Thursday Night Hikes: Irvine/Cherokee Park Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1


Thursday Night Hikes: Irvine/Cherokee Park Hike Architecture Notes, Part 1

Observations on Architectural Styles

Irvine Park to Cherokee Park Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: June 14, 2001

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles of specific structures located along this portion of the hike:

16 Douglas Street: Anton Jurka/Blanche Yurka House; Built in 1888. The structure is a one story, 1216 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1885, 1887, and 1889 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Jurka resided at this address. The 1891, 1893, and 1895 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Jurka and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Drum roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ellen Treacy resided at this address. Anthony Jurka (1840- ) was a teacher who was born in Bohemia, who had parents both born in Bohemia, who was single, and who was a member of the Peter McLean household according to the 1880 federal census. In 1880, Peter McLean (1849- ) was a laborer who was born in Scotland, who had parents both born in Scotland, and who was unmarried, and had a household which included John Bender (1820- ,) who was a stonemason who was born in Germany, who had parents both born in Germany, and who was unmarried, Paul J. Hayes (1852- ,) who was a student who was born in Ireland, who had parents both born in Ireland, and who was unmarried, Patrick Skully (1855- ,) who was a laborer who was born in Ohio, who had parents both born in Ireland, and who was unmarried, A. H. Dimmick (1845- ,) who was a woman who was born in New York, who had parents both born in New York, and who was married, Kimbal P. Cullen (1845- ,) who was a farmer who was born in Ohio, who had a father born in Pennsylvania and a mother born in Ohio, and who was married, Martha J. Cullen (1846) a house keeper who was born in Ohio, who had a father who was born in Pennsylvania and a mother who was born in Ohio, and who was married, Susan M. Cullen (1871- ) who was born in Minnesota, William J. Cullen (1880- ) who was born in Minnesota, and Kate Harrington (1860- ,) a female domestic servant who was born in Ireland, had parents both born in Ireland, and who was unmarried. In 1995, Robert Schoonover, as Burger King, requested the City of St. Paul to rezone property from residential to general business to allow additional lot area for development of a fast-food restaurant at this address. In 2005, the City of St. Paul denied an appeal by Ken Johnson for a nonconforming use permit at this address to establish a legal nonconforming status as a duplex. In 2007, this address was declared to be a nuisance property by the City of St. Paul. Blanche Yurka, along with Phyllis Phova and Galena Kopernak, was one of the better-known Czech actresses in the 20th Century. Blanche Yurka was the daughter of one of Minnesota's outstanding educators, Antonin Jurka (1840-1917), who was from Bohemia, and was awarded a scholarship to a school sponsored by the Metropolitan Opera when she was only 15, with her singing debut was in Balfe's English-language opera "Bohemian Girl." Blanche Yurka (1887-1974) was a character actress who appeared in the films Tale of Two Cities (1935,) Gloriana (1938,) Escape (1940,) City for Conquest (1940,) Queen of the Mob (1940,) Ellery Queen and the Murder Ring (1941,) Lady for a Night (1942,) Tonight We Raid Calais (1943,) Cry of Werewolf (1944,) The Bridge of San Luis Rey (1944,) One Body Too Many (1944,) The Southerner (1945,) The Flame (1947,) At Sword's Point (1952,) Taxi (1953,) and Thunder in the Sun (1959.) Blanche Yurka was the author of Turning Twenty: Blanche Yurka's Diary of Life in Musical New York, 1907, Bohemian Girl, and Dear Audience; A Guide to the Enjoyment of Theatre. Turning Twenty was a book prepared for Blanche Yurka's family, with a single copy available in the Boston University special archives, where her cousin, three generations removed, William J. Skocpol, Professor of Physics, Boston University, deposited it. Skocpol plans to make portions of the diary available periodically on the Internet during 2007, its one hundred year anniversary. Allegedly, when Blanche Yurka first was offered a movie role by David O. Selznick, she told him, "I am a serious, legitimate actress. I can project to the 3rd balcony," and when he replied, "Madame, I am a legitimate producer, offering you more money and fame than you'll ever see in Albany. If you're not interested, then, Madame, project yourself out of this office!!!!," she took Selznick's offer. Blanche Yurka created one of the most memorable screen villainesses in cinematic history with her venomous portrayal of Madame Defarge in the Tale of Two Cities and, according to some critics, would have won the Academy Award for best supporting actress if the category had been included in the Academy Awards in 1935. Blanche Yurka directed a revival of the Neighborhood Playhouse in New York in 1936 as a part of the Federal Theater Project. Blanche Yurka was once married to Ian Keith (1899-1960,) a Broadway favorite in the 1920's. Blanche Yurka died of arteriosclerosis and is buried at Kensico Cemetery, Valhalla, Westchester County, New York. The papers of Blanche Yurka are in the archives at the University of Tampa. The University of Tampa also has a Blanche Yurka speech award. Ellen Treacy ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Paul J. Hayes ( -1932) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. William J. Cullen ( -1922) and William J. Cullen ( -1949) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $124,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Giovan O. Claros, who resides in Apple Valley, Minnesota. Giovan Claros is an emergency room nurse at Regions Hospital. The 1879 city directory indicates that Catherine Loftus, a laundress, resided at the former nearby 10 Douglas Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Gordon Taylor resided at the former nearby 14 Douglas Street in 1903. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Risser and Mary K. Risser, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 7 Douglas Street in 1905. John Risser (1824-1905) was born in Germany and died in Ramsey County. The 1879 city directory indicates that James Connor, a tailor, resided at the nearby former 19 Douglas Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Risser (1824-1905,) the husband of Mary H. Risser, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of locomotor ataxia, resided at the former nearby 7 Douglas Street in 1905. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harriett Connelly, a teacher at the Neill School, resided at the former nearby 7 Douglass Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anne Harrington, the widow of John Harrington, resided at the former nearby 3 Douglas Street, that Christ Jorgensen, a carpenter, and his wife, Mary Jorgensen, resided at the former nearby 7 Douglas Street, that Ammi L. Hughes, a cupola tender, and his wife, Margaret Hughes, resided at the former nearby 9 Douglas Street, that Louis Wagner resided at the former nearby 10 Douglas Street, and that Arthur Fisher, an operator of a lodgings house located at 400 Main Street, and his wife, Anna Fisher, resided at the former nearby 14 Douglas Street. John Risser (1823-1905) and Mary Risser (1841-1915) both are buried in Oakland Cemetery.

20 Douglas Street: In 1873, George Benz resided at this address. In 1897, John Quinn (1858- ) was a driver employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Hook and Ladder Company No. 1, and resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Di Martino resided at this address. In 1999, the St. Paul City Council declared this property to be a nuisance property and ordered its destruction or repair, ordering the owner to remove or to repair the building within 15 days from the adoption of resolution. Joseph Di Martino (1896-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ganes, and died in Ramsey County.

21 Douglas Street: Built in 1874. The structure is a two story, 1196 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles Sitta resided at this address in 1894. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Prior, a conductor employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Josephine Prior, resided at this address. Carl Sitta married Augustina Rock in 1896 in St. Paul. Augusta Sitta (1850-1916) and Carl Sitta (1846-1905) are both buried at Oakland Cemetery. Carl T. Sitta (1842-1905) was born in Austria and died in Ramsey County. John Prior ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $210,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth G. Johnson, who resides at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Mortgage Electronic Registry Systems Inc. in San Diego, California. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

22 Douglas Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1330 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. World War I veterans John E. Tingquist (1890- ), a Private, and John E. Tuigquist resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Tuiquist roomed at this address, but had no entry for John E. Tingquist. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rocco Musacchio, a laborer employed by the Northern States Power Company, his wife, Marie Musacchio, and Antoinette Musacchio, a clerk employed by the Northern States Power company, all resided at this address. John Eric Tingquist (1890-1962) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Angela Maria Musacchio ( -1932) and Rocco Musacchio ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. In 2000, Judy Leith, representative of the Estate of Clarence Leith and Clara Leith, repurchased the property, tax-forfeited in 1998, from Ramsey County for $12,672.57. The previous owner of record of the property was Judy Leith and the current owner of record of the property is the State of Minnesota Trust Exempt. Clarence Leith (1915-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wells, and died in Ramsey County. Clara Leith (1926-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Greeley, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Northern States Power Company for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

26 Douglas Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 1616 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph Dedario, a laborer employed by the Department of Public Utilities, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Dominick Chierelle, a plasterer, his wife, Mary Chierele, Anthony DeGidio, a laborer with Armour & Company, Ned DeGidio, a laborer with Armour & Company, and his wife, Irene DeGidio, all resided at this address. Anthony DeGidio (1905-1992) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of De Camillies, and died in Ramsey County. Ned George DeGidio (1904-1998) was born in Wisconsin, had a mother with a maiden name of Barbado, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $110,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are Carmen L. Sanchez and Martin Sanchez. [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.]

29 Douglas Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 2364 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1879 city directory indicates that James Davenport, a book seller and stationer with a store located at 20 West Third Street, resided at this address and that Alfred Davenport, a bookkeeper employed by Averill, Russell & Carpenter, a paper manufacturer, James Davenport, Jr., a physician with an office at 120 1/2 West Third Street, Rufus Davenport, a civil engineer who officed at 99 1/2 West Third Street, and John Lane, a salesman employed by John Davenport, all boarded at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that James Davenport, Alfred Davenport, and Rufus Davenport all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Alfred Davenport, Rufus Davenport, and J. W. Lane all resided at this address. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Ulmer resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Augusta Sitta (1850-1916,) the widowed mother of Carl Sitta, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of diabetes, resided at this address in 1916. The 1930 city directory indicates that Victor F. Sitta, a foreman employed by the Guy T. Bisbee Company, and his wife, Rose Sitta, resided at this address. James Davenport (1812-1887) was born in Connecticut, was raised in New York City, was a member of Van Vleck & Davenport, a publishing house, remained with the company when it was reformulated as Davenport & Moore and then again as Dewit & Davenport in 1846, moved to Minnesota to address health issues of his wife, settled in St. Paul in 1856, published Rev. Edward Duffield Neill's Neill's History of Minnesota in St. Paul in 1860, published James W. Taylor's Alleghania: A Geographical and Statistical Memoir in St. Paul in 1862, opened a bookstore in St. Paul, provided stationery to the State of Minnesota in 1866 and 1867, was the author of many sketches and stories, was the treasurer of the St. Paul Bible Society, and retired in 1885. Mrs. James Davenport ( -1875) was a member of the board of managers of the Women's Christian Association in 1872, was the president of the board of managers of the Women's Christian Association in 1873, and was a member of the board of managers of the Christian Home of Minnesota in 1873. William H. Ulmer was a contractor and the William H. Ulmer Company was a cut stone supplier. Averill, Russell & Carpenter, a partnership of John T. Averill, William A. Russell and H. M. Carpenter, was a pioneer paper concern established in St. Paul in 1869. Averill, Russell & Carpenter was the successor to the Island Paper Mill, created by E. W. Cutter and C. C. Secombe in 1859 when they purchased a sash, door, and blind factory on Hennepin Island, after the company became Cutter, Secombe & Company when, in 1861, H. M. Carpenter joined the firm and after J. T. Averill joined the company in 1866, after William A. Russell became a partner in the company, and after E. W. Cutter retired in 1869 and C. C. Secombe retired in 1873. In 1859, Chase and Secombe built a three-story frame papermill on the east side of upper Hennepin Island. In 1866, the paper mill moved into a stone building on lower Hennepin Island. The original Chase and Secombe paper mill building was torn down in 1874 for the construction of the government dike access. Averill, Russell & Carpenter had a production facility in Minneapolis and a wholesale paper supply house in St. Paul. Augusta Sitta ( -1916) and Alfred N. Davenport ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Rufus Davenport ( -1930) and James Richard Davenport ( -1933) both died in Hennepin County. Carl T. Sitta (1842-1905) was born in Austria and died in Ramsey County. Victor Frank Sitta (1883-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Loss, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $280,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Dorie A. Johnson and Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Melissa L. Doose.

32 Douglas Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1680 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. In 1897, P. Smith was a watchman employed by the St. Paul Fire Department, Hook and Ladder Company No. 2, and resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary E. Beecher, the widow of Mark H. Beecher, resided at this address and that Mae A. Beecher, a nurse, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frances C. E. Smith, a storekeeper employed by the Vincent de Paul Society, resided at this address. Frances C. E. Smith ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $95,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Melissa L. Doose.

33 Douglas Street: Built in 1904. The structure is a two story, 1288 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin A. Hempel, a district agent for the North American Life & Casualty Company, and his wife, Mathilda Hempel, resided at this address. Edwin A. Hempel ( -1938) and Mathilda Hempel ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $114,400 and that sale occurred in 2002. The previous owners of record of the property were Dorie A. Johnson and Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Sunny Nyemah, who resides in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota.

35 Douglas Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1050 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. World War I veterans Harold Nelson and Hal Nielsen resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harold H. Nielson was a driver for H. P. Nielson Company, a wallpaper and paint supplier located at 206 West Seventh Street, and boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Pavel, an artist employed by Ray-Bell Films, Inc., and his wife, Caroline Pavel, resided at this address. Hans P. Nielson, owner of H. P. Nielson Co., resided at 615 Carroll in 1920. John William Pavel (1900-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olejar, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $59,900. The current owner of record of the property is Hershey A. Lima. Ray-Bell Films, Inc., of St. Paul, was the producer in 1927 of a movie, Dangerous Dollars, based on a photoplay written by Glen L. Dearing of Lincoln, Nebraska, and filmed on location in Lincoln, Nebraska. In 1927, Ray-Bell Films, Inc. consisted of Reid H. Ray, president, R. F. Joseph, director, Charles E. Bell, cameraman, Mary Drew, cosmetician, Viola May Hall, script and scenario, and Ray St. Martin, company electrician. In the early 1940's, Ray-Bell Films produced Today's Challenge, a demonstration of how not to approach someone when soliciting war bonds. The Sheppards Take a Vacation was a film produced by Ray-Bell Films for the John Deere Company, directed by Reid H. Ray, about 1940. A film, The Kenny Concept of Disease in Infantile Paralysis (1944,) was a documentary about Sister (Nurse) Elizabeth Kenny produced by Ray-Bell Films. Ray-Bell Films also produced The Second Phase of the Kenny Treatment. Ray-Bell Films, Inc., produced several other films, Ice Follies of 1943, documenting the 1943 edition of the Shipstads & Johnson Ice Follies skating show, 1938 St. Paul Winter Carnival, documenting the St. Paul Winter Carnival parade, the ice sculpture display, carnival royalty, the ice court at Mounds Park, fireworks, and several sporting events, Land of sky blue waters, a 1933 promotion of Minnesota's industry, scenery, agriculture, and recreational opportunities, The Gillette State Hospital for Crippled Children, a documentary on hospital staff working with patients, including examinations, various treatments and recreational activities, Horizon North, a film on the iron ore industry in Minnesota, and Teamwork on the Mesabi, a film on the iron ore industry in Minnesota. Reid H. Ray Film Industries Company was the successor to Ray-Bell Films Inc. in 1947 or 1948. Ray-Bell Films, Inc., initially was located near the corner of Victoria Street and University Avenue, adjoining the Victoria Theatre, 825 University Avenue, built in 1915 and used as a theatre for a few years before being converted into a commercial building. In 1954, Reid H. Ray Film Industries was located at 2269 Ford Parkway. Reid H. Ray was involved in several film production companies. Gordon Ray was a photographer, writer and director for Reid H. Ray Film Industries. Herb Osland was a sound engineer for Reid H. Ray Film Industries. Reid H. Ray Films produced Discover America (1967) and The Heritage of the Uncommon Man (1974.) Reid H. Ray Film Industries produced America�s iron frontier (1956,) Minnesota winter (1957,) Food-The Color of Life (1965,) The Real Security (1960,) Horizon North (1960,) TIROS II; Experimental weather satellite, and The Challenge of Six Billion. Reid H. Ray Film Industries Inc. produced On The Boardwalk (1950,) made for the Convention Bureau of Atlantic City, New Jersey, Eagle's Strength (1953,) Your Food-Chance or Choice?, presented by the National Dairy Council and Affiliated Units, The sounds of language (1961,) made for the Modern Language Association and the Center for Applied Linguistics, Adventures in Sharps and Flats (1963,) A New Look at the H-bomb, made for the Federal Civil Defense Administration, Food the color of life (1965,) made for the National Dairy Council, So you want to be a cheerleader (1968,) sponsored by the National Cheerleaders Association and by Bonne Bell Cosmetics, and There oughta be a law (1971,) made for the Minnesota Legislature. Reid H. Ray produced Some Functional Problems of the Hemiplegic Patient for the Kenny Institute. Reid H. Ray was the president of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers in 1963-1964 and won the Eastman Kodak Gold Medal Award in 1978 in recognition of his major contributions for more than half a century to the educational and nontheatrical motion picture field. Reid Ray also was the president of the Association of Cinema & Video Laboratories in 1957-1958. Charles E. Bell (1885-1971) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Kenny (1886-1952) was born in New South Wales, Australia, the daughter of Michael and Mary Kenny, graduated from St. Ursula's College, Queensland, Australia, in 1902, received her nursing training at a private hospital and served as a nurse in the Australian bush country from 1911 to 1914, there encountering her first case of infantile paralysis (1909) and developed her treatment for the disease, served as an Australian Army nurse during World War I and was promoted to the rank of "sister," the Nurse Corps equivalent to a first lieutenant, and returned to civilian nursing, where her treatment and concept of infantile paralysis gained the recognition of the medical profession and the support of the Australian government and Kenny clinics were established throughout the country. Sister Kenny came to the United States in early 1940, was disappointed by the cool reception her treatment technique received on the West and East coasts, then demonstrated her treatment at the University of Minnesota Medical School and Minneapolis General Hospital, which accepted Kenny's treatment method as an entirely new concept of infantile paralysis. The first American treatment center was opened at Minneapolis General Hospital, in 1942, the City of Minneapolis established the Elizabeth Kenny Institute and, in 1943, the Sister Elizabeth Kenny Foundation was formed to financially support the Institute's work. Elizabeth Kenny died in Toowoomba, Australia.

38 Douglas Street: Built in 1908. The structure is a one story, 1282 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $134,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Mortgage Electronic Registry Systems Inc. in San Diego, California.

41 Douglas Street: Built in 1874. The structure is a one story, 812 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl Clarque, a laborer, his wife, Lullabell Clarque, and Harold M. Kinney, a laborer employed by the Seeger Refrigerator Company, and his wife, Mabel Kinney, all resided at this address. Harold M. Kinney (1888-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schneider, and died in Ramsey County. Mabel Kinney ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $75,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is James R. Smith, who resides in Isanti, Minnesota. [See note on John A. Seeger, the Seeger-Gallarch Refrigerator Company, and the Whirpool Corporation for 655-657 East Fifth Street.]

47 Douglas Street: Built in 1887. The structure is a 908 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided rambler. Daniel J. Hanlon was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Daniel J. Hanlon was a conductor for the American Railway Express Company and roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that David Shearen, a salesman, and his wife, Mary Shearen, resided at this address. Daniel J. Hanlon (1888-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Culhane, and died in Ramsey County. American Express was founded in 1850 by Henry Wells, William Fargo, and John Butterfield as an express business. In 1882, American Express launched its money order business and launched the travelers cheque business in 1891. During the Winter of 1917, the United States suffered a severe coal shortage and President Woodrow Wilson commandeered the railroads on behalf of the United States government to move United States troops, their supplies, and coal, also voiding all contracts between express companies and railroads. United States Treasury Secretary William Gibbs McAdoo proposed that all existing express companies be consolidated into a single company. The nation's major express carriers, Adams & Co., American Express Co., Wells, Fargo & Company, and Southern Express Company, were merged into a public corporation, the Railway Express Agency, in 1918. The property was last sold for $149,400 and that sale occurred in 2005. The previous owner of record of the property was Kenneth G. Johnson, who resided at 309 Harrison Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Donald McGee, who resides in Rosemount, Minnesota.

52 Douglas Street: The structure is a pair of multi-family apartment buildings, each built in 1890 and each two story in height and 5184 square feet in volume. The 1920 city directory indicates that Nuel E. Dull, a clerk, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Herbert Ockenden resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that residents of the apartment house at this address were Nuel E. Dull, a driver employed by Minnesota Dry Cleaners, and his wife, Sara Dull (Apartment #1,) Milford T. Maloney, a clerk employed by the Railway Express Company, and his wife, Mary E. Maloney (Apartment #2,) Eugene A. Hullett, an employee of the Lowery Hotel, and his wife, Janet Hullett (Apartment #3,) and Harry Gustafson, a laborer employed by the Standard Stone Company, and his wife, Nellie Gustafson (Apartment #4.) In 2001, the St. Paul City Council declared the property subject to a code enforcement action. Herbert Ockenden ( -1951) died in Nicollet County. Nuel E. Dull ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Sara B. Dull (1875-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Garvis, and died in Ramsey County. Milford T. Maloney (1881-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Carson, and died in Ramsey County. Harry T. Gustafson (1904-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Madsson, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $185,000. The current owner of record of the property is Mark A. Osadchuk, located in Columbia Heights, Minnesota. [See note for the Railway Express Agency for 248 Banfil Street.]

58 Douglas Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that residents of the apartment house at this address were Daniel Haley, a driver, and his wife, Dorothy Haley, (Apartment #1,) Joseph E. La Frans, a laborer, and his wife, Mathilda La Franz (Apartment #2,) Roy L. Gravly, a barber employed by Michael Rembiah, and his wife, Adeline Gravly, (Apartment #3,) and John J. Havens, a plasterer, and his wife, Florence Havens (Apartment #4.) In 2001, the property was subject to a code enforcement action by the City of St. Paul. The 1875 city directory indicates that George Benz resided at the former nearby 60 Douglas Street. John Joseph Havens ( -1939) and Daniel H. Haley ( -1934) both died in Ramsey County. John Joseph Havens (1903-1957) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The Twin Cities Home Health Care Agency was located at Apartment #4 in 2003.

63 Douglas Street: Built in 1922. The structure is a 654 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick rambler, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Disanto, a tailor for J. T. Schusler, a men's tailor shop located at 359 Robert Street, his wife, Katherine Disanto, Anton Disanto, a laborer, Charles T. Disanto, a helper employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad shops, John Disanto, a salesman, and his wife Lena Disanto, all resided at this address. John A. Disanto (1876-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of De Santes, and died in Ramsey County. John Disanto (1906-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Anthony John Disanto (1913-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $148,400. The current owner of record of the property is Sharon K. Lynch. The 1879 city directory indicates that Laura W. Hall, a music teacher, and Lyman W. Hall, exchange editor employed by the Daily Globe resided at the nearby former 64 Douglas Street. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

66 Douglas Street: The structure is a multi-family apartment building. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. R. Pease and E. V. Beals all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that J. W. Burns and L. A. Gordon both resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Josephine Zimmerman (1845-1893,) of German heritage who died of cancer, resided at this address in 1893. World War I veteran Edward T. Carlson resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter Mooney, a painter, and his wife, Marie Mooney, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward T. Carlson was a chauffeur for the Great Lakes Coal & Dock Company and resided at 349 North Western Avenue and that Agnes Conley, a helper employed by A. J. Krank, boarded at this address. Fred A. Zimmerman was the son of Josephine Zimmerman. The Great Lakes Coal & Dock Company is now the Great Western Dock & Terminal Company. Charles R. Pease (1855- ) was born in Fairfield, Maine, moved to Minnesota in 1879, settled in St. Paul, and was a partner with his brother, William W. Pease, in merchant tailoring. Fred A. Zimmerman ( -1922) and Charles R. Pease ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. James W. Burns (1933-1973) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Edward T. Carlson (1894-1976) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Walter W. Mooney (1898-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McNumaber, and died in Ramsey County. Marie M. Mooney (1901-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Le Clair, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is EMK Holding Company LLC, located at 500 Grand Hill. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph R. Connolly, a teamster, resided at the nearby former 68 Douglas Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Paulbick, a presser, his wife, Louise Paulbick, a dipper employed by Henry C. Garrott Inc., and Daniel Paulbick, a helper, resided at the former nearby 68 Douglas Street. John Paulbick (1887-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Literska, and died in Ramsey County. Daniel Paulbick (1913-2001) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mykowski, and died in Ramsey County.

69 Douglas Street: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1436 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The house is part of George Benz's subdivision. The 1930 city directory indicates that Garibaldi Iosue, a foreman employed by the St. Paul City Water Department, and his wife, Mary Iosue, resided at this address. George Gustaf Benz ( -1924) died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. George W. Benz (1906-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hamm, and died in Ramsey County. Garibaldi Iosue, a son of Giovanni Iosue and Maria Benedetta Esposito, immigrated from Monacilioni, Campobasso, Italy, and married Madalena Naimo, who previously was married to John Iosue. The previous owner of record of the property was Teresa A. Brustad, who resided in Outing, Minnesota, and the current owners of record of the property are Aric Berg and Danielle Berg. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. N. Rowley resided at the former nearby 70 Douglas Street and Rev. and Mrs. T. C. Horton resided at the former nearby 72 Douglas Street. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. J. M. Faulkner and Dr. L. A. Faulkner both resided at the former nearby 70 Douglas Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lola Bomstead, a machine operator employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, Inc., roomed at the former nearby 72 Douglas Street and that Wilfred J. Bowen, a clerk employed by Samuel Bowen, resided at the former nearby 70 Douglas Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that William H. Wilds resided at the former nearby 70 Douglas Street and that Peter Killian, a hostier employed by the Railway Express Agency, and his wife, Nellie Killian, resided at the former nearby 72 Douglas Street. The 1930 city directory also indicates that Thomas S. Newson, a salesman at C. Gotzian & Co., resided at the former nearby 72 Douglas Street. Thomas Newson (1879-1929) and Peter Killian ( -1939) both died in Ramsey County. [See note for the Railway Express Agency for 248 Banfil Street.] [See note on the McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey Inc. for 136 Western Avenue North.]

75 Douglas Street: Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 1591 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Angelo Palumbo, a laborer employed by J. T. MacMillan Company, and his wife, Madeline Palumbo, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Duane T. Beto and Sandra J. Beto.

83 Douglas Street: Built in 1916. The structure is a one story, 1715 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $57,600. The 1885, 1887, and 1889 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. George Benz and their daughter resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael J. Piras, associated with the Western Sign Company, and his wife, Frances Piras, resided at this address. In 1995, 1997, and 1998, the St. Paul City Council declared this property to be a nuisance property. George Benz, Jr., (1862-1924) was a partner in his father's wholesale liquor business, George Benz and Sons, dabbled in real estate in both St. Paul and Minneapolis, and married Josephine Hamm, a daughter of the Hamm's brewery family. The couple had four children, Herbert Benz, George Benz, III, Josephine Benz, and Laura Benz. In 1997 and in 1998, the City of St. Paul declared this address to be a nuisance property. George Benz, Sr. (1838-1908,) was born in Osthofen, Germany, was educated in private schools as a teacher in Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1854, settled in Chicago, Illinois, in 1854, and was employed as a clerk, came to Minnesota in 1856, and located in St. Paul, started in the liquor business, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 24) from 1873 until 1875, and also represented St. Paul's Fourth Ward on the 1879 Board of Education. Mr. Benz was married to Rosa Voehringer (1842-1914) in 1861. The Orlemann/Benz burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of George F. Benz (1858-1925,) Fred W. Orlemann (1888-1927,) Gertrude L. Orlemann (1880-1953,) and Herman F. Orlemann (1884-1956.) In 1879, George Benz was the Grand Ex. President of the Hermann's Soehne Grand Lodge of the State. The Benz family were part owners of the St. Paul Saints minor league baseball team, with John Norton and George Lennon, and part owners of St. Paul's Lexington Field in 1909. Lexington Park was the home of baseball in St. Paul from 1897 (rebuilt in 1916) until 1956. It was 315 feet down the left field line at Lexington, and the right-field fence rose on a bank to the foul pole, which was 361 feet from home plate. It also went out sharply to straightaway center field, 472 feet. Lights were installed in the park in 1937. Babe Ruth was in Lexington Park for an exhibition game in 1928, when the Saints were a farm club of the Yankees. In 1918, the season was cancelled on account of World War I. The Dodgers bought the Saints outright in 1947. The St. Paul Saints had five players and one manager who are now enshrined in Cooperstown, who were Miller Huggins, Lefty Gomez, Walter Alston, Duke Snider, and Roy Campanella, who became the first black player in the American Association in 1948. George Benz & Sons eventually shifted to the processing of milk and did business as the Oak Grove Dairy of Oak Grove/Norwood-Young America, Minnesota. Koninklijke Wessanen, of Amstelveen, The Netherlands, through its Marigold Foods, Inc., subsidiary, purchased Oak Grove Dairy in 2000. Michael J. Piras ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. Frances Piras (1886-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George Gustaf Benz ( -1924) died in Goodhue County, Minnesota. Josephine H. Benz (1869-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bucholtz, and died in Ramsey County. Herbert George Benz ( -1951) died in Scott County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1992 and the sale price was $57,600. The current owner of record of the property is Bonfe's Auto Service, located at 389 West Seventh Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma Ulmer resided at the former nearby 87 Douglas Street. Emma J. Ulmer (1891-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Miley, and died in Ramsey County.

89 Douglas Street: Built in 1864. The structure is a one story, 1595 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. True S. White resided at this address. The 1889, 1891, and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. True S. White and H. H. White resided at this address. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. True S. White and their daughters resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Henry Ulmer (1853-1912,) the husband of Sarah Ulmer, who was born in Maine to parents born in the United States and who died of a heart embolism, resided at this address in 1912. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Ulmer, a cutter employed by the Wilcox Cut Stone Company, his wife, Lillian Ulmer, a wrapper employed by the Zinsmaster Baking Company, Dorothy Ulmer, a clerk, and Emma Ulmer, the widow of Lawrence Ulmer, all resided at this address. The property was last sold for $140,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Timothy A. Grathwol, who resides at 1069 St. Clair Avenue.

101 Douglas Street: Built in 1880. The property includes two retail structures, one a two story, 4914 square foot, building and the other a one story, 3328 square foot building. The current owner of record of the property is Gregory L. Ekbom, who resides at 477 West Seventh Street.

106 Douglas Street: Built in 1875. The structure is a two story, 2410 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Alice McGuire resided at this address in the 1880's and was a teacher at the Jefferson School. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Frank McGuire resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Beatrice M. Cates, a telephone operator, Helen Cates, a pressfeeder employed by the West Publishing Company, and Frank Fischer, a packer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William M. Davids, a plasterer, his wife, Mary Davids, William H. Davids, a steamfitter, and Paul R. Lehman, a laborer employed by Holm & Olson, and his wife, Minnie Lehman, all resided at this address. Frank Novak and Mary Novak resided at this address in 1980. William M. Davids ( -1947) and Mary Margaret Davids ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. William Henry Davids (1906-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Spears, and died in Ramsey County. Paul R. Lehman (1877-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. Minnie L. Lehman ( -1942) died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. Minnie E. Lehman (1888-1963) was born in Minnesota and died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Troy K. Buege, who resides in Mendota Heights, Minnesota. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.]

110 Douglas Street: Built in 1912 (in 1911 according to Empson.) The structure is a two story, 1414 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The house was built by Clyde Bair, a carpenter who resided on Van Buren Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard O. Schulz, a barber with a shop located at 88 West Seventh Street, and his wife, Marie Schulz, resided at this address. Clyde Bair ( -1943) died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Darlyne C. Wright and the current owner of record of the property is Michael A. Lee.

112 Douglas Street: Built in 1912 (in 1911 according to Empson.) The structure is a two story, 1414 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The house was built by Clyde Bair, a carpenter who resided on Van Buren Avenue. Herbert H. Sanders was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory had no record of a Herbert H. Sanders. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anthony Caroline, either a liner employed by J. L. Hertz & Company or a clerk employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, Frank Caroline, a laborer, George Caroline, a clerk, and Helen Caroline, a clerk, all boarded at this address and that John P. Carolina, a helper, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John P. Caroline, an attendant for Citizens Ice & Fuel Company, and his wife, Jennie T. Caroline, Anthony B. Caroline, a machine operator, James F. Caroline, a stockman for Quality Pk Box Company, his wife, and Sina Caroline, an inspector for Quality Pk Box Company, all resided at this address. Clyde Bair ( -1943) died in Hennepin County. John P. Caroline ( -1945) and Jennie T. Caroline ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Anthony B. Caroline (1906-1994) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grady, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $94,000. The current owners of record of the property are J. S. Hillis and Stephanie Hillis. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

118 Douglas Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1717 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The house has a sandstone fence. It also has a carriage step. James Davenport resided in this house during the 1880's when the property address was 29 Douglas Street. The numbering on the street was subsequently changed by the St. Paul City Council. The 1891, 1893, and 1895 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Ulmer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank C. James, a laborer, and his wife, Angeline James, resided at this address. James Richard Davenport ( -1933) died in Hennepin County. Frank C. James ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Angeline James (1879-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $176,500. The current owner of record of the property is Jacob I. Prettyman, who resides at 1239 Colette Place. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles H. Hathaway resided at the former nearby 119 Douglas Street in 1902. Grace Hathaway was the daughter of Charles H. Hathaway. Charles Hathaway ( -1917) died in Ramsey County.

129 Dousman Street: The structure is a commercial building. The property was last sold for $78,600 and that sale occurred in 1999. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lawrence E. Wood, a driver employed by Peter Amon, and his wife, Elizabeth Wood, resided at the former nearby 158 Dousman Street. Lawrence E. Wood ( -1953) died in Ramsey County.

159 Dousman Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 816 square foot, automotive service station. T. C. Woodworks, selling doors, door frames, and windows, is located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Leane R. Vocovich and Patrick M. Vocovich, who reside in Mendota Heights, Minnesota. The 1879 city directory indicates that James Kenneally, a laborer, resided at the Northwest corner of Dousman Street and Goodhue Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#5729) indicate that Daniel W. Gohde (1897- ,) a 1916 enlistee and a Corporal in Battery A, 151st Field Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 11' tall, was a chauffeur at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Champagne, the Marne, St. Mihiel, and Meuse-Argonne, was gassed on October 28, 1918, at Meuese-Argonne, was a special police officer employed by Swift & Company, South St. Paul, Minnesota, after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. L. W. Gohde, at the nearby former 178 Dousman Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16010) indicate that Albert T. Smith (1895- ,) a 1916 enlistee and a Sergeant in Company C of the 345th Battalion of the Tank Corps, who was born in Cheyenne, Wyoming, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7 1/2" tall, was a painter at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the St. Mihiel Salient and the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was gassed on October 4, 1918, was a painting contractor after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 178 Dousman Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Clarence Clark, a plasterer, resided at the former nearby 174 Dousman Street, that Bee Donaher, a machine operator, resided at the nearby former 184 Dousman Street, that Henry Dorsch, a laborer employed by J. T. McMillan Company, resided at the nearby former 182 Dousman Street, that Henry Dorsch, Jr., a clerk employed by the Flour State Baking Company, boarded at the nearby former 182 Dousman Street, and that Evelyn Edwards, a telephone operator, boarded at the former nearby 180 Dousman Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that James I. Branely/Branley, a fireman at J. T. McMillan Company, and his wife, Helen Branley, resided at the former nearby 168 Dousman Street, that Victor Novak, a laborer employed by the Seeger Refrigerator Company, and his wife, Dorothy Novak, resided at the former nearby 174 Dousman Street, that the former nearby 176 Dousman Street was vacant, that Harry Ehrmantrout, a machinist at Trussbilt Steel Doors, Inc., his wife, Emma Ehrmantrout, Emma Ehrmantrout, the widow of Henry Ehrmantrout, and Walter Hosch all resided at the former nearby 178 Dousman Street, that Valentine Hosch, a laborer, and Walter Hosch, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 180 Dousman Street, that Floyd Murphy, a painter, his wife, Evelyn Murphy, and Mrs. Julia Pogreba, the widow of Jacob Pogreba, all resided at the former nearby 182 Dousman Street, that Joseph Karl, a laborer employed by J. T. McMillan Company, and his wife, Minnie Karl, resided at the former nearby 184 Dousman Street, and that Robert D. Callan, a driver for the St. Paul Fire Department, Engine Company #10, and his wife, Catherine Callan, and Alex Troiani, a gardener, all resided at the former nearby 174 Dousman Street. In 1916, the Flour State Baking Company was incorporated to consolidate the St. Paul Bread Company of St. Paul and the Sanitary Bread Company of Minneapolis. The Flour State Baking Company subsequently became the Purity Baking Company and then was absorbed by the Purity Bakeries Corporation. Jacob Pogreba ( -1924) and Catherine Callan ( -1930) both died in Ramsey County. James I. Branley ( -1948) died in Hennepin County. Victor Henry Novak (1905-1973) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Dorothy Mildred Novak (1917-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jasinski, and died in Ramsey County. Valentine Hosch (1888-1963) had a mother with a maiden name of Schliech and died in Ramsey County. Floyd B. Murphy (1900-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kriger, and died in Ramsey County. Floyd Ernst Murphy (1895-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bell, and died in Ramsey County. Evelyn Murphy (1881-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Silver, and died in Ramsey County. Evelyn Marie Murphy (1907-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Germain, and died in Ramsey County. Julia Pogreba (1873-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stellmack, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Karl (1891-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Minnie C. Karl (1895-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Robert Callan ( -1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hart, and died in Ramsey County. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.] [See note on John A. Seeger, the Seeger-Gallarch Refrigerator Company, and the Whirpool Corporation for 655-657 East Fifth Street.]

187 Dousman Street: Built in 1890 (in 1887 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 1186 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The house was built for Carolina Woerner, who was a widow who lived at 189 Dousman Street. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. H. Reeves resided at this address. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Hugo E. Driese resided at this address. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Becker resided at this address. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Nora H. MacEwen, a student, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John M. Seiberlich, an embalmer employed by Kessler & Maguire, and his wife, Emma Seiberlich, an operator employed by the Klinkerfues Brothers Company, and Delores Seiberlich, a clerk, all resided at this address. Caroline Woerner ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. Hugo E. Driese ( -1936) and John Seiberlich ( -1936) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $149,600 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owner of record of the property is Steven Wagner. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles A. Stein (1839-1891,) of German heritage who committed suicide with poison, resided at the former nearby 182 Dousman Street in 1891. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Hiram B. Huntress and Mary Ella Huntress, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 178 Dousman Street in 1902. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ida B. De Graw, the widow of John B. De Graw, resided at the former nearby 188 Dousman Street and that Marguerite A. De Graw, a pressfeeder employed by the West Publishing Company, boarded at the former nearby 188 Dousman Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Kilbane and Ettero Furno resided at the former nearby 188 Dousman Street. John Walter Kilbane ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.]

189 Dousman Street: Built in 1890 (in 1887 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 1154 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The house was built for Carolina Woerner, who was a widow. The 1889 and 1891 city directories indicate that Mrs. C. Woerner and Edward Ekman resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward Ekman resided at this address in 1891. The 1893 and 1895 city directories indicate that Caroline Woerner and Mr. and Mrs. Edward Ekman resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Caroline Woerner (1833-1898,) of German extraction who died of pneumonia, resided at this address in 1898. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nathan Weinberg, a hardware store operator with a store located at 423 West Seventh Street, and his wife, Ethel Weinberg, resided at this address. Helen C. Eckman was the daughter of Caroline Woerner. Caroline Woerner ( -1940) died in Hennepin County. Helen Irene Ekman (1899-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Pierson, and died in Hennepin County. Edward Ekman ( -1942) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Nathan Weinberg (1881-1961) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Scott Entenman and the current owners of record of the property are Krista Clark Entenman and Scott Entenman. Scott Allen Enteman, with Scott D. Augustine, Gary Rabindranath Maharaji, and Allen Hamid Ziaimehr, was an inventor of an intravenous fluid warming system with a removable heat exchanger that included a presence detector and was awarded an international patent in 2000. In 2007, Scott Enteman requested approval by the City of St. Paul Board of Zoning Appeals of a variance in order to construct an addition onto a single-family dwelling at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#8246) indicate that Charles H. Maute (1897- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in Fort Dodge, Iowa, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a fireman at induction, was a laborer after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Edward H. Maute, at the nearby former 192 Dousman Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harvey Clark boarded at the former nearby 194 Dousman Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Demain resided at the former nearby 190 Dousman Street and Edwin Tollefson, a laborer, Lillian Tollefson, a clerk, both resided at the former nearby 192 Dousman Street. Edwin Albert Tollefson (1903-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jorgenson, and died in Polk County, Minnesota.

149 Duke Street: The structure is a multi-family apartment building. In 1879, Frederick Manthe, a cigarmaker employed by Henry Grunhagen, boarded on Duke Street between Goodhue Street and Banfil Street and James D. Nagle, a traveling agent employed by Fuller & Johnson, resided on the North side of Duke Street three addresses East of Grace Street.

152 Duke Street: Built in 1976. The structure is a 1344 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $105,300. The previous owner of record of the property was Deborah J. Svoboda and the current owner of record of the property is Deborah J. Vasejpka. The 1920 city directory indicates that John P. Berken, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 160 Duke Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Holm & Olson greenhouse was located at the former nearby 159 Duke Street and that Anton Vichich, a painter employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Louise Vichich, resided at the former nearby 160 Duke Street. Anton Vichich (1880-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stago, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

178 Duke Street: Built in 1975. The structure is a 1092 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are James A. Kuntz and Judith M. Kuntz.

183 Duke Street: Built in 1974. The structure is a 1092 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Ernst J. Heroff and Mary A. E. Heroff.

184 Duke Street: Built in 1974. The structure is a 1096 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are David John Horvath and Suzanne Marie Horvath.

190 Duke Street: Built in 1974. The structure is a 1634 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame split-level house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are John A. Marzitelli and Kathleen J. Marzitelli. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles E. Bilek, a machine operator, and Frank J. Bilek, an inspector, both boarded at the former nearby 192 Duke Street and that John J. Bilek, a cutter employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, Inc. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Bilek and his wife, Mary Bilek, resided at the former nearby 192 Duke Street and that Joseph Kolar and his wife, Mary Kolar, resided at the former nearby 198 Duke Street. John F. Bilek ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. Mary L. Bilek (1900-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Unger, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey Inc. for 136 Western Avenue North.]

199 Duke Street: Built in 1975. The structure is a 1397 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house, with a detached garage. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $94,898. The current owners of record of the property are J. Guadalupe Dimayuga and Michelle Pettit De Dimayuga.

202 Duke Street: Built in 1974. The structure is a 1092 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are David M. Raasch and Kathleen A. Raasch. The 1879 city directory indicates that Roger Haley, a laborer, resided at the corner of Duke Street and Michigan Street.

222 Duke Street: Built in 1959. The structure is a 1032 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $83,900 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owner of record of the property is Tracy Lee Bergstedt.

228 Duke Street: Built in 1977. The structure is a 1092 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Donald M. Carlson and Frances B. Carlson. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anton Jobst, a laborer, and his wife, Anna Jobst, resided at the former nearby 230 Duke Street and that Albert Holly, an engineer employed by the Omaha Shops, and Katherine Holly, the widow of John Holly, resided at the former nearby 243 Duke Street. Anton Jobst (1881-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kisslinger, and died in Ramsey County. Anna Jobst (1884-1973) had a mother with a maiden name of Tauer and died in Ramsey County. Albert Holly ( -1936) died in Scott County, Minnesota. 245 Duke Street: Built in 1975. The structure is a 1092 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee of Louis J. Boedigheimer. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte H. Morgan (1880-1916,) the divorced sister of Jennie Hensgen, who was born in Wisconsin to parents born in England and in the United States and who died of myocarditis, resided at the nearby former 247 Duke Street in 1916. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Eliza Morgan resided at the former nearby 247 Duke Street. Elizabeth Morgan ( -1937) died in Ramsey County.

248 Duke Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 922 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ernest A. Olsen, a salesman employed by The Emporium department store, his wife, Nellie Olsen, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $56,000. The current owner of record of the property is Christine M. Ericson.

249 Duke Street: Built in 1894. The structure is a two story, 1972 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin E. Stoner, a salesman, and his wife, Georgianna Stoner, resided at this address. Edwin E. Stoner ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is the trustee of Joan M. Anderson.

250 Duke Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 592 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph F. Cirkl, a tinner with C. E. Parroitt, and his wife, Marie Cirkl, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $133,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Dadders Holdings LLC, located at 920 Atlantic Street, and the current owners of record of the property are Andrea Blake and Ken Blake, who reside in Woodbury, Minnesota. In 2004, the rental registration certificate for property at this address that was registered to Dadders Holdings LLC was revoked by the City of St. Paul.

251 Duke Street: Built in 1889. The structure is a 1374 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John P. Doffing, a laborer, resided at this address, that Mathias J. Doffing, a salesman employed by the Jewel Tea Company, boarded at this address, and that Claude Elmore, a clerk employed by G. Sommers & Company, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank S. Palachek, a sheet metal worker employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Mary Palachek, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Raymond F. Kielkucki. [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

253 Duke Street: Built in 1908. The structure is a two story, 1366 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph S. Zeleney, a deputy employed by the State Bureau of Oil Inspection, his wife, Sylvia Zeleney, John F. Zeleny, a car washer employed by the Standard Oil Company, and his wife, Elizabeth B. Zeleny, all resided at this address. The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Martin Nistler resided at this address. Sheila Eli resided at this address in 1999. The property was last sold for $69,900 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the property are Sheila K. Elie and Darren L. Wolfson.

254 Duke Street: Built in 1971. The structure is a 864 square foot, six room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Bruch and Nicholas Bruch, a flagman, both resided at this address and that William N. Bruch, a barber employed by Lofgren Brothers, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Victor Bacigalupo, a washer at J. C. Vander Bie Company, his wife, Ida Bacigalupo, Clarence F. Legel, a clerk employed by William H. Byrnes, and his wife, Elizabeth Legel, Margaret Mellon, a clerk, and Mrs. Catherine Mellon all resided at this address. Joseph V. Bacigalupo (1900-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John C. Vander Bie ( -1912,) William H. Byrnes ( -1942,) and Ida Bacigalupo ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Clarence F. Legel (1900-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Liebel, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret P. Mellon (1907-1979) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $185,500 and that sale occurred in 2005. The previous owners of record of the property were Mary Jo Bergholtz and Robert L. Bergholtz and the current owner of record of the property is Lucas N. Wondra.

257 Duke Street: Built in 1916. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1475 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Korlath, a foreman employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and his wife, Mary E. Korlath, resided at this address. John Korlath (1881-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Mary E. Korlath (1882-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Pomgan, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Daniel W. Baar. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

260 Duke Street: Built in 1916. The structure is a one story, 1294 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John J. Dejdar, a tinner employed by the Great Northern RailRoad Shops, resided at the rear of this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert Palechek/Palecek, a blacksmith employed by W. J. Westphal, a wagon manufacturer with a workshop located at 466 Wacouta Street, and his wife, Rose Palechek, and Edmund Vikla, a bookkeeper employed by May's Inc., and his wife, Helen Vikla, all resided at this address. Albert T. Palechek (1911-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kernel, and died in Ramsey County. Edmund Emmanuel Vikla (1907-1998) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Flicek, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $85,000. The current owner of record of the property is Hunter Robert Miley, who resides at 889 Lincoln Avenue. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

263 Duke Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1214 square foot, nine room, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Frank A. Zacher was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank A. Zacher, a machinist for the Omaha Shops, resided at this address and that Jennie Dubsky, a clerk, and Mayme E. Dubsky, a stenographer employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert J. Zacher, a police officer at the Central Station, his wife, Anna Zacher, Louis G. Hageman, a helper employed by Tilden Produce Company, and his wife, Helen Hageman, all resided at this address. There are remnants of the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad Shops, now the G. O. A. Corporation, on Randolph Avenue. Frank Albert Zacher (1920-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kulhanek, and died in Ramsey County. Albert J. Zacher ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. Louis George Hageman (1894-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tauges, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $104,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Mai Her, who resided at 919 Conway Street, and the current owner of record of the property is JT Horizon LLC of Eagan, Minnesota. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

264 Duke Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 1061 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran James D. Nagle, Jr., (1885- ), a Private, resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6386) indicate that James D. Nagle (1884- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in the 34th Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 8 1/2" tall, was a machinist at induction, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. James Nagle, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that James D. Nagle and James D. Nagle, Jr., both salesmen, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank R. Nagle, a machinist employed by the Omaha Shops, resided at this address. James Nagle ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Frank Nagle ( -1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Grines, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $115,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Heather M. Wahl. In 1879, James D. Nagle, a traveling agent employed by Fuller & Johnson, resided on the North side of Duke Street three addresses East of Grace Street. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

267 Duke Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1513 square foot, ten room, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mark Dawane, a laborer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Handshaw, a feeder employed by Land-O-Lakes Creameries, and his wife, Anna Handshaw, resided at this address. Land O'Lakes, Inc., was incorporated in 1921 as the Minnesota Cooperative Creameries Association and initially made butter from fresh, sweet cream and sold it in pound packages with individually wrapped sticks. In 1924, the association decided to expand its butter market, and a search was made for an appropriate brand name and trademark, with "Land O'Lakes" suggested by Mrs. E. B. Foss and Mr. George L. Swift. In 1926, the Minnesota Cooperative Creameries Association changed its corporate name to Land O'Lakes Creameries, Inc. In 1928, Land O'Lakes received a painting of an Indian maiden that, simplified and modernized by Jess Betlach, a nationally recognized illustrator, became the packaging and marketing design of the company. The company is located in Arden Hills, Minnesota, is owned by 7,000 producers and 1,300 local cooperatives, had annual sales over $6 billion in 2003 and employs over 6,000 workers. Members hold ownership in Land O' Lakes either as direct stockholders of the cooperative or as stockholders of one or more of the local cooperatives that hold Land O' Lakes stock. It is a leading marketer of a full line of dairy-based consumer, foodservice and food ingredient products across the United States. Henry Handshaw ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Anna Handshaw (1893-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Calahan, and died in Ramsey County. The City of St. Paul sold the property in 1995 as a splinter parcel. The current owner of record of the property is Doris C. Johnson.

268 Duke Street: Built in 1910. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1729 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Zalsky resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is David P. Messin.

271 Duke Street: Joseph Wenzl House; Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 1834 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Bacigalupo, a foreman at Purity Baking Company, and Douglas R. Eldridge, an installer with Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, and his wife, Mabel Eldridge, resided at this address. Louis Bacigalupo ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Louis Bacigalupo (1908-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Terrile, and died in Ramsey County. Douglas Robert Eldridge (1906-1987) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Miguel Martagon, Jr., and Sharron Lee Marie Martagon. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.]

274 Duke Street: Built in 1908. The structure is a one story, 994 square foot, six room, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John J. Cerny, a foreman, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Cerny, a laborer, and his wife, Josephine Cerny, Bernard Cerny, a clerk, and Dorothy Cerny, a clerk at Quality Package Box Company, resided at this address. John J. Cerny ( -1945) and Josephine H. Cerny ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. John J. Cerny (1914-1999) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bukala, and died in Ramsey County. Bernard J. Cerny (1910-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bakula, and died in Hennepin County. Dorothy Mary Cerny (1901-1993) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Harr, and died in Mower County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Peter R. Uehling and Ruth A. Uehling.

275 Duke Street: Built in 1905. The structure is a one story, 1345 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mathias Cikanek, a machinist, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mathias J. Cikanek, a machinist at the Omaha RailRoad Shops, and his wife, Anna Cikanek, resided at this address. Mathias J. Cikanek ( -1941) and Anna H. Cikanek ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Douglas B. Rose. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

280 Duke Street: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 1743 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold for $47,000 and that sale occurred in 1991. The current owners of record of the property are Catherine M. McMahon and Patrick B. McMahon.

281 Duke Street: Built in 1980. The structure is a 1707 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame split-level house, with a tuck-under basement garage. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $85,000. The current owners of record of the property are Kari M. Bright and Timothy R. Bright. The 1887 city directory indicates that F. S. G. Rochette resided at the former nearby 286 Duke Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Barbara Tesar (1855-1910,) the wife of Jacob Tesar, who was born in Bohemia to parents also born in Bohemia and who died of valvular heart disease, resided at the nearby former 286 Duke Street in 1910. Barbara Tesar ( -1910) died in Ramsey County.

287 Duke Street: Built in 1925. The structure is a 864 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph C. Miscera, an electrician employed by the Electric Supply & Construction Company, Edward Miscera, a helper employed by the Louis F. Dow Company, Helen Miscera, an operator employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, Mae Miscera, a houseworker, Joseph F. Miscera, and his wife, Elizabeth Miscera, resided at this address. Joseph C. Miscera (1898-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Florian, and died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Miscera ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $85,000. The current owner of record of the property is Adam A. Schreiber. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. Rochette resided at the former nearby 288 Duke Street and that Mr. and Mrs. S. Rochette resided at the former nearby 292 Duke Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Jacob Carg, a metal worker, resided at the former nearby 289 Duke Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 289 Duke Street was vacant and that Richard Hodnett, Thomas Hodnett, a laborer, and Mrs. Nellie Rogers, the widow of Patrick Rogers, all resided at the former nearby 292 Duke Street. Patrick Rogers ( -1924) and Richard Hodnett ( -1932) both died in Ramsey County. Richard Hodnett (1871-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Richard Hodnett (1905-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heatherston, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Thomas Hodnett ( -1938) died in Nicollet County, Minnesota. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.]

296 Duke Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 1532 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Vernon M. Gurney and Waren E. Gurney were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier’s Bonus Board (#29664) indicate that Robert A. Gurney (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company C of the 31st Regiment, Transportation Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 5 1/4" tall, was a brakeman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including St. Nazaire, was issued one gold service chevron, was a brakeman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Alfred L. Gurney, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Vernon Gurney was a sailor who resided at 1217 Juno and that Warren E. Gurney was a driver for United Farm Dairies and also resided at 1217 Juno. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Elsie C. Yench (1902-1920,) the wife of Emil C. Yench, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Austria and the United States and who died of a cerebral embolism, resided at the nearby former 330 Duke Street in 1920. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alice Strnad (1896-1920,) the daughter of Joseph F. Strnad, who was born in Wisconsin to parents born in Bohemia and who died of pulmonary aedema, resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Strnard, Josephine Strnard, a bookkeeper, and Mary A. Strnard, a teacher at the Franklin School, all resided at this address. Vernon M. Gurney ( -1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goulding, and died in Hennepin County. Warren E. Gurney ( -1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goulding, and died in Hennepin County. Robert A. Gurney (1893-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goulding, and died in Ramsey County. Alfred Gurney (1886-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goulding, and died in Cass County, Minnesota. Lewis R. Gurney (1904-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Goulding, and died in Ramsey County. Alice Strnad ( -1920) and Joseph F. Strnad ( -1932) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Valarie J. Wesley. The 1879 city directory indicates that James Hamer, a stone mason, resided at the nearby corner of Duke Street and Fort Road, that John Hamer, a cooper, boarded at the nearby corner of Duke Street and Fort Road, that Aloys Krieheisel, a laborer, resided at the nearby corner of Duke Street and Fort Road, that John Laubach, a brewer, resided on Duke Street near Fort Road, and that Peter Nettle, a clerk employed by Zahm & Mann, boarded on Duke Street near Fort Road. In 1918, Elsie Pinze was a machine operator employed by the American Grass Twine Company/Crex Carpet Company of New York, New York, earning $13.00 per week, and resided at the nearby former 330 Duke Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Stanley Arch, a machine operator employed by the Liberty Knitting Mills, boarded at the former nearby 330 Duke Street and that Adolph J. Davidson, a clerk employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, resided at the former nearby 298 Duke Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Simek resided at the former nearby 298 Duke Street, that Julius C. Hensler resided at the former nearby 309 Duke Street, that the Julius C. Hensler meat market was located at the former nearby 311 Duke Street, and that Joseph F. Myers resided at the former nearby 330 Duke Street. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Martin Hensler resided at the nearby former 309 Duke Street in 1937. Frank J. Simek (1885-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mushna, and died in Ramsey County. Julius Hensler (1884-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Benedict, and died in Ramsey County. [See the note for the American Grass Twine Company for 96 Bates Avenue.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

332 Duke Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 910 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow, with a detached, 838 square foot, aluminum/vinyl-sided garage, built in 1900. The 1930 city directory indicates that John R. Morton resided at this address. In 2005, Bradley Corty petitioned the the Board of Zoning Appeals of the City of St. Paul for two variances, splitting this lot between two houses (332 Duke Street and 334 Duke Street) so that each house is on its own lot of 25 feet in width instead of 40 feet and with a lot size of 3,000 square feet instead of 5,000 square feet. Two different sets of current owners of record of the property are listed by Ramsey County, Bradley Corty and Susan Simom, who reside at 332 Duke Street, and Catharine F. McEachern and David A. McEachern, who reside 687 Lincoln Avenue. In 1999, Bradley Corty was the subject of a lawsuit before the Minnesota Court of Appeals, State Farm Fire & Casualty Company vs. Frank S. Neises, C2-98-2299, where the court refused to impose liability under an umbrella insurance policy resulting from a 19 year old insured's acts in robbing a grave, mutilating a corpse, and discarding the remains both because the insured's intent to injure may be inferred as a matter of law and because the acts were willful and malicious. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rose Penas and Emil C. Yench both resided at the former nearby 330 Duke Street in 1920.

334 Duke Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 910 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco bungalow. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl R. Couve resided at this address. Sadie (Mrs. Carl) Couve ( -1924) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Damon Kirkendahl.

336 Duke Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1160 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bert T. Thompson, a driver employed by Murphy Transfer & Storage Company, and his wife, Signe Thompson, resided at this address. Bert Thompson ( -1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $49,900 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owner of record of the property is Choeun Chea.

338 Duke Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a 596 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry R. Peterson, an automobile mechanic, and his wife, Katherine Peterson, resided at this address. In 1995, the St. Paul City Council declared the property to be a nuisance property and ordered the removal or repair of the house. The current owner of record of the property is Choeun Chea, who resides at 336 Duke Street.

340 Duke Street: The property is a vacant residential lot. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John J. Hojicek resided at this address in 1893. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Schirer, a sweeper employed by the Omaha RailRoad Shops, and Frank Schirer, Jr., a welder employed by the Omaha Shops, resided at this address. In 1999, the City of St. Paul sold this property as a splinter lot. Frank Schirer ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Frank A. Schirer (1896-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Eichler, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Julie L. Cherveny and Todd W. Cherveny, who reside at 344 Duke Street. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

343 Duke Street: Built in 1906. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1959 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emil C. Novotny, proprietor of a sporting goods store located at 324 Jackson Street, and his wife, Mary C. Novotny, resided at this address. Emil C. Novotny (1879-1962) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Benjamin G. Morales.

344 Duke Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 1164 square foot, nine room, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Anton Vomela, a shoe rebuilder with a shop located at 119 West Winifred Street, his wife, Mary Vomela, Anthony Vomela, a clerk employed by G. Sommers & Company, and James Vomela, a laborer, resided at this address. In 1995, the City of St. Paul boarded up the house at this address, but this address was not listed as a boarded-up property in October, 2003. In 1995, Julie Cherveny owned this property. The current owners of record of the property are Julie L. Cherveny and Todd W. Cherveny. [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

347 Duke Street: Built in 1910. The structure is a one story, 1243 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. John H. Mlinar was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that John H. Mlinar was a clerk for Armour & Company and resided at 1508 Dayton and also indicates that Mary Fisher, a waiter at the Hotel Ryan, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew Milnar, a laborer, his wife, Anna Milnar, Charles Milnar, a tracer employed by the American Hoist & Derrick Company, and Ethel Milnar, a stenographer, resided at this address. John Mlinar (1886- ) was born in Slovakia, married Mary Boratko in Mengusovce, Slovakia, in 1894, emmigrated to the United States in 1903, and settled in the Twin Cities. John Mlinar and Mary Boratko Mlinar had seven children, who were Marie Mlinar, John (Tom) Mlinar, Paul C. Mlinar, Louis Mlinar, Minnie Mlinar, and Elmer Mlinar. John Mlinar had a brother, Joseph Mlinar, who emigrated in 1910, married Louise Butcher, and changed his name to Milnar. Mary Mlinar ( -1956) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. John H. Mlinar ( -1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. Joseph Milnar (1883-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Mary D. Fisher ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $153,000. The current owners of record of the property are David R. Carson and Heidi K. Carson. [See note on Philip Danforth Armour and Armour & Company for 3 Alice Court.] [See note for the American Hoist & Derrick Company for 2010 Summit Avenue.]

348 Duke Street: Built in 1886. The structure is a two story, 1880 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. In 1918, Anna Sherman (1900- ) was a mender employed by the American Grass Twine Company/Crex Carpet Company of New York, New York, earning $9.18 per week, and resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Josephine Beckman, the widow of Barthe Beckman, and Thomas Dielehner, a trunkmaker employed by the F. V. Garland Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Josephine Beckman, the widow of Bartholomew Beckman, Charles Holicky, a laborer, and his wife, Emily Holicky, all resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $24,000. The current owners of record of the property are Garth Bergman and Catherine A. O'Meara. [See the note for the American Grass Twine Company for 96 Bates Avenue.]

353 Duke Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 765 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Theo N. Kasel, a laborer employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Elizabeth Kasel, resided at this address. Theodore N. Kasel ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth D. Kasel (1892-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Laff, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $35,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owner of record of the property is Jeffery T. Delisle as trustee.

354 Duke Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1843 square foot, eight room, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. In 1918, Rose Palecek (1898- ,) a weaver employed by the American Grass Twine Company/Crex Carpet Company of New York, New York, earning $13.00 per week, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Victor Bacigalupo, a washer employed by J. C. Vander Bie Company, and his wife, Ida Bacigalupo, and Gabriel Swoba all resided at this address. Joseph V. Bacigalupo (1900-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $183,000. The current owners of record of the property are Denise N. Johnson and David K. Wickiser. [See the note for the American Grass Twine Company for 96 Bates Avenue.]

363 Duke Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1029 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stanley Stubeda, a furrier employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Josephine Stubeda, resided at this address. Stanley L. Stubeda (1898-1962) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $142,500. The current owner of record of the property is Matthew W. Gorrell. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Zeleny resided at the former nearby 364 Duke Street. John F. Zeleny (1887-1962) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

367 Duke Street: Built in 2001. The structure is a two story, 1232 square foot, eight room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward J. Prospal, a mech dentist employed by William D. Hurley, and his wife, Lucy Prospal, resided at this address. Edward J. Prospal (1896-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hammer, and died in Ramsey County. William D. Hurley (1886-1964) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nugent, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Cristine Lassier.

368 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a two story, 1632 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Deeg (1890-1911,) the wife of John Charles Deeg, who was born in the United States to parents born in Bohemia and who died of vulvular heart disease, resided at this address in 1911. Oakland Cemetery Association records also indicate that Marcella Anna Deeg (1911-1911,) the daughter of John Charles Deeg, who was born in the United States to parents who were also born in the United States and who died of asthenia-acute enteritis 13 days after her mother died, resided at this address in 1911. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Hammer, a trunkmaker employed by the Capitol Trunk Company, and his wife, Mary Hammer, resided at this address. Mary Deeg ( -1911,) Mariella Anna Deeg ( -1911,) John C. Deeg ( -1915,) and Mary Hammer ( -1941) all died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Guoy Kinfu and Tsegai W. Tekle.

369 Duke Street: Built in 1922. The structure is a one story, 1859 square foot, ten room, three bedroom, two bathroom, brick duplex, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry M. Jandrich/Jandrek, a draftsman employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Emma Jandrich, resided at this address. Henry M. Jandrich ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. Emma M. Jandrich (1892-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kotlaba, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $205,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The previous owners of record of the property were Frank Joseph Bender and Kwinci Kelly Bender and the current owner of record is the J. P. Morgan Chase Bank NA of San Diego, California. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

370 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a one story, 1123 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Mr. and Mrs. Frank Hayek resided at this address in 1918. World War I veterans Edward Hayek (1892- ,) a Corporal, Frank Hayek (1890- ,) a Private, and Otto Hayek (1894- ,) a Cook, resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14640) indicate that Frank Hayek (- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in the 309th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a teamster at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was employed by the American Railway Express after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. Frank Hayek, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank Hayek was a laborer who resided at this address and that Frank Hayek, Jr., a driver for the American Railway Express, George F. Hayek, a baker for the Federal S of B, Henry Hayek, a pressfeeder at the Warner Ticket Company, Lillian Hayek, a helper, Mamie A. Hayek, a helper at the Pioneer Company, Otto Hayek, a car repairer at the Omaha Shops, and William Hayek, a laborer, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Hayek, a laborer employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Emma Hayek, Dorothy Hayek, a bookkeeper employed by the City Motor Supply Company, Henry Hayek, a pressfeeder employed by the McGill-Warner Company, Theo Hayek, a pressfeeder employed by McGill-Warner Company, and William Hayek all resided at this address. Frank Hayek (1859-1938), was born in Bohemia, immigrated to the United States in 1880, married Emma Dvorak Hayek in 1883, was a laborer at a steam railroad shop, was the father of 13 children, Mayme Hayek (Mrs. Frank) Hafner (1886- ,) Frank Hayek, Jr. (1888- ,) Edward Hayek (1890- ,) Otto Hayek (1891- ,) Adolf Hayek (1894- ,) Anthony Hayek (1895- ,) Jeanette Hayek (Mrs. Edward) Adamek (1897- ,) George Hayek (1898-1937,) William Hayek (1903- ,) Henry Hayek (1904- ,) Lillian Hayek (Mrs. Earl) Grapp (1906- ,) Theodor (Hyak) Hayek (1909- ,) and Dorothy (Mrs. Richard) Hoadly/Hoadley (1912- ,) and resided at this address in 1938. Emma Dvorak Hayek (1865-1949) married Frank Hayek, was a long-term resident at this address, was a member of C.S.D.P.J. Lodge #3 and Lodge Orel No. 69 of the Western Bohemian Fraternal Association/Czech Society of America, and was the mother of 13 children, of which seven were surviving in 1949, Otto Hayek, Henry Hayek, Mrs. Frank Hafner, Mrs. Edward Adamek, Mrs. Earl Grapp, Mrs. Dorothy Hoadly, and Theodore Hayek. George Hayek (1898-1937,) was the son of Frank Hayek, had five brothers and four sisters, married Isabella Marie Johans Hayek in 1922, was the father of three daughters, Rosemary Hayek (Mrs. LeRoy Henry) Perron (1923-1994) who resided at 275 Erie Street, Elizabeth M. Hayek (Mrs. Vance) Atkins (1924-1983,) and Margaret G. Hayek (Mrs. Max Palmer) Rickabaugh, and one son, Edward Henry Hayek, owned Jerabek's Bakery, located at 63 West Winifred Street, and resided at 258 Nugent Street in 1937. Isabella Marie Johans (1922-1970) was the daughter of Henry Johans and Anna Ricklick Johans of Jordan, Scott County, Minnesota. The McGill-Warner Company was a St. Paul book publisher, a map printer, and a bank note printer from at least 1897 to at least 1950 and it also was the printer for the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1923. Otto A. Hayek (1894-1959) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George Hayek ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Edward Adamek (1890-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bakish, and died in Ramsey County. Mayme A. Hafner (1887-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dvorak, and died in Ramsey County. Lillian Grapp (1905-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Devorak, and died in Ramsey County. Earl F. Grapp (1899-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dreher, and died in Ramsey County. Rosemary Perron (1923-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johans, and died in Ramsey County. Leroy H. Perron (1921-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Le May, and died in Ramsey County. Henry Johans ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Anna M. Johans (1892-1995) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Shirek, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are True Vue and Waneng J. Yang. [See note for the American Railway Express Company for 47 Douglas Street.]

373 Duke Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a one story, 839 square foot, five room, two bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James J. Hurtak (1882-1914,) the husband of Rosa J. Hurtak, who was born in Bohemia to parents also born in Bohemia and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1914. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#20459) indicate that Joseph Klament/Klainert (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company I of the 357th Infantry, who was born in Ostrank, Russia, moved to Minnesota in 1912, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 5 1/8" tall, was a butcher at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including St. Mihiel, suffered shrapnel wounds in the arm, shoulder, chest, and left thigh, was a student at the Rasmussen Business College after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Schwartz, a helper employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Violet Schwartz, resided at this address. James J. Hurtak (1905-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sterba, and died in Ramsey County. Rosa Hurtak ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $59,921. The current owner of record of the property is Barbara A. Machones. [See note on the Battle of Saint-Mihiel for 614 Portland Avenue.]

374 Duke Street: Built in 1875. The structure is a two story, 1160 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James W. Honsa (1854-1894,) of Austrian heritage, and who died of phthisis, and his wife resided at this address in 1894. The 1895 city directory indicates that Frank Honsa, a helper at F. A. Theim, and Mary Honsa, the widow of James W. Honsa, resided at this address and that John Honsa, a binder for the Pioneer Press, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Thomas Honsa (1882-1908,) the unmarried son of Mary Honsa, who was born in St. Paul to parents born in Bohemia and who died of acute pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1908. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Honsa resided at this address in 1908. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rudolph Honsa (1889-1909,) the single son of Mary Honsa, who was born in St. Paul to parents also born in Bohemia and who died of tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1909. Thomas Honsa was the son of Mary Honsa. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Honsa, the widow of James Honsa, James Honsa, a driver, Mrs. Effie Ruff, George V. Lechner, a checker employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Marie Lechner, resided at this address. The Honsa burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Corporal Thomas Honsa of Company "L" of the 45th U. S. Volunteer Infantry, Thomas Honsa (1882-1908,) Rudolph Honsa (1892-1909,) Mary Honsa (1855-1934,) and James Honsa (1878-1936.) Nearby, to the West, is another Honsa burial plot in Oakland Cemetery, which includes the graves of John J. Honsa (1874-1945,) John Honsa (1882-1929,) John Honsa, Jr. (1903-1940,) Adolph Honsa (1905-1956,) and Elsie Honsa (1900-1952.) Joseph Honsa (1877-1894,) of Bohemian heritage who died of tuberculosis, was the son of James W. Honsa. Frank Honsa ( -1918,) Mary Honsa ( -1934,) and John Honsa ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. George V. Lechner (1890-1976) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heibegger, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $93,000. The current owners of record of the property are Andrew D. Roberto and Michael C. Roberto, who reside at 1239 Palace Avenue. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

377 Duke Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 1742 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Anthony P. Kraft resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Anthony Kraft, a butcher at J. T. McMillan Company, resided at 774 Logan. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Zwack, a butcher employed by J. T. McMillan Company, his wife, Mary Zwack, and George Zwack, a helper employed by the Electric Fixture Mart, all resided at this address. Peter M. Zwach (1888-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $189,000. The current owners of record of the property are Caroline Musolf and Joseph W. Musolf. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph B. Novotny, a chipper employed by Valley Iron Works, and his wife, Christine Novotny, resided at the former nearby 377 1/2 Duke Street. Christine M. Novotny (1905-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Khline, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

382 Duke Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1954 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank J. Bakula, a machinist, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Prospal, the widow of John J. Prospal, and Mrs. Lucille Bakula both resided at this address. John J. Prospal ( -1917) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Mary A. Prospal ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Bruce Behrouz Nader. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ferdinand Urbach (1843-1905,) the father of Frank Urbach, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of apoplexy, resided at the nearby former 383 Duke Street in 1905. The 1930 city directory indicates that James Nash resided at the former nearby 383 Duke Street. Ferdinand Urbach (1843-1905) was born in Germany and died in Ramsey County. Frank Urbach ( -1926) died in Ramsey County.

385 Duke Street: Built in 1925. The structure is a 760 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Blonick, the widow of John Blonick, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Donato Tessmer. Ann Lois Blonick (1909-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Spatgen, and died in Ramsey County. John Blonick ( -1941) died in Ramsey County.

386 Duke Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 838 square foot, eight room, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. John Hazuka and Mary Hazuka, the parents of World War I veteran Frank J. Hazuka, resided at this address in 1918. Frank J. Hazuka was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#21784) indicate that Frank J. Hazuka (1887- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Battery A of the 333rd Field Artillery, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was a book binder at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a book binder employed by Brown & Bigelow after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mary Hazuka, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank J. Hazuka, a bookbinder at Brown & Bigelow, Inc., and John Hazuka, a porter for Pittsburgh Plate Glass Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Marie Hazuka, the widow of John Hazuka, resided at this address. Frank J. Hazuka (1887-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kottaba, and died in Ramsey County. John W. Hazuka (1883-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kotlieba, and died in Ramsey County. Marie Hazuka ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $219,900 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Richard Meisch and Diane S. Tanabe.

387 Duke Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 1042 square foot, six room, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank Hazuka, a machinist, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Katherine Urban, the widow of Andrew E. Urban, resided at this address. In 1879, Frank Hazuka, a collarmaker, resided on the Upper Levee (River Flats.) Frank Hazuka ( -1923) died in Ramsey County. Frank J. Hazuka (1887-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kottaba, and died in Ramsey County. Katherine Urban ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $143,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Christi A. Solie and Steven Solie and the current owner of record of the property is Laura L. Muzetras.

388 Duke Street: Built in 1882. The structure is a 973 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Clarence Amos, a painter, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Steffanus resided at this address. Frank J. J. Steffanus (1893-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stepan, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Mary C. Wingerd.

390 Duke Street: Built in 1882. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1510 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Wolf resided at this address. John Andrew Wolf ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. John Wolf (1898-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weber, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Dennis M. McConville.

391 Duke Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a 640 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The 1920 city directory indicates that Jos Alms, a baker, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Salus, a baker employed by the Golden Rule, and his wife, Antoinette Salus, resided at this address. Joseph Salus (1892-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Washington County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Joseph J. Alpert and Mary Jo Alpert, who reside in Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

392 Duke Street: Built in 2002. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2070 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame condominium, with a detached garage. The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Thomas Acker resided at this address. The current owner of record is Mary E. Esch.

395 Duke Street: Built in 1903. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1520 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Emma Zalesky (1893-1920,) the wife of Charles Zalesky, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Bohemia and who died of broncho-pneumonia, resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Hamer, his wife, Katherine Hamer, and Alf M. Schommer, a squadman employed by Squad Company No. 2, and his wife, Clara Schommer, all resided at this address. Emma Zalesky ( -1920,) Charles Zalesky ( -1936,) and John Frank Hamer ( -1945) all died in Ramsey County. Katherine E. Hamer (1877-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Masek, and died in Ramsey County. Alfred Matthre Schommer (1895-1979) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Andrea J. Friesen and Christian J. Friesen.

398 Duke Street: Melchior Funk and Wilhelmina Funk House; Built in 1887; Italianate in style with Neoclassical details; Moritz L. Weiser, architect. The house originally cost $10,000. The structure now is a condominium building. Unit #A is a 1408 square foot, six room, two bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage, which is currently owned by William E. Johansen. Unit #B is a 1385 square foot, five room, two bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage, which is currently owned by Jeanne A. Shydlowski. Unit #C is a 1073 square foot, four room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage, which was last sold in 2002 for $189,000 and which is currently owned by Donald H. Ertl and Jeanne L. Ertl. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Melchior Funk resided at this address in 1890 and 1891. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Wilhelmine Funk (1849-1926,) the widowed mother of Emma Funk, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of chronic myocarditis, resided at this address in 1926. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emma Funk resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Melchior Funk resided at this address in 1974, that the Duke Nursing Home was located at this address from 1956 to 1970, and that the Homestead Care Home was located at this address from 1971. Melchior Funk (1828-1893) established the Melchoir Funk Brewery in 1865, near the corner of Colborn/Colborne and Cascade, and, by 1881, the brewery was producing 2,000 barrels annually and was housed in a two story stone building. Sons Charles Funk, William Funk, and John Funk continued to operate the brewery until it folded in 1901. Whilhelmina Funk and the three sons lived in this house until at least 1900. In 1998, Lisa Lovelace resided at this address and the owner of record of the property in 1998 was Bob Hillman. This address was part of the $5.6 million "Brewery Breakthrough" redevelopment of the former Schmidt brewery area in 1998-2000, where 29 homes were rehabbed and another 22 upscale town houses were built, but evicting many of the former rental property residents in the area. Henry Funk (1882-1890) also was the son of Melchior Funk and died of pneumonia. Wilhelmine Funk ( -1926) died in Ramsey County. Emma Funk ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Emma Funk (1874-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jahnke, and died in Ramsey County. In 1972, Phillip Robert "Bob" Hillman, a former race car driver and mechanic, operated FamilyStyle Homes, a real estate firm that purchased declining nearby housing stock and converted them into communal quarters for deinstitutionalized mental patients. The organization gave rise to zoning disputes with neighbors, resulting in Familystyle v. City of St. Paul, 923 F.2d 91 (8th Cir. 1991), where the enforcement of a spacing rule under a rational basis review was upheld.

399 Duke Street: Built in 1887. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1727 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward Kowalsky, Walter Kowalsky, a laborer employed by the St. Paul Department of Parks, Theo Schipp, a chauffeur, and his wife, Pelagia Schipp, all resided at this address. John Graves, who resided at this address, along with Irina E. Braginsky of Eagan, Minnesota, Randy Hasse of St. Michael, Minnesota, Leola K. Henry of Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, Jalayne Martin of Roseville, Minnesota, and Cara Yarusso of Eagan, Minnesota, invented a scoopable dough and was awarded an international patent. Theodore Schipp (1882-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $133,000. The current owner of record of the property is Margaret A. Thomsen.

403 Duke Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a two story, 1562 square foot, six room, three bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank P. Mitchell, of English extraction, resided at this address in 1898. The 1920 city directory indicates that Agnes E. Blonick, a clerk employed by the Webb Publishing Company, Elizabeth Blonick, a teacher employed by the Rasmussen Practical Business School, and Eugene F. Blonick, an apprentice employed by the Omaha Shops, all boarded at this address and Frank Blonick, a car repairer employed by the Omaha Shops, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank Blonick, a blacksmith employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, his wife, Antoinette Blonick, Eugene F. Blonick, a machinist, and his wife, Anna Blonick, all resided at this address. Frank P. Mitchell was the father of Gladys Mitchell. Frank Blonick ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Eugene F. Blonick (1900-1976) had a mother with a maiden name of Vanura and died in Ramsey County. Ann Lois Blonick (1909-1992) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Spatgen, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Patricia C. Bohaty. [See the note for Webb Publishing for 291 Goodrich Avenue.] [For more information on Rasmussen College, see 1173 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

404 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1728 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The property was last sold in 2006 with a sale price of $240,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Matthew C. Mohs and Meghan Kelly Mohs and the current owner of record of the property is Martha J. Aby.

406 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1728 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $148,954. The current owner of record of the property is John B. Tschida. John Tschida is the Head Coach of the University of St. Thomas Softball team, has won three national championships, became the all-time winningest Division III coach, and became the first softball coach to win NCAA National Championships at two different schools.

407 Duke Street: Built in 1916. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1342 square foot, six room, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Annie Brozek, the widow of John Brozek, resided at this address and that Mary Brozek, a helper, and Soffie Brozek, a helper, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Oper, a blacksmith employed by the Omaha Shops, his wife, Lena Oper, Rose Oper, a clerk, George Byron, a driver for the St. Paul Department of Public Works, and his wife, Eleanore Byron, all resided at this address. John F. Oper ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Lena E. Oper (1878-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Prokesh, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $185,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owner of record of the property is John F. Torres IV, who resides in Downers Grove, Illinois.

408 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1880 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $180,015. The current owners of record of the property are Dale A. State and Nancy C. State.

412 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1728 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The Brueggeman family reportedly once resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank E. Chytracek, a heater employed at the Omaha Shops, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Allan G. Poucher, a carpenter, his wife, Bernice Poucher, John T. Quinn, a St. Paul police officer, and his wife, Mary B. Quinn, all resided at this address. In 1998, the property was rezoned RT-2 by the City of St. Paul to allow for the construction of townhomes. In 2005, Pat Igo was located at this address and was appointed to the Ramsey County Special Board of Appeal and Equalization by the Ramsey County manager. Allan G. Poucher (1905-1971) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Bernice G. Poucher (1902-1990) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jasinska, and died in Ramsey County. John T. Quinn (1880-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Corboy, and died in Hennepin County. Mary Bernadine Quinn (1903-2000) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dorgan, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $255,500 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owner of record of the property is Joan Sykora. [See note on Martin Bruggeman and Bruggeman's Brewery for 308 South Cherokee Avenue.]

413 Duke Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a two story, 1136 square foot, four room, one bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Florence Dvorak, a clerk, Julia Dvorak, a clerk, and Theo Dvorak, a boxmaker employed by J. T. McMillan Company, all boarded at this address and that Frank E. Dvorak, a sander employed by C. Gotzian & Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank E. Dvorak/Dvorack, a shoe worker at O'Donnell Shoe Company, and his wife, Minnie Dvorak, Edward F. Dvorak, a laborer employed by Minnesota Transfer RailRoad, Florence Dvorak, an operator at O'Donnell Shoe Company, Theo F. Dvorak, a helper, William J. Dvorak, an assistant foreman, Wilma Dvorak, an apprentice for E. Albrecht & Son, and Augusta Dvorak, a helper at J. T. McMillan Company, resided at this address. Frank E. Dvorak (1896-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jezek, and died in Ramsey County. Minnie Dvorak ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Florence Minnie Dvorak (1910-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Falk, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. William John Dvorak (1910-1988) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Falk, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $16,000. The current owner of record of the property is Timothy A. Johnson. [See note for Minnesota Transfer RailRoad.] [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

414 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1728 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $154,290. The current owner of record of the property is Craig J. Lee.

416 Duke Street: Built in 2000. The structure is a 1880 square foot, seven room, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided condominium/rowhouse, with a two car tuck-under garage. The property was last sold for $199,900 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Susanne M. Holderreid.

417 Duke Street: Built in 1895. The structure is a one story, 773 square foot, five room, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert Samec, a janitor employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Mary Samec, resided at this address. Albert J. Samec ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $54,000. The current owner of record of the property is Alan R. Meyer.

448 Duke Street: The structure is a vacant residential lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Wicher resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Susan E. Nichols and William F. Nichols, who reside at 1588 Middleton Avenue. The 1895 city directory indicates that Frank Beulke, a collarmaker employed by the P. L. Hardenbergh Company, and Mrs. Lora Beulke, a dressmaker, both resided at the nearby former 430 Duke Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Urszula Janaszak, the widow of Anton Janaszak, resided at the former nearby 505 Duke Street. Frank C. Beulke ( -1942) and Urszula Janaszak ( -1945) both died in Ramsey County.

177 Eagle Street: The property is a vacant lot owned by the City of St. Paul. In 1879, Mathais Jansen, a milkman, resided at the former nearby 75 Eagle Street, Richard Lewis, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 37 Eagle Street, and Mrs. Clara Morton resided at 52 Eagle Street.

184 Eagle Street: The property is a vacant lot owned by the City of St. Paul.

223-229 Eagle Parkway: J. M. Armstrong House/Armstrong-Quinlan House. Built in 1884 (1886 according to Marvin Windows;) Edward Payson Bassford, original architect; Benshoof Construction, renovation contractor. The $2.8 million restoration contains four condominium units. Unit #1 is a 1761 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Armstrong Quinlan LLC. Unit #2 is a 2267 square foot, four room, two bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Armstrong Quinlan LLC. Unit #3 is a 1943 square foot, four room, two bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Armstrong Quinlan LLC. Unit #4 is a 919 square foot, four room, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Armstrong Quinlan LLC. John Milton Armstrong had the house built as a duplex to be rented to the laborers or tradesmen looking for affordable rental housing. The house was built on land, 233-235 West Fifth Street, that he had inherited from his late brother, George Armstrong. In 1943, the Armstrong family sold the house to John Gordon and Dorothy Bloomquist Gordon. Gordon Larson and Helen Larson bought the house in 1948 and converted it into Key Hospital for Recovering Alcoholics. In 1949, Bertha Quinlan bought the property, converted it into a nursing home, and operated the Quinlan Nursing Home. In the early 1950's, the house was returned to the Larsons who continued to manage the nursing home. By the mid-1950's, commercial establishments overtook the neighborhood, and ultimately, the distinctive house became the only residence in the area. Laura Reynolds and David Reynolds purchased the house in 1982, operating it as a board and care facility for seven years. In the late 1980's, the businesses near the house on Cleveland Circle moved and those buildings were demolished. The neighborhood changed, stranding the house in a commercial district. The J. M. Armstrong House was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. In 1987, the State of Minnesota bought the house as a potential site for the Minnesota Center For The Arts Education. When a Golden Valley, Minnesota, site was selected for the Perpich School for the Arts, the Armstrong House fell into disrepair, steadily deteriorated, and was boarded up. The City of St. Paul, desiring the site for development, bought and moved the 900 ton house to Eagle Parkway in 2001, at a cost of $2 million, placing it on a new foundation. John Milton Armstrong (1875-1945,) the sixth child of George Washington Armstrong (1827- ) and Jane Caroline ("Jenny") Colman/Coleman Armstrong, was born in St. Paul, attended the St. Paul public schools and the University of Minnesota, graduated from the Medical School of University of Minnesota in 1901, was a member of the Chi Psi fraternity, was a member of the Nu Sigma Nu fraternity, was a physician, interned at St. Joseph Hospital from 1901 to 1902, established a practice in Montgomery, Minnesota, in 1902, returned to St. Paul, was St. Paul's assistant commissioner of health from 1907 until 1911, resided at the Angus Hotel in 1907, officed at the Lowry Building in 1907 and in 1916, joined the Medical Reserve Corps in 1909, married Ida Dulany Dobyns (1880- ) in 1909 in Shelbina, Missouri, was the president of the Ramsey County Medical Society in 1914, was an instructor in dermatology at the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1916, was commissioned a first lieutenant in 1911 and a captain in 1918, was the president of the Minnesota Society for the Study of Medical History from 1935 to 1937, was the president of the Minnesota Academy of Medicine (1941,) was the vice-president of the Medical Library Association in 1939, was a member of the Minnesota State Medical Association, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society Executive Council, was a member of the University Club, was a member of the Minnesota Pathological Society, and was a member of the Minnesota Dermatological Society. John Milton Armstrong and Ida Dulany Dobyns Armstrong had four children, Jane Armstrong, Anne Armstrong, Elizabeth Armstrong, and John Milton Armstrong, Jr. John Milton Armstrong was the author of The Asiatic Cholera in St. Paul, of The First American Medical Journals, of "Edward Purcell, First Physician of Minnesota" in Annals of Medical History 7 (1935,) and of "An Introduction to the History of Medicine in Minnesota" in Minnesota Medicine 21 (1938.) George Washington Armstrong (1827-1877) was the sixth child of John Armstrong, Jr. (1793-1865,) and Elizabeth McKaig Armstrong, was born in Ohio, apprenticed in the printing trade on the Mt. Vernon, Ohio, Banner, served as the paper's joint editor and proprietor from 1847 to 1850, moved to Keokuk, Iowa, in 1850, where he owned and published a local newspaper, married Anna Miller ( -1852) in 1852, married Jane Caroline Colman (1838- ) in 1859, moved to St. Paul in 1853, where he engaged in the real estate, insurance, and loan business, was appointed Minnesota territorial commissary general in 1856, was appointed Minnesota territorial treasurer in 1857, served as elected Minnesota's first state treasurer from 1857 through 1860, was a Ramsey County Notary Public in 1868, and died of a stroke in St. Paul. George W. Armstrong and Jane Armstrong had seven children, George Coleman Armstrong, William Newington Armstrong ( -1898,) James Douglas Armstrong, Caroline Isabel Armstrong Robinson ( -1941,) Thomas Miller Armstrong, John Milton Armstrong, and Albert Armstrong (1877- .) George Washington Armstrong resided at the former 252 Summit Avenue in 1869. James Douglas Armstrong (1866- ,) the son of George W. Armstrong and Jane C. Coleman Armstrong, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1885, attended the University of Minnesota from 1885 to 1886 and the University of Michigan from 1887 to 1889, was a rodman employed by the Duluth & Manitoba RailRoad in 1885, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota, was assistant general solicitor employed by the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad from 1890 to 1895, was a member of law firm of Hadley & Armstrong, the general solicitors for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad and attorneys for the Union Depot Company, from 1895 to 1900, was a partner in the law firm of Armstrong & Begg from 1902 until 1903, was appointed to the St. Paul city charter commission in 1903, was a St. Paul College of Law instructor in 1904, was elected Ramsey County Bar Association president in 1905, was appointed the Great Northern Railway Company attorney in 1906, was the general attorney for the Great Northern Railway Company from 1910 to 1912, was the counsel for Great Northern Iron Ore Properties from 1912, was elected vice-president of the Merchant's Trust and Savings Bank in 1915, was a member of the Minnesota Club, and was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club. James D. Armstrong ( -1939) resided at 506 Grand Hill from 1896 to 1931 and died in Ramsey County. George W. Armstrong (1827- ) was born in Ohio, learned the printing trade with the Ohio Statesman, became an editor of the Mount Vernon, Ohio, Democratic Banner, then became a proprietor of the Keokuk, Iowa, Constitution, moved to St. Paul in 1853, was appointed Territorial Treasurer in 1855, was elected State Treasurer in 1857, and was engaged in real estate and money lending. In 1879, Wenzel Neid, a tailor employed by Louis Fischer, resided on the West side of Eagle Street between Franklin Street and Washington Street. John E. Wiener, Sr., and Mary Wiener, the parents of World War I veteran John E. Wiener, resided at the nearby former 269 Eagle Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10432) indicate that Joe Luvinski (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in Company I of the 144th Infantry, who was born in Cracow, Austria, moved to Minnesota in 1905, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a cook at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a cook employed by George Alverdes after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at the nearby former 301 Eagle Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#20307) indicate that Louis I. La Barre (1887- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in 33rd Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a reddy complexion, was 5' 6" tall, was a marble worker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a marble worker employed by the Drake Marble & Tile Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Eliza La Barre, at the nearby former 297 Eagle Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#21834) indicate that John E. Wiener (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Second Detachment of the Second Provisional Regiment of the E. M. P., who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, black hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 4 1/4" tall, was an oiler at induction, was issued one bronze Victory button, was a brush maker employed by Maendler Brothers after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, John E. Wiener, Sr., at the nearby former 269 Eagle Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Thomas F. Allen, a driver, John Burlington, a laborer, and Joseph Cerkvantz, a car cleaner employed by the Soo Line RailRoad, all resided at the former nearby 242 Eagle Street, that Gust Ales, a manager employed at 161 West Seventh Street, and Mrs. Mary Ales, also employed at 161 West Seventh Street, both resided at the former nearby 287 Eagle Street, that Eugene Buchanan, a cook, resided at the former nearby 240 Eagle Street, that Capital City Trained Animal Shows, a business owned by Eugene Viola and Henry Raade, was located at the nearby former 242 Eagle Street, that Nicholas Cortesia, a musician, was located at the nearby former 275 Eagle Street, that Joseph Craig, a laborer, resided at the nearby former 301 Eagle Street, and that Edward J. Davis, a chauffeur employed by T. B. McCue, boarded at the former nearby 297 Eagle Street.

319 Eagle Street: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 40,518 square foot, commercial building. The current owner of record is Robert L. Walsh, who is located at 216 West Seventh Street.

256 Elm Street: Built in 1978. The structure is a two story, 1274 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Parker, Mrs. R. Hunter, F. W. Hunter, Mrs. S. C. Freeman, Russell Freeman, D. W. Freeman, and Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Walsh resided at the corner of Elm Street and Exchange Street. Russell E. Freeman (1907-1983) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $238,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Areef Ishani and Shelina Ishani and the current owner of record is Susan L. Hammersten. Areef Ishani, M.D., practices Internal Medicine and Nephrology in Minneapolis, is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, is a physician at the Minneapolis Veterans Administration Hospital, and is the author of the paper "The Long-term consequences of acute postoperative changes in serum creatinine: a work in progress" and of the paper "A multicentered randomized controlled trial to determine the efficacy of disease management for diabetes." The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Cathcart, A. Cathcart, and John Cathcart all resided at the former nearby 251 Elm Street. Alexander H. Cathcart (1820-1899) was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, apprenticed in a retail dry goods business in 1831, moved to Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 1841, then moved to New York City, then moved to St. Paul in 1850, was a charter member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, was elected a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1856, served on the executive committee of the Minnesota Historical Society from 1864 until 1870, and operated a retail dry goods business.

260 Elm Street: Built in 1978. The structure is a two story, 1524 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The property was last sold for $107,500 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owners of record of the property are Charles H. Eversman and Patricia G. Eversman.

262 Elm Street: Built in 1978. The structure is a two story, 1274 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Parker, Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Webb, Mrs. R. Hunter, F. W. Hunter, Mrs. S. C. Freeman, Russell Freeman, and D. W. Freeman all resided near the corner of Exchange Street and Elm Street. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $62,259. The current owner of record of the property is Constance D. Aligada. Constance Aligada, ACSW, was the 2006 Minnesota "Social Worker of the Year" award recipient. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building at the former nearby 268 Elm Street were John Olson (Apartment #1,) Arthur A. Geis, a molder, and his wife, Emma Geis (Apartment #2,) Henry Morearty (Apartment #3,) and Fred H. Boldt, a painter, and his wife, Ella Boldt (Apartment #4.) Arthur Adam Geis (1903-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hennen, and died in Scott County, Minnesota. Emma M. Geis (1903-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Franzen, and died in Scott County, Minnesota. Henry Edward Morearty ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Fred Henry Boldt (1902-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Liesteko, and died in Ramsey County. Ella H. Boldt (1904-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Walseter, and died in Ramsey County. Ella A. Boldt (1901-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Halsa, and died in Ramsey County.

349 Emma Street: Built in 1880 (in 1886 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 1242 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The house was built by Albert Bernesky, who was a Czech immigrant. Frank Slipka, the grandson of Albert Bernesky, eventually purchased the house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank E. Slipka, a laborer employed by Minnesota Transfer RailRoad, and his wife, Rose Slipka, resided at this address. Frank Slipka, a clerk employed by Brown, Treacy & Sperry Company, boarded at 342 West St. Clair Avenue in 1910. Frank Slipka, Henry Slipka, James Slipka, and John Slipka, the sons of Franz Slipka and Mary Buresh Slipka, resided together in St. Paul in 1885. Henry Joseph Slipka (1890-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Honza, and died in McLeod County, Minnesota. James Slipka ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Albert J. Bernatsky (1896-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sattler, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Herman Slipka (1857-1930) was born in Bohemia, married Rose Bernatsky in 1884 in Ramsey County, and the couple had six children, Joseph G. Slipka (1885-1966), Rose Slipka (1886-1980), Albert J. Slipka (1890-1971), Frank G. Slipka (1894-1978), May E. Slipka (1897-1971), and Fred Slipka (1901-1975). Joseph Herman Slipka was the son of Franz Frederick "Frank" Slipka (1828- ) and Mary Buresh Slipka (1833-1919.) Rose Bernatsky Slipka was the daughter of Albert A. Bernatsky and Anna Bernatsky. Anna Bernatsky ( -1921) and Anna Bernatsky ( -1927) both died in Ramsey County. Joseph G. Slipka married Adeline Karkosch. Rose Slipka married Leo Nagel (1887-1982.) Rose Nagel (1887-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bernatsky, and died in Ramsey County. Albert J. Slipka married Kate Fierst. Katherine M. Slipka (1895-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Freid, and died in Ramsey County. Frank G. Slipka married Rose Fierst ( -1976.) Rose A. Slipka (1896-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fried, and died in Ramsey County. May E. Slipka married Joseph Sharfbillig. Mary E. "May" Scharfbillig (1896-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bernatsky, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph J. Scharfbillig (1888-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Orth, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph J. Scharfbillig was a Corporal in Company F of the 346th Infantry during World War I. Jos. J. Scharfbillig resided at 186 McBoal in 1919. Frank Edward Slipka (1894-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bernatsky, and died in Hennepin County. The previous owner of record of the property was Delores M. Mudgett and the current owner of record of the property is Christopher C. Mudgett, who resides in Cannon Falls, Minnesota.

353-355 Emma Street West: Kreager House. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alb Berosik, a fireman employed by the Jacob Schmidt Company, resided at 353 Emma Street West and Mrs Elizabeth Dobson boarded at 353 Emma Street West. The 1930 city directory indicates that William J. Cournihan and Lester L. Schintz, a clerk employed by the J. T. McMillan Company, and his wife, Eleanore Schintz, resided at 353 Emma Street West and that Frank Kreager, a watchman employed by the St. Paul Twine Mills, and his wife, Mary Kreager, resided at 355 Emma Street West. Lester L. Schintz (1910-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bergesen, and died in Ramsey County. Frank J. Kreager ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Mary E. Kreager (1884-1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. In 1996, a two alarm fire occurred at 355 Emma Street.

357 Emma Street: Built in 1897. The structure is a two story, 2350 square foot, seven bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Elmer J. Lang, a fireman employed by the St. Paul City Department of Parks, his wife, Christine M. Lang, Albert J. Stoneman, a body builder employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Elizabeth Stoneman, resided at this address. Frank Slavik and Lucille Slavik resided at this address in 1980. Frank A. Slavik ( -1945,) Albert J. Stoneman ( -1947,) and Elmer J. Lang ( -1948) all died in Ramsey County. Christine Lang ( -1939) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Francis A. Slavik, Jr., and Joanne Slavik. Joanne Slavik operates a day care at this address.

359 Emma Street: Built in 1890 (in 1905 according to Empson.) The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1204 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The house was built by August C. Berke, who was a packer for Noyes Brothers. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that August C. Berke resided at this address in 1906. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Hodnett, Richard Hodnett, a laborer, his wife, Mary Hodnett, and Richard Hodnett, Jr., a laborer employed by the Northern States Power Company, resided at this address. August C. Berke ( -1928,) Richard Hodnett ( -1932,) and Mary Hodnett ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. John Hodnett ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Driscoll, and died in Ramsey County. Richard Hodnett (1871-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Richard Hodnett (1905-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heatherston, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Kathy Hoffmann, with a bachelor of science degree with a major in English and American humanities and a minor in speech and drama from Bemidji State College in Bemidji, Minnesota, is an English teacher and chair of the English department at the Woodstock School, Mussoorie, Uttaranchal, India, teaching from 1984 until 1998 and from 2000 until 2004, and resided at this address after December, 2004. The Woodstock School in Mussoorie, Uttaranchal, a former "hill station" in colonial India, with more than 400 students from nearly 30 countries, is in its 150th year. The school historically existed primarily to educate the children of missionaries. In 1852, two Presbyterian missionaries in Dehra Dun, John Sims Woodside (1824-1909) and David Herron ( -1900), formed the company that would establish the Woodstock school in 1854, joined in the endeavor by three British Army officers and the Landour Language School chaplain. Woodside was chiefly responsible for talking the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Mission into buying Woodstock. Woodstock reopened in 1874 under the patronage of the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) and the school moved gradually into its role of educating the children of U.S. missionaries. A board of directors appointed by the Punjab Mission of the Presbyterian Church assumed control in 1893. In the early 1920's, Woodstock became an interdenominational, coeducational, boarding school, with a U.S. curriculum and educated the children of Presbyterians who founded and ran the Allahabad Agricultural Institute for a hundred years. In the 1970's, Woodstock became a Christian school serving the Christian, Indian, and international community in this part of Asia. The current owners of record of the property are Brock C. Masrud and Patricia J. Masrud. Kathryn Anne/Katheryn Ann Hoffman (1949- ) is a daughter of Donald Joseph Hoffman, Sr., (1928- ) and Myrtle Flohr Hoffman, as is Patricia Jeanne Hoffman Masrud (1951- .) Patricia J. Masrud is a member of the International Childbirth Education Association. Brock C. Masrud is a son of Wilmer "LeVerne" Masrud (1919-2001) and Anneka "Nikki" Wheeler Masrud, of Barron, Wisconsin.

360 Emma Street: Built in 1895 (1891 according to Empson.) The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 952 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house. The house was built by Catherine Pastik, the widow of James Pastik, and her daughter, Annie Pastik. John R. Graham was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles Dolezal, a clerk, Edna Dolezal, a packer employed by A. M. Ramer Company, and Sherman Dolezal, a baker, all boarded at this address and that Edwin Dolezal, a helper employed by Thoams Finn, and Frank Dolezal, a tailor employed by Charles Panushka & Son, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Brandt, a clerk at Brown & Bigelow, his wife, Lucy Brandt, and Ernest Brandt, a printer at the Griggs Cooper & Company, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John R. Graham was a mechanic at the Ramsey Garage and roomed at 646 Pleasant. John Graham ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Ernest Brandt (1904-1968) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Ernest Elroy Brandt (1910-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lindstrom, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Jennifer L. Maybery and Peter G. Maybery, who reside in Chatfield, Minnesota. Paul Mayberry Editions, a facsimile publisher of vintage texts, also is located at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Schaffer, a laborer employed by the St. Paul City Water Department, and his wife, Martha Schaffer, resided at the former nearby 364 Emma Street. Thomas Schaffer (1903-1984) was born in Minnesota and died in Hennepin County.

364 Emma Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 876 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestosd-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Brandt, a laborer employed by Brown & Bigelow, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2007 and the purchase price was $120,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Jennifer L. Maybery and Peter G. Maybery, who reside in Chatfield, Minnesota, and the current owner of record is Richard Brian Bates.

368 Emma Street: Built in 1890 (either 1881 or 1888, according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 1054 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The house was either built by Anton Picha, a tailor, in 1881, or August Berke, in 1888. The 1920 city directory indicates that Michael F. Dorse, a switchman, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Katherine Gaughen, the widow of Anthony Gaughen, resided at this address. Anton Picha ( -1939) died in Hennepin County. August C. Berke ( -1928) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Susan K. Schwalbe and Jeffrey C. Thompson.

369 Emma Street: Built in 1900 (1901 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 1046 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, half-bathroom, brick house. The house was built by Rudolph Scheider, who resided on Michigan Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Austin R. Hartley, a cement finisher, and his wife, Katherine Hartley, resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Robert W. Schreiber and Sara J. Schreiber.

370 Emma Street: Built in 1890 (1873 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 890 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The house was built by John Krutina, a laborer. The 1920 city directory indicates that James Bertino, a laborer, boarded at this address and that Rose Bertino, the widow of John Bertino, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis A. Florian, a trimmer employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Marie Florian, resided at this address. John Krutina ( -1910) and John T. Krutina ( -1911) both died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Jack Berry and Lucille Berry and the current owner of record is Lucille M. Berry.

371 Emma Street: Built in 1890 (1888 according to Empson.) The structure is a two story, 1494 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bernard A. Pranke, a baker employed by Jacobsen's Bakery, and his wife, Sallie Pranke, resided at this address. The house was built by Blais Steffanus, a night watchman. Bernard Pranke ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. Sallie M. Pranke (1888-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was most recently sold in 2005 and the sale price was $178,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Pao Mee Lee and the current owner of record of the property is M. Mary Hannahan.

373 Emma Street: Built in 1895 (1888 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 706 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, house. The house was built by James W. Ceska, a butcher, and his son, Joseph Ceska. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $64,500. The current owner of record of the property is Catherine Myhre.

374 Emma Street: Built in 1900 (1885 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 710 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The house was built by Anton Saytel. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto G. Jerentosky, a fireman, and his wife, Emma Jerentosky, resided at this address. Joe Caruso resided at this address in 1980. The current owner of record of the property is Joseph J. Caruso.

375 Emma Street: Built in 1895 (1888 according to Empson.) The structure is a one story, 777 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The house was built by Frank N. Kerst, a partner in a butcher shop with James W. Ceska, who resided at 373 Emma Street. World War I veteran Albert Flicek resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alb Flicek moved to Montgomery, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas J. Whalen, a watchmaker employed by Montgomery Ward & Company, and his wife, Freda Whalen, resided at this address. Frank Kerst ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. Albert Flicek ( -1942) died in Le Sueur County, Minnesota. In 1998, the City of St. Paul executed a property code enforcement action against the property at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $59,221. The current owner of record of the property is Sharlene M. Svoboda.

154 Erie Street: Built in 1998. The property contains two multifamily apartment buildings. One building is a one story, 2504 square foot, structure and the other building is a one story, 2460 square foot, structure. The current owner of record of the property is Superior Street Cottages LLC, located at 1415 Almond Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Tony B. Weber and his wife, Annie Weber, resided at the former nearby 147 Erie Street and that Frank Klima, a roofer, resided at the former nearby 163 Erie Street. Frank Klima ( -1944) died in Hennepin County. Frank Klima (1891-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kokesh, and died in Hennepin County. The 1879 city directory indicates that John A. Eidt, a carpenter, resided on Erie Street near Superior Street.

211 Erie Street: Built in 1992. The structure is a 1092 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $137,500. The current owner of record of the property is Joel A. Nyland.

227 Erie Street: The property is a vacant commercial lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mathew Girtz, a laborer employed by the St. Paul City Department of Public Works, and his wife, Catherine Girtz, resided at this address. Mathias "Matthew" Girtz ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Newman, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Minnesota Grocers Council Inc., located at 533 St. Clair Avenue. The Minnesota Grocers Association was founded in 1897, with 300 businesses as members, and is a non-profit trade association founded to advance the common interests of all those involved in the food retail industry-supermarkets, superstores, convenience stores, food wholesalers, and food manufacturers and brokers.

242 Erie Street: Built in 1950. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 2476 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Mary D. Hansen and Thomas H. Hansen.

243 Erie Street: Built in 1994. The structure is a 805 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $65,000. The current owner of record of the property is Ericka Golden.

245 Erie Street: Built in 1994. The structure is a 805 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided split-level house. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $65,000. The current owners of record of the property are Thomas T. Thao and Potchue Vang.

249 Erie Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 1291 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Albert Tomasek resided at this address in 1895. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Tuma (1885-1911,) the wife of Frank Tuma, who was born in the United States to parents born in Bohemia and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1911. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank T. Tuma, a representative employed by Fairbanks Morse & Company, his wife, Katherine Tuma, Frank G. Tuma, a linotype operator employed by Perfection Type Inc., and George F. Tuma, a laborer, all resided at this address. Mary Tuma ( -1911) and Albert Tomasek ( -1931) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Constance Pechous.

252 Erie Street: Jacob Lauer House; Built in 1887. The structure is a two story, 2574 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house. Joseph F. Lauer (1895- ), a Private, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary A. Lauer, the widow of Jacob Lauer, resided at this address and that Joseph F. Lauer, a laborer for William H. Ulmer Company, Aloysius Lauer, a clerk, Alphonse V. Lauer, an electrician, Amelia V. Lauer, a clerk, Emilie M. Lauer, a bookkeeper for R. C. Allison, Florence D. Lauer, an assistant for L. J. Salisbury, George C. Lauer, and Maria R. Lauer, a telephone operator for the Ballard Fire Proof Storage & Transfer Company, all boarded at this address. The 1920 city directory also indicates that Clare M. Albrecht, an assistant at R. B. J. School boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Filomena Zeuli, the widow of Anton Zeuli, and Floyd Zeuli, a masonry contractor, resided at this address. Ballard Moving & Storage, a United Van Lines mover, was established in 1887 as Ballard Storage & Transfer Company at 20 East Fourth Street. Ballard Moving & Storage is now located in Eagan, Minnesota. Joseph F. Lauer ( -1931) died in Hennepin County. Jacob Lauer ( -1916) and George C. Lauer ( -1942) both died in Ramsey County. Aloysius Joseph Lauer (1912-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gertken, and died in Hennepin County. Emilie M. Lauer (1893-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lapinska, and died in Ramsey County. Florence D. Lauer (1891-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lapinsky, and died in Ramsey County. Filomena Zeuli (1899-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Floyd Zeuli (1898-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Iosue, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Lisa L. Litchfield.

255 Erie Street: Built in 1887. The structure is a one story, 1148 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Hedwig T. Ferber, a seamstress, boarded at this address and that Mary M. Ferber, the widow of John Ferber, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary M. Ferber, the widow of John Ferber, and Hedwig T. Ferber resided at this address. John Ferber ( -1913) and Mary M. Ferber ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. Hedwig T. Ferber (1887-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Holl, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Lisa L. Litchfield, who resides at 252 Erie Street, and the current owner of record of the property is Jacqueline M. Staples.

256 Erie Street: Built in 1930. The structure is a 848 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $167,500 and that sale occurred in 2006. The previous owner of record of the property was Megan C. Walsh and the current owner of record of the property is David A. Baker.

259 Erie Street: John Ferber House; Built in 1901. The structure is a one story, 1142 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elizabeth Denney, the widow of Duley L. Denney, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Vincent F. Hrachovina, a painter employed by the Omaha Shops, and his wife, Beatrice Hrachovina, resided at this address. Vincent F. Hrachovina (1892-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heroff, and died in Ramsey County. Beatrice Hrachovina (1891-1975) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vevarka, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $202,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Gretal P. Scanlon and Kevin Patrick Scanlon and the current owners of record of the property are Daniel V. Dykstra and Stacy R. Janisch.

260 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1096 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank C. Fuchs, his wife, Anna Fuchs, and Valentine Riley, a driver employed by the Crocus Hill Grocery, and his wife, Lillian Riley, resided at this address. Frank Fuchs ( -1955) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weik, and died in Ramsey County. Anna L. Fuchs ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Anna Marie Fuchs (1878-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dalman, and died in Ramsey County. Anna G. Fuchs (1907-1991) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hokanson, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $51,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owner of record of the property is Shawntel Pedro-Nelson.

263 Erie Street: Ourada House; Built in 1901. The structure is a one story, 1187 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mathias M. Ourada and his wife, Josephine Ourada, resided at this address. Mathias M. Ourada ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Josephine Ourada (1861-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $183,900. The current owner of record of the property is Janine Ersfeld.

264 Erie Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 750 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose Samec resided at this address. Rose Samec ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $26,000. The current owner of record of the property is Jeffrey J. Spores.

268 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1190 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Scapanski, a helper employed by the Omaha Shops, his wife, Augusta Scapanski, Clarence Scapanski, a machine operator employed by Charles Weinhagen, and Edna Scapanski, a clerk employed by the Webb Publishing Company, all resided at this address. Michael Scapanski (1876-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mayefski, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were H. G. Smallman and Shirley M. Smallman and the current owner of record of the property is Daniel T. Peterson, who resides at 4190 Hallmark Avenue North.

269 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1001 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Klainert, a butcher employed by the J. T. McMillan Company, and his wife, Catherine Klainert, resided at this address. Katherine Klainert ( -1931) and John Klainert ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $152,000. The current owners of record of the property are Steven Tacheny and Jennifer M. Tacheny.

272 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 1401 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles J. Nurnberg, the assistant chief engineer employed by the Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Mary Nurnberg, resided at this address. Charles John Nurnberg (1882-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vanslow, and died in Ramsey County. Mary L. Nurnberg (1884-1961) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $150,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owners of record of the property are Craig R. Favorito and Audrey R. Favorito.

273 Erie Street: Built in 1882. The structure is a one story, 1039 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry J. Stille and his wife, Emma Stille, resided at this address. Henry J. Stille ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $102,000. The current owner of record of the property is Janet Scott Groenert.

275 Erie Street: Congregation Union Church; Built in 1926. The structure is a 1285 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. Rosemary Hayek Perron (1923-1994) and LeRoy Henry Perron (1921-1988) were long-term residents at this address. Rosemary Hayek Perron was the daughter of George Hayek (1898-1937) and Isabella Johans Hayek (1897-1970.) The Perrons married in 1942 and the couple had ten children, Gilbert Leroy Perron (1942- ,) Michael Henry Perron (1946-1969,) Richard David Perron (1948- ,) Linda Clara Perron (Mrs. Terrance) Blum (1949-1995,) LeRoy Joseph Perron (1950- ,) Daniel Edward Perron (1951- ,) George Anthony Perron (1953- ,) Timothy Norman Perron (1954- ,) Wanda Jean Perron (1955-1976,) and Margaret Mary Perron (1957- .) George Hayek owned Jerabek's Bakery at 63 West Winifred Street and died in Ramsey County of an embolism. Linda Clara Perron married Terrance Clinton Blum (1945- ,) the son of Casper Blum and Anna Buersken Blum, and the couple had one child, Michelle Blum Pesola (1967- .) Michael Henry Perron (1946-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hayek, and died in Ramsey County. Wanda Jean Perron (1955-1976) had a mother with a maiden name of Hayek and died in Ramsey County. Rosemary Perron (1923-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johans, and died in Ramsey County. The Protestant Cyril Czecho-Slovak Congregational Church building was once located at this address. The church existed from 1887 to 1958. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $220,000. The current owners of record of the property are Duane A. Van Ressighem and Irma R. Van Ressighem, who reside in Eagan, Minnesota.

276 Erie Street: Built in 1902. The structure is a one story, 1207 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. World War I veteran Edward T. Cincera resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13987) indicate that Edward J. Cincera (1895- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Sergeant in the Third Company of the First Provisional Battalion of the Infantry Central Officers Training School, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, black hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was unemployed at induction, was a student at the University of Minnesota after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Theodore Cincera, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Theo Cincera, a laborer at Como Park, resided at this address and that Edward J./T. Cincera, a student, boarded at this address. In 1920, the United States Adjutant-General's Office U. S. Army Register, Volume VIII, indicates that Edward Joseph Cincera (1895- ,) a Second Lieutenant in the Infantry Section, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Theo Cincera and his wife, Katherine Cincera, resided at this address. In 1921, Edward J. Cincera was a member of the student editorial board of the Minnesota Law Review at the University of Minnesota Law School. Edward J. Cincera (1895-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Svoboda, and died in Ramsey County. Theodor/Theodore Cincera ( -1936) and Katerina "Kate" Cincera ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. Capital City Window Cleaning is currently located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Michael W. John and Susan John. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Cyril Congregational Church was located at the nearby former 277 Erie Street from 1888 to 1959. The 1920 city directory indicates that Cyril Congregational Church (Bohemian) was located at the former nearby 277 Erie Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Cyril Czecho Slovak Congregational Church was located at the former nearby 277 Erie Street.

279 Erie Street: Built in 1971. The structure is a story, 1144 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. World War I veteran George Machall resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that George Machall, a furrier, resided at 496 Jefferson and that John Machala, also a furrier, boarded at 496 Jefferson. The 1930 city directory indicates that Casimir Sauter, a plumber, and his wife, Ella Sauter, resided at this address. John Machala ( -1927) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $144,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Nicholas F. Pastick and Elizabeth F. Skramstad and the current owner of record of the property is Elizabeth F. Skramstad.

282 Erie Street: Built in 1904. The structure is a one story, 795 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Jelinek resided at this address. John Peter Jelinek (1870/1871-1954,) the son of Frank Jelinek (1846- ,) a tailor, and Anna Neider Jelinek (1851- ,) was born in Austria, came to Minnesota in 1878, settled in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul Public Schools, was engaged in the drug business since 1886, was admitted to the practice of pharmacy in 1890, operated two pharmacies, at 961 West Seventh Street and at the corner of West Seveth Street and Sherman Street, in St. Paul, was the president of the St. Paul Retail Druggists' Association, married Helen M. M. Ris, the daughter of Gottfried Ris (1835- ,) an American Civil War veteran and a carpenter, and Johannetha Ris, in 1897, was the president of the Minnesota State Pharmaceutical Association in 1910, was a director and was the treasurer of the West End Commercial Club Building Corporation, was a member of the West End Commercial Club, was a member of the Minnesota River Gun Club, was a member of the St. Paul Gun Club, was a member of the Capitol City Lodge of Masons, Lodge No. 217, was a member of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of St. Paul, was a member of the Summit Chapter of the Royal Arch Masons, was a member of the Minnesota Consistory, No. 1, was a member of the Osman Temple of the Mystic Shrine, was a member of the Paladin Commandery, was a member of the St. Paul Council of Masons, No. 1, was a member of the Elks Club, No. 59, was a member of the Odd Fellows, Capitol City Lodge No. 48, was a member of the Association of United Workingmen, Grant Lodge, No. 88, was a member of the C. S. P. S., No. 12, was a Republican, and was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 35) from 1911 until 1913. John Jelinek ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $146,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lawrence T. Overton and Tammy L. Overton.

283 Erie Street: Built in 1975. The structure is a 1092 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred Kliner, a helper, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte Middents (1837-1919,) the widowed mother of Ed Middents, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of myocarditis, resided at this address in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles C. Connell, a foreman at the Ballard Ramp Garage, and his wife, Flossie Connell, resided at this address. The Middents burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Charlotte Middents (1837-1920,) A. G. Middents (1837-1901,) and G. Johanne Middents (1873-1951.) Fred Kliner (1879-1966) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Dakota County. The current owners of record of the property are Dina D. Stephenson and Jason A. Stephenson.

286 Erie Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 954 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto F. Plahn, an engineer employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Grace Plahn, resided at this address. Otto Plahn ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $43,000 and that sale occurred in 1999. The current owners of record of the property are Richard A. Sommerhauser and Andrea Ann Umbreit.

287 Erie Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 1868 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Horeish, a machinist employed by the Omaha Shops, his wife, Vera Horeish, and Elsie Horeish, a clerk employed by the Golden Rule Department Store, resided at this address. George Horeish (1888-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hruska, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are William J. Sommerhauser and Barbara J. Sommerhauser.

288 Erie Street: Built in 1898. The structure is a one story, 1700 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis H. Stoven and his wife, Ann Stoven, resided at this address. Louis H. Stoven ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $229,000 and that sale occurred in 2006. The previous owner of record of the property was Sandra L. Stromberg and the current owners of record of the property are Mary L. Pargo and Willie B. Pargo.

305 Erie Street: Built in 1870. The structure is a one story, 1068 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Wenzel Uhlmann resided at this address from 1878. World War I veteran Joseph H. Ullman resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#19923) indicate that Joseph Ullman (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 163rd Depot Brigade, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 6 1/4" tall, was an electrician at induction, was an assistant cook employed by the City and County Hospital after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, John Ullman, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John W. Ullman, a packer for G. Sommers & Company, resided at this address, and that J. H. Ullman, a driver for the Golden Rule Department Store, Agnes M. Ullman, a typist, and Florence E. Ullman, a clerk for G. Sommers & Company, all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John W. Ullmann, a packer employed by G. Sommers & Company, his wife, Lena Ullmann, and James J. Ullmann, a trucker employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory also indicates that Joseph Ullman, a clerk, roomed at 223 West Seventh Street. Joseph Ullman, Inc., of New York City, importers and exporters of raw furs and skins, had a store at the corner of Fifth Street and Rosabel Street. John W. Ullman (1874-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Burenbrecker, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $139,900. The current owner of record of the property is Bruce Gibson, who resides at 43 Mackubin Street, and the current owner of record of the property is Left Bank Property LLC, located at 1903 Princeton Avenue. [See note for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street] [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

312 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a 672 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $25,000. In 1998, the St. Paul City Council declared this property to be a nuisance property and ordered it to be repaired or removed. The current owner of record of the property is Joan R. Foreman, who resides at 1975 Sargent Avenue.

313 Erie Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 884 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred Bettcker, a stationary engineer, and his wife, Amelia Bettcker, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Michael J. Lutgen. Michael J. Lutgen, a registered nurse with Allina Health System, was a contributor to the George W. Bush for President campaign in 2004.

316 Erie Street: Built in 1914. The structure is a one story, 1115 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Louis Bartos resided at this address in 1916. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Lillian Bartos (1861-1917,) the widowed mother of John L. Bartos, who was born in Bohemia to parents born in Bohemia and who died of carcinoma of the gall bladder, resided at this address in 1917. The 1920 city directory indicates that John L. Bartos, a driver employed by the Indian Refining Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John L. Bartos, a salesman of the Superior Refining Company, and his wife, Sophie Bartos, resided at this address. Lillian Bartos ( -1917) died in Ramsey County. John L. Bartos (1904-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Blomick, and died in Ramsey County. John L. Bartos (1879-1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Sophie Bartos ( -1942) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $68,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The previous owners of record of the property were Jeanne M. Christensen and Walker Davis, Jr., and the current owners of record of the property are Jennifer A. Rosengren and Patrick M. Rosengren, Sr. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#19788) indicate that Andrew P. Christiansen (1892- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Headquarters Troop of the Seventh Division, who was born in Chicago, Illinois, moved to Minnesota in 1914, had brown eyes, black hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was an auto mechanic at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the occupation of the Puvenell Sector, was an auto mechanic employed by the Northwestern Cadillac Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Anna Christiansen, at the nearby former 317 Erie Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Andrew P. Christiansen, a machinist employed by the North West Cadillac Company, resided at the former nearby 317 Erie Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Kolar, a cabinetmaker employed by the Van Duyne-Moran Furniture Company, and his wife, Mary Kolar, resided at the former nearby 317 Erie Street and that Michael J. Fleischbaker resided at the nearby former 317 1/2 Erie Street. Joseph Kolar ( -1936) and Joseph George Kolar ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. Joseph Kolar (1881-1957) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County.

322 Erie Street: Built in 1884. The structure is a one story, 706 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles W. Pierce, a laborer, and his wife, Frances Pierce, resided at this address. Charles W. Pierce ( -1948) died in Ramsey County. Frances A. Pierce (1883-1969) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $32,000. The current owner of record of the property is Leonard S. Schmeig.

323 Erie Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1391 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Fischbach, a soft drinks vendor at 725 West Seventh Street, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Fischbach, a grocer, his wife, Julia Fischbach, and Marie Fischbach, a technician, all resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that John Fischbach resided at this address in 1936. John Fischbach (1878-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Geier, and died in Ramsey County. John Fischbach (1868-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bauman, and died in Ramsey County. Julia Fischbach (1880-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vojnozik, and died in Ramsey County. Marie R. Fischbach ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Cathy N. Perron and Gerald F. Perron. The 1879 city directory indicates that James Davidson, a laborer, boarded on Erie Street near the corner with Fort Road and that Charles Nettle, a fur dresser, resided at the corner of Erie Street and Fort Road.

358 Erie Street: The 1920 city directory indicates that Hattie Hassett and Myron Hassett, a clerk, boarded at this address and that Charles W. Hassett, a waiter at 339 Jackson Avenue, and John Hassett resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles Hassett, an operator of a restaurant located at 1214 North Snelling Avenue, his wife, Henrietta Hassett, and John Hassett all resided at this address. Mrs. Henrietta Hassett (1881-1965) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Charles W. Hassett (1881-1963) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John Hassett ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. John E. Hassett (1880-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Quinlan, and died in Ramsey County. In 2001, the St. Paul Housing and Redevelopment Authority sold the property as a splinter parcel property.

364 Erie Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a one story, 658 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Kessler, a cooper, and his wife, Catherine Kessler, resided at this address. William Charles Kessler ( -1946) and Catherine Kessler ( -1950) both died in Ramsey County. Catherine Marie Kessler (1923-1998) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McConnon, and died in Ramsey County. Catherine Kessler (1913-1999) was born in Pennsylvania, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoffman, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $49,500. In 1997, the St. Paul City Council declared this property to be a nuisance property. The current owner of record of the property is James Swartwood, who resides in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

366 Erie Street: Built in 1906. The structure is a one story, 614 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Arthur Hassett, a waiter at 339 Jackson Street, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Arthur H. Hassett, a helper, and his wife, Emma Hassett, resided at this address. In 2003, the building was listed by the City of St. Paul as vacant. Arthur H. Hassett (1886-1968) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004. The property was last sold for $75,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The previous owner of record of the property is Joseph Ubl, whose mailing address was a St. Paul post office box, and the current owner of record of the property is Countrywide Home Loan Inc. of Plano, Texas.

367 Erie Street: Built in 1907. The structure is a two story, 1728 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, brick house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Reinert Bartels, a miller, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harold T. Holte, an assembler employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Mary Holte, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Rose T. Bredemus. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

368 Erie Street: Built in 1875. The structure is a two story, 1806 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Bacigalupo, a platformman at J. C. Vander Bie Company, and his wife, Rose Bacigalupo, resided at this address. John Bacigalupo (1910-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Terrille, and died in Hennepin County. Rosa Bacigalupo ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $192,500. The previous owner of record of the property was Joseph N. Proulx and the current owner of record of the property is Fernando Garcia.

371 Erie Street: Built in 1890. The structure is a one story, 691 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that James Ruzichka, a laborer, his wife, Mary Ruzichka, Alice Ruzichka, a finisher employed by the Capitol Laundry, James P. Ruzichka, a machinist employed by the Maendler Brush Manufacturing Company, and Joseph Ruzichka, a wringerman employed by the Star Wet Wash Laundry, all resided at this address. Peter Maendler was the president of the Maendler Brush Manufacturing Company in 1930. James P. Ruzichka ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. James Paul Ruzichka (1913-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jiran, and died in Ramsey County. Mary A. Ruzichka (1900-1975) had a mother with a maiden name of Rudolph and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2006 and the sale price was $130,000. The previous owner of record of the property was SK & B Ventures LLC, located in Forest Lake, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Ryan James Perrier Elwood. [See the note for the Maendler Brush Company for 298 Banfil Street.]

372 Erie Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 1136 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John Honsa resided at this address in 1929. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Honsa, a cutter employed by the McGill-Warner Company, resided at this address. The McGill-Warner Company, a lithography, book-binding, and printing company, was located at Ninth Street and Sibley Street and was the State printer for the State of Minnesota in 1919. E. S. Warner was a principal in the McGill-Warner Company. Charles Herbert McGill (1866-1941) was was the vice president of the McGill-Warner Company after 1891. Robert H. McCleary was a vice president of the McGill-Warner Company in 1930. John Honsa ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Annuziata Pucci and Antonio J. Pucci, who reside in Forest Lake, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Annuziata Pucci, who resides in Forest Lake, Minnesota. [See note for Charles Herbert McGill for 1169 Portland Avenue.]

373 Erie Street: Built in 1888. The structure is a 560 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Marie Haag resided at this address. Marie E. Haag (1900-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Homes, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Marie Haag (1900-1985) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold for $32,500 and that sale occurred in 1996. The previous owner of record of the property was SK and B Ventures LLC, located in Forest Lake, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Scott E. Elwood, who resides in Scandia, Minnesota.

375 Erie Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 1414 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles O. Magnuson, a machinist employed by the Omaha Shops, his wife, Frieda Magnuson, Aug A. Magnuson, a laborer employed by the Bohn Refrigerator Company, and his wife, Johannah Magnuson, all resided at this address. Charles O. Magnuson ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. August Magnuson ( -1933) and August Magnuson ( -1943) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Janet M. Brown. [For more information on Gebhard Bohn, see 761 Summit Avenue.]

376 Erie Street: Built in 1889. The structure is a one story, 954 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert Rexelson, a plasterer, his wife, Johannah Rexelson, and Dorothy Rexelson, a clerk, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $57,300. The previous owners of record of the property were Jose M. Carrion and Monica Hernandez and the current owners of record of the property are Jose M. Carrion and Reina Carrion, who reside in Cottage Grove, Minnesota. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Joseph Strnad, Jr., (1890-1914,) the son of Joseph Strnad, Sr., who was born in Wisconsin to parents born in Bohemia and who died of tubercular peritonitis, resided at the nearby former 279 Erie Street in 1914. Joseph Strnad ( -1914) and Joseph F. Strnad ( -1932) both died in Ramsey County. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Katherine Weidle resided at the former nearby 377 Erie Street.

380 Erie Street: Built in 1887. The structure is a 854 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius Zeitelberger and his wife, Johannah Zeitelberger, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Delores Thell Barton.

383 Erie Street: The property is a vacant residential lot. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael Yurcho and Frank Kopecky, a barber employed by Alf Nesom, and his wife, Mary Kopecky, resided at this address. Michael J. Yurcho (1896-1971) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Frank Kopecky (1902-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Shulc, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Kopecky (1906-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tomasek, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $5,100. The previous owner of record of the property was Gopher State Ethanol LLC, located at 882 West Seventh Street, and the current owner of record of the property is BHGDN LLC, located in Minnetonka, Minnesota. Gopher State Ethanol LLC was a taxpayer-subsidized neighborhood ethanol plant that St. Paul citizens railed against for more than three years as a stinking nuisance and that shut down in May, 2004, after falling into serious financial trouble.

384 Erie Street: Built in 1894. The structure is a 720 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Josephine Jansky, the widow of Michael Jansky, resided at this address. Josephine Jansky (1876-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Keith Hyland. The 1920 city directory indicates that Patrick W. Flynn, a representative employed by the Jacob Schmidt Company, resided at the former nearby 387 Erie Street and that Gerold Flynn, a laborer employed by the J. T. McMillan Company, boarded at the former nearby 387 Erie Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick W. Flynn, a police officer employed by the St. Paul City Department of Parks, and his wife, Annie Flynn, resided at the former nearby 387 Erie Street. Patrick W. Flynn (1876-1969) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Annie E. Flynn (1878-1960) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See note on James T. McMillan for 900 Lincoln Avenue.]

388 Erie Street: Built in 1895. The structure is a one story, 904 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, brick house. Ludwig Pribyl (1878-1896) resided at this address in 1896. Matt Pribyl and his wife, Anna Pribyl, resided at this address in 1918. Emil E. Pribyl and John A. Pribyl were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#26258) indicate that Emil E. Pribyl (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company K of the 118th Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a laborer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Franco Somme Offensive, was wounded on October 9, 1918, near Vaix Andigny, France, was a laborer employed by St. Paul Gas Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Anna Pribyl, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Albert J. Pribyl, a machinist, resided at this address and that Emil E. Pribyl, a laborer, John A. Pribyl, a helper, and Anna Pribyl all boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert J. Pribyl, a machinist employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, Mrs. Ann Pribyl, and Clarence E. Schneider all resided at this address. Albert J. Pribyl (1881-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kotlaba, and died in Ramsey County. Emil E. Pribyl (1894-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kotlaba, and died in Ramsey County. John A. Pribyl ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. Clarence E. Schneider (1895-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Florian, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Delores Thell Barton, who resides at 380 Erie Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mary Brazak, the widow of John Brazak, resided at the former nearby 393 1/2 Erie Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Prazak, the widow of John Prazak, resided at the former nearby 383 Erie Street and that John Carl resided at the former nearby 383 1/2 Erie Street. Mary Prazak ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. John Prazak (1837-1907) was born in Bohemia and died in Ramsey County, Minnesota. John Frederick Carl (1891-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Moetzel, and died in Ramsey County. [See note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Gas Light Company for 761 West Linwood Avenue.]

394 Erie Street: Built in 1882. The structure is a two story, 1890 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that E. Beininger, a baker employed by the Golden Rule, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius Morrisette, a laborer, and his wife, Mary Morrisette, resided at this address. Mary Morrisette (1899-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Otolle, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Guadelupe Cuellar Zubiran, who resides at 1323 Easter Lane. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Crossman, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 395 Erie Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Nicholas M. Zubelle, a helper, and his wife, Mathilda Zubelle, resided at the former nearby 395 Erie Street and that Carl Schoen, a plumber, and his wife, Emily Schoen, resided at the former nearby 399 Erie Street. Carl H. Schoen (1896-1968) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

400 Erie Street: Built in 1887. The structure is a 949 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided rambler, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Annie Butt, a helper, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Butt, Anna Butt, a clerk, and George Butt, a laborer, all resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005. Anna Butt ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. Anna Butt (1882-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jobst, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2004 and the sale price was $89,900. The previous owner of record of the property was Martin G. Reinhardt and the current owners of record of the property are Marcus A. Brown and Nikki D. McRae Brown.

402 Erie Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1428 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rupert H. Ehrle, a cutter employed by McKibbin, Driscoll & Dorsey, Inc., and Raymond Eisenhauer, a bottler employed by the Jacob Schmidt Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Gritche and Ernest Schreiber, a laborer, and his wife, Catherine Schreiber, resided at this address. Ernest Schreiber ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. Ernest A. Schreiber (1906-1978) had a mother with a maiden name of Miggler and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $230,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Debbie J. Pyszka and William Pyszka, who reside in Afton, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Uyen P. Pham, who resides at 2347 Hillwood Road East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raymond Eisenhauer, a bottler employed at the Jacob Schmidt Brewing Company, and his wife, Katherine Eisenhauer, resided at the former nearby 403 Erie Street. Raymond Eisenhauer ( -1938) and Catherine Eisenhauer ( -1949) both died in Ramsey County.

404 Erie Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 690 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Strepan, a driver, and his wife, Helene Strepan, resided at this address. In 1997, the St. Paul City Council declared this property to be a nuisance property. In 2001, the property was tax-forfeited property, was acquired by the St. Paul Housing and Redevelopment Authority, and is currently owned by the St. Paul Housing and Redevelopment Authority.

406 Erie Street: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 624 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Machacek, a baker employed by the Zinsmaster Baking Company, Mary Machacek, resided at this address. World War II records indicate that Frank Machacek was a Seaman First Class, U. S. Naval Reserve, was listed as a casualty, and had parents, Mr. and Mrs. John Machacek, who resided at this address. Frank Machacek, a Seaman First Class in the USNR, the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Machacek, was a World War II casualty and resided at this address in the early 1940's. John Machacek (1886-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fiala, and died in Hennepin County. The current owner of record of the property is Gerald Machacek, who resides at 923 Berwood Avenue, and the current owner of record of the property is Larry Hanson. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Gerrick resided at the former nearby 407 Erie Street. Joseph Gerrick ( -1934) died in Washington County, Minnesota.

408 Erie Street: Built in 1900. The structure is a one story, 880 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that William J. Farber, a salesman, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward C. Knippenberg, a carman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Katherine Knippenberg, resided at this address. Edward C. Knippenberg (1905-1986) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Palmer, and died in Ramsey County. Katherine Gertrude Knippenberg (1908-1998) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Graham, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Jerome A. Westberg. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Phillips resided at the former nearby 409 Erie Street. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

410 Erie Street: Built in 1885. The structure is a one story, 718 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Meyers, a flagman, and his wife, Elizabeth Meyers, resided at this address. The most recent sale of the property occurred in 2006 and the sale price was $145,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Irene H. Dandl and Joseph D. Dandl and the current owner of record of the property is Alan G. Stage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Pinski, a metal worker employed by the Joesting & Schilling Company, and his wife, Mary Pinski, resided at the former nearby 411 Erie Street and that George C. Wilmer, a bottler employed by the Jacob Schmidt Brewing Company, his wife, Mary Wilmer, Frances J. Wilmer, a typist employed by the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, Frank J. Wilmer, a bookkeeper employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, George Wilmer, a manager employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and John W. Wilmer, a clerk employed by the Omaha RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 417 Erie Street. The Joesting & Schilling Company manufactured furnaces, ranges, broilers, and other metal devices. In 1899, the City of St. Paul granted Frank H. Joesting and Christian Schilling permission to utilize a portion of the Mississippi River levee for 25 years to operate their business for the payment of $1 annually, the commitment to build manufacturing buildings of specific sizes, to remove the buildings at the end of the lease, and to indemnify the city for its operations on the land. The Joesting & Schilling Company later became a restaurant and hotel supply firm and eventually became Aslesens. John Albert Pinski (1891-1982) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roszek, and died in Ramsey County. Mary A. Pinski ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

Irvine Park Architectural and House History, Part 2

Irvine Park Architectural and House History Hike Walking Tour Route

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage. Information from Donald Empson, Portrait of a Neighborhood, St. Paul, Minnesota, Donald Empson, 1980, also was used in this webpage.

In 1920, the Cosmopolitan State Bank was located at 106 East Fourth Street and its officers were R. N. Katz, president, J. B. Calmenson, vice president, Joseph Bellis, cashier, and L. A. Brandenburg, assistant cashier. The Cosmpolitan Bank was not listed in the 1911, the 1915 or the 1930 city directories.

This webpage was last modified on June 30, 2011.