Thursday Night Hikes: Lake of the Isles Hike Architecture Notes, Part 2


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part 2

Lake of the Isles Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

St. Paul, Minnesota

Webpage Creation: April 10, 2003

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

2304 Lake Place: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 2642 square foot,nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. I. Whitman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that LeRoy Bowen resided at this address. LeRoy Bowen, of Minneapolis, was a lawyer who successfully represented, with Samuel Levin of St. Louis, the Pacific National Fire Insurance Company in a claim for a suspected arson fire at the St. Paul Sporting Goods Company owned by an individual in bankruptcy in the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals case Pacific National Fire Insurance Company v. J. J. Mickelson , 235 F.2d 425 (1956). The property was sold in 1987 by __?__ Thorsen and __?__ Ternand to Stephen M. Fry for $215,000 and the property was sold in 2006 by Stephen M. Fry to Stanley E. Jacot, Jr., for $910,000. The current owner of record is Stanley E. Jacot, Jr., and the current taxpayers of record are Stanley E. Jacot, Jr., and France C. Jacot. Stephen M. Fry, M. D., is a radiologist. Stan Jacot is vice president of marketing for ConAgra Snack Foods.

2308 Lake Place: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2503 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, twelve room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. C. Bein resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Windsor F. McGeath resided at this address. The property is currently owned by Edward C. Prescott and Janet Prescott. Edward C. Prescott, a 2004 Nobel Prise winner in Economics, received a bachelors degree from Swathmore College in 1962, a masters degree from Carnegie-Mellon University in 1963, and a doctorate from Carnegie-Mellon University in 1967, is a professor of Economics at the W. P. Carey School of Business at the Arizona State University, and has been a Senior Monetary Advisor at the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis and has been associated with the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis Research Department since 1981. Edward C. Prescott married Janet Dale Simpson, a graduate of Chatham College, in 1965 and the couple had three children, Edward Simpson Prescott, Wynne Fraser Prescott, and Andrew Prescott. Janet Prescott is a member of Minnesota Professionals for Psychology Applied to Work.

2312 Lake Place: Built in 1905. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2552 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. M. Gillette and Mrs. F. K. Storer all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Donald Goodrich resided at this address. Donald Goodrich (1888- ,) the son of Calvin Gibson Goodrich, the president of the Twin City Rapid Transit Lines, graduated from Yale University in 1910, was a member of the Mu Chapter of the Psi Upsilon fraternity, was appointed the superintendent of the Minneapolis Division of the transit line, was the superintendent of the Minneapolis Street Railway Company, succeeding Edward Karow, in 1915, married Elinor Bigelow Ward, the daughter of George S. Ward, president of the Ward Baking Company, in New York City, New York, in 1919, was the general superintendent of the Twin City Traction Company in 1923, subsequently became the general superintendent of the Twin City Rapid Transit Lines, was a member of the Minneapolis Automobile Company, was a member of the Lafayette Club, was a member of the Minikhada Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the University Club, resided at 104 West Franklin Avenue in 1917, and resided at 2445 Portland Avenue in 1920. The current owner is Charles R. McCoy and the current taxpayers of record are Charles R. McCoy and Mary Ann McCoy, who reside in Plymouth, Minnesota. Charles McCoy is a member of the board of the Library Foundation of Hennepin County. Mary Ann McCoy previously was the executive director of the Minnesota Ethical Practices Board, previously was a board member of the Minnesota Historical Society, and currently is a member of the Honorary Council of the Minnesota Historical Society. Mary Ann McCoy won the Hope Washburn Award in 1974, presented to the Minnesota member who has performed outstanding service to the League of Women Voters, and was the president of the Minnesota League of Women Voters from 1975 to 1977. [See note on the Minneapolis Street Railway.] [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.] [See note for Calvin G. Goodrich and Calvin Gibson Goodrich for 1827 La Salle Avenue.] [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the University Club for 420 Summit Avenue.]

2316 Lake Place: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2826 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1910, 1912, and 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Dowd resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Dowd and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Morris L. Hallowell, Jr., resided at this address. Morris L. Hallowell, Jr., was a partner with Samuel P. Snider and the issue of a receivorship for their nonexempt property was ultimately resolved in Charles N. Prouty v. Morris L. Hallowell, Jr., 53 Minn. 558 (1893.) Morris L. Hallowell, Jr., was a 1912 graduate of Harvard University, resided in Wayzata, Minnesota, in 1912, exhibited in the 1913 Minnesota State Fair in the bench show, was discharged for a physical disability from the First Minnesota Field Artillery in 1918, and subsequently was engaged in the flour milling business. Morris L. Hallowell, Sr. (1809-1881,) was a Quaker who was born in England, emigrated to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and was engaged in the silk and fancy goods trade as a partner in Morris L. Hallowel & Company. James Joseph Dowd ( -1944) died in Hennepin County. The property has been sold three times in the last decade, first in 1996, when R. Johnson-Collins and C. Johnson-Collins sold it to Mark Drinkwater and Deb Drinkwater for $325,000, then in 2000, when Mark Drinkwater and Deb Drinkwater sold it to David L. Norgard for $394,000, and then in 2003, when Joseph E. Oppold III sold it to Norman Yustin for $695,000. David L. Norgard and Joseph E. Oppold, III, were the 2003 owners of record of the property. The current owners are Norman Yustin and Maura M. Yustin. The Rev. David L. Norgard is executive director of the Episcopal Community Services. David Norgard was ordained as an openly gay man in the Episcopal Diocese of Minnesota in 1984. Joseph E. Oppold, III, is associated with US Bancorp Piper Jaffray. David Norgard and Joseph Oppold III were financial supporters of Episcopal Community Services in 2002 and the Minnesota Aids Project in 2003. Norm Yustin grew up in Toronto, Canada, and is associated with the Fallon Ad Agency in Minneapolis. Norman Yustin and Maura Yustin are members of St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic Church and have three children, Mae Yustin, Nicholas Yustin, and Ava Ann Yustin. Maura Yustin ran in the Fleet Feet Sports Women's 10K Run in Chicago in 2003. Yustin LLC is located at this address.

2320 Lake Place: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2040 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1910 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Sullivan resided at this address. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Hauschild resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. F. Kidder resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Philip D. Tryon resided at this address. John Henry Hauschild (1880-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stremel, and died in Hennepin County. In 1956, John H. Hauschild, board chairman of the Great Northern Insurance Company, donated 200 acres to the Frontenac State Park Association for the creation of Frontenac State Park, which occurred in 1957. The property was sold three times in recent years, first in 1997, when J. L. Waugh and G. C. Waugh sold it to Charles L. Abraham for $300,000, then in 1998, when Charles L. Abraham sold it to Thor P. D. Christensen for $329,900, then in 2001, when Thor A. Christensen sold it to Selcuk Adabag and H. Kim for $549,000. Thor Christensen was the director of products and corporate development at Integrated Network Technologies, Inc., which offers high-speed Internet access and other Internet related services for businesses, in 1998, and was the president and CEO of BioconX Inc., in Minneapolis, a security component vendor, in 2000. Selcuk Adabag and Helen Kim are the current taxpayers of record and Thor A. Christensen is the current owner of record. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2006, approved a request from Don Wagner on behalf of Selcuk Adabag for a variance to reduce the required north interior side yard setback from 6 feet to 4.5 feet to allow for a rear enclosed porch addition to an existing single-family dwelling. Helen Kim, M.D., with the Hennepin Women's Mental Health Program at the Hennepin County Medical Center, is a Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota Medical School. Selcuk A. Adabag is an Assistant Professor in cardiology at the University of Minnesota Medical School.

2324 Lake Place: Built in 1928. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3360 square foot, six bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin F. Weil resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. F. Weil and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur M. Hartwell resided at this address. Arthur Mowry Hartwell (1890-1969) was born in Providence, Rhode Island, the son of Mortimer Hall Hartwell (1849-1891) and Jane Mowry Hartwell, married Janet Van Sickle in 1926, and was a vice-president of General Mills, Inc., in charge of grain purchases for Washburn-Crosby, Inc., of Buffalo, New York. Arthur M. Hartwell and Janet Hartwell had three children, Janet Dickson Hartwell (Mrs. Edward E.) Eyre (1926-1996,) John Mowry Hartwell, and Arthur Van Sickle Hartwell. Arthur M. Hartwell was a member of the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Visiting Nurse Association from 1954 to 1964 and Janet (Mrs. Arthur M.) Hartwell was a member of the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Visiting Nurse Association from 1935 to 1943. Mrs. Arthur M. Hartwell donated a Sheffield plate wine coaster from 1810-1820 and a glass stoppered decanter from 1810-1820 to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. John Mowry Hartwell graduated from the Harvard Business School, spent three years in the U. S. Navy as a supply officer on a destroyer, married Lucy Bell, worked for General Mills for 13 years, was employed by Land-O-Nod Company from 1970 to 1986 as its CEO, became a Sales and Marketing Consultant, and then was employed by Bellcomb Tech. Arthur Van Sickle Hartwell spent two years in the Army as a Second Lieutenant, was a project expediter for Scott-Attwater, was a concrete inspector for the Minnesota Highway Department, received a Civil Engineering degree from the University of Minnesota in 1961, was recalled to active military service for the "Berlin Crises," married Mary Bell Kadell, was employed for 30 years by the State of California with the Department of Water and with the Department of Parks and Recreation, and was a long term member and elder of the Cordova Presbyterian Church of Rancho Cordova, California. The Minnesota Visiting Nurse Association was established in 1902 and exists to enhance the health of the community by providing compassionate, comprehensive and cost-effective home health care and preventive health services to young and old. The Minnesota Visiting Nurse Agency employs a staff of over 140, including Public Health Certified Nurses, RN's, LPN's, home health aides, homemakers and interpreters, and performs nearly 80,000 home care visits a year. The agency provides maternal and children's care, home health care, community health, corporate health, prevention programs, palliative care, child care, and basic life support. In 1987, K. C. Nomura and L. T. Nomura sold the property to M. F. Favero and I. C. Favero for $198,500, and, in 2004, Michael F. Favero sold the property to Ellen R. Ratner for $800,000. Michael F. Favero and Ilana C. Favero were the previous owners of record of the property. Ellen R. Ratner is the current owner of record of the property and Peter J. Shanedling is the current taxpayer of record of the property. Michael Favero is the president of New Millennium Consulting, Inc. Michael Favero and Ilana Favero were financial supporters of Jewish Community Action. Ilana Favero is associated with the Temple Israel congregation. Peter J. Shanedling was a financial supporter of the School of Social Work at the University of St. Thomas in 2004. Peter Shanedling, LGSW, MSW, is a School Social Worker at the Maxfield Magnet School in St. Paul and works with emotional and behavior disturbed children. Peter Shanedling and Ellen Ratner were financial supporters of Books for Africa in 2004. Rachel Ratner and Peter Shanedling were home stay hosts for Connect/U.S.-Russia in 2004. E. Rachel Ratner and Peter Shanedling were financial supporters of Jewish Community Action in 2004. Ellen Ratner travelled to Ghana in 1990 to study dance and drumming for three months.

2328 Lake Place: Edna S. Purcell House/Purcell-Cutts House/The "Little Joker"; Built in 1913 (1914 according to Minneapolis property tax records;) Prairie School in style; Purcell & Elmslie, architects. The structure is a two story, 3537 square foot, single family dwelling. The house remains one of the most significant examples of the Prairie School style of architecture in the United States. The house was built for Purcell's own family and was named for Purcell's first wife. It incorporated Purcell's talent for innovative residential planning with Elmslie's ingenious and exacting decorative detail. Elmslie designed more than 80 leaded-glass windows in the house. The house is considered the most complete embodiment of Purcell and Elmslie's architectural philosophy. Purcell and his wife, Edna Purcell, thought of the house as a showcase for his firm's expertise as well as a focal point the Purcells' social life and intended to build it as a truly progressive home that would nurture a new, "modern American family Life." Purcell and his family lived in the house for only a few years before they relocated to Philadelphia. Purcell later moved to Portland, Oregon. In 1919, the house was sold to Anson B. Cutts, Sr., and Edna Cutts, who resided at this address for 66 years without altering the house and whose son, Anson B. Cutts, Jr., bequeathed it to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in 1985. Anson B. Cutts, Sr., was a railroad executive. The piers and the cypress-wood trim on the fascia of the upper and lower floors and around the window frames were given a jin-di-sugi treatment, a technique popularized by the Minneapolis interior designer John Scott Bradstreet (1845-1914.) Charles Livingston Bull was an illustrator of children's books whose specialty was depicting animals and who was invited by Purcell to come to Minneapolis in 1914 to paint a mural above the fireplace showing Louisiana herons flying over an implied body of water, with two moons. In the 1920's, the Cutts family added a detached garage to the property. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Cutts resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anson B. Cutts resided at this address. Anson Bailey Cutts (1866- ,) the son of Addison D. Cutts and Deborah A. Bailey Cutts, was born at Lillington, North Carolina, attended private schools until 1881, attended the Chatham Academy, Savannah, Georgia, from 1881 until 1883, attended the Middle Georgia Military College in Milledgeville, Georgia, from 1883 until 1884, moved to Chicago, Illinois, in 1884, was employed in the clerk in the ticket and auditing department with the Chicago & Alton RailRoad from 1884 until 1887, moved to Minnesota in 1887, was employed as the chief rate clerk in the auditor's office by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad from 1887 until 1900, married Edna B. Stokes in 1895, was employed as the chief rate clerk in the general passenger department by the Great Northern RailRoad from 1900 until 1902, was employed as the chief clerk in the general ticket and passenger department by the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad in 1902, was the general passenger and ticket agent for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad and the Iowa Central RailRoad after 1904, resided in Minneapolis, was the president of the Aitkin Farm Company, officed at the Metropolitan Building in 1907, was a member of the Minikahda Club, was a member of the Lafayette Club, and was a member of the Bryn Mawr Club. There is an Anson B. Cutts Scholarship at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota. Anson Bailey Cutts, Jr. (1905-1985,) was educated at Cambridge University, graduated from Yale University in 1928, authored Modern architecture in England, Holland, and France, 1934 in 1934, was the executive secretary of the Association of Canadian Bookmen from 1935 until 1938, was in London, England, in 1936, was the editor of its Reading Guide Quarterly, was an interior decorator in 1938, served in the United States Army during World War II, returned to Canada in 1946 to pursue his studies of Canadian architecture at the University of Toronto, returned to the United States in the late 1940's, was the author of The old Scottish architecture of Ontario in 1949, spent most of the rest of his life in Minneapolis, and donated both an 1880 Japanese tobacco pouch and netsuke and this residence in 1985 to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. The property is owned by the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. The Institute has returned the house to the look of the period of the Purcells' occupancy (1913-1917.) Anson Bailey Cutts ( -1949) died in Hennepin County. Anson B. Cutts, Jr. (1905-1985,) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stokes, and died in Hennepin County. [See note on Purcell, Feick, & Elmslie for 2022 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad.]

2400 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2064 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1908 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Hazlett resided at this address. The 1910, 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. I. C. Gilman resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Puffer and Michael Schibsky all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lloyd K. Stabeck resided at this address. Ira C. Gilman ( -1913) died in Hennepin County. Stephen E. Ronald is the current owner of record of the property. Stephen E. Ronald was the news production editor for the Minneapolis Star-Tribune in 1997.

2401 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 1302 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, five room, single family dwelling. The 1910 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Smith resided at this address. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Powers resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Russell resided at this address. In 1921, Lester Roberts Badger was a member of the American Ornithologists Union and resided at this house. In 1922, Lester R. Badger was a member of the Wilson Ornithological Society and resided at this house. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. R. Badger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Georgie M. Andrist resided at this address. Lester Roberts Badger was a member of the Clas of 1915 at Williams College. Lester R. Badger (1892-1966,) the son of Walter L. Badger and Anna Dawson Badger, was born in Minneapolis, was educated in the Minneapolis public schools here, entered a preparatory school in the East after two years of high school, graduated from Williams College in 1916, was a member of the Kappa Alpha fraternity, was the scoutmaster of Troop No. 1, Boy Scouts of America, North Adams, Massachusetts, entered the real estate business with his father, married Helen Sammis of Minneapolis in 1917, entered the U. S. Army Officers Training Camp at Fort Snelling in 1917, was commissioned a Second Lieutenant, served in France in the Motor Transport Corps during World War I, returned to the United States in 1918 and was mustered out at Camp Dodge in 1919, was the vice president of the Walter L. Badger Company, was a significant early supporter of the Quetico Provincial Park and of the Superior National Forest, was the acting Commissioner of Natural Resources in 1939, was the director of the Minnesota Division of Civilian Defense in 1944, was the executive secretary to Minnesota Governor Harold E. Stassen, was the executive secretary to Minnesota Governor Edward J. Thye, was the mayor of Shorewood, Minnesota, was a member of the Plymouth Congregational Church, was a Republican, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Golf Club, and was a member of the American Legion. Lester R. Badger and Helen Sammis Badger were the parents of one child, Barbara Badger. The property was sold three times during the 1990's, with the first sale occurring in 1991, from Alan C. Williams to Sharon E. Strauss for $91,750, with the second sale occurring in 1994, from Sharon E. Strauss to D. R. Christianson and B. Christianson for $105,000, and with the third sale occurring in 1997, from Ilse B. Shaterian to J. Anderson Donatelle for $144,000. Julie Anderson Donatelle is the owner of record of the property.

2403 Lake Place: Built in 1905. The structure is a one story, 1038 square foot, one bedroom, two bathroom, six room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Fegles resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. C. Jerome resided at this address. The 1919 History of the Field Artillery Central Officers Training School indicates that Ralph Earl Capron resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Barber resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ralph E. Rubins resided at this address. Ralph Earl Capron (1889-1980) was born in Minneapolis, attended the University of Minnesota, was 5' 11", was 165 lbs., was a Major League Baseball outfielder who played for the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1912 and the Philadelphia Phillies in 1913, went 0-1, with a run scored in three games, batted left and threw right-handed, also played football as a Wing Back in the American Professional Football Association with the Chicago Tigers in 1920, and died in Los Angeles, California. Donald B. Fegles (1883-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Berry, and died in Ramsey County. Two sales of the property occurred in the 1990's, first in 1991, from W. P. Ocken and Gretchen Ocken to Kristen M. Mcdougall for $97,000, and then in 1995, from Kristen M. Mcdougall to the current owner of the property, Julie E. Neraas, for $152,000. In 1916, D. B. Fegles was a member of the Fort William, Ontario, Canada, Rotary Club and was head of the Fegles Construction Company, builders of grain elevators and other large structures. In the early part of the 20th Century, the Fegles Construction Company was in business in Minneapolis and Fort William, Ontario. In 1916, D. B. Fegles received a contract from the Duluth, Cook County, Minnesota, Port Arthur, and Fort William Rotarians to build a wooden bridge over the gorge of the Pigeon River, connecting in 1917 Minnesota and the newly completed road from Duluth with Western Ontario, Canada, and the area that is now known as Thunder Bay. The bridge was known as the "Outlaw bridge" because it was erected by the Rotarians without permission from the governments on either side of the border. It was the first international non-toll bridge built between Canada and the United States. The wooden bridge was replaced by a steel structure in 1930. In 1963, a new bridge with an expanded customs facility was built several kilometers to the east of the old Pigeon River Bridge built by D. B. Fegles. In 1931, Mack Trucks built one of the first diesel switching locomotives for the Fegles Construction Company, and the Fegles locomotive is now owned by the Lake Superior Railroad Museum in Duluth, Minnesota. The Fegles Construction Company, Ltd., of Minneapolis, Minnesota, and Fort William, Ontario, was the contractor for the Robert Street bridge in St. Paul in 1924-1926. Kristen McDougall was the recipient of a grant in the visual arts from the Travel and Study Grant Program, funded by the Dayton Hudson Foundation, General Mills Foundation and Jerome Foundation, in 1999. Kristen McDougall was a graphic designer, a teacher, and the chair of the design division at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design in 1999. Julie Neraas (1954- ) has been a faculty member in Graduate Liberal Studies Program at Hamline University since 1991 and is an ordained Presbyterian minister and spiritual director, with a Master of Divinity degree from Princeton Seminary, additional training from the Shalem Institute in Washington D.C., and a certificate in Organizational Leadership from the University of Minnesota. Julie E. Neraas was ordained as a Presbyterian minister in 1980.

2404 Lake Place: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2244 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Chase resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Barber resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward P. Naus resided at this address. Barbara O. Dow is the owner of record of the property. Barbara O. Dow previously was a vice president of the Minnesota Council of the Teachers of Mathematics in 1981. Barbara O. Dow was a financial supporter of the Minneapolis Heart Foundation in 2004. Barbara Dow is the membership chair of the Minnesota Herb Society and is a Hennepin County master gardener.

2407 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2264 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1908 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Clark resided at this address. The 1910 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Parker resided at this address. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. V. Hubbard resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. C. Bridgman resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. R. Jones resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Erling A. Sodahl resided at this address. Lucy Clark was the wife of W. L. Clark. Lucius Virgilius Hubbard, the son of Lucius Frederick Hubbard (1836- ) and Amelia Thomas Hubbard, the grandson of Charles Frederick Hubbard (1805- ) and Margaret Van Valkenberg/Van Valkenburgh Hubbard, and the great grandson of Lucius Hubbard (1763- ) and Anne/Anna Pomeroy Hubbard (1770- ,) was a member of the Minnesota Society of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of great great grandfather Isaac Hubbard (1725-1817,) a delegate to the Massachusetts Provincial Congress during the Revolutionary War. In 1997, Bethany B. Bowen sold the property to J. D. Pierce and T. A. Pierce for $286,000 and in 2007, Jonathan D. Pierce sold the property to Patrick J. Erlandson for $705,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Jonathan D. Pierce and Talia A. Pierce and the current owner of record is Patrick J. Erlandson and the current taxpayers of record are Patrick J. Erlandson and Laurie Erlandson. Talia Pierce was a registered nurse with the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. D. McMillen and Mrs. S. M. Wilson all resided at the former nearby 2408 Lake Place. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred D. McMillan resided at the former nearby 2408 Lake Place. [See note for Lucius F. Hubbard for 650 Summit Avenue.]

2410 Lake Place: Built in 1954. The structure is a one story, 1640 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. In 1994, R. B. Rand and M. B. Rand sold the property to its current owner, Sandra K. Nelson, for $229,000. Sandra K. Nelson was a financial supporter in 2003 of the Humane Society for Companion Animals and of Courage Center in 2001.

2411 Lake Place: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2904 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Simmons resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. C. B. Simmons resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard H. Coombs resided at this address. In 1923, Richard H. Coombs was the executive secretary of the Hennepin County Public Health Association. Chester B. Simmons ( -1917) died in Hennepin County. Bruce Theodore Downing and Sylvianne Jallerat Downing are the current owners of the property. Bruce T. Downing is Associate Professor of Linguistics and Director of the Program in Translation and Interpreting at the University of Minnesota. In 1980, Dr. Downing founded the University of Minnesota's Southeast Asian Refugee Studies (SARS) Project, and, from 1985 to 1989, was Associate Director of the Refugee Mental Health Technical Assistance Center, a project of the National Institute for Mental Health. In 2000, Professor Downing received a University of Minnesota Outstanding Community Service Award for contributions to the resettlement of newly arrived immigrants and the Southeast Asian Refugee Studies Project. Professor Bruce T. Downing was a member of the American Name Society in 2007. Sylvianne Downing is a Hmong language translator.

2414 Lake Place: Adelbert Roland Taylor House; Built in 1904. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2982 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1908, 1910, 1912, and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Taylor resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Adelbert Roland Taylor resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that A. R. Taylor resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Grace E. Meyercord, an artist, and Melanethon R. Nyman both resided at this address. Adelbert Roland Taylor was a 1887 graduate of Carlton College, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1893, was a lawyer, was an incorporator, with George F, Edwards, Will A. Koon, Frederick J. Leacey, and William H. Osborn, of the Duluth, Minnesota, Canal Bridge Company in 1901, was a notary public in Minnesota, was a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association, and officed at the McKnight Building in 1916. Kathryn Taylor (Mrs. J. William) Johnson (1906-1976) was a daughter of Adelbert Roland Taylor, was born in Minneapolis, was educated in the Minneapolis public schools, graduated from the West Virginia University, moved to Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, was a Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, High School English and Journalism teacher, married J. William Johnson of Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, and died in Palm Beach, Florida. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, first in 1994, from J. A. Halls and E. G. Halls to T. A. Sellars and E. H. Sellars for $287,500, and then in 1999, from T. A. Sellars and E. H. Sellars to M. Bonner and T. Bonner for $620,000. Michael Bonner is the current owner of record of the property and Michael Bonner and Teresa Bonner are the current taxpayers of record for this property. Teresa and Michael Bonner are financial supporters of the Macphail Center in 2005. Teresa Bonner is a US Bancorp employee. PipelineManager.com, LLC is also located at this address.

2415 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1890 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1910 and 1912 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. Edward Gorgen resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. E. Canfield resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Johns resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank D. Carter resided at this address. Dr. Edward Gorgen (1872- ,) the son of Giles Gorgen ( -1906) and Helen Rockwold Gorgen ( -1913,) was born in Steele County, Minnesota, was educated in the public schools of New Richland, Minnesota, graduated from the School of Dentistry of the University of Minnesota in 1899, graduated from the law school of the Lincoln and Jefferson University, practiced dentistry at Fairmont, Minnesota, came to Minneapolis in 1900, married Sophia Hammer, the daughter of Mrs. Sophia Hammer, in 1901, was a member of the executive board of the Hennepin County draft board during World War I, was a member of the various professional dental organizations, was a Republican, was a member of the Westminster Presbyterian Church, was a Mason, was a member of the Zuhrah Temple of the Mystic Shrine, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, was a member of the Superior Golf Club, was a member of the Commonwealth Club, and pursued the hobbies of golf, hunting and fishing. Edward Gorgen and Sophia Hammer Gorgen were the parents of three children, Earl Cyrus Gorgen, Ray Edward Gorgen, and Elizabeth June Gorgen. Edward Gorgen (1872-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Patterson, and died in Hennepin County. Gloria F. Freeman was the previous owner of record for the property and Alexis T. Broome is the current owner of record and Daniel B. Gold and Alexis T. Broome are the current taxpayers of record for the property. In 2006, Gloria F. Freeman sold the property to Daniel B. Gold for $585,000. Harvey E. Canfield ( -1929) died in Hennepin County. Gloria Freeman was a candidate for the Minneapolis School Board in 2004, was rated acceptable by the Stonewall Democratic-Farmer-Labor caucus, but was not endorsed by the Minneapolis Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party. Gloria Freeman was a member of the Minneapolis Unity Community Mediation Team in 2004, a process required by the federal government to resolve police/community relationship problems.

2419-2421 Lake Place: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3683 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, 14 room, duplex. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Clark and Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Dukes all resided at 2419 Lake Place and that Mr. and Mrs. L. D. Waldron resided at 2421 Lake Place. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Whitaker resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that 2419 Lake Place was vacant and that Fred P. Carlton resided at 2421 Lake Place. Christopher G. Cardozo is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property. 2419 Lake Place apparently is a rental unit. Christopher G. Cardozo was a financial supporter of WATCH in 2003 and of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in 2004. Christopher Cardozo is the owner of Christopher Cardozo Fine Art, a leading source for fine art photography that specializes in original works by photographer Edward S. Curtis and that owns the world's largest inventory of original Curtis photographs. Christopher Cardozo was trained as both a lawyer and a photographer, is the author of six books on Edward Curtis, including Sacred Legacy and Native Nations, and lives in both Minneapolis and Aspen, Colorado. Christopher Cardozo Inc. is also located at 2419 Lake Place.

2420 Lake Place: Built in 1906. The structure is a three story, 3410 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The 1908 and 1910 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. O. Hawksett resided at this address. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. B. F. Yeates and E. W. Yeates all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. B. Beson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that David E. Bronson resided at this address. Edmund Osborne Hawksett (1858- ) was born in Montreal, Quebec, was baptized in Montreal in 1875, married Margaret "Maggie" Eyres in 1882 in Winnipeg, Manitoba, lived in various places in the Midwestern United States for many years, and, from 1889-1893, worked as a clerk at Davis & Star Lumber Company in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. E. O. Hawksett's parents, Samuel Hawksett and Mary Kean Hawksett, immigrated from England in the 1850's and settled in Montreal, where Samuel Hawksett became a prominent artist. Edmund Osborne Hawksett ( -1942) and Eugene W. S. Yeates ( -1946) both died in Hennepin County. Mrs. E. O. Hawksett was the sister of Richard S. Eyres (1858-1926,) a traveling collector for the Minneapolis Threshing Machine Company for 25 years who lived in Minot, North Dakota. David E. Bronson was an official of the Episcopal Diocese of Minnesota during the period of 1944 and 1957 and was a diocesan chancellor from 1955 to 1968. In 1983, W. H. Kobin and A. H. Kobin sold the property to K. D. Richardson for $190,000. William H. Kobin married Anne Hendrickson and the couple had four children, Christopher Adam Kobin, Mellissa Anne Kobin, Matthew Charles Kobin, and Jennifer Anne Amanda Kobin. Katherine D. Richardson is the current owner of record of the property and Katherine D. Nielsen is the taxpayer of record for the property. Katherine D. Nielsen is a financial supporter of the Parks and Trails Association in 2004 and is a member of the board of the W. M. Foundation. Kate Nielson, a self-employed artist, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Stuart Nielsen, a self-employed artist, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2423 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 2920 square foot, three bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Melville resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that James C. Melville resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14523) indicate that James Condit Melville (1876- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in F. A. R. T., who was born in Petrograd, Russia, moved to Minnesota in 1898, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a medium complexion, was 5' 8 1/4" tall, was a lawyer at induction, was a self-employed lawyer after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Alice B. Melville, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. P. Stembel resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence P. Stembel resided at this address. James C. Melville graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1902, was a member of the Phi Delta Phi fraternity, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was a lawyer, and officed at the Warner Building in 1916. James C. Melville was a member of a federal grand jury in Minneapolis in 1907 and was a Minneapolis lawyer who officed at the New York Life Building in 1917. James Melville ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. Alice B. Melville (1880-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. In 1984, M. J. Goodman and M. K. Goodman sold the property to R. J. Barczak and M. T. Barczak for $155,000. Mary Terese Barczak is the taxpayer of record and Ronald J. Barczak is the current owner of record for the property. Ronald J. Barczak and Terry Barczak are currently listed as the residents of the house. Ronald J. Barczak is a lawyer with the law firm of Yaeger, Jungbauer, Barczak & Roe and represents the United Transportation Union. Ronald J. Barczak, an attorney with Yaeger, Junghauer, Barczak & Vucinovi, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Mary Teresse Barczak, a homemaker and parent, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2424 Lake Place: Leslie House; Built in 1914 (1917 according to Lanegran and according to Minneapolis property tax records;) Prairie School in style; Louis Long, architect (Long, Lamoreaux, & Long, according to Lanegran and Larry Millett.) The structure is a two story, 4452 square foot, two bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. J. S. Macnie resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arnett W. Leslie resided at this address. The symmetry and massing of the house are noticeably different from Purcell's own house and more closely relate it to the homes of George Washington Maher. Arnett W. Leslie was the president of the John Leslie Paper Company of Minneapolis in 1938. Arnett W. Leslie was a member of the Minneaplois Board of Education in 1958 and was the president of the Minneapolis Board of Education from 1960 until 1961. Arnett W. Leslie was the author of Goals for Central Minneapolis & Its Function and Design published before 1959. The Ampersand Club was founded in 1930 in Minneapolis by Frank K. Walter and Arnett W. Leslie. The Ampersand Club was an organization for those who love books, fine printing and the book arts and fosters appreciation for the historic and artistic importance of the printed book, and for the arts essential to book production, such as typography, fine printing, binding, papermaking, and book design. The members of the Ampersand Club in 1935-1936 were Charles H. Blodgett, Charles W. Cole, Franklin M. Crosby, Jr., John P. Dalzell, E. O. Erickson, Randolph Haugan, W. Kendall Jeffrey, Jr., Carl W. Jones, Jefferson Jones, William H. Kirchner, J. H. Kittleson, Edmund M. Kopietz, Walter E. Kranhold, G. Sidney Houston, Joe MacGaheran, Fred T. Phelps, Russell A. Plimpton, J. Frederick Sutherland, Frank K. Walter, and Emerson G. Wulling, with Christopher Morley, Saturday Review of Literature, an honorary member. Arnett Leslie was on the Board of Education of the Minneapolis Public Schools in 1958-1959. Arnett W. Leslie was an ex officio member of the Walker Art Center in 1960. Arnett W. Leslie was a correspondent with James V. Forrestal (1892-1949,) Secretary of the Navy, in 1942. In 1989, James A. Zeese, Jr., sold the property to Gina J. Paulucci for $460,000, and in 1995, G. Paulucci and J. Conner sold the property to B. M. Fine and W. I. Fine for $1,045,000. William I. Fine and Bianca M. Fine were the owners of record of the property and Bianca M. Fine is the current owner of record of the property. The William I. Fine Theoretical Physics Institute and the Cosmology Group, School of Physics and Astronomy, at the University of Minnesota is named after William I. Fine, a real estate developer and former attorney with a life-long interest in theoretical physics. William I. Fine ( -2002) was the founder and managing general partner of Fine Associates. There is also a William I. and Bianca M. Fine Chair in Theoretical Physics at the University of Minnesota. Bianca Conti-Fine received a medical degree from the University of Milan in 1974, is a professor of biochemistry, molecular biology, and biophysics at the University of Minnesota, and is a molecular immunologist whose work spans basic research in biochemistry and applied investigations in medicine, focusing toward understanding the molecular mechanisms that trigger and modulate undesirable antibody responses related to human autoimmune diseases and hemophilia. [See note on Louis L. Long.]

2427 Lake Place: Built in 1909. The structure is a two story, 1789 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. Edwin Wanous resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. F. Wanous resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin F. Wanous resided at this address. In 1907, Julia Belle Hopkins (1871-1934) of Mendon, Michigan, married Dr. E. Z. Wanous of Minneapolis and subsequently resided in Minneapolis. Ernest Z. Wanous, M.D. (1876-1945,) graduated from the College of Medicine and Surgery of the University of Minnesota in 1897, was an affiliate fellow in the American Medical Association, was the assistant superintendent of the Minnesota State Hospital at Rochester, Minnesota, resided in Rochester, Minnesota, in 1901, was the assistant superintendent of the Minneapolis General Hospital, was the author of the article "The Clinical Aspect of Prostatic Hypertrophy" in 1918, and died of ascending pyelonephritis from cord bladder and decubitus ulcer. Edwin Wanous was the secretary-treasurer of the Minnesota University Dental Alumni Association in 1905 and was the vice president of the Alumni Association of the Dental Department of the University of Minnesota in 1906. Mrs. Ernest Z. Wanous contributed recipes for blueberry muffins to the Ramblers Club cookbook in 1911 and for a country-style fried spring chicken to the Rambler's Club Woman's cookbook in 1913. Juliabelle Wanous ( -1934) and Edwin F. Wanous ( -1954) both died in Hennepin County. In 2002, Richard L. Gibson sold the property to William E. Conroy for $590,000. William E. Conroy and Margaret H. Conroy are the current taxpayers of record for the property and William Conroy is the current owner of record of the property. William E. Conroy, M.D., is an internal medicine physician associated with Health Partners and participated in the 1999 Birkebeiner Ski Race. Jason Sand, on behalf of Bill Conroy and Margaret Conroy, applied for a variance to reduce the side yard setback at this address for a detached garage in 2005.

2500 Lake Place: Built in 1909; Victorian Farmhouse in style. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 5060 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, 16 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mrs. Emily Knoblauch, her daughters, Alexander Knoblauch, Charles Knoblauch, and William Knoblauch all resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Charles Knoblauch resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emilie Knoblauch and her daughters, Alex Knoblauch, and William Knoblauch all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henrietta Knoblauch resided at this address. Alois Knoblauch (1833-1885,) the son of Joseph Anton Knoblauch (1779-1843) and Barbara Zink (1799-1869,) was educated and learned the shoemaking trade in Germany, came to America in 1854, worked a short time in New York, moved to Chicago, Illinois, then moved to Fulton County, Illinois, came to Minnesota in 1857, started a small boot and shoe store in Minneapolis, and married Amelia Stulzman in 1858. Alois Knoblauch (1833-1885,) who was born at Ebnat Neresheim, Jagstkreis, Württemberg, Germany, and Emilie Stolzmann Knoblauch (1840-1928,) who was born at Schubin, Posen, Preussen, were the parents of 12 children, __?__ Knoblauch (1870-1926,) Ida Knoblauch (1879-1955,) Anton Knoblauch (1860-1915,) Emily Knoblauch (Mrs. Herbert L.) Norris (1865-1920,) Alvois/Alois Knoblauch (1866-1884,) William Knoblauch (1867-1937,) Henrietta Knoblauch (1868-1954,) George Knoblauch (1871-1901,) Charles Knoblauch (1873-1915,) Henry Knoblauch (1875-1947,) Alexander Knoblauch (1877-1946,) and Louise Knoblauch (1883-1962.) Alois Knoblauch was the president of the Minneapolis Harmonia, a German singing, art and education society, in 1861 and was the treasurer of the Minneapolis Harmonia in 1881. Charles Knoblauch was a 1900 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, was a merchant, and officed at 123 South Washington Avenue in 1916. Emilie Knoblauch ( -1928,) William Knoblauch ( -1937,) and Alexander Knoblauch ( -1946) all died in Hennepin County. Alan Fischlowitz and Beth Fischlowitz sold the property to J. B. Driscoll and K. B. Driscoll in 1993 for $480,000. John B. Driscoll is the current owner of record and the taxpayer of record for the property. The property was recently offered for sale for $549,900. John B. Driscoll is the current owner of record of the property. Beth Fischlowitz and Alan Fischlowitz are the proprietors of the Lake Superior's Retreat & Conference Center and the Brittany Cottages in LaPointe, Wisconsin, on Madeline Island, which was the former Coole Park Manor and estate (1905-1946) and the former Chateau Madeleine Bed & Breakfast (1946-1982) and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Manitou Free Traders LLC is also located at this address.

2501 Lake Place: Built in 1907. The structure is a 2 1/2 (2.2 according to Minneapolis property tax records) story, 2868 (2080 according to Minneapolis property tax records) square foot, five (four according to Minneapolis property tax records) bedroom, four (two according to Minneapolis property tax records) bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1910 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Bissell resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Esterly resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. E. Esterly resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert E. Esterly resided at this address. William G. Bissell ( -1929) died in Hennepin County. Robert Ernest Esterly (1868- ,) the son of David Esterly and Sue E. Beard Esterly, was born at Columbiana, Ohio, graduated from the Columbiana, Ohio, High School in 1885, attended the University of Wooster in Wooster, Ohio, was a graduate of Cornell University in 1889, moved to Minnesota, was a graduate of the University of Minnesota Law Department in 1894, practiced law at Minneapolis in 1894, married Blanche C. Curry at Wooster, Ohio, in 1898, was a member of the law firm of Drew & Esterly from 1899 until 1903, was the assistant general manager of the Northwestern National Life Insurance Company from 1905 until 1906, was the secretary of the Northwestern National Life Insurance Company after 1906, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, was a Mason, was a Knight Templar, was a member of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity, was a member of the Phi Delta Phi fraternity, was a member of the Theta Nu Epsilon fraternity, officed at the Globe Building in 1898, was the assistant recorder-general of the Society of American Wars in 1899, officed at the corner of Nicollet Avenue and 11th Street in 1907, and resided at 1932 Aldrich Avenue South in 1907. The property was sold three times during the last dozen years, with the first sale occurring in 1991, when Joan C. Utter sold the property to M. Hooven and N. Aliewell for $247,000, with the second sale occurring in 1999, when Norma M. Allewell sold the property to S. M. Reinecke and K. P. Reinecke for $345,000, and with the third sale occurring in 2002, when Steven M. Reinecke sold the property to Monica Murphy for $606,000. The current owner of record is Monica Murphy and the current taxpayers of record are Scott L. Carlquist and Monica Murphy. Norma M. Allewell was the principal investigator on the structure determination and modeling of electrostatic effects in large macromolecules in the Supercomputing Institute and the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics at the University of Minnesota in 1998, where she was professor of biochemistry as well as vice provost for research and graduate/professional education. Allewell left the University of Minnesota for the position of Associate Vice President for sponsored programs and technology transfer at Harvard University in 1999. Allewell has a Ph.D. in molecular biophysics from Yale University and founded Wesleyan University's molecular biology and biochemistry department in 1984. Dr. Norma M. Allewell was appointed the Dean of the College of Life Sciences of the University of Maryland, College Park, in 2000. Steven M. Reinecke, associated with AMEI Technologies, Inc., was among a group which was awarded a patent for a canting mechanism for an ambulatory support device. Steven Reinecke ran in the 2000 Grandma's Marathon and the 2001 Twin Cities Marathon. In 2004, Scott L. Carlquist was an accounting instructor at the University of Minnesota and was the secretary of the congregation council of the Lake of the Isles Lutheran Church. [See note on Northwestern National Insurance Company Of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, for 598 Lincoln Avenue.]

2506 Lake Place: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3756 square foot, eight bedroom, two bathroom, 16 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Merrill resided at this address. The 1920 U. S. Army register indicates that Gordon Ellsworth Merrill resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Merrill resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Elmer E. Merrill resided at this address. Gordon Ellsworth Merrill graduated from the University of Minnesota, College of Science, Literature and the Arts, in 1917. Gordon E. Merrill, during the Winter of 1917-1918, was a Second Lieutenant in Battery "C" of the 33rd Field Artillery at Camp Travis, Texas. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Gordon Ellsworth Merrill (1894- ,) a First Lieutenant in the Field Artillery Section, resided at this address. Elmer E. Merrill was the treasurer of F. P. Stacy & Son in 1908. Elmer E. Merrill (1865-1959) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Helen Bennett (1895- ,) the daughter of Charles Pierson Bennett (1858- ) and Jessie Lelah Hatch Bennett (1863- ) married Gordon E. Merrill in 1919. In 1987, R. Cowles and M. Cowles sold the property to T. C. Nagel and J. A. Nagel for $295,000. The current owner of record is Theodore C. Nagel and the current taxpayers of record are Theodore C. Nagel and Judy A. Nagel. Theodore C. Nagel, M.D., is an Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the Director of the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology at the University of Minnesota and is associated with Reproductive Health Associate, P.A., in St. Paul. Dr. Nagel received his bachelor's degree from Wesleyan University, received his medical degree from Cornell University, was an intern and a resident in internal medicine at Bellevue Hospital/Memorial Hospital for Cancer, New York City, N.Y., and was chief resident in internal medicine at the Memorial Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases, New York City, N.Y. Judy A. Nagel is active in the Hennepin Medical Society Alliance. Theodore C. Nagel, a physician at the University Of Minnesota, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2507 Lake Place: Built in 1911. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2850 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1910 and 1912 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Simon Michelet resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Simmon Michelet resided at this address. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Simon T. Michelet resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Foster and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James H. Foster resided at this address. Simon Thenistrup Michelet (1871-1956) was born in Wisconsin, was an 1896 University of Minnesota Law School graduate, was a Minneapolis attorney, married Bertha/Roberta Downing (1876- ,) the daughter of Robert H. Downing (1852- ) and Lorelia __?__ Downing (1854- ,) in 1899 in St. Paul, was an assistant Hennepin County attorney, was the United States Indian agent at the White Earth Reservation from 1901 until 1908, was a Republican, was the private secretary (1918-1923) to Minnesota Republican Senator Knute Nelson, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, officed at the New York Life Building in 1916, moved to Washington, D. C., in 1918, and was the author of Handbook of the Securities Act of 1933; a Practical Manual for Security Issuers and Underwriters, Investors, Experts and Dealers, self-published in Washington, D. C., in 1933. Michelet founded the Get-Out-the-Vote Club, based in Washington, D. C., in the 1920's and was the author of Stay-at-home vote and absentee voters: a full and free ballot is the safeguard of the republic, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1924, World voting record: where does the United States stand by comparison with other nations in polling its qualified popular vote, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1924, First time voters in the election of 1924, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1925, Absentee voting in the 48 states in the election of 1926, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1926, Voting a civic duty, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1927, Presidential primary 1928, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1927, Primary elections in 1928, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1927, Primary elections of senators, 1926, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1927, Who can vote in 1928 : qualifications of voters under the constitutions of 48 states and registration acts, or poll list and tax list basis, in 47 states; complete survey by states of constitutional and statutory provisions, brought down to January 1, 1928, governing the rights and duties of electors desiring to vote in 1928, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1928, The Minnesota election, 1928, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1929, Campaign for modernization and uniform election and registration laws: Beginning January 1938, the National Get-Out-the-Vote Club is entering upon a nation-wide campaign of election and registration reforms, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1938, and The poll-tax revolt, published by the Get-Out-the-Vote Club in 1939. Simon Thenistrup Michelet and Bertha/Roberta Downing Michelet were the parents of Paul Michelet (1900- ,) William Michelet (1903- ,) Karl Michelet (1904- ,) and Robert Henry Michelet. Warren King Moorehead, author of The American Indian in the United States, period 1850-1914, reports that Michelet as Indian agent had a violent temper according to sworn testimony of a White Earth Agency policeman and that Michelet was friendly with Gus H. Beaulieu, the Nichols-Chisolm Lumber Company and others who were interested in obtaining timber from the White Earth Indians, including holding private meetings with lumber representatives. Knute Nelson (1843-1923) was United States Congressman from Minnesota, was the Governor of Minnesota, and was a United States Senator from Minnesota. Nelson immigrated to the United States in 1849, settled in Chicago and then Wisconsin, studied at Albion College, served in the Civil War as a private and noncommissioned officer with the Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, was wounded and taken prisoner at Port Hudson, Louisiana, in 1863, was admitted to the bar in 1867 and commenced the practice of law in Cambridge, Wisconsin, became a member of the Wisconsin assembly, serving from 1868-1869, moved to Alexandria, Minnesota, in 1871, was county attorney for Douglas County from 1872 to 1874, was elected to the Minnesota Senate from 1874 to 1878, and was a member of the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota from 1882 to 1893. After serving as a Congressman (1883-1889) and Minnesota Governor (1892-1895), Nelson was first elected by the Minnesota Legislature and ultimately elected by popular election to serve as U. S. Senator from Minnesota until his death, the first person who was born in Norway to attain that post. Joseph L. Holmberg is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property. Joe Holmberg is the president of CommonBond Housing, Minnesota's largest nonprofit provider of affordable housing with onsite services, and is a member of the board of MICAH, the Metropolitan Interfaith Council on Affordable Housing. Nancy S. Holmberg, an English Teacher at the Burnsville High School, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Nancy Holmberg and Joe Holmberg resided at this address in 2002.

2511 Lake Place: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1909 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1910, 1912, and 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Raisbeck and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Jones and Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Knowles all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edmund S. Jones resided at this address. William Raisbeck ( -1924) died in Minneapolis. The current owner and taxpayer of record of the property is Michael D. Cummins. Michael Cummins is associated with Coldwell Banker Burnet, in Plymouth, Minnesota.

2514 Lake Place: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is Fred N. Isaacs, who resides at 2505 East Lake Of Isles Boulevard, and the current taxpayer of record is Rhea Isaacs, who also resides at 2505 East Lake Of Isles Boulevard. [See note for Fred Isaacs for 2505 East Lake of Isles Boulevard].

2515 Lake Place: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2513 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Farwell and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Farwell and their daughters and Mr. and Mrs. Ludwig Arctander all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Dunn resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael J. Dunn resided at this address. Ludvig/Ludwig Arctander (1863- ,) the youngest son of August Hieronymus Arctander (1817- ) of Stavanger, Norway, and Caroline Rasamunde Andrienne Ettenheim Ahlsell Arctander (1830- ) of Sweden, was born in either Falkum, Norway, or Skien, Norway, was a cousin of Alfred Nobel, graduated from the University of Kristiania in 1881, emigrated to the United States, moved to Minnesota in 1881, taught school in Willmar, Kandiyohi County, Minnesota, read the law first with Gorham Powers in Granite Falls, Minnesota, and then with John W. Arctander of Willmar, Minnesota, edited the Willmar, Minnesota, Argus in 1885, was admitted to the practice of law in 1885, moved to Minneapolis in 1886, was a prominent lawyer of Norwegian heritage in Minneapolis, was a partner of G. E. Qvale (1860-1951,) first married Laura Kjelstrup in Minneapolis in 1887, moved to Duluth, Minnesota, in 1893, returned to Minneapolis in 1895, subsequently married Mrs. Dolly Miller in 1903, resided at 2407 Irving Avenue South in 1907, officed at Temple Court in 1907, was an associate member of the Norwegian-American Historical Association in 1926, was president of the Oslo Lodge No. 2 of the United Sons of Norway in 1899, was a member of the Modern Samaritans, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the National Union, was a member of the Modern Woodmen, was a member of the Sons of Norway, was a member of the United Ancient Order of Druids, and was the uncle of Richard Sylvester, an alumnus of the University of Minnesota and a professor of Russian at Colgate University in 1996. Ludwig Arctander, with Cate, Sanborn, Lameroux & Park, unsuccessfully represented an injured lumber mill worker in Olson v. Doherty Lumber Company, 78 N.W. 572 (Wisconsin, 1899.) In 1901, Ludwig Arctander was the vice president of the Independent Scandinavian Workingmen's Association, organized in 1893 and located in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. Ludwig Arctander, with John A. Nordin, successfully represented an automobile driver in a personal injury action against a street car company in John A. Hedlund v. Minneapolis Street Railway Company, 120 Minn. 319 (1913.) Ludwig Arctander, with Axel A. Eberhart and Gunnar H. Nordbye, unsuccessfully represented the estate of D. Arthur Davison, a janitor, in a wrongful death action against Mr. Davison's employer in Davison v. Ressler, 128 Minn. 204 (1915.) Ludwig Arctander and Laura Kjelstrup Arctander were the parents of one child, Carl Louis Arctander (1890- .) In 1909, Ludwig Arctander was a lawyer with an office at the Palace Building and resided at 2401 Irving Avenue South. Ludvig Arctander ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. In 1991, A. N. Pelletier and V. C. Pelletier sold the property to its current owners, Katherine L. Sandweiss and Gerald Richman, for $318,000. Gerald Richman is Vice President for Arts and Cultural Production at Twin Cities Public Television. Katherine L. Sandweiss is a financial supporter of the Yale-China Association in 2003. Katherine Sandweiss is a financial supporter of James J. Hill Reference Library in 2003. The Yale-China Association was founded in 1901 and is a private, non-profit organization that contributes to the development of education in and about China and the furtherance of knowledge, understanding, and friendship between Chinese and American people. Katherine L. Sandweiss, a 1979 graduate of Yale University and a 1987 Yale University School of Management graduate, is the 2006 President of the Yale Alumni Association of the Northwest.

2519 Lake Place: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3270 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Goulstone and Mr. and Mrs. John Walter all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. E. Wilcox resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Archa E. Wilcox resided at this address. Samuel Walter Goulstone ( -1941) died in Hennepin County. Donald L. Swanson was the previous owner of record of the property and Anthony Waldera, who resides in Bloomington, Minnesota, is the current owner of record of the nonhomesteaded property.

2101 and 2103 Newton Avenue South: Island Park Condominium Association. Built in 1910. Unit Number R1 is a one story, 990 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, four room, condominium unit. Carol Lundstrom is the current owner of Unit Number R1. In 1999, N. Steen and M. McManus sold the property, Unit Number R2, to D. Rumsey and T. Leutwiler for $129,900, in 2005, David C. Rumsey sold the property to James Donohue for $225,000, and in 2006, James Donohue sold the property to Nicholas G. Potts for $225,000. T. J. Leutwiler and David C. Rumsey and James E. Donohue were previous owners of the property. Nicholas G. Potts is the current owner of Unit Number R2. In 1996, Cynthia A. Moeller sold Unit R3 to Amy E. Frisch for $122,300. Deborah K. Zavitka is the current owner of record of Unit Number R3. In 1994, Elliot and Karen Herland sold Unit R4 to Chun-jo Liu for $128,700. Chun-jo Liu is the current owner of Unit Number R4. This unit was sold five times in the last several years, with the first sale occurring in 1992, when Geralynn Johnson sold it to Peggy J. Huelsman for $78,800, with the second sale occurring in 1997, when Peggy J. Huelsman sold it to Louise Erdrich for $128,800, with the third sale occurring in 2001, when Louise Erdrich-Gourneau sold it to Jeanne L. Berg for $185,000, with the fourth sale occurring in 2004, when Jeanne L. Berg sold it to Eric Perry for $239,900, and with the fifth sale occurring in 2008, when Eric Perry sold it to Ana Marsh Albrecht for $184,000. Eric Perry and Amy Perry are the previous owners of Unit Number R5 and Ana Marsh Albrecht is the current owner of record of Unit R5. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Boettcher and Dr. and Mrs. J. A. Hedding all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. W. Dahlstrom, Mr. and Mrs. P. J. Meighen, Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Singer, and Miss Mabel Zimmerman all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sadie Lindsay, John J. Millard, and Leonard R. Simons all resided at this address. Frederick W. Boettcher was born in Le Sueur county, Minnesota, in 1863, son of Charles Boettcher and Rachel Boettcher, a pastor and farmer in Le Sueur, was engaged in 1881 in the produce commission business for two years and then returned to Gaylord, Minnesota, where he was employed in a bank for several years and also served as bookkeeper for the Pacific Elevator Company. Leaving the bank in 1887, Boettcher again went to Minneapolis, where he worked for H. Poehler Company until the fall of 1888, and then came to Eureka, South Dakota, where opened a bank, the German Bank of Eureka. Boettcher was mayor of Eureka in 1892. In 1899, Boettcher had a ranch in Emmons county, North Dakota, was president of the Eureka & Mound City Telephone Company, and owned and operated grain elevators at Eureka, Hillsview, and Ipswich, North Dakota. Dr. Joseph A. Hedding was the son of Simeon E. Hedding, who lived at 2105 Newton Avenue South. Joseph A. Hedding ( -1934) died in Hennepin County. Liu Chun-jo is a retired professor of Asian Languages and Literatures at Institute of Linguistics and Asian and Slavic languages and Literatures of the University of Minnesota. Liu Chun-jo has a bachelor's degree from the National Southwest Associated University, Kunming, China, an English degree from the Occidental College, Los Angeles, and a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Chun-jo Liu, from the University of Minnesota, was the chair of the board of directors of the Chinese Language Teachers Association in 1983 and 1984 and was a member of the board of directors of the Chinese Language Teachers Association in 1985. Karen Louise Erdrich is an author and a poet and is the owner of Birchbark Books, which features a wide range of American Indian authors, and is located in an old dental office, near Lake of the Isles, at 2115 West 21st Street, in the Kenwood neighborhood. Karen Louise Erdrich (1954- ) was born in Little Falls, Minnesota, the daughter of a French Ojibwe mother, Rita Joanne Gourneau Erdrich, a daughter of Turtle Mountain Chippewa tribal chair Pat Gourneau, and a German American father, Ralph Louis Erdrich, was raised in North Dakota, where her parents were teachers at the Bureau of Indian Affairs boarding school in Wahpeton, North Dakota, received a bachelor's degree in 1976 from Dartmouth College and a master's degree from Johns Hopkins University in 1977, and is a member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa. Erdrich married the late author Michael Dorris (1945-1997) in 1981 and they separated in 1995. Louise Erdrich wrote The Painted Drum, Love Medicine The Game of Silence, The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse, The Master Butchers Singing Club, The Antelope Wife, Four Souls, Tracks, Original Fire, Tales of Burning Love, The Crown of Columbus, Baptism of Desire, The Antelope Wife, The Beet Queen, The Bingo Palace, and The Blue Jay's Dance. Michael Dorris graduated with a bachelor's degree (English and Classics) from Georgetown University in 1967, earned a graduate degree in Anthropology from Yale University, did ethnographic fieldwork in an Athapaskan village of Tyonek, Alaska, earned an M.Phil. degree from Yale University in 1970, taught at Franconia College for a year, taught at Dartmouth College, beginning in 1972, and founded the Native American Studies Program. Dorris committed suicide. Michael Dorris wrote The Broken Cord: Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and the Loss of the Future, Native Americans Five Hundred Years After (with photographer Joseph Farber, 1975,) A Yellow Raft in Blue Water (1987,) A Guide to Research on North American Indians (with Mary Byler and Arlene Hirschfelder, 1988,) The Crown of Columbus (with Louise Erdrich, 1991,) Working Men (1993,) Rooms in the House of Stone (1993,) Paper Trail (a collection of essays, 1994,) and Cloud Chamber (1997.)

2105 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3058 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, 12 room, duplex. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Gibbian and Mr. and Mrs. S. E. Hedding all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George Hilgerman and Rev. and Mrs. L. P. Permingrath all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Donald A. Lyman and Henry Simons, Jr., both resided at this address. Simeau E. Hedding ( -1908) died in Hennepin County. Simeon E. Hedding (1844-1908) was one of the oldest passenger engineers on the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul RailRoad, was born at Chazy, New York, and was a direct descendent of Bishop Elijah Hedding, one of the first Methodist bishops of the United States. Simeon E. Hedding and Anna K. Hedding ( - 1940) had eight children, G. D. Hedding, Dr. Joseph A. Hedding, S. A. Hedding, Charles A. Hedding, Mary L. Hedding, Florence Hedding (Mrs. A. R.) Rheinberger, Lucinda "Lucy" Hedding (Mrs. E. E.) MacGibbon, and Ruth Hedding Geddes. Hedding's death was employment-related, since his illness was brought on by inhaling coal fumes on his last trip to La Crosse, Wisconsin. The property was sold three times in the last decade and one half, first in 1993, when R. N. Owen and J. A. Owen sold it to Todd Hein and Jane Hein for $245,000, then in 2001, when Todd Hein sold it to David E. Dye for $491,000, and then in 2007, when David E. Dye sold it to Alan L. Scott for $600,000. Alan L. Scott is the current owner of record of the property and Alan L. Scott and Jodie A. Scott are the current taxpayers of record of the property. David E. Dye, MAI, is associated with Dominium Development & Acquisition, LLC, a real estate appraisal firm. [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad.]

2108 Newton Avenue South: The property is a vacant lot that is owned by the City of Minneapolis Public Works Department Right of Way Division.

2109 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2464 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Saunders resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick Saunders resided at this address. In 1992, Ronald Eibensteiner and Janet L. Steinfeld sold the property to R. L. White and J. G. White for $320,000. Robert L. White is the current owner of record of the property and Robert L. White and Julie G. White are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Ronald Eibensteiner is the president and chair of the board of Spectre Gaming Inc., a Minneapolis-based provider of electronic gaming equipment, and was the chair of the Minnesota Republican Party from 1997 until 2005. Eibensteiner grew up on a farm in central Minnesota's Stearns County, went to the University of Minnesota and earned a degree in political science in 1973, began his career on the West Coast as an investment banker, returned to Minnesota and started a real estate company with his brother, launched Arden Medical Systems in 1983, then sold that company and started Wyncrest Capital of Minneapolis, which invests in high technology startups, including biomedical companies. In 2005, Eibensteiner faced election law violations charges in Mower County, Minnesota, based on a letter that Eibensteiner wrote that tied a campaign donation to a media campaign for 2002 Republican gubernatorial candidate Tim Pawlenty. Eibensteiner was the former state finance director for the Minnesota Republican Party, was co-chair of the Minnesota state Republican Party platform committee, and was finance chair for the 1990 Senator Rudy Boschwitz campaign and the 1998 Norm Coleman for governor campaign. Robert L. White and Julie G. White were financial supporters of the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota in 2003. Robert White and Julie White were financial supporters of the Minneapolis Public Library in 2003.

2110 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1928. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2181 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles H. Webber resided at this address. Jane Ann Martin is the current taxpayer of record and James F. Martin is the current owner of record of the property. Dr. James F. Martin and Jane Ann Martin were financial supporters of the Raptor Center in 2003 and 2004 and Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity in 2003. James F. Martin is the principal and co-founder of Martin-McAllister Consulting Psychologists, Inc., an industrial/organizational consulting psychology firm.

2112 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1921. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2060 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. D. Webster resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl Hofmeister resided at this address. Thomas K. Berg is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property. Thomas Berg is a partner in the firm of Hinshaw & Culbertson and is its director for the Minnesota region. Thomas Berg (1940- ) was born in Willmar, Kandiyohi County, Minnesota, graduated from the University of Minnesota, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School, was a lawyer with the U.S. Department of Navy, Office of General Counsel, Washington D.C., from 1965 to 1967, was a lieutenant in the United States Naval Reserve from 1967 until 1972, served four terms (1970-1978) in the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Hennepin County (Districts 38 and 56B,) was the author of The Metropolitan Land Planning Act in 1976, was the United States Attorney for Minnesota from 1980 until 1981, and unsuccessfully ran for the Democratic-Farmer-Labor party endorsement for the United States Senate in the 1990. Berg practices in the area of health law, complex commercial litigation and mediation, and the negotiation of business and governmental contracts, and is a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association. Thomas K. Berg is a member of the board of directors and the legal counsel of the National Marrow Donor Register. Thomas K. Berg, an attorney with Hirshaw & Gilbertson, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2115 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 2000 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling, with a tuck-under garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. S. Duff resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry C. McCartney resided at this address. Mary M. Strauss is the current owner of record of the property.

2116 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1902. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2179 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Simeon J. Schnorenberg, the secretary-treasurer of the Minnesota-Texas Land & Irrigation Company, resided at this address. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Schnorenberg resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Hamilton resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Simon J. Schnorenberg resided at this address. Simon J. Schnorenberg (1866-1928) was born in Hartford, Wisconsin, a son of Mathais Schnorenberg and Catharina Dorn Schnorenberg, married Virginia Borkinmeyer in 1891, and died in Minneapolis. H. W. Wiecking was the president of the Minnesota-Texas Land & Irrigation Company in 1901 and the company was a Minnesota based company that owned and subdivided land in Texas. S. J. Schnorenberg journeyed to the Rio Grande River delta area in 1907, formed Minnesota-Texas Land Company of Minneapolis, and acquired a strip of land out of the center of the La Feria grant. The La Feria grant, under the jurisdiction of the municipality of Reynosa, Mexico, was allotted by the King of Spain to Captain Juan José Hinojosa and Rosa Maria Hinojosa de Balli in 1776. The Minnesota-Texas Colonization Company was extremely fortunate and sold practically all of its land to actual settlers early in 1908. La Feria, Texas, became a key stop on the St. Louis, Brownsville & Mexico RailRoad when Schnorenberg gathered a group of citizens and, in a horse-drawn wagon, drove to Bixby, Texas, and literally helped themselves to the unused station building there by hoisting it onto a couple of flat cars and hauling it to La Feria, Texas. Simson John Schnorenberg ( -1948) died in Hennepin County. Simon J. Schnorenberg (1866-1928) was born in Hartford, Wisconsin, and married Virginia Borkinmeyer in 1891 in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Virginia "Jennie" Schnorenberg (1869-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Didier, and died in Hennepin County. In 1996, William Mease and Mary Mease sold the property to B. Ahrens and A. Giovanini for $335,000. J. Benjamin Ahrens is the current owner of record of the property and J. Benjamin Ahrens and A. U. Giovanini are the current taxpayers of record of the property.

2120 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1919. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2792 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. M. Stowell, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James F. Pierce resided at this address. The prior owner of the property was Harriet J. Pratt and Michael C. Morton is the current owner of record of the property. Michael C. Morton and Susan Morton are the taxpayers of record. In 2005, the Harriet J. Pratt Revocable Trust sold the property to Michael C. Morton for $930,000. In 2004, Harriet J. Pratt , a retiree residing at this address, made a donation to the John Kerry political campaign. Walter E. Pratt, a stockbroker with Piper Jaffrey Inc., was a resident at this address in 2004 and was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2121 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1917. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2758 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. E. Grant resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James F. Sutherland resided at this address. James F. Sutherland, Sr., was a former commander of the American Legion, and a former president of the Minneapolis Chapter of the American War Dads. James F. Sutherland, Sr., was also the past president and treasurer of Sutherland-Carlson Co., a real estate appraisal company. James Frederick Sutherland (1892- ) performed appraisals of Ojibway tribal land areas in the state of Minnesota involved in cases before the Indian Claims Commission and was the compiler of Documents relating to Indian claim cases, 1767-1951. Mr. and Mrs. J. Frederick Sutherland resided at 2121 Newton Avenue South in 1944. James Frederick ("Ted" or "Rusty") Sutherland, Jr. (1922-1944,) the son of James F. Sutherland, Sr., and Jane Ladd Sutherland, graduated in 1940 from Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire, entered the Army Air Corps in 1942, commenced training as a navigator, received his wings and commission in 1943, was a Second Lieutenant in the U. S. Army Air Corps, was a navigator, died in a plane crash of B-24 Liberator Bomber #41-28983 at Millington, Tennessee, and was interred at Lakewood Cemetery. On April 8, 1944, a B-24 Liberator Bomber (41-28983) took off from Topeka Army Air Field in Kansas. The B-24, and its crew of ten men of the United States Army Air Corps, was bound for Morrison Field in West Palm Beach, Florida. Morrison Field was a staging base for the theaters of war. After a stopover, the B-24 Liberator Bomber and its crew of ten men would have been en route to Europe via the South Atlantic Ferry Route to join the Allied effort to defeat the Nazis. Shortly after takeoff, the B-24 crashed in the Millington, Tennessee area in the vicinity of the Chickasaw Ordnance Works. Nine men were killed, and one man, Sgt. Richard H. Martin, Jr., from Lynchburg, Virginia, parachuted to safety and survived the crash. Social Security records indicate that James Sutherland (1906-1975) resided for some time in Minnesota as well as North Carolina. James B. Gaviser is the previous owner of the property and James B. Gaviser and Judith R. Gaviser are the previous taxpayers of this property and Jonathan H. Heatcote is the current owner of record of the property and Jonathan H. Heathcote and Kendall A. King are the current taxpayers of record of the property. In 2008, James B. Gaviser sold the property to Jonathan H. Heatcote for a sale price of $985,000. James Gaviser, M.D., associated with James B. Gaviser Ltd., is a cosmetic surgeon, is a member of the Maimonides Society of Minneapolis/St. Paul, is a member of the Minnesota Dermatological Society, and is an Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Minnesota, and is on the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice. In 1980, after battling renal failure for five years, James Gaviser received a kidney transplant from a woman who died in a house fire in Sioux City, Iowa. The Twin Cities Maimonides Society is an affinity group for Jewish physicians, dentists, and veterinarians that seeks to encourage and strengthen the sense of community among its members, to provide programming and social action opportunities for repair of the world, and to raise money for the local and overseas Jewish communities through the United Jewish Fund and Council of St. Paul and the Minneapolis Jewish Federation. The most famous Jewish physician, Rabbi Moses ben Maimon (1135-1204), Maimonides or Rambam, was born in Spain and died in Egypt, was a renowned Jewish scholar who authored medical works, including commentaries on the work of Hippocrates and Galen, treatises on asthma, impotence, poisons and hemorrhoids, and an early version of the Physician's Desk Reference, and was the leading Talmudist of his time. James Gaviser, a self-employed doctor, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2124 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2323 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Joseph F. Schooley resided at this address and Clayton M. Schooley boarded at this address. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Schooley resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that J. F. Schooley resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Houston resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry E. Wilcox resided at this address. Joseph F. Schooley was a clerk employed by the Farmers and Mechanics Savings Bank and Clayton M. Schooley was a teamster in 1909. Harry E. Wilcox ( -1954) ran the Minneapolis Automobile shows for many years and was the first man to drive a car from Chicago to Minneapolis. Charles Kent Houston (1882- ) was born in Burlington, Kansas, was a graduate of the Pontiac, Michigan, high school, was a 1905 graduate of the University of Michigan, was a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity, was associated in 1912 with the William B. Hough Company, located at the Plymouth Building, was associated in 1917 with the Charles Houston Company, a contractor's machinery company located at the Plymouth Building, and resided at the Leamington Hotel in 1917. Harry Eugene Wilcox founded the "H. E. Wilcox Motor Car Company," also known as the "H. E. Wilcox Motor Truck Company," "H. E. Wilcox Motor Company," and "Wilcox Trux." The company was located at 1030 Marshall Street Northeast in Minneapolis along with the Wilcox-Bennett Carburetor Company and the (John) Wilcox Sash and Door Company, roughly between 1906 and 1926, and produced the "Wolfe" motorcar. In 1909, they turned to truck production consisting of one-ton and three-ton models as well as buses for the forerunner to the Greyhound Lines in Hibbing, Minnesota. By 1918, Wilcox was making trucks in six sizes, ranging from three-quarter ton to five-ton capacity. In the 1920's, Wilcox increased bus production and introduced a line of six-cylinder engines with ratings from 80 to 105 horsepower. In 1922, production turned to the larger heavy-duty truck models ranging from a one-ton "AA" to the five-ton "F" chassis. Operations ceased in 1926 when Sales Manager Carl H. Will bought the firm from the Wilcox family and changed the name to "C. H. Will Motors Corporation" in 1927. Will Motors produced buses for Greyhound with their final delivery of "Will" buses to Greyhound in 1931. When fire departments began converting to motor apparatus, many apparatus builders took advantage of truck chassis available from the automotive industry. "Wilcox Trux" of Minneapolis supplied those chasses to the Waterous Company, winning out over Sanford Motor Truck Company of Syracuse, New York, in a bid to supply Waterous with a truck chassis for use in their fire trucks. Waterous quit building fire engines in 1929. In 1912, the Wilcox Company offered a four-cylinder truck chassis (#2052) to the city of Minneapolis, to be purchased only if it proved satisfactory, and the fire department built a combination chemical and hose body on the chassis and painted it cream with red trim and wheels, and was very serviceable. It served as Engine 22 from 1912 to 1915, as Engine 27 from 1915 to 1920, and was in reserve until 1922, when it was dropped from the Minneapolis Fire Department roster. Joseph Franklin Schooley ( -1926) died in Hennepin County. The property was sold twice in recent years, first in 2000, when T. Simon and M. Peterson sold it to K. Fechtmeyer and A. Townley for $429,000, and in 2001, when K. Fechtmeyer and A. Townley sold it to A. Rzepka and L. Paller-Rzepka for $643,000. Andrew A. Rzepka is the current owner of record of the property and Andrew A. Rzepka and Laurel J. Paller-Rzepka are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Andrew A. Rzepka, M.D., practices at the Park Nicollett-Brookdale Clinic. The Minneapolis Public Schools entered into a contract with Laurel Paller-Rzepka, funded from a League of Women Voters of Minneapolis grant, to provide consulting services for improving conflict mediation programs for staff and students at Clara Barton Open School for the 2004-2005 school year.

2200 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2514 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. H. Jumper resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul H. Juniper resided at this address. In 1993, Madeline A. McAlister sold the property to its current owners, W. J. Umscheid and Joanne M. Strakosch, for $320,000. William Umscheid and Joanne Strakosch were financial supporters of the McPhail Center in 2005. William Umscheid was a financial supporter of the Twin Cities RISE in 2004. Joanne M. Strakosch was a financial supporter of the Wellesley Centers for Women.

2201 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1911. The structure is a 1.5 story, 3022 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John Kirk resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Edward M. Christian resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elsie M. Christian resided at this address. In 1994, G. G. Lund and S. F. Lund sold the property to J. P. Colasanti and A. M. Colasanti for $306,000. John P. Colasanti is the current owner of record of the property and John P. Colasanti and Audrey M. Colasanti are the current taxpayers for the property. John Colasanti is the president of Carmichael Lynch, one of the Twin Cities' largest advertising agencies. John Colasanti, President of Carmichael Lynch & Co., was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Audrey Colasanti was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2204 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1917. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3851 square foot, six bedroom, five bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a tuck-under garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Jesse H. Hartman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Annette __?__ resided at this address. The Margaret Lahiff Estate sold the property to its current owner, Joan S. Howland, in 1992, for $365,000. Joan S. Howland, a Cherokee, is the treasurer of the American Indian Library Association, is the Roger F. Noreen Professor of Law at the University of Minnesota, and is an Associate Dean for Information Technology at the University of Minnesota Law School and the director of the University of Minnesota Law Library. Ms. Howland received her bachelor's degree from University of California, Davis, her master's degree from the University of Texas, her M.L.S. degree from the California State University, and her law degree from Santa Clara University.

2205 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2172 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. George W. Redmon resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. S. Fleming resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Aloysius S. Fleming resided at this address. In 1999, L. S. Inskip and A. P. Inskip sold the property to D. Levitt and S. Veenhuis for $350,000. Daniel R. Levitt is the current owner of record and Daniel R. Levitt and Suzanne M. Veenhuis are the current taxpayers of record for the property. Daniel R. Levitt is the Vice President, Ryan Companies US, Inc., and manages capital markets for a national commercial real estate firm, is a baseball researcher who is devoted to resolving historical questions about pitch counts and the lowest single-season Earned Run Average (ERA), and is the author, with Mark L. Armour, of Paths to Glory: How Great Baseball Teams Got That Way. Suzanne M. Veenhuis, Associate Legal Counsel, represented the Minnesota Medical Association in a 1993 administrative law proceeding on Department of Labor and Industry administrative rules for Workers' Compensation Managed Care Independent Medical Examination Fees and on 1995 administrative law proceeding on Department of Human Services administrative rules for MinnesotaCare.

2208 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1907. The structure is a 1.7 story, 1948 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Lies resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. S. Woodard resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry S. Woodard resided at this address. In 1996, Robert E. Harding sold the property to its current owners, Adam Platt and Amy Platt, for $225,000. Adam Platt is travel editor of Minneapolis St. Paul magazine.

2209 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2571 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. D. McKenzie and Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Sherman all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Earl D. McKenzie resided at this address. The property was sold twice during the 1990's, with the first sale occurring in 1990, when James Kahmann and Ann Kahmann sold it to Regina M. Gore for $380,000, and with the second sale occurring in 1998, when J. I. and R. M. Silverman sold it to the current owner, John L. Sullivan, for $590,000. John L. Sullivan, an attorney with the Imation Corp, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign, to the John Kerry for President campaign, and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2212 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, square foot, four bedroom, five bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. O. L. Loberg resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that A. E. Nelson and his daughter both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew E. Nelson resided at this address. Olaf Laritz Loberg ( -1953) died in Hennepin County. During the 1990's, the property was sold twice, with the first sale occurrring in 1996, when Douglas Gorence and Jane Gorence sold it to George Robinson and Susan Robinson for $412,500, and with the second sale occurring in 1998, when G. F. Robinson and S. W. Robinson sold it to the current owners, Linsday L. Paine and Laura A. Paine, for $415,000. Laura Paine is the wedding manager for the Lake of the Isles Lutheran Church.

2215 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a 1.5 story, 2314 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. F. Olson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph A. Luger resided at this address. The Lugers, led by patriarch John Luger, became the first factory owners to capitalize on the opportunities that North St. Paul, Minnesota, offered. In 1887, John Luger entered into an agreement with the North St. Paul Land Company to move his entire furniture factory from Wabasha, Minnesota, to North St. Paul, Minnesota. Construction commenced in June and by September the Lugers had transferred 13 carloads of machinery from Wabasha, Minnesota, to North St. Paul, Minnesota. The Lugers had invested over $65,000 in machinery and buildings to create an industrial complex that included the factory, dry kiln, warehouse, varnish room, lumber shed and many other buildings. In November, 1887, Luger Furniture commenced production. The company's work force consisted of 33 Lugers, approximately 60 factory workers, and six traveling agents who sold their furniture from Minnesota to California. The Lugers not only kept the furniture and table factories open, they also expanded their businesses during this depression. Branch sales offices were opened in Boston, Massachusetts, and Kansas City, Missouri, and opened a large showroom in Minneapolis. In 1920, the Luger Cabinet Company was organized in Minneapolis. In 1928, the Cabinet Company and the St. Paul Table Company were merged with the Luger Furniture Company, with its main business office and sales rooms in Minneapolis. Joseph A. Luger (1867- ) was a son of Johann Nepomuk Luger (1832-1907). Joseph A. Luger was born at Wabasha, Minnesota, entered the business in 1885 as a traveling salesman, and in 1892, became secretary of the St. Paul Table Company and from 1892 until his retirement in 1925 was Sales Manager of the Luger Companies. He married Catherine Puetz at St. Cloud, Minnesota, in 1889 and the couple had two sons, C. Albert Luger (1900-1927) and Karl E. Luger. In 1994, H. W. Mocker and C. V. Mocker sold the property to T. H. O'Neal and K. W. O'Neal for $242,500. Thomas H. O'Neal is the current owner of record and Thomas H. O'Neal and Karen W. O'Neal are the current taxpayers of record for the property.

2216 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3472 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Pillsbury resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Nye resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles W. Nye resided at this address. Charles L. Pillsbury officed at the Metropolitan Life Insurance Building in 1916. Charles L. Pillsbury (1872-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Boyton, and died in Hennepin County. In 1995, W. C. Copeland and L. B. Copeland sold the property to P. Lund and D. Klein for $336,000. Peter Lund is the current owner of record of the property and Peter Lund and Deborah Klein are the current taxpayers of record for the property.

2217 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2436 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Healy resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Healy and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles E. Healy resided at this address. Charles Evans Healy ( -1933) died in Hennepin County. In 1990, T. Sawyer and J. Sawyer sold the property to its current owners, Jeffery J. McNaught and Lori M. Mittag, for $325,000. Lori M. Mittag is involved with the Kenwood Isles Area Association and the annual Kenwood School Carnival and Silent Auction.

2221 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1926. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3041 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert L. Clark and Robert G. Hopwood both resided at this address. Robert G. Hopwood, of the Minikahda Country Club, in 1918, was the winner of the 18th annual championship of the Minnesota State Golf Association, beating Fred Mahler of the St. Paul Town & Country Club. The championship was played at the Interlachen Country Club. Robert G. Hopwood (1890-1953) was an investment broker who, in 1932, merged his two person office with the three broker Piper, Jaffray and Company, forming Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood. In 1969, after 74 years as a partnership, Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood became a corporation, which led to further expansion in the 1970's and 1980's. In 1971, the company became a publicly held corporation known as Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood Incorporated. In 1974, a holding company, Piper Jaffray Incorporated, was established to pave the way to further expansion. This firm became the parent company of Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood Incorporated. In 1998 U. S. Bancorp acquired the Piper Jaffray Companies Inc. The company has been kept intact as an operating subsidiary and is now known as U. S. Bancorp Piper Jaffray. The property was sold three times recently, the first time in 1991, when John and Mary Delaney sold it to Merri Abels and Mark Abels for $335,000, the second time in 1996, when M. E. Abels and M. M. Abels sold it to T. B. Jenson and S. M. Jenson for $378,000, and the third time in 2006, when Timothy B. Jensen sold it to Brian Thyr for $1,194,100. Timothy Berg Jensen and S. J. J. Meillier were the previous owners of the property and Brian Thyr is the current owner of record of the property. Brian Thyr, M.D., is an anesthesiologist who graduated from the Breck School in 1983, graduated from the Dartmouth Medical School in 1993, and served residencies at Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital and the Hennepin County Medical Center. Brian Thyr and his wife, Danita Carlson, M.D., in internal medicine, were financial supporters of the Bakken Museum in 2005.

2301 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3960 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. G. Hopwood resided at this address. Herbert Schneider was the previous owner of record of the property. Matthew D. Putnam is the current owner of record of the property and Matthew D. Putnam and Ann C. Putnam are the current taxpayers of record of the property. In 2006, Herbert Schneider sold the property to Matthew D. Putnam for $950,000.

2304 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1923. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3694 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Kate E. Sears resided at this address. In 1987, the Estate of M. L. Stanley sold the property to C. S. Ferrell and A. H. Ferrell for $313,700. Charles S. Ferrell and Anne H. Ferrell are the owners of record of the property. Charles S. Ferrell is a partner in the law firm of Faegre & Benson LLP and practices in the area of real estate law. Anne H. Ferrell is treasurer of the Keliix Intra Soccer Club.

2305 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1999. The structure is a two story, 2744 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The estate of A. C. Kavli sold the property to E. A. Hyatt for $50,000 in 1986. The current owner of record is Simon Milstein and the current taxpayers of record of the property are Simon Milstein and Renee Milstein. Simon Milstein, M.D., FACC, a graduate of the medical school at the University of the Republic, Montevideo, Uruguay, is a cardiologist with Minneapolis Cardiology Associates and with the Minneapolis Heart Institute. Renee Milstein is an adjunct professor at the School of Teacher Education of the University of St. Thomas.

2308 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1908. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2420 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Linsmayer resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. F. Linsmayer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles F. Linsmayer resided at this address. Charles F. Linsmayer ( -1953) died in Hennepin County. In 1986, M. L. Meyer and S. N. Meyer sold the property to J. F. Conn and R. S. Eichen for $228,300. Jack F. Conn is the current owner of record of the property. Jack F. Conn is Associate Professor of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota, specializing in differential geometry and mathematical physics.

2309 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, five bedroom, one bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Conway and Capt. M. J. Conway all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Conway resided at this address. Eric A. Mcdavid was the previous owner of record of the property and Randolph D. Schueller is the current owner of record of the property and Randolph D. Schueller and Gayle R. Schueller are the current taxpayers of record. In 2005, Joyce V. Moore sold the property to Jake R. Berenberg for $750,000, in 2007, Jake R. Berenberg sold the property to Eric A. Mcdavid for $700,000, and, in 2009, Eric A. Mcdavid sold the property to Randolph D. Schueller for $885,000.

2315 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1917. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3200 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. R. Lauritzen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Max R. Lauritzen resided at this address. The owner of record of the property is Sherman B. Child. Sherman B. Child, M.D., has published in the New England Journal of Medicine on the topic of U. S. and U. N. sanctions on Iraq.

2317 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2465 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Levin resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George C. Holmberg resided at this address. George Holmberg was the State Soil/Resource Conservationist in the Minnesota Soil Conservation Service from 1965 to 1970. Paul R. Wernick is the current owner of record of the property. Dr. Paul Wernick is a Watson Wyatt consultant and is a member of the board of Planned Parenthood of Minnesota and South Dakota. Joan Wernick, a self-employed clinical social worker, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2320 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 4771 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, 16 room, single family dwelling. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mrs. Cemelia Allen resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. N. Oppedahl resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Murray and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold E. Atkinson resided at this address. John Oppedahl (1893-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Hennepin County. The owner of record of the property is James S. Simonson. James Simonson is a principal at the law firm of Gray Plant Mooty and the chair of its Trial Department, is a volunteer coach at the Phyllis Wheatley Community Center, is a board member of the Plymouth Congregational Church, and is a member of the Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board.

2323 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 2894 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. W. Munzer, C. I. Munzer, and W. W. Munzer all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Gooch resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter H. Gooch resided at this address. Richard W. Worthing is the current owner of record of the property and Richard W. Worthing and Sandra B. Worthing are the taxpayers of record of the property.

2325 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 2530 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. M. Jones and P. E. Jones all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gilman M. Jones resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Philip G. Jones and the taxpayers of record of the property are Philip G. Jones and Susan Jones. Philip Jones, publisher of VNU Business Media, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign in 2004.

2329 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1911. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3045 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Midsen resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. G. W. Tarr and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Wade C. Bland and Leon W. LaBounta both resided at this address. The property has been sold twice in the last dozen years, with the first sale from Robert H. Cox and Virginia A. Cox in 1992 to Robert Auritt and Rita Auritt for $386,900 and the second sale from Rita F. Auritt in 1994 to Matthew D. Rand for $379,900. The current owner of record of the property is Matthew D. Rand and the current taxpayers of record of the property are Matthew D. Rand and Sarah J. Rand.

2333 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 2703 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Clark and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Truman H. Clark resided at this address. Alvin J. Bach is the current owner of record of the property and Mary E. Bach is the current taxpayer of record of the property. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Lewis resided at the former nearby 2337 Newton Avenue South.

2600 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 4466 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, 15 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. N. H. Scheldrup and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James N. Collins resided at this address. James N. Collins and the taxation by the State of Minnesota of stock of the National City Bank of New York, with a beneficial interest in stock of the National City Company, which his estate owned, were the subject of a U. S. Supreme Court case, Dobson v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 320 U.S. 489 (1943.) Former Hennepin County District Judge Robert E. Bowen is the current owner of record of the property. Alexandria Bowen, a retired writer, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign and to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Robert Bowen, a retiree and a self-employed mediator, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Alexander Bowen, a retiree and self-employed childrens writer, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2603 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 5063 square foot, seven bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. L. Meech resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert L. Meech resided at this address. Since 1990, the property was sold four times, first in 1990 when Timberline Properties sold it to Joan M. Drury for $825,000, second in 1996 when Joan M. Drury sold it to R. E. Eibensteiner and J. L. Steinfeld for $925,000, third in 2003 when Ronald Eibensteiner and Janet Laurie Steinfeldt sold it to Richard F. Ziegler for $1,450,000, and most recently in 2007 when Richard F. Ziegler sold it to John F. Willoughby for $2,200,000. Richard F. Ziegler was the previous owner of record of the property and Richard F. Ziegler and Carolyn L. Ziegler were the previous taxpayers of record for the property and John F. Willoughby is the current owner of record for the property and John Willoughby and Kelly Morrison are the current taxpayers of record for the property. Ron Eibensteiner was elected chair of the Minnesota Republican Party in 1999, was defeated for re-election in 2005, and is a Minneapolis venture capitalist. Eibensteiner founded Wyncrest Capital in 1991 to focus exclusively on very early-stage seed investment opportunities in the Twin Cities area and is currently a director of IntraNet Solutions and the chairman of the board of OneLink. Carolyn Ziegler, a resident at this address in 2004, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

2609 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2.5 story, 2900 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling. The 1912 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. M. E. Hedback resided at this address. The 1914 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. O. Taft resided at this address. In 1909, Dr. A. E. Hedback lived at 1103 Franklin Avenue East and, on March 11, 1909, was struck while driving to his downtown office by a Bloomington street car trolley. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. O. Taft and Mrs. Olivia Taft all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. John O. Taft resided at this address. Before beginning his practice in Minneapolis, Dr. A. E. Hedback practiced in Barron, Wisconsin. In 1997 Marion R. Doty sold the property to J. W. Schierl, Jr., and P. R. Schierl for $571,550. Joseph W. Schierl, Jr., is the current owner of record of the property and Joseph W. Schierl, Jr., and P. R. Schierl are the current taxpayers of record of the property.

2615 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3050 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1912 and 1914 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. J. G. Erickson resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. J. G. Ericson and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. John G. Ericson resided at this address. In 2001, J. Wallace and K. Wallace sold the property to Brent M. Habeck for $629,000, in 2003, Brent M. Habeck sold the property to Mark Wren for $1,315,000, and in 2005, Mark Wren sold the property to Michael E. Larson for $1,495,000. Brent M. Habeck and Jeffrey J. Nestande, Mark Wren and Dana Wren, and Michael E. Larson were previous owners of record of the property. Gerald M. Caruso, Jr., is the current owner of record of the record for the property and Sarah R. Caruso and Gerald M. Caruso, Jr., who reside at 6 Manitoba Road, Minnetonka, Minnesota, are the current taxpayers of record for the property. Brent M. Habeck is associated with Brookfield Properties and is the president of the Minnesota Shopping Center Association.

2621 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1918. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 5792 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. F. Gradwohl and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Josephine O'Connor resided at this address. In 1997, A. C. Grossman and L. S. Grossman sold the property to Thomas C. Wicka for $770,000, in 2004, Thomas C. Wicka sold the property to Charles T. Thompson for $2,800,000, and in 2006, Charles T Thompson sold the property to Brian D. Zelickson for $3,100,000. Charles T. Thompson was the previous owner of record of the property, Brian D. Zelickson is the current owner of record of the property, and Brian Zelickson and Mary Mccarthy are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Brian D. Zelickson, M. D., a dermatologist with Skin Specialists Ltd., graduated from the Mayo Medical School, had his internship at the Hennepin County Medical Center, had his residency at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, and first practiced in 1990.

2625 Newton Avenue South: Dr. Oscar Owre and Katherine Riis Owre House/Elwood H. Newhart Residence. Built in 1911-1912; Prairie School in style; Purcell, Feick, & Elmslie, original architects; MacDonald and Mack, restoration architects. The structure is a 2 story, 2297 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 and 1924 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. Oscar Owre resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Oscar Owre resided at this address. Built for Dr. Oscar Owre (1880-1950), a surgeon, and his wife, Katherine Riis Owre, the daughter of social reformer Jacob Riis, the Owre House was designed for a narrow lot overlooking Lake of the Isles. Although the roofline is more steeply pitched than that of many Prairie School homes, the structure shares the low, overhanging eaves, bands of windows, and side entryway of the Purcell-Cutts House. The house would cost $17,240, including landscaping and decorating, which was $35 under budget. Owre asked the firm to return a few years later to construct a desk and bookcases for his study on the second floor. The desk featured a drawer on rollers that would hold an open Merriam Webster dictionary. Oscar Owre ( -1950) graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1903, was a member of the Alpha Kappa Kappa fraternity, was a Thulanian, was clinical instructor in genito-urinary diseases at the University of Minnesota in 1912, was attending genito-urinary surgeon at the Minneapolis City Hospital in 1912, was attending physician and surgeon in skin and genito-urinary disease at the Wells Memorial Dispensary at the Norwegian Lutheran Deaconess Hospital in 1912, was a member of the Hennepin County Medical Society, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota Academy of Medicine, was a member of the American Neurological Association,was a member of the American College of Surgeons, was the author of the paper "Paraurethral Gland Infection" in the American Journal of Dermatology and Genito-urinary Diseases in 1912, officed at the Masonic Temple in 1916, and died in Hennepin County. Katherine Riis Owre was a daughter of journalist, photo-journalist, and social reformer Jacob Riis (1849-1914), who was an old friend of the Elmslie family from Long Island, New York, and married Oscar Owre in Queens, New York. Oscar Owre's brother, Dr. Alfred Owre (1870-1935), Dean of Department of Dentistry at the University of Minnesota from 1905 to 1927, and Dean of Department of Dentistry at Columbia University from 1927 to 1934, referred Purcell to Oscar Owre. Alfred B. Owre (1870-1935,) the son of Lewis Owre and Laura Cecelie Owre, was born in Hammerfest, Norway, emigrated to the United States in 1884, moved to Minnesota in 1884, attended the Minneapolis public schools, graduated from the dental school at the University of Minnesota in 1894, received a medical degree in 1895 from the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Hamline University, was an assistant and an instructor at the University of Minnesota Dental School from 1894 until 1898, was a professor at the University of Minnesota Dental School after 1900, was a the dean of the University of Minnesota Dental School and professor of the theory and practice of dentistry after 1905, donated Chinese cloisonne to the Minneapolis Institute of Fine Arts in 1905, married Frances Charlotte Hockenberger in 1915 in Kenosha County, Wisconsin, was accused of anti-American sentiments in 1917 and was questioned by the University of Minnesota Board of Regents about his views, resided at the Wisconsin Flats Hotel at 1700 Portland Avenue between 1905 and 1912, was a member of international dental congresses, was president of the Minnesota State Dental Association in 1902, was vice-president of the American Dental Association in 1907, authored Prunes or Pancakes (1926) and Some Phases of Dental Education in the United States ( 1931,) and died of a heart attack in New York, New York. Alfred Owre, the dean of Columbia University's dental school in the 1920's, conceptualized the role of the dentist as that of a diagnostician supported by "dental mechanics" who would be trained to undertake the technical dental procedures, a view that did not prevail, and advocated that dentists to become specialists of medicine. Alfred Owre's view caused so much controversy in the dental community that he took a leave of absence from Columbia University in 1933. Dr. Alfred Owre, Jr. (1920-2001,) was a graduate of Avon Old Farms Preparatory School, was a graduate of Yale University in 1942, was a graduate of Yale Medical School, was an Army Air Corps navigator on B-17s and B-29s during the Second World War, and was the chief psychiatrist for the Department of Corrections at the California Men's Colony in San Luis Obispo, California, in 1977. Kathryn Riis Owre (1887-1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nielsen, and died in Hennepin County. The former Owre Hall at the University of Minnesota, named for Dr. Alfred Owre, once housed the physiology and neuroscience programs of the Medical School, and once located at the corner of Delaware and Church streets, was demolished as not suitable for use as a contemporary research facility and to make way for the Cellular and Molecular Biology building. In 1993, Martineau and A. Newhart sold the property to H. P. Albrecht and N. M. Albrecht for $485,000 and, in 2007, H. Peter Albrecht sold the property to Philip H. Willkie for $1,250,000. H. Peter Albrecht and Nancy M. Albrecht were the previous owners of record of the property and Philip H. Willkie is the current owner of record of the property. H. Peter Albrecht is a Hennepin County District Court judge who received his bachelor's degree from the University of Minnesota and his law degree from the University of Minnesota law school, who was an Assistant Minnesota State Public Defender from 1971 to 1972, who was an attorney in private practice from 1972 to 1977, and who was a Judge of the Hennepin County Municipal Court from 1977 to 1984. Nancy M. Albrecht is Volunteer Coordinator for the Minnesota Citizens Council on Crime and Justice, which addresses the needs of victims of crimes through advocacy, mediation, follow-up assistance, and community awareness and provides special services to senior citizens who have been crime victims. In 1996, Peter & Nancy Albrecht won an award from the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota for their special contribution toward preserving the historic resources of the State of Minnesota. Philip H. Willkie is a son of Rev. Rosalie Heffelfinger Hall (1928-2007) and a grandson of F. Peavey Heffelfinger and Elizabeth Bradley Heffelfinger. Philip H. Willkie is the editor of the Pulse of the Twin Cities, is on the board of advisors of the Provincetown, Massachusetts, Arts Press, and was the Grass Roots candidate for U.S. Representative from the Fourth District of Minnesota in 1996. In 2004, Philip H. Willkie made a gift of the David M. Lindahl papers, the James L. White Papers, the James White Review Association Records, and the Tom Young Papers to ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives of Los Angeles, California. Philip Heffelfinger Willkie (1953 -) is a son of Philip Herman Willkie (1919-1974) and a grandson of Wendell L. Willkie, the unsuccessful 1944 Republican candidate for U. S. President. In 1997, the Owre House restoration received an award from the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission. [See note on Purcell, Feick, and Elmslie for 2022 Summit Avenue.]

2631 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1941. The structure is a two story, 2889 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. Carter Delaittre is the current owner and taxpayer of record of the property. Carter Delaittre is an attorney with the law firm of Henson & Efron, P.A., who specializes in real estate law.

2635 Newton Avenue South: Built in 1930. The structure is a two story, 3791 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that James B. Lindsay resided at this address. In 1986, the property was sold by J. A. Kohler and B. S. Kohler to K. J. Breyer and E. L. Breyer for $425,000. Ellen L. Breyer is the current taxpayer of record of the property, Karl J. Breyer was the previous owner of record of the property, and Ellen L. Beyer is the current owner of record of the property. Karl J. Breyer is a member of the board of the Guthrie Theatre. Karl J. Breyer was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. Ellen L. Breyer, the CEO of the Hazeldon Foundation, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004.

2100 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1903. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2256 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1909 city directory indicates that Jerrie P. Hale, treasurer of the Kenwood Ice Company, resided at this address. The 1912 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Hale resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Hale resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jerry P. Hale resided at this address. Jerrie P. Hale (1862-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Perham, and died in Hennepin County. Lester M. Kephart is the current owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property.

2104 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1914. The structure is a two story, 2214 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Gurley resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex G. Bainbridge and Frank C. Hughes both resided at this address. The owner of record of and taxpayer for the property is Mark H. Johnson.

2108 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2384 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. E. Hedback resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Axel E. Hedbach resided at this address. The property was sold three times since 1990, first in 1995, when it was sold by H. Fraker and M. K. Fraker to J. G. Reilly and H. M. Reilly for $335,000, second, in 1997, when it was sold by Heidi Reilly and James Reilly to E. Steinberg and D. Rauker for $370,000, and third, in 2007, when it was sold by Erich C. Steinbergs to Joan Ericksen for $750,000. The previous owners of record of the property were E. C. Steinbergs and D. M. Rauker and the current owner of record of the property is Joan Ericksen. Erich C. Steinbergs is a Vice President of EnviroScrub Technologies Corporation, which licenses a commercially-ready multi-pollutant control technology that cleans or "scrubs" the emissions of fossil fuel-fired power plants and other industrial facilities. Dina Rauker, Psy.D., L.P., a graduate of the University of St. Thomas, is a staff psychologist at the North Central Ministry Development Center.

2112 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Paris resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hal C. Harris resided at this address. In 1997, Ida B. Paris sold the property to Sarah L. Brew for $275,000. Sarah Brew and Dennis Draghiciu were the previous owners of record of the property. Sarah L. Brew is a partner with the law firm of Greene Espel, P.L.L.P., practicing in the areas of products liability, healthcare litigation, intellectual property litigation, and commercial litigation. Dennis Draghiciu was an executive producer for WCCO-TV and its "Moore on Sunday" weekly public affairs show in 1998. In 2006, Dennis Draghiciu was the health producer for KDLT TV 7, a bureau of WCCO TV.

2113 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1902. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1780 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. E. Clark resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Hogan and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. John W. Powell resided at this address. John Mark Bulgerin is the owner of record and taxpayer of record of the property.

2116 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2256 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. Y. Smiley and Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Tillotson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that W. Yale Smiley resided at this address. W. Yale Smiley was a Minneapolis lawyer who successfully represented a Congressional candidate who challenged a vetoed Minnesota reapportionment enactment and its subsequent implementation by the Minnesota Secretary of State, Mike Holm, in the U. S. Supreme Court case Smiley v. Holm, 285 U.S. 355 (1932). In 1909, W. Yale Smiley was an agent for the Associated Charities and boarded at 112 Church. The owner of record of the property is C. Blaine Harstad and C. Blaine Harstad and Karyne Harstad are the taxpayers of record for the property. C. Blaine Harstad is a principal at the law firm of Gray Plant Mooty and practices in the areas of real estate, eminent domain and litigation.

2119 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2638 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, nine room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Johnson resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Johnson and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John L. Johnson resided at this address. In 1994, W. Lipkin and L. Brancheau sold the property to H. B. Funk and A. B. Funk for $265,000. Harry B. Funk is the current owner of record of the property and Harry Funk and Amy Bromberg Funk are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Harry Funk is associated with Smart Information Flow Technologies, a business located at this address. Amy Bromberg Funk received her law degree from Yale University, is an attorney, and is a partner at the law firm of Patterson & Keough.

2120 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2302 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Howard Strong and Mrs. Lucy Carey all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. K. Howie resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James K. Howie resided at this address. In 1996, the property was sold by Mark Ernst and Annette Ernst to Stefan and Annja Munch for $340,000 and, in 2004, the property was sold by Stefan Muench to Peter B. Scal for $830,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Stefan and Anja Munch/Muench, the current owner of record is Peter B. Scal, and the current taxpayers of record are Peter Scal and Ruth Hornstein.

2125 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2570 square foot, four bedroom, four bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Clifford resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Max Robitshek resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Fannie Robitshek resided at this address. Janet I. Graham was the previous owner of record of the property, Peter J. Haakenson is the current owner of record of the property, and Heather Haakenson and Peter Haakenson are the current taxpayers of record for the property. In 2005, Janet I. Graham sold the property to Peter J. Haakenson for $812,356.

2200 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 2386 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Kerner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis A. Gluek resided at this address. The current owner and taxpayer of record of the property is Mary E. Riley.

2201 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2000 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Mackall resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1996 by Janet L. Knittle to its current owner, James P. Gilroy, for $270,000.

2204 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2002 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Goodman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Samuel D. Goodman resided at this address. In 1988, Peters and Gorguze sold the property to James B. Lynch for $263,500 and, in 2005, James B. Lynch sold the property to Stephen C. Remole for $780,000. The current owner of record is Stephen C. Remole and the current taxpayers of record are Stephen Remole and Kathryn Remole.

2205 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2012 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. S. Davis resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Fred Darling and Mr. and Mrs. N. S. Davis all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold H. Wylie resided at this address. In 1986, L. and D. T. Moran purchased the property from D. E. and J. A. Vermeland for $139,000. Lawrence M. Moran is the current owner of record of the property and Lawrence M. Moran and Deborah T. Moran are the current taxpayers of record of the property.

2208 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2009 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. V. Cavanna resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John V. Cavanna resided at this address. John V. Cavanna (1880-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was sold four times during the last several years, with the first sale in 1996 when W. Kirchner and M. Bratholdt sold it to Karen Peterson for $359,900, with the second sale in 1999, when Karen K. Peterson sold it to Rhonda L. Altom for $445,000, with the third sale in 2003, when Rhonda Altom sold it to Steven E. Sullivan for $779,000, and most recently in 2006, when Stephen E. Sullivan sold it to John Randall Liddicoat for $888,500. Rhonda L. Altom and then Steven E. Sullivan were the previous owners of record of the property. John Randall Liddicoat is the current owner of record of the property and John Liddicoat and Mary Liddicoat are the current taxpayers of record for the property. Rhonda L. Altom, D.M.D., is a member of the board of DeCare International, a provider of oral health care management services.

2209 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1915. The structure is a two story, 2140 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. M. Paris resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Grace M. Longfellow resided at this address. Grace M. Longfellow was the compiler of the Scrapbook of the Sixth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry 1891-1944, published by the Minnesota Historical Society. Granville P. Lawrence is the current owner and taxpayer of record of the property and is a doctor of optometry. Granville Lawrence O.D. is an optometrist associated with Calhoun Vision Center who ran in the 2004 Get In Gear 10K race and the 2005 Get In Gear 10K race. Rosemary Lawrence, a principal in the Hopkins School District, was a contributor to the Howard Dean for President campaign in 2004.

2212 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3436 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Malcolmson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. In 1989, Ellen D. Sturgis sold the property to David and Susan Plimpton for $330,000, in 1996, David and Susan Plimpton sold the property to Carl and Emilie C. George for $400,000, and in 2006, Carl T. George sold the property to Horace D. Taft Ferguson for $875,000. Carl T. George was the previous owner of record of the property. Horace D. Taft Ferguson is the current owner of record of the property and Horace D. Taft Ferguson and Martha Taft-Ferguson are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Horace D. Taft Ferguson was a financial supporter of Courage Center in 2003. Horace and Martha Taft-Ferguson were parent donors to the Breck School in 2006-2007. Horace Taft Ferguson, self identified as unemployed and residing in Maple Plain, Minnesota, was a financial supporter of the John Kerry Presidential campaign in 2004. Horace Taft Ferguson was associated with the 33rd Senate District DFL Party in 2006.

2215 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2392 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. G. Dickinson and Mr. and Mrs. R. D. Pellitier all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. S. Best resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Elmer S. Best resided at this address. Elmer S. Best was a Minneapolis dentist who specialized in oral diagnosis and was the founder of the Pierre Fauchard Academy in 1936. The academy was Best's reaction to the proprietary nature of dental publications in the 1930's and was intended to help the profession to gain control of its own literature independent of commercial interests. The Pierre Fauchard Academy includes fellowships based on nominations by professional leaders and the awarding of medals and professional honors. The academy has 119 sections worldwide, including 55 in the United States, and has a global membership of 7,000. Pierre Fauchard (1678- ) was a "chirurgien dentiste" in Paris who published in 1728 the monumental tome Le Chirurgien Dentiste au Traits des Dents, the first widely accepted scientifically oriented book on dentistry. An English translation of Fauchard's tome was published in 1946. The Pierre Fauchard Academy was incorporated as a Minnesota corporation in 1936 and was reincorporated as an Illinois corporation in 1995. The Academy's Elmer S. Best Memorial Award is presented annually to an individual outside of the United States who has made a major contribution to dentistry. Elmer S. Best was appointed a charter member of the Minnesota Chapter of the International Association of Dental Research in 1928. The G. Lamoson Estate sold the property to Michael C. Brown for $242,000 in 1992. Michael C. Brown is the current owner of record of the property and Michael C. Brown and Lizbeth O. Brown are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Lizbeth Brown, a homemaker, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

2217 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 2116 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Bennett resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Jordan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles B. Jordan resided at this address. In 1998, V. H. Bjerkness and K. Bjerkness purchased the property from F. B. Bergner and S. A. Bergner for $260,000 and, in 2005, Venke H. Bjerkness sold the property to Sandeep D. Patel for $680,000. Venke Hauge Bjerkness and Kristian Eric Bjerkness were the previous taxpayers of record of the property, Angela M. Erdrich is the current owner of record of the property, and Sandeep Patel and Angela Erdrich of Sisseton, South Dakota, are the current taxpayers of record of the nonhomesteaded property.

2220 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2896 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Gilbreath resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph R. Gilbreath resided at this address. In 1988, H. Biel and C. Biel sold the property to B. S. Lewis and H. H. Lewis for $250,000 and in 2008, Hollis H. Lewis sold the property to Jason L. Verrett for $858,000. Hollis H. Lewis was the previous owner of record of the property and Hollis H. Lewis and Barrs Lewis were the previous taxpayers of record of the property and Jason L. Verrett is the current owner of record of the property and that Jason L. Verrett and S. M. Shimp are the taxpayers of record of the property.

2221 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3252 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that A. G. Johnson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry C. Mackall resided at this address. Henry C. Mackall was an early member of the Minikahda Country Club, serving on the executive committee of the club from 1927 to 1929 and also serving a stint as secretary of the club, as president of the club, and as a member of the board of governors of the club. Henry Clinton Mackall (1885-1979,) the son of Benjamin Franklin Mackall (1851-1935,) was a founder of the Minneapolis law firm of Mackall, Crounse & Moore, PLC, with Robert M. Crounse (1893-1974) and Perry R. Moore (1894-1969). The firm was established in 1918. Benjamin Mackall was the son of Henry C. Mackall, the law partner of the late Hon. Hiram McCullough in Elkton, Maryland, and Mary Mackall ( -1885,) was an early settler in Moorhead, Minnesota, operated the first drug store in the city, and was a pharmacist for 62 years. In 1891, B. F. Mackall operated a drugs and stationery store at the Mackall block, on the north side of Front east of 5th, and resided on Kennedy at the north west corner of Second, both in Moorhead, Minnesota. The company eventually became B. F. Mackall Inc. B.F. Mackall, a young druggist living in Moorhead, was an important lay leader for Fargo’s growing congregation. In addition to helping raise money to build a church proper, Mackall led regular prayer services during those times when an ordained Priest was absent. Henry C. Mackall, the father of Benjamin Franklin Mackall, was appointed by the Maryland General Assembly to compile a code of the Maryland Public General Laws and Public Local Laws in 1860. Henry C. Mackall, Jr. (1925- ) was a swimmer on the Blake School team in the early 1940's. In 1989, S. Kinder and D. Vealtizek purchased the property from Arthur Anderson and Judy Anderson for $405,000. The owner of record of the property is Susan D. Kinder and the taxpayers of record are David J. Vealitzek and Susan D. Kinder. David Vealitzek and Susan Kinder were financial supporters of Scholarship America in 2001 and of Achieve Minneapolis in 2004. David Vealitzek is the son of John C. Vealitzek ( -1966) and Ida Isabel Farchmin (1909-2005). Susan Kinder is a community volunteer member of the board of directors of WomenVenture.

2300 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2890 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. White resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ray H. Kenyon resided at this address. David F. Hickok sold the property to John F. Willoughby in 2001 for $560,000 and John F. Willoughby sold the property to Nathaniel Opperman for $985,000 in 2007. John F. Willoughby is the previous owner of record of the property and John F. Willoughby and Kelly L. Morrison are the previous taxpayers of record of the property. Nathaniel Opperman is the current owner of record of the property and Nathaniel Opperman and Beth Opperman are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Nathaniel Opperman is a self-employed psychotherapist.

2301 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3121 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. T. Jones resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. R. I. Rizer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dr. Robert I. Rizer resided at this address. In 1995, G. Smith and J. Devard sold the property to PHH Homequity Corporation for $334,000, in 2004, Julia Colman Timm sold the property to John J. De Garmo, Jr., for $930,000, and in 2009, John J. De Garmo, Jr., sold the property to Peter J. Demaris for $1,030,000. John J. Degarmo, Jr., was the previous owner of record of the property and Sanja S. Degarmo and John J. Degarmo, Jr., were the previous taxpayers of record of the property and Peter J. Demaris is the current owner of record of the property and Susan Demaris and Peter J. Demaris are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Julia Timm is a director of the Twin Cities Bicycling Club. Peter DeMaris is the pastor of the Family Baptist Church in Minneapolis.

2304 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1917. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2650 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Borhus resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that H. Christian Borhus resided at this address. H. Christian Borhus was a private in Company B of the First Battalion of the 13th Minnesota Volunteers during the Spanish-American War in 1898-1899. H. Christian Borhus (1873- ) was born in Norway, was enrolled and mustered in 1898 at Minneapolis as a Private, was on detached service at Camp Merritt per order of June 22, 1898, rejoined his company in Manila on September 2, 1898, was sick in quarters September 2 to September 4, 1898, was in hospital June 14 to June 18, 1899, was sick in quarters June 19 to June 21, 1899, and was mustered out October 3, 1899 at San Francisco, California. In 1909, H. Christian Borhus was the secretary and treasurer of the Charles J. Hedwall Company and boarded at 1819 16th Avenue South, in Minneapolis. The H. C. Borhus residence was designed by Liebenberg and Kaplan. In 1993, Marian O. Chrisman sold the property to J. Leopold and S. Katz for $246,055. Steven R. Katz is the current owner of record of the property and Steven R. Katz and J. A. Leopold are the taxpayers of record of the property. Steven R. Katz is a senior partner with the law firm of Parsinen, Kaplan, Rosberg, & Gotlieb P.A. practicing in the area of commercial real estate. Jennifer A. Leopold is associated with the North Suburban Communications Commission (NSCC/CTV15).

2305 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3572 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, 13 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Pillsbury, their daughter, and Mrs. F. H. Pillsbury all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that W. Hubert resided at this address. The property was sold three time during the last ten years, with the first sale in 1993 when J. K. Wittenberg and A. E. Wittenberg sold it to M. E. Schemel and A. K. Schemel for $479,000, with the second sale in 1998, when M. E. Schemel and A. K. Schemel sold it to D. A. Beech and D. B. Beech for $638,000, and most recently in 1999, when David A. Beech and Deborah Beech sold it to D. Warner and Nancy Walser Warner Kennedy for $705,000. The current owner of record of the property is Nancy Walser Warner and the current taxpayers of record of the property are David C. Warner and Nancy Walser Warner. David Beech and Deborah Beech now reside at 1705 Emerson Avenue South. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2005, approved a request by Mark Burgess, on behalf of David and Nancy Warner, for a variance to reduce the required side yard setback from 6 ft. to 2 ft., 11 in. and to reduce the required rear yard setback from 6 ft to 5 ft., 6 in. to allow for the construction of a two car attached garage to an existing single family dwelling if the materials of the addition match the existing dwelling and if a window is located on the north and south wall of the attached garage.

2308 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1911. The structure is a two story, 2795 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Ripley resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Leahy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur J. Leahy resided at this address. Arthur J. Leahy was the treasurer of the parish of the Basilica of St. Mary in Minneapolis from 1919 to 1932. The Basilica of St. Mary was instituted by Archbishop John Ireland in 1903, was designed by E. L. Masqueray, had its cornerstone laid in 1907, and was dedicated in 1915. Reverend Thomas E. W Cullen was the initial pastor of the church. In pre-Christian times, buildings erected in the form of pillared halls were used for public assemblies and for the administration of justice and were called "basilicas," or "kingly" halls. The usual plan was an oblong rectangle with a broad central nave separated from side aisles, or ambulatories, by rows of columns. The walls of the nave rested on these columns and were carried up above the roofs of the side aisles to form a clerestory pierced with windows to admit light to the building. At one end of the structure was the entrance consisting, usually, of several doors under a portico, and at the other a semi-circular vaulted niche, or apse, separated from the main building by a screen of columns or a low balustrade. Under the Emperor Constantine, who converted to Christianity, the existing Roman basilicas were either transformed into Christian churches or served as models for such edifices and the use of the word, "Basilica," as a name for a Christian Church became quite general. Scarcely anything remains of the Basilicas adapted to Christian worship in the early centuries and but few remnants are to be found of the numerous basilicas erected under Constantine. In the liturgical sense, a basilica is a church upon which, on account of its importance, special distinction has been bestowed. These basilicas are distinguished as Major and Minor, not because of their size, but because of their dignity. To the major basilicas belong the four Patriarchal churches of Rome: St. John Lateran, St. Peter's, St. Paul Outside the Walls, and St. Mary Major. All others are known as Minor Basilicas, of which there are nine in Rome, and a large number throughout the world, including the Basilica of St. Mary of Minneapolis. Royal H. Ripley ( -1916) died in Hennepin County. The property has been sold twice in the last eight years, with the first sale occurring in 1997, when R. W. Kling and B. D. Kling sold it to for $400,000 and with the most recent sale occurring in 2000, when Judith W. Mares sold it to Mark Van Note and Mary Van Note for $639,000. Mark N. Van Note is the current owner of record of the property and Mark N. Van Note and Mary N. Van Note are the current taxpayers of record of the property. Judith W. Mares is a financial consultant with Mares Financial Consulting, Inc. Mark Van Note is a correspondent for MinnesotaBusiness Magazine and an advisor to Empire Ventures, a venture capital company. Mary Van Note is Associate Planning Director at Fallon, Minneapolis, an ad agency.

2309 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 2180 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. J. C. Curtin and Mr. and Mrs. H. Malcolm Higgins all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that H. Malcolm Higgins resided at this address. In 1999, Ellen W. Bertram sold the property to B. J. Graves and L. M. N. Graves for $310,000 and, in 2004, Benjamin J. Graves sold the property to David P. Pothast for $900,000. The previous owners of the property were Benjamin J. Graves and L. M. N. Graves. The current owner of record of the property is David P. Pothast. Benjamin Graves is the vice president of operations for Graves Hospitality. Graves Hospitality owns and manages several Marriott, Radisson, and other branded hotels. David P. Pothast was a 1989 graduate of Ball State University and Diane Noonan Pothast was a 1990 graduate of Ball State University. David Pothast was the national account manager for Oral-B Laboratories in 2003 and Diane Pothast was a sales associate for Coldwell Banker in Chicago, Illinois, in 2003. Diane Pothast competed in the 2004 Jump to It 10K race and in the 2005 University of Minnesota-Morris Tinman Triathlon.

2312 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2516 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. L. Norris resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. P. R. Learned resided at this address. Perry L. Norris ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. In 2006, A. W. Hastings sold the property to Edwin J. Hlavka for $873,775. A. William Hastings and Ruth H. Hastings were the previous owners of record of the property and Edwin J. Hlavka and Elizabeth D. Hlavka are the current taxpayers of the property. Ruth H. Hastings was a financial supporter in 2004 of Family & Children’s Service and was an election judge in 2004 for Ward 7, Precinct 2.

2315 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 2215 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, seven room, single family dwelling. The 1930 city directory indicates that John S. Clapper resided at this address. John S. Clapper (1869- ,) the son of James F. Clapper and Mary Anderson Clapper, was born at Paris, Missouri, was educated in public and high schools of Paris, Missouri, resided on a farm until 1891, then became connected with retail vehicle and implement business, started on the road for William Koenig & Company of St. Louis, a harvesting machinery manufacturer, in 1896, was employed by the Milwaukee Harvester Company, traveling out of St. Louis, Missouri, in 1899, was transferred by the the Milwaukee Harvester Company to Des Moines, Iowa, was the manager of the Des Moines, Iowa, branch of the Milwaukee Harvester Company in 1901, assumed the management of the Des Moines, Iowa, branch upon the consolidation of the Racine Wagon & Carriage Company, and the Sattley Manufacturing Company in 1903, moved to Minneapolis in 1904, was a wholesale vehicles and farm implements manufacturer, was the manager, secretary, treasurer and a member of the board of directors of the Milwaukee Harvester Company since 1904, was a Mason, was a Knight Templar, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Bryn Mawr Club, engaged in the hobbies of shooting and golf, officed at 312 North First Street, and resided at 1358 Nicollet Avenue. John S. Clapper was the president of the Toro Manufacturing Company in 1933 and opposed unemployment insurance legislation in Minnesota on behalf of and as a member of the Citizen's Alliance, claiming that the burdens of unemployment insurance would force Toro to eliminate 20 percent of its employees or be forced to liquidate. Clapper led a Minneapolis manufacturers' committee in a parade of opposition before the House committee considering the bill and brought Wisconsin Taxpayers' Alliance officials to testify before the legislature. John S. Clapper was the inventor of a gang lawn mower that received U. S. patent (#2,057,417) and that was assigned to the Toro Manufacturing Company in 1936. The Toro Motor Company was established in Minneapolis in 1914 by executives of the Bull Tractor Company. J. S. Clapper was Toro's first president, The company was intended primarily to manufacture engines and other machined parts for use in the parent company's line of Bull tractors. The Bull Tractor folded in 1918. The entry of the United States into World War I in 1917 created a demand for steam engines for merchant supply ships and Toro helped to fill that demand through the conclusion of the war. In 1920, the Toro Motor Company became the Toro Manufacturing Company. In 1921, the Toro Manufacturing Company reinvented itself and become profitable for the long term with a specialized tractor that replaced a horse-powered system for cutting the golf course greens and fairways The specialized tractor was a machine-driven, gang-reel mower that was the forefather of the modern power mower industry. In 1935, the company became Toro Manufacturing Corporation of Minnesota. Robert Gibson, Whitney Miller, and David Lilly, military veterans and friends from Dartmouth College, purchased the company in 1945. Harold J. Gregory is the taxpayer of record of the property and Lucille Gregory is the owner of record of the property.

2316 Oliver Avenue South: E. C. Tillotson House; Built in 1912; Prairie School in style; Purcell, Feick, & Elmslie, architects. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2735 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, 11 room, single family dwelling. The E. C. Tillotson House is similar to the Owre House in its basic plan, but its high-pitched roof sets it apart from homes like the Purcell-Cutts House and the Owre House. The bands of windows and the overhanging eaves are more conspicuous Prairie School elements. The front porch is considered by some architectural critics to be too obtrusive and to mar the appearance of the house. William Gray Purcell is said to have complained about the adverse effect budget considerations had on the design of this house. The 1914 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Tillotson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Earl C. Tillotson resided at this address. The Tillotsons lived in the house unchanged for 38 years, until they sold it and moved into an apartment in 1950. Earl C. Tillotson graduated from the Baraboo, Wisconsin, High School in 1893 and graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1897, was a sales agent for the Thief River Falls, Minnesota, Lumber Company in 1911, and married Nan Mashek in Minneapolis in 1911. William F. Forsyth is the current owner of record of the property and William F. Forsyth and Karla M. Forsyth are the current taxpayers of record of the property. William F. Forsyth is a lawyer with and shareholder in the law firm of Henson & Efron, P.A., and practices in the area of family law. He also was an Adjunct Professor of Law at the William Mitchell College of Law. William F. Forsyth, an attorney with Henson & Efron P. A., was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. [See note on Purcell, Feick, and Elmslie for 2022 Summit Avenue.]

2322 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3448 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Hazlett resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Jordan, Jr., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sara W. Jordan resided at this address. In 1993, Wilber W. Wittenberg sold the property to K. C. Dooley and E. A. Dooley for $375,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kevin C. Dooley and the current taxpayers of record of the property are Kevin C. Dooley and Elizabeth A. Dooley. Kevin Dooley is the secretary of the Southwest Youth Hockey Association. Elizabeth A. Dooley was an election judge in 2004 for Ward 11, Precinct 8. Elizabeth Dooley and Kevin Dooley were financial supporters of Graywolf Press in 2004. Beth Dooley and Kevin Dooley were financial supporters of the Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Prevention and Planning in 2003. Kevin C. Dooley has a bachelors degree from St. Lawrence University and a law degree from Syracuse University, is General Counsel for Churchill Capital, which he joined in 1996 and which he had been associated with since 1989 as lead outside counsel for investment transactions, is a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association, and formerly was a partner with the Rider Bennett law firm specializing in private sector merger, acquisition, and divestiture transactions and related financings.

2324 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3630 square foot, five bedroom, four bathroom, 12 room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. M. Ankeny resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph H. Colman resided at this address. Joseph H. Colman received a bachelor's degree from Yale University in 1918 and a law degree from Yale University in 1921. Joseph H. Colman was a lawyer with John Junell in the U. S. Supreme Court case First Bank Stock Corporation v. State of Minnesota, 301 U.S. 234 (1937). Joseph H. Colman also successfully represented the First National Bank of Minneapolis in the Eighth Circuit Court case Harold L. Warner v. First National Bank of Minneapolis, 236 F.2d 853 (1956), a statute of limitations challenge related to the estate of Ellsworth C. Warner, who had been a director of the bank, against the bank as the managing advisor before and throughout the administration of the estate for damages for loss occasioned to the decedent's estate by reason of the bank's failure to perform the duties it assumed as managing advisor. Colman established the Ernest G. Lorenzen Memorial Scholarship in 1955, in memory of Professor Lorenzen, a member of the Yale University faculty from 1917 to 1951. The current owner of record of the property is Todd C. Miller and the current taxpayers of the property are Todd C. Miller and Mary C. Miller. Dr. Todd C. Miller, M.D., practices internal medicine. Mr. and Mrs. Todd C. Miller were 2001 financial supporters of the Courage Center. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles E. Lewis resided at the former nearby West Lake of the Isles Parkway. [See the note for John Junell for 2727 East Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

2400 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4018 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, ten room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1914 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Smith resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Author M. Smith resided at this address. Author M. Smith ( -1932) died in Hennepin County. Author Mason Smith (1905-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bittorf, and died in Hennepin County. In 1987, Nesbitt and Ivan sold the property to G. Harding and K. Gowgill for $399,000, in 2003, Kathryn M. C. Harding sold the property to Bradley J. Schultz for $882,500, and in 2009, Bradley J. Schultz sold the property to Edwin J. Hlavka for $1,300,000. G. E. Harding and Kathryn M. C. Harding were the previous owners of the property. Bradley J. Schultz was the previous owner of record of the property and Mary Meehan and Bradley J. Schultz were the previous taxpayers of the property and Edwin J. Hlavka is the current owner of record of the property and Edwin J. Hlavka and Elizabeth Hlavka are the current taxpayers of record of the property. George E. Harding is a lawyer and a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association. George E. Harding and Kathryn Harding were financial supporters in 2003 of the Friends of the Minneapolis Public Library, the American Refuge Committee, and of WATCH, an organization dedicated to make the justice system more effective and responsive in handling cases of violence, particularly against women and children, and to create a more informed and involved public. Kathryn M. C. Harding was a financial supporter in 2004 of WATCH. Mary Meehan is associated with Iconoculture. Iconoculture was founded in 1992 by Vickie Abrahamson and Mary Meehan, consults on marketing strategy and produces a newsletter for a client list that reads like a Who's Who of the Fortune 500, has grown from a workforce of four in 2003 to a workforce of 32 in 2004, and revenue of about $1 million in 2003 and over $4 million in 2004. Mary Meehan previously was the Vice President of Licensing and Marketing for The Lazear Agency, a literary agency, and was employed by the Dayton Hudson Corp's department-store division and currently directs cultural analysis and project management for Iconoculture. Edwin J. Hlavka is an engineer employed by Conceptx Medical.

2410 Oliver Avenue South: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 2346 square foot, three bedroom, three bathroom, eight room, single family dwelling, with a partially finished basement. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ole J. Brederson resided at this address. Ole Brederson ( -1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. In 1992, E. Bazinet and T. Teigen sold the property to John Sinks and Tuulikki Sinks for $300,000 and in 2006, J. F. Sinks and T. L. Sinks sold the property to Anthony W. Waldera for $1,100,000. John F. Sinks and Tuulikki L. Sinks were the previous owners of the property and Anthony W. Waldera is the current owner of record of the property. Tuulikki I. Sinks is a retired Assistant Education Specialist in the Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch at the University of Minnesota.

2500 Sheridan Avenue South: Built in 1912. The structure is a 13/4 story, 1675 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, single family residence. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Purdy resided at this address. The current owner of record is Richard J. Wahlstrom and the current taxpayers of record are Richard J. Wahlstrom and Kyla L. Wahlstrom. Richard J. Wahlstrom, M.D., is a physician who practices in Internal Medicine. Kyla L. Wahlstrom, Ph.D., is a Research Associate at the department of Educational Policy and Administration at the University of Minnesota an the iterim director of the Center for Applied Research and Educational Improvement at the University of Minnesota.

2506 Sheridan Avenue South: Built in 1927. The structure is a two story, 2814 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, four bathroom, single family residence. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold A. Whittaker resided at this address. Harold Arthur Whittaker was the author of Milk production and control; communicable diseases, public health supervision, nutritional aspects, economic aspects, published in New York by Century in 1932. Harold Arthur Whittaker (1882-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Handford, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner and taxpayer of record is Peter W. Sipkins. Peter W. Sipkins is a lawyer and the Co-Chair, Products and Technology Liability Litigation, at the law firm of Dorsey & Whitney LLP.

2510 Sheridan Avenue South: Built in 1979. The structure is a two story, 3813 square foot, 12 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, single family residence. The previous owner of record was Rosalie H. Hall and the current owner of record is James K. Wittenberg. In 2007, the Rosalie H. Hall Estate sold the property to James K. Wittenberg for $1,200,000. Reverend Rosalie H. Hall served at the Episcopal Cathedral of St. Mark in Minneapolis in 1998. Rosalie H. Hall was on the Advisory Committee of the Minnesota Historical Society in 2004, was a member of the Save WCAL organization, and was a financial supporter of Books for Africa in 1999. James K. Wittenberg was the incorporator of VioQuest Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Summit Avenue Hikes - Achitectural Style Notes #1

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, and The USGenWeb Archives was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last updated on June 24, 2011.