Readers' Comments on Articles
"Playing by the Rules" ... Right or Wrong?
from Robert Rizzo (98-09-03)
Regarding your 6 points:
- I have a more or less Jekyl-Hyde personality regarding correspondence
rules. If an opponent makes what appears to be an oversight, such as leaving
his move off the card, I will give that person the benefit of the doubt since
I, too, at times fill out my card immediately upon receipt of a move only
later to fill in the send date and move when my decision has been made.
After my decision is made, I will then enter the move in my record log and
then on the post card. I try to make it a habit to double check the card
just before putting it to post. Many times I have discovered that I didn't
include a date, a move or both! But if it happens twice from the same
opponent I feel "disrespected." Recently in an ICCF USCCC game, such an
occurence happened and my opponent offered that I should assess him a 5-day
penalty. Being that it was his first offense, I refused to do so as he is a
known and highly rated player who obviously did not get there by making
intentional errors. On the other hand I have received completely blank
cards on occasion! In those cases I see red, have no patience, and will
penalize to the full extent of the rules. People who do not put reflection
times and totals are also making more work for me which is unfair. This
practice should also be punished.
Too, I firmly feel that when an opponent does violate a time
control, that player should be forfeit. How can the first transgression be
overlooked? You are perfectly correct that a rule is not a rule unless
enforced. Why is over-the-board play inflexible in these cases yet postal
is not? How can you "raise the flag" once it has fallen? I don't get the
rationale for the cavalier attitude by some organizations and TDs on time
control rules violations.
- If bad moves are not answered with the best possible reply, then you
can leave yourself open to being on the wrong side of a result. No pity.
- If mistakes are not answered with the best possible reply, then you
can leave yourself open to being on the wrong side of a result. No pity. I
have analyzed from the incorrect position turning a won game into a loss.
- There is nothing in the rules that requires chit-chat. If I wanted
to engage in idle prattle, I could have gotten a pen pal.
- If one is playing in an event such as the USCF Golden Knights, then
every 1/2 point is dear. To simply advance is almost secondary since to win
the tournament one needs an almost perfect score. In that case scoreboard
watching is immaterial. In a tournament where one is advancing for a title,
such as the ICCF USCCC or in a team tournament, then any score that wins the
section is a good one. If that means agreeing to a draw that clinches first
place rather than fighting it out to the end, then it is not only correct,
it is smart.
- I relish having an opponent use a computer to make moves. If not
strictly prohibited, then let them eat code.
from John McCumiskey (98-09-09)
Enjoyed your "Playing by the Rules"...Right or Wrong?
article. I think you have hit the nail on the head...it
is one thing to play in friendly/social events. It is
completely another to play in serious events. The rules
were created for a reason and all players are responsible
for being aware of them. If I violate a rule, I fully
expect to be "punished" to the maximum allowable extent
of that rule!