Site hosted by Build your free website today!

Seedless Plants

Vascular vs. Non-Vascular Plants

There are two major types of true plants which are vascular(higher) and non-vascular(lower). Vascular Plants are those plants that have specialized cells for conducting water and sap within their tissues,including the flowering plants, and conifers. The three divisions, Psilophyta(ferns), Lycophyta(foliage plant), and Sphenophyta(horsetails) are known as the "seedless vascular plants".The vascular structure allows the transport of water and nutrients but they do not reproduce by seeds. Vascular plants can grow up to several inches high. Non-Vascular Plants are land dwelling plants, they also do not produce seeds or flowers. They only grow one to two centimeters high because they lack the woody tissue necessary for support on land. These plants are almost always found in damp, shady places. They have little resistance to dying because they lack vascular tissue. Like sponges they must consume moisture to survive. The three divisions for non-vascular plants are Bryophyta(mosses), Hepatophyta(liverwarts), and Anthocerophyta(hornworts).