Coatings, Inc.; Built in 1889. The two story, 20162 square foot structure was the location for Bell Manufacturing & Service until 1999. The 1909 city directory indicates that Jacob J. Tschudy resided at this address and Henry Tschudy, a laborer, boarded ath this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Matt Christman Company, Inc., a sausage manufacturer, was located at this address. Jacob Tschudy ( -1910) and Mathias M. Christman ( -1925) both died in Hennepin County. Dwain Bell and Aurel Bell are the current owners and taxpayers for this homesteaded property. Dwain Bell is the CEO of Bell Manufacturing Company and made a contribution to the Republican National Congressional Committee in 2000.

1401-1407 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1954. The one story, 31,586 square foot structure is owned by G & K Services Inc, located in Minnetonka, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Helena Dick resided at this address. Helena S. Dick (1874-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Boldt, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1986 by R. and R. Gustafson to Formac Corporation for $675,000 and in 1988 by Formac Corporation to G&K Services Inc. for $640,000.

1402 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1889. The address is residential property associated with 1400 Marshall Street NE. The 1909 city directory indicates that Martha Bahs, a clerk employed by F. A. Witzig, boarded at this address.

1406 Marshall Street NE: IMF Manufacturing. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Zemba resided at this address. The current owner of record is Dwain C. Bell and the taxpayers of record are Dwain Bell and Aurel Bell, who reside at 1400 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Gozal resided at the former nearby 1410 Marshall Street NE and that Carl E. Krystosek and Stanislaw Kuckiwicz resided at the former nearby 1413 Marshall Street NE. Carl Edmund Krystosek (1902-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sowieja, and died in Hennepin County. Social Security records indicate that Carl E. Krystosek (1902-1989) resided in Minnesota.

1414 Marshall Street NE Harmony Box/Nygaard Set Design; Built in 1995. The one story, 28152 square foot, building is owned by Riverbend Investments LLC and operated by Lighthouse, Inc. The 1930 city directory indicates that Shaeffer Products Company, a food products company, was located at this address. Harmony Box has a 150,000 cubic-foot sound stage (60 by 80 by 31 feet) that has a built-in grid capable of hanging a bus. It also has a special effects pit to get low shots, water shots, and special angles. The facility rents out for $1,200 per day. Worrell, Inc./Worrell Design is also currently located at this address. Carl Dahlstrom, a foreman for the Andrews Heating Company, resided at the former nearby 1410 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Louisa Geiger, the widow of Frederick H. Geiger, resided at the former nearby 1410 Marshall Street NE and Louise Geiger, a seamstress, and Sophia W. Geiger, a stenographer, both boarded at the former nearby 1410 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Henry Kantovowicz, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 1413 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Louise Geiger ( -1948) died in Hennepin County.

1419 Marshall Street NE: Frank W. Brunskill, a driver, resided at this address and John A. Barge, a laborer, and Adam Barge boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ernest Thaves resided at this address. Frank Brunskill ( -1936) died in Koochiching County, Minnesota. Adam Barge ( -1910) and John Albert Barge ( -1926) both died in Hennepin County. Ernest Thaves (1898-1991) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Defoe, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota.

1419-1/2 Marshall Street NE: The property is a tax forfeited vacant lot for sale to adjacent property owners only. Katie Kamper, a folder, and Frank Libowski, a bartender employed by A. J. Mayer, both boarded at the former nearby 1424 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory.

1423 Marshall Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred W. Olson resided at this address. The current owner of record is G & K Services Inc, located in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

1424 Marshall Street NE: Mr. and Mrs. Theo Schultz resided at this address in 1915. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11654) indicate that Arthur Charles E. Schultz (1895- ,) a 1915 enlistee and a Boatswains Mate First Class in the U. S. Navy, who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 9 3/8" tall, was a mariner at induction, served on the U. S. S. Pennsylvania, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Louisa Schultz, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Schultz, Louisa Schultz, and Lawrence Papierz resided at this address. Lawrence Papierz (1885-1970) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Cass County, Minnesota. The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Limited Partnership.

1426 Marshall Street NE: The 1930 city directory indicates that the Northeast Feed Mill was located at 1426-1432 Marshall Street NE. The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1427 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1961. The structure is an eight unit, two story, 4,896 square foot, multi-family apartment building owned by Thomas J. and Debbra C. Hill. The building has seven one bedroom apartments and one efficiency apartment. The property was last sold in 1999 for $200,000.

1428 Marshall Street NE: Site of Northeast Feed Mill; Built in 1890 as a feed mill in order to serve the growing population, the Northeast feed mill remained in business until 1970, operated by the Schroeder family. The current one story, 20,411 square foot, office/professional/service, light industrial, or warehouse building was built in 1942 and is owned by the Marshall River Run Limited Partnership. In 1909, L. J. Kurigen was the president, J. J. Ingenhutt was the vice president, and E. J. Gulden was the secretary of the Northeast Feed Mill according to the 1909 city directory. The 1909 city directory indicates that John A. Schroeder was the treasurer and manager for the North East Feed Mill and resided at 1325 Grand Avenue and that Arthur J. Schroeder was a clerk for the North East Feed Mill and boarded at 1325 Grand Avenue, along with Florence Schroeder, a stenographer. Louis Kurigen ( -1934,) Eberhardt John Gulden ( -1934,) John J. Ingenhutt ( -1946,) and John August Schroeder ( -1948) all died in Hennepin County. Charles F. Schreiber, a brewer, resided at the nearby former 1429 Marshall Street NE and Carl E. Schreiber, a clerk employed by C. F. Bernard, Minnie L. Schreiber, an operator with the North West Telephone Exchange Company, Robert A. Schreiber, a machinist, and Willliam G. Schreiber, a bookbinder, all boarded at the nearby former 1429 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Andrew Butzki, a laborer, and Michael Janowicz, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 1431 Marshall Street NE and Frank Butzki, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 1431 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Andrew Faber, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 1431 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Daniel Zajac, a laborer, and Michael Bonak, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 1431 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Andrew Faber ( -1928) died in Hennepin County.

1430 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1432 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1434 Marshall Street NE: River Run. The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1435 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The two story, 2,400 square foot, nine room, structure is a three unit multifamily apartment building. The 1909 city directory indicates that Josephine Kammerer, the widow of Matthew Kammerer, and William F. Radke, a driver employed by the City Ice Company, both resided at this address and that Louis A. Kammerer, a laborer, George Schegg, a pressman, and Louisa Schegg, a packer, all boarded at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#25472) indicate that Stanley Florek (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company C of the 34th Engineers, who was born in Galisia, Austria, moved to Minnesota in 1908, had gray eyes, light hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a laborer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Jakola resided at this address. Louis Kammerer ( -1928) and William F. Radke ( -1945) both died in Hennepin County. George J. Schegg ( -1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brantner, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1998 for $75,000. The triplex is owned by Karen Woyak.

1436 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1438 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Martin and Walter Ponicki resided at the former nearby 1439 Marshall Street NE. Henry P. Martin ( -1940,) Henry L.Martin ( -1943,) and Henry Seward Martin ( -1945) all died in Hennepin County. Henry L. Martin (1883-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoffman, and died in Hennepin County. Henry B. Martin (1871-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Berttlbagh, and died in Hennepin County. Henry Martin (1897-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dogan, and died in Hennepin County. Henry J. Martin ( -1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McClain, and died in Hennepin County. Henry L. Martin ( -1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zajac, and died in Hennepin County. Henry E. Martin (1889-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roberts, and died in Hennepin County. Walter Ponicki (1897-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rzesot, and died in Hennepin County.

1440 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1441 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1969. The three story, 18 unit, 12,654 square foot, multifamily apartment building was last sold in 2000 for $575,000. The building includes 17 one bedroom apartments and one efficiency apartment. The building is owned by K & D Enterprises Of Minneapolis.

1442 Marshall Street NE: The property was last sold in 1997 by M. and M. Iwaskewycz to Marchant Investment & Management for $500,000. The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Limited Partnership.

1444 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1446 Marshall Street NE: The current owner of record is the Marshall River Run Ltd Partnership.

1448 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1925. The 2.2 story, 2,556 square foot, ten room duplex has four bedrooms and two bathrooms. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry M. Resch and Matthew J. Sanocki resided at this address. Henry M. Resch ( -1952) died in Hennepin County. Matthew Joseph Sanocki (1902-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Corzn, and died in Hennepin County. The building is currently owned by Walter Walicki.

1500 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The two story, 1,660 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom house is a homesteaded residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that Joseph LaBrash, a laborer, and Anton W. Becker, a cooper, both resided at this address and that Robert H. P. Becker, an apprentice, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Steve Sobon resided at this address. Robert H. Becker ( -1916,) Anton Becker ( -1931,) Stephen Sobon ( -1943,) and Anton Becker (1885-1956) all died in Hennepin County. The owner of the building is Matthew Gerhard.

1501 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1964. The three story, 9,894 square foot, 16 unit, multifamily apartment building was last sold in 1997 for $266,197. The building includes 12 one bedroom apartments and four efficiency apartments. The 1909 city directory indicates that John H. Erpelding, Adolph Holtz, a laborer, and Edward C. F. Holtz, a blacksmith, all resided at this address and that Anna M. Erpelding, a stenographer, and Joseph Spielman, a clerk, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Oslecki resided at this address. John Erpelding ( -1913,) Anna Erpelding ( -1923,) and Joseph Spielman ( -1925) all died in Hennepin County. The owner of the building is Ray Bros Inc.

1509 Marshall Street NE: Kirke Design Studio; Built in 1963. The one story, 8,640 square foot, structure is a warehouse and retail store that is owned by Kirke Design Studio Inc.

1511 Marshall Street NE: Mud Pie Concrete Studio, Inc..

1514 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot that was formerly owned by the Northern Pacific Railroad and is now owned by the Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railroad Co.

1516 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1929. The one story, 4,545 square foot structure is a light industrial/repair facility. The 1930 city directory indicates that a Standard Oil Company storage depot was located at this address. It previously was the Marshall Street Auto Service. The property was last sold in 1997 for $215,000. The property is owned by Boone Trucking Inc.

1521 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1924. The 2.2 story, 2,464 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, building is a duplex with two parking spaces. The 1909 city directory indicates that Louis Guimond, a mattress maker, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Koniar and Albert Monette resided at this address. Joseph Koniar ( -1951) died in Hennepin County. Joseph Koniar (1914-1993) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Albert J. Monette (1902-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Charboneau, and died in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota. The property is owned by Joseph C. Koniar.

1523 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 1/2 story, 1,195 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, single family house with two parking spaces. The 1909 city directory indicates that George H. Henseler, Sr., a teamster, resided at this address and Alvina L. Henseler, a stenographer, Fred W. Henseler, a clerk with the Soo Line RailRoad, and George H. Henseler, Jr., a cigarmaker, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred Johnson resided at this address. Frederick W. Henseler ( -1926,) George H. Henseler ( -1928,) and George H. Henseler ( -1930) all died in Hennepin County. George H. Henseler (1889-1969) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of the building is Veronica Erickson.

1528 Marshall Street NE: Mississippi Corridor Neighborhood Coalition office. The building is a one story, 6,480 square foot, light industrial structure. The building is owned by Ronald A. Scott.

1529 Marshall Street NE/20 16th Avenue NE: Built in 1992. The single family residence is a two story, 1,360 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom split level house with two parking spaces. The 1909 city directory indicates that John Konior, a laborer, and Joseph Konior, a laborer, both resided at this address and Harriet Konior, a clerk for Kampff-Warnecke Company, Paul Konior, a laborer, Joseph Soy, a laborer, Michael Zezak, a laborer, and Thomas Zezak, a laborer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Martin Charboneau, Joseph Laflamme, and Joseph Pendzimaz all resided at this address. Martin M. Charboneau (1902-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Flevrie, and died in Hennepin County. Joseph A. Laflamme (1909-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Joseph Pendzimaz ( -1943) and John Konior ( -1951) both died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2001 for $176,000. The building is owned by Alvin B. Irby.

1600 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1961. The building is a one story, 7,762 square foot vacant industrial structure. The building is owned by Ronald A. Scott.

1600 1/2 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot owned by Northern States Power Co./Excel Energy Inc.

1601 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1978. The building is a one story, 1,040 square foot, six room, four bedroom, one bathroom, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Frederick W. Hartwig, a driver, Charles Holmes, a driver, and Charles Hommes, a driver, all resided at this address and Clara M. Hommes, a stenographer for Jensen Printing Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Bednarcik and Benjamin Weise both resided at this address. Frederick Wilhelm Hartwig ( -1951) died in McLeod County, Minnesota. Frederick W. Hartwig (1907-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Froemming, and died in McLeod County, Minnesota. Frederick W. Hartwig (1879-1971) had a mother with a maiden name of Beier and died in Hennepin County. Benjamin Weise ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $125,000. The property is owned by Walter B. Sentyrz, Jr. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Standard Oil Company operated a tank wagon station at the former nearby 1604 Marshall Street NE.

1604 1/2 Marshall Street NE: The property is a tax-forfeited vacant lot that was designated for sale to an adjoining property owner.

1605 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1978. The structure is a one story, 858 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, split entry single family residence with two parking spaces. The property owner is C. Thi Vu Long.

1609 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot previously owned by the Northern Pacific Railroad and currently owned by the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe Railroad. [See note on the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad.]

1613 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot previously owned by the Northern Pacific Railroad and currently owned by the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe Railroad. [See note on the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad.]

1620 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1903. The building is a 1 1/2 story, 1,042 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, single family rental residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that Ignatz Szlachtowski, a grocer with a shop at the former nearby 1622 Marshall Street NE, and Michael Stetz, a laborer, resided at this address and that Frank Szlachtowski, a laborer, Nellie Szlachtowski, an ironer, Sophia Szlachtowski, an examiner, Walter Szlachtowski, a laborer, and John Stetz, a laborer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Kath Sziachtowski resided at this address. Frank Szlachtowski ( -1919,) Katherine M. Szlachtowski ( -1941,) and Walter Szlachtowski (1888-1969) all died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Nicholas J. Puzek. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 1622 Marshall Street NE was a vacant lot.

1621 Marshall Street NE: The property is a vacant lot previously owned by the Northern Pacific Railroad and currently owned by the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad. [See note on the Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RailRoad.]

1625 Marshall Street NE: The vacant lot is owned by Jason M. Carlstrom and Kelly Carlstrom, who reside at 1627 Marshall Street NE.

1627 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1915. The one story, 1,154 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, single family nonhomesteaded dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mrs. Alice S. Holford resided at this address and Frederick H. Holford, a teamster, and Sadie E. Holford, a clerk for the Minneapolis Dry Goods Company, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Christian Bauer and Henry C. Bauer resided at this address. Alice S. Holford ( -1924) died in Morrison County, Minnesota. Christian Bauer ( -1924) and Christian Bauer ( -1932) both died in Hennepin County. Henry C. Bauer (1905-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schrader, and died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Jason M. and Kelly Carlstrom.

1633 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1915. The building is a 1.7 story, 1,350 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, single family homesteaded house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Bernhardt H. Freitag, assistant engineer for the Gluek Brewing Company, resided at this address and Caroline Freitag boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Irmen, Jr., resided at this address. Frank Irmen ( -1936) died in Hennepin County. Frank Irmen (1892-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wardick, and died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Earl J. Irmen. Sophia M. LaBrie, the widow of Peter LaBrie, resided at the nearby former 1648 Marshall Street NE and Louis E. LaBrie, a driver, Peter E. LaBrie, a teamster, Axel Berthrume, a horsedealer, and Eusebe Berthrume all boarded at the nearby former 1648 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frank Irmen, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 1649 Marshall Street NE and Frank A. Irmen, a clerk for M. Schmitz, Louisa W. Irmen, a teacher, and Margaret Irmen, a seamstress, all boarded at the nearby former 1649 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Irmen resided at the former nearby 1649 Marshall Street NE.

1705 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 2,646 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, duplex. The property is owned by Timothy and Mila Healy.

1711 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1910. The building is a two story, 1,599 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family residence, with two parking spots. The property was last sold in 1999 for $99,900. The property is owned by Stephen A. Schmid.

1712 Marshall Street NE: Hiawatha Building; Built in 1953. The structure is a one story, 21,136 square foot, seven office, manufacturing building. The property is owned by E. S. Faacks and B. J. Faacks. Apiary Workspaces is located at this address.

1715 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,814 square foot, nine room, five bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family dwelling with two parking spaces. The property is owned by Steven C. Herzog. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lambert B. Hengen resided at the former nearby 1716 Marshall Street NE. Lambert B. Hengen ( -1947) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota.

1719 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2,000 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded converted single family duplex dwelling, with three parking spaces. The 1909 city directory indicates that Michael Preisen, a car repairer, resided at this address and that Alfred Preisen, a laborer, Joseph Preisen, a helper, and Leonard G. Preisen, a driver, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Annie Behun and Oscar Bemben both resided at this address. Joseph Preisen ( -1913,) Leonard G. Preisen ( -1945,) and Michael Preisen ( -1949) died in Hennepin County. Joseph Preisen (1887-1972) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Groschen, and died in Hennepin County. Oscar Bemben (1894-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1997 for $62,000. The property is owned by ELS Holdings LLC of Little Canada, Minnesota.

1720 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1967. The structure is a one story, 37,780 square foot, manufacturing building. The property is owned by Marshall Street Properties.

1725 Marshall Street NE/18 18th Avenue NE: Built in 1977. The structure is a one story, 1,856 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, rental duplex with two parking spaces. The 1909 city directory indicates that William M. Braun, a laborer, and Albert H. Schwie, a painter, both resided at this address and Arthur F. Schwie, a driver, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Elmer Bugnow and Joseph Wawrzynaik resided at this address. Arthur F. Schwie (1890-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Luederman, and died in Becker County, Minnesota. The property is owned by Bryan W. Frederickson and Nancy Frederickson. Charles F. Braun, a flagman, resided at the nearby former 1729 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. George F. Sprague, a clerk for Janney, Semple, Hill & Company, resided at the nearby former 1801 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter A. Birch and Anthony Jonceski resided at the former nearby 1727 Marshall Street NE, that Martin A. Sowinski resided at the former nearby 1729 Marshall Street NE, that William T. Baker resided at the former nearby 1801 Marshall Street NE, and that the North West Corrugated Box Company was located at the former nearby 1807 Marshall Street NE. Peter A. Birch (1900-1992) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grodmarccyk, and died in Hennepin County. William Tyler Baker ( -1944) died in Hennepin County. George F. Sprague ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. [See note for Janney, Semple, Hill & Company for 100 West Franklin Avenue.]

1808 Marshall Street NE: The vacant lot is owned by Dr. Frank R. Galka. Henry J. Rhyner, an ironworker, resided at the nearby former 1801 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Henry J. Rhyner ( -1936) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota.

1812 Marshall Street NE: Site of the former Ferry House. The old Ferry House, since razed, was the location for a ferry service to get people across the Mississippi River as early as 1856 until it was shut down around 1877. The ferry spanned the river from 18th Avenue NE to what is now 26th Avenue North. The house was a one-and-one-half story building and was owned by Richard Chute in 1856. J. H. Werdick brought his bride, the former Caroline Fritz, to live in the rented ferry house after they married in 1877. Larry Galka's father bought it from Judge John B. Gilfillan in 1909, and Larry Galka owned it by 1939. Richard Chute (1820-1893,) the son of James Chute, a teacher and a Presbyterian minister, and Martha Hews Chute ( -1835,) was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, moved to Fort Wayne, Indiana, in 1831, was employed by S. & H. Hanna, Indian traders and fur dealers, moved to Minnesota in 1844, built a trading post at Good Roads village, Minnesota, returned to Fort Wayne, Indiana, in 1845, was employed by W. G. & G. W. Ewing, fur dealers, became a partner in Ewing, Chute & Company, fur dealers, then became a partner in P. Chateau, Jr., & Company, married May Eliza Young in 1850, returned to Minnesota in 1854, engaged in the real estate business, formed a partnership with John S. Prince in the St. Anthony Falls Water Power Company, a firm that controlled the water power on the Mississippi River, was the agent and manager of the St. Anthony Falls Water Power Company from 1856 until 1868, joined R. P. Upton and Edward Murphy in 1856 with $7,600,000 in public funds in clearing the channel from St. Anthony Falls to Fort Snelling, Minnesota, formed a partnership with his brother, Dr. Samuel Chute, in 1856, lobbied with H. T. Welles in Washington, D.C., for federal funds in 1856 for the construction of the State's first railroads, introduced a system of boulevards in Minneapolis and planted 3,000 trees along those boulevards in 1858, was the special quartermaster of the troops sent to Fort Ripley in 1862, later was assistant quartermaster and a lieutenant colonel, was United States provost marshal for Hennepin County from 1863 until 1865, was a charter member of a number of early Minnesota railroads, was the president of the St. Anthony Falls Water Power Company from 1868 until 1880, when the company was sold to a consortium including James J. Hill, lobbied in Washington, D.C., for federal funds in 1870 for federal funds for Mississippi River navigation improvements, was a regent and treasurer of the University of Minnesota from 1876 until 1882, was president of the Minneapolis Board of Trade in 1880, was a Whig until 1855, became a Republican in 1855, was a charter member and elder of the Andrew Presbyterian Church, moved to Washington, moved to Atlanta, moved to Hawaii, and died in Chicago of heart disease. Richard Chute and May Eliza Young Chute were the parents of Charles Richard Chute, the first student at the University of Minnesota and later associated with the Chute Brothers Company, Minnie Olive Chute, Mary Welcome Chute, William Young Chute (1863- ,) the president of the Minneapolis Real Estate Board, and Grace Fairchild Chute. John Bachop Gilfillan ( -1924,) Richard H. Chute ( -1933,) Joseph Henry Werdick ( -1941,) and Caroline Fritz Werdick ( -1946) all died in Hennepin County. John B. Gilfillan (1879-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Oliphant, and died in Hennepin County. John B. Gilfillan (1904-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Snyder, and died in Hennepin County. John Bachop Gilfillan (1835-1924,) the son of Robert Gilfillan (1798-1891) and Janet Bachop Gilfillan (1805-1885,) was born in Barnet, Caledonia County, Vermont, was educated at the Caledonia, Vermont, County Grammar School, graduated from the Caledonia Academy, Peacham, Vermont, in 1855, moved to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1855, was a teacher, was an organizer of the Mechanics Institute for Literary Culture in 1859, was a member of the St. Anthony, Minnesota, School Board from 1860 until 1868, studied law with Nourse & Winthrop and then with Lawrence & Lochren, was admitted to the practice of law in 1860, practiced law alone from 1860 until 1871, was the Minneapolis City Attorney from 1861 until 1864, was issued the first deed for property in Outing, Cass County, Minnesota, in 1865, was a Minneapolis city alderman from 1865 until 1869, married Rebecca Corse Oliphant ( -1884) of Fayette County, Pennsylvania, in 1870, was a member of the law firm of Lochren, McNair & Gilfillan from 1871 until 1885, was a partner with Henry C. Belden and Charles A. Willard in the law firm of Gilfillan, Belden & Willard from 1885 until 1894, was a member of the Minnesota State Senate, representing Hennepin County (Districts 25 and 28,) from 1876 until 1885, was an attorney for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad, the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and the Minneapolis Eastern RailRoad, was a Republican, was a Regent of University of Minnesota from 1880 until 1888, was elected to U. S. House of Representatives from the Fourth District of Minnesota from 1885 until 1887, was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection to the United States House of Representatives in 1886, married Hannah Lavinia Coppock of New Lisbon, Ohio, in 1893, was a member of the Hennepin County Territorial Pioneers Association, was the president of the First National Bank of Minneapolis, was a member and an officer of Westminster Presbyterian Church, gave $50,000 to the University of Minnesota in 1901 to provide loans or grants for deserving students, resided on Clifton Avenue in 1907, officed at the Guaranty Building in 1907, was the author of a pamphlet entitled "History of the University of Minnesota," published by the Minnesota Historical Society in 1908, died in Minneapolis, and was buried in Lakewood Cemetery. John Bachop Gilfillan was a member, with James Ford Bell, Charles Cranston Bovey, John Alden Bovey, John Crosby, Karl DeLaittre, Edward White Durant, Jr., Edward Cheney Gale, Charles Sumner Gale, Robert Alexander Hastings, Sumner Thomas McKnight, Charles Stinson Pillsbury, and John Sargent Pillsbury, Thomas Freeman Wallace, and Frederick Brown Wells, of the Semi-Annual Association, an informal men's dinner club started by Henry Hamilton Robinson in 1884 as a gathering of Twin Cities scions who were home from prep school and college breaks, but compelled to resign once married, that met twice each year from 1891 to 1924. Joseph Henry Werdick ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. The vacant property is owned by Frank R. Galka.

1814-1820 Marshall Street NE: The property is a four unit apartment house, owned by Jane H. Calvin and last sold in 1996, and includes a condominium owned by Glenn M. Smith which last sold in 1988 for $83,500. The 1930 city directory indicates that May Dahlquist resided at 1816 Marshall Street NE.

1821 Marshall Street NE: H. S. Johnson Industrial Building; Built in 1892. The two story, 73,205 square foot, ten office warehouse and manufacturing building is owned by the Packaging Corporation Of America. The 1930 city directory indicates that Prather Advertising Company, the Superior Products Manufacturing Company, an electrical apparatus manufacturer, and G. H. Tennant Company, a milk bottle case manufacturer, were located at this address. George Henry Tennant was born in Ireland, grew up in New York state, settled in Minneapolis, and started a one-man sawmill business called the G. H. Tennant Company in 1870, becoming the largest manufacturer of flooring in the upper Midwest by 1900. The Tennant sawmill twice burned to the ground in the late 1800’s, and after the second fire, the company shifted from a sole proprietorship to a corporation. During the Great Depression began, the G.H. Tennant Company bought the patent rights to a "floor dry cleaning machine" from a school janitor who lived next door to the foreman at the Tennant mill and, by 1938, floor maintenance equipment became the company’s main product. Janet Dolan currently is the CEO of the Plymouth-based industrial cleaning products company and, when she gained that position, became the first person outside of the Tennant family to head the company. George Henry Tennant ( -1911) died in Hennepin County.

1822 Marshall Street NE: Home Owners on the Mississippi for the Eco-System (HOMES) headquarters; Built in 1900, The structure is a converted homesteaded duplex and is two stories, has 1,742 square feet of finished space, has seven rooms, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jennie Oberlies resided at this address. Jennie Oberlies ( -1943) died in Hennepin County. The property is currently owned by Randall T. Kouri. Randy Kouri was the president of the Mississippi Corridor Neighborhood Coalition and the project director of a Mississippi Corridor Neighborhood Coalition Forum in 2004 and has served on the Minnehaha Falls Advisory Board, the Edgewater Park Board, and the Gluek Park Advisory Board. Henry Langer, a shoemaker, boarded at the nearby former 1826 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#11522) indicate that Arthur H. Johnson (1887- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Sergeant in Battery C of the Third Battalion of the Fisrt Regiment of the F. A. R. D., who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 4 1/2" tall, was a salesman at induction, was a salesman employed by the H. S. Johnson Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, H. S. Johnson, at the nearby former 1826 Marshall Street N. E. The 1930 city directory indicates that Inez M. Hoy, a nurse, and William T. Hoy resided at the former nearby 1826 Marshall Street NE. The property is owned by Randall T. Kouri. Irene M. Hoy (1890-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fleetham, and died in Hennepin County.

1828 Marshall Street NE: Aiki School of Classic Jujutsu; Built in 1916. The structure is a one story, 30,234 square foot warehouse building. The property was last sold in 1999 and sold for $265,000. The property is owned by Marshall Street Holding Company LLP of Maple Grove, Minnesota. The gallery "Spot Art" is currently located at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stanley Kaczmarczyk and Stella Komperda resided at the former nearby 1830 Marshall Street NE. Stanley V. Kaczmarczyk (1892-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County.

1900 Marshall Street NE: Gabby's Saloon & Eatery; Built in 1968. The structure is a one story, 17,028 square foot, commercial building. The 1909 city directory indicates that Frederick C. Ficher, cabinetmaker, and Frederick C. Fischer, a cabinetmaker, resided at this address. The property is owned by 1900 Marshall Street Inc. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Charles Gluek resided at the nearby former 1908 Marshall Street in 1907. Josephine Antezak, a dressmaker had her shop and resided at the nearby former 1901 Marshall Street NE, Adelia A. Troy, a grocer who had her shop and resided at the nearby former 1901 Marshall Street NE, and Charles M. Troy, a driver, and Stephen Antezak, a laborer, both resided at the nearby former 1901 Marshall Street NE and Gertrude E. Troy, a teacher, boarded at the nearby former 1901 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Edward M. Tuws, an engineer, and Edward Tews, an engineer, both resided at the nearby former 1904 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Frederick G. Steiger, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 1907 Marshall Street NE and Mary Lazark, a seamstress employed by Josephine Antezak, and Frederick W. Steiger, a molder, both boarded at the nearby former 1907 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Gustav H. Klein, a helper, resided at the nearby former 1907 Marshall Street NE and Gertrude Klein, a clerk for C. F. Witt, and Mary G. Klein, a cashier for Kampff-Warneke Company, both boarded at the nearby former 1907 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Gustav Henning, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 1908 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. John Holawa, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 1910 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Xavier F. Bauer, a brewmaster at Gluek Brewery Company, resided at the nearby former 1923 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Archie A. Stanley resided at the former nearby 1901 Marshall Street NE, that Mrs. Laura Utke resided at the former nearby 1908 Marshall Street NE, that Arthur J. Stoffel resided at the former nearby 1912 Marshall Street NE, and that Mrs. Amelia Bauer resided at the former nearby 1923 Marshall Street NE. Charles Gluek (1860- ,) the son of Gottlieb Gluek and Caroline Foell Gluek, was born at Minneapolis, was educated in public schools of Minneapolis, was a vice president of the Gluek Brewing Company, was engaged ever since leaving school in 1880 in the brewing business established by his father in 1857 and incorporated in 1894, was a vice president of the German-American Bank, was a Democrat, was a member of the Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, was a member of the Ancient Order Of United Workmen, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was engaged in the hobbies of hunting, fishing, and automobiling, and officed at the corner of 20th Avenue and Marshall Street NE. Charles M. Troy ( -1914,) Adelia A. Troy ( -1932,) and Gertrude E. Troy ( -1933) all died in Ramsey County. Amelia Ulrika Bauer ( -1944) died in Carver County, Minnesota, and Archibald Stanley ( -1945) died in Hennepin County. Edward M. Tews ( -1943) died in Hennepin County. Gustav H. Klein ( -1932) died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. Arthur John Stoffel (1897-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Reyland, and died in Hennepin County. Amelia Mary Bauer (1889-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sattler, and died in Scott County, Minnesota.

1924 Marshall Street NE: The vacant industrial property is owned by 1900 Marshall Street Inc. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Mankowski and Samuel Swenson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Miller resided at the former nearby 1925 Marshall Street NE. John Mankowski ( -1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. John G. Mankowski ( -1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Molewiz, and died in Hennepin County.

1926 Marshall Street NE: The vacant commercial property is owned by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. The 1909 city directory indicates that Eliza Sromberg, the widow of Anton Stromberg, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Devine resided at this address. The Gluek Brewing Company, with L. G. Gluek, president, and Charles Gluek, treasurer, was located at the nearby former 2000 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Charles Gluek also was the vice president of the German American Bank and resided at 1005 Mount Curve Avenue according to the 1909 city directory. Louis G. Gluek resided at the former nearby 2002 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. George F. Schwerin, a driver, resided at the former nearby 1927 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. Hinz and Henry Swanson resided at the former nearby 1927 Marshall Street NE and that Gordon Ebert and Thomas Traczyk resided at the former nearby 1927 Marshall Street NE. George F. Schwerin ( -1933) and William Devine ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. William Devine (1894-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. William Frederick Hinz ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. Henry Swanson ( -1934,) Thomas Traczyk ( -1938,) and Henry Swanson ( -1948) all died in Hennepin County. Henry Albin Swanson (1890-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Anderson, and died in Hennepin County. Henry Claus Swanson (1880-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roberts, and died in Hennepin County. Henry Swanson (1877-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Henry E. Swanson (1885-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olson, and died in Hennepin County. Henry Swanson (1888-1982) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Gordon Edward Ebert (1905-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schanamon, and died in Hennepin County. The 1880 federal census records indicate that Gottlieb Gluek (1824- ) was a brewer who was born in Allmersbach Am Weinberg, Neckarkreis, Wuerttemberg/Wirtemburg to parents who were also born in Wirtemburg, married Caroline Foell Gluek (1833- ,) from Wirtemburg in 1857, and headed a household in St. Anthony, Hennepin County, Minnesota. The Gottlieb Gluek household, in 1880, included Louis Gluek (1859- ,) a son who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a brewer, Charles Gluek (1860/1861-1939,) a son who was single and was a brewer, Emma Gluek (1864- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a student, Jennie Gluek (1865- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a student, Carrie Karoline Gluek (1866/1867-1962,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a student, Johnnie Gluek (1868- ,) a son who was born in Minnesota, who was single, and was a student, Elizabeth Gluek (1870- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a student, Tena Gluek (1872- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single and was a student, Anna/Annie Gluek (1874/1875-1960,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, was single, and was a student, Lydia Gluek (1876- ,) a daughter who was born in Minnesota, Anthon Stromberg (1848- ,) a teamster who was born in Prussia, Germany, had parents who were both born in Wirtemburg, Germany, and was married, Michael Miller (1842 - ,)a teamster who was born in Illinois, had parents who were both born in Wirtemburg, and was married, John Baker (1852- ,) a brewer who was born in Ohio, had a father who was born in Bavaria, Germany, and a mother who was born in Hesse, Germany, and was single, John Mahkorn (1853- ,) a brewer who was born in Bavaria, Germany, had parents who were born in Bavaria, and was single,Robert Kaufman (1844- ,) was a laborer who was born in Wirtemburg, had parents who were both born in Wirtemburg, Germany, and was single, Friedrika Sansenbacher (1860- ,) a servant who was born in Wirtemburg, Germany, had parents who were both born in Wirtemburg, Germany, and was single, John Oberlies (1835- ,) a carpenter who was born in Prussia, had parents who were both born in Prussia, and was married, Katherine Oberlies (1836- ,) a housekeeper who was born in Prussia, had parents who were both born in Prussia, and was married, Willie Oberlies (1866- ,) a student who was born in Minnesota and was single, Annie Oberlies (1875- ,) a student who was born in Minnesota, Henry Oberlies (1877- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and Eliza Oberlies (1860- ,) a housekeeper who was born in Minnesota. Charles Gluek married Mary Thielen (1865- ) of Minneapolis in 1888 and the couple had three children, Karl G. Gluek (1890-1932,) Emma Camilla Gluek (1890-1960,) and Alvin Charles Gluek (1893-1952.) John G. Gluek (1868- ,) the son of Gottlieb Gluek and Caroline Foell Gluek, was born at Minneapolis, was educated in the public schools of Minneapolis, was employed in the brewing business established by his father since leaving school in 1887, was the secretary and treasurer of the company since its incorporation in 1894, was an independent in politics, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, was a member of the Ancient Order Of United Workmen, married Minnie Mueller at Minneapolis in 1896, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, engaged in the hobbies of fishing and boating, officed at the corner of 20th Avenue and Marshall Street NE in 1907, and resided at 2447 Bryant Avenue South in 1907. Louis G. Gluek (1858- ,) the son of Gottlieb Gluek and Caroline Foell Gluek, was born at St. Anthony, Minnesota, Sept. 21. 1858; ; educated in public schools of Minneapolis, was the president of the Gluek Brewing Company, has been in the brewing business from his youth, his father having been his instructor, married Laura I. Giesmann at Minneapolis in 1893, was a Democrat, was a Lutheran, was a member Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Knights of Honor, was a member of the St. Anthony Commercial Club, engaged in the hobbies of farming and fishing, officed at the corner of 20th Avenue and Marshall Street NE in 1907, and resided at 2002 Marshall Street NE in 1907.

2001 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1948. The structure is a one story, 283153 square fooot, manufacturing and warehouse building. The 1909 city directory indicates that William H. Harvey, a driver, resided at this address and Roy Harvey, a driver, boarded at this address. The property is owned by Packaging Corporation Of America. In 2001, the Packaging Corporation Of America had net sales of $1.8 billion, retained 7,900 employees, produced 2.1 million tons of containerboard, and shipped 26.1 billion square feet of corrugated products. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Loius G. Gluek resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that the Gluek Brewing Company was located at the former nearby 2000 Marshall Street NE and that Louis G. Gluek, the president of the Gluek Brewing Company, resided at 2002 Marshall Street NE. In 1909, according to the city directory, Charles Gluek was the secretary of the Gluek Brewing Company, was the vice president of the German American Bank, and resided at 1005 Mount Curve Avenue. Sophia Borchardt, the widow of August Borchardt, resided at the former nearby 2003 Marshall Street NE and Amanda Borchardt, a helper, Frieda Borchardt, a helper, and William Borchardt, a laborer, all boarded at the former nearby 2003 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Gadlesky resided at the former nearby 2003 Marshall Street NE.

2004 Marshall Street NE: Gluek Riverside Park; This is the site of the former Gluek Brewery and the former Gluek "mansion," which was razed in 1966. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Louis Gluek and A. L. Gluek all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Gluek resided at this address. Louis Gluek was the last resident of this historic home before it was demolished. German immigrant Gottlieb Gluek established the brewery in 1857 as the Mississippi Brewery, seven years after Orth started his brewery (which became Grain Belt.) In 1863, Gluek bought out his partner and changed the name to Gluek Brewery. Gluek and the owners of Grain Belt remained friendly rivals until the Gluek Brewery was sold to G. Heileman of LaCrosse, Wisconsin, in 1964, and the Gluek Brewery closed. Gluek was a progressive company. In 1942, the company introduced a malt beverage called "Stite," which was the predecessor of today's "light beer." The Gluek property extended all the way to Grand Street. It was sold to the Northwestern Corrugated Box Company, which planned to expand on the riverfront, but later changed its plans. The Tenneco Packaging Corporation now occupies the former Gluek property on the east side of Marshall Street. The riverfront site had been slated for industrial expansion, but residents rallied support for converting the space into a park. The Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board eventually took ownership, but the site was not fully developed until the Gluek family contributed $25,000 for park improvements. The park includes the old brewery artesian well, a gazebo, and a small patio area for outdoor events. The well has a strong history as a neighborhood-gathering site. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Gluek Brewing Company was located at the former nearby 2021 Marshall Street NE.

2030 Marshall Street NE: Edison Gym; Built in 1965. The property has been placed on the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission list. Leon Terrien, a carpenter, boarded at the nearby former 2101 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 2101 Marshall Street NE was a vacant lot.

2107 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 880 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Micy resided at this address. The property is currently owned by James Mely.

2111 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 845 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom single family rental residence. The 1909 city directory indicated that Emil Zindars, a driver for the City Ice Company, and Alvin H. Ittner, a bookbinder, both resided at this address and that Emil Zimdars, a driver, and Frank F. Zimdars, a carpenter, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Emil Herman Zindars ( -1946) died in Sherburne County, Minnesota. Frank Zimdars ( -1927) died in Hennepin County. Alvin Herman Ittner (1886-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Richter, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. The property is currently owned by Peter Mely.

2115 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1932. The structure is a 1.2 story, 1040 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that Albert Gentz, a machine operator, resided at this address and Albert F. Gentz, a carpenter, and Bertha Gentz both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Derbis resided at this address. Albert Gentz ( -1933) died in Faribault County, Minnesota. Albert Gentz (1902-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ehmke, and died in Le Sueur County, Minnesota. Bertha Gentz ( -1947) died in Brown County, Minnesota. John Derbis ( -1954) died in Hennepin County. John Derbis (1916-1983) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Bernard Leo Bouley.

2119 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,280 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, single family rental residence. The 1909 city directory indicates that George C. Schmeck, a driver, and George Smack, a driver, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John M. Sery resided at this address. George E. Schmeck ( -1939) and John M. Sery ( -1950) both died in Hennepin County. The property is currently owned by James Alan Foster of Ham Lake, Minnesota. Peter P. Faustgen, a grader, resided at the nearby former 2123 Marshall Street NE and Christinia Faustgen, a seamstress, and Peter N. Faustgen, a driver, boarded at the nearby former 2123 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Haluska resided at the former nearby 2123 Marshall Street NE. Peter N. Faustgen ( -1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tolt, and died in Hennepin County. John Haluska ( -1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Klucka, and died in Hennepin County. John W. Haluska (1909-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Romanka, and died in Hennepin County.

2124 Marshall Street NE: Former Polish Palace/The Sample Room; Built in 1893 (1883 according to Hennepin County property tax records.) The structure is a two story, 4617 square foot, commercial building. A cornerstone at the roof line includes the builder's name, "M. H. Thies," which is hidden by the sign. It has the original mahogany bar and 30-foot, single span joists of untrimmed white pine on the second floor. In the basement, there are remnants of a bricked-up doorway that may have been the entrance to a tunnel to another building, possibly the old Gluek mansion or to the house next door. It was also known as "Pulaski's" and as "Cos and Steve's." As the "Polish Palace," it featured the same draws of cheap beer, pull tabs and lack of pretense as many another neighborhood bar. The "Sample Room" is an updated version of the original bar that stood on the spot in the early 20th century. The slightly seedy "Polish Palace" closed its doors permanently in 2001. The 1909 city directory indicates that Matthew H. Thies owned a saloon at this address. The 1909 city directory also indicates that Augusta P. Lampert, a cook, and John Holzen, a foreman employed by Lauritzen Malt Company, both resided at this address and that Frank Anderson, a painter, Frank R. Logan, a cooper, Joseph Becker, a cigar maker, Frank Bliss, a laborer, James H. Cannon, foreman for Penn Oil & Supply Company, William Carls, a laborer, Otto R. Gross, a machinist, George Haegel, a bottler, Frank Heich, a laborer, Jacob Holzen, a fireman, Matthew Iten, a laborer, George Rankin, a carpenter, Albert R. Smith, a carpenter, and Adolph Schule, a painter, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lawrence Parlow, involved in the soft drink business, and Mary Levandoski, who operated a boarding house, both resided at this address. Joseph Stanley Becker ( -1919,) Otto Rudolph Gross ( -1937,) Mathais H. Thies ( -1938,) Frank Logan ( -1942,) and Joseph I. Becker ( -1945) all died in Hennepin County. Joseph Becker (1908-1976) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Joseph John Becker ( -1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vanlith, and died in Hennepin County. Joseph Mathew Becker (1908-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wagner, and died in Hennepin County. Frank Macham Bliss ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. William A. Carls (1885-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. George S. Rankin (1912-1990) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Juwicz, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner is D C J Inc. Consulting chef Tobie Nidetz and executive chef Michael MacKay are responsible for the menu of "The Sample Room."

2127 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 845 square foot, five room, one bedroom, one bathroom, single family rental residence. The 1909 city director indicates that Frank F. Besemann, a bartender, resided at this address and Carl Sonman, a laborer, and Carl J. Sundman, a cabinetmaker, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank F. Beseman resided at this address. Carl Sundman ( -1930) and Frank Fred Besemann ( -1950) both died in Hennepin County. The property is owned by Michael Grubbs.

2128 Marshall Street NE: Private Home; Built in 1904 or 1907. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2,368 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, three bathroom, homesteaded single family residence. The building was built by Matt Theis and Rose Thies in 1904. They also built the Polish Palace and the house at 2136 Marshall Street NE. Their descendants lived at this address until 1996. Matt Theis and Rose Theis had four children. Their daughter, Hattie Theis, married Fritz Meyer and the couple had two children, Dorothy Meyer Hoffman and Ruth Meyer Grogan. Dorothy Meyer Hoffman and Ruth Meyer Grogan were the last of the family members to live in the house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Matthew H. Theis, who owned a saloon at 2124 Marshall Street NE, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred C. Meyer resided at this address. Ruth M. Grogan (1905-1992) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. James Rosenberg and Christine Bravo bought the house in 1997 and are completing an extensive restoration and upgrading of the building. The property was most recently sold in 1998 and sold for $140,000. The owners of the property are James Rosenberg and Christine Rosenberg.

2131 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,342 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, converted single family rental dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Conrad Frank, a laborer, John Gromosky, a laborer, and John W. Growmosky, a helper, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Julia Lacny resided at this address. Conrad Frank ( -1946) and Julia Lacny ( -1954) both died in Hennepin County. Conrad F. Frank (1911-1996) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jaurdt, and died in Hennepin County. The property is currently owned by Scott D. Buchan. Albert Jernander, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 2132 Marshall Street NE according to the 1909 city directory. Albert Jernander ( -1917) died in Hennepin County.

2133-2135 Marshall Street NE: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1,840 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, homesteaded double house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Oscar Jernander, a laborer, boarded at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16105) indicate that Blary Miskowiec, the son of World War I veteran Egnatz Miskowiec, a widower, resided at 2135 Marshall Street NE. The 1920 city directory indicates that Blazius Miskowicz, a fireman, Mary Miskowicz, a helper, and Stella Miskowicz, a helper, resided at 2135 Marshall Street NE. The 1930 city directory indicates that 2133 Marshall Street NE was vacant and that Joseph M. LaVigne resided at 2135 Marshall Street NE. World War II records indicate that Frank Kadilak was a Storekeeper 1st class, USCGR, was listed as a casualty, and had a father, Nick Kadilak, who resided at 2133 Marshall Street NE. Oscar Jernander ( -1915) died in Olmsted County. Nicholas Kadilak (1890-1964) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Joseph L. LaVigne ( -1931) died in Hennepin County. The property is currently owned by R. B. Fenton and M. K. Slayhi.

2136 Marshall Street NE: Private Home; Built in 1900. It was built by Matt Thies. The structure is a 1.7 story, 1710, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, single family rental dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that John Brooks, a painter, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Casper Thies resided at this address. Casper Thies ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1998 and sold for $125,000. The current owner is doing extensive landscaping along the river front and is renovating the interior. The property is currently owned by John A. Holmberg. [See the note for Matt Thies for 2128 Marshall Street NE.]

2200 Marshall Street NE: The vacant property is owned by the City of Minneapolis Public Works Right of Way.

Achitectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last modified on August 3, 2011.