Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: Kenwood Architecture Notes, Part


Observations on Architectural Styles, Part

Kenwood

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

St. Paul, Minnesota

Webpage Creation: November 20, 2001

General.

Kenwood is one of the most affluent of the Minneapolis neighborhoods, the charm of its elegant homes enhanced by picturesque Lake of the Isles, which stretches through its heart. Early civic and business leaders finding the relatively flat downtown Minneapolis area too bland for their tastes settled first east of the Mississippi River or south of downtown, along Park Avenue. As the city grew, its Gold Coast soon extended south and west past Lowry Hill to the hills and lakes of Kenwood. Situated on a large glacial moraine called the Devil's Backbone, Kenwood mansions, many named after their wealthy owners, were set on well manicured lawns along streets lined with a canopy of birch, oak and maple, some lingering from the native hardwood stands that greeted early settlers. Kenwood's substantial 19th century villas, tudor revivals of the 1920's and 1930's or the super ramblers of early 1960's reflect the architecture of the times they were constructed. Kenwood's older homes and mansions, surrounded by well-kept gardens, remain Minneapolis' largest concentration of expensive housing, much of it built before 1920, most before World War II, and none since 1985. Most of the older, highly desirable homes are single family, but there are a few duplexes and small apartment buildings dating from the 1920's, some updated or converted to condominiums, particularly along Kenwood's borders.

While often thought of as the cluster of neighborhoods west of Hennepin Avenue and north of Lake Street, Kenwood is actually bounded by Lake of the Isles Parkway, Kenwood Parkway, and Cedar Lake. It’s a veritable enclave, hard to find and navigate because of its confusing street grid. Overall, Kenwood is neither as grand nor historic as its stately neighbor, Lowry Hill. In fact, Kenwood was not completely built out until the 1920s, mainly because then swampy Lake of the Isles proved a physical barrier to development and salability. But the neighborhood has thrived ever since, its midsized housing stock well suited to small families and empty nesters. Kenwood’s status as a neighborhood without a major thoroughfare has rendered it quiet, sedate, and almost crime-free. This sense of privacy has attracted a range of prominent Twin Citians, from former Minneapolis Institute of Arts president Evan Maurer to restaurant impresario Richard D’Amico. A major Kenwood asset is its location only a stone's throw from—but not in the hurly-burly of—much that is exciting about Minneapolis, the Guthrie/Walker complex, downtown, and Uptown. The neighborhood has the feel of an urban preserve, thanks to its walking-distance proximity to rolling Kenwood Park, Lake of the Isles, and the new Kenilworth trails. Because Kenwood was one of the first local neighborhoods to inoculate against Dutch elm disease, many streets are graced by a canopy of the stately trees that have all but disappeared from other parts of the Twin Cities. Kenwood Elementary School has had its ups and downs in recent years, though it is now thought to be improving. The small retail hub at Twenty-first Street and Penn Avenue boasts Louise Erdrich’s admired Birchbark Books. What was once a middle- to upper-middle-class neighborhood is now unaffordable to all but two-income professional families or the independently wealthy. A modest Kenwood bungalow now sells for at least $300,000; most homes go for more. That equates to sky-high property taxes.

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along the hike:

1900 Dupont Avenue South: John Franklin Calhoun Residence; 1900 Dupont Guesthouse; Built in 1896; Classical Revival in style. John Franklin Calhoun (1854-1922,) the son of David Calhoun and Caroline Matilda Cunningham Calhoun, great grand son of David Calhoun (1757-1834) and Eleanor King Calhoun, was born in Hopewell Township, Licking County, Ohio, moved with his family to Illinois, received a common school education in Mercer County, Illinois, was a "printer's devil" with the Keithsburgh, Illinois, Observer in 1867, then was employed in a carpenter shop, then was employed by a clothing store, was employed by a dry goods concern, engaged on his own in the mercantile business, married Clara Zenora Edwards, the daughter of the Hon. John Edwards, a member of the Indiana Legislature, in Galesburg, Illinois, in 1879, came to Minnesota in 1881, was engaged in loaning money on real estate, then was a broker and financial agent, was a member of the Minnesota State Senate representing Hennepin County (District 40) from 1903 until 1911, was a member of the first Chamber of Commerce of Minneapolis, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of the Commandery of the State of California, was a Mason, officed at the Oneida Block in 1907, and resided at either 1762 Hennepin Avenue or 1611 Dupont Avenue in 1907. John Franklin Calhoun and Clara Zenora Edwards Calhoun were the parents of three children, John Edwards Calhoun, Frederick David Calhoun and Beatrice Zenora Calhoun. The Commandery of the State of California was comprised of United States officers of the Civil or Spanish War, and lineal male descendants of American officers of the Colonial or Revolutionary Wars, from 1607 to 1783, and of United States officers of the War of 1812, the Mexican War, the American Civil War, or the Spanish-American War.

1600 Lyndale Avenue South:

110 Kenwood Parkway: Kenwood Park and Playground. The current owner of record is the Park and Recreation Board of the City Of Minneapolis.

300 Kenwood Parkway: Kenwood Park and Playground. The current owner of record is the Park and Recreation Board of the City Of Minneapolis.

301 Kenwood Parkway: Kenwood Clinic. The current owner of record is the 301 Kenwood Pkwy LLC. In 2003, James Pohlad was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and was listed as having resided at this address. James Pohlad was a member of the Executive Board of the Minnesota Twins Baseball Club in 2007, was Executive Vice President of the Marquette Financial Companies in 2007, and was Vice President of the Pohlad Companies in 2007, and donated to the Commissioner of Major League Baseball Political Action Committee in 2007. Although the Minnesota Twins are owned by the three sons of the late Carl Pohlad (1915-2009,) James Pohlad, Robert Pohlad, and William Pohlad, James Pohlad is currently in charge of day-to-day operation of the ball club.

311 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1966. The structure is a three story, 37135 square foot, 39 unit (one efficiency unit and 38 one bedroom units,) apartment/condominium building. The current owner of record is the Kenwood Group Partners LLC, located in Lakeville, Minnesota.

400 Kenwood Parkway: Parade Stadium. The current owner of record is the Park and Recreation Board of the City Of Minneapolis.

1600 Emerson Avenue South: The current owner of record is the Northrup Collegiate School and the current taxpayers of record is The Blake Schools, located in Hopkins, Minnesota. The current Blake School is an outgrowth of the Northrop Collegiate School, founded in 1900, the Blake School, founded in 1907, and the Highcroft County Day School, founded in 1958. A small group of families who wanted to prepare their children for schools in the East founded Blake School (for boys) and Northrop School (for girls) in Minneapolis early in the 20th century. Migration to the Minneapolis suburbs led to the incorporation of the Highcroft School, which was a co-educational elementary school, in Wayzata, Minnesota, in 1958. The three schools merged to become The Blake Schools in 1974. The Northrop Collegiate School dates back to 1900 and was originally founded as Graham Hall by Miss Zulema A. Ruble, a teacher in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1881 and a Latin teacher at Grinnell College, Iowa, in 1898, and Miss Carrie Bartlett, provided the opportunity for girls to continue their studies through their second year of college, was first located in a house near downtown Minneapolis, then moved into three neighboring houses about six blocks from its original location, and was incorporated as Northrop Collegiate School in 1914 when a group of Minneapolis leaders joined forces to purchase Graham Hall. Northrop Collegiate School was named in honor of Cyrus Northrop, president of the University of Minnesota from 1885 until 1911. The Blake School for boys was founded in 1907 by William McKendree Blake as a preparatory school for boys, was put on the same plane as eastern preparatory academies by the efforts of Charles C. Bovey and 16 other local business leaders to contribute $2,500 each towards Blake's first capital drive for the original building in Minneapolis and the construction of a new building in Hopkins, Minnesota, in 1912. Highcroft Country Day School was founded in 1958 as an independent, non-sectarian, co-educational, kindergarten through ninth grade school for students in the far western suburbs of the Twin Cities and was built in 1960 on land which had been part of the former Highcroft estate in Wayzata, Minnesota. Caroline S. Bartlett (1868-1961) was born in outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note for Charles Argalis Bovey and the Bovey-Delaittre Lumber Company for 2322 Blaisdell Avenue South.]

411 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a four story, 34404 square foot, school. The current owner of record is the Northrup Collegiate School and the current taxpayers of record is The Blake Schools, located in Hopkins, Minnesota.

511 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a four story, 64290 square foot, school. The current owner of record is the Northrup Collegiate School and the current taxpayers of record is The Blake Schools, located in Hopkins, Minnesota.

600 Kenwood Parkway: Parade Ice Garden. Built in 1974. The structure is a one story, 34034 square foot, ice arena. The current owner of record is the Park and Recreation Board of the City Of Minneapolis.

617 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 3612 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, duplex. The property was last sold in 1999 by W. E. and N. O. Peyton to Roy A. Caples for $250,000 and in 2000 by Roy A. Caples to Michael D. Farber and Tanya Farber for $387,500. The current owner of record is Michael Farber and the current taxpayers of record are Michael Farber and Tanya Farber. Roy Caples is an owner of Tickles, a mature gay piano bar that moved to downtown Minneapolis, the corner of Fourth Street and Fifth Avenue, in 2009. Michael Farber and Tanya Farber were financial supporters of the Jewish Family and Children's Service of Minneapolis in 2008.

621 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 3752 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, duplex. The property was last sold in 1999 by W. Peyton, N. O. Peyton, J. Peyton, and N. E. Peyton to Roy A. Caples for $240,000, in 1999 by Roy A. Caples to Michael Mugaas for $355,000, in 2002 by M. J. Mugaas and L. R. Mugaas to Mark A. Nygaard for $550,000, and in 2003 by Mark A. Nygaard to Marcos A. Herrera for $549,900. Michael Mugaas is associated with Cinnabar Realty real estate agents and was the owner in 2003 of Gateway Financial Corporation, a mortgage originator. The current owner of record is Marcos A. Herrera.

625 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a two story, 2232 square foot, eight room, two bedroom, three bathroom, duplex. The current owner of record is Dennis J. Sutliff. Dennis J. Sutliff is a principal with Elness Swenson Graham Architects, Inc.

629 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 3012 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, duplex. The current owner of record is Robin A. Johnson and the current taxpayers of record are Robin A. Johnson and Deanna M. Johnson, who reside in Montevideo, Minnesota.

633 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1917. The structure is a two story, 3012 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, duplex. The property was last sold in 2000 by Graceland Farms Partners to M. Tkach and Leah Cooper for $270,000. The current owners of record are M. R. T'Kach and L. E. Cooper and the taxpayer of record is Michael Robert T'Kach. Michael T'Kach is Program Director at EnerChange and is secretary of the Kenwood Isles Area Association.

637 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 1958 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house with a tuck-under garage. Carl Wendell Rawson resided at this address at one time during his career. Carl Rawson (1884-1970) was born in Van Meter/Des Moines, Iowa, was educated in Des Moines, Iowa, was the secretary for the Des Moines, Iowa, baseball club, studied at the Cumming Art School in Des Moines, Iowa, studied at the Minneapolis School of Art, studied at the National Academy of Design in New York, was a landscape and portrait painter, made his home in Minneapolis after 1906, married Louelle Pattee in 1906, worked as a cartoonist for the Minneapolis Tribune until 1915, then was a self-employed artist, and died in Minneapolis. His work is on display at the Minneapolis Golf Club, the Winona, Minnesota, Country Club, the Northwestern Bank of Minneapolis, in the state capitol building of North Dakota, at the Mayo Clinic at Rochester, Minnesota, and at the College of Surgeons in Chicago, Illinois. The current owner of record is Jeffrey R. Hohman and the current taxpayers of record are Jeffrey R. Hohman and Grace I. Hohman.

701 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1913. The structure is a 1.7 story, 2026 square foot, 12 room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The current owner of record is Allen C. Lindholm and the current taxpayer of record is Darralu Sellie Lindholm. Allen C. Lindholm is a lawyer. Darralu Lindholm was associated with Cornerstone Consultants LLC and is a resource development consultant with Authenticity Consulting.

705 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1899 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1984 by Geraldine Schoenbaum to G. M. Rockcastle for $162,500 and in 2003 by Garth C. Rockcastle to Paul E. Grubb for $554,000. Garth C. Rockcastle, FAIA, is a professor of architecture with the University of Maryland and taught at the University of Minnesota from 1978 to 2004. The current owner of record is Paul E. Grubb and the current taxpayers of record are Paul E. Grubb and Elizabeth B. Grubb. Paul Grubb is associated with E Photography. Elizabeth B. Barnwell (formerly Grubb) owns E Photography.

707 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 2698 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1984 by L. S. Perry and C. M. Perry to D. E. Post-White and J. E. Post-White for $210,000. The current owners of record are D. E. White and J. E. Post-White and the current taxpayer of record is Duane E. White.

715 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1921. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 3595 square foot, 11 room, three bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a garage. The property was last sold in 1988 for $155,500 by Jill Rivard to its current owners, Daniel H. Levey and S. Weinstein. Suzanne Weinstein and Daniel Levey were financial supporters of the Minneapolis Crisis Nursery in 2005. Suzanne Weinstein is the owner and president of Worldwide Fish & Seafoods, Inc. of Minneapolis, doing business as Coastal Seafoods. Suzanne Weinstein founded the company in 1981 with nothing more than a battered van, a single shipment of tilefish, and a rented spot in a cooler. Its customers include Cafe Brenda, Table of Contents, the Harbor View Cafe, Pronto Ristorante, Lucia's, Auriga, D'Amico Cucina, café un deux trois, Cafe 128, the New French Cafe, and the St. Paul Hotel and it distributes seafood products to restaurants in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, and North and South Dakota. In 2004, Worldwide Fish & Seafoods, Inc. received an inspection warning from the federal Food and Drug Administration for a failure to have a seafood Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point plan and for the processing of consequently adulterated smoked salmon, and sought a permanent injunction against the company over the same violations in 2006, after settlement talks with the seafood processor failed. The company did not ensure that their equipment was actually recording refrigerator temperatures and that the company did not monitor their temperature recording devices to maintain strict temperature control to prevent the growth of harmful bacteria and to prevent excessive histamine accumulation.

717 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2696 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. Charles E. Brewster, special agent for W. M. Horner, resided at this address and Donald R. Brewster, a carrier, and William E. Brewster, a carrier, both boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that William E. Brewster, a student, resided at this address. William Brewster ( -1919) and Charles Ellis Brewster ( -1942) both died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1997 by S. Shepard and L. W. Shepard to R. L. Reul and J. R. Jones for $207,000. The current owners of record are Robert L. Reul and Janet R. Jones. Robert L. Reul was Director of Quality Assurance Management for the Carlson Companies, Inc. in 1993. Robert Reul holds bachelor's and master's degrees in business and management science, is a tenured Quality System consultant, is a certified Quality System Lead Auditor, is a three-term Quality Award Senior Examiner, and is the founder and managing director of Isometric Solutions, LLC. Isometric Solutions, LLC is an international market-research firm that specializes in customer-intelligence research in business-to-business markets. Robert Reul and Janet Jones were financial supporters of Courage Center in 2001.

721 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1924. The structure is a two story, 2145 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1988 by D. Karon and D. Karon to Eric Mills for $169,000. The current owner of record is Eric A. Mills. Eric A. Mills, D.M.D., is an Associate Clinical Specialist in Primary Dental Care-Admissions at the Dentistry School at the University of Minnesota and is an associate general dentist at Valley Dental Group of Golden Valley. Dr. Mills, the son of Evelyn Russo Mills and Dr. Don Mills of Philadelphia, was born in Washington D.C., received a bachelor's degree magna cum laude from Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania, had a year of graduate work in biochemistry at Bryn Mawr, received a dental degree from Tufts University, began his clinical professional career with the National Health Service Corps in Minneapolis, became an associate professor at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, instructing in Oral Medicine and Diagnosis, in Radiology and in Immediate Care, and is currently a group leader of the Comprehensive Care Clinic.

727 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 688 square foot, three room, one bedroom, one bathroom, house, with a one car garage. The current owner of record of the rental property is Eric Andrew Mills, who resides at 721 Kenwood Parkway.

735 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1921. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2416 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1983 by the Estate of M. Brodrick to J. Nicholson and E. Nicholson for $165,000 and in 1988 by M. C. Nicholson and E. V. Nicholson to R. C. Hilton and J. C. Hilton for $199,000. The current owners of record are Robert C. Hilton and Jo Ann C. Hilton.

741 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1919. The structure is a two story, 3180 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1991 by Robert L. Johnson to the Forster-Hughes Corporation for $219,111, in 1993 by Forster-Hughes Corporation to Andrea Waitt for $565,000, in 1996 by N. Waitt and A. Waitt to Andrea F. Wallack for $420,000, in 1999 by A. E. Wallack and J. Swhartz to Hershel J. Bigos for $510,000, and in 2000 by the estate of Hershel Bigos to Brian J. Hirt for $625,000. The current owner of record is Brian J. Hirt and the taxpayer of record is Jasper Properties LLC of Navarre, Minnesota. Brian Hirt owned EHS & Associates, a Minneapolis-based headhunting operation that specializes in restaurants in 1997 and is associated with EHS Hospitality Group-Minnesota. In 2005, this address was sold at a Sheriff's mortgage foreclosure sale to Scott Mann for $106,523.76.

747 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1925. The structure is a 1 1/2 story, 1820 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The current owner of record is Leo Truman Johnson.

801 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1957. The structure is a two story, 2232 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, duplex, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 2003 by the trustee for Nancy Rosen to Arounthit Phommasouvanh for $425,000. The current owner of record is Arounthit Phommasouvanh.

807 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1970. The structure is a two story, 1772 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1995 by Ron W. Sorenson to Mary E. Niforopulos for $400,000. The current taxpayer of record is Mary E. Niforopulos and the current owner of record is Lisa E. Niforopulos. Lisa Niforopulos was a reporter for the Minnesota Daily at the University of Minnesota in 1994 and earned a master's degree in Mass Communication from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication of the University of Minnesota in 2003. Mary Lisa Niforopulos works as a copy editor for the Utne Reader as well as a freelance writer for the Minneapolis Star and Tribune. Lisa Niforopulos, B.A., was an author, with Randy Stinchfield, Ph.D., and Stephen H. Feder, M.D., of the University of Minnesota Medical School, of the article "Follow-up Contact Bias in Adolescent Substance Abuse Treatment Outcome Research" in the Journal of Studies on Alcohol in 1994. Lisa Niforopulos and Warner Bruntjen were financial supporters of The Nature Conservancy in Minnesota in 2006.

813-815 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2 1/4 story, 3640 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, duplex, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1989 by Robert Mullen and Jeanne Mullen to Kent H. Hodder for $215,000, in 1997 by Kent Hodder and Judith Hodder to William T. Cavanaugh for $309,000, and in 2005 by William T. Cavanaugh to Kane Loukas for $687,500. The current owner of record is Kane Loukas. Kane Loukas is associated with Palladian Capital, a general contracting company. Kane Loukas was a 1995 graduate of Minnehaha Academy, was a student at the University of Minnesota and majored in English and finance, was an intern for two brokers with Dougherty Summit Securities in 1999, was an editorial intern with the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal in 1998 and a staff reporter for the Minnesota Daily at the University of Minnesota in 1999, and was an economics consultant for Ernst & Young in 2001. Kane Loukas applied for and received front yard setback, interior side yard setback, front lot garage construction, and driveway width variances for this address from the Minneapolis Board of Adjustment in 2005, variances that were sought by William T. Cavanaugh and Krista Cavanaugh, approved in 2003, but never implemented.

819 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1960. The structure is a two story, 2657 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, duplex, with a two car garage. The 1909 city directory indicates that Ole Johnson, a laborer, and Louis Myhre, a laborer, both resided at this address and that Herbert Myher, a machine operator with the Minneapolis Steam Laundry, boarded at this address. The Minneapolis Steam Laundry was established in 1889 by Major Silas Howell Towler (1846- ,) who eventually became the commandant of the Minnesota Soldiers' Home at Minneapolis. In 1904, the Minneapolis Steam Laundry had 61 total employees, 14 males and 47 females, who worked ten hour days and 54 hour weeks. The Minneapolis Steam Laundry contributed to the Minneapolis Citizen's Alliance. Louis Myhre ( -1949) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Herbert M. Myhre ( -1965) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1997 by H. Jackson and J. Tulley to Alexander C. Hansen for $238,000. The current owner of record is Alexander C. Hansen. Alexander C. Hansen was a financial supporter of Camp Courage in 2001. [See note for the Minneapolis Citizens Alliance for 216 Ann Street.]

825 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1925. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2151 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The current owner of record is Gary E. Levin. Gary E. Levin was the author of the book Proposal of city of Minneapolis manpower delivery system in 1975 and was the risk manager for the City of Minneapolis in 1987 and in 1998.

901 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1962. The structure is a two story, 1756 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1993 by Terrance E. Mathews to Andrew V. Porth for $157,500, in 1996 by Andrew V. Porth to Carl E. Byrnes for $365,000 and again in 1996 by Carl E. Byrnes to Daniel J. Connolly for $355,900. The current owner of record is Daniel J. Connolly.

903-905 Kenwood Parkway: The building is a contemporary structure. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mary Trinko, the widow of Anton Trinko, resided at the nearby former 906 Kenwood Parkway and that Agnes C. Trinko, a nurse with Associated Charities, Antoinette F. Trinko, a composer employed by Thurston & Gould Printing Company, Caroline G. Trinko, a stenographer employed by Valentine Brothers Manufacturing Company, and Sylvester Trinko, a cigarmaker, all boarded at the nearby former 906 Kenwood Parkway. The Valentine Brothers Manufacturing Company built the "Imperial," a three horsepower stationery engine. The Imperial Manufacturing Company was formed in 1910 from the merger of Valentine Brothers Manufacturing Company and the Shock & Hay Loader Company. Imperial tractors were apparently built as late as 1914, when Imperial announced that it would be building the Strite tractor. The Imperial 40 tractor was rated at 40 drawbar horsepower and at 70 brake horsepower. The unit weighed 10.5 tons, was equipped with a 4-cylindar horizontal opposed engine with a 7.5 inch bore and 9 inch stroke, ran at 2.5 miles per hour, and had a list price was $4,500. The tractor was built under Patent #1,070,362 issued to the Valentine Brothers Company. The Valentine Brothers Company stone/masonry manufacturing facility, located at 1519 Central Avenue in Northeast Minneapolis, was built in 1904. It is commonly referred to as the Alamo Building due to its outside appearance and similarity to the famous Texas-Mexican War fortress. Mary Trinko ( -1912) died in Hennepin County. Agnes Trinko (1882-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuno, and died in Hennepin County. Sylvester F. Trinko (1886-1965) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 1987 by Third Williams Financial to R. W. Sorenson and M. S. Sorenson for $76,000, in 1992 by Bruce Bren Homes, Inc., to Frederick and Toni Green for $641,722, and in 2002 by Frederick Green to the trustee of Ronald Fingerhut for $1,250,000. The current owner of record is the trustee of Ronald Fingerhut and the taxpayers of record are Theodore Deikel and Andrew Deikel. Theodore Deikel, a former executive vice president of the American Can Company, was named in 1983 to the board of C.O.M.B. Company, a retail store and mail-order business that sold discount and closeout goods, of which financier Irwin Jacobs owned 40 percent. After C.O.M.B. was purchased by CVN Companies, Fingerhut Companies, under former C.O.M.B. executive Theodore Deikel, purchased the mail order assets of C.O.M.B. from CVN's new owner, QVC Network Inc., in 1989 and became the chief executive officer of Fingerhut in 1989. Andrew Deikel attended Augsburg College from 1997 to 2002. Ronald Fingerhut was the president of the FingerhutFamily Foundation in 2003. [See note for Theodore Deikel for 2424 West Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

909 Kenwood Parkway: The building is a contemporary structure. The current owner of record is Shari M. Pomeroy-Freitag. Shari Pomeroy-Freitag is a certified interior decorator. Greg Freitag and Shari Pomeroy were financial supporters of People Serving People in 2005. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Marjorie Child and Sherman Child, students, resided at the former nearby 914 Kenwood Parkway. In 1916, Mrs. Sampson Reed Child was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at the former nearby 914 Kenwood Parkway. Sampson Reed Child (1860/1861-1928,) the son of Lewis Washburn Child (1817-1897) and Emily Mandville Reed Child (1823- ,) was born in Paris, Oxford County, Maine, moved to the Milton Plantation at Rumford, Oxford County, Maine, in 1865, graduated from the North Bridgton, Maine, Academy in 1880, graduated from Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, in 1884, married Alice Alberta Webber (1860- ,) a native of Rumford, Maine, in 1884, taught school, moved to Minneapolis in 1884, read the law with Judge Seagrane Smith and Sampson A. Reed, was admitted to the practice of law in 1886, was an attorney, practiced alone until 1894, was a member of the law firm of Child & Fryberger from 1894 until 1898, practiced alone after 1898, was a member of the First Regiment of the Minnesota National Guard, was a member of the Minneapolis Charter Commission in 1897 and in 1911, resided at the former nearby 914 Kenwood Parkway in 1907, officed at the Lumber Exchange in 1907, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Hennepin County Bar Association, was a member of the Academy of Natural Science of Minneapolis, was a member of the First Universalist Society of Minneapolis, was president of the Minnesota Unitarian Conference, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a Republican, was the president of the Fifth Ward Republican Club, was a member of the Garfield Republican Club, and was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Hennepin County (District 40) from 1913 until 1915. Sampson Reed Child and Alice Alberta Webber Child were the parents of five children, Sherman Walker Child, Emily Child, Marjorie "Betty Crocker" Child Husted Day (1892-1986,) a home economist, Alice Child, and Lewis Washburn Child (1922-1972.) Sampson Reed Child died in Minneapolis and was buried in Lakewood Cemetery. Lewis Washburn Child married Katherine "Casey" Shenehon, the daughter of Francis Clinton Shenehon (1861-1939,) a civil engineer, and Katherine Byrd Cross Shenehon. Sherman Walker Child (1887-1962) was born in Minneapolis, was educated in the Minneapolis public schools, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1911, practiced law with the S. R. Child & Sherman Child Law Firm, was a public representative on the Minnesota Manufacturers Advisory Board to the Minnesota Minimum Wage Commission, served in the First Infantry Minnesota National Guard during World War I, was promoted from Private ultimately to Captain, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Hennepin County (District 30) from 1917 until 1918 and from 1921 until 1923, was a member of the Minnesota Senate representing Hennepin County (District 30) from 1923 until 1935, and died in Minneapolis. Marjorie Child Husted Day graduated from the University of Minnesota with a German degree in 1913 and with a home economics degree in 1914, was a member of member of Kappa Alpha Theta, was a secretary of the Infant Welfare Society of Minneapolis during World War I, was the director of the bureau of information of the Women's Cooperative Alliance after World War I, was employed by the Creamette Company of Minneapolis in 1923 as supervisor of promotional advertising and merchandising, was hired by the Washburn-Crosby Company in 1924 as a home economics representative, was the voice of "Betty Crocker" for the "Betty Crocker Cooking School of the Air," became the General Mills advertising and public relations consultant in 1948, was a consultant to the U.S. Department of Agriculture on food conservation in 1948, was president of the Minnesota Home Economics Association in 1949, was chair of the public relations council of the American Home Economics Association, was a member of the Nutrition Council of the American Red Cross, was a member of the Home Economics Committee of the Cereal Institute, was a member of the Women's Advertising Club of Minneapolis, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society, was a Unitarian, was a member of the YWCA, and formed her own consulting firm, Marjorie Child Husted & Associates in 1950. Sampson Reed Child ( -1928) died in Hennepin County. Emily Child (1888-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Webber, and died in Hennepin County. Sherman W. Child (1887-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Webber, and died in Hennepin County. [See note for Cadwallader Colden Washburn, the Washburn Crosby Company, and General Mills for 2201 First Avenue South.]

915 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1987. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3219 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1988 by Construction Mortgage to Richard Giffin for $249,000, in 1993 by Richard L. Giffin to Andrea Waitt for $385,000, in 2000 by Chelsea Real Estate to E. Sullivan and R. K. Holland for $675,000, and in 2004 by Randy K. Holland to Sheldon Rockler for $1,325,000. The current owner of record is Sheldon G. Rockler, who resides at 5225 Grandview Square. Sheldon Rockler was a contibutor to the Martin O. Sabo for Congress campaign committee in 1979. Sheldon Garnet Rockler married Sarah Feigele Krieger, the daughter of Mendel Krieger and Henny Hornstein, and the couple had three children, Elizabeth Ann Rockler, Sheeri Krieger-Rockler, and Michelle Alisa Rockler. Sheldon Rockler and Wallace Hennessy operate the L. A. Rockler Fur Company, a wholesaler, in Minneapolis. In 2001, the Minneapolis City Council granted Sheldon Rockler and Sarah Rockler the right to connect the Rockler Building to the skyway bridge with the Young Quinlan Building at their expense.

919 Kenwood Parkway: The property was a vacant lot. The property was last sold in 1988 by Norman Stone and Edith Stone to W. E. Morrow and A. E. Morrow for $47,500, in 1993 by W. E. Morrow and A. E. Morrow and Tony N. Hanson for $47,500, in 1995 by Tony N. Hanson to John W. Ludwig for $62,500, in 1995 by John A. Ludwig to Norman Waitt and Andrea Waitt for $62,500, and in 2000 by Chelsea Real Estate to the Home Trust Rev Trust for $97,000. The current owner of record is Mark D. Perrin, who resides at 1712 Mount Curve. Oscar R. Larson, a clerk, resided at the nearby former 1000 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. Carl F. Larson, a car repairer, resided at 1000 Kenwood Parkway and Fred Larson, a car repairer for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, boarded at the nearby former 1000 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. Charles L. Long, in the wholesale lumber business, resided at the former nearby 1000 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. George F. Long, involved in the real estate business, and James H. Long both resided at the former nearby 1000 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#23564) indicate that Carl J. Larson (1887- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in the Utilities Detachment of the Quartermaster Corps, who was born in Vermland, Sweden, moved to Minnesota in 1896, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a clerk employed by Wyman Partridge & Company, a wholesale dry goods house, after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 1000 Kenwood Parkway. Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad was an American Class I railroad that built and operated rail lines radiating from Minneapolis south to Mason City, Iowa, and Peoria, Illinois, and west to LeBeau, Walworth County, South Dakota, from 1870 to 1960. The Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad was created in 1870 by Minnesota investors John S. Pillsbury, Henry Titus Welles, William D. Washburn, and Cadwallader C. Washburn who were interested in establishing a railroad connection between Minneapolis and the agricultural regions to the south. During the 1880's, the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad went in to its first receivership, which was terminated in the mid-1890's, and the railroad purchased the western district of the Wisconsin, Minnesota & Pacific RailRoad in 1899. The Iowa Central Railway began in Iowa in 1866 and merged with Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad in 1901. In 1923, the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad again went into receivership, which terminated in 1943. In 1955, the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad purchased the Minnesota Western Railroad, the successor line to the Luce Line RailRoad in central Minnesota. In 1960, the Chicago & North Western RailRoad purchased the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad. [See note on the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad.] [See note for the Chicago & NorthWestern RailRoad.] [See note on the Minnesota Western RailRoad.]

1001-1003 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a double bungalow. The property was last sold in 1992 by Johnie Bounds and Ruth Bounds to Roy A. Caples for $82,227. The current owner of record is Brent W. Rebischke. Brent Rebischke graduated from the University of Minnesota Duluth in 2002 with a degree in Management Information Systems and is employed by the Local Government Information Systems as a Network Administrator responsible for workstation, server and network support. The Local Government Information Systems is a consortium of Minnesota local government units to provide computer support services. Albert C. Albrecht, a laborer, Peter Amundrud, a car repairer, Charles Engstrom, a laborer, and Oscar A. Sable, a car repairer, resided at and Linus Carlson, a car repairer, boarded at the nearby former 1006 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory.

1007 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1928. The structure is a two story, 2100 square foot, ten room, three bedroom, two bathroom, duplex, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1985 by T. Loyas and D. Harrington to Catherine A. Asimakopoulos for $100,000 and in 1996 by C. Asimakopoulos to Lorrie M. Buirge for $161,500. The current owner of record is Lorrie M. Buirge. Lorrie Buirge was a financial supporter of the Minnesota International Center in 2005. Lorrie Buirge (1953- ) reportedly has traveled to 77 places and is deemed to be the 695th ranked traveler on earth by MostTraveledPeople.com. Lorrie Buirge is the president of the Minnesota Women's Golf Association, which is also located at this address.

1013-1015 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1961. The structure is a 1683 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, three bathroom, split-level split entry duplex, with a three car garage. The property was last sold in 1998 by Edwin Knudsen and Barbara Knudsen to Stephen V. Tannen for $225,000 and in 2002 by Stephen V. Tannen to Alexander C. Hansen for $428,500. The current owner of record is Alexander Clinton Hansen. Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Tannen were 2005 financial supporters of Hammer Residences, a social services agency in Wayzata, Minnesota, providing adults and children with developmental disabilities with the opportunity to experience life. Alexander C. Hansen was a financial supporter of the Courage Center in 2001. The 1909 city directory indicates that Gustav Starn, a car repairer for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, August Stern, a car repairer, Albert C. Albrecht, a laborer, and Charles W. Carlson, a car repairer for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, all resided at the nearby former 1100 Kenwood Parkway. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Carlson resided at the nearby former 1018 Kenwood Parkway in 1917. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11672) indicate that Oscar W. Carlson (1897- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Corporal in Battery "A" of the 151st Field Artillery, who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Baccaret Sector, Champagne, Vesle River, St. Mihiel, St. Bercort, and Meuse-Sedan, was a clerk employed by Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad Cedar Lake Shops after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, C. W. Carlson, at the nearby former 1018 Kenwood Parkway. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14227) indicate that Carl E. Starn (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company A, IV Corps, Art. Park, who was born in Minneapolis, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a truck driver at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Meuse-Moselle, was a shipping clerk employed by the Acme Tag Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 1022 Kenwood Parkway. Gerald Paul Sullivan, a Seaman Second Class in the U. S. Naval Reserve, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester Paul Sullivan, was a World War II casualty and resided at this address in the early 1940's. [See note on the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad.] [See note on the Battle of Saint-Mihiel for 614 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Meuse-Argonne Offensive/Argonne Front for 366 St. Clair Avenue.]

1108 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 3 1/2 story, 5964 square foot, seven unit (four one bedroom units, two two bedroom units, and one three bedroom unit) multifamily apartment house. The property was last sold in 1987 by First Federal Savings & Loan to David Pote et al for $155,000 and in 2006 by Kentonka LLC to Hunt Properties LLC for $700,000. The current owner of record is Hunt Properties LLC of St. Paul. David Pote owns a financial company and is married to Linda Tapsak, the Head of Upper School at Breck.

1110 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

1114 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1980. The structure is a two story, 2255 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a three car garage. The current owner of record is Karen S. Boros. Karen S. Boros received a bachelor's degree from the University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana) in 2000, is a Distinguished Service Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of St. Thomas, and was a financial supporter of the Raptor Center in 2004.

1116 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

1118-1120 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 2000. The structure is a two story, 3081 square foot, 11 room, two bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a four car garage. The property was last sold in 2000 by Rooney/Rubin/Silverman to Larry M. Barenbauum for $179,000 and in 2005 by Larry C. Barenbaum to Stephen F. Rowland for $1,625,000. The current owner of record is Stephen F. Rowland. Larry Barenbaum was a member of the Board of Directors of Lakes Entertainment, Inc., a casino management and entertainment company, and was Chairman of the Board of Directors of Christopher & Banks Corporation, a national specialty retailer of women's apparel, in 2006. Until 2006, Stephen F. Rowland, Jr., (1960- ) was an executive officer of Life Time Fitness, Inc., a national operator of large health and fitness centers, and was president of the company's wholly owned construction subsidiary, FCA Construction Holdings, LLC, and currently is a consultant to Life Time Fitness. Prior to joining Life Time Fitness in 1998, Rowland served 17 years as President and CEO of Diversified Construction of Minneapolis, Inc., a commercial and residential construction company.

1121-1123 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1927. The structure is a one story, 2510 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1993 by Stephen King Lander to the Lander Group, Inc. for $170,000. The current owner of record is Hugh N. Duthie and the current taxpayer of record is Jon A. Dobson. Stephen Lander is an Episcopal priest and is an Associate Professor at St. Mary's University of Minnesota in the Marriage and Family Therapy program. The Lander Group, Inc was founded in 1984 and is an urban development company. Jon A. Dobson (1970- ) is Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary of BMC Industries, Inc., a multinational manufacturer and distributor of high-volume precision products. Hugh N. Duthie was the Secretary-Treasurer of the Class of 1986 of Victoria College at the University of Toronto.

1122-1124 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a set of condominiums. The current owners of record of Condominium #3 are Barry R. Rubin and Amy J. Silvermann and the current taxpayers of record are B. R. Rubin and A. J. Silvermann. Condominium #4 was last sold in 1996 by D. W. Gardner and J. M. Gardner to M. A. James and M. R. James for $699,000, in 2001 by Michael James and Mary James to Carlos Guanche and Anna Guanche for $910,000, in 2003 by Carlos A. Guanche to Karen S. Burgum for $1,217,500, and by Karen S. Burgum to Gary H. Zupfer, Jr., for $1,075,000, its current owner of record is Gary H. Zupfer, Jr., and its current taxpayers of record are Gary H. Zupfer and Elena H. Zupfer.

1126-1128 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a condominium building. The current owner of record is Eve M. Deikel and the current taxpayers of record are Jeffrey Wendel and Eve Deikel. Eve Deikel is a director of the Fingerhut Family Foundation. Jeff Wendel is an executive at Citigroup. In 2006, Jeff Wendel (1946- ) and Eve Deikel Wendel (1964- ) spent $1 million on their Hawaiian wedding, but balked at paying Susan Gray of Wayzata, Minnesota, their wedding planner, $21,015 for her services, which included two trips to Hawaii, demanding, among other things, a credit of three cents per mile for the frequent-flier miles that Ms. Gray received for the two flights the couple paid for her to take, prompting Ms. Gray to sue. Ms. Gray had previously been the planner for the bat mitzvah for Deikel Wendel's daughter. Deikel Wendel called the Minneapolis police in January, 2007, to report that a ring, valued at $325,000, was stolen from this address.

1127 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1953. The structure is a one story, 2644 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, split level house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1986 by F. Cordner to M. B. Kunin for $172,000 and in 1994 by Linda K. Schwalen to J. Mccarthy and J. Evans for $167,000. The current owner of record is John E. Evans and the current taxpayer of record is J. C. McCarthy and J. E. Evans.

1133 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1962. The structure is a two story, 1472 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1992 by S. J. Boros and K. S. Boros to T. Outzen and J. Blechinger for $162,000. The current owner of record is James H. Blechinger and the current taxpayers of record are T. L. Outzen and J. H. Blechinger.

1200 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1962. The structure is a one story, 2492 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is C. Robert Morris and the current taxpayers of record are C. Robert Morris and Sandra M. Morris.

1204-1206 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1949. The structure is a one story, 1768 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, double bungalow, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1999 by Barbara E. Fitzmaurice to C. F. M. C. Abboud and R. L. L. L. Abboud for $328,000. The current owner of record is Lana L. Abboud and the current taxpayer of record is Charles F. Abboud, who resides in Rochester, Minnesota.

1208-1210 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a double bungalow. The property was last sold in 1994 by Margo Helgerson to M. O. Fitzmaurice for $150,000 and in 2000 by Barbara E. Fitzmaurice to M. Jones and D. Schierbeck for $325,000. The current owner of record is M. Jones. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Herbert H. Stevens resided at the former nearby 1216 Kenwood Parkway in 1907. Herbert H. Stevens (1876- ,) the son of Daniel F. Stevens and Elizabeth A. Hoyt Stevens, was born in Red Wing, Minnesota, was educated in Red Wing, Minnesota, attended Hamline University special course from 1896 until 1899, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1902, was a lawyer, was associated with his brother, F. H. Stevens, in the law firm of Stevens & Stevens, represented and managed the Furniture Commercial Agency Company, Lumbermen's Credit Association, The National Company and several other agencies, was one of the organizers and incorporators of the Eighth Ward McKinley Republican Association of Minneapolis, and officed at the Temple Court in 1907.

1300 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the City Of Minneapolis Park And Recreation Board. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. K. Shaw resided at the former nearby 1317 Kenwood Parkway. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. K. Shaw and G. K. Shaw, Jr., all resided at the former nearby 1317 Kenwood Parkway, that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Smith resided at the former nearby 1373 Kenwood Parkway, and that Mr. and Mrs. L. L. Stanchfield and F. A. Newman all resided at the former nearby 1375 Kenwood Parkway. Oscar Erickson, a car repairer for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, boarded at the nearby former 1414 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. Peter C. Lundstrom, a blacksmith, resided at 1446 Kenwood Parkway and Edwin L. Lundstrom, a machinist, and Emil V. Lundstrom, a laborer, both boarded at the nearby former 1446 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. Peter Hanson, a foreman, Charles R. Kellerman, Peter Stanson, foreman for the Electric Steel Elevator Company, and Charles Smith, a painter, all resided at the nearby former 1448 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory.

1500-1520-1540-1550-1600-1620-1630-1640-1650 Kenwood Parkway: Kenwood Crest. The property was last sold in 1998 by the Department Of Transportation to Matthew Fitzmaurice for $320,654 and in 2000 by Matthew Fitzmaurice to Schierbeck and Jones for $475,000. The current owners of record are M. T. Jones and D. A. Schierbeck. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Smith resided at the former nearby 1509 Kenwood Parkway. The 1893 city directory also indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. G. Hay resided at the former nearby 1605 Kenwood Parkway.

1654 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owners of record are M. T. Jones and D. A. Schierbeck and the taxpayer of record is Deborah Schierbeck, who resides in Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

1700 Kenwood Parkway: The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Ethel May Petran, an 1898 Minneapolis Central High School graduate and a 1902 graduate, resided at this address. Ethel May Petran (1880-1908,) the daughter of Luella M. Bisbee Petran (1856-1931) and William A. Petran (1852-1920,) was born in Minnesota, and died in Hennepin County. William A. Petran served as a teamster with George Armstrong Custer and the Seventh Cavalry on the 1874 Black Hills Expedition and kept an unpublished journal of his service. William A. Petran was born in New York, married Luella M. Bisbee in Minneapolis in 1879, was in charge of the Christian Workers' Mission of Minneapolis in 1900, and died in Hennepin County. Luella M. Bisbee Petran, the daughter of Lewis C. Bisbee, a carpenter and a Maine Regiment American Civil War veteran, and Martha Staples Bisbee, was born in Canton, Oxford County, Maine. William A. Petran and Luella M. Bisbee Petran were the parents of Miriam V. Petran (1878- ,) Ethel M. Petran (1880-1908,) Richard B. Petran (1882- ,) Florence M. Petran, (1886- ,) and Gladys R. Petran (1901- .) The property was last sold in 2000 by P. Corrigan and M. Ingalls to James S. Beloff for $330,000 and in 2006 by James S. Beloff to Lawrence W. Olson for $2,000,000. The current owner of record is Lawrence W. Olson and the taxpayers of record are Lawrence W. Olson and Marie B. Olson.

1704 Kenwood Parkway: The property was last sold in 2001 by James S. Beloff to Gary A. King for $1,040,000 and in 2002 by Gary A. King to Daniel Aldridge for $1,081,000. The current owner of record is Daniel Aldridge and the current taxpayer of record is P. Eric Siegert. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mrs. W. S. Pearson and Miss Bertha I. Sinchfield both resided at the former nearby 1706 Kenwood Parkway. The 1893 and 1895 city directories indicate that Mrs. W. S. Pearson and Miss B. I. Sinchfield both resided at the former nearby 1706 Kenwood Parkway.

1708 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1998. The structure is a two story, 2574 square foot, 11 room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is William G. Hillsman. William G. Hillsman was a financial supporter of the Walker Art Center in 2001 and the Tubman Family Alliance in 2001 and 2002. William G. Hillsman is the President of North Woods Advertising and is a member of the American Association of Political Consultants. William Hillsman was a fellow at the Kennedy School's Institute of Politics in 2002, is an the irreverent admaker, and is known for having crafted innovative campaign ads for Minnesota Senator Paul Wellstone, Governor Jesse Ventura, and Green Party presidential candidate Ralph Nader. William Gerard Hillsman, Jr. (1953- ) was born in Chicago, Illinois, is single, with no children, is CEO and Chief Creative Officer of North Woods Advertising, an integrated marketing communications company based in Minneapolis, Minnesota, previously was Executive Vice President/Executive Creative Director and Director of Integrated Marketing Communications for Periscope, a Minneapolis marketing communications agency, and was partner and Executive Vice President/Executive Creative Director of Kauffman Stewart, a Minneapolis advertising agency. The 1893 and 1895 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Hoppock resided at the former nearby 1720 Kenwood Parkway.

1724 Kenwood Parkway: The 100-foot tall octagonal brick and stone Kenwood Water Tower, designed by Minneapolis engineer Frederick William Cappelen, the Minneapolis city engineer, was built in 1910 by the Chicago Bridge & Iron Works, is characterized by projecting ribs, narrow rectangular fenestration, and a Romanesque-arched battlement reminiscent of a medieval fortress. The tower encircling a steel water tank was built to alleviate water pressure and storage problems in the Lowry Hill area. The tower has not been used to store water since 1954. In the late 1970's, a proposal to convert the tower into condominiums was defeated by concerned neighborhood groups who believed construction would interfere with its historic integrity. Local historic designation occurred in 1980. It is currently the home to telecommunications antennae and civil defense equipment. The current owner of record is the City Of Minneapolis Department of Public Works.

1725 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is Doris Schumacher.

1726 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1905. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2304 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1987 by M. Appleman and M. Appleman to J. L. Nankivil for $140,000. The current owner of record is Lisa Lynn Nankivil. Lisa Nankivil received a BFA in 1995 from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design, is an artist, was an MFA Mentor at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design MFA Program, is the Board Chair for the Traffic Zone Center for Visual Art, was a recipient of a Jerome Foundation fellowship in 2004, is represented by Thomas McCormick Gallery, and was an Art Director for the Target Corporation.

1728-1730 Kenwood Parkway: One condominium at this address was last sold in 1988 by R. Hilton and J. Hilton to T. M. Randgaard for $144,900 and the current owner of record is Thomas M. Randgaard. The other condominium at this address was last sold in 1988 by Monroe Bell to Meredith Chilicki for $128,000, in 1991 by Wayne C. Chilicki to Daniel E. Kaner for $132,500, and in 1993 by S. Kashuk and D. Kaner to Verlin B. Kompelien for $187,650 and the current owner of record is Verlin B. Kompelien.

1761 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the City Of Minneapolis Department of Public Works.

1800 Kenwood Parkway: The property is a vacant lot. The current owner of record is the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority.

1805-1807 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1959. The structure is a one story, 2310 square foot, 16 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, split level duplex, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1997 by Phebe S. Haugen to Anne E. Pusey for $246,000. The current owner of record is Anne E. Pusey. Dr. Anne E. Pusey received a PhD. from Stanford University in 1977, is a Distinguished McKnight Professor and a behavior ecologist at the University of Minnesota in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, and is director of the Center for Primate Studies at the Jane Goodall Institute for Wildlife Research, Education and Conservation. Dr. Pusey has authored "Sex differences in learning in chimpanzees" in Nature in 2004 with E. V. Lonsdorf and L. E. Eberly, "New cases of intergroup violence among the chimpanzees in Gombe National Park, Tanzania" in the International Journal of Primatology in 2004 with M. Wilson and W. R. Wallauer, "Inbreeding avoidance in primates" in Wolf, A. P., and Durham, W. H. (eds.) Incest, Inbreeding and the Incest Taboo, published by Stanford University Press, Stanford, California, "Why do male chimpanzees defend a group range?" in Animal Behaviour in 2004 with J. M. Williams, G. W. Oehlert, and J. V. Carlis, "The influence of ecological and social factors on body mass of wild chimpanzees" in the International Journal of Primatology in 2005 with G. W. Oehlert, J. M. Williams, and J. Goodall, and "Ecological and social influences on the hunting behaviour of wild chimpanzees (Pan troglodytes schweinfurthii)" in Animal Behaviour in 2006 with I. C. Gilby, L. E. Eberly, and L. Pintea.

1811 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1958. The structure is a one story, 1120 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Rafaela Salido. Rafaela Salido was a teacher of Spanish at St. Paul Academy in 2006. Rafaela Salido was a financial supporter of Casa de Esperanza in St. Paul in 2002.

1813 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a split level double bungalow. The current owner of record is Roger Lyle Elton. The 1891, 1893 and 1895 city directories and the 1901 Minneapolis Journal indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Brackett resided at the former nearby 1816 Kenwood Parkway. The C. S. Brackett Company was established in 1875 and was a dealer in imported groceries, was located at 28 South Fifth Street, and was a wholesaler of wines in 1904 and 1913.

1818 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2385 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1991 by Martin and Jean Burke to Nicholas Johnson and Lori Johnson for $282,500. The current owner of record is Nicholas A. Johnson and the current taxpayers of record are Nicholas A. Johnson and Lori J. Johnson. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2005, approved a request by Nicholas Johnson and Lori Johnson for a variance to reduce the required side yard setback from six feet to three feet to allow for the construction of a first story addition to an existing single family dwelling on the property if the exterior building materials used for the addition are compatible to the exterior building materials of the house. Lori J. Johnson is affiliated with the Kenwood Isles Area Association.

1819 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1920. The structure is a 2.5 story, 3507 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a two car garage. A previous owner of record was Herbert F. Schumacher, who sold it for $475,000 to the Mooman Group LLC in 2008. The Mooman Group LLC tore it down to the foundation, rebuilt it, and sold the property for $1,000,000 to Constantinos Voulgaropoulos and Idanna Apostolidous in 2010. The current owners are Constantinos Voulgaropoulos and Idanna Apostolidous.

1823 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1912. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1960 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, one bathroom, house, with a one car garage. The current owners of record are Chris R. Fisher and Patricia M. Hoolihan. Patricia Hoolihan is an author and her books include Stress and Recovery, published by Hazelden Publishing & Educational Services in 1984, Keep It Simple, published by Hazelden Publishing & Educational Services in 1985, Small Miracles: Daily Meditations for Mothers in Recovery, published by Bantam in 1992, Kiss: Step 4, published by Hazelden Publishing & Educational Services in 1998, Teen Girls Only: Daily Thoughts for Teenage Girls, published by Holy Cow! Press in 2000, and Moment's Peace for Parents of Teens: 365 Rejuvenating Reflections, published by Search Institute in 2007. Patricia Hoolihan teaches a variety of writing classes at The Loft and Metropolitan State University.

1827 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2930 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 1990 by Thomas Hoffman and Karen Hoffman to Paige Nankivil for $175,000, in 1996 by Elizabeth Nankivil to Stephen Field for $245,000, and in 2007 by Stephen J. Field to Christopher R. Olson for $730,000. The current owners of record are Christopher R. Olson and Ekaterina V. Olson. Paige Nankivil previously was associated with CaptionMax Inc.

1828 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1915. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3687 square foot, 17 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The property was last sold in 2007 by Eugenia Checheris to CMCB LLC for $475,000. The current owner of record CMCB LLC of Plymouth, Minnesota.

1832 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1891. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3175 square foot, ten room, three bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The 1909 city directory indicates that Arthur W. Hoppock, traffic manager with L. S. Donaldson Company, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2001 by Thomas H. Hostetter to Wayne H. Adriaens and Mary K. Adriaens for $485,000. The current owners of record are Wayne H. Adriaens and Mary K. Adriaens. Wayne Adriaens is associated with Nordic Ware. Mary Adriaens (1952- ) participated in the 2007 Minnesota State Fair Milk Run. Mary Adriaens was the campaign treasurer for the Sam Adriaens for Senate District 60 campaign in 2006. Sam Adriaens (R) received 17.2% of the vote against 82.6% for Scott Dibble (DFL) in 2006.

1835 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2984 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a two car garage. The current owner of record is Bernice L. Lindskog, who resides in St. Louis Park, Minnesota.

1839 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3376 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, five bathroom, house, with a detached garage. Edwin G. Staude, the president of E. G. Staude Manufacturing Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. Edwin G. Staude (1876- ) was born in Waterford, Wisconsin, moved with his family to North Dakota, was engaged in homestead farming, was home schooled and attended school in Larrimore, Dakota Territory, schools periodically, registered his first patent, for a farm mowing device, in 1895, graduated from the University of North Dakota in 1896, moved to St. Paul in 1896, was initially a self-employed draftsman and mechanical engineer, then was employed in a patent attorney's office, founded the E. G. Staude Manufacturing Company in 1905, produced the Staude Mak-a-Tractor Ford Model T conversion kit, sold the manufacturing business to the Sperry Corporation of New York in 1946, after which it merged with the Excello Corporation of Detroit, Michigan. Edwin Gustave Staude was an inventor with more than 150 United States patents and patents in Canada, Great Britain, Continental Europe and Australia, primarily related to paper box folding machines and to tractor devices. The E. G. Staude Manufacturing Company produced 4,000 Staude Golf Course tractors, based on a Ford Model T chassis and running gear, between 1922 and 1927. The Staude Golf Course tractor used a shortened chassis, had flat faced steel front wheels rather than rubber tires, had a heavy duty radiator, lacked a starter or a generator, had an implement type seat mounted on a spring steel support, had a wooden tool box under the seat, had a gas tank mounted above the steering wheel, had a roller type gear fitted to the rear axle to run on a large gear bolted-in spiked tractor type steel wheels, had a 1.5 ton capacity axle, had a one yard gravity and ballast dump box at the back, and had an adjustable hitch to pull gang mowers. The property was last sold in 1992 by Dobson West and Jane H. West to T. T. Mcvay and C. B. Mcvay for $309,000. The current owner of record is Todd Mcvay and the current taxpayers of record are Todd Mcvay and Christine Mcvay. Todd McVay is president and CEO of Minnwest, a 20-year-old, family-owned firm with 21 banks in South Dakota and Minnesota headquartered in Minnetonka, Minnesota. M. D. "Pete" McVay, a former president of Cargill Inc., started Minnwest, formerly Minnesota Valley Bancshares, in 1986, when he bought seven "cast-off" banks in southern Minnesota from Norwest Corp. Pete McVay was on Norwest's board from 1976 to 1984, which became Wells Fargo & Company. Pete McVay, his wife and several of his children own and operate Minnwest, the seventh-largest bank in the Twin Cities. T. Todd McVay, Pete McVay's son, is a member of the board of Habitat For Humanity Of Minnesota Inc. Todd McVay and Christine McVay were financial supporters of the Minnesota Literacy Council in 2003 and 2005. Todd McVay was the liaison for the Finance Committee and the Forum of the First Unitarian Society of Minneapolis in 2002 and 2003. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. Benner resided at the former nearby 1864 Kenwood Boulevard. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Franklin Benner resided at the former nearby 1864 Kenwood Parkway. [For note on Franklin Benner, see 1960 Kenwood Parkway.] [See note for Edwin Gustave Staude for 2232 West Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

1900 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2596 square foot, 14 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Edwin S. Slater resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that Edwin S. Slater, a lawyer who officed at the Met Life Building, resided at this address and that Marian Slater, a student, and Caroline A. Slater, the widow of William Slater, both boarded at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that M. Olive Bell, a student, boarded at this address. The 1921 Official National Guard Register indicates that James W. Peeke, a Minnesota National Guard First Lieutenant in the 66th Infantry Brigade of the 34th Division, resided at this address. Edwin S. Slater (1856- ,) the son of William Slater and Caroline Pope Slater, was born in Rochester, New York, attended Wisconsin public schools, resided in Aurelia, Iowa, in 1882, graduated from Oberlin College in Ohio in 1883, was a lawyer, has practiced law in Minneapolis after 1885, was a partner of Alexander McCune from 1885 until 1887, married Sarah Lavina Greer, the daughter of James Greer and Olive Sara Jerome Greer and a member of the Oberlin College Class of 1884, in 1888, was the chair of the special committee of the Minnesota Bar Association to investigate and report on the desirability of establishing a legislative drafting and reference bureau in 1917, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of the Plymouth Church, was the president of the Northwestern Association of Oberlin College in 1907, and officed at the Guaranty Building in 1907. Mrs. Edwin S. Slater, with Martha (Mrs. Cyrus W.) Wells, Mrs. C. A. Bucknam, and Mrs. J.C. Buchanan, was a charter member of the Tourist Club of Minneapolis, formed in 1891. The property was last sold in 1986 by L. A. Folkens to S. B. Liss and C. L. Chomsky for $149,000. The current owner of record is Carol L. Chomsky and the current taxpayers of record are Steven Liss and Carol Chomsky. Carol L. Chomsky has a bachelors degree from Brown University and a J.D. degree, summa cum laude, from Georgetown University and has been a professor at the Law School at the University of Minnesota since 1985. Steve Liss is Director of Government Affairs for the Minneapolis Public School District. Steven Liss and Carol Chomsky have two children, a daughter at South High in Minneapolis and a son at the University of Washington.

1903 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1898. The structure is a 2.2 story, 4188 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house. The Book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Walter D. Boutell resided at this address in 1907. Walter D. Boutell, of Boutell Brothers and vice president of the Minneapolis, St. Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. Walter D. Boutell, associated with Boutell Brothers and the vice president of the Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. Walter D. Boutell (1864- ,) the son of P. D. Boutell and M. C. Wellington Boutell, was born at Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, came to Minneapolis in 1871, was educated in the public schools of Minneapolis, was a furniture merchant, began in the furniture business in 1876, was a member of the firm of Boutell Brothers, founded by his father in 1871, was a Republican, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Independent Order of Foresters, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Commercial Club, and officed at the corner of First Avenue and South Fifth Street. Boutell Brothers dealt in furniture, carpets, stoves and other items. The Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company was the "Dan Patch" Railroad that was owned by M. W. Savage. The current owner of record is Robert L. Goodale, Jr. Robert L. Goodale, Jr., M.D., Ph.D., is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Surgery at the Medical School at the University of Minnesota. Robert L. Goodale, Jr., received a medical degree in 1956 from Columbia University in New York, New York, did his medical residency from 1956 to 1959 at Boston City Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts, served from 1959 to 1961 in the U.S. Army, was a Surgical Resident from 1961 to 1966 at the Department of Surgery at the University of Minnesota, was Chief Surgical Resident from 1966 to 1967 at the Department of Surgery at the University of Minnesota, and received a doctorate in 1967 from the Department of Surgery at the University of Minnesota and a doctorate in 1968 from the Department of Physiology at the University of Minnesota. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. M. D. Wilson resided at the former nearby 1904 Kenwood Parkway. [See note on the Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company.] [See note for Marion W. Savage and Marietta Savage for 2600 Portland Avenue South.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.]

1906 Kenwood Parkway: Marshall Harvey Coolidge House; Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3674 square foot, 12 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house. In 1901, Mrs. M. H. Coolidge resided at this address. In 1907, Marshall H. Coolidge resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Marshall Harvey Coolidge resided at this address in 1907. Marshall Harvey Coolidge (1860- ,) the son of John Harvey Coolidge and Elizabeth Coleman Coolidge, was born in Dotyville, Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin, attended the Dotyville, Wisconsin, public schools from 1865 until 1870, attended the Plymouth, Wisconsin, public schools from 1870 until 1873, attended the Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, public schools from 1873 until 1876, attended a private German school in Calvary, Wisconsin, from 1876 until 1877, clerked in a store in St. Cloud, Wisconsin, from 1877 until 1878, clerked in a grain elevator in St. Cloud, Wisconsin, in 1879, was employed as a clerk at Coolidge, Wisconsin, from 1880 until 1884, married Jennie Adelaide Holmes (1866- ,) the daughter of Byron M. Holmes, a Milwaukee, Wisconsin, lumberman, and Susan Maria Knowles Holmes (1841- ,) in 1883, was employed as a manager of the Coolidge Company, Limited, moved to Minnesota in 1886, was a vice president and a member of a board of directors of the Coolidge Fuel Supply Company, from 1887 until 1891, was president and a member of a board of directors of the Coolidge Fuel Supply Company, from 1891 until 1900, was the president of the Downing, Wisconsin, Manufacturing Company after 1891, formed the Coolidge-Bruce-Hall Company in 1899, was self-employed from 1901 until 1902, was the president of the Marshall H. Cooldige Company after 1902, was the president of the Coolidge-Shussler Company after 1902, was an incorporator of the Bank of Downing, Wisconsin, in 1903, was a vice president and a member of a board of directors of the H. B. Waite Company Limited after 1904, was a member of a board of directors of the Peoples Bank of Minneapolis after 1904, was a railroad contractor, officed at the Metropolitan Building, was a Republican, was a Mason, was a member of the Minneapolis Consistory of Scottish Rite Masons, was a member of the Zurah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, was an Episcopalian, was a vice president of the North West Cedar Men's Association in 1905, was the president of the North West Cedar Men's Association in 1906, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Lafayette Club, was a member of the Long Meadow Gun Club, and was a member of the Island Hunting & Fishing Club. Marshall H. Coolidge and Jennie A. Holmes Coolidge were the parents of three children, Harry Harvey Coolidge(1886- ,) Byron Harvey Cooldige (1888- ,) and Marshall Harvey Coolidge, Jr (1904- .) Jennie Adelaide Holmes (Mrs. Marshall H.) Coolidge was a descendant of John Alden of the Mayflower, was the president of the Kenwood Parents and Teachers Association, was a member of the Clio Club, was a member of the Minnesota State Federation of Women's Clubs, was opposed to women's suffrage in 1914, and was a Minnesota regent of the Daughters of the American Revolution in 1922. The property was last sold in 1994 by J. Dague and R. Wallnet to J. Floberg and M. Hickner for $400,000. The current owner of record is John W. Floberg and the current taxpayers of record are John Floberg and Martha Hickner. Dr. John W. Floberg, M.D., is a neurologist. Martha Hickner, M. D., is a family practice physician and is the mother of five children. [See note for the Lafayette Club for 5 Crocus Place.]

1908 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3300 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, five bathroom, house. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Potter and John Potter all resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. P. Hobart, F. O. Newman and Mrs. B. Holland all resided at this address. Thomas M. Roberts, the advertising manager for the T. M. Roberts Cooperative Supply Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The property was sold in 1986 by A. W. Erickson to N. B. Linzer and J. A. Linzer for $182,000, in 1991 by Nancy and Jeffrey Linzer to Gale R. Mellum for $295,000, in 1992 by G. R. Mellum and J. S. Mellum to Theresa Bailey for $487,500, and in 2004 by Theresa Bailey to Stephen P. Wise for $1,066,500. The current owner of record is Stephen P. Wise and the current taxpayers of record are Stephen P. Wise and Jennifer Wise. Steve Wise is chief financial officer and principal at Cass Screw Machine Products in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota.

1911 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3452 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Benjamin R. Coppage, the president and treasurer of the Coppage Furniture Company, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Marguerite Coppage, a student, resided at this address. The officers of the Coppage Furniture Company in 1909 were Benjamin R. Coppage, president and treasurer, M. V. Coppage, vice president, and Earl R. Coppage, secretary. The property was last sold in 1996 by the Ann P. Buran Trust to Robert Amis and Gretchen Amis for $435,000. The current owner of record is Robert W. Amis, Jr. The Mr. and Mrs. Robert W. Amis Fund was a financial supporter of the Sister Kenny Foundation in 2003, the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in 2004 and 2005, the Courage Center in 2001 and 2005, and the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation in 2006. Robert Amis and Gretchen Lyman Amis were financial supporters of the Youth Farm & Market Project in 2006. Bob Amis graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1976, then operated a small truck farm in Scott County, then ran an equipment leasing firm which he sold successfully in 2000, and is now a middle grades science teacher at the City of Lakes Waldorf School in Minneapolis. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Belknap resided at the former nearby 1912 Kenwood Parkway.

1916 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4278 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, five bathroom, house. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Harris resided at this address. In 1907, Herbert S. Gilkey resided at this address. Herbert S. Gilkey, associated with Pendleton & Gilkey, a wholesale lumber business, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1909 city directory also indicates that Frederick Hill, a chauffeur, boarded at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Herbert S. Gilkey, associated with Pendleton & Gilkey, wholesale lumber dealers located at the Security Bank Building, resided at this address. Herbert S. Gilkey (1868- ,) the son of Harding W. Gilkey and Mary Overton Gilkey, was born in Oconto, Wisconsin, was educated in Wisconsin common schools, attended the Oshkosh, Wisconsin, Normal School, taught school in Spruce, Oconto County, Wisconsin, and Gillett, Oconto County, Wisconsin, from 1882 until 1885, was engaged in the cedar and lumber business, was a bookkeeper and salesman for the Weber-Runkel Company, a cedar lumber dealer, sold lumber for Adams, Hastings & Company, of Oconto, Wisconsin, was employed by A. L. Adams & Company in 1888, moved to Janesville, Wisconsin, in 1890, married Leonora Runkel (1867- ,) the daughter of John W. Runkel and Mary W. Heinrich Runkel, in 1890/1891 in Oconto County, Wisconsin, was a partner with Samuel Manson as Manson & Gilkey, a wholesale lumber and cedar company, in Madison, Wisconsin, became a part owner and vice president of the Madison Lumber Company, engaged in wholesaling lumber and cedar, then formed a partnership with a schoolmate, Frank Rye Pendleton (1864- ,) the son of Charles Tewksbury Pendleton and Almeda Lindsey Pendleton, as Pendleton & Gilkey in 1892 in Janesville, Wisconsin, organized the Snoqualmie Lumber Company with Frank R. Pendleton in 1901, organized the Sauk Lumber Company in 1902, moved to Minneapolis in 1903, invested in the Pendleton, Fifield & Company, was a lumberman, was an incorporator of the Mukilteo Lumber Company, was an investor in the Forks Logging Company, was an organizer of the Pendleton & Gilkey RailRoad, was an organizer of the Northwestern Cedarmen's Association, was a Third Ward Minneapolis city alderman, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Knights of Pythias, and officed at the Security Bank Building in 1907. Herbert S. Gilkey and Leonora Runkel Gilkey were the parents of Webber Gilkey (1891-1965,) Margaret Gilkey (1895- ,) and Helen Gilkey (1897- .) Frank Rye Pendleton was the husband of Ella Runkel, the daughter of Louis Runkel and Christina Runkel. Pendleton & Gilkey, with large land holdings in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Michigan, moved operations to Everett, Washington, in 1899, adding timber lands in Oregon, Washington, British Columbia and Mexico, and had offices in Minneapolis, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, and Everett, Washington. The property was last sold in 1985 by U. M. Kruse-Vaucienne to R. Levinson and L. Levinson for $217,000, in 1995 by L. Levinson and R. M. Levinson to R. S. Soskin and P. H. Soskin for $741,000, in 1999 by R. S. Soskin and P. H. Soskin to Arnold A. Weiss for $890,500, and in 2000 by Arnold A. Weiss to Blaine R. Miller for $940,000. The current owner of record is Blaine R. Miller. Blaine R. Miller, D.O., is an anesthesiologist. [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] [See note on Knights of Pythias for 2225 East Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

1917 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1958. The structure is a one story, 1640 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1990 by D. Eareckson and R. Eareckson to J. Edie and H. Edie for $170,000 and in 1994 by John Edie and Helen G. Edie to J. E. Sorenson and B. L. Sorensen for $250,000. The current owner of record is James E. Sorensen.

1924 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 4062 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, five bathroom, house. The Book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that P. D. Boutell resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that John E. Boutell, a floor walker at Boutell Brothers, and Paul D. Boutell, president of the Mitchell Safe Company, both resided at this address. P. D. Boutell (1837-1914) was born in Vermont, was educated in the common schools of Vermont, was employed in the leather business in Massachusetts, came to Minneapolis in 1871, was in the auction and commission business in 1882, founded a furniture house eventually operated by his sons, married Maria C. Wellington, was a successor to Coon & Boutell, was an importer and dealer in tin plate, wire, sheet iron and metals, grindstones, nails, cutlery and domestic hardware, was a colonel and an aide-de-camp in the Minnesota Militia in 1905, was a member of the Minneapolis Park Board from 1903 until 1915, was the president of the Asbury Methodist Hospital of Minneapolis in 1910, was a financial supporter of the Elliot Memorial Hospital in 1911, was the president and a member of the board of directors of the Indemnity Life and Accident Insurance Company of Minneapolis in 1912, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Whist Club, and was a member of the Vermont Association of Minnesota in 1901. P. D. Boutell and Maria C. Wellington Boutell were the parents of three children, Walter D. Boutell, William T. Boutell, and Flora B. Boutell (Mrs. Royal) Schute. Walter D. Boutell William T. Boutell The property was last sold in 1987 by F. and N. Griffith to M. E. Outcalt and B. C. Outcalt for $270,000 and in 1993 by M. Outcalft and B. Outcalft to H. R. Goldstein and S. Goldstein for $402,200. The current owner of record is Harold R. Goldstein and the current taxpayers of record are Hal Goldstein and Susan Goldstein. [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.]

1929 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3490 square foot, nine room,five bedroom, three bathroom, house. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is James P. Martineau. In 1990, James P. Martineau of Lindquist & Vennum was the incorporator of Nicollet Process Engineering, Inc. James P. Martineau was a financial supporter of Minnesota Advocates for Human Rights in 2005 and 2006 and of Theatre de la Jeune Lune in 2003. Mr. and Mrs. James P. Martineau were financial supporters of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts in 2004 and 2005. James P. Martineau is a retired lawyer formerly with Lindquist & Vennum LLP.

1932 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2952 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Norman W. Canedy. Norman W. Canedy received a doctorate from Columbia University in 1964 and is a Professor Emeritus in the department of Art History at the University of Minnesota. In 1970, Norman W. Canedy was an Associate Professor of Art History at the University of Minnesota. Norman W. Canedy was a financial supporter of the Renaissance Society of America in in 2001 and of the Department of Art History and Archaeology of Columbia University in 2002. Norman W. Canedy was the author of The Roman Sketchbook of Girolamo da Carpi in 1977.

1936 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 1932 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1985 by J. D. Miller to A. A. Giordano and F. R. Giordano for $170,000 and in 1987 by A. Giordano and F. Giordano to H. J. Galvin and M. M. Galvin for $215,000. The current owner of record is Harold J. Galvin and the current taxpayers of record are Harold J. Galvin and Mary M. Galvin. Harold J. Galvin earned his bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of New York at Buffalo in 1978 and an MBA from Harvard University in 1987, originally joined MTS Systems Corporation in Eden Prairie, Minnesota, in 1981 and held various marketing and management positions until 1991, then was a partner and the CEO at Cycle Software Services and Vendor Systems International, and rejoined MTS Systems Corporation in 1996. In 1998, Harold J. Galvin was promoted Vice President of Corporate Business Development of MTS Systems Corporation. Harold J. Galvin (1955- ) was a participant in the Mora Vasaloppet in 2005 and 2006.

1937 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3374 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1909 city directory indicates that John H. Ray resided at this address. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Robert T. Holt. Robert T. Holt is an Emeritus Professor in the Political Science Department and was the Dean of the Graduate School of the University of Minnesota from 1982 to 1991. Robert T. Holt is the author of Radio Free Europe, published in Minneapolis by the University of Minnesota Press in 1958. Robert T. Holt was an author, with John E. Turner, of The Political Basis of Economic Development published in Princeton, New Jersey, by Van Nostrand in 1966. Shirley J. Holt and Robert T. Holt were financial supporters of the College of Education and Human Development of the University of Minnesota in 2006. Robert T. Holt was a member of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research from 1978 to 1982.

1938 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2816 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1988 by Lester L. Metz to C. Cooper and R. Ihrig for $280,000. The current owner of record is Colleen J. Cooper and the current taxpayers of record are R. Ihrig and C. Cooper. Dr. Colleen J. Cooper, M.D., M. P. H., is an Internal Medicine Physician and is a medical advisor to the Minnesota Department of Health. Colleen J. Cooper is also a member of the Board of Governors of the Children's Theatre. Richard Ihrig graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1970 and from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1973 and is a lawyer with the law firm of Lindquist & Vennum PLLP.

1944 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2896 square foot, 13 room, four bedroom, two bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1998 by Dawn E. Schapiro to R. Zeitlin and J. Stever for $294,000. The current owners of record are R. T. Zeitlin and J. A. Stever and the current taxpayers of record are R. T. and J. A. Stever-Zeitlin. Richard Stever Zeitlin (1969- ) is the son of Gerald Zeitlin (1931- ) and Aideen Tolkin Zeitlin (1935- ) and is a marketing manager at General Mills. Jill Stever-Zeitlin was a principal with McKinsey and Company in 2007. Jill Stever-Zeitlin and Rich Zeitlin were financial supporters of Achieve Minneapolis in 2001. Jill Stever-Zeitlin, a Partner in MicKinsey & Company, Inc., was a participant in the Fifth Annual Principal For A Day in the Minneapolis Public Schools in 2006. Jill and Richard Stever-Zeitlin were financial supporters of the Minnesota Symphony in 2001, of Growth & Justice in 2004, and of the MacPhail Center in 2006. Jill A. Stever-Zeitlin was a financial supporter of the YWCA in 2005. Between 1999 and 2006, Jill Stever-Zeitlin made ten political contributions to Emily's List. Randall Schapiro, M.D., a Neurologist, is listed as being located at this address in 2009.

1945 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1957. The structure is a one story, 1222 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1995 by J. P. Hoke and M. B. Hoke to M. Hansen and A. Boies for $198,500. The current owner of record is Alexandra G. Boies and the current taxpayer of record is Merle W. Hansen. Merle Hansen is with Minneapolis-based Collins Hansen Architects and did the architectural design of Studio 10 at Musictech College. Architect Merle Hansen was involved in the renovation of a Minneapolis warehouse district building, which won a a 2002 Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission Award.

1950 Kenwood Parkway: The structure is a residential building. Reverend William B. Riley, pastor of the First Baptist Church, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. William Bell Riley (1861-1947,) the son of Branson Radish Riley and Ruth Anna Jackson Riley, was born in Greene County, Indiana, moved with his parents to Boone County, Kentucky, worked on his father's tobacco farm, was educated at normal school in Valparaiso, Indiana, taught in county schools in Indiana, graduated from Hanover College, Hanover, Indiana, in 1885, served several Baptist churches in Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois, studied at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky, moved to Minneapolis from the Calvary Baptist Church, Chicago, Illinois, was a Minneapolis minister for 50 years, was married twice, first in 1890 to Lillian Howard Riley (1869-1931) and in 1933 to Marie R. Acomb Riley (1887-1971,) opposed the Spanish-American War, increased the First Baptist Church membership five fold over 30 years, was an anti-Communist, was a fundamentalist who was an anti-evolution leader nationally, founded the Anti-Evolution League of Minnesota, headed the World's Christian Fundamentals Association, edited the Christian Fundamentals in School and Church magazine, published by the Northwestern Bible and Missionary Training School, was the author of at least 60 volumes, including The Finality of the Higher Criticism; or, The Theory of Evolution and False Theology, led the attempt to have the 1927 Minnesota Legislature enact anti-evolution legislation authored by Senator K. K. Solberg of Chatfield, Minnesota, retired from the ministry in 1941, was president of the Minnesota Baptist State Convention in from 1944 until 1945, persuaded evangelist Billy Graham to replace him as head of the three educational institutions that he had established in Minneapolis, died in Golden Valley, Hennepin County, Minnesota, and was buried in Lakewood Cemetery. The property was last sold in 1992 by R. H. Hertzberg and E. L. Hertzberg to R. B. Morris and E. G. Morris for $307,000, in 1996 by Robert Morris and Elisabet Morris to Alex H. Danzberger, Jr., for $265,000, and in 2002 by Alexander H. Danzberger, Jr., to John A. Klassen for $390,000. The current owners of record are A. Brandl and John A. Klassen and the current taxpayer of record is John A. Klassen. Alexander H. Danzberger, Jr., is Vice President for Corporate Development at Digital River, Inc. of Eden Prairie, Minnesota, and is a member of the board of Intraware. The law office of John A. Klassen, PA, was founded in 1996 by attorney John Klassen, with law degrees from the University of British Columbia in 1992 and from Seattle University in 1993, and concentrates on representing plaintiffs in race, age, gender, or sexual orientation employment discrimination litigation, whistleblower litigation, and educational institution discrimination litigation. In 2006 and 2007, John A. Klassen successfully litigated cases against the Minneapolis Fire Department and its fire chief for alleged sexual harassment and retaliation. John A. Klassen is married and has two children. John Klassen is also a member of the Minneapolis Charter Commission.

1951 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1910; reportedly originally designed by architect George Emile Bertrand; addition architect Tom Ellison. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3390 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house. Tom Ellison is with TEA 2 Architects in Minneapolis. The property was last sold in 1983 by J. B. Maus and J. E. Maus to B. M. L. Long for $177,500, in 1991 by Barbara M. L. Long to M. Hansen and A. Boies for $294,000, in 1995 by M. Hansen and A. Boies to C. Gibson and Steve Kotvis for $324,200. The current owner of record is Camille M. Gibson and the current taxpayers of record are C. M. Gibson and S. P. Kotvis. Camille Gibson is a Vice President for Marketing for Yoplait, a division of General Mills. In 1997, Camille Gibson was vice president of refrigerated baked goods at Minneapolis-based Pillsbury Corp. Steve Kotvis is CEO of Electronic Retail Marketing, a spin-off company of the direct marketing firm Centor Freed Inc. Steve Kotvis was a member of the Minneapolis Public School District Parent Advisory Council in 2007. The 1909 city directory indicates that Emma C. Simmons, the widow of Frank A. Simmons, resided at the nearby former 1953 Kenwood Parkway and William R. Simmons, a lawyer, and Frank H. Simmons, a student, both boarded at the former nearby 1953 Kenwood Parkway. The 1917 Catalogue of the Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, published by James T. Brown of New York, indicated that Frank Herbert Simmons, a member of the class of 1911 at the University of Minnesota and also a graduate of Stanford University, involved in real estate, resided at the nearby former 1953 Kenwood Parkway. Focused on amateur athletes on the go, f/go, is also located at this address.

1954 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1918. The structure is a two story, 2016 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, house. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Nicholas Spadaccini. Nicholas Spadaccini is a professor of Spanish, Portuguese, Cultural Studies, and Comparative Literature at the University of Minnesota. Nicholas Spadaccini received a bachelors degree from St. Francis College, New York, in 1963, a masters degree from the New York University at Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain, in 1964, and a doctorate from New York University in 1971. Nicholas Spadaccini and Jenaro Talens were the authors of Through the Shattering Glass: Cervantes and the Self-Made World, published in Minneapolis by the University of Minnesota Press in 1993. Nicholas Spadaccini and Wlad Godzich were the editors of The Institutionalization of Literature in Spain, published in Minneapolis by The Prisma Institute in 1987, The Crisis of Institutionalized Literature in Spain, published in Minneapolis by Prisma Institute in 1988, and of Literature Among Discourses: The Spanish Golden Age, published in Minneapolis by the University of Minnesota Press in 1986.

1955 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1914. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3140 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1994 by D. W. Krohnke and M. A. Krohnke to J. Swanson and E. Doll for $401,000. The current owner of record is Ellen M. Doll and the current taxpayers of record are J. L. Swanson and E. M. Doll. The Kenwood Isles Tennis Association Inc., a nonprofit corporation, is also located at this address. Ellen Doll is a member of the board of the Kenwood Isles Area Association. United States Tennis Association-Northern board member and president of Support The Courts, Ellen Doll (1957- ,) who taught herself to play tennis on the public courts of St. Cloud, spearheaded efforts in 2007 to rebuild the public tennis courts in Kenwood Park and a number of other neighborhoods in Minneapolis, creating a partnership between the private and public sectors that raised $404,000. In 1995, Ellen Doll was appointed to the Minnesota Center for Arts Education. Ellen M. Doll and Jay L. Swanson were financial supporters of the Walker Art Center in 2006 and of the Weisman Art Museum at the University of Minnesota in 2007. Ellen M. Doll was a financial supporter of the Abbott Northwestern Hospital Foundation in 2005 and of Inner City Tennis in 2006. Jay L. Swanson (1953- ) has a bachelor's degree from Carleton College in 1975 and a law degree from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1979, and is a lawyer with Dorsey & Whitney, LLP.

1960 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1887. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2421 square foot, 11 room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house. Franklin Benner, dealing in farm lands, city realty, loans and investments, who officed at the Bank of Commerce Building, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. Franklin Benner (1853-1938,) the son of Robert Benner and Mary Van Antwerp Benner, was born in Astoria, Long Island, New York, was educated at the Anthony Grammer School in New York City, New York, graduated from Phillips Academy, in 1872, attended Yale University from 1872 until 1873, worked for the U. S. Fish Commission on the Maine Coast in 1873, was a founding member of the New York Linnaean Society in 1873, visited Minneapolis in 1874, moved to Minneapolis in 1879, married Katherine Skiles in Minneapolis in 1884, was an original member of the American Ornithologist Union, and died in Minneapolis. The current owner of record is Edward J. Kodet, Jr., and the current taxpayers of record are Edward J. Kodet, Jr., and Janice R. Kodet. Edward J. Kodet, Jr., FAIA, CID, President of Kodet Architectural Group, Ltd., received a Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Nebraska and a Master of Architecture degree from the University of Minnesota, is licensed as an architect in Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota, and Wisconsin, is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, and was a member of the Committee on Urban Environment of the City of Minneapolis. Edward Kodet, Jr., FAIA has been an adjunct professor at the University of Minnesota. Kodet Architectural Group was established in 1983 and specializes in education, religous, public facilities, historic restoration, recreational, and retail design.

1961 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3832 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house. William T. Boutell, associated with Boutell Brothers, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13305) indicate that Forrest Donnelly Saunders (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Mechanic in the Headquarters Troop of the 96th Division, who was born in Lewistown, Illinois, moved to Minnesota in 1915, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was an automobile repairer/chauffeur/farmer at induction, was issued one bronze victory button, was a chauffeur employed by W. T. Boutell after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. Boutell Brothers dealt in furniture, carpet, and stoves and was located at First Avenue South and Fifth Street according to the 1909 city directory. The property was last sold in 1985 by Hope R.E.A./S.M.H. to S. D. Heins and D. C. Heins for $245,000, in 1999 by S. D. Heins and D. C. Heins to Steven Oneil for $650,000, and in 2005 by Steven Oneil to Frank A. Taylor for $1,100,000. William Theodore Boutell (1865- ,) the son of Paul Dean Boutell and Maria Clarke Wellington Boutell, was born at Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, moved to Minneapolis with his family in 1871, was educated at the Jefferson School, graduated from the Minneapolis Central High School, attended Archibald's Business College, married Charlotte Avilda Gibbs at Waltham, Massachusetts, in 1902, was a house furnisher, was self-employed in the furniture business at Minneapolis since 1885, was a member of the firm of Boutell Brothers, also was the second vice president of the Borey State Lumber Company, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Association, and officed at the corner of First Avenue South and Fifth Street. The current owner of record is Frank A. Taylor and the current taxpayers of record are Frank A. Taylor and Anne D. Campbell-Taylor. Frank A. Taylor was born in Ottumwa, Iowa, received a bachelor degree and a law degree from the University of Iowa, was a former adjunct professor for William Mitchell College of Law, and is a lawyer with Briggs & Morgan P.A. In 2001, Louis P. Plummer and Sidney T. Brown, owners of PhotoAssist, the D.C.-based national editorial service, sold a house at 3503 Springfield Lane N.W., Washington, D. C., to Frank A. Taylor and Anne D. Campbell-Taylor for $785,000. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Frank H. Simmons resided at the nearby former 1963 Kenwood Parkway. Frank H. Simmons was a member of the University of Minnesota Law School Class of 1914 and was a lawyer. [See note on the William Mitchell College of Law for 875 Summit Avenue.]

1964 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2648 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, five bathroom, house. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni record indicates that Robert W. Webb, an 1893 University of Minnesota Law School graduate and the assistant secretary and treasurer of the Minneapolis Trust Company, and Margaret McDonald (Mrs. Robert W.) Webb, an 1895 University of Minnesota graduate, both resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Edward Thomas Chapman resided at this address in 1907. In 1914, Robert W. Webb was a vice president and was the treasurer of the Minneapolis Trust Company. In 1918, Robert W. Webb was a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis Trust Company. Robert W. Webb also was a member of the first board of directors of the Minneapolis Citizen's Alliance. Edward Thomas Chapman (1873- ,) the son of Joseph Chapman and Catherine Cassidy Chapman, was born at Dubuque, Iowa, was educated in the public schools of Dubuque, Iowa, until 1887, was educated in the public schools of Minneapolis until 1890, graduated from the Painesville, Ohio, High School in 1891, was employed as the chief clerk of the Baltimore & Ohio RailRoad Company, Lake & Rail Terminals, Fairport Harbor, Ohio, from 1891 until 1905, married Leita Grace Hickok at Painesville, Ohio, in 1896, then was engaged in the sale of bonds and commercial paper, was a partner of Edward Morgan Stevens (1871- ) in the firm of Eugene M. Stevens & Company, dealers in investment bonds and commercial paper, in Minneapolis, after 1906, was a Republican, was an Episcopalian, and officed at the NorthWestern National Bank Building in 1907. The Minneapolis Trust Company was formed in 1888, with Samuel Hill as its president and Clarkson Linley as its secretary and treasurer. In 1910, Elbridge C. Cooke was its president, William H. Dunwoody was its vice president, and Robert W. Webb was its secretary and treasurer, and the company had $500,000 in capital. The property was last sold in 1983 by E. G. Sharpe to Patricia Tarzian for $185,000 and in 1987 by P. J. Tarzian to B. L. Wilson and M. B. Lewis for $312,750. The current owners of record are B. L. Wilson and M. B. Lewis and the current taxpayers of record are Bruce L. Wilson and Mary Lewis. Mary Lewis and Bruce L. Wilson were financial supporters of Project SUCCESS in 2006. [See note for William Hood Dunwoody for 2018 Second Avenue South.] [See note on Samuel Hill for 240 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the Minneapolis Citizens Alliance for 216 Ann Street.]

1967-1969 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 3906 square foot, 16 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, duplex/condominium. The property was last sold in 1985 by M. B. Milgram to K. Hunter for $155,000 and in 1992 by Karen Hunter, to Dana E. C. Fox for $239,000. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Dana E. C. Fox. Dana Fox was a financial supporter of Jewish Community Action in 2004 and in 2006. Dana Fox, Ph.D., LP, is Government Programs Director in Minnesota for United Behavioral Health.

1968 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3368 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Roger P. Kuerbs. Roger Kuerbs is a lighting expert with and owner of Citilights Lighting Inc., a contemporary lighting showroom, and is a member of the National Association of Independent Lighting Distributors. Roberta and Roger Kuerbs were financial supporters of the Tubman Family Alliance in 2004.

1971 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2843 square foot, 11 room, six bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Helen L. Clark, a student, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2006 by Jon H. Westby to Andrew W. Turner for $895,000. The current owner of record is Andrew W. Turner and the current taxpayers of record are Andrew W. Turner and Sara S. Turner. Andrew W. Turner is a member of the board of directors of the Turner Family Foundation and is a principal with Riverbridge Partners. Sara and Andrew W. Turner were financial supporters of the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota in 2006.

1974 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3127 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, house. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Austin L. Belknap resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that Austin L. Belknap, vice president of the Minneapolis Insurance Agency, resided at this address. Austin Lorenzo Belknap (1859- ,) the son of Lorenzo Belknap and Betsey Austin Belknap, was born in Northfield, Vermont, attended the Northfield, Vermont, public schools, was a bookkeeper employed by Belknap, Ely & Company, iron founders and machinists, in Northfield, Vermont, from 1875 until 1877, was the bookkeeper in the insurance office of Shaw & Company, St. Johnsbury, Vermont, from 1877 until 1879, was the paymaster for the Fairbanks Scale Works from 1879 until 1881, was engaged in the fire insurance business since 1878, served in the Vermont militia for five years, moved to Minneapolis in 1882, was in the lumber business in Minneapolis and in the stock raising business in Montana with Fletcher Brothers, then was in charge of the insurance department of Corser & Company, married Helen Henrietta Corser (1865- ,) educated at Cornell University and Vassar College, at Minneapolis in 1890, then was a member of the Corser-Belknap Agency, was the president ot the Corser-Belknap Agency, organized in 1893 to conduct general fire insurance business, then was the president of the A. L. Belknap Agency, was the vice president of the Minneapolis Insurance Agency after 1904, was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution, was a member of the Society of Fine Arts, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Lafayette Club, was a member of the Minnesota Society of New York, was a member of the Minneapolis Society of Fine Arts, was a member of the Minikhada Club engaged in the hobbies of golf, automobiling, and hunting, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. Austin L. Belknap and Helen Corser Belknap were the parents of one daughter, Helen Belknap (1891- .) The current owner of record is Ambrosia M. Medina and the current taxpayer of record is Ruth T. Medina. [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note for the Lafayette Club for 5 Crocus Place.]

1977 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1922. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 2762 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 1989 James Brophy and Ruth Brophy to L. Schwanke and M. Schwanke for $305,000. The current owner of record is Lawrence E. Schwanke and the current taxpayers of record are Lawrence Schwanke and Mary Schwanke. Lawrence Schwanke, a retiree/self-employed individual/farmer made campaign contributions to Barack Obama for President in 2007, Amy J. Klobuchar for U. S. Senate in 2006, Coleen Rowley for Congress in 2006, Bernard Sanders for U. S. Senate (Vermont) in 2006, Patty Wetterling for Congress in 2004 and 2006, the Minnesota House Democratic Caucus in 2006, Martin Olav Sabo for Congress in 2004 and 2006, Patty Wetterling for Senate in 2005, Teresa Ann Daly for Congress in 2004, Paul Wellstone for Senate in 2002, and Mary Elizabeth Rieder for Congress in 1999. Lawrence Schwanke was a trustee of The Bemis Company Foundation in 1997 and was the vice president of human resources at Bemis Corp. in 1997. Mary Buesing Schwanke, a 1970 graduate of the College of St. Scholastica, and Lawrence Schwanke were financial supporters of the college in 2005 and 2007. Lawrence Schwanke was a director of the All-American Co-op of Stewartville, Minnesota, in 2008.

1982 Kenwood Parkway: W. L. Harris Residence; Built in 1948. The structure is a one story, 3791 square foot, 11 room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by W. L. Harris, indicates that James Douglas Armstrong resided at this address in 1907. Elizabeth Daniels, the widow of John E. Daniels, boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1909 city directory indicates that William L. Harris, the president and treasurer of the New England Furniture & Carpet Company, resided at this address and Charles Lane Harris, a clerk with the New England Furniture & Carpet Company, boarded at this address. The 1911 Directory of the national society of the Daughters of the American revolution indicates that Ethel Harris resided at this address. William L. Harris (1854- ,) the son of William G. Harris and Julia A. Lane Harris, was born in Boston, Massachusetts, graduated from the Dwight School, Boston, Massachusetts, in 1866, attended the English High School, Boston, Massachusetts, from 1866 until 1868, left school for business, was employed as a clerk for W. G. Harris & Company, a retail dry goods merchant, Boston, Massachusetts, from 1868 until 1870, was employed by Harris, Richardson & Company, a wholesale dry goods merchant in Boston, Massachusetts, from 1870 until 1872, was a member of Eldridge & Harris, a retail dry goods merchant, South Boston, Massachusetts, from 1872 until 1879, was a member of W. G. Harris & Son, a wholesale and retail carpet merchant, Boston, Massachusetts, from 1879 until 1887, moved to Minneapolis in 1887, married Elizabeth E. Daniels in Boston, Massachusetts, in 1882, founded the New England Furniture & Carpet Company, a general house furnishing retailer, in Minneapolis in 1887, incorporated the business in 1892, was president and treasurer of the New England Furniture & Carpet Company, Inc., in 1892, was a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis Philharmonic Club in 1901, was a member of the Minneapolis Charter Commission, was the chair of the executive committee of the Minnesota Retail Furniture Dealers Association, was president of the Minneapolis Retailers Association, was a member of the board of directors of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was the chair of the tax committee of the Minneapolis Businessmen's Association, was a Republican, was a member of the John A. Rawlins Post of the Grand Army of the Republic, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Universalist Church of the Redeemer, was president of the Minneapolis Publicity Club in 1909, was a vice president of the National Home Furnishers' Association in 1918, was a member of the Minneapolis Citizen's Alliance, was a member of the Five States Furniture Dealers' Association in 1918, was a member of the Minnetonka Yacht Club, and officed on First Avenue South between Fifth Street and Sixth Street. William L. Harris and Elizabeth E. Daniels Harris were the parents of three children. The property was last sold in 1985 by Fern B. Wolf to Ernest Lehmann for $270,000. The current owner of record is Ernest K. Lehmann and the current taxpayer of record is Sarah W. Lehmann. Ernest K. Lehmann (1929- ) is a geological consultant, received a bachelors degree from Williams College in 1951, did some graduate study at Brown University and the Harvard Business School, is a former member of the Plymouth Planning Commission, is a former president of the Lowry Hill Residents Association, is a former chairman of the Calhoun-Isles Planning Commission, is a former president of the American Institute of Professional Geologists, and was an unsuccessful candidate for the Hennepin County Soil & Water supervisor seat #2 in 2006.

2000 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900; 1840’s/Victorian Hudson River Valley/Gothic style house. The structure is a 2 1/2 story, 4734 square foot, 14 room, six bedroom, five bathroom, house. The 1900 federal census indicates that Charles H. Ross (1848- ,) a commercial broker and the head of household, who was born in New Hampshire to parents who were born in Maine, his wife, Mary E. Ross (1847- ,) who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, his adopted son, Charles F. Ross (1881- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to a father who was born in Maine and a mother who was born in Wisconsin, a servant, Hannah Gunderson (1878- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in Norway, and a coachman, Andrew P. Tuesen (1871- ,) who was born in Denmark to parents born in Denmark and who emigrated in 1890, all resided at this address. Charles H. Ross, involved in loans who officed at the Security Bank Building, resided at this address and Charles F. Ross, a clerk for C. H. Ross, boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The current owner of record is James J. Kriz, Jr., and the current taxpayer of record is James J. Kriz. James J. Kriz, Jr., was formerly married to Vallie Brewster, divorced sometime prior to 1996, and reached a property settlement in 1999 in which Kriz received publicly traded securities valued at approximately $2 million. James J. Kriz, affiliated with Paramarketing, Inc,. was a financial supporter of the Norm Coleman for Senate campaign in 2002. James Kriz was a financial supporter of the Groves Academy in 2002 and of the Friends of the Minneapolis Public Library in 2006 and 2007.

2001 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3286 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house. The 1889 and 1891 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Ridgway resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Ridgway and Mrs. S. S. Ridgway all resided at this address. The 1900 federal census indicates that Everett W. Warren (1858- ,) a lumber inspector and the head of household, who was born in New York to parents who were born in New York, his wife, Sarah E. Warren (1865- ,) who was born in New York to a father who was born in Massachusetts and a mother who was born in New York, his father, William C. Warren (1825- ,) who was born in New York to a father who was born in New Hampshire and mother who was born in New York, his sister-in-law, Catherine J. McMullen (1865- ,) a who was born in New York, and a servant, Inga Lindgren (1875- ,) who was born in Sweden to parents who were born in Sweden and who emigrated in 1892, all resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni publication indicates that Timothy E. Byrnes, an 1879 graduate and a lawyer who officed at the New York Life Insurance Building, resided at this address. Harry L. Archer, secretary of the C. S. Dudley Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. J. Arthur Ridgway was the son of James C. Ridgway and Samantha Fowler. In 1893, J. Arthur Ridgway was a member of the Minneapolis Board of Park Commissioners, in 1903, J. A. Ridgway was the secretary of the Minneapolis Board of Park Commissioners, and, in 1903 and 1910, J. Arthur Ridgway was the treasurer of the Minnesota State Baptist Convention. J. A. Ridgway resided at 1920 Portland Avenue in 1900. J. A. Ridgway, Jr., was an official with the Luce Lines. The property was last sold in 1984 by E. W. Sewell and P. C. Sewell to A. Cargill for $162,000, in 2001 by Kristine M. Smith to Bradley T. Smegal for $769,900, and in 2006 by Bradley T. Smegal to Mark G. Johnson for $1,100,000. The current owner of record is Mark G. Johnson and the current taxpayers of record are Mark Johnson and Aimee Johnson. The 1900 federal census indicates that George E. Bertrand (1859- ,) an architect and head of household, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in English Canada, his wife, Lillian E. Bertrand (1858- ,) who was born in Indiana to parents who were born in Indiana, a daughter, Claire Bertrand (1890- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a daughter, Maria Bertrand (1893- ,) who was born in Minnesota, all resided at the nearby former 2005 Kenwood Parkway.

2007 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3710 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15047) indicate that George C. Pomeroy (1887- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company H of the 132nd Infantry, who was born in Minneapolis, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Meuse-Argonne, was issued one bronze Victory button, was a clerk employed by the Minneapolis Gas Light Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1995 by D. Nordby and B. Rawley to Robert Payne and Jennifer Payne for $335,000 and in 1997 by Robert Payne and Jennifer Payne to D. Siegel and S. Dray for $325,000. The current owner of record is David A. Siegel and the current taxpayers of record are David Siegel and Susan Dray.

2008 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3248 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1889 and 1891 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. N. L. Clark resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. L. Clark resided at this address. The 1900 federal census indicates that Henry Hodgdon (1862- ,) a tailor and the head of household, who was born in Maine to parents who were born in Maine, his wife, Elizabeth Hodgdon (1865- ,) who was born in New Jersey to parents who were born in New Jersey, his daughter, Katherine Hodgdon (1896- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and a boarder, Susan Brugler (1842- ,) a who was born in Pennsylvania to parents who were born in Pennsylvania, all resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1988 by Arnold R. Zuckman to Michael Davis and Celia Davis for $232,000. The current owner of record is Celia A. Davis and the current taxpayer of record is Michael L. Davis.

2011 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1911. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3291 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, house. The property was last sold in 2001 by Richard Pyle and Nathalie Pyle to Frank Taylor and Anne Taylor for $725,000 and in 2005 by Frank A. Taylor to Adam C. Driver for $900,000. The current owner of record is Adam C. Driver and the current taxpayers of record are Adam C. Driver and Jordan L. Hart. Adam C. Driver, a 1993 graduate of Macalester College, and Jordan L. Hart, a 1991 graduate of Macalester College in Psychology, were financial supporters of Macalester College in 2007. Jordan Hart and Adam Driver were financial supporters of the Jeremiah Program in 2006. Jordan Hart was a part-time faculty member at Macalester College in 1995-1996. Jordan Hart is a psychologist. [See note for the fifth entry after the entry for 1605 Summit Avenue for information on Macalester College.]

2012-2014 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1956. The structure is a two story, 2604 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, two bathroom, house. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Thomas W. Dobmeyer. Thomas W. Dobmeyer was associated with the Health Manpower Division of Interstudy in 1975 and with Evaluation Systems in Minneapolis and with the Commission on Rehabilitation Medicine in 1979. Thomas W. Dobmeyer, M.A., was the Principal Planning Analyst in the Evaluation Unit of the Hennepin County Children Family and Adult Services Department in 2002.

2015 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1901. The structure is a 2.2 story, 3004 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house. Julius P. Sedgwick, a physician specializing in the diseases of children who officed at the Donaldson Building, resided at this address and Jennie T. Sedgwick, the widow of David E. Sedgwick, and Frederick G. Sedgwick, a student, both boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1909 University of Minnesota Catalogue indicates that Julius Parker Sedgwick, M.D., an instructor in physiological chemistry and a clinical assistant in the diseases of children, resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Dr. J. P. Sedgwick, a faculty member, resided at this address and officed at the Medical Science Building. In 1910, Fred Goodwin Sedgwick, a member of the University of Minnesota class of 1906, resided at this address. Julius Parker Sedgwick (1876-1923,) the son of David Ernest Sedgwick and Jennie E. Treat Sedgwick, was born in Wrightstown, Brown County, Wisconsin, resided in Eveleth, Minnesota, in 1901, married Emily Weeks (1877-1935,) the daughter of Isaiah Sturgis Parker Weeks and Sarah Curtis Thayer Weeks, in Lincoln, Nebraska, in 1901, was a member of the American Medical Association, was an attending pediatrist at the University of Minnesota Hospital, was an attending pediatrist at the Northwestern Hospital, was an attending pediatrist at the Abbott Hospital, was the treasurer of the American Association of Medical Milk Commissions, was the director of the American Association for the Study and Prevention of Infant Mortality, was the vice-president of the Minneapolis Infant Welfare Society, and died in Minneapolis. Julius Parker Sedgwick was the author of the article "Von Graefe's Sign in Myotonia Congenita (Thomsen's Disease)" in the American Journal of the Medical Sciences in 1910, of the article "Maternal Feeding" in The American Journal of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children in 1912, and of the article "Spasmophilia With Especial Reference To Familial Reactions And Repeated Absences" in the American Journal of Diseases of the Child in 1914. In 1919, Julius Parker Sedgwick, M.D., Professor and Chief of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Minnesota, established a program to increase the rate of breastfeeding among Minneapolis mothers, leading to an article "A Preliminary Report on the Study of Breast Feeding In Minneapolis" in the American Journal of Diseases of Children. J. P. Sedgwick and E. C. Fleischner were the authors of the article "Breast Feeding in the Reduction of Infant Mortality" in the American Journal of Public Health in 1921. Julius Parker Sedgwick and Emily Weeks Sedgwick were the parents of Jane Sedgwick (1902- ,) Allan Weeks Sedgwick (1906- ,) Sarah Sedgwick (Mrs. Lawrence Bartlett) Holt (1908- ,) Robert Parker Sedgwick (1911- ,) Frederick Paul Sedgwick (1914-1943,) Emily Sedgwick Stone (1916- ,) and Julius Parker Sedgwick II (1921- .) The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Franklin H. Barnwell. Franklin H. Barnwell received a Ph.D. in Zoology from Northwestern University in 1965, was a professor at the University of Chicago in 1968, is a Professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior of the University of Minnesota, and is a Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor at the University of Minnesota.

2016 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1886. The structure is a 1.7 story, 2782 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house. The 1889 and 1891 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. V. Hayden resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Clapp resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Fred L. McClellan resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Fred L. McClellan, the president and treasurer of the McClellan Paper Company, resided at this address. Other officers in 1909 of the McClellan Paper Company, a wholesale paper company, were E. P. De Haven, the vice president, and W. O. Hawkins, the secretary. Fred L. McClellan (1867- ,) the son of William Wallace McClellan and Ellen A. Wait McClellan, was born in Sarnia, Ontario, Canada, was educated in the common schools of Sarnia, Ontario, Canada, moved to Minneapolis in 1882, was a merchant employed in mercantile business, was employed by James H. Bishop & Company, wholesale paper dealers, as a bookkeeper and later as creditman, from 1889 until 1894, was engaged in business for himself in 1894 as the McClellan Paper Company, married Lena L. Shattuck in 1895, incorporated the McClellan Paper Company in 1898, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Eagles, and officed at 245 1st Avenue North. The property was last sold in 1985 by the Trustee of C. O. Sewall to Donald Bouma for $136,500 and in 1990 by Donald Bouma and Sharon Bouma to James Romano for $231,125. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is James V. Romano. In 1998, James V. Romano, Ph.D., was President of Prisma International, Inc., a multilingual communications firm, in Minneapolis. James V. Romano is the founder and the current head of China Market Strategies, Inc., a global marketing communications firm based in New York City and Minneapolis. James V. Romano was the editor of Poetica De La Poblacion Marginal: Sensibilidades in 1988.

2019 Kenwood Parkway: C. Ellis Fisher residence; Built in 1900. The structure is a 2.2 story, 2951 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, house. In 1907, Frederick Wilbur Currier resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Clyde Waterman resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that Clyde Waterman, the president of the Waterman-Waterbury Company, a manufacturer and jobber of heating and ventilating goods, resided at this address. Clyde Waterman (1868- ,) the son of Z. Waterman and Sarah Dickey Waterman, was born in Buda, Illinois, was educated at Doane College, Crete, Nebraska, was a lumberman, engaged in the lumber business in Nebraska from 1890 until 1900, married Carrie Estelle/Estella Butler (1873- ,) the daughter of James W. Butler (1843- ) and Carrie Delia Whitlock Butler (1841- ,) in 1896, came to Minneapolis in 1900, was engaged in the lumber business in Minneapolis from 1900 until 1905, was the organizer and the president of the Rowe-Waterman Lumber Company, was the organizer of the Gas Savings Company in 1893, became the president of the Gas Savings Company in 1900, was the president of the Glide Road Machine Company of Minneapolis in 1912, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, and officed at the Guaranty Building in 1907. In 1907, Clyde Waterman was an inventor, with James L. Waterbury, of a ventilation device which was issued a U. S. patent (#878,474.) Frederick Wilbur Currier (1872- ,) the son of Frank Currier and Ella Mary Abbott Curier, was born in Tomah, Wisconsin, was educated in the Minneapolis public schools, was a glass manufacturing apprentice for the the predecessor of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company in 1884, graduated from the College of Law at the University of Minnesota in 1893, was the Northwestern manager of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company after 1899, was the manager of the Davenport, Iowa, Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company factory in 1900, was the Northwest manager of the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company after 1901, succeeding H. L. Graves, was one of the organizers of the the Jolly Bunch, a dance club, in 1901, received two U. S. patents (#1,458,397 and #1,458,398) before 1931 and Canadian patent #355077 in 1931, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minikahda Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, was a Republican, was a Mason, was a member of the Amateur Athletic Association, engaged in the hobbies of athletic exercises, and officed at 500-516 South Third Street in 1907. The property was last sold in 1985 by D. C. Webb and C. A. Webb to W. Rosenfeld and S. Lippmann for$150,000 and in 1987 by W. Rosenfeld and S. Rosenfeld to R. Madlon-Kay and D. J. Madlon-Kay for $259,000. In 1901, C. Ellis Fisher was the vice president of the Minneapolis Philharmonic Club. Emma Frances Cooke (Mrs. Calvin Ellis) Fisher was a member of the Hennepin County Suffrage Association in 1914. The American Association of University Women Journal indicates that Aimee Winifred Fisher resided at this address in 1917. In 1919, C. Ellis Fisher was the president of the Minneapolis Philharmonic Club. Emma Frances Cooke Fisher and Aimee Winifred Fisher were members of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution as great granddaughter and great great grand daughter of Nathaniel Noyes of New Hampshire, a private in Captain Emery's company, Colonel Baldwin's regiment, at White Plains, New York. Aimee Winifred Fisher was a member of the Pi Beta Phi fraternity and was the secretary of the Minneapolis and St. Paul Alumnae Club in 1915. The current owner of record is Richard Madlon-Kay and the current taxpayers of record are Richard Madlon-Kay and Diane Madlon-Kay. Dr. Richard Madlon Kay, M.D., graduated from the New York Medical College with a medical degree, is a cardiologist, is associated with Park Nicollet Health Services, and is an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Minnesota Medical School. Diane Madlon-Kay, M.D., is a New York Medical College graduate, did her residency training at Madigan Army Medical Center, served in the U. S. Army for five years, was on the faculty of the Regions Hospital Family and Community Medicine Residency Program in St. Paul for 18 years, and joined the faculty of the Smiley's Family Medicine Residency Program of the University of Minnesota Medical School in 2005.

2022-2024 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 4901 square foot, 14 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1889 city directory indicates that W. J. Bishop resided at 2024 Kenwood Boulevard. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mrs. C. E. Howe resided at 2024 Kenwood Parkway. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Sturtevant resided at this address. The 1900 federal census indicates that Fred Wurtzbach (1859- ,) a wholesale merchant and the head of household, who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who emigrated to the United States in 1868, his wife, Anne E. Wurtzbach (1862- ,) who was born in Illinois to a father who was born in Ireland and a mother who was born in Massachusetts, and a servant, Hannah Sheehy (1869- ,) who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Ireland, all resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Frederick Wartzbach, Jr., resided at this address. The 1922 University of Minnesota Directory indicates that Robert A. Baldwin resided at this address. The Journal of the 31st Delegated General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church indicates that Hiram K. Douglas, an investor and a Northern Minnesota reserve delegate from Minneapolis, resided at this address in 1936. The Journal of the 32nd Delegated General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church indicates that Hiram A. Douglas, a Northern Minnesota delegate from Minneapolis, resided at this address in 1936. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Robert W. Anderson. Randall Eagan Publishers and Randall M. Eagan, publisher of music for The Kenwood Press Ltd., pipe organ music publishers, are located at this address.

2025 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1922. The structure is a two story, 3272 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1991 by K. Harwood and M. Harwood to _?_. Brooks and _?_. Schroeder for $437,500, in 1995 by R. A. Brooks and K. A. Brooks to P. J. Denzer and L. M. Denzer for $412,000, in 2002 by Patrick J. Denzer to Peter L. Ginsberg for $983,000, and in 2004 by Peter L. Ginsberg to Laura J. Dexter for $1,195,000. The current owner of record is Laura J. Dexter and the current taxpayers of record are Laura J. Dexter and Peter McCoy.

2027 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1890. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3975 square foot, 14 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. T. Thurman, Mrs. V. S. Learned, and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Esterly, B. H. Esterly and Mrs. K. H. Esterly all resided at this address. Proceedings of the Society for Psychical Research indicates that Mrs. G. W. Esterly resided at this address in 1894. The 1900 federal census indicates that J. T. Thurmen (1849- ,) a life insurance agent and the head of household, who was born in Kentucky to parents who were born in Kentucky, his wife, Margaret E. Thurmen (1864- ,) who was born in Indiana to a father who was born in Ohio and a mother who was born in Indiana, and his daughter, Anna N. Thurmen (1887- ,) a who was born in Minnesota, all resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Joseph Thomas Thurman resided at this address in 1907. The 1909 city directory indicates that Joseph T. Thurman, associated with the Thurman-Eastland Company, a realty company located at the Andrus Building, and the general manager of the Manhattan Life Insurance Company, resided at this address. Joseph Thomas Thurman (1849-1912,) the son of William H. Thurman and Nancy A. Nash Thurman, was born in Marion County, Kentucky, was educated in the country schools of Marion County, Kentucky, was a clerk from 1867 until 1870, was the manager and the superintendent of agents of the Home Machine Company of New York in Kentucky, Tennessee and Mississippi from 1870 until 1874, was the manager and the superintendent of agents of the Home Machine Company of New York in New York State from 1874 until 1876, was engaged in shoe manufacturing and in the wholesale shoe business from 1876 until 1884, was engaged in life insurance, became the Minnesota state agent of the Manhattan Life Insurance Company in 1884, then was the manager of business for Manhattan Life Insurance Company in Minnesota, Iowa and North Dakota, was the president of the Northwestern Mutual Accident Association in Minneapolis in 1891 and 1892 and of the Northwestern Accident Company of Minneapolis in 1893 and 1898, assisted in organizing the Pacific Coast & Norway Packing Company in SouthEast Alaska in 1901, was the president of the Pacific Coast & Norway Packing Company for three years, was a member of the Minnesota National Guard for five years, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Minikhda Club, and officed at the Andrus Building in 1907. The property was last sold in 1983 by R. W. Berg and S. Berg to R. B. Tapp and A. B. Martinez for $150,500. The current owner of record is Ana B. Martinez-Tapp and the current taxpayers of record are Ana B. Martinez-Tapp and Robert B. Tapp. [See note for the Minikahda Club for 702 Fairmount Avenue.]

2028 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 3126 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1889 and 1891 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Kerrick resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Kerrick resided at this address. The The twelfth general catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Theodore Thomas Jones (1880-1950,) a member of the Rho Chapter, a graduate of St. John's Military Academy, a member of the University of Wisconsin class of 1898, a member of the University of Wisconsin football team, the assistant manager of the University of Wisconsin baseball team, a member of the University of Wisconsin Athletic Council, the president of the Northwestern Hardwood Lumber Association, a member of the University Club, a member of the Minneapolis Athletic Club, a member of the Interlachen Country Club, a member of the Eau Claire, Wisconsin, Club, a Mason, a lumber broker with the Jones Lumber Company, resided at this address in 1917 and officed at the Lumber Exchange Building in 1917. Theodore Thomas Jones, a son of Frank P. Jones (1856-1901) and Lucy Shove Jones (1860-1939,) was born in Manitowoc City, Wisconsin, was an Episcopalian, married Marion Thwing (1886-1955,) the daughter of Joseph Edwin Thwing (1859-1936) and Mary A. Clark Thwing (1862-1940,) in 1912 in Minneapolis, died in Minneapolis, and was buried in Lakewood Cemetery. The property was last sold in 1986 by P. S. Neer to G. Tierney for $156,500 and in 2004 by William A. Urseth to Samuel W. Murphy III for $650,000. The current owner of record is Samuel W. Murphy III and the current taxpayers of record are Barbara Murphy and Samuel W. Murphy III.

2035 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 4334 square foot, 15 room, four bedroom, four bathroom house, with a detached garage. The 1900 federal census indicates that Milton D. Purdy (1866- ,) a attorney and the head of household, who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in Ohio, his wife, Margaret B. Purdy (1869- ,) who was born in Minnesota to a father who was born in Ohio and a mother who was born in Ireland, and his mother-in-law, Margaret E. Morin (1840- ,) a who was born in Ohio to parents who were born in New York, all resided at this address. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Belle Morin (Mrs. Milton Dwight) Purdy, an 1891 graduate, and Milton Dwight Purdy, an 1891 graduate, an 1892 Law School graduate, and a lawyer, both resided at this address. Milton Dwight Purdy (1866-1937) was born in Mogadore, Summit County, Ohio, received a bachelor's degree from the University of Minnesota in 1891, received a law degree from the University of Minnesota in 1892, was an assistant city attorney of Minneapolis from 1893 to 1897, was an assistant county attorney of Hennepin County from 1897 to 1898, was an assistant U.S. Attorney for Minnesota from 1898 to 1901, was the U.S. Attorney for the District of Minnesota from 1901 to 1902, was a special assistant to the U.S. Attorney General from 1902 until 1904, was an assistant U. S. Attorney General in Washington, D.C., from 1903 to 1905, was an assistant to the U. S. Attorney General from 1905 to 1908, was appointed by President Theodore Roosevelt on a recess nomination to a seat on the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota in 1908, terminated judicial service in 1909 after his formal nomination was not confirmed by the Senate, served as a judge on the United States Court for China in Shanghai, China, and died in Honolulu, Hawaii. In 1902, Mrs. M. D. Purdy hosted the 19th Century Club at this address. The property was last sold in 1983 by Louise A. Guerrero to James W. Abbott for $200,000, in 1986 by J. W. Abbott to R. P. Damico and B. L. Damico for $214,800, and in 2008 by R. P. D'Amico and B. L. D'Amico to the Leach Trust for $1,250,000. The current owner of record is the Leach Trust and the current taxpayers of record are Timothy J. Leach and Terry J. Leach. Timothy Leach was named chief investment officer of the U.S. Bank Wealth Management Group in 2008. Terry J. Leach is a health care attorney, an R.N., and a lecturer in the Division of Health Policy and Management at the University of Minnesota. In 2000, Timothy J. Leach was granted a special permit for a deck on the front porch of 2528 East 22nd Street.

2036 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1909. The structure is a 1-1/2 story, 2350 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2004 by Earl R. Larson to Daniel Avchen for $657,550. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Daniel L. Avchen. Daniel L. Avchen is the Chief Executive Officer of the architectural, engineering, interior design and landscape architectural firm of Hammel Green and Abrahamson, Inc..

2101 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1910. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3000 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached one car garage. The 1922 University of Minnesota directory indicates that John R. Hand, M.D., resided at this address. Glen H. Growe, a resident at this address, was granted a U. S. patent (#4,181,745,) with Michael P. Patterson and David C. Egberg, for a method for decorating the shells of eggs in 1980. John R. Hand, M.D., was an assistant clinical professor of urology at the University of Minnesota in 1944. The property was last sold in 1988 by W. P. Moormann to G. P. Carlson for $249,000, in 1990 by Greg Carlson and Nancy Carlson to John King and Maureen King for $350,000, in 1997 by John J. and Marueen M. King to M. A. Munns and M. M. Clauson for $350,000, and in 2001 by Megan M. Clawson to Michele B. Stead for $650,000. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Michele B. Stead.

2104 Kenwood Parkway: Spencer E. Davis residence/S. E. Davis residence/Mary Tyler Moore house; Built in 1892; Edward Somerby Stebbins, architect. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. E. Davis resided at this address. Edwin R. Beeman, the general manager of the Monitor Drill Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2005, approved a request from David Busch, on behalf of Donald Gerlach, for a variance to reduce the rear yard setback from 6' to 2' 9" to allow for a existing detached garage to become an attached garage by way of an addition connecting the single-family dwelling to the garage because the location of the existing garage, shape of the site and the location of the existing buildings on the site, this was the least obtrusive and does not impact the historic nature of the home and because the owner agreed to remove the existing shed on the property. The Minneapolis Zoning Board of Adjustment, in 2007, approved a request from Donald Gerlach for a variance to reduce the rear yard setback from six feet to 6' to 2' 9", to allow for a existing detached garage to become an attached garage by way of an addition connecting the single-family dwelling to the garage. The property was last sold in 1985 by M. E. Fridgen and G. J. Fridgen to A. J. Cecin and D. C. Cecin for $310,000, in 2005 by Evan M. Maurer to Dbr #21 Llc for $1,105,000, and in 2007 by Dbr #21 Llc to Eva Wai Oi Mui for $2,800,000. Spencer E. Davis (1841-1913,) the son of Edmund Davis, a farmer, and Ada Curtis Davis, was born in Cazenovia, New York, was educated in the schools of Cazenovia, New York, was employed a lumber ox team driver, was employed in a rake factory and a melodeon factory at Syracuse, New York, clerked in a hotel, spent a year as cattle drover, enlisted from Woodstock, New York, for service in the 114th New York Volunteers in 1861 of the Union Army during the American Civil War, participated in eight battles, was then self-employed in the grocery business in New York, sold the grocery business and moved from New York to Horicon, Wisconsin, in 1866, was a shipping clerk and buyer for the Van Bunt & Barber Manufacturing Company, was a baggageman employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad, was the superintendent of the Mayville Iron Works, became the partner of Willard A. Van Brunt in 1870 as Van Brunt & Davis, incorporated the firm as the Van Brunt & Davis Company, a farm implement manufacturing firm, then was renamed the Monitor Manufacturing Company, married Alice M. Sherman in Horicon, Wisconsin, in 1871, purchased the interest of W. A. Van Brunt in the firm in 1891, moved the plant to St. Louis Park, Minnesota, in 1891 through the influence of T. B. Walker, renamed the firm as the Monitor Manufacturing Company, reorganized the firm as the Monitor Drill Company, was the president and the treasurer of the Monitor Drill Company, then sold his interest in the firm to the officers of the Moline Plow Company, retired in 1908, was the secretary-treasurer of the Cottonwood Live Stock Company of Cody, Wyoming, owned a sheep ranch in Cody, Wyoming, was the president and the treasurer of the Davis Rice Company of Inez, Texas, was the author for American Industries of an article on the labor situation, built the house at this address, wintered in Pasadena, California, was a Mason, was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Rawlins Post of the Grand Army of the Republic, was a Republican, was a Christian Scientist, was an automobile fancier, owned a White Steamer before 1909, owned a Lozier in 1909, had the hobbies of shooting and brook trout fishing, and died on a railroad train bound for Minneapolis. Spencer E. Davis and Alice M. Sherman Davis were the parents of S. Edmund Davis (1875-1903) and Phosa Davis (Mrs. E. R.) Beeman. Edwin Ruthven Beeman, Jr. (1870-1935,) the son of Edwin Ruthven Beeman (1823-1913) and Louesa/Louisa Frances Bennett Beeman (1833-1892,) was the owner of the Beeman Tractor Company of Minneapolis, died in Minneapolis, and is buried in Lakewood Cemetery. Edwin R. Beeman was granted a U. S. patent (#1,425,073,) assigned to the Beeman Tractor Company, for a metal tractor wheel with angled traction lugs in 1922. The Monitor Manufacturing Company operated in St. Louis Park from 1893 to 1929, eventually employed 300 men, was renamed the Monitor Drill Company after the Monitor drill, the first successful grain drill. The successor Moline Plow Company of Moline, Illinois, which built its first plows in 1865, continued to manufacture the Monitor drill in St. Louis Park, Minnesota, until 1929, when the Moline Plow Company merged with the Minneapolis Threshing Machine Company of Hopkins, Minnesota, and with the Minneapolis Steel and Machinery Company and became the Minneapolis Moline Power Implement Company. Operations moved to Hopkins, Minnesota, and the St. Louis Park, Minnesota, building was used as warehouse space and burned in 1930 under suspicious circumstances. The current owner of record is Eva Wai Oi Mui and the current taxpayers of record are Gregory Macfarlane and Eva Wai Oi Mui. Gregory Macfarlane was the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at GE WMC Mortgage, was the Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer at GE Partnership Marketing, was the Vice President & Chief Financial Officer at GE Japan Leasing Auto, and is the Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer at Ceridian. Eva Mui was the Director of Finance at NBC Universal, was the Master Black Belt at GE Healthcare, was the Corporate Audit Staff-Manager at General Electric, and is the Senior Manager-International Controllership at Best Buy. [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] [See the note for Platt B. Walker, Thomas B. Walker, and the Walker family for 1046 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad.]

2107 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1919. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 2946 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Ayers Bagley and the current taxpayers of record are Ayers Bagley and Marian Bagley. Ayers Bagley is a professor emeritus of Educational Policy and Administration at the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. The Virtual Museum of Education Iconics is also located at this address.

2108 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1903. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3227 square foot, 11 room, five bedroom, two bathroom, house, with a detached garage. Helen B. Hames, a student, boarded at 2108 Kenwood Parkway according to the 1909 city directory. The 1909 city directory indicates that Albert Haines, secretary-treasurer of the Kinnard-Haines Company, resided at this address and that Albert C. Haines, a student, boarded at this address. The 1917 American Association of University Women Journal indicates that Helen Haines resided at this address. Albert P. Baston (1894-1979) was born in St. Louis Park, Minnesota, graduated from the St. Louis Park, Minnesota, High School, was a tight end on the University of Minnesota football team in 1914, 1915, and 1916, was a Second Lieutenant in the U. S. Marine Corps in 1917, was ordered to Quantico, Virginia in 1917, was a First Lieutenant in the U. S. Marine Corps in 1918, received the Distinguished Service Cross and the Navy Cross in 1917 for extraordinary heroism while serving with the 17th Company, Fifth Marine Regiment, Second Division, American Expeditionary Force, in action at Hill 142 near Chateau-Thierry, France, during World War I, received gunshot wounds in both legs at Chateau-Thierry, France, was a left end with the Cleveland Tigers football team in 1920, was an assistant football coach (wide receivers and tight ends) at the University of Minnesota in 1918 and from 1930 until 1950, resided at this address in 1936, was a lieutenant colonel in the U. S. Army, was inducted to College Football Hall of Fame in 1954, and was the owner of Bert Baston Motors, later Baston Chevrolet, in St. Cloud, Minnesota. Priscilla Baston resided at this address in 1943 and was a student at the University of Minnesota. The Kinnard-Haines Company was founded by Owen B. Kinnard ( -1925) and his father-in-law, Albert Haines. Kinnard and Haines opened a machine shop in Minneapolis in 1882, named the company the Kinnard Press Company in 1889, producing hay presses and other products, began building gasoline engines in 1896, was renamed in the Kinnard-Haines Company in 1896, and manufactured the "Flour City" brand of tractors in 1898, competing with steam tractors. The Flour City tractor weighed between 3.5 tons and 10.5 tons, was equipped with a vertical, four-cylinder, high-speed motor, ran a kerosene or gasoline, had a Schebler carburetor, and had a KW magneto. A Flour City tractor was reputedly the first tractor to be imported to New Zealand. The company continued manufacturing tractors until 1927 and was sold to the Brothers Steel Products Company in 1929. Owen B. Kinnard was one of the founders of the Minneapolis Citizen's Alliance, an arm of the Public Affairs Committee of the Minneapolis Commercial Club that was established to combat union organization in the city. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is W. Timothy Peterson. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Allen and Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Shearer all resided at the former nearby 2110 Kenwood Boulevard. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Allen and J. B. Allen all resided at the former nearby 2110 Kenwood Parkway. The 1893 city directory indicates that J. B. Allen resided at this address. [See note for the Minneapolis Citizens Alliance for 216 Ann Street.]

2112 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3559 square foot, 12 room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. R. Daniels and Mr. and Mrs. S. P. Farrington all resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. B. Daniels and Mr. and Mrs. S. P. Farrington all resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Franc Burchard Daniels resided at this address in 1907. Franc B. Daniels, a superintendent, resided at and John H. Daniels boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that F. P. Daniels and J. Horton Daniels, students, both resided at this address. The 1920 Official list of officers of the Officers' Reserve Corps of the United States indicates that Franc Pomeroy Daniels (1890- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Aviation Section of the U. S. Signal Reserve Corps, resided at this address. Franc Burchard Daniels (1848- ,) the son of John Horton Daniels, a banker and Illinois State Senator, and Frances Louisa Pomeroy Daniels, was born in Cayuga, New York, was educated in the Wilmington, Illinois, public schools and in Grand Rapids, Michigan, graduated from Hamilton College, Clinton New York, in 1871, was employed by the American Express Company in 1874, became the cashier of the St. Paul American Express Company office in 1881, became the American Express Company agent in Minneapolis in 1883, married Florence L. Farrington in 1886 in Minneapolis, became the American Express Company general agent in Minneapolis in 1890, became the superintendent of the Minnesota division of the American Express Company in St. Paul in 1893, was a Republican, was a member of the Minneapolis Society of Fine Arts in 1915, was a member of Westminster Presbyterian Church, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, and officed at the Davidson Block in St. Paul in 1907. Franc B. Daniels and Florence L. Farrington Daniels were the parents of three children, Farrington Daniels, Franc P. Daniels, and J. Horton Daniels. F. P. Daniels was a horticulture instructor at the University of Minnesota in 1913. John Horton Daniels resided at this address in 1911, was a student at the University of Minnesota in 1911, was an instructor at the University of Minnesota in 1929, was an instructor in the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota in 1944, was the director of the Associated Missions Medical Office of the Division of Foreign Missions of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America in 1953, and also as a medical doctor in 1959. Samuel Putnam Farrington (1819-1897,) the son of Benjamin Eastman Farrington (1783-1852) and Priscilla Allen Farrington (1785-1855,) was born in Hopkinton, Merrimack County, New Hampshire, attended the public schools in Hopkinton, New Hampshire, graduated from the Gilmonton Academy in 1836, moved to Boston, Massachusetts, in 1837, entered the wholesale dry goods business, became a partner in 1840 of Clark, Sweet & Company, was married three times, first to Frances Perkins in 1841, then to Harriet McKay in 1853, and then to Sara Payson Willis, sold his interest in Clark, Sweet & Company and moved to Chicago in 1850, was a partner in Day, Allen & Company, a wholesale grocery business, then became a partner in Farrington & Schnall, a wholesale grocery business, became a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Chicago, Illinois, in 1862, then organized S. P. Farrington & Company, a wholesale grocery business, sold his Chicago interests in 1884, moved to Minneapolis in 1884, reorganized H. G. Harrison & Company, a wholesale grocery business, became a partner in the renamed Harrison, Farrington & Company, became a partner in 1893 of Winston, Farrington & Company when F. G. Winston purchased the interest of the retiring H. G. Harrison, and was the president of Winston, Farrington & Company. The property was last sold in 1991 by John S. Hokanson to Michael S. Larson for $213,070 and in 1997 by M. S. Larson and C. J. Larson to T. Nelson and M. Dayton for $365,000. The current owner of record is Martha B. Dayton and the current taxpayers of record are Thomas Nelson and Martha Dayton. Martha Dayton Design, Inc., is also located at this address. Martha B. Dayton is a daughter of Kathleen "Kit" Dayton ( -2003) and Ned Dayton. Martha B. Dayton is a public member of the Walker Art Center.

2115 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1890. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3823 square foot, 13 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Bishop resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1997 by D. Siegel and S. Dray to K. Williams and K. Jacobs for $525,000 and in 2003 by Kent M. Williams to Francis M. Moran for $1,140,000. The current owner of record is Francis M. Moran and the current taxpayers of record are Sarah Kaus and Francis Moran. Francis M. Moran and Sarah Kaus are both Minneapolis anesthesiologists. Susan M. Dray of Dray & Associates is also located at this address.

2116 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3525 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Allen resided at this address. Adolphus M. Allen, involved in real estate, resided at this address and Edgar M. Allen, a student, boarded at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Edgar M. Allen and Marie Allen, students, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1986 by T. J. Thompson to J. V. M. Wilson and L. N. L. Wilson for $150,000, in 1991 by Jean Kane and Thomas Kane to B. K. B. Lindahl and J. D. M. Lindahl for $250,000, and in 1996 by Beth K. Lindahl-Urben to R. Mills and J. M. Shimanski for $463,000. The current owner of record is Robert F. Mills and the current taxpayers of record are J. M. Shimanski and R. F. Mills. Beth K. Lindahl-Urben is a Coldwell Banker Burnet realtor. Jan Shimanski is vice president and general manager of Medtronic Biologic Therapeutics and Diagnostics.

2117 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1894. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3874 square foot, 11 room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Frederick V. Brown resided at this address in 1907. Mrs. Esther Brown resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. Frederick V. Brown (1862- ,) the son of Orestus S. Brown and Evalyn/Evelyn Bortle Brown, was born in Washtenaw County, Michigan, moved to Minnesota with his parents, attended the common schools of Shakopee, Minnesota, attended Hamline University for one year, was admitted to the practice of law at Shakopee, Minnesota, in 1885, practiced law in Shakopee, Minnesota, from 1885 until 1889, married Esther A. Bailey in Prescott, Wisconsin, in 1886, was a partner with H. J. Peck in the law firm of Peck & Brown from 1886 until 1889, moved to Minneapolis in 1889, was the law partner of George W. Buffington in the law firm of Brown & Buffington from 1894 until 1901, was the president of the Minnesota State Bar Association in 1903, was the law partner of W. A. Kerr from 1901 until 1905, was appointed a district court judge in 1905, was counsel for the Great Northern Railway in 1914, was a Democrat, was a Unitarian, was a Mason, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club, was a hunter and an angler, and officed at the Minneapolis Court House. Frederick Herbert Wilcox resided at this address in 1922 according to the Catalogue of the Alpha Delta Phi. The property was last sold in 1985 by F. A. Renneisen to D. R. Arnold and A. B. C. Arnold for $180,000, in 1991 by Daniel R. Arnold to J. W. Yedlicka and N. S. Yedlicka for $395,000, in 1992 by J. W. Yedlicka and N. S. Yedlicka to J. W. Eile and C. S. Larson for $438,000, in 1994 by J. Eiler and C. S. Larson to T. Stanberry and J. Allender for $500,000, and in 1996 by T. Stanberry and J. Allender to R. Formell and S. Haas for $529,900. The current owner of record is Ross C. Formell and the current taxpayers of record are Ross C. Formell and Suzanne Haas. Ross C. Formell (1962- ) is a lawyer with the law firm of Best & Flanagan. Susan Haas is an attorney for Honeywell International, was a contributor to the Honeywell International Political Action Committee in 2008, and was a contributor to the Tom Emmer for Governor campaign in 2010. [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.]

2120 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1925. The structure is a two story, 1776 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1999 by J. H. Rejsa and A. J. Rejsa to Robert A. Degenhardt and Elizabeth Schuyler Scholl for $434,000 and in 2005 by Robert A. Degenhardt to Bernard Mettler for $812,500. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Bernard Mettler. Robert A. Degenhardt was the president and chief executive officer of Ellerbee Becket in 1996 and was the president and chief operations officer with Ecolibrium, a builder in Bozeman, Montana in 2010. Elizabeth Schuyler Scholl was the chair of the board of directors and the chief executive officer of Ecolibrium, a builder in Bozeman, Montana in 2010. Bernard Mettler (1969- ) was born in Switzerland, served in the Swiss military, received his doctorate from the Robotics Institute and Department of Mechanical Engineering of Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, is an assistant professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics at the University of Minnesota, is an associate member in the IEEE Control Systems and Robotics and Automation Society, is an associate member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and is a member of the American Helicopter Society.

2124 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1925. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 2980 square foot, ten room, six bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Jonathan B. Jensen and the current taxpayer of record is Charlotte K. Jensen.

2125 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1913. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3245 square foot, ten room, six bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The Twelfth General Catalogue of the Psi Upsilon Fraternity indicates that Harold Gottfried/Godfrey Cook, a member of the Mu Chapter, a 1907 graduate of the University of Minnesota, a contractor, a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, an occupant of an office at the Plymouth Building in Minneapolis, resided at this address in 1917. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Jean B. Herzberg. Jean B. Herzberg (1940-2007) was employed in the human resources departments of various companies throughout the Twin Cities, retired from American Express in 2003, was active in the Minnesota DFL Party, was an enthusiastic supporter of the University of Minnesota Marching Band, and was a volunteer at the Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden in Minneapolis. [See note on Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.]

2129 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1948. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 1972 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in . The current owner of record is Robert F. Bachman and the current taxpayers of record are Robert F. Bachman and Judy A. Bachman.

2133 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1904. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 5495 square foot, 14 room, five bedroom, five bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is J. Rodney Grubb. J. Rodney Grubb is an executive at Allied Advertising.

2200 Kenwood Parkway: Dr. James E. Moore House; Built in 1915; Purcell & Elmslie, architects. The structure is a two story, 2600 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that James E. Moore resided at this address. James E. Moore (1852-1918) was born in Clarksville, Pennsylvania, was educated in Pennsylvania public schools, attended the Poland Union Seminary of Ohio, attended the University of Michigan, graduated in 1873 from the Bellevue Hospital School of Medicine of New York, New York, was a medical doctor, was a member of the Nu Sigma Nu fraternity, was a member of the Sigma Xi fraternity, moved to Fort Wayne, Indiana in 1874, returned to New York City in 1875, moved to Emlenton, Pennsylvania, in 1876, moved to Minneapolis in 1882, studied in Berlin, Germany, and London, England, from 1885 until 1887, was the surgeon in chief of the Northwestern Hospital of Minneapolis after 1887, was a professor of surgery at the University of Minnesota Medical School after 1888, was the chief of the department of surgery at the University of Minnesota in 1908, was the president of the Western Surgical Association in 1902, was the president of many other medical societies, was a member of the Southern Medical Association, was a member of the American Surgical Association, was a member of the judicial council of the American Medical Association in 1920, was a member of the committee on cancer of the Minnesota Public Health Association in 1914, was a fellow of the International Surgical Association, was the author of the paper "The Abuse of Phelps' Operation for Club-foot" in 1894, was the author of the paper "Hysteria From a Surgical Standpoint" presented in 1898, was the author of the paper "The Damage Done to the Kidney by Operation" in 1910, was the author of the paper "Surgery of the Long Bones" presented in 1912, was the author of the paper "Osteomyelitis Involving the Hip Joint" in 1915, retired from the private practice of medicine in 1915, was a member of the Minneapolis Club, was a member of the Minnikhada Club, officed at Millard Hall at the University of Minnesota in 1916, and died of pernicious anemia. There was a James E. Moore Honor Medical Society at the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1964 and 1968. The property was last sold in 1994 by W. B. Woodrich and P. H. Woodrich to T. L. Owens and S. J. Prem for $291,500, in 1999 by T. Owens and S. Prem to S. L. Wong and M. S. Wong for $460,000, and in 2003. The current owner of record is William A. Schoppert and the current taxpayers of record are Wendy L. Schoppert and William A. Schoppert.

2201 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 3334 square foot, 16 room, five bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. William E. Ford, the president of the Ford Brothers Glass Company, resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The Ford Brothers Glass Company supplied the stained glass for a number of churches and other public buildings, including St. Paul the Apostle Church/St. Joseph Church, Calumet, Michigan; Saint Louis Catholic Church, Castroville, Texas; Minneapolis City Hall and Hennepin County Courthouse,, Minneapolis; Francis Street First United Methodist Church, St. Joseph, Missouri; Central Presbyterian Church, Paris, Texas; St. Philips Catholic Church, Hankinson, North Dakota; Zion Evangelical United Church of Christ, Indianapolis, Indiana; Tri-Parish Catholic Churches, Beach, Golva, and Medora, North Dakota; Overholser Mansion, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Church of the Sacred Heart, Freeport, Minnesota; the Burr Oak United Methodist Church, Burr Oak, Kansas; St. Joseph Church, Hilo, Hawaii; and First United Presbyterian Church, Pittsburg, Kansas. The current owner of record and the current taxpayer of record is Michael Mario Paparella. Dr. Michael Mario Paparella, MD, is a physician in Elk River, Minnesota, is an opthamologist at the University of Minnesota, and was a contributor to the Republican Party in 2010.

2205 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2746 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1983 by H. Ingolf and A. Winblad for $200,000 and in 1985 A. L. Winblad to Elizabeth B. Larsen for $185,000. The current owner of record is Elizabeth B. Larsen and the current taxpayer of record is James S. Reece.

2208 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1916. The structure is a 1-3/4 story, 3169 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, three bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record is Robert J. Rees and the current taxpayers of record are Robert J. Rees and Audray Z. Rees. Robert J. Rees was a financial supporter of the Walker Art Center in 2005 and 2006, of Metro Meals on Wheels in 2007, and of the Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance in 2008.

2211 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1918. The structure is a two story, 2777 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, four bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1986 by L. J. Marhoefer and B. Marhoefer to D. R. Shulman and M. M. Shulman for $210,000 and in 2000 by Dan Shulman and Margaret Shulman to Steve Wells and J. Scallen for $625,000. The current owners of record and the current taxpayers of record are Steven J. Wells and Jane A. Scallen.

2216 Kenwood Parkway: Built in 1901. The structure is a 2-1/2 story, 3894 square foot, 13 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, with a detached garage. James G. Swan, a lawyer who officed at the Security Bank Building, and Luppo W. Zimmers, a lumberman, both resided at this address according to the 1909 city directory. The property was last sold in 1987 for $300,000 by W. W. Bokman and L. P. Bokman to Steven R. Goldsmith and Bonnie J. Goldsmith. The current owner of record is Steven R. Goldsmith and the current taxpayers of record are Steven R. Goldsmith and Bonnie J. Goldsmith. The 1909 city directory indicates that Charles P. Iler, general manager for the Indemnity Life & Accident Company, resided at the nearby former 2305 Kenwood Parkway. The Indemnity Life & Accident Company was a Minneapolis insurance company, was organized in 1908, had as its officers P. D. Boutell, president, and R. J. Powell, secretary, in 1912, and was a member of the International Association of Casualty and Surety Underwriters in 1914.

Armory Hall was located on the south side of Kenwood Parkway near Lyndale Avenue according to the 1909 city directory.

Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last modified on July 25, 2011.