Site hosted by Build your free website today!


Chief Joe Allessi 1932~1948

Independence Police Department's First Elected Police Chief, was elected in 1932 Chief Joe Alessi. Chief Alessi served the community until 1948. When Chief Luke M. Pingno was Elected.

Chief Luke M. Pingno 1948~1980

Chief Luke Pingno was in office when Independence Built its First Police station in 1960. Also for the jail built in 1960, that was located on Calhoun St.. However the jail was closed in 1968 . Chief Luke Pingno was also there for Independence's Second Police Station, Built in 1968. It was located At the Corner of US HWY 51 and Fifth St. and is currently being used by the Fire Department.

Chief Jesse C. Pingno 1980~ PRESENT

Independence Elected its Third Police Chief in 1980. Chief Jesse C. Pingno, who is the Present Chief of Police. Chief Jesse Pingno, was there for Independence's Third Police Station. Located in the "Old Train Depot" on East Railroad Ave.