Thursday Night Hikes: Dayton's Bluff Hike Architecture Notes 2


Observations on Architectural Styles 2

Dayton's Bluff Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: April 20, 2002

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles and the residents of specific structures located along the hike:

654 East Fourth Street: Julia Knauft House; Built in 1908; Queen Anne in style. The building is a two story, 1440 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. This simple house retains most of its original detailing with Doric columns and spindled balustrade on the full front entry porch. The 1890 city directory indicates that the B. F. Knauft Company, located at Seventh Street and Pine Street, dealt in paints, stains and brushes. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ferdinand Knauft (1826-1916,) the widower father of Charles F. Knauft, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of arteriosclerosis, resided at this address in 1916. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. J. Knauft, Mrs. Fred Knauft, and her daughter all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#19300) indicate that Marcus T. Rindal (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a map maker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a map maker employed by the Minnesota Typographic Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. Carrie Rindal, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. O. Rindahl resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ole O. Rindal and his wife, Carrie M. Rindal, resided at this address. The house gained local notoriety when it was selected for use in the 1985 movie That Was Then, This Is Now, directed by Christopher Cain, based on a novel by S. E. Hinton, and starring Emilio Estevez and Morgan Freeman. One Knauft family plot at St. Paul's Oakland Cemetery includes Ferdinand Knauft (1826-1916,) his wife, Christiana Ebel Knauft (1842-1875,) Helene Knauft (1842-1914,) and Julia Knauft (1864-1929) and another Knauft burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes Ferdinand Knauft (1826-1916,) Christiane Ebel Knauft Hess (1842-1875,) the wife of Ferdinand Knauft, Catharine Schmittger Knauft (1824-1860,) the wife of C. B. Hess, Julie Knauft (1864-1929,) Mary L. Hess, and Helene Knauft (1842-1914.) Ferdinand Knauft (1826-1916) was born in Prussia, emigrated to the United States in 1845, was a carpenter in Quincy, Illinois, and in St. Louis, Missouri, moved to St. Paul in 1850, attended O. F. Carver's Commercial College in St. Paul, invested in real estate in downtown St. Paul and on Dayton's Bluff, owned a grocery at Seventh Street and Olive Street from 1851 to 1870, was a representative in the Seventh Minnesota Territorial Legislature representing Ramsey County (District 2) from 1856 until 1857, was a member of the St. Paul Common Council, later engaged in the hardware business, first as the partner of Carl Ahrendt, then as a sole proprietor, and then, in 1884, as a partner with his son, Benjamin Knauft, was married three times and was the father of nine children. In 1912, Ferdinand Knauft was the treasurer of the German American Lodge No. 58 and was the secretary of the Germania Lodge No. 18. In 1879, Ferdinand Knauft, a dealer in oils, paints and hardware located at 222 East Seventh Street, resided at 102 St. Paul Street, Gustav A. Knauft, a partner with William Funk in Funk & Knauft, a boot and shoe merchant located at 177 East Seventh Street, boarded at 102 St. Paul Street, Charles F. Knauft, a flour and grain merchant located at 226 East Seventh Street, resided at 222 East Seventh Street, and Knauft's Hall was located at 224 East Seventh Street. In 1875, Ferdinand Knauft sued the St. Paul, Stillwater & Taylor's Falls RailRoad, over compensation in a real estate condemnation action, received a larger award from the district court, and prevailed before the Minnesota Supreme Court in Knauft v. St. Paul, Stillwater & Taylor's Falls RailRoad, 22 Minnesota 173 (1875.) The 1920 federal census for Ramsey County included Chas. T. Knauft (1849- ,) Caroline L. Knauft (1853-1932,) Augusta A. Knauft (1856- ,) Louise E. Knauft (1862- ,) Ray Knauft (1884- ,) Malie Knauft (1885- ,) Ruben A. Knauft (1888- ,) Jenieva Knauft (1895- ,) Charles F. Knauft, Jr. (1889-1966,) Florence A. Knauft (1889- ,) Donald Knauft (1908- ,) Jack Knauft (1911- ,) Andrey C. Knauft (1915- ,) Charles F. Knauft, III (1916- ,) Mary Knauft (1916- ,) and Roy Knauft, Jr. (1918- .) John Adams Knauft (1914-1953) was born in St. Paul and died in Los Angeles, California. August Knauft (1831- ,) who was born in Prussia, a son of parents also born in Prussia, resided in St. Paul with his wife, Lizzie Knauft (1845- ,) who was born in Wisconsin to parents both born in Prussia, his son, August Knauft (1869- ,) who was born in Illinois, his son, Herman Knauft (1874- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Bernard Knauft (1876- ,) who was born in Minnesota, for the 1880 federal census. Charles F. Knauft (1850- ,) who was born in Missouri to parents who were born in Germany and who was a feed dealer, resided in St. Paul with his wife, Caroline Schulz Knauft (1852- ,) who was born in Missouri to parents who were born in Germany, his daughter, Hattie Knauft (1872- ,) who was born in Minnesota, and his son, Frank Knauft (1877- ,) who was born in Minnesota, for the 1880 federal census. F. Knauft (1826- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany and who was a hardware dealer, resided in St. Paul with his wife, Helen Knauft (1843- ,) who was born in Germany to parents who were born in Germany, his son, Adolph Knauft (1856- ,) who was born in Minnesota and was employed in a shoe store, his daughter, Amelia Knauft (1861- ,) who was born in Minnesota, his daughter, Julia Knauft (1864- ,) who was born in Minnesota and who was a student, and his son, Bennie Knauft (1867- ,) who was born in Minnesota and who was a student, for the 1880 federal census. Mary L. Knauft married Charles R. Hess in Ramsey County in 1870. Charles F. Knauft married Caroline Schulz in Ramsey County in 1871. Anna A. Knauft married Samuel B. Diether in 1878. Gustav A. Knauft married Louisa E. "Lou" Adams, the daughter of George Adams and Louisa Buennamann, in Ramsey County in 1880 and the couple had two children, Milford Roy Knauft and Reuben Adams Knauft. Emilie Knauft married Edwin H. Hullsick in Ramsey County in 1881. Charles Knauft (1915-1972) resided in Minnesota and also resided in Kansas City, Platte County, Missouri, Parkville, Platte County, Missouri, and Weatherby Lake, Platte County, Missouri. Charles Knauft (1888-1966) resided in St. Paul. Freda Knauft (1915-2008) resided in Minnesota and also resided in Fort Macarthur, Los Angeles County, California, San Pedro, Los Angeles County, California, and Terminal Island, Los Angeles County, California. Marguerite Knauft (1898-1980) resided in Minnesota. Paul Knauft (1932-2003) resided in Minnesota and also resided in Lansing, Cook County, Illinois. Hattie Louise Knauft married James Albert Lewis in Ramsey County in 1895. Benjamin F. Knauft eventually was employed in the general insurance business and was a member of the St. Paul City Council. In 1902, B. F. Knauft was appointed the St. Paul agent of the Palatine Insurance Company of London and the St. Paul agent of the London & Lancashire Insurance Company. Benjamin Franklin Knauft (1866- ,) the son of Ferdinand Knauft and Christina Ebel Knauft, was born in St. Paul, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1885, engaged in the real estate and building business in St. Paul, served on the St. Paul City Council for three terms, married Bertha A. Wahl in St. Louis in 1904, moved to St. Louis, Missouri, in 1907, was a real estate developer in St. Louis, Missouri, then was the manager of the real estate loan department of the Commonwealth Trust Company in St. Louis, Missouri, was the president of the Realty Savings Investment Company in St. Louis, was a Methodist, and was a Mason. Frank E. Knauft was the owner of Frank E. Knauft & Company, general insurance agents. F. Knauft was a member of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers based on his first residing in Minnesota in 1851. In 1886, Knauft Hall was the site of a fundraising fair for the newly organized Church of St. John on Daytons Bluff. Helene Knauft ( -1914,) Ferdinand Knauft ( -1916,) Julia E. Knauft ( -1929,) Caroline Louise Knauft ( -1932,) Charles F. Knauft ( -1935,) and Ole O. Rindal ( -1938) all died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $70,000. The house was previously owned by Ron Johnson and is currently owned by Linda Chemil Kelly and Patrick P. Kelly. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that George P. Foote, a member of the church since 1895, resided at the nearby former 617 East Fourth Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Alice Brown resided at the former nearby 605 Fourth Street East, that Vernon M. Buelow, a helper employed by the American Railway Express, boarded at the former nearby 636 Fourth Street East, that Patrick Casey, a laborer, boarded at the nearby former 625 East Fourth Street, that Paul H. Casey, a car repairer employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 625 East Fourth Street, that Michael Covelski, a foreman employed by the Soo Line RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 625 East Fourth Street, that Edward B. Farrell, a switchman, resided at the former nearby 619 East Fourth Street, that Ellen Farrell, a clerk, boarded at the former nearby 619 East Fourth Street, that Marie Farrell, a clerk employed by The Emporium, boarded at the former nearby 619 Fourth Street East, and that John Fedorick, a car repairer employed by the Soo Line RailRoad, boarded at the nearby former 617 East Fourth Street. [See note for the Minnesota Typographic Company for 232 Banfil Street.] [See note for the American Railway Express Company for 47 Douglas Street.] [See the note for the St. Paul, Stillwater & Taylor's Falls RailRoad.] [See the note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.]

656 East Fourth Street: Built in 1996. The building is a two story, 1580 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The current owner of record of the property is Mary J. Spriggs.

657 East Fourth Street: Built in 1912. The building is a two story, 1593 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Andree, a buyer for the Golden Rule Department Store, and his wife, Dorothy Andree, resided at this address. John Albert Andree ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Dorothy H. Andree (1902-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Munch, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002, in 2003, in 2004, and in 2005. Joseph Elsinger (1847-1917) was one of the founders of the Golden Rule department store in 1878 and Karl Walter Elsinger (1893- ) was a vice president at the Golden Rule. The Golden Rule Department Store in Saint Paul was acquired by Hahn's Department Store in 1928, became Donaldson's Golden Rule, and eventually fully merged into Donaldson's. Hahn's Department Stores was a holding company that was founded in 1928. In 1935, Hahn's Department Stores was reorganized into Allied Stores. Donaldson's of Minneapolis was founded in 1883, was acquired by Allied Stores Corporation in 1928, later acquired Powers Dry Goods, and was sold to Carson Pirie Scott in 1987. Carson Pirie Scott & Company began in 1854 when Samuel Carson opened a dry goods store in Amboy, Illinois. By 1989, Carson Pirie Scott & Company was acquired by P.A. Bergner & Company, who operated the Bergner's, Chas. V. Weise, Myers Brothers and Boston Store chains. In 1991, P.A. Bergner & Co. filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy and upon emerging from bankruptcy in 1993, it became a NASDAQ publicly traded company, and changed its operating name to Carson Pirie Scott & Company. By 1998, Carson Pirie Scott & Co. ownership was held by Proffitt's, Inc. Carson's and its associated stores became part of The Bon-Ton Stores, Inc. in a $1.1 billion deal completed in 2006. In 1986, the Allied Stores chain was acquired by Canadian entrepreneur Robert Campeau and, in 1988, it merged with Federated Department Stores, and the chains were consolidated in 1990 under the Federated name after Chapter 11 bankruptcy. The old Golden Rule department store was billed as St. Paul's home owned store and the structure has been converted into offices, with smaller shops on the lower floors catering to the needs of local employees on lunch break. The current owners of record of the property are Jody Hebert and Linda Larson Meier, who reside at 334 Mounds Boulevard.

658-660 East Fourth Street: Built in 1889; updated and restored in 2008. The structure is a two story, 6480 square foot, five unit multifamily apartment building. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gust S. Nelson, a cabinetmaker employed by the Bohn Refrigerator Company, and his wife, Mathilda Nelson, resided at this address. The previous owners of record of the property were Red Castle Realty LLC, located in White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and Florence Helde and Slade A. Helde, who resided in Burnsville, Minnesota, and the current owners of record of the property are Kit Welchlin and Tom Schultz. [For more information on Gebhard Bohn, see 761 Summit Avenue.]

659 East Fourth Street: Built in 1884. The building is a two story, 1072 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mary Frances Smith (1857-1923,) the unmarried sister of Charles T. Smith, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of myocarditis, resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Guy Aschittino, a car cleaner for the Soo Line RailRoad, his wife, Mary Aschittino, and Angelo Aschittino, a car cleaner for the Soo Line RailRoad, all resided at this address. Charles Truman Smith ( -1932) and Mary Aschittino ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Angelo Andrew Aschittino (1911-1975) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Charles Thomas Smith (1893-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Katriska, and died in Ramsey County. Charles Tony Smith (1890-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stern, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2005 for $150,600. The previous owner of record of the property is Yee Chang and the current owners of record of the property are Heather L. Grim and Jonathon P. Grim. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alb C. Cronquist, a switchman, resided at the former nearby 660 Easy Fourth Street, that Mathais Engelman, a car cleaner employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 662 Fourth Street East, and that Sussane C. Engelman, a clerk employed by the Golden Rule, boarded at the former nearby 662 Fourth Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elsie Ahrens resided at the former nearby 660 East Fourth Street, that Coleman J. McDonough and his wife, Edna McDonough, resided at the former nearby 661 East Fourth Street, and that Ivar M. Taft resided at the former nearby 662 East Fourth Street. Coleman J. McDonough ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. Ivar Magne Taft (1897-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Svensen, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.] [See the note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

663 East Fourth Street: Built in 1879. The building is a two story, 1602 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William S. Dippo resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. James Farrell resided at this address. The 1897 city directory indicates that James Farrell resided at this address. The 1899 and 1901 city directories indicate that Mrs. Catherine Farrell and James Farrell both resided at this address. The 1903 and 1905 city directories indicate that James Farrell resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that James Farrell was the depot master for the Union Depot Company and resided at this address, that Catherine Farrell, the widow of John Farrell, boarded at this address, and that Michael Farrell was a railroad switchman and boarded at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank J. Farrell, a laborer employed by Noyes Brothers & Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. In 1885, James Farrell was a passenger agent at the St. Paul Union Depot and Thomas Farrell was an engineer for engine #1 for the St. Paul Union Depot. James Farrell ( -1914) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property was for $35,000 and occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Elizabeth C. Dieringer and Matthew J. Drake. [See note on the St. Paul Union Depot Company.]

664 East Fourth Street: The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Murphy, a stower employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Mary Murphy, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005 and in 2007. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

665 East Fourth Street: Built in 1874. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 2453 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Davis resided at this address. The 1885 city directory also indicates that Thomas Davis, associated with Rodger & Davis, resided at this address. The 1887, 1889, 1891, and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Davis resided at this address. The 1897 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Davis, their daughter, and T. E. Davis all resided at this address. The 1899 and 1901 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Davis and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Linehan resided at this address. The 1910 city directory indicates that Harvey E. Mosher, a carpenter, Joseph Mosher, a telephone operator, and Zoe C. Mosher all boarded at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Victor C. Borchard roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Daniel Guy, a roofer employed by Staple Roofing & Sheet Metal Works, his wife, Frieda Guy, and Mrs. R. Gladys McMenemy all resided at this address. John J. Linehan was in real estate, with an office located on Third Street and resided at 341 Maria Avenue in 1908, 1917, and 1923. John J. Linehan ( -1932,) Frieda Alma Guy ( -1939,) Zoe C. Mosher ( -1940,) and Daniel Guy ( -1941) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 for $61,000. The current owner of record of the property is Soua Her. The 1930 city directory indicates that Beth Hayden, a dressmaker, Frank S. Boyer, a captain with the St. Paul Fire Department Engine Company #11, and his wife, Bertha Boyer, and Mrs. Mary Sughrue all resided at the former nearby 666 East Fourth Street. Frank S. Boyer (1892-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Matz, and died in Hennepin County. Bertha A. Boyer (1888-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zadach, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Sughrue ( -1953) died in Ramsey County.

667 East Fourth Street: Built in 1902. The structure is a two story, 4200 square foot, multifamily apartment house. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Blood resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. W. Helmes resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Emil W. Helmes was a lawyer who officed at the Globe Building and resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9742) indicate that Arthur B. Kachel (1882- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in the 88th Infantry Division, who was born in St. Paul, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Alsace, Meuse, and Argonne, was a salesman employed by Carl Baumgarten after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his parents, Rev. and Mrs. C. F. Kachel, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Garfield C. Kachel, a salesman for Lambert & Company, and Harold D. Kachel, a clerk for the Golden Rule, both boarded at this address. George Walter Blood ( -1927) was in the real estate business, built the house at 1042 West Linwood Avenue in 1909, resided at 1057 West Linwood Avenue in 1909, resided at 1090 West Linwood Avenue in 1915, and died in Ramsey County. Captain Arthur B. Kachel was the entertainment officer for the 88th Infantry Division in 1919 and was the general manager for the Division show "Who Can Tell" staged for the troops in Gondrecourt, Meuse, France. In 1925, Arthur Kachel was an actor and was on the faculty of the Hollywood Professional School as the head of the dramatic department. Emil W. Helmes was born in Waterloo, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota, was an assistant corporation counsel for the City of St. Paul and the St. Paul prosecuting attorney in 1906, and practiced law with John W. Willis in 1909. Emil Helmes ( -1922) Garfield C. Kachel (1897-1978) died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004 and in 2005. The property was last sold in 1997 for a sale price of $70,000. The previous owners of record of the property are Red Castle Realty LLC, located in Maplewood, Minnesota, and Allen J. Woods, and the current owners of record of the property are Joel D. Kennedy and Jolene M. Kennedy, who reside in Bloomington, Minnesota. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henrietta Klinkerfues resided at the nearby former 667 1/2 East Fourth Street in 1906. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ernest Klinkerfues (1832-1915,) the husband of Henrietta Klinkerfues, who was born in Germany to parents also born in Germany and who died of senility, resided at the nearby former 667 1/2 East Fourth Street in 1915. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henrietta Klinkerfues (1840-1925,) the widowed mother of Edgar Klinkerfues, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of cardio-renal degeneration, resided at the nearby former 667 1/2 East Fourth Street in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 667 1/2 East Fourth Street was vacant. Ernest F. Klinkerfues was a carpenter, was a builder, and was credited as the architect for 1605 Summit Avenue. Henrietta Klinkerfues (1841- ) was born in Hanover to a father who was born in Hanover, married Ernst Klinkerfues (1839- ,) and resided at Demark, Washington County, Minnesota. Ernest Klinkerfues ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. Edgar Charles Klinkerfues ( -1936) died in Hennepin County. [See the note for John Willey Willis for 367 Bates Avenue.]

668 East Fourth Street: Tandy Row; Built in 1888 (1886 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Victorian in style with Queen Anne details; John H. Coxhead, architect. The rowhouse is now a three story, 17025 square foot, multifamily apartment house. The simple rectangular box design of the rowhouse is deemphasized by the two-story Victorian oriel window set at the west end of the front facade and by the bell-shaped canopy over the central entrances. The symmetry of the facade is also de-emphasized by the arched windows on the third floor over the projecting bay. The 1890 city directory indicates that Anna Bray was the widow of Richard D. Bray and resided at this address. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mrs. Anna Bray and daughters all resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Baldwin resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Albert M. Stubbs resided at this address in 1902. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. Kuhlo resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Arnold Kuhle was the president of Kuhle Manufacturing Company, a manufacturer of surveying and engineering instruments on Fourth Street, and resided in White Bear Lake, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nellie McKernan, the widow of Peter McKernan, resided at this address. Arnold Kuhlo (1862- ,) the son of Ernst Kuhlo and Elizabeth Weihe Kuhlo, was born in Detmold Germany, was educated in the common schools of Germany, graduated from the mechanical engineering course of the Polytechnic Institute of Hanover, Germany, in 1880, emigrated to the United States, initially resided in New York, was employed in the trade of the manufacture of surveying engineer's instruments, moved to St. Louis, Missouri, in 1881, was then employed by the A. S. Aloe Company, was the superintendent in the mathematical department of the A. S. Aloe Company from 1884 until 1891, married Adele Kuender in 1889, moved to Chicago, Illinois, in 1891, moved to St. Paul in 1892, was employed by Boeringer & Son from 1892 until 1893, was self-employed as A. Kuhlo until 1902, was a manufacturer, incorporated the firm as the Kuhlo Manufacturing Company, was the president and a member of the board of directors of the Kuhlo Manufacturing Company, engaged in the manufacture of surveying, engineering, and astronomical instruments, resided at 468 Dayton Avenue in 1907, and officed at 97 East Fourth Street. Arnold Kuhlo (1862- ,) the son of Ernest Kuhlo, was born in Westphalia, Germany, was educated in the schools of Germany, graduated from the polytechnic school, learned the trade of making astronomical, surveying and other fine instruments, came to the United States in 1880, was first employed in New York, worked at the same business in Philadelphia and Chicago, was a surveying instrument maker in St. Louis, Missouri, from 1885 to 1889, married Adele Kluender in 1889, was a member of the Engineers Club of St. Louis, Missouri, in 1891, and came to St. Paul in 1892. Arnold Kuhlo ( -1909) was an inventer, invented a process of storing acetylene under pressure for use in automobiles, was killed in an explosion while experimenting with the process. The Kuhlo Manufacturing Company was incorporated in 1903 by Arnold Kuhlo, Walter H. Dickerman, and C. D. Bruce Tudor. Isla B. Stubbs (1880-1902,) who was born in the United States and who died of tuberculosis pulmonalis, was the daughter of Albert M. Stubbs. Anna Bray ( -1914), the widow of John Bray, died in Ramsey County. Isla B. Stubbs was the daughter of Albert M. Stubbs. Albert M. Stubbs ( -1927) died in Hennepin County. Nellie McKernan ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2001 for $298,125. The current owner of record of the property is Allen J. Woods, who was associated with Red Castle Realty LLC, located in White Bear Lake, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence Bailey, Henry Ehrmanntraut, and Mrs. Nellie McKernan, the widow of Peter McKernan, all resided at the former nearby 670 East Fourth Street, that Irving Brack and Mrs. Clara B. Sikins both resided at the former nearby 670 East Fourth Street, that Alf M. Thune, a laborer, resided at the former nearby 672 East Fourth Street, and that Joseph Graham, a bottler employed by the Hamm Brewing Company, his wife, Stella Graham, Anthony Rumley, a laborer, and his wife, Jeanette Rumley, all resided at the former nearby 674 East Fourth Street. In 1879, H. Charles Ehrmanntraut was a partner with Charles J. Weyl in Weyl & Ehrmanntraut, a meat market, located at 195 East Seventh Street, resided at 150 Mississippi Street. Joseph S. Graham (1891-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Doughtery, and died in Ramsey County. Stella Graham (1879-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schear, and died in Hennepin County. Stella Graham (1909-1984) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Behening, and died in Hennepin County. [See note on John H. Coxhead.]

682-684 East Fourth Street: Built in 1874. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 2040 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Helmes resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Charles H. Helmes was a travel agent for Maxfield Seabury & Company, wholesale grocers, and resided at 687 East Fourth Street. The 1890 city directory also indicates that Ernst F. Horst was a physician at 707 East Third Street and resided at 381 North Bates Avenue. The 1901 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. F. Horst resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. F. Horst and E. G. Horst all resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Ernest F. Horst was a physician and resided at 753 Portland Avenue and that E. George Horst was a solicitor for the Daily News Publishing Company and boarded at 753 Portland Avenue. The 1890 city directory also indicates that Ernst F. Horst was a physician at 707 East Third Street and resided at 381 North Bates Avenue. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. R. E. McCleary resided at 682 East Fourth Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10371) indicate that Laurits Jensen (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 56th Company of the Trans. Corps, who was born in Denmark, moved to Minnesota in 1913, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 7" tall, was a switchman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a switchtender employed by the Union Depot Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at 684 East Fourth Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Hannah Anderson, the widow of Alfred Anderson, resided at 684 East Fourth Street and that Hildegard Anderson, a feeder, and Lillian C. Anderson, a machine operator, both boarded at 684 East Fourth Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that 682 East Fourth Street was vacant and that William Bailey, a switchman, and his wife, Irene Bailey, resided at 684 East Fourth Street. Ernest F. Horst ( -1909) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Brad Nilles and Laurie T. Nilles, who were located at 525 Ohio Street, and the current owner of record of the property is Calabash Properties, located at 525 Ohio Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Curt Langenbeck (1851-1895,) of German extraction who died of ataxia, and Anna Elizabeth Langenbeck, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 681 1/2 East Fourth Street in 1895. A. E. Langenbeck (1858-1907) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. William E. Bailey ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. William E. Bailey (1879-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brooks, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Union Depot Company.]

685 East Fourth Street: Built in 1889. The structure is a two story, 2752 square foot, multifamily apartment house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Scott resided at this address. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. B. Howarth resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Samuel B. Horwath was the chief lineman for the Northern Pacific RailRoad and resided at 64 West Central Avenue and that Edward M. Schutt was a clerk for the Wisconsin Central Company and resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward M. Schutt resided at this address in 1890. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Schutt resided at this address. The 1893 and 1897 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Peter Bott resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward St. George, a helper employed by Gustave J. Seestedt, a linoleum dealer, his wife, Joyce St. George, and Lawrence Toforug all resided at this address. Edward Schutt ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. Edward St. George (1903-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dauplaise, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property is Thomas J. Platzer and the current owner of record of the property is Gabriel Scholl. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Helmes resided at the former nearby 687 East Fourth Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John S. Craig (1822-1900,) who died of Bright's disease, resided at the former nearby 687 East Fourth Street in 1900. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11221) indicate that Lee Wilson (1888- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Bugler in the 144th Infantry, who was born in Garden City, Minnesota, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a motorman at induction, was a freight handler employed by G. Morrison after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Roy Wilson, at the nearby former 687 East Fourth Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Della St. Martin and Roy B. Wilson resided at the former nearby 687 East Fourth Street. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

688 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 1640 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. The 1908 city directory indicates that B. Ernest Smeed was the assistant city ticket agent for the Soo Line RailRoad and boarded at 157 East Congress and that Benjamin Smeed was a messenger for the Northern Express Company and resided at 157 East Congress. The 1918 city directory indicates that B. E. Smeed resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#12147) indicate that Henry James Rath, Jr., (1892- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Stable Sergeant in the Headquarters Company of the 604th Engineers, who was born in Pine City, Minnesota, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' 1/4" tall, was a teamster at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Meuse and Argonne, was a creamery manager employed by the Crescent Creamery Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Henry James Rath, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mary E. Naughton, a starcher employed by the National Laundry Company, and John Naughton, a laborer, both resided at this address. The predecessor of the Soo Line RailRoad was formed by a group of Minneapolis grain milling operators in 1883 as the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad. It expanded north and west from the Twin Cities through the Dakotas and east across Wisconsin to the Canadian border, where it connected with the Canadian Pacific RailRoad at Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. The objective of the Soo Line RailRoad was to open an entirely new route for transporting flour and grain to the Eastern Seaboard and break the stranglehold on rates by rail carriers operating through Chicago. The new rail route to the East through the Canadian Pacific RailRoad connection at Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, was 200 miles shorter to Boston than transit through Chicago and it brought new competition for business and helped ease transportation costs for grain companies. In 1961, the Soo Line RailRoad, the Wisconsin Central RailRoad, and the Duluth, South Shore & Atlantic RailRoad, which was formed in 1855, were merged into the Soo Line RailRoad Company. The Canadian Pacific RailRoad had previously acquired ownership interests in all three companies and after the merger, Canadian Pacific RailRoad was the majority owner of the new Soo Line RailRoad. The Soo Line RailRoad purchased the Minneapolis, Northfield & Southern Railway in 1981 and the Milwaukee Road in 1985. Following 1985, unable to manage the capital and manpower needs of the expanded railroad, the Soo Line RailRoad pared down its operations. In 1990, the Canadian Pacific RailRoad acquired 100 percent of the common stock of the Soo Line RailRoad. The Minneapolis, Northfield & Southern Railway was an 87 mile long short line railroad that connected Minneapolis with Northfield, Minnesota, was incorporated in 1918, took over the trackage of the former Minneapolis, St. Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company, "the Dan Patch Line," was acquired by the Soo Line Railroad in 1982, and was kept as a separate railroad until officially merged in 1986. Mary Naughton ( -1922,) Mary Naughton ( -1939,) and Benjamin Smeed ( -1950) all died in Ramsey County. Mary Naughton (1889-1969) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Malley, and died in Ramsey County. The structure was last sold in 2004 for $158,570. The previous owner of record of the property is Robert J. Brenner, who resides at Coon Rapids, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Tom Nyakeriga, who resides in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John S. Craig and Mary M. Craig, husband and wife, resided at the former nearby 687 East Fourth Street in 1899. John Sutherland Craig ( -1939) and Mary Craig ( -1953) both died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Minneapolis, St. Paul & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad.] [See note on the Wisconsin Central RailRoad.] [See note on the Duluth, South Shore & Atlantic RailRoad.] [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.] [See note on the Minneapolis, St. Paul, Rochester & Dubuque Electric Traction Company.] [See note on the Canadian Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Minneapolis, Northfield & Southern Railway.] [See note on the Crescent Creamery Company for 601 Goodrich Avenue.]

689 East Fourth Street: Built in 1884. The building is a two story, 1840 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emma J. Lindeke, George A. Lindeke, a clerk employed by the Ramsey County treasurer, and his wife, Harriet Lindeke, all resided at this address. George A. Lindeke was a member of the Capitol City Bicycle Club in 1898. Emma Lindeke (1872-1962) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. George A. Lindeke ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. Harriet (Mrs. George) Lindeke ( -1947) died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. The last sale of the property occurred in 2005 and the sale price was $120,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Michael J. Bertrand and Wendy L. Bertrand, who resided at 687 Montana Avenue East, and the current owner of record of the property is Daniel Marks, who resides at 226 Grotto Street North. The 1879 city directory indicates that Edward McNamee, a bookkeeper employed by Dawson & Company, resided on the South side of East Fourth Street three addresses East of Maria Avenue.

692 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1780 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George W. Jones, Sr., (1859-1915,) the husband of Lena Jones, who was born in England to parents also born in England and who died of illuminating gas poisoning, resided at this address in 1915. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph Beichel, an engineer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Carbone, a machinist at the Great Northern RailRoad shops, and his wife, Clara Carbone, Angelo Carbone, a photographer, Anthony Cordova, a laborer, and his wife, Margaret Cordova, all resided at this address. John Carbone ( -1954) Clara Carbone ( -1965) died in Ramsey County. Angelo Carbone (1904-1992) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $2,733. The current owner of record of the property is Calabash Properties, located at 525 Ohio Street. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad for 280 Maple Street.]

693 East Fourth Street: Built in 1899. The building is a two story, 1624 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that John J. Bailey, a plumber with a shop at 438 Jackson Street, resided at this address and that Josephine Bailey, a seamstress, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Bailey, a plumber with a shop at 462 Jackson Street, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2003. John J. Bailey ( -1943) died in Ramsey County. The last recorded sale of the property was in 2004 and the sale price was $155,500. The previous owner of record of the property was JBI & Associates, Inc, located in Eagan, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Linda M. Charpentier.

694 East Fourth Street: Built in 1884. The building is a one story, 2736 square foot, five bedroom, five bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Joseph Bickell, a fireman employed by The Emporium, resided at this address and Thomas M. Cooney, a laborer, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert Stevens, a mechanic employed by the Twin City Motor Company, and his wife, Angela Stevens, resided at this address. George Dossey resided at this address in 1942. George Dossey ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. The last recorded sale of the property was in 2005 and the sale price was $280,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Christian Fiksen and the current owner of record of the property is Joel Kennedy, who resides in Eagan, Minnesota.

695 East Fourth Street: Built in 1899. The building is a two story, 1653 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Michael F. Kinkead, a First Lieutenant, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6268) indicate that Michael F. Kinkead (1886- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Captain in the Adjutant General's Department, who was born in Limerick, Ireland, was 6' 2 3/4" tall, was an attorney at law at induction, was a self employed lawyer who officed at the Exchange Bank Building after the completion of service in 1919, and was married, resided with his wife, Eileen Kinkead, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. M. Carlson and Mr. and Mrs. M. F. Kinkead resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael F. Kinkhead, a lawyer who officed at the Pioneer Building, his wife, Eileen M. Kinkhead, and Mrs. Ellen McGrath, the widow of Michael McGrath, resided at this address. Michael Kinkead, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Kinkead, was one of the organizers of the Polish American Club in 1927. Michael F. Kinkead was the Ramsey County Attorney who prosecuted the Green Lantern murder case in 1931, shortly after taking office after being elected in a bitter political contest with then county attorney Christopher O'Brien in 1930. The Green Lantern murder occurred when a young cook, Frank Ventress, was shot to death as he stepped away from his dinner at the Green Lantern Saloon, 545 1/2 North Wabasha Street, a notorious gangster hangout. Frank Fay was the suspected murderer. The Green Lantern Saloon was St. Paul's premier criminal hangout, was referred to by Alvin "Creepy" Karpis as "my personal headquarters," was turned over to Dillinger gang members Tommy Gannon and Pat Reilly in 1933, closed in 1934, became a photography studio and beauty shop in the 1950's, and then was razed. "Dapper" Danny Hogan (1880-1928,) an underworld figure, the boss of St. Paul's Irish Mob during Prohibition, and overseer of the notorious "O'Connor System" in St. Paul, once owned the Green Lantern Saloon. "Dapper" Danny Hogan was murdered by a bomb attached to the ignition system of his automobile, a Paige coupe, one of the first uses of a car bomb, was given a Prohibition-era Chicago-style funeral, and was buried in Calvary Cemetery. Harry Sawyer also was once the owner of the Green Lantern Saloon. The "O'Connor System" was named for St. Paul Police Chief John "The Big Fellow" O'Connor. At the turn of 20th century, the eventual chief of the St. Paul Police department, John J. O'Connor, sent word out to gangsters all over America that they were welcome to St. Paul and that it was a safe haven and a safe city for them if they followed a certain set of rules. Under the "O'Connor System," when bank robbers and kidnappers arrived at the Union Depot in downtown St. Paul, they had to identify themselves to police, pay the police a little tribute, frequently stolen jewelry, had to identify where they were staying while in St. Paul, and, while in the city limits of St. Paul, could not kill, maim, kidnap or rob anyone. If the gangster did not have a girlfriend in St. Paul, the police would direct them where to satisfy whatever personal vices they sought. Under the system, the gangsters could go to Minneapolis, Des Moines, Iowa, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, or Madison, Wisconsin, and kill, rob or loot so long as when they came back to St. Paul, the gangsters were on their best behavior. Pretty Boy Floyd, Machine Gun Kelly, the Barker-Karpis gang, Alvin "Creepy" Karpis, John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Verne Miller, and virtually every other major hoodlum in the United States, with the exception of Pretty Boy Floyd, came to St. Paul during the period. The O'Connor system was called the "lay over" agreement because gangsters could "layover" in St. Paul and it lasted until the mid 1930's and the Edward Bremer and William Hamm kidnappings by the Barker-Karpis gang. That violation of the O'Connor system and of the safe haven stunned the influencial folk of St. Paul and led to the total collapse of the 36 year old agreement between the crooks and the police and the FBI came in, hunted down portions of the Barker-Karpis gang, and killed or arrested many members of the Dillinger gang. Other cities across America, such as Hot Springs, Arkansas, Toledo, Ohio, and Cicero, had "safe haven" agreements, but St. Paul was unique, functioning like a department store for gangsters, with machine guns being sold to bank robbers on Wabasha Street, loose women were available to be a gangster's girlfriend or moll, heavily armored getaway cars were offered for sale by the auto dealerships on University Avenue, substitute license plates were available, to be attached with quick-release lug-nuts, some of the best jazz musicians from across America could be heard at the speakeasies and blind pigs across St. Paul, illegal liquor was available throughout the city during the Prohibition period, and casinos and underworld gambling joints popped up in various parts of the city. John J. O'Connor (1855- ) was born in Louisville, Kentucky, came to St. Paul with his parents in 1856, was initially employed by Beaupre & Kelly, was employed by the P. H. Kelly & Company for ten years, was a St. Paul police detective from 1881 until 1886, was the head of detectives in the St. Paul Police Department from 1886 until 1896, married Annie B. Murphy in 1890, was employed by a private detective agency in St. Paul, was a Democrat, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 36) from 1899 until 1901, and was the chief of police in St. Paul from 1900 until 1912 and from 1914 until 1920. Kinkead left the Ramsey County Attorney's office to become a probate judge in 1939. James F. Lynch, a 1916 graduate of the St. Paul College of Law, succeeded Michael Kinkead as county attorney and held the post for twenty years (1939-1959). The Green Lantern, located behind a cigar store at 545 1/2 Wabasha Street North, was St. Paul's premier criminal hangout, was owned by Daniel "Dapper Dan" Hogan (1880-1928,) was owned by Harry "Dutch" Sawyer, an Orthodox Jew, in 1930, was managed by George Hurley, was turned over to Dillinger gang members Tommy Gannon and Pat Reilly in 1933, closed in 1934, and became a photography studio and beauty shop in the 1950's before being razed. William Albert "Pat" Reilly was a bartender at the Green Lantern Saloon. In 1933, Father Charles Coughlin (1891-1979,) the antiSemetic radio critic of the Franklin D. Roosevelt administration, was reportedly taken to the Green Lantern by George "Baby Face" Nelson/Lester Joseph Gillis (1908-1934.) During Prohibition, Schmidt beer was delivered to the underworld's Green Lantern Saloon via a tunnel to a brewery employee's house on Erie Street. Frank S. Ventress ( -1931,) Ellen McGrath ( -1940,) Michael F. Kinkead ( -1950,) and Eileen M. Kinkhead ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Frank B. Fay (1897-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McGee, and died in Ramsey County. James Francis Lynch (1893-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mullane, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The property was on the vacant house list in 2007. The property was last sold in 2002 for $85,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Chia Moua and the current owner of record of the property is Wesu Biz, Inc., located at 357 Daly Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that William A. Freeman, a plumber employed by McQuillan Brothers, and his wife, Venetta Freeman, resided at the former nearby 697 East Fourth Street. William A. Freeman (1881-1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota.

697 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 1736 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dr. Howard T. Eachus resided at this address in 1893. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dr. Howard T. Eachus resided at this address in 1895. The 1930 city directory indicates that Chris Peterson, a shipper employed by the Brown Sheet Iron & Steel Company, and his wife, Agnes Peterson, resided at this address. Howard T. Eachus (1860- ,) a doctor and a dentist, was the son of Townsend T. Eachus (1832-1907) and Hannah P. Webb Eachus (1826-1887,) was born in West Chester, Chester County, Pennsylvania, had six siblings, Francis Henry Eachus (1855- ,) Mary E. Eachus (1858- ,) Sallie F. Eachus (1861-1862,) Annie R. Eachus (1863-1863,) H. Philena Eachus (1865-1865,) and Emily Eachus (1869- ,) and married Harriet "Hattie" Goode Eachus in 1890. Howard Townsend Eachus ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. [See note for Howard Eachus and his family for 291 Bates Avenue.]

698 East Fourth Street: Built in 1879. The building is a two story, 1595 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alphonse/Alfonso Carbone, associated with Carbone Brothers grocery, and his wife, Antoinette Carbone, resided at this address. Alfonso Carbone ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. Antoinette Carbone (1888-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vigna, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2004 and the purchase price was $145,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Christine M. Isaacs and Wesley K. Isaacs, who resided in Woodbury, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Maria Frank.

699 East Fourth Street: Built in 1909. The building is a one story, 1136 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1910 city directory indicates that Charles E. Johnson was a conductor and resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Schmalz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick L. Schmalz, a traveling salesman, his wife, Cornelia Schmalz, and Frederick D. Schmalz, a student, all resided at this address. Frederick L. Schmalz (1879-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wangerin, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is James T. Wardlaw II.

700 East Fourth Street: Built in 1886. The building is a two story, 1568 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. Warfield, Jr., resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15085) indicate that Luca Antonio Lavorato (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Eighth Truck Company, who was born in Paine Crati, Italy, had brown eyes, dark hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 3 1/2" tall, was a storekeeper at induction, was a storekeeper after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, Luis Lavarato, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Lavorato, the operator of a billiards parlor, and his wife, Angelina Lavoratto, resided at this address. Louis Lavorato (1893-1971) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Marrazzo, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $175,900. The current owner of record of the property is Maria Frank, who also owns 698 East Fourth Street.

701 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 2704 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. William F. Fifield resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that David S. Fifield (1813-1899,) of German extraction who died of old age, and H. Amanda Fifield, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1899. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Saul Kleinschmidt resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Wilson, a lever man, and his wife, Hazel M. Wilson, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1998 for $52,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Bradley T. Nilles and Laurie T. Nilles, who were located at 525 Ohio Street, and the current owner of record of the property is Callabash Properties, located at 525 Ohio Street.

702 East Fourth Street: Edward W. White House; Built in 1888 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Late Queen Anne in style; Charles E. Joy, architect. The building is a two story, 2196 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. This large frame house displays the architectural eclecticism that was so prevalent around the turn of the century. It has an asymmetric window. The porch displays classical Ionic columns and dentiles at the porch frieze. Of special interest are the use of clapboard and shingles and the unusual narrow attic window with its eyelid hood. The 1909, 1916, 1918, and 1923 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Sever Westby resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Sever Westby, a druggist with a pharmacy located at 670 East Third Street, and his wife, Elizabeth Westby, resided at this address. Sever Westby ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $140,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The previous owner of record of the property was Mary Lynn Jahnke and the current owner of record of the property is Santos G. Martinez. The 1909 Picturesque Dayton's Bluff booklet indicates that Dr. Plondtke resided at the former nearby 703 Fourth Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that Dietrich E. Brenning resided at the former nearby 703 Fourth Street East and that Helen M. Brenning, a bookkeeper employed by the Board of Control, and Louise E. Brenning, a clerk employed by the Board of Control, both boarded at the former nearby 703 Fourth Street East. The 1930 city directory indicates that Diedrich E. Brenning resided at the former nearby 703 East Fourth Street.

704 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 994 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raoul Brisson, a body builder employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Agnes Brisson, resided at this address. The previous owners of record of the property were Kristine J. Karlson and Paul J. Karlson and the current owner of record of the property is Lauren R. Wendland. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

705 East Fourth Street: W. F. Fifield House/Dr. Fred Plondke House; Built in 1884 (1888 according to the current owners.) The structure was built as a single family residence for W. F. Fifield and is now a three story, 4248 square foot, multifamily apartment house with a detached garage. Dr. Plondke was one of the founders of the former nearby St. John's German Lutheran Hospital/St. John's Hospital (now the site of Metro State University) and was its medical director for over 35 years. The 1909, 1916, and 1918 city directories indicate that Dr. F. J. Plondke resided at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Pearson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles A. Pearson, the president-treasurer of C. A. Pearson Inc., wholesale grocers, resided at this address. Dr. Fred Plondke introduced the use of spinal anesthesia, using the drug Stovain, at St. Joseph's Hospital in 1905. Dr. Frederick J. Plondke (1869- ,) the son of August Plondke (1824-1901,) originally of Plessen, Schlesien, Germany, and Augusta Kuehler Plondke (1829-1887,) originally of Prussia, was born in Bagley, Grant County, Wisconsin, attended the common schools in Grant County, Wisconsin, until 1887, attended the Collegiate Institute of Fort Dodge, Iowa, from 1887 until 1889, attended the Metropolitan Business College of Sioux City, Iowa, in 1889, graduated from the Morning Side College, Sioux City, Iowa, in 1894, graduated from the Sioux City College of Medicine in 1893, graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 1898, took a post-graduate course in New York in 1898, took post-graduate courses in medicine and surgery in London, England, Berlin, Germany, and Vienna, Austria, in 1905, married Alberta E. McAuly, was a physician and surgeon, was a professor of clinical pathology in the medical department of Hamline University, was a pathologist at the City & County Hospital in St. Paul, was a surgeon employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad and the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, was the author of an article on puerperal eclampsia for the Journal of the American Medical Association in 1911, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Sioux Valley Medical Society, was a member of the Minnesota State Medical Society, was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Society, was a member of the St Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Dayton's Bluff Commercial Club, was a Mason, and officed at the Endicott Arcade. The medical library at St. John's Eastside Hospital has been named for Dr. Frederick J. Plondke. W. F. Fifield & Company was a lumber yard. Frederick J. Plondke (1869-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuechler, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $70,000. The current owner of record of the property is Daniel B. Lager. In 1879, Miss Mary King, a teacher at the Lincoln School, resided at the Northeast corner of Fourth Street East and Bates Avenue and Sophia Mueller was a domestic at the residence at the Northeast corner of Fourth Street East and Bates Avenue.

718 East Fourth Street: Built in 1914. The building is a one story, 1123 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. Edward W. Anderson and Ernest Anderson were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#20561) indicate that Ernest W. Anderson (1888- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant in Company L of the 54th Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' 3/4" tall, was a phys. director at induction, was a phys. director after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ernest W. Anderson, a salesman, boarded at this address and that Lawrence G. Anderson, a machinist, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that L. G./Lawrence G. Anderson and his wife, Mathilda Anderson, resided at this address and that Mrs. Harriette M. Anderson, a checker employed at the Emporium department store, roomed at this address. Lawrence G. Anderson ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Lawrence Glenn Anderson ( -1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Munson, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is David D. Valentine.

721 East Fourth Street: Built in 1885. The building is a two story, 2064 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Naumann resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Naumann and Leander Bosch all resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Naumann and A. A. Naumann all resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Naumann resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John H. Door resided at this address. In 1879, Adolph Naumann, a bookkeeper employed by Holl & Paar, resided at 59 Louis Street. Adolph Naumann ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. Adolph A. Naumann (1886-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bosch, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Lois J. Chavez.

722 East Fourth Street: Built in 1909. The building is a one story, 1498 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that William I. Zollman, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, and Oscar L. Rooch, his wife, Anna M. Rooch, Eleanor Rooch, a clerk, Florence Rooch, a clerk employed by the Minnehaha Cleaners, and Frances Rooch, a clerk, all resided at this address. Oscar Lydwig Rooch ( -1933) and William Zollman ( -1947) both died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1994 for $45,900. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffery N. Rodewald and Nicole Rodewald. [See note on the St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.]

723 East Fourth Street: Built in 1924. The building is a one story, 986 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Guy R. Laib, a salesman employed by the Great Northern Railway News Service, and his wife, Maybelle Laib, resided at this address. Maybelle T. Laib (1904-1982) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Dianna L. Voss.

724 East Fourth Street: Built in 1888. The building is a two story, 2132 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Arthur A. Sharpe resided at this address in 1889 and 1890. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edwin Pearson resided at this address in 1908. The 1920 city directory indicates that George Browne, a salesman, Anna Conlin, a housekeeper, Mae I. Conlin, Roy E. Conlin, a driver, and William J. Conlin, a driver, all boarded at this address and that Patrick J. Conlin, an expressman, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank R. Albright, the assistant chief clerk for the Railway Mail Service, and his wife, Marion M. Albright, and Arthur F. Maschke, a storekeeper employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Lily F. Maschke, all resided at this address. Marvin Edwin Pearson (1908-1908,) who was born in St. Paul to parents who were born in America and Sweden and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, was the son of Edwin Pearson. Marvin Edwin Pearson ( -1908) and Edwin P. Pearson ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Frank R. Albright ( -1944) died in Hennepin County. Arthur Ferdinand Maschke (1895-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Arndt, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2003 and the sale price was $157,900. The previous owners of record of the property were Chue Y. Xiong and Ge Pao Xiong and the current owner of record of the property is Chue Lily Yang. [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad/Milwaukee Road for 351 St. Clair Avenue.]

725 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a one story, 1863 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Halstead resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Austin Lee Halstead (1850-1913,) the husband of Ida Halstead, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of cancer of the esophogus, resided at this address in 1913. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. L. Halstead resided at this address. The 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. Ida Halstead resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Maude L. Brunney, a stenographer for the City Purchasing Agent, boarded at this address. The 1923 city directories indicate that Mrs. Ida Halstead resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ida Halstead, the widow of Austin L. Halstead, resided at this address. Ida B. Halstead ( -1935) died in Ramsey County. Maude L. Brunney (1887-1970) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2003, in 2004, in 2005, and in 2007. The property was last sold in 2003 for $139,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Marvin Gunn and the current owner of record of the property is L G & C Properties, Inc., located in Minneapolis.

726 East Fourth Street: Built in 1920. The building is a 884 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached one car garage. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mrs. Catherine Leonard and her daughters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph P. Marchal, associated with the Eastern Machine Works, and his wife, Minnie Marchal, resided at this address. Catherine Margaret Leonard (1884-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Peter Marchal (1873-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schmidt, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $89,900. The previous owner of record of the property was the Washington Mutual Bank, located at San Diego, California, and the current owner of record of the property is James E. Swartwood, who resides in Minneapolis.

729 East Fourth Street: Built in 1909. The building is a two story, 1280 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. R. D. West resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas B. Fahey, a watchman employed by the National Automatic Machines Company, and his wife, Marcella C. Fahey, resided at this address. Thomas Buckley Fahey ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property is Fred E. Kraus and the current owner of record of the property is Sandra J. Johnson.

730 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 2400 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Kearney resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William J. North resided at this address from 1901 to 1959. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ernest W. Cowern, a physician with a practice located at 679 East Third Street, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Julia E. North, the widow of John North, resided at this address. William J. North ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $195,000 and the sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Chad Burwell and Patricia Burwell, who reside in Lonsdale, Minnesota. [See note for John Wesley North for 30 Irvine Park.]

731 East Fourth Street: Built in 1880. The building is a two story, 2596 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Miller resided at this address. In 1897, according to the Journal of the proceedings of the fortieth annual convention of the Diocese of Minnesota, Rev. George H. Mueller, rector of St. Peter's Episcopal Church, resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Miller, their daughters, and W. H. Miller all resided at this address. The 1915 city directory indicates that I. Homer Kerr was a clerk with the Northern Pacific RailRoad and resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#32479) indicate that Paul B. Govreau (1889- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Saddler in Company E of the 313th Engineers, who was born in Weingaiten, Missouri, moved to Minnesota in 1916, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a harnessmaker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Haute Alsace, was a laborer employed by the J. C. Vander Bie Company, an ice cream manufacturer, after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that William Feltner, a clerk, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James S. Dinwoodie, a janitor, and his wife, Ivy Dinwoodie, Alf M. Thune, an operator, and his wife, Lehm M. Thune, resided at this address. W. A. Miller (1826-1896) was born in Nova Scotia, Canada, came to Minnesota in 1875, was a journalist, for many years was employed by the Pioneer Press, was a prominent Odd Fellow, was a Free Mason, and died in Minneapolis. James Schwartz Dinwoodie (1887-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schwartz, and died in Ramsey County. Ivy Linn Dinwoodie (1895-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bloomgren, and died in Ramsey County. Alfred Thune ( -1936) and Isaac Homer Kerr ( -1937) both died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Richard A. Dornfeld and Mary G. Macotte, who reside in Woodbury, Minnesota. Exposure Models Association and Talent Team Network, Incorporated, owned by Angela Williams, was located at this address in 2003. Angela Williams, a single mother with two children, Fred Williams and Gabrielle Williams, conducted workshops at various schools and emphasizes hygiene, spiritual growth, and personal management in addition to modeling technique. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Benjamin D. White (1820-1897,) who died of apoplexy, resided at the former nearby 732 East Fourth Street in 1897. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that J. Magill Smith resided at this address in 1907. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Magill Smith, S. H. Smith, and Mrs. C. L. Jett all resided at the former nearby 732 East Fourth Street. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. Magill Smith resided at the former nearby 732 East Fourth Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alb Conver, an electrician employed by the Soo Line RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 732 East Fourth Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert Herdina, a helper, his wife, Anna H. Herdina, Owen Garrity, a laborer employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, his wife, Nellie Garrity, Helen E. Garrity, a telephone operator employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, Martin F. Garrity, an operator employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, and Zella Garrity, a nurse, all resided at the former nearby 732 East Fourth Street. J. Magill Smith (1849- ,) the son of James L. Smith and Sarah Holloway Smith, was born in Lexington, Michigan, was educated in the public schools of Toledo, Ohio, married Julia Seraphina White (1856- ) in 1879, was a bookkeeper employed by Stirling Company, carpets, in Toledo, Ohio, until 1883, moved to Minnesota in 1883, was in the house furnishings business, was a partner, with H. B. Farwell, of the Smith & Farwell Company, retail house furnishers at 71-75 East Sixth Street, from 1883 until 1890, was the president of the Smith & Farwell Company from 1890 until 1905, was a senior member of the Smith & Borg Furniture Company after 1905, was a pioneer in the Sixth Street St. Paul retail movement, was a charter member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Imperial Knights in 1896, was an Episcopalian, was a warden of St. Peter's Episcopalian Church, was a member of the Episcopalian Church Club in 1895, and officed at 73 East Sixth Street in 1907. Mrs. J. Magill Smith was the daughter of Benjamin D. White and Julia Maria Sheldon (1829-1876) and was born at Delavan, Rock County, Wisconsin. J. Magill Smith and Julia Seraphina White Smith were the parents of Leighton H. Smith (1881- ,) Kenneth C. Smith (1884- ,) and Sheldon H. Smith (1888- .) J. Magill Smith ( -1925,) Owen Garrity ( -1942,) and Nellie Garrity ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Anna Christina Herdina (1908-1999) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Swoboda, and died in Renville County, Minnesota. Zella Mary Garrity (1904-1982) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ball, and died in Ramsey County. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

734 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 3184 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The property was last sold in 1992 for $43,000. The current owner of record of the property is Angela Hansen.

735 East Fourth Street: Built in 1908. The building is a two story, 1176 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Spicker resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sadie Alice Spicker (1883-1914,) the single sister of William Edward Spicker, who was born in Iowa to parents also born in Germany and in the United States and who died of mitral regurgitation, resided at this address in 1914. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Spicker resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank A. Wiedl, a granite cutter employed by the Riverview Granite Company, Gertrude L. Wiedl, a clerk employed by the Webb Publishing Company, and Helen M. Wiedl, a biller employed by G. Sommers & Company, all resided at this address. The Morton burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Sadie Spicker (1883-1914,) William E. Spicker (1879-1944,) Pauline R. Spicker (1874-1957,) Amelia Curry Morton (1857-1935,) and Susanne Skillman Morton (1853-1926.) Frank Wiedl ( -1933) and William Edward Spicker ( -1944) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property was in 1993 and was for $50,000. The current owner of record of the property is Nancy J. Coolidge. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. C. L. Jett resided at the former nearby 736 East Fourth Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Elizabeth O'Brien, the widow of Joseph O'Brien, resided at the former nearby 736 East Fourth Street. [See the note for Webb Publishing for 291 Goodrich Avenue.]

738 East Fourth Street: Built in 1978. The building is a 1334 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, split level frame house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward Bremer (1827-1893,) of German heritage who died of nephritis, and Marie Bremer, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1893. The 1909 city directory indicates that Otto Bremer, Mrs. Marie Bremer, her daughter, and Paul Bremer all resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. F. E. Hirsch and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1917 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. J. J. Hoffmann resided in a prior house at this address. Clarence W. Meierbachtol (1895- ), a Yeoman, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#3359) indicate that Clarence Wesley Meierbachtol (1893- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Yeoman First Class in the United States Navy, who was born in Fairfax, Minnesota, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 11 1/2" tall, weighed 172 lbs., was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Maybelene Meierbachtol, at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. F. E. Meierbachtol resided in a prior house at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. James I. Asher, the pastor of the Daytons Bluff Methodist Episcopal Church, and his wife, Hattie P. Asher, Lelia O. Asher, a teacher at Monroe Junior High School, and Warren I. Asher, a student, resided at this address. Otto Bremer (1867-1951) the son of Edward Bremer, a banker, and Matilda Malden Bremer, who was born in Germany, was educated in the common schools and preparatory schools in Germany, initially was a farmer, emigrated from Seesen, Germany, to America in 1886 and, after a stint in Aberdeen, South Dakota, settled in St. Paul, was initially employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, but when his paycheck didn't increase along with his work responsibilities as the assistant shipping clerk, left for a job as a bookkeeper with the National German American Bank of St. Paul in 1887, rose over the next 13 years to the position of chief clerk with the bank, became a major stockholder in the bank, was the secretary-treasurer of the Schmidt Brewing Company, was elected treasurer for the City of St. Paul in 1900, and resided at this address in 1907. Bremer was nominated as a candidate for mayor of St. Paul in 1912, but lost the election by 546 votes. Otto Bremer bought into the newly organized American National Bank, in 1913, was elected to its board of directors, and became its president in 1921 when Benjamin Baer, the bank's second president and an original board member, died. In 1914, Otto Bremer and Adolph Bremer built the Bremer Arcade at Seventh and Robert Streets in St. Paul, and, in 1916, the American National Bank moved there. Bremer was an advisor to President Woodrow Wilson. By 1929, just before the stock market crash, the American National Bank had become the second largest bank in St. Paul. Bremer also established a chain of country banks, and, by 1933, he held large or controlling interests in 55 banks in Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin, and Montana, apart from his holdings in American National, including the Western State Bank in Marshall, Minnesota. By 1934, his investments in "home banks" had brought Otto Bremer to the edge of bankruptcy. To avert proceedings by various creditors, particularly Chicago and New York banks, Adolf Bremer stepped in and pledged 200 of his shares in the Schmidt Brewing Company to secure the necessary portion of Otto Bremer's debt. A settlement was reached that cost Otto Bremer all his stockholdings in Chicago and eastern banks, and transferred all of his American National Bank stock from the creditors to Adolf Bremer, thus saving the country banks and the American National from probable sale. Perhaps in part because he was President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's advisor, Otto Bremer reached an agreement with the federal Reconstruction Finance Corporation that salvaged the American National from take-over. In 1939, Otto Bremer suffered a serious accident, stumbling backwards over a stool, one day at the brewery, severely fractured his arm and leg, and subsequently only got around with the help of a male nurse. President Roosevelt drafted Bremer to manage the Home Owners Loan Corporation for Minnesota and was added to a committee trying to prevent a strike on the Kansas City & Southern Railway. The Otto Bremer Foundation was formed in 1944 to make charitable grants in the communities served by the country banks. The American National Bank was sold to Milwaukee-based Firstar Corporation in 1996. Otto Bremer had a brother, Adolf Bremer (1869-1939), who, in 1896, married Marie/Maria Schmidt Bremer, the daughter of Jacob Schmidt, the founder of the Jacob Schmidt Brewing Company. In 1890, Jacob Schmidt hired as his bookkeeper Adolf Bremer, a fellow German whom he had met while trapshooting in the woods around the current site of Hamline University. When Jacob Schmidt died in 1911, his widow, Katherine Schmidt, Adolf Bremer, and Maria Schmidt inherited the brewery. The Bremer brothers donated heavily to the Democratic Party, which they believed best represented the interests of German brewers against rural prohibitionists. The brewers were thrust into politics in the 1890's to lobby against the Minnesota County Option Law, a law that gave counties the option to institute liquor prohibition. Otto Bremer became the president of the Schmidt Brewery when Adolf Bremer died in 1939. After Otto Bremer died in 1951, the Schmidt Brewing Company fell on hard times and was sold in 1954 to the Pfeiffer Brewing Company of Detroit. Otto Bremer never married, but was devoted to his younger brother and financial partner, Adolf Bremer, and provided his sister, Freida Bremer, with a comfortable home during her life. Bremer created the Otto Bremer Foundation, funded by the profits of the Otto Bremer Company. Bremer Financial Corporation was founded in 1943 by Otto Bremer, is headquartered in St. Paul, and provides banking, investment, trust, and insurance services in over 100 locations throughout Minnesota, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. Adolph Bremer had a son, Edward George Bremer, president of the Commercial State Bank, who was kidnapped by the Barker-Karpis gang in 1934, as he drove his nine year old daughter, Hertzy Bremer, to the Summit School. Adolph Bremer was inducted into the Blackfeet Tribe in 1937. Adolph Bremer, Jr., was the president of the St. Paul Jaycees in 1941. Adolph Bremer, Jr., also was Vulcanus Rex VII for the 1941 St. Paul Winter Carnival. Adolph Bremer (1869-1939) is buried in Calvary Cemetery in Saint Paul. F. E. Meierbachtol was a minister of the German Methodist Episcopal Church and resided in Kenyon, Minnesota, in 1900. Marie Bremer ( -1928/1929,) Paul G. Bremer ( -1948,) and Otto Bremer ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Frieda Bremer (1871-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Malder, and died in Ramsey County. Clarence W. Meierbachtol ( -1935) died in Hennepin County. Frederick E. Meierbachtol ( -1937) died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. The last sale of the property was in 1994 and the sale price was $52,000. The current owner of record of the property is Antonio L. Dizon. [See note for "Ma" Barker and the Barker-Karpis Gang for the North Maple Street, North Greenbrier Street and East Seventh Street intersection.]

740 East Fourth Street: Built in 1978. The building is a 884 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, split entry frame house, with a detached garage. The current owner of record of the property is St. Paul Public Housing Agency.

742 East Fourth Street: Built in 1978. The building is a 968 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler. The current owner of record of the property is Albert R. Tedesco, who resides at 1347 Clarence Street.

750 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 1885 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John J. Lawrence and Caroline W. Lawrence (1838-1892,) of German heritage who died of liver cancer, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1892. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ada Kathleen Helen Shutt (1896-1903,) the daughter of Rev. Charles Herbert Shutt, who was born in Canada to parents also born in Canada and who died of heart failure, resided at this address in 1903. The 1909 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. C. H. Schutt resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Muriel Grace Hamilton Schutt (1896-1909,) the daughter of Charles Herbert Shutt, who was born in Canada to parents who were also born in Canada and who died of acute pericarditis, resided at this address in 1909. The 1910 city directory indicates that the offices of the Record, edited by Reverend C. H. Schutt, was located at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Rev. George J. Childs, rector of St. Peter Episcopal Church, resided at this address and that Mary F. Childs, the widow of George A. Childs, boarded at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. G. J. Childs resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. Howard A. L. Grindon, the rector of St. Peter's Episcopal Church, and his wife, Geraldine D. Grindon, resided at this address. Muriel Grace Schutt ( -1909) and John J. Lawrence ( -1917) both died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Charles Scott Zeches, who resided at 777 Sixth Street East, and the current owner of record of the property is John H. Knowles. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Jane F. Morrison (1851-1919,) the single sister of J. R. Morrison, who was born in Pennsylvania to a father born in Scotland and a mother born in Ireland and who died of cholelithiasis, resided at the nearby former 753 East Seventh Street in 1919.

754-758 East Fourth Street: Former St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church/Condominiums; Built in 1888 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) First altered in 1905; Victorian Gothic/Craftsman Gothic in style; William H. Willcox, original architect; and Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., alteration architect. This 3110 square foot, one story, former stone church is the only remaining 19th century church building remaining in the community. The major part of the sanctuary was added in 1905. The church is built of Platteville limestone that is trimmed with brownstone. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that St. Peter's Episcopal Church was located at this address from 1890 to 1956. The 1930 city directory indicates that St. Peter's Episcopal Church was located at this address. This church was previously an important meeting place for the wealthier New England stock who once resided in the neighborhood. The structure was converted to condominiums in the 1970's. The current owners of record of the property are John J. Kavanaugh and Judith A. Kavanaugh. [See note on William H. Willcox.] [See note on Clarence Johnston.]

763 East Fourth Street: Built in 1885. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1540 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edna M. Anderson, an employee of William McMurray & Company, resided at this address. The house was last sold in 2002 for $65,000. The current owner of record of the property is Ya Heu, who resides in Cottage Grove, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph F. Scherman resided at the former nearby 764 East Fourth Street.

767 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a one story, 2128 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1879 city directory indicates that Robert H. Kelly, a carpenter employed by the St. Paul Harvester Works, resided on the South side of East Fourth Street four doors East of Maple Street. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Burk resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert H. Simpson resided at this address in 1890. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert H. Simpson (1867-1897,) who died of tuberculosus, resided at this address in 1897. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Dornfeld and R. C. Dornfeld resided at this address. The 1910 city directory indicates that Herbert H. Dornfeld, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, Ray A. Dornfeld, a clerk employed by Thoen Brothers Company, and Robert C. Dornfeld, a salesman employed by Lindeke, Warner & Schurmeier, all boarded at this address and Ernest A. Dornfeld, a department manager employed by Thoen Brothers Company, resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. E. Dornfeld and R. C. Dornfeld all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Minnie L. Dornfeld, the widow of Alb Dornfeld, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Minnie Dornfeld, the widow of Albert Dornfeld, Raymond A. Dornfeld, a laborer employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, Warren E. Dornfeld, a clerk for the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, and Robert C. Dornfeld, a salesman, and his wife, Ida L. Dornfeld, resided at this address. In 1874, the officers of the St. Paul Harvester Works were Erasmus M. Deane, president, S. S. Murdock, vice president, H. L. Pilkington, secretary and treasurer, and C. W. Levalley, superintendent, and the directors of the St. Paul Harvester Works were C. H. Bigelow, J. R Walsh, W. B. Dean, Erasmus M. Deane, S. S. Murdock, H. L. Pilkington, and C. W. Levalley. The St. Paul Harvester Works was organized before 1861, was incorporated in 1872 as a Minnesota corporation, manufactured the Elward Harvester, invented by John H. Elward of Stillwater, Minnesota, the St. Paul Harvester, the Appleby Cord Binder, the Pioneer Corn Binder, and the Eureka Mower, employed 500 men, and produced 5,000 farm machines annually. The St. Paul Harvester Works was a 50 acre site located on the South end of Phalen Lake, North and East of the corner of Hazel Street North and Case Street East, along the tracks of the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad and adjoined an 80 acre parcel that was platted for worker's cottages. The St. Paul Harvester Works was built in 1875 to manufacture agricultural machinery and the site is now a part of a huge Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing/3M plant and warehouse complex. In 1882, a large iron ore deposit was found on the St. Paul Harvester Works site, causing a significant increase in the company's capital stock and fueling increased interest in nearby property, with investments by J. W. Bass, Flandrau & Clark, and H. S. Fairchild. Erasmus Miller Deane (1819-1889) was born in Hartford County, Connecticut, moved to Minnesota in 1862, resided in St. Paul, dealt in farm machinery in St. Paul, and was the president of the St. Paul Harvester Works. Erasmus Miller Deane married Annie J. Drake and the couple had at least one child, Annie Louise Deane (Mrs. Maurice D.) Edwards (1853- .) Henry Brand, a carpenter, managed the St. Paul Harvester Works from 1872 until 1882. In 1885, sales by the St. Paul Harvester Works were $1 million. Henry Brand (1841-1917,) the son of James Brand (1799-1873,) a farmer in 1850 and a contractor, and Janet Farries/Jennet/Jenette Ferris Brand (1799-1871,) was born in Ogle County, Illinois, was a contractor in Chicago from 1861 until 1864, moved South from 1865 until 1867, married Mary Augusta Carll (1847-1919,) the daughter of Lyman S. Carll and Almira Cooper Carll, in Ogle County, Illinois, in 1867, moved to St. Paul in 1872, was a supervisor of Little Canada, Minnesota, in 1879 and 1880, was a member and an officer of the St. Paul Masonic Lodge #3 in 1879, was in charge of the St. Paul Harvester Works until 1882, then moved to Tacoma, Washington, but returned to St. Paul in 1895, and is buried in Wakefield, Kansas. Henry Brand and Mary Carll Brand had one son, Carll Brand (1868/1870- .) The 1880 federal census indicates that the Henry Brand household also included a female servant, Jan R. Scott (1854- ,) who was born in Ohio to a father born in New York and a mother born in Ohio, a male farmer, W. A. Hatfield (1825- ,) who was born in New Jersey to parents born in New York, and a female boarder, Lucy Hatfield (1825- ,) who was born in Scotland to parents born in Scotland. James Brand was born in Ecclessechan, Dumfrieshire, Scotland, and came to Brookville Township, Ogle County, Illinois, in 1840. Jenette Ferris Brand was born in Ecclessechan, Dumfrieshire, Scotland. James Brand and Jennet Brand had eight children by 1850, George Brand (1829- ,) James Brand (1830- ,) Jane Brand (1833- ,) John Brand (1836- ,) Robert Brand (1838- ,) Henry Brand (1841- ,) Mary Brand (1843- ,) and Ann Brand (1847- .) Carll A. Brand lived Portland, Oregon, in 1910 with his wife, Louise Brand (1879- .) Elward and Le Valley held a number of the patents for machinery produced by the St. Paul Harvester Works. Raymond A. Dornfeld ( -1953) and Robert C. Dornfeld (1881-1966) both died in Ramsey County. Herbert Hugo Dornfeld ( -1921) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Robert H. Simpson ( -1946) died in Hennepin County. Mary A. Burke was the mother of Robert H. Simpson. Mary A. Burke ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The house was last sold in 2004 for $172,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Jennifer Simon and the current owner of record of the property is Fredie Ogiugo, who resides in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.]

768 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1256 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom,one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that William F. Ball, a car cleaner, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. Ball, an inspector for the Minneapolis & St. Louis RailRoad, and his wife, Helen M. Ball, resided at this address. William Follick Ball (1876-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mason, and died in Ramsey County. Helen M. Ball (1885-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ryan, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $4,000. The current owner of record of the property is Quality Residences LLC, located in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

770 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1381 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frederick W. Butzin and Elizabeth Butzin, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1906. World War I veterans Thomas A. Butzin (1896- ), a Sergeant, and James Y. Clarke (1889- ), a Second Lieutenant, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred Butzin, a grocer with a store located at 804 East Third Street, resided at this address and Theo A.Butzin, a student, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick W. Butzin resided at this address. Frederick William Butzin ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. Elizabeth Butzin ( -1909) died in Carver County, Minnesota. The property was on the vacant house list in 2007. The property was last sold for $150,000 and that sale occurred in 2004. The current owner of record of the property is Khu Thao, who resides at 380 Clifton Street.

771 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a one story, 1968 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Theresa L. Allen, a packer employed by the Allen Quality Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius P. Greenwald, a naturopath, and his wife, Ethel M. Greenwald, resided at this address. Julius P. Greenwald ( -1933) died in Hennepin County. Ethel M. Greenwald (1875-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Allanson, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $78,000. The current owners of record of the property are Pang Thao and Xiong P. Chang, who reside in Woodbury, Minnesota.

775 East Fourth Street: Built in 1895. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1915 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles August Pepper (1845-1919,) the husband of Charlotte C. Pepper, who was born in Iowa to parents born in Germany and who died of interstitial nephritis, resided at this address in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte C. Pepper (1851-1920,) the widowed mother of Mrs. A. G. Biebighauser, who was born in Missouri to parents born in Germany and who died of tubercular meningitis, resided at this address in 1920. The 1920 city directory indicates that A. Garf Biebighauser, a partner with John J. Lonzo in the Biebighauser Electric Company, an electric Light and universal battery firm, located at 437 Sibley Street, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James J. Du Rose/Durose, a driver, and his wife, Olga Du Rose, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005. Charles August Pepper ( -1919) died in Ramsey County. August Garb Biebighauser (1881-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wilhelmi, and died in Ramsey County. James T. Durose (1889-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ball, and died in Rice County, Minnesota. Olga Durose (1888-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zink, and died in Rice County, Minnesota. The previous owner of record of the property was Debra A. Bennett and the current owner of record of the property is Lawrence W. Aljets, who resides at 534 Van Buren Avenue.

778 East Fourth Street: Built in 1911. The building is a one story, 1396 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Walbon and his wife, Edna C. Walbon, resided at this address. The last sale of the property occurred in 2000 and the purchase price was $120,000. The current owners of record of the property are Beverly Ellington and Ronnie Ellington.

780 East Fourth Street: Built in 1921. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1359 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry O. Peltier resided at this address. Henry O. Peltier (1886-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Brachvogel, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was Bonnie M. Hatton and the current owners of record of the property are Bonnie M. Hatton Peterson and Michael Peterson. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Bryan resided at the former 781 East Fourth Street. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. C. Wiesen resided at the former 781 East Fourth Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James E. Bryan (1873-1919,) the husband of Isabelle Bryan, who was born in Canada to parents born in Ireland and who died of chronic nephritis, resided at the nearby former 781 Fourth Street East in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry M. Poppe (1862-1920,) the husband of Mina E. Poppe, who was born in Wisconsin to parents born in Germany and who died of a cerebral hemorrhage, resided at the nearby former 781 East Fourth Street in 1920. The 1930 city directory indicates that Stanley M. Griffin, a letter carrier employed by the Central Post Office, and his wife, Agnes Griffin, resided at the former nearby 781 East Fourth Street and that Olaf Pierson, a laborer, and his wife, Augusta Pierson, resided at the former nearby 783 East Fourth Street. In 1942, the Horrisberger family resided at the former nearby 781 East Fourth Street and the four Horrisberger sons were in the military, Bert Horrisberger, Delmar Horrisberger, Melvin Horrisberger, and Art Horrisberger. James E. Bryan ( -1919,) Mina E. Poppe ( -1930,) Andrew Charles Wiesen ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Stanley M. Griffin (1895-1963) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Martin, and died in Ramsey County. Delmore John Horrisberger (1919-1994) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Damerow, was a Staff Sergeant in the U. S. Army Air Corps during World War II, died in Ramsey County, and is buried in Fort Snelling National Cemetery. Melvin T. Horrisberger (1914-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Damerow, was a CM2 in the U. S. Naval Reserve during World War II, died in Ramsey County, and is buried in Fort Snelling National Cemetery. Milbert T. Horrisberger (1906-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Damrow, was a Private First Class in the U. S. Army during World War II, died in Ramsey County, and is buried in Fort Snelling National Cemetery. Arthur A. Horrisberger (1893-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Damrow, was a Bugler First Class in the U. S. Army, died in Ramsey County, and is buried in Fort Snelling National Cemetery. Bertha E. Horrisberger (1895-1964) was the wife of Arthur A. Horrisberger. Agnes P. Griffin (1897-1968) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rosemark, and died in Ramsey County. Olaf John Pierson (1894-1979) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Brown County, Minnesota.

784 East Fourth Street: Built in 1912. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1157 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Hattie Ulber, the widow of Henry Ulber, resided at this address. Henriette Ulber ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Constance A. Miller. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Walter Holmes resided at the former nearby 785 East Fourth Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ralph Bingham resided at the former nearby 785 East Fourth Street. Ralph Anthony Bingham (1866-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Snyder, and died in Ramsey County.

787 East Fourth Street: Built in 1895. The building is a two story, 2544 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Emil C. Muench (1857-1903,) the husband of Emilie M. Muench, who was born in the United States to parents born in Germany and died of endocarditis, resided at this address in 1892 and 1893. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Nancy Nye (1826-1905,) the widowed mother of Adda M. Nye, who was died of senility, resided at this address in 1905. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emilie Muench and Miss Alice Millard both resided at this address. The 1916, 1918, and 1923 city directories indicate that Mrs. Emilie Muench resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph F. Metzki, a janitor employed by the Arcade Investment Company, his wife, Hulda Metzki, Edna C. Metzke, a telephone operator, and Irene L. Metzke, a stenographer employed by the Addressograph Sales Agency, all resided at this address. Nancy Nye (1826-1905,) Alice Millard ( -1943,) and Rudolph Ferdinand Metzke ( -1952) all died in Ramsey County. Emilie M. Muench ( -1953) died in Carlton County, Minnesota. The last recorded sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $43,000. The previous owners of record of the property are Hua Lee and Ger Xiong and the current owners of record of the property are Khou Vang and Nhia Chue Xiong. [See note on the Muench family for 653 East Fifth Street.]

790 East Fourth Street: Built in 1913. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1239 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2004 for $144,900. The previous owners of record of the rental property were Jonathan M. Hartman Seeskin and Sara B. Hartman Seeskin and the current owners of record of the property are Dylan A. Hazard and Marcia E. Weisman. Sara Hartman-Seeskin was the International Rights Manager for Free Spirit Publishing Inc. in Minneapolis.

791 East Fourth Street: Built in 1910. The building is a two story, 1404 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Heck resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John C. Flannery resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. D. Peters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Flannery, the widow of John C. Flannery, resided at this address. Adam H. Heck ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. Gerhard D. Peters (1877-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Voth, and died in Cottonwood County, Minnesota. The last sale of the property occurred in 1998 and the sale price was $79,900. The current owner of record of the property is Marjorie A. Park.

795 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 1906 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Daniel M. Moran and Bridget Moran, the parents of Daniel Howard Moran, resided at this address in 1917. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2502) indicate that Daniel Howard Moran (1892- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Quartermaster Sergeant at the Bakers & Cooks School at Fort Dix, New Jersey, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 6' tall, was a stenographer at induction, was a salesman employed by Hood Fire Company, Inc., after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Daniel M. Moran, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#14452) indicate that Willard J. Moran (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company B of the 306th Battallion Tank Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 7 3/4" tall, was a lawyer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was an office manager employed by the Tire Repair Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Daniel M. Moran, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Daniel M. Moran resided at this address. Daniel M. Moran ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 for $67,000. The current owner of record of the property is Northern Home Inc., located in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

799 East Fourth Street: Built in 1912. The building is a two story, 2250 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alice M. Kernkamp (1887-1913,) the wife of Benjamin F. Kernkamp, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Germany and in the United States and who died of heart disease, resided at this address in 1913. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. D. Peters resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert C. Shumway, a fireman employed by the St. Paul Vocational School, and his wife, Evelyn Shumway, resided at this address. Benjamin F. Kernkamp ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. Gerhard D. Peters (1877-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Voth, and died in Cottonwood County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is John P. Mazurkiewicz. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Amelia Temme resided at the former nearby 801 East Fourth Street. Amelia Temme ( -1936) died in Ramsey County.

804 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 1680 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The previous owner of record of the property was Joanne D. Christensen, who resided at 3000 Highpointe Curve, and the current owner of record of the property is Irwinna P. Mitsch.

805 East Fourth Street: Built in 1924. The building is a two story, 1820 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter P. Voeller, a cabinetmaker employed by the J. C. Vander Bie Company, and his wife, Bertha C. Voeller, resided at this address. Peter P. Voeller (1891-1970) was born in Minnesota and died in Chisago County, Minnesota. The previous owner of record of the property was John E. Black and the current owners of record of the property are John Emmett Black and Cheryl Jean Golden Black. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 806 East Fourth Street was vacant.

808 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a one story, 974 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred Baldinger, a laborer, Emma Bollinger, a packer, and Fred Bollinger, a laborer, all resided at this address and that Rose G. Bollinger, a clerk employed by Mannheimer Brothers, and Wesley F. Bollinger, both boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Norman Thorson, a cutter employed by Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Clara F. Thorson, resided at this address. Norman Thorson (1893-1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Thorson, and died in Ramsey County. Norman C. Thorson (1912-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wiegen, and died in Ramsey County. Norman Thorson (1906-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Tweet, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $131,640. The current owner of record of the property is Eugene F. Smith, Jr. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.]

810 East Fourth Street: Built in 1886. The building is a two story, 1316 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Decker resided at this address. World War I veteran Wm. F. T. Becker resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#32645) indicate that William Albert Schmidt (1888- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Company K of the 21st Engineers, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 6 1/4" tall, was a general railroad worker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Toul Sector and Meuse Argonne, was a railway carman employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, Ed Schmidt, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul G. Lang, a clerk employed by McKesson, and his wife, Frances Lang, resided at this address. Edward L. Decker (1875-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Miller, and died in Ramsey County. William F. T. Becker ( -1948) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $155,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Chai S. Vang and the current owner of record of the property is Chong Ger Khang. [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul RailRoad.]

811 East Fourth Street: Built in 1921. The building is a one story, 1313 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph E. Lotz, a clerk, and his wife, Katherine L. Lotz, resided at this address. Joseph E. Lotz (1902-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McDevitt, and died in Ramsey County. The property was on the vacant house list in 2007. The property was last sold for $54,900 and the sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Gudelia Mendez and Nereyda Perez.

815 East Fourth Street: Built in 1906. The building is a two story, 2832 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1916 city directory indicates that L. C. Murdock resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Groetsch resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George I. Bolton, a department/service manager employed by the Northwestern Tire Company, Inc., resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alois P. Molitor, a secretary employed by the Home Comfort Company, his wife, Lydia Molitor, Edward A. Burns, a department superintendent, and his wife, Norine M. Burns, all resided at this address. Edward Allen Burns ( -1966) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Everwind, and died in Beltrami County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffery E. W. Johnson and Sheri A. Pollock.

831 East Fourth Street: Built in 1904. The building is a one story, 1383 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Roy C. Colby, a conductor, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George Welsa resided at this address. The most recent sale of the property was in 2006 and the sale price was $180,000. The previous owner of record of the property was Loretta G. Dickhausen and the current owner of record of the property is Haley Lor.

832 East Fourth Street: Built in 1897. The building is a two story, 2603 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The property was last sold in 1995 for $75,999. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Strate and Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Miller all resided at this address. The 1901 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Temme resided at this address. The 1903, 1905, and 1909 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Miller resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Bachmann, Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Miller, and Mrs. C. H. Wichman all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#13968) indicate that William Henry Korfhage (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Corporal in Company F of the 54th Pioneer Infantry, who was born in St. Paul, had gray eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5 9 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Meuse-Argonne Offensive, was a clerk employed by the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Leanor C. Korfhage, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#23375) indicate that Arthur Thomas Riley (1893- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company K of the Fourth Pioneer Infantry, who was born in Eau Claire, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1916, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a city fire fighter at induction, was a city fire fighter employed at Engine Company #19 after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Emelia D. Bachmann, the widow of William Bachmann, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Korfhage and Mr. and Mrs. H. A. J. Mahle all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gust A. Bergman, a planer for the William H. Ulmer Company, a cut stone supplier, his wife, Sigurd C. Bergman, Bert Bergman, a helper employed by Howard Farwell & Company, Mrs. Martha L. Broos, the widow of Theo M. Broos, and Clarence H. Kappler, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad Company, and his wife, Helen E. Kappler, all resided at this address. Edward Benjamin Strate ( -1943) died in Stearns County, Minnesota. Edward F. Miller (1872-1956) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wenzel, and died in Ramsey County. George Temme (1869-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bach, and died in Ramsey County. William H. Korfhage (1889-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Speckeen, and died in Ramsey County. Theodore Broos ( -1911,) Theodore Broos ( -1915,) Martha Broos ( -1942,) and H. A. Julius Mahle ( -1947) all died in Ramsey County. Bertil M. Bergman (1898-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Seger, and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Clarence H. Kappler (1902-1987) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Katzke, and died in Ramsey County. Helen E. Kappler (1908-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Krenz, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Tou Xiong, who resides in Eagan, Minnesota. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#28425) indicate that Edward J. Petersen (1899- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company B of the 342nd Battalion of the Transportation Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had gray eyes, blonde hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a stenographer employed by the St. Paul Electric Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. Amelia Petersen, at the nearby former 833 East Seventh Avenue. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad for 432 Summit Avenue.]

836 East Fourth Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 1760 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1897 and 1899 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Bachmann resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Beggs resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Beggs and Miss Mira North all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2199) indicate that Sverre Kristianson (1896- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the Machine Gun Company, 48th Infantry, who was born in Norway, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a machinist at induction, was a pump works repairer employed by Swift Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Amelia D. Bachmann, the widow of William J. Bachmann, and Mathilda Strate both resided at this address. Inga Fladby of Lillestrom, Norway, was the mother of Sverre Kristianson. Mathilda Mary Strate ( -1944) and Jerry R. Beggs ( -1946) both died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Tou Xiong, who resides in Eagan, Minnesota. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

837 East Fourth Street: Built in 1922. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1008 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles M. Swanson resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002, in 2003, in 2004, and in 2005. The previous owner of record of the property was Rachel A. Lyons, who resided in Lake Elmo, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Dorothy H. Lyons, who resides in Lake Elmo, Minnesota.

839 East Fourth Street: Built in 1896. The structure was a two story, 3620 square foot, multifamily apartment building. George Mullen and George Muller were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Helena S. Wilhelmi resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that George D. Mullen, a switchman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, resided at this address. George Mullen (1895-1978) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $77,000. The current owner of record of the property is Gregory A. Lehman. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad for 472 Ohio Street.]

840 East Fourth Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1412 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank J. Johnston resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2000 for $50,000. The current owners of record of the rental property are Sandra L. Mowry and Stephen L. Mowry.

842 East Fourth Street: Built in 1889. The building is a 944 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that Andrew Gelderman, a laborer employed by the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Catherine A. Gelderman, resided at this address. The last sale of the property occurred in 2000 and the sale price was $55,000. The current owners of record of the rental property are Sandra L. Mowry and Stephen L. Mowry. [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.]

843 East Fourth Street: Built in 1902. The building is a two story, 1344 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1909, 1916, 1918, and 1923 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Shoemaker resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard A. Cernohous, a driver for J. A. Malmquist, and his wife, Bertha A. Cernohous, resided at this address. Richard A. Cernohous ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. Bertha A. Cernohous (1895-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gust, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Jerome J. Heim and Marietta A. Heim.

847 East Fourth Street: Former Supreme Court Justice Harry A. Blackmun Boyhood Home; Built in 1906 (1907 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Four-square in style. The building is a two story, 1424 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. The strongest visual feature of this four-square design is the front gable with its classical inspired Palladian window. Other classical detailing was probably removed or concealed when the asphalt siding was applied over the clapboards and the front porch was enclosed. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Russell resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Blackmun resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. C. M. and Mrs. Theo Blackmun resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Corwin M. Blackmun, with the Blackmun Schabacker Company, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory also indicates that the Blackmun Company, a grocery store, was located at 198 Bates Avenue and that Corwin M. Blackmun, associated with the Blackmun-Schabacher Company (Alb Schabacher,) located at 376 Maria Street, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Blackman resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred Erickson resided at this address. In 1930, Corwin M. Blackmun, a salesman, his wife, Thea Blackmun, and Harry A. Blackmun, a student, resided at 1808 Stanford Avenue. Corwin Manning Blackmun (1881-1947) and Theo Huegely Reuter Blackmun were Harry A. Blackmun's parents. Blackman was a distant descendant of George Allen (1586-1648) of Sandwich, Massachusetts. His mother's family owned a flour mill in Nashville, Illinois, where Harry Blackmun was born. Justice Harry Andrew Blackmun (1908-1999) lived in this simple frame home during his boyhood. He grew up in St. Paul, where his father worked in several businesses, at one point running a hardware store. His mother was a talented musician and passed on to her son a lifelong interest in a wide variety of music. Blackmun delivered newspapers after school with Warren Burger. After graduating from Mechanic Arts High School, in 1925, the Harvard Club of Minnesota offered Blackmun a scholarship to Harvard University, where he compiled an impressive academic record as a mathematics major while working part-time as a janitor, and faced with a close choice between law school and medical school in 1929, he chose Harvard Law School, graduating in 1932. Blackmun taught for a year at the St. Paul College of Law (now known as the William Mitchell College of Law) while he served as law clerk to a U.S. circuit court judge, John B. Sanborn. Warren Burger had received his law degree from the St. Paul College of Law only two years before Blackmun's teaching stint, attending at night while working during the day as an insurance salesman. Blackmun was a member of the law firm Dorsey, Colman, Barker, Scott & Barber of Minneapolis from 1934 to 1950, and was a partner in firm from 1943 to 1950. In 1941, Blackmun married Dorothy E. Clark. From 1935 to 1941, Blackmun was an instructor in real property and taxation at the St. Paul College of Law and from 1945 to 1947, Blackmun was an instructor in wills and administration at the University of Minnesota Law School. Blackman was the resident counsel at the Mayo Clinic and Mayo Association from 1950 to 1959 and was nominated by President Eisenhower as judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, succeeding the Honorable John B. Sanborn, in 1959. Harry A. Blackmun was appointed to the Supreme Court by Richard Nixon, after his attempted appointments of Clement F. Haynsworth Jr., a federal appeals court judge from South Carolina, and G. Harrold Carswell, a federal district judge from Florida, failed. Blackmun was appointed to an auspicious seat on the Supreme Court, the seat once held by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Benjamin N. Cardozo, Felix Frankfurter, his former law school professor, and Abe Fortas. Justice Fortas resigned in 1969 after the disclosure that he had accepted a $20,000 fee from a foundation controlled by Louis E. Wolfson, a friend and former client who was under Federal investigation for violating securities laws. In his decisions, Blackmun attempted to balance First Amendment rights of free press with Sixth Amendment rights of fair trial, was conservative on obscenity cases, overruled the commercial speech doctrine and extended speech protection to commercial advertising, found a woman's fundamental right to personal privacy in the Fourteenth Amendment's concept of personal liberty affording a woman protection in determining whether or not to terminate her pregnancy, voted to curb the expansion of defendant's rights, and took a restrictive view of the "exclusionary" rule and modified the guarantees of the Fourth Amendment permitting routine police inventory searches of cars without warrants. By the time he retired at the age of 85, Blackmun was the third-oldest person ever to serve on the Supreme Court, with only Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes (1841-1935,) who retired at age 90, and Chief Justice Roger B. Taney (1777-1864,) who died in office at 87, serving at an older age. In 1997, Blackmun appeared in the role of Supreme Court Justice Joseph Story (1779-1845) in the motion picture Amistad. Blackman was quite close to his lifelong friend Chief Justice Warren Burger during his early years on the Supreme Court. Justice Blackmun had become a good friend with Burger when they attended grade school together. Justice Blackmun was even Chief Justice Burger's best man in Burger's wedding. By the end of Burger's tenure on the Supreme Court in 1985, however, they voted together on less than half of the decisions and their friendship had cooled. Blackmun and his wife, Dorothy Clark Blackmun, met on a municipal tennis court in 1937. The couple raised three daughters, Dr. Nancy Clark Blackmun, Psy.D. (Mrs. John C. Coniaris,) a psychologist, of Framingham, Massachussetts, Sally Ann Blackmun (Mrs. Michael V. Elsberry,) formerly an executive assistant for the Council on International Economic Policy in the Nixon White House and now senior associate general counsel for Orlando-based Darden Restaurants, Inc., and the chair of Planned Parenthood of Greater Orlando, of Orlando, Florida, and Susan Blackmun (Mrs. William H. Brown,) a freelance writer, also of Orlando, Florida. Sally Blackmun is the trustee of the collection of her father's correspondence, including the hate mail her father brought home because he was the author of the Supreme Court decision Roe v. Wade in 1973. Corwin Manning Blackmun was born in Hancock, Minnesota, the son and only child of Andrew Perkins Blackmun (1839-1920) and Eliza Jane Cooley (1845-1926.) Corwin M. Blackmun ( -1947) died in Ramsey County. Theo R. Blackmun (1884-1977) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Huegely, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Lorita M. Buechner and Roy D. Buechner.

605 North Greenbrier Street: Built in 1958. The building is a 1189 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, brick rambler, with a single car tuck-under garage. The house was the result of a relocation by a printer, who built his new home with a print shop on the lower level. The property was last sold in 1999 for $60,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Hung Nguyen and Hong T. Hang and the current owner of record of the property is Peter Vu, who resides in San Jose, California.

613 North Greenbrier Street: Built in 1903. The building is a two story, 2240 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1907 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. E. Wolkow resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Henry E. Wolkow was a dentist with his office at 430 Wabasha Street and roomed at 370 1/2 Selby Avenue. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Artz resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter J. McLean, a laborer, and his wife, Emma McLean, resided at this address. Henry J. Artz (1890-1971) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Van Bruden, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1991 for $58,000. The current owners of record of the property are Judy C. Dickinson and Kenneth J. Dickinson.

617 North Greenbrier Street: Built in 1915. The building is a two story, 1513 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The house was moved here from the Minnehaha Avenue and Arcade Street area because of a Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing (3M) expansion in the 1940's. The current owners of record of the property are Michael T. Wester and Patricia M. Wester. [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.]

623 North Greenbrier Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 644 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided rambler. The house was moved here from the Minnehaha Avenue and Arcade Street area because of a Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing (3M) expansion in the 1940's. The current owner of record of the property is Kathleen G. Schumacher. [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.]

626 North Greenbrier Street: 626 North Greenbrier Street; Built in 1880; Eastlake/Victorian in style.

627 North Greenbrier Street/Former 627 Cable Street: 627 North Greenbrier Street; Built 1880 (1882 according to Ramsey County tax records;) Eastlake/Victorian in style. The building is a two story, 2336 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1890 city directory indicates that Carrie Mahle, a clerk for G. A. Kahn, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank W. Gadbois, who was born in Scotland, resided at this address in 1903. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Lang resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George N. Bach resided at this address and that Lovena C. Bach, a bookkeeper employed by the Goodyear Rubber Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Bach, the widow of George Bach, Lovena C. Bach, a clerk with Joesting & Schilling Company, Mae E. Bach, a teacher, Hilmer J. Magne, a salesman employed by McClain & Hedman Company, his wife, Lillian E. Magne, and Mrs. Hazel A. Bunde, the widow of William G. Bunde and a salesman for The Golden Rule department store, and Alice C. Bunde, a telephone operator at the First Securities Corporation, all resided at this address. Walter Allan Gadbois (1901-1903) was the son of Frank W. Gadbois and died of cerebral meningitis. Charles L. Lang ( -1924,) Frank Walter Gadbois ( -1941,) and Mary Bach ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Mary Bach (1859-1955) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Siefert, and died in Ramsey County. Lovena C. Bach (1892-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heidel, and died in Ramsey County. Mae E. Bach (1902-1990) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Heidle, and died in Ramsey County. Hilmer J. Magne (1900-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olson, and died in Ramsey County. Hazel M. Bunde (1907-1985) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ellefson, and died in Ramsey County. William G. Bunde (1877-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Reeves, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Herbert L. Lund and Nancy T. Lund. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

629 North Greenbrier Street: Built in 1884 (1886 according to Ramsey County tax records;) Victorian patternbook house in style; William Schnittger, builder. The building is a 2 1/2 story house (two story according to Ramsey County tax records.) It is a 2256 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house with a detached garage. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Tangler resided at this address. The 1907 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Lang resided at this address. The 1907 and 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directories indicate that Edward G. Bloomfield, Miss Grace May Bloomfield, and Miss Bessie Bloomfield resided at this address. The 1910 city directory indicates that F. Arthur Korfhage was a finisher and resided at this address when it was 629 Cable Avenue. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Topel and Roy Topel all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Murray Ball, a fireman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, Harriet J. Smith, a housekeeper, and Murray A. Smith, a laborer with the St. Paul Terminal Warehouse Company, all boarded at this address and Henry E. Smith, a laborer, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry Edward Smith (1854-1921,) the husband of Margaret M. Smith, who was born in Ohio to parents born in Germany and in the United States and who died of a carcinoma of the liver, resided at this address (629 Cable Street) in 1921. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph Salinger and Cornelius Weckauf, a cabinetmaker employed by Van Duyne-Moran Furniture Company, and his wife, Grete Weckauf, resided at this address. The St. Paul Terminal Warehouse Company was founded in 1916 with a single public warehouse, was acquired by a Detroit, Michigan, corporation around the end of World War II, and is now Meritex Enterprises, which owns and manages over ten million square feet of real estate throughout the United States. The St. Paul Terminal Warehouse Company was originally located in Lafayette Park, a once prominent residential neighborhood that was home to many of St. Paul's founding families and that thrived as a bustling regional distribution center with the arrival of the railroad around the turn of the century, numerous multi-story warehouse buildings that were constructed to serve the needs of the growing St. Paul community. The St. Paul Terminal Warehouse Company eventually redeveloped those warehouses into office buildings which house thousands of State of Minnesota employees working for the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, the Minnesota Department of Human Services, and the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry. Meritex Enterprises currently owns 668,000 square feet of office space and 1,295,348 square feet in combined office and warehouse/industrial space in the Twin Cities. Bessie M. Bloomfield ( -1920,) Henry Edward Smith ( -1921,) Charles L. Lang ( -1924,) and Margaret M. Smith ( -1926) all died in Ramsey County. Edward G. Bloomfield ( -1927) died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2000 for $170,000. The current owners of record of the property are Jeffery S. Wallis and Kelly C. Wallis. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

635 North Greenbrier (Former Cable) Street: Built in 1882; Victorian patternbook house in style; William Schnittger, builder. The building is a one story, 1482 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Schnittger and Wilhelmina Schnittger, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1890. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Schnittger and his daughter, Matilda Schnittger, both resided at this address in 1892. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charlotte Tifft Schnittger and Louis G. Schnittger both resided at this address in 1906, when the street was named "Cable" Street. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. G. Schnittger resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that L. G. Schnittger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis G. Schnittger, a salesman employed by Finch, Van Slyck & McConville, and Walter W. Schnittger, a dentist, both resided at this address. Wilhelmina Schnittger (1836-1890) died of pulmonalis. William Schnittger was a brother of Charles Schnittger (1836-1918,) a boot and shoe dealer and the maternal grandfather of Warren Burger, and Katharine Schnittger Burger was the mother of Warren Burger. H. W. Schnittger was the publisher of the Newport, Minnesota, News in 1889. The current owners of record of the property are John J. Hastings and Patricia D. Price. [See note on Finch, Van Slyck & McConnville for 969 West Osceola Avenue.]

658 North Greenbrier Street: The site of the Mayall stable, which was destroyed by fire in 1900. The 1879 city directory indicates that Samuel Mayall, a lawyer officing at 10 East Third Street, resided at the corner of Bradley Street and Partridge Street. The 1890 city directory indicates that Samuel Mayall was a lawyer who officed at 16 East Third Street and resided at 753 East Seventh Street. Samuel Mayall (1816-1892) was born in North Gray, Cumberland County, Maine, was a member of the Maine state house of representatives, 1845-1846, was a member of the Maine state senate, 1847-1848, was a Democratic member of the U. S. House of Representative from Maine's Second District, from 1853 to 1855, was a delegate from Maine to the 1856 Republican National Convention, served as a Captain in the Union Army during the American Civil War, was the Prohibition candidate for Governor of Minnesota in 1871 and 1873, was in the real estate business, and died in St. Paul. In 1870, Samuel Mayall was a leader of the AntiMonopoly Party with Ignatius Donnelly. Minnesota Grange leader Ignatius Donnelly built grassroots support for a third party in 1873. The Antimonopoly Party was largely defeated in the next election, but Donnelly was elected to the Minnesota State Senate. Donnelly began publishing The Anti-Monopolist in 1874 and attempted to fuse the Minnesota Grange with the antimonopolist movement. Although Grange members joined him, the state Grange leadership refused to approve overtly political activities. When a farmers' coalition proved insufficient to elect Donnelly to Congress in 1875, Donnelly then quit the agrarian movement and joined the growing Greenback Party. The Mayall family burial plot at the Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Samuel Mayall (1816-1892,) Mary A. Mayall (1832-1872,) John Mayall (1823-1878,) Ada L. Mayall (1851-1934,) Samuel Mayall, Jr. (1855-1862,) and James H. Mayall (1862-1862.) James H. Mayall (1818-1901) was born in Gray, Maine, came to Minnesota in 1855, was one of the owners and founders of Glencoe, Minnesota, later settled in St. Paul, purchased a hotel, and died in St. Paul. The International Hotel was situated on the NorthEast corner of Seventh Street and Jackson Street, was erected by A. G. Fuller in 1856, came into the possession of Samuel Mayall in 1861, who changed the name of it from the Fuller House to the International Hotel, with Colonel E. C. Belote, the former landlord of the Merchants Hotel, as the manager of the hotel, and burned in 1869. Erastus C. Belote (1812- ) was born in Bloomfield, New York, was raised on a farm, moved to Minnesota in 1855, settled in St. Paul in 1856, managed the St. Paul House from 1856 until 1861, then managed the Merchants' Hotel, managed the International Hotel until 1869, when it burned, was appointed a St. Paul City alderman, later managed other city hotels, including the Park Place Hotel in 1872, and, as a partner with C. A. Linsley in Belote & Linsley, the Metropolitan Hotel from 1879 until 1884, when he was injured in a carriage accident, and ended his career selling real estate. E. C. Belote partially successfully appealed a judgment against him for the value of a watch and other jewelry stolen from the Park Place Hotel based on the length of stay of most of the family in James A. Lusk v. E. C. Belote, 22 Minn. 468 (1876.) Ada L. Mayall ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property was the Nelson Partnership, located in Maplewood, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the property is Judd E. Nelson, who resides in Maplewood, Minnesota.

668 North Greenbrier Street: William Hamm and Marie Scheffer Hamm House; Built in 1892; Neoclassical in style; Reed & Stem, architects. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William Hamm resided at this address from 1893 to 1904. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that the William Hamm family resided at this address, when it was 668 Cable Street, in 1897. William Hamm, Sr., built the house for his bride, Marie Scheffer (1873- ,) in the same year that the Hamm Brewery underwent a dramatic expansion. Hamm hired Allen H. Stem, a St. Paul architect, to design the house. The house displays Stem's penchant for monumental exteriors with exquisitely crafted interiors. Verandas with fine balustrades once faced both streets. William Hamm (1858- ) was born in St. Paul, helped organize the first St. Paul Winter Carnival in 1886, and was the Carnival's first Borealis Rex. By 1904, William Hamm, Sr., and his family had outgrown the house, but decided to stay on Dayton's Bluff rather than move to Summit Avenue. The 1907 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George G. Benz resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Benz resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George G. Benz resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Benz resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that George G. Benz, the president of George Benz & Sons, real estate and investments, resided at this address and that Herbert G. Benz boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. G. Benz and their daughter resided at this address. The George Benz family resided here until 1926, when they moved to River Road. In 1926, Marie Hamm Mueller and Otto Mueller moved from 672 North Greenbrier to this house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Marie Muller, the widow of Otto H. Muller, resided at this address. George Benz was the president of George Benz & Sons, jobbers of wines and liquors, located at 409 Jackson Street, and president of Eminence Distillery, resided at this address. William Hamm (1858- ) was born in St. Paul, the son of Theodore Hamm (1825-1903,) was president of the St. Louis, St. Paul & Minneapolis Packet Company, and was president-treasurer of the Hamm Brewing Company. George Benz (1838-1908) was born in Osthofen, Germany, was educated in a public school for eight years and in a private school two years in Germany, came to the United States in 1854, was employed in Chicago, Illinois, from 1854 until 1856, came to Minnesota in 1856, operated the U. S. Billiard Hall & Restaurant from 1862 until 1865, engaged in the liquor business first with F. A. Renz and then with Major J. C. Becht as Benz & Becht from 1865 until 1878, resided at 20 Douglas Street in 1873, then engaged in the wholesale liquor business as George Benz & Company from 1878 until 1881 and as George Benz & Sons, with offices in St. Paul, from 1887-1908, resided at 5 Sherburne Street in 1907, was the president of Eminence Distilling Company, a distillery in Kentucky, invested in Merchants Distillery in Terre Haute, Indiana, invested in the Spring Garden Distillery in Baltimore, Maryland, was a Mason, was a member of the Sons of Hermann, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and officed at 409-417 Jackson Street. George Benz was a Republican and was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 24) from 1873 to 1875. He married Rosa Voehringer Benz (1842-1914) in St. Paul in 1861 and the couple had eight children, George G. Benz, Charlotte O. Benz, Hermann L. Benz, F. William Benz, Paul E. Benz, Walter A. Benz, Lydia M. Benz, and Laura H. Benz. George G. Benz (1862- ,) the son of George Benz and Rosa Voehringer Benz, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from the Fresenius Institute of Chemistry, received a doctorate from the University of Zurich, Switzerland, was employed as a chemist by Charles Cooper & Company in Newark, New Jersey, and of Schlieffen & Company of New York from 1883 until 1884, engaged in the wholesale liquor business with his father in 1885, became a partner in George Benz & Sons in 1887, married Josephine Hamm, the sister of William Hamm, Sr., at St. Paul in 1894, resided at this address in 1907, was the vice president of Eminence Distilling Company, Eminence, Kentucky, was a director of the Baltimore Distilling Company, was a Mason, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Minnesota Club, and officed at 409-417 Jackson Street. Herman L. Benz (1866- ,) the son of George Benz and Rosa Voehringer Benz, was born at St. Paul, was educated in the public schools of St. Paul, was a distiller and wholesale liquor dealer, joined George Benz & Sons, distillers and wholesale liquor dealers, in 1881, was the secretary of George Benz & Sons, had an office at Louisville, Kentucky, was a member of the board of directors of the Eminence Distillery Company, a distillery at Eminence, Kentucky, was a Mason, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, officed at 409 Jackson Street in 1907, and resided at 5 Sherburne Avenue. John C. Becht (1831-1878) was born in Prussia or Wuerttemberg, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1853, initially resided in Chicago, moved to St. Paul in 1855, operated in the Sager Beer Saloon in 1860, married Sarah Schilling (1837- ,) enlisted in the Union Army in 1862, was a Major in the Fifth Minnesota Regiment in the Civil War, participated in the capture of Fort DeRussy, Louisiana, in 1864, in the action at Lake Chicot, Arkansas, in 1864, in the Battle of Mansura, Louisiana, in 1864, and in the Battle of Nashville, Tennessee, in 1864, was discharged from the Union Army in 1865, was in the wholesale liquor business in a partnership with George Benz, replacing F. A. Renz, after 1865, was the Ramsey County sheriff from 1876 to 1878, and died in St. Paul. John C. Becht and Sarah Schilling Becht had three children, Ida Becht (1857- ,) George Becht (1858- ,) and Anna Becht (1866- .) William Hamm became the president of the Theodore Hamm Brewing Company in the 1880's, was a member of the St. Paul park commission, was vice president of the St. Paul Auditorium Board, and married Marie Scheffer in 1893. William Hamm, Jr., was the heir to the brewery fortune and, on June 15, 1933, was kidnapped near the brewery by the Barker-Karpis gang. Hamm was taken to Bensenville, Illinois, until the ransom was paid, and then was left in a vacant field in Wyoming, Minnesota, on U. S. Highway 61. None of the Hamm ransom money was ever found. Prohibition had all but closed down Hamm Brewing and there were whispers in St. Paul that the respectable William Hamm was in business with the Holden-Keating gang (Tommy Holden (1897-1953,) Francis "Jimmy" Keating (1899-1978,) Harvey Bailey (1888-1979,) Verne Miller ( -1933,) George Barnes/"Machine Gun" Kelly ( -1954,) and Frank "Jelly" Nash (1887-1933,)) a bank robbery gang and St. Paul's leading bootleggers, in selling legal near-beer out of its front doors, while shipping the illegal bootleg beer out the back door. The Keatings used their muscle to get Hamm's illegal brew into the St. Paul and Wisconsin area speakeasies, with the Hamm's legal supply operation distributing the illegal brew and collecting the revenue. A business dispute between Hamm and Keating resulted in the Karpis-Barker gang, working with the Keating's permission, snatching the brewer off the streets. The U.S. Attorney in St. Paul was convinced by Melvin Purvis and J. Edgar Hoover of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, relying on the accusation of St. Paul's notoriously corrupt police chief, John J. O'Connor, that the Roger Touhy gang had kidnapped Hamm and brought the indictment before a grand jury. Roger Touhy (1898-1959) was apprehended in Elkhorn, Wisconsin, after having been arrested for leaving the scene of an accident after knocking down a $22 telephone pole and refusing to pay for the damage. On the day on which Touhy was indicted, Alvin Karpis and the rest of the Barker gang returned to St. Paul and robbed a Swift & Company messenger of $30,000 on the steps of the main St. Paul Post Office, after killing a police officer in the process. None of the witnesses in the case could identify Touhy or the others during three separate line ups nor could they pick them out of photographs. William Hamm, Jr., was such a reluctant witness before the trial that the government publicly criticized him for his lack of cooperation. He avoided the FBI, and during the entire investigation, Hamm forced Purvis to work through his business manager, William Dunn, who in turn, would only answer questions through the Hamm family lawyer. When Purvis sent agents to collect Hamm and bring him to Chicago, Hamm took a plane to New York and did not return until the trial was almost over, but did testify. Attempting to get a confession out of Touhy, Purvis reportedly had the gang tortured in Chicago and over the course of a week, the gang members were only allowed to sleep in twenty minute intervals, and then woken up and beaten. As a result, Roger Touhy lost twenty-five pounds, had seven of his teeth knocked out, and had three of his vertebrae in his upper spine fractured, but Purvis never got his confession. The government prosecutor was Joseph B. Keenan, a former special aide to U. S. Attorney General Homer Cummings, who unsuccessfully requested that the trial be broadcast on national radio. The defense counsel was William Scott Stewart, a former Cook County Prosecutor who had defended every big name in Chicago from Dion O'Bannion to Al Capone. The case fell apart and the jury decided, eight to four, for an acquittal. In 1933, Roger "Terrible" Touhy, Gus Schafer, and Eddie McFadden, were arraigned in municipal court in St. Paul for kidnapping John Jacob "Jake the Barber" Factor (born Iakow Factrowitz,) the half-brother to the cosmetic king Max Factor, and Touhy and Schafer were convicted on the kidnapping charges, escaped from prison in 1942, and served a total of 26 years in prison before a federal judge overturned the conviction in 1959 on the grounds that Factor and the Chicago Capone mob had arranged the kidnapping. Roger Touhy was shotgunned to death in 1959, 25 days after his release from prison, by vengeful mob assassins on the front porch of his sister's house in Chicago's Austin community. Alvin Karpis was eventually tried and convicted for kidnapping William Hamm and served two decades in Alcatraz prison and lesser institutions. The Hamm house is reported to be haunted. The Hamm family donated the house in 1932 to the Community Chest, which used it as the East Side Relief Center, where long lines of poor people came for public assistance. The Hamm family sold the house in 1934, beginning its 40 year use as a boarding house. Following the deaths of Ma Barker and Fred Barker in a Florida shootout, Alvin Karpis and Harry Campbell fled north to Atlantic City. Cornered by police at the Dan-Mor Hotel in early 1935, they shot their way out and escaped, but their mistresses, Dolores Delaney and Wynona Burdette, were captured and later sentenced to five years for harboring federal fugitives. Dolores Delaney gave birth to a son in custody, Raymond Alvin Karpis, who was given to Karpis' parents to raise in Chicago. Karpis and Campbell kidnapped a doctor in Pennsylvania and stole his car, released him unharmed in Ohio and abandoned the car in Michigan. They later organized a new gang, robbed a mail truck in Warren, Ohio, of $72,000 in mid-1935 and robbed a mail train at Garrettsville, Ohio, of $34,000 later in 1935. One member of the new gang was the Barkers' old friend Sam Coker, whose parole from the Oklahoma state prison was allegedly bought by Karpis. Rosa Marie Benz ( -1914) and Lydia M. Benz ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. George W. Benz (1906-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hamm, and died in Ramsey County. Karin DuPaul and Richard DuPaul are the current owners of the house and are renovating the house. Karin DuPaul is a member of the Dayton's Bluff Community Council. Karin DuPaul formed the Swede Hollow Task Force, a community group dedicated to park issues, in 1978, and founded the Upper Swede Hollow Neighborhood Association in 1982. She also is the Crime Prevention Coordinator of the Payne-Phalen Neighborhood Council. [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Reed and A. H. Stem.]

671 North Greenbrier Street: Site of the former William Hamm, Sr., House; Built in 1886 or 1904; Queen Anne in style. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Theodore Hamm (1825-1903) resided at this address from 1887 to 1933. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Margaret Dunlop, a member of the church since 1905, resided at this address. The 1907 and 1916 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. William Hamm resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Hamm and William Hamm, Jr., all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that William Hamm, Mr. and Mrs. William Hamm, and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Hamm, the president-treasurer of the Hamm Realty Company, his wife, Marie Hamm, and William Hamm, Jr., the second vice president of the Hamm Brewing Company, all resided at this address. It was a rest home operated by Mrs. Claire E. Robbins until 1954, when the mansion was destroyed by fire. Theodore Hamm (1825-1903) was born in Baden, Germany, emmigrated to the United States in 1854, moved to St. Paul in 1856, was a brewer, and died in St. Paul. In 1879, Theodore Hamm, a partner with Philip Thon in Thon & Hamm, the proprietors of the Brainerd Mills, located at Minnehaha Avenue and Phalen Creek, and the proprietor of the Excelsior Brewery, located at the corner of Greenbrier Avenue and Minnehaha Avenue, resided at the corner of Greenbrier Avenue and Minnehaha Avenue and that William Hamm, a manager employed by Theodore Hamm, boarded at the corner of Greenbrier Avenue and Minnehaha Avenue. William Hamm (1893-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Scheffer, and died in Hennepin County. Marie Scheffer Hamm ( -1933) died in Ramsey County. [See the note for William Hamm for 668 North Greenbrier Street.]

672 North Greenbrier Street: Otto Mueller and Marie Hamm Mueller House; Built in 1891 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Augustus F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 2899 square foot, 12 room, five bedroom, three bathroom, frame house. The Mueller House was architect Augustus Gauger's largest residential commission on Dayton's bluff and Gauger's fondness for rounded forms is displayed in the corner tower and its upper story windows, the tiny eyebrow windows that until recently graced the tower cap, and a oversized staircase window. The house is dominated by a three-story round corner tower, with the uppermost story clad in fishscale shingles, tiny arched double hung windows, brackets and bead-like molding at the tower eaves, and a bell-shaped tower roof. Its double-leaf doors have several small recessed panels. The south side of the house has a 2-1/2 story bay window. The north side has semi-circular leaded glass windows that are edged with wood shingles and a group of three 9x9 windows topped by an elliptical-shaped transom. The stained glass that once filled these windows is now gone. Gauger's clients were frquently German immigrants. For many years, the house was heated by steam piped up the hill from the brewery. Most of the building's vigorously contoured exterior survives. The mansion had been converted into apartments through the years. Previous owners, Dave Gens and Barb Gens, returned the building back to single family dwelling during the ten years that they owned it. John Flanagan and Emma Hamm Flanagan moved to this house in 1904 and Emma Flanagan lived in the house until the 1950's. The 1907 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Otto Mueller resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Otto Muller resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Otto Mueller resided at this address. Marie Hamm Mueller was the sister of William Hamm, Sr., and she and her husband, Otto Mueller, moved to 668 North Greenbrier in 1926, leaving this house to their recently married son. When Otto Mueller died in 1932, Marie Hamm Mueller returned to this house and lived with her son and his family. The 1930 city directory indicates that R. Theo Muller and Otto H. Muller both resided at this address. Otto Mueller was an on-again-off-again employee of Hamm's Brewery and his wife was a daughter of Theodore Hamm. Mueller married Marie Hamm in 1892 and become a vice president of the brewery in 1912. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $309,900. The current owner of record of the property is Michel Ann Taylor. [See note on Augustus F. Gauger.]

680 North Greenbrier Street/Former 680 Cable Avenue: Peter Mueller Classen and Emma Mueller Classen House; Built in 1887 (1885 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Classicized Queen Anne in style; Edward P. Bassford, architect. The structure is a three story, 6068 square foot, multifamily apartment house. The front picture window, with flanking colonettes, is a remnant of the house's earliest style. Successive remodelings have superimposed Neoclassical, Craftsman, and Modernist elements on the house. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Peter D. Classen resided at this address from 1888 to 1893 and that George G. Benz resided at this address from 1894 to 1903. The 1889 city directory indicates that Dr. H. Mueller and Mrs. E. Classen both resided at this address. The 1891 city directory indicates that Rose Henning was a domestic employed at this residence. The 1907 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Flanagen resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that John J. Flanagan was the president of the Stock Yards National Bank and resided at this address. The 1909, 1916, and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Flanagan resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that John J. Flanagan, the president of the Stockyards National Bank, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Flanagan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John J. Flanagan, the president of the Exchange State Bank of South St. Paul, Minnesota, and his wife, Emma F. Flanagan, resided at this address. Peter Classen was a collector for Theodore Hamm. Emma Classen had a fancy goods shop downtown. Otto Mueller lived with the Classens until he built his own house next door. Peter Classen was Otto Mueller's brother-in-law. When Peter Classen died, Emma Classen reportedly wanted to stay near her brother, Otto Mueller, and her sister, Alice Mueller Franzen, so a small Victorian house was built at 717 Margaret Street. The George Benz family, which included William Hamm, Sr.'s, sister, resided here for a period of time. Peter J. Classen ( -1913) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the rental property is Stephen L. Mowry. [See note on Edward Bassford.] [See note on George Benz & Company for 83 Douglas Street.]

342 Hope Street: Built in 1904. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1050 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Frank C. Dougherty and George Dougherty were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nora Dougherty, the widow of James Dougherty, James J. Dougherty, a switchman for the Chicago, Minneapolis, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, resided at this address. Frank Dougherty (1881-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Duffy, and died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Terrence J. McDonough and Thomas J. McDonough, who reside in Shoreview, Minnesota. [See note on the Chicago, Minneapolis, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.]

343 Hope Street: Built in 1922. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1008 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raymond L. Linn, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Ann Linn, resided at this address. Raymond L. Linn (1899-1965) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2003 and the sale price was $134,000. The current owner of record of the property is Jerry P. Miller. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

344 Hope Street: Built in 1911. The building is a two story, 1824 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Carolyn Lehmann, the widow of Frederick Lehmann, resided at this address. Caroline Lehmann ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2004 and the sale price was $184,900. The previous owners of record of the property were Ka Ying Moua and Chue Y. Xiong and the current owner of record of the property is Donald A. Ritner.

345 Hope Street: Built in 1951. The building is a 852 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Haddick, a janitor, and his wife, Carolina Haddick, resided at this address. John Haddick ( -1934) and Caroline Haddick ( -1935) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2005 and the sale price was $145,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Yuoa Kong and Nou Thao and the current owner of record of the rental property is Mai Yer Soung, who resides in Loretto, Minnesota.

346 Hope Street: Built in 1909. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 987 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house. Frank Sauter and Anna Sauter, the parents of World War I veteran Harold H. Sauter, resided at this address in 1918. World War I veterans Harold H. Santer and Harold H. Sauter resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#30232) indicate that Harold H. Sauter (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Sergeant First Class in the Misc. Det. of the Quartermaster Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a medium complexion, was 5' 6 1/2" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a clerk employed by the First National Bank after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Frank Sauter, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emily Voss resided at this address. Harold H. Sauter (1895-1979) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Gardell, and died in Ramsey County. Emily Voss ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Lee Her and Soliving Kong.

348 Hope Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1069 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Leo Kleiter, a brewer employed by the Hamm Brewing Company, and his wife, Frieda Kleiter, resided at this address. Frieda Kleiter ( -1952) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of the property occurred in 2005 and the sale price was $145,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Ella F. Eliasen and Herman M. Eliasen and the current owner of record of the property is Ellen Wurz.

350 Hope Street: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1001 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edwin Schmid, a watchmaker employed by the E. A. Brown Company, resided at this address. Edwin Schmid (1874-1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Vogt, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 for $135,500. The current owner of record of the property is Dean R. Lindstrom.

351 Hope Street: Built in 1890. The building is a two story, 2136 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. Harold P. Schaber was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Elbert M. Angevine, a car operator, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry Ligirda, a molder employed by Griffin Wheel Company, and his wife, Carolina Ligirda, resided at this address. The Griffin Wheel Company, an iron and steel works that was the leading manufacturer of railroad wheels, was located at the corner of Phalen Avenue and Stillwater Avenue (941 Johnson Parkway.) The Griffin Wheel Company was founded in 1877 by Thomas Griffin, an Irish immigrant. The company initially manufactured chilled iron wheels. The Griffin Wheel Company acquired the St. Paul plant in 1896 from St. Paul Harvester, which developed the site in the 1860's. By 1906, the company had nine plants and produced more than one million wheels annually. By 1923, the Griffin Wheel Company was shipping 1.5 million wheels from 13 plants. In 1952, when diesel locomotives began replacing steam engines, hauling larger freight cars with heavier loads at higher speeds, the Griffin Wheel Company began casting wheels from steel with controlled pressure pouring. The Griffin Wheel Company operated at the St. Paul site until the 1960's, leaving significant contamination throughout the nine acre site, which is being redeveloped by the St. Paul Port Authority. Currently, the Griffin Wheel Company, a division of AMSTED Rail International of Chicago, produces curved plate (parabolic deep-dish) low-stress wheels. Caroline Ligirda ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. The property was last purchased in 2004 for $219,000. The previous owner of record of the property was James E. Gates and the current owner of record of the property is Venaye Patrice Wilson, who resides in Charlotte, North Carolina. In October, 2007, Sharon Zdrojewski commenced a lawsuit against James E. Gates, Venaye Patrice Wilson, and their business, Management Matters Inc.

352 Hope Street: Built in 1910. The building is a one story, 788 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Gaheen, an engineer employed by the St. Paul Vocational School, and his wife, Margaret Gaheen, resided at this address. John A. Gaheen ( -1938) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Steven J. Maas.

354 Hope Street: Built in 1910. The building is a two story, 1292 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Herman H. Brinkman, a laborer, and William Brinkman, a machinist employed by the Capitol City Lumber Company, both resided at this address and that Ida C. Brinkman, an operator employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Brinkman, a cooper at the Hamm Brewing Company, and his wife, Theresa Brinkman, and Herman Brinkman resided at this address. William Brinkman ( -1936) and Herman Brinkman ( -1940) both died in Ramsey County. Theresa Brinkman (1871-1955) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2002 for $129,900. The current owner of record of the property is Jackie R. Kemp. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.]

357 Hope Street: Built in 1882. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1532 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that John Anderson, an expressman, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Anderson and Joseph L. Rhode, a salesman employed by A. G. Spalding & Brothers, and his wife, Gertrude Rhode, resided at this address. Joseph Lawrence Rhode (1907-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Roberts, and died in Mille Lacs County, Minnesota. The last sale of the property was for $46,000 and occurred in 1996. The current owner of record of the property is Paul Perez. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Theresa Frick, the widow of William C. Frick, resided at the former nearby 361 Hope Street. Theresa M. Frick (1882-1981) was born in Minnesota and died in Washington County, Minnesota. William C. Frick ( -1926) died in Ramsey County.

362 Hope Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1179 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Bernard J. Grieman, a repairer employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Stella M. Grieman, resided at this address. The last sale of the property was in 1994 for $37,500. The previous owners of record of the property were Kia Lee and Nhia Shertoom Xiong and the current owner of record of the property is Sai Khang. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company.]

363 Hope Street: Built in 1880. The building is a one story, 878 square foot, three bedroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. World War I veteran Edward Licha resided at this address in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#22376) indicate that John L. Heininger (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Headquarter Troop of the 33rd Division, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a shoemaker at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Amiens, the Somme, Meuse, Argonne, Troyon, and Sur Meuse, was a shoemaker employed by Foot Schultz & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. T. Heininger, at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The current owner of record of the property is May M. Steichen.

365 Hope Street: Built in 1882. The building is a one story,1260 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Catherine Hedwall, the widow of Carl O. Hedwall, resided at this address. Catherine Hedwall ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1999 for $43,500. The current owner of record of the property is David L. Thom.

366 Hope Street: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 816 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Bertha Mrose, the widow of Carl Mrose, and Mrs. Agnes Connor, the widow of Nicholas Connor and a seamstress, both resided at this address. Bertha Mrose ( -1937) died in Ramsey County. Agnes Connor (1898-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Malley, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the rental property was B and D Partners, located in Eagan, Minnesota, and the current owner of record of the rental property is Son Nguyen, who resides in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

Links:

Daytons Bluff Hike Directions and Route ;

Architectural Style Notes

Dayton's Bluff Architectural Hike Page

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

Last Modified: August 3, 2011.