Site hosted by Angelfire.com: Build your free website today!

Thursday Night Hikes: Capitol Hill/Cathedral Hill Hike Architecture Notes, Part 2


Observations on Architectural Styles, Capitol Hill/Cathedral Hill Hike

Assembled by

Lawrence A. Martin

Webpage Creation: July 15, 2003

General. Cathedral Hill is located at the head of Summit Avenue and is the neighborhood in the immediate vicinity of St. Paul's Cathedral. The Cathedral and the Capitol on an adjacent hill form an impressive sight that is easily viewed from many points in the city.

Specific Structures or Points of Interest Along the Hike. The following presents available information on points of interest and the building styles of specific structures located along the hike:

400 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 2335 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Mrs. Helen I. Cratsenberg, a widow and a member of the church since 1903, resided at this address. The 1916 former Bailey/Comstock House, since razed, was located at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Collins and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Collins resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. M. Luchsinger resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William M. Luchsinger, a jailer employed by the Ramsey County Jail, and his wife, May Luchsinger, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Andrew William Reeher and Ellen Margaret Reeher resided at this address. The property was last sold in 1993 with a sale price of $175,000. The current owner of record of the property is Ellen M. Reeher.

401 Laurel Avenue: The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that M. Henriksen resided at this address.

402-404 Laurel Avenue: Thomas Cochran House; Built in 1896 (1884 according to Patricia Anne Murphy;) John Knox Taylor, architect. The structure is a two unit frame condominium. Unit 1 is a 1541 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached garage, was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $285,000, and is currently owned by Timothy J. Doherty and Constance J. Kupferschmidt. Unit 2 is a 1320 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached garage, was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $230,000, and is currently owned by Nenad Tomasevic. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Rev. and Mrs. D. C. Lyon and their daughter all resided at 402 Laurel Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Dorcas K. Edgerton boarded at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that May A. Pewters resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Timothy J. Doherty, Connie J. Kupferschmidt, and Constance J. Kupferschmidt all resided at 402 Laurel Avenue, that Ripple Entertainment LLC was located at 404 Laurel Avenue, and that Nenad Tomasevic, and David Ripley West resided at 404 Laurel Avenue. Greg Hiers, a USPTA (P1) pro and the Tennis Director at Oakdale Golf & Tennis and at the St Paul Tennis Club, currently resides at this address. [See note on Thomas Cochran and the Cochran Park for 369 Summit Avenue.]

403 Laurel Avenue: George C. Power/Walter A. Scott House; Built in 1914 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The structure is a two story, 2903 square foot, six bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that George C. Power resided at this address from 1884 to 1893. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Power and Mrs. L. P. Smith all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Power resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Walter A. Scott ( -1903,) and his wife, Sarah F. Scott, resided at this address in 1890. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mrs. S. F. Scott resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. W. A. Scott resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dorcas Edgerton (1845-1921,) the unmarried sister of Mrs. W. A. Scott, who was born in Massachusetts to parents born in the United States and who died of gastritus, resided at this address in 1921. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sarah F. Scott resided at this address. The 1978 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Saint Paul First Ward, directory indicates that Mrs. Joan Belisle and Penny Belisle both resided at this address. The 1983 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Saint Paul Second Ward, directory indicates that Joan Belisle resided at this address. George C. Power was a trustee of the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation from 1910 to 1912. Walter A. Scott (1842-1903) was engaged in railroad work after 1858, became the general manager of the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad, resided in St. Paul, was a member of the Committee on Transportation of the St. Paul Relief Committee for the 1894 Minnesota Forest Fires, and died in St. Paul. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $220,670. The current owner of record of the property is Carl D. Weiner and Ruth A. Weiner. Carl D. Weiner, a historian at Carleton College, was a contributor to the Democratic National Committee in 2004. Carl Weiner is the W. H. Laird Professor of History and the Liberal Arts, emeritus, at Carlton College. Carl Weiner has a bachelor's degree from Queens College and a master's degree from Columbia University, was a professor at Carlton College since 1964, and retired in 2004. [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.]

406 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a 2421 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The property was last sold for $320,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Helen K. West and David R. West.

407 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 2069 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Chandler W. Kibbee resided at this address from 1886 to 1896. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Kibbie and Mrs. I. Stebbins all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Peter Anthony Schaub (1844-1916,) the husband of Mary Jane Schaub, who was born in Michigan to parents born in Germany and who died of bronchiopneumonia, resided at this address in 1916. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. P. A. Schaub resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Francis M. Bingham, a salesman, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Pease resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward L. Luedtke, a trimmer employed by the Ford Motor Company, and his wife, Marion Luedtke, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Mary Elliott resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Peter G. Powell, who resides in Hermantown, Minnesota. [See note on the Ford Motor Company for 334 St. Clair Avenue.]

408 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a 2243 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. B. Hedges and her daughter both resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. B. Hedges, her daughter, and Mrs. Alice R. Woodward all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Chris J. Jensen, a stationary engineer, and his wife, Nellie Jensen, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Larry P. Haeg, and Mary O. Haeg resided at this address. The property was last sold for $360,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Lawrence P. Haeg and Mary O. Haeg. Lisa Gray, the General Counsel for WAM NET, indicating this address as her residence, was a contributor to the Joseph Lieberman for President campaign in 2004.

409 Laurel Avenue: Dr. William Davis House; Built in 1888 (1883 according to Patricia Anne Murphy;) Shingle in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Dr. William Davis resided at this address from 1883 to 1930. The 1885 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. William Davis and T. G. Holyoke all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. William Davis and Mrs. Charles O. Holyoke all resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Davis, their daughters, Holyoke Davis, and T. G. Holyoke all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. William Davis, their daughter, and T. G. Holyoke all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. William Davis and their daughter all resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Holyoke Davis was an architect, was a partner with Thomas Holyoke and Magnus Jemne in 1916, specialized in residential work, and designed a lake cottage for William Mitchell in 1907. Holyoke Davis was the son of William Davis (1853-1947) and Sally White Holyoke Davis (1857-1929,) married Gladys Silsbee (1885- ,) born in Chicago, the daughter of Joseph Lyman Silsbee ( -1913) and Anna Baldwin Sedgwick Silsbee (1848-1921,) in 1916, and the couple had three children, William Davis II (1917- ,) Anna Silsbee Davis (1920- ,) and Deborah Sedgwick Davis (1926- .) In 1924, 1930, and 1934, Holyoke Davis, a department manager employed by Cochran-Sargent Company, and his wife, Gladys Davis, resided at 591 Lincoln Avenue. In 1934, Dr. William Davis and Sarah Holyoke Davis resided at 595 Grand Avenue. [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.]; [See note on Thomas Cochran, Jr., Emilie Cochran, Moncrieff Cochran, and Margaret Davis Cochran and on the Cochran-Sargent Company for 79 Western Avenue North.]

410 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1885; Hall & McDougall, architects. The structure is a two story, 1640 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Rittenhouse resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that B. F. Wright, his daughter, and A. B. Wright all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Herbert W. Smith and Margaret E. Smith, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1890. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Magraw resided at this address in 1894. The 1918 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. O. J. Lanigan resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Russell G. Brown, a cashier employed by the Minnesota Coal Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Brown resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Cassius E. Dougherty, associated with the Mando Studio, and his wife, Lillian Dougherty, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Michelle Ligget resided at this address. Margaret E. Smith (1863-1890) died of tuberculosis. The property was last sold for $163,500 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are James J. Geisen and Karen A. Geisen, who reside at 768 Rice Street.

411 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1900. The structure is a two story, 4181 square foot, eight bedroom, four bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building has been divided into four condominium units. Unit 1 is a 887 square foot, five room, one bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage. Unit 2 is a 1019 square foot, five room, one bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage. Unit 3 is a 930 square foot, five room, one bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage. Unit 4 is a 1362 square foot, six room, two bathroom, condominium unit, with a detached one car garage. The 1930 city directory indicates that William Davis, a physician located at 350 St. Peter Street, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Donald McFarland resided at this address. In 2003, permission was granted by the St. Paul Heritage Preservation Commission to replace wood windows with vinyl windows at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Otey Inc., located in Woodbury, Minnesota.

415 Laurel Avenue: Robert A. Kirk House; Built in 1885 (1889 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Eastlake in style; Thomas & Kretz, architects. The structure is a two story, 4390 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Robert A. Kirk resided at this address from 1889 to 1900. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Florence Fairchild Bigelow (1867-1905,) the wife of Charles H. Bigelow, Jr., who was born in Minnesota to parents born in the United States and who died of pulmonary tuberculosis, resided at this address in 1905. The 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directory indicates that Miss Emma Marie Nimz resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Bigelow, Jr., resided at this address. In 1916, Charles Henry Bigelow was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Bigelow resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles H. Bigelow, the president of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, Inc., resided at this address and that Alida Bigelow, a student, and Donald J. Bigelow, a student, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Bigelow, their daughter, and C. H. Bigelow all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Florence E. Prentice, the widow of Leigh W. Prentice, and Theresa Ericksen, a nurse, resided at this address. Robert Alexander Kirk (1837-1913) was born in Ellsworth, Ohio, served with an Ohio regiment during the American Civil War, moved to St. Paul in 1882, was a wholesale hardware merchant, was the president of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, was a financial supporter of Macalester College during the first decade of the 20th Century, was an elder in the House of Hope Presbyterian Church, was president of the St. Paul Jobbers Union from 1895 until 1896, was president of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce from 1899 until 1900, and was the president of the National Hardware Association from 1901 until 1902. Charles Henry Bigelow (1835-1911,) the son of Anson Bigelow and Eliza Moores Bigelow, was born in Easton, Washington County, New York, was educated in the Easton, New York, public schools, attended the Cambridge, New York, Academy in 1851 and 1852, was a clerk in Troy, New York, in 1852 and 1853, was a clerk employed by W. S. Earl of Earl & Wilson, manufacturers in Troy, New York, from 1853 until 1856, was a member of Maulin & Bigelow from 1856 until 1862, married Alida Wood Lyman ( -1923) of Middlefield, Massachusetts, in Ohio in 1859, was in the lumber trade with his brothers in Chicago, Illinois, from 1862 until 1907, moved to St. Paul in 1864, founded the firm of Bigelow, Murdoch & Company, agricultural implements, until its sale in 1867, engaged in the lumber business and insurance, was the secretary of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1871 until 1876, was the president of the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company from 1876 to 1911, resided at 181 College Avenue in 1907, was a member of the board of directors of the North West Trust Company, was a trustee Minnesota Mutual Fire Insurance Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Minnesota Mutual Life Insurance Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Merchants National Bank, was a Republican, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, had the hobby of automobiling, officed at the corner of Third Street and Jackson Street in 1907, and died in St. Paul. Charles Henry Bigelow and Alida Wood Lyman Bigelow were the parents of six children, Emma Bigelow (Mrs. Harry Trevor) Drake (1860-1940,) George Lyman Bigelow (1863-1917,) Charles Henry Bigelow II (1866-1945,) Frederic Russell Bigelow (1870-1946,) Albert Anson Bigelow (1872-1919, and Dean Bigelow (1875-1885.) Charles Henry Bigelow, Jr./Charles Henry Bigelow II (1866- ,) the son of Charles Henry Bigelow and Alida Wood Lyman Bigelow, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from Williams College, Williams, Massachusetts, in 1887, entered the hardware business with Farwell, Ozmun & Kirk in 1888, married Florence Fairchild ( -1905,) the daughter of H. S. Fairchild, in 1896, became the general manager and vice president of Farwell, Ozmun & Kirk, resided at this address in 1907, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, officed at Jackson Street and Second Street in 1907. Charles Henry Bigelow II married Florence Fairchild (1868-1905,) the daughter of Henry Shields Fairchild (1826- ) and Elizabeth Matilda Clayland Fairchild (1834- ,) in St. Paul in 1896 and married Allison McKibben ( -1970) in 1911. In 1918, Charles Henry Bigelow II (1866-1945,) Allison McKibben Bigelow, Alida Bigelow, Donald F. Bigelow, and Charles H. Bigelow, Jr., all summered on Manitou Island, White Bear Lake, Minnesota. In 1918, Frederic Russell Bigelow and Alice Fraser Bigelow summered at "Sunnybrae," Manitou Island, White Bear Lake, Minnesota. Charles Henry Bigelow II and Allison McKibben Bigelow were the parents of two children, Mary Allison Bigelow (Mrs. Richard) McMillan (1919- ) and John McKibben Bigelow (1920- .) Donald F. Bigelow (1896- ,) the son of Charles H. Bigelow and Florence Fairchild Bigelow, was born in St. Paul, served in the U. S. Army during World War I, married Honor Louise Morrissey in 1922, was a U. S. Foreign Service officer, was the U. S. Vice Consul in Bucharest, Hungary, in 1921, was the U. S. Vice Consul in Paris, France, in 1924, was the U. S. Consul in Paris, France, in 1926, was the U. S. Consul in Tangier, Morocco, in 1932, and was the U. S. Consul in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in 1949. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $760,000. The current owners of record of the property are Richard A. Frommeyer and Sara T. Frommeyer. [See note on Hermann Kretz for 579 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company for 297 Bates Avenue.] [See note on Harry T. Drake and Harry T. Drake, Jr., for 874 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on Henry Shields Fairchild for 676 Summit Avenue.]

416 Laurel Avenue: Gordon/Flagg House; Built in 1882 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style; Edward Bassford, architect. The structure is a two story, 3586 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. In 1905, Mr. and Mrs. F. Biglow resided at this address. The Book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Frederic Russell Bigelow resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Sarah Edna Raymond resided at this address in 1917. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Drake, their daughter, and E. R. Drake all resided at this address. In 1916, Henry Canby Drake was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank O. Brown, a travel agent, roomed at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that J. Godfrey Walker (1849-1922,) the unmarried friend of Sarah E. Raymond, who was born in England to parents born in England and who died of apoplexy, resided at this address in 1922. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sarah E. Raymond resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Sarah E. Raymond, the widow of George Raymond, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Iatos Christopher Mat resided at this address. Henry Canby Drake (1851- ,) the son of Henry Edwin Drake and Mary E. Canby Drake, was born at Xenia, Ohio, attended Urbana University, Urbana, Ohio, attended Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, from 1868 until 1870, resided in Bellefontaine, Ohio, in 1870, graduated from Urbana University in 1872, was a member of the Zeta Psi Fraternity, initially was employed as a reporter by the New York Tribune and the New York Evening Mail from 1870 until 1874, was a commercial reporter for the New York Tribune, was a commission merchant, was a member of the firm of Baker, Drake & Company, a grain commission business, in New York, from 1874 until 1876, was a member of the J. H. Drake & Company, a member of the Chicago Board of Trade from 1876 until 1879, resided at 119 La Salle Street in Chicago in 1878, was a member of the firm of Drake Brothers, a cold storage business, in St. Paul from 1881 until 1883, was a correspondent and was in charge of collateral for the National German American Bank from 1884 until 1887, was a member of the Minnesota Alumni Association of Cornell University in 1885 and 1886, married Jennie K. Turnbull at St. Paul in 1887, was the president and treasurer of the Drake Marble & Tile Company, was the president of the St. Paul Mantel & Desk Company from 1887 until 1892, which was incorporated as the Drake Marble & Tile Company, manufacturers and contractors marble, mosaics and mantels, in 1892, was a Republican, was a Baptist, was a Mason, was a member of the Royal Arcanum, was a past regent of the Zeta Psi fraternity, engaged in the hobbies of hunting and fishing, resided at 409 Jackson Street in 1893, officed at 64-66 East Third Street in 1907, and resided at 437 Dayton Avenue in 1907. In 1930, Henry C. Drake, the president of the Drake Marble Company, located at 58 Plato Street, and his wife, Jennie T. Drake, resided at 761 Lincoln Avenue. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The last sale of this property was in 2000 and the sale price was $425,900. The current owner of record of the property is Douglas Peter Mackaman. [See note on Edward Bassford for 35 Irvine Park.] [See the note for Frederick R. Bigelow for 493-495 Portland Avenue.]

419 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1871; Eastlake in style. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District.

421 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 2935 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Albert J. Deane resided at this address from 1884 to 1898. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Deane and Albert J. Deane all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Deane, Albert J. Deane, and Louis D. Wilkes all resided at this address. The 1903 Delta Upsilon Decennial Catalogue indicates that Albert Randell Moore (1869- ,) the son of James E. Moore and Eliza Randell Moore, was born in Brooklyn, New York, attended Harvard University, received a L.L.B. from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1891, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1891, received a L.L.M. from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1892, officed at the Germania Life Building, married Caroline E. Weed in 1898, and resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Louise S. (Mrs. W. R.) Beggs, a member of the church since 1903, resided at this address. In 1907, William Reynolds Begg resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Jennette McLaren, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Andrea Jill Nordaune and Pamela Jean Nordaune resided at this address. William Reynolds Begg (1869- ) was the son of James Begg and Mary Shakleford Begg, was born in Spartanburg, South Carolina, was educated in the Glendale, South Carolina, and Clifton, South Carolina, public schools, graduated from the Hartford, Connecticut, High School, graduated from Yale University in 1893, was the Yale University valedictorian in 1893, was a member of Skull and Bones in 1893, attended the Yale University Law School from 1893 until 1894, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1895, was a member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity, was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity, was a member of the DeltaPhi fraternity, was employed by the office of the General Counsel of the Great Northern RailRoad from 1894 until 1899, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1895, married Louise Spencer in Hartford, Connecticut, in 1897, was in the general practice of law in St. Paul in the law firms of Squire & Begg and of Armstrong & Begg from 1899 until 1903, was the Assistant General Counsel of the Great Northern RailRoad after 1903, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, and was a member of the law firm of Byrne & Cutcheon in New York City in 1914. Albert Randell Moore (1869- ) was born in New York, was educated in the St. Paul public schools, graduated from Harvard University in 1889, was a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity, was a member of the Phi Delta Phi fraternity, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1891, and was a member, with William Henry Oppenheimer, George W. Peterson, and Frank Corrin Hodgson, of the law firm of Moore, Oppenheimer & Peterson, which was of counsel to the American National Bank, the Osgood & Blodgett Manufacturing Company, the Drovers Cattle Loan & Investment Company, the South St. Paul Livestock Exchange, the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company. The property was last sold for $278,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owner of record of the property is Andrea Jill Nordaune. [See note on William H. Oppenheimer for 766 West Linwood Avenue.]

422 Laurel Avenue: Griggs/Howard House; Built in 1890 (1883 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Eastlake in style; D. W. Millard, architect. The structure is a two story, 4791 square foot, seven bedroom, four bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Howard and Mrs. Jane L. Howard all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Chauncey M. Griggs resided at this address in 1893. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rufus Davenport (1845-1909,) the husband of Florence Bodley Davenport, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of arteriosclerosis myocarditis, resided at this address in 1909. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Martha Darah Bass (1828-1913,) the widowed mother of Edgar W. Bass, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of senility, resided at this address in 1913. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Lydia Bass resided at this address in 1914. The 1916 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mrs. F. B. Bass, F. W. Bass, H. B. House, P. E. Barber, Miss E. C. M. Von Treackow, and Dr. F. A. Olson. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. F. B. Bass, F. W. Bass, H. B. House, and Miss E. C. M. Von Tresckow all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Helen Boneson, a clerk, Louise Boneson, an operator, and Mrs. Frank Dunbar, the widow of Frank Dunbar and a clerk employed by the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, all roomed at this address and that Helen Bonnesen, a folder employed by the West Publishing Company, and Margaret Flaherty, a folder employed by West Publishing Company, both boarded at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Fred Ferguson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael W. Keenan, his wife, Nettie H. Keenan, and William E. Cowden, a helper with Sperry Office Furniture Company, his wife, Millie A. Cowden, and William F. Cowden, a laborer, all resided at this address. Adrienne E. Christiansen, a professor in the Political Science Department of Macalester College and a member of the board of the Cyprus American Archaeological Research Institute, resided at this address in 2003. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Leslie A. Ferry, Mindy L. Mitchell, and Paul A. Sairio. D. W. Millard & Son also was the architect for the building at 212 East Seventh Street in St. Paul, for the former Alpha Hall at Arizona State University, built in 1901, and for the Hotel St. Michael in Prescott, Arizona, built in 1900. Martha Millard (1842-1909) was the wife of D. W. Millard, was born near Lake Keuka, New York, married in Michigan, and died near Phoenix, Arizona. Edgar Wales Bass (1843-1918) was born in Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1847, served in the Eighth Minnesota Regiment in 1862, graduated from the West Point Military Academy in 1868, was a professor of Mathematics at West Point from 1878 to 1898, then resided at Bar Harbor, Maine, and New York, and died from pneumonia. Rufus Davenport was the author of a narrative of the Eleventh Minnesota Regiment during the Civil War aspart of Minnesota in the Civil and Indian Wars 1861-1865, published in 1890. In 1885 and 1887, Rufus Davenport resided at 29 Douglas Street. The property was last sold in 1991 with a sale price of $310,000. The current owners of record of the property are Leslie A. Ferry and Paul A. Sairio. [See notes for Chauncey Griggs for 365 Summit Avenue, 432 Summit Avenue, and 476 Summit Avenue.]

423 Laurel Avenue: Maurice D. Edwards House; Built in 1884. The structure is a two story, 2718 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Rev. Maurice D. Edwards resided at this address from 1884 to 1898 and that Albert J. Deane resided at this address from 1899 to 1948. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Rev. and Mrs. M. D. Edwards resided at this address. In 1907, Maurice Dwight Edwards resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Rev. and Mrs. M. D. Edwards, their daughter, and A. J. Deane all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2255) indicate that George B. Edwards (1890- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 6 1/4" tall, was a paper dealer at induction, served in the Virgin Islands, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Rev. M. D. Edwards, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Albert J. Deane, the assistant cashier of the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York, Annie D. Edwards, a cataloguer employed by the St. Paul Public Library, and George Edwards, a clerk employed by the Goodyear Rubber Company, all boarded at this address and that Rev. Maurice D. Edwards, the pastor emeritus of the Dayton Avenue Presbyterian Church, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that A. J. Deane, Miss Anna Edwards, G. B. Edwards, and Rev. and Mrs. Maurice Edwards all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Rev. Maurice D. Edwards, the pastor emeritus of the Dayton Avenue Presbyterian Church, and George B. Edwards, an importer, both resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that David W. Cost and Mary C. Cost both resided at this address. Maurice Dwight Edwards (1847- ,) the son of Richard Edwards (1803-1884) and Catherine Pond May Edwards (1806-1883,) was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, attended a private school in Allegheny, Pennsylvania, from 1854 until 1856, attended public school in Dubuque, Iowa, from 1856 until 1860, graduated with a bachelor's degree from Hamilton College in 1870, graduated from the Auburn Theological Seminary in 1874, was a Presbyterian clergyman, moved to St. Paul in 1874, became the pastor of the Dayton Avenue Presbyterian Church in 1874 and continued as pastor for 44 years, married Annie Louise Deane in 1877, was the clerk of the Presbyterian Synod of Minnesota from 1885 until 1907, received a divinity doctorate from Hamilton College in 1892, was a member of the board of managers of the Children's Home Society of Minnesota, was the chaplain for the Sons of the American Revolution, was a Republican, was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa fraternity, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, engaged in the hobbies of hunting and fishing, and was a delegate to the Presbyterian General Assembly in 1878, 1882, 1890, 1897, and 1902. Rev. Maurice D. Edwards was a member of a special committee on the manner and extent of revision in the Presbyterian Church in 1890. Rev. Maurice D. Edwards was the chairman of the Narrative Committee of the Presbyterian Church in 1897. Rev. Maurice D. Edwards was a descendant of Jonathan Edwards. Maurice D. Edwards was the author of History of the Synod of Minnesota, Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., published in St. Paul in 1927, was the author of The Value Of Life And Other Parish Sermons, published in St. Paul in 1931, and was the author of Richard Edwards and His Wife Catherine Pond May: Their Ancestors, Lives and Descendants, published in St. Paul in 1931. Maurice D. Edwards married Annie Louise Deane (1853- ,) the daughter of Erasmus M. Deane, born in Hartford, Connecticut, in 1877, and the couple had four children, Anna/Annie Deane Edwards (1878- ,) Dwight Woodbridge Edwards (1883-1967,) Deane Edwards (1885-1970,) and George Breed Edwards (1890- .) Maurice D. Edwards was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution by virtue of his great grandfather Timothy Edwards (1738-1831,) a member of the Provincial Council of Massachusetts during the American Revolution and was a financier of the Continental Army, and his great grandfather Jahleel Woodbridge (1738-1796,) a commander of the Minutemen at Stockbridge, Massachusetts. Richard Edwards was in the insurance business in 1881. Dwight Woodbridge Edwards graduated from Princeton University in 1904, married Mary E. Vanderslice, a missionary in China for the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, was an administrator with the Young Men's Christian Association in China, was the executive secretary of the Peking United International Famine Relief Committee from 1920 until 1922, was the field director of United China Relief, and was the executive secretary of the Administrative Committee of Yenching University in Beijing, China. The last sale of this property was in 1996 and the sale price was $255,000. The current owner of record of the property is David W. Cost.

427 Laurel Avenue: Dr. Alex Wall House; Built in 1900 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italianate in style. The structure is a two story, 2200 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Alexander Walls resided at this address from 1876 to 1901. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. Wall resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. Walls, their daughter, and H. L. Walls all resided at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Gerald A. Wharton, a member of the church since 1903, resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Agnes W. Walls resided at this address in 1907. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Bradford resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Elizabeth Walls (1865-1918,) the single sister of Agnes W. Walls, who was born in Minnesota to parents born in Scotland and who died of arteriosclerosis, resided at this address in 1918. The 1930 city directory indicates that Helma L. Lind, a dressmaker, resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The property was last sold for $255,000 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owners of record of the property are Rebecca M. Austin and David L. Morford. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. B. Liddell resided at the former nearby 428 Laurel Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George B. Reed resided at the former nearby 428 Laurel Avenue. The 1893 city directory indicates that Asa G. Briggs, a lawyer who officed at the Pioneer Press Building, resided at 432 Laurel Avenue.

434 Laurel Avenue: O'Neil Flats/Former St. Elmo's Apartments; Built in 1891 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Romanesque Revival in style; C. A. Clarke, architect. The structure is a brick condominium building. Unit 1-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $224,950, and is currently owned by David T. Herman. Unit 2-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $230,000, and is currently owned by Madeline T. Gragg. Unit 3-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2004 at a sale price of $228,000, and is currently owned by David A. Martinez and Brian Ross Stienstra. Unit 4-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1997 at a sale price of $98,900, and is currently owned by Mara Larson. Unit 5-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $230,500, and is currently owned by Anne F. Cheatham and Jereb A. Cheatham. Unit 6-E is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1999 at a sale price of $133,000, and is currently owned by Jessica Turner and Kathleen Turner. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William H. Wood resided at this address in 1906. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert P. Galloway resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Margaret Fairfield Strong (1841-1909,) the widowed mother of Frances Strong, who was born in the United States to parents also born in the United States and who died of cerebral thrombosis, resided at this address in 1909. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frances Childs Guiteau Wood (1849-1913,) the wife of William H. Wood, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of myocarditis and paralysis, resided at this address in 1913. The 1915 Woman's Who's Who of America, compiled by John William Leonard and published by The American Commonwealth Company of New York, indicates that Laura Clary (Mrs. Hiram F.) Stevens resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Miss Elizabeth Forsyth, Mrs. C. P. Eastman, Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Dougan, K. N. Guiteau, Dr. and Mrs. S. D. Flagg, Mrs. H. F. Stevens, and W. H. Wood. In 1916, Edward C. Dougan was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. C. P. Eastman, Dr. and Mrs. S. D. Flagg, Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Dougan, Mrs. H. F. Stevens, and W H. Wood all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert H. Dougan (1850-1919,) the husband of Rebecca F. Dougan, who was born in Canada to parents born in Scotland and who died of interstitial nephritis, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lela Backlund, a teacher, roomed at this address, that Geraldine Fitzgibbon, a teacher at Mechanic Arts High School, boarded at this address, and that Samuel D. Flagg, a physician who officed at the Guardian Life Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Dougan, Dr. and Mrs. S. D. Flagg, Mrs. C. L. Jett, The Misses Norval, and Mr. and Mrs. Webster Wheelock, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Josephine Kerwin (Apartment #1,) Jane A. Norval, a teacher at Cleveland Junior High School and a stenographer at the Minnesota State Library, and Josephine Norval, an assistant at the Minnesota State Library (Apartment #2,) Edward T. Davis, the chief operator of the Police and Fire Alarm Telegraph, and his wife, Ida W. Davis, (Apartment #3,) Edward C. Dougan, a real estate agent located at the Endicott Building, and his wife, Elizabeth W. Dougan, (Apartment #4,) Elizabeth McDonald and Frances O'Brien, a nurse (Apartment #5,) and Jorgen P. Johnson, a clerk employed by the Railroad & Warehouse Commission, and his wife, Bertha Johnson (Apartment #6.) The 1989 Arlington Hills Lutheran Church directory indicates that Allen R. Dressler resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Anne Cheatham, Jereb A. Cheatham, Madeline Teresa Gregg, Sweet Herman, Bob Larson, Mara Larson, David A. Martinez, Brian Ross Stienstra, Jessica Ann Turner, and Kathleen Turner. In 1856, William H. Wood was certified by George W. Prescott, clerk of the Minnesota Territorial Supreme Court, to the U. S. Supreme Court to be a lawyer in the Territory of Minnesota. William H. Wood also was a close friend of William W. Warren (1825-1853), an Ojibwe interpreter, historian, and legislator in the Minnesota Territory. Webster Wheelock (1870- ,) the son of Joseph Albert Wheelock (1831-1906) and Catherine French Wheelock (1836-1922,) was educated at St. Paul's School, Concord, New Hampshire, received a B.A. from Yale University in 1893 (Alpha Delta Phi, Wolf's Head,) was a reporter of the St. Paul Pioneer Press from 1893 to 1896, was the secretary of Mayor F. B. Doran in 1896, rejoined the St. Paul Pioneer Press as associate editor from 1897 to 1905, married Martha Gilfillan, the daughter of Judge James Gilfillan, in 1900, and was the city librarian of St. Paul from 1922. Laura Clary Stevens (1850- ) was born in Massena, New York, the daughter of Joseph Emerson Clary and Alma Reed Clary, was educated at Massena High School, the Potsdam Academy, and the Hungerford Collegiate Institute of Adams, New York, married Hiram F. Stevens in Massena, New York, in 1876, was an Episcopalian, disfavored woman's suffrage, was the assistant treasurer of the Woman's Work Exchange Association, was a member of the board of managers of the Home of the Friendless, and was a member of the New Century Club. In 1922, Mrs. Edward C. Dougan donated to the Minnesota Historical Society two badges and two souvenir packages of tea from the Bunker Hill Centennial. Robert Porter Galloway was an employee of the National Cash Register Company and then Brown & Bigelow. William H. Wood (1844- )was born in Sandwich, Canada, was the son of William R. Wood and Harriet Marsh Wood, and was an astronomer and engineer who was employed by the Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad in 1885, by the Mexican Central RailRoad 1887-1889, by the Mexican Southern RailRoad from 1889 to 1892, by the Northwestern Coal RailRoad in 1893, and by the U. S. Government in Montana and Wyoming in 1896. William H. Wood married Frances Guiteau Wood in 1874 and the couple had four children, a daughter who became Mrs. E. G. Lee, Mary Wood, Katherine Wood, and William R. Wood, who became the superintendent of the Great Western RailRoad shops. The 1884-1885 city directory indicates that William H. Wood was a civil engineer employed by the U. S. Engineer's Office and resided at 74 Tilton Street. Helen Bigelow (Mrs. Robert Porter) Galloway inherited $1 million from the estate of her brother, Herbert Huse Bigelow, who founded Brown & Bigelow Company and who drowned with Mrs. Ralph Mather of St. Paul and Howard Schaeffer, a woodsman guide from Ely, in Basswood Lake, 20 miles north of Ely, Minnesota. Robert Porter Galloway ( -1949) died in Ramsey County. Allen R. Dressler is a Quality Assurance Supervisor for the 3M Company. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. Shea resided at the former nearby 436 Laurel Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Bowman resided at the former nearby 436 Laurel Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Della C. Briggs (1856-1893,) who died of osteo malacia, resided at the former nearby 436 Laurel Avenue in 1893. The 1893 city directory indicates that Della C. Briggs, a teacher, and Isaac A. Briggs resided at the former nearby 436 Laurel Avenue in 1893. Isaac A. Briggs was the brother of Della C. Briggs. George Washington Prescott (1826- ) was born in Chesterville, Maine, studied law, was admitted to the practice of law in Maine in 1850, settled in St. Paul in 1850, was superintendent of public instruction, was the clerk of the Minnesota Territorial Supreme Court from 1854 until 1857, was the clerk of the U. S. District Court for Minnesota, was a lieutenant in the Sixth Minnesota Regiment during the American Civil War, became a Baptist clergyman in 1868, and moved to San Francisco, California, in 1890. [See note on Herbert Huse Bigelow for 796 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Chicago, Burlington & Northern RailRoad.]

438 Laurel Avenue: Former St. Elmo Apartments; Built in 1920 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Romanesque Revival in style. The structure is a brick condominium building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Unit 1-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by James P. Callahan. Unit 2-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Sally Foy Dixon. Unit 3-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $221,000, and is currently owned by Maiken Givet. Unit 4-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1991 at a sale price of $78,000, and is currently owned by Timothy J. Doherty. Unit 5-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by James Moore and Joann Verberg. Unit 6-W is a 1250 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Glen Daniel Oldre. The 1909 Central Presbyterian Church directory indicates that Caroline (Mrs. J. H.) Harris and Miss Elsie Hatton Harris resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Sarah Jane Whitney Smith (1846-1913,) the widowed mother of Roy E. Smith, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of pernicious anemia, resided at this address in 1913. The 1913 Hamline University Alumni Quarterly indicates that H. M. Edmunds, a member of the Class of 1900 and a traveling salesman, resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Bouse, Mrs. M. E. Loftus, and Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Robinson all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. E. Loftus, her daughters, and H. O. Sergeant all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#9156) indicate that Joseph Le Vine (1896- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Sergeant in the 11th Regimental Band of the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in Cokato, Minnesota, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 8 1/4" tall, was a musician at induction, served on the U. S. S. DeKalb and the U. S. S. Orizaba, was a railway clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#10250) indicate that Hilding R. Lund (1889- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the 680th Aero Squadron A. S. A., who was born in Litchfield, Minnesota, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 7 1/4" tall, was a steward at induction, trained at the Carnegie Institute of Technology at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was an assistant purchasing agent employed by the State Board of Control after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Axel G. Backstrom, a clerk employed by the West Publishing Company, roomed at this address, that John B. Burke, a colr employed by the Federal Land Bank, boarded at this address, and that Cora F. Bohn, the widow of George W. Bohn, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Graceson, Mrs. M. E. Loftus and her daughters, and Miss Mary McNerny, all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Henry Pinter, his wife, Gusta Pinter (Apartment #1,) Pearl M. Loftus, a teacher at the Webster School, (Apartment #2,) Elizabeth McDonald, a machine operator (Apartment #3,) Laura C. Kilian, a librarian employed at the Arlington Hills Branch Library, (Apartment #4,) Louise V. Buckner, a seamstress, and Emily C. Montgomery, a proofreader employed by the Randall Company, (Apartment #5,) and Ernest McCartney and his wife, Hattie McCartney (Apartment #6.) The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were James P. Callahan, Alexander F. Dixon, Sally F. Dixon, Maiken Givot, Matthew Dornfeld Haugen, Joshua D. Heikkila, Maiken Heim, James M. Moore, Glen Daniel Odre, and Joann Ann Verburg. Rev. John A. Le Vine of South Stillwater, Minnesota, was the father of Joseph Le Vine. James P. Callahan has a bachelor's degree from St. John's University, a M.F.A. in piano, and a Ph.D. in composition and theory from the University of Minnesota, is a faculty member at the University of St. Thomas, and teaches undergraduate theory, piano, organ, composition and music business courses, and graduate theory and piano literature. The U.S.S. DeKalb was built at Stettin, Germany, in 1904 as the 14,180-ton passenger liner Prinz Eitel Friedrich, was a German Navy auxiliary cruiser during the first seven months of World War I, was interned and subsequently seized when the U.S. entered the conflict in 1917, was turned over to the Navy, was converted to a troopship at the Philadelphia Navy Yard, was renamed and was commissioned in May, 1917, was decommissioned in 1919, was transferred to the U.S. Shipping Board and refitted for commercial employment, operated as the S.S. Mount Clay during the early 1920's, and was scrapped in 1934. The S.S. Orizaba, a 11,293 ton passenger liner, was built at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for the New York & Cuba Mail Steamship Company, was requisitioned by the Navy in April 1918, was placed in commission as the U.S. Navy transport U. S. S. Orizaba (ID # 1536) in late May, 1918, was decommissioned in 1919, was then transferred to the U.S. Army, was later returned to her owners and commenced commercial activity, was purchased by the War Department and rejoined the U.S. Army Transportation Service in 1941, made one voyage as the USAT Orizaba, was then turned over to the Navy and commissioned as the U.S.S. Orizaba (AP-24) in mid-June 1941, was decommissioned in 1945, was overhauled for transfer abroad under the Lend-Lease program, and was recommissioned in 1945 as the Brazilian Navy's Duque de Caxias and performed transport and training roles until 1960. The State Board of Control was created by Laws of Minnesota 1901, Chapter 122, consisted of three members from 1901 to 1921, consisted of five members, with a minimum of two women, after 1921 under Laws of Minnesota 1921, Chapter 381, and managed the various state institutions. It succeeded the State Board of Corrections and Charities, the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Institute for Defectives, Board of Managers of the State Training School for Boys and Girls, the Board of Managers of the Minnesota Reformatory, the Board of Managers of the State Prison, the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, the Board of Managers of the State Public School, the Board of Trustees for Hospitals and Asylums for the Insane, and the Advisory Commission of the State Sanatorium for Consumptives. The State Board of Control was succeeded in part by the Department of Public Institutions under Laws of Minnesota 1925, Chapter 426, and was abolished with the creation of the Social Security Board under Laws of Minnesota 1939, Chapter 431, Section 4. The 1885 city directory indicates that Gen. and Mrs. R. W. Johnson, Harry S. Johnson, and Miss Mary Steele all resided at the former nearby 439 Laurel Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Gen. and Mrs. R. W. Johnson, Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Johnson, Harry S. Johnson, and Miss Mary Steele all resided at the former nearby 439 Laurel Avenue. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Henry C. McNair resided at the nearby former 439 Laurel Avenue in 1907. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. H. McNair and Miss Marie McNair all resided at the former nearby 439 Laurel Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. H. McNair resided at the former nearby 439 Laurel Avenue. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Henry C. McNair resided at the nearby former 439 Laurel Avenue from 1899 to 1922. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. H. McNair resided at the nearby former 439 Laurel Avenue. Henry C. McNair (1853- ,) the son of Antoine McNair and Cornelia J. Tiffin McNair, was born in St. Louis, Missouri, attended public and parochial schools in St. Genevieve, Missouri, married Ella Harvey, was employed by D. Hillman & Sons in St. Louis, Missouri, from 1870 until 1880, was employed by Ewald Iron Company from 1880 until 1883, moved to St. Paul in 1884, was engaged in the iron, steel and railway supply business after 1884, was a member of the board of directors of Dilworth Porter & Company of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1908, was a member of the St. Paul Charter Commission, was a member of the Cathedral Building Committee, served three terms on the St. Paul Board of Education, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the Commercial Club, and officed at the Endicott Building in 1907. The 1904 Cathedral Executive Committee included, in addition to Henry C. McNair, Edmund W. Bazille, Thomas Fitzpatrick, Timothy Foley, George N. Gerlach, Thomas J. Gibbons, John S. Grode, Patrick R. Heffron, Louis W. Hill, Jeremiah C. Kennedy, Rev. J. J. Lawler, Constantine J. McConville, Ambrose McNulty, John B. Meagher, Christopher D. O'Brien, Charles H. F. Smith, and Rev. John M. Soluce. Edward Kopper, Jr., was a partner in the H. C. McNair Company in 1922. [See note on Thomas Fitzgerald for 712 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on George N. Gerlach for 184 Summit Avenue.] [See note for Patrick Richard Heffren for 2450 Park Avenue.] [See note on Louis Warren Hill for 260 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Constantine J. McConville for 470 Summit Avenue.] [See note for Christopher D. O'Brien for 212 McBoal Street.]

444 Laurel Avenue: A. Guthrie House; Built in 1880; Bungalow in style. The structure is a one story, 3516 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Walter Mann, their daughter, and Mrs. Katherine P. Mann all resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Elbridge Dodge resided at this address from 1886 to 1891. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Dodge resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Schwartz, their daughter, and Mrs. J. P. Wilson all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Oscar S. Bowen, an assistant engineer with the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Imogene Bowen, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Brett Lee Turner and Kathleen Sue Turner resided at this address. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The property was last sold for $342,458 and that sale occurred in 1998. The current owner of record of the property is Brett Lee Turner. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

445-447 Laurel Avenue: Mrs. Pascal Smith House; Built in 1885; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a 2225 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1875 city directory indicates that Pascal Smith was a partner with John H. Camp in the firm of Camp & Smith, a dry goods and notions wholesaler located at 129-131 East Third Street, and resided at 34 Dayton Avenue. In 1876, Alice M. L. Smith (Mrs. Thomas) Wilkinson (1851- ,) of Burlington, Iowa, and the daughter of Pascal Smith, died of consumption at the home of her parents. The 1881 city directory indicates that Pascal Smith officed at the Fire & Marine Building. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Mrs. Pascal Smith resided at this address from 1884 to 1895. The 1884-1885 city directory indicates that Mrs. Pascal Smith resided at this address. In 1884, Mrs. Pascal Smith was a financial supporter of the Protestant Home of St. Paul, located on Collins Street. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mrs. Pascal Smith, Mr. and Mrs. C. C. H. Smith, Mrs. Fanny Holbrook, and Miss Carrie A. Holbrook all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Fanny Holbrook resided at this address in 1890. In 1891, Mrs. Pascal Smith, with Mrs. R. M. Newport, Emily H. Noyes, Mary D. Tompkins, Marie Hazenwinkle, Sarah L. O'Brien, Mrs. William Spencer, and Mrs. M. N. Gilbert, issued the Report of the committee of ladies regarding the closing of the theaters on Sunday. In 1891, Frances Holbrook (1815-1891,) the widow of the Joseph Holbrook, of Helena, Quebec, died of pneumonia, at St. Paul, at the residence of her daughter, Mrs. Pascal Smith, after being stricken with paralysis in 1888 and from pneumonia. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni record indicates that Everett B. Kirk, an 1892 graduate and a wholesale hardware merchant, resided at 445 Laurel Avenue. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Robert A. Kirk and Mary A. (Mrs. R. A.) Kirk, members of the church since 1884, and Everett B. Kirk, a member of the church since 1885, resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Robert A. Kirk resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert Alexander Kirk (1837-1913,) the husband of Mary A. Kirk, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of paralysis and senility, resided at this address in 1913. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. R. A. Kirk and E. B. Kirk both resided at the former nearby 445 Laurel Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. R. A. Kirk and Miss E. M. Allen both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary A. Kirk, the widow of Robert A. Kirk, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Gregory J. Johnson and Kathleen R. Kraulik both resided at 445 Laurel Avenue and that Linn K. Veltema resided at 447 Laurel Avenue. Pascal Smith represented St. Paul's Fourth Ward on the city's board of alderman in 1878 and 1879, started a banking firm under the name of Smith, Meigs & Company in Red Wing, Minnesota, in 1857, purchased the Bank of Red Wing, Minnesota, with Wells Dickinson in 1863, was treasurer of the Hamline University of Minnesota, and was the treasurer of the Tyrian Council, Number 4, Royal and Select Masons. In 1879, Mrs. Pascal Smith was the president of the Home for the Friendless, organized in 1867, intended to provide a residence for homeless women and children, and located at 3 Collins Street. Fanny Holbrook (1814-1890,) the widow of Joseph Holbrook, of Helena, Quebec, died of pneumonia in St. Paul after suffering from paralysis in 1888. Mrs. Pascal Smith was the daughter of Fanny Holbrook. In the 1860's, Pascal Smith of Red Wing, Minnesota, ran a private banking operation and eventually converted it to state bank status. Alice M. L. Smith Wilkinson (1851-1876,) the wife of Thomas Wilkinson, of Burlington, Iowa, was the daughter of Pascal Smith and died of consumption at her parent's home in St. Paul. Robert A. Kirk (1837-1913) was born in Ellsworth, Ohio, received an academic education in Ohio, served for three years in an Ohio Volunteer Infantry during the American Civil War, married Mary E. Allen, the daughter of Martin Allen and Lucy M. Fitch Allen, in Ellsworth, Ohio, in 1865, moved to Salem, Ohio, in 1871, was first employed by C. Aultman & Company, manufacturers of the Buckeye mower and reaper and other agricultural implements, in Canton, Ohio, from 1876 until 1882, moved to St. Paul in 1882, was a merchant, organized Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, a wholesale hardware firm, in 1887, was the treasurer of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, was the president of Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, was the president of the Jobbers Union from 1895 until 1896, was the president of the Chamber of Commerce from 1899 until 1900, was the president of the National Hardware Association from 1901 until 1902, assisted Macalester College in resolving its financial problems before 1906, and officed at Jackson Street at the corner with Second Street in 1907. Robert Alexander Kirk was associated with the Citizens' Association of St. Paul, a local unit of the Citizens' Industrial Association of America. Robert Alexander Kirk was an elder in the House of Hope Presbyterian Church before World War I. Everett B. Kirk was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1924. The property was last sold in 1997 with a sale price of $237,500. The current owners of record of the property are Stephen C. Riendl and Paul D. Hanson. Stephen C. Riendl, a physician with Health Partners, Inc., was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.]

452 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1880; Stick in style. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1543 square foot, three bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Howard resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George F. Kuhles resided at the former nearby 451 Laurel Avenue in 1892. The 1930 city directory indicates that Peter Mies, his wife, Mary Mies, Patrick J. Kierman/Kiernan, a blacksmith, and his wife, Bridget Kierman, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Christine R. Butterfield and Philip J. Obrien both resided at this address. George F. Kuhles was a Democrat in 1896. George F. Kuhles and Henry F. Stock were the partners in Kuhles & Stock, cigar manufacturers located at 80 Robert Street in 1881. Albert W. Kuhles (1882-1892,) of German heritage who died of typhoid fever, was the son of George F. Kuhles. George F. Kuhles (1851-1904) was born in Germany and died in Ramsey County, Minnesota. Henry F. Stock ( -1929) and Peter Mies ( -1933) both died in Ramsey County, Minnesota. Mary Mies ( -1944) died in Hennepin County, Minnesota. Patrick J. Kiernan ( -1940) died in Sibley County, Minnesota. The current owners of record of the property are Christine R. Butterfield and Philip J. O'Brien.

457 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1914; Bungalow in style. The structure is a 1 3/4 story, 1827 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Frye and Miss L. Whitman all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that L. A. Whitney and S. N. Whitney both resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. T. A. Prendergast, her daughter, Miss Alice G. Prendergast, and W. J. Prendergast all resided at the former nearby 457 Laurel Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. J. Hurley resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Lynn W. Hudson resided at this address. Thomas A. Prendergast (1849-1906) was born in Ireland, emigrated to the United States as a child, moved to St. Paul, was a bank trotter and messenger for the St. Paul Savings Bank in 1868, became the assistant cashier of the St. Paul Savings Bank in 1872, was the city clerk of St. Paul from 1879 until 1895, was involved in litigation over the counting of ballots in a municipal judge election in 1880 as The State of Minnesota ex rel. Edwin Gribble v. Thomas Prendergast, was the administrator of the estate of J. H. Donnelly in 1880, was a Democrat, attended the Democratic Party National Convention along with Robert A. Smith, Ansel Oppenheim, James King, H. H. Fuller, W. P. Murray, J. G. Donnelly, William G. Robertson, John Dowlan, Dr. J. A. Quinn, A. G. Foster, P. H. Kelly, P. R. L. Hardenburg, Norman W. Kittson, J. Frost, S. S. Eaton, W. B. McGrorty, and James Smith, Jr., in Chicago in 1884, was the vice president of the St. Paul Savings Bank in 1889, was the president of the St. Paul Savings Bank, was one of the richest men in St. Paul in 1894, was a member of the board of trustees of the Provident Trust Company in 1896, was a member of the St. Paul Board of Water Commissioners, was a member of a federal district court jury in 1896, and died in St. Paul. The last sale of this property was in 1991 and the sale price was $73,000. The current owners of record of the property are Susan Bonne Anderson and Terry Paul Anderson.

458 Laurel Avenue: Dr. Anton Shimonek House; Built in 1882 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Stick in style; C. A. Wildung, builder. The structure is a two story, 3322 square foot, five bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1909 University of Minnesota Catalogue indicates that A. Shimonek, M.D., a clinical professor of surgery, resided at this address. The 1916, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Dr. and Mrs. Anton Shimonek resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Blanche S. Shimonek resided at this address in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward B. Lott, a deputy clerk for the Second District Court, resided at this address. Anton Shimonek (1855- ,) the son of Wenzel Shimonek and Elizabeth Kastomlastky Shimonek, was born in Kossuth, Wisconsin, moved from Manitowoc, Wisconsin, to St. Paul in 1883, was educated to the Rush Medical College of Chicago, Illinois, was educated at the University of Prague, was educated at the University of Vienna, was a clinical professor of surgery at Hamline University, was a member of the surgical staff of the City & County Hospital, was a member of the surgical staff of St. Joseph Hospital, was a member of the Ramsey County Medical Society, was a member of the American Medical Society, and officed at the Defiel Building in 1907. Lucy Blanche Stringham was the daughter of Nicholas E. Stringham and Alice Jane Rowley Stringham, Milton township, Dodge county, Minnesota, and was the wife of Anton Shimonek. Anton Shimonek, M. D., was a graduate of the Rush Medical College of Chicago in 1879 and was a professor of clinical gynecology at Hamline University in 1897 and 1899. The property was last sold in 1994 with a sale price of $170,000. The current owners of record of the property are Howard L. Kline and Paula M. Mollin.

459 Laurel Avenue: Knave/Greer House; Built in 1889 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italianate in style. The structure is a two story, 2038 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Knauff resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Knauff and J. E. Marshall all resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mrs. Wilhelmina Rossberg and W. F. Rossberg both resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16632) indicate that Arthur Harry Kaphingst (1896- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in the Second Company of Dev. Battalion #1, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, light hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a clerk at induction, was a gateman employed by the St. Paul Union Depot Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, W. Kaphingst, at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Frances Bruce resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Albert R. Doroff, a clerk, and his wife, Marie Doroff, and Joseph Kloski, a painter, and his wife, Frances Kloski, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Don J. Papa resided at this address. Arthur Harry Kaphingst ( -1979) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $419,000. The current owners of record of the property are Leah M. Kaufman and Donald J. Papa.

462 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1971; Rambler in style. The structure is a 768 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, split-level frame house. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The current owners of record of the property are Jerry Stanke and Judith Stanke.

466 Laurel Avenue: Andrew Muir House; Built in 1900; Queen Anne in style; A. F. Gauger, architect. The structure is a two story, 5942 square foot, eleven bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Syphronia L. Dennis (1827-1916,) the widowed mother of Elizabeth E. Dennis, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of acute pulmonary edema, resided at this address in 1916. The 1916 city directory indicates that A. B. Christofferson and F. W. Manthey both resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that F. W. Manthey resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#4714) indicate that Paul W. Simmons (1894- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in F. R. S. 305, who was born in Loyal, Wisconsin, moved to Minnesota in 1917, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was an accountant at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a credit man employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16056) indicate that Charles J. Ackerman (1891- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in Company C of the 602nd Engineers, who was born in Duluth, Minnesota, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 4" tall, was a steamfitter at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including St. Michel and the Argonne-Meuse Offensive, was a steamfitter employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his aunt, Recia K. Ackerman, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles J. Ackerman, a steamfitter, Helen E. Brown, the widow of Myron Brown, and Col. J. Ham Davidson, a lawyer who officed at the Pioneer Building, all boarded at this address and that Recia K. Ackerman, the widow of Abram C. Ackerman, and Peter Dobrea, a helper employed by the Great Northern Shops, both resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss Margaret Muir resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that George S. Peniston, a salesman employed by the New York Life Insurance Company, and his wife, Helen M. Peniston, Harris D. Booge, a solicitor with James E. Bennett & Company, and his wife, Mildred Booge, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jerry W. Stanke and Mildred D. Stanke both resided at this address. Andrew Muir ( -1919) died in Rice County. The house was on the city vacant house list in 2002, in 2003, in 2004, in 2005, and in 2007. The current owner of record of the property is Harry Stanke, who resides in Maplewood, Minnesota. [See the note for Swift & Company for 110 Robie Street West.] [See note on Augustus F. Gauger for 295 Summit Avenue.]

469 Laurel Avenue: Ferdinand Willius House; Built in 1892; Classical Revival in style; Millard & Joy, architects. The structure is a two story, 5093 square foot, eight bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Ferdinand Willius resided at this address from 1892 to 1918. In 1897, a basement fire of an unknown cause occurred in a three story frame residence located at this address which was owned and occupied by Ferdinand Willius. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Ferd Willius, their daughter, Mrs. Ida W. Goldsmith, her daughters, F. Willius Goldsmith, and R. F. Willius all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Willius, their daughter, Mrs. J. M. Goldensmith, her daughters, F. Willius Goldsmith, and R. F. Willius all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Oscar Claussen resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Clara M. Claussen, a teacher at Central High School, Frieda H. Claussen, a student, and Oscar Claussen, chief engineer employed by the St. Paul Department of Public Works, all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Oscar Claussen resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edgar T. Herrmann, a physician employed by the Miller Hospital Clinic, and Oscar Claussen, associated with Claussen & Carroll, and his wife, Martha Claussen, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Eileen R. Larson, David Smith, and Laura Jane Smith resided at this address. Ferdinand Willius (1830- ) was born in Bremen, Germany, immigrated to the United States in 1853, moved to St. Paul in 1855, opened a bank in 1856, was the vice president of the German American Bank from 1873 to 1883, and was an organizer of State Savings Bank in 1890. Gustav Willius (1831- ) was born in Bremen, Germany, immigrated to the United States in 1856, moved to St. Paul in 1856, and was the president of the National German American Bank from 1884 to 1889. Oscar Claussen (1860- ,) the son of Augustus Claussen and Maria Kreutzfeld Claussen, was born in Terre Haute, Indiana, attended the public schools of Terre Haute, Indiana, until 1869, attended the gymnasium at Weisbaden, Germany, and at Zurich, Switzerland, from 1869 until 1878, graduated from the Polytechnic School of Zurich, Switzerland, in 1882, was a civil and electrical engineer, settled in St. Paul in 1885/1886, was a draughtsman employed by the Keystone Bridge Company at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, from 1883 until 1885, was the assistant engineer employed by the St. Paul & Northern Pacific RailRoad from 1885 until 1886, traveled in Europe in 1886, was assistant engineer employed in Chicago, Illinois, from 1886 until 1887, was a bridge engineer in charge of designing and construction of new bridges employed by the Chicago Great Western RailRoad at St. Paul from 1887 until 1889, was an assistant engineer in the city engineer's office for the city of St. Paul from 1889 until 1890, headed the engineering department of the Northwest General Electric Company from 1890 until 1893, married Martha Willius in St. Paul in 1891, was a consulting and contracting engineer from 1893 until 1899, was the St. Paul City Engineer and Commissioner of Public Works from 1899 until 1902, was a consulting engineer from 1902 until 1906, was a member of Claussen, Burch & Pillsbury, consulting engineers, after 1906, was the St. Paul City Engineer from 1911 until 1912, resided at 525 Laurel Avenue in 1907, officed at the German American National Bank in 1907, was the president of the Engineers Society of St. Paul, was a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, and was a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Oscar Claussen, who was born in America and was trained as an engineer in Germany, was the City Engineer for the City of Saint Paul in 1901 and was the Commissioner of Public Works for the City of Saint Paul in 1913. Oscar Claussen, who drew the working drafts and was a consulting engineer for the bridge, contended that he was the originator of the idea for the former Hastings, Minnesota, spiral bridge over the Mississippi River, built for $39,050 in 1895 by the Wisconsin Bridge & Iron Company (and razed in 1951, when the wood decked structure was replaced by the current, but deteriorating, steel high bridge.) The spiral on the South end of the bridge allowed the bridge to be high enough to permit steamboats to pass underneath it and allow traffic to descend to the level of the city's Main Street. Oscar Claussen was an author, with Pierce Butler, George M. Tibbs, Cass Gilbert, and Louis Betz, of Report of the Capitol Approaches Commission to the Common Council of the City of St. Paul. In 1901, Oscar Claussen, in his capacity as City Engineer, with A. J. Stobbart, the assistant St. Paul corporation counsel, and John C. Caulfield, secretary of the St. Paul Board of Water Commissioners, prepared a report on the electrolytic conditions in St. Paul. In 1918, Oscar Claussen authored three published papers on roads and pavement noted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, "Experiences in Force Account Paving in the City of St. Paul," "Force Account Paving In St. Paul," and "Some Points on Force Account Paving." Martha Willius Claussen, the daughter of Ferdinand Willius, was the wife of Oscar Claussen, and they resided on Laurel Avenue in 1901. The property was last sold for $230,000 and that sale occurred in 1992. The current owners of record of the property are Todd Smith and David G. Surdez. David Surdez previously was the Index Office Supervisor in the Chief Clerk's Office of the Minnesota House of Representatives. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Hascal R. Brill resided at the nearby former 471 Laurel Avenue from 1887 to 1922. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Abby Jane Colt Gray (1829-1912,) the widowed mother of Mrs. Hascal R. Brill, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of edema of the lungs, resided at the nearby former 471 Laurel Avenue in 1912. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Hon. and Mrs. H. R. Brill and their daughters all resided at the former nearby 471 Laurel Avenue. In 1916, Hascal Russel Brill, a judge of the second judicial district, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at the nearby former 471 Laurel Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Hon. Hascal R. Brill, a Second Judicial District judge, resided at the former nearby 471 Laurel Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mathilda De Ber, the widow of George De Ber, and Mrs. Della Kuehn both resided at the former nearby 471 Laurel Avenue. Hascal Russell Brill (1846- ,) the son of Thomas R. Brill and Sarah Sager Brill, was born in Phillipsburgh/Mississquoi, Quebec, Canada, was educated in Canadian public schools, came to Minnesota in 1859, was educated in Minnesota public schools, was educated at Hamline University, Red Wing, Minnesota, and at the University of Michigan, studied law, taught in Minnesota country district schools, moved to St. Paul in 1867, was admitted to the practice of law in 1869, formed a partnership with Stanford Newel, was elected a Ramsey County probate judge in 1871 and served for two years, married Cora A. Gray (1850- ) of Niagara County, New York, in 1873, was a Republican, was appointed a judge in the court of common pleas in 1875, later was elected to the Ramsey District Court in 1887, resided at 471 Laurel Avenue in 1907, and officed at the St. Paul Court House in 1907. Hascal Brill and Cora Gray Brill had two children, Hascal Brill (1875- ) and Edith Brill (1876- .) The 1880 federal census indicates that the Hascal Brill household included Cora Brill (1851- ,) Hascal Brill, Jr. (1875- ,) Edith Brill (1876- ,) Thomas R. Brill (1816- ,) the father of Hascal Brill, Abby Gray (1829- ,) the mother of Cora Brill, and Elizabeth Steinberg (1859- ,) a servant. In 1918, Hascal Brill had the record for the longest service as a judge in Minnesota. Hascal Brill was the author of Cyclopedia of Criminal Law. [See note on Pierce Butler for 1345-1347 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the St. Paul & Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.] [See note on the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks for 334 Cherokee Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Ferdinand Willius and Gustav Willius for 469 Laurel Avenue.]

472 Laurel Avenue: Kolff/Dabrey House; Built in 1880 (1888 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Stick in style; Charles T. Mould, architect. The structure is a two story, 2192 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Kolff resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Horace W. Eddy resided at this address in 1889. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Frank Dabney resided at this address in 1896. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Gilbert Howard Eddy (1900-1915,) the single son of Howard W. Eddy, who was born in Saint Paul to parents also born in the United States and England and who died of diabetes mellitus, resided at this address in 1915. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Eddy resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Allan W. Eddy, a student, boarded at this address and that Horace W. Eddy, a cashier employed by Lanpher, Skinner & Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Eddy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Horace W. Eddy, a cashier with Gordon & Ferguson, and his wife, Mary E. Eddy, resided at this address. Horace W. Eddy was the treasurer of the St. Peter Episcopal Church in 1892 and 1897 and was the executor of the estate of the Walter N. Sanborn against the Ch1cago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway Company in 1914. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jason Burnstein resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Catherine McGuire and John Bartlett McGuire. Charles T. Mould was an architect located at the Mannheimer Building and resided at 162 Virginia Street according to the 1885 city directory and was a partner with Robert McNicol in Mould & McNicol, officing at the Drake Block, according to the 1891 city directory. In 1896, Horace W. Eddy oficed at the First National Bank Building. Frank Dabney was an incorporator of the Minnesota River & Rail Electric Company in 1889. [See note on Richards Gordon and the Gordon-Ferguson Company for 378 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Minnesota River & Rail Electric Company.]

475 Laurel Avenue: ; Former San Mateo Apartments; Built in 1892 (1895 according to the Minnesota Historical Society;) Classical Revival in style; F. T. Clarke, architect. The structure is a brick condominium building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit E2 is a 1417 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Donna M. Foster. Unit E4 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Mary E. Morris. Unit E6 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1991 at a sale price of $95,000, and is currently owned by Philip Asgian. The 1916 city directory indicates that T. J. Newman, F. W. Saint, and Mrs. H. G. McManus all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Maron and Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Loper all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Adeline Allie, the widow of David Allie, boarded at this address and that Charlotte M. Dowling, the widow of Patrick E. Dowling and a clerk employed by E. E. Atkinson & Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Maron, their daughter, and Miss J. C. Sibbitt all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were John Strasser (Apartment #1,) Everett E. Blakley, a tire representative with City Motor Supply Company, and his wife, Cleo T. Blakley, and Frank E. Edwards, a barber, and his wife, Mary Edwards (Apartment #2,) James Donahue and his wife, Mary Donahue (Apartment #4,) Mrs. Charlotte M. Dowling, the widow of Patrick E. Dowling, and Charlotte S. Donahue, a saleswoman (Apartment #5,) and Mrs. Minnie Boudin, the widow of Adolphus Boudin (Apartment #6,) with Apartment #3 vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Philip John Asgian, Darren K. Foster, Donna M. Foster, and Mary Eleanor Morris all resided at this address and that Philip Asgian Consulting Inc. was located at this address. Frank A. Maron (1863- ,) the son of Ludwig Maron and Sofie Krawietz Maron, was born in Koschmieder, Prussia, Germany, received a classical education in German schools, came to the United States in 1882, worked as blacksmith, settled in St. Paul, learned telegraphy 1884 and conducted a school of telegraphy in 1885, was an educator, founded the Globe Business College to provide a practical education for young men and women in 1885, married Margaret Mitsch in 1897, was the principal of the Globe Business College until 1901, graduated in law from the University of Minnesota in 1904, practiced law until 1905, then engaged in the fire insurance, real estate, investment and loan businesses, built and owned the Euclid Hotel, located at 405 Washington Avenue (the Northwest corner of Washington Avenue and Sixth Street,) resided at 645 Central Park Place in 1907, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. The Globe Business College became the Globe University/Minnesota School of Business.

476 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1912; Colonial Revival in style; F. A. Clarke and Carl Peterson, architects. The structure is a stucco condominium building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 853 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Carlos A. Badessich. Unit 2 is a 853 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Edward S. Wilson. Unit 3 is a 853 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $162,500, and is currently owned by Heidi L. Swanson. Unit 4 is a 853 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2002 at a sale price of $109,900, and is currently owned by Brian R. Vats Fournier and Manika Vats Fournier. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Allen resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Darling, their daughter, H. A. Noble, and Mrs. S. R. Tallman all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11770) indicate that Elizabeth G. Morgan (1889- ,) a 1918 enlistee and a Reserve Nurse in the Army Nurse Corps, who was born in Niche, North Dakota, was a nurse at induction, served with the American Expeditionary Force in Germany and on the S. S. Mongolia, was a nurse after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Aug F. Behneke, a manager employed by Ella M. Dickson, Alb R. Behnke, a department manager employed by the Northwestern Electric Equipment Company, and Raymond J. Bradley, all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Behnke, Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Bradley, Mr. and Mrs. C. L. Kress, E. R. Meservey, Mrs. E. T. Meservey and her daughters, and Mrs. Emma Meservey all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Patrick A. O'Keefe, a watchman employed by the St. Paul Institute, and his wife, Mary L. O'Keefe (Apartment #1,) Samuel Barron, associated with Barron Brush Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Mollie Barron (Apartment #2,) Mary G. Arthur, a psychologist with Child Guidance Clinic (Apartment #3,) and William D. Moulder, a compiler employed by the Hackett, Gates, Hurty Company, and Louella J. Moulder, a revisor employed by the West Publishing Company (Apartment #4.) The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Carlos Aristides Badessich, Catherine Scopa Badessich, Maryann A. Bauer, Marie E. Bilbus, Sarah M. Morreim, and Heidi Lynn Swanson resided at this address and that Story Board was located at this address. The S. S. Mongolia was a 13,638 gross ton passenger-cargo steamship, was built in 1904 at Camden, New Jersey, for the trans-Pacific commercial service, was shifted to Atlantic routes in 1915, received a self-defense armament of Navy-manned guns in 1917 and shortly thereafter fought off a German submarine, continued in civilian operation carrying U.S. troops to Europe until early 1918, then was taken over by the U. S. Navy and was commissioned as the U.S.S. Mongolia (ID # 1615), remained in transport service until the Armistice, then transported American troops back from France, was decommissioned in 1919 and returned to her owner, was twice renamed, becoming the S. S. President Fillmore in 1929 and the S. S. Panamanian in 1940, and was scrapped at Shanghai, China, in 1946. Carlos Badessich, Ph. D., is a Professor of Spanish at the University of St. Thomas. Brian Vats-Fournier is an English teacher and the newspaper advisor at Minneapolis North Community High School, was a reporter in 1996 for The Minnesota Daily, the student newspaper at the University of Minnesota, and was a 2004 Kerry/Education Subcaucus Senate District 64 delegate to the State Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) Party Convention and Mira Vats-Fournier was a 2004 Kerry/Education Subcaucus Senate District 64 alternate to the Fourth Congressional District DFL Party Convention. Manika Vats Fournier was the Arts International Editor in 1994 at The Minnesota Daily. [See note for the Hackett, Gates, Hurty Company for 454 North Smith Avenue.]

477 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1892. The structure is a brick condominium building. Unit E-1 is a 1417 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2001 at a sale price of $250,000, and is currently owned by Linn K. Veltema. Unit E3 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1997 at a sale price of $140,000, and is currently owned by Jeanne W. Quan. Unit E-5 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Karen S. Reither and William G. Wallace. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. T. E. Mathes, their daughter, Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Meilicke, and Mrs. L. L. Sahlgaard all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. J. Mellicke resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#20465) indicate that William V. Kelly (1891- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Corporal in Company A of the Headquarters Battalion, G. H. 2., who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a ruddy complexion, was 5' 5" tall, was a stenographer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was awarded two gold chevrons, was a stenographer employed by W. H. Schmelzel Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, R. C. Kelly, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Everett E. Blakley, a vulcanizer employed by Gerlich & Pickar, roomed at this address, that Katherine P. Casey, a clerk employed by Field Schlick & Company, and Theresa A. Casey, a clerk employed by the U. S. Internal Revenue Service, both boarded at this address, and that Frank E. Edwards, a barber employed by Frank Hess, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Gordon F. Goodwin, Jeanine W. Quan, Karen S. Reither, and William George Wallace resided at this address and Jeanine Quan Marketing Inc. was located at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Moe, a janitor, an his wife, Karin Moe, resided at the former nearby 477 1/2 Laurel Avenue. [See note on the Field, Schlick & Company for 670 Goodrich Avenue.]

479 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1892. The structure is a brick condominium building. Unit W2 is a 1417 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Patricia A. Conn. Unit W-4 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Sandra Sorenson Brophy. Unit W-6 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by James P. McCarthy, who resides in Minneapolis. The 1910-1911 Directory of the University of Minnesota indicates that Gertrude Moore, a student, resided at this address. Edward Doyle, the father of Joseph M. Doyle, resided at this address in 1917. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Moore and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Bernhardt Sandler resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that John M. Doyle (1892- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Sergeant First Class in the Chief Surgeon Detachment, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 6" tall, was a civil engineer at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a labor foreman employed by Blome Simmick Company, and was unmarried, resided with his father, Edward Doyle, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board indicate that Joseph M. Doyle (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private First Class in the 135th Ambulance Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had grey eyes, brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a rodman at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, and was employed as a clerk by Blomr Finch Company, resided at this address with his aunt, Ella Jennings. The 1920 city directory indicates that Catherine N. Doyle, a clerk employed by the Merchants National Bank, Edward J. Doyle, a machinist employed by the Great Northern Shops, John M Doyle, a timekeeper employed by the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal Railway Company, Joseph M. Doyle, a bookkeeper, Lawrence W. Doyle, a clerk employed by the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and Mary E. Doyle, a bookkeeper employed by the Hackett Gates Hurty Company, all boarded at this address and that Edward Doyle, a bookkeeper, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Edward Doyle, Joseph Doyle, H. W. Sandler, Mrs. Rose Dandler, and her daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were N. Alf Jensen, a carpenter, and his wife, Anna Jensen, (Apartment #7,) Edward R. Olsson, a station operator employed by the Sinclair Refining Company, his wife, Lillian M. Olsson, and Edward B. Olsson, an attendant employed by the Sinclair Refining Company (Apartment #8,) John W. Schwenk (Apartment #9,) John E. Sanny (Apartment #10,) Frank H. Snyder (Apartment #11,) and John P. Sundberg (Apartment #12.) The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that James Brodny, Sandra Sorenson Brophy, Patricia A. Conn, James Patrick McCarthy, and Sandra Sorenson Sorenson all resided at this address. Jim Brophy, of the Minnesota Radio Control Soaring Society, currently resides at this address. Bernhardt Sandler owned and operated a fur shop in St. Paul in 1901 and suffered an explosion and fire in the shop in 1901 from a gasoline tank. [See note for the Hackett, Gates, Hurty Company for 454 North Smith Avenue.] [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for the St. Paul Bridge & Terminal Railway Company.]

481 Laurel Avenue: San Mateo Flats/F. Scott Fitzgerald Birthplace. Built in 1892. The structure is a brick condominium building. Unit W-1 is a 1417 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Cesaria M. Bauer and Mark G. Bauer. Unit W-3 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Richard P. McDermott. Unit W5 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $280,000, and is currently owned by Felix Ankel. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. C. Golling resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#2368) indicate that Louis P. McDermott (1887- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Private in the Radio Detachment, Second A. E. C., who was born in Galena, Illinois, moved to Minnesota in 1910, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 5' 10" tall, was a radio operator at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a clerk employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his brother, Charles D. McDermott, at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15276) indicate that Leo M. Foley (1889- ,) a 1917 draftee and a Second Lieutenant at the Recruit Depot Post at Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, who was born in Belle Plaine, Minnesota, had gray eyes, gray hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 7 3/4" tall, was a pharmacist at induction, was a pharmacist employed by the Seven Corner Drug Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. M. P. Foley, at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Morris P. Foley, a slaesman, resided at this address, that Cecelia Doyle, a cashier employed by William McMurray & Company, Evelyn H. Foley, a stenographer, Gertrude M. Foley, a stenographer employed by Orr, Stark & Kidder, and Robert E. Foley, a clerk employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, all boarded at this address, and that Leo M. Foley, a clerk employed by the Seven Corners Drug Company, and Elizabeth Bork, a seamstress, both roomed at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. P. Foley, and M. C. Hagan all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Felix Karl Ankel M.D., Cesaria M. Bauer, Mark G. Bauer, and Richard P. McDermott resided at this address. See the note of Fitzgerald for 587-601 Summit Avenue. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

482 Laurel Avenue: Built in 1880 (1882 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italianate in style; Herman Tassman, architect. The structure is a two story, 2362 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. T. Baldwin, Mrs. M. Duncan, and C. H. Duncan all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. Duncan and C. H. Duncan both resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Duncan resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles H. Duncan, a teacher at Mechanic Arts High School, resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles H. Duncan, a teacher at Mechanic Arts High School, and his wife, Katherine G. Duncan, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Charles Bernard Didier and Susan Jean Didier resided at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Charles B. Didier and Susan J. Didier. [See note on the Mechanic Arts High School for 656 Portland Avenue.]

138-140 Arundel Street: The structure is a multifamily apartment building. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at 138 Arundel Street were Alexi Balmouth, Erin Conklin, Suzanne Depaulo, Pauline Hamilton, Barbara Tkach Haverberg, John Lee Haverberg, Karen Louise Henaitah, Alli Henaltah, Beniamin J. Krueger, Hillery Lanking, Harriet Lemke, Jessica Jane Murry, Marie Michele Murry, Steven Paul Olson, Noble Ram, and Christina Semmer and that the residents at 140 Arundel Street were Michael Anthony, Shyrl M. Boggie, Lori K. Cook, Michael David Cook, Craig Hunter, Craig Steven Knopik, Emily Maday, Stuart Olson, Kelly G. Sobczak, A. Tweeten, Mauricio M. Washington, and Vera Runa Washington. The property was last sold in 2000 for $1,215,000. The current owner of record of the property is M & H Properties LLC, located in Eagan, Minnesota.

120 Arundel Street: Built in 1894. Unit 1M is a 1216 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, brick condominium unit. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Kellina Marie Porthan resided at this address. The last sale of the unit occurred in 2002 and had a purchase price of $173,501. The current owner of record of the unit is Kellina M. Porthan. The 1930 city directory indicates that Walter E. Glardon, a mechanic employed by the Powers Motor Company, resided at the former nearby 110 Arundel Avenue.

110 Arundel Street: The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jessie Alan Yeager and Suzanne White Yeager resided at this address.

95 Arundel Street: Built in 1999. The structure is a 2450 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Hansen R. Clarey and John Marley Clarey both resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Patricia A. Harvey. Patricia A. Harvey, Ph.D., was the superintendent of the St. Paul Public Schools, was the former Chief Accountability Officer for the Chicago Public Schools at the conclusion of her 28 year career with the Chicago system, was a senior fellow at the National Center on Education and the Economy, and is a member of the Executive Committee of the Council of the Great City Schools. Ms. Harvey resigned from the superintendency of the St. Paul Public School system in 2005.

88 Arundel Street: Built in 1913 (1955 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Classical Revival/Mildly Classical Revival in style; Samuel Nicholson, builder. The structure is a one story, 1368 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, frame portion of a duplex, with a detached garage (see 86 Arundel Street.) This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. B. M. King and E. B. Williams all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. McLaughlin resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Olin H. Espy, a real estate agent located at the Dakota Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that L. A. Gilbert resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Caroline M. Gilbert, a teacher at the Mechanic Arts High School, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Nora Denise Hansard resided at this address. The property was last sold in 2003 with a sale price of $200,000. The current owner of record of the property is Nora D. Hansard. [See note on the Mechanic Arts High School for 656 Portland Avenue.]

86 Arundel Street: Built in 1913 (1906 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey; 1955 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Classical Revival/Mildly Classical Revival in style; Samuel Nicholson, builder. The structure is a one story, 1616 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame portion of a duplex, with a detached garage. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the slightly altered overall structure is a 2 1/2 story duplex, with three bays, 1/1 fenestration, a hipped roof with two hipped roof side shed dormers and a central gabled roof dormer, a limestone foundation, projecting eaves, a two story porch with shingled corner piers that forms an elliptical opening, Tuscan columns set on rectangular bases, and a simple square balustrade. The estimated construction cost of the structure was $5,500. The original owner was Mrs. Jennie L. Creelman. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. M. M. Wachenheimer, Mrs. Fredericka Markert, and her daughter all resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#16092) indicate that Ralph H. Madsen (1897- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private First Class in the Medical Department, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 8" tall, was a live stock buyer at induction, was a live stock buyer employed by Swift & Company after the completion of service, and was married, resided with his wife at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. M. M. Wachenheimer, Mrs. Fredericka Mackert, and Miss I. M. Mackert all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. Frances Madsen (1895-1992) is the widow of Ralph Madsen, died in Tampa, Florida, and is buried at Acacia Cemetery, Mendota, Minnesota. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Bettina Richter and Roland Richter resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Gregory J. Cline, who resides in Minneapolis.

84 Arundel Street: Built in 1955. The structure is a one story, 1722 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The last sale of this property was in 1999 and the sale price was $180,000. The current owner of record of the property is Judith L. Oliver.

80-82 Arundel Street: Built in 1915 (1914 according to Ramsey County property tax records, 1913 according to the 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey;) Prairie School/Craftsman/Mission in style. The structure is a two story, 3120 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, brick and stucco duplex, with a detached garage. The 1982 Ramsey County Historic Sites Survey indicates that the house has four bays, a flat roof, two exterior endwall brick chimneys, rectangular 4/1 and 6/1 fenestration, limestone foundation, a bungalow inspired facade, enclosed porches with hip roofs and exposed rafters, bracketed window boxes grouped in a horizontal band, and windows grouped in a horizontal band. The 1982 survey suggests that the bungalow features on this duplex allow it to blend in with the surrounding single familiy houses. The house was built for $5,000. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The original owner of the duplex, built as investment property, was Max Toltz, who resided at 433 Holly Avenue in 1914. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. F. Shaw resided at 80 Arundel Street and that Mr. and Mrs. F. L. Paetzold resided at 82 Arundel Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Frank C. Carter, a travel agent, resided at 82 Arundel Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Austin J. Baillon resided at 80 Arundel Avenue and that Hugh A. McConville, a yard superintendent employed by the St. Paul City Water Works, George T. McConville, a correspondent for the Associated Press, and Marguerite McConville, a teacher at the Randolph Heights School, all resided at 82 Arundel Avenue. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Curtis Victor Carlson and Dolores Carlson resided at 80 Arundel Street and that Christopher J. Parton resided at 82 Arundel Street. The property was last sold for $422,000 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owner of record of the property is Sarah K. Kinney, who resides at 78 Arundel Avenue. [See note on Max Toltz.] [See note on Frederic L. Paetzold for 825 Fairmount Avenue.]

78 Arundel Street: Built in 1900; Max Toltz, original architect; Neil Hiedeman, renovation designer/painter, and Joan Breen, renovation interior designer. The structure is a two story, 5634 square foot, multi-family apartment building according to Ramsey County property tax records. The homeowner indicates that the house was built as the personal residence of architect Max Toltz, but that, in 1909, it was divided into the five apartments that exist today. The house has a bow window that is composed of 400 panes of beveled glass. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Phillippina Krahmer and Mr. and Mrs. M. E. Toltz all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Otto W. Burmeister, a manager employed the Metal Weather Strip Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that O. W. Burmeister resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Otto W. Burmeister, the secretary of Hauenstein & Burmeister, and his wife, Blanche Burmeister, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jeffrey Ryan and Wendy Ryan resided at this address and that Ryan Design & Remodeling is located at this address. Otto Burmeister ( -1941) held the patent for double hung aluminum storm windows in 1923 and formed Hauenstein & Burmeister, Inc., located in Minneapolis in 1927, with George Hauenstein, of New Ulm, Minnesota, who previously sold weather stripping for wood storm windows. Hauenstein & Burmeister was established in 1923 as a weather-stripping company and expanded its capabilities in the 1940's by purchasing a metal fabrication shop to manufacture airplane hangar doors and started manufacturing elevator entrances along with hollow metal and other metal specialties. In 1953, Hauenstein & Burmeister entered the custom passenger elevator cab and entrance business and built a new and expanded facility in Minneapolis. The current owner of record of the property is Sarah K. Kinney, who initially resided in the house as an apartment renter and purchased the building in 1988. Sarah Kinney is a real estate agent with Coldwell Banker Burnet. Sarah K. Kinney, a realtor with Coldwell Banker Burnet, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. [See note on Max Toltz.]

428-436 Holly Avenue: Built in 1882 (1915 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Spanish Colonial Revival in style. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Unit 1 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1992 at a sale price of $139,000, and is currently owned by Georgianna L. Anderson. Unit 2 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, and is currently owned by Joan M. Dresbeck. Unit 3 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, and is currently owned by Nancy H. Zingale. Unit 4 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, and is currently owned by D. J. Anderson. Unit 5 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1999 at a sale price of $189,900, and is currently owned by Christopher J. Wendell, who resides at 510 Grand Avenue. Unit 6 is a 1784 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, stucco condominium unit, and is currently owned by Charlotte Prentice. The 1915 city directory indicates that J. Gilpin Pyle was a journalist and resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that the residents at 436 Holly Avenue were Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Casey, Mr. and Mrs. S. M. Archer, E. K. Pennett, C. L. Kluckhohn, his daughters, Everett F. Morgan and Miss Elizabeth Morgan. The 1918 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Casey, Mrs. C. L. Crowell, Mr. and Mrs. William O'Brien, Mr. and Mrs. W. R. Gilliam, C. L. Kluckhohn, his daughters, Mrs. F. L. Morgan, her daughter, Everett F. Morgan, and Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Pyle. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#6473) indicate that Amherst A. Fry (1894- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Corporal at Base Hospital #11, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, dark brown hair, and a dark complexion, was 6' 1 1/2" tall, was a student at Lake Forest, Illinois, at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was unemployed after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided at this address with his mother, Maria J. (Mrs. Christian) Fry. The 1920 city directory indicates that Lincoln R. Brown, president of L. R. Brown Company, milliners, resided at 436 Holly Avenue and that Margaret Cooley, a student boarded at 436 Holly Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Rose Lindeke (1839-1924,) the widowed mother of Mrs. G. F. Schurmeier, who was born in Austria to parents who were born in Austria and who died of arteriosclerosis, resided at 436 Holly Avenue in 1924. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William O'Brien, Mrs. William Lindeke, Miss Elsa Mannheimer, George Mannheimer, and Mrs. Jacob Mannheimer all resided at 436 Holly Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at 436 Holly Avenue were Mrs. Rose Schurmeier, the widow of Gustav Schurmeier, Mrs. Louise Mannheimer, the widow of Jacob Mannheimer, Hope G. McCall, a real estate rental, loans and insurance agent who officed at 360 Robert Street, his wife, Irma McCall, Herbert Bigelow, the president of Brown & Bigelow, and Reuben Warner. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at 436 Holly Avenue were Dawn Jo Anderson, Georgiana L. Anderson, Joan Marie Dresbeck, William H. Flanigan, Julie Ann Layer, Charlotte J. Prentice, and Nancy H. Zingate. Joseph Gilpin Pyle ( -1930) was a publisher, was the first director of the Hill Reference Library, established in 1917, and died in Ramsey County. Joseph Gilpin Pyle (1853- ) was born in Calvert, Maryland, graduated from Yale University in 1877, was a teacher at the Shattuck School in Faribault, Minnesota, from 1877 to 1881, worked for a newspaper from 1881 to 1898, and engaged in magazine and other writing in 1905. Joseph G. Pyle was the author of The Life of James J. Hill, published by Doubleday, Page & Company, New York, New York, in 1917. Pyle's book is part history and part adulation and was the most complete source of information about Hill until Hill's personal records were opened to the public in the 1970's. The book also is a history of the Great Northern Railway. Pyle was a Hill employee and speechwriter, hence was biased, and his book is more entertainment and a source of anecdotes than fact. Joseph G. Pyle gave a memorial address for James J. Hill before the Minnesota Historical Society in 1918. The 1920 city directory also indicates that Joseph G. Pyle was a manager who resided at 703 Linwood Avenue, while the 1924 city directory indicates that J. G. Pyle resided at the same address. Jacob Mannheimer (1847-1903,) the son of Moses/Moritz Mannheimer (1808-1861,) a doctor, and Johanna Lindenthal Mannheimer (1813-1881,) was born in Bavaria, Germany, emigrated to the United States, initially resided in Chicago, moved to St. Paul in 1871, engaged in the dry goods business with his brothers Emil Mannheimer and Robert Mannheimer, married Louisa Gruber (1857-1950,) the daughter of George Gruber and Susanna Gruber in 1882, was a Democrat and a supporter of Grover Cleveland in 1884, and died in St. Paul. Jacob Mannheimer and Louisa Gruber Mannheimer were the parents of seven children. William Lindeke (1835-1892) was born in Seehansen, Prussia, Germany, emigrated to the United States in 1854, moved to St. Paul in 1856 or 1857, briefly was a laborer in the lumber business, then worked in milling, operated a mill for another owner from 1862 until 1865, established a large milling business with his brother, Frederick Lindeke, and had real estate interests with his brother, A. H. Lindeke, owned a dry goods store, was a member of the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners from 1873 until 1879, and died in St. Paul. Nancy H. Zingale, a professor at the University of St. Thomas who resided at 436 Holly Avenue, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Reilly and Mrs. Eliza J. Reilly all resided at the former nearby 426 Holly Avenue. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Thomas McKay resided at the former nearby 426 Holly Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Adele H. Hughes (1859-1920,) the unmarried sister of Eunice Hughes, who was born in Pennsylvania to parents born in the United States and who died of apoplexy, resided at the nearby former 426 Holly Avenue in 1920. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James Suydam (1842-1926,) the married father of Ella Sandham, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of pneumonia, resided at the nearby former 426 Holly Avenue in 1926. The 1930 city directory also indicates that Merle E. Thompson, a foreman employed by Brown & Bigelow, and his wife, Anastasia Thompson, resided at the former nearby 426 Holly Avenue. In 1888, James Suydam was under consideration by the State Prohibition Party Convention for nomination as the party's candidate for the St. Paul seat in the U. S. House of Representatives. James Suydam was the agent for the Goodyear Rubber company in 1886, received a United States patent (#362,554) for the invention of a vent in 1887, and was the president of the Mahtomedi, Minnesota, Chautauqua Assembly in 1887. [See the note for William J. O'Brien for 1034-1038 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Albert W. Lindeke and Lindeke, Warner & Schurmeier for 345 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Shreve M. Archer for 744 West Osceola Avenue.]

429 Holly Avenue: Built in 1881; Italianate in style. The structure is a two story, 3585 square foot, multi-family apartment building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that John Caulfield and Miss Maria Caulfield both resided at this address. The 1887 and 1916 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. James Suydam resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. James Suydam and Mr. and Mrs. O. W. Burmeister all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. James Suydam resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James S. O'Donnell, a department manager employed by the O'Donnell Shoe Corporation, and James R. O'Donnell, secretary of the O'Donnell Shoe Corporation, both resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mark Lauren Kath, s. Nelson, Lawrence J. Raymond, and Carrie Elizabeth Thomas. The current owner of record of the property is Sarah K. Kinney, who resides at 78 Arundel Avenue.

433 Holly Avenue: Claus M. Dittman House; Built in 1884; Queen Anne in style. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Claus M. Dittmann resided at this address from 1883 to 1889. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Dittmann resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Engebreth H. Hobe resided at this address in 1894. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Max Toltz, Mrs. Phillipine Krahmer, and Mr. and Mrs. O. W. Burmeister all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Rogers and J. D. Wallwork all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John K. Howe, a station superintendent for the Skelly Oil Company, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were J. F. Chevalier and S. Chevalier. Engebreth Hagbart Hobe (1860-1940) was born in Sĝnfeled, near Risor, Norway, was educated in schools in Norway and in Copenhagen, Denmark, including Gruner's business school, was a bookkeeper for the Thrane wholesale house in Kristiania, Norway, served in the Norwegian military, emigrated to the United States in 1883, moved to Minnesota in 1883, settled in St. Paul, was employed as a clerk by the business office of the newspaper Nordvesten, became the associated editor of Nordvesten, married Johanne A. Muller/Moller in Copenhagen, Denmark, in 1886, became the land dealing business partner of Hagbarth Sahlgaard, the Norwegian consul, was engaged in lumber and land investments, operated E. H. Hobe Lumber Company in the wholesaling and manufacture of lumber after 1889, was the vice president of the Hobe-Peters Land Company, was the immigration agent of the the Minneapolis, St. Paul, & Sault Ste. Marie RailRoad, was the president of the Orness Esswein Company, was the president of Luther Hospital, was a colonel on staff of the governor of Minnesota, was the Swedish-Norwegian Vice Consul, then was the Norwegian Consul after 1893, patented as mechanical milking apparatus in 1894, purchased the town of Knox Mills, Price County, Wisconsin, for the purpose of selling land to Scandinavian immigrants in 1896, built the Solheim mansion, a two-story Victorian Gothic structure with 18 rooms, hexagonal conservatory, cupola, five fireplaces, double oak doors, beveled glass, hardwood floors, two staircases, 10-foot high ceilings and four-story flag tower, at Birchwood, Bald Eagle Lake, Minnesota, in 1897, was made Knight of Vasa by Order of King Oscar of Sweden in 1903, was awarded a Swedish medal at Bald Eagle Lake, Minnesota, by Swedish King Gustav in 1909, became a member of the board of directors of the Norse-American Steamship Line in 1910, organized the American-Norwegian Chanber of Commerce in St. Paul in 1915, was visited by Crown Prince Olave and Princess Martha of Norway in the 1930's, was a member of the board of trustees of the St. Paul Institute in 1911, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Norden Club, was a member of Nordkap 8, officed at the New York Life Building in 1907, resided at Bald Eagle Lake, Minnesota, in 1907, resided on Dayton Avenue in 1940, and died in St. Paul. Engebreth H. Hobe had at least two brothers, John A. Hobe and Tarald O. Hobe ( -1917.) Engebreth H. Hobe (1860-1940) was the Norwegian counsel in Minnesota for 40 years, patented a milking machine in the United States in 1894, and was the vice president of the Hobe-Peters Land Company. Engebreth H. Hobe purchased the town of Knox Mills, Price County, Wisconsin, in 1896, when it was a virtual ghost town, but his Scandinavian contacts assisted in repopulating the town. Engebreth Hobe married Johanne Müller and died in St. Paul. Hobe & Company were the General Northwestern Passenger Agents for the Norwegian American Line Passenger Agency, Inc., in 1914. The papers of Engebreth Hobe were given to the Minnesota Historical Society in 1940. Arthur O. Hobe (1887-1894,) of Scandanavian extraction who died of gastroenteritis, was the son of Engebreth H. Hobe. Mrs. Ragnhild Brodie of New Orleans, Louisiana, was a daughter of Engebreth Hobe and Johanne Müller Hobe. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George G. Sanborn (1827-1916,) the widower father of Mrs. J. G. Pyle, who was born in New Hampshire to parents who were born in the United States and who died of senility, resided at the nearby former 436 Holly Avenue in 1916. In 1916, Charles L. Kluckhohn was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Marie H. R. Fry (1889-1918,) the single daughter of Christian Fry, who was born in Minnesota to parents who were born in Germany and in the United States and who died of influenza/pneumonia, resided at the nearby former 436 Holly Avenue in 1918. The 1920 city directory indicates that Ralph Budd, the president of the Great Northern RailRoad, resided at the former nearby 436 Holly Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Herbert Bigelow resided at the nearby former 436 Holly Avenue in 1930. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Creighton Churchill, who attended the school from 1917 until 1924, attended Harvard University, and married Clothilde Irvine in 1936, and that Eugene A. Maher (1917- ,) who was born in St. Paul, who attended the school from 1929 until 1930, and who attended the University of Minnesota, both resided at the former 436 Holly Avenue. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Dawn Jo Anderson, Georgiana L. Anderson, Joan Marie Dresbeck, William H. Flanigan, Julie Ann Layer, Charlotte J. Prentice, and Nancy H. Zingate. Claus M. Dittmann (1847- ) was born in Germany, immigrated to the United States in 1867, moved to Minnesota in 1867, and was an organizer and the cashier of the Farmington, Dakota County, Minnesota, bank. [See note on Max Toltz.] [See note on Charles Louis Kluckhohn for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Joseph Gilpin Pyle for 703 West Linwood Avenue.] [See note on Ralph Budd for 475 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See the note for Herbert H. Bigelow for 550 Summit Avenue.]

442 Holly Avenue: Built in 1925; Classical Revival in style. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Sovereign resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. J. Sovereign resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. F. Gran resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Mary Sovereign, the widow of Allen J. Sovereign, resided at this address. A. J. Sovereign was a member of the Committee on the State of the Church of the Missionary District of Duluth of the Minnesota Episcopal Church, was a 35 year veteran of the Northern Pacific RailRoad, and retired in 1914 from the position of the Superintendent of the Minnesota Division of the railroad in Staples, Minnesota. [See note for the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

443 Holly Avenue: Built in 1902; Tudor Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 4649 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916, 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Stott resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John F. Scott, a lawyer who officed at the New York Building, and his wife, Edna Scott, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Daniel Burditt Duddingston and Lara Page Duddingston. The current owners of record of the property are Daniel B. Duddingston and Lara P. Duddingston. Daniel Burditt Duddingston was a 1990 graduate of the University of Minnesota. Daniel Duddingston, the owner, with brother David Duddingston, of National Account Services, a collections business in Minneapolis, and was the chair of the Committee 2 Recall Randy.org, an organization that attempted to recall St. Paul mayor Randy Kelly after he endorsed George W. Bush for re-election as president in 2004. Dan Duddingston and Lara Duddingston are the parents of Cameron Duddingston and Conrad Duddingston, French immersion school students in Independent School District No. 625, St. Paul.

444 Holly Avenue: Built in 1913. The structure is a two story, 4066 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Dow resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Harry L. Dow, a clerk employed by the J. P. Kalman Company, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Dow resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Harry L. Dow, manager of the Uptown Theatre, and his wife, Flora Dow, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Broad Highway Enterprises, Inc., was located at this address and that Michael L. Provence resided at this address. The Uptown Theatre, formerly at 1053 Grand Avenue, an Italian Renaissance style single screen building that seated 1096, opened as the Oxford Theatre in 1921, was designed by Friedstein & Rubin, was remodeled and enlarged twice, first in 1926, then in 1929, with an atmospheric auditorium and a new name, closed in 1976, was torn down, and was replaced by a parking lot. The property was last sold in 1999 with a sale price of $250,000. The current owner of record of the property is Jeffery J. Dahlberg, who resides at 530 Selby Avenue.

446 Holly Avenue: Built in 1905 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. The structure is a three unit frame condominium building. Unit 1 is a two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Sarah L. Stonich. Unit 2 is a 1282 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2002 at a sale price of $237,500, and is currently owned by Amy L. Poulson. Unit 3 is a two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2001 at a sale price of $229,900, and is currently owned by Brian Duncan. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Moses E. Clapp resided at this address in 1902. The 1916 city directory indicates that Hon. and Mrs. M. E. Clapp, Mrs. A. J. Clapp, and Miss G. B. Spaukling all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Hon. and Mrs. M. E. Clapp and Mrs. A. J. Clapp all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Graves resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that William G. Graves resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Robert B. Graves (1918- ,) who attended the school from 1930 until 1936 and who was a 1940 graduate of Harvard University, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Amy Marie Bohaty, Marie Bohaty, Kristin Dudacek, Robert J. Dudacek, Thomas Hutchinson, Roberta W. Lafleur, G. Pommerening, and Jeffri J. Pommerening. William G. Graves was a lawyer in St. Paul in 1914. Robert J. Dudacek is a vice president of Wells Fargo Insurance Inc. and offices in St. Louis Park, Minnesota. Jeffri J. Pommerening (1970- ) was born in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. [See note on Moses Edwin Clapp for 513 Summit Avenue.]

454 Holly Avenue: S. L. Moore House; Built in 1889 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2983 square foot, five bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Georgia D. (Mrs. C. A.) Clark, a member of the church since 1886, resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. S. G. Ordway resided at this address. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#15665) indicate that Samuel Gilman Ordway (1887- ,) and his wife, Mildred W. Ordway, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Lagerman and their daughters all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that C. Leslie Ames resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John A. Lagerman, associated with Davis & Lagerman, dealing in real estate property management, loans, and insurance, and his wife, Hedvig M. Lagerman, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Kenneth Woodrow Smith resided at this address. Samuel Gilman Ordway was a son of Lucius Pond Ordway and Jessie Cornwall Gilman Ordway, published two short stories in the Yale Courant in 1906, graduated from Yale University in 1908, resided at 523 Portland Avenue in 1912, was the secretary-treasurer of the International Telephone & Telegraph Corporation, resided at this address in 1920, married Mildred O. Wurtele, and the couple had two children, Gilman Ordway, a 1947 Yale College graduate who operates a ranch in Wyoming and is a director of the Wilderness Society, and Joan L. Ordway (Mrs. Richard) Tweedy, the former Mrs. Robert C. Livingston. There is a Samuel G. Ordway Chair in Mathematics at the University of Minnesota. Mildred O. Wurtele Ordway married Francis Dewey Everett, a former governor of the New York Stock Exchange and a partner in the brokerage firm of Hornblower & Weeks, in 1954. The last sale of this property was in 1994 and the sale price was $165,000. The current owner of record of the property is Kenneth Woodrow Smith. Ken Smith is associated with K. W. Smith Productions, Inc. [See note on Lucius Pond Ordway for 400 Summit Avenue.]

457 Holly Avenue: Henry W. Fagley House (E. H. Bailey House according to the Minnesota Historical Society Historic Hill District National Register of Historic Places database;) Built in 1892 (1890 according to the owner; 1897 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style (Folk Victorian with Colonial Revival aspects according to the owner.) The structure is a two story, 3502 square foot, ten room, five bedroom, four bathroom (four bathroom and one half-bathroom according to the owner), three fireplace, frame house, with a 1980 detached garage that replaced a prior carriage house and which has been upgraded to a three-gabled structure with a cedar roof in 1994. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Henry W. Fagley ( -1907) resided at this address from 1889 to 1907. According to the current owner, Fagley was vice-president and treasurer of the Boston Clothing Company in downtown St. Paul, that the house was purchased in 1907 by William S. McCurdy ( -1925,) the president of the William B. Joyce Insurance Company (subsequently the White Bear Lake Insurance Company,) that the house was purchased in 1925 by Lambert Bassindale, an architect who worked on the St. Paul Union Depot, and Blanche Bassindale, an opera singer, teacher, and Schubert Club member, that Blanche Bassindale appeared in Lehar's "The Merry Widow" in Chicago, that the couple had two children, Maria Bassindale and Robert Bassindale, and that the Bassindales resided at this address until 1938. The 1916, 1918, and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. W. S. McCurdy resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Lambert Bassindale, an architect located at the Endicott Building, and his wife, Blanche Bassindale, a music teacher, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Althea Marie Sell and William Dean Sell resided at this address. The current owner also indicates that the structure was divided into six apartments by the mid-1940's, that James Enright, the founder of Enright Milling on East Seventh Street, which originated the process that milled whole grain wheat into flour and produced Roman Meal Bread, and his daughter, Adelaide Enright, a personal friend of Eleanor Roosevelt, resided at this address between 1941 and 1942, that the rental property was managed by the Dunn Realty Company until 1972, when it was sold to Mr. and Mrs. Chytracek, who maintained the structure as an apartment house until 1977, when the property was sold to Doug Thompson, an employee of the Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company, and Gayle Thompson, who began its restoration as primarily a single family residence combined with a one bedroom efficiency apartment. Althea M. Sell and William D. Sell purchased the property in 1983, when the Thompsons were transferred to Germany, and continued the restoration, with the cedar shake roof, hidden gutters, dentils, soffits, and fascia returned to their original design. Henry W. Fagley (1850- ,) the son of George Fagley and Susan Miller Fagley, was born in Blair County, Pennsylvania, was educated in the Blair County, Pennsylvania, public schools, was educated in the Pennsylvania State Normal School, Millersville, Pennsylvania, taught school in Pennsylvania, served in the 149th Pennsylvania Regiment during the American Civil War, moved to Palo, Illinois, was employed as a dry goods store clerk in Palo, Illinois, from 1867 until 1876, was a traveling salesman employed by Henderson & Company, a boots and shoes manufacturer in Chicago, Illinois, from 1876 until 1877, was a partner in Fagley & Sanborn, a retail dry goods merchant, in Palo, Illinois, from 1877 until 1879, was a traveling salesman from 1879 until 1884, married Alice Grant in 1880, was employed in the clothing business in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, from 1884 until 1888, moved to St. Paul, was employed as the manager of Browning, King & Company's store from 1888 until 1901, was employed in the land business in North Dakota from 1901 until 1903, returned to St. Paul in 1903, was the vice president and treasurer of the Boston Clothing Company from 1903 until 1906, was the vice president of the Fagley Company of Sioux City, Iowa, retired in 1906, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, resided at this address in 1907, and officed at the Germania Life Building in 1907. The White Bear Lake Insurance Company, of Starbuck, Minnesota, a farmers' mutual insurance company, was incorporated in 1883 to provide farm fire insurance to local farmers, continues to write insurance in less than 150 townships, and sells fire, lightning, theft, vandalism and other insurance. When the White Bear Lake Insurance Company was established, it conducted business in Norwegian, and when it proposed in 1900 to use English instead of Norwegian at its meetings, Fremad Forening (i. e. Society,) a Norwegian-American reading society of White Bear Centre, Minnesota, protested the change. Eleanor Roosevelt's diaries in 1953, 1954, and 1955 reference Adelaide Enright and describe her as an "old friend." Adelaide Enright, a prominent St. Paul businesswoman, was the president of the St. Paul Women's City Club in 1944 and was an organizer of the Inter-Club Council of Saint Paul in 1944. Browning, King & Company was established in 1895, the successor of Hanford & Browning, was headquartered in St. Louis, Missouri, was once the largest wholesale clothing firm in the United States, and sponsored an exclusive dance band, the Browning King Dance Orchestra. In 1898, Browning, King & Company, clothiers, was located at the corner of Seventh Street and Robert Street. Henry W. King (1828- ) was born in New York State, came to Chicago in 1854, entering business on South Water Street, organized the wholesale clothing house of Henry W. King & Company with W. C. Browning and other associates in 1868, which, after the great Chicago fire, moved to the wholesale clothing district around Market and Franklin streets, and established and maintained a number of retail clothing organizations, the most famous being the firm of Browning, King & Company, one of the oldest retail clothing houses in Chicago. The current owners of record of the property are Althea M. Sell and William D. Sell. [See note on Lambert Bassindale.] [See note on the 3M/Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Company for 682 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

458 Holly Avenue: J. W. Stevens House; Built in 1880 (1888 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Shingle in style; J. W. Stevens, architect. The structure is a two story, 2732 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Stevens, their daughter, and J. C. Stevens all resided at this address. The 1918 and 1924 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Stevens and their daughter resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that John Walter Stevens, an architect, and his wife, Julia Stevens, resided at this address. The property was last sold for $650,000 and that sale occurred in 2003. The current owners of record of the property are Natalie I. Wyatt Brown and Christopher D. Stall. [See note on Stevens for 335 Summit Avenue.]

459 Holly Avenue: Everett H. Bailey House; Built in 1895 (1886 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Cass Gilbert and James Knox Taylor, architects. The structure is a two story, 4860 square foot, eight bedroom, four bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Everett H. Bailey resided at this address from 1886 to 1939. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Bailey and Mrs. D. L. Garlick all resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Everett H. Bailey resided at this address. In 1916, Everett H. Bailey was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Bailey resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Jeannette L. Bailey (1841/1851-1923,) the wife of Everett H. Bailey, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of a carcinoma, resided at this address in 1923. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Bailey resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Everett H. Bailey, the treasurer at the Union Depot, and Frederick Bailey resided at this address. Everett Hoskins Bailey (1850-1938,) the son of Francis P. Bailey and Caroline P. Pier Bailey, was born in Jamestown, New York, attended the Erie Academy in Erie, Pennsylvania, from 1862 until 1866, attended Antioch College in Yellow Springs, Ohio, from 1867 until 1870, was a clerk employed by Clark & Goodwin in Erie, Pennsylvania, moved to St. Paul in 1873, married Jeannette "Jennie" L. Jones of Toledo, Ohio, an Antioch College classmate, at Clear Lake, Minnesota, in 1874, was a banker, was a teller, then vice president, and then, in 1917, president of the First National Bank of St. Paul, assisted in the organization of and was the cashier of the Second National Bank of Winona, Minnesota, was the president and a member of the board of directors of the Northwestern Trust Company after 1903, was the chairman of the board of directors of the First National Bank from 1917 until the bank's consolidation with the Merchants National Bank in 1929, was the treasurer of the Minnesota Transfer Company, was a member of the board of trustees of Miller Hospital, was a Unitarian, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society, was the treasurer of the Minnesota Historical Society, donated a painting of the Falls of St. Anthony in 1852 by R. Sloan to the Minnesota Historical Society, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Society of the Colonial Wars, was an angler, was a hunter, officed at the corner of Fourth Street and Jackson Street in 1907, resided at this address in 1907, and died in St. Paul. Everett H. Bailey and Jeannette L. Jones Bailey were the parents of two children, __?__ Bailey and Frederick Stanwood Bailey (1880/1881- .) The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Gregory Emmett Martineau, Rebecca D. Martineau, Scott C. Sosna, and Susan Sosna. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $669,900. The current owners of record of the property are Scott C. Sosna and Susan Sosna. Scott C. Sosna is a software engineer. RadioNonsense.com is also located at this address. ; [See note on Gilbert for 318 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Taylor for 365 Summit Avenue.] [See note for the St. Paul Union Depot Company.]

461 Holly Avenue: Edward Sawyer House; Built in 1889 (1891 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. The structure is a four unit frame condominium building. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Unit 1 is a 2005 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2002 at a sale price of $235,000, and is currently owned by Carol A. Frillman and Louis W. Frillman, who reside in Issaquah, Washington. Unit 2 is a 1453 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $200,000, and is currently owned by the Frillman Family Properties I, located in Minneapolis. Unit 3 is a 656 square foot, one bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1998 at a sale price of $75,000, and is currently owned by the Frillman Family Properties I, located in Minneapolis. Unit 4 is a 1328 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by the Frillman Family Properties I, located in Minneapolis. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Edward Sawyer resided at this address from 1892 to 1915. The 1916 city directory indicates that Edward Sawyer and Mr. and Mrs. Charles G. Rank all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles G. Rank resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Rank resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Edward B. Holbert, president of the Holbert Brokerage Firm, his wife, Florence F. Holbert, and Edward B. Holbert, Jr., a cement manufacturer, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Elizabeth C. Cox, Robert Woo Cox, Becky Keller, Brett R. Person and T. Salane and that Megabien Entertainment was located at this address. Edward Sawyer (1836-1916,) the son of Thomas E. Sawyer and Elizabeth Watson Sawyer, was born in Dover, New Hampshire, was educated in common and high schools of Dover, New Hampshire, was first engaged as a clerk in the post office in Dover, New Hampshire, was the cashier of the Farmers & Mechanics Bank of Rochester, New Hampshire, from 1858 until 1861, married Frances P. Kelley in 1859, was a clerk employed by the New Hampshire House of Representatives from 1860 until 1861, was the cashier of the Merrimack County Bank of Concord, New Hampshire, from 1862 until 1865, was the cashier of the Northwestern Packet Company of Dubuque, Iowa, in 1865, moved to St. Paul in 1866, was employed as the cashier of the Davidson Packet Line in 1866, was employed as the cashier of W. F. Davidson & Company, bankers, from 1868 until 1871, was employed in the business management of several railroads, was employed as the secretary of the land department of the St. Paul & Sioux City Railway Company from 1871 until 1878, was appointed by the U. S. Circuit Court as receiver for the sale of lands in the lawsuit of the Northern Pacific Railway Company against St. Paul & Pacific Railway Company in 1878, was elected the secretary and treasurer of the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Manitoba Railway Company in 1879, was the treasurer and the assistant secretary of the Great Northern Railway Company in 1889, was elected a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1882, was a special commissioner of the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1883, was the secretary and treasurer of the Great Northern Railway Company after 1892, was secretary of the Great Northern Railway Company in 1900, was a member of the board of directors and the treasurer of the Montana Central Railway Company, was a member of the board of directors of the Willmar & Sioux Falls Railway Company, was the treasurer of the Spokane Falls Northern Railway Company, officed at the Great Northern Railway Company in 1907, and died in St. Paul. In 1862, the St. Paul & Pacific Railway acquired the land grant of the Minnesota & Pacific RailRoad and laid tracks between St. Paul and St. Anthony (Minneapolis,) Minnesota. James Jerome Hill, with partners George Stephen, a Canadian financier, Donald Smith, a member of the Canadian Parliament from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and Norman Kittson, purchased the near-bankrupt St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad in 1873, turned the business around, restored profitability and expanded its lines, and renamed it the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba Railway. Edward L. Sawyer (1876-1959) was born in Minnesota and died in Ramsey County. The Holly Condominium Association is located at this address. In 2003, Louis Frillman was a contributor to the Randy Kelly for Mayor campaign and resided at Unit 1 at this address. [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.] [See note for the Minnesota & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for the Great Northern RailRoad.]

462 Holly Avenue: George Grant House; Built in 1905 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; George Grant, architect. The structure is a two story, 4757 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that George J. Grant resided at this address from 1884 to 1924 and indicate that Edward J. McGinn resided at this address from 1967 to 1979. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. George J. Grant resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that John M. Brack (1810-1893,) of English heritage who died of heart disease, resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue in 1893. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George J. Grant resided at this address in 1897. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Albert R. Moore resided at this address in 1907. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that George Johnstone Grant resided at this address in 1907. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Wallace Grant (1883-1913,) the son of George J. Grant, who was born St. Paul to parents born in Canada and who died of septic endocarditis, resided at this address in 1913. In 1916, George Johnstone Grant was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society and resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. G. J. Grant resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Teresa T. Grant (1836-1922,) the wife of George J. Grant, who was born in Canada to parents who were born in Canada and who died of arteriosclerosis, resided at this address in 1922. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that George J. Grant (1839-1924,) the widower father of K. P. Grant, who was born in Nova Scotia to parents who were born in Scotland and who died of cerebral hemorrhage, resided at this address in 1924. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Duncan, G. G. Frolin, and G. J. Grant all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Ina Blomquist resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Brock Albert, Daniel Charles Ninow, and George Shortridge. George Johnstone Grant (1841-1924,) the son of George Grant and Katie Matheson Grant, was born in Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada, had a common school education, became a carpenter's apprentice in 1859 and, after a few years, attained the position of a master builder, married Teresa "Tressa" Thompson at New Brunswick, Canada, in 1868, was involved in the construction industry in Canada, where he erected an extensive iron and steel manufacturing plant at Londonderry, Nova Scotia, and built portions of the Canadian Pacific Railroad from 1878 until 1880, emigrated to St. Paul from Nova Scotia in 1879 or 1880, was a building contractor, was the founder in 1880 of the construction company which still bears his name, and was the builder of the Pioneer Press Building and the Farwell, Ozmun & Kirk building, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the St. Paul Chamber of Commerce in 1900, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, became a life member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1914, and officed at the New York Life Building in 1907. George J. Grant was the chairman of the executive committee of the Minnesota State Association of Builder's Exchanges in 1905. George J. Grant died while supervising the construction of the St. Paul Assembly Plant for the Ford Motor Company. George J. Grant was succeeded as president of the construction company by K. P. Grant from 1924 to 1930, who was followed by R. Roston from 1931 to 1940, who in turn was succeeded by W. L. Krauch from 1941 to 1954, who then was followed by Fred Murname from 1954 to 1980. George Grant Construction did the excavation, grading, and foundation work for the Minnesota State Capitol and built the Split Rock Lighthouse near Beaver Bay, Minnesota, the First National Bank Building in St. Paul in 1915, the House of Hope Presbyterian Church in St. Paul in 1914, the James J. Hill House in St. Paul, the former Minnesota Historical Society Building (current Minnesota Judicial Building) in St. Paul in 1916, the 607 Washington Lofts in Minneapolis, the Minnesota Boat Club Boathouse on Raspberry Island in St. Paul in 1910, the St. Paul Union Depot, the Firenze Condominiums in St. Paul in 1898, the Endicott Building in St. Paul in 1891, the Pioneer Building in St. Paul in 1889, the former James P. Allen Building in St. Paul in 1888, Diehl Hall at the University of Minnesota, Turck Hall at Macalester College, and the Minnesota State Monument (Fifth Minnesota Regiment) at the Vicksburg, Mississippi, National Military Park. Kenneth Percy Grant (1880- ,) the son of George J. Grant and Tressa Thompson Grant, was born in St. Paul, attended Phillips Exeter Academy, Andover, Massachusetts, graduated from the Sheffield School at Yale University in 1906, became the vice president of the George Grant Construction Company in 1907, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & County Club, was a member of the St. Paul Club, and resided at this address in 1910. The Grant family burial plot at Oakland Cemetery includes the graves of George Johnstone Grant (1841-1924,) Georgiana Grant McLean (1877-1975,) Teresa Thompson Grant (1837-1922,) William Wallace Grant (1883-1913,) Hedley Holmes Grant (1873-1897,) Jean Duncan (1900-1971,) Katherine Grant Duncan (1869-1957,) Charles H. Duncan (1860-1947,) and George R. Duncan, M.D. (1903-1936.) Albert Randall Moore (1869-1921,) the son of James E. Moore, the Land Commissioner of the St. Paul & Sioux City Railway Company, and Eliza A. Randall Moore, was born in Brooklyn, New York, came to St. Paul with his parents in 1878, attended St. Paul public schools from 1878 until 1887, graduated from the St. Paul Central High School in 1889, attended Harvard University for two years, graduated from the University of Minnesota Law School with a bachelor's degree in 1891 and with a doctorate in 1899, was a student in the law office of Cole, Bramhall & Morris, married Caroline E. Weed in 1898, was a member of the Delta Epsilon fraternity, was a member of the Phi Delta Phi fraternity, was a lawyer, practiced law in St. Paul, was a partner with John E. Stryker in the law firm of Stryker & Moore from 1891 until 1897, was a partner with James E. Markham and George W. Markham in the law firm of Markham, Moore & Markham from 1897 until 1900, was a partner with Edmund S. Durment in the law firm of Durment & Moore from 1900 until 1907, and was a partner with Bruce W. Sanborn, William Oppenheimer, Charles C. Haupt, and George W. Peterson in Moore, Oppenheimer & Peterson, was a master in chancery in the receivership of the Chicago Great Western RailRoad, was a member of the board of directors of the Archer Daniels Linseed Company in Minneapolis, was a member of the board of directors of the Moore Clothing Company of Sioux City, Iowa, was a member of the board of directors of the Como Boulevard Company in St. Paul, was a member of the board of directors of the St. Paul & Sioux City Land Company, was a Minnesota representative to the national conference of the Commissioners on Uniform Laws, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1918, was a member of the Ramsey County Bar Association, was a member of the American Bar Association, officed in the Germania Life Insurance Building in 1908, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a member of the Harvard Club of Minnesota, was a Republican, was a member of the Young Men's Republican Club of St. Paul, was an Episcopalian, was a member of and the secretary of the Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Minnesota, was a contributor to the Minnesota Law Journal, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association in 1915, officed at the Germania Life Building in 1907, and died in Paris, France. Albert Randall Moore and Caroline E. Weed Moore were the parents of three children, Caroline W. Moore, Elizabeth W. Moore, and James W. Moore. James Elbert Moore (1846- ) was born in Brooklyn, New York, settled in St. Paul in 1878, was land commissioner of the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad, and became a 32nd degree Mason in 1894. The last sale of this property was in 2002 and the sale price was $747,500. The current owner of record of the property is Peter Shortridge. Carolyn Lane, associated with the Northland Organic Foods Cooperative, Peter Shortridge, associated with Northland Seed & Grain and the Northland Organic Foods Cooperative, and Amy Nankivil, associated with Northland Seed & Grain and the Northland Organic Foods Cooperative, all are located at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that George M. Brock resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. M. Brack and their daughters all resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1897 Catalogue of the Legal Fraternity of Phi Delta Phi, edited by George Anthony Katzenberger and published by the Inland Press of Ann Arbor, Michigan, indicates that Albert Randell Moore, an 1889 graduate of Harvard University and a graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School, resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue and officed at the Globe Building. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Albert R. Moore, an 1891 graduate, an 1892 Law School graduate, and a lawyer, resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that C. E. (Mrs. A. R.) Moore, a member of the church since 1898, resided at the nearby former 464 Holly Avenue. The 1916 University of Minnesota Alumni Directory indicates that Albert Randell Moore, a lawyer who was a member of the Phi Delta Phi fraternity, who was a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity at Harvard University, who was a member of the Minnesota Club, who was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, who was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, who was a member of the Harvard University Club of Minnesota, officed at the Merchants National Bank Building, and resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. R. Moore resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Evelyn Cassidy, a bookkeeper employed at the Tri-State Telephone & Telegraph Company, roomed at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Lydia K. Sullivan resided at the former nearby 464 Holly Avenue. [See note for Albert Randell Moore for 421 Laurel Avenue.] [See note on the Archer, Daniels, Midland Company for 744 West Osceola Avenue.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western RailRoad.] [See note on the St. Paul & Sioux City RailRoad.] [See note for Tri-State Telegraph & Telephone Company for 596 Portland Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 18 Kenwood Parkway.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.]

467 Holly Avenue: Charles H. Clark House; Built in 1906 (1887 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style; Millard & Joy, architects. The structure is a two story, 3696 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Charles Henry Clark resided at this address from 1892 to 1909. The 1902 University of Minnesota Alumni Record indicates that Homer P. Clark, an 1894 graduate and a manager employed by the West Publishing Company, resided at this residence. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Homer Pierce Clark and Horace Pierce Clark both resided at this address in 1907. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. M. C. Clark resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Martha C. Clark, the widow of Charles H. Clark, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Martha Clark resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Charles H. Putnam, a master car builder employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, and his wife, Mary B. Putnam, resided at this address. The 1939 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Henry H. Putnam (1905- ,) who was born in Spokane, Washington, who attended the school from 1921 until 1925, who graduated from Williams College in 1929, and who was employed by the Morrison Garment Company at 500 Robert Street, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Cynthia A. Tuttle and Ralph Hoie Tuttle and that Artisan Rods was located at this address. Charles H. Clark/Clarke (1835-1885) was born in Bath, New York, read the law with General Diven in New York, resided in Texas from 1854 until 1855, moved to Minnesota in 1856, settled in Minneapolis, was a farmer in Richfield, Minnesota, was the secretary of the Minnesota State Agricultural Society in 1863 and from 1866 to 1871, was a deputy collector of U. S. Internal Revenue for Hennepin County, and served in the Minnesota House of Representatives representing Hennepin County (Districts 5 and 16) from 1869 to 1876. The 1884-1885 city directory indicates that Charles H. Clark was a partner with Charles E. Mayo in Mayo & Clark, a wholesale hardware firm located at 180-184 East Fourth Street, and resided at 25 East Tenth Street. Horace Pierce Clark (1868- ,) the son of Charles Henry Clark (1836-1907) and Martha Cowper Pierce Clark ( -1929,) was born at Boston, Massachusetts, moved to St. Paul with his parents in 1873, graduated from the St. Paul High School in 1887, graduated from the College of Law at the University of Minnesota in 1894, began his active career in the wholesale and jobbing businesses in 1887, then was employed by the West Publishing Company, publishers of law books, after 1892, was the treasurer of the West Publishing Company, was the vice president of the American Law Book Company, 60 Wall Street, New York, New York, was a member of the board of directors of the H. L. Collins Company, was the president of the Inland Lake Yacht Association, was a member of the American Bar Association, was a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, was unmarried in 1907, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, was a member of the Nushka Curling Club, was a member of the White Bear Yacht Club, was a member of the German Club, and officed at 52 West Third Sreet. Henry H. Putnam married Jean E. Coons in Minneapolis in 1934 and the couple had one child, Mary Putnam (1936- .) Chas. (Charles) Henry Clark (1837-1907) was born in the United States and died in Ramsey County. Charles Henry Clark ( -1945) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Andrea L. Bungum and Ralph H. Tuttle. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.] [See note on Homer Pierce Clark for 534 Summit Avenue] [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Town & Country Club for 952 Wakefield Avenue.] [See note on the St. Paul Commercial Club for 505 Summit Avenue.] [See note on the White Bear Yacht Club for 18 Kenwood Parkway.]

468 Holly Avenue: Built in 1981. The structure is a two story, 1960 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jane R. Murphy and Michael Edward Murphy resided at this address. The property was last sold for $475,900 and that sale occurred in 2002. The current owners of record of the property are Jane R. Murphy and Michael E. Murphy. In 2003, Michael Murphy was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at this address.

472 Holly Avenue: William George House/Philip Francis McQuillan and Louisa McQuillan House; Built in 1890 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Romanesque Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 4756 square foot, four bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, stone house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that William George resided at this address from 1893 to 1900 and that Holly Manor was located at this address beginning in 1958. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alvin Ernest Macartney (1859-1911,) the husband of Isabel S. Macartney, who was born in Wisconsin to parents who were born in the United States and who died of angina-rupture of the coronary artery, resided at this address in 1911. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. A. E. McCartney and G. S. McCartney both resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Dorothy Z. McCartney (1897-1919,) the wife of Grant S. McCartney, who was born in the United States to parents born in the United States and who died of influenza/pneumonia, resided at this address in 1919. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. A. E. McCartney resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Gustav B. Schurmeier, a manager employed by the William C. Koch Company, and his wife, Elizabeth Schurmeier, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Judith Adelle McCoy and Paul Joseph McCoy resided at this address. Philip Francis McQuillan and Louisa McQuillan were the maternal grandparents of author F. Scott Fitzgerald. Philip McQuillan died before F. Scott Fitzgerald was born, but Fitzgerald spent considerable time at his grandmother's house. This house was one of the smaller houses that Mrs. McQuillan owned in St. Paul over time, with the largest house located in downtown St. Paul, on 10th Street, where 500 guests could be entertained. Mrs. McQuillan also maintained a winter home in Washington, D.C., and also traveled regularly to Europe. The property was last sold in 2001 with a sale price of $670,000. The current owners of record of the property are Judy A. McCoy and Paul J. McCoy.

475 Holly Avenue: Hudson/Gilbert House; Built in 1888 (1887 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Dowling & Ruse, architects. The structure is a two story, 2628 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Beals resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Power resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. K. P. Grant resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Putnam and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that G. Culver Rugg, Jr., resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Kathleen A. Culhane resided at this address. S. J. Beals was a member of the board of directors of the Red River & Manitoba RailRoad in 1878. The last sale of this property was in 1993 and the sale price was $235,000. The current owners of record of the property are Kathleen A. Culhane Pera and Timothy J. Pera. [See note for the Red River & Manitoba RailRoad.]

477 Holly Avenue: O. C. Green House; Built in 1897 (1887 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 3946 square foot, seven bedroom, three bathroom, two half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Oscar C. Greene resided at this address from 1887 to 1913. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. O. C. Greene, Miss Kate Scheffer, and Miss Nellie Scheffer all resided at this address. The book of Minnesotans: a biographical dictionary of leading living men of Minnesota, edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, indicates that Oscar Curtis Greene resided at this address in 1907. The 1916 city directory indicates that Rev. and Mrs. J. D. Reid, their daughter, and K. D. Reid all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. John McKee resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that H. A. Kennedy, his daughters, and N. W. Kennedy all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Henry A. Kennedy (1859-1926,) the widower father of Harry B. Kennedy, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of chronic nephritis, resided at this address in 1926. The 1930 city directory indicates that Robert S. Kinkead, associated with the Kinkead Manufacturing Company, and his wife, Eleanor Kinkead, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Bill Charles Barrett and Kathy Barrett both resided at this address and that Relational Technology Systems was located at this address. Oscar Curtis Greene (1842- ,) the son of Barnabas B. Greene (1818- ) and Nancy Caldwell Valladigham Greene (1815- ,) was born in Mogadore, Summit County, Ohio, was educated in the public schools of Cleveland, Ohio, attended Hiram College in Ohio, was a telegraph operator for the "Bee Line" RailRoad in Bellefontaine, Ohio, from 1861 until 1863, was employed by the NorthWestern Telegraph Company in 1866, was the superintendent of telegraphs for the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad from 1866 until 1872, was the superintendent of telegraphs for the Northern Pacific RailRoad after 1872, married Jennie Goodrich (1854- ) in St. Paul in 1880, was a member of the Association of Railway Telegraph Superintendents, was a member of the Minnesota Historical Society in 1921, and officed at the Northern Pacific RailRoad general offices in 1907. Jennie Goodrich (Mrs. Oscar Curtis) Greene was a member of the Massachusetts Society of the Colonial Dames of America by virtue of being a descendant of Governor Thomas Dudley and was a member of the Minnesota Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution by virtue of being the great great great granddaughter of Samuel Dudley (1720-1797) of New Hampshire, who served as muster-master and pay-master in Col. Isaac Wyman's regiment in 1776. Oscar Curtis Greene and Jennie Goodrich Greene were the parents of three children, Alice Greene (1881- ,) Marian Greene (Mrs. William Pope) Barney (1882- ,) and Curtis Greene (1884- .) The property was last sold for $332,000 and that sale occurred in 1996. The current owners of record of the property are Kathrine H. Barrett and William C. Barrett. [See note on the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

478 Holly Avenue: Cyrus C. DeCoster House; Built in 1889 (1887 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; D. W. Millard, architect. The structure is a two story, 3706 square foot, five bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Cyrus C. DeCoster resided at this address from 1892 to 1893. In 1907, Earnest H. Davidson resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Davidson, Mrs. M. G. Brown, and C. F. Brown all resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles F. Brown, a clerk employed by Finch, Van Slyck & McConnville, boarded at this address, and that Mattie E. Brown, the widow of Milton G. Brown, and Ernest H. Davidson, the executive secretary of the Citizen's Alliance of Ramsey and Dakota Counties, located at the Pioneer Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that C. F. Brown, Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Davidson, and their daughter all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that H. Stanley Johnson, secretary-treasurer of the Branch Furniture Company, and his wife, Ann M. Johnson, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Edwin Allen Barnes and Susan Elizabeth Barnes resided at this address. Earnest H. Davidson (1873- ,) the son of Colonel James H. Davidson and Abby A. Davidson, was born in St. Paul, was educated in the public schools of St. Paul, worked for the American Express Company in Bayfield, Wisconsin, in 1872, moved back to St. Paul and worked in his father's office, was the head bookkeeper in the Union Bank, was an accountant, then salesman, and then secretary to the president of the West Publishing Company from 1892 until 1899, married Mary Griswold Brown of Plattsburgh, New York, the daughter of Milton Goodnow Brown and Martha Ellen Griswold Brown, began the Keefe-Davidson Law Book Company from 1899 until 1903, then was in the life insurance business as a special representative of the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and was the first treasurer of the Ramsey county historical Society in 1924. Cyrus Cole De Coster ( -1948) died in Dakota County, Minnesota. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $340,000. The current owners of record of the property are Edwin A. Barnes and Susan E. Barnes. [See note on the West Publishing Company for 415 Summit Avenue.]

482 Holly Avenue: William Catzson House; Built in 1914 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) E. P. Bassford, architect. The structure is a two story, 2472 square foot, four bedroom, one bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William Morris Carson resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. William M. Carson resided at this address. In 1907, William Morris Carson resided at this addrss. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that William Morris Carson (1851-1914,) the husband of Louise McCay Carson, who was born in Maryland to parents who were born in the United States and who died of mycocarditis, resided at this address in 1914. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. W. M. Carson resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Grosvenor Buck, a special agent employed by the New England Mutual Life Insurance Company, and Louise M. Carson, the widow of William M. Carson, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Louis Herschler, a salesman, his wife, Mabel Herschler, Alf E. Johnson, a teacher at the Cleveland Junior High School, his wife, Frances Johnson, and Frederick Strasser all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Aaron Jungwirth resided at this address and that Practical Communications Inc. was located at this address. William Morris Carson (1851- ,) the son of W. K. Carson and Mary C. Johnston Carson, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, attended the University of Maryland, attended Westminster College in Pennsylvania, graduated from Princeton University in 1874/1877, attended the Maryland Law School, Johns Hopkins University, until 1876, practiced law in Baltimore, Maryland, from 1876 until 1883, practiced law in St. Paul after 1883, was the general agent of the Surety Bond Company after 1896, was the private secretary to the mayor of St. Paul from 1889 until 1892, resided at this address in 1907, officed at the Gilfillan Block in 1907, was a member of the Wabasha Club of St. Paul, was a member of the University Club of Baltimore, Maryland, was a member of the Bar Association of Baltimore, Maryland, was a member of the Bar Association of St. Paul, was a member of the Southern Club of St. Paul, and was a member of the St. Paul Commercial Club. The current owner of record of the property is Anastasia M. Galati. NBG USA Inc., a retailer of over 100 CD-ROM software titles from Germany, is currently located at this address. [See note on Edward Bassford for 35 Irvine Park.]

488 Holly Avenue: Built in 1896. The structure is a two story, 4870 square foot, nine bedroom, three bathroom, one half-bathroom, asbestos-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Norton and J. C. Norton, Jr. all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Norton resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Richard L. Corwin, a driver employed by Metropolitan Roofing & Cornice Works, and his wife, Grace Corwin, and Roy H. Dose, vice president-secretary of the Metropolitan Roofing & Cornice Works, and his wife, Altha K. Dose, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Kathleen Dawkins Gray and William R. Gray resided at this address and that Bechamp Management Company LLC and Cathedral Hill Bed & Breakfast were located at this address. The current owners of record of the property are Kathleen D. Gray and William R. Gray. Wise Cooking, promoting healthy low fat cooking with waterless cookware, is also located at this address.

489 Holly Avenue: Built in 1890. The structure is a three story, 5705 square foot, multi-family apartment building. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. George S. Baxter resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Baldwin Seminary was located at this address before 1904 and that the Mrs. Backus School for Girls was located at this address from 1904 to 1905. Around 1900, Miss Backus operated a school for young ladies at this address and the school eventually became the Oak Hall School and moved to 590 Holly Avenue. The Oak Hall School closed in 1940. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Mrs. Mary Shandrew ( -1915) resided at this address in 1911. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Gregg and Mrs. L. S. Clapp all resided at this address. The 1918 city directory indicates that N. H. Clapp, Jr., resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Miss Dorothy Cooledge, Dr. and Mrs. T. H. Johnson, and Miss Louise Schutz all resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Michael D. Gutcher, a chauffeur, his wife, Agnes Gutcher, and Albert M. Gutcher, a helper employed by the Great Northern RailRoad, all resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Kate M. Callaghan, Kevin Michael Coughlin, Lynne Elizabeth Dethmers, Brian Thomas Ethen, Jamie Hatcher, Ronald L. Smith, Jr., and Shaya Smith. The 1880 federal census indicates that Mary Shandrew (1840- ) was born in Michigan to parents who were born in Michigan, was married to Charles Shandrew (1835- ,) an insurance company clerk who was born in New York, was a housekeeper, and resided in St. Paul. Luella E. Clapp was the daughter of Mary Shandrew. In 1891, Charles Shandrew was the attorney of record with the Minnesota Insurance Department for the Ohio Farmers Insurance Company and for the Rockford Insurance Company. Charles Shandrew was the Minnesota Insurance Commissioner from 1887 until 1889. Mary Willis (1846-1915,) the daughter of Luther Benjamin Willard and Electa Losey Willard, married Charles Shandrew in 1878 and was the mother of Luella Shandrew (1879-1968.) The current owner of record of the property is Del Co Limited Partnership. [See note on the Great Northern RailRoad.]

490-492 Holly Avenue: Built in 1897 (1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records.) The structure is a two story, 2313 square foot, six bedroom, four bathroom, stucco double house, with an attached garage and a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 and 1918 city directory indicates that Mrs. Ellen Wood, Mr. and Mrs. E. M. Ferguson, and their daughters all resided at 490 Holly Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Thompson resided at 492 Holly Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Louelle Ferguson (1875-1919,) the wife of Edwin M. Ferguson, who was born in Michigan to parents born in the United States and who died of pneumonia-influenza, resided at this address in 1919. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edwin M. Ferguson resided at 492 Holly Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. A. M. Johnson resided at 490 Holly Avenue and Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Pierce resided at 492 Holly Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Asa M. Johnson, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Hazel Johnson, resided at 490 Holly Avenue and that Leo C. McGee, manager of the St. Paul Branch of the Aetna Caualty & Surety Company, and his wife, Lillian McGee, a saleswoman employed by the Emporium department store, resided at 492 Holly Avenue. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Jodi Larson resided at 490 Holly Avenue and that Pat G. Gordon and Stephen Damson Gordon resided at 492 Holly Avenue.

493 Holly Avenue: Built in 1900; Classical Revival in style. The property is a tax exempt vacant lot according to Ramsey County property tax records. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Hon. and Mrs. J. P. Jacobson resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. L. W. Lyons resided at this address. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. R. W. Mathews resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert W. Mathews (1846-1921,) the husband of Kate C. Mathews, who was born in New York to parents born in the United States and who died of myocarditis, resided at this address in 1921. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mrs. Maude Dodge and Mrs. Anna Loney both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Joseph Albrecht, a carder employed by U. S. Bedding Company, and his wife, Lena Albrecht, resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is St. Paul's Church Home Inc, located at 484 Ashland Avenue.

496 Holly Avenue: Holly Flats; Built in 1889 (1888 according to the Minnesota Historical Society and 1896 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; __?__ Ganeer, architect. The structure originally was a four-plex, was then converted to an apartment building, and now is a frame condominium building. Unit 1 is a 1350 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, and is currently owned by Claire L. Seppi. Unit 2 is a 1350 square foot, two bedroom, one bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1999 at a sale price of $185,000, and is currently owned by Patty D. Strandquist and Robert A. Strandquist. Unit 3 is a 2900 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2000 at a sale price of $326,000, and is currently owned by Christine M. Podas Larson and Kent W. Larson. Unit 4 is a 2980 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2000 at a sale price of $350,000, and is currently owned by Ian Chris Ritts and Susan Crampton Ritts. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1903 city directory indicates that Charlotte A. Dure, a clerk at the State Library, boarded at this address. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that Mary Fayerweather, a member of the church since 1893, resided at this address. The 1916 city directory indicates that the residents at this address were Mr. and Mrs. Stewart Dalrymple, Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Hartin, Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Norton, and Mrs. W. M. Liggett and her daughter. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Lambert Bassindale, Mr. and Mrs. Stewart Dalrymple, Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Hartin, Mrs. W. M. Liggett, and R. B. Liggett all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Dr. and Mrs. Wallace Cole, Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Fuller, Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Hartin, Mrs. William Leggitt, Mr. and Mrs. H. G. McCall, Mr. and Mrs. George Ramer, Mrs. Rose Schurmeier, and Mr. and Mrs. C. N. B. Wheeler all resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Charles G. Hartin (1864-1925,) the husband of Grace S. Hartin, who was born in Canada to parents born in the United States and who died of broncho pneumonia, resided at this address in 1925. The 1930 city directory indicates that the residents of the apartment building located at this address were Edward J. Simpson, a foreman employed by the Hamm Building Corporation, and his wife, Nellie Simpson (Apartment #1,) Frank M. Bingham, his wife, Emma J. Bingham, and Charles M. B. Wheeler, an instructor at the St. Paul Academy, and his wife, Elizabeth Wheeler (Apartment #2,) Ernest A. Wreldt, a salesman, and his wife, Lillian E. Wreldt (Apartment #3,) and Mrs. Adele B. Beaumont, the widow of Charles H. Beaumont, and Marie Beaumont (Apartment #4.) The 1964 St. Paul Academy Alumni Directory indicates that Dudley Mudge, a student during the period 1901-1915, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Kent U. Larson, Christine M. Podas-Larson, Patty D. Strand, and Robert A. Strand and that 360 Youth was located at this address. In 1915, Dudley Mudge was the Minnesota State Golf Champion and was a medalist at the National Amateur Championship in Detroit. Charlotte A. Dure was the official cataloguer of the Minnesota State Library in 1902. Charlotte A. Dure (1878- ) was born in Emerson, Manitoba, Canada, married Frank Edward McGray (1878-1952) in 1904, and the couple had three children, Forrest Dane McGray (1907-1911,) Andrew McGray (1909-1977,) and Bruce Andrew McGray. William Liggett (1846-1909,) the son of John Liggett and Polly Laname Liggett, was born in New California, Union County, Ohio, was educated in the public schools of Urbana, Ohio, served in the 96th Ohio Infantry Regiment during the Civil War, was employed by a bank in Urbana, Ohio, was elected Union County, Ohio, Treasurer as a Democrat, helped organize the Ohio National Guard, was wounded while assisting in quelling the Cincinnati, Ohio, riots, married Mathilda R. Brown, the daughter of Thomas Brown and Mary Root Brown in 1876 in Marysville, Ohio, moved to Minnesota, formed a stock farm partnership in 1884 that became Swift & Company, was appointed to the University of Minnesota Board of Regents, was chairman of the Minnesota School of Agriculture, was a member of the State Board of Agriculture, was a member of the Board of Farmers Institute, was a member of the executive committee of the National Cattle Grower's Association, was secretary of the State Agricultural Society, was chairman of the State RailRoad Commission, was a member of the National Society of Agricultural College Presidents, became the director of the University of Minnesota Agricultural Experiment Station, was a Presbyterian, was a member of the Rawlins Post of the Grand Army of the Republic. In 1872, William Liggett was a member, with John S. Pillsbury, Stephen Mahoney, Sydney M. Owen, Alphonso Babto, Albert E. Rice, Elmer E. Adams, Greenleaf Clark, Rev. Samuel G. Smith, Thomas Wilson, John Lind, and John H. Lewis, of the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota. Mrs. William Liggett was a regent for the State of Minnesota in the Daughters of the American Revolution and resided at 2201 Scudder Avenue in the St. Anthony Park section of St. Paul. In 1908, Mrs. William Liggett authored a paper for the Minnesota State Agricultural Society entitled "What Science Has Done For Agriculture." William Liggett and Mathilda Brown Liggett had four children, Madeline Liggett (Mrs. Fred L.) Clarke, Robert Brown Liggett, Walter W. Liggett, and Gladys Liggett. Walter W. Liggett became a crusading journalist who was eventually murdered by mobsters in Minneapolis. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Gallup resided at the former nearby 497 Holly Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Gallup and Miss Louisa Walters all resided at the former nearby 499 Holly Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#11169) indicate that Rogers Monroe Emmons (1895- ,) a 1917 enlistee and a Corporal in the U. S. Marine Corps, who was born in St. Paul, had blue eyes, light brown hair, and a fair complexion, was 5' 9 1/4" tall, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, was a clerk employed by S. S. Crooks after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his mother, Mrs. J. K. Emmons, at the nearby former 499 Holly Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Louise L. Emmons, a student, and Roger M. Emmons, a clerk employed by the S. S. Crooks Company, both boarded at the former nearby 499 Holly Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. D. M. Emmons and their daughter all resided at the former nearby 499 Holly Avenue. The 1930 city directory also indicates that David M. Emmons resided at the former nearby 499 Holly Avenue. Nathan Gallup (1848-1908,) the son of Christopher Milton Gallup (1809-1874) and Anna Stanton Billings Gallup (1814-1874,) was born in Ledyard/Mystic/Stonington, New London County, Connecticut, married Prudence Emma Geer (1850-1901,) a daughter of Jacob Allen Geer (1817-1857) and Julia Gallup Geer (1823-1896,) in 1874, in Ledyard, New London County, Connecticut, and died in St. Paul. Nathan Gallup and Prudence Emma Geer Gallup had three children, Julia Anna Gallup (Mrs. John M.) Harrison (1875-1921,) who was born in St. Paul, died in Minneapolis, and was buried at Lakewood Cemetery, Milton Allyn Gallup (1878-1936,) who was born in St. Paul, and Nellie M. Gallup (1880-1950,) who was born in St. Paul. Nathan Gallup was employed as a check clerk by the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad in 1872, was promoted to billing clerk in 1874, was appointed freight agent in 1879, and was freight agent of the Northern Pacific RailRoad in 1881. Rose Lindeke Schurmeier was the wife of Gustave F. Schurmeier and was the mother of Gustave B. "Bobby" Schurmeier, a close friend of F. Scott Fitzgerald and a member of the Elizabethan Drama Club. [See note on Dudley H. Mudge for 449 Portland Avenue.] [See note on Lambert Bassindale and Blanche Bassindale for 457 Holly Avenue.] [See note on Walter W. Liggett under the entry for the Floyd B. Olson Memorial.] [See note on the St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

500-502 Holly Avenue: Built in 1883. The structure is a frame condominium building. Unit 1 is a 1642 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2003 at a sale price of $274,500, and is currently owned by Rhoda Johnson. Unit 2 is a 1540 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 2002 at a sale price of $276,000, and is currently owned by Russell L. Palma. Unit 3 is a 2285 square foot, two bedroom, four bathroom, condominium unit, with the last sale of the unit occurring in 1999 at a sale price of $215,000, and is currently owned by Becky J. Garthofner and Gerald F. Woelfel. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that the Park Congregational Church was located at 500 Holly Avenue from 1883 to 1915, that the Plymouth Congregational Church was located at 500 Holly Avenue from 1916 to 1926, and that the St. Paul Gospel Temple was located at 500 Holly Avenue from 1933 to 1953. The 1930 city directory indicates that 500 Holly Avenue was vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that the residents at this address were Marcia J. Kershaw, Becky J. Woelfel, and Gerald F. Woelfel. In 2003, Jerry Woelfel was a financial supporter of the Randy Kelly for St. Paul Mayor campaign and resided at Unit #3 at this address.

501 Holly Avenue: Built in 1885. The structure is a two story, 2158 square foot, two bedroom, three bathroom, aluminum/vinyl-sided house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1879 city directory indicates that Thomas E. Knox, a partner with Addison V. Teeple in the law firm of Teeple & Knox, located at 43 East Third Street, resided at this address. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. A. H. Fowler resided at this address. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Robert W. Mathews resided at this address from 1888 to 1901. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Robert W. Mathews resided at this address in 1893. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. David Day and her daughter both resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Charles M. Brown, a manager employed by the Aetna Life Insurance Company, located at the Pioneer Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. S. Tarbox resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The 1884-1885 city directory indicates that Robert W. Mathews was a manufacturers agent who officed at the Fire & Marine Building and resided at 420 Holly Avenue. Mathilde Lee (1886-1966), the wife of Sever Lee ( -1934) and the operator of Lee's Ladies Dress Shop in Crookston, Minnesota, resided at this address in 1966. Clarence Muhlenberg Mathews (1882-1893,) who died from a bicycle accident, was the son of Robert W. Mathews. In 1880, The St. Paul Daily Globe reported that James P. Gribbon sued Thomas E. Knox and Lena Knox in district court to recover $276 for unpaid purchased merchandise and to secure a lien on the Knox's property. Addison V. Teeple ( -1902) served in Company H of the Eighth Illinois Cavalry, was a Corporal, was promoted to First Lieutenant, was wounded, and participated in the pursuit in Maryland of John Wilkes Booth, the assassin of Abraham Lincoln, during the American Civil War. Addison V. Teeple (1843- ,) who was born in Connecticut and who was married to Caroline Teeple, resided in Ramsey County by the 1880 federal census. Robert W. Mathews ( -1921) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold in 1995 with a sale price of $245,000. The current owner of record of the property is Joann Christine Boraas. [See note on Addison Venelle Teeple for 565 Portland Avenue.]

505 Holly Avenue: Holly Row; Built in 1887 (1885 according to the Ramsey County property tax records;) Richardsonian Romanesque in style; James Chisholm, architect. The structure is a two story, 2906 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Olof Bystrom resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Carol J. Stoddart and Karl E. Stoddart resided at this address. James Chisholm (1840- ) was an architect from Ontario who moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, in 1877, and primarily worked in the Canadian provinces of Manitoba, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. The current owners of record of the property are Karl E. Groth and Carol J. Stodart. Carol Stoddart, a retiree, was a contributor to the John Kerry for President campaign in 2004.

507 Holly Avenue: Holly Row; Built in 1887 (1885 according to the Ramsey County property tax records;) Richardsonian Romanesque in style; James Chisholm, architect. The structure is a two story, 2756 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. H. Lewis resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Farrar resided at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James H. Wilgus (1816-1891,) an African-American who died of heart failure, resided at this address in 1891. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mrs. E. P. Roberts resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Herbert N. Ahrens, a stenographer employed by Northern States Power Company, and Michael C. Bright, a statistician employed by Northern States Power Company, both resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that this address was vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Mary Kaye Snell, Steven Wayne Snell, and Julia Thompson all resided at this address and that Hirshworks LLC was located at this address. Augustus B. Wilgus was the son of James H. Wilgus. Herbert N. Ahrens (1900- ) and Myrtle D. Ahrens resided in Ramsey County in 1920. Hannah Wilgus (1816-1905) died in Ramsey County. The last sale of this property was in 2003 and the sale price was $440,000. The current owner of record of the property is Katherine W. Hirsh. [See note for James Chisholm for 505 Holly Avenue.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern States Power Company and Henry M. Byllesby for 21-27 South St. Albans Street.]

509 Holly Avenue: Holly Row/Fitzgerald Family Residence; Built in 1887 (1885 according to the Ramsey County property tax records;) Richardsonian Romanesque/Romanesque brownstone in style; James Chisholm, architect. The structure is a two story, 2756 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1906 Jubilee Manual of the House of Hope Presbyterian Church indicates that C. M. L. (Mrs. S. B.) Shotwell, a member of the church since 1895, resided at this address. Little Sketches of Big Folks indicates that Stuart B. Shotwell resided at this address in 1907. The parents of F. Scott Fitzgerald, Mollie McQuillan Fitzgerald and Edward Fitzgerald, reportedly resided at this address around 1906-1910. Stuart B. Shotwell, a broker who, in 1910, was killed in an accident involving an automobile driven by Miss Theodora Stark of Minneapolis, resided at this address. A manslaughter charge was brought against the driver, but was dropped at the request of the Shotwell family. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. S. B. Shotwell resided at this address. The 1920 city directory indicates that Burton T. Boyer, a salesman employed by Price Robbins & Newton, a wholesale paper dealer, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. K. K. Knight resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Henry Lancette, a switchman employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad, and his wife, Anna Lancette, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Barbara Ann Courtney and Eugene W. Courtney resided at this address. F. Scott Fitzgerald was an eye witness of the Shotwell accident. Stuart B. Shotwell, Jr. (1861-1910,) the son of Stuart Beebe Shotwell, Sr. (1819-1890,) and Nancy Gaston Shotwell (1823- ,) was born in Cadiz, Ohio, was educated at the Cadiz, Ohio, High School, graduated from Franklin College in 1882, studied law with his father in Cadiz, Ohio, was admitted to the practice of law in Ohio in 1884, moved to St. Paul in 1884, was admitted to the practice of law in Minnesota in 1884, was the assistant western manager of the Middlesex Banking Company from 1886 until 1902, was the vice president and treasurer of Graves & Vinton Company, investment bankers and western managers of the Middlesex Banking Company, was the vice president of the Crown Financial Company, was a broker after 1902 with William F. Graves in the firm of S. B. Shotwell & Company, was a broker after 1906 as manager of of Whallon, Case & Company of St. Paul, was a member of the New York Stock Exchange, was a member of the Chicago Board of Trade, and was a member of the Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, was a Republican, was a member of the Minnesota Club, was a member of the St. Paul Town & Country Club, officed at the Pioneer Press Building in 1907, died in an automobile accident, and was buried in Cadiz, Ohio. Stuart B. Shotwell, Jr., married Caroline Rinehart McIlvaine/McIlvane (1864- ,) the daughter of Chief Justice George W. McIlvaine of New Philadelphia, Ohio, and Caroline Rinehart McIlvaine and a 1884 graduate of Mount Holyoke College, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1892 and the couple had one child, Stuart McIlvaine Shotwell (1893- .) Stuart Beebe Shotwell, Sr., was a lawyer, had his law office in Cadiz, Ohio, destroyed in 1887 when the nearby Presbyterian Church steeple collapsed on it in a cyclone storm, narrowly missing hitting him, and was one of the largest property and land owners in Eastern Ohio in the late 1880's. The property was last sold for $510,000 and that sale occurred in 2001. The current owners of record of the property are Edward A. Fisher, Jr., and Sally V. Fisher. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Grant resided at the former nearby 511 Holly Avenue. The 1887 city directory indicates that Miss Lenora Austin resided at the former nearby 511 Holly Avenue. [See note on F. Scott Fitzgerald for 599 Summit Avenue.] [See the note for the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific RailRoad.] [See note for James Chisholm for 505 Holly Avenue.]

512-514 Holly Avenue: Former Fitzgerald Family Residence; Built in 1906; Classical Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 3881 square foot, six bedroom, three bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Mollie McQuillan Fitzgerald and Edward Fitzgerald, the parents of F. Scott Fitzgerald, resided at this address around 1908. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Korfhage and J. S. Fugate all resided at 512 Holly Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Bramhall resided at 514 Holly Avenue. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. M. W. Thatcher and Mrs. Agnes Thatcher all resided at 512 Holly Avenue and Mr. and Mrs. S. R. Harley resided at 514 Holly Avenue. The records of the 1919-1920 Minnesota World War I Soldier's Bonus Board (#24109) indicate that Kenneth A. Relf (1895- ,) a 1918 draftee and a Private in Company B in the 128th Machine Gun Battalion, who was born in St. Paul, had brown eyes, brown hair, and a light complexion, was 5' 9" tall, was a clerk at induction, served in the American Expeditionary Force in France, including Mont Creesons, Contes, and the Meuse, was a clerk employed by C. J. Smith & Company after the completion of service, and was unmarried, resided with his father, R. H. Relf, at 512 Holly Avenue. The 1920 city directory indicates that Sarah A. Evans, the widow of William Evans, boarded at this address. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Augusta Jane Relf (1862-1923,) the widowed mother of R. H. Relf, who was born in Ohio to parents born in the United States and who died of paralysis agitans, resided at 514 Holly Avenue in 1923. The 1924 city directory indicates that Kenneth Relf, Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Relf, and their daughter all resided at 512 Holly Avenue and that Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Poore resided at 514 Holly Avenue. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Kate H. Elliott, the widow of Dixon Elliott, and Dorothy H. Elliott, employed by the Circulating Library, resided at 512 Holly Avenue and that Frank W. Fuller, a manufacturer's agent who officed at the Pioneer Building, his wife, Mildred C. Fuller, and James T. Mayall, a representative of the Northern Trust Company, and his wife, Eleanor S. Mayall, all resided at 514 Holly Avenue. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Benjamin A. Faltesek and Martha King resided at 512 Holly Avenue and that Jennifer Cabot and Michael S. Cabot resided at 514 Holly Avenue. Kenneth Relf married Catherine Stickney and the couple were the parents of John L. Relf (1924-2008) and Charlotte Relf Howe. James Felton Hammond, M. D., C. M., graduated from McGill University in 1906, was a clinical assistant in pediatrics at the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1913, entered the English Army Medical Service during World War I, and was a teaching fellow in obstetrics at the University of Minnesota Medical School in 1921. James T. Mayall (1899-1959) is buried in Oakland Cemetery in the Samuel Mayall family burial plot. The current owner of record of the property is Martha King. In 1891, Henry E. Wedelstaedt resided at the former nearby 517 Holly Avenue. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Hammond resided at the former nearby 517 Holly Avenue. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that James Felton Hammond resided at the former nearby 517 Holly Avenue in 1928. The 1930 city directory indicates that J. Felton Hammond, a physician who officed at 350 St. Peter Street, and his wife, Ellen J. Hammond, resided at the former nearby 517 Holly Avenue. In 1897, H. E. von Wedelstaedt was vice president of the Minnesota Accident Insurance Company. The Henry E. Wedelstaedt Company was a printing and stationery company, was located at 113 East Third Street in 1885, and was located at 91 East Sixth Street in 1918. Henry E. Wedelstaedt ( -1924,) Frank William Fuller ( -1943,) and James Felton Hammond ( -1954) all died in Ramsey County. [See note on F. Scott Fitzgerald for 599 Summit Avenue.] [See note on Samuel Mayall for 658 North Greenbrier Street.] [See note for the McQuillan family for 280 Banfil Street.]

520 Holly Avenue: J. L. Brass House; Built in 1890; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 1922 square foot, eight room, five bedroom, two bathroom, frame house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Emmett E. Merrill and Jeannette Ambrose Merrill, husband and wife, resided at this address in 1900. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that E. E. Merrill, his daughters, and Miss L. E. Emerson all resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that E. E. Merrill and Miss L. E. Emerson resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Emmet E. Merrill, the traffic manager employed by Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Dennis Patrick Garin and Radra Garin resided at this address. In 1892, J. L. Brass was employed as a fuel and tie agent by the Chicago Great Western Railway Company. In 1893, J. L. Brass was a car accountant employed by the Chicago Great Western Railway Company. In 1896, J. L. Brass summered on White Bear Lake, Minnesota, at their home near the Manitou Island bridge. In 1913, J. L. Brass was the assistant to the general manager of the Oregon-Washington RailRoad & Navigation Company in Seattle Washington. Emmet Ellsworth Merrill ( -1930) died in Ramsey County. The current owners of record of the property are Maryjo Connolly and Dennis P. Garin. Dennis Garin is the manager of the Tartan Park 3M Restaurant in Lake Elmo, Minnesota. Mary Jo Connolly is a medical doctor. [See note on Farwell, Ozmun, Kirk & Company for 406 Maple Street.] [See note on the Chicago Great Western Railway.]

71-79 Mackubin Street: Alberta Apartments; Built in 1885; Romanesque Revival in style. The structure is a two story, 2859 square foot, two bedroom, two bathroom, one half-bathroom, brick rowhouse. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1916 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Merrick resided at 71 Mackubin Street, that Mrs. J. B. Tarbox resided at 75 Mackubin Street, that Miss M. I. Hartmann resided at 77 Mackubin Street, and that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Wood and Miss Martha Wilson all resided at 79 Mackubin Street. The 1918 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Merrick resided at 71 Mackubin Street, that Mrs. J. B. Tarbox and Mrs. S. M. Officer resided at 73 Mackubin Street, that Mrs. A. F. Loomis and Mr. and Mrs. Walter Liggett resided at 75 Mackubin Street, that Miss M. I. Hartmann and Mrs. L. S. Noble resided at 77 Mackubin Street, and that Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Wood, Miss Martha Wilson, and Mrs. William Lee all resided at 79 Mackubin Street. The 1920 city directory indicates that Edward D. Ciagett, a dealer in lands who officed at the 718 Globe Building, resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Merrick resided at 71 Mackubin Street, that Mr. and Mrs. H. D. Egan, Miss Vinelle Campbell, and Miss Vira Pattridge all resided at 75 Mackubin Street, that Miss Eva C. Smith resided at 77 Mackubin Street, and that Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Barnes and Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Petty all resided at 79 Mackubin Street. The 1930 city directory indicates that Mrs. Rose O'Brien, the widow of John D. O'Brien, resided at 71 Mackubin Street, that the residents of the apartment building located at 73 Mackubin Street were Isabel Van Drake, a nurse (Apartment #1,) Louise M. Clifford, a private secretary with the M. F. Patterson Dental Supply Company (Apartment #2,) and Mary Croghan (Apartment #3,) that the residents of the apartment building located at 75 Mackubin Street were Charles F. Burnett and his wife, Belinda Burnett (Apartment #1) and Henry Fibigar (Apartment #2,) with Apartment #3 vacant, that the residents of the apartment building located at 77 Mackubin Street were William O. Mattson, a janitor, and his wife, Louise Mattson, (Apartment #1,) Milburn L. Ellsworth, a chauffeur, and his wife, Louise Ellsworth (Apartment #2,) and Molly Hartman (Apartment #3,) and that 79 Mackubin Street was vacant. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Michael Myers Parish and Rozie Ann Parish resided at 71 Mackubin Street, that Jean L. Mayer and Jonathan S. Mayer resided at 73 Mackubin Street, that Joe F. Mikolic resided at 75 Mackubin Street, that Paul F. Goering and Mike T. Sullivan resided at 77 Mackubin Street, and that Charles M. Swope and Maurice Charles Swope resided at 79 Mackubin Street. In 1935, journalist Walter Liggett, who was investigating corruption and organized crime, was gunned down in front of his wife and children at his home in Minneapolis, allegedly by Isadore "Kid Cann" Blumenfeld, a notorious Minneapolis gangster. Sarah Officer ( -1923) died in Ramsey County. The property was last sold for $350,000 and that sale occurred in 1997. The current owner of record of the property is Michael M. Parish. [See note for Jasper B. Tarbox for 221 South Exchange Street.] [See note related to Isadore "Kid Cann" Blumenfeld for 2505 East Lake of the Isles Parkway.]

43 Mackubin Street: Built in 1900; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 2252 square foot, three bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. Minnesota Historical Society records indicate that Mrs. Sarah Croghan resided at this address from 1883 to 1904. The 1918 city directory indicates that J. J. Kirwan resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that James Kirwin resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Bruce Richard Gibson, Diane Gibson, Daniel I. Lehv, R. David Reynolds, and Susan Elizabeth Schmidt all resided at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Bruce R. Gibson.

41 Mackubin Street: Built in 1882; Queen Anne in style. The structure is a two story, 1984 square foot, four bedroom, two bathroom, stucco house, with a detached garage. This structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the historic Hill District. The 1885 city directory indicates that Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Salisbury, Mrs. F. E. Elwell, and her daughters all resided at this address. The 1887 city directory indicates that Mrs. F. E. Elwell and her daughters resided at this address. The 1924 city directory indicates that F. W. Lothshaw resided at this address. The 1930 city directory indicates that Frank W. Lotshaw, associated with the Business Exchange Company and manager of the Public Advertising System, and his wife, Lillian Lotshaw, resided at this address. The 2007 Cole Reference Directory indicates that Sheila C. Moriarity resided at this address and that Keim Enterprises was located at this address. The current owner of record of the property is Sheila Conway Moriarity. The 1885 and 1887 city directories indicate that Mr. and Mrs. A. Messer and Mr. and Mrs. S. Messer all resided at the former nearby 39 Mackubin Street. Oakland Cemetery Association records indicate that Alanson Messer (1842-1913,) the husband of Amelia C. Messer, who was born in New Hampshire to parents born in the United States and who died of cerebral edema, resided at the nearby former 39 Mackubin Street in 1913. The 1916 and 1918 city directories indicate that Mrs. Alanson Messer resided at the former nearby 39 Mackubin Street. Alanson Messer (1841- ,) the son of Silas Messer (1819- ) and Nancy T. Hadley Messer (1821- ,) was a passenger conductor on the St. Paul & Omaha RailRoad, and lived in St. Paul. Alanson Messer and Amelia C. Short (1848- ,) a daughter of William P. Short and Salenda M. Colby Short, were married in 1866 and had one child, Lillian Messer (Mrs. Russell William) Berthel (1869- .) Alanson Messer originally was the first conductor with the Minnesota Valley RailRoad Company, hired when the railroad was revitalized in 1864, and was, with James Smith, Jr., an attorney with the St. Paul & Duluth RailRoad Company, reputedly one of the two longest serving railroad men in Minnesota in 1901. Amelia C. Short Messer and Lillian Messer Berthel were members of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution by virtue of being descendants of Captain Amos Emerson ( -1823,) who entered the Army as a lieutenant in the New Hampshire militia in 1775, served with the Continental infantry, was promoted a captain in 1776, retired in 1781, and died in New Hampshire. [See note on the Minnesota Valley RailRoad.] [See note on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha RailRoad.] [See note on the Lake Superior & Mississippi RailRoad.] [See note on the Northern Pacific RailRoad.]

493-495 Portland Avenue: Fred Bigelow House; Built in 1904 (1909 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Tudor Revival in style; Thomas Holyoke, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

496 Portland Avenue: Caroline Gotzian House; Built in 1884 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Georgian Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

501 Portland Avenue: Built in 1880. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

502 Portland Avenue: P. Baldy House; Built in 1892; Georgian Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

506 Portland Avenue: C. D. O'Brien House; Built in 1887 (1893 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

512 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

513-515 Portland Avenue: E. D. Neill House; Built in 1890 (1881 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Classical Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

523 Portland Avenue: Howard/Ordway House; Built in 1913 (1889 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; Mould & McNicol, architects. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

524-526 Portland Avenue: J. R. Hudson House; Built in 1907 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; J. Walter Stevens, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

528 Portland Avenue: Built in 1904. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

529 Portland Avenue: O. L. Taylor House; Built in 1901 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; __?__ Mould, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

533 Portland Avenue: Built in 1884; Queen Anne in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

536 Portland Avenue: Built in 1904; Georgian Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

541 Portland Avenue: C. J. Berryhill House; Built in 1896 (1890 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style; George Wirth, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

542 Portland Avenue: Built in 1910 (1908 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Colonial Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

544-546 Portland Avenue: Built in 1888. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

546 Portland Avenue: Built in 1888. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

548-554 Portland Avenue: Portland Terrace/Bookstaver House; Built in 1890 (1885 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Italian Renaissance/Romanesque Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

549 Portland Avenue: C. W. Bunn House; Built in 1905 (1886 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Queen Anne in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

550 Portland Avenue: Bookstaver House; Built in 1885; Romanesque Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

552 Portland Avenue: Bookstaver House; Built in 1885; Romanesque Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

554 Portland Avenue: Bookstaver House; Built in 1885; Romanesque Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

555-559 Portland Avenue: Church of St. John the Evangelist; Built in 1888 (1903 and 1955 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Gothic Revival in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.]

565 Portland Avenue: Built in 1927. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

569 Portland Avenue: Former Portland Apartments; Built in 1927. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

570 Portland Avenue: Built in 1890. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

575 Portland Avenue: Built in 1879. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

576 Portland Avenue: Built in 1977. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

580 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

581 Portland Avenue: Built in 1900. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

585 Portland Avenue: Built in 1885. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

586 Portland Avenue: Built in 1890. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

589 Portland Avenue: Built in 1980. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

591 Portland Avenue: Built in 1883. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

592 Portland Avenue: Built in 1885. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

596 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

599 Portland Avenue: Built in 1915. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

600 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

604 Portland Avenue: Built in 1889. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

605 Portland Avenue: Built in 1911. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

609 Portland Avenue: Built in 1915. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

614 Portland Avenue: Built in 1913. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Portland East 1 Architecture Notes.]

25 North Dale Street: Built in 1903. The property is four story, 8661 square foot, commercial property. The 1930 city directory indicates that the St. Paul Academy Junior School was located at this address. The St. Paul Academy was founded as a boys school in 1900. The Summit School was founded as a girls school in 1917. The St. Paul Academy and Summit School was created in 1969 by the merger of the two schools. St. Paul Academy and Summit School currently is a coeducational, college preparatory day school for students in kindergarten through grade 12 and serves more than 900 students from throughout the metropolitan area of Minneapolis and St. Paul. Notable graduates of the St. Paul Academy and Summit School include Norris D. Jackson, Class of 1913, Davidson Sommers, Class of 1922, Sarah Davidson Wangensteen, Class of 1926, Irving B. Harris, Class of 1927, Carolyn "Kelly" Earl Davis, Class of 1931, Robert E. Matteson, Class of 1933, Virginia McKnight Binger, Class of 1934, C. E. Bayliss Griggs, Class of 1935, Carl B. Drake, Jr., Class of 1937, Mary Bigelow McMillan, Class of 1937, John M. Doar, Class of 1940, Roger G. Kennedy, Class of 1944, Jean M. West, Class of 1945, William Frenzel, Class of 1946, Stanley Shepard, Class of 1947, Joan Adams Mondale, Class of 1948, William C. Canby Jr., Class of 1949, James J. Barnes, Class of 1950, Finlay Lewis, Class of 1956, William E. Pedersen, Class of 1956, Sandra Bemis Roe, Class of 1959, Daniel G. Ritchie, Class of 1960, Dr. Charles Berde, Class of 1969, Dr. Karen Hsiao Ashe, Class of 1972, and Ann Bancroft, Class of 1974. The current owner of record of the property is Rejuv A Home Inc., located at 715 Grand Avenue. [See note on Robert Eliot Matteson for 825 Fairmount Avenue.] [See note on Virginia McKnight Binger for 2020 Summit Avenue.] [See note on William Cameron Canby, Jr. for 1370 West Osceola Avenue.]

623 Summit Avenue: William West/Louisa McQuillan House; Built in 1896 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records;) Victorian/late Gothic Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

616 Summit Avenue: Built in 1928. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

615 Summit Avenue: Built in 1883; Tudor Villa in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

611 Summit Avenue: Cyrus C. DeCoster House; Built in 1910; Tudor Revival in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

610 Summit Avenue: 610 Summit Avenue; Built in 1927; Late Classical Revival in style; Ganley Brothers, architects. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

605 Summit Avenue: Built in 1987. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

603 Summit Avenue: Built in 1987. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

596-604 Summit Avenue: 596-604 Summit Avenue; Summit Terrace; Built in 1890 (Sandeen and Larson); Victorian in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.]

590 Summit Avenue: Greve Oppenheim and Lillian Oppenheim House; Built in 1913; Prairie Style; Franklin Ellerbe and Olin Round, architects. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

587-601 Summit Avenue: Summit Terrace/F. Scott Fitzgerald House , Built in 1889; Richardsonian Romanesque in style; William Willcox (1832-1929) and Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architects. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.]

582 Summit Avenue: Built in 1999. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

579 Summit Avenue: The Colonial, Built in 1895; Colonial Classial Revival in style; Hermann Kretz, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

574 Summit Avenue: Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

573 Summit Avenue: W. D. Blumenthal House; Built in 1926; Twenties Villa in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

566 Summit Avenue: Built in 1997. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

562 Summit Avenue: Built in 1997. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

559 Summit Avenue: Built in 1980. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

558 Summit Avenue: Built in 1997. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

557 Summit Avenue: Built in 1980. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

556 Summit Avenue: Built in 1997. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

555 Summit Avenue: Built in 1980. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

552 Summit Avenue: Built in 1997. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

550 Summit Avenue: Oakland Apartments, Built in 1898 (1904 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Classical Revival in style; Alan Black, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

545 Summit Avenue: Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

534 Summit Avenue: Walter J. S. Traill/Homer P. Clark House, Built in 1882 (1884 according to Ramsey County property tax records) Altered Victorian in style; Abraham M. Radcliffe, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

533 Summit Avenue: Bainbridge H. Evans House, Built in 1902; Beaux Arts in style; John Rohde, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

516 Summit Avenue: William Butler House, Built in 1914; Mission Revival/Italianate Renaissance/Beaux Arts/Classicial Revival in style; Butler Brothers Company, architects and builders. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

513 Summit Avenue: W. W. Bishop House, Built in 1891 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Queen Anne in style; John Mac Donald, architect and builder. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

506 Summit Avenue: ; Charles S. Bunker House, Built in 1882 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Colonial Revival in style; George Wirth, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

505 Summit Avenue; George Freeman House, Built between 1894 and 1896; Rectilinear Medieval/Tudor Revival in style; Cass Gilbert, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

500 Summit Avenue: Dr. Cornelius Williams House, Built in 1904 (1881 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Georgian Revival in style; Thomas Holyoke, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 2 Architecture Notes.]

495 Summit Avenue: Cyrus B. Thurston House, Built in 1881; Queen Anne/Italianate in style. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.]

490 Summit Avenue: Addison Gardner Foster House, Built in 1883; Victorian Romanesque in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.]

485 Summit Avenue: James A. MacLeod House, Built in 1907; Villa/Tudor Revival in style; James A. MacLeod, original architect, and Reed & Stem, addition architects. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.]

476 Summit Avenue: Chauncey M. Griggs and Martha Griggs House, Built in 1883; Richardsonian Romanesque/Shingle in style; Clarence H. Johnston, Sr., architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Clarence Howard Johnston, Sr.]

475 Summit Avenue: James Gamble House, Built between 1880-1890 (1894 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Queen Anne in style; George Wirth, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.]

470 Summit Avenue: C. J. McConville House, Built in 1919; Spanish Colonial Revival in style; Mark Fitzpatrick, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.]

465 Summit Avenue: William Constans and Bertha Constans House, Built in 1886 (1900 according to Ramsey County property tax records); Queen Anne/Neoclassical and Baroque Revival in style; Augustus F. Gauger, architect. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.] [See note on Augustus Gauger.]

456 Summit Avenue: Colonial Apartments; Built 1966; Paul Mueller, architect; Strub and Associates, builder. [For information on the building, see Thursday Night Hikes: Summit Avenue East Hike 1 Architecture Notes.]

Links

Capitol Hill/Cathedral Hill Architectural Hike Details and Route

Capitol Hill/Cathedral Hill Architectural Hike, Part 2

Summit Avenue Hikes - Architectural Style Notes

Back to the Thursday Night Hikes homepage

Information from the University of Minnesota, Northwest Architectural Archives, was used in this webpage.

Cass Gilbert chronology also was a source.

This webpage was last modified on July 27, 2011.