Thursday Night Hikes: Dayton's Bluff Hike Architecture Notes 1


Observations on Architectural Styles 1

Dayton's Bluff Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: April 20, 2002

General.

Dayton's Bluff, located on the East side of the Mississippi in the Southeast part of the city of St. Paul, has a large residential district on the plateau extending backward from its top. The name of the bluff commemorates Lyman Dayton (1810-1865), for whom a village and a township in Hennepin County also were named. On the edge of the southern and highest part of Dayton's bluff, in Mounds Park, is a series of seven large aboriginal mounds, 4 to 18 feet high, from which a magnificent prospect is obtained, overlooking the river and the central part of the city. In 1857, Lyman Dayton platted his "Addition to St. Paul" on the Eastern border of St. Paul. The area was separated from the early settlement along the river by a ravine that was first bridged and was then filled. The early developers of the area were named Burns, McLean, and Wakefield, and contributed their names to area streets.

Lyman Dayton, the son of Samuel Dayton and Amanda Dunham Dayton, was born in Southington, Connecticut, married Maria Bates of Providence, Rhode Island, in 1830, came to Minnesota in 1849, settled in St. Paul, invested largely in real estate, married Maria Bates, was an incorporator, with Alexander Ramsey and Edmund Rice, of the Minnesota & Northwestern RailRoad, was the president of the the Nebraska & Lake Superior RailRoad, incorporated in 1857, then renamed the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad, formed the Dayton Bank in an attempt to circulate his own currency, and died of chronic gastritis in St. Paul. The Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad Company was incorporated under Minnesota legislation enacted in 1861 and received grants of lands approved by the U. S. General Land Office for transfer. Gates Asa Johnson, Sr. (1826-1918,) the son of Daniel D. Johnson (1787-1828) and Malinda Fairbanks Johnson (1791-1885,) was born in Champlain, Clinton County, New York, was an axeman on the Ogdensburg, New York, railroad before becoming its chief engineer, was employed by the Great Western RailRoad of Canada, moved to St. Paul with his mother in 1855, was engaged in surveying and civil engineering for railroads, was employed by the Hastings & Dakota RailRoad, was the St. Paul City Engineer in 1860, was the chief engineer of the White Bear & Stillwater road, was the chief engineer of the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad Company from 1861 to 1870, was the Ramsey County surveyor from 1864 to 1866, was the chief engineer of the Hastings, Minnesota & Red River of the North RailRoad Company in 1866, was a St. Paul City alderman from 1871 until 1876 and from 1883 until 1889, was an elder of the Central Presbyterian Church, died in Brooklyn, Delaware, New York, and is buried in Oakland Cemetery. Gates Asa Johnson, Jr. (1860- ,) the son of Gates Asa Johnson, Sr., and Frances Parker Johnson (1830- ,) was born in St. Paul, was a civil engineer, and was a county surveyor for Ramsey County from 1895 until 1900. William L. Banning (1814-1893) was the president of the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad Company in 1866. William Branch & Company was engaged in surveying and construction on the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad from 1865 to 1869. [See note for the Nebraska & Lake Superior RailRoad.] [See note for Minnesota & Northwestern RailRoad.] [See note for Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad.] [See note for Hastings & Dakota RailRoad.] [See note for Hastings, Minnesota & Red River of the North RailRoad.]

The Dayton's Bluff Historic District was approved by the St. Paul City Council in 1992. The creation of the Historic District recognizes the historical and architectural significance of this early St. Paul neighborhood. The Dayton's Bluff Historic District contains approximately 500 residential, commercial and institutional buildings, most constructed between 1878 and 1910. Beginning as a fashionable residential locale for the wealthy, it evolved in the early 1880s into a suburb of broad social and economic diversity. Some properties are good examples of certain architectural styles and some are the work of prominent Saint Paul architects. A great variety of ornamental trim details and other design elements remain on these buildings and their conservation is important to the historic character of the area. Many other properties are more exemplary of the simple vernacular houses built from standard plans by carpenters throughout Saint Paul after the American Civil War. These buildings derive much of their character from their massing and roof type, exterior siding and simple details at porches and windows. The primary architectural styles identified in the district are Italianate, Queen Anne, Classical and Colonial Revival, Arts and Crafts, and Bungalow. Primary vernacular residential building types include gabled and hipped roof structures.

In the 1860's and the 1870's, a number of Saint Paul businessmen built elaborate limestone houses along the bluff. These houses are long gone, but old several brick houses remain, and brick and stone are evident throughout the Dayton's Bluff historic district in foundations and in chimneys. Stone, brick, and concrete were also used for lintels, sills, and decorative trim. Wood building products, including siding, shingles, and decorative trim were used extensively by the nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century builders of Dayton's Bluff. Many of the historic windows of Dayton's Bluff have a double-hung sash and a vertical orientation. Most of the houses and rowhouses built in the Dayton's Bluff Historic District before 1920 had unenclosed front porches. The porch usually stretched across the full width of the front facade, but in some cases only covered the entry. A great variety of machine-made trim was added to even the simplest wooden houses of Dayton's Bluff, while iron, cast iron, terra cotta, tile, and brick also can be seen.

Specific Structures. The following presents available information on the housing styles and the residents of specific structures located along the hike:

507 Arcade Street: Built in 1884. The building is a 636 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nellie K. Harrington, widow of William A. Harrington, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Lou A. Norquist resided at this address. Nellie Harrington ( -1957) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lee, and died in Ramsey County. William A. Harrington ( -1922) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Lou Ann Norquist.

509 Arcade Street: Built in 1874. The building is a one story, 963 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry A. Kemper, an employee of the St. Paul Fire Department, and his wife, Louise A. Kemper, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Francis E. Reidell resided at this address. In 1879, Henry Kemper, a flour and feed merchant, and C. Kemper, the widow of Henry Kemper, both resided at 83 Rosabel Street. In 1896, Henry Kemper was paid $20 from the St. Paul City election fund. Henry August Kemper (1886-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Meier, and died in Ramsey County. Louise A. Kemper (1892-1970) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wenig, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Francis E. Graham.

615 Arcade Street: The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jeffrey Elbers M.D. was located at this address. Jeffrey Elbers graduated from the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1992, was a resident at HealthEast Bethesda Hospital and HealthEast St. Joseph's Hospital, is a member of the Ramsey Medical Society, the American Academy of Family Physicians, and the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians, is certified by American Board of Family Practice and is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota in the Department of Family Practice.

631 Arcade Street: Built in 1874. The building is a one story, 2123 square foot, five room, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided bungalow, with an attached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Brad W. Abrahamson and Jeffery A. Abrahamson resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $125,000. The current owner of record of the property is Jeffrey A. Abrahamson.

634 Arcade Street: H. W. Grube House; Built in 1890 (1887 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Victorian in style. The building is a two (2 1/2 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey) story, 2348 square foot, seven room, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos and wood sided frame house, with a detached garage. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the house has an intersecting hip and gable roof, with asphalt shingles, one interior brick chimney, rectangular 1/1 fenestration, and a limestone foundation. The 1982 survey also indicates that the house has an open porch with turned columns, balusters and dentils, and ornate brackets covered by a bellcast truncated hip roof, that it has rectangular bay window on the main facade, a double leaf front door with transom, and has a wide bracketed bargeboard with applied relief scroll and sunrise motifs, and that there are Queen Anne windows in the gable ends. H. W. Grube was listed on the building permit as the original owner of the house. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Carrie L. Nelson resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $74,000. The current owner of record of the property is Carrie L. Nelson.

639 Arcade Street: Built in 1880. The building is a 1 1/2 story, 1858 square foot, six room, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Helen S. Newlin and John Shipley Newlin, Jr., resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $199,900. The current owners of record of the property are Helen S. Newlin and J. Shipley Newlin, Jr. J. Shipley Newlin is the director of Physical Sciences and Technology and of the Experiment Gallery at the Science Museum of Minnesota, worked at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia from 1973 to 1983, worked at the New York Hall of Science from 1984 to 1986, and has been at the Science Museum of Minnesota since 1987. J. Shipley Newlin is author of Experiment Bench: A Workbook for Building Experimental Physics Exhibits, published by ASTC Publications.

643 Arcade Street: The property is a vacant commercial lot. The current owner of record of the property is Gaertner Holding Company, located at 246 South Albert Street.

644 Arcade Street: Built in 1894. The building is a two story, 1674 square foot, eight room, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Edward L. Wakefield and Elizabeth A. Wakefield resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $175,000. The current owners of record of the property are Edward L. Wakefield and Elizabeth A. Wakefield.

651 Arcade Street: Built in 1964. The building is a one story, 5769 square foot, medical clinic. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the Arcade Medical Clinic, Frank J. Bonello, Jeffrey J. Herickhoff, M.D., and J. R. Gaertner, M.D., were located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Gaertner Holding Company, located at 246 South Albert Street. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Fred Otto resided at the former nearby 666 Arcade Street.

672 Arcade Street: The property is a vacant commercial lot. The current owner of record of the property are Alinda Suarez Gurrola and Jose M. Acevedo, who reside at 761 Duluth Street.

695 Arcade Street: Built in 1920. The building is a one story, 3353 square foot, automotive service station. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Joseph I. Weis & Sons, Inc., was located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Joseph I. Weis & Sons, Inc.

699 Arcade Street: Built in 1888. The building is a two story, 4512 square foot, retail structure. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Mid Nation Distribution Inc. was located at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $110,000. The current owner of record of the property is Albert M. Johnson.

8 Bates Avenue: Built in 1886. The building is a two story, 3580 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that George C. Jameson resided at this address from 1916 to 1940. According to the 1918 city directory, Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Jameson resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Nellie P. Augustine, a nurse, boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that G. H. and Clara Jameson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ella E. Jameson, the widow of George C. Jameson, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Lawrence E. Meuwissen resided at this address. George C. Jameson was an 1890 graduate of Oberlin College. George C. Jameson ( -1917) died in Ramsey County. George H. Jameson ( -1952) died in Hennepin County. Ella E. Jameson ( -1940) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $121,000. The current owner of record of the property is Joyce A. Maddox.

18 Bates Avenue: The property is a vacant residential lot. The current owner of record of the property is the State of Minnesota.

44 Bates Avenue: Built in 1998. The building is a one story, 2038 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a two car tuck under garage. The current owners of record of the property are Gregory P. Kramer and Ann Marie Leininger.

50 Bates Avenue: Built in 1991. The building is a 1900 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, split level frame house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Barbara L. Osthus resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Michael E. Drager and Barbara L. Osthus. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Albert Scheffer resided at the nearby former 52 Bates Avenue from 1886 to 1899. [See note for Albert Scheffer for 390 Maple Street.]

54 Bates Avenue: Built in 1990. The building is a 1900 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, split level frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $145,500 and that sale occurred in 1998.

60 Bates Avenue: Built in 1987. The building is a 1900 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, split level frame house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Janet Lynn Nelson and Kevin D. Nelson resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $143,000. The current owners of record of the property are Pieter W. Gasterland and Jilleen M. Johnson.

64 Bates Avenue: Built in 1987. The building is a 1900 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, split level frame house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Lyle D. Pitts and Pamela Jean Pitts resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Lyle D. Pitts.

70 Bates Avenue: Built in 1927. The building is a one story, 784 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a one car detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Smith I. Eggleston, an engineer, and his wife, Rose F. Eggleston, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Cassandra Demarais resided at this address. Rose F. Eggleston (1905-1986) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $81,000. The current owners of record of the property are Cassandra A. Demarais and Keith A. Richter.

76 Bates Avenue: Built in 1923. The building is a one story, 806 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter H. Rasmussen, a clerk, and his wife, Harriet M. Rasmussen, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Mary Sue Duerre and Steven Glen Duerre resided at this address. Walter H. Rasmussen (1903-1978) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bach, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Steven G. Duerre. [See note on Walter Rasmussen for 235 Maria Avenue.]

80 Bates Avenue: Built in 1911. The building is a one story, 830 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank B. Brandt, an assistant department manager at the Golden Rule Department Store, and his wife, Anna G. Brandt, resided at this address. The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Selmer R. Johnson and Ann Johnson resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Diane Marie Dunker and Jackie Dunker resided at this address. Frank B. Brandt ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $75,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Diane M. Dunker. [See the note for the Golden Rule Department Store for 657 East Fourth Street.]

84 Bates Avenue: Built in 1966. The building is a 948 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that David Richard Possin resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1998 with a sale price of $90,000. The current owner of record of the property is David R. Possin.

88 Bates Avenue: Built in 1912. The building is a two story, 1344 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1916, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate the Mr. and Mrs. H. S. Freeman resided at this address. World War I veteran George R. Freeman resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that George H. Freeman, a soldier, roomed at 65 West Seventh Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Herbert S. Freeman, an office engineer employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Elizabeth Freeman, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Lefteris Mortoglou and Paula M. Wieczorek resided at this address. George R. Freeman (1893-1965) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Reynolds, and died in Ramsey County. George H. Freeman ( -1972) died in Hennepin County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $172,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lefteris Mortoglou and Paula M. Wieczorek. Paula Wieczorek is the regional ombudsman at the Minnesota Department of Health for Ramsey and Washington Counties. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

89 Bates Avenue: Built in 1885. The building is a 1124 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry B. Madden and his wife, Mary E. Madden, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Ben J. Amthor resided at this address. Henry B. Madden ( -1930) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $72,400 and that sale occurred in 1995. The current owner of record of the property is Benjamin J. Amthor.

92 Bates Avenue: Built in 1912. The building is a one story, 1344 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. T. Becker, an assistant buyer for G. Sommers & Company, and his wife, Lydia M. Becker, resided at this address. William F. T. Becker ( -1948) died in Hennepin County. Lydia M. Becker (1893-1975) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Katherine A. Cook. [See note on the G. Sommers & Company for 9 South St. Albans Street]

96 Bates Avenue: Built in 1925. The building is a one story, 1177 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Alex C. Nicholson, a cashier employed by the Crex Carpet Company, and his wife, Jane H. Nicholson, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Richard Felt resided at this address. In 1898, the American Grass Twine Company, which became the American Furniture & Manufacturing Company, later the Prairie Grass Furniture Company, and ultimately the Crex Carpet Company in 1908, aggressively publicized itself, claiming among other things that its wire grass twine had been extensively tested in the field and uniformly praised by farmers. The American Grass Twine Company was a Delaware corporation that was organized in 1899, acquired the Northwestern Grass Twine Company, the Wisconsin Grass Twine Company, and others firms before 1902, acquired the Minnie Harvester Company in 1902, sold the Minnie Harvester Company in 1903, owned or controlled considerable grass lands, possessed both U. S. and foreign patents related to its manufacturing processes, and had its main office in New York. In 1907, the officers of the American Grass Twine Company were John M. Robinson, president, William A. Pfeil, secretary, George E. Lindley, treasurer, and Richard E. Cochran, John Kirkpatrick, H. G. Knowles, George E. Lindley, H. E. Moller, John D. Probst, John M. Robinson, Myron W. Robinson, and Irwin D. Stump, members of the board of directors. In 1907, the American Grass Twine Company had issued $15 million in stock. Conventional sisal twine, however, with its finer fibers, was stronger than wire grass and International Harvester and Mexican sisal began eroding the wire grass market, prompting the American Grass Twine Company to make wire grass into floor coverings and furniture. By 1903, the company offered a line of 260 wicker products-chairs, divans, couches, tables, baby carriages, umbrella stands, music stands, screens, hampers, and benches. The Crex name is derived from the Latin name for wire grass. In 1912, the Crex Carpet Company purchased 23,000 acres of what is now called Crex Meadows. Crex Meadows occupies a portion of the Northwest Wisconsin pine barrens near Grantsburg, Wisconsin. The carpet company was an eastern corporation that was engaged in the production of grass rugs. Three carpet camps (camp numbers five, six, and eight) were located in the area. Each camp employed 50-100 men who harvested "wiregrass" (Carex Stricto) from the marshes and shipped it to the factory in St. Paul where it was made into grass carpets by a workforce in which a majority (nearly 60 percent) of combers, spinners, cob winders, spoolers, beamers, weavers, menders, and other workers were female, with over half were 20 years old or younger, and only a tiny fraction of whom lived beyond walking distance from the factory. The wire grass industry continued successfully until market conditions, primarily the development of linoleum floor covering, competition from Japanese grass rugs, drought, and ecological changes in the marsh caused the bankruptcy of the Crex Carpet Company in 1933. The Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area in Anoka County, Minnesota, first acquired by the State of Minnesota in 1934, is also on land that also once belonged to the Crex Carpet Company. William Redmond (1872- ,) of 295 Fifth Avenue, New York, New York, was president of the Crex Carpet Company in 1930. Alexander C. Nicholson (1889-1969) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Perkins, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $165,000. The current owner of record of the property is LLJ Properties LLC, which is located at 1148 McLean Avenue.

98 Bates Avenue: Built in 1914. The building is a one story, 902 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house. The 1879 city directory indicates that John Kenkel, a cigar manufacturer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mathias Mickelson, a clerk, and his wife, Mary Mickelson, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Laura Dorothy Sawyer resided at this address. Mathias H. Mickelson ( -1952) died in Blue Earth County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Laura D. Sawyer and Ralph J. Sawyer. The 1875 city directory indicates that William Batson, a foreman, resided at the former nearby 102 Bates Avenue. The 1879 city directory indicates that Daniel Donovan, a civil engineer, resided at the nearby former 102 Bates Avenue and that Daniel Donovan, a clerk employed by A. Guiterman, boarded at the former nearby 102 Bates Avenue. William S. Batson ( -1923) died in Ramsey County. [See note for Guiterman Brothers for 315 Ryan Avenue.]

103 Bates Avenue: Built in 1904. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1386 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles W. Kampfer, an architect and a partner with Max O. Buetow in the architect firm of Kampfer & Buetow, and his wife, Emma Kampfer, Dorothea M. Kampfer, a nurse, and Herbert Kampfer, with the Conveyor Specialties Manufacturing Company, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Kella S. Caldwell and Patrick Kurtz resided at this address and that House & Home Publications Inc was located at this address. In 1969, D. Kampfer of Conveyor Specialties demonstrated conveyor and case distribution systems at the 64th Annual Meeting of the American Dairy Science Association in the Twin Cities. Charles W. Kampfer (1879-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Steinmeyer, and died in Ramsey County. Emma Olga Kampfer ( -1944) died in Ramsey County. Herbert Kampfer (1902-1983) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kuck, and died in Ramsey County. Max O. Buetow (1892-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ramlow, and died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $199,500. The current owners of record of the property are Kela Caldwell and Patrick Kuntz.

104 Bates Avenue: Built in 1914. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1116 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Winfield S. Brisbin, a foreman employed by the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad, roomed at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George L. Jacobson, an assistant baggage and mail agent, and his wife, Caroline Jacobson, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Sarah E. Mische resided at this address. George L. Jacobson (1885-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hammerberg, and died in St. Louis County, Minnesota. Caroline Jacobson ( -1950) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $157,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Sarah E. Mische. The 1879 city directory indicates that Louisa Katdatz was a domestic at the nearby former 106 Bates Avenue, that Otto W. Kiefer, a clerk, boarded at 106 Bates Avenue, and that Andrew R. Kiefer, a partner with Adam Heck in the wine, liquor and cigar wholesaler of Kiefer & Heck, located at 20-22 Jackson Street, and clerk of the district court for the Second Judicial (Ramsey County) District, and Robert M. Kiefer, a clerk employed by A. R. Kiefer, both resided at the former nearby 106 Bates Avenue. Andrew Robert Kiefer (1830/1832-1904) was born in Marienborn, Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, attended school in Mainz, Germany, immigrated to the United States in 1849, settled in St. Paul in 1855, was an inspector and collector of the wharf in 1857, was in the millinery business, was engaged in mercantile pursuits, was the enrolling clerk of the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1859 and 1860, served in the Union Army during the Civil War as a Captain in the Second Minnesota Regiment from 1861 until 1863, participated in the battles of Mill Spring, Corinth, Springfield, and Perryville, was appointed provost marshal of Triune, Tennessee, in 1863, was commissioned Colonel of the 31st Regiment of State militia in 1863, was a Republican, was a member of Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (21st District) in 1864, was engaged in the wholesale mercantile business from 1865 until 1878, operated the wholesale liqour business of Kiefer & Heck, ran a distillery near Post Siding, became interested in real estate as a partner with Edward J. Schurmeier in the firm of Kiefer & Schurmeier in 1880, was clerk of the district courts of Ramsey County from 1878 until 1883, was a founder of the Hail Storm Insurance Company, was the unsuccessful Republican candidate for mayor of St. Paul in 1890, was a U.S. Representative from Minnesota for the Fourth District from 1893 until 1897, was mayor of St. Paul from 1898 until 1900, was the Republican candidate for city controller in 1904, died in St. Paul, and was interred at Oakland Cemetery. In 1880, Congressman Andrew R. Kiefer introduced a bill to prohibit the transportation of diseased livestock from infected to clean areas. In 1897, Andrew R. Kiefer of Minnesota offered to the Indian appropriation bill an amendment appropriating a sum of money to certain Sioux scouts who served in 1862 and who were omitted from the pay roll of the year 1895, when payment was authorized, but the amendment was ruled out of order. Adam Heck also was a partner of Fred Emmert in a saloon on Robert Street in the late 1850's. [See the note for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy RailRoad.] [See note on Edward J. Schurmeier for 757 West Linwood Avenue.]

109 Bates Avenue: Built in 1874. The building is a 972 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached one car garage. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. N. Gordinier resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frederick C. Beardsley, a chemist for Adlerika Company, and his wife, Alice P. Beardsley, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Carrie Ann Baierl resided at this address. Allen Norton Gordinier ( -1934) died in Ramsey County. The Adlerika Company manufactured, in the 1920's, a patent medicine, Adler-i-ka, which was invented in 1902, was originally intended to treat appendicitis before the creation of the federal Food & Drug Administration, and became a cathartic or intestinal evacuant, used for gas in the stomach or bowel and for occasional constipation and heartburn. The inventors, Charles Weschke/Weschcke and Ernest Weschke/Weschcke, were sons of the New Ulm, Minnesota, pioneer doctor Carl Weschke/Weschcke. The name was derived from the firm's advertising adage "Dr. Adler�s Cure for Appendicitis," after the Food and Drug Administration made the Weschkes drop the word "cure"from the title, and although there actually was no Dr. Adler. The Adlerika Company, owned or operated by Carl/Charles Weschke, was founded in New Ulm and relocated to St. Paul (at Fillmore and Wabasha) and to Windsor, Canada, as the Frederick Stearns & Company, Ltd. The Adlerika Company met its demise in 1994 and eventually became the Chester-Kent, Inc. The firm advertised by producing calendars and shot glasses/dose cups. Chester-Kent, Inc., and its related firms, also manufactured and marketed Adla tablets for stomach ailments, Daru liver pills, and Vinol, a vitamin tonic. In early 1961, Carl Llewellyn Weschcke (1930- ) was president of Chester-Kent, Inc., bought Llewellyn Publications, now Llewellyn Worldwide, opened the Gnostica Bookstore in Minneapolis in 1971, opened the "Gnostica School for Self-Development", began the Gnostic Aquarian Festivals in Minneapolis during the 1970's, was elected president of the NAACP's Minnesota branch in 1959, and was elected vice president of the ACLU's Minnesota branch in 1965. In 1964, Weschcke purchased the Griggs Mansion at 476 Summit Avenue and discovered that it was haunted with up to six ghosts. He and his wife, Sandra Weschcke, have one son, Gabriel Weschcke, who is a current vice president at Llewellyn. Dr. Charles Weschke was mayor of New Ulm, Minnesota, in 1903. Charles Weschcke operated a drug store in New Ulm, Minnesota, in 1881. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $91,000. The current owner of record of the property is Carrie A. Baierl. [See note on the Griggs Mansion for 476 Summit Avenue.]

110 Bates Avenue: Built in 1912. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1243 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a one car detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that John V. Caneff, a laborer, resided at this address. John Caneff (1884-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ryan, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $67,500. The current owner of record of the property is Jennifer J. Clelland.

114 Bates Avenue: Built in 1912. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1061 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred G. Schorr, a foreman employed by the Great Northern Shops, and his wife, Lydia Schorr, resided at this address. Fred G. Schorr ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $194,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Tina M. Jesinski and David E. Westgard. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

115 Bates Avenue: Built in 1913. The building is a one story, 832 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that David D. O'Brien, a bookbinder employed by H. Peltz & Son, and his wife, Clara L. O'Brien, resided at this address. David D. O'Brien (1894-1989) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Drexler, and died in Hennepin County. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $138,500. The current owners of record of the property are Virginia A. Hance and Laura A. Thielges. Laura Thielges is a teacher at the Cherokee Heights Elementary School, a 2006 winner of the Partnership School Award of the National Network of Partnership Schools of Johns Hopkins University, and was a presenter at the 2006 El D�a de los Ni�os activity day at the Science Museum of Minnesota. Virginia Hance and Laura Thielges were financial supporters of the Girl Scout Council of St. Croix Valley in 2005.

117 Bates Avenue: Built in 1870. The building is a one story, 1176 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The last sale of this property was in 1998 and the sale price was $77,500. The current owners of record of the property are Erika S. Deering and John J. Deering.

118 Bates Avenue: Built in 1907 (in 1908 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Colonial Revival in style; J. Meinken, builder. The building is a two (2 1/2 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey) story, 1578 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the intact, wood frame, clapboard and shingle-sided house has two bays, an intersecting gable roof, central chimney, 1/1 rectangular fenestration, a limestone foundation, an open porch with Tuscan columns and turned balusters, a bay window on the South side, and leaded glass. The house is located on a hill and has a limestone retaining wall. The house was built for $2,700. The initial owner and resident was Henry Breuer. Fred H. Breuer (1889- ), a Private, and Daniel Thomassian were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Fred H. Breuer, a mechanic at the Western Auto Club, Louis Breuer, a salesman for Miske Auto Company, and Fred W. Breuer, a mechanic employed by the Western Auto Company, all boarded at this address and that Henry Breuer resided at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Henry Breuer resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sine Breuer, the widow of Henry Breuer, and Fred Breuer, a garage operator, resided at this address. The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Marvin L. Breuer resided at this address. Daniel T. Thomassian (1895-1976) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Louis H. Breuer (1900-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Luesseng, and died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004 and in 2005. J. Meinken resided at 688 Euclid Street in 1908. The property was last sold in 2004 with a sale price of $325,000. The current owner of record of the property is Thomas J. Mohr, who resides at 1787 Sargent Avenue. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Ross Clarke resided at the nearby former 120 Bates Avenue from 1889 to 1893 and that the house burned down in 1894.

123 Bates Avenue: Built in 1914. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1093 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl H. Brustman, a chauffeur, and his wife, Margaret Brustman, resided at this address. Carl H. Brustman (1893-1978) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Wegwerth, and died in Ramsey County. Margaret Brustman (1898-1974) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $112,500 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are David Coscio and Erin Coscio.

125 Bates Avenue: Built in 1915. The building is a two story, 1398 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Clara Kautt resided at this address. The Hour Dollar service exchange organization is also located at this address. Beth Mueller and her friend, Sue Stapleton, began Hour Dollars in 1998, based on an idea from Edward Cahn's book Time Dollars. Hour Dollars has become an overwhelming success in the Dayton's Bluff/East Side area and is based on the concept of bartering for skills and services. The Hour Dollars Board consists of 11 members and holds monthly meetings. Beth Mueller lived in the parsonage of the Mounds Park United Methodist Church when she first moved to Dayton's Bluff and is a 1981 graduate from Anoka, Minnesota, and a recent graduate of Metro State. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $140,900. The current owner of record of the property is Troy W. Stark.

129 Bates Avenue: Built in 1935. The building is a two story, 1344 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a one car tuck-under garage. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $217,000. The current owner of record of the property is Margaret J. Kessell.

130 Bates Avenue: Built in 1930. The building is a one story, 1073 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $75,000 and that sale occurred in 1995. The current owners of record of the property are Saykham Vongsay and Sanouthith Vongsay.

136 Bates Avenue: Built in 1931. The building is a one story, 1764 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $145,500. The current owner of record of the property is Jim Peterson.

137 Bates Avenue: Built in 1913. The building is a one story, 1248 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs J. J. Fitzgerald, Jr., resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry T. Bahr, a plasterer, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Daniel A. Murray, a department manager employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, and his wife, Luella Murray, resided at this address. The Center for Life Stories Preservation is also located at this address. The Center for Life Stories Preservation provides a well-spring of information about preserving family histories. Henry Bahr ( -1936) died in Ramsey County. Daniel A. Murray (1880-1962) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Quinlan, and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Nancy L. Pengra. Nancy L. Pengra was a financial supporter of the Raptor Center in 2004. Nancy L. Pengra is the author of Family Histories, a 146-page guidebook from the Center for Life Stories Preservation. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

139 Bates Avenue: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1792 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Bertha Miller (1871-1923,) the wife of Albert Miller, who was born in Iowa to parents born in Germany and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl W. Tacke, a watchman employed by Swift & Company, and his wife, Carrie Tacke, resided at this address. The Miller burial plot at Oakland Cemetery contains the graves of Albert Miller (1865-1922,) Bertha Miller (1871-1923,) Thomas W. Scott (1857-1926,) and Johanna Scott (1879-1922.) Carl Walter Tacke (1896-1963) was born in Minnesota and died in Morrison County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Diane L. Sawyer and Thomas E. Sawyer. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.]

142 Bates Avenue: Built in 1931. The building is a one story, 1764 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1920 city directory indicates that Matthew Curran, a clerk employed by the U. S. Rubber Company, boarded at this address. The last sale of this property was in 2001 and the sale price was $139,000. The current owner of record of the property is Bruce S. Johnson, who resides at 1649 Hubbard Avenue.

143 Bates Avenue: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1729 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached one car garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Peter Kieffer (1846-1924,) the husband of Dora Kieffer, who was born in Germany to parents born in Germany and who died of c. myocarditis, resided at this address in 1924. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles C. Klabunde, manager of the Arbogast Meat Company, his wife, Elizabeth M. Klabunde, Charles T. Klabunde, a superintendent employed by the Cities Service Oil Company, and his wife, Edna Klabunde, all resided at this address. Arbogast's Meat Market was initially operated by Louis Arbogast, who was apparentlty murdered by a member of his family in an unsolved case in 1909. In 1910, Henry Latham Doherty created the Cities Service Company to supply gas and electricity to small public utilities, began acquiring gas producing properties in the mid-continent and the SouthWest, and developed a pipeline system, tapping dozens of gas pools. By 1914, Cities Service entered the oil business, discovering oil in Kansas, Oklahoma, and East Texas between 1914 and 1928. By 1931, Cities Service completed the nation's first long-distance high pressure natural gas transportation system, a 24-inch pipeline stretching some 1,000 miles from Amarillo, Texas, to Chicago, Illinois. In 1935, federal legislation disallowed ownership of both petroleum and natural gas operations and the company divested itself of its natural gas operations. Cities Service Company first inaugurated use of the Citgo brand of gasoline in 1965. Fending off a take-over bid from Mesa Petroleum, the Cities Service Company first attempted to merge with Gulf Oil and, after much controversy, eventually merged with the Occidental Petroleum Corporation. The Occidental Petroleum Corporation sold Citgo and the Citgo and Cities Service brands to the Southland Corporation in 1983. Between 1986 and 1990, Citgo was sold to Petr�leos de Venezuela. Dora Kieffer ( -1929) and Elizabeth Klabunde ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. Charles Klabunde (1901-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Thavis, and died in Ramsey County. Edna N. Klabunde (1900-1991) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Olson, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. The property was last sold for $159,900 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Katja L. Wucherer and Matthew J. Wucherer. Katja L. Wucherer, Class of 2006, was an intern at the College of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Minnesota in 2006. Katja Wucherer was a financial supporter of Two Wheel View, a Minnesota nonprofit organization promoting local and international biking programs, in 2004. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that James Middleton resided at the nearby former 144 Bates Avenue from 1888 to 1896. In 1910, the Nugent Sanitarium, with J. M. Nugent, president and treasurer, was located at the nearby former 144 Bates Avenue. James "Jas." Middleton (1833-1902) was born in Londonderry, Donegal, Ireland, was educated in Ireland, came with his parents to the United States in 1845, resided in Washington County, Minnesota, was the Sergeant at Arms of the Minnesota Territorial Legislature from 1854 until 1855, married Eldora "Ella" Masterman ( -1902) in 1866, was the treasurer and vice-president of the Washington County Agricultural Society, was a Democrat, was a Congregationalist, was a farmer, was a Washington County, Minnesota, county commissioner representing the Fourth District in 1873, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Washington County, Minnesota (District 18) from 1875 until 1877, was an unsuccessful candidate for the Minnesota Senate in the 1878 election, was appointed president of the Board of Directors of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Company in 1877, was a road supervisor, was a member of the Free Masons of Cottage Grove, Minnesota, moved to St. Paul in 1882, was a board member of the German American Bank, was involved in real estate and loans as a member of the Middleton & Dougan firm, died of uremic poisoning (kidney failure) in St. Paul, and was buried at the Cottage Grove, Minnesota, Cemetery. James Middleton and Ella Masterman were the parents of seven children, Arthur Middleton, Carrie Evelyn Middleton Moody, Georgella Middleton, James Edwin Middleton, Alice Catherine Middleton, Margaret Jane Middleton, and Annabelle "Nannie" Middleton.

148 Bates Avenue: Nugent Apartments; Built in 1921. The structure is a two story, 7776 square foot, multi-family apartment building. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were William H. Foster, an electric operator employed by the Twin City Rapid Transit Company, and his wife, Helen M. Foster, (Apartment #1,) Bert L. Cole, a dentist located at 679 East Thrid Street, and his wife, Lulu A. Cole, (Apartment #2,) John J. Lanin, an agricultural agent employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, (Apartment #3,) and Mrs. Betsy Lundgren, the widow of Louis L. Lundgren, (Apartment #4.) William Henry Foster ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Helen M. Foster (1875-1967) was born in Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Bert Cole (1904-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Glassco, and died in Hennepin County. Louis Lundgren ( -1919,) Betsy Lundgren ( -1941,) and John James Lanin ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Gregory G. Bauer and Lois M. Bauer, who resided at 135 Sycamore Street East, and the current owner of record of the property is JPCJ Holdings of Vadnais Heights, Minnesota. [See note on the Twin City Rapid Transit Company for 165 Western Avenue North.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

150 Bates Avenue: Built in 1957. The building is a 988 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The current owners of record of the property are Charles W. Boeck and Jane F. Boeck.

152 Bates Avenue: Built in 1961. The building is a 1584 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, stucco rambler, with a detached garage. The property was last sold in 1992 with a sale price of $85,000. The current owner of record of the property is Charles H. Boeck.

153 Bates Avenue: Built in 1978. The building is a 904 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided rambler. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $68,500. The current owner of record of the property is Thomas L. Kennedy.

157 Bates Avenue: Built in 1915. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1786 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $220,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Ann Popadiuk Larson and Christopher A. Larson.

158 Bates Avenue: Built in 1902. The building is a two story, 1560 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a one car detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Philip Orme, his wife, Florence M. M. Orme, and Philip B. Orme, an operator employed by the Northern States Power Company, resided at this address. Philip B. Orme ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. The previous owners of record of the property were Shirley L. Henrichs and Warren D. Henrichs and the current owners of record are Kenneth E. Bergman and Sarah J. Bergman. [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

162 Bates Avenue: Built in 1902. The building is a two story, 1560 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Susan E. Ward, the widow of Samuel H. Ward, resided at this address. Susan Amy Ward ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $208,900. The previous owners of record of the property were Norman J. Hedlund and Ruth Hedlund and the current owner of record is Patrick G. Donohue.

166 Bates Avenue: Built in 1936. The building is a 949 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler. The property was previously sold in 1997 with a sale price of $52,000 and was last sold in 2005 with a sale price of $165,500. The previous owner of record of the property was Theresa Molina and the current owners of record are Julia E. Linares and Dora E. Mendez. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George Eberhardt and Anna Eberhardt resided at the former nearby 179 Bates Avenue in 1906. Anna Eberhardt ( -1926) and George Eberhardt ( -1927) both died in Ramsey County. Anna Eberhardt (1848-1906) was born in Germany and died in Ramsey County. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mrs. Nicholas Lahr, her daughters, and Joe L. Lahr all resided at the former nearby 178 Bates Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that the Misses Lahr resided at the former nearby 178 Bates Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Bach & Brown, a feed store operated by John H. Bach and John Brown, was located at the former nearby 200 Bates Avenue and that The Blackmun Company, a grocery, Corwin M. Blackmun, proprietor, was located at the nearby former 198 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Bach & Brown feed store was located at the former nearby 200 Bates Avenue.

201 Bates Avenue: Built in 2002. The structure is a two story, 12921 square foot, multi-family apartment building. In the early 1900's, the George H. Trout Grocery was located at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Willard Lee Cole (1871-1917,) the single son of Ira Cole, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in England and in Illinois and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1917. The 1930 city directory indicates that Melvin J. Plepler, a grocer, had his store located at this address. Willard L. Cole ( -1917,) Ira Cole ( -1919,) and Ira Edward Cole ( -1943) all died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 1997 and the sale price was $100,000. The current owner of record of the property is the Homes for Learning Limited Partnership, located at 823 Seventh Street East. The 1920 city directory indicates that the Bates Avenue Tire Repair Shop, operated by Henry Nachstein, was located at the former nearby 202 Bates Avenue and that the Electric Shoe Repairing shop, operated by Jacob C. Engelman, was located at the former nearby 203 1/2 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Bates Avenue Tire Shop was located at the former nearby 202 Bates Avenue, that the former nearby 203 Bates Avenue was vacant, and that the former nearby 203 1/2 Bates Avenue was vacant.

204 Bates Avenue: Built in 1917 and 1968. The structure is a two building, one a 4560 square foot and the other a 720 square foot, automotive service station. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Louis Deutsch garage was located at this address. Louis Deutsch and his wife, Lucetta M. Deutsch, resided at 986 Euclid Street according to the 1930 city directory. Louis Deutsch (1889-1981) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sommer, and died in Ramsey County. Lucetta Deutsch (1895-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Carver, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 2008 for $240,000. The previous owner of record of the property was F & S Properties of Minnesota, Inc., and the current owners of record of the property are Evelyn M. Kuehl and Steven R. Kuehl. The 1930 city directory indicates that S. Theo Buechely, a dry goods dealer, resided at the former nearby 207 Bates Avenue.

207 Bates Avenue: The structure is a commercial building. The 1896 St. Paul Globe reported that John G. Roers (1844-1896) resided at this address and died in St. Paul. The 1920 city directory indicates that Sever L. Brown, a laborer, resided at this address.

208 Bates Avenue: Built in 1880 (in 1885 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Victorian in style; Charles Neuhausen, architect. The structure is a two story, 6000 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the apparently altered, soft brick and stretcher bond, building has three bays, a flat roof, 2/2 segmental arched and 1/1 rectangular fenestration, limestone foundation, a symmetrical facade with two store fronts with separate recessed entrances, two bracketed rectangular oriel windows, and a bracketed press metal cornice. The building cost an estimated $3,500 to construct. The original owner of the building was August Schacht, who resided at 985 Burns Avenue in 1885. The 1903 city directory indicates that Joseph Schilling, a harnessmaker, had his shop at the former nearby 210 Bates Avenue and resided at 1063 Burns Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Julius S. Dzikiewicz, a furniture dealer, and his wife, Sophie Dzikiewicz, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002, in 2003, in 2004, in 2005, and in 2007. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey also indicates that the building is one of a cluster of 1880-1890 era buildings around the Bates Avenue and Wilson intersection, but is perhaps the most altered of the group. Joseph Schilling ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Joseph Ernest Schilling ( -1954) died in Ramsey County. Julius S. Dzikiewicz (1889-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Sophie S. Dzikiewicz (1875-1961) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Okonski, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $54,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owner of record of the property is Bee Vue, who lives in Wyoming, Minnesota. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto P. Bley, a machinist, and his wife, Helen Bley, resided at the former nearby 210 Bates Avenue and that Frederick C. Kicherer, a barber, and his wife, Hilda E. Kicherer, resided at the former nearby 211 Bates Avenue. Otto P. Bley ( -1965) died in Hennepin County. Helen Margaret Bley (1914-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Sycks, and died in Anoka County, Minnesota. Frederick C. Kicherer (1874-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Waltner, and died in Ramsey County. Hilda E. Kicherer (1889-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johnson, and died in Ramsey County.

212 Bates Avenue: Built in 2003. The building is a 4320 square foot, two story, 12 room, six bathroom, brick triplex, with a basement garage. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $65,000. The current owner of record of the property is the Homes for Learning Limited Partnership, located at 823 Seventh Street East.

213 Bates Avenue: Built in 1926. The building is a 992 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, stucco rambler. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gust Solie resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2002 with a sale price of $65,000. The current owner of record of the property is Bee Vue, who resides in Wyoming, Minnesota.

216 Bates Avenue: Built in 1912. The structure is a two story, 4360 square foot, commercial building. The 1895 city directory indicates that Mrs. Linda Kent boarded at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Fay and Mrs. Mary Branch all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Branch (1845-1897,) who was born in Ohio and who died of typhoid fever, and Mary Branch, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1897. The 1920 city directory indicates that Vernon L. Baker, associated with the Bates Avenue Motor Car Garage, did business at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William F. Potthoff, a garage operator at this address, also resided at this address. The Branch burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of William Branch (1820-1872,) Mary Branch (1826-1916,) William Smith Dunn (1850-1933,) W. H. Branch (1850-1890,) Dr. Uriah Branch (1855-1902,) his wife, Hannah Branch (1871-1930,) George W. Branch (1870-1936,) James O. Branch (1878-1886,) Nellie M. Branch (1857-1926,) William Branch (1851-1907,) William S. Dunn (1876-1900,) and Oren Harrison Branch Dunn (1877-1937.) Uriah Branch moved to Minnesota in 1855 and was an attendee of the First Grand Jubilee Social of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers in 1898. William Branch (1825-1873) was born in Ohio, moved to St. Paul in 1852, was a building contractor, was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad, was a railroad bed grading contractor with the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad, was one of the organizers, with William L. Banning, James Smith, Jr., and John M. Gilman, of the Western Minnesota Land Association, was a member of the Minnesota Territorial House of Representatives in 1857 from District 2, was a St. Paul alderman from 1856 until 1861, was a Ramsey County Commissioner from 1858 until 1859, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1866 from District 1, and invested in real estate in Duluth, Minnesota. In 1858, William Branch unsuccessfully sponsored a city council resolution for the construction of a bridge to Dayton's Bluff on East Seventh Street financed by the Dayton's Bluff residents. In 1861, William Branch built a house at the Northeast corner of Bates Avenue and Wilson Street, between Hudson Street and Plum Street. William Branch & Company was engaged in surveying and construction on the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad Company, which became the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad. Branch Street in Duluth, Minnesota, was named after William Branch. Frank Branch ( -1897) was the son of William Branch and Mary Branch. The current owners of record of the property are J. B. Tuthill and Mary L. Tuthill, who reside in Kansas City, Kansas. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred Mollet, a shoe rebuilder, and Mrs. Harriet T. Miller resided at the former nearby 217 Bates Avenue. Frederick Mollet ( -1946) died in Ramsey County. [See note for the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad.] [See note for the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad.]

217-219 Bates Avenue: Built in 1880. The structure is a one story, 4788 square foot, commercial building. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry Harrison Crooks resided at this address in 1908. The 1920 city directory indicates that George F. Carlson, a painter, boarded at 217 Bates Avenue and that Winifred H. Carlson, a machine operator, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl E. Johnson, a grocer, was located at this address and Mrs. Emma Belden, the widow of Frank Belden, and Bert W. Fern, a brakeman, both resided at this address. Carl E. Johnson and his wife, Gertrude C. Johnson, resided at 693 Hudson Boulevard according to the 1930 city directory. The house was on the city vacant building list in 2002, in 2003, in 2004, and in 2005. Henry Crooks ( -1918,) Carl Emil Johnson ( -1934,) and Gertrude C. Johnson ( -1935) all died in Ramsey County. Emma A. Belden ( -1950) died in Hennepin County. The property was declared a nuisance property by the city in 1994. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $14,500. The current owner of record of the property is Scott A. Gunderson, who resides at 702 Wilson Avenue.

218 Bates Avenue: The property was on the vacant house list in 2007.

223 Bates Avenue/707 Wilson Avenue: Schornstein Grocery & Saloon; Built in 1884 (1886 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Augustus F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 6572 square foot, commercial building. This is thought by some commentators to be the finest business block in Dayton's Bluff and an example of the pride many Victorian commercial owners fixed to their workplace. The handsome brick veneer frame building displays some Eastlake spindle work, but is mostly ornamented in the French Neoclassical style. Of special interest are the pilaster on the second story with Corinthian capitals and the ornate front gable and paneled chimney. The woodwork on the westernmost first story wing is a modern reproduction. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Johnson, a trucker for the Soo Line RailRoad, his wife, Lena Johnson, Frank J. Stangi, a coremaker, and his wife, Irma E. Stangi, resided at this address. The prior owner of record of the property was James A. Oakes, who resided in Hood River, Oregon, and the current owners of record are Marc Giunta and Peggy Giunta, who reside in Minneapolis. [See note on Augustus Gauger.] [See note on the Soo Line RailRoad.]

224 Bates Avenue: Built in 1962. The structure is a three story, 8400 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $117,500. The current owner of record of the property is Keith J. Pederson, who resides at 882 Payne Avenue.

226 Bates Avenue: Built in 1884 (in 1890 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Victorian in style; J. Dalby, contractor. The building is a two story, 1901 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the apparently altered, wood frame, clapboard and shingle-sided, house has three bays, hipped roof with intersecting gable, one interior endwall brick chimney and one interior brick chimney, 1/1 rectangular, casement, and fixed fenestration, a limestone and rockfaced concrete block foundation, an asymmetrical design dominated by a steeply pitched roof, an enclosed hipped roof entrance porch, second story rectangular bay/oreil window at the Northwest corner, second story main facade circular window, a North end facade bay window, a flared band of wood encircling shingling between the first and second floors, incised carving on wood frames, and brackets and dentils at the eaves. The house cost $5,000 to construct. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey also indicates that the house has unusual massing, is located in one of the oldest sections of Dayton's Bluff, and has been insensitively altered over time. The original owner was Nels Burkey according to the initial building permit. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Francis E. "Frank" Dayton resided at this address from 1893 to 1903. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. C. Rettner resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Theo Johnson, a box packer employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and Emil H. Menge, a department superintendent employed by Maurice L. Rothschild & Company, and his wife, Mary Menge, resided at this address. Michael C. Rettner ( -1932) died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Stephen Robideau. [See note on the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad/Milwaukee Road.]

229 Bates Avenue: Built in 1900. The building is a one story, 934 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Franz J. Anderson, a painter, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Jordan, a laborer, and his wife, Lena Jordan, resided at this address. World War II records indicate that Edward S. Waczak, a Private in the USMCR, was listed as a casualty and had a wife who resided at this address. William Jordan ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Lena Jordan (1893-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Pancratz, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $38,000 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owners of record of the property are Carol A. Klindworth and Rodney A. Klindworth, who reside in South St. Paul, Minnesota.

230 Bates Avenue: Built in 1913. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1302 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Gall resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Patrick J. Conroy, a switchman for the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Theresa E. Conroy, resided at this address. Wauneeta F. Gall (1871-1966) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Thompson, and died in Ramsey County. Patrick J. Conroy (1887-1964) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Flaherty, and died in Ramsey County. Patrick Joseph Conroy ( -1964) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1996 with a sale price of $5,000. The previous owner of record of the property was the Advanced Possibilities, Inc., located in Newport, Minnesota, and the current owner of record is Horizon Property Holdings, Inc. of St. Paul. [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

231 Bates Avenue: Built in 1981. The building is a two story, 1152 square foot, five room, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a basement garage. The property was last sold for $50,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owner of record of the property is Michael R. Dupont, who resides at 824 Margaret Street.

233 Bates Avenue: Built in 1981. The building is a two story, 1152 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank Cusick, a lino operator, resided at this address. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $36,900. The current owner of record of the property is Lynn A. Lane.

234-238 Bates Avenue: Euclid View Apartments; Built in 1894 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey (1888 according to Ramsey County property tax records and 1895 according to the Minnesota Historical Society;) Queen Anne/Romanesque/Romanesque Revival with Queen Anne details in style; Hermann Kretz & Company, architects; Saunders A. Varnum, builder. The building is a three story, 16928 square foot, multifamily apartment building. This apartment building is superbly detailed in the rowhouse manner, with each unit given either a pressed-iron clad bay window or window set in a diapered frame. The broadly arched ground floor openings suggest the Romanesque style. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the slightly altered, red pressed brick and stretcher bond, building has six bays, a flat roof, 1/1 rectangular, segmental arched, and rounded arch fenestration, two story metal oriel windows on the first, third, fourth, and sixth bays and on the side walls, paired segmental arched windows on the second and fifth bays, first floor large rectangular windows with leaded glass transoms, rounded arched entrances that are flanked by smaller rounded arched windows, and a bracketed pressed metal cornice. The lot has a concrete block retaining wall. The building cost an estimated $35,000 to construct. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey also indicates that the sophisticated building was the largest and most costly Victorian apartment house built on Dayton's Bluff. The original owner was the Pioneer Apartment House Company. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Andrews, their daughter, Mrs. Nancy H. Blum, Louis S. Blum, Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Drew, their daughters, Mr. and Mrs. G. W. F. Hancock, Mr. and Mrs. F. T. Hildred, Mrs. L. M. Hirst, Mr. and Mrs. John Hoban, Mrs. Mary Lee, her daughters, George E. Lee, Rev. and Mrs. W. W. Lewis, their daughter, and Mr and Mrs. A. C. Thomson all resided at this address. The 1901 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Andrews, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. G. J. S. Collins, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Engquist, Mrs. Sophia Good, Edward Good, Walter Good, Mrs. H. W. Heine, her daughters, K. A. Heine, James Heine, Mr. and Mrs. John Hoban, Reverend and Mrs. W. W. Lewis, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. J. J. McManus, Mr. and Mrs. T. G. Michelmore, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Roper, Mr. and Mrs. G. A. Smith all resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Andrews, Mr. and Mrs. William Behr, Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Bunde, Mr. and Mrs. G. W. F. Hancock, Miss A. F. Harper, Mr. and Mrs. John Hoban, Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Kingsley, Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Leahy, Mr. and Mrs. T. G. Michelmore, Mrs. E. Muessel, A. G. Muessel, G. W. Muessel, Mrs. J. M. Nye, her daughter, Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Sanders, and Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Wolcott all resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Andrews, Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Birchall, Mr. and Mrs. C. K. Blandin, Miss Elizabeth Collins, Mrs. F. R. Day, Mr. and Mrs. John Hoban, Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Leggo, Mrs. E. Muessel, Dr. G. W. Muessel, A. G. Muessel, Miss P. L. Otis, Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Payte, Misses Sanders, Mr. and Mrs. Theo Schweitzer, Mr. and Mrs. T. A. Starkey, Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Vergosen, and Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Whaley all resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Lego, Mr. and Mrs. M. T. Sanders, their daughters, Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Kinney, Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Gundlach, Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Thompson, Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Bunde, and Mr. and Mrs. M. A. Mayfield all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Le Borious, Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Tubbesing, and W. F. Seegers all resided at this address. World War I veteran Joseph E. Murphy resided at 234 Bates Avenue in 1919. William Day, Harold S. Dion, Ohmer H. Woodward, and William L. Kline were World War I veterans who all resided at 238 Bates Avenue in 1919. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#21851) indicate that John Erastus Charles (1889- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Second Lieutenant in the Infantry Reserve Corps, who was born in St. Paul, was a lawyer in Superior, Wisconsin, at induction, was a self employed investment securities broker after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Gladys Kenney Charles, at 234 Bates Street. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#25471) indicate that Milton G. Frich (1894- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the School for Bakers and Cooks, who was born in Grand Forks, North Dakota, moved to Minnesota in 1894, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a fireman at induction, was issued one Victory button, was a police officer employed at the Margaret Street St. Paul Police Station after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife, Frances Frich, at 234 Bates Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that John E. Charles resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at 234 Bates Avenue were Mrs. Lillian M. Cottrell, a milliner for F. & S. Hat Company, (Apartment #7A,) William H. Reese, a stereotyper employed by Rapinwax Paper Company, and his wife, Edith A. Reese (Apartment #8A,) Anthony Costello and his wife, Hazel C. Costello, (Apartment #8B,) Clarence E. McConnell, a city editor, and his wife, Hazel McConnell (Apartment #9,) Joseph O'Brien, a laborer employed by the State Agricultural Society, and his wife, Emma M. O'Brien (Apartment #10A,) Earl S. Kleinschmidt, a superintendent employed by the Cities Service Oil Company, and his wife, Elsie Kleinschmidt (Apartment #10B,) Isadore F. Pribil, a foreman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, and his wife, Rose H. Pribil (Apartment #11,) Mrs. Anna C. Fitch, the widow of Roland S. Fitch (Apartment #12A,) and Edward W. Gallagher, a helper employed by Northern States Power Company, and his wife, Emily R. Gallagher (Apartment #12B,) with Apartment #7B vacant, and that the residents of the apartment building located at 238 Bates Avenue were Ivan Vance, a stockman employed by the S. S. Kresge Company, and his wife, Fern Vance (Apartment #2A,) Frederick E. O'Connor, an inspector employed by the U. S. Bureau of Animal Inspection (Apartment #2B,) Floyd C. Williams, a traveling salesman employed by C. J. Smith & Company, and his wife, Myrtle H. Williams (Apartment #3A,) Clifford H. Anderson, a driver, and his wife, Elline K. Anderson, (Apartment #3B,) Daniel H. Schulte, a clerk employed by B. J. Pabst, and his wife, Ruth B. Schulte (Apartment #4A,) Howard S. Morrison, the night superintendent employed by the Lowry Ramp Garage, and his wife, Margaret L. Morrison (Apartment #4B,) Angus P. Wilson (Apartment #5A,) Amelia M. Brietzke (Apartment #5B,) and William H. Ramsey, a cutter employed by the Golden Rule department store, and his wife, Mildred Ramsey (Apartment #6A,) with Apartments #1A, #1B, and #6B vacant. Louis Blum was a dry goods merchant in St. Paul in 1853. Second Lieutenant Winfield Scott Edgerly (1846-1927,) the husband of Grace Cory Blum and a survivor of the Custer Massacre at the "Battle of Little Big Horn" as a member of Benteen's Battalion, sent a telegram to his father-in-law, Louis Blum, in St. Paul about the battle in 1876. William Le Borious was an instructor in accounting at the University of Minnesota in 1924. Milton Gerhard Frich (1894-1974,) the son of Gerhard Frich (1863-1943) and Julia Russell Jones (1861-1929,) was born in Grand Forks, North Dakota, married Lillian Storey in Los Angeles, California, and married Frances Shogren (1898- ) in 1918 in St. Paul. Milton Gerhard Frich and Frances Shogren Frich were the parents of Jean Frich (Mrs. __?__) Reardon, Phyllis Frich (Mrs. __/__) Mannino, Douglas Frich, Doris Frich (Mrs. Vern) Brandeuter, Alice Frich (Mrs. Bud) Baker, and Gordon Frich. Milton Gerhard Frich's sister, Ethel Marvel Frich Parker (Mrs. William Alfred) Woodbury (1901-1998,) was active in politics after 1916, was the State Democratic Chair for the State of Nevada and was a presidential elector for President John F. Kennedy for the State of Nevada in 1960. William H. Heine (1888-1964) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. John Engquist came from Europe to the United States in 1855 and came to St. Paul in 1876, when he was employed as a salesman for Harbighorst Drugs. John Engquist married Caroline Borg and the couple resided at 788 Marshall in 1906. The Bunde burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of William G. Bunde (1876-1957,) Clara Bunde (1882-1902,) Minnie G. Bunde (1848-1907,) Albert H. Bunde (1842-19??,) and Baby Bunde (1912-1912.) Albert H. Bunde married Minna Greve in 1875. Albert Herman Carl Bunde (1885- ,) born in Ramsey County, was the son of August Carl Fried Bunde and Henriette Thehsmann Bunde. William G. Bunde (1876-1957,) the son of Albert H. Bunde and Minnie Greve Bunde, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, attended the Pillsbury Academy, Owatonna, Minnesota, was engaged in the real estate and land businesses until 1899, married Hazel L. Andrews in 1900, was a deputy U. S. Marshall from 1899 until 1902, resided on Plum Street in 1904, officed at the Globe Building in 1910, and engaged in real estate, farm land and investment businesses after 1902. James Joseph McManus (1881-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Clark, and died in Ramsey County. William G. Bunde (1877-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Reeves, and died in Ramsey County. Thomas G. Michelmore (1902-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ferguson, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Charles Kenneth Blandin (1872-1958) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bennett, and died in Itasca County, Minnesota. L. M. Hirst (1856-1906,) William Behr ( -1910,) Gustav Muessel ( -1913,) Sophia Good ( -1915,) Walter N. Good ( -1920,) John Hoban ( -1925,) Ernest Birchall ( -1930,) Charles A. Leggo ( -1940,) Edward Payte ( -1941,) Amelia Marie Brietzke ( -1945,) William H. LeBorious ( -1946,) Joseph O'Brien ( -1946,) Earl Sam Kleinschmidt ( -1948,) Frederick T. Hildred ( -1953,) Thomas Austin Starkey ( -1954,) and Lillian Cottrell ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. Anthony Tony Costello (1893-1963) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stazza, and died in Ramsey County. Theodore L. Schweitzer (1887-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hoffman, and died in Hennepin County. Theodore H. Tubbesing (1865-1956) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Joseph E. Murphy (1893-1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Barry, and died in Ramsey County. Ohmer H. Woodward (1889-1983) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hileman, and died in Hennepin County. Hazel Claire Costello (1902-1999) was born in Wisconsin, had a mother with a maiden name of Howard, and died in Ramsey County. Clarence E. McConnell (1894-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Malley, and died in Ramsey County. Isidore Frank Pribil (1890-1972) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peters, and died in Washington County, Minnesota. Anna A. Fitch (1901-1998) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Nord, and died in Ramsey County. Edward W. Gallagher (1906-1959) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Plom, and died in Ramsey County. Emily R. Gallagher (1909-1980) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hanrahan, and died in Ramsey County. Elline S. Anderson (1895-1970) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lauten, and died in Olmsted County, Minnesota. Howard Morrison (1908-1970) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Frederick Clement Stevens (1861-1923) was the president of the Pioneer Apartment House Company in 1894. Frederick Clement Stevens (1861-1923) was born in Boston, the son of Dr. John Stevens, moved to Searsport, Maine, with his parents, was educated in the Searsport, Maine, and Rockland, Maine, public schools, graduated from Bowdoin College in 1881, read the law in the law offices of A. W. Paine in Bangor, Maine, graduated from the Iowa State University Law School in 1884, was admitted to the practice of law in 1884, was a lawyer, opened a law office in St. Paul in 1884, was a Republican, was a chairman of the St. Paul Republican city committee, was a chairman of the Ramsey County Republican committee, was a member of the Commercial Club of St. Paul, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (Districts 26 and 28) from 1889 to 1893, married Ellen J. Fargo in Lansing, Michigan, in 1889, was the secretary of the State League of Republican Clubs from 1891 until 1896, was a member of the U. S. House of Representatives for the Fourth District of Minnesota from 1897 until 1915, failed in a re-election bid for his Congressional seat in 1914, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society, died in St. Paul, and was buried in Oakland Cemetery. The property was last sold for $240,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The previous owner of record of the property was M & M Properties and the current owner of record is Peter Kevin McCarty of Hudson, Wisconsin. [See note on Hermann Kretz.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Charles K. Blandin for 340 Summit Avenue.]

235 Bates Avenue: Built in 1981. The building is a two story, 1152 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a two car tuck under garage. The current owner of record of the property is Deborah A. Ruberto.

237 Bates Avenue: Built in 1981. The building is a two story, 1152 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a two car tuck under garage. The current owner of record of the property is Emmett J. Owens, Jr. The 1920 city directory indicates that William B. Callahan, a clerk employed by the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal Railway Company, resided at the former nearby 238 Bates Avenue. [See note on the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal Railway Company.]

239 Bates Avenue: Built in 1981. The building is a two story, 1152 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a two car tuck under garage. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $61,900. The current owner of record of the property is Michael R. Dupont, who resides at 824 Margaret Street. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Le Borious and their daughter resided at the former residence at the nearby corner of Bates Avenue and Euclid Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael C. Rettner, a buyer, and his wife, Emma C. Rettner, resided at the former nearby 242 Bates Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Maria W. McConnell resided at the former nearby 249 Bates Avenue in 1930. William Le Borious was an instructor in accounting at the University of Minnesota in 1924. Michael C. Rettner ( -1932) died in Ramsey County.

243 Bates Avenue: Holman United Methodist Church/Ecclesia Codominiums; Built in 1904 (1905 according to the Minnesota Historical Society and 1906 according to Ramsey County tax records;) Shingle/Craftsman in style; C. A. Boehme, architect; T. A. Diechen, builder. The superbly crafted, two story, brick, former church building combines a distinctively American treatment of windows and Mankato stone sills and coping with the English Parish look in the bracketed portico, shingled gable, and tower. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the slightly altered, wood frame, shingle-sided, brown pressed brick, and stretcher bond, building has four bays, a steeply pitched intersecting gable roof, rectangular casement, fixed, and stained glass fenestration, a limestone foundation, cut wood shingles on the gable ends, simple wide bargeboards, a square corner entrance tower with a gabled roof, an open porch with heavy timber columns, large paired brackets supporting a large pyramidal roofed spire with overhanging eaves and tiny dormers, brick piers between the bays, cut stone window sills, a cut stone belt course, a rose window in the South wall gable end, large pointed arched window on the main facade, and many stained glass windows. The building has a two story brick addition at its rear, has added skylights, and has added awnings. The building subsequently has been remodeled into seven condominiums. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey also indicates that the building has a delightful and pleasing design. Unit 1 is 1463 square feet in area, has three bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 2 is 1403 square feet in area, and has three bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 3 is 984 square feet in area, and has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 4 is 1056 square feet in area, and has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 5 is 1960 square feet in area, and has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 6 is 1622 square feet in area, and has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. Unit 7 is 1541 square feet in area, and has two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one half-bathroom. The Bates Avenue Methodist Church congregation was organized in 1882 and the church was built for the congregation 22 years later. In 1897, a basement wood and rubbish fire set by boys occurred at the one story frame church building located at this address which was owned and occupied by the Bates Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church. The name of the church was also changed in 1904 to the Holman Memorial Methodist Church, in memory of Rev. F. O. Holman, the first pastor of the Bates Avenue Church. In 1910, the church congregation numbered 260 and Reverend Franklin M. Rule was the pastor. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Holman Memorial M. E. Church was located at this address. The Holman congregation is now part of the Mounds Park United Methodist Church. Christopher Boehme ( -1916) was a Minneapolis architect who partnered with Victor Cordella and who died in Hennepin County. Victor Cordella ( -1937) also died in Hennepin County. Each unit was last sold in 1993 for $14,285, and the current owners of record of each unit are Jane M. Lukas and Jeffery A. Lukas. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that the Misses Kauffman resided at the former nearby 244 Bates Avenue and that Miss A. S. Millard resided at the former nearby 248 Bates Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Luther A. Blodgett resided at the former nearby 248 Bates Avenue and that Caroline J. Early, a clerk employed by the Emporium, boarded at the former nearby 248 Bates Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Luther A. Blodgett (1847-1925,) the husband of Susan Blodgett, who was born in Maine to parents born in the United States and who died of apoplexy, resided at the nearby former 248 Bates Avenue in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mary Knauffman resided at the former nearby 244 Bates Avenue and that Mrs. Susan Blodgett resided at the former nearby 248 Bates Avenue. [See note on Christopher Boehme.]

249 Bates Avenue: Built in 1886. The building is a two story, 1280 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1885, 1887, and 1889 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Edward Herrmann resided at this address. The 1891 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Herrmann resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Edward G. McConnell (1860-1914,) the husband of Maria McConnell, who was born in Canada to parents who were born in Ireland and in England and who died of acute cardiac dilatation, resided at this address in 1914. Alf. E. McConnell and Edward S. McConnell were World War I veterans who both resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alf E. McConnell, a salesman for Goulden & Flanagan, and Clarence E. McConnell, an operator for the Associated Press, boarded at this address and that Maria W. McConnell resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Maria W. McConnell, the widow of Edward G. McConnell, resided at this address. Edward T. Herrmann (1892-1960) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kypke, and died in Ramsey County. Clarence E. McConnell (1894-1975) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of O'Malley, and died in Ramsey County. Maria McConnell (1866-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Jones, and died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Christina J. Ramirez and Michael Willkom.

251 Bates Avenue: Built in 1928. The building is a 720 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, frame rambler, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jewell Schulstad, a stationer, and Constance Schulstad, a packer employed by Griggs Cooper & Company, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is James L. Rasmussen. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni record indicates that Thomas Ignatius McDermott, an 1896 graduate, resided at the nearby former 252 Bates Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank R. Coon, a salesman employed by the Jewel Tea Company, resided at the former nearby 252 Bates Avenue and that Harold Finn, a splicer, boarded at the former nearby 252 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry J. Dill resided at the former nearby 252 Bates Avenue. Henry Dill (1897-1986) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Zopfi, and died in Hennepin County. [See the note for the Griggs, Cooper & Company for 901 Euclid Street.]

255 Bates Avenue: Built in 1928. The building is a one story, 874 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1895 city directory indicates that Florence Gregorson was a domestic at the nearby former 256 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Flora C. Fritze, a teacher at the Farnsworth School, Reverend William F. Fritze, his wife, Margaret I. Fritze, and William C. Fritze, a clerk employed by the First National Bank, all resided at this address. William F. Fritze ( -1942) and Flora C. Fritze ( -1952) both died in Ramsey County. William Carl Fritze (1901-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Muller, and died in Steele County, Minnesota. Margaret Della Fritze (1900-1995) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Lewison, and died in Steele County, Minnesota. The property was last sold for $130,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The previous owners of record of the property were May Y. Yang and Xue M. Yang and the current owners of record are Paokong Thao and Xia Thao. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#17439) indicate that Daniel M. Kissel (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 27th Company of the Transport Company, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was awarded one bronze Victory button, was a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, A. L. Kissel, at the nearby former 256 Bates Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Reuben C. Cedarholm, an inspector employed by the St. Paul Twine Mills, boarded at the former nearby 256 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Glenn A. Bell resided at the former nearby 256 Bates Avenue. Glenn Bell ( -1953) died in Ramsey County. [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

257 Bates Avenue: Built in 1928. The building is a one story, 864 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that Reverend James E. Rains, the pastor of the Holman Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church, and his wife, Mae V. Rains, resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2005 and the sale price was $172,500. The previous owners of record of the property were Bonnie L. Aakhus and Duwain H. Aakhus and the current owners of record are Alberto E. Mejia and Marco A. Mejia. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Julius Hermen resided at the former nearby 258 Bates Avenue. In 1892, Percival Noble, an Englishman, resided at the nearby 258 Bates Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Henry A. Burk, a soft drinks vendor at 611 West Seventh Street, and Aug W. Burk, proprietor of the Motor Express Company, located at 385 Rice Street, both resided at the former nearby 258 Bates Avenue and that Gust Chandler, a laborer, roomed at the former nearby 258 Bates Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Amelia Marie Brietzke resided at the nearby former 258 Bates Avenue in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 258 Bates Avenue was vacant. Amelia Marie Brietzke ( -1945) died in Ramsey County.

262 Bates Avenue: Dayton's Bluff Elementary School; Built in 1974. The school replaced three older schools, the Sibley, Mounds Park, and Van Buren elementary schools. The present school is located close to where Van Buren School had been located. The Van Buren school was built in 1882, with additions in 1883 and 1887. Included among the former students of the school were U. S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Warren Burger, U. S. Supreme Court Justice Harry Blackmun, and federal District Court Judge Edward Devitt. In a bid to stabilize the housing of students attending the Dayton's Bluff Elementary School, Dayton's Bluff NHS began developing, in June, 2002, 16 new rental townhome units within two blocks of the school. Von Sheppard is the prinicipal of the Dayton's Bluff Elementary School. Von Sheppard is a 1983 graduate of St. Paul Central High School, where he was an All-Conference, All-State, high school All-American running back in football who rushed for over 3,000 career yards, a Minnesota high school record holder in track for the long jump, a St. Paul City record holder in the the 100 meter and 200 meter sprints, and an All-Conference basketball point guard. Sheppard received a scholarship for football to the University of Nebraska, received a free agent tryout with the Minnesota Vikings in 1988, played professional football for two years in England, earned a Masters Degree from the University of St. Thomas in Educational Administration, and served as an Assistant Principal at Eagan, Minnesota, High School before becoming the Dayton's Bluff Elementary School principal. Edward James Devitt (1911-1992) was the son of a railroad round-house foreman, Louis Devitt, was born in St. Paul, attended St. John's Preparatory School and then St. John's University in Collegeville, Minnesota, earned a Bachelor of Law degree at the University of North Dakota in 1935, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Commerce in 1938, was elected a municipal judge in East Grand Forks, Minnesota, in 1935, was named an assistant attorney general in Minnesota in 1939, taught at the University of North Dakota Law School, became a U. S. Navy intelligence officer during World War II and was the sole survivor of a kamikaze hit upon the radio compartment of the destroyer Caldwell in 1944, was elected to the U. S. House of Representatives as a Republican from St. Paul in 1946, was defeated for re-election by Eugene McCarthy in 1948, practiced law in St. Paul until election as a Ramsey County Probate Judge in 1950, was appointed a federal judge on the U. S. District Court for Minnesota in 1954 and served as Chief U. S. District Judge for Minnesota, and retired in 1981, but continued to hear numerous cases as a senior judge. Among Devitt's most noted innovations was the use of six-person juries in federal civil cases. Judge Devitt was the co-author of Federal Jury Practice and Instructions and chaired the American Bar Association Legal Advisory Committee on Fair Trial-Free Press. West Publishing Company, in 1982, inaugurated the Edward J. Devitt Distinguished Service to Justice Award, with a prize of $15,000, which is given to the nation's foremost federal judge, as determined by a selection panel. Judge Devitt's most notable cases were the 1961 racketeering trial of Minneapolis gangster Isadore (Kid Cann) Blumenfeld, the 1963 fraud trial of former Minneapolis mayor Marvin Kline, the trial of the "Minnesota Eight" resisters of the Vietnam era draft, and the Reserve Mining environmental pollution trial of the mid 1970's. All four of Devitt's grandparents were born in Ireland. The Community Design Center of Minnesota, a non-profit corporation established in 1969 and operating an East Side Garden Corps and an East Side Conservation Corps, is also located at this address. [See note on Warren Burger for 695 Conway Street] [See note on Harry Blackmun for 847 East Fourth Street.] [See note related to Isadore "Kid Cann" Blumenfeld for 2505 East Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

267 Bates Avenue: Built in 1886. The building is a two story, 2644 square foot, eight bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. A. Stapleton, Miss M. E. Stapleton, and Miss Julia Stapleton all resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Julia M. Stapleton was a teacher at the Van Buren School, that Mary E. Stapleton was the principal at the Van Buren School, that Michael A. Stapleton was a teacher at the Cleveland School, and that all three boarded at 412 East Tenth Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rebecca Jane Hale (1819-1896,) a widow who died of heart degeneration, resided at this address in 1896. The 1897 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. E. F. Horst resided at this address. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mrs. H. A. Durkee resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Krieger resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Grace Doyon, a stitcher, boarded at this address and that Mary Doyon, the widow of John Doyon and a seamstress, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Raymond Doyon, a dry cleaner employed by the St. Paul Laundry, resided at this address. Jennie Louise Tracy was the granddaughter of Rebecca Jane Hale. The 1901 and 1905 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. E. F. Horst resided at 684 East Fourth Street and the 1908 city directory indicates that Ernest F. Horst was a physician and resided at 753 Portland Avenue. In 1879, Ernst F. Horst, a physician located at 40 Jackson Street, resided at 354 East Sixth Street. Ernest Frederick Horst ( -1909,) Michael A. Stapleton ( -1923,) Julia M. Stapleton ( -1937,) and Jennie C. Tracy ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Helen Alice Durkee (1884-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Flinn, and died in Dakota County. Raymond Doyon ( -1949) died in Hennepin County. The current owners of record of the property are Carlos E. Casci and Kelly L. Casci, who reside in Woodbury, Minnesota. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Stevenson resided at the former nearby 269 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that the former nearby 269 Bates Avenue was vacant.

275 Bates Avenue: Built in 1900. The building is a two story, 1620 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. World War I veteran Harry G. Jorgenson resided at this address in 1919. The 1930 city directory indicates that Fred A. Anselment, a designer employed by the Minnesota Chandelier Company, resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2005 and in 2007. Harold Jorgenson ( -1929) and Fred Anselment ( -1941) both died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2005 and the sale price was $189,500. The previous owner of record of the property was Daniel Boler, who officed at 501 Dale Street North, and the current owner of record is Cindy J. Mason, who resides in Center City, Minnesota.

279 Bates Avenue: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1313 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Thoele resided at this address. Frank W. Brunson (1889- ), a First Lieutenant, was a World War I veteran who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank W. Brunson, a draftsman for architect Clarence H. Johnston, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry E. Ladd, a linen clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Marie F. Ladd, resided at this address. Gilbert Frederick Thoele (1893-1973) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Myer, and died in Ramsey County. Frank W. Brunson (1889-1965) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Fadden, and died in Ramsey County. Henry Ellsworth Ladd (1894-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Weitzel, and died in Ramsey County. Marie F. Ladd (1898-1963) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was on the vacant house list in 2007. The property was last sold for $62,500 and that sale occurred in 2000. The current owner of record of the property is Ned F. Becker. [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

283 Bates Avenue: George J. Miller House; Built in 1887 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey; Queen Ann in style. The property contains three buildings, with building #1 a two story, 2748 square foot, structure that was built in 1900, building #2 a two story, 5040 square foot, structure that was built in 1919, and building #3 a two story, 4640 square foot, structure that was built in 1900. One structure is a duplex and the upper level has two bedrooms, one bathroom, a three season porch, a living room, a dining room, and a pantry. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the wood frame and stucco, significantly altered, 2 1/2 story, house has an intersecting hip and gable roof, one interior brick chimney and one ornate exterior brick chimney with rounded arched motif, 2/2 and 1/1 rectangular fenestration, a limestone foundation, and a 2 1/2 story round corner tower with a domed cap and wood pediment ornamentation. The two story enclosed porches were added to the structure. The house cost $5,000 to construct. George J. Miller was the original resident of the house. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. J. Miller resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that George J. Miller was a paying teller for the First National Bank and resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George J. Miller and Emma Miller, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1890. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. D. A. Strickler resided at this address. The 1897 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Weinhagen resided at this address. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles Weinhagen and their daughter resided at this address. The 1901, 1903, and 1905 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Gottschammer resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Gottschammer and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Reverend W. J. Robb resided at this address. World War I veteran Harry Sheehan resided at this address in 1919. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Bertha C. Willard resided at this address in 1920. The 1920 city directory indicates that Herman Bohmer, a salesman employed by the Studebaker Sales Company, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ole A. Anderson, an engineer, and his wife, Mary Anderson, Mrs. Dorothy A. Grendall, the widow of Louis O. Grendahl, Alice D. Grendall, a teacher at the Van Buren School, John B. Wiesner, and his wife, Emily M. Wiesner, all resided at this address. Silas J. Gottschammer ( -1925,) Charles Weinhagen ( -1936,) and Ole Anderson ( -1944) all died in Ramsey County. Harry Sheehan (1890-1958) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Dixon, and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. Ole W. Anderson (1893-1968) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johannesdoller, and died in Ramsey County. Ole Anderson (1885-1967) had a mother with a maiden name of Swenson and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $140,500. The current owner of record of the property is Harwood of Fort Myers, Florida. [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.]

284 Bates Avenue: Supreme Council of the House of Jacob/Former Atlantic Congregational Church; Built in 1902. The 1930 city directory indicates that the Atlantic Congregational Church was located at this address. The Atlantic Congregational Church congregation was organized in 1883. The Supreme Council of the House of Jacob of the United States of America was founded in 1910, is based on the teachings of Father General Washington Israel, and has a membership of over 8,000 in 44 cities in 21 states. The church has had four bishops or leaders, Father G. W. Israel, P.O.I. (Pope Of Israel) from 1910 to 1934, Father W. Wright, J.I.S. (Jehovah Is Seen/Jesus Israel Savior) from 1934 to 1972, Father W. B. Israel, S.O.T. (Son Of Thunder) from 1972 to 1979, and Father J. Daniel Collins Israel, J.O.G. (Judge Of God) from 1979 to the present. The Supreme Council of the House of Jacob is a bible based church which indicates on its website that it believes in the teachings of the prophets and Jesus Christ as they are written in the King James Version of the Bible and indicates that the Supreme Council of the House of Jacob is not a cult, that it denies membership to no one, that it is a church for all nations regardless of race, creed, color, or national origin, that the church has evolved over the years, that many who left the church long ago have printed and written an outdated and slanted view of the rules and regulations of the church, and that many of the rules and regulations printed do not come from the present day version of the church's Bylaws. Churches of The Supreme Council of the House of Jacob hold services on Tuesday and Friday evenings at 8:00 p.m. and on Sunday Morning at 11:00 a.m. and Sunday night at 8:00 p.m., with churches in 44 cities in 21 states across the country. Its national headquarters is located in the hills of Bethlehem Township in Coshocton, Ohio. The current owner of record of the property is the Supreme Council of the House of Jacob. The 1920 city directory indicates that Adele G. Farrell, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, boarded at the former nearby 285 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Thomas Drinane, a switchman, and his wife, Marion Drinane, and Daniel A. Sheehan resided at the former nearby 285 Bates Avenue. Thomas Drinane ( -1939) died in Ramsey County. Thomas Drinane (1899-1974) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Mulvihill, and died in Ramsey County. Thomas Drinane (1894-1976) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Burke, and died in Ramsey County. Church of Latter Day Saints genealogical records indicate that Thomas Drinane married Mary A. Burke in St. Paul in 1893. [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

286 Bates Avenue: Built in 1900. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1145 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. M. Williamson resided at this address. The 1901 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. J. Kuhn resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. S. C. Ryan resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Plunkett resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Alice M. Andrews, the widow of Carlton D. Andrews, and Hazel Bunde, the widow of William G. Bunde, a clerk employed by the Golden Rule, both resided at this address and that Carlton A. Bunde, a switchman employed by the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Emma L. Folger, the widow of Alois C. Folger, and Otto Folger, an employee of the Dispatch-Pioneer Press Company, both resided at this address. Emma L. Folger (1879-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Witthum, and died in Ramsey County. Alois C. Folger (1907-1987) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Schultz, and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $103,896 and that sale occurred in 2001. Otto Folger (1910-1967) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The current owner of record of the property is Arturo Ortiz. The 1920 city directory indicates that David C. Barrows, a city freight agent employed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 287 Bates Avenue and that Elizabeth B. Daly, the principal at the Harrison School, boarded at the former nearby 287 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Esther E. Anderson and Claude W. Hoffman, a clerk employed by W. J. Robb, and his wife, Mildred Hoffman, resided at the former nearby 287 Bates Avenue. [See note for the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note for the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad.]

289 Bates Avenue: The structure is a multi-family apartment building. The 1887, 1889, 1891, 1893, 1897, and 1899 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. C. H. Glidden and Miss Jennie Thomson all resided at this address. The 1901 city directory indicates that Reverend and Mrs. H. Boettcher and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1903 and 1905 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Brink and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Smyth resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Margaret Zangs, the widow of John M. Zangs, and Mrs. Mary A. Nadeau, the widow of Joseph M. Nadeau, resided at this address. A Reverend Henry Boettcher was born in 1875 and died in 1952. Another Reverend Henry Boettcher (1893-1979) was born in Storm Lake, Iowa, married Esther Martha Kubbernus in 1920 in Camrose, Alberta, Canada, and died in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Walter F. Smyth ( -1942) died in Ramsey County. Margaret Zangs (1874-1960) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Johannes, and died in Ramsey County. Mary Agalia Nadeau ( -1945) died in Ramsey County.

290 Bates Avenue: Built in 1913. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1238 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a one car tuck under garage. The last sale of this property was in 1995 and the sale price was $56,900. The current owner of record of the property is First Preston Foreclosure Specialists of Addison, Texas.

291 Bates Avenue: Built in 1880. The building is a two story, 2026 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1890 city directory indicates that Charles H. Glidden was a physician with an office located at 17 Schutte Building who resided at this address. The 1893 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline Krieger and her daughter, Charles O. Krieger, and Louis E. Krieger all resided at this address. The 1897 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline Krieger and her daughters, Charles O. Krieger, Louis E. Krieger, F. W. Krieger, and L. E. Kleinschmidt all resided at this address. The 1899 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline Krieger and her daughters, F. W. Krieger, and L. E. Kleinschmidt resided at this address. The 1901 and 1903 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus and Miss C. A. Breitenstein all resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sarah S. Borchardt (1858-1913,) the widowed daughter of Sophia Good, who was born in St. Paul to parents born in Germany and who died of recurrent carcinoma of the uterus, resided at this address in 1913. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus resided at this address. World War I veteran Victor E. Berchardt (1898- ), a Sergeant, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Howard T. Eachus, a dentist with an office at 679 East Third Street, resided at this address and that Townsend D. Eachus, a helper employed by Fidelity Savings & Trust Company, boarded at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Lund resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Hans A. Lund, a building contractor, and his wife, Gunda C. Lund, resided at this address. The Krieger burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of Caroline W. Krieger (1844-1919,) Carl L. Krieger (1849-1918,) and Louise A. Krieger (1870-1938.) Caroline Krieger (1894-1973) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. Louis E. Kleinschmidt ( -1939,) Charles O. Krieger ( -1939,) and Howard Townsend Eachus ( -1946) all died in Ramsey County. Howard Townsend Eachus (1860- ) was born in West Goshen, Chester County, Pennsylvania, the son of Townsend L. Eachus (1832- ) and Hannah P. Webb Eachus (1826-1887), was a doctor and a dentist, and married Hattie Harriet Good Eachus in 1890. Hattie Harriet Good Eachus (1869- ) was born in Chester, Pennsylvania. Howard Eachus and Hattie Eachus had one child, Townsend Darlington Eachus, whose picture was selected in 1903 with 11 other children (two boys and nine girls) as the prettiest child in America by The Ladies' Home Journal, Philadelphia, for a portrait painting by Walter Russell, the eminent child painter of the time. The siblings of Howard Townsend Eachus were Francis Henry Eachus (1855-1938) (spouse: Mary Mell Entrekin Eachus (1859- )), Mary Elizabeth Eachus (1858- ), Sallie F. Eachus (1861-1862), Annie R. Eachus (1863-1863), H. Philena Eachus (1865-1865), and Emily Eachus (1869- ) (spouse: Fred W. Johnson.) The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus resided at 297 Bates Avenue. Oscar H. Cole, a dentist and a partner with Howard T. Eachus in Eachus & Cole, located at Third Street and Maria, resided at the Marlowe Hotel in 1908. Howard Townsend Eachus was issued a U. S. patent (#497,370) for a brake for dental engines in 1893. Oscar H. Cole (1874-1958) was born outside of Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 2000 with a sale price of $99,900. The previous owner of record of the property was Vicky B. Peterson, who resided in White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and the current owners of record are Joy J. Artes and Lina C. Evangelista.

292 Bates Avenue: Built in 1883. The building is a one story, 1517 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1887 and 1889 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. W. Jones resided at this address. The 1890 city directory indicates that Jacob H. Rockstroh, of Guthunz & Rockstroh, undertakers, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that J. Quincy Haas and Emma Haas resided at this address in 1890. The 1891 and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Rockstroh resided at this address. The 1897, 1899, and 1901 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Rockstroh resided at this address. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Weimer resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Wilson resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Matt B. Evans, a clerk for the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, boarded at this address and that Reverend Matt Evans, the pastor for the Atlantic Congregational Church, resided at this address. Richard T. O'Connor (1901- ,) a Bugler, and Stephen M. O'Connor (1878- ,) a Sergeant, were World War I veterans who resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Richard T. O'Connor boarded at the Minnesota Club and that Michael O'Connor, a firefighter with St. Paul Fire Department Engine Company No. 11, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael J. O'Connor, a captain for Engine Company No. 7 of the St. Paul Fire Department, and his wife, Elizabeth M. O'Connor, resided at this address. Richard T. O'Connor (1857- ) was born in St. Paul, was educated in public schools of St Paul, attended Notre Dame College in Indiana, initially was engaged in the fuel business, was an alderman from the Fourth Ward in 1883, was the clerk of courts from 1887 until 1895, was appointed the U. S. marshal for Minnesota by President Grover Cleveland for the term from 1895 until 1899, was a stockbroker, was a member of the firm of O'Connor & Van Bergen, brokers, resided at the Hotel Ryan in 1907, and officed at the National German American Bank Building in 1907. Carl Haas (1885-1890) was the son of J. Quincy Haas and Emma Haas and died of pneumonia. Emma Haas ( -1920,) John Quincy Haas ( -1927,) Jacob Rockstroh ( -1933,) Michael J. O'Connor ( -1942,) Michael O'Connor ( -1948,) and William J. Weimer ( -1949) all died in Ramsey County. Richard T. O'Connor (1901-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Ackerman, and died in Ramsey County. Stephen O'Connor (1887-1992) was born in Minnesota and died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The current owner of record of the property is Michael D. Devilliers. [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.]

296 Bates Avenue: 296 Bates Avenue/The Binder Apartments; Built in 1898 (in 1901 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Classical Revival in style; Mark Fitzpatrick, architect; C. Ash & Company, builder. The structure is a three story, 28032 square foot, multi-family apartment building. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the intact, brownish red pressed brick and stretcher bond, apartment house has five bays, a flat roof, a large interior end brick chimney, 1/1 rectangular fenestration, classical cornice with dentils, and egg and dart molding, main facade with flat roof open portico and square piers and four volute Ionic capitals and with a balustrade, brick jack arches, and a main entrance with an elliptical stained glass transom and sidelights. The first floor brickwork is laid in horizontal bands simulating stonework. The original owner of this building was George A. Binder, a physician, who maintained an office and lived at 832 East Seventh Street. The building cost an estimated $26,000 to construct. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey also indicates that the large sophisticated building is a rarity in an area with smaller structures. The 1903 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Holbert, Mr. and Mrs. H. T. Morris, Mrs. C. J. Wilson, her daughters, Fred S. Darling, Mr. and Mrs. E. G. Spindler, Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Kneuertz, Mrs. A. W. Kimball, her daughter, F. C. Kimball, Miss J. A. Wormwood, Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Peterson, and Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Enquist all resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. N. B. Abbott, Mr. and Mrs. Herman Bowmar, Dr. and Mrs. J. O. Cavanaugh, Rev. and Mrs. M. Evans, Mr. and Mrs. W. P. Jones, Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Kneuertz, Mr. and Mrs. B. S. Oakes, Dr. and Mrs. A. T. Oberg, Mr. and Mrs. G. J. Rank, Mr. and Mrs. Louis Steuer, and Mr. and Mrs. P. H. Vernon all resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Eva (Mrs. Frank) Chalfant, a member of the church since 1904, resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Frank H. Henry resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Nellie Stein Kneuertz (1872-1907,) the wife of Richard C. Kneuertz, who was born in New Orleans to parents born in Germany and England and who died of septic endocarditis, resided at this address in 1907. The 1908 city directory indicates that Frank Evans, the manager of the Gopher Fish Company, resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Henry, Mr. and Mrs. H. T. Morris, Mr. and Mrs. G. J. Rank, Mr. and Mrs. Louis Steuer, Mr. and Mrs. G. I. Ashton, Mr. and Mrs. F. R. Hotchkiss, Mrs. Sarah Kendall, her daughters, Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Nattrass, Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Muessel, and Mr. and Mrs. Frank Evans all resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Arzt, Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Smith, and Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Gavin all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Arzt, Mr. and Mrs. H. B. Craig, and Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Gavin all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Robert O. Berg, a plasterer employed by Foot Schulze & Company, and Worthy L. Cook, the widow of Herbert Cook, both resided at this address and that Grace A. Cook, a clerk employed by R. G. Dun & Company, Harry H. Cook, a chauffeur employed by the New York Dye Works, Edith H. Cooney, the widow of William Cooney and a clerk employed by the Western Union Telegraph Company, and William J. Davis, the proprietor of the Davis Motor Car Company, all boarded at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Davis and Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Doolan all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Harold E. Allen, a baker employed by F. W. Wyes, and his wife, Verona C. Allen (Apartment #1A,) Carl Hartman, a biller for the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Phyllis Hartman (Apartment #1B,) Mrs. Elizabeth Stark, the widow of Alf Stark (Apartment #2A,) William L. Canum, a contractor, and his wife, Emma T. Canum (Apartment #2B,) Ray F. Frye, a janitor employed by the Binder Apartments, and his wife, Katherine C. Frye (Apartment #3,) Louis A. Larson, a foreman, and his wife, Bessie T. Larson (Apartment #4,) John V. Rockstroh, a computer employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Helen M. Rockstroh, a telephone operator employed by the National Automated Machines Company (Apartment #5A,) Genevieve Meyer, a clerk employed by the First National Bank (Apartment #5B,) Charles T. Klabunde, a superintendent employed by the Cities Service Oil Company (Apartment #6,) Mrs. Katherine Wardenburg, the widow of John Wardenburg (1838-1929) (Apartment #7,) Ella Solseth, a milliner (Apartment #8A,) Harry F. Boreen, a clerk with Herzog Iron Works, and his wife, Genevieve P. Boreen (Apartment #8B,) Roderick A. W. McLeod, a clerk employed by the Railway Mail Service (Apartment #9,) Frank J. Shanahan, a switchman employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Pearl Shanahan (Apartment #10,) and Grove E. Roberts, a salesman, and his wife, Alice M. Roberts (Apartment #11.) Dr. George A. Binder (1865-1911) graduated from the University of Minnesota in 1892, was a member of the American Medical Association, was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Society, married Lydia Maria Arzt (1870-1921) in 1892, resided at 355 Bates Avenue from 1904 until 1911, and died of typhoid fever in St. Paul. Dr. George A. Binder and Lydia Maria Arzt Binder were the parents of two children, Marvin F. Binder (1894- ) and Harold Artz Binder (1895- .) Frank Evans (1874- ,) the son of Benjamin Evans and Evalina O'Dell Evans, was born at Yale, Michigan, was educated at the Yale, Michigan, High School, attended the Detroit Business University, was a school teacher at Gladwin, Michigan, from 1892 until 1899, was connected with the Wolverine Fish Company of Detroit, Michigan, in 1900, was the manager of the Gopher Fish Company after 1901, married Elizabeth Dwyer at Omaha, Nebraska, in 1904, was a Republican, was a member of the Dayton's Bluff Commercial Club, engaged in the hobbies of outdoor sports, officed at 276 Jackson Street in 1907, and resided at 386 Marie Avenue in 1907. George A. Binder (1864-1911) was born in Rochester, New York. Gladys Mary Cavanaugh was the daughter of Dr. James O. Cavanaugh and Laura Ryan Cavanaugh, was born in St. Paul in 1901, graduated from the Marquette University Law School in 1923, was the youngest woman admitted to the practice of law in two states when admitted to the bar in Minnesota and in Wisconsin in 1923, and subsequently moved to Wisconsin to practice law. Mrs. George Joseph (May) Rank was born in London, England, was the daughter of George Halton May and Martha Jane Biggs May, married in 1873, lived in St. Paul from 1893 to 1917, and then moved to Los Angeles. Frank H. Henry (1871- ,) the son of Constantine Henry and Barbara Cech Henry, was born at St. Paul, was educated in public schools, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1888, was a merchant, was employed by Foot, Schulze & Company, wholesale boots and shoes, continued with the firm for 17 years, was a traveling salesman, became associated with French, Finch & Henry, jobbers and wholesale dealers in shoes and rubber goods in 1904, was the vice president of French, Finch & Henry, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, officed 225-231 East Fourth Street in 1907. George A. Binder ( -1911,) Jennie A. Wormwood ( -1931,) Elizabeth Stark ( -1946,) Elizabeth Grates Stark ( -1948,) and Grove E. Roberts ( -1951) all died in Ramsey County. Ned B. Abbott (1882-1956) resided in Ramsey County. Fred J. Peterson (1892-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Winkler, and died in Ramsey County. Richard Carl Kneuertz ( -1915), Herbert B. Craig ( -1926), and Alfred Tion Oberg ( -1953) all died in Ramsey County. Ned B. Abbott (1882-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hart, and died in Ramsey County. Harold E. Allen (1908-1974) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Bentley, and died in Hennepin County. Harold E. Allen (1918-1980) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Rettig, and died in Ramsey County. Carl Poehler Hartman ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. Phyllis Evelyn Hartman (1907-1988) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Peterson, and died in Ramsey County. John V. Rockstroh ( -1967) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Hammer, and died in Hennepin County. Genevieve L. Meyer (1901-1981) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Kriesch, and died in Ramsey County. Charles Klabunde (1901-1961) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Thavis, and died in Ramsey County. Harry Franklin Boreen ( -1953) died in Hennepin County. Roderick Alexander William McLeod (1870-1956) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of McDonald, and died in Winona County, Minnesota. Francis J. Shanahan (1895-1959) was born outside of Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of William, and died in Ramsey County. The previous owner of record of the property is Marlin Management, Inc., of Coral Gables, Florida, and the current owner of record is Red Rock Realty. [See note on Fitzgerald for 599 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on Mark Fitzpatrick.] [See note on Railway Mail Service for 360 Maria Avenue.]

297 Bates Avenue: Allen Krieger/Allan Krieger House: Built in 1892 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Victorian Queen Anne in style; Ernest Klinkerfues, builder. It was built as a double, two-family, house, and the Kriegers lived in the north half of the house in 1892. The building is a two story, 3220 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The southeast corner offers a handsome six-sided tower, while the northwestern half of the house is foursquare-style in appearance. The 1890 city directory indicates that T. L. Schurmeier was the president of the C. Gotzian & Company. The 1897 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Miss and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1899, 1901, and 1903 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Miss resided at this address. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Miss and Mrs. Caroline Kreiger all resided at this address. The 1908 city directory indicates that Allan L. Miss was a clerk for the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company and boarded at this address, that Chris J. Miss was a salesman for C. Gotzian & Company and resided at this address, and that Walter C. Miss was a student and boarded at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Wolterstorff resided at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. T. Eachus resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sarah Le Borious, the widow of Joseph Le Borious, Ann Le Borouis, a clerk, Mabel L. Le Borious, a cataloguer, and Mrs. Katherine Stewart, the widow of Thomas Stewart, all resided at this address. Allan C. Krieger (1858- ,) the son of Louis Krieger, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the public and high schools of St. Paul, married Hattie Johnson of St. Louis, Missouri, a contralto singer, in 1887, was a merchant, was engaged with C. Gotzian & Company, shoe manufacturers, from 1873 until 1896, was the vice president of the St. Paul Rubber Company after 1900, was a Mason, was a Methodist, was a Republican, was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was a member of the Junior Pioneers, was a member of the Okada lodge of the Knights of Pythias, resided at 569 Grand Avenue in 1907, and officed at 220-226 East Third Street in 1907. Allen Krieger was a salesman for Gotizian & Company, a shoe manufacturing company. Christian J. Miss ( -1928,) Sarah Le Borious ( -1939,) and Allan L. Miss ( -1941) all died in Ramsey County. Joseph Le Borious ( -1912) died in Washington County, Minnesota. Mabel L. Le Borious (1889-1957) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Stevens, and died in Ramsey County. Katherine Stewart (1896-1962) was born in Minnesota, had a mother with a maiden name of Seng, and died in Ramsey County. Gotzian & Company was owned by Conrad Gotzian (1835-1887,) who was born in either Berka-on-the-Werra, Saxony, or Saxe-Weimar, near Leipsic, Prussia, emigrated to the United States in 1852, came to St. Paul in 1855, established himself first in the retail shoe and boot trade, then established a boot and shoe manufacturing company, married Caroline Busse in 1859, had a family of nine children, was a member of the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Ramsey County (District 26) from 1883 until 1885, was a director of the German-American Bank, was a founder of the St. Paul Volunteer Fire Department Engine Company Number 2, was a member of the Ancient Landmark Lodge, Masonic Order, and died from an inflammation of the brain at home in St. Paul. In 1879, Conrad Gotzian, a partner with Channing Seabury in C. Gotzian & Company, jobbers and manufacturers in boots and shoes located at 133-135 East Third Street, resided at the corner of Tenth Street and Canada Street. The Conrad Gotzian House, located at 2520 Manitou Island, is among the most intact and most impressive of the 1880's houses in White Bear Lake, Minnesota. The American Beauty Macaroni building at 352 Wacouta Street was built as the Gotzian Shoe Company in 1895. Ernest Klinkerfues ( -1915) was a carpenter who lived at 614 East 4th Street and who died in Ramsey County. The Klinkerfueses owned a clothing manufacturing company on East Seventh Street. Conrad Gotzian (1835-1887) was born near Leipsic, Prussia, immigrated to the United States in 1852, moved to st. Paul in 1855, and was a shoe manufacturer. Conrad Gotzian's brother, Adam Gotzian (1843- ,) also was born in Germany, came to St. Paul in 1860, worked in the shoe trade from 1866 to 1876, dabbled in real estate, platted a portion of the Dayton's Bluff neighborhood, and with his wife, Josephine Gotzian, named and developed Gotzian Street. Christian J. Miss ( -1928) and Allan L. Miss ( -1941) both died in Ramsey County. The Saint Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company was formed in 1853, in large part to serve local individuals who had become frustrated with slow service from faraway insurers. Alexander Wilkin (1820-1864,) was born in Orange County, New York, was a captain in the Mexican War, was the secretary of the territory from 1849 to 1853, was a lawyer with prior insurance experience, was the Saint Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company's first president, served in Civil War (First, Second, and Ninth Minnesota Regiments,) and died at the Battle of Tupelo, Mississippi. The first policy was issued in 1854 and the first agents were hired. The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company barely survived the Panic of 1857, in part, by reorganizing as a stock company in 1865. Wilkin died in battle in 1864 in Mississippi. The company began writing insurance in Winnipeg, Canada, in 1866. The 1871 Chicago fire destroyed much of the city, but The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company paid all claims in full. The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company began insuring autos in 1900. The 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fire demolished 28,000 buildings and cost The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company $1,267,000 in claims. During World War I, The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company sustained losses exceeding $4 million from 260 ocean-going vessels that were damaged or destroyed in action. The St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company survived the Great Depression, World War II, the post-war expansion in the insurance business, the increase in insurance lines of the last half-century, and the recent consolidation in the insurance business, although it has been merged with Travelers Insurance Company of Hartford, Connecticut, to form St. Paul-Travelers Insurance Company, with Jay Fishman as CEO. Theodore Leopold Schurmeier (1852- ) was born in St. Louis, Missouri, was the son of Caspar H. Schurmeier and Caroline Schurmeier, moved to St. Paul in 1854, attended Baldwin University in Berea, Ohio, was employed by James J. Hill in 1870, was employed as a bookkeeper by the First National Bank of St. Paul in 1874, was a teller for the First National Bank of St. Paul in 1875, helped found Lindeke, Warner, & Schurmeier, a wholesale dry goods merchant, in 1878, was a director of the First National Bank of St. Paul, was a director of the St. Paul Trust Company, was a real estate investor, was president of the Minnesota State Immigration Association, and a was a trustee of St. Lukes Hospital. T. L. Schurmeier married Caroline Eudora Gotzian in 1882 and the couple had three children, Conradine Schurmeier, Theodora Schurmeier, and Hildegarde Schurmeier. The property was on the vacant house list in 2007. The current owners of record of the property are Jacquelyn A. Merritt and Richard W. Merritt. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Caroline M. Krieger resided at the former nearby 299 Bates Avenue in 1901. Louis E. Krieger was the son of Caroline M. Krieger. The 1905 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline Kreiger resided at 299 Bates Avenue. The 1916 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. O. H. Cole resided at the former nearby 299 Bates Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Clarence N. Thorstad, a clerk employed by the Bethel Hotel, his wife, Agatha C. Thorstad, Warren J. McHenry, a switchman, and his wife, Anna McHenry, all resided at the former nearby 299 Bates Avenue. [See note on the First National Bank of St. Paul for 331 Maple Street.] [See note on Albert W. Lindeke and Lindeke, Warner & Schurmeier for 345 Summit Avenue.]

300 Bates Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 4860 square foot, commercial building. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lena Brandt, a seamstress, boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rudolph W. Hruby, a grocer, resided at this address. The National Association of Letter Carriers, Branch 28, is located at this address. The NALC was founded in 1889 and is the union of city letter carriers employed by the U.S. Postal Service. The NALC is affiliated with the AFL-CIO and with UNI, which is an international alliance of communications unions. William H. Young is the NALC President. The current owner of record of the property is the Branch 28 Building Corporation of Maplewood, Minnesota.

308 Bates Avenue: Congressman Oscar E. Keller House. Built in 1912. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1661 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The 1917 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. J. Barrett resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Carl S. Malmstrom, an organist, and his wife, Esther M. Malmstrom, resided at this address. Oscar Edward Keller (1878-1927) was a congressman from Minnesota from 1919 to 1927, was born in Helenville, Jefferson County, Wisconsin, the son of John L. Keller and Sophia Smith Keller, and attended the public schools and the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Keller moved to Minnesota in 1899 and settled in St. Paul, where he was first employed as a billing clerk and was later engaged in mercantile pursuits, including the grocery business. He was also a member of the city council of St. Paul from 1910 to 1914, St. Paul city commissioner from 1914 to 1919, and commissioner of St. Paul public utilities from 1914 until July 1, 1919. Keller was indicted by a Ramsey County Grand jury for a "disloyal" speech in Rice Park supporting workers during the 1917 St. Paul streetcar strike. He was an Independent Republican U.S. Representative from Minnesota Fourth District in 1919, appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Carl C. Van Dyke, and was reelected as a Republican. He was chairman of the House Committee on Railways and Canals during the 68th and 69th Congresses. Congressman Keller was involved in the federal land tax movement of Henry George and the Progressive Movement. In 1919, Georgists began working through the Manufacturers and Merchants Federal Tax League to sponsor a federal land tax, the Ralston-Nolan Bill. Drafted by Judge Jackson H. Ralston, it would have imposed a "1% excise tax on the privilege of holding lands, natural resources and public franchises valued at more than $10,000, after deducting all improvements." In 1924, Congressman Keller introduced the proposal as H.R. 5733. Congressman Keller was also involved in the public power ownership movement. A National Public Ownership Conference was formed in 1924 with the support from the American Federation of Labor, the Electrical Union, the National Grange, and the League for Industrial Democracy. The conference proposed a bill for a nationwide public-power system, which was introduced the next year into Congress by Republican George Norris of Nebraska in the Senate and by Republican Oscar Keller of Minnesota in the House. That proposal was the forerunner of what became the Rural Electrification Administration, the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), and other federal projects founded during the New Deal. He married Alice Grace Seebick Keller in 1911. He was interred at Elmhurst Cemetery. Alice Grace Keller ( -1927) died in Ramsey County. Carl Chester Van Dyke (1881-1919) was a Representative in Congress from Minnesota, was born in Alexandria, Douglas County, Minnesota, attended the common and high schools of Alexandria, taught school in Douglas County from 1899 to 1901, served as a private in Company B, 15th Regiment, Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, during the Spanish-American War, graduated from the St. Paul Law School, a predecessor to the current William Mitchell College of Law, and was admitted to the bar in 1916, was elected commander in chief of the United Spanish War Veterans organization in 1918, was elected as a Democrat to the 64th, 65th, and 66th Congresses, and served in the Congress from 1915 until his death. The property was last sold for $108,665 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owner of record of the property is Jorge Garcia. The 1885 city directory indicates that Dr. Edwin X. Amoss resided at the former nearby 309 Bates Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Blasing resided at the former nearby 311 Bates Avenue.

314 Bates Avenue: Built in 1911. The building is a two story, 1376 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Samuel E. Hellermann (1862-1923,) the husband of Louisa Hellermann, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Germany and who died of myocarditis and nephritis, resided at this address in 1923. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles E. Olson, the floor manager employed by The Emporium department store, and his wife, Maude Olson, resided at this address. Kenneth Ward Robertson, an Aviation Ordnanceman Second Class in the USNR, the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Robert Robertson, was a World War II casualty and resided at this address in the early 1940's. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004 and in 2007. Charles E. Olson ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2004 and the sale price was $175,000. The current owners of record of the property are Lee Her and Maria Vang, who reside in Ramsey, Minnesota.

315 Bates Avenue: Built in 1884. The building is a one story, 1516 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. A. Wille resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Ernest L. Schilling resided at this address in 1890. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Minnie Hauweiler, the widow of George Hauweiler, Dora Hauweiler, a clerk employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, Edward A. Hauweiler, a carpenter, Joseph Hauweiler, a wrapper for Montgomery Ward & Company, and Leonard Hauweiler, a baker employed by the Federal Bake Shop Inc., all resided at this address. Stella Schilling ( -1890) was the daughter of Ernest L. Schilling and died of an embolism. George Hauweller ( -1925) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Patrick D. Ruberto and others. [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.]

316 Bates Avenue: Built in 1910. The building is a 1 3/4 story, 1134 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11919) indicate that Nicholas McGaughren (1881- ,) a 1916 enlistee and a Private in Battery C of the 157th Field Artillery, who was born in Wilton, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1899, had grey eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 11" tall, was a painter at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including the Lorraine Front, was a janitor employed by Cushing & Drsicoll after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his sister, Mrs. Annie C. Moran, at this address. The 1923 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. P. Staffa resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Paul D. Staffa, an engineer at the Ames School, and his wife, Thekla Staffa, resided at this address. Gallus Paul Staffa ( -1951) died in Ramsey County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002, in 2003, and in 2004. The current owners of record are Eric Mathew Gryniewski and Michelle Anne Sturm.

321 Bates Avenue: Built in 1920. The structure is a two story, 2928 square foot, multifamily apartment building. The 1889 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Phelps resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Hellge and Mrs. Frances Padden, a waiter employed at 413 St. Peter Street, both resided at this address. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2004 and in 2005. Frances Padden (1892-1958) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $48,000. The previous owners of record of the property were Akinwale Akinropo and Oludolapo C. Ogunjemilus, who were located in Dallas, Georgia, and the current owner of record is Justin A. Hatcher, who resides in Roseville, Minnesota.

324 Bates Avenue: Built in 1879. The building is a two story, 2276 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house. The 1885, 1887, 1889, 1891, and 1893 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. William F. Von Deyn resided at this address. The 1885 and 1890 city directories indicate that William F. Von Deyn was a clerk for the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad and resided at this address. The 1897, 1899, and 1901 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. von Deyn resided at this address. The 1903 and 1905 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Von Deyn and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1909 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Von Deyn and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Morse resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Thomas Fink, a janitor who was employed at this address also resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Caroline Von Deyn, the widow of William F. Von Deyn, and Mrs. Josephine Smith, the widow of Charles D. Smith, both resided at this address. In 1994, a summary abatement order regarding property at this address was issued by the city and the appeal of the order of Thomas R. Dimond was rejected. The St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad Company was a Minnesota corporation. In the late 1860's, the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad was working its way through the Southern Minnesota countryside from St. Paul and constructed depots in Le Sueur, Minnesota, St. Peter, Minnesota, and Mankato, Minnesota. In late 1869, the trestle work across Minneopa Creek was completed and the railroad eventually continued on to Lake Crystal, Minnesota. Elias Franklin Drake (1813-1892,) the son of Dr. Henry Drake and Hannah Spinning Drake, was born in Urbana, Champaign County, Ohio, was a clerk in a printing office at Lebanon, Ohio, was a clerk in the general store of Henderson & Hardy in Lebanon, Ohio, was a partner in a general store in Lebanon, Ohio, as Jameson, Eddy, Drake & Company, was the chief clerk of the State Treasurer, Joseph Whitehill, at Columbus, Ohio, read the law under Justice Noah H. Swayne of the United States Supreme Court, was admitted to the practice of law in Ohio and practiced in Delaware, Ohio, was cashier of the Bank of Xenia, Ohio, a branch of the State Bank of Ohio, in 1837, was a trustee of the Presbyterian church, was the president of the Dayton & Xenia RailRoad, was a Whig, was a member of the Whig Central Committee of Greene County, Ohio, in 1841, was president of the Greene County, Ohio, Agricultural Society in 1841, organized the Greene County, Ohio, Home League, married Frances Mary Galloway ( -1844,) the daughter of Major James Galloway, in 1841 in Zenia, Ohio, was the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives from 1845 until 1846, was the president of the Columbia Fire Insurance Company/Columbus Insurance Company in 1848, built the Tawawa or Xenia Springs, Ohio, hotel, in 1850, which was unsuccessful and the building eventually became the Wilberforce College, married Carolina Matilda McClurg, the daughter of Alexander McClurg, in 1858 in Zenia, Ohio, formed a partnership with Andrew De Graff and built the Pennsylvania & Indianapolis RailRoad and the Greenville & Miami RailRoad, was the contractor on the building of roads for the Dayton & Western RailRoad Company, the Cincinnati, Lebanon & Springfield Turnpike Company, the Xenia & Columbus Turnpike Company, and the Xenia & Jamestown Company, organized and was the president of the Dayton, Xenia & Belpre RailRoad, later was a Republican, was a delegate to the national Republican Party conventions which nominated Abraham Lincoln for a second term and which nominated James Garfield, moved to Minnesota in 1860/1861, built the first railroad in Minnesota from St. Paul to St. Anthony in 1862, the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, moved to St. Paul in 1864, was influential in building the the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad, which was completed in 1872, was a member of the Minnesota State Senate representing Ramsey County (District 24) from 1874 until 1875, was a director of the Merchants' National Bank, was a director of the St. Paul Trust Company, was a member of the executive council of The Minnesota Historical Society from 1868 until 1892, was the president of The Minnesota Historical Society in 1873, was a member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce, invested in lumber mills, stone quarries and a stock farm, died at the Coronado Beach Hotel in San Diego, California, and is buried in Oakland Cemetery. In 1874, Elias F. Drake was the president of the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad. In 1879, E. F. Drake was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, was the president of the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad, located at 67 East Third Street, and resided at 9 Lafayette Avenue. Elias Franklin Drake and Frances Mary Galloway Drake had one child, Sallie/Sarah Frances Drake (Mrs. Charles S.) Rogers. Elias Franklin Drake and Carolina Matilda McClurg Drake had four children, Henry Trevor Drake (1858- ,) Alexander M. Drake (1859- ,) Mary F. Drake (Mrs. Thomas M.) Thompkins (1861- ,) and Caroline M. Drake (Mrs. William H.) Lightner (1863- .) In 1879, Harry T. Drake, a student, and Alexander M. Drake, a clerk, both boarded at 9 Lafayette Avenue. James H. Drake was the land commissioner for the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad and for the Sioux City & St. Paul RailRoad, and William H. Drake was a train dispatcher employed by the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad. The Omaha, Niobrara & Black Hills RailRoad reached Norfolk, Nebraska, in 1880, and the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad reached Norfolk, Nebraska, in 1882. The St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad was eventually purchased by the Union Pacific RailRoad. William Frederick Von Deyn ( -1915) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Jay A. Soeffker and Kari Jo Soeffker. [See note on Harry T. Drake and Harry T. Drake, Jr., for 874 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad.] [See note on the Sioux City & St. Paul RailRoad.]

Internet Sources:

Links:

Daytons Bluff Hike Directions and Route

Architectural Style Notes

Dayton's Bluff Architectural Hike Page

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

This webpage was last modified on August 3, 2011.